3.8854 LEGISLATIVE BUDGET OFFICE OVERSIGHT COMMISSION.

(a) The Legislative Budget Office Oversight Commission consists of:

- (1) two members of the senate appointed by the senate majority leader;
- (2) two members of the senate appointed by the senate minority leader;
- (3) two members of the house of representatives appointed by the speaker of the house; and
- (4) two members of the house of representatives appointed by the minority leader.

The director of the Legislative Budget Office is the executive secretary of the commission. The chief nonpartisan fiscal analyst of the house of representatives, the lead nonpartisan fiscal analyst of the senate, the commissioner of management and budget or a designee, and the legislative auditor are ex-officio, nonvoting members of the commission.

(b) Members serve at the pleasure of the appointing authority, or until they are not members of the legislative body from which they were appointed. Appointing authorities shall fill vacancies on the commission within 30 days of a vacancy being created.

(c) The commission shall meet in January of each odd-numbered year to elect its chair and vice-chair. They shall serve until successors are elected. The chair and vice-chair shall alternate biennially between the senate and the house of representatives. The commission shall meet at the call of the chair. The members shall serve without compensation but may be reimbursed for their reasonable expenses consistent with the rules of the legislature governing expense reimbursement.

(d) The commission shall review the work of the Legislative Budget Office and make recommendations, as the commission determines necessary, to improve the office's ability to fulfill its duties, and shall perform other functions as directed by this section, and sections 3.8853 and 3.98.

History: 2018 c 214 art 5 s 6