462.385 DESIGNATION OF REGIONS.

Subdivision 1. **By governor's order; hearings.** Development regions for the state shall consist of the following counties:

Region 1: Kittson, Roseau, Marshall, Pennington, Red Lake, Polk, and Norman.

Region 2: Lake of the Woods, Beltrami, Mahnomen, Clearwater, and Hubbard.

Region 3: Koochiching, Itasca, St. Louis, Lake, Cook, Aitkin, and Carlton.

Region 4: Clay, Becker, Wilkin, Otter Tail, Grant, Douglas, Traverse, Stevens, and Pope.

Region 5: Cass, Wadena, Crow Wing, Todd, and Morrison.

Region 6E: Kandiyohi, Meeker, Renville, and McLeod.

Region 6W: Big Stone, Swift, Chippewa, Lac qui Parle, and Yellow Medicine.

Region 7E: Mille Lacs, Kanabec, Pine, Isanti, and Chisago.

Region 7W: Stearns, Benton, Sherburne, and Wright.

Region 8: Lincoln, Lyon, Redwood, Pipestone, Murray, Cottonwood, Rock, Nobles, and Jackson.

Region 9: Sibley, Nicollet, LeSueur, Brown, Blue Earth, Waseca, Watonwan, Martin, and Faribault.

Region 10: Rice, Goodhue, Wabasha, Steele, Dodge, Olmsted, Winona, Freeborn, Mower, Fillmore, and Houston.

Region 11: Anoka, Hennepin, Ramsey, Washington, Carver, Scott, and Dakota.

Subd. 2. [Repealed, 1997 c 231 art 12 s 27]

Subd. 3. **Ongoing boundary studies; changes.** Modification of regional boundaries may be initiated by a county requesting assignment to a region other than that within which it is designated. If a request for reassignment is unacceptable to the commission whose boundaries would be modified, the county requesting reassignment shall remain in the originally designated region until the legislature determines the final assignment.

History: 1969 c 1122 s 5; 1981 c 356 s 225,226; 1983 c 298 s 115 subd 1; 1987 c 186 s 15; 1997 c 231 art 12 s 4,5