326B.921 LICENSING AND REGISTRATION.

Subdivision 1. License required; rules; time credit. No individual shall engage in or work at the business of a contracting high pressure pipefitter unless issued a contracting high pressure pipefitter license to do so by the department under rules adopted by the board. No license shall be required for repairs on existing installations. No individual shall engage in or work at the business of journeyman high pressure pipefitter competency license to do so by the department under rules adopted by pipefitter competency license to do so by the department under rules adopted by the board. An individual possessing a contracting high pressure pipefitter competency license to do so by the department under rules adopted by the board. An individual possessing a contracting high pressure pipefitter competency license may also work as a journeyman high pressure pipefitter.

No person shall construct or install high pressure piping, nor install high pressure piping in connection with the dealing in and selling of high pressure pipe material and supplies, unless, at all times, an individual possessing a contracting high pressure pipefitter competency license or a journeyman high pressure pipefitter competency license is responsible for ensuring that the high pressure pipefitting work is in conformity with Minnesota Statutes and Minnesota Rules.

The board shall prescribe rules, not inconsistent herewith, for the examination and competency licensing of contracting high pressure pipefitters and journeyman high pressure pipefitters.

An employee performing the duties of inspector for the department in regulating pipefitting shall not receive time credit for the inspection duties when making an application for a license required by this section.

Subd. 2. **High pressure pipefitting business license.** Before obtaining a permit for high pressure piping work, a person must obtain or utilize a business with a high pressure piping business license.

A person must have at all times as a full-time employee at least one individual holding a contracting high pressure pipefitter competency license. Only full-time employees who hold contracting high pressure pipefitter licenses are authorized to obtain high pressure piping permits in the name of the business. The contracting high pressure pipefitter competency license holder can be the employee of only one high pressure piping business at a time. An application for a high pressure piping business license shall include a verified statement that the applicant or licensee has complied with this subdivision.

To retain its business license without reapplication, a person holding a high pressure piping business license that ceases to employ an individual holding a contracting high pressure pipefitter competency license shall have 60 days from the last day of employment of its previous contracting pipefitter competency license holder to employ another license holder. The department must be notified no later than five days after the last day of employment of the previous license holder.

No high pressure pipefitting work may be performed during any period when the high pressure pipefitting business does not have a contracting high pressure pipefitter competency license holder on staff. If a license holder is not employed within 60 days after the last day of employment of the previous license holder, the pipefitting business license shall lapse.

The board shall prescribe by rule procedures for application for and issuance of business licenses.

Subd. 3. **Registration requirement.** All unlicensed individuals, other than pipefitter apprentices, must be registered under subdivision 4. No licensed high pressure piping business shall employ an unlicensed individual to assist in the practical construction and installation of high pressure piping and appurtenances unless the unlicensed individual is registered with the department. A pipefitter apprentice or registered unlicensed individual employed by a high pressure piping business may assist in the practical construction and installation of high pressure piping and appurtenances only while under direct supervision of a licensed contracting high pressure pipefitter or licensed journeyman high pressure pipefitter employed by the same

MINNESOTA STATUTES 2016

high pressure piping business. The licensed contracting high pressure pipefitter or licensed journeyman high pressure pipefitter shall supervise no more than two pipefitter apprentices or registered unlicensed individuals. The licensed contracting high pressure pipefitter or journeyman high pressure pipefitter is responsible for ensuring that all high pressure piping work performed by the pipefitter apprentice or registered unlicensed individuals individual complies with Minnesota Statutes and Minnesota Rules.

Subd. 4. **Registration with commissioner.** An unlicensed individual may register to assist in the practical construction and installation of high pressure piping and appurtenances while in the employ of a licensed high pressure piping business by completing and submitting to the commissioner a registration form provided by the commissioner, with all fees required by section 326B.092. The board may prescribe rules, not inconsistent with this section, for the registration of unlicensed individuals.

Applications for initial registration may be submitted at any time. Registration must be renewed annually and shall be valid for one calendar year beginning January 1.

Subd. 5. **Bond.** As a condition of licensing, each applicant for a high pressure piping business license shall give and maintain a bond to the state in the total sum of \$15,000 conditioned upon the faithful and lawful performance of all work contracted for or performed within the state. The bond shall run to and be for the benefit of persons injured or suffering financial loss by reason of failure of payment or performance. Claims and actions on the bond may be brought according to sections 574.26 to 574.38.

The term of the bond must be concurrent with the term of the high pressure pipefitting business license and run without interruption from the date of the issuance of the license to the end of the calendar year. All high pressure pipefitting business licenses must be annually renewed on a calendar year basis.

The bond must be filed with the department and shall be in lieu of any other business license bonds required by any political subdivision for high pressure pipefitting. The bond must be written by a corporate surety licensed to do business in the state.

Subd. 6. **Insurance.** In addition to the bond described in subdivision 5, each applicant for a high pressure pipefitting business license or renewal shall have in force public liability insurance, including products liability insurance, with limits of at least \$100,000 per person and \$300,000 per occurrence and property damage insurance with limits of at least \$50,000.

The insurance must be kept in force for the entire term of the high pressure pipefitting business license, and the license shall be suspended by the department if at any time the insurance is not in force.

The insurance must be written by an insurer licensed to do business in the state and shall be in lieu of any other insurance required by any subdivision of government for high pressure pipefitting. Each person holding a high pressure pipefitting business license shall maintain on file with the department a certificate evidencing the insurance. In the event of a policy cancellation, the insurer shall send written notice to the commissioner at the same time that a cancellation request is received from or a notice is sent to the insured.

Subd. 7. License, registration, and renewal fees. For purposes of calculating license, registration, and renewal fees required under section 326B.092:

(1) the registration of an unlicensed individual under subdivision 4 is an entry level license;

- (2) a journeyman high pressure pipefitter license is a journeyman license;
- (3) a contracting high pressure pipefitter license is a master license; and
- (4) a high pressure piping business license is a business license.

Subd. 8. **Reciprocity with other states.** The commissioner may issue a temporary license without examination, upon payment of the required fee, to nonresident applicants who are licensed under the laws of a state having standards for licensing which the commissioner determines are substantially equivalent to the standards of this state if the other state grants similar privileges to Minnesota residents duly licensed in this state. Applicants who receive a temporary license under this section may acquire an aggregate of 24 months of experience before they have to apply and pass the licensing examination. Applicants must register with the commissioner of labor and industry and the commissioner shall set a fee for a temporary license. Applicants have five years in which to comply with this section.

History: (5887-30d) 1937 c 367 s 5; Ex1967 c 1 s 6; 1978 c 604 s 2; 1979 c 50 s 40; 1981 c 72 s 1; 1984 c 481 s 4; 1986 c 444; 1987 c 132 s 3; 1995 c 123 s 1-5; 2004 c 251 s 13; 2007 c 135 art 4 s 4-6; 2007 c 140 art 10 s 8,11; art 13 s 4; 2008 c 337 s 26-30; 2010 c 183 s 19; 2010 c 280 s 38; 2010 c 347 art 3 s 49-51,76; 2010 c 384 s 91; 2010 c 385 s 6; 2015 c 54 art 1 s 22