240A.02 MINNESOTA AMATEUR SPORTS COMMISSION.

Subdivision 1. **Membership; compensation; chair.** (a) The Minnesota Amateur Sports Commission consists of 14 voting members, four of whom must be experienced in promoting amateur sports. Of the voting members, nine shall be appointed by the governor and two shall be appointed by the commission to three-year terms. Of the total commission membership, including voting and nonvoting members, one member must reside in each of the state's congressional districts. Four legislators, two from each house appointed according to its rules, shall be nonvoting members. One member from each house shall be from the minority caucus. Compensation and removal of members and the filling of membership vacancies are as provided in section 15.0575. A member may be reappointed. The governor shall appoint the chair of the commission's recommendation.

(b) The governor, speaker of the house, and senate majority leader shall each appoint one additional voting member to the commission to a two-year term. The purpose of adding three members to the commission is to ensure gender balance in commission membership. Compensation, removal, and filling of vacancies of members appointed under this paragraph are as provided in section 15.0575. A member appointed under this paragraph may be reappointed.

Subd. 2. **Meetings.** The commission shall meet at least quarterly and at other times determined by the commission and shall adopt rules governing its proceedings.

Subd. 3. **Staff.** The commission shall appoint an executive director, who may hire other employees authorized by the commission. The executive director is in the unclassified service under section 43A.08.

History: 1987 c 400 s 45; 1988 c 633 s 2; 1991 c 238 art 1 s 10; 1993 c 192 s 82; 1994 c 648 art 1 s 1; 1997 c 187 art 3 s 28; 2002 c 393 s 56