
136A.828 PROHIBITIONS.​

Subdivision 1. Disclosure required; advertisement restricted. Private career schools, agents of private​
career schools, and solicitors may not advertise or represent in writing or orally that the private career school​
is approved or accredited by the state of Minnesota, except that any private career school, agent, or solicitor​
may represent in advertisements and shall disclose in catalogues, applications, and enrollment materials that​
the private career school is duly licensed by the state by prominently displaying the following statement:​

"(Name of private career school) is licensed as a private career school with the Minnesota Office of Higher​
Education pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, sections 136A.821 to 136A.832. Licensure is not an endorsement​
of the institution. Credits earned at the institution may not transfer to all other institutions."​

Subd. 2. Unlawful designation. No private career school organized after November 15, 1969, shall​
apply to itself either as a part of its name or in any other manner the designation of "college" or "university."​
Operating private career schools now using such designation may continue use thereof.​

Subd. 3. False statements. (a) A private career school, agent, or solicitor shall not make, or cause to be​
made, any statement or representation, oral, written or visual, in connection with the offering or publicizing​
of a program, if the private career school, agent, or solicitor knows or reasonably should have known the​
statement or representation to be false, fraudulent, deceptive, substantially inaccurate, or misleading.​

(b) Other than opinion-based statements or puffery, a school shall only make claims that are​
evidence-based, can be validated, and are based on current conditions and not on conditions that are no​
longer relevant.​

(c) A school shall not guarantee or imply the guarantee of employment.​

(d) A school shall not guarantee or advertise any certain wage or imply earnings greater than the prevailing​
wage for entry-level wages in the field of study for the geographic area unless advertised wages are based​
on verifiable wage information from graduates.​

(e) If placement statistics are used in advertising or other promotional materials, the school must be able​
to substantiate the statistics with school records. These records must be made available to the office upon​
request. A school is prohibited from reporting the following in placement statistics:​

(1) a student required to receive a job offer or start a job to be classified as a graduate;​

(2) a graduate if the graduate held a position before enrolling in the program, unless graduating enabled​
the graduate to maintain the position or the graduate received a promotion or raise upon graduation;​

(3) a graduate who works less than 20 hours per week; and​

(4) a graduate who is not expected to maintain the position for at least 180 days.​

(f) A school shall not use endorsements, commendations, or recommendations by a student in favor of​
a school except with the consent of the student and without any offer of financial or other material​
compensation. Endorsements may be used only when they portray current conditions.​

(g) A school may advertise that the school or its programs have been accredited by an accrediting agency​
recognized by the United States Department of Education or the Council for Higher Education Accreditation,​
but shall not advertise any other accreditation unless approved by the office. The office may approve an​
institution's advertising of accreditation that is not recognized by the United States Department of Education​
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or the Council for Higher Education if that accreditation is industry specific. Clear distinction must be made​
when the school is in candidacy or application status versus full accreditation.​

(h) A school may advertise that financial aid is available, including a listing of the financial aid programs​
in which the school participates, but federal or state financial aid shall not be used as a primary incentive in​
advertisement, promotion, or recruitment.​

(i) A school may advertise placement or career assistance, if offered, but shall not use the words "wanted,"​
"help wanted," or "trainee," either in the headline or the body of the advertisement.​

(j) A school shall not be advertised under any "help wanted," "employment," or similar classification.​

(k) A school shall not falsely claim that it is conducting a talent hunt, contest, or similar test.​

(l) The commissioner, at any time, may require a retraction of a false, misleading, or deceptive claim.​
To the extent reasonable, the retraction must be published in the same manner as the original claim.​

Subd. 4. Acceptance of contracts. No private career school shall accept contracts, enrollment agreements​
or enrollment applications from an agent or solicitor who does not have a current permit.​

Subd. 5. Improbable program completion or employment. A private career school, agent, or solicitor​
shall not enroll a prospective student when it is obvious that the prospective student is unlikely to successfully​
complete a program or is unlikely to qualify for employment in the vocation or field for which the preparation​
is designed unless this fact is affirmatively disclosed to the prospective student. If a prospective student​
expresses a desire to enroll after such disclosure, a disclaimer may be obtained by the private career school.​
The disclaimer shall be signed by the student and shall state substantially one or both of the following: "I​
am fully aware that it is unlikely I will be able to successfully complete the program" and "I am fully aware​
of the improbability or impossibility that I will qualify for employment in the vocation or field for which​
the program was designed."​

Subd. 6. Financial aid payments. (a) All private career schools must collect, assess, and distribute​
funds received from loans or other financial aid as provided in this subdivision.​

(b) Student loans or other financial aid funds received from federal, state, or local governments or​
administered in accordance with federal student financial assistance programs under title IV of the Higher​
Education Act of 1965, as amended, United States Code, title 20, chapter 28, must be collected and applied​
as provided by applicable federal, state, or local law or regulation.​

(c) Student loans or other financial aid assistance received from a bank, finance or credit card company,​
or other private lender must be collected or disbursed as provided in paragraphs (d) and (e).​

(d) Loans or other financial aid payments for amounts greater than $3,000 must be disbursed:​

(1) in two equal disbursements, if the term length is more than four months. The loan or payment amounts​
may be disbursed no earlier than the first day the student attends class with the remainder to be disbursed​
halfway through the term; or​

(2) in three equal disbursements, if the term length is more than six months. The loan or payment amounts​
may be disbursed no earlier than the first day the student attends class, one-third of the way through the​
term, and two-thirds of the way through the term.​

(e) Loans or other financial aid payments for amounts less than $3,000 may be disbursed as a single​
disbursement on the first day a student attends class, regardless of term length.​
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(f) No private career school may enter into a contract or agreement with, or receive any money from, a​
bank, finance or credit card company, or other private lender, unless the private lender follows the​
requirements for disbursements provided in paragraphs (d) and (e).​

(g) No private career school may withhold an official transcript for arrears or default on any loan made​
by the private career school to a student if the loan qualifies as an institutional loan under United States​
Code, title 11, section 523(a)(8)(b).​

History: 1969 c 866 s 8; 1973 c 714 s 13-15; 1Sp1985 c 11 s 73; 1986 c 444; 1992 c 513 art 1 s 27;​
1995 c 212 art 3 s 59; 1999 c 214 art 3 s 29,30; 2005 c 107 art 2 s 60; art 3 s 15,16; 2007 c 144 art 3 s 28;​
2008 c 298 s 23; 2010 c 364 s 23; 2015 c 69 art 2 s 39,46; 2017 c 89 art 3 s 26​
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