
343.21 OVERWORKING OR MISTREATING ANIMALS; PENALTY.​

Subdivision 1. Torture. No person shall overdrive, overload, torture, cruelly beat, neglect, or unjustifiably​
injure, maim, mutilate, or kill any animal, or cruelly work any animal when it is unfit for labor, whether it​
belongs to that person or to another person.​

Subd. 2. Nourishment; shelter. No person shall deprive any animal over which the person has charge​
or control of necessary food, water, or shelter.​

Subd. 3. Enclosure. No person shall keep any cow or other animal in any enclosure without providing​
wholesome exercise and change of air.​

Subd. 4. Low feed. No person shall feed any cow on food which produces impure or unwholesome​
milk.​

Subd. 5. Abandonment. No person shall abandon any animal.​

Subd. 6. Temporary abandonment. No person shall allow any maimed, sick, infirm, or disabled animal​
to lie in any street, road, or other public place for more than three hours after receiving notice of the animal's​
condition.​

Subd. 7. Cruelty. No person shall willfully instigate or in any way further any act of cruelty to any​
animal or animals, or any act tending to produce cruelty to animals.​

Subd. 8. Caging. No person shall cage any animal for public display purposes unless the display cage​
is constructed of solid material on three sides to protect the caged animal from the elements and unless the​
horizontal dimension of each side of the cage is at least four times the length of the caged animal. The​
provisions of this subdivision do not apply to the Minnesota State Agricultural Society, the Minnesota State​
Fair, or to the county agricultural societies, county fairs, to any agricultural display of caged animals by any​
political subdivision of the state of Minnesota, or to district, regional or national educational livestock or​
poultry exhibitions. The provisions of this subdivision do not apply to captive wildlife, the exhibition of​
which is regulated by section 97A.041.​

Subd. 8a. Harming a service animal. No person shall intentionally and without justification do either​
of the following to a service animal while it is providing service or while it is in the custody of the person​
it serves: (1) cause bodily harm to the animal; or (2) otherwise render the animal unable to perform its duties.​

Subd. 9. Penalty. (a) Except as otherwise provided in this subdivision, a person who fails to comply​
with any provision of this section is guilty of a misdemeanor. A person convicted of a second or subsequent​
violation of subdivision 1 or 7 within five years of a previous violation of subdivision 1 or 7 is guilty of a​
gross misdemeanor.​

(b) A person who intentionally violates subdivision 1 or 7 where the violation results in substantial​
bodily harm to a pet or companion animal may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than one year or​
to payment of a fine of not more than $3,000, or both.​

(c) A person convicted of violating paragraph (b) within five years of a previous gross misdemeanor or​
felony conviction for violating this section may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than two years​
or to payment of a fine of not more than $5,000, or both.​

(d) A person who intentionally violates subdivision 1 or 7 where the violation results in death or great​
bodily harm to a pet or companion animal may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than two years​
or to payment of a fine of not more than $5,000, or both.​
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(e) A person who violates subdivision 8a where the violation renders the service animal unable to perform​
its duties is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.​

(f) A person who violates subdivision 8a where the violation results in substantial bodily harm to a​
service animal may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than two years or to payment of a fine of​
not more than $5,000, or both.​

(g) A person who intentionally violates subdivision 1 or 7 where the violation results in substantial​
bodily harm to a pet or companion animal, and the act is done to threaten, intimidate, or terrorize another​
person, may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than two years or to payment of a fine of not more​
than $5,000, or both.​

(h) A person who violates subdivision 8a where the violation results in death or great bodily harm to a​
service animal may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than four years or to payment of a fine of​
not more than $10,000, or both.​

(i) A person who intentionally violates subdivision 1 or 7 where the violation results in death or great​
bodily harm to a pet or companion animal, and the act is done to threaten, intimidate, or terrorize another​
person, may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than four years or to payment of a fine of not more​
than $10,000, or both.​

Subd. 9a. Harm to service animals; mandatory restitution and civil remedies. (a) The court shall​
order a person convicted of violating subdivision 8a to pay restitution for the costs and expenses resulting​
from the crime. Costs and expenses include, but are not limited to, the service animal user's loss of income,​
veterinary expenses, transportation costs, and other expenses of temporary replacement assistance services,​
and service animal replacement or retraining costs incurred by a school, agency, or individual. If the court​
finds that the convicted person is indigent, the court may reduce the amount of restitution to a reasonable​
level or order it paid in installments.​

(b) This section does not preclude a person from seeking any available civil remedies for an act that​
violates subdivision 8a.​

Subd. 10. Restrictions. If a person is convicted of violating this section, the court shall require that pet​
or companion animals that have not been seized by a peace officer or agent and are in the custody or control​
of the person must be turned over to a peace officer or other appropriate officer or agent unless the court​
determines that the person is able and fit to provide adequately for an animal. If the evidence indicates lack​
of proper and reasonable care of an animal, the burden is on the person to affirmatively demonstrate by clear​
and convincing evidence that the person is able and fit to have custody of and provide adequately for an​
animal. The court may limit the person's further possession or custody of pet or companion animals, and​
may impose other conditions the court considers appropriate, including, but not limited to:​

(1) imposing a probation period during which the person may not have ownership, custody, or control​
of a pet or companion animal;​

(2) requiring periodic visits of the person by an animal control officer or agent appointed pursuant to​
section 343.01, subdivision 1;​

(3) requiring performance by the person of community service; and​
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(4) requiring the person to receive psychological, behavioral, or other counseling.​

History: (10443) RL s 5152; 1959 c 571 s 1-2; 1974 c 3 s 2; 1981 c 53 s 2; 1986 c 386 art 4 s 24; 1986​
c 444; 1990 c 387 s 1; 1990 c 612 s 2; 1993 c 326 art 4 s 10,11; 1Sp2001 c 8 art 8 s 9-11; 2010 c 292 s 1-3​
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