
148.907 LICENSED PSYCHOLOGIST.​

Subdivision 1. Unlicensed, nonexempt practice prohibited. No person shall engage in the independent​
practice of psychology unless that person is licensed as a licensed psychologist or is exempt under section​
148.9075.​

Subd. 2. Requirements for licensure as licensed psychologist. To become licensed by the board as a​
licensed psychologist, an applicant shall comply with the following requirements:​

(1) pass an examination in psychology;​

(2) pass a professional responsibility examination on the practice of psychology;​

(3) pass any other examinations as required by board rules;​

(4) pay nonrefundable fees to the board for applications, processing, testing, renewals, and materials;​

(5) attained the age of majority, be of good moral character, and have no unresolved disciplinary action​
or complaints pending in the state of Minnesota or any other jurisdiction;​

(6) earned a doctoral degree with a major in psychology from a regionally accredited educational​
institution meeting the standards the board has established by rule; and​

(7) completed at least one full year or the equivalent in part time of postdoctoral supervised psychological​
employment in no less than 12 months and no more than 60 months. If the postdoctoral supervised​
psychological employment goes beyond 60 months, the board may grant a variance to this requirement.​

Subd. 3. Master's level licensure as licensed psychologist after August 1, 1991. (a) A person licensed​
in this state as a licensed consulting psychologist or a licensed psychologist before August 1, 1991, qualifies​
for licensure as a licensed psychologist, as described in subdivision 2, at the time of license renewal.​

(b) Providing all other licensure requirements have been satisfactorily met, the board shall grant licensure​
as a licensed psychologist to a person who:​

(1) before November 1, 1991, entered a graduate program at a regionally accredited educational institution​
granting a master's or doctoral degree with a major in psychology which meets the standards the board has​
established by rule;​

(2) before December 31, 1997, earned a master's degree or a master's equivalent in a doctoral program​
at a regionally accredited educational institution and complied with requirements of subdivision 2, clauses​
(1) to (5), except that the nonrefundable fees for licensure are payable at the time an application for licensure​
is submitted; and​

(3) before December 31, 1998, completed at least one full year or the equivalent in part time of​
post-master's supervised psychological employment.​

(c) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), the board shall not grant licensure as a licensed psychologist under​
this subdivision unless the applicant demonstrates that the applicant was a resident of Minnesota on October​
31, 1992, and meets all the requirements for licensure under this subdivision.​

Subd. 4. Converting from master's to doctoral level licensure. To convert from licensure as a licensed​
psychologist at the master's or master's equivalent level to licensure at the doctoral level, a licensed​
psychologist shall have:​
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(1) completed an application provided by the board;​

(2) had an official transcript documenting the conferral of the doctoral degree sent directly from the​
educational institution to the board;​

(3) paid a nonrefundable fee;​

(4) successfully completed one full year or the equivalent in part time of supervised psychological​
employment, which shall not include a predoctoral internship, after earning a master's degree or a master's​
equivalent in a doctoral program;​

(5) successfully completed a predoctoral internship meeting the standards the board has established by​
rule; and​

(6) earned a doctoral degree with a major in psychology from a regionally accredited educational​
institution meeting the standards the board has established by rule.​

Subd. 5. [Repealed, 1Sp2017 c 6 art 11 s 56]​

History: 1996 c 424 s 10; 1997 c 102 s 1-3; 1997 c 134 s 1,2; 2005 c 147 art 3 s 3; 1Sp2017 c 6 art 11​
s 37,38​

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota​
Revisor of Statutes​

2​MINNESOTA STATUTES 2022​148.907​


	Sec. 148.907
	Subd. 1
	Subd. 2
	Subd. 3
	Subd. 4
	Subd. 5


