354.091 SERVICE CREDIT.

- (a) In computing service credit, no teacher may receive credit for more than one year of teaching service for any fiscal year. Additionally, in crediting allowable service:
- (1) if a teacher teaches less than five hours in a day, service credit must be given for the fractional part of the day as the term of service performed bears to five hours;
- (2) if a teacher teaches five or more hours in a day, service credit must be given for only one day;
- (3) if a teacher teaches at least 170 full days in any fiscal year, service credit must be given for a full year of teaching service; and
- (4) if a teacher teaches for only a fractional part of the year, service credit must be given for such fractional part of the year in the same relationship as the period of service performed bears to 170 days.
- (b) A teacher must receive a full year of service credit based on the number of days in the employer's full school year if that school year is less than 170 days. Teaching service performed before July 1, 1961, must be computed under the law in effect at the time it was performed.
- (c) A teacher must not lose or gain retirement service credit as a result of the employer converting to a flexible or alternate work schedule. If the employer converts to a flexible or alternate work schedule, the forms for reporting teaching service and the procedures for determining service credit must be determined by the executive director with the approval of the board of trustees.
- (d) For all services rendered on or after July 1, 2003, service credit for all members employed by the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system must be determined:
- (1) for full-time employees, by the definition of full-time employment contained in the collective bargaining agreement for those units listed in section 179A.10, subdivision 2, or contained in the applicable personnel or salary plan for those positions designated in section 179A.10, subdivision 1;
- (2) for part-time employees, by the appropriate proration of full-time equivalency based on the provisions contained in the collective bargaining agreement for those units listed in section 179A.10, subdivision 2, or contained in the applicable personnel or salary plan for those positions designated in section 179A.10, subdivision 1, and the applicable procedures of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system; and
 - (3) in no case may a member receive more than one year of service credit for any fiscal year.

History: 1974 c 289 s 13; 1981 c 160 s 3; 1982 c 578 art 1 s 6; 1989 c 319 art 2 s 8; 1994 c 528 art 3 s 11; 2000 c 461 art 3 s 29; 2004 c 267 art 3 s 4; 1Sp2005 c 8 art 10 s 52; 2010 c 359 art 7 s 3

NOTE: This section was amended by Laws 2010, chapter 359, article 7, section 3, effective for teaching service performed after June 30, 2012. When effective, the section will read as follows:

"354.091 SERVICE CREDIT.

Subdivision 1. **Definition; monthly base salary.** For purposes of this section, "monthly base salary" means the annual base salary, as defined in section 354.05, subdivision 41, divided by 12.

- Subd. 2. **Service credit annual limit.** No teacher may receive credit for more than one year of teaching service for any fiscal year.
- Subd. 3. **Service credit calculation.** (a) Except as specified in subdivisions 4 and 5, service credit must be calculated monthly by dividing the teacher's monthly salary by the monthly base salary for the teacher's employing unit and multiplying the result by 11.1 percent.
- (b) For purposes of computing service credit, salary must be allocated to each calendar month based on the pay period begin and end dates. If the pay period covers more than one calendar month, the salary must be allocated based on the number of days in each calendar month.
- (c) A teacher may not receive more than 11.1 percent of a year's service credit in a calendar month.
- (d) Annual service credit must be calculated by adding the allowable monthly service credit for all 12 months of the fiscal year, with the result rounded to two decimal places, subject to the annual limit specified in subdivision 2.
- Subd. 4. Service credit determination for Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system teachers. For all services rendered on or after July 1, 2003, service credit for all members employed by the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system must be determined:
- (1) for full-time employees, by the definition of full-time employment contained in the collective bargaining agreement for those units listed in section 179A.10, subdivision 2, or contained in the applicable personnel or salary plan for those positions designated in section 179A.10, subdivision 1; and
- (2) for part-time employees, by the appropriate proration of full-time equivalency based on the provisions contained in the collective bargaining agreement for those units listed in section 179A.10, subdivision 2, or contained in the applicable personnel or salary plan for those positions designated in section 179A.10, subdivision 1, and the applicable procedures of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
- Subd. 5. **Service credit procedure, nontraditional schedules.** For employer units that have nontraditional work schedules or pay schedules, the procedure for determining service credit must be specified by the executive director with the approval of the board of trustees."