1 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2021 148E.115

148E.115 LICENSED INDEPENDENT CLINICAL SOCIAL WORKERS; SUPERVISED PRACTICE.

Subdivision 1. Supervision before licensure; licensed independent clinical social worker. Before
becoming licensed as a licensed independent clinical social worker, a person must have obtained at least
200 hours of supervision at the rate of a minimum of four and a maximum of eight hours of supervision for
every 160 hours of practice, in not less than 4,000 hours and not more than 8,000 hours of postgraduate
clinical practice required by law, including at least 1,800 hours of direct clinical client contact, according
to the requirements of section 148E.106.

Subd. 1a. Supervised practice obtained prior to August 1, 2011. (a) Notwithstanding subdivisions 1
and 2, applicants and licensees who have completed hours of supervised practice prior to August 1, 2011,
which comply with Minnesota Statutes 2010, sections 148D.100 to 148D.125, may have that supervised
practice applied to the licensing requirement.

(b) Any additional hours of supervised practice obtained on or after August 1, 2011, must comply with
the increased requirements in this section.

(c) Notwithstanding subdivision 1, in order to qualify for the licensed independent clinical social work
license, direct clinical client contact hours are:

(1) not required prior to August 1, 2011; and

(2) not required of either a licensed graduate social worker or a licensed independent social worker
engaged in clinical practice with a license issued prior to August 1, 2011.

Subd. 2. No supervision required after licensure. After licensure, a licensed independent clinical
social worker is not required to be supervised.

History: 2007 ¢ 123 s 86,138, 2009 ¢ 157 art 3 s 39,40,49; 2012 ¢ 187 art 3 s 9

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes



	Sec. 148E.115
	Subd. 1
	Subd. 1a
	Subd. 2


