412.581 OFFICERS.

In any city operating under Optional Plan A except a city having a larger council under Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 412.023, subdivision 4, the council shall be composed of five or seven members consisting, except during the initial period of its operation as provided in section 412.571, of the mayor and four or six council members and, except as provided in that section, the clerk and treasurer or clerk-treasurer shall be appointed by the council for indefinite terms.

History: 1949 c 119 s 74; 1965 c 417 s 11; 1967 c 289 s 13; 1974 c 337 s 11; 1986 c 444; 1989 c 30 s 9; 1997 c 7 art 1 s 136; 2016 c 158 art 1 s 183