1 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2018 363A.43

363A.43 CONTINUING EDUCATION; ACCESSIBILITY.

Subdivision 1. Accessibility. Upon request by an individual, any continuing education or professional
development course, offering, material or activity approved or administered by the state, political subdivisions
of the state, the University of Minnesota or the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities, must be made
available within a reasonable time period to persons with disabilities in a manner consistent with state and
federal laws prohibiting discrimination against persons with disabilities. Reasonable modifications must be
made in any policies, practices and procedures that might otherwise deny equal access to continuing education
or professional development to individuals with disabilities.

Subd. 2. Penalties. Violation of this section is subject to a penalty of $500 per violation, plus reasonable
attorney fees, costs and disbursements, payable to a qualified disabled person under section 363A.03,
subdivision 36, who sought the accessible format under subdivision 1, by the public entity or the entity
offering the course, material, or activity under a contract with a public entity. The total amount of penalties
payable to any individual or class regardless of the number of violations is limited to $15,000. In any class
action or series of class actions which arise from a violation of this section, the amount of attorney fees
awarded against the violating public entity may not exceed $15,000. Any action must be commenced within
one year of the occurrence of the alleged violation.

History: 2010 ¢ 271 s 3; 2010 ¢ 347 art I s 23
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