256L.07 ELIGIBILITY FOR MINNESOTACARE.

Subdivision 1. **General requirements.** (a) Children enrolled in the original children's health plan as of September 30, 1992, children who enrolled in the MinnesotaCare program after September 30, 1992, pursuant to Laws 1992, chapter 549, article 4, section 17, and children who have family gross incomes that are equal to or less than 200 percent of the federal poverty guidelines are eligible without meeting the requirements of subdivision 2 and the four-month requirement in subdivision 3, as long as they maintain continuous coverage in the MinnesotaCare program or medical assistance.

Parents enrolled in MinnesotaCare under section 256L.04, subdivision 1, whose income increases above 275 percent of the federal poverty guidelines, are no longer eligible for the program and shall be disenrolled by the commissioner. Beginning January 1, 2008, individuals enrolled in MinnesotaCare under section 256L.04, subdivision 7, whose income increases above 200 percent of the federal poverty guidelines or 250 percent of the federal poverty guidelines on or after July 1, 2009, are no longer eligible for the program and shall be disenrolled by the commissioner. For persons disenrolled under this subdivision, MinnesotaCare coverage terminates the last day of the calendar month following the month in which the commissioner determines that the income of a family or individual exceeds program income limits.

- (b) Children may remain enrolled in MinnesotaCare if their gross family income as defined in section 256L.01, subdivision 4, is greater than 275 percent of federal poverty guidelines. The premium for children remaining eligible under this paragraph shall be the maximum premium determined under section 256L.15, subdivision 2, paragraph (b).
- (c) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), parents are not eligible for MinnesotaCare if gross household income exceeds \$57,500 for the 12-month period of eligibility.
- Subd. 2. **Must not have access to employer-subsidized coverage.** (a) To be eligible, a family or individual must not have access to subsidized health coverage through an employer and must not have had access to employer-subsidized coverage through a current employer for 18 months prior to application or reapplication. A family or individual whose employer-subsidized coverage is lost due to an employer terminating health care coverage as an employee benefit during the previous 18 months is not eligible.
- (b) This subdivision does not apply to a family or individual who was enrolled in MinnesotaCare within six months or less of reapplication and who no longer has employer-subsidized coverage due to the employer terminating health care coverage as an employee benefit. This subdivision does not apply to children with family gross incomes that are equal to or less than 200 percent of federal poverty guidelines.
- (c) For purposes of this requirement, subsidized health coverage means health coverage for which the employer pays at least 50 percent of the cost of coverage for the employee or dependent, or a higher percentage as specified by the commissioner. Children are eligible for employer-subsidized coverage through either parent, including the noncustodial parent. The commissioner must treat employer contributions to Internal Revenue Code Section 125 plans and any other employer benefits intended to pay health care costs as qualified employer subsidies toward the cost of health coverage for employees for purposes of this subdivision.
 - Subd. 2a. [Repealed, 2007 c 147 art 5 s 41]
- Subd. 3. **Other health coverage.** (a) Families and individuals enrolled in the MinnesotaCare program must have no health coverage while enrolled. Children with family gross incomes equal

to or greater than 200 percent of federal poverty guidelines, and adults, must have had no health coverage for at least four months prior to application and renewal. Children enrolled in the original children's health plan and children in families with income equal to or less than 200 percent of the federal poverty guidelines, who have other health insurance, are eligible if the coverage:

- (1) lacks two or more of the following:
- (i) basic hospital insurance;
- (ii) medical-surgical insurance;
- (iii) prescription drug coverage;
- (iv) dental coverage; or
- (v) vision coverage;
- (2) requires a deductible of \$100 or more per person per year; or
- (3) lacks coverage because the child has exceeded the maximum coverage for a particular diagnosis or the policy excludes a particular diagnosis.

The commissioner may change this eligibility criterion for sliding scale premiums in order to remain within the limits of available appropriations. The requirement of no health coverage does not apply to newborns.

- (b) Coverage purchased as provided under section 256L.031, subdivision 2, medical assistance, and the Civilian Health and Medical Program of the Uniformed Service, CHAMPUS, or other coverage provided under United States Code, title 10, subtitle A, part II, chapter 55, are not considered insurance or health coverage for purposes of the four-month requirement described in this subdivision.
- (c) For purposes of this subdivision, an applicant or enrollee who is entitled to Medicare Part A or enrolled in Medicare Part B coverage under title XVIII of the Social Security Act, United States Code, title 42, sections 1395c to 1395w-152, is considered to have health coverage. An applicant or enrollee who is entitled to premium-free Medicare Part A may not refuse to apply for or enroll in Medicare coverage to establish eligibility for MinnesotaCare.
- (d) Applicants who were recipients of medical assistance within one month of application must meet the provisions of this subdivision and subdivision 2.
- (e) Cost-effective health insurance that was paid for by medical assistance is not considered health coverage for purposes of the four-month requirement under this section, except if the insurance continued after medical assistance no longer considered it cost-effective or after medical assistance closed.
- Subd. 4. **Families with children in need of chemical dependency treatment.** Premiums for families with children when a parent has been determined to be in need of chemical dependency treatment pursuant to an assessment conducted by the county under section 626.556, subdivision 10, or a case plan under section 260C.201, subdivision 6, or 260C.212, who are eligible for MinnesotaCare under section 256L.04, subdivision 1, may be paid by the county of residence of the person in need of treatment for one year from the date the family is determined to be eligible or if the family is currently enrolled in MinnesotaCare from the date the person is determined to be in need of chemical dependency treatment. Upon renewal, the family is responsible for any premiums owed under section 256L.15. If the family is not currently enrolled in MinnesotaCare,

the local county human services agency shall determine whether the family appears to meet the eligibility requirements and shall assist the family in applying for the MinnesotaCare program.

- Subd. 5. **Voluntary disenrollment for members of military.** Notwithstanding section 256L.05, subdivision 3b, MinnesotaCare enrollees who are members of the military and their families, who choose to voluntarily disenroll from the program when one or more family members are called to active duty, may reenroll during or following that member's tour of active duty. Those individuals and families shall be considered to have good cause for voluntary termination under section 256L.06, subdivision 3, paragraph (d). Income and asset increases reported at the time of reenrollment shall be disregarded. All provisions of sections 256L.01 to 256L.18 shall apply to individuals and families enrolled under this subdivision upon 12-month renewal.
 - Subd. 6. [Repealed, 2010 c 200 art 1 s 21]
 - Subd. 7. [Repealed, 1Sp2011 c 9 art 6 s 97]
- Subd. 8. Automatic eligibility for certain children. Any child who was residing in foster care or a juvenile residential correctional facility on the child's 18th birthday is automatically deemed eligible for MinnesotaCare upon termination or release until the child reaches the age of 21, and is exempt from the requirements of this section and section 256L.15. To be enrolled under this section, a child must complete an initial application for MinnesotaCare. The commissioner shall contact individuals enrolled under this section annually to ensure the individual continues to reside in the state and is interested in continuing MinnesotaCare coverage.
- Subd. 9. **Firefighters; volunteer ambulance attendants.** (a) For purposes of this subdivision, "qualified individual" means:
- (1) a volunteer firefighter with a department as defined in section 299N.01, subdivision 2, who has passed the probationary period; and
 - (2) a volunteer ambulance attendant as defined in section 144E.001, subdivision 15.
- (b) A qualified individual who documents to the satisfaction of the commissioner status as a qualified individual by completing and submitting a one-page form developed by the commissioner is eligible for MinnesotaCare without meeting other eligibility requirements of this chapter, but must pay premiums equal to the average expected capitation rate for adults with no children paid under section 256L.12. Individuals eligible under this subdivision shall receive coverage for the benefit set provided to adults with no children.

History: 1986 c 444; 1992 c 549 art 4 s 8,19; 1993 c 345 art 9 s 8; 1994 c 625 art 8 s 56,72; 1995 c 234 art 6 s 11-13; 1997 c 187 art 1 s 18; 1997 c 225 art 1 s 12; 1998 c 407 art 5 s 33; 1999 c 139 art 4 s 2; 1999 c 245 art 4 s 98; 1Sp2001 c 9 art 2 s 63; 2002 c 220 art 15 s 21,22; 2002 c 277 s 30; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 12 s 78,79; 2005 c 10 art 1 s 56; 2005 c 59 s 1; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 8 s 69-72; 2007 c 147 art 5 s 28,29; art 13 s 3; 2008 c 286 art 1 s 10; 2008 c 358 art 3 s 10; 2009 c 79 art 5 s 63-66; 1Sp2010 c 1 art 16 s 35; 2012 c 247 art 1 s 22