1 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2021 297B.02

297B.02 TAX IMPOSED.

Subdivision 1. Rate. There is imposed an excise tax of 6.5 percent on the purchase price of any motor
vehicle purchased or acquired, either in or outside of the state of Minnesota, which is required to be registered
under the laws of this state.

The excise tax is also imposed on the purchase price of motor vehicles purchased or acquired on Indian
reservations when the tribal council has entered into a sales tax on motor vehicles refund agreement with
the state of Minnesota.

Subd. 2. In lieu tax for older passenger automobile. In licu of the tax imposed in subdivision 1, there
is imposed a tax of $10 on the purchase price of any passenger automobile described in section 297B.025,
subdivision 1.

Subd. 3. In lieu tax for collector vehicle. In lieu of the tax imposed in subdivision 1, there is imposed
a tax of $150 on the purchase price of a passenger automobile or a fire truck described in section 297B.025,
subdivision 2.

History: 1971 ¢ 853 s 2; Ex1971c 3l art1s 9; 35pl1982c 1 art 65 5; 1983 c 342 art 65 10; 1Sp1985
cl4dart2s 11; 1988 c 636 s 13,14; 1989 ¢ 277 art 1 s 21; 1994 ¢ 587 art 2 s 21; 1995 ¢ 264 art 2 s 35;
2009 c 88 art4s 10; 2013 ¢ 117 art 3 s 29
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