1 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2020 181A.07

181A.07 EXEMPTIONS.

Subdivision 1. Agricultural operations. Minors employed in corn detasseling operations and other
agricultural operations, with the permission of their parents or guardian, shall be exempt from the provisions
of section 181A.04, subdivision 4. Such minors 12 years of age or older are exempt from the age provision
of section 181A.04, subdivision 1.

Subd. 2. Entertainers and models. Any minor employed as an actor, model, or performer shall be
exempt from the minimum age provisions of section 181A.04, subdivision 1.

Subd. 3. Newspaper carriers. Newspaper carriers shall be exempt from the minimum age provision of
section 181A.04, subdivisions 1 and 3. Such carriers shall be at least 11 years of age.

Subd. 4. Home chores; babysitters. Any minor employed to do home chores, to babysit, or employed
by a parent shall be exempt from all provisions of sections 181A.01 to 181A.12.

Subd. 4a. Youth athletic program referees. A minor at least 11 years of age and less than 14 years of
age shall be exempt from the minimum age provisions of section 181A.04, subdivision 1, if employed as a
youth athletic program referee, umpire, or official for an age bracket younger than the minor's own age if
an adult representing the state or local athletic program is on the premises at which the athletic program
event is occurring and a person responsible for the state or local athletic program possesses a written
acknowledgment signed by the minor's parent or guardian consenting to the minor's employment as a referee,
umpire, or official.

Subd. 5. Commissioner exemptions. The commissioner may grant exemptions from any provisions of
sections 181A.01 to 181A.12 for an individual minor if the commissioner finds that such an exemption
would be in the best interest of the minor involved. Such exemptions shall be granted only in accordance
with the established rules of the department.

Subd. 6. Requests for commissioner exemption. Any minor's parent or guardian, school official, or
youth employment specialist may request an exemption as provided in subdivision 5.

Subd. 7. Approved training programs. The commissioner may grant exemptions from any provisions
of sections 181A.01 to 181A.12 for minors participating in training programs approved by the commissioner;
or students in a valid apprenticeship program taught by or required by a trade union, the commissioner of
education, the commissioner of employment and economic development, the Board of Trustees of the
Minnesota State Colleges and Universities, or the Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota.

History: 1974 c 4325 7, 1975¢ 204 s 78, 1976 ¢ 25 72; 1985 ¢ 248 5 70, 1986 c 444; 2003 ¢ 26 5 1;
2003 ¢ 31s1;2009c 86 art1s90; 2014 c 312 art3s9
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