257.0768 COMMUNITY-SPECIFIC BOARDS.

Subdivision 1. **Membership.** Four community-specific boards are created. Each board consists of five members. The chair of each of the following groups shall appoint the board for the community represented by the group: the Indian Affairs Council; the Minnesota Council on Latino Affairs; the Council for Minnesotans of African Heritage; and the Council on Asian-Pacific Minnesotans. In making appointments, the chair must consult with other members of the council.

- Subd. 2. **Compensation; chair.** Members do not receive compensation but are entitled to receive reimbursement for reasonable and necessary expenses incurred.
- Subd. 3. **Meetings.** Each board shall meet regularly at the request of the appointing chair or the ombudsperson.
- Subd. 4. **Duties.** Each board shall appoint the ombudsperson for its community. Each board shall advise and assist the ombudsperson for its community in selecting matters for attention; developing policies, plans, and programs to carry out the ombudspersons' functions and powers; establishing protocols for working with the communities of color; developing procedures for the ombudspersons' use of the subpoena power to compel testimony and evidence from nonagency individuals; and making reports and recommendations for changes designed to improve standards of competence, efficiency, justice, and protection of rights.
- Subd. 5. **Terms, compensation, removal, and expiration.** The membership terms, compensation, and removal of members of each board and the filling of membership vacancies are governed by section 15.0575.
- Subd. 6. **Joint meetings.** The members of the four community-specific boards shall meet jointly at least four times each year to advise the ombudspersons on overall policies, plans, protocols, and programs for the office.

History: 1986 c 444: 1991 c 292 art 3 s 29: 1994 c 632 art 4 s 64: 1997 c 7 art 3 s 8: 2015 c 77 art 2 s 87