
296A.03 DISTRIBUTOR'S LICENSE.​

Subdivision 1. General rule. No person shall produce, manufacture, or refine petroleum products in​
this state, or receive, distribute, sell, or use in this state petroleum products which have not been received​
in this state by a licensed distributor, or in any manner act as a distributor as defined in section 296A.01​
without having been licensed by the commissioner as a distributor.​

Subd. 2. Qualifications. (a) A distributor's license shall be issued to any responsible person who applies​
and qualifies as a distributor.​

(b) Upon application to the commissioner, the commissioner must issue a distributor's license to any​
person who:​

(1) receives petroleum products in this state for bulk storage and subsequent distribution by tank truck;​

(2) produces, manufactures, or refines petroleum products in this state;​

(3) holds an unrevoked license as a distributor as of July 1, 1994;​

(4) imports petroleum products into this state via boat, barge, or pipeline for storage and subsequent​
delivery at or further transportation from boat, barge, or pipeline terminals in this state; or​

(5) holds a license and performs a function under the motor fuel tax law of an adjoining state equivalent​
to that of a distributor under this chapter, who desires to ship or deliver petroleum products from that state​
to persons in this state not licensed as distributors in this state and who agrees to assume with respect to all​
petroleum products so shipped or delivered the liabilities of a distributor receiving petroleum products in​
this state; provided, however, that any such license shall be issued only for the purpose of permitting such​
person to receive in this state the petroleum products so shipped or delivered. Except as herein provided, all​
persons licensed as distributors under this clause shall have the same rights and privileges and be subject to​
the same duties, requirements, and penalties as other licensed distributors.​

Subd. 3. License fee. An application for a distributor's license must be accompanied by an initial fee of​
$25. Once licensed, a distributor must remit a $25 fee annually to maintain the license.​

Subd. 4. Licensing period; expiration. Each license period shall be for one year ending each June 30.​

Subd. 5. Form of application; bond. (a) A written application shall be made in the form and manner​
prescribed by the commissioner.​

(b) The commissioner shall also require the applicant or licensee to deposit with the commissioner of​
management and budget securities of the United States government or the state of Minnesota or to execute​
and file a bond, with a corporate surety approved by the commissioner, to the state of Minnesota in an amount​
to be determined by the commissioner and in a form to be fixed by the commissioner and approved by the​
attorney general, and which shall be conditioned for the payment when due of all excise taxes, fees, penalties,​
and accrued interest arising in the ordinary course of business or by reason of any delinquent money which​
may be due the state. The bond shall cover all places of business within the state where petroleum products​
are received by the licensee. The applicant or licensee shall designate and maintain an agent in this state​
upon whom service may be made for all purposes of this section.​

(c) An initial applicant for a distributor's license shall furnish a bond in a minimum sum of $3,000 for​
the first year.​

Copyright © 2018 by the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.​

296A.03​MINNESOTA STATUTES 2018​1​



(d) The commissioner, on reaching the opinion that the bond given by a licensee is inadequate in amount​
to fully protect the state, shall require an additional bond in such amount as the commissioner deems sufficient.​

(e) A licensee who desires to be exempt from depositing securities or furnishing such bond shall furnish​
to the commissioner an itemized financial statement showing the assets and the liabilities of the applicant.​
If it appears to the commissioner, from the financial statement or otherwise, that the applicant is financially​
responsible, then the commissioner may exempt the applicant from depositing such securities or furnishing​
such bond until the commissioner otherwise orders.​

(f) When the surety upon any bond issued under the provisions of this chapter have fulfilled the conditions​
of such bond and compensated the state for any loss occasioned by any act or omission of any licensee under​
this chapter, such surety shall be subrogated to all the rights of the state in connection with the transaction​
where such loss occurred.​

Subd. 6. Surrender of license. When the licensee shall voluntarily or involuntarily sell, dispose of, or​
discontinue business during the term of a license, the licensee shall immediately notify the commissioner​
in writing and shall within ten days surrender the license at the commissioner's office in St. Paul, Minnesota.​

History: 1998 c 299 s 3; 2000 c 490 art 13 s 13; 2003 c 112 art 2 s 50; 2009 c 101 art 2 s 109​
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