93.0015 MINERAL COORDINATING COMMITTEE.

Subdivision 1. **Establishment; membership.** The Mineral Coordinating Committee is established to plan for diversified mineral development. The Mineral Coordinating Committee consists of:

- (1) the commissioner of natural resources;
- (2) the commissioner of the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency;
- (3) the commissioner of Iron Range resources and rehabilitation;
- (4) the director of the Minnesota Geological Survey;
- (5) the dean of the University of Minnesota Institute of Technology;
- (6) the director of the Natural Resources Research Institute; and
- (7) four individuals appointed by the governor for a four-year term, one each representing the iron ore and taconite, nonferrous metallic minerals, and industrial minerals industries within the state and one representing labor.
- Subd. 2. **Staffing.** The commissioner of natural resources shall serve as chair of the committee. A member of the committee may designate another person of the member's organization to act in the member's place. The commissioner shall provide staff and administrative services necessary for the committee's activities.
 - Subd. 3. Expiration. The committee expires June 30, 2026.
- Subd. 4. **Advice.** The Mineral Coordinating Committee is encouraged to solicit and receive advice from representatives of the United States Geological Survey, United States Environmental Protection Agency, and United States Department of Energy.

History: 1Sp2003 c 13 s 5; 2007 c 57 art 1 s 77; 2011 c 107 s 47,48; 2014 c 286 art 8 s 10; 2016 c 189 art 3 s 31