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JOINT SELF-INSURANCE​

62H.01 AUTHORITY TO JOINTLY SELF-INSURE.​

Any two or more employers, excluding the state and its political subdivisions as described in section​
471.617, subdivision 1, who are authorized to transact business in Minnesota may jointly self-insure employee​
health, dental, short-term disability benefits, or other benefits permitted under the Employee Retirement​
Income Security Act of 1974, United States Code, title 29, sections 1001 et seq. If an employer chooses to​
jointly self-insure in accordance with this chapter, the employer must participate in the joint plan for at least​
three consecutive years. If an employer terminates participation in the joint plan before the conclusion of​
this three-year period, a financial penalty may be assessed under the joint plan, not to exceed the amount​
contributed by the employer to the plan's reserves as determined under Minnesota Rules, part 2765.1200.​
Joint plans must have a minimum of 1,000 covered enrollees and meet all conditions and terms of sections​
62H.01 to 62H.08. Joint plans covering employers not resident in Minnesota must meet the requirements​
of sections 62H.01 to 62H.08 as if the portion of the plan covering Minnesota resident employees was treated​
as a separate plan.​

A multiple employer welfare arrangement as defined in United States Code, title 29, section 1002(40)(a),​
is subject to this chapter to the extent authorized by the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974,​
United States Code, title 29, sections 1001 et seq. The commissioner of commerce may, on behalf of the​
state, enter into an agreement with the United States Secretary of Labor for delegation to the state of some​
or all of the secretary's enforcement authority with respect to multiple employer welfare arrangements, as​
described in United States Code, title 29, section 1136(c).​

History: 1983 c 241 s 1; 1987 c 337 s 74; 1992 c 549 art 3 s 18; 1992 c 564 art 1 s 43; 1994 c 485 s​
36; 1997 c 175 art 4 s 1; 2002 c 330 s 17; 2004 c 288 art 6 s 4​

62H.02 REQUIRED PROVISIONS.​

(a) A joint self-insurance plan must include aggregate excess stop-loss coverage and individual excess​
stop-loss coverage provided by an insurance company licensed by the state of Minnesota.​
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(b) Aggregate excess stop-loss coverage must include provisions to cover incurred, unpaid claim liability​
in the event of plan termination.​

(c) The plan of self-insurance must have participating employers fund an amount at least equal to the​
point at which the excess or stop-loss insurer has contracted to assume 100 percent of additional liability.​

(d) A joint self-insurance plan must submit its proposed excess or stop-loss insurance contract to the​
commissioner of commerce at least 30 days prior to the proposed plan's effective date and at least 30 days​
subsequent to any renewal date. The commissioner shall review the contract to determine if they meet the​
standards established by sections 62H.01 to 62H.08 and respond within a 30-day period.​

(e) Any excess or stop-loss insurance plan must contain a provision that the excess or stop-loss insurer​
will give the plan and the commissioner of commerce a minimum of 180 days' notice of termination or​
nonrenewal. If the plan fails to secure replacement coverage within 60 days after receipt of the notice of​
cancellation or nonrenewal, the commissioner shall issue an order providing for the orderly termination of​
the plan.​

(f) The commissioner may waive the requirements of this section and of any rule relating to the​
requirements of this section, if the commissioner determines that a joint self-insurance plan has established​
alternative arrangements that fully fund the plan's liability or incurred but unpaid claims. The commissioner​
may not waive the requirement that a joint self-insurance plan have excess stop-loss coverage.​

History: 1983 c 241 s 2; 1983 c 289 s 114 subd 1; 1984 c 655 art 1 s 92; 1987 c 337 s 75; 2004 c 288​
art 6 s 5; 2007 c 147 art 12 s 3​

62H.03 MARKETING, RISK MANAGEMENT, OR ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES.​

No joint self-insurance plan may offer marketing, risk management, or administrative services unless​
these services are provided by vendors duly licensed by the commissioner to provide these services. No​
vendor of these services may be a trustee of any joint self-insurance plan for which they provide marketing,​
risk management, or administrative services.​

History: 1983 c 241 s 3​

62H.04 COMPLIANCE WITH OTHER LAWS.​

(a) A joint self-insurance plan is subject to the requirements of chapters 62A, 62E, 62L, and 62Q, and​
sections 72A.17 to 72A.32 unless otherwise specifically exempt. A joint self-insurance plan must pay​
assessments made by the Minnesota Comprehensive Health Association, as required under section 62E.11.​

(b) A joint self-insurance plan is exempt from providing the mandated health benefits described in​
chapters 62A, 62E, 62L, and 62Q if it otherwise provides the benefits required under the Employee Retirement​
Income Security Act of 1974, United States Code, title 29, sections 1001, et seq., for all employers and not​
just for the employers with 50 or more employees who are covered by that federal law.​

(c) A joint self-insurance plan is exempt from section 62L.03, subdivision 1, if the plan offers an annual​
open enrollment period of no less than 15 days during which all employers that qualify for membership may​
enter the plan without preexisting condition limitations or exclusions except those permitted under chapter​
62L.​

(d) A joint self-insurance plan is exempt from sections 62A.146, 62A.16, 62A.17, 62A.20, 62A.21, and​
62A.65, subdivision 5, paragraph (b), if the joint self-insurance plan complies with the continuation​
requirements under the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974, United States Code, title 29,​
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sections 1001, et seq., for all employers and not just for the employers with 20 or more employees who are​
covered by that federal law.​

(e) A joint self-insurance plan must provide to all employers the maternity coverage required by federal​
law for employers with 15 or more employees.​

(f) A joint self-insurance plan must comply with all the provisions and requirements of the Affordable​
Care Act as defined under section 62A.011, subdivision 1a, to the extent that they apply to such plans.​

History: 1983 c 241 s 4; 1987 c 337 s 76; 1995 c 234 art 7 s 10; 2002 c 330 s 18; 2004 c 288 art 6 s​
6; 2013 c 84 art 1 s 43​

62H.05 MANAGEMENT OF FUNDS.​

Funds collected from the participating employers under joint self-insurance plans must be held in trust​
subject to the following requirements:​

(a) A board of trustees elected by participating employers shall serve as fund managers on behalf of​
participants. Trustees must be plan participants. No participating employer may be represented by more than​
one trustee. A minimum of three and a maximum of seven trustees may be elected. Trustees shall receive​
no remuneration, but they may be reimbursed for actual and reasonable expenses incurred in connection​
with duties as trustees.​

(b) Trustees shall be bonded in an amount not less than $100,000 or no more than $500,000 from a​
licensed bonding company.​

(c) Investment of plan funds is subject to the same restrictions as are applicable to political subdivisions​
pursuant to section 118A.04. All investments must be managed by a bank or other investment organization​
licensed to operate in Minnesota.​

(d) Trustees, on behalf of the fund, shall file annual reports with the commissioner of commerce within​
30 days immediately following the end of each calendar year. The reports must summarize the financial​
condition of the fund, itemize collection from participating employers, and detail all fund expenditures.​

History: 1983 c 241 s 5; 1983 c 289 s 114 subd 1; 1984 c 655 art 1 s 92; 1996 c 399 art 2 s 12​

62H.06 REGULATION OF PLANS BY COMMISSIONER.​

The commissioner of commerce shall promulgate rules to insure the solvency and operation of all​
self-insured plans subject to this chapter. The commissioner may examine the joint self-insurance plans​
pursuant to sections 60A.03 and 60A.031.​

History: 1983 c 241 s 6; 1983 c 289 s 114 subd 1; 1984 c 640 s 32; 1984 c 655 art 1 s 92; 1985 c 248​
s 26; 1995 c 233 art 2 s 56​

62H.07 [Repealed, 2004 c 288 art 6 s 31]​

62H.08 EXEMPTION.​

A homogenous joint employer plan providing group health benefits, which was in existence prior to​
March 1, 1983, and which is associated with, or organized or sponsored by, an association exempt from​
taxation under United States Code, title 26, section 501(c)(6), and controlled by a board of trustees a majority​
of whom are members of the association, is exempt from the requirements of sections 62H.01 to 62H.08​
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and 471.617, subdivisions 1 to 3, and the insurance laws of this state, except that the association must comply​
with the provisions of chapter 62L with respect to any members that are small employers.​

History: 1983 c 241 s 8; 1995 c 234 art 7 s 11​

MULTIPLE EMPLOYER WELFARE​
ARRANGEMENTS (MEWAs)​

62H.10 DEFINITIONS.​

Subdivision 1. Scope. For purposes of sections 62H.10 to 62H.17, the terms in this section have the​
meanings given them.​

Subd. 2. Agent. "Agent" means an agent as defined under section 60A.02, subdivision 7.​

Subd. 3. Arrangement. "Arrangement" means a fund, trust, plan, program, or other mechanism by​
which a person provides, or attempts to provide, health care benefits to individuals.​

Subd. 4. Broker. "Broker" means an agent engaged in brokerage business pursuant to section 60K.49.​

Subd. 5. Collectively bargained arrangement. "Collectively bargained arrangement" means an​
arrangement which provides or represents that it is providing health care benefits or coverage under or​
pursuant to one or more collective bargaining agreements.​

Subd. 6. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of commerce.​

Subd. 7. Employee leasing arrangement. "Employee leasing arrangement" means a labor leasing, staff​
leasing, employee leasing, contract labor, extended employee staffing or supply, or other arrangement, under​
contract or otherwise, whereby one business or entity leases or obtains all or a significant number of its​
workers from another business or entity.​

Subd. 8. Employee welfare benefit plan. "Employee welfare benefit plan" means a plan, fund, or​
program established or maintained by an employer or by an employee organization, or by both, to the extent​
that the plan, fund, or program was established or is maintained for the purpose of providing for its participants​
or their beneficiaries, through the purchase of insurance or otherwise, medical, surgical, or hospital care or​
benefits, or benefits in the event of sickness, accident, disability, death, or unemployment.​

Subd. 9. Fully insured by a licensed insurer. "Fully insured by a licensed insurer" means that, for all​
of the health care benefits or coverage provided or offered by or through an arrangement:​

(1) a licensed insurer is directly obligated by contract to provide all of the coverage to or under the​
arrangement;​

(2) the licensed insurer assumes all of the risk for payment of all covered services or benefits; and​

(3) the liability of the licensed insurer for payment of the covered services or benefits is directly to the​
individual employee, member, or dependent receiving the health care services.​

Subd. 10. Licensed insurer. "Licensed insurer" means an insurer having a certificate of authority to​
transact insurance in this state.​

Subd. 11. Reportable MEWA. "Reportable MEWA" means a person that provides health care benefits​
or coverage to the employees of two or more employers. Reportable MEWA does not include:​
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(1) a licensed insurer;​

(2) an arrangement which is fully insured by a licensed insurer;​

(3) a collectively bargained arrangement;​

(4) an employee welfare benefit plan established or maintained by a rural electric cooperative or a rural​
telephone cooperative;​

(5) an employee leasing arrangement; or​

(6) a joint self-insurance employee health plan, which includes but is not limited to multiple employee​
welfare arrangements and multiple employer welfare arrangements (MEWAs), having a certificate of​
authority to transact insurance in this state pursuant to chapter 62H.​

Subd. 12. Rural electric cooperative. "Rural electric cooperative" means:​

(1) an organization that is exempt from tax under United States Code, title 26, section 501(a), and which​
is engaged primarily in providing electric service on a mutual or cooperative basis; or​

(2) an organization described in United States Code, title 26, section 501(c), paragraph (4) or (6), which​
is exempt from tax under United States Code, title 26, section 501(a), and at least 80 percent of the members​
of which are organizations described in clause (1).​

Subd. 13. Rural telephone cooperative. "Rural telephone cooperative" means an organization described​
in United States Code, title 26, section 501(c), paragraph (4) or (6), which is exempt from tax under United​
States Code, title 26, section 501(a), and at least 80 percent of the members of which are organizations​
engaged primarily in providing telephone service to rural areas of the United States on a mutual, cooperative,​
or other basis.​

Subd. 14. Third-party administrator. "Third-party administrator" means a vendor of risk management​
services or an entity administering a self-insurance or insurance plan under section 60A.23.​

History: 1994 c 485 s 37; 2000 c 483 s 15; 2001 c 117 art 2 s 10​

62H.11 AGENTS AND BROKERS PROHIBITED FROM ASSISTING REPORTABLE MEWAS​
PRIOR TO FILING.​

(a) No agent or broker may solicit, advertise, or market in this state health benefits or coverage from,​
or accept an application for, or place coverage for a person who resides in this state with, a reportable MEWA​
unless the agent or broker first files with the commissioner the information required under section 62H.16.​

(b) No agent or broker may solicit another agent or broker to enter into an arrangement to solicit,​
advertise, or market services, health benefits, or coverage of a reportable MEWA unless the agent or broker​
first files with the commissioner the information required under section 62H.16.​

History: 1994 c 485 s 38​

62H.12 AGENTS AND BROKERS PROHIBITED FROM ASSISTING EMPLOYEE LEASING​
ARRANGEMENTS PRIOR TO FILING.​

(a) No agent or broker may solicit, advertise, or market in this state the services, health benefits, or​
coverage of an employee leasing arrangement or a person or arrangement which represents itself as an​
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employee leasing arrangement unless the agent or broker first files with the commissioner the information​
required under section 62H.16.​

(b) No agent or broker may solicit another agent or broker to enter into an arrangement to solicit,​
advertise, or market the services, health benefits, or coverage of an employee leasing arrangement unless​
the agent or broker first files with the commissioner the information required under section 62H.16.​

History: 1994 c 485 s 39​

62H.13 AGENTS AND BROKERS PROHIBITED FROM ASSISTING COLLECTIVELY​
BARGAINED ARRANGEMENTS PRIOR TO FILING.​

(a) No agent or broker may solicit, advertise, or market in this state health benefits or coverage from,​
or accept an application for, or place coverage for a person who resides in this state with, a collectively​
bargained arrangement or an arrangement that represents itself as a collectively bargained arrangement​
unless the agent or broker first files with the commissioner the information required under section 62H.16.​

(b) No agent or broker may solicit another agent or broker to enter into an arrangement to solicit,​
advertise, or market the health benefits or coverage of a collectively bargained arrangement unless the agent​
or broker first files with the commissioner the information required under section 62H.16.​

History: 1994 c 485 s 40​

62H.14 THIRD-PARTY ADMINISTRATORS AND LICENSED INSURERS PROHIBITED FROM​
ASSISTING REPORTABLE MEWAS PRIOR TO FILING.​

(a) No third-party administrator may solicit or effect coverage of, underwrite for, collect charges or​
premium for, or adjust or settle claims of a resident of this state for, or enter into any agreement to perform​
any of those functions for, a reportable MEWA that provides coverage to residents of this state unless the​
third-party administrator first files with the commissioner the information required under section 62H.16.​

(b) No licensed insurer may solicit or effect coverage of, underwrite for, collect charges or premiums​
for, adjust or settle claims of a resident of this state for, or enter into any agreement to perform any of those​
functions for a reportable MEWA that provides coverage to residents of this state unless the insurer first​
files with the commissioner the information required under section 62H.16.​

(c) A licensed insurer that issues or has issued any insurance coverage to a reportable MEWA that covers​
residents of this state, including, but not limited to, specific or aggregate stop-loss coverage, shall file with​
the commissioner the information required under section 62H.16 within 30 days after the coverage is issued​
or within 30 days after the date the reportable MEWA first provides coverage to a resident of this state,​
whichever is later.​

History: 1994 c 485 s 41​

62H.15 LACK OF KNOWLEDGE NOT A DEFENSE.​

(a) Lack of knowledge or intent to deceive with respect to the organization or status of insurance coverage​
of a reportable MEWA, employee leasing firm, or collectively bargained arrangement is not a defense to a​
violation of sections 62H.10 to 62H.17.​

(b) A filing under sections 62H.10 to 62H.17 is solely for the purpose of providing information to the​
commissioner. Sections 62H.10 to 62H.17 and a filing under those sections do not authorize or license a​
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reportable MEWA, employee leasing firm, collectively bargained arrangement, or any other arrangement​
to engage in business in this state if otherwise prohibited by law.​

History: 1994 c 485 s 42​

62H.16 INFORMATION REQUIRED TO BE FILED AND KEPT CURRENT.​

(a) An agent, broker, third-party administrator, or insurer required to file under sections 62H.10 to​
62H.17 shall file with the commissioner all of the following information on a form prescribed by the​
commissioner:​

(1) a copy of the organizational documents of the reportable MEWA, employee leasing firm, or​
collectively bargained arrangement, including the articles of incorporation and bylaws, partnership agreement,​
or trust instrument;​

(2) a copy of each insurance or reinsurance contract that purports to insure or guarantee all or any portion​
of benefits or coverage offered by the reportable MEWA, employee leasing firm, or collectively bargained​
arrangement to a person who resides in this state;​

(3) copies of the benefit plan description and other materials intended to be distributed to potential​
purchasers; and​

(4) the names and addresses of all persons performing or expected to perform the functions of a third-party​
administrator for the reportable MEWA, employee leasing firm, or collectively bargained arrangement.​

(b) A filing under sections 62H.10 to 62H.17 is ineffective and is not in compliance with those sections​
if it is incomplete or inaccurate in a material respect.​

(c) A person who has made a filing under sections 62H.10 to 62H.17 shall amend the filing within 30​
days of the date the person becomes aware, or exercising due diligence should have become aware, of any​
material change to the information required to be filed. The amended filing must accurately reflect the​
material change to the information originally filed.​

History: 1994 c 485 s 43​

62H.17 LIABILITY FOR VIOLATION.​

If an arrangement that is an unauthorized insurer fails to pay a claim or loss in this state within the​
provisions of its contract, a person who violates sections 62H.10 to 62H.17 with respect to the arrangement​
is liable to the insured for the full amount of the claim or loss in the manner provided by the provisions of​
the insurance contract.​

History: 1994 c 485 s 44​
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