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256B.001 MS 2006 [Renumbered 15.001]

256B.01 POLICY.
Medical assistance for needy persons whose resources are not adequate to meet the cost of

such care is hereby declared to be a matter of state concern. To provide such care, a statewide
program of medical assistance, with free choice of vendor, is hereby established.

History: Ex1967 c 16 s 1

256B.011 POLICY FOR CHILDBIRTH AND ABORTION FUNDING.
Between normal childbirth and abortion it is the policy of the state of Minnesota that

normal childbirth is to be given preference, encouragement and support by law and by state
action, it being in the best interests of the well being and common good of Minnesota citizens.

History: 1978 c 508 s 1

256B.0185 REQUIRED REPORT.

Subdivision 1. Pending application. By December 15 of both 2005 and 2006, the
commissioner must deliver to the legislature a report that identifies:

(1) each county in which an application for medical assistance from a person identified
as residing in a long-term care facility is or was pending, at any time between January 1 and
December 1 of the calendar year to which the report relates, for more than 60 days in the case of a
person who is disabled, or for more than 45 days in the case of a person who is age 65 or older; and
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(2) for each of the identified counties: the number of applications described in clause
(1), the average number of days the applications were pending, the distribution of days for
applications that were pending, and what percentage of the applications, respectively, the county
approved and denied.

Subd. 2. Time to process application. The report must include specific recommendations
for how counties, as a group, could shorten the time it takes to act on the applications described in
subdivision 1, clause (1).

History: 1Sp2005 c 4 art 7 s 3

256B.02 DEFINITIONS.

Subdivision 1. [Repealed, 1987 c 363 s 14]

Subd. 2. [Repealed, 1987 c 363 s 14]

Subd. 3. [Repealed, 1987 c 363 s 14]

Subd. 4.Medical institution. "Medical institution" means any licensed medical facility
that receives a license from the Minnesota Health Department or Department of Human Services
or appropriate licensing authority of this state, any other state, or a Canadian province.

Subd. 5. State agency. "State agency" means the commissioner of human services.

Subd. 6. County agency. "County agency" means a local social service agency operating
under and pursuant to the provisions of chapter 393.

Subd. 7. Vendor of medical care. (a) "Vendor of medical care" means any person or
persons furnishing, within the scope of the vendor's respective license, any or all of the following
goods or services: medical, surgical, hospital, ambulatory surgical center services, optical, visual,
dental and nursing services; drugs and medical supplies; appliances; laboratory, diagnostic,
and therapeutic services; nursing home and convalescent care; screening and health assessment
services provided by public health nurses as defined in section 145A.02, subdivision 18; health
care services provided at the residence of the patient if the services are performed by a public
health nurse and the nurse indicates in a statement submitted under oath that the services were
actually provided; and such other medical services or supplies provided or prescribed by persons
authorized by state law to give such services and supplies. The term includes, but is not limited
to, directors and officers of corporations or members of partnerships who, either individually or
jointly with another or others, have the legal control, supervision, or responsibility of submitting
claims for reimbursement to the medical assistance program. The term only includes directors and
officers of corporations who personally receive a portion of the distributed assets upon liquidation
or dissolution, and their liability is limited to the portion of the claim that bears the same proportion
to the total claim as their share of the distributed assets bears to the total distributed assets.

(b) "Vendor of medical care" also includes any person who is credentialed as a health
professional under standards set by the governing body of a federally recognized Indian tribe
authorized under an agreement with the federal government according to United States Code,
title 25, section 450f, to provide health services to its members, and who through a tribal facility
provides covered services to American Indian people within a contract health service delivery area
of a Minnesota reservation, as defined under Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 36.22.

(c) A federally recognized Indian tribe that intends to implement standards for credentialing
health professionals must submit the standards to the commissioner of human services, along
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with evidence of meeting, exceeding, or being exempt from corresponding state standards. The
commissioner shall maintain a copy of the standards and supporting evidence, and shall use
those standards to enroll tribal-approved health professionals as medical assistance providers.
For purposes of this section, "Indian" and "Indian tribe" mean persons or entities that meet the
definition in United States Code, title 25, section 450b.

Subd. 8.Medical assistance; medical care. "Medical assistance" or "medical care" means
payment of part or all of the cost of the care and services identified in section 256B.0625, for
eligible individuals whose income and resources are insufficient to meet all of this cost.

Subd. 8a. [Renumbered 256B.0625, subdivision 1]

Subd. 8b. [Renumbered 256B.0625, subd 2]

Subd. 8c. [Renumbered 256B.0625, subd 3]

Subd. 8d. [Renumbered 256B.0625, subd 4]

Subd. 8e. [Renumbered 256B.0625, subd 5]

Subd. 8f. [Renumbered 256B.0625, subd 6]

Subd. 8g. [Renumbered 256B.0625, subd 7]

Subd. 8h. [Renumbered 256B.0625, subd 8]

Subd. 8i. [Renumbered 256B.0625, subd 9]

Subd. 8j. [Renumbered 256B.0625, subd 10]

Subd. 8k. [Renumbered 256B.0625, subd 11]

Subd. 8l. [Renumbered 256B.0625, subd 12]

Subd. 8m. [Renumbered 256B.0625, subd 13]

Subd. 8n. [Renumbered 256B.0625, subd 14]

Subd. 8o. [Renumbered 256B.0625, subd 15]

Subd. 8p. [Renumbered 256B.0625, subd 16]

Subd. 8q. [Renumbered 256B.0625, subd 17]

Subd. 8r. [Renumbered 256B.0625, subd 18]

Subd. 8s. [Renumbered 256B.0625, subd 19]

Subd. 8t. [Renumbered 256B.0625, subd 20]

Subd. 8u. [Renumbered 256B.0625, subd 21]

Subd. 8v. [Renumbered 256B.0625, subd 22]

Subd. 8w. [Renumbered 256B.0625, subd 23]

Subd. 8x. [Renumbered 256B.0625, subd 24]

Subd. 8y. [Renumbered 256B.0625, subd 25]

Subd. 9. Private health care coverage. "Private health care coverage" means any plan
regulated by chapter 62A, 62C or 64B. Private health care coverage also includes any self-insured
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plan providing health care benefits, pharmacy benefit manager, service benefit plan, managed
care organization, and other parties that are by contract legally responsible for payment of a
claim for a health care item or service for an individual receiving medical benefits under chapter
256B, 256D, or 256L.

Subd. 10. Automobile accident coverage. "Automobile accident coverage" means any
plan, or that portion of a plan, regulated under chapter 65B, which provides benefits for medical
expenses incurred in an automobile accident.

Subd. 11. Related condition. "Related condition" means that condition defined in section
252.27, subdivision 1a.

Subd. 12. Third-party payer. "Third-party payer" means a person, entity, or agency or
government program that has a probable obligation to pay all or part of the costs of a medical
assistance recipient's health services. Third-party payer includes an entity under contract with the
recipient to cover all or part of the recipient's medical costs.

Subd. 13. Prepaid health plan. "Prepaid health plan" means a vendor who receives a
capitation payment and assumes financial risk for the provision of medical assistance services
under a contract with the commissioner.

Subd. 14. Group health plan. "Group health plan" means any plan of, or contributed to
by, an employer, including a self-insured plan, to provide health care directly or otherwise to the
employer's employees, former employees, or the families of the employees or former employees,
and includes continuation coverage pursuant to title XXII of the Public Health Service Act,
section 4980B of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, or title VI of the Employee Retirement
Income Security Act of 1974.

Subd. 15. Cost-effective. "Cost-effective" means that the amount paid by the state for
premiums, coinsurance, deductibles, other cost-sharing obligations under a health insurance plan,
and other administrative costs is likely to be less than the amount paid for an equivalent set of
services paid by medical assistance.

Subd. 16. Termination; terminate. "Termination" or "terminate" for a provider means
a state Medicaid program, state children's health insurance program, or Medicare program has
taken an action to revoke the provider's billing privileges, the provider has exhausted all appeal
rights or the timeline for appeal has expired, there is no expectation by the provider, Medicaid
program, state children's health insurance program, or Medicare program that the revocation
is temporary, the provider will be required to reenroll to reinstate billing privileges, and the
termination occurred for cause, including fraud, integrity, or quality.

History: Ex1967 c 16 s 2; 1969 c 395 s 1; 1973 c 717 s 17; 1975 c 247 s 9; 1975 c 384 s
1; 1975 c 437 art 2 s 3; 1976 c 173 s 56; 1976 c 236 s 1; 1976 c 312 s 1; 1978 c 508 s 2; 1978
c 560 s 10; 1981 c 360 art 2 s 26,54; 1Sp1981 c 2 s 12; 1Sp1981 c 4 art 4 s 22; 3Sp1981 c 2
art 1 s 31; 1982 c 562 s 2; 1983 c 151 s 1,2; 1983 c 312 art 1 s 27; art 5 s 10; art 9 s 4; 1984
c 654 art 5 s 58; 1985 c 21 s 52-54; 1985 c 49 s 41; 1985 c 252 s 19,20; 1Sp1985 c 3 s 19;
1986 c 394 s 17; 1986 c 444; 1987 c 370 art 1 s 3; art 2 s 4; 1987 c 374 s 1; 1987 c 309 s 24;
1987 c 403 art 2 s 73,74; art 5 s 16; 1988 c 689 art 2 s 141,268; 1992 c 464 art 1 s 55; 1992 c
513 art 7 s 31,32; 1994 c 631 s 31; 2002 c 275 s 2; 2004 c 198 s 17; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 8 s 17;
2006 c 282 art 17 s 24; 1Sp2011 c 9 art 6 s 22
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256B.021 MEDICAL ASSISTANCE REFORMWAIVER.

Subdivision 1. Intent. It is the intent of the legislature to reform components of the
medical assistance program for seniors and people with disabilities or other complex needs, and
medical assistance enrollees in general, in order to achieve better outcomes, such as community
integration and independence; improved health; reduced reliance on institutional care; maintained
or obtained employment and housing; and long-term sustainability of needed services through
better alignment of available services that most effectively meet people's needs, including other
state agencies' services.

Subd. 2. Proposal. The commissioner shall develop a proposal to the United States
Department of Health and Human Services, which shall include any necessary waivers, state plan
amendments, requests for new funding or realignment of existing funds, and any other federal
authority that may be necessary for the projects specified in subdivision 4. The commissioner
shall ensure all projects are budget neutral or result in savings to the state budget, considering cost
changes across all divisions and other agencies that are affected.

Subd. 3. Legislative proposals; rules. The commissioner shall report to the members of
the legislative committees having jurisdiction over human services issues by January 15, 2012,
regarding the progress of this waiver, and make recommendations regarding any legislative
changes necessary to accomplish the projects in subdivision 4.

Subd. 4. Projects. The commissioner shall request permission and funding to further the
following initiatives.

(a) Health care delivery demonstration projects. This project involves testing alternative
payment and service delivery models in accordance with Minnesota Statutes, sections 256B.0755
and 256B.0756. These demonstrations will allow the Minnesota Department of Human Services
to engage in alternative payment arrangements with provider organizations that provide services
to a specified patient population for an agreed upon total cost of care or risk/gain sharing payment
arrangement, but are not limited to these models of care delivery or payment. Quality of care and
patient experience will be measured and incorporated into payment models alongside the cost
of care. Demonstration sites should include Minnesota health care programs fee-for-services
recipients and managed care enrollees and support a robust primary care model and improved
care coordination for recipients.

(b) Promote personal responsibility and encourage and reward healthy outcomes. This
project provides Medicaid funding to provide individual and group incentives to encourage
healthy behavior, prevent the onset of chronic disease, and reward healthy outcomes. Focus areas
may include diabetes prevention and management, tobacco cessation, reducing weight, lowering
cholesterol, and lowering blood pressure.

(c) Encourage utilization of high quality, cost-effective care. This project creates incentives
through Medicaid and MinnesotaCare enrollee cost-sharing and other means to encourage the
utilization of high-quality, low-cost, high-value providers, as determined by the state's provider
peer grouping initiative under Minnesota Statutes, section 62U.04.

(d) Adults without children. This proposal includes requesting federal authority to impose a
limit on assets for adults without children in medical assistance, as defined in Minnesota Statutes,
section 256B.055, subdivision 15, who have a household income equal to or less than 75 percent
of the federal poverty limit, consistent with Minnesota Statutes, section 256L.17, subdivision
2, and to impose a 180-day durational residency requirement in MinnesotaCare, consistent with
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Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.056, subdivision 3c, for adults without children, regardless
of income.

(e) Empower and encourage work, housing, and independence. This project provides
services and supports for individuals who have an identified health or disabling condition but are
not yet certified as disabled, in order to delay or prevent permanent disability, reduce the need for
intensive health care and long-term care services and supports, and to help maintain or obtain
employment or assist in return to work. Benefits may include:

(1) coordination with health care homes or health care coordinators;
(2) assessment for wellness, housing needs, employment, planning, and goal setting;
(3) training services;
(4) job placement services;
(5) career counseling;
(6) benefit counseling;
(7) worker supports and coaching;
(8) assessment of workplace accommodations;
(9) transitional housing services; and
(10) assistance in maintaining housing.
(f) Redesign home and community-based services. This project realigns existing funding,

services, and supports for people with disabilities and older Minnesotans to ensure community
integration and a more sustainable service system. This may involve changes that promote a range
of services to flexibly respond to the following needs:

(1) provide people less expensive alternatives to medical assistance services;
(2) offer more flexible and updated community support services under the Medicaid state

plan;
(3) provide an individual budget and increased opportunity for self-direction;
(4) strengthen family and caregiver support services;
(5) allow persons to pool resources or save funds beyond a fiscal year to cover unexpected

needs or foster development of needed services;
(6) use of home and community-based waiver programs for people whose needs cannot be

met with the expanded Medicaid state plan community support service options;
(7) target access to residential care for those with higher needs;
(8) develop capacity within the community for crisis intervention and prevention;
(9) redesign case management;
(10) offer life planning services for families to plan for the future of their child with a

disability;
(11) enhance self-advocacy and life planning for people with disabilities;
(12) improve information and assistance to inform long-term care decisions; and
(13) increase quality assurance, performance measurement, and outcome-based

reimbursement.
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This project may include different levels of long-term supports that allow seniors to remain in
their homes and communities, and expand care transitions from acute care to community care
to prevent hospitalizations and nursing home placement. The levels of support for seniors may
range from basic community services for those with lower needs, access to residential services if
a person has higher needs, and targets access to nursing home care to those with rehabilitation
or high medical needs. This may involve the establishment of medical need thresholds to
accommodate the level of support needed; provision of a long-term care consultation to persons
seeking residential services, regardless of payer source; adjustment of incentives to providers
and care coordination organizations to achieve desired outcomes; and a required coordination
with medical assistance basic care benefit and Medicare/Medigap benefit. This proposal will
improve access to housing and improve capacity to maintain individuals in their existing home;
adjust screening and assessment tools, as needed; improve transition and relocation efforts; seek
federal financial participation for alternative care and essential community supports; and provide
Medigap coverage for people having lower needs.

(g) Coordinate and streamline services for people with complex needs, including those
with multiple diagnoses of physical, mental, and developmental conditions. This project will
coordinate and streamline medical assistance benefits for people with complex needs and multiple
diagnoses. It would include changes that:

(1) develop community-based service provider capacity to serve the needs of this group;
(2) build assessment and care coordination expertise specific to people with multiple

diagnoses;
(3) adopt service delivery models that allow coordinated access to a range of services for

people with complex needs;
(4) reduce administrative complexity;
(5) measure the improvements in the state's ability to respond to the needs of this

population; and
(6) increase the cost-effectiveness for the state budget.
(h) Implement nursing home level of care criteria. This project involves obtaining any

necessary federal approval in order to implement the changes to the level of care criteria in
Minnesota Statutes, section 144.0724, subdivision 11, and implement further changes necessary
to achieve reform of the home and community-based service system.

(i) Improve integration of Medicare and Medicaid. This project involves reducing
fragmentation in the health care delivery system to improve care for people eligible for both
Medicare and Medicaid, and to align fiscal incentives between primary, acute, and long-term care.
The proposal may include:

(1) requesting an exception to the new Medicare methodology for payment adjustment for
fully integrated special needs plans for dual eligible individuals;

(2) testing risk adjustment models that may be more favorable to capturing the needs
of frail dually eligible individuals;

(3) requesting an exemption from the Medicare bidding process for fully integrated special
needs plans for the dually eligible;

(4) modifying the Medicare bid process to recognize additional costs of health home
services; and
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(5) requesting permission for risk-sharing and gain-sharing.

(j) Intensive residential treatment services. This project would involve providing intensive
residential treatment services for individuals who have serious mental illness and who have other
complex needs. This proposal would allow such individuals to remain in these settings after
mental health symptoms have stabilized, in order to maintain their mental health and avoid more
costly or unnecessary hospital or other residential care due to their other complex conditions. The
commissioner may pursue a specialized rate for projects created under this section.

(k) Seek federal Medicaid matching funds for Anoka Metro Regional Treatment Center
(AMRTC). This project involves seeking Medicaid reimbursement for medical services provided
to patients to AMRTC, including requesting a waiver of United States Code, title 42, section
1396d, which prohibits Medicaid reimbursement for expenditures for services provided by
hospitals with more than 16 beds that are primarily focused on the treatment of mental illness.
This waiver would allow AMRTC to serve as a statewide resource to provide diagnostics and
treatment for people with the most complex conditions.

(l) Waivers to allow Medicaid eligibility for children under age 21 receiving care in
residential facilities. This proposal would seek Medicaid reimbursement for any Medicaid-covered
service for children who are placed in residential settings that are determined to be "institutions
for mental diseases," under United States Code, title 42, section 1396d.

Subd. 5. Federal funds. The commissioner is authorized to accept and expend federal
funds that support the purposes of this section.

History: 1Sp2011 c 9 art 7 s 53

256B.03 PAYMENTS TO VENDORS.

Subdivision 1. General limit. All payments for medical assistance hereunder must be
made to the vendor. The maximum payment for new vendors enrolled in the medical assistance
program after the base year shall be determined from the average usual and customary charge of
the same vendor type enrolled in the base year.

Subd. 2. [Repealed, 2000 c 449 s 15]

Subd. 3. Tribal purchasing model. (a) Notwithstanding subdivision 1 and sections
256B.0625 and 256D.03, subdivision 4, paragraph (l), the commissioner may make payments to
federally recognized Indian tribes with a reservation in the state to provide medical assistance
and general assistance medical care to Indians, as defined under federal law, who reside on or
near the reservation. The payments may be made in the form of a block grant or other payment
mechanism determined in consultation with the tribe. Any alternative payment mechanism agreed
upon by the tribes and the commissioner under this subdivision is not dependent upon county or
health plan agreement but is intended to create a direct payment mechanism between the state
and the tribe for the administration of the medical assistance and general assistance medical care
programs, and for covered services.

(b) A tribe that implements a purchasing model under this subdivision shall report to the
commissioner at least annually on the operation of the model. The commissioner and the tribe
shall cooperatively determine the data elements, format, and timetable for the report.

(c) For purposes of this subdivision, "Indian tribe" means a tribe, band, or nation, or other
organized group or community of Indians that is recognized as eligible for the special programs
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and services provided by the United States to Indians because of their status as Indians and for
which a reservation exists as is consistent with Public Law 100-485, as amended.

(d) Payments under this subdivision may not result in an increase in expenditures that
would not otherwise occur in the medical assistance program under this chapter or the general
assistance medical care program under chapter 256D.

[See Note.]

Subd. 4. Prohibition on payments to providers outside of the United States. Payments
for medical assistance must not be made:

(1) for services delivered or items supplied outside of the United States; or
(2) to a provider, financial institution, or entity located outside of the United States.

Subd. 5. Ordering or referring providers. Claims for payments for supplies or services
that are based on an order or referral of a provider must include the ordering or referring provider's
national provider identifier (NPI). Claims for supplies or services ordered or referred by a vendor
who is not enrolled in medical assistance are not covered.

History: Ex1967 c 16 s 3; 1981 c 360 art 2 s 27,54; 1Sp1981 c 2 s 13; 1Sp1981 c 4 art 4 s
22; 3Sp1982 c 1 art 2 s 4; 1983 c 312 art 1 s 27; 1987 c 384 art 2 s 63; 1987 c 403 art 2 s 75;
1996 c 451 art 5 s 14; 1998 c 407 art 4 s 11; 1Sp2011 c 9 art 6 s 23,24

NOTE: Subdivision 3, as added by Laws 1996, chapter 451, article 5, section 14, is
effective October 1, 1996, or upon receipt of any necessary federal approval, whichever date is
later. Laws 1996, chapter 451, article 5, section 40.

256B.031 [Repealed, 2009 c 173 art 3 s 26]

256B.032 [Repealed, 2010 c 344 s 6]

256B.035 MANAGED CARE.
The commissioner of human services may contract with public or private entities or operate

a preferred provider program to deliver health care services to medical assistance, general
assistance medical care, and MinnesotaCare program recipients. The commissioner may enter into
risk-based and non-risk-based contracts. Contracts may be for the full range of health services,
or a portion thereof, for medical assistance and general assistance medical care populations to
determine the effectiveness of various provider reimbursement and care delivery mechanisms.
The commissioner may seek necessary federal waivers and implement projects when approval of
the waivers is obtained from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services of the United States
Department of Health and Human Services.

History: 1990 c 568 art 3 s 20; 1992 c 513 art 7 s 33; 1995 c 234 art 8 s 56; 2002 c 277 s 32

256B.037 PROSPECTIVE PAYMENT OF DENTAL SERVICES.

Subdivision 1. Contract for dental services. The commissioner may conduct a
demonstration project to contract, on a prospective per capita payment basis, with an organization
or organizations licensed under chapter 62C, 62D, or 62N for the provision of all dental care
services beginning July 1, 1994, under the medical assistance, general assistance medical care,
and MinnesotaCare programs, or when necessary waivers are granted by the secretary of health
and human services, whichever occurs later. The commissioner shall identify a geographic area or
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areas, including both urban and rural areas, where access to dental services has been inadequate,
in which to conduct demonstration projects. The commissioner shall seek any federal waivers or
approvals necessary to implement this section from the secretary of health and human services.

The commissioner may exclude from participation in the demonstration project any or all
groups currently excluded from participation in the prepaid medical assistance program under
section 256B.69. Except for persons excluded from participation in the demonstration project, all
persons who have been determined eligible for medical assistance, general assistance medical
care and, if applicable, MinnesotaCare and reside in the designated geographic areas are required
to enroll in a dental plan to receive their dental care services. Except for emergency services or
out-of-plan services authorized by the dental plan, recipients must receive their dental services
from dental care providers who are part of the dental plan provider network.

The commissioner shall select either multiple dental plans or a single dental plan in a
designated area. A dental plan under contract with the department must serve both medical
assistance recipients and general assistance medical care recipients in a designated geographic
area and may serve MinnesotaCare recipients. The commissioner may limit the number of dental
plans with which the department contracts within a designated geographic area, taking into
consideration the number of recipients within the designated geographic area; the number of
potential dental plan contractors; the size of the provider network offered by dental plans; the
dental care services offered by a dental plan; qualifications of dental plan personnel; accessibility
of services to recipients; dental plan assurances of recipient confidentiality; dental plan marketing
and enrollment activities; dental plan compliance with this section; dental plan performance under
other contracts with the department to serve medical assistance, general assistance medical care,
or MinnesotaCare recipients; or any other factors necessary to provide the most economical care
consistent with high standards of dental care.

For purposes of this section, "dental plan" means an organization licensed under chapter
62C, 62D, or 62N that contracts with the department to provide covered dental care services to
recipients on a prepaid capitation basis. "Emergency services" has the meaning given in section
256B.0625, subdivision 4. "Multiple dental plan area" means a designated area in which more
than one dental plan is offered. "Participating provider" means a dentist or dental clinic who is
employed by or under contract with a dental plan to provide dental care services to recipients.
"Single dental plan area" means a designated area in which only one dental plan is available.

Subd. 1a.Multiple dental plan areas. After the department has executed contracts with
dental plans to provide covered dental care services in a multiple dental plan area, the department
shall:

(1) inform applicants and recipients, in writing, of available dental plans, when written
notice of dental plan selection must be submitted to the department, and when dental plan
participation begins;

(2) assign to a dental plan recipients who fail to notify the department in writing of their
dental plan choice; and

(3) notify recipients, in writing, of their assigned dental plan before the effective date of the
recipient's dental plan participation.

Subd. 1b. Single dental plan areas. After the department has executed a contract with a
dental plan to provide covered dental care services as the sole dental plan in a geographic area,
the provisions in paragraphs (a) to (c) apply.
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(a) The department shall assure that applicants and recipients are informed, in writing, of
participating providers in the dental plan and when dental plan participation begins.

(b) The dental plan may require the recipient to select a specific dentist or dental clinic and
may assign to a specific dentist or dental clinic recipients who fail to notify the dental plan of
their selection.

(c) The dental plan shall notify recipients in writing of their assigned providers before
the effective date of dental plan participation.

Subd. 1c. Dental choice. (a) In multiple dental plan areas, recipients may change dental
plans once within the first year the recipient participates in a dental plan. After the first year of
dental plan participation, recipients may change dental plans during the annual 30-day open
enrollment period.

(b) In single dental plan areas, recipients may change their specific dentist or clinic at
least once during the first year of dental plan participation. After the first year of dental plan
participation, recipients may change their specific dentist or clinic at least once annually. The
dental plan shall notify recipients of this change option.

(c) If a dental plan's contract with the department is terminated for any reason, recipients in
that dental plan shall select a new dental plan and may change dental plans or a specific dentist or
clinic within the first 60 days of participation in the second dental plan.

(d) Recipients may change dental plans or a specific dentist or clinic at any time as follows:
(1) in multiple dental plan areas, if the travel time from the recipient's residence to a general

practice dentist is over 30 minutes, the recipient may change dental plans;
(2) in single dental plan areas, if the travel time from the recipient's residence to the

recipient's specific dentist or clinic is over 30 minutes, the recipient may change providers; or
(3) if the recipient's dental plan or specific dentist or clinic was incorrectly designated due

to department or dental plan error.
(e) Requests for change under this subdivision must be submitted to the department or

dental plan in writing. The department or dental plan shall notify recipients whether the request is
approved or denied within 30 days after receipt of the written request.

Subd. 2. Establishment of prepayment rates. The commissioner shall consult with
an independent actuary to establish prepayment rates, but shall retain final authority over the
methodology used to establish the rates. The prepayment rates shall not result in payments that
exceed the per capita expenditures that would have been made for dental services by the programs
under a fee-for-service reimbursement system. The package of dental benefits provided to
individuals under this subdivision shall not be less than the package of benefits provided under the
medical assistance fee-for-service reimbursement system for dental services.

Subd. 3. Appeals. All recipients of services under this section have the right to appeal to
the commissioner under section 256.045. A recipient participating in a dental plan may utilize the
dental plan's internal complaint procedure but is not required to exhaust the internal complaint
procedure before appealing to the commissioner. The appeal rights and procedures in Minnesota
Rules, part 9500.1463, apply to recipients who enroll in dental plans.

Subd. 4. Information required by commissioner. A contractor shall submit
encounter-specific information as required by the commissioner, including, but not limited to,
information required for assessing client satisfaction, quality of care, and cost and utilization of
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services. Dental plans and participating providers must provide the commissioner access to
recipient dental records to monitor compliance with the requirements of this section.

Subd. 5. Other contracts permitted. Nothing in this section prohibits the commissioner
from contracting with an organization for comprehensive health services, including dental
services, under section 256B.035, 256B.69, or 256D.03, subdivision 4, paragraph (c).

Subd. 6. Recipient costs. A dental plan and its participating providers or nonparticipating
providers who provide emergency services or services authorized by the dental plan shall not
charge recipients for any costs for covered services.

Subd. 7. Financial accountability. A dental plan is accountable to the commissioner for
the fiscal management of covered dental care services. The state of Minnesota and recipients shall
be held harmless for the payment of obligations incurred by a dental plan if the dental plan or
a participating provider becomes insolvent and the department has made the payments due to
the dental plan under the contract.

Subd. 8. Quality improvement. A dental plan shall have an internal quality improvement
system. A dental plan shall permit the commissioner or the commissioner's agents to evaluate the
quality, appropriateness, and timeliness of covered dental care services through inspections, site
visits, and review of dental records.

Subd. 9. Third-party liability. To the extent required under section 62A.046 and Minnesota
Rules, part 9506.0080, a dental plan shall coordinate benefits for or recover the cost of dental
care services provided recipients who have other dental care coverage. Coordination of benefits
includes the dental plan paying applicable co-payments or deductibles on behalf of a recipient.

Subd. 10. Financial capacity. A dental plan shall demonstrate that its financial risk
capacity is acceptable to its participating providers; except, an organization licensed as a health
maintenance organization under chapter 62D, a nonprofit health service plan under chapter 62C,
or a community integrated service network under chapter 62N, is not required to demonstrate
financial risk capacity beyond the requirements in those chapters for licensure or a certificate of
authority.

Subd. 11. Data privacy. The contract between the commissioner and the dental plan
must specify that the dental plan is an agent of the welfare system and shall have access to
welfare data on recipients to the extent necessary to carry out the dental plan's responsibilities
under the contract. The dental plan shall comply with chapter 13, the Minnesota Government
Data Practices Act.

History: 1Sp1993 c 1 art 5 s 27; 1995 c 234 art 6 s 22-33; 1997 c 203 art 9 s 9; 1997 c
225 art 2 s 62; 2009 c 173 art 3 s 5

256B.038 PROVIDER RATE INCREASES AFTER JUNE 30, 1999.

(a) For fiscal years beginning on or after July 1, 1999, the commissioner of management
and budget shall include an annual inflationary adjustment in payment rates for the services
listed in paragraph (b) as a budget change request in each biennial detailed expenditure budget
submitted to the legislature under section 16A.11. The adjustment shall be accomplished by
indexing the rates in effect for inflation based on the change in the Consumer Price Index-All
Items (United States city average)(CPI-U) as forecasted by Data Resources, Inc., in the fourth
quarter of the prior year for the calendar year during which the rate increase occurs.
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(b) Within the limits of appropriations specifically for this purpose, the commissioner shall
apply the rate increases in paragraph (a) to home and community-based waiver services for
persons with developmental disabilities under section 256B.501; home and community-based
waiver services for the elderly under section 256B.0915; waivered services under community
alternatives for disabled individuals under section 256B.49; community alternative care waivered
services under section 256B.49; traumatic brain injury waivered services under section 256B.49;
nursing services and home health services under section 256B.0625, subdivision 6a; personal care
services and nursing supervision of personal care services under section 256B.0625, subdivision
19a; private duty nursing services under section 256B.0625, subdivision 7; day training and
habilitation services for adults with developmental disabilities under sections 252.40 to 252.46;
physical therapy services under sections 256B.0625, subdivision 8, and 256D.03, subdivision 4;
occupational therapy services under sections 256B.0625, subdivision 8a, and 256D.03, subdivision
4; speech-language therapy services under section 256D.03, subdivision 4, and Minnesota Rules,
part 9505.0390; respiratory therapy services under section 256D.03, subdivision 4, and Minnesota
Rules, part 9505.0295; physician services under section 256B.0625, subdivision 3; dental
services under sections 256B.0625, subdivision 9, and 256D.03, subdivision 4; alternative care
services under section 256B.0913; adult residential program grants under Minnesota Rules, parts
9535.2000 to 9535.3000; adult and family community support grants under Minnesota Rules,
parts 9535.1700 to 9535.1760; and semi-independent living services under section 252.275,
including SILS funding under county social services grants formerly funded under chapter 256I.

(c) The commissioner shall increase prepaid medical assistance program capitation rates as
appropriate to reflect the rate increases in this section.

(d) In implementing this section, the commissioner shall consider proposing a schedule to
equalize rates paid by different programs for the same service.

History: 1998 c 407 art 4 s 12; 2005 c 56 s 1; 2009 c 101 art 2 s 109

256B.039 [Repealed, 2008 c 286 art 2 s 3]

256B.04 DUTIES OF STATE AGENCY.

Subdivision 1. General. The state agency shall supervise the administration of medical
assistance for eligible recipients by the county agencies hereunder.

Subd. 1a. Comprehensive health services system. The commissioner shall carry out the
duties in this section with the participation of the boards of county commissioners, and with
full consideration for the interests of counties, to plan and implement a unified, accountable,
comprehensive health services system that:

(1) promotes accessible and quality health care for all Minnesotans;
(2) assures provision of adequate health care within limited state and county resources;
(3) avoids shifting funding burdens to county tax resources;
(4) provides statewide eligibility, benefit, and service expectations;
(5) manages care, develops risk management strategies, and contains cost in all health and

human services; and
(6) supports effective implementation of publicly funded health and human services for

all areas of the state.

Subd. 1b. Contract for administrative services for American Indian children.
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Notwithstanding subdivision 1, the commissioner may contract with federally recognized Indian
tribes with a reservation in Minnesota for the provision of early and periodic screening, diagnosis,
and treatment administrative services for American Indian children, according to Code of Federal
Regulations, title 42, section 441, subpart B, and Minnesota Rules, part 9505.1693 et seq., when
the tribe chooses to provide such services. For purposes of this subdivision, "American Indian"
has the meaning given to persons to whom services will be provided for in Code of Federal
Regulations, title 42, section 36.12. Notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part 9505.1748, subpart 1,
the commissioner, the local agency, and the tribe may contract with any entity for the provision of
early and periodic screening, diagnosis, and treatment administrative services.

Subd. 2.Rulemaking authority.Make uniform rules, not inconsistent with law, for carrying
out and enforcing the provisions hereof in an efficient, economical, and impartial manner, and to
the end that the medical assistance system may be administered uniformly throughout the state,
having regard for varying costs of medical care in different parts of the state and the conditions in
each case, and in all things to carry out the spirit and purpose of this program, which rules shall be
furnished immediately to all county agencies, and shall be binding on such county agencies.

Subd. 3. Required forms. Prescribe the form of, print, and supply to the county agencies,
blanks for applications, reports, affidavits, and such other forms as it may deem necessary or
advisable.

Subd. 4. Cooperation with federal agency. Cooperate with the federal Centers for
Medicare and Medicaid Services in any reasonable manner as may be necessary to qualify for
federal aid in connection with the medical assistance program, including the making of such
reports in such form and containing such information as the Department of Health, Education, and
Welfare may, from time to time, require, and comply with such provisions as such department
may, from time to time, find necessary to assure the correctness and verifications of such reports.

Subd. 4a.Medicare prescription drug subsidy. The commissioner shall perform all duties
necessary to administer eligibility determinations for the Medicare Part D prescription drug
subsidy and facilitate the enrollment of eligible medical assistance recipients into Medicare
prescription drug plans as required by the Medicare Prescription Drug, Improvement, and
Modernization Act of 2003 (MMA), Public Law 108-173, and Code of Federal Regulations, title
42, sections 423.30 to 423.56 and 423.771 to 423.800.

Subd. 5. Annual report required. The state agency within 60 days after the close of each
fiscal year, shall prepare and print for the fiscal year a report that includes a full account of the
operations and expenditure of funds under this chapter, a full account of the activities undertaken
in accordance with subdivision 10, adequate and complete statistics divided by counties about
all medical assistance provided in accordance with this chapter, and any other information it
may deem advisable.

Subd. 6.Monthly statement. Prepare and release a summary statement monthly showing
by counties the amount paid hereunder and the total number of persons assisted.

Subd. 7. Program safeguards. Establish and enforce safeguards to prevent unauthorized
disclosure or improper use of the information contained in applications, reports of investigations
and medical examinations, and correspondence in the individual case records of recipients
of medical assistance.

Subd. 8. Information. Furnish information to acquaint needy persons and the public
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generally with the plan for medical assistance of this state.

Subd. 9. Reciprocal agreements. Cooperate with agencies in other states in establishing
reciprocal agreements to provide for payment of medical assistance to recipients who have moved
to another state, consistent with the provisions hereof and of Title XIX of the Social Security
Act of the United States of America.

Subd. 10. Investigation of certain claims. Establish by rule general criteria and procedures
for the identification and prompt investigation of suspected medical assistance fraud, theft, abuse,
presentment of false or duplicate claims, presentment of claims for services not medically
necessary, or false statement or representation of material facts by a vendor of medical care,
and for the imposition of sanctions against a vendor of medical care. If it appears to the state
agency that a vendor of medical care may have acted in a manner warranting civil or criminal
proceedings, it shall so inform the attorney general in writing.

Subd. 11. [Repealed, 1997 c 7 art 2 s 67]

Subd. 12. Limitation on services. (a) Place limits on the types of services covered by
medical assistance, the frequency with which the same or similar services may be covered by
medical assistance for an individual recipient, and the amount paid for each covered service. The
state agency shall promulgate rules establishing maximum reimbursement rates for emergency
and nonemergency transportation.

The rules shall provide:
(1) an opportunity for all recognized transportation providers to be reimbursed for

nonemergency transportation consistent with the maximum rates established by the agency;
(2) reimbursement of public and private nonprofit providers serving the disabled population

generally at reasonable maximum rates that reflect the cost of providing the service regardless of
the fare that might be charged by the provider for similar services to individuals other than those
receiving medical assistance or medical care under this chapter; and

(3) reimbursement for each additional passenger carried on a single trip at a substantially
lower rate than the first passenger carried on that trip.

(b) The commissioner shall encourage providers reimbursed under this chapter to
coordinate their operation with similar services that are operating in the same community. To the
extent practicable, the commissioner shall encourage eligible individuals to utilize less expensive
providers capable of serving their needs.

(c) For the purpose of this subdivision and section 256B.02, subdivision 8, and effective on
January 1, 1981, "recognized provider of transportation services" means an operator of special
transportation service as defined in section 174.29 that has been issued a current certificate of
compliance with operating standards of the commissioner of transportation or, if those standards
do not apply to the operator, that the agency finds is able to provide the required transportation in
a safe and reliable manner. Until January 1, 1981, "recognized transportation provider" includes
an operator of special transportation service that the agency finds is able to provide the required
transportation in a safe and reliable manner.

Subd. 13.Medical necessity review. Each person appointed by the commissioner to
participate in decisions whether medical care to be provided to eligible recipients is medically
necessary shall abstain from participation in those cases in which the appointee (1) has issued
treatment orders in the care of the patient or participated in the formulation or execution of the
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patient's treatment plan or (2) has, or a member of the appointee's family has, an ownership
interest of five percent or more in the institution that provided or proposed to provide the services
being reviewed.

Subd. 14. Competitive bidding. (a) When determined to be effective, economical, and
feasible, the commissioner may utilize volume purchase through competitive bidding and
negotiation under the provisions of chapter 16C, to provide items under the medical assistance
program including but not limited to the following:

(1) eyeglasses;
(2) oxygen. The commissioner shall provide for oxygen needed in an emergency situation

on a short-term basis, until the vendor can obtain the necessary supply from the contract dealer;
(3) hearing aids and supplies; and
(4) durable medical equipment, including but not limited to:
(i) hospital beds;
(ii) commodes;
(iii) glide-about chairs;
(iv) patient lift apparatus;
(v) wheelchairs and accessories;
(vi) oxygen administration equipment;
(vii) respiratory therapy equipment;
(viii) electronic diagnostic, therapeutic and life-support systems;
(5) nonemergency medical transportation level of need determinations, disbursement

of public transportation passes and tokens, and volunteer and recipient mileage and parking
reimbursements; and

(6) drugs.
(b) Rate changes under this chapter and chapters 256D and 256L do not affect contract

payments under this subdivision unless specifically identified.
(c) The commissioner may not utilize volume purchase through competitive bidding and

negotiation for special transportation services under the provisions of chapter 16C.

Subd. 14a. Level of need determination. Nonemergency medical transportation level of
need determinations must be performed by a physician, a registered nurse working under direct
supervision of a physician, a physician's assistant, a nurse practitioner, a licensed practical nurse,
or a discharge planner. Nonemergency medical transportation level of need determinations must
not be performed more than annually on any individual, unless the individual's circumstances
have sufficiently changed so as to require a new level of need determination. Individuals residing
in licensed nursing facilities are exempt from a level of need determination and are eligible for
special transportation services until the individual no longer resides in a licensed nursing facility.
If a person authorized by this subdivision to perform a level of need determination determines that
an individual requires stretcher transportation, the individual is presumed to maintain that level of
need until otherwise determined by a person authorized to perform a level of need determination,
or for six months, whichever is sooner.

Subd. 15. Utilization review. (a) Establish on a statewide basis a new program to
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safeguard against unnecessary or inappropriate use of medical assistance services, against excess
payments, against unnecessary or inappropriate hospital admissions or lengths of stay, and against
underutilization of services in prepaid health plans, long-term care facilities or any health care
delivery system subject to fixed rate reimbursement. In implementing the program, the state
agency shall utilize both prepayment and postpayment review systems to determine if utilization
is reasonable and necessary. The determination of whether services are reasonable and necessary
shall be made by the commissioner in consultation with a professional services advisory group or
health care consultant appointed by the commissioner.

(b) Contracts entered into for purposes of meeting the requirements of this subdivision shall
not be subject to the set-aside provisions of chapter 16C.

(c) A recipient aggrieved by the commissioner's termination of services or denial of future
services may appeal pursuant to section 256.045. A vendor aggrieved by the commissioner's
determination that services provided were not reasonable or necessary may appeal pursuant to the
contested case procedures of chapter 14. To appeal, the vendor shall notify the commissioner in
writing within 30 days of receiving the commissioner's notice. The appeal request shall specify
each disputed item, the reason for the dispute, an estimate of the dollar amount involved for each
disputed item, the computation that the vendor believes is correct, the authority in statute or
rule upon which the vendor relies for each disputed item, the name and address of the person
or firm with whom contacts may be made regarding the appeal, and other information required
by the commissioner.

(d) The commissioner may select providers to provide case management services to
recipients who use health care services inappropriately or to recipients who are eligible for other
managed care projects. The providers shall be selected based upon criteria that may include a
comparison with a peer group of providers related to the quality, quantity, or cost of health care
services delivered or a review of sanctions previously imposed by health care services programs
or the provider's professional licensing board.

Subd. 16. Personal care services. (a) Notwithstanding any contrary language in this
paragraph, the commissioner of human services and the commissioner of health shall jointly
promulgate rules to be applied to the licensure of personal care services provided under the
medical assistance program. The rules shall consider standards for personal care services that
are based on the World Institute on Disability's recommendations regarding personal care
services. These rules shall at a minimum consider the standards and requirements adopted by
the commissioner of health under section 144A.45, which the commissioner of human services
determines are applicable to the provision of personal care services, in addition to other standards
or modifications which the commissioner of human services determines are appropriate.

The commissioner of human services shall establish an advisory group including personal
care consumers and providers to provide advice regarding which standards or modifications
should be adopted. The advisory group membership must include not less than 15 members, of
which at least 60 percent must be consumers of personal care services and representatives of
recipients with various disabilities and diagnoses and ages. At least 51 percent of the members of
the advisory group must be recipients of personal care.

The commissioner of human services may contract with the commissioner of health to
enforce the jointly promulgated licensure rules for personal care service providers.
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Prior to final promulgation of the joint rule the commissioner of human services shall report
preliminary findings along with any comments of the advisory group and a plan for monitoring
and enforcement by the Department of Health to the legislature by February 15, 1992.

Limits on the extent of personal care services that may be provided to an individual must be
based on the cost-effectiveness of the services in relation to the costs of inpatient hospital care,
nursing home care, and other available types of care. The rules must provide, at a minimum:

(1) that agencies be selected to contract with or employ and train staff to provide and
supervise the provision of personal care services;

(2) that agencies employ or contract with a qualified applicant that a qualified recipient
proposes to the agency as the recipient's choice of assistant;

(3) that agencies bill the medical assistance program for a personal care service by a personal
care assistant and supervision by a qualified professional supervising the personal care assistant
unless the recipient selects the fiscal agent option under section 256B.0659, subdivision 33;

(4) that agencies establish a grievance mechanism; and
(5) that agencies have a quality assurance program.
(b) The commissioner may waive the requirement for the provision of personal care

services through an agency in a particular county, when there are less than two agencies providing
services in that county and shall waive the requirement for personal care assistants required to
join an agency for the first time during 1993 when personal care services are provided under a
relative hardship waiver under Minnesota Statutes 1992, section 256B.0627, subdivision 4,
paragraph (b), clause (7), and at least two agencies providing personal care services have refused
to employ or contract with the independent personal care assistant.

Subd. 17. Prenatal care outreach. (a) The commissioner of human services shall award a
grant to an eligible organization to conduct a statewide media campaign promoting early prenatal
care. The goals of the campaign are to increase public awareness of the importance of early
and continuous prenatal care and to inform the public about public and private funds available
for prenatal care.

(b) In order to receive a grant under this section, an applicant must:
(1) have experience conducting prenatal care outreach;
(2) have an established statewide constituency or service area; and
(3) demonstrate an ability to accomplish the purposes in this subdivision.
(c) Money received under this subdivision may be used for purchase of materials and

supplies, staff fees and salaries, consulting fees, and other goods and services necessary to
accomplish the goals of the campaign. Money may not be used for capital expenditures.

Subd. 18. Applications for medical assistance. (a) The state agency may take applications
for medical assistance and conduct eligibility determinations for MinnesotaCare enrollees.

(b) The commissioner of human services shall modify the Minnesota health care programs
application form to add a question asking applicants whether they have ever served in the United
States military.

Subd. 19. Performance data reporting unit. The commissioner of human services shall
establish a performance data reporting unit that serves counties and the state. The department
shall support this unit and provide technical assistance and access to the data warehouse. The
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performance data reporting unit, which will operate within the department's central office and
consist of both county and department staff, shall provide performance data reports to individual
counties, share expertise from counties and the department perspective, and participate in
joint planning to link with county databases and other county data sources in order to provide
information on services provided to public clients from state, federal, and county funding sources.
The performance data reporting unit shall provide counties both individual and group summary
level standard or unique reports on health care eligibility and services provided to clients for
whom they have financial responsibility.

Subd. 20.Money Follows the Person Rebalancing demonstration project. In accordance
with federal law governing Money Follows the Person Rebalancing funds, amounts equal to the
value of enhanced federal funding resulting from the operation of the demonstration project
grant must be transferred from the medical assistance account in the general fund to an account
in the special revenue fund. Funds in the special revenue fund account do not cancel and are
appropriated to the commissioner to carry out the goals of the Money Follows the Person
Rebalancing demonstration project as required under the approved federal plan for the use of the
funds, and may be transferred to the medical assistance account if applicable.

Subd. 21. Provider enrollment. (a) If the commissioner or the Centers for Medicare and
Medicaid Services determines that a provider is designated "high-risk," the commissioner may
withhold payment from providers within that category upon initial enrollment for a 90-day period.
The withholding for each provider must begin on the date of the first submission of a claim.

(b) The commissioner may require, as a condition of enrollment in medical assistance, that
a provider within a particular industry sector or category establish a compliance program that
contains the core elements established by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.

(c) The commissioner may revoke the enrollment of an ordering or rendering provider for
a period of not more than one year, if the provider fails to maintain and, upon request from the
commissioner, provide access to documentation relating to written orders or requests for payment
for durable medical equipment, certifications for home health services, or referrals for other items
or services written or ordered by such provider, when the commissioner has identified a pattern of
a lack of documentation. A pattern means a failure to maintain documentation or provide access
to documentation on more than one occasion.

(d) The commissioner shall terminate or deny the enrollment of any individual or entity if
the individual or entity has been terminated from participation in Medicare or under the Medicaid
program or Children's Health Insurance Program of any other state.

(e) As a condition of enrollment in medical assistance, the commissioner shall require that a
provider designated "moderate" or "high-risk" by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
or the Minnesota Department of Human Services permit the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid
Services, its agents, or its designated contractors and the state agency, its agents, or its designated
contractors to conduct unannounced on-site inspections of any provider location.

(f) As a condition of enrollment in medical assistance, the commissioner shall require that a
high-risk provider, or a person with a direct or indirect ownership interest in the provider of five
percent or higher, consent to criminal background checks, including fingerprinting, when required
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to do so under state law or by a determination by the commissioner or the Centers for Medicare
and Medicaid Services that a provider is designated high-risk for fraud, waste, or abuse.

History: Ex1967 c 16 s 4; 1976 c 273 s 1-3; 1977 c 185 s 1; 1977 c 347 s 39,40; 1978 c
560 s 11; Ex1979 c 1 s 46; 1980 c 349 s 3,4; 1982 c 640 s 3; 1983 c 312 art 5 s 11,12; 1984 c 640
s 32; 1985 c 248 s 70; 1Sp1985 c 9 art 2 s 37; 1986 c 444; 1987 c 378 s 15; 1987 c 403 art 2 s
77,78; 1988 c 532 s 13; 1989 c 282 art 3 s 41,42; 1990 c 568 art 3 s 21,22; 1991 c 292 art 7 s
8; 1Sp1993 c 1 art 5 s 28; 1995 c 233 art 2 s 56; 1995 c 234 art 6 s 34; 1997 c 7 art 1 s 101;
1997 c 203 art 4 s 18; 1998 c 386 art 2 s 78,79; 1998 c 407 art 5 s 2; 1999 c 245 art 4 s 26,27;
1Sp2001 c 9 art 2 s 14; 2002 c 277 s 32; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 2005 c 56 s 1; 2005 c 98 art
2 s 1; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 8 s 18; 2007 c 147 art 5 s 6,7; 2008 c 277 art 1 s 35; 2009 c 79 art 6 s
6; 1Sp2010 c 1 art 16 s 4; 1Sp2011 c 9 art 6 s 25,26; art 7 s 4

256B.041 CENTRALIZED DISBURSEMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PAYMENTS.

Subdivision 1. Statewide disbursement system. The state agency shall establish on
a statewide basis a system for the centralized disbursement of medical assistance payments
to vendors.

Subd. 2. Account. An account is established in the state treasury from which medical
assistance payments to vendors shall be made. Into this account there shall be deposited federal
funds, state funds, county funds, and other moneys which are available and which may be paid to
the state agency for medical assistance payments and reimbursements from counties or others for
their share of such payments.

Subd. 3. Vendor forms. The state agency shall prescribe and furnish vendors suitable forms
for submitting claims under the medical assistance program.

Subd. 4. Comply with federal requirements. The state agency in establishing a statewide
system of centralized disbursement of medical assistance payments shall comply with federal
requirements in order to receive the maximum amount of federal funds which are available for
the purpose, together with such additional federal funds which may be made available for the
operation of a centralized system of disbursement of medical assistance payments to vendors.

Subd. 5. [Repealed, 2010 c 382 s 87]

Subd. 6. Contracted services. The commissioners of human services and administration
may contract with any agency of government or any corporation for providing all or a portion
of the services for carrying out the provisions of this section. Local welfare agencies may pay
vendors of transportation for nonemergency medical care when so authorized by rule of the
commissioner of human services.

Subd. 7. Disbursement of federal funds. Federal funds available for administrative
purposes shall be distributed between the state and the county on the same basis that
reimbursements are earned, except as provided for under section 256.017.

History: 1973 c 717 s 2; 1975 c 437 art 2 s 4; 1978 c 560 s 12; 1983 c 312 art 5 s 13,14;
1984 c 654 art 5 s 58; 1985 c 248 s 70; 1988 c 719 art 8 s 11,12; 1989 c 277 art 2 s 7; 1Sp1989 c
1 art 16 s 6; 2002 c 277 s 9; 2003 c 112 art 2 s 50; 2009 c 101 art 2 s 109

256B.042 THIRD-PARTY LIABILITY.

Subdivision 1. Lien for cost of care.When the state agency provides, pays for, or becomes
liable for medical care, it shall have a lien for the cost of the care upon any and all causes of action
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or recovery rights under any policy, plan, or contract providing benefits for health care or injury,
which accrue to the person to whom the care was furnished, or to the person's legal representatives,
as a result of the illness or injuries which necessitated the medical care. For purposes of this
section, "state agency" includes prepaid health plans under contract with the commissioner
according to sections 256B.69, 256D.03, subdivision 4, paragraph (c), and 256L.12; children's
mental health collaboratives under section 245.493; demonstration projects for persons with
disabilities under section 256B.77; nursing facilities under the alternative payment demonstration
project under section 256B.434; and county-based purchasing entities under section 256B.692.

Subd. 2. Lien enforcement. (a) The state agency may perfect and enforce its lien by
following the procedures set forth in sections 514.69, 514.70 and 514.71, and its verified lien
statement shall be filed with the appropriate court administrator in the county of financial
responsibility. The verified lien statement shall contain the following: the name and address of
the person to whom medical care was furnished, the date of injury, the name and address of the
vendor or vendors furnishing medical care, the dates of the service, the amount claimed to be
due for the care, and, to the best of the state agency's knowledge, the names and addresses of all
persons, firms, or corporations claimed to be liable for damages arising from the injuries. This
section shall not affect the priority of any attorney's lien.

(b) The state agency is not subject to any limitations period referred to in section 514.69 or
514.71 and has one year from the date notice is first received by it under subdivision 4, paragraph
(c), even if the notice is untimely, or one year from the date medical bills are first paid by the state
agency, whichever is later, to file its verified lien statement. The state agency may commence an
action to enforce the lien within one year of (1) the date the notice required by subdivision 4,
paragraph (c), is received or (2) the date the recipient's cause of action is concluded by judgment,
award, settlement, or otherwise, whichever is later.

(c) If the notice required in subdivision 4 is not provided by any of the parties to the claim
at any stage of the claim, the state agency will have one year from the date the state agency learns
of the lack of notice to commence an action. If amounts on the claim or cause of action are paid
and the amount required to be paid to the state agency under subdivision 5, is not paid to the state
agency, the state agency may commence an action to recover on the lien against any or all of the
parties or entities which have either paid or received the payments.

Subd. 3. Attorney general representation. The attorney general shall represent the
commissioner to enforce the lien created under this section or, if no action has been brought, may
initiate and prosecute an independent action on behalf of the commissioner against a person, firm,
or corporation that may be liable to the person to whom the care was furnished.

Any prepaid health plan providing services under sections 256B.69, 256D.03, subdivision
4, paragraph (c), and 256L.12; children's mental health collaboratives under section 245.493;
demonstration projects for persons with disabilities under section 256B.77; nursing homes under
the alternative payment demonstration project under section 256B.434; or the county-based
purchasing entity providing services under section 256B.692 may retain legal representation to
enforce their lien created under this section or, if no action has been brought, may initiate and
prosecute an independent action on their behalf against a person, firm, or corporation that may be
liable to the person to whom the care or payment was furnished.

Subd. 4. Notice. The state agency must be given notice of monetary claims against a person,
firm, or corporation that may be liable to pay part or all of the cost of medical care when the state
agency has paid or become liable for the cost of that care. Notice must be given as follows:
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(a) Applicants for medical assistance shall notify the state or local agency of any possible
claims when they submit the application. Recipients of medical assistance shall notify the state or
local agency of any possible claims when those claims arise.

(b) A person providing medical care services to a recipient of medical assistance shall
notify the state agency when the person has reason to believe that a third party may be liable for
payment of the cost of medical care.

(c) A party to a claim upon which the state agency may be entitled to a lien under this section
shall notify the state agency of its potential lien claim at each of the following stages of a claim:

(1) when a claim is filed;
(2) when an action is commenced; and
(3) when a claim is concluded by payment, award, judgment, settlement, or otherwise.

Every party involved in any stage of a claim under this subdivision is required to provide notice to
the state agency at that stage of the claim. However, when one of the parties to the claim provides
notice at that stage, every other party to the claim is deemed to have provided the required notice
at that stage of the claim. If the required notice under this paragraph is not provided to the state
agency, all parties to the claim are deemed to have failed to provide the required notice. A party
to a claim includes the injured person or the person's legal representative, the plaintiff, the
defendants, or persons alleged to be responsible for compensating the injured person or plaintiff,
and any other party to the cause of action or claim, regardless of whether the party knows the state
agency has a potential or actual lien claim.

Notice given to the local agency is not sufficient to meet the requirements of paragraphs
(b) and (c).

Subd. 5. Costs deducted. Upon any judgment, award, or settlement of a cause of action,
or any part of it, upon which the state agency has filed its lien, including compensation for
liquidated, unliquidated, or other damages, reasonable costs of collection, including attorney fees,
must be deducted first. The full amount of medical assistance paid to or on behalf of the person as
a result of the injury must be deducted next, and paid to the state agency. The rest must be paid to
the medical assistance recipient or other plaintiff. The plaintiff, however, must receive at least
one-third of the net recovery after attorney fees and other collection costs.

History: 1975 c 247 s 6; 1976 c 236 s 2; 1986 c 444; 1Sp1986 c 3 art 1 s 82; 1987 c 370
art 2 s 5-8; 1988 c 689 art 2 s 143; 1Sp1993 c 1 art 5 s 29; 1995 c 207 art 6 s 26; 1997 c 217 art
2 s 5-7; 1999 c 245 art 4 s 28-30; 2004 c 228 art 1 s 75

NOTE: This section was preempted by federal law to the extent that it allows a lien for
medical assistance paid to be placed on a medical assistance recipient's cause of action before the
recipient's death. Martin ex rel. Hoff v. City of Rochester, 642 N.W.2d 1 (Minn. 2002).

256B.043 COST-CONTAINMENT EFFORTS.

Subdivision 1. Alternative and complementary health care. The commissioner of
human services, through the medical director and in consultation with the Health Services Policy
Committee established under section 256B.0625, subdivision 3c, as part of the commissioner's
ongoing duties, shall consider the potential for improving quality and obtaining cost savings
through greater use of alternative and complementary treatment methods and clinical practice;
shall incorporate these methods into the medical assistance, MinnesotaCare, and general
assistance medical care programs; and shall make related legislative recommendations as
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appropriate. The commissioner shall post the recommendations required under this subdivision on
agency Web sites according to section 144.0506, subdivision 1.

Subd. 2. Access to care. (a) The commissioners of human services and health, as part of
their ongoing duties, shall consider the adequacy of the current system of community health
clinics and centers both statewide and in urban areas with significant disparities in health status
and access to services across racial and ethnic groups, including:

(1) methods to provide 24-hour availability of care through the clinics and centers;
(2) methods to expand the availability of care through the clinics and centers;
(3) the use of grants to expand the number of clinics and centers, the services provided, and

the availability of care; and
(4) the extent to which increased use of physician assistants, nurse practitioners, medical

residents and interns, and other allied health professionals in clinics and centers would increase
the availability of services.

(b) The commissioners shall make departmental modifications and legislative
recommendations as appropriate on the basis of their considerations under paragraph (a).

History: 2006 c 267 art 1 s 9

256B.05 ADMINISTRATION BY COUNTY AGENCIES.

Subdivision 1. Administration of medical assistance. The county agencies shall
administer medical assistance in their respective counties under the supervision of the state
agency and the commissioner of human services as specified in section 256.01, and shall make
such reports, prepare such statistics, and keep such records and accounts in relation to medical
assistance as the state agency may require under section 256.01, subdivision 2, paragraph (17).

Subd. 2. Fee or charges. In administering the medical assistance program, no local social
services agency shall pay a fee or charge for medical, dental, surgical, hospital, nursing, licensed
nursing home care, medicine, or medical supplies in excess of the schedules of maximum fees
and charges as established by the state agency.

Subd. 3.Maximum allowances. Notwithstanding the provisions of subdivision 2, the
commissioner of human services shall establish a schedule of maximum allowances to be paid by
the state on behalf of recipients of medical assistance toward fees charged for services rendered
such medical assistance recipients.

Subd. 4. [Repealed, 1987 c 403 art 2 s 164]

Subd. 5. Obligation of local agency to process medical assistance applications within
established timelines. The local agency must act on an application for medical assistance within
ten working days of receipt of all information needed to act on the application but no later than
required under Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0090, subparts 2 and 3.

History: Ex1967 c 16 s 5; 1971 c 961 s 28; 1982 c 640 s 4; 1984 c 580 s 3; 1984 c 654 art
5 s 58; 1988 c 719 art 8 s 13; 1989 c 89 s 10; 1994 c 631 s 31; 1Sp2011 c 9 art 7 s 5

256B.055 ELIGIBILITY CATEGORIES.

Subdivision 1. Children eligible for subsidized adoption assistance.Medical assistance
may be paid for a child eligible for or receiving adoption assistance payments under title IV-E of
the Social Security Act, United States Code, title 42, sections 670 to 676, and to any child who
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is not title IV-E eligible but who was determined eligible for adoption assistance under section
259.67, subdivision 4, paragraphs (a) to (c), and has a special need for medical or rehabilitative
care.

Subd. 2. Subsidized foster children.Medical assistance may be paid for a child eligible
for or receiving foster care maintenance payments under Title IV-E of the Social Security Act,
United States Code, title 42, sections 670 to 676.

Subd. 3. AFDC families. Until March 31, 1998, medical assistance may be paid for a
person who is eligible for or receiving, or who would be eligible for, except for excess income or
assets, public assistance under the aid to families with dependent children program in effect as of
July 16, 1996, as required by the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation
Act of 1996 (PRWORA), Public Law 104-193.

Subd. 3a. Families with children. Beginning July 1, 2002, medical assistance may be paid
for a person who is a child under the age of 18, or age 18 if a full-time student in a secondary
school, or in the equivalent level of vocational or technical training, and reasonably expected
to complete the program before reaching age 19; the parent of a dependent child, including a
pregnant woman; or a caretaker relative of a dependent child.

Subd. 4. Recipients of Minnesota supplemental aid.Medical assistance may be paid for a
person who is receiving public assistance under the Minnesota supplemental aid program.

Subd. 5. Pregnant women; dependent unborn child.Medical assistance may be paid for
a pregnant woman who has written verification of a positive pregnancy test from a physician or
licensed registered nurse, who meets the other eligibility criteria of this section and who would be
categorically eligible for assistance under the state's AFDC plan in effect as of July 16, 1996,
as required by the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996
(PRWORA), Public Law 104-193, if the child had been born and was living with the woman. For
purposes of this subdivision, a woman is considered pregnant for 60 days postpartum.

Subd. 6. Pregnant women; needy unborn child. Medical assistance may be paid for a
pregnant woman who has written verification of a positive pregnancy test from a physician or
licensed registered nurse, who meets the other eligibility criteria of this section and whose unborn
child would be eligible as a needy child under subdivision 10 if born and living with the woman.
For purposes of this subdivision, a woman is considered pregnant for 60 days postpartum.

Subd. 7. Aged, blind, or disabled persons. (a) Medical assistance may be paid for a person
who meets the categorical eligibility requirements of the supplemental security income program
or, who would meet those requirements except for excess income or assets, and who meets the
other eligibility requirements of this section.

(b) Following a determination that the applicant is not aged or blind and does not meet any
other category of eligibility for medical assistance and has not been determined disabled by
the Social Security Administration, applicants under this subdivision shall be referred to the
commissioner's state medical review team for a determination of disability.

Subd. 7a. Special category for disabled children.Medical assistance may be paid for a
person who is under age 18 and who meets income and asset eligibility requirements of the
Supplemental Security Income program if the person was receiving Supplemental Security
Income payments on the date of enactment of section 211(a) of Public Law 104-193, the Personal
Responsibility and Work Opportunity Act of 1996, and the person would have continued to
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receive the payments except for the change in the childhood disability criteria in section 211(a) of
Public Law 104-193.

Subd. 8. [Repealed, 1990 c 568 art 3 s 104]

Subd. 9. Children.Medical assistance may be paid for a person who is under 21 years of
age and in need of medical care that neither the person nor the person's relatives responsible under
sections 256B.01 to 256B.26 are financially able to provide.

Subd. 10. Infants.Medical assistance may be paid for an infant less than one year of age,
whose mother was eligible for and receiving medical assistance at the time of birth or who is in
a family with countable income that is equal to or less than the income standard established
under section 256B.057, subdivision 1.

Subd. 10a. [Repealed, 1Sp2003 c 14 art 12 s 101]

Subd. 10b. Children. This subdivision supersedes subdivision 10 as long as the Minnesota
health care reform waiver remains in effect. When the waiver expires, the commissioner of human
services shall publish a notice in the State Register and notify the revisor of statutes. Medical
assistance may be paid for a child less than two years of age with countable family income as
established for infants under section 256B.057, subdivision 1.

Subd. 11. Elderly hospital inpatients.Medical assistance may be paid for a person who is
residing in a hospital for treatment of mental disease or tuberculosis and is 65 years of age or
older and without means sufficient to pay the per capita hospital charge.

Subd. 12. Disabled children. (a) A person is eligible for medical assistance if the person is
under age 19 and qualifies as a disabled individual under United States Code, title 42, section
1382c(a), and would be eligible for medical assistance under the state plan if residing in a
medical institution, and the child requires a level of care provided in a hospital, nursing facility,
or intermediate care facility for persons with developmental disabilities, for whom home care
is appropriate, provided that the cost to medical assistance under this section is not more than
the amount that medical assistance would pay for if the child resides in an institution. After the
child is determined to be eligible under this section, the commissioner shall review the child's
disability under United States Code, title 42, section 1382c(a) and level of care defined under this
section no more often than annually and may elect, based on the recommendation of health care
professionals under contract with the state medical review team, to extend the review of disability
and level of care up to a maximum of four years. The commissioner's decision on the frequency
of continuing review of disability and level of care is not subject to administrative appeal under
section 256.045. The county agency shall send a notice of disability review to the enrollee six
months prior to the date the recertification of disability is due. Nothing in this subdivision shall be
construed as affecting other redeterminations of medical assistance eligibility under this chapter
and annual cost-effective reviews under this section.

(b) For purposes of this subdivision, "hospital" means an institution as defined in section
144.696, subdivision 3, 144.55, subdivision 3, or Minnesota Rules, part 4640.3600, and licensed
pursuant to sections 144.50 to 144.58. For purposes of this subdivision, a child requires a level of
care provided in a hospital if the child is determined by the commissioner to need an extensive
array of health services, including mental health services, for an undetermined period of time,
whose health condition requires frequent monitoring and treatment by a health care professional
or by a person supervised by a health care professional, who would reside in a hospital or require
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frequent hospitalization if these services were not provided, and the daily care needs are more
complex than a nursing facility level of care.

A child with serious emotional disturbance requires a level of care provided in a hospital
if the commissioner determines that the individual requires 24-hour supervision because the
person exhibits recurrent or frequent suicidal or homicidal ideation or behavior, recurrent or
frequent psychosomatic disorders or somatopsychic disorders that may become life threatening,
recurrent or frequent severe socially unacceptable behavior associated with psychiatric disorder,
ongoing and chronic psychosis or severe, ongoing and chronic developmental problems requiring
continuous skilled observation, or severe disabling symptoms for which office-centered outpatient
treatment is not adequate, and which overall severely impact the individual's ability to function.

(c) For purposes of this subdivision, "nursing facility" means a facility which provides
nursing care as defined in section 144A.01, subdivision 5, licensed pursuant to sections 144A.02
to 144A.10, which is appropriate if a person is in active restorative treatment; is in need of
special treatments provided or supervised by a licensed nurse; or has unpredictable episodes
of active disease processes requiring immediate judgment by a licensed nurse. For purposes
of this subdivision, a child requires the level of care provided in a nursing facility if the child
is determined by the commissioner to meet the requirements of the preadmission screening
assessment document under section 256B.0911, adjusted to address age-appropriate standards for
children age 18 and under.

(d) For purposes of this subdivision, "intermediate care facility for persons with
developmental disabilities" or "ICF/MR" means a program licensed to provide services to
persons with developmental disabilities under section 252.28, and chapter 245A, and a physical
plant licensed as a supervised living facility under chapter 144, which together are certified by
the Minnesota Department of Health as meeting the standards in Code of Federal Regulations,
title 42, part 483, for an intermediate care facility which provides services for persons with
developmental disabilities who require 24-hour supervision and active treatment for medical,
behavioral, or habilitation needs. For purposes of this subdivision, a child requires a level of care
provided in an ICF/MR if the commissioner finds that the child has a developmental disability
in accordance with section 256B.092, is in need of a 24-hour plan of care and active treatment
similar to persons with developmental disabilities, and there is a reasonable indication that the
child will need ICF/MR services.

(e) For purposes of this subdivision, a person requires the level of care provided in a nursing
facility if the person requires 24-hour monitoring or supervision and a plan of mental health
treatment because of specific symptoms or functional impairments associated with a serious
mental illness or disorder diagnosis, which meet severity criteria for mental health established by
the commissioner and published in March 1997 as the Minnesota Mental Health Level of Care for
Children and Adolescents with Severe Emotional Disorders.

(f) The determination of the level of care needed by the child shall be made by the
commissioner based on information supplied to the commissioner by the parent or guardian,
the child's physician or physicians, and other professionals as requested by the commissioner.
The commissioner shall establish a screening team to conduct the level of care determinations
according to this subdivision.

(g) If a child meets the conditions in paragraph (b), (c), (d), or (e), the commissioner
must assess the case to determine whether:
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(1) the child qualifies as a disabled individual under United States Code, title 42, section
1382c(a), and would be eligible for medical assistance if residing in a medical institution; and

(2) the cost of medical assistance services for the child, if eligible under this subdivision,
would not be more than the cost to medical assistance if the child resides in a medical institution
to be determined as follows:

(i) for a child who requires a level of care provided in an ICF/MR, the cost of care for the
child in an institution shall be determined using the average payment rate established for the
regional treatment centers that are certified as ICF's/MR;

(ii) for a child who requires a level of care provided in an inpatient hospital setting
according to paragraph (b), cost-effectiveness shall be determined according to Minnesota Rules,
part 9505.3520, items F and G; and

(iii) for a child who requires a level of care provided in a nursing facility according to
paragraph (c) or (e), cost-effectiveness shall be determined according to Minnesota Rules,
part 9505.3040, except that the nursing facility average rate shall be adjusted to reflect rates
which would be paid for children under age 16. The commissioner may authorize an amount up
to the amount medical assistance would pay for a child referred to the commissioner by the
preadmission screening team under section 256B.0911.

(h) Children eligible for medical assistance services under section 256B.055, subdivision
12, as of June 30, 1995, must be screened according to the criteria in this subdivision prior to
January 1, 1996. Children found to be ineligible may not be removed from the program until
January 1, 1996.

Subd. 13. Residents of institutions for mental diseases. Beginning October 1, 2003,
persons who would be eligible for medical assistance under this chapter but for residing in a
facility that is determined by the commissioner or the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid
Services to be an institution for mental diseases are eligible for medical assistance without federal
financial participation, except that coverage shall not include payment for a nursing facility
determined to be an institution for mental diseases.

Subd. 14. Persons detained by law. (a) Medical assistance may be paid for an inmate of a
correctional facility who is conditionally released as authorized under section 241.26, 244.065, or
631.425, if the individual does not require the security of a public detention facility and is housed
in a halfway house or community correction center, or under house arrest and monitored by
electronic surveillance in a residence approved by the commissioner of corrections, and if the
individual meets the other eligibility requirements of this chapter.

(b) An individual who is enrolled in medical assistance, and who is charged with a crime and
incarcerated for less than 12 months shall be suspended from eligibility at the time of incarceration
until the individual is released. Upon release, medical assistance eligibility is reinstated without
reapplication using a reinstatement process and form, if the individual is otherwise eligible.

(c) An individual, regardless of age, who is considered an inmate of a public institution
as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 435.1010, is not eligible for medical
assistance.

Subd. 15. Adults without children.Medical assistance may be paid for a person who is:
(1) at least age 21 and under age 65;
(2) not pregnant;
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(3) not entitled to Medicare Part A or enrolled in Medicare Part B under Title XVIII of the
Social Security Act;

(4) not an adult in a family with children as defined in section 256L.01, subdivision 3a; and
(5) not described in another subdivision of this section.
[See Note.]
History: Ex1967 c 16 s 6; 1969 c 841 s 1; 1973 c 717 s 18; 1974 c 525 s 1,2; 1975 c 247 s

10; 1976 c 236 s 3; 1977 c 448 s 6; 1978 c 760 s 1; 1979 c 309 s 4; 1980 c 509 s 106; 1980 c 527
s 1; 1981 c 360 art 2 s 28; 1Sp1981 c 2 s 14; 3Sp1981 c 2 art 1 s 32; 3Sp1981 c 3 s 17; 1982 c
553 s 6; 1982 c 640 s 5; 1983 c 312 art 5 s 15; 1984 c 422 s 1; 1984 c 534 s 22; 1984 c 654 art
5 s 58; 1985 c 248 s 70; 1985 c 252 s 21; 1986 c 444; 1Sp1986 c 1 art 8 s 5; 1987 c 403 art 2
s 79,80; 1988 c 689 art 2 s 144,145,268; 1989 c 282 art 3 s 43,44; 1990 c 568 art 3 s 23-27;
1991 c 292 art 4 s 33,34; 1Sp1993 c 1 art 5 s 30; 1994 c 631 s 31; 1995 c 207 art 6 s 27; 1995 c
234 art 6 s 35; 1996 c 451 art 2 s 7; 1997 c 85 art 3 s 10-12; 1997 c 203 art 4 s 19; 1998 c 407
art 4 s 13,14; 1999 c 245 art 4 s 31; 1Sp2001 c 9 art 2 s 15; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 1Sp2003 c
14 art 12 s 15; 2004 c 288 art 3 s 21; 2005 c 10 art 1 s 47; 2005 c 56 s 1; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 8 s
19; 2007 c 147 art 4 s 3; 2008 c 220 s 1; 2008 c 326 art 1 s 8; 2009 c 79 art 6 s 7; art 8 s 17;
2010 c 310 art 3 s 1; 1Sp2010 c 1 art 16 s 5,48

NOTE: Subdivision 15 became effective January 5, 2011, the date Governor Mark Dayton
signed Executive Order 11-01. Laws 2010, First Special Session chapter 1, article 16, section 48.

256B.056 ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS FOR MEDICAL ASSISTANCE.

Subdivision 1. Residency. To be eligible for medical assistance, a person must reside in
Minnesota, or, if absent from the state, be deemed to be a resident of Minnesota in accordance
with the rules of the state agency.

Subd. 1a. Income and assets generally. Unless specifically required by state law or rule or
federal law or regulation, the methodologies used in counting income and assets to determine
eligibility for medical assistance for persons whose eligibility category is based on blindness,
disability, or age of 65 or more years, the methodologies for the supplemental security income
program shall be used. Increases in benefits under title II of the Social Security Act shall not be
counted as income for purposes of this subdivision until July 1 of each year. Effective upon
federal approval, for children eligible under section 256B.055, subdivision 12, or for home and
community-based waiver services whose eligibility for medical assistance is determined without
regard to parental income, child support payments, including any payments made by an obligor
in satisfaction of or in addition to a temporary or permanent order for child support, and Social
Security payments are not counted as income. For families and children, which includes all
other eligibility categories, the methodologies under the state's AFDC plan in effect as of July
16, 1996, as required by the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act
of 1996 (PRWORA), Public Law 104-193, shall be used, except that effective October 1, 2003,
the earned income disregards and deductions are limited to those in subdivision 1c. For these
purposes, a "methodology" does not include an asset or income standard, or accounting method,
or method of determining effective dates.

Subd. 1b. Aged, blind, and disabled income methodology. The $20 general income
disregard allowed under the supplemental security income program is included in the standard and
shall not be allowed as a deduction from income for a person eligible under section 256B.055,
subdivisions 7, 7a, and 12.
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Subd. 1c. Families with children income methodology. (a)(1) [Expired, 1Sp2003 c 14
art 12 s 17]

(2) For applications processed within one calendar month prior to July 1, 2003, eligibility
shall be determined by applying the income standards and methodologies in effect prior to July 1,
2003, for any months in the six-month budget period before July 1, 2003, and the income standards
and methodologies in effect on July 1, 2003, for any months in the six-month budget period on or
after that date. The income standards for each month shall be added together and compared to the
applicant's total countable income for the six-month budget period to determine eligibility.

(3) For children ages one through 18 whose eligibility is determined under section
256B.057, subdivision 2, the following deductions shall be applied to income counted toward
the child's eligibility as allowed under the state's AFDC plan in effect as of July 16, 1996: $90
work expense, dependent care, and child support paid under court order. This clause is effective
October 1, 2003.

(b) For families with children whose eligibility is determined using the standard specified
in section 256B.056, subdivision 4, paragraph (c), 17 percent of countable earned income shall
be disregarded for up to four months and the following deductions shall be applied to each
individual's income counted toward eligibility as allowed under the state's AFDC plan in effect as
of July 16, 1996: dependent care and child support paid under court order.

(c) If the four-month disregard in paragraph (b) has been applied to the wage earner's
income for four months, the disregard shall not be applied again until the wage earner's income
has not been considered in determining medical assistance eligibility for 12 consecutive months.

(d) The commissioner shall adjust the income standards under this section each July 1 by
the annual update of the federal poverty guidelines following publication by the United States
Department of Health and Human Services except that the income standards shall not go below
those in effect on July 1, 2009.

(e) For children age 18 or under, annual gifts of $2,000 or less by a tax-exempt organization
to or for the benefit of the child with a life-threatening illness must be disregarded from income.

Subd. 1d. Treatment of certain monetary gifts. The commissioner shall disregard as
income any portion of a monetary gift received by an applicant or enrollee that is designated
to purchase a prosthetic device not covered by insurance, other third-party payers, or medical
assistance.

Subd. 2. Homestead exclusion for persons residing in a long-term care facility. The
homestead shall be excluded for the first six calendar months of a person's stay in a long-term care
facility and shall continue to be excluded for as long as the recipient can be reasonably expected
to return to the homestead. For purposes of this subdivision, "reasonably expected to return to
the homestead" means the recipient's attending physician has certified that the expectation is
reasonable, and the recipient can show that the cost of care upon returning home will be met
through medical assistance or other sources. The homestead shall continue to be excluded for
persons residing in a long-term care facility if it is used as a primary residence by one of the
following individuals:

(1) the spouse;

(2) a child under age 21;
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(3) a child of any age who is blind or permanently and totally disabled as defined in the
Supplemental Security Income program;

(4) a sibling who has equity interest in the home and who resided in the home for at least
one year immediately before the date of the person's admission to the facility; or

(5) a child of any age or a grandchild of any age who resided in the home for at least two
years immediately before the date of the person's admission to the facility, and who provided care
to the person that permitted the person to reside at home rather than in an institution.

Subd. 2a. Home equity limit for medical assistance payment of long-term care services.
(a) Effective for requests of medical assistance payment of long-term care services filed on or
after July 1, 2006, and for renewals on or after July 1, 2006, for persons who received payment
of long-term care services under a request filed on or after January 1, 2006, the equity interest
in the home of a person whose eligibility for long-term care services is determined on or after
January 1, 2006, shall not exceed $500,000, unless it is the lawful residence of the person's
spouse or child who is under age 21, or a child of any age who is blind or permanently and totally
disabled as defined in the Supplemental Security Income program. The amount specified in this
paragraph shall be increased beginning in year 2011, from year to year based on the percentage
increase in the Consumer Price Index for all urban consumers (all items; United States city
average), rounded to the nearest $1,000.

(b) For purposes of this subdivision, a "home" means any real or personal property interest,
including an interest in an agricultural homestead as defined under section 273.124, subdivision
1, that, at the time of the request for medical assistance payment of long-term care services, is
the primary dwelling of the person or was the primary dwelling of the person before receipt of
long-term care services began outside of the home.

(c) A person denied or terminated from medical assistance payment of long-term care
services because the person's home equity exceeds the home equity limit may seek a waiver based
upon a hardship by filing a written request with the county agency. Hardship is an imminent threat
to the person's health and well-being that is demonstrated by documentation of no alternatives
for payment of long-term care services. The county agency shall make a decision regarding the
written request to waive the home equity limit within 30 days if all necessary information has
been provided. The county agency shall send the person and the person's representative a written
notice of decision on the request for a demonstrated hardship waiver that also advises the person
of appeal rights under the fair hearing process of section 256.045.

Subd. 3. Asset limitations for individuals and families. (a) To be eligible for medical
assistance, a person must not individually own more than $3,000 in assets, or if a member of a
household with two family members, husband and wife, or parent and child, the household
must not own more than $6,000 in assets, plus $200 for each additional legal dependent. In
addition to these maximum amounts, an eligible individual or family may accrue interest on these
amounts, but they must be reduced to the maximum at the time of an eligibility redetermination.
The accumulation of the clothing and personal needs allowance according to section 256B.35
must also be reduced to the maximum at the time of the eligibility redetermination. The value
of assets that are not considered in determining eligibility for medical assistance is the value of
those assets excluded under the supplemental security income program for aged, blind, and
disabled persons, with the following exceptions:

(1) household goods and personal effects are not considered;
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(2) capital and operating assets of a trade or business that the local agency determines are
necessary to the person's ability to earn an income are not considered;

(3) motor vehicles are excluded to the same extent excluded by the supplemental security
income program;

(4) assets designated as burial expenses are excluded to the same extent excluded by the
supplemental security income program. Burial expenses funded by annuity contracts or life
insurance policies must irrevocably designate the individual's estate as contingent beneficiary to
the extent proceeds are not used for payment of selected burial expenses; and

(5) for a person who no longer qualifies as an employed person with a disability due to
loss of earnings, assets allowed while eligible for medical assistance under section 256B.057,
subdivision 9, are not considered for 12 months, beginning with the first month of ineligibility as
an employed person with a disability, to the extent that the person's total assets remain within the
allowed limits of section 256B.057, subdivision 9, paragraph (d).

(b) No asset limit shall apply to persons eligible under section 256B.055, subdivision 15.
[See Note.]

Subd. 3a. [Repealed, 1992 c 513 art 7 s 135]

Subd. 3b. Treatment of trusts. (a) A "medical assistance qualifying trust" is a revocable or
irrevocable trust, or similar legal device, established on or before August 10, 1993, by a person
or the person's spouse under the terms of which the person receives or could receive payments
from the trust principal or income and the trustee has discretion in making payments to the
person from the trust principal or income. Notwithstanding that definition, a medical assistance
qualifying trust does not include: (1) a trust set up by will; (2) a trust set up before April 7, 1986,
solely to benefit a person with a developmental disability living in an intermediate care facility for
persons with developmental disabilities; or (3) a trust set up by a person with payments made
by the Social Security Administration pursuant to the United States Supreme Court decision in
Sullivan v. Zebley, 110 S. Ct. 885 (1990). The maximum amount of payments that a trustee
of a medical assistance qualifying trust may make to a person under the terms of the trust is
considered to be available assets to the person, without regard to whether the trustee actually
makes the maximum payments to the person and without regard to the purpose for which the
medical assistance qualifying trust was established.

(b) Except as provided in paragraphs (c) and (d), trusts established after August 10, 1993,
are treated according to section 13611(b) of the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1993
(OBRA), Public Law 103-66.

(c) For purposes of paragraph (d), a pooled trust means a trust established under United
States Code, title 42, section 1396p(d)(4)(C).

(d) A beneficiary's interest in a pooled trust is considered an available asset unless the trust
provides that upon the death of the beneficiary or termination of the trust during the beneficiary's
lifetime, whichever is sooner, the department receives any amount, up to the amount of medical
assistance benefits paid on behalf of the beneficiary, remaining in the beneficiary's trust account
after a deduction for reasonable administrative fees and expenses, and an additional remainder
amount. The retained remainder amount of the subaccount must not exceed ten percent of the
account value at the time of the beneficiary's death or termination of the trust, and must only be
used for the benefit of disabled individuals who have a beneficiary interest in the pooled trust.

[See Note.]
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Subd. 3c. Asset limitations for families and children. A household of two or more
persons must not own more than $20,000 in total net assets, and a household of one person
must not own more than $10,000 in total net assets. In addition to these maximum amounts, an
eligible individual or family may accrue interest on these amounts, but they must be reduced
to the maximum at the time of an eligibility redetermination. The value of assets that are not
considered in determining eligibility for medical assistance for families and children is the value
of those assets excluded under the AFDC state plan as of July 16, 1996, as required by the
Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 (PRWORA), Public
Law 104-193, with the following exceptions:

(1) household goods and personal effects are not considered;
(2) capital and operating assets of a trade or business up to $200,000 are not considered,

except that a bank account that contains personal income or assets, or is used to pay personal
expenses, is not considered a capital or operating asset of a trade or business;

(3) one motor vehicle is excluded for each person of legal driving age who is employed or
seeking employment;

(4) assets designated as burial expenses are excluded to the same extent they are excluded
by the Supplemental Security Income program;

(5) court-ordered settlements up to $10,000 are not considered;
(6) individual retirement accounts and funds are not considered; and
(7) assets owned by children are not considered.

The assets specified in clause (2) must be disclosed to the local agency at the time of application
and at the time of an eligibility redetermination, and must be verified upon request of the local
agency.

[See Note.]

Subd. 3d. Reduction of excess assets. Assets in excess of the limits in subdivisions 3 to 3c
may be reduced to allowable limits as follows:

(a) Assets may be reduced in any of the three calendar months before the month of
application in which the applicant seeks coverage by paying bills for health services that are
incurred in the retroactive period for which the applicant seeks eligibility, starting with the
oldest bill. After assets are reduced to allowable limits, eligibility begins with the next dollar of
MA-covered health services incurred in the retroactive period. Applicants reducing assets under
this subdivision who also have excess income shall first spend excess assets to pay health service
bills and may meet the income spenddown on remaining bills.

(b) Assets may be reduced beginning the month of application by paying bills for health
services that are incurred during the period specified in Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0090, subpart
2, that would otherwise be paid by medical assistance. After assets are reduced to allowable
limits, eligibility begins with the next dollar of medical assistance covered health services
incurred in the period. Applicants reducing assets under this subdivision who also have excess
income shall first spend excess assets to pay health service bills and may meet the income
spenddown on remaining bills.

[See Note.]

Subd. 3e. Continuing care retirement and life care community entrance fees. An
entrance fee paid by an individual to a continuing care retirement or life care community shall be
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treated as an available asset to the extent that:
(1) the individual has the ability to use the entrance fee, or the contract provides that the

entrance fee may be used, to pay for care should other resources or income of the individual be
insufficient to pay for care;

(2) the individual is eligible for a refund of any remaining entrance fees when the individual
dies or terminates the continuing care retirement or life care community contract and leaves
the community; and

(3) the entrance fee does not confer an ownership interest in the continuing care retirement
or life care community.

Subd. 4. Income. (a) To be eligible for medical assistance, a person eligible under section
256B.055, subdivisions 7, 7a, and 12, may have income up to 100 percent of the federal poverty
guidelines. Effective January 1, 2000, and each successive January, recipients of supplemental
security income may have an income up to the supplemental security income standard in effect on
that date.

(b) To be eligible for medical assistance, families and children may have an income up
to 133-1/3 percent of the AFDC income standard in effect under the July 16, 1996, AFDC
state plan. Effective July 1, 2000, the base AFDC standard in effect on July 16, 1996, shall be
increased by three percent.

(c) Effective July 1, 2002, to be eligible for medical assistance, families and children may
have an income up to 100 percent of the federal poverty guidelines for the family size.

(d) To be eligible for medical assistance under section 256B.055, subdivision 15, a person
may have an income up to 75 percent of federal poverty guidelines for the family size.

(e) In computing income to determine eligibility of persons under paragraphs (a) to (d)
who are not residents of long-term care facilities, the commissioner shall disregard increases in
income as required by Public Law Numbers 94-566, section 503; 99-272; and 99-509. Veterans
aid and attendance benefits and Veterans Administration unusual medical expense payments are
considered income to the recipient.

[See Note.]

Subd. 4a. Asset verification. For purposes of verification, an individual is not required to
make a good faith effort to sell a life estate that is not excluded under subdivision 2 and the life
estate shall be deemed not salable unless the owner of the remainder interest intends to purchase
the life estate, or the owner of the life estate and the owner of the remainder sell the entire
property. This subdivision applies only for the purpose of determining eligibility for medical
assistance, and does not apply to the valuation of assets owned by either the institutional spouse
or the community spouse under section 256B.059, subdivision 2.

Subd. 4b. Income verification. The local agency shall not require a monthly income
verification form for a recipient who is a resident of a long-term care facility and who has monthly
earned income of $80 or less. The commissioner or county agency shall use electronic verification
as the primary method of income verification. If there is a discrepancy between reported income
and electronically verified income, an individual may be required to submit additional verification.

Subd. 5. Excess income. A person who has excess income is eligible for medical assistance
if the person has expenses for medical care that are more than the amount of the person's excess
income, computed by deducting incurred medical expenses from the excess income to reduce
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the excess to the income standard specified in subdivision 5c. The person shall elect to have the
medical expenses deducted at the beginning of a one-month budget period or at the beginning
of a six-month budget period. The commissioner shall allow persons eligible for assistance on
a one-month spenddown basis under this subdivision to elect to pay the monthly spenddown
amount in advance of the month of eligibility to the state agency in order to maintain eligibility on
a continuous basis. If the recipient does not pay the spenddown amount on or before the 20th of
the month, the recipient is ineligible for this option for the following month. The local agency
shall code the Medicaid Management Information System (MMIS) to indicate that the recipient
has elected this option. The state agency shall convey recipient eligibility information relative to
the collection of the spenddown to providers through the Electronic Verification System (EVS). A
recipient electing advance payment must pay the state agency the monthly spenddown amount on
or before the 20th of the month in order to be eligible for this option in the following month.

Subd. 5a. Individuals on fixed or excluded income. Recipients of medical assistance who
receive only fixed unearned or excluded income, when that income is excluded from consideration
as income or unvarying in amount and timing of receipt throughout the year, shall report and
verify their income annually.

Subd. 5b. Individuals with low income. Recipients of medical assistance not residing
in a long-term care facility who have slightly fluctuating income which is below the medical
assistance income limit shall report and verify their income on a semiannual basis.

Subd. 5c. Excess income standard. (a) The excess income standard for families with
children is the standard specified in subdivision 4.

(b) The excess income standard for a person whose eligibility is based on blindness,
disability, or age of 65 or more years is 70 percent of the federal poverty guidelines for the family
size. Effective July 1, 2002, the excess income standard for this paragraph shall equal 75 percent
of the federal poverty guidelines.

Subd. 6. Assignment of benefits. To be eligible for medical assistance a person must have
applied or must agree to apply all proceeds received or receivable by the person or the person's
legal representative from any third party liable for the costs of medical care. By accepting
or receiving assistance, the person is deemed to have assigned the person's rights to medical
support and third-party payments as required by title 19 of the Social Security Act. Persons must
cooperate with the state in establishing paternity and obtaining third-party payments. By accepting
medical assistance, a person assigns to the Department of Human Services all rights the person
may have to medical support or payments for medical expenses from any other person or entity
on their own or their dependent's behalf and agrees to cooperate with the state in establishing
paternity and obtaining third-party payments. Any rights or amounts so assigned shall be applied
against the cost of medical care paid for under this chapter. Any assignment takes effect upon
the determination that the applicant is eligible for medical assistance and up to three months
prior to the date of application if the applicant is determined eligible for and receives medical
assistance benefits. The application must contain a statement explaining this assignment. For the
purposes of this section, "the Department of Human Services or the state" includes prepaid
health plans under contract with the commissioner according to sections 256B.69, 256D.03,
subdivision 4, paragraph (c), and 256L.12; children's mental health collaboratives under section
245.493; demonstration projects for persons with disabilities under section 256B.77; nursing
facilities under the alternative payment demonstration project under section 256B.434; and the
county-based purchasing entities under section 256B.692.
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Subd. 7. Period of eligibility. Eligibility is available for the month of application and
for three months prior to application if the person was eligible in those prior months. A
redetermination of eligibility must occur every 12 months.

Subd. 8. Cooperation. To be eligible for medical assistance, applicants and recipients
must cooperate with the state and local agency to identify potentially liable third-party payers
and assist the state in obtaining third-party payments, unless good cause for noncooperation is
determined according to Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, part 433.147. "Cooperation"
includes identifying any third party who may be liable for care and services provided under
this chapter to the applicant, recipient, or any other family member for whom application is
made and providing relevant information to assist the state in pursuing a potentially liable third
party. Cooperation also includes providing information about a group health plan for which
the person may be eligible and if the plan is determined cost-effective by the state agency and
premiums are paid by the local agency or there is no cost to the recipient, they must enroll or
remain enrolled with the group. For purposes of this subdivision, coverage provided by the
Minnesota Comprehensive Health Association under chapter 62E shall not be considered group
health plan coverage or cost-effective by the state and local agency. Cost-effective insurance
premiums approved for payment by the state agency and paid by the local agency are eligible for
reimbursement according to section 256B.19.

Subd. 9. Notice. The state agency must be given notice of monetary claims against a
person, entity, or corporation that may be liable to pay all or part of the cost of medical care
when the state agency has paid or becomes liable for the cost of that care. Notice must be given
according to paragraphs (a) to (d).

(a) An applicant for medical assistance shall notify the state or local agency of any possible
claims when the applicant submits the application. A recipient of medical assistance shall notify
the state or local agency of any possible claims when those claims arise.

(b) A person providing medical care services to a recipient of medical assistance shall
notify the state agency when the person has reason to believe that a third party may be liable for
payment of the cost of medical care.

(c) A party to a claim that may be assigned to the state agency under this section shall
notify the state agency of its potential assignment claim in writing at each of the following stages
of a claim:

(1) when a claim is filed;
(2) when an action is commenced; and
(3) when a claim is concluded by payment, award, judgment, settlement, or otherwise.
(d) Every party involved in any stage of a claim under this subdivision is required to

provide notice to the state agency at that stage of the claim. However, when one of the parties to
the claim provides notice at that stage, every other party to the claim is deemed to have provided
the required notice for that stage of the claim. If the required notice under this paragraph is
not provided to the state agency, all parties to the claim are deemed to have failed to provide
the required notice. A party to the claim includes the injured person or the person's legal
representative, the plaintiff, the defendants, or persons alleged to be responsible for compensating
the injured person or plaintiff, and any other party to the cause of action or claim, regardless of
whether the party knows the state agency has a potential or actual assignment claim.

Subd. 10. Eligibility verification. (a) The commissioner shall require women who are
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applying for the continuation of medical assistance coverage following the end of the 60-day
postpartum period to update their income and asset information and to submit any required
income or asset verification.

(b) The commissioner shall determine the eligibility of private-sector health care coverage
for infants less than one year of age eligible under section 256B.055, subdivision 10, or 256B.057,
subdivision 1, paragraph (d), and shall pay for private-sector coverage if this is determined to be
cost-effective.

(c) The commissioner shall verify assets and income for all applicants, and for all recipients
upon renewal.

Subd. 11. Treatment of annuities. (a) Any person requesting medical assistance payment
of long-term care services shall provide a complete description of any interest either the person
or the person's spouse has in annuities on a form designated by the department. The form shall
include a statement that the state becomes a preferred remainder beneficiary of annuities or similar
financial instruments by virtue of the receipt of medical assistance payment of long-term care
services. The person and the person's spouse shall furnish the agency responsible for determining
eligibility with complete current copies of their annuities and related documents and complete the
form designating the state as the preferred remainder beneficiary for each annuity in which the
person or the person's spouse has an interest.

(b) The department shall provide notice to the issuer of the department's right under this
section as a preferred remainder beneficiary under the annuity or similar financial instrument for
medical assistance furnished to the person or the person's spouse, and provide notice of the
issuer's responsibilities as provided in paragraph (c).

(c) An issuer of an annuity or similar financial instrument who receives notice of the
state's right to be named a preferred remainder beneficiary as described in paragraph (b) shall
provide confirmation to the requesting agency that the state has been made a preferred remainder
beneficiary. The issuer shall also notify the county agency when a change in the amount of
income or principal being withdrawn from the annuity or other similar financial instrument or a
change in the state's preferred remainder beneficiary designation under the annuity or other
similar financial instrument occurs. The county agency shall provide the issuer with the name,
address, and telephone number of a unit within the department that the issuer can contact to
comply with this paragraph.

(d) "Preferred remainder beneficiary" for purposes of this subdivision and sections
256B.0594 and 256B.0595 means the state is a remainder beneficiary in the first position in
an amount equal to the amount of medical assistance paid on behalf of the institutionalized
person, or is a remainder beneficiary in the second position if the institutionalized person
designates and is survived by a remainder beneficiary who is (1) a spouse who does not reside in a
medical institution, (2) a minor child, or (3) a child of any age who is blind or permanently and
totally disabled as defined in the Supplemental Security Income program. Notwithstanding this
paragraph, the state is the remainder beneficiary in the first position if the spouse or child disposes
of the remainder for less than fair market value.

(e) For purposes of this subdivision, "institutionalized person" and "long-term care
services" have the meanings given in section 256B.0595, subdivision 1, paragraph (h).
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(f) For purposes of this subdivision, "medical institution" means a skilled nursing facility,
intermediate care facility, intermediate care facility for persons with developmental disabilities,
nursing facility, or inpatient hospital.

History: Ex1967 c 16 s 6; 1969 c 841 s 1; 1973 c 717 s 18; 1974 c 525 s 1,2; 1975 c 247 s
10; 1976 c 236 s 3; 1977 c 448 s 6; 1978 c 760 s 1; 1979 c 309 s 4; 1980 c 509 s 106; 1980 c 527
s 1; 1981 c 360 art 2 s 28; 1Sp1981 c 2 s 14; 3Sp1981 c 2 art 1 s 32; 3Sp1981 c 3 s 17; 1982 c
553 s 6; 1982 c 640 s 5; 1983 c 312 art 5 s 15; 1984 c 422 s 1; 1984 c 534 s 22; 1984 c 654 art 5
s 58; 1985 c 248 s 70; 1985 c 252 s 21; 1986 c 444; 1Sp1986 c 1 art 8 s 5; 1987 c 403 art 2 s
79,80; 1988 c 689 art 2 s 144,145,268; 1989 c 282 art 3 s 45-47; 1989 c 332 s 1; 1990 c 568 art 3
s 28-32; 1992 c 513 art 7 s 34-38; 1993 c 339 s 13; 1Sp1993 c 1 art 5 s 31; art 6 s 25; 1995 c 207
art 6 s 28,29; 1995 c 248 art 17 s 1-4; 1996 c 451 art 2 s 8,9; 1997 c 85 art 3 s 13-15; 1997 c
203 art 4 s 20,21; 1997 c 225 art 6 s 4; 1998 c 407 art 4 s 15,16; 1999 c 245 art 4 s 32; art 10 s
10; 2001 c 203 s 5,6; 1Sp2001 c 9 art 2 s 16-24; 2002 c 220 art 15 s 6; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113;
1Sp2003 c 14 art 2 s 16; art 12 s 16-18; 2004 c 228 art 1 s 75; 2005 c 56 s 1; 2005 c 98 art 2 s 2;
1Sp2005 c 4 art 8 s 20-26; 2006 c 282 art 17 s 25-27; 2007 c 147 art 4 s 4; art 5 s 8; 2008 c 326
art 1 s 9-12; 2009 c 79 art 5 s 17,18; 2009 c 173 art 1 s 17; art 3 s 6-8; 2010 c 310 art 16 s 1;
1Sp2010 c 1 art 16 s 6,7,48; art 24 s 13; 1Sp2011 c 9 at 6 s 84,85,88; art 7 s 6

NOTE: The amendment to subdivision 3 by Laws 2011, First Special Session chapter 9,
article 7, section 6, is effective January 1, 2014. Laws 2011, First Special Session chapter 9,
article 7, section 6, the effective date.

NOTE: Subdivisions 3 and 4 became effective January 5, 2011, the date Governor Mark
Dayton signed Executive Order 11-01. Laws 2010, First Special Session chapter 1, article 16,
section 48.

NOTE: The amendment to subdivision 3b by Laws 2009, chapter 173, article 1, section
17, is effective for pooled trust accounts established on or after January 1, 2014, or upon the
date it is no longer subject to the maintenance of effort requirement in Public Law 111-148.
The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes of that date. Laws
2009, chapter 173, article 1, section 17, the effective date, as amended by Laws 2010, First
Special Session chapter 1, article 24, section 13; and Laws 2011, First Special Session chapter 9,
article 6, section 88.

NOTE: The amendment to subdivision 3c by Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section
17, is effective October 1 2019, or upon the date it is no longer subject to the maintenance of
effort requirement in Public Law 111-148. The commissioner of human services shall notify the
revisor of statutes of that date. Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 17, the effective date, as
amended by Laws 2010, First Special Session chapter 1, article 24, section 13; and Laws 2011,
First Special Session chapter 9, article 6, section 84.

NOTE: The amendment to subdivision 3d by Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 18,
is effective January 1, 2014, or upon the date it is no longer subject to the maintenance of effort
requirement in Public Law 111-148. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor
of statutes when federal approval is obtained. Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 18, the
effective date, as amended by Laws 2010, First Special Session chapter 1, article 24, section 10;
and Laws 2011, First Special Session chapter 9, article 6, section 85.

256B.057 ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS FOR SPECIAL CATEGORIES.

Subdivision 1. Infants and pregnant women. (a)(1) An infant less than one year of age or

Copyright © 2011 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



40 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2011 256B.057

a pregnant woman who has written verification of a positive pregnancy test from a physician or
licensed registered nurse is eligible for medical assistance if countable family income is equal to
or less than 275 percent of the federal poverty guideline for the same family size. For purposes of
this subdivision, "countable family income" means the amount of income considered available
using the methodology of the AFDC program under the state's AFDC plan as of July 16, 1996,
as required by the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996
(PRWORA), Public Law 104-193, except for the earned income disregard and employment
deductions.

(2) For applications processed within one calendar month prior to the effective date,
eligibility shall be determined by applying the income standards and methodologies in effect
prior to the effective date for any months in the six-month budget period before that date and
the income standards and methodologies in effect on the effective date for any months in the
six-month budget period on or after that date. The income standards for each month shall be
added together and compared to the applicant's total countable income for the six-month budget
period to determine eligibility.

(b)(1) [Expired, 1Sp2003 c 14 art 12 s 19]

(2) For applications processed within one calendar month prior to July 1, 2003, eligibility
shall be determined by applying the income standards and methodologies in effect prior to July
1, 2003, for any months in the six-month budget period before July 1, 2003, and the income
standards and methodologies in effect on the expiration date for any months in the six-month
budget period on or after July 1, 2003. The income standards for each month shall be added
together and compared to the applicant's total countable income for the six-month budget period
to determine eligibility.

(3) An amount equal to the amount of earned income exceeding 275 percent of the federal
poverty guideline, up to a maximum of the amount by which the combined total of 185 percent of
the federal poverty guideline plus the earned income disregards and deductions allowed under
the state's AFDC plan as of July 16, 1996, as required by the Personal Responsibility and Work
Opportunity Act of 1996 (PRWORA), Public Law 104-193, exceeds 275 percent of the federal
poverty guideline will be deducted for pregnant women and infants less than one year of age.

(c) Dependent care and child support paid under court order shall be deducted from the
countable income of pregnant women.

(d) An infant born to a woman who was eligible for and receiving medical assistance
on the date of the child's birth shall continue to be eligible for medical assistance without
redetermination until the child's first birthday.

Subd. 1a. [Repealed, 1998 c 407 art 5 s 48]

Subd. 1b. [Repealed, 1Sp2003 c 14 art 12 s 101]

Subd. 1c. No asset test for pregnant women. Beginning September 30, 1998, eligibility
for medical assistance for a pregnant woman must be determined without regard to asset standards
established in section 256B.056, subdivision 3.

Subd. 2. Children. (a) Except as specified in subdivision 1b, effective October 1, 2003,
a child one through 18 years of age in a family whose countable income is no greater than 150
percent of the federal poverty guidelines for the same family size, is eligible for medical assistance.
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(b) For applications processed within one calendar month prior to the effective date,
eligibility shall be determined by applying the income standards and methodologies in effect
prior to the effective date for any months in the six-month budget period before that date and
the income standards and methodologies in effect on the effective date for any months in the
six-month budget period on or after that date. The income standards for each month shall be
added together and compared to the applicant's total countable income for the six-month budget
period to determine eligibility.

Subd. 2a. [Repealed, 1997 c 203 art 4 s 73]

Subd. 2b. [Repealed, 1997 c 203 art 4 s 73]

Subd. 2c. [Repealed, 1Sp2011 c 9 art 6 s 97]

Subd. 3. Qualified Medicare beneficiaries. A person who is entitled to Part A Medicare
benefits, whose income is equal to or less than 100 percent of the federal poverty guidelines, and
whose assets are no more than $10,000 for a single individual and $18,000 for a married couple
or family of two or more, is eligible for medical assistance reimbursement of Part A and Part
B premiums, Part A and Part B coinsurance and deductibles, and cost-effective premiums for
enrollment with a health maintenance organization or a competitive medical plan under section
1876 of the Social Security Act. Reimbursement of the Medicare coinsurance and deductibles,
when added to the amount paid by Medicare, must not exceed the total rate the provider would
have received for the same service or services if the person were a medical assistance recipient
with Medicare coverage. Increases in benefits under Title II of the Social Security Act shall not be
counted as income for purposes of this subdivision until July 1 of each year.

Subd. 3a. Eligibility for payment of Medicare Part B premiums. A person who would
otherwise be eligible as a qualified Medicare beneficiary under subdivision 3, except the person's
income is in excess of the limit, is eligible for medical assistance reimbursement of Medicare
Part B premiums if the person's income is less than 120 percent of the official federal poverty
guidelines for the applicable family size.

Subd. 3b. Qualifying individuals. Beginning July 1, 1998, contingent upon federal
funding, a person who would otherwise be eligible as a qualified Medicare beneficiary under
subdivision 3, except that the person's income is in excess of the limit, is eligible as a qualifying
individual according to the following criteria:

(1) if the person's income is greater than 120 percent, but less than 135 percent of the
official federal poverty guidelines for the applicable family size, the person is eligible for medical
assistance reimbursement of Medicare Part B premiums; or

(2) if the person's income is equal to or greater than 135 percent but less than 175 percent
of the official federal poverty guidelines for the applicable family size, the person is eligible for
medical assistance reimbursement of that portion of the Medicare Part B premium attributable
to an increase in Part B expenditures which resulted from the shift of home care services from
Medicare Part A to Medicare Part B under Public Law 105-33, section 4732, the Balanced
Budget Act of 1997.

The commissioner shall limit enrollment of qualifying individuals under this subdivision
according to the requirements of Public Law 105-33, section 4732.

Subd. 4. Qualified working disabled adults. A person who is entitled to Medicare Part
A benefits under section 1818A of the Social Security Act; whose income does not exceed 200
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percent of the federal poverty guidelines for the applicable family size; whose nonexempt assets
do not exceed twice the maximum amount allowable under the supplemental security income
program, according to family size; and who is not otherwise eligible for medical assistance, is
eligible for medical assistance reimbursement of the Medicare Part A premium.

Subd. 5. Disabled adult children. A person who is at least 18 years old, who was eligible
for supplemental security income benefits on the basis of blindness or disability, who became
disabled or blind before reaching the age of 22, and who lost eligibility as a result of becoming
entitled to a child's insurance benefits on or after July 1, 1987, under section 202(d) of the Social
Security Act, or because of an increase in those benefits effective on or after July 1, 1987, is
eligible for medical assistance as long as the person would be entitled to supplemental security
income in the absence of child's insurance benefits or increases in those benefits.

Subd. 6. Disabled widows and widowers. A person who is at least 50 years old who is
entitled to disabled widow's or widower's benefits under United States Code, title 42, section
402(e) or (f), who is not entitled to Medicare Part A, and who received supplemental security
income or Minnesota supplemental aid in the month before the month the widow's or widower's
benefits began, is eligible for medical assistance as long as the person would be entitled to
supplemental security income or Minnesota supplemental aid in the absence of the widow's or
widower's benefits.

Subd. 7.Waiver of maintenance of effort requirement. Unless a federal waiver of the
maintenance of effort requirement of section 2105(d) of title XXI of the Balanced Budget Act
of 1997, Public Law 105-33, Statutes at Large, volume 111, page 251, is granted by the federal
Department of Health and Human Services by September 30, 1998, eligibility for children under
age 21 must be determined without regard to asset standards established in section 256B.056,
subdivision 3c. The commissioner of human services shall publish a notice in the State Register
upon receipt of a federal waiver.

Subd. 8. Children under age two. Medical assistance may be paid for a child under
two years of age whose countable family income is above 275 percent of the federal poverty
guidelines for the same size family but less than or equal to 280 percent of the federal poverty
guidelines for the same size family.

Subd. 9. Employed persons with disabilities. (a) Medical assistance may be paid for a
person who is employed and who:

(1) but for excess earnings or assets, meets the definition of disabled under the Supplemental
Security Income program;

(2) is at least 16 but less than 65 years of age;
(3) meets the asset limits in paragraph (d); and
(4) pays a premium and other obligations under paragraph (e).
(b) For purposes of eligibility, there is a $65 earned income disregard. To be eligible for

medical assistance under this subdivision, a person must have more than $65 of earned income.
Earned income must have Medicare, Social Security, and applicable state and federal taxes
withheld. The person must document earned income tax withholding. Any spousal income or
assets shall be disregarded for purposes of eligibility and premium determinations.

(c) After the month of enrollment, a person enrolled in medical assistance under this
subdivision who:
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(1) is temporarily unable to work and without receipt of earned income due to a medical
condition, as verified by a physician; or

(2) loses employment for reasons not attributable to the enrollee, and is without receipt of
earned income may retain eligibility for up to four consecutive months after the month of job
loss. To receive a four-month extension, enrollees must verify the medical condition or provide
notification of job loss. All other eligibility requirements must be met and the enrollee must pay
all calculated premium costs for continued eligibility.

(d) For purposes of determining eligibility under this subdivision, a person's assets must not
exceed $20,000, excluding:

(1) all assets excluded under section 256B.056;
(2) retirement accounts, including individual accounts, 401(k) plans, 403(b) plans, Keogh

plans, and pension plans;
(3) medical expense accounts set up through the person's employer; and
(4) spousal assets, including spouse's share of jointly held assets.
(e) All enrollees must pay a premium to be eligible for medical assistance under this

subdivision, except as provided under section 256.01, subdivision 18b.
(1) An enrollee must pay the greater of a $65 premium or the premium calculated based on

the person's gross earned and unearned income and the applicable family size using a sliding fee
scale established by the commissioner, which begins at one percent of income at 100 percent of
the federal poverty guidelines and increases to 7.5 percent of income for those with incomes at or
above 300 percent of the federal poverty guidelines.

(2) Annual adjustments in the premium schedule based upon changes in the federal poverty
guidelines shall be effective for premiums due in July of each year.

(3) All enrollees who receive unearned income must pay five percent of unearned income in
addition to the premium amount, except as provided under section 256.01, subdivision 18b.

(4) Increases in benefits under title II of the Social Security Act shall not be counted as
income for purposes of this subdivision until July 1 of each year.

(f) A person's eligibility and premium shall be determined by the local county agency.
Premiums must be paid to the commissioner. All premiums are dedicated to the commissioner.

(g) Any required premium shall be determined at application and redetermined at the
enrollee's six-month income review or when a change in income or household size is reported.
Enrollees must report any change in income or household size within ten days of when the change
occurs. A decreased premium resulting from a reported change in income or household size shall
be effective the first day of the next available billing month after the change is reported. Except
for changes occurring from annual cost-of-living increases, a change resulting in an increased
premium shall not affect the premium amount until the next six-month review.

(h) Premium payment is due upon notification from the commissioner of the premium
amount required. Premiums may be paid in installments at the discretion of the commissioner.

(i) Nonpayment of the premium shall result in denial or termination of medical assistance
unless the person demonstrates good cause for nonpayment. Good cause exists if the requirements
specified in Minnesota Rules, part 9506.0040, subpart 7, items B to D, are met. Except when an
installment agreement is accepted by the commissioner, all persons disenrolled for nonpayment
of a premium must pay any past due premiums as well as current premiums due prior to being
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reenrolled. Nonpayment shall include payment with a returned, refused, or dishonored instrument.
The commissioner may require a guaranteed form of payment as the only means to replace a
returned, refused, or dishonored instrument.

(j) The commissioner shall notify enrollees annually beginning at least 24 months before
the person's 65th birthday of the medical assistance eligibility rules affecting income, assets, and
treatment of a spouse's income and assets that will be applied upon reaching age 65.

(k) For enrollees whose income does not exceed 200 percent of the federal poverty
guidelines and who are also enrolled in Medicare, the commissioner shall reimburse the enrollee
for Medicare part B premiums under section 256B.0625, subdivision 15, paragraph (a).

[See Note.]

Subd. 10. Certain persons needing treatment for breast or cervical cancer. (a) Medical
assistance may be paid for a person who:

(1) has been screened for breast or cervical cancer by the Minnesota breast and cervical
cancer control program, and program funds have been used to pay for the person's screening;

(2) according to the person's treating health professional, needs treatment, including
diagnostic services necessary to determine the extent and proper course of treatment, for breast or
cervical cancer, including precancerous conditions and early stage cancer;

(3) meets the income eligibility guidelines for the Minnesota breast and cervical cancer
control program;

(4) is under age 65;

(5) is not otherwise eligible for medical assistance under United States Code, title 42,
section 1396a(a)(10)(A)(i); and

(6) is not otherwise covered under creditable coverage, as defined under United States
Code, title 42, section 1396a(aa).

(b) Medical assistance provided for an eligible person under this subdivision shall be
limited to services provided during the period that the person receives treatment for breast or
cervical cancer.

(c) A person meeting the criteria in paragraph (a) is eligible for medical assistance without
meeting the eligibility criteria relating to income and assets in section 256B.056, subdivisions
1a to 5b.

Subd. 11. MS 2009 Supp [Expired, 2009 c 79 art 5 s 19; 2009 c 173 art 1 s 18]

History: 1986 c 444; 1989 c 282 art 3 s 48; 1990 c 568 art 3 s 33-36; 1991 c 292 art 4 s
35-39; 1992 c 513 art 7 s 39; 1992 c 549 art 4 s 12; 1993 c 345 art 9 s 11-13; 1Sp1993 c 6 s
9; 1995 c 234 art 6 s 36,37; 1997 c 85 art 3 s 16-18; 1997 c 203 art 4 s 22-24; 1998 c 407 art
5 s 3-5; 1998 c 407 art 4 s 17,18; 1999 c 245 art 4 s 33,34; 2000 c 260 s 97; 2000 c 340 s 3;
2000 c 488 art 9 s 15; 1Sp2001 c 9 art 2 s 25-29; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 12 s
19-23; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 7 s 4; 2007 c 147 art 13 s 1; 2008 c 286 art 1 s 5; 2008 c 326 art 1 s
13; 2008 c 358 art 3 s 5; 2009 c 79 art 5 s 19; 2009 c 173 art 1 s 18; 2010 c 310 art 3 s 2;
1Sp2010 c 1 art 17 s 9; 1Sp2011 c 9 art 7 s 7

NOTE: The amendment to subdivision 9 by Laws 2011, First Special Session chapter 9,
article 7, section 7, is effective January 1, 2014, for adults age 21 or older, and October 1, 2019,

Copyright © 2011 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



45 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2011 256B.0571

for children age 16 to before the child's 21st birthday. Laws 2011, First Special Session chapter 9,
article 7, section 7, the effective date.

256B.0571 LONG-TERM CARE PARTNERSHIP PROGRAM.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. For purposes of this section, the following terms have the
meanings given them.

Subd. 2. [Repealed, 2006 c 282 art 17 s 37]

Subd. 3. Long-term care insurance. "Long-term care insurance" means a policy described
in section 62S.01.

Subd. 4. Medical assistance. "Medical assistance" means the program of medical
assistance established under section 256B.01.

Subd. 5. [Repealed, 2006 c 282 art 17 s 37]

Subd. 6. Partnership policy. "Partnership policy" means a long-term care insurance policy
that meets the criteria in sections 62S.23, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), and 62S.312 and was
issued on or after July 1, 2006, or exchanged on or after July 1, 2006, under the provisions of
section 62S.24, subdivision 8.

Subd. 7. Partnership program. "Partnership program" means the Minnesota partnership
for long-term care program established under this section.

Subd. 7a. Protected assets. "Protected assets" means assets or proceeds of assets that are
protected from recovery under subdivisions 13 and 15.

Subd. 8. Program established. (a) The commissioner, in cooperation with the
commissioner of commerce, shall establish the Minnesota partnership for long-term care program
to provide for the financing of long-term care through a combination of private insurance and
medical assistance.

(b) An individual becomes eligible to participate in the partnership program by meeting
the requirements of either clause (1) or (2):

(1) the individual may qualify as a beneficiary of a partnership policy that meets the criteria
under subdivision 6. To be eligible under this clause, the individual must be a Minnesota resident
at the time coverage first became effective under the partnership policy; or

(2) the individual may qualify as a beneficiary of a policy recognized under subdivision 17.

Subd. 8a. [Repealed, 2008 c 326 art 1 s 47]

Subd. 9.Medical assistance eligibility. (a) Upon request for medical assistance program
payment of long-term care services by an individual who meets the requirements described in
subdivision 8, the commissioner shall determine the individual's eligibility for medical assistance
according to paragraphs (b) to (i).

(b) After determining assets subject to the asset limit under section 256B.056, subdivision 3
or 3c, or 256B.057, subdivision 9 or 10, the commissioner shall allow the individual to designate
assets to be protected from recovery under subdivisions 13 and 15 up to the dollar amount of the
benefits utilized under the partnership policy as of the effective date of eligibility for medical
assistance program payment of long-term care services. Benefits utilized under a long-term care
insurance policy before July 1, 2006, do not count for the purpose of determining the amount of
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assets that can be designated. Designated assets shall be disregarded for purposes of determining
eligibility for payment of long-term care services. The dollar amount of benefits utilized must be
equal to the amount of claims paid by the issuer under the policy as verified by the issuer.

(c) The individual shall identify the designated assets and the full fair market value of
those assets and designate them as assets to be protected at the time of application for medical
assistance payment of long-term care services. The full fair market value of real property or
interests in real property shall be based on the most recent full assessed value for property tax
purposes for the real property, unless the individual provides a complete professional appraisal
by a licensed appraiser to establish the full fair market value. The extent of a life estate in real
property shall be determined using the life estate table in the health care program's manual.
Ownership of any asset in joint tenancy shall be treated as ownership as tenants in common for
purposes of its designation as a disregarded asset. The unprotected value of any protected asset is
subject to estate recovery according to subdivisions 13 and 15.

(d) The right to designate assets to be protected is personal to the individual and ends when
the individual dies, except as otherwise provided in subdivisions 13 and 15. It does not include
the increase in the value of the protected asset and the income, dividends, or profits from the
asset. It may be exercised by the individual or by anyone with the legal authority to do so on the
individual's behalf. It shall not be sold, assigned, transferred, or given away.

(e) As the individual continues to utilize benefits under a partnership policy after eligibility
for medical assistance payment of long-term care services begins, the individual may designate,
for additional protection, an increase in the value of protected assets and additional assets that
become available during the individual's lifetime up to the amount of additional benefits utilized.
The individual must make the designation in writing no later than ten days from the date the
designation is requested by the county agency. The amount used for this purpose must reduce
the unused amount of asset protection available to protect assets in the individual's estate from
recovery under section 256B.15 or 524.3-1202, or otherwise.

(f) This section applies only to estate recovery under United States Code, title 42, section
1396p, subsections (a) and (b), and does not apply to recovery authorized by other provisions of
federal law, including, but not limited to, recovery from trusts under United States Code, title
42, section 1396p, subsection (d)(4)(A) and (C), or to recovery from annuities, or similar legal
instruments, subject to section 6012, subsections (a) and (b), of the Deficit Reduction Act of
2005, Public Law 109-171.

(g) An individual's protected assets owned by the individual's spouse who applies for
payment of medical assistance long-term care services shall not be protected assets or disregarded
for purposes of eligibility of the individual's spouse solely because they were protected assets of
the individual.

(h) Assets designated under this subdivision shall not be subject to penalty under section
256B.0595.

(i) The commissioner shall otherwise determine the individual's eligibility for payment of
long-term care services according to medical assistance eligibility requirements.

Subd. 10. [Repealed, 2010 c 310 art 4 s 5]

Subd. 11. [Repealed, 2006 c 282 art 17 s 37]

Subd. 12. Compliance with federal law. An issuer of a partnership policy must comply
with Public Law 109-171, section 6021, including any federal regulations, as amended, adopted
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under that law.

Subd. 13. Limitations on estate recovery. (a) Protected assets of the individual shall not be
subject to recovery under section 256B.15 or 524.3-1201 for medical assistance or alternative care
paid on behalf of the individual. Protected assets of the individual in the estate of the individual's
surviving spouse shall not be liable to pay a claim for recovery of medical assistance paid for the
predeceased individual that is filed in the estate of the surviving spouse under section 256B.15.
Protected assets of the individual shall not be protected assets in the surviving spouse's estate
by reason of the preceding sentence and shall be subject to recovery under section 256B.15 or
524.3-1201 for medical assistance paid on behalf of the surviving spouse.

(b) The personal representative may protect the full fair market value of an individual's
unprotected assets in the individual's estate in an amount equal to the unused amount of asset
protection the individual had on the date of death. The personal representative shall apply the
asset protection so that the full fair market value of any unprotected asset in the estate is protected.
When or if the asset protection available to the personal representative is or becomes less than
the full fair market value of any remaining unprotected asset, it shall be applied to partially
protect one unprotected asset.

(c) The asset protection described in paragraph (a) terminates with respect to an asset
includable in the individual's estate under chapter 524 or section 256B.15:

(1) when the estate distributes the asset; or
(2) if the estate of the individual has not been probated within one year from the date of

death.
(d) If an individual owns a protected asset on the date of death and the estate is opened

for probate more than one year after death, the state or a county agency may file and collect
claims in the estate under section 256B.15, and no statute of limitations in chapter 524 that would
otherwise limit or bar the claim shall apply.

(e) Except as otherwise provided, nothing in this section shall limit or prevent recovery
of medical assistance.

Subd. 14. Implementation. (a) The commissioner, in cooperation with the commissioner of
commerce, may alter the requirements of this section so as to be in compliance with forthcoming
requirements of the federal Department of Health and Human Services and the National
Association of Insurance Commissioners necessary to implement the long-term care partnership
program requirements of Public Law 109-171, section 6021.

(b) The commissioner shall submit a state plan amendment to the federal government to
implement the long-term care partnership program in accordance with this section.

Subd. 15. Limitation on liens. (a) An individual's interest in real property shall not be
subject to a medical assistance lien under sections 514.980 to 514.985 or a lien arising under
section 256B.15 while and to the extent it is protected under subdivision 9. An individual's
interest in real property that exceeds the value protected under subdivision 9 is subject to a
lien for recovery.

(b) Medical assistance liens under sections 514.980 to 514.985 or liens arising under
section 256B.15 against an individual's interests in real property in the individual's estate that are
designated as protected under subdivision 13, paragraph (b), shall be released to the extent of the
dollar value of the protection applied to the interest.
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(c) If an interest in real property is protected from a lien for recovery of medical assistance
paid on behalf of the individual under paragraph (a) or (b), no lien for recovery of medical
assistance paid on behalf of that individual shall be filed against the protected interest in real
property after it is distributed to the individual's heirs or devisees.

Subd. 16. Burden of proof. Any individual or the personal representative of the individual's
estate who asserts that an asset is a disregarded or protected asset under this section in connection
with any determination of eligibility for benefits under the medical assistance program or any
appeal, case, controversy, or other proceedings, shall have the initial burden of:

(1) documenting and proving by clear and convincing evidence that the asset or source of
funds for the asset in question was designated as disregarded or protected;

(2) tracing the asset and the proceeds of the asset from that time forward; and
(3) documenting that the asset or proceeds of the asset remained disregarded or protected

at all relevant times.

Subd. 17. Reciprocal agreements. The commissioner may enter into an agreement
with any other state with a partnership program under United States Code, title 42, section
1396p(b)(1)(C), for reciprocal recognition of qualified long-term care insurance policies
purchased under each state's partnership program. The commissioner shall notify the secretary
of the United States Department of Health and Human Services if the commissioner declines
to enter into a national reciprocal agreement.

History: 1Sp2005 c 4 art 7 s 5; 2006 c 255 s 74; 2006 c 282 art 17 s 28; 2008 c 326 art 1 s
14-18; 2008 c 363 art 17 s 7,8; 2009 c 86 art 1 s 44; 2010 c 310 art 4 s 3,4

256B.0575 AVAILABILITY OF INCOME FOR INSTITUTIONALIZED PERSONS.

Subdivision 1. Income deductions.When an institutionalized person is determined eligible
for medical assistance, the income that exceeds the deductions in paragraphs (a) and (b) must be
applied to the cost of institutional care.

(a) The following amounts must be deducted from the institutionalized person's income in
the following order:

(1) the personal needs allowance under section 256B.35 or, for a veteran who does not have
a spouse or child, or a surviving spouse of a veteran having no child, the amount of an improved
pension received from the veteran's administration not exceeding $90 per month;

(2) the personal allowance for disabled individuals under section 256B.36;
(3) if the institutionalized person has a legally appointed guardian or conservator, five

percent of the recipient's gross monthly income up to $100 as reimbursement for guardianship or
conservatorship services;

(4) a monthly income allowance determined under section 256B.058, subdivision 2, but only
to the extent income of the institutionalized spouse is made available to the community spouse;

(5) a monthly allowance for children under age 18 which, together with the net income
of the children, would provide income equal to the medical assistance standard for families and
children according to section 256B.056, subdivision 4, for a family size that includes only the
minor children. This deduction applies only if the children do not live with the community spouse
and only to the extent that the deduction is not included in the personal needs allowance under
section 256B.35, subdivision 1, as child support garnished under a court order;
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(6) a monthly family allowance for other family members, equal to one-third of the
difference between 122 percent of the federal poverty guidelines and the monthly income for
that family member;

(7) reparations payments made by the Federal Republic of Germany and reparations
payments made by the Netherlands for victims of Nazi persecution between 1940 and 1945;

(8) all other exclusions from income for institutionalized persons as mandated by federal
law; and

(9) amounts for reasonable expenses, as specified in subdivision 2, incurred for necessary
medical or remedial care for the institutionalized person that are recognized under state law, not
medical assistance covered expenses, and not subject to payment by a third party.

For purposes of clause (6), "other family member" means a person who resides with the
community spouse and who is a minor or dependent child, dependent parent, or dependent sibling
of either spouse. "Dependent" means a person who could be claimed as a dependent for federal
income tax purposes under the Internal Revenue Code.

(b) Income shall be allocated to an institutionalized person for a period of up to three
calendar months, in an amount equal to the medical assistance standard for a family size of one if:

(1) a physician certifies that the person is expected to reside in the long-term care facility
for three calendar months or less;

(2) if the person has expenses of maintaining a residence in the community; and
(3) if one of the following circumstances apply:
(i) the person was not living together with a spouse or a family member as defined in

paragraph (a) when the person entered a long-term care facility; or
(ii) the person and the person's spouse become institutionalized on the same date, in which

case the allocation shall be applied to the income of one of the spouses.
For purposes of this paragraph, a person is determined to be residing in a licensed nursing home,
regional treatment center, or medical institution if the person is expected to remain for a period of
one full calendar month or more.

Subd. 2. Reasonable expenses. For the purposes of subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (9),
reasonable expenses are limited to expenses that have not been previously used as a deduction
from income and were not:

(1) for long-term care expenses incurred during a period of ineligibility as defined in
section 256B.0595, subdivision 2;

(2) incurred more than three months before the month of application associated with the
current period of eligibility;

(3) for expenses incurred by a recipient that are duplicative of services that are covered
under chapter 256B; or

(4) nursing facility expenses incurred without a timely assessment as required under
section 256B.0911.

History: 1986 c 444; 1989 c 282 art 3 s 49; 1990 c 568 art 3 s 37; 1991 c 292 art 4 s 40;
1Sp1993 c 1 art 5 s 32; 1995 c 207 art 6 s 30,125; 1996 c 451 art 2 s 10; 1999 c 245 art 4 s 35;
2002 c 277 s 10; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 8 s 27; 2009 c 79 art 5 s 20
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256B.058 TREATMENT OF INCOME OF INSTITUTIONALIZED SPOUSE.

Subdivision 1. Income not available. The income described in subdivisions 2 and 3 shall
be deducted from an institutionalized spouse's monthly income and is not considered available for
payment of the monthly costs of an institutionalized spouse after the institutionalized spouse has
been determined eligible for medical assistance.

Subd. 2.Monthly income allowance for community spouse. (a) For an institutionalized
spouse, monthly income may be allocated to the community spouse as a monthly income
allowance for the community spouse. Beginning with the first full calendar month the
institutionalized spouse is in the institution, the monthly income allowance is not considered
available to the institutionalized spouse for monthly payment of costs of care in the institution as
long as the income is made available to the community spouse.

(b) The monthly income allowance is the amount by which the community spouse's
monthly maintenance needs allowance under paragraphs (c) and (d) exceeds the amount of
monthly income otherwise available to the community spouse.

(c) The community spouse's monthly maintenance needs allowance is the lesser of $1,500
or 122 percent of the monthly federal poverty guideline for a family of two plus an excess shelter
allowance. The excess shelter allowance is for the amount of shelter expenses that exceed 30
percent of 122 percent of the federal poverty guideline line for a family of two. Shelter expenses
are the community spouse's expenses for rent, mortgage payments including principal and
interest, taxes, insurance, required maintenance charges for a cooperative or condominium that
is the community spouse's principal residence, and the standard utility allowance under section
5(e) of the federal Food Stamp Act of 1977. If the community spouse has a required maintenance
charge for a cooperative or condominium, the standard utility allowance must be reduced by the
amount of utility expenses included in the required maintenance charge.

If the community or institutionalized spouse establishes that the community spouse needs
income greater than the monthly maintenance needs allowance determined in this paragraph due
to exceptional circumstances resulting in significant financial duress, the monthly maintenance
needs allowance may be increased to an amount that provides needed additional income.

(d) The percentage of the federal poverty guideline used to determine the monthly
maintenance needs allowance in paragraph (c) is increased to 133 percent on July 1, 1991, and
to 150 percent on July 1, 1992. Adjustments in the income limits due to annual changes in the
federal poverty guidelines shall be implemented the first day of July following publication of the
annual changes. The $1,500 maximum must be adjusted January 1, 1990, and every January 1
after that by the same percentage increase in the Consumer Price Index for all urban consumers
(all items; United States city average) between the two previous Septembers.

(e) If a court has entered an order against an institutionalized spouse for monthly income
for support of the community spouse, the community spouse's monthly income allowance under
this subdivision shall not be less than the amount of the monthly income ordered.

Subd. 3. Family allowance. (a) A family allowance determined under paragraph (b) is not
considered available to the institutionalized spouse for monthly payment of costs of care in
the institution.

(b) The family allowance is equal to one-third of the amount by which 122 percent of
the monthly federal poverty guideline for a family of two exceeds the monthly income for that
family member.
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(c) For purposes of this subdivision, the term family member only includes a minor or
dependent child as defined in the Internal Revenue Code, dependent parent, or dependent sibling
of the institutionalized or community spouse if the sibling resides with the community spouse.

(d) The percentage of the federal poverty guideline used to determine the family allowance
in paragraph (b) is increased to 133 percent on July 1, 1991, and to 150 percent on July 1, 1992.
Adjustments in the income limits due to annual changes in the federal poverty guidelines shall be
implemented the first day of July following publication of the annual changes.

Subd. 4. Treatment of income. (a) No income of the community spouse will be considered
available to an eligible institutionalized spouse, beginning the first full calendar month of
institutionalization, except as provided in this subdivision.

(b) In determining the income of an institutionalized spouse or community spouse, after
the institutionalized spouse has been determined eligible for medical assistance, the following
rules apply.

(1) For income that is not from a trust, availability is determined according to items (i) to
(v), unless the instrument providing the income otherwise specifically provides:

(i) if payment is made solely in the name of one spouse, the income is considered available
only to that spouse;

(ii) if payment is made in the names of both spouses, one-half of the income is considered
available to each;

(iii) if payment is made in the names of one or both spouses together with one or more other
persons, the income is considered available to each spouse according to the spouse's interest, or
one-half of the joint interest is considered available to each spouse if each spouse's interest
is not specified;

(iv) if there is no instrument that establishes ownership, one-half of the income is
considered available to each spouse; and

(v) either spouse may rebut the determination of availability of income by showing by a
preponderance of the evidence that ownership interests are different than provided above.

(2) For income from a trust, income is considered available to each spouse as provided in
the trust. If the trust does not specify an amount available to either or both spouses, availability
will be determined according to items (i) to (iii):

(i) if payment of income is made only to one spouse, the income is considered available
only to that spouse;

(ii) if payment of income is made to both spouses, one-half is considered available to
each; and

(iii) if payment is made to either or both spouses and one or more other persons, the income
is considered available to each spouse in proportion to each spouse's interest, or if no such interest
is specified, one-half of the joint interest is considered available to each spouse.

History: 1989 c 282 art 3 s 50; 2008 c 326 art 1 s 19

256B.059 TREATMENT OF ASSETS WHEN A SPOUSE IS INSTITUTIONALIZED.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section and sections 256B.058 and
256B.0595, the terms defined in this subdivision have the meanings given them.
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(b) "Community spouse" means the spouse of an institutionalized spouse.
(c) "Spousal share" means one-half of the total value of all assets, to the extent that either

the institutionalized spouse or the community spouse had an ownership interest at the time of the
first continuous period of institutionalization.

(d) "Assets otherwise available to the community spouse" means assets individually or
jointly owned by the community spouse, other than assets excluded by subdivision 5, paragraph
(c).

(e) "Community spouse asset allowance" is the value of assets that can be transferred
under subdivision 3.

(f) "Institutionalized spouse" means a person who is:
(1) in a hospital, nursing facility, or intermediate care facility for persons with

developmental disabilities, or receiving home and community-based services under section
256B.0915, and is expected to remain in the facility or institution or receive the home and
community-based services for at least 30 consecutive days; and

(2) married to a person who is not in a hospital, nursing facility, or intermediate care facility
for persons with developmental disabilities, and is not receiving home and community-based
services under section 256B.0915, 256B.092, or 256B.49.

(g) "For the sole benefit of" means no other individual or entity can benefit in any way from
the assets or income at the time of a transfer or at any time in the future.

(h) "Continuous period of institutionalization" means a 30-consecutive-day period of
time in which a person is expected to stay in a medical or long-term care facility, or receive
home and community-based services that would qualify for coverage under the elderly waiver
(EW) or alternative care (AC) programs. For a stay in a facility, the 30-consecutive-day period
begins on the date of entry into a medical or long-term care facility. For receipt of home and
community-based services, the 30-consecutive-day period begins on the date that the following
conditions are met:

(1) the person is receiving services that meet the nursing facility level of care determined
by a long-term care consultation;

(2) the person has received the long-term care consultation within the past 60 days;
(3) the services are paid by the EW program under section 256B.0915 or the AC program

under section 256B.0913 or would qualify for payment under the EW or AC programs if the
person were otherwise eligible for either program, and but for the receipt of such services the
person would have resided in a nursing facility; and

(4) the services are provided by a licensed provider qualified to provide home and
community-based services.

Subd. 1a. Institutionalized spouse. The provisions of this section apply only when a
spouse begins the first continuous period of institutionalization on or after October 1, 1989.

Subd. 2. Assessment of spousal share. At the beginning of the first continuous period of
institutionalization of a person beginning on or after October 1, 1989, at the request of either the
institutionalized spouse or the community spouse, or upon application for medical assistance, the
total value of assets in which either the institutionalized spouse or the community spouse had an
interest at the time of the first period of institutionalization of 30 days or more shall be assessed
and documented and the spousal share shall be assessed and documented.
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Subd. 3. Community spouse asset allowance. An institutionalized spouse may transfer
assets to the community spouse for the sole benefit of the community spouse. Except for
increased amounts allowable under subdivision 4, the maximum amount of assets allowed to be
transferred is the amount which, when added to the assets otherwise available to the community
spouse, is as follows:

(1) prior to July 1, 1994, the greater of:
(i) $14,148;
(ii) the lesser of the spousal share or $70,740; or
(iii) the amount required by court order to be paid to the community spouse; and
(2) for persons whose date of initial determination of eligibility for medical assistance

following their first continuous period of institutionalization occurs on or after July 1, 1994,
the greater of:

(i) $20,000;
(ii) the lesser of the spousal share or $70,740; or
(iii) the amount required by court order to be paid to the community spouse.
If the assets available to the community spouse are already at the limit permissible under

this section, or the higher limit attributable to increases under subdivision 4, no assets may be
transferred from the institutionalized spouse to the community spouse. The transfer must be made
as soon as practicable after the date the institutionalized spouse is determined eligible for medical
assistance, or within the amount of time needed for any court order required for the transfer. On
January 1, 1994, and every January 1 thereafter, the limits in this subdivision shall be adjusted by
the same percentage change in the Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers (all items;
United States city average) between the two previous Septembers. These adjustments shall also be
applied to the limits in subdivision 5.

Subd. 4. Increased community spouse asset allowance; when allowed. (a) If either
the institutionalized spouse or community spouse establishes that the community spouse asset
allowance under subdivision 3 (in relation to the amount of income generated by such an
allowance) is not sufficient to raise the community spouse's income to the minimum monthly
maintenance needs allowance in section 256B.058, subdivision 2, paragraph (c), there shall
be substituted for the amount allowed to be transferred an amount sufficient, when combined
with the monthly income otherwise available to the spouse, to provide the minimum monthly
maintenance needs allowance. A substitution under this paragraph may be made only if the assets
of the couple have been arranged so that the maximum amount of income-producing assets, at the
maximum rate of return, are available to the community spouse under the community spouse asset
allowance. The maximum rate of return is the average rate of return available from the financial
institution holding the asset, or a rate determined by the commissioner to be reasonable according
to community standards, if the asset is not held by a financial institution.

(b) The community spouse asset allowance under subdivision 3 can be increased by court
order or hearing that complies with the requirements of United States Code, title 42, section
1396r-5.

Subd. 5. Asset availability. (a) At the time of initial determination of eligibility for medical
assistance benefits following the first continuous period of institutionalization on or after October
1, 1989, assets considered available to the institutionalized spouse shall be the total value of all
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assets in which either spouse has an ownership interest, reduced by the following amount for the
community spouse:

(1) prior to July 1, 1994, the greater of:
(i) $14,148;
(ii) the lesser of the spousal share or $70,740; or
(iii) the amount required by court order to be paid to the community spouse;
(2) for persons whose date of initial determination of eligibility for medical assistance

following their first continuous period of institutionalization occurs on or after July 1, 1994,
the greater of:

(i) $20,000;
(ii) the lesser of the spousal share or $70,740; or
(iii) the amount required by court order to be paid to the community spouse.

The value of assets transferred for the sole benefit of the community spouse under section
256B.0595, subdivision 4, in combination with other assets available to the community spouse
under this section, cannot exceed the limit for the community spouse asset allowance determined
under subdivision 3 or 4. Assets that exceed this allowance shall be considered available to the
institutionalized spouse whether or not converted to income. If the community spouse asset
allowance has been increased under subdivision 4, then the assets considered available to the
institutionalized spouse under this subdivision shall be further reduced by the value of additional
amounts allowed under subdivision 4.

(b) An institutionalized spouse may be found eligible for medical assistance even though
assets in excess of the allowable amount are found to be available under paragraph (a) if the assets
are owned jointly or individually by the community spouse, and the institutionalized spouse
cannot use those assets to pay for the cost of care without the consent of the community spouse,
and if: (i) the institutionalized spouse assigns to the commissioner the right to support from the
community spouse under section 256B.14, subdivision 3; (ii) the institutionalized spouse lacks
the ability to execute an assignment due to a physical or mental impairment; or (iii) the denial of
eligibility would cause an imminent threat to the institutionalized spouse's health and well-being.

(c) After the month in which the institutionalized spouse is determined eligible for medical
assistance, during the continuous period of institutionalization, no assets of the community spouse
are considered available to the institutionalized spouse, unless the institutionalized spouse has
been found eligible under paragraph (b).

(d) Assets determined to be available to the institutionalized spouse under this section must
be used for the health care or personal needs of the institutionalized spouse.

(e) For purposes of this section, assets do not include assets excluded under the
supplemental security income program.

History: 1989 c 282 art 3 s 51; 1990 c 568 art 3 s 38,39; 1991 c 199 art 1 s 61; 1992 c 513
art 7 s 40,41; 1Sp1993 c 1 art 5 s 33,34; 1995 c 207 art 6 s 31-33; 1997 c 107 s 3-6; 2002 c 220
art 15 s 7-9; 2005 c 56 s 1; 2008 c 326 art 1 s 20,21

256B.0594 PAYMENT OF BENEFITS FROM AN ANNUITY.
When payment becomes due under an annuity that names the department a remainder

beneficiary, the issuer shall request and the department shall, within 45 days after receipt of
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the request, provide a written statement of the total amount of the medical assistance paid or
confirmation that any family member designated as a remainder beneficiary meets requirements
for qualification as a beneficiary in the first position. Upon timely receipt of the written statement
of the amount of medical assistance paid, the issuer shall pay the department an amount equal
to the lesser of the amount due the department under the annuity or the total amount of medical
assistance paid on behalf of the individual or the individual's spouse. Any amounts remaining
after the issuer's payment to the department shall be payable according to the terms of the annuity
or similar financial instrument. The county agency or the department shall provide the issuer with
the name, address, and telephone number of a unit within the department the issuer can contact to
comply with this section. The requirements of section 72A.201, subdivision 4, clause (3), shall not
apply to payments made under this section until the issuer has received final payment information
from the department, if the issuer has notified the beneficiary of the requirements of this section at
the time it initially requests payment information from the department.

History: 2006 c 282 art 17 s 29; 2008 c 326 art 1 s 22

256B.0595 PROHIBITIONS ON TRANSFER; EXCEPTIONS.

Subdivision 1. Prohibited transfers. (a) For transfers of assets made on or before August
10, 1993, if an institutionalized person or the institutionalized person's spouse has given away,
sold, or disposed of, for less than fair market value, any asset or interest therein, except assets
other than the homestead that are excluded under the supplemental security program, within 30
months before or any time after the date of institutionalization if the person has been determined
eligible for medical assistance, or within 30 months before or any time after the date of the first
approved application for medical assistance if the person has not yet been determined eligible
for medical assistance, the person is ineligible for long-term care services for the period of time
determined under subdivision 2.

(b) Effective for transfers made after August 10, 1993, an institutionalized person, an
institutionalized person's spouse, or any person, court, or administrative body with legal authority
to act in place of, on behalf of, at the direction of, or upon the request of the institutionalized
person or institutionalized person's spouse, may not give away, sell, or dispose of, for less than
fair market value, any asset or interest therein, except assets other than the homestead that are
excluded under the Supplemental Security Income program, for the purpose of establishing or
maintaining medical assistance eligibility. This applies to all transfers, including those made by a
community spouse after the month in which the institutionalized spouse is determined eligible
for medical assistance. For purposes of determining eligibility for long-term care services, any
transfer of such assets within 36 months before or any time after an institutionalized person
requests medical assistance payment of long-term care services, or 36 months before or any time
after a medical assistance recipient becomes an institutionalized person, for less than fair market
value may be considered. Any such transfer is presumed to have been made for the purpose
of establishing or maintaining medical assistance eligibility and the institutionalized person is
ineligible for long-term care services for the period of time determined under subdivision 2,
unless the institutionalized person furnishes convincing evidence to establish that the transaction
was exclusively for another purpose, or unless the transfer is permitted under subdivision 3 or 4.
In the case of payments from a trust or portions of a trust that are considered transfers of assets
under federal law, or in the case of any other disposal of assets made on or after February 8, 2006,
any transfers made within 60 months before or any time after an institutionalized person requests
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medical assistance payment of long-term care services and within 60 months before or any time
after a medical assistance recipient becomes an institutionalized person, may be considered.

(c) This section applies to transfers, for less than fair market value, of income or assets,
including assets that are considered income in the month received, such as inheritances,
court settlements, and retroactive benefit payments or income to which the institutionalized
person or the institutionalized person's spouse is entitled but does not receive due to action
by the institutionalized person, the institutionalized person's spouse, or any person, court, or
administrative body with legal authority to act in place of, on behalf of, at the direction of, or
upon the request of the institutionalized person or the institutionalized person's spouse.

(d) This section applies to payments for care or personal services provided by a relative,
unless the compensation was stipulated in a notarized, written agreement which was in existence
when the service was performed, the care or services directly benefited the person, and the
payments made represented reasonable compensation for the care or services provided. A
notarized written agreement is not required if payment for the services was made within 60
days after the service was provided.

(e) This section applies to the portion of any asset or interest that an institutionalized
person, an institutionalized person's spouse, or any person, court, or administrative body with
legal authority to act in place of, on behalf of, at the direction of, or upon the request of
the institutionalized person or the institutionalized person's spouse, transfers to any annuity
that exceeds the value of the benefit likely to be returned to the institutionalized person or
institutionalized person's spouse while alive, based on estimated life expectancy as determined
according to the current actuarial tables published by the Office of the Chief Actuary of the
Social Security Administration. The commissioner may adopt rules reducing life expectancies
based on the need for long-term care. This section applies to an annuity purchased on or after
March 1, 2002, that:

(1) is not purchased from an insurance company or financial institution that is subject to
licensing or regulation by the Minnesota Department of Commerce or a similar regulatory agency
of another state;

(2) does not pay out principal and interest in equal monthly installments; or
(3) does not begin payment at the earliest possible date after annuitization.
(f) Effective for transactions, including the purchase of an annuity, occurring on or after

February 8, 2006, by or on behalf of an institutionalized person who has applied for or is receiving
long-term care services or the institutionalized person's spouse shall be treated as the disposal
of an asset for less than fair market value unless the department is named a preferred remainder
beneficiary as described in section 256B.056, subdivision 11. Any subsequent change to the
designation of the department as a preferred remainder beneficiary shall result in the annuity being
treated as a disposal of assets for less than fair market value. The amount of such transfer shall be
the maximum amount the institutionalized person or the institutionalized person's spouse could
receive from the annuity or similar financial instrument. Any change in the amount of the income
or principal being withdrawn from the annuity or other similar financial instrument at the time of
the most recent disclosure shall be deemed to be a transfer of assets for less than fair market value
unless the institutionalized person or the institutionalized person's spouse demonstrates that the
transaction was for fair market value. In the event a distribution of income or principal has been
improperly distributed or disbursed from an annuity or other retirement planning instrument of an
institutionalized person or the institutionalized person's spouse, a cause of action exists against the
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individual receiving the improper distribution for the cost of medical assistance services provided
or the amount of the improper distribution, whichever is less.

(g) Effective for transactions, including the purchase of an annuity, occurring on or after
February 8, 2006, by or on behalf of an institutionalized person applying for or receiving long-term
care services shall be treated as a disposal of assets for less than fair market value unless it is:

(i) an annuity described in subsection (b) or (q) of section 408 of the Internal Revenue
Code of 1986; or

(ii) purchased with proceeds from:

(A) an account or trust described in subsection (a), (c), or (p) of section 408 of the Internal
Revenue Code;

(B) a simplified employee pension within the meaning of section 408(k) of the Internal
Revenue Code; or

(C) a Roth IRA described in section 408A of the Internal Revenue Code; or

(iii) an annuity that is irrevocable and nonassignable; is actuarially sound as determined in
accordance with actuarial publications of the Office of the Chief Actuary of the Social Security
Administration; and provides for payments in equal amounts during the term of the annuity, with
no deferral and no balloon payments made.

(h) For purposes of this section, long-term care services include services in a nursing
facility, services that are eligible for payment according to section 256B.0625, subdivision
2, because they are provided in a swing bed, intermediate care facility for persons with
developmental disabilities, and home and community-based services provided pursuant to sections
256B.0915, 256B.092, and 256B.49. For purposes of this subdivision and subdivisions 2, 3, and 4,
"institutionalized person" includes a person who is an inpatient in a nursing facility or in a swing
bed, or intermediate care facility for persons with developmental disabilities or who is receiving
home and community-based services under sections 256B.0915, 256B.092, and 256B.49.

(i) This section applies to funds used to purchase a promissory note, loan, or mortgage
unless the note, loan, or mortgage:

(1) has a repayment term that is actuarially sound;

(2) provides for payments to be made in equal amounts during the term of the loan, with no
deferral and no balloon payments made; and

(3) prohibits the cancellation of the balance upon the death of the lender.

In the case of a promissory note, loan, or mortgage that does not meet an exception in
clauses (1) to (3), the value of such note, loan, or mortgage shall be the outstanding balance
due as of the date of the institutionalized person's request for medical assistance payment of
long-term care services.

(j) This section applies to the purchase of a life estate interest in another person's home
unless the purchaser resides in the home for a period of at least one year after the date of purchase.

(k) This section applies to transfers into a pooled trust that qualifies under United States
Code, title 42, section 1396p(d)(4)(C), by:

(1) a person age 65 or older or the person's spouse; or
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(2) any person, court, or administrative body with legal authority to act in place of, on
behalf of, at the direction of, or upon the request of a person age 65 or older or the person's spouse.

[See Note.]

Subd. 1a. [Repealed, 2001 c 203 s 19]

Subd. 1b. [Repealed, 2010 c 310 art 5 s 1]

Subd. 2. Period of ineligibility for long-term care services. (a) For any uncompensated
transfer occurring on or before August 10, 1993, the number of months of ineligibility for
long-term care services shall be the lesser of 30 months, or the uncompensated transfer amount
divided by the average medical assistance rate for nursing facility services in the state in effect on
the date of application. The amount used to calculate the average medical assistance payment rate
shall be adjusted each July 1 to reflect payment rates for the previous calendar year. The period of
ineligibility begins with the month in which the assets were transferred. If the transfer was not
reported to the local agency at the time of application, and the applicant received long-term care
services during what would have been the period of ineligibility if the transfer had been reported,
a cause of action exists against the transferee for the cost of long-term care services provided
during the period of ineligibility, or for the uncompensated amount of the transfer, whichever is
less. The uncompensated transfer amount is the fair market value of the asset at the time it was
given away, sold, or disposed of, less the amount of compensation received.

(b) For uncompensated transfers made after August 10, 1993, the number of months of
ineligibility for long-term care services shall be the total uncompensated value of the resources
transferred divided by the average medical assistance rate for nursing facility services in the state
in effect on the date of application. The amount used to calculate the average medical assistance
payment rate shall be adjusted each July 1 to reflect payment rates for the previous calendar year.
The period of ineligibility begins with the first day of the month after the month in which the
assets were transferred except that if one or more uncompensated transfers are made during a
period of ineligibility, the total assets transferred during the ineligibility period shall be combined
and a penalty period calculated to begin on the first day of the month after the month in which the
first uncompensated transfer was made. If the transfer was reported to the local agency after the
date that advance notice of a period of ineligibility that affects the next month could be provided
to the recipient and the recipient received medical assistance services or the transfer was not
reported to the local agency, and the applicant or recipient received medical assistance services
during what would have been the period of ineligibility if the transfer had been reported, a cause
of action exists against the transferee for that portion of long-term care services provided during
the period of ineligibility, or for the uncompensated amount of the transfer, whichever is less. The
uncompensated transfer amount is the fair market value of the asset at the time it was given away,
sold, or disposed of, less the amount of compensation received. Effective for transfers made on or
after March 1, 1996, involving persons who apply for medical assistance on or after April 13,
1996, no cause of action exists for a transfer unless:

(1) the transferee knew or should have known that the transfer was being made by a
person who was a resident of a long-term care facility or was receiving that level of care in the
community at the time of the transfer;

(2) the transferee knew or should have known that the transfer was being made to assist the
person to qualify for or retain medical assistance eligibility; or
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(3) the transferee actively solicited the transfer with intent to assist the person to qualify
for or retain eligibility for medical assistance.

(c) For uncompensated transfers made on or after February 8, 2006, the period of
ineligibility:

(1) for uncompensated transfers by or on behalf of individuals receiving medical assistance
payment of long-term care services, begins the first day of the month following advance notice
of the period of ineligibility, but no later than the first day of the month that follows three full
calendar months from the date of the report or discovery of the transfer; or

(2) for uncompensated transfers by individuals requesting medical assistance payment of
long-term care services, begins the date on which the individual is eligible for medical assistance
under the Medicaid state plan and would otherwise be receiving long-term care services based
on an approved application for such care but for the period of ineligibility resulting from the
uncompensated transfer; and

(3) cannot begin during any other period of ineligibility.
(d) If a calculation of a period of ineligibility results in a partial month, payments for

long-term care services shall be reduced in an amount equal to the fraction.
(e) In the case of multiple fractional transfers of assets in more than one month for less

than fair market value on or after February 8, 2006, the period of ineligibility is calculated by
treating the total, cumulative, uncompensated value of all assets transferred during all months
on or after February 8, 2006, as one transfer.

(f) A period of ineligibility established under paragraph (c) may be eliminated if all of the
assets transferred for less than fair market value used to calculate the period of ineligibility, or
cash equal to the value of the assets at the time of the transfer, are returned within 12 months after
the date the period of ineligibility began. A period of ineligibility must not be adjusted if less than
the full amount of the transferred assets or the full cash value of the transferred assets are returned.

[See Note.]

Subd. 2a. [Repealed, 2001 c 203 s 19]

Subd. 2b. [Repealed, 2010 c 310 art 5 s 1]

Subd. 3. Homestead exception to transfer prohibition. (a) An institutionalized person is
not ineligible for long-term care services due to a transfer of assets for less than fair market value
if the asset transferred was a homestead and:

(1) title to the homestead was transferred to the individual's:
(i) spouse;
(ii) child who is under age 21;
(iii) blind or permanently and totally disabled child as defined in the Supplemental Security

Income program;
(iv) sibling who has equity interest in the home and who was residing in the home for

a period of at least one year immediately before the date of the individual's admission to the
facility; or

(v) son or daughter who was residing in the individual's home for a period of at least two
years immediately before the date the individual became an institutionalized person, and who
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provided care to the individual that, as certified by the individual's attending physician, permitted
the individual to reside at home rather than receive care in an institution or facility;

(2) a satisfactory showing is made that the individual intended to dispose of the homestead
at fair market value or for other valuable consideration; or

(3) the local agency grants a waiver of a penalty resulting from a transfer for less than fair
market value because denial of eligibility would cause undue hardship for the individual, based
on imminent threat to the individual's health and well-being. Whenever an applicant or recipient
is denied eligibility because of a transfer for less than fair market value, the local agency shall
notify the applicant or recipient that the applicant or recipient may request a waiver of the penalty
if the denial of eligibility will cause undue hardship. With the written consent of the individual or
the personal representative of the individual, a long-term care facility in which an individual is
residing may file an undue hardship waiver request, on behalf of the individual who is denied
eligibility for long-term care services on or after July 1, 2006, due to a period of ineligibility
resulting from a transfer on or after February 8, 2006. In evaluating a waiver, the local agency
shall take into account whether the individual was the victim of financial exploitation, whether the
individual has made reasonable efforts to recover the transferred property or resource, and other
factors relevant to a determination of hardship. If the local agency does not approve a hardship
waiver, the local agency shall issue a written notice to the individual stating the reasons for the
denial and the process for appealing the local agency's decision.

(b) When a waiver is granted under paragraph (a), clause (3), a cause of action exists
against the person to whom the homestead was transferred for that portion of long-term care
services provided within:

(1) 30 months of a transfer made on or before August 10, 1993;
(2) 60 months if the homestead was transferred after August 10, 1993, to a trust or portion

of a trust that is considered a transfer of assets under federal law;
(3) 36 months if transferred in any other manner after August 10, 1993, but prior to

February 8, 2006; or
(4) 60 months if the homestead was transferred on or after February 8, 2006,

or the amount of the uncompensated transfer, whichever is less, together with the costs incurred
due to the action.

[See Note.]

Subd. 3a. [Repealed, 2001 c 203 s 19]

Subd. 3b. [Repealed, 2010 c 310 art 5 s 1]

Subd. 4. Other exceptions to transfer prohibition. (a) An institutionalized person, as
defined in subdivision 1, paragraph (h), who has made, or whose spouse has made a transfer
prohibited by subdivision 1, is not ineligible for long-term care services if one of the following
conditions applies:

(1) the assets were transferred to the individual's spouse or to another for the sole benefit of
the spouse; or

(2) the institutionalized spouse, prior to being institutionalized, transferred assets to a
spouse, provided that the spouse to whom the assets were transferred does not then transfer
those assets to another person for less than fair market value. (At the time when one spouse
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is institutionalized, assets must be allocated between the spouses as provided under section
256B.059); or

(3) the assets were transferred to the individual's child who is blind or permanently and
totally disabled as determined in the supplemental security income program; or

(4) a satisfactory showing is made that the individual intended to dispose of the assets either
at fair market value or for other valuable consideration; or

(5) the local agency determines that denial of eligibility for long-term care services would
work an undue hardship and grants a waiver of a period of ineligibility resulting from a transfer
for less than fair market value based on an imminent threat to the individual's health and
well-being. Imminent threat to the individual's health and well-being means that imposing a
period of ineligibility would endanger the individual's health or life or cause serious deprivation
of food, clothing, or shelter. Whenever an applicant or recipient is denied eligibility because of a
transfer for less than fair market value, the local agency shall notify the applicant or recipient
that the applicant or recipient may request a waiver of the period of ineligibility if the denial of
eligibility will cause undue hardship. With the written consent of the individual or the personal
representative of the individual, a long-term care facility in which an individual is residing may
file an undue hardship waiver request, on behalf of the individual who is denied eligibility for
long-term care services on or after July 1, 2006, due to a period of ineligibility resulting from a
transfer on or after February 8, 2006.

(b) Subject to paragraph (c), when evaluating a hardship waiver, the local agency shall
take into account whether the individual was the victim of financial exploitation, whether the
individual has made reasonable efforts to recover the transferred property or resource, whether
the individual has taken any action to prevent the designation of the department as a remainder
beneficiary on an annuity as described in section 256B.056, subdivision 11, and other factors
relevant to a determination of hardship.

(c) In the case of an imminent threat to the individual's health and well-being, the local
agency shall approve a hardship waiver of the portion of an individual's period of ineligibility
resulting from a transfer of assets for less than fair market value by or to a person:

(1) convicted of financial exploitation, fraud, or theft upon the individual for the transfer of
assets; or

(2) against whom a report of financial exploitation upon the individual has been
substantiated. For purposes of this paragraph, "financial exploitation" and "substantiated" have
the meanings given in section 626.5572.

(d) The local agency shall make a determination within 30 days of the receipt of all
necessary information needed to make such a determination. If the local agency does not approve
a hardship waiver, the local agency shall issue a written notice to the individual stating the reasons
for the denial and the process for appealing the local agency's decision. When a waiver is granted,
a cause of action exists against the person to whom the assets were transferred for that portion
of long-term care services provided within:

(1) 30 months of a transfer made on or before August 10, 1993;
(2) 60 months of a transfer if the assets were transferred after August 30, 1993, to a trust or

portion of a trust that is considered a transfer of assets under federal law;
(3) 36 months of a transfer if transferred in any other manner after August 10, 1993, but

prior to February 8, 2006; or
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(4) 60 months of any transfer made on or after February 8, 2006,

or the amount of the uncompensated transfer, whichever is less, together with the costs incurred
due to the action; or

(5) for transfers occurring after August 10, 1993, the assets were transferred by the person
or person's spouse: (i) into a trust established for the sole benefit of a son or daughter of any age
who is blind or disabled as defined by the Supplemental Security Income program; or (ii) into a
trust established for the sole benefit of an individual who is under 65 years of age who is disabled
as defined by the Supplemental Security Income program.

"For the sole benefit of" has the meaning found in section 256B.059, subdivision 1.
[See Note.]

Subd. 4a. [Repealed, 2001 c 203 s 19]

Subd. 4b. [Repealed, 2010 c 310 art 5 s 1]

Subd. 5. [Repealed, 2010 c 310 art 5 s 1]

Subd. 6. No impairment on realty conveyance, encumbrance. This section does not
invalidate or impair the effectiveness of a conveyance or encumbrance of real estate.

Subd. 7. Notice of rights. If a period of ineligibility is imposed under subdivision 2 or 2a,
the local agency shall inform the applicant or recipient subject to the penalty of the person's
rights under section 325F.71, subdivision 2.

Subd. 8. Cause of action; transfer prior to death. (a) A cause of action exists against a
transferee who receives assets for less than fair market value, either:

(1) from a person who was a recipient of medical assistance and who made an
uncompensated transfer that was known to the county agency but a penalty period could not be
implemented under this section due to the death of the person; or

(2) from a person who was a recipient of medical assistance who made an uncompensated
transfer that was not known to the county agency and the transfer was made with the intent to
hinder, delay, or defraud the state or local agency from recovering as allowed under section
256B.15. In determining intent under this clause, consideration may be given, among other
factors, to whether:

(i) the transfer was to a family member;

(ii) the transferor retained possession or control of the property after the transfer;

(iii) the transfer was concealed;

(iv) the transfer included the majority of the transferor's assets;

(v) the value of the consideration received was not reasonably equivalent to the fair market
value of the property; and

(vi) the transfer occurred shortly before the death of the transferor.

(b) No cause of action exists under this subdivision unless:

(1) the transferee knew or should have known that the transfer was being made by a person
who was receiving medical assistance as described in section 256B.15, subdivision 1, paragraph
(b); and
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(2) the transferee received the asset without providing a reasonable equivalent fair market
value in exchange for the transfer.

(c) The cause of action is for the uncompensated amount of the transfer or the amount of
medical assistance paid on behalf of the person, whichever is less. The uncompensated transfer
amount is the fair market value of the asset at the time it was given away, sold, or disposed of,
less the amount of the compensation received.

Subd. 9. Filing cause of action; limitation. (a) The county of financial responsibility under
chapter 256G may bring a cause of action under any or all of the following:

(1) subdivision 1, paragraph (f);

(2) subdivision 2, paragraphs (a) and (b);

(3) subdivision 3, paragraph (b);

(4) subdivision 4, paragraph (d); and

(5) subdivision 8

on behalf of the claimant who must be the commissioner.

(b) Notwithstanding any other law to the contrary, a cause of action under subdivision 2,
paragraph (a) or (b), or 8, must be commenced within six years of the date the local agency
determines that a transfer was made for less than fair market value. Notwithstanding any other
law to the contrary, a cause of action under subdivision 3, paragraph (b), or 4, clause (5), must
be commenced within six years of the date of approval of a waiver of the penalty period for a
transfer for less than fair market value based on undue hardship.

History: 1986 c 444; 1989 c 282 art 3 s 52; 1990 c 568 art 3 s 40-42; 1992 c 513 art 7 s
42; 1Sp1993 c 1 art 5 s 35; 1994 c 388 art 1 s 2; 1995 c 207 art 6 s 34-37; 1996 c 451 art 2 s
11-19,62; 2001 c 203 s 7,8,19; 2002 c 220 art 15 s 10-12; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 12 s 24-29; 2004 c
266 s 1; 2005 c 56 s 1; 2005 c 155 art 3 s 1; 2006 c 282 art 17 s 30-33; 2008 c 326 art 1 s 23-28;
2009 c 79 art 5 s 21,22; 2009 c 119 s 4,5; 2010 1Sp1 art 24 s 11; 2011 1Sp9 art 6 s 86

NOTE: The amendments to subdivisions 1, 2, 3, and 4, by Laws 1995, chapter 207, article
6, sections 34 to 37, are effective retroactive to August 11, 1993, except that portion amending
subdivision 2, paragraph (c), is effective retroactive to transfers of income or assets made on or
after September 1, 1994. Laws 1995, chapter 207, article 6, section 125, subdivision 2, and
Laws 1995, chapter 263, section 6.

NOTE: The amendment to subdivision 2 by Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 22, is
effective for periods of ineligibility established on or after January 1, 2011. As required by Laws
2011, First Special Session chapter 9, article 6, section 86, the revisor of statutes received notice
of the effective date from the commissioner of human services. Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5,
section 22, the effective date, as amended by Laws 2010, First Special Session chapter 1, article
24, section 11, and Laws 2011, First Special Session chapter 9, article 6, section 86.

256B.0596 MENTAL HEALTH CASE MANAGEMENT.

Counties shall contract with eligible providers willing to provide mental health case
management services under section 256B.0625, subdivision 20. In order to be eligible, in addition
to general provider requirements under this chapter, the provider must:

(1) be willing to provide the mental health case management services; and
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(2) have a minimum of at least one contact with the client per week. This section is not
intended to limit the ability of a county to provide its own mental health case management
services.

History: 1Sp2003 c 2 art 5 s 6; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 12 s 30; 2004 c 288 art 3 s 22

256B.06 ELIGIBILITY; MIGRANT WORKERS; CITIZENSHIP.

Subdivision 1. [Renumbered 256B.055, subdivision 1]

Subd. 1a. [Renumbered 256B.055, subd 2]

Subd. 1b. [Renumbered 256B.055, subd 3]

Subd. 1c. [Renumbered 256B.055, subd 4]

Subd. 1d. [Renumbered 256B.055, subd 5]

Subd. 1e. [Renumbered 256B.055, subd 6]

Subd. 1f. [Renumbered 256B.055, subd 7]

Subd. 1g. [Renumbered 256B.055, subd 8]

Subd. 1h. [Renumbered 256B.055, subd 9]

Subd. 1i. [Renumbered 256B.055, subd 10]

Subd. 1j. [Renumbered 256B.055, subd 11]

Subd. 1k. [Renumbered 256B.056, subdivision 1]

Subd. 1l. [Renumbered 256B.056, subd 2]

Subd. 1m. [Renumbered 256B.056, subd 3]

Subd. 1n. [Renumbered 256B.056, subd 4]

Subd. 1o. [Renumbered 256B.056, subd 5]

Subd. 1p. [Renumbered 256B.056, subd 6]

Subd. 1q. [Renumbered 256B.055, subd 12]

Subd. 1r. [Renumbered 256B.056, subd 7]

Subd. 2. [Repealed, 1974 c 525 s 3]

Subd. 3.Migrant worker. Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, a migrant worker who
meets all of the eligibility requirements of this section except for having a permanent place of
abode in another state, shall be eligible for medical assistance and shall have medical needs met
by the county in which the worker resides at the time of making application.

Subd. 4. Citizenship requirements. (a) Eligibility for medical assistance is limited to
citizens of the United States, qualified noncitizens as defined in this subdivision, and other
persons residing lawfully in the United States. Citizens or nationals of the United States must
cooperate in obtaining satisfactory documentary evidence of citizenship or nationality according
to the requirements of the federal Deficit Reduction Act of 2005, Public Law 109-171.

(b) "Qualified noncitizen" means a person who meets one of the following immigration
criteria:
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(1) admitted for lawful permanent residence according to United States Code, title 8;
(2) admitted to the United States as a refugee according to United States Code, title

8, section 1157;
(3) granted asylum according to United States Code, title 8, section 1158;
(4) granted withholding of deportation according to United States Code, title 8, section

1253(h);
(5) paroled for a period of at least one year according to United States Code, title 8, section

1182(d)(5);
(6) granted conditional entrant status according to United States Code, title 8, section

1153(a)(7);
(7) determined to be a battered noncitizen by the United States Attorney General according

to the Illegal Immigration Reform and Immigrant Responsibility Act of 1996, title V of the
Omnibus Consolidated Appropriations Bill, Public Law 104-200;

(8) is a child of a noncitizen determined to be a battered noncitizen by the United States
Attorney General according to the Illegal Immigration Reform and Immigrant Responsibility Act
of 1996, title V, of the Omnibus Consolidated Appropriations Bill, Public Law 104-200; or

(9) determined to be a Cuban or Haitian entrant as defined in section 501(e) of Public Law
96-422, the Refugee Education Assistance Act of 1980.

(c) All qualified noncitizens who were residing in the United States before August 22,
1996, who otherwise meet the eligibility requirements of this chapter, are eligible for medical
assistance with federal financial participation.

(d) Beginning December 1, 1996, qualified noncitizens who entered the United States on
or after August 22, 1996, and who otherwise meet the eligibility requirements of this chapter
are eligible for medical assistance with federal participation for five years if they meet one of
the following criteria:

(1) refugees admitted to the United States according to United States Code, title 8, section
1157;

(2) persons granted asylum according to United States Code, title 8, section 1158;
(3) persons granted withholding of deportation according to United States Code, title 8,

section 1253(h);
(4) veterans of the United States armed forces with an honorable discharge for a reason

other than noncitizen status, their spouses and unmarried minor dependent children; or
(5) persons on active duty in the United States armed forces, other than for training, their

spouses and unmarried minor dependent children.
Beginning July 1, 2010, children and pregnant women who are noncitizens described in

paragraph (b) or who are lawfully present in the United States as defined in Code of Federal
Regulations, title 8, section 103.12, and who otherwise meet eligibility requirements of this
chapter, are eligible for medical assistance with federal financial participation as provided by the
federal Children's Health Insurance Program Reauthorization Act of 2009, Public Law 111-3.

(e) Nonimmigrants who otherwise meet the eligibility requirements of this chapter are
eligible for the benefits as provided in paragraphs (f) to (h). For purposes of this subdivision, a
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"nonimmigrant" is a person in one of the classes listed in United States Code, title 8, section
1101(a)(15).

(f) Payment shall also be made for care and services that are furnished to noncitizens,
regardless of immigration status, who otherwise meet the eligibility requirements of this chapter,
if such care and services are necessary for the treatment of an emergency medical condition.

(g) For purposes of this subdivision, the term "emergency medical condition" means a
medical condition that meets the requirements of United States Code, title 42, section 1396b(v).

(h)(1) Notwithstanding paragraph (g), services that are necessary for the treatment of an
emergency medical condition are limited to the following:

(i) services delivered in an emergency room or by an ambulance service licensed under
chapter 144E that are directly related to the treatment of an emergency medical condition;

(ii) services delivered in an inpatient hospital setting following admission from an
emergency room or clinic for an acute emergency condition; and

(iii) follow-up services that are directly related to the original service provided to treat the
emergency medical condition and are covered by the global payment made to the provider.

(2) Services for the treatment of emergency medical conditions do not include:
(i) services delivered in an emergency room or inpatient setting to treat a nonemergency

condition;
(ii) organ transplants, stem cell transplants, and related care;
(iii) services for routine prenatal care;
(iv) continuing care, including long-term care, nursing facility services, home health care,

adult day care, day training, or supportive living services;
(v) elective surgery;
(vi) outpatient prescription drugs, unless the drugs are administered or dispensed as part of

an emergency room visit;
(vii) preventative health care and family planning services;
(viii) dialysis;
(ix) chemotherapy or therapeutic radiation services;
(x) rehabilitation services;
(xi) physical, occupational, or speech therapy;
(xii) transportation services;
(xiii) case management;
(xiv) prosthetics, orthotics, durable medical equipment, or medical supplies;
(xv) dental services;
(xvi) hospice care;
(xvii) audiology services and hearing aids;
(xviii) podiatry services;
(xix) chiropractic services;
(xx) immunizations;
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(xxi) vision services and eyeglasses;
(xxii) waiver services;
(xxiii) individualized education programs; or
(xxiv) chemical dependency treatment.
(i) Beginning July 1, 2009, pregnant noncitizens who are undocumented, nonimmigrants,

or lawfully present in the United States as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 8,
section 103.12, are not covered by a group health plan or health insurance coverage according to
Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 457.310, and who otherwise meet the eligibility
requirements of this chapter, are eligible for medical assistance through the period of pregnancy,
including labor and delivery, and 60 days postpartum, to the extent federal funds are available
under title XXI of the Social Security Act, and the state children's health insurance program.

(j) Beginning October 1, 2003, persons who are receiving care and rehabilitation services
from a nonprofit center established to serve victims of torture and are otherwise ineligible
for medical assistance under this chapter are eligible for medical assistance without federal
financial participation. These individuals are eligible only for the period during which they are
receiving services from the center. Individuals eligible under this paragraph shall not be required
to participate in prepaid medical assistance.

Subd. 5. Deeming of sponsor income and resources.When determining eligibility for
any federal or state funded medical assistance under this section, the income and resources of
all noncitizens shall be deemed to include their sponsors' income and resources as required
under the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996, title IV,
Public Law 104-193, sections 421 and 422, and subsequently set out in federal rules. This section
is effective May 1, 1997. Beginning July 1, 2010, sponsor deeming does not apply to pregnant
women and children who are qualified noncitizens, as described in section 256B.06, subdivision
4, paragraph (b).

History: Ex1967 c 16 s 6; 1969 c 841 s 1; 1973 c 717 s 18; 1974 c 525 s 1,2; 1975 c 247 s
10; 1976 c 236 s 3; 1977 c 448 s 6; 1978 c 760 s 1; 1979 c 309 s 4; 1980 c 509 s 106; 1980 c 527
s 1; 1981 c 360 art 2 s 28; 1Sp1981 c 2 s 14; 3Sp1981 c 2 art 1 s 32; 3Sp1981 c 3 s 17; 1982 c
553 s 6; 1982 c 640 s 5; 1983 c 312 art 5 s 15; 1984 c 422 s 1; 1984 c 534 s 22; 1984 c 654 art 5
s 58; 1985 c 248 s 70; 1985 c 252 s 21; 1986 c 444; 1Sp1986 c 1 art 8 s 5; 1987 c 403 art 2 s
79,80; 1988 c 689 art 2 s 144,145,268; 1991 c 199 art 2 s 1; 1995 c 207 art 6 s 38; 1997 c 85 art
3 s 19,20; 1997 c 203 art 12 s 2; 1998 c 407 art 4 s 19; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 12 s 31; 2004 c 288 art
6 s 21; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 8 s 28; 2006 c 282 art 17 s 34; 2007 c 13 art 1 s 25; 2008 c 286 art 1 s 6;
2009 c 79 art 5 s 23,24; 2009 c 173 art 1 s 19; 1Sp2011 c 9 art 6 s 27

256B.061 ELIGIBILITY; RETROACTIVE EFFECT; RESTRICTIONS.
If any individual has been determined to be eligible for medical assistance, it will be made

available for care and services included under the plan and furnished in or after the third month
before the month in which the individual made application for such assistance, if such individual
was, or upon application would have been, eligible for medical assistance at the time the care and
services were furnished. The commissioner may limit, restrict, or suspend the eligibility of an
individual for up to one year upon that individual's conviction of a criminal offense related to
application for or receipt of medical assistance benefits.

History: 1973 c 717 s 3; 1983 c 312 art 5 s 16; 1986 c 444; 1999 c 245 art 4 s 36;
1Sp2003 c 14 art 12 s 32
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256B.0615 MENTAL HEALTH CERTIFIED PEER SPECIALIST.

Subdivision 1. Scope.Medical assistance covers mental health certified peers specialists
services, as established in subdivision 2, subject to federal approval, if provided to recipients who
are eligible for services under sections 256B.0622, 256B.0623, and 256B.0624 and are provided
by a certified peer specialist who has completed the training under subdivision 5.

Subd. 2. Establishment. The commissioner of human services shall establish a certified
peer specialists program model, which:

(1) provides nonclinical peer support counseling by certified peer specialists;

(2) provides a part of a wraparound continuum of services in conjunction with other
community mental health services;

(3) is individualized to the consumer; and

(4) promotes socialization, recovery, self-sufficiency, self-advocacy, development of natural
supports, and maintenance of skills learned in other support services.

Subd. 3. Eligibility. Peer support services may be made available to consumers of (1) the
intensive rehabilitative mental health services under section 256B.0622; (2) adult rehabilitative
mental health services under section 256B.0623; and (3) crisis stabilization services under
section 256B.0624.

Subd. 4. Peer support specialist program providers. The commissioner shall develop a
process to certify peer support specialist programs, in accordance with the federal guidelines, in
order for the program to bill for reimbursable services. Peer support programs may be freestanding
or within existing mental health community provider centers.

Subd. 5. Certified peer specialist training and certification. The commissioner of human
services shall develop a training and certification process for certified peer specialists, who must
be at least 21 years of age and have a high school diploma or its equivalent. The candidates
must have had a primary diagnosis of mental illness, be a current or former consumer of mental
health services, and must demonstrate leadership and advocacy skills and a strong dedication to
recovery. The training curriculum must teach participating consumers specific skills relevant
to providing peer support to other consumers. In addition to initial training and certification,
the commissioner shall develop ongoing continuing educational workshops on pertinent issues
related to peer support counseling.

History: 2007 c 147 art 8 s 16; 2009 c 167 s 7,8

256B.062 [Repealed, 1998 c 407 art 6 s 12,118]

256B.0621 COVERED SERVICES: TARGETED CASE MANAGEMENT SERVICES.

Subdivision 1. [Repealed, 2002 c 375 art 2 s 56]

Subd. 2. Targeted case management; definitions. For purposes of subdivisions 3 to 10,
the following terms have the meanings given them:

(1) "home care service recipients" means those individuals receiving the following services
under sections 256B.0651 to 256B.0656 and 256B.0659: skilled nursing visits, home health
aide visits, private duty nursing, personal care assistants, or therapies provided through a home
health agency;
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(2) "home care targeted case management" means the provision of targeted case
management services for the purpose of assisting home care service recipients to gain access to
needed services and supports so that they may remain in the community;

(3) "institutions" means hospitals, consistent with Code of Federal Regulations, title 42,
section 440.10; regional treatment center inpatient services, consistent with section 245.474;
nursing facilities; and intermediate care facilities for persons with developmental disabilities;

(4) "relocation targeted case management" includes the provision of both county targeted
case management and public or private vendor service coordination services for the purpose
of assisting recipients to gain access to needed services and supports if they choose to move
from an institution to the community. Relocation targeted case management may be provided
during the lesser of:

(i) the last 180 consecutive days of an eligible recipient's institutional stay; or
(ii) the limits and conditions which apply to federal Medicaid funding for this service; and
(5) "targeted case management" means case management services provided to help

recipients gain access to needed medical, social, educational, and other services and supports.

Subd. 3. Eligibility. The following persons are eligible for relocation targeted case
management or home care targeted case management:

(1) medical assistance eligible persons residing in institutions who choose to move into the
community are eligible for relocation targeted case management services; and

(2) medical assistance eligible persons receiving home care services, who are not eligible
for any other medical assistance reimbursable case management service, are eligible for home
care targeted case management services beginning July 1, 2005.

Subd. 4. Relocation targeted county case management provider qualifications. (a) A
relocation targeted county case management provider is an enrolled medical assistance provider
who is determined by the commissioner to have all of the following characteristics:

(1) the legal authority to provide public welfare under sections 393.01, subdivision 7; and
393.07; or a federally recognized Indian tribe;

(2) the demonstrated capacity and experience to provide the components of case
management to coordinate and link community resources needed by the eligible population;

(3) the administrative capacity and experience to serve the target population for whom it
will provide services and ensure quality of services under state and federal requirements;

(4) the legal authority to provide complete investigative and protective services under
section 626.556, subdivision 10; and child welfare and foster care services under section 393.07,
subdivisions 1 and 2; or a federally recognized Indian tribe;

(5) a financial management system that provides accurate documentation of services and
costs under state and federal requirements; and

(6) the capacity to document and maintain individual case records under state and federal
requirements.

(b) A provider of targeted case management under section 256B.0625, subdivision 20, may
be deemed a certified provider of relocation targeted case management.

(c) A relocation targeted county case management provider may subcontract with another
provider to deliver relocation targeted case management services. Subcontracted providers must
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demonstrate the ability to provide the services outlined in subdivision 6, and have a procedure
in place that notifies the recipient and the recipient's legal representative of any conflict of
interest if the contracted targeted case management provider also provides, or will provide, the
recipient's services and supports. Counties must require that contracted providers must provide
information on all conflicts of interest and obtain the recipient's informed consent or provide the
recipient with alternatives.

Subd. 5. Specific provider qualifications. Providers of home care targeted case
management and relocation service coordination must meet the qualifications under subdivision 4
for county vendors or the qualifications and certification standards under paragraphs (a) and (b)
for private vendors.

(a) The commissioner must certify each provider of home care targeted case management
and relocation service coordination before enrollment. The certification process shall examine
the provider's ability to meet the requirements in this subdivision and other state and federal
requirements of this service.

(b) Both home care targeted case management providers and relocation service coordination
providers are enrolled medical assistance providers who have a minimum of a bachelor's degree
or a license in a health or human services field, comparable training and two years of experience
in human services, or who have been credentialed by an American Indian tribe under section
256B.02, subdivision 7, and have been determined by the commissioner to have all of the
following characteristics:

(1) the demonstrated capacity and experience to provide the components of case
management to coordinate and link community resources needed by the eligible population;

(2) the administrative capacity and experience to serve the target population for whom it
will provide services and ensure quality of services under state and federal requirements;

(3) a financial management system that provides accurate documentation of services and
costs under state and federal requirements;

(4) the capacity to document and maintain individual case records under state and federal
requirements;

(5) the capacity to coordinate with county administrative functions;
(6) have no financial interest in the provision of out-of-home residential services to persons

for whom home care targeted case management or relocation service coordination is provided; and
(7) if a provider has a financial interest in services other than out-of-home residential

services provided to persons for whom home care targeted case management or relocation service
coordination is also provided, the county must determine each year that:

(i) any possible conflict of interest is explained annually at a face-to-face meeting and
in writing and the person provides written informed consent consistent with section 256B.77,
subdivision 2, paragraph (p); and

(ii) information on a range of other feasible service provider options has been provided.
(c) The state of Minnesota, a county board, or agency acting on behalf of a county board

shall not be liable for damages, injuries, or liabilities sustained because of services provided to a
client by a private service coordination vendor.

Subd. 6. Eligible services. (a) Services eligible for medical assistance reimbursement as
targeted case management include:
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(1) assessment of the recipient's need for targeted case management services and for
persons choosing to relocate, the county must provide service coordination provider options at
the first contact and upon request;

(2) development, completion, and regular review of a written individual service plan, which
is based upon the assessment of the recipient's needs and choices, and which will ensure access to
medical, social, educational, and other related services and supports;

(3) routine contact or communication with the recipient, recipient's family, primary
caregiver, legal representative, substitute care provider, service providers, or other relevant
persons identified as necessary to the development or implementation of the goals of the
individual service plan;

(4) coordinating referrals for, and the provision of, case management services for the
recipient with appropriate service providers, consistent with section 1902(a)(23) of the Social
Security Act;

(5) coordinating and monitoring the overall service delivery and engaging in advocacy as
needed to ensure quality of services, appropriateness, and continued need;

(6) completing and maintaining necessary documentation that supports and verifies the
activities in this subdivision;

(7) assisting individuals in order to access needed services, including travel to conduct a
visit with the recipient or other relevant person necessary to develop or implement the goals
of the individual service plan; and

(8) coordinating with the institution discharge planner before the recipient's discharge.
(b) Relocation targeted county case management includes services under paragraph (a),

clauses (1), (2), and (4). Relocation service coordination includes services under paragraph (a),
clauses (3) and (5) to (8). Home care targeted case management includes services under paragraph
(a), clauses (1) to (8).

Subd. 7. Time lines. The following time lines must be met for assigning a case manager:
(a) For relocation targeted case management, an eligible recipient must be assigned a

county case manager who visits the person within 20 working days of requesting a case manager
from their county of financial responsibility as determined under chapter 256G.

(1) If a county agency, its contractor, or federally recognized tribe does not provide case
management services as required, the recipient may obtain relocation service coordination from a
provider qualified under subdivision 5.

(2) The commissioner may waive the provider requirements in subdivision 4, paragraph
(a), clauses (1) and (4), to ensure recipient access to the assistance necessary to move from an
institution to the community. The recipient or the recipient's legal guardian shall provide written
notice to the county or tribe of the decision to obtain services from an alternative provider.

(3) Providers of relocation targeted case management enrolled under this subdivision shall:
(i) meet the provider requirements under subdivision 4 that are not waived by the

commissioner;
(ii) be qualified to provide the services specified in subdivision 6;
(iii) coordinate efforts with local social service agencies and tribes; and
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(iv) comply with the conflict of interest provisions established under subdivision 4,
paragraph (c).

(4) Local social service agencies and federally recognized tribes shall cooperate with
providers certified by the commissioner under this subdivision to facilitate the recipient's
successful relocation from an institution to the community.

(b) For home care targeted case management, an eligible recipient must be assigned a case
manager within 20 working days of requesting a case manager from a home care targeted case
management provider, as defined in subdivision 5.

Subd. 8. Evaluation. The commissioner shall evaluate the delivery of targeted case
management, including, but not limited to, access to case management services, consumer
satisfaction with case management services, and quality of case management services.

Subd. 9. Contact documentation. The case manager must document each face-to-face and
telephone contact with the recipient and others involved in the recipient's individual service plan.

Subd. 10. Payment rates. The commissioner shall set payment rates for targeted case
management under this subdivision. Case managers may bill according to the following criteria:

(1) for relocation targeted case management, case managers may bill for direct case
management activities, including face-to-face and telephone contacts, in the lesser of:

(i) 180 days preceding an eligible recipient's discharge from an institution; or

(ii) the limits and conditions which apply to federal Medicaid funding for this service;

(2) for home care targeted case management, case managers may bill for direct case
management activities, including face-to-face and telephone contacts; and

(3) billings for targeted case management services under this subdivision shall not duplicate
payments made under other program authorities for the same purpose.

Subd. 11. Notice of relocation assistance. The commissioner shall establish a process with
the Centers for Independent Living that allows a person residing in a Minnesota nursing facility
to receive needed information, consultation, and assistance from one of the centers about the
available community support options that may enable the person to relocate to the community, if
the person: (1) is under the age of 65, (2) has indicated a desire to live in the community, and
(3) has signed a release of information authorized by the person or the person's appointed legal
representative. The process established under this subdivision shall be coordinated with the
long-term care consultation service activities established in section 256B.0911.

History: 1Sp2001 c 9 art 2 s 39; art 3 s 20-28,77; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 3 s 17,18; 2005 c 56 s
1; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 7 s 6-12; 2007 c 147 art 6 s 17; 2008 c 363 art 15 s 1-3; 2009 c 79 art 6 s 8

256B.0622 INTENSIVE REHABILITATIVE MENTAL HEALTH SERVICES.

Subdivision 1. Scope. Subject to federal approval, medical assistance covers medically
necessary, intensive nonresidential and residential rehabilitative mental health services as defined
in subdivision 2, for recipients as defined in subdivision 3, when the services are provided by an
entity meeting the standards in this section.

Subd. 2. Definitions. For purposes of this section, the following terms have the meanings
given them.
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(a) "Intensive nonresidential rehabilitative mental health services" means adult rehabilitative
mental health services as defined in section 256B.0623, subdivision 2, paragraph (a), except that
these services are provided by a multidisciplinary staff using a total team approach consistent
with assertive community treatment, the Fairweather Lodge treatment model, as defined by the
standards established by the National Coalition for Community Living, and other evidence-based
practices, and directed to recipients with a serious mental illness who require intensive services.

(b) "Intensive residential rehabilitative mental health services" means short-term,
time-limited services provided in a residential setting to recipients who are in need of more
restrictive settings and are at risk of significant functional deterioration if they do not receive
these services. Services are designed to develop and enhance psychiatric stability, personal and
emotional adjustment, self-sufficiency, and skills to live in a more independent setting. Services
must be directed toward a targeted discharge date with specified client outcomes and must be
consistent with the Fairweather Lodge treatment model as defined in paragraph (a), and other
evidence-based practices.

(c) "Evidence-based practices" are nationally recognized mental health services that are
proven by substantial research to be effective in helping individuals with serious mental illness
obtain specific treatment goals.

(d) "Overnight staff" means a member of the intensive residential rehabilitative mental
health treatment team who is responsible during hours when recipients are typically asleep.

(e) "Treatment team" means all staff who provide services under this section to recipients.
At a minimum, this includes the clinical supervisor, mental health professionals as defined in
section 245.462, subdivision 18, clauses (1) to (6); mental health practitioners as defined in
section 245.462, subdivision 17; mental health rehabilitation workers under section 256B.0623,
subdivision 5, clause (3); and certified peer specialists under section 256B.0615.

Subd. 3. Eligibility. An eligible recipient is an individual who:

(1) is age 18 or older;

(2) is eligible for medical assistance;

(3) is diagnosed with a mental illness;

(4) because of a mental illness, has substantial disability and functional impairment in
three or more of the areas listed in section 245.462, subdivision 11a, so that self-sufficiency
is markedly reduced;

(5) has one or more of the following: a history of two or more inpatient hospitalizations
in the past year, significant independent living instability, homelessness, or very frequent use of
mental health and related services yielding poor outcomes; and

(6) in the written opinion of a licensed mental health professional, has the need for mental
health services that cannot be met with other available community-based services, or is likely to
experience a mental health crisis or require a more restrictive setting if intensive rehabilitative
mental health services are not provided.

Subd. 4. Provider certification and contract requirements. (a) The intensive
nonresidential rehabilitative mental health services provider must:

(1) have a contract with the host county to provide intensive adult rehabilitative mental
health services; and

Copyright © 2011 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



74 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2011 256B.0622

(2) be certified by the commissioner as being in compliance with this section and section
256B.0623.

(b) The intensive residential rehabilitative mental health services provider must:
(1) be licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts 9520.0500 to 9520.0670;
(2) not exceed 16 beds per site;
(3) comply with the additional standards in this section; and
(4) have a contract with the host county to provide these services.
(c) The commissioner shall develop procedures for counties and providers to submit

contracts and other documentation as needed to allow the commissioner to determine whether
the standards in this section are met.

Subd. 5. Standards applicable to both nonresidential and residential providers. (a)
Services must be provided by qualified staff as defined in section 256B.0623, subdivision 5, who
are trained and supervised according to section 256B.0623, subdivision 6, except that mental
health rehabilitation workers acting as overnight staff are not required to comply with section
256B.0623, subdivision 5, clause (3)(iv).

(b) The clinical supervisor must be an active member of the treatment team. The treatment
teammust meet with the clinical supervisor at least weekly to discuss recipients' progress and make
rapid adjustments to meet recipients' needs. The team meeting shall include recipient-specific case
reviews and general treatment discussions among team members. Recipient-specific case reviews
and planning must be documented in the individual recipient's treatment record.

(c) Treatment staff must have prompt access in person or by telephone to a mental health
practitioner or mental health professional. The provider must have the capacity to promptly and
appropriately respond to emergent needs and make any necessary staffing adjustments to assure
the health and safety of recipients.

(d) The initial functional assessment must be completed within ten days of intake and
updated at least every three months or prior to discharge from the service, whichever comes first.

(e) The initial individual treatment plan must be completed within ten days of intake and
reviewed and updated at least monthly with the recipient.

Subd. 6. Standards for intensive residential rehabilitative mental health services. (a)
The provider of intensive residential services must have sufficient staff to provide 24-hour-per-day
coverage to deliver the rehabilitative services described in the treatment plan and to safely
supervise and direct the activities of recipients given the recipient's level of behavioral and
psychiatric stability, cultural needs, and vulnerability. The provider must have the capacity within
the facility to provide integrated services for chemical dependency, illness management services,
and family education when appropriate.

(b) At a minimum:
(1) staff must be available and provide direction and supervision whenever recipients

are present in the facility;
(2) staff must remain awake during all work hours;
(3) there must be a staffing ratio of at least one to nine recipients for each day and evening

shift. If more than nine recipients are present at the residential site, there must be a minimum
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of two staff during day and evening shifts, one of whom must be a mental health practitioner or
mental health professional;

(4) if services are provided to recipients who need the services of a medical professional,
the provider shall assure that these services are provided either by the provider's own medical
staff or through referral to a medical professional; and

(5) the provider must assure the timely availability of a licensed registered nurse, either
directly employed or under contract, who is responsible for ensuring the effectiveness and safety
of medication administration in the facility and assessing patients for medication side effects
and drug interactions.

Subd. 7. Additional standards for nonresidential services. The standards in this
subdivision apply to intensive nonresidential rehabilitative mental health services.

(1) The treatment team must use team treatment, not an individual treatment model.

(2) The clinical supervisor must function as a practicing clinician at least on a part-time
basis.

(3) The staffing ratio must not exceed ten recipients to one full-time equivalent treatment
team position.

(4) Services must be available at times that meet client needs.

(5) The treatment team must actively and assertively engage and reach out to the recipient's
family members and significant others, after obtaining the recipient's permission.

(6) The treatment team must establish ongoing communication and collaboration between
the team, family, and significant others and educate the family and significant others about mental
illness, symptom management, and the family's role in treatment.

(7) The treatment team must provide interventions to promote positive interpersonal
relationships.

Subd. 8. Medical assistance payment for intensive rehabilitative mental health
services. (a) Payment for residential and nonresidential services in this section shall be based on
one daily rate per provider inclusive of the following services received by an eligible recipient in
a given calendar day: all rehabilitative services under this section, staff travel time to provide
rehabilitative services under this section, and nonresidential crisis stabilization services under
section 256B.0624.

(b) Except as indicated in paragraph (c), payment will not be made to more than one entity
for each recipient for services provided under this section on a given day. If services under this
section are provided by a team that includes staff from more than one entity, the team must
determine how to distribute the payment among the members.

(c) The commissioner shall determine one rate for each provider that will bill medical
assistance for residential services under this section and one rate for each nonresidential provider.
If a single entity provides both services, one rate is established for the entity's residential
services and another rate for the entity's nonresidential services under this section. A provider is
not eligible for payment under this section without authorization from the commissioner. The
commissioner shall develop rates using the following criteria:

(1) the cost for similar services in the local trade area;
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(2) the provider's cost for services shall include direct services costs, other program costs,
and other costs determined as follows:

(i) the direct services costs must be determined using actual costs of salaries, benefits,
payroll taxes, and training of direct service staff and service-related transportation;

(ii) other program costs not included in item (i) must be determined as a specified percentage
of the direct services costs as determined by item (i). The percentage used shall be determined by
the commissioner based upon the average of percentages that represent the relationship of other
program costs to direct services costs among the entities that provide similar services;

(iii) in situations where a provider of intensive residential services can demonstrate actual
program-related physical plant costs in excess of the group residential housing reimbursement,
the commissioner may include these costs in the program rate, so long as the additional
reimbursement does not subsidize the room and board expenses of the program;

(iv) intensive nonresidential services physical plant costs must be reimbursed as part of
the costs described in item (ii); and

(v) up to an additional five percent of the total rate must be added to the program rate
as a quality incentive based upon the entity meeting performance criteria specified by the
commissioner;

(3) actual cost is defined as costs which are allowable, allocable, and reasonable, and
consistent with federal reimbursement requirements under Code of Federal Regulations, title 48,
chapter 1, part 31, relating to for-profit entities, and Office of Management and Budget Circular
Number A-122, relating to nonprofit entities;

(4) the number of service units;
(5) the degree to which recipients will receive services other than services under this section;
(6) the costs of other services that will be separately reimbursed; and
(7) input from the local planning process authorized by the adult mental health initiative

under section 245.4661, regarding recipients' service needs.
(d) The rate for intensive rehabilitative mental health services must exclude room and

board, as defined in section 256I.03, subdivision 6, and services not covered under this section,
such as partial hospitalization, home care, and inpatient services. Physician services that are not
separately billed may be included in the rate to the extent that a psychiatrist is a member of
the treatment team.

(e) When services under this section are provided by an intensive nonresidential service
provider, case management functions must be an integral part of the team.

(f) The rate for a provider must not exceed the rate charged by that provider for the same
service to other payors.

(g) The rates for existing programs must be established prospectively based upon the
expenditures and utilization over a prior 12-month period using the criteria established in
paragraph (c).

(h) Entities who discontinue providing services must be subject to a settle-up process
whereby actual costs and reimbursement for the previous 12 months are compared. In the event
that the entity was paid more than the entity's actual costs plus any applicable performance-related
funding due the provider, the excess payment must be reimbursed to the department. If a
provider's revenue is less than actual allowed costs due to lower utilization than projected, the
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commissioner may reimburse the provider to recover its actual allowable costs. The resulting
adjustments by the commissioner must be proportional to the percent of total units of service
reimbursed by the commissioner.

(i) A provider may request of the commissioner a review of any rate-setting decision
made under this subdivision.

Subd. 8a. [Repealed, 2011 c 86 s 23]

Subd. 9. Provider enrollment; rate setting for county-operated entities. Counties
that employ their own staff to provide services under this section shall apply directly to the
commissioner for enrollment and rate setting. In this case, a county contract is not required
and the commissioner shall perform the program review and rate setting duties which would
otherwise be required of counties under this section.

Subd. 10. Provider enrollment; rate setting for specialized program. A provider
proposing to serve a subpopulation of eligible recipients may bypass the county approval
procedures in this section and receive approval for provider enrollment and rate setting directly
from the commissioner under the following circumstances:

(1) the provider demonstrates that the subpopulation to be served requires a specialized
program which is not available from county-approved entities; and

(2) the subpopulation to be served is of such a low incidence that it is not feasible to develop
a program serving a single county or regional group of counties.

For providers meeting the criteria in clauses (1) and (2), the commissioner shall perform
the program review and rate setting duties which would otherwise be required of counties under
this section.

History: 1Sp2003 c 14 art 3 s 19; 2004 c 288 art 3 s 23; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 2 s 7; 2007 c 147
art 8 s 17; 2009 c 79 art 7 s 14; 2009 c 167 s 9,10; 2011 c 86 s 11

256B.0623 ADULT REHABILITATIVE MENTAL HEALTH SERVICES COVERED.

Subdivision 1. Scope.Medical assistance covers adult rehabilitative mental health services
as defined in subdivision 2, subject to federal approval, if provided to recipients as defined in
subdivision 3 and provided by a qualified provider entity meeting the standards in this section and
by a qualified individual provider working within the provider's scope of practice and identified
in the recipient's individual treatment plan as defined in section 245.462, subdivision 14, and if
determined to be medically necessary according to section 62Q.53.

Subd. 2. Definitions. For purposes of this section, the following terms have the meanings
given them.

(a) "Adult rehabilitative mental health services" means mental health services which
are rehabilitative and enable the recipient to develop and enhance psychiatric stability, social
competencies, personal and emotional adjustment, and independent living and community skills,
when these abilities are impaired by the symptoms of mental illness. Adult rehabilitative mental
health services are also appropriate when provided to enable a recipient to retain stability and
functioning, if the recipient would be at risk of significant functional decompensation or more
restrictive service settings without these services.

(1) Adult rehabilitative mental health services instruct, assist, and support the recipient in
areas such as: interpersonal communication skills, community resource utilization and integration
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skills, crisis assistance, relapse prevention skills, health care directives, budgeting and shopping
skills, healthy lifestyle skills and practices, cooking and nutrition skills, transportation skills,
medication education and monitoring, mental illness symptom management skills, household
management skills, employment-related skills, and transition to community living services.

(2) These services shall be provided to the recipient on a one-to-one basis in the recipient's
home or another community setting or in groups.

(b) "Medication education services" means services provided individually or in groups
which focus on educating the recipient about mental illness and symptoms; the role and effects
of medications in treating symptoms of mental illness; and the side effects of medications.
Medication education is coordinated with medication management services and does not duplicate
it. Medication education services are provided by physicians, pharmacists, physician's assistants,
or registered nurses.

(c) "Transition to community living services" means services which maintain continuity
of contact between the rehabilitation services provider and the recipient and which facilitate
discharge from a hospital, residential treatment program under Minnesota Rules, chapter 9505,
board and lodging facility, or nursing home. Transition to community living services are not
intended to provide other areas of adult rehabilitative mental health services.

Subd. 3. Eligibility. An eligible recipient is an individual who:

(1) is age 18 or older;

(2) is diagnosed with a medical condition, such as mental illness or traumatic brain injury,
for which adult rehabilitative mental health services are needed;

(3) has substantial disability and functional impairment in three or more of the areas listed
in section 245.462, subdivision 11a, so that self-sufficiency is markedly reduced; and

(4) has had a recent diagnostic assessment or an adult diagnostic assessment update by a
qualified professional that documents adult rehabilitative mental health services are medically
necessary to address identified disability and functional impairments and individual recipient
goals.

Subd. 4. Provider entity standards. (a) The provider entity must be certified by the state
following the certification process and procedures developed by the commissioner.

(b) The certification process is a determination as to whether the entity meets the standards
in this subdivision. The certification must specify which adult rehabilitative mental health
services the entity is qualified to provide.

(c) A noncounty provider entity must obtain additional certification from each county in
which it will provide services. The additional certification must be based on the adequacy of the
entity's knowledge of that county's local health and human service system, and the ability of the
entity to coordinate its services with the other services available in that county. A county-operated
entity must obtain this additional certification from any other county in which it will provide
services.

(d) Recertification must occur at least every three years.

(e) The commissioner may intervene at any time and decertify providers with cause. The
decertification is subject to appeal to the state. A county board may recommend that the state
decertify a provider for cause.
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(f) The adult rehabilitative mental health services provider entity must meet the following
standards:

(1) have capacity to recruit, hire, manage, and train mental health professionals, mental
health practitioners, and mental health rehabilitation workers;

(2) have adequate administrative ability to ensure availability of services;
(3) ensure adequate preservice and inservice and ongoing training for staff;
(4) ensure that mental health professionals, mental health practitioners, and mental health

rehabilitation workers are skilled in the delivery of the specific adult rehabilitative mental health
services provided to the individual eligible recipient;

(5) ensure that staff is capable of implementing culturally specific services that are
culturally competent and appropriate as determined by the recipient's culture, beliefs, values, and
language as identified in the individual treatment plan;

(6) ensure enough flexibility in service delivery to respond to the changing and intermittent
care needs of a recipient as identified by the recipient and the individual treatment plan;

(7) ensure that the mental health professional or mental health practitioner, who is under the
clinical supervision of a mental health professional, involved in a recipient's services participates
in the development of the individual treatment plan;

(8) assist the recipient in arranging needed crisis assessment, intervention, and stabilization
services;

(9) ensure that services are coordinated with other recipient mental health services
providers and the county mental health authority and the federally recognized American Indian
authority and necessary others after obtaining the consent of the recipient. Services must also be
coordinated with the recipient's case manager or care coordinator if the recipient is receiving case
management or care coordination services;

(10) develop and maintain recipient files, individual treatment plans, and contact charting;
(11) develop and maintain staff training and personnel files;
(12) submit information as required by the state;
(13) establish and maintain a quality assurance plan to evaluate the outcome of services

provided;
(14) keep all necessary records required by law;
(15) deliver services as required by section 245.461;
(16) comply with all applicable laws;
(17) be an enrolled Medicaid provider;
(18) maintain a quality assurance plan to determine specific service outcomes and the

recipient's satisfaction with services; and
(19) develop and maintain written policies and procedures regarding service provision and

administration of the provider entity.

Subd. 5. Qualifications of provider staff. Adult rehabilitative mental health services
must be provided by qualified individual provider staff of a certified provider entity. Individual
provider staff must be qualified under one of the following criteria:
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(1) a mental health professional as defined in section 245.462, subdivision 18, clauses (1) to
(6). If the recipient has a current diagnostic assessment by a licensed mental health professional
as defined in section 245.462, subdivision 18, clauses (1) to (6), recommending receipt of adult
mental health rehabilitative services, the definition of mental health professional for purposes of
this section includes a person who is qualified under section 245.462, subdivision 18, clause (7),
and who holds a current and valid national certification as a certified rehabilitation counselor or
certified psychosocial rehabilitation practitioner;

(2) a mental health practitioner as defined in section 245.462, subdivision 17. The mental
health practitioner must work under the clinical supervision of a mental health professional;

(3) a certified peer specialist under section 256B.0615. The certified peer specialist must
work under the clinical supervision of a mental health professional; or

(4) a mental health rehabilitation worker. A mental health rehabilitation worker means a staff
person working under the direction of a mental health practitioner or mental health professional
and under the clinical supervision of a mental health professional in the implementation of
rehabilitative mental health services as identified in the recipient's individual treatment plan who:

(i) is at least 21 years of age;

(ii) has a high school diploma or equivalent;

(iii) has successfully completed 30 hours of training during the two years immediately prior
to the date of hire, or before provision of direct services, in all of the following areas: recipient
rights, recipient-centered individual treatment planning, behavioral terminology, mental illness,
co-occurring mental illness and substance abuse, psychotropic medications and side effects,
functional assessment, local community resources, adult vulnerability, recipient confidentiality;
and

(iv) meets the qualifications in subitem (A) or (B):

(A) has an associate of arts degree or two years full-time postsecondary education in one of
the behavioral sciences or human services; is a registered nurse without a bachelor's degree; or
who within the previous ten years has:

(1) three years of personal life experience with serious and persistent mental illness;

(2) three years of life experience as a primary caregiver to an adult with a serious mental
illness or traumatic brain injury; or

(3) 4,000 hours of supervised paid work experience in the delivery of mental health services
to adults with a serious mental illness or traumatic brain injury; or

(B)(1) is fluent in the non-English language or competent in the culture of the ethnic group
to which at least 20 percent of the mental health rehabilitation worker's clients belong;

(2) receives during the first 2,000 hours of work, monthly documented individual clinical
supervision by a mental health professional;

(3) has 18 hours of documented field supervision by a mental health professional or
practitioner during the first 160 hours of contact work with recipients, and at least six hours of
field supervision quarterly during the following year;

(4) has review and cosignature of charting of recipient contacts during field supervision by
a mental health professional or practitioner; and
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(5) has 15 hours of additional continuing education on mental health topics during the first
year of employment and 15 hours during every additional year of employment.

Subd. 6. Required training and supervision. (a) Mental health rehabilitation workers must
receive ongoing continuing education training of at least 30 hours every two years in areas of
mental illness and mental health services and other areas specific to the population being served.
Mental health rehabilitation workers must also be subject to the ongoing direction and clinical
supervision standards in paragraphs (c) and (d).

(b) Mental health practitioners must receive ongoing continuing education training as
required by their professional license; or if the practitioner is not licensed, the practitioner must
receive ongoing continuing education training of at least 30 hours every two years in areas of
mental illness and mental health services. Mental health practitioners must meet the ongoing
clinical supervision standards in paragraph (c).

(c) Clinical supervision may be provided by a full- or part-time qualified professional
employed by or under contract with the provider entity. Clinical supervision may be provided by
interactive videoconferencing according to procedures developed by the commissioner. A mental
health professional providing clinical supervision of staff delivering adult rehabilitative mental
health services must provide the following guidance:

(1) review the information in the recipient's file;
(2) review and approve initial and updates of individual treatment plans;
(3) meet with mental health rehabilitation workers and practitioners, individually or in small

groups, at least monthly to discuss treatment topics of interest to the workers and practitioners;
(4) meet with mental health rehabilitation workers and practitioners, individually or in

small groups, at least monthly to discuss treatment plans of recipients, and approve by signature
and document in the recipient's file any resulting plan updates;

(5) meet at least monthly with the directing mental health practitioner, if there is one, to
review needs of the adult rehabilitative mental health services program, review staff on-site
observations and evaluate mental health rehabilitation workers, plan staff training, review
program evaluation and development, and consult with the directing practitioner; and

(6) be available for urgent consultation as the individual recipient needs or the situation
necessitates.

(d) An adult rehabilitative mental health services provider entity must have a treatment
director who is a mental health practitioner or mental health professional. The treatment director
must ensure the following:

(1) while delivering direct services to recipients, a newly hired mental health rehabilitation
worker must be directly observed delivering services to recipients by a mental health practitioner
or mental health professional for at least six hours per 40 hours worked during the first 160 hours
that the mental health rehabilitation worker works;

(2) the mental health rehabilitation worker must receive ongoing on-site direct service
observation by a mental health professional or mental health practitioner for at least six hours for
every six months of employment;

(3) progress notes are reviewed from on-site service observation prepared by the mental
health rehabilitation worker and mental health practitioner for accuracy and consistency with
actual recipient contact and the individual treatment plan and goals;
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(4) immediate availability by phone or in person for consultation by a mental health
professional or a mental health practitioner to the mental health rehabilitation services worker
during service provision;

(5) oversee the identification of changes in individual recipient treatment strategies, revise
the plan, and communicate treatment instructions and methodologies as appropriate to ensure that
treatment is implemented correctly;

(6) model service practices which: respect the recipient, include the recipient in planning
and implementation of the individual treatment plan, recognize the recipient's strengths,
collaborate and coordinate with other involved parties and providers;

(7) ensure that mental health practitioners and mental health rehabilitation workers are able
to effectively communicate with the recipients, significant others, and providers; and

(8) oversee the record of the results of on-site observation and charting evaluation and
corrective actions taken to modify the work of the mental health practitioners and mental health
rehabilitation workers.

(e) A mental health practitioner who is providing treatment direction for a provider entity
must receive supervision at least monthly from a mental health professional to:

(1) identify and plan for general needs of the recipient population served;
(2) identify and plan to address provider entity program needs and effectiveness;
(3) identify and plan provider entity staff training and personnel needs and issues; and
(4) plan, implement, and evaluate provider entity quality improvement programs.

Subd. 7. Personnel file. The adult rehabilitative mental health services provider entity must
maintain a personnel file on each staff. Each file must contain:

(1) an annual performance review;
(2) a summary of on-site service observations and charting review;
(3) a criminal background check of all direct service staff;
(4) evidence of academic degree and qualifications;
(5) a copy of professional license;
(6) any job performance recognition and disciplinary actions;
(7) any individual staff written input into own personnel file;
(8) all clinical supervision provided; and
(9) documentation of compliance with continuing education requirements.

Subd. 8. Diagnostic assessment. Providers of adult rehabilitative mental health services
must complete a diagnostic assessment as defined in section 245.462, subdivision 9, within five
days after the recipient's second visit or within 30 days after intake, whichever occurs first. In
cases where a diagnostic assessment is available that reflects the recipient's current status, and has
been completed within three years preceding admission, an adult diagnostic assessment update
must be completed. An update shall include a face-to-face interview with the recipient and a
written summary by a mental health professional of the recipient's current mental health status
and service needs. If the recipient's mental health status has changed significantly since the adult's
most recent diagnostic assessment, a new diagnostic assessment is required.
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Subd. 9. Functional assessment. Providers of adult rehabilitative mental health services
must complete a written functional assessment as defined in section 245.462, subdivision 11a,
for each recipient. The functional assessment must be completed within 30 days of intake, and
reviewed and updated at least every six months after it is developed, unless there is a significant
change in the functioning of the recipient. If there is a significant change in functioning, the
assessment must be updated. A single functional assessment can meet case management and
adult rehabilitative mental health services requirements if agreed to by the recipient. Unless
the recipient refuses, the recipient must have significant participation in the development of
the functional assessment.

Subd. 10. Individual treatment plan. All providers of adult rehabilitative mental health
services must develop and implement an individual treatment plan for each recipient. The
provisions in clauses (1) and (2) apply:

(1) Individual treatment plan means a plan of intervention, treatment, and services for an
individual recipient written by a mental health professional or by a mental health practitioner
under the clinical supervision of a mental health professional. The individual treatment plan must
be based on diagnostic and functional assessments. To the extent possible, the development and
implementation of a treatment plan must be a collaborative process involving the recipient, and
with the permission of the recipient, the recipient's family and others in the recipient's support
system. Providers of adult rehabilitative mental health services must develop the individual
treatment plan within 30 calendar days of intake. The treatment plan must be updated at least
every six months thereafter, or more often when there is significant change in the recipient's
situation or functioning, or in services or service methods to be used, or at the request of the
recipient or the recipient's legal guardian.

(2) The individual treatment plan must include:

(i) a list of problems identified in the assessment;

(ii) the recipient's strengths and resources;

(iii) concrete, measurable goals to be achieved, including time frames for achievement;

(iv) specific objectives directed toward the achievement of each one of the goals;

(v) documentation of participants in the treatment planning. The recipient, if possible, must
be a participant. The recipient or the recipient's legal guardian must sign the treatment plan, or
documentation must be provided why this was not possible. A copy of the plan must be given to
the recipient or legal guardian. Referral to formal services must be arranged, including specific
providers where applicable;

(vi) cultural considerations, resources, and needs of the recipient must be included;

(vii) planned frequency and type of services must be initiated; and

(viii) clear progress notes on outcome of goals.

(3) The individual community support plan defined in section 245.462, subdivision 12, may
serve as the individual treatment plan if there is involvement of a mental health case manager,
and with the approval of the recipient. The individual community support plan must include the
criteria in clause (2).

Subd. 11. Recipient file. Providers of adult rehabilitative mental health services must
maintain a file for each recipient that contains the following information:
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(1) diagnostic assessment or verification of its location that is current and that was reviewed
by a mental health professional who is employed by or under contract with the provider entity;

(2) functional assessments;
(3) individual treatment plans signed by the recipient and the mental health professional, or

if the recipient refused to sign the plan, the date and reason stated by the recipient as to why the
recipient would not sign the plan;

(4) recipient history;
(5) signed release forms;
(6) recipient health information and current medications;
(7) emergency contacts for the recipient;
(8) case records which document the date of service, the place of service delivery, signature

of the person providing the service, nature, extent and units of service, and place of service
delivery;

(9) contacts, direct or by telephone, with recipient's family or others, other providers,
or other resources for service coordination;

(10) summary of recipient case reviews by staff; and
(11) written information by the recipient that the recipient requests be included in the file.

Subd. 12. Additional requirements. (a) Providers of adult rehabilitative mental health
services must comply with the requirements relating to referrals for case management in section
245.467, subdivision 4.

(b) Adult rehabilitative mental health services are provided for most recipients in the
recipient's home and community. Services may also be provided at the home of a relative or
significant other, job site, psychosocial clubhouse, drop-in center, social setting, classroom, or
other places in the community. Except for "transition to community services," the place of service
does not include a regional treatment center, nursing home, residential treatment facility licensed
under Minnesota Rules, parts 9520.0500 to 9520.0670 (Rule 36), or an acute care hospital.

(c) Adult rehabilitative mental health services may be provided in group settings if
appropriate to each participating recipient's needs and treatment plan. A group is defined as two to
ten clients, at least one of whom is a recipient, who is concurrently receiving a service which is
identified in this section. The service and group must be specified in the recipient's treatment plan.
No more than two qualified staff may bill Medicaid for services provided to the same group of
recipients. If two adult rehabilitative mental health workers bill for recipients in the same group
session, they must each bill for different recipients.

Subd. 13. Excluded services. The following services are excluded from reimbursement
as adult rehabilitative mental health services:

(1) recipient transportation services;
(2) a service provided and billed by a provider who is not enrolled to provide adult

rehabilitative mental health service;
(3) adult rehabilitative mental health services performed by volunteers;
(4) provider performance of household tasks, chores, or related activities, such as laundering

clothes, moving the recipient's household, housekeeping, and grocery shopping for the recipient;
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(5) direct billing of time spent "on call" when not delivering services to recipients;

(6) activities which are primarily social or recreational in nature, rather than rehabilitative,
for the individual recipient, as determined by the individual's needs and treatment plan;

(7) job-specific skills services, such as on-the-job training;

(8) provider service time included in case management reimbursement;

(9) outreach services to potential recipients;

(10) a mental health service that is not medically necessary; and

(11) any services provided by a hospital, board and lodging, or residential facility to an
individual who is a patient in or resident of that facility.

Subd. 14. Billing when services are provided by qualified state staff.When rehabilitative
services are provided by qualified state staff who are assigned to pilot projects under section
245.4661, the county or other local entity to which the qualified state staff are assigned may
consider these staff part of the local provider entity for which certification is sought under this
section and may bill the medical assistance program for qualifying services provided by the
qualified state staff. Payments for services provided by state staff who are assigned to adult
mental health initiatives shall only be made from federal funds.

History: 1Sp2001 c 9 art 9 s 39; 2002 c 277 s 11; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 1Sp2003 c 14 art
3 s 20-24; 2007 c 147 art 8 s 18; 2009 c 79 art 7 s 15; 2009 c 167 s 11; 2011 c 86 s 12,13

256B.0624 ADULT CRISIS RESPONSE SERVICES COVERED.

Subdivision 1. Scope. Medical assistance covers adult mental health crisis response
services as defined in subdivision 2, paragraphs (c) to (e), subject to federal approval, if provided
to a recipient as defined in subdivision 3 and provided by a qualified provider entity as defined in
this section and by a qualified individual provider working within the provider's scope of practice
and as defined in this subdivision and identified in the recipient's individual crisis treatment plan
as defined in subdivision 11 and if determined to be medically necessary.

Subd. 2. Definitions. For purposes of this section, the following terms have the meanings
given them.

(a) "Mental health crisis" is an adult behavioral, emotional, or psychiatric situation which,
but for the provision of crisis response services, would likely result in significantly reduced
levels of functioning in primary activities of daily living, or in an emergency situation, or in the
placement of the recipient in a more restrictive setting, including, but not limited to, inpatient
hospitalization.

(b) "Mental health emergency" is an adult behavioral, emotional, or psychiatric situation
which causes an immediate need for mental health services and is consistent with section 62Q.55.

A mental health crisis or emergency is determined for medical assistance service
reimbursement by a physician, a mental health professional, or crisis mental health practitioner
with input from the recipient whenever possible.

(c) "Mental health crisis assessment" means an immediate face-to-face assessment by
a physician, a mental health professional, or mental health practitioner under the clinical
supervision of a mental health professional, following a screening that suggests that the adult may
be experiencing a mental health crisis or mental health emergency situation.
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(d) "Mental health mobile crisis intervention services" means face-to-face, short-term
intensive mental health services initiated during a mental health crisis or mental health emergency
to help the recipient cope with immediate stressors, identify and utilize available resources and
strengths, and begin to return to the recipient's baseline level of functioning.

(1) This service is provided on site by a mobile crisis intervention team outside of an
inpatient hospital setting. Mental health mobile crisis intervention services must be available
24 hours a day, seven days a week.

(2) The initial screening must consider other available services to determine which service
intervention would best address the recipient's needs and circumstances.

(3) The mobile crisis intervention team must be available to meet promptly face-to-face with
a person in mental health crisis or emergency in a community setting or hospital emergency room.

(4) The intervention must consist of a mental health crisis assessment and a crisis treatment
plan.

(5) The treatment plan must include recommendations for any needed crisis stabilization
services for the recipient.

(e) "Mental health crisis stabilization services" means individualized mental health services
provided to a recipient following crisis intervention services which are designed to restore the
recipient to the recipient's prior functional level. Mental health crisis stabilization services may be
provided in the recipient's home, the home of a family member or friend of the recipient, another
community setting, or a short-term supervised, licensed residential program. Mental health crisis
stabilization does not include partial hospitalization or day treatment.

Subd. 3. Eligibility. An eligible recipient is an individual who:
(1) is age 18 or older;
(2) is screened as possibly experiencing a mental health crisis or emergency where a mental

health crisis assessment is needed; and
(3) is assessed as experiencing a mental health crisis or emergency, and mental health

crisis intervention or crisis intervention and stabilization services are determined to be medically
necessary.

Subd. 4. Provider entity standards. (a) A provider entity is an entity that meets the
standards listed in paragraph (b) and:

(1) is a county board operated entity; or
(2) is a provider entity that is under contract with the county board in the county where the

potential crisis or emergency is occurring. To provide services under this section, the provider
entity must directly provide the services; or if services are subcontracted, the provider entity must
maintain responsibility for services and billing.

(b) The adult mental health crisis response services provider entity must have the capacity
to meet and carry out the following standards:

(1) has the capacity to recruit, hire, and manage and train mental health professionals,
practitioners, and rehabilitation workers;

(2) has adequate administrative ability to ensure availability of services;
(3) is able to ensure adequate preservice and in-service training;
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(4) is able to ensure that staff providing these services are skilled in the delivery of mental
health crisis response services to recipients;

(5) is able to ensure that staff are capable of implementing culturally specific treatment
identified in the individual treatment plan that is meaningful and appropriate as determined by the
recipient's culture, beliefs, values, and language;

(6) is able to ensure enough flexibility to respond to the changing intervention and care
needs of a recipient as identified by the recipient during the service partnership between the
recipient and providers;

(7) is able to ensure that mental health professionals and mental health practitioners have
the communication tools and procedures to communicate and consult promptly about crisis
assessment and interventions as services occur;

(8) is able to coordinate these services with county emergency services, community
hospitals, ambulance, transportation services, social services, law enforcement, and mental health
crisis services through regularly scheduled interagency meetings;

(9) is able to ensure that mental health crisis assessment and mobile crisis intervention
services are available 24 hours a day, seven days a week;

(10) is able to ensure that services are coordinated with other mental health service
providers, county mental health authorities, or federally recognized American Indian authorities
and others as necessary, with the consent of the adult. Services must also be coordinated with the
recipient's case manager if the adult is receiving case management services;

(11) is able to ensure that crisis intervention services are provided in a manner consistent
with sections 245.461 to 245.486;

(12) is able to submit information as required by the state;
(13) maintains staff training and personnel files;
(14) is able to establish and maintain a quality assurance and evaluation plan to evaluate the

outcomes of services and recipient satisfaction;
(15) is able to keep records as required by applicable laws;
(16) is able to comply with all applicable laws and statutes;
(17) is an enrolled medical assistance provider; and
(18) develops and maintains written policies and procedures regarding service provision and

administration of the provider entity, including safety of staff and recipients in high-risk situations.

Subd. 4a. Alternative provider standards. If a county demonstrates that, due to
geographic or other barriers, it is not feasible to provide mobile crisis intervention services
according to the standards in subdivision 4, paragraph (b), clause (9), the commissioner may
approve a crisis response provider based on an alternative plan proposed by a county or group of
counties. The alternative plan must:

(1) result in increased access and a reduction in disparities in the availability of crisis
services;

(2) provide mobile services outside of the usual nine-to-five office hours and on weekends
and holidays; and

(3) comply with standards for emergency mental health services in section 245.469.
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Subd. 5.Mobile crisis intervention staff qualifications. For provision of adult mental
health mobile crisis intervention services, a mobile crisis intervention team is comprised of at
least two mental health professionals as defined in section 245.462, subdivision 18, clauses (1) to
(6), or a combination of at least one mental health professional and one mental health practitioner
as defined in section 245.462, subdivision 17, with the required mental health crisis training and
under the clinical supervision of a mental health professional on the team. The team must have at
least two people with at least one member providing on-site crisis intervention services when
needed. Team members must be experienced in mental health assessment, crisis intervention
techniques, and clinical decision-making under emergency conditions and have knowledge of
local services and resources. The team must recommend and coordinate the team's services with
appropriate local resources such as the county social services agency, mental health services,
and local law enforcement when necessary.

Subd. 6. Crisis assessment and mobile intervention treatment planning. (a) Prior to
initiating mobile crisis intervention services, a screening of the potential crisis situation must be
conducted. The screening may use the resources of crisis assistance and emergency services as
defined in sections 245.462, subdivision 6, and 245.469, subdivisions 1 and 2. The screening must
gather information, determine whether a crisis situation exists, identify parties involved, and
determine an appropriate response.

(b) If a crisis exists, a crisis assessment must be completed. A crisis assessment evaluates
any immediate needs for which emergency services are needed and, as time permits, the recipient's
current life situation, sources of stress, mental health problems and symptoms, strengths,
cultural considerations, support network, vulnerabilities, current functioning, and the recipient's
preferences as communicated directly by the recipient, or as communicated in a health care
directive as described in chapters 145C and 253B, the treatment plan described under paragraph
(d), a crisis prevention plan, or a wellness recovery action plan.

(c) If the crisis assessment determines mobile crisis intervention services are needed, the
intervention services must be provided promptly. As opportunity presents during the intervention,
at least two members of the mobile crisis intervention team must confer directly or by telephone
about the assessment, treatment plan, and actions taken and needed. At least one of the team
members must be on site providing crisis intervention services. If providing on-site crisis
intervention services, a mental health practitioner must seek clinical supervision as required in
subdivision 9.

(d) The mobile crisis intervention team must develop an initial, brief crisis treatment plan
as soon as appropriate but no later than 24 hours after the initial face-to-face intervention. The
plan must address the needs and problems noted in the crisis assessment and include measurable
short-term goals, cultural considerations, and frequency and type of services to be provided to
achieve the goals and reduce or eliminate the crisis. The treatment plan must be updated as
needed to reflect current goals and services.

(e) The team must document which short-term goals have been met and when no further
crisis intervention services are required.

(f) If the recipient's crisis is stabilized, but the recipient needs a referral to other services,
the team must provide referrals to these services. If the recipient has a case manager, planning
for other services must be coordinated with the case manager.

Subd. 7. Crisis stabilization services. (a) Crisis stabilization services must be provided
by qualified staff of a crisis stabilization services provider entity and must meet the following
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standards:
(1) a crisis stabilization treatment plan must be developed which meets the criteria in

subdivision 11;
(2) staff must be qualified as defined in subdivision 8; and
(3) services must be delivered according to the treatment plan and include face-to-face

contact with the recipient by qualified staff for further assessment, help with referrals, updating of
the crisis stabilization treatment plan, supportive counseling, skills training, and collaboration
with other service providers in the community.

(b) If crisis stabilization services are provided in a supervised, licensed residential setting,
the recipient must be contacted face-to-face daily by a qualified mental health practitioner or
mental health professional. The program must have 24-hour-a-day residential staffing which may
include staff who do not meet the qualifications in subdivision 8. The residential staff must have
24-hour-a-day immediate direct or telephone access to a qualified mental health professional
or practitioner.

(c) If crisis stabilization services are provided in a supervised, licensed residential setting
that serves no more than four adult residents, and no more than two are recipients of crisis
stabilization services, the residential staff must include, for at least eight hours per day, at least
one individual who meets the qualifications in subdivision 8.

(d) If crisis stabilization services are provided in a supervised, licensed residential setting
that serves more than four adult residents, and one or more are recipients of crisis stabilization
services, the residential staff must include, for 24 hours a day, at least one individual who meets
the qualifications in subdivision 8. During the first 48 hours that a recipient is in the residential
program, the residential program must have at least two staff working 24 hours a day. Staffing
levels may be adjusted thereafter according to the needs of the recipient as specified in the crisis
stabilization treatment plan.

Subd. 8. Adult crisis stabilization staff qualifications. (a) Adult mental health crisis
stabilization services must be provided by qualified individual staff of a qualified provider entity.
Individual provider staff must have the following qualifications:

(1) be a mental health professional as defined in section 245.462, subdivision 18, clauses
(1) to (6);

(2) be a mental health practitioner as defined in section 245.462, subdivision 17. The mental
health practitioner must work under the clinical supervision of a mental health professional;

(3) be a certified peer specialist under section 256B.0615. The certified peer specialist must
work under the clinical supervision of a mental health professional; or

(4) be a mental health rehabilitation worker who meets the criteria in section 256B.0623,
subdivision 5, clause (4); works under the direction of a mental health practitioner as defined in
section 245.462, subdivision 17, or under direction of a mental health professional; and works
under the clinical supervision of a mental health professional.

(b) Mental health practitioners and mental health rehabilitation workers must have
completed at least 30 hours of training in crisis intervention and stabilization during the past
two years.

Subd. 9. Supervision. Mental health practitioners may provide crisis assessment and
mobile crisis intervention services if the following clinical supervision requirements are met:
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(1) the mental health provider entity must accept full responsibility for the services
provided;

(2) the mental health professional of the provider entity, who is an employee or under
contract with the provider entity, must be immediately available by phone or in person for
clinical supervision;

(3) the mental health professional is consulted, in person or by phone, during the first three
hours when a mental health practitioner provides on-site service;

(4) the mental health professional must:
(i) review and approve of the tentative crisis assessment and crisis treatment plan;
(ii) document the consultation; and
(iii) sign the crisis assessment and treatment plan within the next business day;
(5) if the mobile crisis intervention services continue into a second calendar day, a mental

health professional must contact the recipient face-to-face on the second day to provide services
and update the crisis treatment plan; and

(6) the on-site observation must be documented in the recipient's record and signed by the
mental health professional.

Subd. 10. Recipient file. Providers of mobile crisis intervention or crisis stabilization
services must maintain a file for each recipient containing the following information:

(1) individual crisis treatment plans signed by the recipient, mental health professional,
and mental health practitioner who developed the crisis treatment plan, or if the recipient refused
to sign the plan, the date and reason stated by the recipient as to why the recipient would not
sign the plan;

(2) signed release forms;
(3) recipient health information and current medications;
(4) emergency contacts for the recipient;
(5) case records which document the date of service, place of service delivery, signature of

the person providing the service, and the nature, extent, and units of service. Direct or telephone
contact with the recipient's family or others should be documented;

(6) required clinical supervision by mental health professionals;
(7) summary of the recipient's case reviews by staff; and
(8) any written information by the recipient that the recipient wants in the file.

Documentation in the file must comply with all requirements of the commissioner.

Subd. 11. Treatment plan. The individual crisis stabilization treatment plan must include,
at a minimum:

(1) a list of problems identified in the assessment;
(2) a list of the recipient's strengths and resources;
(3) concrete, measurable short-term goals and tasks to be achieved, including time frames

for achievement;
(4) specific objectives directed toward the achievement of each one of the goals;
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(5) documentation of the participants involved in the service planning. The recipient, if
possible, must be a participant. The recipient or the recipient's legal guardian must sign the
service plan or documentation must be provided why this was not possible. A copy of the plan
must be given to the recipient and the recipient's legal guardian. The plan should include services
arranged, including specific providers where applicable;

(6) planned frequency and type of services initiated;
(7) a crisis response action plan if a crisis should occur;
(8) clear progress notes on outcome of goals;
(9) a written plan must be completed within 24 hours of beginning services with the

recipient; and
(10) a treatment plan must be developed by a mental health professional or mental health

practitioner under the clinical supervision of a mental health professional. The mental health
professional must approve and sign all treatment plans.

Subd. 12. Excluded services. The following services are excluded from reimbursement
under this section:

(1) room and board services;
(2) services delivered to a recipient while admitted to an inpatient hospital;
(3) recipient transportation costs may be covered under other medical assistance provisions,

but transportation services are not an adult mental health crisis response service;
(4) services provided and billed by a provider who is not enrolled under medical assistance

to provide adult mental health crisis response services;
(5) services performed by volunteers;
(6) direct billing of time spent "on call" when not delivering services to a recipient;
(7) provider service time included in case management reimbursement. When a provider is

eligible to provide more than one type of medical assistance service, the recipient must have a
choice of provider for each service, unless otherwise provided for by law;

(8) outreach services to potential recipients; and
(9) a mental health service that is not medically necessary.
History: 1Sp2001 c 9 art 9 s 40; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 2005 c 165 art 1 s 3; 2009 c 79 art

7 s 16,17; 2009 c 167 s 12; 2011 c 86 s 14-16

256B.0625 COVERED SERVICES.

Subdivision 1. Inpatient hospital services.Medical assistance covers inpatient hospital
services. A second medical opinion is required prior to reimbursement for elective surgeries
requiring a second opinion. The commissioner shall publish in the State Register a list of elective
surgeries that require a second medical opinion prior to reimbursement, and the criteria and
standards for deciding whether an elective surgery should require a second medical opinion. The
list and the criteria and standards are not subject to the requirements of sections 14.001 to 14.69.
The commissioner's decision whether a second medical opinion is required, made in accordance
with rules governing that decision, is not subject to administrative appeal.

Subd. 1a. Services provided in a hospital emergency room. Medical assistance does
not cover visits to a hospital emergency room that are not for emergency and emergency
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poststabilization care or urgent care, and does not pay for any services provided in a hospital
emergency room that are not for emergency and emergency poststabilization care or urgent care.

Subd. 2. Skilled and intermediate nursing care. (a) Medical assistance covers skilled
nursing home services and services of intermediate care facilities, including training and
habilitation services, as defined in section 252.41, subdivision 3, for persons with developmental
disabilities who are residing in intermediate care facilities for persons with developmental
disabilities. Medical assistance must not be used to pay the costs of nursing care provided to a
patient in a swing bed as defined in section 144.562, unless (1) the facility in which the swing bed
is located is eligible as a sole community provider, as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title
42, section 412.92, or the facility is a public hospital owned by a governmental entity with 15 or
fewer licensed acute care beds; (2) the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services approves
the necessary state plan amendments; (3) the patient was screened as provided by law; (4) the
patient no longer requires acute care services; and (5) no nursing home beds are available within
25 miles of the facility. The commissioner shall exempt a facility from compliance with the
sole community provider requirement in clause (1) if, as of January 1, 2004, the facility had an
agreement with the commissioner to provide medical assistance swing bed services.

(b) Medical assistance also covers up to ten days of nursing care provided to a patient in a
swing bed if: (1) the patient's physician certifies that the patient has a terminal illness or condition
that is likely to result in death within 30 days and that moving the patient would not be in the best
interests of the patient and patient's family; (2) no open nursing home beds are available within 25
miles of the facility; and (3) no open beds are available in any Medicare hospice program within
50 miles of the facility. The daily medical assistance payment for nursing care for the patient
in the swing bed is the statewide average medical assistance skilled nursing care per diem as
computed annually by the commissioner on July 1 of each year.

Subd. 2a. Skilled nursing facility and hospice services for dual eligibles. Medical
assistance covers skilled nursing facility services for individuals eligible for both medical
assistance and Medicare who have waived the Medicare skilled nursing facility room and board
benefit and have enrolled in the Medicare hospice program. Medical assistance covers skilled
nursing facility services regardless of whether an individual enrolled in the Medicare hospice
program prior to, on, or after the date of the hospitalization that qualified the individual for
Medicare skilled nursing facility services.

Subd. 3. Physicians' services. (a) Medical assistance covers physicians' services.

(b) Rates paid for anesthesiology services provided by physicians shall be according to
the formula utilized in the Medicare program and shall use a conversion factor "at percentile of
calendar year set by legislature, "except that rates paid to physicians for the medical direction of a
certified registered nurse anesthetist shall be the same as the rate paid to the certified registered
nurse anesthetist under medical direction.

(c) Medical assistance does not cover physicians' services related to the provision of care
related to a treatment reportable under section 144.7065, subdivision 2, clauses (1), (2), (3), and
(5), and subdivision 7, clause (1).

(d) Medical assistance does not cover physicians' services related to the provision of care
(1) for which hospital reimbursement is prohibited under section 256.969, subdivision 3b,
paragraph (c), or (2) reportable under section 144.7065, subdivisions 2 to 7, if the physicians'
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services are billed by a physician who delivered care that contributed to or caused the adverse
health care event or hospital-acquired condition.

(e) The payment limitations in this subdivision shall also apply to MinnesotaCare and
general assistance medical care.

(f) A physician shall not bill a recipient of services for any payment disallowed under
this subdivision.

Subd. 3a. Sex reassignment surgery. Sex reassignment surgery is not covered.

Subd. 3b. Telemedicine consultations. Medical assistance covers telemedicine
consultations. Telemedicine consultations must be made via two-way, interactive video or
store-and-forward technology. Store-and-forward technology includes telemedicine consultations
that do not occur in real time via synchronous transmissions, and that do not require a face-to-face
encounter with the patient for all or any part of any such telemedicine consultation. The patient
record must include a written opinion from the consulting physician providing the telemedicine
consultation. A communication between two physicians that consists solely of a telephone
conversation is not a telemedicine consultation. Coverage is limited to three telemedicine
consultations per recipient per calendar week. Telemedicine consultations shall be paid at the full
allowable rate.

Subd. 3c. Health Services Policy Committee. (a) The commissioner, after receiving
recommendations from professional physician associations, professional associations representing
licensed nonphysician health care professionals, and consumer groups, shall establish a
13-member Health Services Policy Committee, which consists of 12 voting members and one
nonvoting member. The Health Services Policy Committee shall advise the commissioner
regarding health services pertaining to the administration of health care benefits covered under the
medical assistance, general assistance medical care, and MinnesotaCare programs. The Health
Services Policy Committee shall meet at least quarterly. The Health Services Policy Committee
shall annually elect a physician chair from among its members, who shall work directly with the
commissioner's medical director, to establish the agenda for each meeting. The Health Services
Policy Committee shall also recommend criteria for verifying centers of excellence for specific
aspects of medical care where a specific set of combined services, a volume of patients necessary
to maintain a high level of competency, or a specific level of technical capacity is associated with
improved health outcomes.

(b) The commissioner shall establish a dental subcommittee to operate under the Health
Services Policy Committee. The dental subcommittee consists of general dentists, dental
specialists, safety net providers, dental hygienists, health plan company and county and public
health representatives, health researchers, consumers, and a designee of the commissioner of
health. The dental subcommittee shall advise the commissioner regarding:

(1) the critical access dental program under section 256B.76, subdivision 4, including but
not limited to criteria for designating and terminating critical access dental providers;

(2) any changes to the critical access dental provider program necessary to comply with
program expenditure limits;

(3) dental coverage policy based on evidence, quality, continuity of care, and best practices;
(4) the development of dental delivery models; and
(5) dental services to be added or eliminated from subdivision 9, paragraph (b).
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(c) The Health Services Policy Committee shall study approaches to making provider
reimbursement under the medical assistance, MinnesotaCare, and general assistance medical care
programs contingent on patient participation in a patient-centered decision-making process, and
shall evaluate the impact of these approaches on health care quality, patient satisfaction, and
health care costs. The committee shall present findings and recommendations to the commissioner
and the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health care by January 15, 2010.

(d) The Health Services Policy Committee shall monitor and track the practice patterns
of physicians providing services to medical assistance, MinnesotaCare, and general assistance
medical care enrollees under fee-for-service, managed care, and county-based purchasing. The
committee shall focus on services or specialties for which there is a high variation in utilization
across physicians, or which are associated with high medical costs. The commissioner, based upon
the findings of the committee, shall regularly notify physicians whose practice patterns indicate
higher than average utilization or costs. Managed care and county-based purchasing plans shall
provide the commissioner with utilization and cost data necessary to implement this paragraph,
and the commissioner shall make this data available to the committee.

(e) The Health Services Policy Committee shall review caesarean section rates for the
fee-for-service medical assistance population. The committee may develop best practices policies
related to the minimization of caesarean sections, including but not limited to standards and
guidelines for health care providers and health care facilities.

Subd. 3d. Health Services Policy Committee members. The Health Services Policy
Committee consists of:

(1) seven voting members who are licensed physicians actively engaged in the practice
of medicine in Minnesota, one of whom must be actively engaged in the treatment of persons
with mental illness, and three of whom must represent health plans currently under contract to
serve medical assistance recipients;

(2) two voting members who are physician specialists actively practicing their specialty in
Minnesota;

(3) two voting members who are nonphysician health care professionals licensed or
registered in their profession and actively engaged in their practice of their profession in
Minnesota;

(4) one consumer who shall serve as a voting member; and
(5) the commissioner's medical director who shall serve as a nonvoting member.
Members of the Health Services Policy Committee shall not be employed by the

Department of Human Services, except for the medical director.

Subd. 3e. Health Services Policy Committee terms and compensation. Committee
members shall serve staggered three-year terms, with one-third of the voting members' terms
expiring annually. Members may be reappointed by the commissioner. The commissioner may
require more frequent Health Services Policy Committee meetings as needed. An honorarium of
$200 per meeting and reimbursement for mileage and parking shall be paid to each committee
member in attendance except the medical director. The Health Services Policy Committee does
not expire as provided in section 15.059, subdivision 6.

Subd. 3f. Circumcision. Circumcision is not covered, unless the procedure is medically
necessary.
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Subd. 3g. Evidence-based childbirth program. (a) The commissioner shall implement
a program to reduce the number of elective inductions of labor prior to 39 weeks' gestation.
In this subdivision, the term "elective induction of labor" means the use of artificial means to
stimulate labor in a woman without the presence of a medical condition affecting the woman
or the child that makes the onset of labor a medical necessity. The program must promote the
implementation of policies within hospitals providing services to recipients of medical assistance
or MinnesotaCare that prohibit the use of elective inductions prior to 39 weeks' gestation, and
adherence to such policies by the attending providers.

(b) For all births covered by medical assistance or MinnesotaCare on or after January 1,
2012, a payment for professional services associated with the delivery of a child in a hospital
must not be made unless the provider has submitted information about the nature of the labor and
delivery including any induction of labor that was performed in conjunction with that specific
birth. The information must be on a form prescribed by the commissioner.

(c) The requirements in paragraph (b) must not apply to deliveries performed at a hospital
that has policies and processes in place that have been approved by the commissioner which
prohibit elective inductions prior to 39 weeks' gestation. A process for review of hospital
induction policies must be established by the commissioner and review of policies must occur at
the discretion of the commissioner. The commissioner's decision to approve or rescind approval
must include verification and review of items including, but not limited to:

(1) policies that prohibit use of elective inductions for gestation less than 39 weeks;
(2) policies that encourage providers to document and communicate with patients a final

expected date of delivery by 20 weeks' gestation that includes data from ultrasound measurements
as applicable;

(3) policies that encourage patient education regarding elective inductions, and requires
documentation of the processes used to educate patients;

(4) ongoing quality improvement review as determined by the commissioner; and
(5) any data that has been collected by the commissioner.
(d) All hospitals must report annually to the commissioner induction information for all

births that were covered by medical assistance or MinnesotaCare in a format and manner to
be established by the commissioner.

(e) The commissioner at any time may choose not to implement or may discontinue any or
all aspects of the program if the commissioner is able to determine that hospitals representing
at least 90 percent of births covered by medical assistance or MinnesotaCare have approved
policies in place.

Subd. 4. Outpatient and physician-directed clinic services.Medical assistance covers
outpatient hospital or physician-directed clinic services. The physician-directed clinic staff shall
include at least two physicians and all services shall be provided under the direct supervision of a
physician. Hospital outpatient departments are subject to the same limitations and reimbursements
as other enrolled vendors for all services, except initial triage, emergency services, and services
not provided or immediately available in clinics, physicians' offices, or by other enrolled providers.
"Emergency services" means those medical services required for the immediate diagnosis and
treatment of medical conditions that, if not immediately diagnosed and treated, could lead to
serious physical or mental disability or death or are necessary to alleviate severe pain. Neither
the hospital, its employees, nor any physician or dentist, shall be liable in any action arising out
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of a determination not to render emergency services or care if reasonable care is exercised in
determining the condition of the person, or in determining the appropriateness of the facilities, or
the qualifications and availability of personnel to render these services consistent with this section.

Subd. 4a. Second medical opinion for surgery. Certain surgeries require a second medical
opinion to confirm the necessity of the procedure, in order for reimbursement to be made. The
commissioner shall publish in the State Register a list of surgeries that require a second medical
opinion and the criteria and standards for deciding whether a surgery should require a second
medical opinion. The list and the criteria and standards are not subject to the requirements of
sections 14.01 to 14.69. The commissioner's decision about whether a second medical opinion is
required, made according to rules governing that decision, is not subject to administrative appeal.

Subd. 5. Community mental health center services. Medical assistance covers
community mental health center services provided by a community mental health center that
meets the requirements in paragraphs (a) to (j).

(a) The provider is licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts 9520.0750 to 9520.0870.
(b) The provider provides mental health services under the clinical supervision of a

mental health professional who is licensed for independent practice at the doctoral level or by
a board-certified psychiatrist or a psychiatrist who is eligible for board certification. Clinical
supervision has the meaning given in Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0323, subpart 1, item F.

(c) The provider must be a private nonprofit corporation or a governmental agency and
have a community board of directors as specified by section 245.66.

(d) The provider must have a sliding fee scale that meets the requirements in section
245.481, and agree to serve within the limits of its capacity all individuals residing in its service
delivery area.

(e) At a minimum, the provider must provide the following outpatient mental health
services: diagnostic assessment; explanation of findings; family, group, and individual
psychotherapy, including crisis intervention psychotherapy services, multiple family group
psychotherapy, psychological testing, and medication management. In addition, the provider
must provide or be capable of providing upon request of the local mental health authority day
treatment services and professional home-based mental health services. The provider must have
the capacity to provide such services to specialized populations such as the elderly, families with
children, persons who are seriously and persistently mentally ill, and children who are seriously
emotionally disturbed.

(f) The provider must be capable of providing the services specified in paragraph (e) to
individuals who are diagnosed with both mental illness or emotional disturbance, and chemical
dependency, and to individuals dually diagnosed with a mental illness or emotional disturbance
and developmental disability.

(g) The provider must provide 24-hour emergency care services or demonstrate the capacity
to assist recipients in need of such services to access such services on a 24-hour basis.

(h) The provider must have a contract with the local mental health authority to provide one
or more of the services specified in paragraph (e).

(i) The provider must agree, upon request of the local mental health authority, to enter into a
contract with the county to provide mental health services not reimbursable under the medical
assistance program.
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(j) The provider may not be enrolled with the medical assistance program as both a hospital
and a community mental health center. The community mental health center's administrative,
organizational, and financial structure must be separate and distinct from that of the hospital.

Subd. 5a. [Repealed, 2007 c 147 art 5 s 41]

Subd. 5b. [Repealed, 2007 c 147 art 5 s 41]

Subd. 5c. [Repealed, 2007 c 147 art 5 s 41]

Subd. 5d. [Repealed, 2007 c 147 art 5 s 41]

Subd. 5e. [Repealed, 2007 c 147 art 5 s 41]

Subd. 5f. [Repealed, 2007 c 147 art 5 s 41]

Subd. 5g. [Repealed, 2007 c 147 art 5 s 41]

Subd. 5h. [Repealed, 2007 c 147 art 5 s 41]

Subd. 5i. [Repealed, 2007 c 147 art 5 s 41]

Subd. 5j. [Repealed, 2007 c 147 art 5 s 41]

Subd. 5k. [Repealed, 2007 c 147 art 5 s 41]

Subd. 5l. Intensive mental health outpatient treatment. Medical assistance covers
intensive mental health outpatient treatment for dialectical behavioral therapy for adults. The
commissioner shall establish:

(1) certification procedures to ensure that providers of these services are qualified; and

(2) treatment protocols including required service components and criteria for admission,
continued treatment, and discharge.

Subd. 6. [Repealed, 1991 c 292 art 7 s 26]

Subd. 6a. Home health services. Home health services are those services specified in
Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0295 and sections 256B.0651 and 256B.0653. Medical assistance
covers home health services at a recipient's home residence. Medical assistance does not cover
home health services for residents of a hospital, nursing facility, or intermediate care facility,
unless the commissioner of human services has authorized skilled nurse visits for less than 90
days for a resident at an intermediate care facility for persons with developmental disabilities, to
prevent an admission to a hospital or nursing facility or unless a resident who is otherwise eligible
is on leave from the facility and the facility either pays for the home health services or forgoes
the facility per diem for the leave days that home health services are used. Home health services
must be provided by a Medicare certified home health agency. All nursing and home health aide
services must be provided according to sections 256B.0651 to 256B.0653.

Subd. 7. Private duty nursing. Medical assistance covers private duty nursing services
in a recipient's home. Recipients who are authorized to receive private duty nursing services in
their home may use approved hours outside of the home during hours when normal life activities
take them outside of their home. To use private duty nursing services at school, the recipient or
responsible party must provide written authorization in the care plan identifying the chosen
provider and the daily amount of services to be used at school. Medical assistance does not cover
private duty nursing services for residents of a hospital, nursing facility, intermediate care facility,
or a health care facility licensed by the commissioner of health, except as authorized in section
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256B.64 for ventilator-dependent recipients in hospitals or unless a resident who is otherwise
eligible is on leave from the facility and the facility either pays for the private duty nursing
services or forgoes the facility per diem for the leave days that private duty nursing services are
used. Total hours of service and payment allowed for services outside the home cannot exceed
that which is otherwise allowed in an in-home setting according to sections 256B.0651 and
256B.0654 to 256B.0656. All private duty nursing services must be provided according to the
limits established under sections 256B.0651 and 256B.0653 to 256B.0656. Private duty nursing
services may not be reimbursed if the nurse is the family foster care provider of a recipient who is
under age 18, unless allowed under section 256B.0654, subdivision 4.

Subd. 8. Physical therapy. (a) Medical assistance covers physical therapy and related
services. Specialized maintenance therapy is covered for recipients age 20 and under.

(b) Authorization by the commissioner is required to provide medically necessary services
to a recipient. Services provided by a physical therapy assistant shall be reimbursed at the same
rate as services performed by a physical therapist when the services of the physical therapy
assistant are provided under the direction of a physical therapist who is on the premises. Services
provided by a physical therapy assistant that are provided under the direction of a physical
therapist who is not on the premises shall be reimbursed at 65 percent of the physical therapist rate.

[See Note.]

Subd. 8a. Occupational therapy. (a) Medical assistance covers occupational therapy and
related services. Specialized maintenance therapy is covered for recipients age 20 and under.

(b) Authorization by the commissioner is required to provide medically necessary services
to a recipient. Services provided by an occupational therapy assistant shall be reimbursed at
the same rate as services performed by an occupational therapist when the services of the
occupational therapy assistant are provided under the direction of the occupational therapist who
is on the premises. Services provided by an occupational therapy assistant that are provided under
the direction of an occupational therapist who is not on the premises shall be reimbursed at
65 percent of the occupational therapist rate.

[See Note.]

Subd. 8b. Speech-language pathology and audiology services. (a) Medical assistance
covers speech-language pathology and related services. Specialized maintenance therapy is
covered for recipients age 20 and under.

(b) Authorization by the commissioner is required to provide medically necessary
speech-language pathology services to a recipient.

(c) Medical assistance covers audiology services and related services. Services provided by
a person who has been issued a temporary registration under section 148.5161 shall be reimbursed
at the same rate as services performed by a speech-language pathologist or audiologist as long as
the requirements of section 148.5161, subdivision 3, are met.

[See Note.]

Subd. 8c. Care management; rehabilitation services. (a) A care management approach
for authorization of rehabilitation services described in subdivisions 8, 8a, and 8b shall be
instituted. The care management approach shall require the provider and the department
rehabilitation reviewer to work together directly through written communication, or telephone
communication when appropriate, to establish a medically necessary care management plan.
Authorization for rehabilitation services shall include approval for up to six months of services at
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a time without additional documentation from the provider during the extended period, when the
rehabilitation services are medically necessary due to an ongoing health condition.

(b) The commissioner shall implement an expedited five-day turnaround time to review
authorization requests for recipients who need emergency rehabilitation services.

[See Note.]

Subd. 8d. Home infusion therapy services. Home infusion therapy services provided
by home infusion therapy pharmacies must be paid the lower of the submitted charge or the
combined payment rates for component services typically provided.

[See Note.]

Subd. 8e. Chiropractic services. Payment for chiropractic services is limited to one annual
evaluation and 24 visits per year unless prior authorization of a greater number of visits is
obtained.

Subd. 8f. Acupuncture services. Medical assistance covers acupuncture, as defined in
section 147B.01, subdivision 3, only when provided by a licensed acupuncturist or by another
Minnesota licensed practitioner for whom acupuncture is within the practitioner's scope of
practice and who has specific acupuncture training or credentialing.

Subd. 9. Dental services. (a) Medical assistance covers dental services.
(b) Medical assistance dental coverage for nonpregnant adults is limited to the following

services:
(1) comprehensive exams, limited to once every five years;
(2) periodic exams, limited to one per year;
(3) limited exams;
(4) bitewing x-rays, limited to one per year;
(5) periapical x-rays;
(6) panoramic x-rays, limited to one every five years except (1) when medically necessary

for the diagnosis and follow-up of oral and maxillofacial pathology and trauma or (2) once every
two years for patients who cannot cooperate for intraoral film due to a developmental disability or
medical condition that does not allow for intraoral film placement;

(7) prophylaxis, limited to one per year;
(8) application of fluoride varnish, limited to one per year;
(9) posterior fillings, all at the amalgam rate;
(10) anterior fillings;
(11) endodontics, limited to root canals on the anterior and premolars only;
(12) removable prostheses, each dental arch limited to one every six years;
(13) oral surgery, limited to extractions, biopsies, and incision and drainage of abscesses;
(14) palliative treatment and sedative fillings for relief of pain; and
(15) full-mouth debridement, limited to one every five years.
(c) In addition to the services specified in paragraph (b), medical assistance covers

the following services for adults, if provided in an outpatient hospital setting or freestanding
ambulatory surgical center as part of outpatient dental surgery:

Copyright © 2011 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



100 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2011 256B.0625

(1) periodontics, limited to periodontal scaling and root planing once every two years;

(2) general anesthesia; and

(3) full-mouth survey once every five years.

(d) Medical assistance covers medically necessary dental services for children and pregnant
women. The following guidelines apply:

(1) posterior fillings are paid at the amalgam rate;

(2) application of sealants are covered once every five years per permanent molar for
children only;

(3) application of fluoride varnish is covered once every six months; and

(4) orthodontia is eligible for coverage for children only.

Subd. 10. Laboratory and x-ray services. Medical assistance covers laboratory and
x-ray services.

Subd. 11. Nurse anesthetist services.Medical assistance covers nurse anesthetist services.
Rates paid for anesthesiology services provided by a certified registered nurse anesthetist
under the direction of a physician shall be according to the formula utilized in the Medicare
program and shall use the conversion factor that is used by the Medicare program. Rates paid for
anesthesiology services provided by a certified registered nurse anesthetist who is not directed by
a physician shall be the same rate as paid under subdivision 3, paragraph (b).

Subd. 12. Eyeglasses, dentures, and prosthetic devices. Medical assistance covers
eyeglasses, dentures, and prosthetic devices if prescribed by a licensed practitioner.

Subd. 13. Drugs. (a) Medical assistance covers drugs, except for fertility drugs when
specifically used to enhance fertility, if prescribed by a licensed practitioner and dispensed by a
licensed pharmacist, by a physician enrolled in the medical assistance program as a dispensing
physician, or by a physician, physician assistant, or a nurse practitioner employed by or under
contract with a community health board as defined in section 145A.02, subdivision 5, for the
purposes of communicable disease control.

(b) The dispensed quantity of a prescription drug must not exceed a 34-day supply, unless
authorized by the commissioner.

(c) Medical assistance covers the following over-the-counter drugs when prescribed by
a licensed practitioner or by a licensed pharmacist who meets standards established by the
commissioner, in consultation with the board of pharmacy: antacids, acetaminophen, family
planning products, aspirin, insulin, products for the treatment of lice, vitamins for adults with
documented vitamin deficiencies, vitamins for children under the age of seven and pregnant
or nursing women, and any other over-the-counter drug identified by the commissioner, in
consultation with the formulary committee, as necessary, appropriate, and cost-effective
for the treatment of certain specified chronic diseases, conditions, or disorders, and this
determination shall not be subject to the requirements of chapter 14. A pharmacist may prescribe
over-the-counter medications as provided under this paragraph for purposes of receiving
reimbursement under Medicaid. When prescribing over-the-counter drugs under this paragraph,
licensed pharmacists must consult with the recipient to determine necessity, provide drug
counseling, review drug therapy for potential adverse interactions, and make referrals as needed
to other health care professionals.
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(d) Effective January 1, 2006, medical assistance shall not cover drugs that are coverable
under Medicare Part D as defined in the Medicare Prescription Drug, Improvement, and
Modernization Act of 2003, Public Law 108-173, section 1860D-2(e), for individuals eligible for
drug coverage as defined in the Medicare Prescription Drug, Improvement, and Modernization
Act of 2003, Public Law 108-173, section 1860D-1(a)(3)(A). For these individuals, medical
assistance may cover drugs from the drug classes listed in United States Code, title 42, section
1396r-8(d)(2), subject to this subdivision and subdivisions 13a to 13g, except that drugs listed in
United States Code, title 42, section 1396r-8(d)(2)(E), shall not be covered.

Subd. 13a. [Repealed, 2007 c 133 art 2 s 13]

Subd. 13b. [Repealed, 1997 c 203 art 4 s 73]

Subd. 13c. Formulary committee. The commissioner, after receiving recommendations
from professional medical associations and professional pharmacy associations, and consumer
groups shall designate a Formulary Committee to carry out duties as described in subdivisions 13
to 13g. The Formulary Committee shall be comprised of four licensed physicians actively engaged
in the practice of medicine in Minnesota one of whom must be actively engaged in the treatment
of persons with mental illness; at least three licensed pharmacists actively engaged in the practice
of pharmacy in Minnesota; and one consumer representative; the remainder to be made up of
health care professionals who are licensed in their field and have recognized knowledge in the
clinically appropriate prescribing, dispensing, and monitoring of covered outpatient drugs.
Members of the Formulary Committee shall not be employed by the Department of Human
Services, but the committee shall be staffed by an employee of the department who shall serve as
an ex officio, nonvoting member of the committee. The department's medical director shall also
serve as an ex officio, nonvoting member for the committee. Committee members shall serve
three-year terms and may be reappointed by the commissioner. The Formulary Committee shall
meet at least twice per year. The commissioner may require more frequent Formulary Committee
meetings as needed. An honorarium of $100 per meeting and reimbursement for mileage shall be
paid to each committee member in attendance.

Subd. 13d. Drug formulary. (a) The commissioner shall establish a drug formulary. Its
establishment and publication shall not be subject to the requirements of the Administrative
Procedure Act, but the Formulary Committee shall review and comment on the formulary
contents.

(b) The formulary shall not include:
(1) drugs or products for which there is no federal funding;
(2) over-the-counter drugs, except as provided in subdivision 13;
(3) drugs used for weight loss, except that medically necessary lipase inhibitors may be

covered for a recipient with type II diabetes;
(4) drugs when used for the treatment of impotence or erectile dysfunction;
(5) drugs for which medical value has not been established; and
(6) drugs from manufacturers who have not signed a rebate agreement with the Department

of Health and Human Services pursuant to section 1927 of title XIX of the Social Security Act.
(c) If a single-source drug used by at least two percent of the fee-for-service medical

assistance recipients is removed from the formulary due to the failure of the manufacturer to sign
a rebate agreement with the Department of Health and Human Services, the commissioner shall
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notify prescribing practitioners within 30 days of receiving notification from the Centers for
Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) that a rebate agreement was not signed.

Subd. 13e. Payment rates. (a) The basis for determining the amount of payment shall be
the lower of the actual acquisition costs of the drugs or the maximum allowable cost by the
commissioner plus the fixed dispensing fee; or the usual and customary price charged to the
public. The amount of payment basis must be reduced to reflect all discount amounts applied
to the charge by any provider/insurer agreement or contract for submitted charges to medical
assistance programs. The net submitted charge may not be greater than the patient liability for
the service. The pharmacy dispensing fee shall be $3.65, except that the dispensing fee for
intravenous solutions which must be compounded by the pharmacist shall be $8 per bag, $14 per
bag for cancer chemotherapy products, and $30 per bag for total parenteral nutritional products
dispensed in one liter quantities, or $44 per bag for total parenteral nutritional products dispensed
in quantities greater than one liter. Actual acquisition cost includes quantity and other special
discounts except time and cash discounts. The actual acquisition cost of a drug shall be estimated
by the commissioner at wholesale acquisition cost plus four percent for independently owned
pharmacies located in a designated rural area within Minnesota, and at wholesale acquisition cost
plus two percent for all other pharmacies. A pharmacy is "independently owned" if it is one
of four or fewer pharmacies under the same ownership nationally. A "designated rural area"
means an area defined as a small rural area or isolated rural area according to the four-category
classification of the Rural Urban Commuting Area system developed for the United States
Health Resources and Services Administration. Wholesale acquisition cost is defined as the
manufacturer's list price for a drug or biological to wholesalers or direct purchasers in the United
States, not including prompt pay or other discounts, rebates, or reductions in price, for the most
recent month for which information is available, as reported in wholesale price guides or other
publications of drug or biological pricing data. The maximum allowable cost of a multisource
drug may be set by the commissioner and it shall be comparable to, but no higher than, the
maximum amount paid by other third-party payors in this state who have maximum allowable
cost programs. Establishment of the amount of payment for drugs shall not be subject to the
requirements of the Administrative Procedure Act.

(b) An additional dispensing fee of $.30 may be added to the dispensing fee paid to
pharmacists for legend drug prescriptions dispensed to residents of long-term care facilities
when a unit dose blister card system, approved by the department, is used. Under this type of
dispensing system, the pharmacist must dispense a 30-day supply of drug. The National Drug
Code (NDC) from the drug container used to fill the blister card must be identified on the claim
to the department. The unit dose blister card containing the drug must meet the packaging
standards set forth in Minnesota Rules, part 6800.2700, that govern the return of unused drugs
to the pharmacy for reuse. The pharmacy provider will be required to credit the department
for the actual acquisition cost of all unused drugs that are eligible for reuse. Over-the-counter
medications must be dispensed in the manufacturer's unopened package. The commissioner may
permit the drug clozapine to be dispensed in a quantity that is less than a 30-day supply.

(c) Whenever a maximum allowable cost has been set for a multisource drug, payment shall
be the lower of the usual and customary price charged to the public or the maximum allowable
cost established by the commissioner unless prior authorization for the brand name product has
been granted according to the criteria established by the Drug Formulary Committee as required
by subdivision 13f, paragraph (a), and the prescriber has indicated "dispense as written" on the
prescription in a manner consistent with section 151.21, subdivision 2.
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(d) The basis for determining the amount of payment for drugs administered in an outpatient
setting shall be the lower of the usual and customary cost submitted by the provider or 106 percent
of the average sales price as determined by the United States Department of Health and Human
Services pursuant to title XVIII, section 1847a of the federal Social Security Act. If average sales
price is unavailable, the amount of payment must be lower of the usual and customary cost
submitted by the provider or the wholesale acquisition cost.

(e) The commissioner may negotiate lower reimbursement rates for specialty pharmacy
products than the rates specified in paragraph (a). The commissioner may require individuals
enrolled in the health care programs administered by the department to obtain specialty pharmacy
products from providers with whom the commissioner has negotiated lower reimbursement
rates. Specialty pharmacy products are defined as those used by a small number of recipients
or recipients with complex and chronic diseases that require expensive and challenging drug
regimens. Examples of these conditions include, but are not limited to: multiple sclerosis,
HIV/AIDS, transplantation, hepatitis C, growth hormone deficiency, Crohn's Disease, rheumatoid
arthritis, and certain forms of cancer. Specialty pharmaceutical products include injectable and
infusion therapies, biotechnology drugs, antihemophilic factor products, high-cost therapies, and
therapies that require complex care. The commissioner shall consult with the formulary committee
to develop a list of specialty pharmacy products subject to this paragraph. In consulting with the
formulary committee in developing this list, the commissioner shall take into consideration the
population served by specialty pharmacy products, the current delivery system and standard of
care in the state, and access to care issues. The commissioner shall have the discretion to adjust
the reimbursement rate to prevent access to care issues.

(f) Home infusion therapy services provided by home infusion therapy pharmacies must
be paid at rates according to subdivision 8d.

[See Note.]

Subd. 13f. Prior authorization. (a) The Formulary Committee shall review and
recommend drugs which require prior authorization. The Formulary Committee shall establish
general criteria to be used for the prior authorization of brand-name drugs for which generically
equivalent drugs are available, but the committee is not required to review each brand-name drug
for which a generically equivalent drug is available.

(b) Prior authorization may be required by the commissioner before certain formulary drugs
are eligible for payment. The Formulary Committee may recommend drugs for prior authorization
directly to the commissioner. The commissioner may also request that the Formulary Committee
review a drug for prior authorization. Before the commissioner may require prior authorization
for a drug:

(1) the commissioner must provide information to the Formulary Committee on the impact
that placing the drug on prior authorization may have on the quality of patient care and on
program costs, information regarding whether the drug is subject to clinical abuse or misuse, and
relevant data from the state Medicaid program if such data is available;

(2) the Formulary Committee must review the drug, taking into account medical and
clinical data and the information provided by the commissioner; and

(3) the Formulary Committee must hold a public forum and receive public comment for
an additional 15 days.
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The commissioner must provide a 15-day notice period before implementing the prior
authorization.

(c) Except as provided in subdivision 13j, prior authorization shall not be required or
utilized for any atypical antipsychotic drug prescribed for the treatment of mental illness if:

(1) there is no generically equivalent drug available; and

(2) the drug was initially prescribed for the recipient prior to July 1, 2003; or

(3) the drug is part of the recipient's current course of treatment.

This paragraph applies to any multistate preferred drug list or supplemental drug rebate program
established or administered by the commissioner. Prior authorization shall automatically be
granted for 60 days for brand name drugs prescribed for treatment of mental illness within 60
days of when a generically equivalent drug becomes available, provided that the brand name
drug was part of the recipient's course of treatment at the time the generically equivalent drug
became available.

(d) Prior authorization shall not be required or utilized for any antihemophilic factor drug
prescribed for the treatment of hemophilia and blood disorders where there is no generically
equivalent drug available if the prior authorization is used in conjunction with any supplemental
drug rebate program or multistate preferred drug list established or administered by the
commissioner.

(e) The commissioner may require prior authorization for brand name drugs whenever a
generically equivalent product is available, even if the prescriber specifically indicates "dispense
as written-brand necessary" on the prescription as required by section 151.21, subdivision 2.

(f) Notwithstanding this subdivision, the commissioner may automatically require prior
authorization, for a period not to exceed 180 days, for any drug that is approved by the United
States Food and Drug Administration on or after July 1, 2005. The 180-day period begins no
later than the first day that a drug is available for shipment to pharmacies within the state. The
Formulary Committee shall recommend to the commissioner general criteria to be used for the
prior authorization of the drugs, but the committee is not required to review each individual drug.
In order to continue prior authorizations for a drug after the 180-day period has expired, the
commissioner must follow the provisions of this subdivision.

Subd. 13g. Preferred drug list. (a) The commissioner shall adopt and implement a
preferred drug list by January 1, 2004. The commissioner may enter into a contract with a vendor
for the purpose of participating in a preferred drug list and supplemental rebate program. The
commissioner shall ensure that any contract meets all federal requirements and maximizes federal
financial participation. The commissioner shall publish the preferred drug list annually in the State
Register and shall maintain an accurate and up-to-date list on the agency Web site.

(b) The commissioner may add to, delete from, and otherwise modify the preferred drug
list, after consulting with the Formulary Committee and appropriate medical specialists and
providing public notice and the opportunity for public comment.

(c) The commissioner shall adopt and administer the preferred drug list as part of the
administration of the supplemental drug rebate program. Reimbursement for prescription drugs
not on the preferred drug list may be subject to prior authorization.
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(d) For purposes of this subdivision, "preferred drug list" means a list of prescription drugs
within designated therapeutic classes selected by the commissioner, for which prior authorization
based on the identity of the drug or class is not required.

(e) The commissioner shall seek any federal waivers or approvals necessary to implement
this subdivision.

Subd. 13h.Medication therapy management services. (a) Medical assistance and general
assistance medical care cover medication therapy management services for a recipient taking
three or more prescriptions to treat or prevent one or more chronic medical conditions; a recipient
with a drug therapy problem that is identified by the commissioner or identified by a pharmacist
and approved by the commissioner; or prior authorized by the commissioner that has resulted or
is likely to result in significant nondrug program costs. The commissioner may cover medical
therapy management services under MinnesotaCare if the commissioner determines this is
cost-effective. For purposes of this subdivision, "medication therapy management" means the
provision of the following pharmaceutical care services by a licensed pharmacist to optimize the
therapeutic outcomes of the patient's medications:

(1) performing or obtaining necessary assessments of the patient's health status;

(2) formulating a medication treatment plan;

(3) monitoring and evaluating the patient's response to therapy, including safety and
effectiveness;

(4) performing a comprehensive medication review to identify, resolve, and prevent
medication-related problems, including adverse drug events;

(5) documenting the care delivered and communicating essential information to the patient's
other primary care providers;

(6) providing verbal education and training designed to enhance patient understanding and
appropriate use of the patient's medications;

(7) providing information, support services, and resources designed to enhance patient
adherence with the patient's therapeutic regimens; and

(8) coordinating and integrating medication therapy management services within the
broader health care management services being provided to the patient.

Nothing in this subdivision shall be construed to expand or modify the scope of practice of the
pharmacist as defined in section 151.01, subdivision 27.

(b) To be eligible for reimbursement for services under this subdivision, a pharmacist must
meet the following requirements:

(1) have a valid license issued under chapter 151;

(2) have graduated from an accredited college of pharmacy on or after May 1996, or
completed a structured and comprehensive education program approved by the Board of Pharmacy
and the American Council of Pharmaceutical Education for the provision and documentation of
pharmaceutical care management services that has both clinical and didactic elements;

(3) be practicing in an ambulatory care setting as part of a multidisciplinary team or have
developed a structured patient care process that is offered in a private or semiprivate patient care
area that is separate from the commercial business that also occurs in the setting, or in home
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settings, including long-term care settings, group homes, and facilities providing assisted living
services, but excluding skilled nursing facilities; and

(4) make use of an electronic patient record system that meets state standards.
(c) For purposes of reimbursement for medication therapy management services, the

commissioner may enroll individual pharmacists as medical assistance and general assistance
medical care providers. The commissioner may also establish contact requirements between
the pharmacist and recipient, including limiting the number of reimbursable consultations per
recipient.

(d) If there are no pharmacists who meet the requirements of paragraph (b) practicing
within a reasonable geographic distance of the patient, a pharmacist who meets the requirements
may provide the services via two-way interactive video. Reimbursement shall be at the same
rates and under the same conditions that would otherwise apply to the services provided. To
qualify for reimbursement under this paragraph, the pharmacist providing the services must
meet the requirements of paragraph (b), and must be located within an ambulatory care setting
approved by the commissioner. The patient must also be located within an ambulatory care setting
approved by the commissioner. Services provided under this paragraph may not be transmitted
into the patient's residence.

(e) The commissioner shall establish a pilot project for an intensive medication therapy
management program for patients identified by the commissioner with multiple chronic
conditions and a high number of medications who are at high risk of preventable hospitalizations,
emergency room use, medication complications, and suboptimal treatment outcomes due to
medication-related problems. For purposes of the pilot project, medication therapy management
services may be provided in a patient's home or community setting, in addition to other authorized
settings. The commissioner may waive existing payment policies and establish special payment
rates for the pilot project. The pilot project must be designed to produce a net savings to the state
compared to the estimated costs that would otherwise be incurred for similar patients without the
program. The pilot project must begin by January 1, 2010, and end June 30, 2012.

[See Note.]

Subd. 13i. Drug Utilization Review Board; report. (a) A nine-member Drug Utilization
Review Board is established. The board must be comprised of at least three but no more than
four licensed physicians actively engaged in the practice of medicine in Minnesota; at least
three licensed pharmacists actively engaged in the practice of pharmacy in Minnesota; and one
consumer representative. The remainder must be made up of health care professionals who are
licensed in their field and have recognized knowledge in the clinically appropriate prescribing,
dispensing, and monitoring of covered outpatient drugs. Members of the board must be appointed
by the commissioner, shall serve three-year terms, and may be reappointed by the commissioner.
The board shall annually elect a chair from among its members.

(b) The board must be staffed by an employee of the department who shall serve as an ex
officio nonvoting member of the board.

(c) The commissioner shall, with the advice of the board:
(1) implement a medical assistance retrospective and prospective drug utilization review

program as required by United States Code, title 42, section 1396r-8, subsection (g), paragraph (3);
(2) develop and implement the predetermined criteria and practice parameters for

appropriate prescribing to be used in retrospective and prospective drug utilization review;
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(3) develop, select, implement, and assess interventions for physicians, pharmacists, and
patients that are educational and not punitive in nature;

(4) establish a grievance and appeals process for physicians and pharmacists under this
section;

(5) publish and disseminate educational information to physicians and pharmacists
regarding the board and the review program;

(6) adopt and implement procedures designed to ensure the confidentiality of any
information collected, stored, retrieved, assessed, or analyzed by the board, staff to the board, or
contractors to the review program that identifies individual physicians, pharmacists, or recipients;

(7) establish and implement an ongoing process to:
(i) receive public comment regarding drug utilization review criteria and standards; and
(ii) consider the comments along with other scientific and clinical information in order to

revise criteria and standards on a timely basis; and
(8) adopt any rules necessary to carry out this section.
(d) The board may establish advisory committees. The commissioner may contract with

appropriate organizations to assist the board in carrying out the board's duties. The commissioner
may enter into contracts for services to develop and implement a retrospective and prospective
review program.

(e) The board shall report to the commissioner annually on the date the drug utilization
review annual report is due to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. This report must
cover the preceding federal fiscal year. The commissioner shall make the report available to the
public upon request. The report must include information on the activities of the board and the
program; the effectiveness of implemented interventions; administrative costs; and any fiscal
impact resulting from the program. An honorarium of $100 per meeting and reimbursement for
mileage must be paid to each board member in attendance.

(f) This subdivision is exempt from the provisions of section 15.059. Notwithstanding
section 15.059, subdivision 5, the board is permanent and does not expire.

Subd. 13j. Antipsychotic and attention deficit disorder and attention deficit
hyperactivity disorder medications. (a) The commissioner, in consultation with the Drug
Utilization Review Board established in subdivision 13i and actively practicing pediatric mental
health professionals, must:

(1) identify recommended pediatric dose ranges for atypical antipsychotic drugs and drugs
used for attention deficit disorder or attention deficit hyperactivity disorder based on available
medical, clinical, and safety data and research. The commissioner shall periodically review the
list of medications and pediatric dose ranges and update the medications and doses listed as
needed after consultation with the Drug Utilization Review Board;

(2) identify situations where a collaborative psychiatric consultation and prior authorization
should be required before the initiation or continuation of drug therapy in pediatric patients
including, but not limited to, high-dose regimens, off-label use of prescription medication, a
patient's young age, and lack of coordination among multiple prescribing providers; and

(3) track prescriptive practices and the use of psychotropic medications in children with
the goal of reducing the use of medication, where appropriate.
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(b) Effective July 1, 2011, the commissioner shall require prior authorization and a
collaborative psychiatric consultation before an atypical antipsychotic and attention deficit
disorder and attention deficit hyperactivity disorder medication meeting the criteria identified in
paragraph (a), clause (2), is eligible for payment. A collaborative psychiatric consultation must be
completed before the identified medications are eligible for payment unless:

(1) the patient has already been stabilized on the medication regimen; or
(2) the prescriber indicates that the child is in crisis.

If clause (1) or (2) applies, the collaborative psychiatric consultation must be completed within
90 days for payment to continue.

(c) For purposes of this subdivision, a collaborative psychiatric consultation must meet the
criteria described in section 245.4862, subdivision 4.

Subd. 14. Diagnostic, screening, and preventive services. (a) Medical assistance covers
diagnostic, screening, and preventive services.

(b) "Preventive services" include services related to pregnancy, including:
(1) services for those conditions which may complicate a pregnancy and which may be

available to a pregnant woman determined to be at risk of poor pregnancy outcome;
(2) prenatal HIV risk assessment, education, counseling, and testing; and
(3) alcohol abuse assessment, education, and counseling on the effects of alcohol usage

while pregnant. Preventive services available to a woman at risk of poor pregnancy outcome
may differ in an amount, duration, or scope from those available to other individuals eligible
for medical assistance.

(c) "Screening services" include, but are not limited to, blood lead tests.
(d) The commissioner shall encourage, at the time of the child and teen checkup or at an

episodic care visit, the primary care health care provider to perform primary caries preventive
services. Primary caries preventive services include, at a minimum:

(1) a general visual examination of the child's mouth without using probes or other dental
equipment or taking radiographs;

(2) a risk assessment using the factors established by the American Academies of Pediatrics
and Pediatric Dentistry; and

(3) the application of a fluoride varnish beginning at age one to those children assessed by
the provider as being high risk in accordance with best practices as defined by the Department of
Human Services. The provider must obtain parental or legal guardian consent before a fluoride
treatment is applied to a minor child's teeth.
At each checkup, if primary caries preventive services are provided, the provider must provide
to the child's parent or legal guardian: information on caries etiology and prevention; and
information on the importance of finding a dental home for their child by the age of one. The
provider must also advise the parent or legal guardian to contact the child's managed care plan or
the Department of Human Services in order to secure a dental appointment with a dentist. The
provider must indicate in the child's medical record that the parent or legal guardian was provided
with this information and document any primary caries prevention services provided to the child.

Subd. 15. Health plan premiums and co-payments. (a) Medical assistance covers health
care prepayment plan premiums, insurance premiums, and co-payments if determined to be
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cost-effective by the commissioner. For purposes of obtaining Medicare Part A and Part B, and
co-payments, expenditures may be made even if federal funding is not available.

(b) Effective for all premiums due on or after June 30, 1997, medical assistance does not
cover premiums that a recipient is required to pay under a qualified or Medicare supplement
plan issued by the Minnesota Comprehensive Health Association. Medical assistance shall
continue to cover premiums for recipients who are covered under a plan issued by the Minnesota
Comprehensive Health Association on June 30, 1997, for a period of six months following receipt
of the notice of termination or until December 31, 1997, whichever is later.

Subd. 16. Abortion services.Medical assistance covers abortion services, but only if one
of the following conditions is met:

(a) The abortion is a medical necessity. "Medical necessity" means (1) the signed written
statement of two physicians indicating the abortion is medically necessary to prevent the death of
the mother, and (2) the patient has given her consent to the abortion in writing unless the patient is
physically or legally incapable of providing informed consent to the procedure, in which case
consent will be given as otherwise provided by law;

(b) The pregnancy is the result of criminal sexual conduct as defined in section 609.342,
clauses (c), (d), (e)(i), and (f), and the incident is reported within 48 hours after the incident
occurs to a valid law enforcement agency for investigation, unless the victim is physically unable
to report the criminal sexual conduct, in which case the report shall be made within 48 hours after
the victim becomes physically able to report the criminal sexual conduct; or

(c) The pregnancy is the result of incest, but only if the incident and relative are reported to
a valid law enforcement agency for investigation prior to the abortion.

[See Note.]

Subd. 17. Transportation costs. (a) Medical assistance covers medical transportation
costs incurred solely for obtaining emergency medical care or transportation costs incurred by
eligible persons in obtaining emergency or nonemergency medical care when paid directly to an
ambulance company, common carrier, or other recognized providers of transportation services.
Medical transportation must be provided by:

(1) an ambulance, as defined in section 144E.001, subdivision 2;
(2) special transportation; or
(3) common carrier including, but not limited to, bus, taxicab, other commercial carrier, or

private automobile.
(b) Medical assistance covers special transportation, as defined in Minnesota Rules, part

9505.0315, subpart 1, item F, if the recipient has a physical or mental impairment that would
prohibit the recipient from safely accessing and using a bus, taxi, other commercial transportation,
or private automobile.
The commissioner may use an order by the recipient's attending physician to certify that the
recipient requires special transportation services. Special transportation providers shall perform
driver-assisted services for eligible individuals. Driver-assisted service includes passenger pickup
at and return to the individual's residence or place of business, assistance with admittance of
the individual to the medical facility, and assistance in passenger securement or in securing of
wheelchairs or stretchers in the vehicle. Special transportation providers must obtain written
documentation from the health care service provider who is serving the recipient being
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transported, identifying the time that the recipient arrived. Special transportation providers may
not bill for separate base rates for the continuation of a trip beyond the original destination.
Special transportation providers must take recipients to the nearest appropriate health care
provider, using the most direct route. The minimum medical assistance reimbursement rates for
special transportation services are:

(1)(i) $17 for the base rate and $1.35 per mile for special transportation services to eligible
persons who need a wheelchair-accessible van;

(ii) $11.50 for the base rate and $1.30 per mile for special transportation services to eligible
persons who do not need a wheelchair-accessible van; and

(iii) $60 for the base rate and $2.40 per mile, and an attendant rate of $9 per trip, for special
transportation services to eligible persons who need a stretcher-accessible vehicle;

(2) the base rates for special transportation services in areas defined under RUCA to be
super rural shall be equal to the reimbursement rate established in clause (1) plus 11.3 percent; and

(3) for special transportation services in areas defined under RUCA to be rural or super
rural areas:

(i) for a trip equal to 17 miles or less, mileage reimbursement shall be equal to 125 percent
of the respective mileage rate in clause (1); and

(ii) for a trip between 18 and 50 miles, mileage reimbursement shall be equal to 112.5
percent of the respective mileage rate in clause (1).

(c) For purposes of reimbursement rates for special transportation services under paragraph
(b), the zip code of the recipient's place of residence shall determine whether the urban, rural, or
super rural reimbursement rate applies.

(d) For purposes of this subdivision, "rural urban commuting area" or "RUCA" means a
census-tract based classification system under which a geographical area is determined to be
urban, rural, or super rural.

(e) Effective for services provided on or after September 1, 2011, nonemergency
transportation rates, including special transportation, taxi, and other commercial carriers, are
reduced 4.5 percent. Payments made to managed care plans and county-based purchasing plans
must be reduced for services provided on or after January 1, 2012, to reflect this reduction.

Subd. 17a. Payment for ambulance services. (a) Medical assistance covers ambulance
services. Providers shall bill ambulance services according to Medicare criteria. Nonemergency
ambulance services shall not be paid as emergencies. Effective for services rendered on or after
July 1, 2001, medical assistance payments for ambulance services shall be paid at the Medicare
reimbursement rate or at the medical assistance payment rate in effect on July 1, 2000, whichever
is greater.

(b) Effective for services provided on or after September 1, 2011, ambulance services
payment rates are reduced 4.5 percent. Payments made to managed care plans and county-based
purchasing plans must be reduced for services provided on or after January 1, 2012, to reflect
this reduction.

Subd. 18. Bus or taxicab transportation. To the extent authorized by rule of the state
agency, medical assistance covers the most appropriate and cost-effective form of transportation
incurred by any ambulatory eligible person for obtaining nonemergency medical care.
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Subd. 18a. Access to medical services. (a) Medical assistance reimbursement for meals
for persons traveling to receive medical care may not exceed $5.50 for breakfast, $6.50 for
lunch, or $8 for dinner.

(b) Medical assistance reimbursement for lodging for persons traveling to receive medical
care may not exceed $50 per day unless prior authorized by the local agency.

(c) Medical assistance direct mileage reimbursement to the eligible person or the eligible
person's driver may not exceed 20 cents per mile.

(d) Regardless of the number of employees that an enrolled health care provider may
have, medical assistance covers sign and oral language interpreter services when provided by an
enrolled health care provider during the course of providing a direct, person-to-person covered
health care service to an enrolled recipient with limited English proficiency or who has a hearing
loss and uses interpreting services. Coverage for face-to-face oral language interpreter services
shall be provided only if the oral language interpreter used by the enrolled health care provider is
listed in the registry or roster established under section 144.058.

Subd. 18b. Broker dispatching prohibition. The commissioner shall not use a broker or
coordinator for any purpose related to transportation services under subdivision 18.

Subd. 19. [Repealed, 1991 c 292 art 7 s 26]

Subd. 19a. Personal care assistance services. Medical assistance covers personal care
assistance services in a recipient's home. Effective January 1, 2010, to qualify for personal care
assistance services, a recipient must require assistance and be determined dependent in one
activity of daily living as defined in section 256B.0659, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), or in a Level
I behavior as defined in section 256B.0659, subdivision 1, paragraph (c). Recipients or responsible
parties must be able to identify the recipient's needs, direct and evaluate task accomplishment,
and provide for health and safety. Approved hours may be used outside the home when normal
life activities take them outside the home. To use personal care assistance services at school, the
recipient or responsible party must provide written authorization in the care plan identifying the
chosen provider and the daily amount of services to be used at school. Total hours for services,
whether actually performed inside or outside the recipient's home, cannot exceed that which is
otherwise allowed for personal care assistance services in an in-home setting according to sections
256B.0651 to 256B.0656. Medical assistance does not cover personal care assistance services for
residents of a hospital, nursing facility, intermediate care facility, health care facility licensed by
the commissioner of health, or unless a resident who is otherwise eligible is on leave from the
facility and the facility either pays for the personal care assistance services or forgoes the facility
per diem for the leave days that personal care assistance services are used. All personal care
assistance services must be provided according to sections 256B.0651 to 256B.0656. Personal
care assistance services may not be reimbursed if the personal care assistant is the spouse or paid
guardian of the recipient or the parent of a recipient under age 18, or the responsible party or the
family foster care provider of a recipient who cannot direct the recipient's own care unless, in the
case of a foster care provider, a county or state case manager visits the recipient as needed, but not
less than every six months, to monitor the health and safety of the recipient and to ensure the
goals of the care plan are met. Notwithstanding the provisions of section 256B.0659, the unpaid
guardian or conservator of an adult, who is not the responsible party and not the personal care
provider organization, may be reimbursed to provide personal care assistance services to the
recipient if the guardian or conservator meets all criteria for a personal care assistant according to
section 256B.0659, and shall not be considered to have a service provider interest for purposes of
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participation on the screening team under section 256B.092, subdivision 7.

Subd. 19b. No automatic adjustment. For fiscal years beginning on or after July 1, 1993,
the commissioner of human services shall not provide automatic annual inflation adjustments
for home care services. The commissioner of management and budget shall include as a budget
change request in each biennial detailed expenditure budget submitted to the legislature under
section 16A.11 annual adjustments in reimbursement rates for home care services.

Subd. 19c. Personal care. Medical assistance covers personal care assistance services
provided by an individual who is qualified to provide the services according to subdivision 19a
and sections 256B.0651 to 256B.0656, provided in accordance with a plan, and supervised by a
qualified professional.

"Qualified professional" means a mental health professional as defined in section 245.462,
subdivision 18, or 245.4871, subdivision 27; or a registered nurse as defined in sections 148.171
to 148.285, a licensed social worker as defined in sections 148D.010 and 148D.055, or a
qualified developmental disabilities specialist under section 245B.07, subdivision 4. The qualified
professional shall perform the duties required in section 256B.0659.

Subd. 20.Mental health case management. (a) To the extent authorized by rule of the
state agency, medical assistance covers case management services to persons with serious and
persistent mental illness and children with severe emotional disturbance. Services provided under
this section must meet the relevant standards in sections 245.461 to 245.4887, the Comprehensive
Adult and Children's Mental Health Acts, Minnesota Rules, parts 9520.0900 to 9520.0926, and
9505.0322, excluding subpart 10.

(b) Entities meeting program standards set out in rules governing family community
support services as defined in section 245.4871, subdivision 17, are eligible for medical assistance
reimbursement for case management services for children with severe emotional disturbance
when these services meet the program standards in Minnesota Rules, parts 9520.0900 to
9520.0926 and 9505.0322, excluding subparts 6 and 10.

(c) Medical assistance and MinnesotaCare payment for mental health case management
shall be made on a monthly basis. In order to receive payment for an eligible child, the provider
must document at least a face-to-face contact with the child, the child's parents, or the child's legal
representative. To receive payment for an eligible adult, the provider must document:

(1) at least a face-to-face contact with the adult or the adult's legal representative; or
(2) at least a telephone contact with the adult or the adult's legal representative and

document a face-to-face contact with the adult or the adult's legal representative within the
preceding two months.

(d) Payment for mental health case management provided by county or state staff shall be
based on the monthly rate methodology under section 256B.094, subdivision 6, paragraph (b),
with separate rates calculated for child welfare and mental health, and within mental health,
separate rates for children and adults.

(e) Payment for mental health case management provided by Indian health services or
by agencies operated by Indian tribes may be made according to this section or other relevant
federally approved rate setting methodology.

(f) Payment for mental health case management provided by vendors who contract with a
county or Indian tribe shall be based on a monthly rate negotiated by the host county or tribe.
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The negotiated rate must not exceed the rate charged by the vendor for the same service to other
payers. If the service is provided by a team of contracted vendors, the county or tribe may
negotiate a team rate with a vendor who is a member of the team. The team shall determine how
to distribute the rate among its members. No reimbursement received by contracted vendors shall
be returned to the county or tribe, except to reimburse the county or tribe for advance funding
provided by the county or tribe to the vendor.

(g) If the service is provided by a team which includes contracted vendors, tribal staff, and
county or state staff, the costs for county or state staff participation in the team shall be included
in the rate for county-provided services. In this case, the contracted vendor, the tribal agency, and
the county may each receive separate payment for services provided by each entity in the same
month. In order to prevent duplication of services, each entity must document, in the recipient's
file, the need for team case management and a description of the roles of the team members.

(h) Notwithstanding section 256B.19, subdivision 1, the nonfederal share of costs for
mental health case management shall be provided by the recipient's county of responsibility, as
defined in sections 256G.01 to 256G.12, from sources other than federal funds or funds used to
match other federal funds. If the service is provided by a tribal agency, the nonfederal share, if
any, shall be provided by the recipient's tribe. When this service is paid by the state without a
federal share through fee-for-service, 50 percent of the cost shall be provided by the recipient's
county of responsibility.

(i) Notwithstanding any administrative rule to the contrary, prepaid medical assistance,
general assistance medical care, and MinnesotaCare include mental health case management.
When the service is provided through prepaid capitation, the nonfederal share is paid by the
state and the county pays no share.

(j) The commissioner may suspend, reduce, or terminate the reimbursement to a provider
that does not meet the reporting or other requirements of this section. The county of responsibility,
as defined in sections 256G.01 to 256G.12, or, if applicable, the tribal agency, is responsible for
any federal disallowances. The county or tribe may share this responsibility with its contracted
vendors.

(k) The commissioner shall set aside a portion of the federal funds earned for county
expenditures under this section to repay the special revenue maximization account under section
256.01, subdivision 2, clause (15). The repayment is limited to:

(1) the costs of developing and implementing this section; and

(2) programming the information systems.

(l) Payments to counties and tribal agencies for case management expenditures under this
section shall only be made from federal earnings from services provided under this section. When
this service is paid by the state without a federal share through fee-for-service, 50 percent of the
cost shall be provided by the state. Payments to county-contracted vendors shall include the
federal earnings, the state share, and the county share.

(m) Case management services under this subdivision do not include therapy, treatment,
legal, or outreach services.

(n) If the recipient is a resident of a nursing facility, intermediate care facility, or hospital,
and the recipient's institutional care is paid by medical assistance, payment for case management
services under this subdivision is limited to the lesser of:
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(1) the last 180 days of the recipient's residency in that facility and may not exceed more
than six months in a calendar year; or

(2) the limits and conditions which apply to federal Medicaid funding for this service.

(o) Payment for case management services under this subdivision shall not duplicate
payments made under other program authorities for the same purpose.

Subd. 20a. Case management; developmental disabilities. To the extent defined in
the state Medicaid plan, case management service activities for persons with developmental
disabilities as defined in section 256B.092, and rules promulgated thereunder, are covered
services under medical assistance.

Subd. 21. [Repealed, 1989 c 282 art 3 s 98]

Subd. 22. Hospice care.Medical assistance covers hospice care services under Public Law
99-272, section 9505, to the extent authorized by rule, except that a recipient age 21 or under
who elects to receive hospice services does not waive coverage for services that are related to the
treatment of the condition for which a diagnosis of terminal illness has been made.

Subd. 23. Day treatment services. Medical assistance covers day treatment services as
specified in sections 245.462, subdivision 8, and 245.4871, subdivision 10, that are provided
under contract with the county board. The commissioner may set authorization thresholds for day
treatment for adults according to subdivision 25. Medical assistance covers day treatment services
for children as specified under section 256B.0943.

Subd. 24. Other medical or remedial care.Medical assistance covers any other medical
or remedial care licensed and recognized under state law unless otherwise prohibited by law,
except licensed chemical dependency treatment programs or primary treatment or extended
care treatment units in hospitals that are covered under chapter 254B. The commissioner shall
include chemical dependency services in the state medical assistance plan for federal reporting
purposes, but payment must be made under chapter 254B. The commissioner shall publish in the
State Register a list of elective surgeries that require a second medical opinion before medical
assistance reimbursement, and the criteria and standards for deciding whether an elective surgery
should require a second medical opinion. The list and criteria and standards are not subject to
the requirements of sections 14.01 to 14.69.

Subd. 25. Prior authorization required. (a) The commissioner shall publish in the
Minnesota health care programs provider manual and on the department's Web site a list of health
services that require prior authorization, as well as the criteria and standards used to select health
services on the list. The list and the criteria and standards used to formulate it are not subject
to the requirements of sections 14.001 to 14.69. The commissioner's decision whether prior
authorization is required for a health service is not subject to administrative appeal.

(b) The commissioner shall implement a modernized electronic system for providers to
request prior authorization. The modernized electronic system must include at least the following
functionalities:

(1) authorizations are recipient-centric, not provider-centric;

(2) adequate flexibility to support authorizations for an episode of care, continuous drug
therapy, or for individual onetime services and allows an ordering and a rendering provider
to both submit information into one request;

Copyright © 2011 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



115 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2011 256B.0625

(3) allows providers to review previous authorization requests and determine where a
submitted request is within the authorization process;

(4) supports automated workflows that allow providers to securely submit medical
information that can be accessed by medical and pharmacy review vendors as well as department
staff; and

(5) supports development of automated clinical algorithms that can verify information
and provide responses in real time.

(c) The system described in paragraph (b) shall be completed by March 1, 2012. All
authorization requests submitted on and after March 1, 2012, or upon completion of the
modernized authorization system, whichever is later, must be submitted electronically by
providers, except requests for drugs dispensed by an outpatient pharmacy, services that are
provided outside of the state and surrounding local trade area, and services included on a service
agreement.

Subd. 25a. Prior authorization of diagnostic imaging services. (a) Effective January 1,
2010, the commissioner shall require prior authorization or decision support for the ordering
providers at the time the service is ordered for the following outpatient diagnostic imaging
services: computerized tomography (CT), magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), magnetic
resonance angiography (MRA), positive emission tomography (PET), cardiac imaging, and
ultrasound diagnostic imaging.

(b) Prior authorization under this subdivision is not required for diagnostic imaging services
performed as part of a hospital emergency room visit, inpatient hospitalization, or if concurrent
with or on the same day as an urgent care facility visit.

(c) This subdivision does not apply to services provided to recipients who are enrolled in
Medicare, the prepaid medical assistance program, the prepaid general assistance medical care
program, or the MinnesotaCare program.

(d) The commissioner may contract with a private entity to provide the prior authorization
or decision support required under this subdivision. The contracting entity must incorporate
clinical guidelines that are based on evidence-based medical literature, if available. By January 1,
2012, the contracting entity shall report to the commissioner the results of prior authorization
or decision support.

Subd. 25b. Authorization with third-party liability. (a) Except as otherwise allowed
under this subdivision or required under federal or state regulations, the commissioner must
not consider a request for authorization of a service when the recipient has coverage from a
third-party payer unless the provider requesting authorization has made a good faith effort to
receive payment or authorization from the third-party payer. A good faith effort is established by
supplying with the authorization request to the commissioner the following:

(1) a determination of payment for the service from the third-party payer, a determination
of authorization for the service from the third-party payer, or a verification of noncoverage of the
service by the third-party payer; and

(2) the information or records required by the department to document the reason for the
determination or to validate noncoverage from the third-party payer.

(b) A provider requesting authorization for services covered by Medicare is not required
to bill Medicare before requesting authorization from the commissioner if the provider has
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reason to believe that a service covered by Medicare is not eligible for payment. The provider
must document that, because of recent claim experiences with Medicare or because of written
communication from Medicare, coverage is not available for the service.

(c) Authorization is not required if a third-party payer has made payment that is equal to or
greater than 60 percent of the maximum payment amount for the service allowed under medical
assistance.

Subd. 26. Special education services. (a) Medical assistance covers medical services
identified in a recipient's individualized education program and covered under the medical
assistance state plan. Covered services include occupational therapy, physical therapy,
speech-language therapy, clinical psychological services, nursing services, school psychological
services, school social work services, personal care assistants serving as management aides,
assistive technology devices, transportation services, health assessments, and other services
covered under the medical assistance state plan. Mental health services eligible for medical
assistance reimbursement must be provided or coordinated through a children's mental
health collaborative where a collaborative exists if the child is included in the collaborative
operational target population. The provision or coordination of services does not require that the
individualized education program be developed by the collaborative.

The services may be provided by a Minnesota school district that is enrolled as a medical
assistance provider or its subcontractor, and only if the services meet all the requirements
otherwise applicable if the service had been provided by a provider other than a school
district, in the following areas: medical necessity, physician's orders, documentation, personnel
qualifications, and prior authorization requirements. The nonfederal share of costs for services
provided under this subdivision is the responsibility of the local school district as provided
in section 125A.74. Services listed in a child's individualized education program are eligible
for medical assistance reimbursement only if those services meet criteria for federal financial
participation under the Medicaid program.

(b) Approval of health-related services for inclusion in the individualized education
program does not require prior authorization for purposes of reimbursement under this chapter.
The commissioner may require physician review and approval of the plan not more than once
annually or upon any modification of the individualized education program that reflects a change
in health-related services.

(c) Services of a speech-language pathologist provided under this section are covered
notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0390, subpart 1, item L, if the person:

(1) holds a masters degree in speech-language pathology;

(2) is licensed by the Minnesota Board of Teaching as an educational speech-language
pathologist; and

(3) either has a certificate of clinical competence from the American Speech and Hearing
Association, has completed the equivalent educational requirements and work experience
necessary for the certificate or has completed the academic program and is acquiring supervised
work experience to qualify for the certificate.

(d) Medical assistance coverage for medically necessary services provided under other
subdivisions in this section may not be denied solely on the basis that the same or similar services
are covered under this subdivision.
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(e) The commissioner shall develop and implement package rates, bundled rates, or per
diem rates for special education services under which separately covered services are grouped
together and billed as a unit in order to reduce administrative complexity.

(f) The commissioner shall develop a cost-based payment structure for payment of these
services. Only costs reported through the designated Minnesota Department of Education data
systems in distinct service categories qualify for inclusion in the cost-based payment structure.
The commissioner shall reimburse claims submitted based on an interim rate, and shall settle at a
final rate once the department has determined it. The commissioner shall notify the school district
of the final rate. The school district has 60 days to appeal the final rate. To appeal the final rate,
the school district shall file a written appeal request to the commissioner within 60 days of the
date the final rate determination was mailed. The appeal request shall specify (1) the disputed
items and (2) the name and address of the person to contact regarding the appeal.

(g) Effective July 1, 2000, medical assistance services provided under an individualized
education program or an individual family service plan by local school districts shall not count
against medical assistance authorization thresholds for that child.

(h) Nursing services as defined in section 148.171, subdivision 15, and provided as an
individualized education program health-related service, are eligible for medical assistance
payment if they are otherwise a covered service under the medical assistance program. Medical
assistance covers the administration of prescription medications by a licensed nurse who is
employed by or under contract with a school district when the administration of medications
is identified in the child's individualized education program. The simple administration of
medications alone is not covered under medical assistance when administered by a provider other
than a school district or when it is not identified in the child's individualized education program.

Subd. 27. Organ and tissue transplants. All organ transplants must be performed at
transplant centers meeting united network for organ sharing criteria or at Medicare-approved
organ transplant centers. Stem cell or bone marrow transplant centers must meet the standards
established by the Foundation for the Accreditation of Hematopoietic Cell Therapy.

Subd. 28. Certified nurse practitioner services. Medical assistance covers services
performed by a certified pediatric nurse practitioner, a certified family nurse practitioner, a
certified adult nurse practitioner, a certified obstetric/gynecological nurse practitioner, a certified
neonatal nurse practitioner, or a certified geriatric nurse practitioner in independent practice, if:

(1) the service provided on an inpatient basis is not included as part of the cost for inpatient
services included in the operating payment rate;

(2) the service is otherwise covered under this chapter as a physician service; and

(3) the service is within the scope of practice of the nurse practitioner's license as a
registered nurse, as defined in section 148.171.

Subd. 28a. Licensed physician assistant services. Medical assistance covers services
performed by a licensed physician assistant if the service is otherwise covered under this chapter
as a physician service and if the service is within the scope of practice of a licensed physician
assistant as defined in section 147A.09.

Subd. 29. Public health nursing clinic services.Medical assistance covers the services of
a certified public health nurse or a registered nurse practicing in a public health nursing clinic
that is a department of, or that operates under the direct authority of, a unit of government, if
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the service is within the scope of practice of the public health or registered nurse's license as a
registered nurse, as defined in section 148.171.

Subd. 30. Other clinic services. (a) Medical assistance covers rural health clinic services,
federally qualified health center services, nonprofit community health clinic services, and public
health clinic services. Rural health clinic services and federally qualified health center services
mean services defined in United States Code, title 42, section 1396d(a)(2)(B) and (C). Payment
for rural health clinic and federally qualified health center services shall be made according to
applicable federal law and regulation.

(b) A federally qualified health center that is beginning initial operation shall submit an
estimate of budgeted costs and visits for the initial reporting period in the form and detail required
by the commissioner. A federally qualified health center that is already in operation shall submit
an initial report using actual costs and visits for the initial reporting period. Within 90 days of
the end of its reporting period, a federally qualified health center shall submit, in the form and
detail required by the commissioner, a report of its operations, including allowable costs actually
incurred for the period and the actual number of visits for services furnished during the period,
and other information required by the commissioner. Federally qualified health centers that file
Medicare cost reports shall provide the commissioner with a copy of the most recent Medicare
cost report filed with the Medicare program intermediary for the reporting year which support the
costs claimed on their cost report to the state.

(c) In order to continue cost-based payment under the medical assistance program according
to paragraphs (a) and (b), a federally qualified health center or rural health clinic must apply for
designation as an essential community provider within six months of final adoption of rules
by the Department of Health according to section 62Q.19, subdivision 7. For those federally
qualified health centers and rural health clinics that have applied for essential community provider
status within the six-month time prescribed, medical assistance payments will continue to be
made according to paragraphs (a) and (b) for the first three years after application. For federally
qualified health centers and rural health clinics that either do not apply within the time specified
above or who have had essential community provider status for three years, medical assistance
payments for health services provided by these entities shall be according to the same rates and
conditions applicable to the same service provided by health care providers that are not federally
qualified health centers or rural health clinics.

(d) Effective July 1, 1999, the provisions of paragraph (c) requiring a federally qualified
health center or a rural health clinic to make application for an essential community provider
designation in order to have cost-based payments made according to paragraphs (a) and (b)
no longer apply.

(e) Effective January 1, 2000, payments made according to paragraphs (a) and (b) shall be
limited to the cost phase-out schedule of the Balanced Budget Act of 1997.

(f) Effective January 1, 2001, each federally qualified health center and rural health clinic
may elect to be paid either under the prospective payment system established in United States
Code, title 42, section 1396a(aa), or under an alternative payment methodology consistent with
the requirements of United States Code, title 42, section 1396a(aa), and approved by the Centers
for Medicare and Medicaid Services. The alternative payment methodology shall be 100 percent
of cost as determined according to Medicare cost principles.

(g) For purposes of this section, "nonprofit community clinic" is a clinic that:
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(1) has nonprofit status as specified in chapter 317A;
(2) has tax exempt status as provided in Internal Revenue Code, section 501(c)(3);
(3) is established to provide health services to low-income population groups, uninsured,

high-risk and special needs populations, underserved and other special needs populations;
(4) employs professional staff at least one-half of which are familiar with the cultural

background of their clients;
(5) charges for services on a sliding fee scale designed to provide assistance to low-income

clients based on current poverty income guidelines and family size; and
(6) does not restrict access or services because of a client's financial limitations or public

assistance status and provides no-cost care as needed.

Subd. 31. Medical supplies and equipment. (a) Medical assistance covers medical
supplies and equipment. Separate payment outside of the facility's payment rate shall be made
for wheelchairs and wheelchair accessories for recipients who are residents of intermediate care
facilities for the developmentally disabled. Reimbursement for wheelchairs and wheelchair
accessories for ICF/MR recipients shall be subject to the same conditions and limitations as
coverage for recipients who do not reside in institutions. A wheelchair purchased outside of the
facility's payment rate is the property of the recipient. The commissioner may set reimbursement
rates for specified categories of medical supplies at levels below the Medicare payment rate.

(b) Vendors of durable medical equipment, prosthetics, orthotics, or medical supplies
must enroll as a Medicare provider.

(c) When necessary to ensure access to durable medical equipment, prosthetics, orthotics,
or medical supplies, the commissioner may exempt a vendor from the Medicare enrollment
requirement if:

(1) the vendor supplies only one type of durable medical equipment, prosthetic, orthotic, or
medical supply;

(2) the vendor serves ten or fewer medical assistance recipients per year;
(3) the commissioner finds that other vendors are not available to provide same or similar

durable medical equipment, prosthetics, orthotics, or medical supplies; and
(4) the vendor complies with all screening requirements in this chapter and Code of Federal

Regulations, title 42, part 455. The commissioner may also exempt a vendor from the Medicare
enrollment requirement if the vendor is accredited by a Centers for Medicare and Medicaid
Services approved national accreditation organization as complying with the Medicare program's
supplier and quality standards and the vendor serves primarily pediatric patients.

(d) Durable medical equipment means a device or equipment that:
(1) can withstand repeated use;
(2) is generally not useful in the absence of an illness, injury, or disability; and
(3) is provided to correct or accommodate a physiological disorder or physical condition or

is generally used primarily for a medical purpose.

Subd. 31a. Augmentative and alternative communication systems. (a) Medical
assistance covers augmentative and alternative communication systems consisting of electronic
or nonelectronic devices and the related components necessary to enable a person with severe
expressive communication limitations to produce or transmit messages or symbols in a manner
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that compensates for that disability.
(b) Augmentative and alternative communication systems must be paid the lower of the:
(1) submitted charge; or
(2)(i) manufacturer's suggested retail price minus 20 percent for providers that are

manufacturers of augmentative and alternative communication systems; or
(ii) manufacturer's invoice charge plus 20 percent for providers that are not manufacturers

of augmentative and alternative communication systems.
(c) Reimbursement rates established by this purchasing program are not subject to

Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0445, item S or T.

Subd. 32. Nutritional products.Medical assistance covers nutritional products needed for
nutritional supplementation because solid food or nutrients thereof cannot be properly absorbed
by the body or needed for treatment of phenylketonuria, hyperlysinemia, maple syrup urine
disease, a combined allergy to human milk, cow's milk, and soy formula, or any other childhood
or adult diseases, conditions, or disorders identified by the commissioner as requiring a similarly
necessary nutritional product. Nutritional products needed for the treatment of a combined allergy
to human milk, cow's milk, and soy formula require prior authorization. Separate payment shall
not be made for nutritional products for residents of long-term care facilities. Payment for dietary
requirements is a component of the per diem rate paid to these facilities.

Subd. 33. Child welfare targeted case management. Medical assistance, subject to
federal approval, covers child welfare targeted case management services as defined in section
256B.094 to children under age 21 who have been assessed and determined in accordance with
section 256F.095 to be:

(1) at risk of placement or in placement as defined in section 260C.212, subdivision 1;
(2) at risk of maltreatment or experiencing maltreatment as defined in section 626.556,

subdivision 10e; or
(3) in need of protection or services as defined in section 260C.007, subdivision 6.

Subd. 34. Indian health services facilities. Medical assistance payments and
MinnesotaCare payments to facilities of the Indian health service and facilities operated by a tribe
or tribal organization under funding authorized by United States Code, title 25, sections 450f to
450n, or title III of the Indian Self-Determination and Education Assistance Act, Public Law
93-638, for enrollees who are eligible for federal financial participation, shall be at the option
of the facility in accordance with the rate published by the United States Assistant Secretary for
Health under the authority of United States Code, title 42, sections 248(a) and 249(b). General
assistance medical care payments to facilities of the Indian health services and facilities operated
by a tribe or tribal organization for the provision of outpatient medical care services billed after
June 30, 1990, must be in accordance with the general assistance medical care rates paid for
the same services when provided in a facility other than a facility of the Indian health service
or a facility operated by a tribe or tribal organization. MinnesotaCare payments for enrollees
who are not eligible for federal financial participation at facilities of the Indian health service
and facilities operated by a tribe or tribal organization for the provision of outpatient medical
services must be in accordance with the medical assistance rates paid for the same services when
provided in a facility other than a facility of the Indian health service or a facility operated by a
tribe or tribal organization.
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Subd. 35. [Repealed, 1Sp2003 c 14 art 4 s 24]

Subd. 35a. Children's mental health crisis response services.Medical assistance covers
children's mental health crisis response services according to section 256B.0944.

Subd. 35b. Children's therapeutic services and supports. Medical assistance covers
children's therapeutic services and supports according to section 256B.0943.

Subd. 36. [Repealed, 1Sp2003 c 14 art 4 s 24]

Subd. 37. Individualized rehabilitation services.Medical assistance covers individualized
rehabilitation services as defined in section 245.492, subdivision 23, that are provided by a
collaborative, county, or an entity under contract with a county through an integrated service
system, as described in section 245.4931, that is approved by the state coordinating council,
subject to federal approval.

Subd. 38. Payments for mental health services. Payments for mental health services
covered under the medical assistance program that are provided by masters-prepared mental
health professionals shall be 80 percent of the rate paid to doctoral-prepared professionals.
Payments for mental health services covered under the medical assistance program that are
provided by masters-prepared mental health professionals employed by community mental health
centers shall be 100 percent of the rate paid to doctoral-prepared professionals.

Subd. 39. Childhood immunizations. Providers who administer pediatric vaccines within
the scope of their licensure, and who are enrolled as a medical assistance provider, must enroll in
the pediatric vaccine administration program established by section 13631 of the Omnibus Budget
Reconciliation Act of 1993. Medical assistance shall pay an $8.50 fee per dose for administration
of the vaccine to children eligible for medical assistance. Medical assistance does not pay for
vaccines that are available at no cost from the pediatric vaccine administration program.

Subd. 40. Tuberculosis related services. (a) For persons infected with tuberculosis,
medical assistance covers case management services and direct observation of the intake of
drugs prescribed to treat tuberculosis.

(b) "Case management services" means services furnished to assist persons infected with
tuberculosis in gaining access to needed medical services. Case management services include
at a minimum:

(1) assessing a person's need for medical services to treat tuberculosis;
(2) developing a care plan that addresses the needs identified in clause (1);
(3) assisting the person in accessing medical services identified in the care plan; and
(4) monitoring the person's compliance with the care plan to ensure completion of

tuberculosis therapy. Medical assistance covers case management services under this subdivision
only if the services are provided by a certified public health nurse who is employed by a
community health board as defined in section 145A.02, subdivision 5.

(c) To be covered by medical assistance, direct observation of the intake of drugs prescribed
to treat tuberculosis must be provided by a community outreach worker, licensed practical nurse,
registered nurse who is trained and supervised by a public health nurse employed by a community
health board as defined in section 145A.02, subdivision 5, or a public health nurse employed by a
community health board.

Subd. 41. Residential services for children with severe emotional disturbance.Medical
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assistance covers rehabilitative services in accordance with section 256B.0945 that are provided
by a county or an American Indian tribe through a residential facility, for children who have been
diagnosed with severe emotional disturbance and have been determined to require the level of
care provided in a residential facility.

Subd. 42.Mental health professional. Notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0175,
subpart 28, the definition of a mental health professional shall include a person who is qualified as
specified in section 245.462, subdivision 18, clauses (5) and (6); or 245.4871, subdivision 27,
clauses (5) and (6), for the purpose of this section and Minnesota Rules, parts 9505.0170 to
9505.0475.

Subd. 43.Mental health provider travel time.Medical assistance covers provider travel
time if a recipient's individual treatment plan requires the provision of mental health services
outside of the provider's normal place of business. This does not include any travel time which
is included in other billable services, and is only covered when the mental health service being
provided to a recipient is covered under medical assistance.

Subd. 44. Targeted case management services. Medical assistance covers case
management services for vulnerable adults and adults with developmental disabilities, as provided
under section 256B.0924.

Subd. 45. Subacute psychiatric care for persons under 21 years of age. Medical
assistance covers subacute psychiatric care for person under 21 years of age when:

(1) the services meet the requirements of Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section
440.160;

(2) the facility is accredited as a psychiatric treatment facility by the Joint Commission on
Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations, the Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation
Facilities, or the Council on Accreditation; and

(3) the facility is licensed by the commissioner of health under section 144.50.

Subd. 46.Mental health telemedicine. Effective January 1, 2006, and subject to federal
approval, mental health services that are otherwise covered by medical assistance as direct
face-to-face services may be provided via two-way interactive video. Use of two-way interactive
video must be medically appropriate to the condition and needs of the person being served.
Reimbursement is at the same rates and under the same conditions that would otherwise apply
to the service. The interactive video equipment and connection must comply with Medicare
standards in effect at the time the service is provided.

Subd. 47. Treatment foster care services. Effective July 1, 2011, and subject to federal
approval, medical assistance covers treatment foster care services according to section 256B.0946.

Subd. 48. Psychiatric consultation to primary care practitioners. Effective January 1,
2006, medical assistance covers consultation provided by a psychiatrist via telephone, e-mail,
facsimile, or other means of communication to primary care practitioners, including pediatricians.
The need for consultation and the receipt of the consultation must be documented in the patient
record maintained by the primary care practitioner. If the patient consents, and subject to federal
limitations and data privacy provisions, the consultation may be provided without the patient
present.

Subd. 49. Community health worker. (a) Medical assistance covers the care coordination
and patient education services provided by a community health worker if the community health
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worker has:

(1) received a certificate from the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities System
approved community health worker curriculum; or

(2) at least five years of supervised experience with an enrolled physician, registered nurse,
advanced practice registered nurse, mental health professional as defined in section 245.462,
subdivision 18, clauses (1) to (6), and section 245.4871, subdivision 27, clauses (1) to (5), or
dentist, or at least five years of supervised experience by a certified public health nurse operating
under the direct authority of an enrolled unit of government.

Community health workers eligible for payment under clause (2) must complete the certification
program by January 1, 2010, to continue to be eligible for payment.

(b) Community health workers must work under the supervision of a medical assistance
enrolled physician, registered nurse, advanced practice registered nurse, mental health
professional as defined in section 245.462, subdivision 18, clauses (1) to (6), and section
245.4871, subdivision 27, clauses (1) to (5), or dentist, or work under the supervision of a certified
public health nurse operating under the direct authority of an enrolled unit of government.

(c) Care coordination and patient education services covered under this subdivision include,
but are not limited to, services relating to oral health and dental care.

Subd. 50. Self-directed supports option. Upon federal approval, medical assistance covers
the self-directed supports option as defined under section 256B.0657 and section 6087 of the
Federal Deficit Reduction Act of 2005, Public Law 109-171.

[See Note.]

Subd. 51. Provider-directed care coordination services. The commissioner shall develop
and implement a provider-directed care coordination program for medical assistance recipients
who are not enrolled in the prepaid medical assistance program and who are receiving services
on a fee-for-service basis. This program provides payment to primary care clinics for care
coordination for people who have complex and chronic medical conditions. Clinics must meet
certain criteria such as the capacity to develop care plans; have a dedicated care coordinator;
and have an adequate number of fee-for-service clients, evaluation mechanisms, and quality
improvement processes to qualify for reimbursement. For purposes of this subdivision, a primary
care clinic is a medical clinic designated as the patient's first point of contact for medical
care, available 24 hours a day, seven days a week, that provides or arranges for the patient's
comprehensive health care needs, and provides overall integration, coordination and continuity
over time and referrals for specialty care.

Subd. 52. Lead risk assessments. (a) Effective October 1, 2007, or six months after federal
approval, whichever is later, medical assistance covers lead risk assessments provided by a lead
risk assessor who is licensed by the commissioner of health under section 144.9505 and employed
by an assessing agency as defined in section 144.9501. Medical assistance covers a onetime
on-site investigation of a recipient's home or primary residence to determine the existence of lead
so long as the recipient is under the age of 21 and has a venous blood lead level specified in
section 144.9504, subdivision 2, paragraph (a).

(b) Medical assistance reimbursement covers the lead risk assessor's time to complete the
following activities:

(1) gathering samples;
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(2) interviewing family members;

(3) gathering data, including meter readings; and

(4) providing a report with the results of the investigation and options for reducing
lead-based paint hazards.

Medical assistance coverage of lead risk assessment does not include testing of
environmental substances such as water, paint, or soil or any other laboratory services. Medical
assistance coverage of lead risk assessments is not included in the capitated services for children
enrolled in health plans through the prepaid medical assistance program and the MinnesotaCare
program.

(c) Payment for lead risk assessment must be cost-based and must meet the criteria
for federal financial participation under the Medicaid program. The rate must be based on
allowable expenditures from cost information gathered. Under section 144.9507, subdivision 5,
federal medical assistance funds may not replace existing funding for lead-related activities.
The nonfederal share of costs for services provided under this subdivision must be from state
or local funds and is the responsibility of the agency providing the risk assessment. When
the risk assessment is conducted by the commissioner of health, the state share must be from
appropriations to the commissioner of health for this purpose. Eligible expenditures for the
nonfederal share of costs may not be made from federal funds or funds used to match other
federal funds. Any federal disallowances are the responsibility of the agency providing risk
assessment services.

Subd. 53. Centers of excellence. For complex medical procedures with a high degree of
variation in outcomes, for which the Medicare program requires facilities providing the services
to meet certain criteria as a condition of coverage, the commissioner may develop centers of
excellence facility criteria in consultation with the Health Services Policy Committee under
subdivision 3c. The criteria must reflect facility traits that have been linked to superior patient
safety and outcomes for the procedures in question, and must be based on the best available
empirical evidence. For medical assistance recipients enrolled on a fee-for-service basis, the
commissioner may make coverage for these procedures conditional upon the facility providing
the services meeting the specified criteria. Only facilities meeting the criteria may be reimbursed
for the procedures in question.

[See Note.]

Subd. 54. Services provided in birth centers. (a) Medical assistance covers services
provided in a licensed birth center by a licensed health professional if the service would otherwise
be covered if provided in a hospital.

(b) Facility services provided by a birth center shall be paid at the lower of billed charges
or 70 percent of the statewide average for a facility payment rate made to a hospital for an
uncomplicated vaginal birth as determined using the most recent calendar year for which complete
claims data is available. If a recipient is transported from a birth center to a hospital prior to the
delivery, the payment for facility services to the birth center shall be the lower of billed charges or
15 percent of the average facility payment made to a hospital for the services provided for an
uncomplicated vaginal delivery as determined using the most recent calendar year for which
complete claims data is available.
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(c) Nursery care services provided by a birth center shall be paid the lower of billed charges
or 70 percent of the statewide average for a payment rate paid to a hospital for nursery care as
determined by using the most recent calendar year for which complete claims data is available.

(d) Professional services provided by traditional midwives licensed under chapter 147D
shall be paid at the lower of billed charges or 100 percent of the rate paid to a physician
performing the same services. If a recipient is transported from a birth center to a hospital prior to
the delivery, a licensed traditional midwife who does not perform the delivery may not bill for any
delivery services. Services are not covered if provided by an unlicensed traditional midwife.

(e) The commissioner shall apply for any necessary waivers from the Centers for Medicare
and Medicaid Services to allow birth centers and birth center providers to be reimbursed.

Subd. 55. Payment for noncovered services. (a) Except when specifically prohibited by
the commissioner or federal law, a provider may seek payment from the recipient for services not
eligible for payment under the medical assistance program when the provider, prior to delivering
the service, reviews and considers all other available covered alternatives with the recipient and
obtains a signed acknowledgment from the recipient of the potential of the recipient's liability.
The signed acknowledgment must be in a form approved by the commissioner.

(b) Conditions under which a provider must not request payment from the recipient include,
but are not limited to:

(1) a service that requires prior authorization, unless authorization has been denied as not
medically necessary and all other therapeutic alternatives have been reviewed;

(2) a service for which payment has been denied for reasons relating to billing requirements;
(3) standard shipping or delivery and setup of medical equipment or medical supplies;
(4) services that are included in the recipient's long term care per diem;
(5) the recipient is enrolled in the Restricted Recipient Program and the provider is one of a

provider type designated for the recipient's health care services; and
(6) the noncovered service is a prescription drug identified by the commissioner as having

the potential for abuse and overuse, except where payment by the recipient is specifically
approved by the commissioner on the date of service based upon compelling evidence supplied by
the prescribing provider that establishes medical necessity for that particular drug.

(c) The payment requested from recipients for noncovered services under this subdivision
must not exceed the provider's usual and customary charge for the actual service received by the
recipient. A recipient must not be billed for the difference between what medical assistance paid
for the service or would pay for a less costly alternative service.

Subd. 56. Medical service coordination. (a) Medical assistance covers in-reach
community-based service coordination that is performed in a hospital emergency department as
an eligible procedure under a state healthcare program or private insurance for a frequent user. A
frequent user is defined as an individual who has frequented the hospital emergency department for
services three or more times in the previous four consecutive months. In-reach community-based
service coordination includes navigating services to address a client's mental health, chemical
health, social, economic, and housing needs, or any other activity targeted at reducing the
incidence of emergency room and other nonmedically necessary health care utilization.

(b) Reimbursement must be made in 15-minute increments under current Medicaid mental
health social work reimbursement methodology and allowed for up to 60 days posthospital
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discharge based upon the specific identified emergency department visit or inpatient admitting
event. A frequent user who is participating in care coordination within a health care home
framework is ineligible for reimbursement under this subdivision. Eligible in-reach service
coordinators must hold a minimum of a bachelor's degree in social work, public health,
corrections, or a related field. The commissioner shall submit any necessary application for
waivers to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services to implement this subdivision.

(c) For the purposes of this subdivision, "in-reach community-based service coordination"
means the practice of a community-based worker with training, knowledge, skills, and ability to
access a continuum of services, including housing, transportation, chemical and mental health
treatment, employment, and peer support services, by working with an organization's staff to
transition an individual back into the individual's living environment. In-reach community-based
service coordination includes working with the individual during their discharge and for up to
a defined amount of time in the individual's living environment, reducing the individual's need
for readmittance.

Subd. 57. Payment for Part B Medicare crossover claims. Effective for services provided
on or after January 1, 2012, medical assistance payment for an enrollee's cost-sharing associated
with Medicare Part B is limited to an amount up to the medical assistance total allowed, when the
medical assistance rate exceeds the amount paid by Medicare. Excluded from this limitation are
payments for mental health services and payments for dialysis services provided to end-stage renal
disease patients. The exclusion for mental health services does not apply to payments for physician
services provided by psychiatrists and advanced practice nurses with a specialty in mental health.

Subd. 58. Early and periodic screening, diagnosis, and treatment services. Medical
assistance covers early and periodic screening, diagnosis, and treatment services (EPSDT). The
payment amount for a complete EPSDT screening shall not exceed the rate established per
Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0445, item M, effective October 1, 2010.

Subd. 59. Services provided by advanced dental therapists and dental therapists.
Medical assistance covers services provided by advanced dental therapists and dental therapists
when provided within the scope of practice identified in sections 150A.105 and 150A.106.

History: Ex1967 c 16 s 2; 1969 c 395 s 1; 1973 c 717 s 17; 1975 c 247 s 9; 1975 c 384 s 1;
1975 c 437 art 2 s 3; 1976 c 173 s 56; 1976 c 236 s 1; 1976 c 312 s 1; 1978 c 508 s 2; 1978 c 560
s 10; 1981 c 360 art 2 s 26,54; 1Sp1981 c 2 s 12; 1Sp1981 c 4 art 4 s 22; 3Sp1981 c 2 art 1 s 31;
1982 c 562 s 2; 1983 c 151 s 1,2; 1983 c 312 art 1 s 27; art 5 s 10; art 9 s 4; 1984 c 654 art 5 s
58; 1985 c 21 s 52-54; 1985 c 49 s 41; 1985 c 252 s 19,20; 1Sp1985 c 3 s 19; 1986 c 394 s 17;
1986 c 444; 1987 c 309 s 24; 1987 c 370 art 1 s 3; art 2 s 4; 1987 c 374 s 1; 1987 c 403 art 2 s
73,74; art 5 s 16; 1988 c 689 art 2 s 141,268; 1989 c 282 art 3 s 54-58; 1990 c 422 s 10; 1990 c
568 art 3 s 43-50,104; 1991 c 199 art 2 s 1; 1991 c 292 art 4 s 41-49; art 6 s 45; art 7 s 5,9-11;
1992 c 391 s 1,2; 1992 c 513 art 7 s 43-49; art 9 s 25; 1993 c 246 s 1,2; 1993 c 247 art 4 s 11;
1993 c 345 art 13 s 1; 1Sp1993 c 1 art 3 s 23; art 5 s 36-49; art 7 s 41-44; art 9 s 71; 1Sp1993 c
6 s 10; 1994 c 465 art 3 s 52; 1994 c 625 art 8 s 72; 1995 c 178 art 2 s 26; 1995 c 207 art 6 s
38-51; art 8 s 33; 1995 c 234 art 6 s 38; 1995 c 263 s 10; 1996 c 451 art 2 s 20; art 5 s 15,16;
1997 c 203 art 2 s 25; art 4 s 25,26; 1997 c 225 art 4 s 3; art 6 s 5,8; 1998 c 398 art 2 s 46; 1998
c 407 art 4 s 20-28; 1999 c 86 art 2 s 4; 1999 c 139 art 4 s 2; 1999 c 245 art 4 s 37-49,121; art 5 s
20; art 8 s 5,87; art 10 s 10; 2000 c 298 s 3; 2000 c 347 s 1; 2000 c 474 s 6,7; 2000 c 488 art 9 s
16; 2001 c 178 art 1 s 44; 2001 c 203 s 9; 1Sp2001 c 9 art 2 s 30-38; art 3 s 16-19; art 9 s 41,42;
2002 c 220 art 15 s 13; 2002 c 277 s 12-14,32; 2002 c 294 s 6; 2002 c 375 art 2 s 13-16; 2002 c
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379 art 1 s 113; 2003 c 112 art 2 s 50; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 3 s 25; art 4 s 4-7; art 11 s 11; art 12 s
33-36; 2004 c 288 art 5 s 3; art 6 s 22; 2005 c 10 art 1 s 48; 2005 c 56 s 1; 2005 c 98 art 2 s 3,4;
2005 c 147 art 1 s 67; 2005 c 155 art 3 s 2-6; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 2 s 8-10; art 7 s 13,14; art 8 s
29-40; 2006 c 282 art 16 s 6; 2007 c 147 art 4 s 5-7; art 5 s 9; art 6 s 18; art 7 s 6,7; art 8 s
19-21; art 11 s 17; art 15 s 16; art 16 s 16; 2008 c 326 art 1 s 29-32; 2008 c 363 art 15 s 4; art 17
s 9; 2009 c 79 art 5 s 25-36; art 7 s 18,20; art 8 s 18-21; 2009 c 101 art 2 s 109; 2009 c 159 s 89;
2009 c 167 s 13; 2009 c 173 art 1 s 20,21,41; art 3 s 9,10; 2010 c 200 art 1 s 4,5; 2010 c 303 s 4;
2010 c 307 s 1; 2010 c 310 art 1 s 1; art 6 s 2; art 7 s 1; art 8 s 1; art 9 s 1; art 10 s 1; art 11 s 1;
art 12 s 1,2; 2010 c 352 art 1 s 7; 1Sp2010 c 1 art 16 s 8-15; art 24 s 4; 2011 c 76 art 1 s 37; 2011
c 86 s 17,18; 1Sp2011 c 9 art 6 s 28-48; art 7 s 8; art 8 s 6; 1Sp2011 c 11 art 3 s 12

NOTE: The amendments to subdivisions 8, paragraph (b); 8a, paragraph (b); 8b, paragraph
(b); and 8c by Laws 2011, First Special Session chapter 9, article 6, sections 29 to 32, are
effective March 1, 2012. Laws 2011, First Special Session chapter 9, article 6, sections 29
to 32, the effective dates.

NOTE: The amendment to subdivision 8d by Laws 2010, chapter 310, article 12, section 1,
is effective upon federal approval. Laws 2010, chapter 310, article 12, section 1, the effective date.

NOTE: The amendment to subdivision 13e by Laws 2011, First Special Session chapter 9,
article 6, section 35, is effective September 1, 2011, or upon federal approval, whichever is later.
Laws 2011, First Special Session chapter 9, article 6, section 35, the effective date.

NOTE: Subdivision 13e, paragraph (f), as added by Laws 2010, chapter 310, article 12,
section 2, is effective upon federal approval. Laws 2010, chapter 310, article 12, section 2, the
effective date.

NOTE: The amendment to subdivision 13h by Laws 2011, First Special Session chapter 9,
article 6, section 36, is effective September 1, 2011, or upon federal approval, whichever is later.
Laws 2011, First Special Session chapter 9, article 6, section 36, the effective date.

NOTE: Subdivision 16 was found unconstitutional with regard to public funding for
medical services related to therapeutic abortions. Women of State of Minn. by Doe v. Gomez, 542
N.W.2d 17 (Minn. 1995).

NOTE: Subdivision 50 as added by Laws 2007, chapter 147, article 7, section 7, is
effective upon federal approval of the state Medicaid plan amendment. Laws 2007, chapter 147,
article 7, section 7, the effective date.

NOTE: Subdivision 53, as added by Laws 2009, chapter 173, article 3, section 10, is
effective August 1, 2009, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. Laws 2009, chapter 173,
article 3, section 10, the effective date.

256B.0626 ESTIMATION OF 50TH PERCENTILE OF PREVAILING CHARGES.

(a) The 50th percentile of the prevailing charge for the base year identified in statute must
be estimated by the commissioner in the following situations:

(1) there were less than five billings in the calendar year specified in legislation governing
maximum payment rates;

(2) the service was not available in the calendar year specified in legislation governing
maximum payment rates;

(3) the payment amount is the result of a provider appeal;

Copyright © 2011 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



128 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2011 256B.0627

(4) the procedure code description has changed since the calendar year specified in
legislation governing maximum payment rates, and, therefore, the prevailing charge information
reflects the same code but a different procedure description; or

(5) the 50th percentile reflects a payment which is grossly inequitable when compared with
payment rates for procedures or services which are substantially similar.

(b) When one of the situations identified in paragraph (a) occurs, the commissioner shall
use the following methodology to reconstruct a rate comparable to the 50th percentile of the
prevailing rate:

(1) refer to information which exists for the first four billings in the calendar year specified
in legislation governing maximum payment rates; or

(2) refer to surrounding or comparable procedure codes; or
(3) refer to the 50th percentile of years subsequent to the calendar year specified in

legislation governing maximum payment rates, and reduce that amount by applying an appropriate
Consumer Price Index formula; or

(4) refer to relative value indexes; or
(5) refer to reimbursement information from other third parties, such as Medicare.
History: 1Sp1993 c 1 art 5 s 50; 1997 c 203 art 4 s 27

256B.0627 Subdivision 1. [Paragraph (a) renumbered 256B.0651, subdivision 1; 256B.0655,
subd 1a]

[Paragraph (b) renumbered 256B.0651, subdivision 1, para (b); 256B.0654, subdivision 1,
para (a); 256B.0655, subd 1b]

[Paragraph (c) renumbered 256B.0655, subd 1c]
[Paragraph (d) renumbered 256B.0654, subdivision 1, para (b)]
[Paragraph (e) renumbered 256B.0655, subd 1d]
[Paragraph (f) renumbered 256B.0651, subdivision 1, para (c)]
Paragraph (g) renumbered 256B.0655, subd 1e
[Paragraph (h) renumbered 256B.0651, subdivision 1, para (d)]
[Paragraph (i) renumbered 256B.0655, subd 1f]
[Paragraph (j) renumbered 256B.0655, subd 1g]
[Paragraph (k) renumbered 256B.0655, subd 1h]
[Paragraph (l) renumbered 256B.0655, subd 1i]
[Paragraph (m) renumbered 256B.0653, subdivision 1]
[Paragraph (n) renumbered 256B.0651, subdivision 1, para (e)]

Subd. 2. [Renumbered 256B.0651, subd 2]

Subd. 3. [Repealed, 1991 c 292 art 7 s 26]

Subd. 4. [Renumbered 256B.0655, subd 2]

Subd. 5. [Paragraph (a) renumbered 256B.0651, subds 10 and 11]
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[Paragraph (b) renumbered 256B.0651, subd 4]
[Paragraph (c) renumbered 256B.0651, subd 5]
[Paragraph (d) renumbered 256B.0655, subd 3]
[Paragraph (e) renumbered 256B.0651, subd 6; 256B.0655, subd 4]
[Paragraph (e)(1) renumbered 256B.0651, subd 6]
[Paragraph (e)(2) renumbered 256B.0655, subd 4]
[Paragraph (e)(3) renumbered 256B.0654, subd 2]
[Paragraph (e)(4) renumbered 256B.0651, subd 6, para (b)]
[Paragraph (f) renumbered 256B.0651, subd 7]
[Paragraph (g) renumbered 256B.0651, subd 12]
[Paragraph (h) renumbered 256B.0651, subd 8]
[Paragraph (i) renumbered 256B.0651, subd 9]

Subd. 6. [Renumbered 256B.0651, subd 13]

Subd. 7. [Renumbered 256B.0651, subd 3]

Subd. 8. [Renumbered 256B.0655, subd 5]

Subd. 9. [Renumbered 256B.0655, subd 6]

Subd. 10. [Renumbered 256B.0655, subd 7]

Subd. 11. [Renumbered 256B.0654, subd 3]

Subd. 12. [Renumbered 256B.0655, subd 8]

Subd. 13. [Renumbered 256B.0656]

Subd. 14. [Renumbered 256B.0653, subd 2]

Subd. 15. [Renumbered 256B.0653, subd 3]

Subd. 16. [Renumbered 256B.0654, subd 4]

Subd. 17. [Renumbered 256B.0655, subd 9]

Subd. 18. [Renumbered 256B.0655, subd 10]

256B.0628 [Renumbered 256B.0652]

256B.0629 Subdivision 1. [Repealed, 2005 c 98 art 2 s 18]

Subd. 2. [Repealed, 2005 c 98 art 2 s 18]

Subd. 3. [Repealed, 1997 c 7 art 2 s 67]

Subd. 4. [Repealed, 2005 c 98 art 2 s 18]

256B.063 COST SHARING.

Notwithstanding the provisions of section 256B.05, subdivision 2, the commissioner is
authorized to promulgate rules pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act, and to require a
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nominal enrollment fee, premium, or similar charge for recipients of medical assistance, if and to
the extent required by applicable federal regulation.

History: 1973 c 717 s 5

256B.0631 MEDICAL ASSISTANCE CO-PAYMENTS.

Subdivision 1. Cost-sharing. (a) Except as provided in subdivision 2, the medical
assistance benefit plan shall include the following cost-sharing for all recipients, effective for
services provided on or after September 1, 2011:

(1) $3 per nonpreventive visit, except as provided in paragraph (b). For purposes of
this subdivision, a visit means an episode of service which is required because of a recipient's
symptoms, diagnosis, or established illness, and which is delivered in an ambulatory setting by
a physician or physician ancillary, chiropractor, podiatrist, nurse midwife, advanced practice
nurse, audiologist, optician, or optometrist;

(2) $3 for eyeglasses;
(3) $3.50 for nonemergency visits to a hospital-based emergency room, except that this

co-payment shall be increased to $20 upon federal approval;
(4) $3 per brand-name drug prescription and $1 per generic drug prescription, subject to

a $12 per month maximum for prescription drug co-payments. No co-payments shall apply to
antipsychotic drugs when used for the treatment of mental illness;

(5) effective January 1, 2012, a family deductible equal to the maximum amount allowed
under Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, part 447.54; and

(6) for individuals identified by the commissioner with income at or below 100 percent of
the federal poverty guidelines, total monthly cost-sharing must not exceed five percent of family
income. For purposes of this paragraph, family income is the total earned and unearned income of
the individual and the individual's spouse, if the spouse is enrolled in medical assistance and also
subject to the five percent limit on cost-sharing.

(b) Recipients of medical assistance are responsible for all co-payments and deductibles in
this subdivision.

Subd. 2. Exceptions. Co-payments and deductibles shall be subject to the following
exceptions:

(1) children under the age of 21;
(2) pregnant women for services that relate to the pregnancy or any other medical condition

that may complicate the pregnancy;
(3) recipients expected to reside for at least 30 days in a hospital, nursing home, or

intermediate care facility for the developmentally disabled;
(4) recipients receiving hospice care;
(5) 100 percent federally funded services provided by an Indian health service;
(6) emergency services;
(7) family planning services;
(8) services that are paid by Medicare, resulting in the medical assistance program paying

for the coinsurance and deductible; and
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(9) co-payments that exceed one per day per provider for nonpreventive visits, eyeglasses,
and nonemergency visits to a hospital-based emergency room.

Subd. 3. Collection. (a) The medical assistance reimbursement to the provider shall be
reduced by the amount of the co-payment or deductible, except that reimbursements shall not
be reduced:

(1) once a recipient has reached the $12 per month maximum for prescription drug
co-payments; or

(2) for a recipient identified by the commissioner under 100 percent of the federal poverty
guidelines who has met their monthly five percent cost-sharing limit.

(b) The provider collects the co-payment or deductible from the recipient. Providers may
not deny services to recipients who are unable to pay the co-payment or deductible.

(c) Medical assistance reimbursement to fee-for-service providers and payments to
managed care plans shall not be increased as a result of the removal of co-payments or deductibles
effective on or after January 1, 2009.

Subd. 4. MS 2006 [Repealed, 2007 c 147 art 5 s 41]

History: 1Sp2003 c 14 art 12 s 37; 2005 c 56 s 1; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 8 s 41,42; 2007 c 147
art 5 s 10,11,41; 2008 c 363 art 17 s 10,11; 1Sp2010 c 1 art 16 s 16,17; 1Sp2011 c 9 art 6 s 49-51

256B.0635 CONTINUED ELIGIBILITY IN SPECIAL CIRCUMSTANCES.

Subdivision 1. Increased employment. (a) Until June 30, 2002, medical assistance may
be paid for persons who received MFIP or medical assistance for families and children in at
least three of six months preceding the month in which the person became ineligible for MFIP
or medical assistance, if the ineligibility was due to an increase in hours of employment or
employment income or due to the loss of an earned income disregard. In addition, to receive
continued assistance under this section, persons who received medical assistance for families and
children but did not receive MFIP must have had income less than or equal to the assistance
standard for their family size under the state's AFDC plan in effect as of July 16, 1996, increased
by three percent effective July 1, 2000, at the time medical assistance eligibility began. A person
who is eligible for extended medical assistance is entitled to six months of assistance without
reapplication, unless the assistance unit ceases to include a dependent child. For a person under 21
years of age, medical assistance may not be discontinued within the six-month period of extended
eligibility until it has been determined that the person is not otherwise eligible for medical
assistance. Medical assistance may be continued for an additional six months if the person meets
all requirements for the additional six months, according to title XIX of the Social Security Act,
as amended by section 303 of the Family Support Act of 1988, Public Law 100-485.

(b) Beginning July 1, 2002, contingent upon federal funding, medical assistance for families
and children may be paid for persons who were eligible under section 256B.055, subdivision 3a, in
at least three of six months preceding the month in which the person became ineligible under that
section if the ineligibility was due to an increase in hours of employment or employment income
or due to the loss of an earned income disregard. A person who is eligible for extended medical
assistance is entitled to six months of assistance without reapplication, unless the assistance unit
ceases to include a dependent child, except medical assistance may not be discontinued for that
dependent child under 21 years of age within the six-month period of extended eligibility until
it has been determined that the person is not otherwise eligible for medical assistance. Medical
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assistance may be continued for an additional six months if the person meets all requirements
for the additional six months, according to title XIX of the Social Security Act, as amended by
section 303 of the Family Support Act of 1988, Public Law 100-485.

Subd. 2. Increased child or spousal support. (a) Until June 30, 2002, medical assistance
may be paid for persons who received MFIP or medical assistance for families and children in
at least three of the six months preceding the month in which the person became ineligible for
MFIP or medical assistance, if the ineligibility was the result of the collection of child or spousal
support under part D of title IV of the Social Security Act. In addition, to receive continued
assistance under this section, persons who received medical assistance for families and children
but did not receive MFIP must have had income less than or equal to the assistance standard for
their family size under the state's AFDC plan in effect as of July 16, 1996, increased by three
percent effective July 1, 2000, at the time medical assistance eligibility began. A person who is
eligible for extended medical assistance under this subdivision is entitled to four months of
assistance without reapplication, unless the assistance unit ceases to include a dependent child,
except medical assistance may not be discontinued for that dependent child under 21 years of age
within the four-month period of extended eligibility until it has been determined that the person is
not otherwise eligible for medical assistance.

(b) Beginning July 1, 2002, contingent upon federal funding, medical assistance for families
and children may be paid for persons who were eligible under section 256B.055, subdivision 3a,
in at least three of the six months preceding the month in which the person became ineligible
under that section if the ineligibility was the result of the collection of child or spousal support
under part D of title IV of the Social Security Act. A person who is eligible for extended medical
assistance under this subdivision is entitled to four months of assistance without reapplication,
unless the assistance unit ceases to include a dependent child, except medical assistance may not
be discontinued for that dependent child under 21 years of age within the four-month period of
extended eligibility until it has been determined that the person is not otherwise eligible for
medical assistance.

Subd. 3. [Repealed, 2002 c 277 s 34]

History: 1997 c 85 art 3 s 22; 1998 c 407 art 6 s 13; 1999 c 245 art 4 s 59; 1Sp2001 c 9 art
2 s 40,41,76; art 10 s 66; 2002 c 277 s 31,33; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 12 s 38,39

256B.0636 CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE PRESCRIPTIONS; ABUSE PREVENTION.

The commissioner of human services shall develop and implement a plan to:

(1) review utilization patterns of Minnesota health care program enrollees for controlled
substances listed in section 152.02, subdivisions 3 and 4, and those substances defined by the
Board of Pharmacy under section 152.02, subdivisions 8 and 12;

(2) develop a mechanism to address abuses both for fee-for-service Minnesota health care
program enrollees and those enrolled in managed care plans; and

(3) provide education to Minnesota health care program enrollees on the proper use of
controlled substances.

For purposes of this section, "Minnesota health care program" means medical assistance,
MinnesotaCare, or general assistance medical care.

History: 2007 c 147 art 12 s 11
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256B.0637 PRESUMPTIVE ELIGIBILITY; TREATMENT FOR BREAST OR CERVICAL
CANCER.

Medical assistance is available during a presumptive eligibility period for persons
who meet the criteria in section 256B.057, subdivision 10. For purposes of this section,
the presumptive eligibility period begins on the date on which an entity designated by the
commissioner determines, based on preliminary information, that the person meets the criteria
in section 256B.057, subdivision 10. The presumptive eligibility period ends on the day on
which a determination is made as to the person's eligibility, except that if an application is not
submitted by the last day of the month following the month during which the determination
based on preliminary information is made, the presumptive eligibility period ends on that last
day of the month.

History: 1Sp2001 c 9 art 2 s 42; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113

256B.064 SANCTIONS; MONETARY RECOVERY.

Subdivision 1. Terminating payments to ineligible vendors. The commissioner may
terminate payments under this chapter to any person or facility that, under applicable federal
law or regulation, has been determined to be ineligible for payments under Title XIX of the
Social Security Act.

Subd. 1a. Grounds for sanctions against vendors. The commissioner may impose
sanctions against a vendor of medical care for any of the following: (1) fraud, theft, or abuse in
connection with the provision of medical care to recipients of public assistance; (2) a pattern
of presentment of false or duplicate claims or claims for services not medically necessary;
(3) a pattern of making false statements of material facts for the purpose of obtaining greater
compensation than that to which the vendor is legally entitled; (4) suspension or termination
as a Medicare vendor; (5) refusal to grant the state agency access during regular business
hours to examine all records necessary to disclose the extent of services provided to program
recipients and appropriateness of claims for payment; (6) failure to repay an overpayment
finally established under this section; and (7) any reason for which a vendor could be excluded
from participation in the Medicare program under section 1128, 1128A, or 1866(b)(2) of the
Social Security Act. The determination of services not medically necessary may be made by the
commissioner in consultation with a peer advisory task force appointed by the commissioner on
the recommendation of appropriate professional organizations. The task force expires as provided
in section 15.059, subdivision 5.

Subd. 1b. Sanctions available. The commissioner may impose the following sanctions for
the conduct described in subdivision 1a: suspension or withholding of payments to a vendor and
suspending or terminating participation in the program. Regardless of imposition of sanctions, the
commissioner may make a referral to the appropriate state licensing board.

Subd. 1c. Grounds for and methods of monetary recovery. (a) The commissioner may
obtain monetary recovery from a vendor who has been improperly paid either as a result of
conduct described in subdivision 1a or as a result of a vendor or department error, regardless of
whether the error was intentional. Patterns need not be proven as a precondition to monetary
recovery of erroneous or false claims, duplicate claims, claims for services not medically
necessary, or claims based on false statements.

(b) The commissioner may obtain monetary recovery using methods including but not
limited to the following: assessing and recovering money improperly paid and debiting from
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future payments any money improperly paid. The commissioner shall charge interest on money to
be recovered if the recovery is to be made by installment payments or debits, except when the
monetary recovery is of an overpayment that resulted from a department error. The interest
charged shall be the rate established by the commissioner of revenue under section 270C.40.

Subd. 1d. Investigative costs. The commissioner may seek recovery of investigative costs
from any vendor of medical care or services who willfully submits a claim for reimbursement for
services that the vendor knows, or reasonably should have known, is a false representation and
that results in the payment of public funds for which the vendor is ineligible. Billing errors that
result in unintentional overcharges shall not be grounds for investigative cost recoupment.

Subd. 2. Imposition of monetary recovery and sanctions. (a) The commissioner shall
determine any monetary amounts to be recovered and sanctions to be imposed upon a vendor
of medical care under this section. Except as provided in paragraphs (b) and (d), neither a
monetary recovery nor a sanction will be imposed by the commissioner without prior notice and
an opportunity for a hearing, according to chapter 14, on the commissioner's proposed action,
provided that the commissioner may suspend or reduce payment to a vendor of medical care,
except a nursing home or convalescent care facility, after notice and prior to the hearing if in the
commissioner's opinion that action is necessary to protect the public welfare and the interests
of the program.

(b) Except when the commissioner finds good cause not to suspend payments under Code of
Federal Regulations, title 42, section 455.23 (e) or (f), the commissioner shall withhold or reduce
payments to a vendor of medical care without providing advance notice of such withholding
or reduction if either of the following occurs:

(1) the vendor is convicted of a crime involving the conduct described in subdivision 1a; or
(2) the commissioner determines there is a credible allegation of fraud for which an

investigation is pending under the program. A credible allegation of fraud is an allegation which
has been verified by the state, from any source, including but not limited to:

(i) fraud hotline complaints;
(ii) claims data mining; and
(iii) patterns identified through provider audits, civil false claims cases, and law

enforcement investigations.
Allegations are considered to be credible when they have an indicia of reliability and the

state agency has reviewed all allegations, facts, and evidence carefully and acts judiciously on
a case-by-case basis.

(c) The commissioner must send notice of the withholding or reduction of payments
under paragraph (b) within five days of taking such action unless requested in writing by a law
enforcement agency to temporarily withhold the notice. The notice must:

(1) state that payments are being withheld according to paragraph (b);
(2) set forth the general allegations as to the nature of the withholding action, but need not

disclose any specific information concerning an ongoing investigation;
(3) except in the case of a conviction for conduct described in subdivision 1a, state that the

withholding is for a temporary period and cite the circumstances under which withholding will
be terminated;

(4) identify the types of claims to which the withholding applies; and
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(5) inform the vendor of the right to submit written evidence for consideration by the
commissioner.

The withholding or reduction of payments will not continue after the commissioner
determines there is insufficient evidence of fraud by the vendor, or after legal proceedings relating
to the alleged fraud are completed, unless the commissioner has sent notice of intention to impose
monetary recovery or sanctions under paragraph (a).

(d) The commissioner shall suspend or terminate a vendor's participation in the program
without providing advance notice and an opportunity for a hearing when the suspension or
termination is required because of the vendor's exclusion from participation in Medicare.
Within five days of taking such action, the commissioner must send notice of the suspension or
termination. The notice must:

(1) state that suspension or termination is the result of the vendor's exclusion fromMedicare;
(2) identify the effective date of the suspension or termination; and
(3) inform the vendor of the need to be reinstated to Medicare before reapplying for

participation in the program.
(e) Upon receipt of a notice under paragraph (a) that a monetary recovery or sanction is to

be imposed, a vendor may request a contested case, as defined in section 14.02, subdivision 3, by
filing with the commissioner a written request of appeal. The appeal request must be received by
the commissioner no later than 30 days after the date the notification of monetary recovery or
sanction was mailed to the vendor. The appeal request must specify:

(1) each disputed item, the reason for the dispute, and an estimate of the dollar amount
involved for each disputed item;

(2) the computation that the vendor believes is correct;
(3) the authority in statute or rule upon which the vendor relies for each disputed item;
(4) the name and address of the person or entity with whom contacts may be made

regarding the appeal; and
(5) other information required by the commissioner.
History: 1973 c 717 s 6; 1976 c 188 s 1; 1980 c 349 s 5,6; 1982 c 424 s 130; 1983 c 312

art 5 s 17; 1987 c 370 art 1 s 4; 1987 c 403 art 2 s 81; 1988 c 629 s 52; 1991 c 292 art 5 s 29;
1992 c 513 art 7 s 51,52; 1997 c 203 art 4 s 30-32; 2000 c 400 s 1; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 2 s 17;
2005 c 151 art 2 s 17; 1Sp2011 c 9 art 6 s 52

256B.0641 RECOVERY OF OVERPAYMENTS.

Subdivision 1. Recovery procedures; sources. Notwithstanding section 256B.72 or any
law or rule to the contrary, when the commissioner or the federal government determines that an
overpayment has been made by the state to any medical assistance vendor, the commissioner shall
recover the overpayment as follows:

(1) if the federal share of the overpayment amount is due and owing to the federal
government under federal law and regulations, the commissioner shall recover from the medical
assistance vendor the federal share of the determined overpayment amount paid to that provider
using the schedule of payments required by the federal government;

(2) if the overpayment to a medical assistance vendor is due to a retroactive adjustment
made because the medical assistance vendor's temporary payment rate was higher than the
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established desk audit payment rate or because of a department error in calculating a payment
rate, the commissioner shall recover from the medical assistance vendor the total amount of the
overpayment within 120 days after the date on which written notice of the adjustment is sent to the
medical assistance vendor or according to a schedule of payments approved by the commissioner;

(3) a medical assistance vendor is liable for the overpayment amount owed by a long-term
care provider if the vendors or their owners are under common control or ownership; and

(4) in order to collect past due obligations to the department, the commissioner shall make
any necessary adjustments to payments to a provider or vendor that has the same tax identification
number as is assigned to a provider or vendor with past due obligations.

Subd. 2. Overpayments to prior owners. The current owner of a nursing home, boarding
care home, or intermediate care facility for persons with developmental disabilities is liable for
the overpayment amount owed by a former owner for any facility sold, transferred, or reorganized
after May 15, 1987. Within 12 months of a written request by the current owner, the commissioner
shall conduct a field audit of the facility for the auditable rate years during which the former
owner owned the facility and issue a report of the field audit within 15 months of the written
request. Nothing in this subdivision limits the liability of a former owner.

Subd. 3. Facility in receivership. Subdivision 2 does not apply to the change of ownership
of a facility to a nonrelated organization while the facility to be sold, transferred or reorganized is
in receivership under section 144A.14, 144A.15, 245A.12, or 245A.13, and the commissioner
during the receivership has not determined the need to place residents of the facility into a newly
constructed or newly established facility. Nothing in this subdivision limits the liability of a
former owner.

History: 1Sp1985 c 9 art 2 s 39; 1987 c 133 s 1; 1991 c 292 art 6 s 46; 1995 c 207 art 7 s
22; 2005 c 56 s 1; 2009 c 79 art 8 s 22; 1Sp2011 c 9 art 6 s 53

256B.0642 FEDERAL FINANCIAL PARTICIPATION.

The commissioner may, in the aggregate, prospectively reduce payment rates for medical
assistance providers receiving federal funds to avoid reduced federal financial participation
resulting from rates that are in excess of the Medicare limitations.

History: 1989 c 282 art 3 s 59

256B.0643 VENDOR REQUEST FOR CONTESTED CASE PROCEEDING.

Unless otherwise provided by law, a vendor of medical care, as defined in section 256B.02,
subdivision 7, must use this procedure to request a contested case, as defined in section 14.02,
subdivision 3. A request for a contested case must be filed with the commissioner in writing
within 60 days after the date the notification of an action or determination was mailed. The
appeal request must specify:

(1) each disputed action or item;
(2) the reason for the dispute;
(3) an estimate of the dollar amount involved, if any, for each disputed item;
(4) the computation or other disposition that the appealing party believes is correct;
(5) the authority in statute or rule upon which the appealing party relies for each disputed

item;
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(6) the name and address of the person or firm with whom contacts may be made regarding
the appeal; and

(7) other information required by the commissioner. Nothing in this section shall be
construed to create a right to an administrative appeal or contested case proceeding.

History: 1990 c 568 art 3 s 53

256B.0644 REIMBURSEMENT UNDER OTHER STATE HEALTH CARE PROGRAMS.

(a) A vendor of medical care, as defined in section 256B.02, subdivision 7, and a health
maintenance organization, as defined in chapter 62D, must participate as a provider or contractor
in the medical assistance program, general assistance medical care program, and MinnesotaCare
as a condition of participating as a provider in health insurance plans and programs or contractor
for state employees established under section 43A.18, the public employees insurance program
under section 43A.316, for health insurance plans offered to local statutory or home rule charter
city, county, and school district employees, the workers' compensation system under section
176.135, and insurance plans provided through the Minnesota Comprehensive Health Association
under sections 62E.01 to 62E.19. The limitations on insurance plans offered to local government
employees shall not be applicable in geographic areas where provider participation is limited by
managed care contracts with the Department of Human Services.

(b) For providers other than health maintenance organizations, participation in the medical
assistance program means that:

(1) the provider accepts new medical assistance, general assistance medical care, and
MinnesotaCare patients;

(2) for providers other than dental service providers, at least 20 percent of the provider's
patients are covered by medical assistance, general assistance medical care, and MinnesotaCare
as their primary source of coverage; or

(3) for dental service providers, at least ten percent of the provider's patients are covered
by medical assistance, general assistance medical care, and MinnesotaCare as their primary
source of coverage, or the provider accepts new medical assistance and MinnesotaCare patients
who are children with special health care needs. For purposes of this section, "children with
special health care needs" means children up to age 18 who: (i) require health and related services
beyond that required by children generally; and (ii) have or are at risk for a chronic physical,
developmental, behavioral, or emotional condition, including: bleeding and coagulation disorders;
immunodeficiency disorders; cancer; endocrinopathy; developmental disabilities; epilepsy,
cerebral palsy, and other neurological diseases; visual impairment or deafness; Down syndrome
and other genetic disorders; autism; fetal alcohol syndrome; and other conditions designated by the
commissioner after consultation with representatives of pediatric dental providers and consumers.

(c) Patients seen on a volunteer basis by the provider at a location other than the provider's
usual place of practice may be considered in meeting the participation requirement in this
section. The commissioner shall establish participation requirements for health maintenance
organizations. The commissioner shall provide lists of participating medical assistance providers
on a quarterly basis to the commissioner of management and budget, the commissioner of labor
and industry, and the commissioner of commerce. Each of the commissioners shall develop and
implement procedures to exclude as participating providers in the program or programs under
their jurisdiction those providers who do not participate in the medical assistance program. The

Copyright © 2011 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



138 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2011 256B.0651

commissioner of management and budget shall implement this section through contracts with
participating health and dental carriers.

(d) For purposes of paragraphs (a) and (b), participation in the general assistance medical
care program applies only to pharmacy providers.

History: 1992 c 549 art 4 s 13; 1993 c 13 art 2 s 7; 1993 c 247 art 4 s 9; 1993 c 339 s 14;
1993 c 345 art 9 s 14; 1995 c 248 art 10 s 16; 1997 c 203 art 4 s 33,72; 1999 c 177 s 87; 1Sp2001
c 9 art 2 s 43; 2002 c 275 s 3; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 2007 c 147 art 5 s 12; 2008 c 204 s 42;
2009 c 101 art 2 s 109; 2010 c 200 art 1 s 6; 1Sp2010 c 1 art 16 s 18

256B.0645 PROVIDER PAYMENTS; RETROACTIVE CHANGES IN ELIGIBILITY.

Payment to a provider for a health care service provided to a general assistance medical
care recipient who is later determined eligible for medical assistance or MinnesotaCare according
to section 256L.03, subdivision 1a, for the period in which the health care service was provided,
may be adjusted due to the change in eligibility. This section does not apply to payments made
to health plans on a prepaid capitated basis.

History: 1995 c 234 art 6 s 39; 1998 c 407 art 4 s 32

256B.065 SOCIAL SECURITY AMENDMENTS.

The commissioner shall comply with requirements of the Social Security amendments of
1972 (Public Law 92-603) necessary in order to avoid loss of federal funds, and shall implement
by rule, pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act, those provisions required of state agencies
supervising Title XIX of the Social Security Act.

History: 1973 c 717 s 7

256B.0651 HOME CARE SERVICES.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of sections 256B.0651 to 256B.0656 and
256B.0659, the terms in paragraphs (b) to (g) have the meanings given.

(b) "Activities of daily living" has the meaning given in section 256B.0659, subdivision 1,
paragraph (b).

(c) "Assessment" means a review and evaluation of a recipient's need for home care
services conducted in person.

(d) "Home care services" means medical assistance covered services that are home
health agency services, including skilled nurse visits; home health aide visits; physical therapy,
occupational therapy, respiratory therapy, and language-speech pathology therapy; private duty
nursing; and personal care assistance.

(e) "Home residence," effective January 1, 2010, means a residence owned or rented by the
recipient either alone, with roommates of the recipient's choosing, or with an unpaid responsible
party or legal representative; or a family foster home where the license holder lives with the
recipient and is not paid to provide home care services for the recipient except as allowed under
sections 256B.0652, subdivision 10, and 256B.0654, subdivision 4.

(f) "Medically necessary" has the meaning given in Minnesota Rules, parts 9505.0170 to
9505.0475.
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(g) "Ventilator-dependent" means an individual who receives mechanical ventilation for life
support at least six hours per day and is expected to be or has been dependent on a ventilator for at
least 30 consecutive days.

Subd. 2. Services covered. Home care services covered under this section and sections
256B.0652 to 256B.0656 and 256B.0659 include:

(1) nursing services under sections 256B.0625, subdivision 6a, and 256B.0653;
(2) private duty nursing services under sections 256B.0625, subdivision 7, and 256B.0654;
(3) home health services under sections 256B.0625, subdivision 6a, and 256B.0653;
(4) personal care assistance services under sections 256B.0625, subdivision 19a, and

256B.0659;
(5) supervision of personal care assistance services provided by a qualified professional

under sections 256B.0625, subdivision 19a, and 256B.0659;
(6) face-to-face assessments by county public health nurses for services under sections

256B.0625, subdivision 19a, and 256B.0659; and
(7) service updates and review of temporary increases for personal care assistance services

by the county public health nurse for services under sections 256B.0625, subdivision 19a, and
256B.0659.

Subd. 3. Noncovered home care services. The following home care services are not
eligible for payment under medical assistance:

(1) services provided in a nursing facility, hospital, or intermediate care facility with
exceptions in section 256B.0653;

(2) services for the sole purpose of monitoring medication compliance with an established
medication program for a recipient;

(3) home care services for covered services under the Medicare program or any other
insurance held by the recipient;

(4) services to other members of the recipient's household;
(5) any home care service included in the daily rate of the community-based residential

facility where the recipient is residing;
(6) nursing and rehabilitation therapy services that are reasonably accessible to a recipient

outside the recipient's place of residence, excluding the assessment, counseling and education,
and personal assistance care; or

(7) Medicare evaluation or administrative nursing visits on dual-eligible recipients that do
not qualify for Medicare visit billing.

Subd. 4. MS 2008 [Renumbered 256B.0652, subd 14]

Subd. 5. [Repealed by amendment, 2009 c 79 art 8 s 23]

Subd. 6. MS 2008 [Paragraph (a) renumbered 256B.0652, subd 3a]
[Paragraph (b) renumbered 256B.0652, subd 4]
[Paragraph (c) renumbered 256B.0652, subd 7]

Subd. 7. MS 2008 [Paragraph (a) renumbered 256B.0652, subd 8]
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[Paragraph (b) renumbered 256B.0652, subd 8]

[Paragraph (c) renumbered 256B.0652, subd 13]

Subd. 8. MS 2008 [Renumbered 256B.0652, subd 9]

Subd. 9. MS 2008 [Renumbered 256B.0652, subd 10]

Subd. 10. [Repealed by amendment, 2009 c 79 art 8 s 23]

Subd. 11. MS 2008 [Renumbered 256B.0652, subd 11]

Subd. 12. Approval of home care services. The commissioner or the commissioner's
designee shall determine the medical necessity of home care services, the level of caregiver
according to subdivision 2, and the institutional comparison according to this subdivision and
sections 256B.0652, subdivisions 3a, 4 to 11, 13, and 14, and 256B.0659, the cost-effectiveness of
services, and the amount, scope, and duration of home care services reimbursable by medical
assistance, based on the assessment, primary payer coverage determination information as
required, the service plan, the recipient's age, the cost of services, the recipient's medical
condition, and diagnosis or disability. The commissioner may publish additional criteria for
determining medical necessity according to section 256B.04.

Subd. 13. Recovery of excessive payments. The commissioner shall seek monetary
recovery from providers of payments made for services which exceed the limits established in
this section and sections 256B.0653 to 256B.0656, and 256B.0659. This subdivision does not
apply to services provided to a recipient at the previously authorized level pending an appeal
under section 256.045, subdivision 10.

Subd. 14. Referrals to Medicare providers required. Home care providers that do not
participate in or accept Medicare assignment must refer and document the referral of dual-eligible
recipients to Medicare providers when Medicare is determined to be the appropriate payer for
services and supplies and equipment. Providers must be terminated from participation in the
medical assistance program for failure to make these referrals.

Subd. 15. Quality assurance for program integrity. The commissioner shall establish an
ongoing quality assurance process for home care services to monitor program integrity, including
provider standards and training, consumer surveys, and random reviews of documentation.

Subd. 16. Oversight of enrolled providers. The commissioner has the authority to request
proof of documentation of meeting provider standards, quality standards of care, correct billing
practices, and other information. Failure to comply with or to provide access and information
to demonstrate compliance with laws, rules, or policies may result in suspension, denial, or
termination of the provider agency's enrollment with the department.

Subd. 17. Recipient protection. (a) Providers of home care services must provide each
recipient with a copy of the home care bill of rights under section 144A.44 at least 30 days prior
to terminating services to a recipient, if the termination results from provider sanctions under
section 256B.064, such as a payment withhold, a suspension of participation, or a termination
of participation. If a home care provider determines it is unable to continue providing services
to a recipient, the provider must notify the recipient, the recipient's responsible party, and the
commissioner 30 days prior to terminating services to the recipient because of an action under
section 256B.064, and must assist the commissioner and lead agency in supporting the recipient
in transitioning to another home care provider of the recipient's choice.
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(b) In the event of a payment withhold from a home care provider, a suspension of
participation, or a termination of participation of a home care provider under section 256B.064,
the commissioner may inform the Office of Ombudsman for Long-Term Care and the lead
agencies for all recipients with active service agreements with the provider. At the commissioner's
request, the lead agencies must contact recipients to ensure that the recipients are continuing
to receive needed care, and that the recipients have been given free choice of provider if they
transfer to another home care provider. In addition, the commissioner or the commissioner's
delegate may directly notify recipients who receive care from the provider that payments have
been withheld or that the provider's participation in medical assistance has been suspended or
terminated, if the commissioner determines that notification is necessary to protect the welfare
of the recipients. For purposes of this subdivision, "lead agencies" means counties, tribes, and
managed care organizations.

History: 1986 c 444; 1990 c 568 art 3 s 51; 1991 c 292 art 7 s 12,25; 1992 c 391 s 3-6; 1992
c 464 art 2 s 1; 1992 c 513 art 7 s 50; 1Sp1993 c 1 art 5 s 51-53; 1995 c 207 art 6 s 52-55; 1996 c
451 art 5 s 17-20; 1997 c 203 art 4 s 28,29; 3Sp1997 c 3 s 9; 1998 c 407 art 4 s 29-31; 1999 c 245
art 4 s 50-58; 2000 c 474 s 8-11; 1Sp2001 c 9 art 3 s 29-41; 2002 c 375 art 2 s 17; 2002 c 379 art
1 s 113; 2003 c 15 art 1 s 33; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 3 s 26-28; 2005 c 10 art 1 s 49,50; 2005 c 56 s 1;
1Sp2005 c 4 art 7 s 15-19; 2007 c 147 art 7 s 8; 2009 c 79 art 8 s 23,85; 2010 c 352 art 1 s 8

256B.0652 AUTHORIZATION AND REVIEW OF HOME CARE SERVICES.

Subdivision 1. State coordination. The commissioner shall supervise the coordination of
the authorization and review of home care services that are reimbursed by medical assistance.

Subd. 2. Duties. (a) The commissioner may contract with or employ necessary staff, or
contract with qualified agencies, to provide home care authorization and review services for
medical assistance recipients who are receiving home care services.

(b) Reimbursement for the authorization function shall be made through the medical
assistance administrative authority. The state shall pay the nonfederal share. The functions will
be to:

(1) assess the recipient's individual need for services required to be cared for safely in
the community;

(2) ensure that a care plan that meets the recipient's needs is developed by the appropriate
agency or individual;

(3) ensure cost-effectiveness and nonduplication of medical assistance home care services;
(4) recommend the approval or denial of the use of medical assistance funds to pay for

home care services;
(5) reassess the recipient's need for and level of home care services at a frequency

determined by the commissioner;
(6) conduct on-site assessments when determined necessary by the commissioner and

recommend changes to care plans that will provide more efficient and appropriate home care; and
(7) on the department's Web site:
(i) provide a link to MinnesotaHelp.info for a list of enrolled home care agencies with the

following information: main office address, contact information for the agency, counties in which
services are provided, type of home care services provided, whether the personal care assistance
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choice option is offered, types of qualified professionals employed, number of personal care
assistants employed, and data on staff turnover; and

(ii) post data on home care services including information from both fee-for-service and
managed care plans on recipients as available.

(c) In addition, the commissioner or the commissioner's designee may:
(1) review care plans, service plans, and reimbursement data for utilization of services that

exceed community-based standards for home care, inappropriate home care services, medical
necessity, home care services that do not meet quality of care standards, or unauthorized services
and make appropriate referrals within the department or to other appropriate entities based on
the findings;

(2) assist the recipient in obtaining services necessary to allow the recipient to remain
safely in or return to the community;

(3) coordinate home care services with other medical assistance services under section
256B.0625;

(4) assist the recipient with problems related to the provision of home care services;
(5) assure the quality of home care services; and
(6) assure that all liable third-party payers including, but not limited to, Medicare have been

used prior to medical assistance for home care services.
(d) For the purposes of this section, "home care services" means medical assistance services

defined under section 256B.0625, subdivisions 6a, 7, and 19a.

Subd. 3. MS 2008 [Renumbered subd 12]

Subd. 3a. Authorization; generally. The commissioner, or the commissioner's designee,
shall review the assessment, request for temporary services, service plan, and any additional
information that is submitted. The commissioner shall, within 30 days after receiving a complete
request, assessment, and service plan, authorize home care services as provided in this section.

Subd. 4. Home health services. Home health services including skilled nurse visits and
home health aide visits must be authorized by the commissioner or the commissioner's designee.
Authorization must be based on medical necessity and cost-effectiveness when compared with
other care options. The commissioner must receive the request for authorization of skilled nurse
visits and home health aide visits within 20 working days of the start of service. When home
health services are used in combination with personal care and private duty nursing, the cost of all
home care services shall be considered for cost-effectiveness.

Subd. 5. Authorization; private duty nursing services. (a) All private duty nursing
services shall be authorized by the commissioner or the commissioner's designee. Authorization
for private duty nursing services shall be based on medical necessity and cost-effectiveness when
compared with alternative care options. The commissioner may authorize medically necessary
private duty nursing services in quarter-hour units when:

(1) the recipient requires more individual and continuous care than can be provided during
a skilled nurse visit; or

(2) the cares are outside of the scope of services that can be provided by a home health aide
or personal care assistant.

(b) The commissioner may authorize:
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(1) up to two times the average amount of direct care hours provided in nursing facilities
statewide for case mix classification "K" as established by the annual cost report submitted to the
department by nursing facilities in May 1992;

(2) private duty nursing in combination with other home care services up to the total cost
allowed under section 256B.0652, subdivision 6;

(3) up to 16 hours per day if the recipient requires more nursing than the maximum number
of direct care hours as established in clause (1) and the recipient meets the hospital admission
criteria established under Minnesota Rules, parts 9505.0501 to 9505.0540.

(c) The commissioner may authorize up to 16 hours per day of medically necessary private
duty nursing services or up to 24 hours per day of medically necessary private duty nursing
services until such time as the commissioner is able to make a determination of eligibility for
recipients who are cooperatively applying for home care services under the community alternative
care program developed under section 256B.49, or until it is determined by the appropriate
regulatory agency that a health benefit plan is or is not required to pay for appropriate medically
necessary health care services. Recipients or their representatives must cooperatively assist the
commissioner in obtaining this determination. Recipients who are eligible for the community
alternative care program may not receive more hours of nursing under this section and sections
256B.0651, 256B.0653, 256B.0656, and 256B.0659 than would otherwise be authorized under
section 256B.49.

Subd. 6. Authorization; personal care assistance and qualified professional. (a) All
personal care assistance services, supervision by a qualified professional, and additional services
beyond the limits established in subdivision 11, must be authorized by the commissioner or
the commissioner's designee before services begin except for the assessments established in
subdivision 11 and section 256B.0911. The authorization for personal care assistance and
qualified professional services under section 256B.0659 must be completed within 30 days after
receiving a complete request.

(b) The amount of personal care assistance services authorized must be based on the
recipient's home care rating. The home care rating shall be determined by the commissioner or the
commissioner's designee based on information submitted to the commissioner identifying the
following for recipients with dependencies in two or more activities of daily living:

(1) total number of dependencies of activities of daily living as defined in section
256B.0659;

(2) presence of complex health-related needs as defined in section 256B.0659; and
(3) presence of Level I behavior as defined in section 256B.0659.
(c) For purposes meeting the criteria in paragraph (b), the methodology to determine total

time for personal care assistance services for each home care rating is based on the median paid
units per day for each home care rating from fiscal year 2007 data for the personal care assistance
program. Each home care rating has a base level of hours assigned. Additional time is added
through the assessment and identification of the following:

(1) 30 additional minutes per day for a dependency in each critical activity of daily living as
defined in section 256B.0659;

(2) 30 additional minutes per day for each complex health-related function as defined
in section 256B.0659; and
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(3) 30 additional minutes per day for each behavior issue as defined in section 256B.0659,
subdivision 4, paragraph (d).

(d) Effective July 1, 2011, the home care rating for recipients who have a dependency
in one activity of daily living or Level I behavior shall equal no more than two units per day.
Recipients with this home care rating are not subject to the methodology in paragraph (c) and are
not eligible for more than two units per day.

(e) A limit of 96 units of qualified professional supervision may be authorized for each
recipient receiving personal care assistance services. A request to the commissioner to exceed
this total in a calendar year must be requested by the personal care provider agency on a form
approved by the commissioner.

Subd. 7. Ventilator-dependent. If the recipient is ventilator-dependent, the monthly
medical assistance authorization for home care services shall not exceed what the commissioner
would pay for care at the highest cost hospital designated as a long-term hospital under the
Medicare program. For purposes of this subdivision, home care services means all direct care
services provided in the home that would be included in the payment for care at the long-term
hospital. Recipients who meet the definition of ventilator dependent and the EN home care rating
and utilize a combination of home care services are limited up to a total of 24 hours of home care
services per day. Additional hours may be authorized when a recipient's assessment indicates a
need for two staff to perform activities. Additional time is limited to four hours per day.

Subd. 8. Authorization; time limits; amount and type. (a) The commissioner or the
commissioner's designee shall determine the time period for which an authorization shall be
effective. If the recipient continues to require home care services beyond the duration of the
authorization, the home care provider must request a new authorization. A personal care provider
agency must request a new personal care assistance services assessment, or service update if
allowed, at least 60 days prior to the end of the current authorization time period. The request
for the assessment must be made on a form approved by the commissioner. An authorization
must be valid for no more than 12 months.

(b) The amount and type of personal care assistance services authorized based upon the
assessment and service plan must remain in effect for the recipient whether the recipient chooses
a different provider or enrolls or disenrolls from a managed care plan under section 256B.0659,
unless the service needs of the recipient change and new assessment is warranted under section
256B.0659, subdivision 3a.

Subd. 9. Authorization requests; temporary services. The agency nurse, independently
enrolled private duty nurse, or county public health nurse may request a temporary authorization
for home care services. The commissioner may approve a temporary level of home care services
based on the assessment, and service or care plan information, and primary payer coverage
determination information as required. Authorization for a temporary level of home care services
including nurse supervision is limited to the time specified by the commissioner, but shall not
exceed 45 days. The level of services authorized under this provision shall have no bearing
on a future authorization.

Subd. 10. Authorization for foster care setting. (a) Home care services provided in an
adult or child foster care setting must receive authorization by the commissioner according to the
limits established in subdivision 11.

(b) The commissioner may not authorize:
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(1) home care services that are the responsibility of the foster care provider under the
terms of the foster care placement agreement, difficulty of care rate as of January 1, 2010, and
administrative rules;

(2) personal care assistance services when the foster care license holder is also the personal
care provider or personal care assistant, unless the foster home is the licensed provider's primary
residence as defined in section 256B.0625, subdivision 19a; or

(3) personal care assistant and private duty nursing services when the licensed capacity
is greater than four.

Subd. 11. Limits on services without authorization. A recipient may receive the following
home care services during a calendar year:

(1) up to two face-to-face assessments to determine a recipient's need for personal care
assistance services;

(2) one service update done to determine a recipient's need for personal care assistance
services; and

(3) up to nine face-to-face skilled nurse visits.

Subd. 12. Assessment and authorization process for persons receiving personal care
assistance and developmental disabilities services. For purposes of providing informed
choice, coordinating of local planning decisions, and streamlining administrative requirements,
the assessment and authorization process for persons receiving both home care and home and
community-based waivered services for persons with developmental disabilities shall meet the
requirements of sections 256B.0651 to 256B.0656 and 256B.0659 with the following exceptions:

(a) Upon request for home care services and subsequent assessment by the public health
nurse under sections 256B.0651 to 256B.0656 and 256B.0659, the public health nurse shall
participate in the screening process, as appropriate, and, if home care services are determined to
be necessary, participate in the development of a service plan coordinating the need for home care
and home and community-based waivered services with the assigned county case manager, the
recipient of services, and the recipient's legal representative, if any.

(b) The public health nurse shall give authorization for home care services to the extent
that home care services are:

(1) medically necessary;
(2) chosen by the recipient and their legal representative, if any, from the array of home

care and home and community-based waivered services available;
(3) coordinated with other services to be received by the recipient as described in the

service plan; and
(4) provided within the county's reimbursement limits for home care and home and

community-based waivered services for persons with developmental disabilities.
(c) If the public health agency is or may be the provider of home care services to the

recipient, the public health agency shall provide the commissioner of human services with a
written plan that specifies how the assessment and authorization process will be held separate
and distinct from the provision of services.

Subd. 13. Reduction of services; appeal. A recipient who appeals a reduction in previously
authorized home care services may continue previously authorized services, other than temporary
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services under subdivision 9, pending an appeal under section 256.045. The commissioner must
ensure that the recipient has a copy of the most recent service plan that contains a detailed
explanation of which areas of covered personal care assistance tasks are reduced, and provide
notice of the amount of time per day reduced, and the reasons for the reduction in the recipient's
notice of denial, termination, or reduction.

Subd. 14. Authorization; exceptions. All home care services above the limits in
subdivision 11 must receive the commissioner's authorization before services begin, except when:

(1) the home care services were required to treat an emergency medical condition that if not
immediately treated could cause a recipient serious physical or mental disability, continuation
of severe pain, or death. The provider must request retroactive authorization no later than five
working days after giving the initial service. The provider must be able to substantiate the
emergency by documentation such as reports, notes, and admission or discharge histories;

(2) a recipient's medical assistance eligibility has lapsed, is then retroactively reinstated, and
an authorization for home care services is completed based on the date of a current assessment,
eligibility, and request for authorization;

(3) a third-party payor for home care services has denied or adjusted a payment.
Authorization requests must be submitted by the provider within 20 working days of the notice of
denial or adjustment. A copy of the notice must be included with the request;

(4) the commissioner has determined that a county or state human services agency has
made an error; or

(5) if a recipient enrolled in managed care experiences a temporary disenrollment from a
health plan, the commissioner shall accept the current health plan authorization for personal care
assistance services for up to 60 days. The request must be received within the first 30 days of
the disenrollment. If the recipient's reenrollment in managed care is after the 60 days and before
90 days, the provider shall request an additional 30-day extension of the current health plan
authorization, for a total limit of 90 days from the time of disenrollment.

History: 1991 c 292 art 7 s 13; 1Sp1993 c 1 art 5 s 54; 1995 c 207 art 3 s 18; art 6 s 56;
1996 c 451 art 2 s 21; 2005 c 56 s 1; 1986 c 444; 1990 c 568 art 3 s 51; 1991 c 292 art 7 s 12,25;
1992 c 391 s 3-6; 1992 c 464 art 2 s 1; 1992 c 513 art 7 s 50; 1Sp1993 c 1 art 5 s 51-53; 1995 c
207 art 6 s 52-55; 1996 c 451 art 5 s 17-20; 1997 c 203 art 4 s 28,29; 3Sp1997 c 3 s 9; 1998 c
407 art 4 s 29-31; 1999 c 245 art 4 s 50-58; 2000 c 474 s 8-11; 1Sp2001 c 9 art 3 s 29-41; 2002 c
375 art 2 s 17; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 2003 c 15 art 1 s 33; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 3 s 26-28; 2005
c 10 art 1 s 49,50; 2005 c 56 s 1; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 7 s 15-19; 2007 c 147 art 6 s 19-22; art 7 s
8,9-11; 2008 c 286 art 1 s 7; 2009 c 79 art 6 s 9; art 8 s 23,24,26-28,85; 2009 c 173 art 1 s 22;
2010 c 352 art 1 s 9; 1Sp2011 c 9 art 7 s 9

256B.0653 HOME HEALTH AGENCY SERVICES.

Subdivision 1. Scope. This section applies to home health agency services including home
health aide, skilled nursing visits, physical therapy, occupational therapy, respiratory therapy, and
speech-language pathology therapy.

Subd. 2. Definitions. For the purposes of this section, the following terms have the
meanings given.
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(a) "Assessment" means an evaluation of the recipient's medical need for home health
agency services by a registered nurse or appropriate therapist that is conducted within 30 days of
a request.

(b) "Home care therapies" means occupational, physical, and respiratory therapy and
speech-language pathology services provided in the home by a Medicare certified home health
agency.

(c) "Home health agency services" means services delivered in the recipient's home
residence, except as specified in section 256B.0625, by a home health agency to a recipient with
medical needs due to illness, disability, or physical conditions.

(d) "Home health aide" means an employee of a home health agency who completes
medically oriented tasks written in the plan of care for a recipient.

(e) "Home health agency" means a home care provider agency that is Medicare-certified.
(f) "Occupational therapy services" mean the services defined in Minnesota Rules, part

9505.0390.
(g) "Physical therapy services" mean the services defined in Minnesota Rules, part

9505.0390.
(h) "Respiratory therapy services" mean the services defined in chapter 147C and Minnesota

Rules, part 4668.0003, subpart 37.
(i) "Speech-language pathology services" mean the services defined in Minnesota Rules,

part 9505.0390.
(j) "Skilled nurse visit" means a professional nursing visit to complete nursing tasks

required due to a recipient's medical condition that can only be safely provided by a professional
nurse to restore and maintain optimal health.

(k) "Store-and-forward technology" means telehomecare services that do not occur in real
time via synchronous transmissions such as diabetic and vital sign monitoring.

(l) "Telehomecare" means the use of telecommunications technology via live, two-way
interactive audiovisual technology which may be augmented by store-and-forward technology.

(m) "Telehomecare skilled nurse visit" means a visit by a professional nurse to deliver a
skilled nurse visit to a recipient located at a site other than the site where the nurse is located and is
used in combination with face-to-face skilled nurse visits to adequately meet the recipient's needs.

Subd. 3. Home health aide visits. (a) Home health aide visits must be provided by a
certified home health aide using a written plan of care that is updated in compliance with
Medicare regulations. A home health aide shall provide hands-on personal care, perform simple
procedures as an extension of therapy or nursing services, and assist in instrumental activities of
daily living as defined in section 256B.0659, including assuring that the person gets to medical
appointments if identified in the written plan of care. Home health aide visits must be provided in
the recipient's home.

(b) All home health aide visits must have authorization under section 256B.0652. The
commissioner shall limit home health aide visits to no more than one visit per day per recipient.

(c) Home health aides must be supervised by a registered nurse or an appropriate therapist
when providing services that are an extension of therapy.

Subd. 4. Skilled nurse visit services. (a) Skilled nurse visit services must be provided by a
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registered nurse or a licensed practical nurse under the supervision of a registered nurse, according
to the written plan of care and accepted standards of medical and nursing practice according to
chapter 148. Skilled nurse visit services must be ordered by a physician and documented in a plan
of care that is reviewed and approved by the ordering physician at least once every 60 days. All
skilled nurse visits must be medically necessary and provided in the recipient's home residence
except as allowed under section 256B.0625, subdivision 6a.

(b) Skilled nurse visits include face-to-face and telehomecare visits with a limit of up to two
visits per day per recipient. All visits must be based on assessed needs.

(c) Telehomecare skilled nurse visits are allowed when the recipient's health status can be
accurately measured and assessed without a need for a face-to-face, hands-on encounter. All
telehomecare skilled nurse visits must have authorization and are paid at the same allowable rates
as face-to-face skilled nurse visits.

(d) The provision of telehomecare must be made via live, two-way interactive audiovisual
technology and may be augmented by utilizing store-and-forward technologies. Individually
identifiable patient data obtained through real-time or store-and-forward technology must be
maintained as health records according to sections 144.291 to 144.298. If the video is used for
research, training, or other purposes unrelated to the care of the patient, the identity of the patient
must be concealed.

(e) Authorization for skilled nurse visits must be completed under section 256B.0652. A
total of nine face-to-face skilled nurse visits per calendar year do not require authorization. All
telehomecare skilled nurse visits require authorization.

Subd. 5. Home care therapies. (a) Home care therapies include the following: physical
therapy, occupational therapy, respiratory therapy, and speech and language pathology therapy
services.

(b) Home care therapies must be:
(1) provided in the recipient's residence after it has been determined the recipient is unable

to access outpatient therapy;
(2) prescribed, ordered, or referred by a physician and documented in a plan of care and

reviewed, according to Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0390;
(3) assessed by an appropriate therapist; and
(4) provided by a Medicare-certified home health agency enrolled as a Medicaid provider

agency.
(c) Restorative and specialized maintenance therapies must be provided according to

Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0390. Physical and occupational therapy assistants may be used as
allowed under Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0390, subpart 1, item B.

(d) For both physical and occupational therapies, the therapist and the therapist's assistant
may not both bill for services provided to a recipient on the same day.

Subd. 6. Noncovered home health agency services. The following are not eligible for
payment under medical assistance as a home health agency service:

(1) telehomecare skilled nurses services that is communication between the home care
nurse and recipient that consists solely of a telephone conversation, facsimile, electronic mail, or
a consultation between two health care practitioners;
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(2) the following skilled nurse visits:
(i) for the purpose of monitoring medication compliance with an established medication

program for a recipient;
(ii) administering or assisting with medication administration, including injections,

prefilling syringes for injections, or oral medication setup of an adult recipient, when, as
determined and documented by the registered nurse, the need can be met by an available
pharmacy or the recipient or a family member is physically and mentally able to self-administer
or prefill a medication;

(iii) services done for the sole purpose of supervision of the home health aide or personal
care assistant;

(iv) services done for the sole purpose to train other home health agency workers;
(v) services done for the sole purpose of blood samples or lab draw when the recipient is

able to access these services outside the home; and
(vi) Medicare evaluation or administrative nursing visits required by Medicare;
(3) home health aide visits when the following activities are the sole purpose for the visit:

companionship, socialization, household tasks, transportation, and education; and
(4) home care therapies provided in other settings such as a clinic, day program, or as an

inpatient or when the recipient can access therapy outside of the recipient's residence.
History: 1986 c 444; 1990 c 568 art 3 s 51; 1991 c 292 art 7 s 12,25; 1992 c 391 s 3-6;

1992 c 464 art 2 s 1; 1992 c 513 art 7 s 50; 1Sp1993 c 1 art 5 s 51-53; 1995 c 207 art 6 s 52-55;
1996 c 451 art 5 s 17-20; 1997 c 203 art 4 s 28,29; 3Sp1997 c 3 s 9; 1998 c 407 art 4 s 29-31;
1999 c 245 art 4 s 50-58; 2000 c 474 s 8-11; 1Sp2001 c 9 art 3 s 29-41; 2002 c 375 art 2 s 17;
2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 2003 c 15 art 1 s 33; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 3 s 26-28; 2005 c 10 art 1 s 49,50;
1Sp2005 c 4 art 7 s 15-19; 2007 c 147 art 10 s 15; 2009 c 79 art 8 s 25; 2010 c 352 art 2 s 1

256B.0654 PRIVATE DUTY NURSING.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) "Complex private duty nursing care" means nursing services
provided to recipients who are ventilator dependent or for whom a physician has certified that the
recipient would meet the criteria for inpatient hospital intensive care unit (ICU) level of care.

(b) "Private duty nursing" means ongoing professional nursing services by a registered or
licensed practical nurse including assessment, professional nursing tasks, and education, based on
an assessment and physician orders to maintain or restore optimal health of the recipient.

(c) "Private duty nursing agency" means a medical assistance enrolled provider licensed
under chapter 144A to provide private duty nursing services.

(d) "Regular private duty nursing" means nursing services provided to a recipient who is
considered stable and not at an inpatient hospital intensive care unit level of care, but may have
episodes of instability that are not life threatening.

(e) "Shared private duty nursing" means the provision of nursing services by a private duty
nurse to two recipients at the same time and in the same setting.

Subd. 2. MS 2008 [Renumbered 256B.0652, subd 5]

Subd. 2a. Private duty nursing services. (a) Private duty nursing services must be used:
(1) in the recipient's home or outside the home when normal life activities require;
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(2) when the recipient requires more individual and continuous care than can be provided
during a skilled nurse visit; and

(3) when the care required is outside of the scope of services that can be provided by a
home health aide or personal care assistant.

(b) Private duty nursing services must be:
(1) assessed by a registered nurse on a form approved by the commissioner;
(2) ordered by a physician and documented in a plan of care that is reviewed by the

physician at least once every 60 days; and
(3) authorized by the commissioner under section 256B.0652.

Subd. 2b. Noncovered private duty nursing services. Private duty nursing services do not
cover the following:

(1) nursing services by a nurse who is the family foster care provider of a person who has
not reached 18 years of age unless allowed under subdivision 4;

(2) nursing services to more than two persons receiving shared private duty nursing services
from a private duty nurse in a single setting; and

(3) nursing services provided by a registered nurse or licensed practical nurse who is the
recipient's legal guardian or related to the recipient as spouse, parent, or family foster parent
whether by blood, marriage, or adoption except as specified in section 256B.0652, subdivision 4.

Subd. 3. Shared private duty nursing option. (a) Medical assistance payments for
shared private duty nursing services by a private duty nurse shall be limited according to this
subdivision. Unless otherwise provided in this subdivision, all other statutory and regulatory
provisions relating to private duty nursing services apply to shared private duty nursing services.
Nothing in this subdivision shall be construed to reduce the total number of private duty nursing
hours authorized for an individual recipient.

(b) Shared private duty nursing is the provision of nursing services by a private duty nurse
to two medical assistance eligible recipients at the same time and in the same setting. This
subdivision does not apply when a private duty nurse is caring for multiple recipients in more
than one setting.

(c) For the purposes of this subdivision, "setting" means:
(1) the home residence or foster care home of one of the individual recipients as defined in

section 256B.0651;
(2) a child care program licensed under chapter 245A or operated by a local school district

or private school;
(3) an adult day care service licensed under chapter 245A; or
(4) outside the home residence or foster care home of one of the recipients when normal life

activities take the recipients outside the home.
(d) The private duty nursing agency must offer the recipient the option of shared or

one-on-one private duty nursing services. The recipient may withdraw from participating in a
shared service arrangement at any time.

(e) The recipient or the recipient's legal representative, and the recipient's physician, in
conjunction with the private duty nursing agency, shall determine:
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(1) whether shared private duty nursing care is an appropriate option based on the individual
needs and preferences of the recipient; and

(2) the amount of shared private duty nursing services authorized as part of the overall
authorization of nursing services.

(f) The recipient or the recipient's legal representative, in conjunction with the private duty
nursing agency, shall approve the setting, grouping, and arrangement of shared private duty
nursing care based on the individual needs and preferences of the recipients. Decisions on the
selection of recipients to share services must be based on the ages of the recipients, compatibility,
and coordination of their care needs.

(g) The following items must be considered by the recipient or the recipient's legal
representative and the private duty nursing agency, and documented in the recipient's health
service record:

(1) the additional training needed by the private duty nurse to provide care to two recipients
in the same setting and to ensure that the needs of the recipients are met appropriately and safely;

(2) the setting in which the shared private duty nursing care will be provided;
(3) the ongoing monitoring and evaluation of the effectiveness and appropriateness of the

service and process used to make changes in service or setting;
(4) a contingency plan which accounts for absence of the recipient in a shared private duty

nursing setting due to illness or other circumstances;
(5) staffing backup contingencies in the event of employee illness or absence; and
(6) arrangements for additional assistance to respond to urgent or emergency care needs of

the recipients.
(h) The documentation for shared private duty nursing must be on a form approved by the

commissioner for each individual recipient sharing private duty nursing. The documentation must
be part of the recipient's health service record and include:

(1) permission by the recipient or the recipient's legal representative for the maximum
number of shared nursing hours per week chosen by the recipient and permission for shared
private duty nursing services provided in and outside the recipient's home residence;

(2) revocation by the recipient or the recipient's legal representative for the shared private
duty nursing permission, or services provided to others in and outside the recipient's residence; and

(3) daily documentation of the shared private duty nursing services provided by each
identified private duty nurse, including:

(i) the names of each recipient receiving shared private duty nursing services;
(ii) the setting for the shared services, including the starting and ending times that the

recipient received shared private duty nursing care; and
(iii) notes by the private duty nurse regarding changes in the recipient's condition, problems

that may arise from the sharing of private duty nursing services, and scheduling and care issues.
(i) The commissioner shall provide a rate methodology for shared private duty nursing. For

two persons sharing nursing care, the rate paid to a provider must not exceed 1.5 times the regular
private duty nursing rates paid for serving a single individual by a registered nurse or licensed
practical nurse. These rates apply only to situations in which both recipients are present and
receive shared private duty nursing care on the date for which the service is billed.
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Subd. 4. Hardship criteria; private duty nursing. (a) Payment is allowed for
extraordinary services that require specialized nursing skills and are provided by parents of minor
children, family foster parents, spouses, and legal guardians who are providing private duty
nursing care under the following conditions:

(1) the provision of these services is not legally required of the parents, spouses, or legal
guardians;

(2) the services are necessary to prevent hospitalization of the recipient; and

(3) the recipient is eligible for state plan home care or a home and community-based waiver
and one of the following hardship criteria are met:

(i) the parent, spouse, or legal guardian resigns from a part-time or full-time job to provide
nursing care for the recipient;

(ii) the parent, spouse, or legal guardian goes from a full-time to a part-time job with less
compensation to provide nursing care for the recipient;

(iii) the parent, spouse, or legal guardian takes a leave of absence without pay to provide
nursing care for the recipient; or

(iv) because of labor conditions, special language needs, or intermittent hours of care
needed, the parent, spouse, or legal guardian is needed in order to provide adequate private duty
nursing services to meet the medical needs of the recipient.

(b) Private duty nursing may be provided by a parent, spouse, family foster parent, or legal
guardian who is a nurse licensed in Minnesota. Private duty nursing services provided by a
parent, spouse, family foster parent, or legal guardian cannot be used in lieu of nursing services
covered and available under liable third-party payors, including Medicare. The private duty
nursing provided by a parent, spouse, family foster parent, or legal guardian must be included in
the service agreement. Authorized nursing services for a single recipient or recipients with the
same residence and provided by the parent, spouse, family foster parent, or legal guardian may
not exceed 50 percent of the total approved nursing hours, or eight hours per day, whichever is
less, up to a maximum of 40 hours per week. A parent or parents, spouse, family foster parent,
or legal guardian shall not provide more than 40 hours of services in a seven-day period. For
parents, family foster parents, and legal guardians, 40 hours is the total amount allowed regardless
of the number of children or adults who receive services. Nothing in this subdivision precludes
the parent's, spouse's, or legal guardian's obligation of assuming the nonreimbursed family
responsibilities of emergency backup caregiver and primary caregiver.

(c) A parent, family foster parent, or a spouse may not be paid to provide private duty
nursing care if:

(1) the parent or spouse fails to pass a criminal background check according to chapter
245C;

(2) it has been determined by the private duty nursing agency, the case manager, or the
physician that the private duty nursing provided by the parent, family foster parent, spouse, or
legal guardian is unsafe; or

(3) the parent, family foster parent, spouse, or legal guardian does not follow physician
orders.
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(d) For purposes of this section, "assessment" means a review and evaluation of a recipient's
need for home care services conducted in person. Assessments for private duty nursing must
be conducted by a registered nurse.

History: 1986 c 444; 1990 c 568 art 3 s 51; 1991 c 292 art 7 s 12,25; 1992 c 391 s 3-6;
1992 c 464 art 2 s 1; 1992 c 513 art 7 s 50; 1Sp1993 c 1 art 5 s 51-53; 1995 c 207 art 6 s 52-55;
1996 c 451 art 5 s 17-20; 1997 c 203 art 4 s 28,29; 3Sp1997 c 3 s 9; 1998 c 407 art 4 s 29-31;
1999 c 245 art 4 s 50-58; 2000 c 474 s 8-11; 1Sp2001 c 9 art 3 s 29-41; 2002 c 375 art 2 s 17;
2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 2003 c 15 art 1 s 33; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 3 s 26-28; 2005 c 10 art 1 s 49,50;
2005 c 56 s 1; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 7 s 15-19; 2009 c 79 art 8 s 26,85

256B.0655 Subdivision 1. [Repealed, 2009 c 79 art 8 s 86]

Subd. 1a. [Repealed, 2009 c 79 art 8 s 86]

Subd. 1b. MS 2008 [Renumbered 256B.0659, subd 3a]

Subd. 1c. [Repealed, 2009 c 79 art 8 s 86]

Subd. 1d. [Repealed, 2009 c 79 art 8 s 86]

Subd. 1e. [Repealed, 2009 c 79 art 8 s 86]

Subd. 1f. [Repealed, 2009 c 79 art 8 s 86]

Subd. 1g. [Repealed, 2009 c 79 art 8 s 86]

Subd. 1h. [Repealed, 2009 c 79 art 8 s 86]

Subd. 1i. [Repealed, 2009 c 79 art 8 s 86]

Subd. 2. [Repealed, 2009 c 79 art 8 s 86]

Subd. 3. [Repealed, 2009 c 79 art 8 s 86]

Subd. 4. MS 2008 [Renumbered 256B.0652, subd 6]

Subd. 5. [Repealed, 2009 c 79 art 8 s 86]

Subd. 6. [Repealed, 2009 c 79 art 8 s 86]

Subd. 7. [Repealed, 2009 c 79 art 8 s 86]

Subd. 8. [Repealed, 2009 c 79 art 8 s 86]

Subd. 9. [Repealed, 2009 c 79 art 8 s 86]

Subd. 10. [Repealed, 2009 c 79 art 8 s 86]

Subd. 11. [Repealed, 2009 c 79 art 8 s 86]

Subd. 12. [Repealed, 2009 c 79 art 8 s 86]

Subd. 13. [Repealed, 2009 c 79 art 8 s 86]

256B.0656 CONSUMER-DIRECTED HOME CARE PROJECT.

(a) Upon the receipt of federal waiver authority, the commissioner shall implement
a consumer-directed home care demonstration project. The consumer-directed home care
demonstration project must demonstrate and evaluate the outcomes of a consumer-directed
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service delivery alternative to improve access, increase consumer control and accountability over
available resources, and enable the use of supports that are more individualized and cost-effective
for eligible medical assistance recipients receiving certain medical assistance home care services.
The consumer-directed home care demonstration project will be administered locally by county
agencies, tribal governments, or administrative entities under contract with the state in regions
where counties choose not to provide this service.

(b) Grant awards for persons who have been receiving medical assistance covered personal
care, home health aide, or private duty nursing services for a period of 12 consecutive months
or more prior to enrollment in the consumer-directed home care demonstration project will be
established on a case-by-case basis using historical service expenditure data. An average monthly
expenditure for each continuing enrollee will be calculated based on historical expenditures made
on behalf of the enrollee for personal care, home health aide, or private duty nursing services
during the 12 month period directly prior to enrollment in the project. The grant award will equal
90 percent of the average monthly expenditure.

(c) Grant awards for project enrollees who have been receiving medical assistance covered
personal care, home health aide, or private duty nursing services for a period of less than 12
consecutive months prior to project enrollment will be calculated on a case-by-case basis using
the service authorization in place at the time of enrollment. The total number of units of personal
care, home health aide, or private duty nursing services the enrollee has been authorized to
receive will be converted to the total cost of the authorized services in a given month using the
statewide average service payment rates. To determine an estimated monthly expenditure, the
total authorized monthly personal care, home health aide or private duty nursing service costs
will be reduced by a percentage rate equivalent to the difference between the statewide average
service authorization and the statewide average utilization rate for each of the services by medical
assistance eligibles during the most recent fiscal year for which 12 months of data is available.
The grant award will equal 90 percent of the estimated monthly expenditure.

(d) The state of Minnesota, county agencies, tribal governments, or administrative entities
under contract with the state that participate in the implementation and administration of the
consumer-directed home care demonstration project, shall not be liable for damages, injuries, or
liabilities sustained through the purchase of support by the individual, the individual's family,
legal representative, or the authorized representative under this section with funds received
through the consumer-directed home care demonstration project. Liabilities include but are not
limited to: workers' compensation liability, the Federal Insurance Contributions Act (FICA), or
the Federal Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA).

(e) With federal approval, the commissioner may adjust methodologies in paragraphs
(b) and (c) to simplify program administration, improve consistency between state and federal
programs, and maximize federal financial participation.

History: 1986 c 444; 1990 c 568 art 3 s 51; 1991 c 292 art 7 s 12,25; 1992 c 391 s 3-6;
1992 c 464 art 2 s 1; 1992 c 513 art 7 s 50; 1Sp1993 c 1 art 5 s 51-53; 1995 c 207 art 6 s 52-55;
1996 c 451 art 5 s 17-20; 1997 c 203 art 4 s 28,29; 3Sp1997 c 3 s 9; 1998 c 407 art 4 s 29-31;
1999 c 245 art 4 s 50-58; 2000 c 474 s 8-11; 1Sp2001 c 9 art 3 s 29-41; 2002 c 375 art 2 s 17;
2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 2003 c 15 art 1 s 33; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 3 s 26-28; 2005 c 10 art 1 s
49,50; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 7 s 15-19
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256B.0657 SELF-DIRECTED SUPPORTS OPTION.

Subdivision 1. Definition. "Self-directed supports option" means personal assistance,
supports, items, and related services purchased under an approved budget plan and budget by a
recipient.

[See Note.]

Subd. 2. Eligibility. (a) The self-directed supports option is available to a person who:
(1) is a recipient of medical assistance as determined under sections 256B.055, 256B.056,

and 256B.057, subdivision 9;
(2) is eligible for personal care assistance services under section 256B.0659;
(3) lives in the person's own apartment or home, which is not owned, operated, or controlled

by a provider of services not related by blood or marriage;
(4) has the ability to hire, fire, supervise, establish staff compensation for, and manage the

individuals providing services, and to choose and obtain items, related services, and supports as
described in the participant's plan. If the recipient is not able to carry out these functions but has a
legal guardian or parent to carry them out, the guardian or parent may fulfill these functions on
behalf of the recipient; and

(5) has not been excluded or disenrolled by the commissioner.
(b) The commissioner may disenroll or exclude recipients, including guardians and parents,

under the following circumstances:
(1) recipients who have been restricted by the Primary Care Utilization Review Committee

may be excluded for a specified time period;
(2) recipients who exit the self-directed supports option during the recipient's service

plan year shall not access the self-directed supports option for the remainder of that service
plan year; and

(3) when the department determines that the recipient cannot manage recipient
responsibilities under the program.

[See Note.]

Subd. 3. Eligibility for other services. Selection of the self-directed supports option by a
recipient shall not restrict access to other medically necessary care and services furnished under
the state plan medical assistance benefit, including home care targeted case management, except
that a person receiving home and community-based waiver services, a family support grant, or a
consumer support grant is not eligible for funding under the self-directed supports option.

[See Note.]

Subd. 4. Assessment requirements. (a) The self-directed supports option assessment must
meet the following requirements:

(1) it shall be conducted by the county public health nurse or a certified public health
nurse under contract with the county;

(2) it shall be conducted face-to-face in the recipient's home initially, and at least annually
thereafter; when there is a significant change in the recipient's condition; and when there is
a change in the need for personal care assistance services. A recipient who is residing in a
facility may be assessed for the self-directed support option for the purpose of returning to the
community using this option; and
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(3) it shall be completed using the format established by the commissioner.

(b) The results of the assessment and recommendations shall be communicated to the
commissioner and the recipient by the county public health nurse or certified public health nurse
under contract with the county.

[See Note.]

Subd. 5. Self-directed supports option plan requirements. (a) The plan for the
self-directed supports option must meet the following requirements:

(1) the plan must be completed using a person-centered process that:

(i) builds upon the recipient's capacity to engage in activities that promote community life;

(ii) respects the recipient's preferences, choices, and abilities;

(iii) involves families, friends, and professionals in the planning or delivery of services or
supports as desired or required by the recipient; and

(iv) addresses the need for personal care assistance services identified in the recipient's
self-directed supports option assessment;

(2) the plan shall be developed by the recipient or by the guardian of an adult recipient
or by a parent or guardian of a minor child, and may be assisted by a provider who meets the
requirements established for using a person-centered planning process and shall be reviewed
at least annually upon reassessment or when there is a significant change in the recipient's
condition; and

(3) the plan must include the total budget amount available divided into monthly amounts
that cover the number of months of personal care assistance services authorization included in the
budget. The amount used each month may vary, but additional funds shall not be provided above
the annual personal care assistance services authorized amount unless a change in condition
is documented.

(b) The commissioner shall:

(1) establish the format and criteria for the plan as well as the requirements for providers
who assist with plan development;

(2) review the assessment and plan and, within 30 days after receiving the assessment and
plan, make a decision on approval of the plan;

(3) notify the recipient, parent, or guardian of approval or denial of the plan and provide
notice of the right to appeal under section 256.045; and

(4) provide a copy of the plan to the fiscal support entity selected by the recipient.
[See Note.]

Subd. 6. Services covered. (a) Services covered under the self-directed supports option
include:

(1) personal care assistance services under section 256B.0659; and

(2) items, related services, and supports, including assistive technology, that increase
independence or substitute for human assistance to the extent expenditures would otherwise be
used for human assistance.
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(b) Items, supports, and related services purchased under this option shall not be considered
home care services for the purposes of section 144A.43.

[See Note.]

Subd. 7. Noncovered services. Services or supports that are not eligible for payment
under the self-directed supports option include:

(1) services, goods, or supports that do not benefit the recipient;
(2) any fees incurred by the recipient, such as Minnesota health care program fees and

co-pays, legal fees, or costs related to advocate agencies;
(3) insurance, except for insurance costs related to employee coverage or fiscal support

entity payments;
(4) room and board and personal items that are not related to the disability, except that

medically prescribed specialized diet items may be covered if they reduce the need for human
assistance;

(5) home modifications that add square footage;
(6) home modifications for a residence other than the primary residence of the recipient, or

in the event of a minor with parents not living together, the primary residences of the parents;
(7) expenses for travel, lodging, or meals related to training the recipient, the parent or

guardian of an adult recipient, or the parent or guardian of a minor child, or paid or unpaid
caregivers that exceed $500 in a 12-month period;

(8) experimental treatment;
(9) any service or item covered by other medical assistance state plan services, including

prescription and over-the-counter medications, compounds, and solutions and related fees,
including premiums and co-payments;

(10) membership dues or costs, except when the service is necessary and appropriate
to treat a physical condition or to improve or maintain the recipient's physical condition. The
condition must be identified in the recipient's plan of care and monitored by a Minnesota health
care program enrolled physician;

(11) vacation expenses other than the cost of direct services;
(12) vehicle maintenance or modifications not related to the disability;
(13) tickets and related costs to attend sporting or other recreational events; and
(14) costs related to Internet access, except when necessary for operation of assistive

technology, to increase independence, or to substitute for human assistance.
[See Note.]

Subd. 8. Self-directed budget requirements. The budget for the provision of the
self-directed service option shall be established based on:

(1) assessed personal care assistance units, not to exceed the maximum number of personal
care assistance units available, as determined by section 256B.0659; and

(2) the personal care assistance unit rate:
(i) with a reduction to the unit rate to pay for a program administrator as defined in

subdivision 10; and
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(ii) an additional adjustment to the unit rate as needed to ensure cost neutrality for the state.
[See Note.]

Subd. 9. Quality assurance and risk management. (a) The commissioner shall establish
quality assurance and risk management measures for use in developing and implementing
self-directed plans and budgets that (1) recognize the roles and responsibilities involved in
obtaining services in a self-directed manner, and (2) assure the appropriateness of such plans and
budgets based upon a recipient's resources and capabilities. These measures must include (i)
background studies, and (ii) backup and emergency plans, including disaster planning.

(b) The commissioner shall provide ongoing technical assistance and resource and
educational materials for families and recipients selecting the self-directed option.

(c) Performance assessments measures, such as of a recipient's satisfaction with the services
and supports, and ongoing monitoring of health and well-being shall be identified in consultation
with the stakeholder group.

[See Note.]

Subd. 10. Fiscal support entity. (a) Each recipient shall choose a fiscal support entity
provider certified by the commissioner to make payments for services, items, supports, and
administrative costs related to managing a self-directed service plan authorized for payment in
the approved plan and budget. Recipients shall also choose the payroll, agency with choice, or
the fiscal conduit model of financial and service management.

(b) The fiscal support entity:
(1) may not limit or restrict the recipient's choice of service or support providers,

including use of the payroll, agency with choice, or fiscal conduit model of financial and service
management;

(2) must have a written agreement with the recipient or the recipient's representative that
identifies the duties and responsibilities to be performed and the specific related charges;

(3) must provide the recipient and the home care targeted case manager with a monthly
written summary of the self-directed supports option services that were billed, including charges
from the fiscal support entity;

(4) must be knowledgeable of and comply with Internal Revenue Service requirements
necessary to process employer and employee deductions, provide appropriate and timely
submission of employer tax liabilities, and maintain documentation to support medical assistance
claims;

(5) must have current and adequate liability insurance and bonding and sufficient cash
flow and have on staff or under contract a certified public accountant or an individual with a
baccalaureate degree in accounting; and

(6) must maintain records to track all self-directed supports option services expenditures,
including time records of persons paid to provide supports and receipts for any goods purchased.
The records must be maintained for a minimum of five years from the claim date and be available
for audit or review upon request. Claims submitted by the fiscal support entity must correspond
with services, amounts, and time periods as authorized in the recipient's self-directed supports
option plan.

(c) The commissioner shall have authority to:
(1) set or negotiate rates with fiscal support entities;
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(2) limit the number of fiscal support entities;

(3) identify a process to certify and recertify fiscal support entities and assure fiscal support
entities are available to recipients throughout the state; and

(4) establish a uniform format and protocol to be used by eligible fiscal support entities.
[See Note.]

Subd. 11. Stakeholder consultation. The commissioner shall consult with a statewide
consumer-directed services stakeholder group, including representatives of all types of
consumer-directed service users, advocacy organizations, counties, and consumer-directed
service providers. The commissioner shall seek recommendations from this stakeholder group
in developing:

(1) the self-directed plan format;

(2) requirements and guidelines for the person-centered plan assessment and planning
process;

(3) implementation of the option and the quality assurance and risk management
techniques; and

(4) standards and requirements, including rates for the personal support plan development
provider and the fiscal support entity; policies; training; and implementation. The stakeholder
group shall provide recommendations on the repeal of the personal care assistance choice option,
transition issues, and whether the consumer support grant program under section 256.476 should
be modified. The stakeholder group shall meet at least three times each year to provide advice on
policy, implementation, and other aspects of consumer and self-directed services.

Subd. 12. Enrollment and evaluation. Enrollment in the self-directed supports
option is available to current personal care assistance recipients upon annual personal care
assistance reassessment, with a maximum enrollment of 1,000 people in the first fiscal year of
implementation and an additional 1,000 people in the second fiscal year. The commissioner shall
evaluate the self-directed supports option during the first two years of implementation and make
any necessary changes prior to the option becoming available statewide.

History: 2007 c 147 art 7 s 12; 2009 c 79 art 6 s 10-12; art 8 s 29,30,85; 2009 c 159 s 90

NOTE: Subdivisions 1 to 10 as added by Laws 2007, chapter 147, article 7, section 12,
are effective upon federal approval of the state Medicaid plan amendment. Laws 2007, chapter
147, article 7, section 12, the effective date.

256B.0658 HOUSING ACCESS GRANTS.

The commissioner of human services shall award through a competitive process contracts
for grants to public and private agencies to support and assist individuals eligible for publicly
funded home and community-based services, including state plan home care, to access housing.
Grants may be awarded to agencies that may include, but are not limited to, the following
supports: assessment to ensure suitability of housing, accompanying an individual to look at
housing, filling out applications and rental agreements, meeting with landlords, helping with
Section 8 or other program applications, helping to develop a budget, obtaining furniture and
household goods, if necessary, and assisting with any problems that may arise with housing.

History: 2008 c 363 art 15 s 5
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256B.0659 PERSONAL CARE ASSISTANCE PROGRAM.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the terms defined in
paragraphs (b) to (r) have the meanings given unless otherwise provided in text.

(b) "Activities of daily living" means grooming, dressing, bathing, transferring, mobility,
positioning, eating, and toileting.

(c) "Behavior," effective January 1, 2010, means a category to determine the home care
rating and is based on the criteria found in this section. "Level I behavior" means physical
aggression towards self, others, or destruction of property that requires the immediate response of
another person.

(d) "Complex health-related needs," effective January 1, 2010, means a category to
determine the home care rating and is based on the criteria found in this section.

(e) "Critical activities of daily living," effective January 1, 2010, means transferring,
mobility, eating, and toileting.

(f) "Dependency in activities of daily living" means a person requires assistance to begin
and complete one or more of the activities of daily living.

(g) "Extended personal care assistance service" means personal care assistance services
included in a service plan under one of the home and community-based services waivers
authorized under sections 256B.0915, 256B.092, subdivision 5, and 256B.49, which exceed the
amount, duration, and frequency of the state plan personal care assistance services for participants
who:

(1) need assistance provided periodically during a week, but less than daily will not be
able to remain in their homes without the assistance, and other replacement services are more
expensive or are not available when personal care assistance services are to be terminated; or

(2) need additional personal care assistance services beyond the amount authorized by
the state plan personal care assistance assessment in order to ensure that their safety, health,
and welfare are provided for in their homes.

(h) "Health-related procedures and tasks" means procedures and tasks that can be delegated
or assigned by a licensed health care professional under state law to be performed by a personal
care assistant.

(i) "Instrumental activities of daily living" means activities to include meal planning
and preparation; basic assistance with paying bills; shopping for food, clothing, and other
essential items; performing household tasks integral to the personal care assistance services;
communication by telephone and other media; and traveling, including to medical appointments
and to participate in the community.

(j) "Managing employee" has the same definition as Code of Federal Regulations, title
42, section 455.

(k) "Qualified professional" means a professional providing supervision of personal care
assistance services and staff as defined in section 256B.0625, subdivision 19c.

(l) "Personal care assistance provider agency" means a medical assistance enrolled provider
that provides or assists with providing personal care assistance services and includes a personal
care assistance provider organization, personal care assistance choice agency, class A licensed
nursing agency, and Medicare-certified home health agency.
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(m) "Personal care assistant" or "PCA" means an individual employed by a personal care
assistance agency who provides personal care assistance services.

(n) "Personal care assistance care plan" means a written description of personal care
assistance services developed by the personal care assistance provider according to the service
plan.

(o) "Responsible party" means an individual who is capable of providing the support
necessary to assist the recipient to live in the community.

(p) "Self-administered medication" means medication taken orally, by injection or insertion,
or applied topically without the need for assistance.

(q) "Service plan" means a written summary of the assessment and description of the
services needed by the recipient.

(r) "Wages and benefits" means wages and salaries, the employer's share of FICA taxes,
Medicare taxes, state and federal unemployment taxes, workers' compensation, mileage
reimbursement, health and dental insurance, life insurance, disability insurance, long-term care
insurance, uniform allowance, and contributions to employee retirement accounts.

Subd. 2. Personal care assistance services; covered services. (a) The personal care
assistance services eligible for payment include services and supports furnished to an individual,
as needed, to assist in:

(1) activities of daily living;
(2) health-related procedures and tasks;
(3) observation and redirection of behaviors; and
(4) instrumental activities of daily living.
(b) Activities of daily living include the following covered services:
(1) dressing, including assistance with choosing, application, and changing of clothing and

application of special appliances, wraps, or clothing;
(2) grooming, including assistance with basic hair care, oral care, shaving, applying

cosmetics and deodorant, and care of eyeglasses and hearing aids. Nail care is included, except
for recipients who are diabetic or have poor circulation;

(3) bathing, including assistance with basic personal hygiene and skin care;
(4) eating, including assistance with hand washing and application of orthotics required

for eating, transfers, and feeding;
(5) transfers, including assistance with transferring the recipient from one seating or

reclining area to another;
(6) mobility, including assistance with ambulation, including use of a wheelchair. Mobility

does not include providing transportation for a recipient;
(7) positioning, including assistance with positioning or turning a recipient for necessary

care and comfort; and
(8) toileting, including assistance with helping recipient with bowel or bladder elimination

and care including transfers, mobility, positioning, feminine hygiene, use of toileting equipment
or supplies, cleansing the perineal area, inspection of the skin, and adjusting clothing.

(c) Health-related procedures and tasks include the following covered services:
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(1) range of motion and passive exercise to maintain a recipient's strength and muscle
functioning;

(2) assistance with self-administered medication as defined by this section, including
reminders to take medication, bringing medication to the recipient, and assistance with opening
medication under the direction of the recipient or responsible party;

(3) interventions for seizure disorders, including monitoring and observation; and

(4) other activities considered within the scope of the personal care service and meeting the
definition of health-related procedures and tasks under this section.

(d) A personal care assistant may provide health-related procedures and tasks associated
with the complex health-related needs of a recipient if the procedures and tasks meet the definition
of health-related procedures and tasks under this section and the personal care assistant is trained
by a qualified professional and demonstrates competency to safely complete the procedures and
tasks. Delegation of health-related procedures and tasks and all training must be documented in
the personal care assistance care plan and the recipient's and personal care assistant's files.

(e) Effective January 1, 2010, for a personal care assistant to provide the health-related
procedures and tasks of tracheostomy suctioning and services to recipients on ventilator support
there must be:

(1) delegation and training by a registered nurse, certified or licensed respiratory therapist,
or a physician;

(2) utilization of clean rather than sterile procedure;

(3) specialized training about the health-related procedures and tasks and equipment,
including ventilator operation and maintenance;

(4) individualized training regarding the needs of the recipient; and

(5) supervision by a qualified professional who is a registered nurse.

(f) Effective January 1, 2010, a personal care assistant may observe and redirect the
recipient for episodes where there is a need for redirection due to behaviors. Training of the
personal care assistant must occur based on the needs of the recipient, the personal care assistance
care plan, and any other support services provided.

(g) Instrumental activities of daily living under subdivision 1, paragraph (i).

Subd. 3. Noncovered personal care assistance services. (a) Personal care assistance
services are not eligible for medical assistance payment under this section when provided:

(1) by the recipient's spouse, parent of a recipient under the age of 18, paid legal guardian,
licensed foster provider, except as allowed under section 256B.0652, subdivision 10, or
responsible party;

(2) in lieu of other staffing options in a residential or child care setting;

(3) solely as a child care or babysitting service; or

(4) without authorization by the commissioner or the commissioner's designee.

(b) The following personal care services are not eligible for medical assistance payment
under this section when provided in residential settings:
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(1) effective January 1, 2010, when the provider of home care services who is not related
by blood, marriage, or adoption owns or otherwise controls the living arrangement, including
licensed or unlicensed services; or

(2) when personal care assistance services are the responsibility of a residential or program
license holder under the terms of a service agreement and administrative rules.

(c) Other specific tasks not covered under paragraph (a) or (b) that are not eligible for
medical assistance reimbursement for personal care assistance services under this section include:

(1) sterile procedures;
(2) injections of fluids and medications into veins, muscles, or skin;
(3) home maintenance or chore services;
(4) homemaker services not an integral part of assessed personal care assistance services

needed by a recipient;
(5) application of restraints or implementation of procedures under section 245.825;
(6) instrumental activities of daily living for children under the age of 18, except when

immediate attention is needed for health or hygiene reasons integral to the personal care services
and the need is listed in the service plan by the assessor; and

(7) assessments for personal care assistance services by personal care assistance provider
agencies or by independently enrolled registered nurses.

Subd. 3a. Assessment; defined. "Assessment" means a review and evaluation of a
recipient's need for home care services conducted in person. Assessments for personal care
assistance services shall be conducted by the county public health nurse or a certified public health
nurse under contract with the county. An in-person assessment must include: documentation
of health status, determination of need, evaluation of service effectiveness, identification of
appropriate services, service plan development or modification, coordination of services, referrals
and follow-up to appropriate payers and community resources, completion of required reports,
recommendation of service authorization, and consumer education. Once the need for personal
care assistance services is determined under this section or sections 256B.0651, 256B.0653,
256B.0654, and 256B.0656, the county public health nurse or certified public health nurse
under contract with the county is responsible for communicating this recommendation to the
commissioner and the recipient. An in-person assessment must occur at least annually or when
there is a significant change in the recipient's condition or when there is a change in the need for
personal care assistance services. A service update may substitute for the annual face-to-face
assessment when there is not a significant change in recipient condition or a change in the need
for personal care assistance service. A service update may be completed by telephone, used when
there is no need for an increase in personal care assistance services, and used for two consecutive
assessments if followed by a face-to-face assessment. A service update must be completed on a
form approved by the commissioner. A service update or review for temporary increase includes
a review of initial baseline data, evaluation of service effectiveness, redetermination of service
need, modification of service plan and appropriate referrals, update of initial forms, obtaining
service authorization, and on going consumer education. Assessments must be completed on
forms provided by the commissioner within 30 days of a request for home care services by a
recipient or responsible party or personal care provider agency.

Subd. 4. Assessment for personal care assistance services; limitations. (a) An assessment
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as defined in subdivision 3a must be completed for personal care assistance services.
(b) The following limitations apply to the assessment:
(1) a person must be assessed as dependent in an activity of daily living based on the

person's daily need or need on the days during the week the activity is completed for:
(i) cuing and constant supervision to complete the task; or
(ii) hands-on assistance to complete the task; and
(2) a child may not be found to be dependent in an activity of daily living if because of

the child's age an adult would either perform the activity for the child or assist the child with the
activity. Assistance needed is the assistance appropriate for a typical child of the same age.

(c) Assessment for complex health-related needs must meet the criteria in this paragraph.
During the assessment process, a recipient qualifies as having complex health-related needs if
the recipient has one or more of the interventions that are ordered by a physician, specified in a
personal care assistance care plan, and found in the following:

(1) tube feedings requiring:
(i) a gastrojejunostomy tube; or
(ii) continuous tube feeding lasting longer than 12 hours per day;
(2) wounds described as:
(i) stage III or stage IV;
(ii) multiple wounds;
(iii) requiring sterile or clean dressing changes or a wound vac; or
(iv) open lesions such as burns, fistulas, tube sites, or ostomy sites that require specialized

care;
(3) parenteral therapy described as:
(i) IV therapy more than two times per week lasting longer than four hours for each

treatment; or
(ii) total parenteral nutrition (TPN) daily;
(4) respiratory interventions including:
(i) oxygen required more than eight hours per day;
(ii) respiratory vest more than one time per day;
(iii) bronchial drainage treatments more than two times per day;
(iv) sterile or clean suctioning more than six times per day;
(v) dependence on another to apply respiratory ventilation augmentation devices such

as BiPAP and CPAP; and
(vi) ventilator dependence under section 256B.0652;
(5) insertion and maintenance of catheter including:
(i) sterile catheter changes more than one time per month;
(ii) clean self-catheterization more than six times per day; or
(iii) bladder irrigations;
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(6) bowel program more than two times per week requiring more than 30 minutes to
perform each time;

(7) neurological intervention including:
(i) seizures more than two times per week and requiring significant physical assistance

to maintain safety; or
(ii) swallowing disorders diagnosed by a physician and requiring specialized assistance

from another on a daily basis; and
(8) other congenital or acquired diseases creating a need for significantly increased direct

hands-on assistance and interventions in six to eight activities of daily living.
(d) An assessment of behaviors must meet the criteria in this paragraph. A recipient

qualifies as having a need for assistance due to behaviors if the recipient's behavior requires
assistance at least four times per week and shows one or more of the following behaviors:

(1) physical aggression towards self or others, or destruction of property that requires the
immediate response of another person;

(2) increased vulnerability due to cognitive deficits or socially inappropriate behavior; or
(3) verbally aggressive and resistive to care.

Subd. 5. Service, support planning, and referral. (a) The assessor, with the recipient or
responsible party, shall review the assessment information and determine referrals for other
payers, services, and community supports as appropriate.

(b) The recipient must be referred for evaluation, services, or supports that are appropriate
to help meet the recipient's needs including, but not limited to, the following circumstances:

(1) when there is another payer who is responsible to provide the service to meet the
recipient's needs;

(2) when the recipient qualifies for assistance due to mental illness or behaviors under this
section, a referral for a mental health diagnostic and functional assessment must be completed, or
referral must be made for other specific mental health services or other community services;

(3) when the recipient is eligible for medical assistance and meets medical assistance
eligibility for a home health aide or skilled nurse visit;

(4) when the recipient would benefit from an evaluation for another service; and
(5) when there is a more appropriate service to meet the assessed needs.
(c) The reimbursement rates for public health nurse visits that relate to the provision of

personal care assistance services under this section and section 256B.0625, subdivision 19a, are:
(1) $210.50 for a face-to-face assessment visit;
(2) $105.25 for each service update; and
(3) $105.25 for each request for a temporary service increase.
(d) The rates specified in paragraph (c) must be adjusted to reflect provider rate increases

for personal care assistance services that are approved by the legislature for the fiscal year ending
June 30, 2000, and subsequent fiscal years. Any requirements applied by the legislature to provider
rate increases for personal care assistance services also apply to adjustments under this paragraph.

(e) Effective July 1, 2008, the payment rate for an assessment under this section and section
256B.0651 shall be reduced by 25 percent when the assessment is not completed on time and the
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service agreement documentation is not submitted in time to continue services. The commissioner
shall reduce the amount of the claim for those assessments that are not submitted on time.

Subd. 6. Service plan. The service plan must be completed by the assessor with the
recipient and responsible party on a form determined by the commissioner and include a summary
of the assessment with a description of the need, authorized amount, and expected outcomes and
goals of personal care assistance services. The recipient and the provider chosen by the recipient
or responsible party must be given a copy of the completed service plan within ten working days
of the assessment. The recipient or responsible party must be given information by the assessor
about the options in the personal care assistance program to allow for review and decision making.

Subd. 7. Personal care assistance care plan. (a) Each recipient must have a current
personal care assistance care plan based on the service plan in subdivision 6 that is developed by
the qualified professional with the recipient and responsible party. A copy of the most current
personal care assistance care plan is required to be in the recipient's home and in the recipient's
file at the provider agency.

(b) The personal care assistance care plan must have the following components:
(1) start and end date of the care plan;
(2) recipient demographic information, including name and telephone number;
(3) emergency numbers, procedures, and a description of measures to address identified

safety and vulnerability issues, including a backup staffing plan;
(4) name of responsible party and instructions for contact;
(5) description of the recipient's individualized needs for assistance with activities of daily

living, instrumental activities of daily living, health-related tasks, and behaviors; and
(6) dated signatures of recipient or responsible party and qualified professional.
(c) The personal care assistance care plan must have instructions and comments about

the recipient's needs for assistance and any special instructions or procedures required. The
month-to-month plan for the use of personal care assistance services is part of the personal
care assistance care plan. The personal care assistance care plan must be completed within the
first week after start of services with a personal care provider agency and must be updated as
needed when there is a change in need for personal care assistance services. A new personal care
assistance care plan is required annually at the time of the reassessment.

Subd. 8. Communication with recipient's physician. The personal care assistance
program requires communication with the recipient's physician about a recipient's assessed needs
for personal care assistance services. The commissioner shall work with the state medical director
to develop options for communication with the recipient's physician.

Subd. 9. Responsible party; generally. (a) "Responsible party" means an individual who is
capable of providing the support necessary to assist the recipient to live in the community.

(b) A responsible party must be 18 years of age, actively participate in planning and
directing of personal care assistance services, and attend all assessments for the recipient.

(c) A responsible party must not be the:
(1) personal care assistant;
(2) home care provider agency owner or staff; or
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(3) county staff acting as part of employment.
(d) A licensed family foster parent who lives with the recipient may be the responsible party

as long as the family foster parent meets the other responsible party requirements.
(e) A responsible party is required when:
(1) the person is a minor according to section 524.5-102, subdivision 10;
(2) the person is an incapacitated adult according to section 524.5-102, subdivision 6,

resulting in a court-appointed guardian; or
(3) the assessment according to subdivision 3a determines that the recipient is in need of a

responsible party to direct the recipient's care.
(f) There may be two persons designated as the responsible party for reasons such as

divided households and court-ordered custodies. Each person named as responsible party must
meet the program criteria and responsibilities.

(g) The recipient or the recipient's legal representative shall appoint a responsible party
if necessary to direct and supervise the care provided to the recipient. The responsible party
must be identified at the time of assessment and listed on the recipient's service agreement and
personal care assistance care plan.

Subd. 10. Responsible party; duties; delegation. (a) A responsible party shall enter into a
written agreement with a personal care assistance provider agency, on a form determined by the
commissioner, to perform the following duties:

(1) be available while care is provided in a method agreed upon by the individual or the
individual's legal representative and documented in the recipient's personal care assistance care
plan;

(2) monitor personal care assistance services to ensure the recipient's personal care
assistance care plan is being followed; and

(3) review and sign personal care assistance time sheets after services are provided to
provide verification of the personal care assistance services.
Failure to provide the support required by the recipient must result in a referral to the county
common entry point.

(b) Responsible parties who are parents of minors or guardians of minors or incapacitated
persons may delegate the responsibility to another adult who is not the personal care assistant
during a temporary absence of at least 24 hours but not more than six months. The person
delegated as a responsible party must be able to meet the definition of the responsible party.
The responsible party must ensure that the delegate performs the functions of the responsible
party, is identified at the time of the assessment, and is listed on the personal care assistance care
plan. The responsible party must communicate to the personal care assistance provider agency
about the need for a delegated responsible party, including the name of the delegated responsible
party and contact numbers.

Subd. 11. Personal care assistant; requirements. (a) A personal care assistant must
meet the following requirements:

(1) be at least 18 years of age with the exception of persons who are 16 or 17 years of age
with these additional requirements:

(i) supervision by a qualified professional every 60 days; and
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(ii) employment by only one personal care assistance provider agency responsible for
compliance with current labor laws;

(2) be employed by a personal care assistance provider agency;
(3) enroll with the department as a personal care assistant after clearing a background

study. Except as provided in subdivision 11a, before a personal care assistant provides services,
the personal care assistance provider agency must initiate a background study on the personal
care assistant under chapter 245C, and the personal care assistance provider agency must have
received a notice from the commissioner that the personal care assistant is:

(i) not disqualified under section 245C.14; or
(ii) is disqualified, but the personal care assistant has received a set aside of the

disqualification under section 245C.22;
(4) be able to effectively communicate with the recipient and personal care assistance

provider agency;
(5) be able to provide covered personal care assistance services according to the recipient's

personal care assistance care plan, respond appropriately to recipient needs, and report changes in
the recipient's condition to the supervising qualified professional or physician;

(6) not be a consumer of personal care assistance services;
(7) maintain daily written records including, but not limited to, time sheets under

subdivision 12;
(8) effective January 1, 2010, complete standardized training as determined by the

commissioner before completing enrollment. The training must be available in languages other
than English and to those who need accommodations due to disabilities. Personal care assistant
training must include successful completion of the following training components: basic first aid,
vulnerable adult, child maltreatment, OSHA universal precautions, basic roles and responsibilities
of personal care assistants including information about assistance with lifting and transfers for
recipients, emergency preparedness, orientation to positive behavioral practices, fraud issues,
and completion of time sheets. Upon completion of the training components, the personal care
assistant must demonstrate the competency to provide assistance to recipients;

(9) complete training and orientation on the needs of the recipient within the first seven
days after the services begin; and

(10) be limited to providing and being paid for up to 275 hours per month, except that this
limit shall be 275 hours per month for the period July 1, 2009, through June 30, 2011, of personal
care assistance services regardless of the number of recipients being served or the number of
personal care assistance provider agencies enrolled with. The number of hours worked per day
shall not be disallowed by the department unless in violation of the law.

(b) A legal guardian may be a personal care assistant if the guardian is not being paid for
the guardian services and meets the criteria for personal care assistants in paragraph (a).

(c) Persons who do not qualify as a personal care assistant include parents and stepparents
of minors, spouses, paid legal guardians, family foster care providers, except as otherwise allowed
in section 256B.0625, subdivision 19a, or staff of a residential setting. When the personal care
assistant is a relative of the recipient, the commissioner shall pay 80 percent of the provider rate.
For purposes of this section, relative means the parent or adoptive parent of an adult child, a
sibling aged 16 years or older, an adult child, a grandparent, or a grandchild.
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Subd. 11a. Exception to personal care assistant; requirements. The personal care
assistant for a recipient may be allowed to enroll with a different personal care assistant provider
agency upon initiation of a new background study according to chapter 245C, if all of the
following are met:

(1) the commissioner determines that a change in enrollment or affiliation of the personal
care assistant is needed in order to ensure continuity of services and protect the health and safety
of the recipient;

(2) the chosen agency has been continuously enrolled as a personal care assistance provider
agency for at least two years;

(3) the recipient chooses to transfer to the personal care assistance provider agency;
(4) the personal care assistant has been continuously enrolled with the former personal care

assistance provider agency since the last background study was completed; and
(5) the personal care assistant continues to meet requirements of subdivision 11, excluding

paragraph (a), clause (3).

Subd. 12. Documentation of personal care assistance services provided. (a) Personal
care assistance services for a recipient must be documented daily by each personal care assistant,
on a time sheet form approved by the commissioner. All documentation may be Web-based,
electronic, or paper documentation. The completed form must be submitted on a monthly basis to
the provider and kept in the recipient's health record.

(b) The activity documentation must correspond to the personal care assistance care plan
and be reviewed by the qualified professional.

(c) The personal care assistant time sheet must be on a form approved by the commissioner
documenting time the personal care assistant provides services in the home. The following criteria
must be included in the time sheet:

(1) full name of personal care assistant and individual provider number;
(2) provider name and telephone numbers;
(3) full name of recipient;
(4) consecutive dates, including month, day, and year, and arrival and departure times

with a.m. or p.m. notations;
(5) signatures of recipient or the responsible party;
(6) personal signature of the personal care assistant;
(7) any shared care provided, if applicable;
(8) a statement that it is a federal crime to provide false information on personal care

service billings for medical assistance payments; and
(9) dates and location of recipient stays in a hospital, care facility, or incarceration.

Subd. 13. Qualified professional; qualifications. (a) The qualified professional must work
for a personal care assistance provider agency and meet the definition under section 256B.0625,
subdivision 19c. Before a qualified professional provides services, the personal care assistance
provider agency must initiate a background study on the qualified professional under chapter
245C, and the personal care assistance provider agency must have received a notice from the
commissioner that the qualified professional:
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(1) is not disqualified under section 245C.14; or
(2) is disqualified, but the qualified professional has received a set aside of the

disqualification under section 245C.22.
(b) The qualified professional shall perform the duties of training, supervision, and

evaluation of the personal care assistance staff and evaluation of the effectiveness of personal care
assistance services. The qualified professional shall:

(1) develop and monitor with the recipient a personal care assistance care plan based on the
service plan and individualized needs of the recipient;

(2) develop and monitor with the recipient a monthly plan for the use of personal care
assistance services;

(3) review documentation of personal care assistance services provided;
(4) provide training and ensure competency for the personal care assistant in the individual

needs of the recipient; and
(5) document all training, communication, evaluations, and needed actions to improve

performance of the personal care assistants.
(c) Effective July 1, 2010, the qualified professional shall complete the provider training

with basic information about the personal care assistance program approved by the commissioner
within six months of the date hired by a personal care assistance provider agency. Qualified
professionals who have completed the required training as a worker from a personal care
assistance provider agency do not need to repeat the required training if they are hired by another
agency, if they have completed the training within the last three years. The required training shall
be available in languages other than English and to those who need accommodations due to
disabilities, online, or by electronic remote connection, and provide for competency testing to
demonstrate an understanding of the content without attending in-person training. A qualified
professional is allowed to be employed and is not subject to the training requirement until the
training is offered online or through remote electronic connection. A qualified professional
employed by a personal care assistance provider agency certified for participation in Medicare as
a home health agency is exempt from the training required in this subdivision. The commissioner
shall ensure there is a mechanism in place to verify the identity of persons completing the
competency testing electronically.

Subd. 14. Qualified professional; duties. (a) Effective January 1, 2010, all personal care
assistants must be supervised by a qualified professional.

(b) Through direct training, observation, return demonstrations, and consultation with the
staff and the recipient, the qualified professional must ensure and document that the personal
care assistant is:

(1) capable of providing the required personal care assistance services;
(2) knowledgeable about the plan of personal care assistance services before services are

performed; and
(3) able to identify conditions that should be immediately brought to the attention of the

qualified professional.
(c) The qualified professional shall evaluate the personal care assistant within the first 14

days of starting to provide regularly scheduled services for a recipient except for the personal care
assistance choice option under subdivision 19, paragraph (a), clause (4). For the initial evaluation,

Copyright © 2011 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



171 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2011 256B.0659

the qualified professional shall evaluate the personal care assistance services for a recipient
through direct observation of a personal care assistant's work. Subsequent visits to evaluate the
personal care assistance services provided to a recipient do not require direct observation of each
personal care assistant's work and shall occur:

(1) at least every 90 days thereafter for the first year of a recipient's services;
(2) every 120 days after the first year of a recipient's service or whenever needed for

response to a recipient's request for increased supervision of the personal care assistance staff; and
(3) after the first 180 days of a recipient's service, supervisory visits may alternate between

unscheduled phone or Internet technology and in-person visits, unless the in-person visits are
needed according to the care plan.

(d) Communication with the recipient is a part of the evaluation process of the personal
care assistance staff.

(e) At each supervisory visit, the qualified professional shall evaluate personal care
assistance services including the following information:

(1) satisfaction level of the recipient with personal care assistance services;
(2) review of the month-to-month plan for use of personal care assistance services;
(3) review of documentation of personal care assistance services provided;
(4) whether the personal care assistance services are meeting the goals of the service as

stated in the personal care assistance care plan and service plan;
(5) a written record of the results of the evaluation and actions taken to correct any

deficiencies in the work of a personal care assistant; and
(6) revision of the personal care assistance care plan as necessary in consultation with the

recipient or responsible party, to meet the needs of the recipient.
(f) The qualified professional shall complete the required documentation in the agency

recipient and employee files and the recipient's home, including the following documentation:
(1) the personal care assistance care plan based on the service plan and individualized

needs of the recipient;
(2) a month-to-month plan for use of personal care assistance services;
(3) changes in need of the recipient requiring a change to the level of service and the

personal care assistance care plan;
(4) evaluation results of supervision visits and identified issues with personal care assistance

staff with actions taken;
(5) all communication with the recipient and personal care assistance staff; and
(6) hands-on training or individualized training for the care of the recipient.
(g) The documentation in paragraph (f) must be done on agency forms.
(h) The services that are not eligible for payment as qualified professional services include:
(1) direct professional nursing tasks that could be assessed and authorized as skilled nursing

tasks;
(2) supervision of personal care assistance completed by telephone;
(3) agency administrative activities;
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(4) training other than the individualized training required to provide care for a recipient;
and

(5) any other activity that is not described in this section.

Subd. 15. Flexible use. (a) "Flexible use" means the scheduled use of authorized hours of
personal care assistance services, which vary within a service authorization period covering no
more than six months, in order to more effectively meet the needs and schedule of the recipient.
Each 12-month service agreement is divided into two six-month authorization date spans. No
more than 75 percent of the total authorized units for a 12-month service agreement may be used
in a six-month date span.

(b) Authorization of flexible use occurs during the authorization process under section
256B.0652. The flexible use of authorized hours does not increase the total amount of authorized
hours available to a recipient. The commissioner shall not authorize additional personal care
assistance services to supplement a service authorization that is exhausted before the end date
under a flexible service use plan, unless the assessor determines a change in condition and a need
for increased services is established. Authorized hours not used within the six-month period
must not be carried over to another time period.

(c) A recipient who has terminated personal care assistance services before the end of the
12-month authorization period must not receive additional hours upon reapplying during the
same 12-month authorization period, except if a change in condition is documented. Services
must be prorated for the remainder of the 12-month authorization period based on the first
six-month assessment.

(d) The recipient, responsible party, and qualified professional must develop a written
month-to-month plan of the projected use of personal care assistance services that is part of the
personal care assistance care plan and ensures:

(1) that the health and safety needs of the recipient are met throughout both date spans of
the authorization period; and

(2) that the total authorized amount of personal care assistance services for each date span
must not be used before the end of each date span in the authorization period.

(e) The personal care assistance provider agency shall monitor the use of personal care
assistance services to ensure health and safety needs of the recipient are met throughout both date
spans of the authorization period. The commissioner or the commissioner's designee shall provide
written notice to the provider and the recipient or responsible party when a recipient is at risk of
exceeding the personal care assistance services prior to the end of the six-month period.

(f) Misuse and abuse of the flexible use of personal care assistance services resulting in the
overuse of units in a manner where the recipient will not have enough units to meet their needs
for assistance and ensure health and safety for the entire six-month date span may lead to an
action by the commissioner. The commissioner may take action including, but not limited to:
(1) restricting recipients to service authorizations of no more than one month in duration; (2)
requiring the recipient to have a responsible party; and (3) requiring a qualified professional to
monitor and report services on a monthly basis.

Subd. 16. Shared services. (a) Medical assistance payments for shared personal care
assistance services are limited according to this subdivision.
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(b) Shared service is the provision of personal care assistance services by a personal care
assistant to two or three recipients, eligible for medical assistance, who voluntarily enter into an
agreement to receive services at the same time and in the same setting.

(c) For the purposes of this subdivision, "setting" means:

(1) the home residence or family foster care home of one or more of the individual
recipients; or

(2) a child care program licensed under chapter 245A or operated by a local school district
or private school.

(d) Shared personal care assistance services follow the same criteria for covered services as
subdivision 2.

(e) Noncovered shared personal care assistance services include the following:

(1) services for more than three recipients by one personal care assistant at one time;

(2) staff requirements for child care programs under chapter 245C;

(3) caring for multiple recipients in more than one setting;

(4) additional units of personal care assistance based on the selection of the option; and

(5) use of more than one personal care assistance provider agency for the shared care
services.

(f) The option of shared personal care assistance is elected by the recipient or the
responsible party with the assistance of the assessor. The option must be determined appropriate
based on the ages of the recipients, compatibility, and coordination of their assessed care needs.
The recipient or the responsible party, in conjunction with the qualified professional, shall arrange
the setting and grouping of shared services based on the individual needs and preferences of the
recipients. The personal care assistance provider agency shall offer the recipient or the responsible
party the option of shared or one-on-one personal care assistance services or a combination
of both. The recipient or the responsible party may withdraw from participating in a shared
services arrangement at any time.

(g) Authorization for the shared service option must be determined by the commissioner
based on the criteria that the shared service is appropriate to meet all of the recipients' needs and
their health and safety is maintained. The authorization of shared services is part of the overall
authorization of personal care assistance services. Nothing in this subdivision must be construed
to reduce the total number of hours authorized for an individual recipient.

(h) A personal care assistant providing shared personal care assistance services must:

(1) receive training specific for each recipient served; and

(2) follow all required documentation requirements for time and services provided.

(i) A qualified professional shall:

(1) evaluate the ability of the personal care assistant to provide services for all of the
recipients in a shared setting;

(2) visit the shared setting as services are being provided at least once every six months or
whenever needed for response to a recipient's request for increased supervision of the personal
care assistance staff;
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(3) provide ongoing monitoring and evaluation of the effectiveness and appropriateness of
the shared services;

(4) develop a contingency plan with each of the recipients which accounts for absence of
the recipient in a shared services setting due to illness or other circumstances;

(5) obtain permission from each of the recipients who are sharing a personal care assistant
for number of shared hours for services provided inside and outside the home residence; and

(6) document the training completed by the personal care assistants specific to the shared
setting and recipients sharing services.

Subd. 17. Shared services; rates. The commissioner shall provide a rate system for shared
personal care assistance services. For two persons sharing services, the rate paid to a provider
must not exceed one and one-half times the rate paid for serving a single individual, and for
three persons sharing services, the rate paid to a provider must not exceed twice the rate paid
for serving a single individual. These rates apply only when all of the criteria for the shared care
personal care assistance service have been met.

Subd. 18. Personal care assistance choice option; generally. (a) The commissioner
may allow a recipient of personal care assistance services to use a fiscal intermediary to assist
the recipient in paying and accounting for medically necessary covered personal care assistance
services. Unless otherwise provided in this section, all other statutory and regulatory provisions
relating to personal care assistance services apply to a recipient using the personal care assistance
choice option.

(b) Personal care assistance choice is an option of the personal care assistance program
that allows the recipient who receives personal care assistance services to be responsible for the
hiring, training, scheduling, and firing of personal care assistants according to the terms of the
written agreement with the personal care assistance choice agency required under subdivision 20,
paragraph (a). This program offers greater control and choice for the recipient in who provides the
personal care assistance service and when the service is scheduled. The recipient or the recipient's
responsible party must choose a personal care assistance choice provider agency as a fiscal
intermediary. This personal care assistance choice provider agency manages payroll, invoices the
state, is responsible for all payroll-related taxes and insurance, and is responsible for providing
the consumer training and support in managing the recipient's personal care assistance services.

Subd. 19. Personal care assistance choice option; qualifications; duties. (a) Under
personal care assistance choice, the recipient or responsible party shall:

(1) recruit, hire, schedule, and terminate personal care assistants according to the terms of
the written agreement required under subdivision 20, paragraph (a);

(2) develop a personal care assistance care plan based on the assessed needs and addressing
the health and safety of the recipient with the assistance of a qualified professional as needed;

(3) orient and train the personal care assistant with assistance as needed from the qualified
professional;

(4) effective January 1, 2010, supervise and evaluate the personal care assistant with the
qualified professional, who is required to visit the recipient at least every 180 days;

(5) monitor and verify in writing and report to the personal care assistance choice agency
the number of hours worked by the personal care assistant and the qualified professional;
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(6) engage in an annual face-to-face reassessment to determine continuing eligibility and
service authorization; and

(7) use the same personal care assistance choice provider agency if shared personal
assistance care is being used.

(b) The personal care assistance choice provider agency shall:
(1) meet all personal care assistance provider agency standards;
(2) enter into a written agreement with the recipient, responsible party, and personal care

assistants;
(3) not be related as a parent, child, sibling, or spouse to the recipient, qualified professional,

or the personal care assistant; and
(4) ensure arm's-length transactions without undue influence or coercion with the recipient

and personal care assistant.
(c) The duties of the personal care assistance choice provider agency are to:
(1) be the employer of the personal care assistant and the qualified professional for

employment law and related regulations including, but not limited to, purchasing and maintaining
workers' compensation, unemployment insurance, surety and fidelity bonds, and liability
insurance, and submit any or all necessary documentation including, but not limited to, workers'
compensation and unemployment insurance;

(2) bill the medical assistance program for personal care assistance services and qualified
professional services;

(3) request and complete background studies that comply with the requirements for personal
care assistants and qualified professionals;

(4) pay the personal care assistant and qualified professional based on actual hours of
services provided;

(5) withhold and pay all applicable federal and state taxes;
(6) verify and keep records of hours worked by the personal care assistant and qualified

professional;
(7) make the arrangements and pay taxes and other benefits, if any, and comply with any

legal requirements for a Minnesota employer;
(8) enroll in the medical assistance program as a personal care assistance choice agency; and
(9) enter into a written agreement as specified in subdivision 20 before services are provided.

Subd. 20. Personal care assistance choice option; administration. (a) Before services
commence under the personal care assistance choice option, and annually thereafter, the personal
care assistance choice provider agency and the recipient or responsible party shall enter into
a written agreement. The annual agreement must be provided to the recipient or responsible
party, each personal care assistant, and the qualified professional when completed, and include
at a minimum:

(1) duties of the recipient, qualified professional, personal care assistant, and personal care
assistance choice provider agency;

(2) salary and benefits for the personal care assistant and the qualified professional;
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(3) administrative fee of the personal care assistance choice provider agency and services
paid for with that fee, including background study fees;

(4) grievance procedures to respond to complaints;
(5) procedures for hiring and terminating the personal care assistant; and
(6) documentation requirements including, but not limited to, time sheets, activity records,

and the personal care assistance care plan.
(b) Effective January 1, 2010, except for the administrative fee of the personal care

assistance choice provider agency as reported on the written agreement, the remainder of the rates
paid to the personal care assistance choice provider agency must be used to pay for the salary and
benefits for the personal care assistant or the qualified professional. The provider agency must use
a minimum of 72.5 percent of the revenue generated by the medical assistance rate for personal
care assistance services for employee personal care assistant wages and benefits.

(c) The commissioner shall deny, revoke, or suspend the authorization to use the personal
care assistance choice option if:

(1) it has been determined by the qualified professional or public health nurse that the use
of this option jeopardizes the recipient's health and safety;

(2) the parties have failed to comply with the written agreement specified in this subdivision;
(3) the use of the option has led to abusive or fraudulent billing for personal care assistance

services; or
(4) the department terminates the personal care assistance choice option.
(d) The recipient or responsible party may appeal the commissioner's decision in paragraph

(c) according to section 256.045. The denial, revocation, or suspension to use the personal
care assistance choice option must not affect the recipient's authorized level of personal care
assistance services.

Subd. 21. Requirements for initial enrollment of personal care assistance provider
agencies. (a) All personal care assistance provider agencies must provide, at the time of
enrollment as a personal care assistance provider agency in a format determined by the
commissioner, information and documentation that includes, but is not limited to, the following:

(1) the personal care assistance provider agency's current contact information including
address, telephone number, and e-mail address;

(2) proof of surety bond coverage in the amount of $50,000 or ten percent of the provider's
payments from Medicaid in the previous year, whichever is less;

(3) proof of fidelity bond coverage in the amount of $20,000;
(4) proof of workers' compensation insurance coverage;
(5) proof of liability insurance;
(6) a description of the personal care assistance provider agency's organization identifying

the names of all owners, managing employees, staff, board of directors, and the affiliations of the
directors, owners, or staff to other service providers;

(7) a copy of the personal care assistance provider agency's written policies and procedures
including: hiring of employees; training requirements; service delivery; and employee and
consumer safety including process for notification and resolution of consumer grievances,
identification and prevention of communicable diseases, and employee misconduct;
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(8) copies of all other forms the personal care assistance provider agency uses in the course
of daily business including, but not limited to:

(i) a copy of the personal care assistance provider agency's time sheet if the time sheet
varies from the standard time sheet for personal care assistance services approved by the
commissioner, and a letter requesting approval of the personal care assistance provider agency's
nonstandard time sheet;

(ii) the personal care assistance provider agency's template for the personal care assistance
care plan; and

(iii) the personal care assistance provider agency's template for the written agreement in
subdivision 20 for recipients using the personal care assistance choice option, if applicable;

(9) a list of all training and classes that the personal care assistance provider agency
requires of its staff providing personal care assistance services;

(10) documentation that the personal care assistance provider agency and staff have
successfully completed all the training required by this section;

(11) documentation of the agency's marketing practices;
(12) disclosure of ownership, leasing, or management of all residential properties that is

used or could be used for providing home care services;
(13) documentation that the agency will use the following percentages of revenue generated

from the medical assistance rate paid for personal care assistance services for employee personal
care assistant wages and benefits: 72.5 percent of revenue in the personal care assistance choice
option and 72.5 percent of revenue from other personal care assistance providers; and

(14) effective May 15, 2010, documentation that the agency does not burden recipients' free
exercise of their right to choose service providers by requiring personal care assistants to sign
an agreement not to work with any particular personal care assistance recipient or for another
personal care assistance provider agency after leaving the agency and that the agency is not taking
action on any such agreements or requirements regardless of the date signed.

(b) Personal care assistance provider agencies shall provide the information specified
in paragraph (a) to the commissioner at the time the personal care assistance provider agency
enrolls as a vendor or upon request from the commissioner. The commissioner shall collect the
information specified in paragraph (a) from all personal care assistance providers beginning
July 1, 2009.

(c) All personal care assistance provider agencies shall require all employees in
management and supervisory positions and owners of the agency who are active in the day-to-day
management and operations of the agency to complete mandatory training as determined by the
commissioner before enrollment of the agency as a provider. Employees in management and
supervisory positions and owners who are active in the day-to-day operations of an agency who
have completed the required training as an employee with a personal care assistance provider
agency do not need to repeat the required training if they are hired by another agency, if they have
completed the training within the past three years. By September 1, 2010, the required training
must be available in languages other than English and to those who need accommodations due
to disabilities, online, or by electronic remote connection, and provide for competency testing.
Personal care assistance provider agency billing staff shall complete training about personal
care assistance program financial management. This training is effective July 1, 2009. Any
personal care assistance provider agency enrolled before that date shall, if it has not already,
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complete the provider training within 18 months of July 1, 2009. Any new owners or employees
in management and supervisory positions involved in the day-to-day operations are required to
complete mandatory training as a requisite of working for the agency. Personal care assistance
provider agencies certified for participation in Medicare as home health agencies are exempt
from the training required in this subdivision.

Subd. 22. Annual review for personal care providers. (a) All personal care assistance
provider agencies shall resubmit, on an annual basis, the information specified in subdivision 21,
in a format determined by the commissioner, and provide a copy of the personal care assistance
provider agency's most current version of its grievance policies and procedures along with a
written record of grievances and resolutions of the grievances that the personal care assistance
provider agency has received in the previous year and any other information requested by the
commissioner.

(b) The commissioner shall send annual review notification to personal care assistance
provider agencies 30 days prior to renewal. The notification must:

(1) list the materials and information the personal care assistance provider agency is
required to submit;

(2) provide instructions on submitting information to the commissioner; and
(3) provide a due date by which the commissioner must receive the requested information.

Personal care assistance provider agencies shall submit required documentation for annual review
within 30 days of notification from the commissioner. If no documentation is submitted, the
personal care assistance provider agency enrollment number must be terminated or suspended.

(c) Personal care assistance provider agencies also currently licensed under Minnesota
Rules, part 4668.0012, as a class A provider or currently certified for participation in Medicare as
a home health agency are deemed in compliance with the personal care assistance requirements
for enrollment, annual review process, and documentation.

Subd. 23. Enrollment requirements following termination. (a) A terminated personal
care assistance provider agency, including all named individuals on the current enrollment
disclosure form and known or discovered affiliates of the personal care assistance provider
agency, is not eligible to enroll as a personal care assistance provider agency for two years
following the termination.

(b) After the two-year period in paragraph (a), if the provider seeks to reenroll as a personal
care assistance provider agency, the personal care assistance provider agency must be placed on a
one-year probation period, beginning after completion of the following:

(1) the department's provider trainings under this section; and
(2) initial enrollment requirements under subdivision 21.
(c) During the probationary period the commissioner shall complete site visits and request

submission of documentation to review compliance with program policy.

Subd. 24. Personal care assistance provider agency; general duties. A personal care
assistance provider agency shall:

(1) enroll as a Medicaid provider meeting all provider standards, including completion of
the required provider training;

(2) comply with general medical assistance coverage requirements;
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(3) demonstrate compliance with law and policies of the personal care assistance program
to be determined by the commissioner;

(4) comply with background study requirements;
(5) verify and keep records of hours worked by the personal care assistant and qualified

professional;
(6) not engage in any agency-initiated direct contact or marketing in person, by phone, or

other electronic means to potential recipients, guardians, or family members;
(7) pay the personal care assistant and qualified professional based on actual hours of

services provided;
(8) withhold and pay all applicable federal and state taxes;
(9) effective January 1, 2010, document that the agency uses a minimum of 72.5 percent

of the revenue generated by the medical assistance rate for personal care assistance services for
employee personal care assistant wages and benefits;

(10) make the arrangements and pay unemployment insurance, taxes, workers'
compensation, liability insurance, and other benefits, if any;

(11) enter into a written agreement under subdivision 20 before services are provided;
(12) report suspected neglect and abuse to the common entry point according to section

256B.0651;
(13) provide the recipient with a copy of the home care bill of rights at start of service; and
(14) request reassessments at least 60 days prior to the end of the current authorization for

personal care assistance services, on forms provided by the commissioner.

Subd. 25. Personal care assistance provider agency; background studies. Personal care
assistance provider agencies enrolled to provide personal care assistance services under the
medical assistance program shall comply with the following:

(1) owners who have a five percent interest or more and all managing employees are
subject to a background study as provided in chapter 245C. This applies to currently enrolled
personal care assistance provider agencies and those agencies seeking enrollment as a personal
care assistance provider agency. "Managing employee" has the same meaning as Code of Federal
Regulations, title 42, section 455. An organization is barred from enrollment if:

(i) the organization has not initiated background studies on owners and managing
employees; or

(ii) the organization has initiated background studies on owners and managing employees,
but the commissioner has sent the organization a notice that an owner or managing employee
of the organization has been disqualified under section 245C.14, and the owner or managing
employee has not received a set aside of the disqualification under section 245C.22;

(2) a background study must be initiated and completed for all qualified professionals; and
(3) a background study must be initiated and completed for all personal care assistants.

Subd. 26. Personal care assistance provider agency; communicable disease prevention.
A personal care assistance provider agency shall establish and implement policies and procedures
for prevention, control, and investigation of infections and communicable diseases according to
current nationally recognized infection control practices or guidelines established by the United
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States Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, as well as applicable regulations of other
federal or state agencies.

Subd. 27. Personal care assistance provider agency. (a) The personal care assistance
provider agency is required to provide training for the personal care assistant responsible for
working with a recipient who is ventilator dependent. All training must be administered by a
respiratory therapist, nurse, or physician. Qualified professional supervision by a nurse must be
completed and documented on file in the personal care assistant's employment record and the
recipient's health record. If offering personal care services to a ventilator-dependent recipient, the
personal care assistance provider agency shall demonstrate and document the ability to:

(1) train the personal care assistant;
(2) supervise the personal care assistant in the care of a ventilator-dependent recipient;
(3) supervise the recipient and responsible party in the care of a ventilator-dependent

recipient; and
(4) provide documentation of the training and supervision in clauses (1) to (3) upon request.
(b) A personal care assistant shall not undertake any clinical services, patient assessment,

patient evaluation, or clinical education regarding the ventilator or the patient on the ventilator.
These services may only be provided by health care professionals licensed or registered in this
state.

(c) A personal care assistant may only perform tasks associated with ventilator maintenance
that are approved by the Board of Medical Practice in consultation with the Respiratory Care
Practitioner Advisory Council and the Department of Human Services.

Subd. 28. Personal care assistance provider agency; required documentation. (a)
Required documentation must be completed and kept in the personal care assistance provider
agency file or the recipient's home residence. The required documentation consists of:

(1) employee files, including:
(i) applications for employment;
(ii) background study requests and results;
(iii) orientation records about the agency policies;
(iv) trainings completed with demonstration of competence;
(v) supervisory visits;
(vi) evaluations of employment; and
(vii) signature on fraud statement;
(2) recipient files, including:
(i) demographics;
(ii) emergency contact information and emergency backup plan;
(iii) personal care assistance service plan;
(iv) personal care assistance care plan;
(v) month-to-month service use plan;
(vi) all communication records;
(vii) start of service information, including the written agreement with recipient; and
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(viii) date the home care bill of rights was given to the recipient;
(3) agency policy manual, including:
(i) policies for employment and termination;
(ii) grievance policies with resolution of consumer grievances;
(iii) staff and consumer safety;
(iv) staff misconduct; and
(v) staff hiring, service delivery, staff and consumer safety, staff misconduct, and resolution

of consumer grievances;
(4) time sheets for each personal care assistant along with completed activity sheets for

each recipient served;
(5) agency marketing and advertising materials and documentation of marketing activities

and costs; and
(6) for each personal care assistant, whether or not the personal care assistant is providing

care to a relative as defined in subdivision 11.
(b) The commissioner may assess a fine of up to $500 on provider agencies that do not

consistently comply with the requirements of this subdivision.

Subd. 29. Transitional assistance. The commissioner, counties, health plans, tribes, and
personal care assistance providers shall work together to provide transitional assistance for
recipients and families to come into compliance with the new requirements of this section that
may require a change in living arrangement no later than August 10, 2010.

Subd. 30. Notice of service changes to recipients. The commissioner must provide:
(1) by October 31, 2009, information to recipients likely to be affected that (i) describes the

changes to the personal care assistance program that may result in the loss of access to personal
care assistance services, and (ii) includes resources to obtain further information;

(2) notice of changes in medical assistance personal care assistance services to each affected
recipient at least 30 days before the effective date of the change.
The notice shall include how to get further information on the changes, how to get help to obtain
other services, a list of community resources, and appeal rights. Notwithstanding section 256.045,
a recipient may request continued services pending appeal within the time period allowed to
request an appeal; and

(3) a service agreement authorizing personal care assistance hours of service at the
previously authorized level, throughout the appeal process period, when a recipient requests
services pending an appeal.

History: 1986 c 444; 1990 c 568 art 3 s 51; 1991 c 292 art 7 s 12,25; 1992 c 391 s 3-6;
1992 c 464 art 2 s 1; 1992 c 513 art 7 s 50; 1Sp1993 c 1 art 5 s 51-53; 1995 c 207 art 6 s 52-55;
1996 c 451 art 5 s 17-20; 1997 c 203 art 4 s 28,29; 3Sp1997 c 3 s 9; 1998 c 407 art 4 s 29-31;
1999 c 245 art 4 s 50-58; 2000 c 474 s 8-11; 1Sp2001 c 9 art 3 s 29-41; 2002 c 375 art 2 s 17;
2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 2003 c 15 art 1 s 33; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 3 s 26-28; 2005 c 10 art 1 s 49,50;
1Sp2005 c 4 art 7 s 15-19; 2007 c 147 art 6 s 19-22; art 7 s 9-11; 2008 c 286 art 1 s 7; 2009 c 79
art 8 s 27,31,85; 2009 c 173 art 1 s 23-27; 2010 c 352 art 1 s 10-15; art 2 s 2-14; 2010 c 382 s
49; 1Sp2010 c 1 art 15 s 7; art 17 s 10; 1Sp2011 c 9 art 7 s 10,11
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NOTE: The amendment to subdivision 11 by Laws 2010, First Special Session chapter 1,
article 17, section 10, is effective July 1, 2011. Laws 2010, First Special Session chapter 1, article
17, section 10, the effective date.

256B.07 [Repealed, 1987 c 403 art 2 s 164]

256B.071 Subdivision 1. [Repealed, 2009 c 79 art 8 s 86]

Subd. 2. [Repealed, 2009 c 79 art 8 s 86]

Subd. 3. [Repealed, 2009 c 79 art 8 s 86]

Subd. 4. [Repealed, 2009 c 79 art 8 s 86]

Subd. 5. [Repealed, 2001 c 161 s 58; 2001 c 203 s 19]

256B.072 PERFORMANCE REPORTING AND QUALITY IMPROVEMENT SYSTEM.

(a) The commissioner of human services shall establish a performance reporting system
for health care providers who provide health care services to public program recipients covered
under chapters 256B, 256D, and 256L, reporting separately for managed care and fee-for-service
recipients.

(b) The measures used for the performance reporting system for medical groups shall
include measures of care for asthma, diabetes, hypertension, and coronary artery disease and
measures of preventive care services. The measures used for the performance reporting system
for inpatient hospitals shall include measures of care for acute myocardial infarction, heart
failure, and pneumonia, and measures of care and prevention of surgical infections. In the
case of a medical group, the measures used shall be consistent with measures published by
nonprofit Minnesota or national organizations that produce and disseminate health care quality
measures or evidence-based health care guidelines. In the case of inpatient hospital measures,
the commissioner shall appoint the Minnesota Hospital Association and Stratis Health to advise
on the development of the performance measures to be used for hospital reporting. To enable
a consistent measurement process across the community, the commissioner may use measures
of care provided for patients in addition to those identified in paragraph (a). The commissioner
shall ensure collaboration with other health care reporting organizations so that the measures
described in this section are consistent with those reported by those organizations and used
by other purchasers in Minnesota.

(c) The commissioner may require providers to submit information in a required format to
a health care reporting organization or to cooperate with the information collection procedures
of that organization. The commissioner may collaborate with a reporting organization to collect
information reported and to prevent duplication of reporting.

(d) By October 1, 2007, and annually thereafter, the commissioner shall report through a
public Web site the results by medical groups and hospitals, where possible, of the measures
under this section, and shall compare the results by medical groups and hospitals for patients
enrolled in public programs to patients enrolled in private health plans. To achieve this reporting,
the commissioner may collaborate with a health care reporting organization that operates a Web
site suitable for this purpose.

History: 1Sp2005 c 4 art 8 s 43
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256B.075 DISEASE MANAGEMENT PROGRAMS.

Subdivision 1. General. The commissioner shall implement disease management initiatives
that seek to improve patient care and health outcomes and reduce health care costs by managing
the care provided to recipients with chronic conditions.

Subd. 2. Fee-for-service. (a) The commissioner shall develop and implement a disease
management program for medical assistance and general assistance medical care recipients who
are not enrolled in the prepaid medical assistance or prepaid general assistance medical care
programs and who are receiving services on a fee-for-service basis. The commissioner may
contract with an outside organization to provide these services.

(b) The commissioner shall seek any federal approval necessary to implement this section
and to obtain federal matching funds.

(c) The commissioner shall develop and implement a pilot intensive care management
program for medical assistance children with complex and chronic medical issues.

Subd. 3. Prepaid managed care programs. For the prepaid medical assistance, prepaid
general assistance medical care, and MinnesotaCare programs, the commissioner shall ensure
that contracting health plans implement disease management programs that are appropriate for
Minnesota health care program recipients and have been designed by the health plan to improve
patient care and health outcomes and reduce health care costs by managing the care provided to
recipients with chronic conditions.

Subd. 4. Report. The commissioner of human services shall report to the legislature
by January 15, 2005, on the status of disease management initiatives, and shall present
recommendations to the legislature on any statutory changes needed to increase the effectiveness
of these initiatives.

Subd. 5. [Repealed, 1Sp2005 c 4 art 8 s 88]
History: 2004 c 288 art 7 s 6; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 8 s 44; 2008 c 326 art 1 s 33

256B.0751 HEALTH CARE HOMES.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of sections 256B.0751 to 256B.0753, the
following definitions apply.

(b) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of human services.
(c) "Commissioners" means the commissioner of humans services and the commissioner of

health, acting jointly.
(d) "Health plan company" has the meaning provided in section 62Q.01, subdivision 4.
(e) "Personal clinician" means a physician licensed under chapter 147, a physician assistant

licensed and practicing under chapter 147A, or an advanced practice nurse licensed and registered
to practice under chapter 148.

(f) "State health care program" means the medical assistance, MinnesotaCare, and general
assistance medical care programs.

Subd. 2. Development and implementation of standards. (a) By July 1, 2009, the
commissioners of health and human services shall develop and implement standards of
certification for health care homes for state health care programs. In developing these standards,
the commissioners shall consider existing standards developed by national independent
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accrediting and medical home organizations. The standards developed by the commissioners must
meet the following criteria:

(1) emphasize, enhance, and encourage the use of primary care, and include the use of
primary care physicians, advanced practice nurses, and physician assistants as personal clinicians;

(2) focus on delivering high-quality, efficient, and effective health care services;

(3) encourage patient-centered care, including active participation by the patient and family
or a legal guardian, or a health care agent as defined in chapter 145C, as appropriate in decision
making and care plan development, and providing care that is appropriate to the patient's race,
ethnicity, and language;

(4) provide patients with a consistent, ongoing contact with a personal clinician or team of
clinical professionals to ensure continuous and appropriate care for the patient's condition;

(5) ensure that health care homes develop and maintain appropriate comprehensive care
plans for their patients with complex or chronic conditions, including an assessment of health
risks and chronic conditions;

(6) enable and encourage utilization of a range of qualified health care professionals,
including dedicated care coordinators, in a manner that enables providers to practice to the fullest
extent of their license;

(7) focus initially on patients who have or are at risk of developing chronic health
conditions;

(8) incorporate measures of quality, resource use, cost of care, and patient experience;

(9) ensure the use of health information technology and systematic follow-up, including the
use of patient registries; and

(10) encourage the use of scientifically based health care, patient decision-making aids that
provide patients with information about treatment options and their associated benefits, risks,
costs, and comparative outcomes, and other clinical decision support tools.

(b) In developing these standards, the commissioners shall consult with national and local
organizations working on health care home models, physicians, relevant state agencies, health plan
companies, hospitals, other providers, patients, and patient advocates. The commissioners may
satisfy this requirement by continuing the provider directed care coordination advisory committee.

(c) For the purposes of developing and implementing these standards, the commissioners
may use the expedited rulemaking process under section 14.389.

Subd. 3. Requirements for clinicians certified as health care homes. (a) A personal
clinician or a primary care clinic may be certified as a health care home. If a primary care clinic is
certified, all of the primary care clinic's clinicians must meet the criteria of a health care home.
In order to be certified as a health care home, a clinician or clinic must meet the standards set
by the commissioners in accordance with this section. Certification as a health care home is
voluntary. In order to maintain their status as health care homes, clinicians or clinics must renew
their certification annually.

(b) Clinicians or clinics certified as health care homes must offer their health care home
services to all their patients with complex or chronic health conditions who are interested in
participation.
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(c) Health care homes must participate in the health care home collaborative established
under subdivision 5.

Subd. 4. Alternative models and waivers of requirements. (a) Nothing in this section
shall preclude the continued development of existing medical or health care home projects
currently operating or under development by the commissioner of human services or preclude the
commissioner from establishing alternative models and payment mechanisms for persons who are
enrolled in integrated Medicare and Medicaid programs under section 256B.69, subdivisions 23
and 28, are enrolled in managed care long-term care programs under section 256B.69, subdivision
6b, are dually eligible for Medicare and medical assistance, are in the waiting period for Medicare,
or who have other primary coverage.

(b) The commissioner of health shall waive health care home certification requirements if
an applicant demonstrates that compliance with a certification requirement will create a major
financial hardship or is not feasible, and the applicant establishes an alternative way to accomplish
the objectives of the certification requirement.

Subd. 5. Health care home collaborative. By July 1, 2009, the commissioners shall
establish a health care home collaborative to provide an opportunity for health care homes and
state agencies to exchange information related to quality improvement and best practices.

Subd. 6. Evaluation and continued development. (a) For continued certification under
this section, health care homes must meet process, outcome, and quality standards as developed
and specified by the commissioners. The commissioners shall collect data from health care homes
necessary for monitoring compliance with certification standards and for evaluating the impact of
health care homes on health care quality, cost, and outcomes.

(b) The commissioners may contract with a private entity to perform an evaluation of the
effectiveness of health care homes. Data collected under this subdivision is classified as nonpublic
data under chapter 13.

Subd. 7. Outreach. Beginning July 1, 2009, the commissioner shall encourage state health
care program enrollees who have a complex or chronic condition to select a primary care clinic
with clinicians who have been certified as health care homes.

Subd. 8. Coordination with local services. The health care home and the county shall
coordinate care and services provided to patients enrolled with a health care home who have
complex medical needs or a disability, and who need and are eligible for additional local services
administered by counties, including but not limited to waivered services, mental health services,
social services, public health services, transportation, and housing. The coordination of care and
services must be as provided in the plan established by the patient and health care home.

History: 2008 c 358 art 2 s 1; 2009 c 159 s 91; 1Sp2011 c 9 art 6 s 54,55

256B.0752 HEALTH CARE HOME REPORTING REQUIREMENTS.

Subdivision 1. Annual reports on implementation and administration. The
commissioners shall report annually to the legislature on the implementation and administration
of the health care home model for state health care program enrollees in the fee-for-service,
managed care, and county-based purchasing sectors beginning December 15, 2009, and each
December 15 thereafter.

Subd. 2. Evaluation reports. The commissioners shall provide to the legislature
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comprehensive evaluations of the health care home model three years and five years after
implementation. The report must include:

(1) the number of state health care program enrollees in health care homes and the number
and characteristics of enrollees with complex or chronic conditions, identified by income, race,
ethnicity, and language;

(2) the number and geographic distribution of health care home providers;

(3) the performance and quality of care of health care homes;

(4) measures of preventive care;

(5) health care home payment arrangements, and costs related to implementation and
payment of care coordination fees;

(6) the estimated impact of health care homes on health disparities; and

(7) estimated savings from implementation of the health care home model for the
fee-for-service, managed care, and county-based purchasing sectors.

History: 2008 c 358 art 2 s 2

256B.0753 PAYMENT RESTRUCTURING; CARE COORDINATION PAYMENTS.

Subdivision 1. Development. The commissioner of human services, in coordination with
the commissioner of health, shall develop a payment system that provides per-person care
coordination payments to health care homes certified under section 256B.0751 for providing
care coordination services and directly managing on-site or employing care coordinators. The
care coordination payments under this section are in addition to the quality incentive payments
in section 256B.0754, subdivision 1. The care coordination payment system must vary the fees
paid by thresholds of care complexity, with the highest fees being paid for care provided to
individuals requiring the most intensive care coordination. In developing the criteria for care
coordination payments, the commissioner shall consider the feasibility of including the additional
time and resources needed by patients with limited English-language skills, cultural differences,
or other barriers to health care. The commissioner may determine a schedule for phasing in care
coordination fees such that the fees will be applied first to individuals who have, or are at risk
of developing, complex or chronic health conditions. Development of the payment system must
be completed by January 1, 2010.

Subd. 2. Implementation. The commissioner of human services shall implement care
coordination payments as specified under this section by July 1, 2010, or upon federal approval,
whichever is later. For enrollees served under the fee-for-service system, the care coordination
payment shall be determined by the commissioner in contracts with certified health care homes.
For enrollees served by managed care or county-based purchasing plans, the commissioner's
contracts with these plans shall require the payment of care coordination fees to certified health
care homes.

Subd. 3. Cost neutrality. If initial savings from implementation of health care homes are
not sufficient to allow implementation of the care coordination fee in a cost-neutral manner, the
commissioner may make recommendations to the legislature on reallocating costs within the
health care system.

History: 2008 c 358 art 2 s 3
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256B.0754 PAYMENT REFORM.

Subdivision 1. Quality incentive payments. By July 1, 2010, the commissioner of human
services shall implement quality incentive payments as established under section 62U.02 for all
enrollees in state health care programs consistent with relevant state and federal statute and rule.
This section does not limit the ability of the commissioner of human services to establish by
contract and monitor, as part of its quality assurance obligations for state health care programs,
outcome and performance measures for nonmedical services and health issues likely to occur in
low-income populations or racial or cultural groups disproportionately represented in state health
care program enrollment that would likely be underrepresented when using traditional measures
that are based on longer-term enrollment.

Subd. 2. Payment reform. By no later than 12 months after the commissioner of health
publishes the information in section 62U.04, subdivision 3, paragraph (e), the commissioner
of human services shall use the information and methods developed under section 62U.04
to establish a payment system that:

(1) rewards high-quality, low-cost providers;

(2) creates enrollee incentives to receive care from high-quality, low-cost providers; and

(3) fosters collaboration among providers to reduce cost shifting from one part of the
health continuum to another.

History: 2008 c 358 art 2 s 4; 2010 c 344 s 3

256B.0755 HEALTH CARE DELIVERY SYSTEMS DEMONSTRATION PROJECT.

Subdivision 1. Implementation. (a) The commissioner shall develop and authorize a
demonstration project to test alternative and innovative health care delivery systems, including
accountable care organizations that provide services to a specified patient population for an
agreed-upon total cost of care or risk/gain sharing payment arrangement. The commissioner shall
develop a request for proposals for participation in the demonstration project in consultation with
hospitals, primary care providers, health plans, and other key stakeholders.

(b) In developing the request for proposals, the commissioner shall:

(1) establish uniform statewide methods of forecasting utilization and cost of care for the
appropriate Minnesota public program populations, to be used by the commissioner for the
health care delivery system projects;

(2) identify key indicators of quality, access, patient satisfaction, and other performance
indicators that will be measured, in addition to indicators for measuring cost savings;

(3) allow maximum flexibility to encourage innovation and variation so that a variety of
provider collaborations are able to become health care delivery systems;

(4) encourage and authorize different levels and types of financial risk;

(5) encourage and authorize projects representing a wide variety of geographic locations,
patient populations, provider relationships, and care coordination models;

(6) encourage projects that involve close partnerships between the health care delivery
system and counties and nonprofit agencies that provide services to patients enrolled with
the health care delivery system, including social services, public health, mental health,
community-based services, and continuing care;
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(7) encourage projects established by community hospitals, clinics, and other providers
in rural communities;

(8) identify required covered services for a total cost of care model or services considered
in whole or partially in an analysis of utilization for a risk/gain sharing model;

(9) establish a mechanism to monitor enrollment;
(10) establish quality standards for the delivery system demonstrations;
(11) encourage participation of privately insured population so as to create sufficient

alignment in demonstration systems; and
(12) coordinate projects with any coordinated care delivery systems established under

section 256D.031.
(c) To be eligible to participate in the demonstration project, a health care delivery system

must:
(1) provide required covered services and care coordination to recipients enrolled in the

health care delivery system;
(2) establish a process to monitor enrollment and ensure the quality of care provided;
(3) in cooperation with counties and community social service agencies, coordinate the

delivery of health care services with existing social services programs;
(4) provide a system for advocacy and consumer protection; and
(5) adopt innovative and cost-effective methods of care delivery and coordination,

which may include the use of allied health professionals, telemedicine, patient educators, care
coordinators, and community health workers.

(d) A health care delivery system demonstration may be formed by the following groups of
providers of services and suppliers if they have established a mechanism for shared governance:

(1) professionals in group practice arrangements;
(2) networks of individual practices of professionals;
(3) partnerships or joint venture arrangements between hospitals and health care

professionals;
(4) hospitals employing professionals; and
(5) other groups of providers of services and suppliers as the commissioner determines

appropriate.
A managed care plan or county-based purchasing plan may participate in this demonstration

in collaboration with one or more of the entities listed in clauses (1) to (5).
A health care delivery system may contract with a managed care plan or a county-based

purchasing plan to provide administrative services, including the administration of a payment
system using the payment methods established by the commissioner for health care delivery
systems.

(e) The commissioner may require a health care delivery system to enter into additional
third-party contractual relationships for the assessment of risk and purchase of stop loss insurance
or another form of insurance risk management related to the delivery of care described in
paragraph (c).

Subd. 2. Enrollment. (a) Individuals eligible for medical assistance or MinnesotaCare shall
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be eligible for enrollment in a health care delivery system.

(b) Eligible applicants and recipients may enroll in a health care delivery system if a system
serves the county in which the applicant or recipient resides. If more than one health care delivery
system serves a county, the applicant or recipient shall be allowed to choose among the delivery
systems. The commissioner may assign an applicant or recipient to a health care delivery system
if a health care delivery system is available and no choice has been made by the applicant or
recipient.

Subd. 3. Accountability. (a) Health care delivery systems must accept responsibility for
the quality of care based on standards established under subdivision 1, paragraph (b), clause
(10), and the cost of care or utilization of services provided to its enrollees under subdivision 1,
paragraph (b), clause (1).

(b) A health care delivery system may contract and coordinate with providers and clinics for
the delivery of services and shall contract with community health clinics, federally qualified health
centers, community mental health centers or programs, and rural clinics to the extent practicable.

Subd. 4. Payment system. (a) In developing a payment system for health care delivery
systems, the commissioner shall establish a total cost of care benchmark or a risk/gain sharing
payment model to be paid for services provided to the recipients enrolled in a health care delivery
system.

(b) The payment system may include incentive payments to health care delivery systems that
meet or exceed annual quality and performance targets realized through the coordination of care.

(c) An amount equal to the savings realized to the general fund as a result of the
demonstration project shall be transferred each fiscal year to the health care access fund.

Subd. 5. Outpatient prescription drug coverage. Outpatient prescription drug coverage
may be provided through accountable care organizations only if the delivery method qualifies
for federal prescription drug rebates.

Subd. 6. Federal approval. The commissioner shall apply for any federal waivers or
other federal approval required to implement this section. The commissioner shall also apply for
any applicable grant or demonstration under the Patient Protection and Affordable Health Care
Act, Public Law 111-148, or the Health Care and Education Reconciliation Act of 2010, Public
Law 111-152, that would further the purposes of or assist in the establishment of accountable
care organizations.

Subd. 7. Expansion. The commissioner shall explore the expansion of the demonstration
project to include additional medical assistance and MinnesotaCare enrollees, and shall seek
participation of Medicare in demonstration projects. The commissioner shall seek to include
participation of privately insured persons and Medicare recipients in the health care delivery
demonstration.

History: 1Sp2010 c 1 art 16 s 19

NOTE: This section, as added by Laws 2010, First Special Session chapter 1, article
16, section 19, is effective July 1, 2011. Laws 2010, First Special Session chapter 1, article
16, section 19, the effective date.
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256B.0756 HENNEPIN AND RAMSEY COUNTIES PILOT PROGRAM.
(a) The commissioner, upon federal approval of a new waiver request or amendment of an

existing demonstration, may establish a pilot program in Hennepin County or Ramsey County, or
both, to test alternative and innovative integrated health care delivery networks.

(b) Individuals eligible for the pilot program shall be individuals who are eligible for
medical assistance under section 256B.055, subdivision 15, and who reside in Hennepin County
or Ramsey County.

(c) Individuals enrolled in the pilot program shall be enrolled in an integrated health care
delivery network in their county of residence. The integrated health care delivery network
in Hennepin County shall be a network, such as an accountable care organization or a
community-based collaborative care network, created by or including Hennepin County Medical
Center. The integrated health care delivery network in Ramsey County shall be a network, such
as an accountable care organization or community-based collaborative care network, created
by or including Regions Hospital.

(d) The commissioner shall cap pilot program enrollment at 7,000 enrollees for Hennepin
County and 3,500 enrollees for Ramsey County.

(e) In developing a payment system for the pilot programs, the commissioner shall establish
a total cost of care for the recipients enrolled in the pilot programs that equals the cost of care that
would otherwise be spent for these enrollees in the prepaid medical assistance program.

(f) Counties may transfer funds necessary to support the nonfederal share of payments for
integrated health care delivery networks in their county. Such transfers per county shall not
exceed 15 percent of the expected expenses for county enrollees.

(g) The commissioner shall apply to the federal government for, or as appropriate,
cooperate with counties, providers, or other entities that are applying for any applicable grant or
demonstration under the Patient Protection and Affordable Health Care Act, Public Law 111-148,
or the Health Care and Education Reconciliation Act of 2010, Public Law 111-152, that would
further the purposes of or assist in the creation of an integrated health care delivery network for
the purposes of this subdivision, including, but not limited to, a global payment demonstration or
the community-based collaborative care network grants.

History: 1Sp2010 c 1 art 16 s 20,48
NOTE: This section became effective January 5, 2011, the date Governor Mark Dayton

signed Executive Order 11-01. Laws 2010, First Special Session chapter 1, article 16, section 48.

256B.0757 COORDINATED CARE THROUGH A HEALTH HOME.

Subdivision 1. Provision of coverage. (a) The commissioner shall provide medical
assistance coverage of health home services for eligible individuals with chronic conditions
who select a designated provider, a team of health care professionals, or a health team as the
individual's health home.

(b) The commissioner shall implement this section in compliance with the requirements of
the state option to provide health homes for enrollees with chronic conditions, as provided under
the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Public Law 111-148, sections 2703 and 3502.
Terms used in this section have the meaning provided in that act.

Subd. 2. Eligible individual. An individual is eligible for health home services under this
section if the individual is eligible for medical assistance under this chapter and has at least:
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(1) two chronic conditions;
(2) one chronic condition and is at risk of having a second chronic condition; or
(3) one serious and persistent mental health condition.

Subd. 3. Health home services. (a) Health home services means comprehensive and timely
high-quality services that are provided by a health home. These services include:

(1) comprehensive care management;
(2) care coordination and health promotion;
(3) comprehensive transitional care, including appropriate follow-up, from inpatient to

other settings;
(4) patient and family support, including authorized representatives;
(5) referral to community and social support services, if relevant; and
(6) use of health information technology to link services, as feasible and appropriate.
(b) The commissioner shall maximize the number and type of services included in this

subdivision to the extent permissible under federal law, including physician, outpatient, mental
health treatment, and rehabilitation services necessary for comprehensive transitional care
following hospitalization.

Subd. 4. Health teams. The commissioner shall establish health teams to support the
patient-centered health home and provide the services described in subdivision 3 to individuals
eligible under subdivision 2. The commissioner shall apply for grants or contracts as provided
under section 3502 of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act to establish health teams and
provide capitated payments to primary care providers. For purposes of this section, "health teams"
means community-based, interdisciplinary, interprofessional teams of health care providers
that support primary care practices. These providers may include medical specialists, nurses,
advanced practice registered nurses, pharmacists, nutritionists, social workers, behavioral and
mental health providers, doctors of chiropractic, licensed complementary and alternative medicine
practitioners, and physician assistants.

Subd. 5. Payments. The commissioner shall make payments to each health home and each
health team for the provision of health home services to each eligible individual with chronic
conditions that selects the health home as a provider.

Subd. 6. Coordination. The commissioner, to the extent feasible, shall ensure that the
requirements and payment methods for health homes and health teams developed under this
section are consistent with the requirements and payment methods for health care homes
established under sections 256B.0751 and 256B.0753. The commissioner may modify
requirements and payment methods under sections 256B.0751 and 256B.0753 in order to be
consistent with federal health home requirements and payment methods.

Subd. 7. State plan amendment. The commissioner shall submit a state plan amendment
to implement this section to the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services by January 1,
2011.

History: 1Sp2010 c 1 art 22 s 2
NOTE: This section, as added by Laws 2010, First Special Session chapter 1, article 22,

section 2, is effective January 1, 2011, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. Laws 2010,
First Special Session chapter 1, article 22, section 2, the effective date.
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256B.08 APPLICATION.

Subdivision 1. Application process. An applicant for medical assistance, or a person acting
in the applicant's behalf, shall file an application with a local agency in the manner and form
prescribed by the state agency. When a married applicant resides in a nursing home or applies
for medical assistance for nursing home services, the local agency shall consider an application
on behalf of the applicant's spouse only upon specific request of the applicant or upon specific
request of the spouse and separate filing of an application.

Subd. 2. Expedited review for pregnant women. A pregnant woman who may be eligible
for assistance under section 256B.055, subdivision 1, must receive an appointment for eligibility
determination no later than five working days from the date of her request for assistance from
the local agency. The local agency shall expedite processing her application for assistance and
shall make a determination of eligibility on a completed application no later than ten working
days following the applicant's initial appointment. The local agency shall assist the applicant to
provide all necessary information and documentation in order to process the application within
the time period required under this subdivision. The state agency shall provide for the placement
of applications for medical assistance in eligible provider offices, community health offices, and
Women, Infants and Children (WIC) program sites.

Subd. 3. Outreach locations. The local agency must establish locations, other than those
used to process applications for cash assistance, to receive and perform initial processing of
applications for pregnant women and children who want medical assistance only. At a minimum,
these locations must be in federally qualified health centers and in hospitals that receive
disproportionate share adjustments under section 256.969, subdivision 8, except that hospitals
located outside of this state that receive the disproportionate share adjustment are not included.
Initial processing of the application need not include a final determination of eligibility. Local
agencies shall designate a person or persons within the agency who will receive the applications
taken at an outreach location and the local agency will be responsible for timely determination of
eligibility.

Subd. 4. Data from Social Security. The commissioner shall accept data from the Social
Security Administration in accordance with United States Code, title 42, section 1396U-5(a).

History: Ex1967 c 16 s 8; 1Sp1981 c 2 s 15; 1986 c 444; 1988 c 689 art 2 s 146,268;
1991 c 292 art 4 s 50; 2009 c 79 art 5 s 37

256B.09 INVESTIGATIONS.

When an application for medical assistance hereunder is filed with a county agency,
such county agency shall promptly make or cause to be made such investigation as it may
deem necessary. The object of such investigation shall be to ascertain the facts supporting the
application made hereunder and such other information as may be required by the rules of the
state agency. Upon the completion of such investigation the county agency shall promptly
determine eligibility. No approval by the county agency shall be required prior to payment for
medical care provided to recipients determined to be eligible pursuant to this section.

History: Ex1967 c 16 s 9; 1973 c 717 s 19

256B.091 [Repealed, 1991 c 292 art 7 s 26]

Copyright © 2011 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



193 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2011 256B.0911

256B.0911 LONG-TERM CARE CONSULTATION SERVICES.

Subdivision 1. Purpose and goal. (a) The purpose of long-term care consultation services
is to assist persons with long-term or chronic care needs in making long-term care decisions and
selecting options that meet their needs and reflect their preferences. The availability of, and access
to, information and other types of assistance, including assessment and support planning, is
also intended to prevent or delay certified nursing facility placements and to provide transition
assistance after admission. Further, the goal of these services is to contain costs associated with
unnecessary certified nursing facility admissions. Long-term consultation services must be
available to any person regardless of public program eligibility. The commissioner of human
services shall seek to maximize use of available federal and state funds and establish the broadest
program possible within the funding available.

(b) These services must be coordinated with long-term care options counseling provided
under section 256.975, subdivision 7, and section 256.01, subdivision 24, for telephone assistance
and follow up and to offer a variety of cost-effective alternatives to persons with disabilities and
elderly persons. The county or tribal agency or managed care plan providing long-term care
consultation services shall encourage the use of volunteers from families, religious organizations,
social clubs, and similar civic and service organizations to provide community-based services.

Subd. 1a. Definitions. For purposes of this section, the following definitions apply:
(a) "Long-term care consultation services" means:
(1) assistance in identifying services needed to maintain an individual in the most inclusive

environment;
(2) providing recommendations on cost-effective community services that are available to

the individual;
(3) development of an individual's person-centered community support plan;
(4) providing information regarding eligibility for Minnesota health care programs;
(5) face-to-face long-term care consultation assessments, which may be completed in a

hospital, nursing facility, intermediate care facility for persons with developmental disabilities
(ICF/DDs), regional treatment centers, or the person's current or planned residence;

(6) federally mandated screening to determine the need for an institutional level of care
under subdivision 4a;

(7) determination of home and community-based waiver service eligibility including level
of care determination for individuals who need an institutional level of care as determined under
section 256B.0911, subdivision 4a, paragraph (d), or 256B.092, service eligibility including state
plan home care services identified in sections 256B.0625, subdivisions 6, 7, and 19, paragraphs
(a) and (c), and 256B.0657, based on assessment and support plan development with appropriate
referrals, including the option for consumer-directed community supports;

(8) providing recommendations for nursing facility placement when there are no
cost-effective community services available; and

(9) assistance to transition people back to community settings after facility admission.
(b) "Long-term care options counseling" means the services provided by the linkage lines as

mandated by sections 256.01 and 256.975, subdivision 7, and also includes telephone assistance
and follow up once a long-term care consultation assessment has been completed.
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(c) "Minnesota health care programs" means the medical assistance program under chapter
256B and the alternative care program under section 256B.0913.

(d) "Lead agencies" means counties or a collaboration of counties, tribes, and health plans
administering long-term care consultation assessment and support planning services.

Subd. 2. [Repealed, 1Sp2001 c 9 art 4 s 34]

Subd. 2a. [Repealed, 1Sp2001 c 9 art 4 s 34]

Subd. 2b. Certified assessors. (a) Beginning January 1, 2011, each lead agency shall use
certified assessors who have completed training and the certification processes determined by the
commissioner in subdivision 2c. Certified assessors shall demonstrate best practices in assessment
and support planning including person-centered planning principals and have a common set of
skills that must ensure consistency and equitable access to services statewide. Assessors must be
part of a multidisciplinary team of professionals that includes public health nurses, social workers,
and other professionals as defined in paragraph (b). For persons with complex health care needs, a
public health nurse or registered nurse from a multidisciplinary team must be consulted. A lead
agency may choose, according to departmental policies, to contract with a qualified, certified
assessor to conduct assessments and reassessments on behalf of the lead agency.

(b) Certified assessors are persons with a minimum of a bachelor's degree in social work,
nursing with a public health nursing certificate, or other closely related field with at least one year
of home and community-based experience or a two-year registered nursing degree with at least
three years of home and community-based experience that have received training and certification
specific to assessment and consultation for long-term care services in the state.

Subd. 2c. Assessor training and certification. The commissioner shall develop a
curriculum and an assessor certification process to begin no later than January 1, 2010. All
existing lead agency staff designated to provide the services defined in subdivision 1a must be
certified by December 30, 2010. Each lead agency is required to ensure that they have sufficient
numbers of certified assessors to provide long-term consultation assessment and support planning
within the timelines and parameters of the service by January 1, 2011. Certified assessors are
required to be recertified every three years.

Subd. 3. Long-term care consultation team. (a) Until January 1, 2011, a long-term
care consultation team shall be established by the county board of commissioners. Each local
consultation team shall consist of at least one social worker and at least one public health nurse
from their respective county agencies. The board may designate public health or social services as
the lead agency for long-term care consultation services. If a county does not have a public health
nurse available, it may request approval from the commissioner to assign a county registered
nurse with at least one year experience in home care to participate on the team. Two or more
counties may collaborate to establish a joint local consultation team or teams.

(b) The team is responsible for providing long-term care consultation services to all
persons located in the county who request the services, regardless of eligibility for Minnesota
health care programs.

(c) The commissioner shall allow arrangements and make recommendations that encourage
counties to collaborate to establish joint local long-term care consultation teams to ensure that
long-term care consultations are done within the timelines and parameters of the service. This
includes integrated service models as required in subdivision 1, paragraph (b).
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Subd. 3a. Assessment and support planning. (a) Persons requesting assessment, services
planning, or other assistance intended to support community-based living, including persons who
need assessment in order to determine waiver or alternative care program eligibility, must be
visited by a long-term care consultation team within 15 calendar days after the date on which an
assessment was requested or recommended. After January 1, 2011, these requirements also apply
to personal care assistance services, private duty nursing, and home health agency services, on
timelines established in subdivision 5. Face-to-face assessments must be conducted according to
paragraphs (b) to (i).

(b) The county may utilize a team of either the social worker or public health nurse, or both.
After January 1, 2011, lead agencies shall use certified assessors to conduct the assessment
in a face-to-face interview. The consultation team members must confer regarding the most
appropriate care for each individual screened or assessed.

(c) The assessment must be comprehensive and include a person-centered assessment of the
health, psychological, functional, environmental, and social needs of referred individuals and
provide information necessary to develop a support plan that meets the consumers needs, using an
assessment form provided by the commissioner.

(d) The assessment must be conducted in a face-to-face interview with the person being
assessed and the person's legal representative, as required by legally executed documents, and
other individuals as requested by the person, who can provide information on the needs, strengths,
and preferences of the person necessary to develop a support plan that ensures the person's health
and safety, but who is not a provider of service or has any financial interest in the provision
of services.

(e) The person, or the person's legal representative, must be provided with written
recommendations for community-based services, including consumer-directed options, or
institutional care that include documentation that the most cost-effective alternatives available
were offered to the individual, and alternatives to residential settings, including, but not limited
to, foster care settings that are not the primary residence of the license holder. For purposes of this
requirement, "cost-effective alternatives" means community services and living arrangements that
cost the same as or less than institutional care.

(f) If the person chooses to use community-based services, the person or the person's
legal representative must be provided with a written community support plan, regardless of
whether the individual is eligible for Minnesota health care programs. A person may request
assistance in identifying community supports without participating in a complete assessment.
Upon a request for assistance identifying community support, the person must be transferred or
referred to the services available under sections 256.975, subdivision 7, and 256.01, subdivision
24, for telephone assistance and follow up.

(g) The person has the right to make the final decision between institutional placement and
community placement after the recommendations have been provided, except as provided in
subdivision 4a, paragraph (c).

(h) The team must give the person receiving assessment or support planning, or the person's
legal representative, materials, and forms supplied by the commissioner containing the following
information:

(1) the need for and purpose of preadmission screening if the person selects nursing facility
placement;
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(2) the role of the long-term care consultation assessment and support planning in waiver
and alternative care program eligibility determination;

(3) information about Minnesota health care programs;

(4) the person's freedom to accept or reject the recommendations of the team;

(5) the person's right to confidentiality under the Minnesota Government Data Practices
Act, chapter 13;

(6) the long-term care consultant's decision regarding the person's need for institutional
level of care as determined under criteria established in section 144.0724, subdivision 11, or
256B.092; and

(7) the person's right to appeal the decision regarding the need for nursing facility level
of care or the county's final decisions regarding public programs eligibility according to section
256.045, subdivision 3.

(i) Face-to-face assessment completed as part of eligibility determination for the alternative
care, elderly waiver, community alternatives for disabled individuals, community alternative
care, and traumatic brain injury waiver programs under sections 256B.0915, 256B.0917, and
256B.49 is valid to establish service eligibility for no more than 60 calendar days after the date of
assessment. The effective eligibility start date for these programs can never be prior to the date
of assessment. If an assessment was completed more than 60 days before the effective waiver
or alternative care program eligibility start date, assessment and support plan information must
be updated in a face-to-face visit and documented in the department's Medicaid Management
Information System (MMIS). The effective date of program eligibility in this case cannot be prior
to the date the updated assessment is completed.

Subd. 3b. Transition assistance. (a) A long-term care consultation team shall provide
assistance to persons residing in a nursing facility, hospital, regional treatment center, or
intermediate care facility for persons with developmental disabilities who request or are
referred for assistance. Transition assistance must include assessment, community support plan
development, referrals to long-term care options counseling under section 256B.975, subdivision
10, for community support plan implementation and to Minnesota health care programs, including
home and community-based waiver services and consumer-directed options through the waivers,
and referrals to programs that provide assistance with housing. Transition assistance must also
include information about the Centers for Independent Living and the Senior LinkAge Line, and
about other organizations that can provide assistance with relocation efforts, and information
about contacting these organizations to obtain their assistance and support.

(b) The county shall develop transition processes with institutional social workers and
discharge planners to ensure that:

(1) persons admitted to facilities receive information about transition assistance that is
available;

(2) the assessment is completed for persons within ten working days of the date of request
or recommendation for assessment; and

(3) there is a plan for transition and follow-up for the individual's return to the community.
The plan must require notification of other local agencies when a person who may require
assistance is screened by one county for admission to a facility located in another county.
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(c) If a person who is eligible for a Minnesota health care program is admitted to a nursing
facility, the nursing facility must include a consultation team member or the case manager in the
discharge planning process.

Subd. 3c. Consultation for housing with services. (a) The purpose of long-term
care consultation for registered housing with services is to support persons with current or
anticipated long-term care needs in making informed choices among options that include the most
cost-effective and least restrictive settings. Prospective residents maintain the right to choose
housing with services or assisted living if that option is their preference.

(b) Registered housing with services establishments shall inform all prospective residents of
the availability of long-term care consultation and the need to receive and verify the consultation
prior to signing a lease or contract. Long-term care consultation for registered housing with
services is provided as determined by the commissioner of human services. The service is
delivered under a partnership between lead agencies as defined in subdivision 1a, paragraph (d),
and the Area Agencies on Aging, and is a point of entry to a combination of telephone-based
long-term care options counseling provided by Senior LinkAge Line and in-person long-term care
consultation provided by lead agencies. The point of entry service must be provided within five
working days of the request of the prospective resident as follows:

(1) the consultation shall be performed in a manner that provides objective and complete
information;

(2) the consultation must include a review of the prospective resident's reasons for
considering housing with services, the prospective resident's personal goals, a discussion of the
prospective resident's immediate and projected long-term care needs, and alternative community
services or housing with services settings that may meet the prospective resident's needs;

(3) the prospective resident shall be informed of the availability of a face-to-face visit at no
charge to the prospective resident to assist the prospective resident in assessment and planning
to meet the prospective resident's long-term care needs; and

(4) verification of counseling shall be generated and provided to the prospective resident by
Senior LinkAge Line upon completion of the telephone-based counseling.

(c) Housing with services establishments registered under chapter 144D shall:
(1) inform all prospective residents of the availability of and contact information for

consultation services under this subdivision;
(2) except for individuals seeking lease-only arrangements in subsidized housing settings,

receive a copy of the verification of counseling prior to executing a lease or service contract with
the prospective resident, and prior to executing a service contract with individuals who have
previously entered into lease-only arrangements; and

(3) retain a copy of the verification of counseling as part of the resident's file.

Subd. 4. [Repealed, 1Sp2001 c 9 art 4 s 34]

Subd. 4a. Preadmission screening activities related to nursing facility admissions. (a)
All applicants to Medicaid certified nursing facilities, including certified boarding care facilities,
must be screened prior to admission regardless of income, assets, or funding sources for nursing
facility care, except as described in subdivision 4b. The purpose of the screening is to determine
the need for nursing facility level of care as described in paragraph (d) and to complete activities
required under federal law related to mental illness and developmental disability as outlined in
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paragraph (b).
(b) A person who has a diagnosis or possible diagnosis of mental illness or developmental

disability must receive a preadmission screening before admission regardless of the exemptions
outlined in subdivision 4b, paragraph (b), to identify the need for further evaluation and
specialized services, unless the admission prior to screening is authorized by the local mental
health authority or the local developmental disabilities case manager, or unless authorized by the
county agency according to Public Law 101-508.

The following criteria apply to the preadmission screening:
(1) the county must use forms and criteria developed by the commissioner to identify

persons who require referral for further evaluation and determination of the need for specialized
services; and

(2) the evaluation and determination of the need for specialized services must be done by:
(i) a qualified independent mental health professional, for persons with a primary or

secondary diagnosis of a serious mental illness; or
(ii) a qualified developmental disability professional, for persons with a primary or

secondary diagnosis of developmental disability. For purposes of this requirement, a qualified
developmental disability professional must meet the standards for a qualified developmental
disability professional under Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 483.430.

(c) The local county mental health authority or the state developmental disability authority
under Public Law Numbers 100-203 and 101-508 may prohibit admission to a nursing facility
if the individual does not meet the nursing facility level of care criteria or needs specialized
services as defined in Public Law Numbers 100-203 and 101-508. For purposes of this section,
"specialized services" for a person with developmental disability means active treatment as that
term is defined under Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 483.440 (a)(1).

(d) The determination of the need for nursing facility level of care must be made according
to criteria developed by the commissioner, and in section 256B.092, using forms developed by
the commissioner. Effective no sooner than on or after July 1, 2012, for individuals age 21 and
older, and on or after October 1, 2019, for individuals under age 21, the determination of need
for nursing facility level of care shall be based on criteria in section 144.0724, subdivision 11.
In assessing a person's needs, consultation team members shall have a physician available for
consultation and shall consider the assessment of the individual's attending physician, if any. The
individual's physician must be included if the physician chooses to participate. Other personnel
may be included on the team as deemed appropriate by the county.

Subd. 4b. Exemptions and emergency admissions. (a) Exemptions from the federal
screening requirements outlined in subdivision 4a, paragraphs (b) and (c), are limited to:

(1) a person who, having entered an acute care facility from a certified nursing facility, is
returning to a certified nursing facility;

(2) a person transferring from one certified nursing facility in Minnesota to another certified
nursing facility in Minnesota; and

(3) a person, 21 years of age or older, who satisfies the following criteria, as specified in
Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 483.106(b)(2):

(i) the person is admitted to a nursing facility directly from a hospital after receiving acute
inpatient care at the hospital;
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(ii) the person requires nursing facility services for the same condition for which care
was provided in the hospital; and

(iii) the attending physician has certified before the nursing facility admission that the
person is likely to receive less than 30 days of nursing facility services.

(b) Persons who are exempt from preadmission screening for purposes of level of care
determination include:

(1) persons described in paragraph (a);
(2) an individual who has a contractual right to have nursing facility care paid for

indefinitely by the veterans' administration;
(3) an individual enrolled in a demonstration project under section 256B.69, subdivision 8,

at the time of application to a nursing facility; and
(4) an individual currently being served under the alternative care program or under a

home and community-based services waiver authorized under section 1915(c) of the federal
Social Security Act.

(c) Persons admitted to a Medicaid-certified nursing facility from the community on an
emergency basis as described in paragraph (d) or from an acute care facility on a nonworking day
must be screened the first working day after admission.

(d) Emergency admission to a nursing facility prior to screening is permitted when all of
the following conditions are met:

(1) a person is admitted from the community to a certified nursing or certified boarding
care facility during county nonworking hours;

(2) a physician has determined that delaying admission until preadmission screening is
completed would adversely affect the person's health and safety;

(3) there is a recent precipitating event that precludes the client from living safely in the
community, such as sustaining an injury, sudden onset of acute illness, or a caregiver's inability to
continue to provide care;

(4) the attending physician has authorized the emergency placement and has documented
the reason that the emergency placement is recommended; and

(5) the county is contacted on the first working day following the emergency admission.
Transfer of a patient from an acute care hospital to a nursing facility is not considered an
emergency except for a person who has received hospital services in the following situations:
hospital admission for observation, care in an emergency room without hospital admission, or
following hospital 24-hour bed care.

(e) A nursing facility must provide written information to all persons admitted regarding the
person's right to request and receive long-term care consultation services as defined in subdivision
1a. The information must be provided prior to the person's discharge from the facility and in a
format specified by the commissioner.

Subd. 4c. Screening requirements. (a) A person may be screened for nursing facility
admission by telephone or in a face-to-face screening interview. Consultation team members shall
identify each individual's needs using the following categories:

(1) the person needs no face-to-face screening interview to determine the need for nursing
facility level of care based on information obtained from other health care professionals;
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(2) the person needs an immediate face-to-face screening interview to determine the need
for nursing facility level of care and complete activities required under subdivision 4a; or

(3) the person may be exempt from screening requirements as outlined in subdivision 4b,
but will need transitional assistance after admission or in-person follow-along after a return home.

(b) Persons admitted on a nonemergency basis to a Medicaid-certified nursing facility
must be screened prior to admission.

(c) The county screening or intake activity must include processes to identify persons who
may require transition assistance as described in subdivision 3b.

Subd. 4d. Preadmission screening of individuals under 65 years of age. (a) It is the
policy of the state of Minnesota to ensure that individuals with disabilities or chronic illness are
served in the most integrated setting appropriate to their needs and have the necessary information
to make informed choices about home and community-based service options.

(b) Individuals under 65 years of age who are admitted to a nursing facility from a hospital
must be screened prior to admission as outlined in subdivisions 4a through 4c.

(c) Individuals under 65 years of age who are admitted to nursing facilities with only a
telephone screening must receive a face-to-face assessment from the long-term care consultation
team member of the county in which the facility is located or from the recipient's county case
manager within 40 calendar days of admission.

(d) Individuals under 65 years of age who are admitted to a nursing facility without
preadmission screening according to the exemption described in subdivision 4b, paragraph
(a), clause (3), and who remain in the facility longer than 30 days must receive a face-to-face
assessment within 40 days of admission.

(e) At the face-to-face assessment, the long-term care consultation team member or county
case manager must perform the activities required under subdivision 3b.

(f) For individuals under 21 years of age, a screening interview which recommends nursing
facility admission must be face-to-face and approved by the commissioner before the individual
is admitted to the nursing facility.

(g) In the event that an individual under 65 years of age is admitted to a nursing facility on
an emergency basis, the county must be notified of the admission on the next working day, and
a face-to-face assessment as described in paragraph (c) must be conducted within 40 calendar
days of admission.

(h) At the face-to-face assessment, the long-term care consultation team member or the
case manager must present information about home and community-based options, including
consumer-directed options, so the individual can make informed choices. If the individual chooses
home and community-based services, the long-term care consultation team member or case
manager must complete a written relocation plan within 20 working days of the visit. The plan
shall describe the services needed to move out of the facility and a time line for the move which is
designed to ensure a smooth transition to the individual's home and community.

(i) An individual under 65 years of age residing in a nursing facility shall receive a
face-to-face assessment at least every 12 months to review the person's service choices and
available alternatives unless the individual indicates, in writing, that annual visits are not desired.
In this case, the individual must receive a face-to-face assessment at least once every 36 months
for the same purposes.
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(j) Notwithstanding the provisions of subdivision 6, the commissioner may pay county
agencies directly for face-to-face assessments for individuals under 65 years of age who are being
considered for placement or residing in a nursing facility.

Subd. 5. Administrative activity. The commissioner shall streamline the processes,
including timelines for when assessments need to be completed, required to provide the services
in this section and shall implement integrated solutions to automate the business processes to
the extent necessary for community support plan approval, reimbursement, program planning,
evaluation, and policy development.

Subd. 6. Payment for long-term care consultation services. (a) The total payment for each
county must be paid monthly by certified nursing facilities in the county. The monthly amount to
be paid by each nursing facility for each fiscal year must be determined by dividing the county's
annual allocation for long-term care consultation services by 12 to determine the monthly payment
and allocating the monthly payment to each nursing facility based on the number of licensed beds
in the nursing facility. Payments to counties in which there is no certified nursing facility must be
made by increasing the payment rate of the two facilities located nearest to the county seat.

(b) The commissioner shall include the total annual payment determined under paragraph
(a) for each nursing facility reimbursed under section 256B.431 or 256B.434 according to section
256B.431, subdivision 2b, paragraph (g).

(c) In the event of the layaway, delicensure and decertification, or removal from layaway of
25 percent or more of the beds in a facility, the commissioner may adjust the per diem payment
amount in paragraph (b) and may adjust the monthly payment amount in paragraph (a). The
effective date of an adjustment made under this paragraph shall be on or after the first day of the
month following the effective date of the layaway, delicensure and decertification, or removal
from layaway.

(d) Payments for long-term care consultation services are available to the county or counties
to cover staff salaries and expenses to provide the services described in subdivision 1a. The
county shall employ, or contract with other agencies to employ, within the limits of available
funding, sufficient personnel to provide long-term care consultation services while meeting the
state's long-term care outcomes and objectives as defined in section 256B.0917, subdivision 1.
The county shall be accountable for meeting local objectives as approved by the commissioner
in the biennial home and community-based services quality assurance plan on a form provided
by the commissioner.

(e) Notwithstanding section 256B.0641, overpayments attributable to payment of the
screening costs under the medical assistance program may not be recovered from a facility.

(f) The commissioner of human services shall amend the Minnesota medical assistance
plan to include reimbursement for the local consultation teams.

(g) The county may bill, as case management services, assessments, support planning, and
follow-along provided to persons determined to be eligible for case management under Minnesota
health care programs. No individual or family member shall be charged for an initial assessment
or initial support plan development provided under subdivision 3a or 3b.

(h) The commissioner shall develop an alternative payment methodology for long-term
care consultation services that includes the funding available under this subdivision, and sections
256B.092 and 256B.0659. In developing the new payment methodology, the commissioner shall
consider the maximization of federal funding for this activity.
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Subd. 6a.Withholding. If any provider obligated to pay the long-term care consultation
amount as described in subdivision 6 is more than two months delinquent in the timely payment
of the monthly installment, the commissioner may withhold payments, penalties, and interest in
accordance with the methods outlined in section 256.9657, subdivision 7a. Any amount withheld
under this provision must be returned to the county to whom the delinquent payments were due.

Subd. 7. Reimbursement for certified nursing facilities. (a) Medical assistance
reimbursement for nursing facilities shall be authorized for a medical assistance recipient only if
a preadmission screening has been conducted prior to admission or the county has authorized
an exemption. Medical assistance reimbursement for nursing facilities shall not be provided for
any recipient who the local screener has determined does not meet the level of care criteria for
nursing facility placement in section 144.0724, subdivision 11, or, if indicated, has not had a level
II OBRA evaluation as required under the federal Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1987
completed unless an admission for a recipient with mental illness is approved by the local mental
health authority or an admission for a recipient with developmental disability is approved by
the state developmental disability authority.

(b) The nursing facility must not bill a person who is not a medical assistance recipient
for resident days that preceded the date of completion of screening activities as required under
subdivisions 4a, 4b, and 4c. The nursing facility must include unreimbursed resident days in the
nursing facility resident day totals reported to the commissioner.

Subd. 8. [Repealed, 2001 c 161 s 58]

Subd. 9. [Repealed, 1Sp2001 c 9 art 4 s 34]
History: 1991 c 292 art 7 s 14; 1992 c 513 art 7 s 53-55; 1Sp1993 c 1 art 5 s 56-61,135;

1995 c 207 art 6 s 57-61; 1997 c 203 art 4 s 34; art 9 s 10; 1997 c 225 art 8 s 6; 1998 c 407 art 4
s 33-35; 1999 c 245 art 3 s 12; 1Sp2001 c 9 art 3 s 42; art 4 s 4-14; 2002 c 277 s 32; 2002 c
375 art 2 s 18,19; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 2 s 56; art 3 s 29; 2004 c 288 art 5 s
4; 2005 c 56 s 1; 2005 c 98 art 2 s 5; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 8 s 45; 2007 c 147 art 6 s 23-28; art 7 s
13,14; 2009 c 79 art 8 s 32-43; 2009 c 173 art 1 s 28; 2010 c 352 art 1 s 16-20; 1Sp2010 c 1 art
24 s 5; 1Sp2011 c 9 art 7 s 12-15

256B.0912 [Repealed, 1Sp2001 c 9 art 3 s 76]

256B.0913 ALTERNATIVE CARE PROGRAM.

Subdivision 1. Purpose and goals. The purpose of the alternative care program is to
provide funding for home and community-based services for elderly persons, in order to limit
nursing facility placements. The program is designed to support elderly persons in their desire
to remain in the community as independently and as long as possible and to support informal
caregivers in their efforts to provide care for elderly people. Further, the goals of the program are:

(1) to contain medical assistance expenditures by funding care in the community; and
(2) to maintain the moratorium on new construction of nursing home beds.

Subd. 2. Eligibility for services. Alternative care services are available to Minnesotans
age 65 or older who would be eligible for medical assistance within 135 days of admission to a
nursing facility and subject to subdivisions 4 to 13.

Subd. 3. [Repealed, 1Sp2001 c 9 art 4 s 34]

Subd. 4. Eligibility for funding for services for nonmedical assistance recipients. (a)
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Funding for services under the alternative care program is available to persons who meet the
following criteria:

(1) the person has been determined by a community assessment under section 256B.0911
to be a person who would require the level of care provided in a nursing facility, as determined
under section 256B.0911, subdivision 4a, paragraph (d), but for the provision of services under
the alternative care program;

(2) the person is age 65 or older;
(3) the person would be eligible for medical assistance within 135 days of admission

to a nursing facility;
(4) the person is not ineligible for the payment of long-term care services by the medical

assistance program due to an asset transfer penalty under section 256B.0595 or equity interest in
the home exceeding $500,000 as stated in section 256B.056;

(5) the person needs long-term care services that are not funded through other state or
federal funding, or other health insurance or other third-party insurance such as long-term care
insurance;

(6) except for individuals described in clause (7), the monthly cost of the alternative care
services funded by the program for this person does not exceed 75 percent of the monthly
limit described under section 256B.0915, subdivision 3a. This monthly limit does not prohibit
the alternative care client from payment for additional services, but in no case may the cost
of additional services purchased under this section exceed the difference between the client's
monthly service limit defined under section 256B.0915, subdivision 3, and the alternative care
program monthly service limit defined in this paragraph. If care-related supplies and equipment
or environmental modifications and adaptations are or will be purchased for an alternative care
services recipient, the costs may be prorated on a monthly basis for up to 12 consecutive months
beginning with the month of purchase. If the monthly cost of a recipient's other alternative care
services exceeds the monthly limit established in this paragraph, the annual cost of the alternative
care services shall be determined. In this event, the annual cost of alternative care services shall
not exceed 12 times the monthly limit described in this paragraph;

(7) for individuals assigned a case mix classification A as described under section
256B.0915, subdivision 3a, paragraph (a), with (i) no dependencies in activities of daily living,
or (ii) up to two dependencies in bathing, dressing, grooming, walking, and eating when the
dependency score in eating is three or greater as determined by an assessment performed under
section 256B.0911, the monthly cost of alternative care services funded by the program cannot
exceed $593 per month for all new participants enrolled in the program on or after July 1, 2011.
This monthly limit shall be applied to all other participants who meet this criteria at reassessment.
This monthly limit shall be increased annually as described in section 256B.0915, subdivision
3a, paragraph (a). This monthly limit does not prohibit the alternative care client from payment
for additional services, but in no case may the cost of additional services purchased exceed the
difference between the client's monthly service limit defined in this clause and the limit described
in clause (6) for case mix classification A; and

(8) the person is making timely payments of the assessed monthly fee.
A person is ineligible if payment of the fee is over 60 days past due, unless the person agrees to:

(i) the appointment of a representative payee;
(ii) automatic payment from a financial account;
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(iii) the establishment of greater family involvement in the financial management of
payments; or

(iv) another method acceptable to the lead agency to ensure prompt fee payments.
The lead agency may extend the client's eligibility as necessary while making arrangements

to facilitate payment of past-due amounts and future premium payments. Following disenrollment
due to nonpayment of a monthly fee, eligibility shall not be reinstated for a period of 30 days.

(b) Alternative care funding under this subdivision is not available for a person who is a
medical assistance recipient or who would be eligible for medical assistance without a spenddown
or waiver obligation. A person whose initial application for medical assistance and the elderly
waiver program is being processed may be served under the alternative care program for a
period up to 60 days. If the individual is found to be eligible for medical assistance, medical
assistance must be billed for services payable under the federally approved elderly waiver plan
and delivered from the date the individual was found eligible for the federally approved elderly
waiver plan. Notwithstanding this provision, alternative care funds may not be used to pay for
any service the cost of which: (i) is payable by medical assistance; (ii) is used by a recipient to
meet a waiver obligation; or (iii) is used to pay a medical assistance income spenddown for a
person who is eligible to participate in the federally approved elderly waiver program under the
special income standard provision.

(c) Alternative care funding is not available for a person who resides in a licensed nursing
home, certified boarding care home, hospital, or intermediate care facility, except for case
management services which are provided in support of the discharge planning process for a
nursing home resident or certified boarding care home resident to assist with a relocation process
to a community-based setting.

(d) Alternative care funding is not available for a person whose income is greater than the
maintenance needs allowance under section 256B.0915, subdivision 1d, but equal to or less
than 120 percent of the federal poverty guideline effective July 1 in the fiscal year for which
alternative care eligibility is determined, who would be eligible for the elderly waiver with
a waiver obligation.

Subd. 5. Services covered under alternative care. Alternative care funding may be used
for payment of costs of:

(1) adult day care;
(2) home health aide;
(3) homemaker services;
(4) personal care;
(5) case management;
(6) respite care;
(7) care-related supplies and equipment;
(8) meals delivered to the home;
(9) nonmedical transportation;
(10) nursing services;
(11) chore services;
(12) companion services;
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(13) nutrition services;
(14) training for direct informal caregivers;
(15) telehome care to provide services in their own homes in conjunction with in-home

visits;
(16) consumer-directed community services under the alternative care programs which

are available statewide and limited to the average monthly expenditures representative of all
alternative care program participants for the same case mix resident class assigned in the most
recent fiscal year for which complete expenditure data is available;

(17) environmental modifications and adaptations; and
(18) discretionary services, for which lead agencies may make payment from their

alternative care program allocation for services not otherwise defined in this section or section
256B.0625, following approval by the commissioner.

Total annual payments for discretionary services for all clients served by a lead agency
must not exceed 25 percent of that lead agency's annual alternative care program base allocation.

Subd. 5a. Services; service definitions; service standards. (a) Unless specified in statute,
the services, service definitions, and standards for alternative care services shall be the same as
the services, service definitions, and standards specified in the federally approved elderly waiver
plan, except alternative care does not cover transitional support services, assisted living services,
adult foster care services, and residential care and benefits defined under section 256B.0625
that meet primary and acute health care needs.

(b) The lead agency must ensure that the funds are not used to supplant or supplement
services available through other public assistance or services programs, including supplementation
of client co-pays, deductibles, premiums, or other cost-sharing arrangements for health-related
benefits and services or entitlement programs and services that are available to the person, but in
which they have elected not to enroll. The lead agency must ensure that the benefit department
recovery system in the Medicaid Management Information System (MMIS) has the necessary
information on any other health insurance or third-party insurance policy to which the client may
have access. For a provider of supplies and equipment when the monthly cost of the supplies and
equipment is less than $250, persons or agencies must be employed by or under a contract with
the lead agency or the public health nursing agency of the local board of health in order to receive
funding under the alternative care program. Supplies and equipment may be purchased from a
vendor not certified to participate in the Medicaid program if the cost for the item is less than
that of a Medicaid vendor.

(c) Personal care services must meet the service standards defined in the federally approved
elderly waiver plan, except that a lead agency may contract with a client's relative who meets
the relative hardship waiver requirements or a relative who meets the criteria and is also the
responsible party under an individual service plan that ensures the client's health and safety
and supervision of the personal care services by a qualified professional as defined in section
256B.0625, subdivision 19c. Relative hardship is established by the lead agency when the client's
care causes a relative caregiver to do any of the following: resign from a paying job, reduce work
hours resulting in lost wages, obtain a leave of absence resulting in lost wages, incur substantial
client-related expenses, provide services to address authorized, unstaffed direct care time, or meet
special needs of the client unmet in the formal service plan.

Subd. 5b. [Repealed, 2007 c 147 art 7 s 76]
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Subd. 5c. [Repealed, 2007 c 147 art 7 s 76]

Subd. 5d. [Repealed, 2007 c 147 art 7 s 76]

Subd. 5e. [Repealed, 2007 c 147 art 7 s 76]

Subd. 5f. [Repealed, 2007 c 147 art 7 s 76]

Subd. 5g. [Repealed, 2007 c 147 art 7 s 76]

Subd. 5h. [Repealed, 2007 c 147 art 7 s 76]

Subd. 5i. Immunity. The state of Minnesota, county, lead agency under contract, or tribal
government under contract to administer the alternative care program shall not be liable for
damages, injuries, or liabilities sustained through the purchase of direct supports or goods by the
person, the person's family, or the authorized representative with funds received through the cash
payments under this section. Liabilities include, but are not limited to, workers' compensation, the
Federal Insurance Contributions Act (FICA), or the Federal Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA).

Subd. 6. Alternative care program administration. (a) The alternative care program is
administered by the county agency. This agency is the lead agency responsible for the local
administration of the alternative care program as described in this section. However, it may
contract with the public health nursing service to be the lead agency. The commissioner may
contract with federally recognized Indian tribes with a reservation in Minnesota to serve as the
lead agency responsible for the local administration of the alternative care program as described
in the contract.

(b) Alternative care pilot projects operate according to this section and the provisions of
Laws 1993, First Special Session chapter 1, article 5, section 133, under agreement with the
commissioner. Each pilot project agreement period shall begin no later than the first payment
cycle of the state fiscal year and continue through the last payment cycle of the state fiscal year.

Subd. 7. Case management. The case manager must not approve alternative care funding
for a client in any setting in which the case manager cannot reasonably ensure the client's health
and safety. The case manager is responsible for the cost-effectiveness of the alternative care
individual care plan and must not approve any care plan in which the cost of services funded
by alternative care and client contributions exceeds the limit specified in section 256B.0915,
subdivision 3, paragraph (b).

Subd. 8. Requirements for individual care plan. (a) The case manager shall implement
the plan of care for each alternative care client and ensure that a client's service needs and
eligibility are reassessed at least every 12 months. The plan shall include any services prescribed
by the individual's attending physician as necessary to allow the individual to remain in a
community setting. In developing the individual's care plan, the case manager should include the
use of volunteers from families and neighbors, religious organizations, social clubs, and civic and
service organizations to support the formal home care services. The lead agency shall be held
harmless for damages or injuries sustained through the use of volunteers under this subdivision
including workers' compensation liability. The case manager shall provide documentation in
each individual's plan of care and, if requested, to the commissioner that the most cost-effective
alternatives available have been offered to the individual and that the individual was free to
choose among available qualified providers, both public and private, including qualified case
management or service coordination providers other than those employed by any county;
however, the county or tribe maintains responsibility for prior authorizing services in accordance
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with statutory and administrative requirements. The case manager must give the individual a
ten-day written notice of any denial, termination, or reduction of alternative care services.

(b) The county of service or tribe must provide access to and arrange for case management
services, including assuring implementation of the plan. "County of service" has the meaning
given it in Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0015, subpart 11. The county of service must notify the
county of financial responsibility of the approved care plan and the amount of encumbered funds.

Subd. 9. Contracting provisions for providers. Alternative care funds paid to service
providers are subject to audit by the commissioner for fiscal and utilization control.

The lead agency must select providers for contracts or agreements using the following
criteria and other criteria established by the lead agency:

(1) the need for the particular services offered by the provider;
(2) the population to be served, including the number of clients, the length of time services

will be provided, and the medical condition of clients;
(3) the geographic area to be served;
(4) quality assurance methods, including appropriate licensure, certification, or standards,

and supervision of employees when needed;
(5) rates for each service and unit of service exclusive of lead agency administrative costs;
(6) evaluation of services previously delivered by the provider; and
(7) contract or agreement conditions, including billing requirements, cancellation, and

indemnification.
The lead agency must evaluate its own agency services under the criteria established for

other providers.

Subd. 10. Allocation formula. (a) By July 15 of each year, the commissioner shall
allocate to county agencies the state funds available for alternative care for persons eligible
under subdivision 2.

(b) The adjusted base for each lead agency is the lead agency's current fiscal year base
allocation plus any targeted funds approved during the current fiscal year. Calculations for
paragraphs (c) and (d) are to be made as follows: for each lead agency, the determination of
alternative care program expenditures shall be based on payments for services rendered from
April 1 through March 31 in the base year, to the extent that claims have been submitted and
paid by June 1 of that year.

(c) If the alternative care program expenditures as defined in paragraph (b) are 95 percent or
more of the lead agency's adjusted base allocation, the allocation for the next fiscal year is 100
percent of the adjusted base, plus inflation to the extent that inflation is included in the state budget.

(d) If the alternative care program expenditures as defined in paragraph (b) are less than 95
percent of the lead agency's adjusted base allocation, the allocation for the next fiscal year is the
adjusted base allocation less the amount of unspent funds below the 95 percent level.

(e) If the annual legislative appropriation for the alternative care program is inadequate to
fund the combined lead agency allocations for a biennium, the commissioner shall distribute to
each lead agency the entire annual appropriation as that lead agency's percentage of the computed
base as calculated in paragraphs (c) and (d).
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(f) On agreement between the commissioner and the lead agency, the commissioner may
have discretion to reallocate alternative care base allocations distributed to lead agencies in which
the base amount exceeds program expenditures.

Subd. 11. Targeted funding. (a) The purpose of targeted funding is to make additional
money available to lead agencies with the greatest need. Targeted funds are not intended to
be distributed equitably among all lead agencies, but rather, allocated to those with long-term
care strategies that meet state goals.

(b) The funds available for targeted funding shall be the total appropriation for each fiscal
year minus lead agency allocations determined under subdivision 10 as adjusted for any inflation
increases provided in appropriations for the biennium.

(c) The commissioner shall allocate targeted funds to lead agencies that demonstrate to the
satisfaction of the commissioner that they have developed feasible plans to increase alternative
care spending. In making targeted funding allocations, the commissioner shall use the following
priorities:

(1) lead agencies that received a lower allocation in fiscal year 1991 than in fiscal year
1990. Counties remain in this priority until they have been restored to their fiscal year 1990
level plus inflation;

(2) lead agencies that sustain a base allocation reduction for failure to spend 95 percent of
the allocation if they demonstrate that the base reduction should be restored;

(3) lead agencies that propose projects to divert community residents from nursing home
placement or convert nursing home residents to community living; and

(4) lead agencies that can otherwise justify program growth by demonstrating the existence
of waiting lists, demographically justified needs, or other unmet needs.

(d) Lead agencies that would receive targeted funds according to paragraph (c) must
demonstrate to the commissioner's satisfaction that the funds would be appropriately spent by
showing how the funds would be used to further the state's alternative care goals as described
in subdivision 1, and that the county has the administrative and service delivery capability to
use them.

(e) The commissioner shall make applications available for targeted funds by November
1 of each year. The lead agencies selected for targeted funds shall be notified of the amount of
their additional funding. Targeted funds allocated to a lead agency in one year shall be treated as
part of the lead agency's base allocation for that year in determining allocations for subsequent
years. No reallocations between lead agencies shall be made.

Subd. 12. Client fees. (a) A fee is required for all alternative care eligible clients to help
pay for the cost of participating in the program. The amount of the fee for the alternative care
client shall be determined as follows:

(1) when the alternative care client's income less recurring and predictable medical expenses
is less than 100 percent of the federal poverty guideline effective on July 1 of the state fiscal year
in which the fee is being computed, and total assets are less than $10,000, the fee is zero;

(2) when the alternative care client's income less recurring and predictable medical
expenses is equal to or greater than 100 percent but less than 150 percent of the federal poverty
guideline effective on July 1 of the state fiscal year in which the fee is being computed, and total
assets are less than $10,000, the fee is five percent of the cost of alternative care services;
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(3) when the alternative care client's income less recurring and predictable medical
expenses is equal to or greater than 150 percent but less than 200 percent of the federal poverty
guidelines effective on July 1 of the state fiscal year in which the fee is being computed and assets
are less than $10,000, the fee is 15 percent of the cost of alternative care services;

(4) when the alternative care client's income less recurring and predictable medical
expenses is equal to or greater than 200 percent of the federal poverty guidelines effective on July
1 of the state fiscal year in which the fee is being computed and assets are less than $10,000, the
fee is 30 percent of the cost of alternative care services; and

(5) when the alternative care client's assets are equal to or greater than $10,000, the fee is
30 percent of the cost of alternative care services.

For married persons, total assets are defined as the total marital assets less the estimated
community spouse asset allowance, under section 256B.059, if applicable. For married persons,
total income is defined as the client's income less the monthly spousal allotment, under section
256B.058.

All alternative care services shall be included in the estimated costs for the purpose of
determining the fee.

Fees are due and payable each month alternative care services are received unless the actual
cost of the services is less than the fee, in which case the fee is the lesser amount.

(b) The fee shall be waived by the commissioner when:
(1) a person is residing in a nursing facility;
(2) a married couple is requesting an asset assessment under the spousal impoverishment

provisions;
(3) a person is found eligible for alternative care, but is not yet receiving alternative care

services including case management services; or
(4) a person has chosen to participate in a consumer-directed service plan for which the

cost is no greater than the total cost of the person's alternative care service plan less the monthly
fee amount that would otherwise be assessed.

(c) The commissioner will bill and collect the fee from the client. Money collected must
be deposited in the general fund and is appropriated to the commissioner for the alternative care
program. The client must supply the lead agency with the client's Social Security number at
the time of application. The lead agency shall supply the commissioner with the client's Social
Security number and other information the commissioner requires to collect the fee from the client.
The commissioner shall collect unpaid fees using the Revenue Recapture Act in chapter 270A and
other methods available to the commissioner. The commissioner may require lead agencies to
inform clients of the collection procedures that may be used by the state if a fee is not paid.

Subd. 13. Lead agency biennial plan. The lead agency biennial plan for long-term care
consultation services under section 256B.0911, the alternative care program under this section,
and waivers for the elderly under section 256B.0915, shall be submitted by the lead agency
as the home and community-based services quality assurance plan on a form provided by the
commissioner.

Subd. 14. Provider requirements, payment, and rate adjustments. (a) Unless otherwise
specified in statute, providers must be enrolled as Minnesota health care program providers
and abide by the requirements for provider participation according to Minnesota Rules, part
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9505.0195.
(b) Payment for provided alternative care services as approved by the client's case manager

shall occur through the invoice processing procedures of the department's Medicaid Management
Information System (MMIS). To receive payment, the lead agency or vendor must submit
invoices within 12 months following the date of service. The lead agency and its vendors under
contract shall not be reimbursed for services which exceed the county allocation.

(c) The lead agency shall negotiate individual rates with vendors and may authorize service
payment for actual costs up to the county's current approved rate. Notwithstanding any other
rule or statutory provision to the contrary, the commissioner shall not be authorized to increase
rates by an annual inflation factor, unless so authorized by the legislature. To improve access to
community services and eliminate payment disparities between the alternative care program and
the elderly waiver program, the commissioner shall establish statewide maximum service rate
limits and eliminate county-specific service rate limits.

(1) Effective July 1, 2001, for service rate limits, except those in subdivision 5, paragraphs
(d) and (i), the rate limit for each service shall be the greater of the alternative care statewide
maximum rate or the elderly waiver statewide maximum rate.

(2) Lead agencies may negotiate individual service rates with vendors for actual costs up
to the statewide maximum service rate limit.

Subd. 15. [Repealed, 1998 c 407 art 4 s 69]

Subd. 15a. [Repealed, 1Sp2001 c 9 art 4 s 34]

Subd. 15b. [Repealed, 1Sp2001 c 9 art 4 s 34]

Subd. 15c. [Repealed, 1Sp2001 c 9 art 4 s 34]

Subd. 16. [Repealed, 1Sp2001 c 9 art 4 s 34]
History: 1991 c 292 art 7 s 15; 1992 c 464 art 2 s 1; 1992 c 513 art 7 s 56-61; 1Sp1993 c 1

art 5 s 62-67; 1Sp1993 c 6 s 12; 1995 c 207 art 6 s 63-69; art 9 s 60; 1995 c 263 s 8; 1996 c 451
art 2 s 23-25; art 4 s 70; art 5 s 21,22; 1997 c 113 s 17; 1997 c 203 art 4 s 36-39; art 11 s 6;
1997 c 225 art 8 s 3; 1998 c 407 art 4 s 36; 1999 c 245 art 3 s 13-16; 2000 c 449 s 1; 1Sp2001 c
9 art 4 s 15-27; 2002 c 375 art 2 s 20-25; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 2 s 18-25;
2005 c 68 art 2 s 1; 2005 c 98 art 2 s 6; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 7 s 20-23; 2007 c 147 art 6 s 29-38;
2009 c 79 art 8 s 44; 2009 c 159 s 92-94; 1Sp2011 c 9 art 7 s 16

256B.0914 CONFLICTS OF INTEREST RELATED TO MEDICAID EXPENDITURES.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) "Contract" means a written, fully executed agreement for
the purchase of goods and services involving a substantial expenditure of Medicaid funding. A
contract under a renewal period shall be considered a separate contract.

(b) "Contractor bid or proposal information" means cost or pricing data, indirect costs, and
proprietary information marked as such by the bidder in accordance with applicable law.

(c) "Particular expenditure" means a substantial expenditure as defined below, for a specified
term, involving specific parties. The renewal of an existing contract for the substantial expenditure
of Medicaid funds is considered a separate, particular expenditure from the original contract.

(d) "Source selection information" means any of the following information prepared for use
by the state, county, or independent contractor for the purpose of evaluating a bid or proposal to
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enter into a Medicaid procurement contract, if that information has not been previously made
available to the public or disclosed publicly:

(1) bid prices submitted in response to a solicitation for sealed bids, or lists of the bid
prices before bid opening;

(2) proposed costs or prices submitted in response to a solicitation, or lists of those
proposed costs or prices;

(3) source selection plans;
(4) technical evaluations plans;
(5) technical evaluations of proposals;
(6) cost or price evaluation of proposals;
(7) competitive range determinations that identify proposals that have a reasonable chance

of being selected for award of a contract;
(8) rankings of bids, proposals, or competitors;
(9) the reports and evaluations of source selection panels, boards, or advisory councils; and
(10) other information marked as "source selection information" based on a case-by-case

determination by the head of the agency, contractor, designees, or the contracting officer that
disclosure of the information would jeopardize the integrity or successful completion of the
Medicaid procurement to which the information relates.

(e) "Substantial expenditure" and "substantial amounts" mean a purchase of goods or
services in excess of $10,000,000 in Medicaid funding under this chapter or chapter 256L.

Subd. 2. Applicability. (a) Unless provided otherwise, this section applies to:
(1) any state or local officer, employee, or independent contractor who is responsible for the

substantial expenditures of medical assistance or MinnesotaCare funding under this chapter or
chapter 256L for which federal Medicaid matching funds are available;

(2) any individual who formerly was such an officer, employee, or independent contractor;
and

(3) any partner of such a state or local officer, employee, or independent contractor.
(b) This section is intended to meet the requirements of state participation in the Medicaid

program at United States Code, title 42, sections 1396a(a)(4) and 1396u-2(d)(3), which require
that states have in place restrictions against conflicts of interest in the Medicaid procurement
process, that are at least as stringent as those in effect under United States Code, title 41, section
423, and title 18, sections 207 and 208, as they apply to federal employees.

Subd. 3. Disclosure of procurement information. A person described in subdivision 2 may
not knowingly disclose contractor bid or proposal information, or source selection information
before the award by the state, county, or independent contractor of a Medicaid procurement
contract to which the information relates unless the disclosure is otherwise authorized by law.
No person, other than as provided by law, shall knowingly obtain contractor bid or proposal
information or source selection information before the award of a Medicaid procurement contract
to which the information relates.

Subd. 4. Offers of employment.When a person described in subdivision 2, paragraph (a),
is participating personally and substantially in a Medicaid procurement for a contract contacts or
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is contacted by a person who is a bidder or offeror in the same procurement regarding possible
employment outside of the entity by which the person is currently employed, the person must:

(1) report the contact in writing to the person's supervisor and employer's ethics officer; and
(2) either:
(i) reject the possibility of employment with the bidder or offeror; or
(ii) be disqualified from further participation in the procurement until the bidder or offeror

is no longer involved in that procurement, or all discussions with the bidder or offeror regarding
possible employment have terminated without an arrangement for employment. A bidder or
offeror may not engage in employment discussions with an official who is subject to this
subdivision, until the bidder or offeror is no longer involved in that procurement.

Subd. 5. Acceptance of compensation by a former official. (a) A former official of the
state or county, or a former independent contractor, described in subdivision 2 may not accept
compensation from a Medicaid contractor of a substantial expenditure as an employee, officer,
director, or consultant of the contractor within one year after the former official or independent
contractor:

(1) served as the procuring contracting officer, the source selection authority, a member of
the source selection evaluation board, or the chief of a financial or technical evaluation team in a
procurement in which the contractor was selected for award;

(2) served as the program manager, deputy program manager, or administrative contracting
officer for a contract awarded to the contractor; or

(3) personally made decisions for the state, county, or independent contractor to:
(i) award a contract, subcontract, modification of a contract or subcontract, or a task order

or delivery order to the contractor;
(ii) establish overhead or other rates applicable to a contract or contracts with the contractor;
(iii) approve issuance of a contract payment or payments to the contractor; or
(iv) pay or settle a claim with the contractor.
(b) Paragraph (a) does not prohibit a former official of the state, county, or independent

contractor from accepting compensation from any division or affiliate of a contractor not involved
in the same or similar products or services as the division or affiliate of the contractor that is
responsible for the contract referred to in paragraph (a), clause (1), (2), or (3).

(c) A contractor shall not provide compensation to a former official knowing that the former
official is accepting that compensation in violation of this subdivision.

Subd. 6. Permanent restrictions on representation and communication. (a) A person
described in subdivision 2, after termination of service with the state, county, or independent
contractor, is permanently restricted from knowingly making, with the intent to influence, any
communication to or appearance before an officer or employee of a department, agency, or court
of the United States, the state of Minnesota and its counties in connection with a particular
expenditure:

(1) in which the United States, the state of Minnesota, or a Minnesota county is a party or
has a direct and substantial interest;

(2) in which the person participated personally and substantially as an officer, employee, or
independent contractor; and
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(3) which involved a specific party or parties at the time of participation.

(b) For purposes of this subdivision and subdivisions 7 and 9, "participated" means an
action taken through decision, approval, disapproval, recommendation, the rendering of advice,
investigation, or other such action.

Subd. 7. Two-year restrictions on representation and communication. No person
described in subdivision 2, within two years after termination of service with the state, county, or
independent contractor, shall knowingly make, with the intent to influence, any communication to
or appearance before any officer or employee of any government department, agency, or court
in connection with a particular expenditure:

(1) in which the United States, the state of Minnesota, or a Minnesota county is a party or
has a direct and substantial interest;

(2) which the person knows or reasonably should know was actually pending under the
official's responsibility as an officer, employee, or independent contractor within one year before
the termination of the official's service with the state, county, or independent contractor; and

(3) which involved a specific party or parties at the time the expenditure was pending.

Subd. 8. Exceptions to restrictions on representation and communication. Subdivisions
6 and 7 do not apply to:

(1) communications or representations made in carrying out official duties on behalf of
the United States, the state of Minnesota or local government, or as an elected official of the
state or local government;

(2) communications made solely for the purpose of furnishing scientific or technological
information; or

(3) giving testimony under oath. A person subject to subdivisions 6 and 7 may serve as an
expert witness in that matter, without restriction, for the state, county, or independent contractor.
Under court order, a person subject to subdivisions 6 and 7 may serve as an expert witness for
others. Otherwise, the person may not serve as an expert witness in that matter.

Subd. 9.Waiver. The commissioner of human services, or the governor in the case of the
commissioner, may grant a waiver of a restriction in subdivisions 6 and 7 upon determining that a
waiver is in the public interest and that the services of the officer or employee are critically needed
for the benefit of the state or county government.

Subd. 10. Acts affecting a personal financial interest. A person described in subdivision
2, paragraph (a), clause (1), who participates in a particular expenditure in which the person has
knowledge or has a financial interest, is subject to the penalties in subdivision 12. For purposes of
this subdivision, "financial interest" also includes the financial interest of a spouse, minor child,
general partner, organization in which the officer or employee is serving as an officer, director,
trustee, general partner, or employee, or any person or organization with whom the individual is
negotiating or has any arrangement concerning prospective employment.

Subd. 11. Exceptions to prohibitions regarding financial interest. Subdivision 10 does
not apply if:

(1) the person first advises the person's supervisor and the employer's ethics officer
regarding the nature and circumstances of the particular expenditure and makes full disclosure of
the financial interest and receives in advance a written determination made by the commissioner
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of human services, or the governor in the case of the commissioner, that the interest is not so
substantial as to likely affect the integrity of the services which the government may expect from
the officer, employee, or independent contractor;

(2) the financial interest is listed as an exemption at Code of Federal Regulations, title 5,
sections 2640.201 to 2640.203, as too remote or inconsequential to affect the integrity of the
services of the office, employee, or independent contractor to which the requirement applies.

Subd. 12. Criminal penalties. (a) A person who violates subdivisions 3 to 5 for the
purpose of either exchanging the information covered by this section for anything of value, or for
obtaining or giving anyone a competitive advantage in the award of a Medicaid contract, may be
sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or payment of a fine of not more than
$50,000 for each violation, or the amount of compensation which the person received or offered
for the prohibited conduct, whichever is greater, or both.

(b) A person who violates a provision of subdivisions 6 to 11 may be sentenced to
imprisonment for not more than one year or payment of a fine of not more than $50,000 for
each violation or the amount of compensation which the person received or offered for the
prohibited conduct, whichever amount is greater, or both. A person who willfully engages in
conduct in violation of subdivisions 6 to 11 may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than
five years or to payment of a fine of not more than $50,000 for each violation or the amount
of compensation which the person received or offered for the prohibited conduct, whichever
amount is greater, or both.

(c) Nothing in this section precludes prosecution under other laws such as section 609.43.

Subd. 13. Civil penalties and injunctive relief. (a) The Minnesota attorney general may
bring a civil action in Ramsey county district court against a person who violates this section.
Upon proof of such conduct by a preponderance of evidence, the person is subject to a civil
penalty. An individual who violates this section is subject to a civil penalty of not more than
$50,000 for each violation plus twice the amount of compensation which the individual received
or offered for the prohibited conduct. An organization that violates this section is subject to a
civil penalty of not more than $500,000 for each violation plus twice the amount of compensation
which the organization received or offered for the prohibited conduct.

(b) If the Minnesota attorney general has reason to believe that a person is engaging in
conduct in violation of this section, the attorney general may petition the Ramsey county district
court for an order prohibiting that person from engaging in such conduct. The court may issue an
order prohibiting that person from engaging in such conduct if the court finds that the conduct
constitutes such a violation. The filing of a petition under this subdivision does not preclude
any other remedy which is available by law.

Subd. 14. Administrative actions. (a) If a state agency, local agency, or independent
contractor receives information that a contractor or a person has violated this section, the state
agency, local agency, or independent contractor may:

(1) cancel the procurement if a contract has not already been awarded;

(2) rescind the contract; or

(3) initiate suspension or debarment proceedings according to applicable state or federal law.
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(b) If the contract is rescinded, the state agency, local agency, or independent contractor
is entitled to recover, in addition to any penalty prescribed by law, the amount expended under
the contract.

(c) This section does not:
(1) restrict the disclosure of information to or from any person or class of persons

authorized to receive that information;
(2) restrict a contractor from disclosing the contractor's bid or proposal information or

the recipient from receiving that information;
(3) restrict the disclosure or receipt of information relating to a Medicaid procurement after

it has been canceled by the state agency, county agency, or independent contractor before the
contract award unless the agency or independent contractor plans to resume the procurement; or

(4) limit the applicability of any requirements, sanctions, contract penalties, and remedies
established under any other law or regulation.

(d) No person may file a protest against the award or proposed award of a Medicaid contract
alleging a violation of this section unless that person reported the information the person believes
constitutes evidence of the offense to the applicable state agency, local agency, or independent
contractor responsible for the procurement. The report must be made no later than 14 days after
the person first discovered the possible violation.

History: 1986 c 444; 1999 c 245 art 4 s 60

256B.0915 MEDICAID WAIVER FOR ELDERLY SERVICES.

Subdivision 1. Authority. The commissioner is authorized to apply for a home and
community-based services waiver for the elderly, authorized under section 1915(c) of the Social
Security Act, in order to obtain federal financial participation to expand the availability of
services for persons who are eligible for medical assistance. The commissioner may apply for
additional waivers or pursue other federal financial participation which is advantageous to the
state for funding home care services for the frail elderly who are eligible for medical assistance.
The provision of waivered services to elderly and disabled medical assistance recipients must
comply with the criteria for service definitions and provider standards approved in the waiver.

Subd. 1a. Elderly waiver case management services. (a) Elderly case management
services under the home and community-based services waiver for elderly individuals are
available from providers meeting qualification requirements and the standards specified in
subdivision 1b. Eligible recipients may choose any qualified provider of elderly case management
services.

(b) Case management services assist individuals who receive waiver services in gaining
access to needed waiver and other state plan services, as well as needed medical, social,
educational, and other services regardless of the funding source for the services to which access
is gained.

(c) A case aide shall provide assistance to the case manager in carrying out administrative
activities of the case management function. The case aide may not assume responsibilities that
require professional judgment including assessments, reassessments, and care plan development.
The case manager is responsible for providing oversight of the case aide.

(d) Case managers shall be responsible for ongoing monitoring of the provision of services
included in the individual's plan of care. Case managers shall initiate and oversee the process
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of assessment and reassessment of the individual's care and review plan of care at intervals
specified in the federally approved waiver plan.

(e) The county of service or tribe must provide access to and arrange for case management
services. County of service has the meaning given it in Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0015, subpart
11.

Subd. 1b. Provider qualifications and standards. The commissioner must enroll qualified
providers of elderly case management services under the home and community-based waiver for
the elderly under section 1915(c) of the Social Security Act. The enrollment process shall ensure
the provider's ability to meet the qualification requirements and standards in this subdivision and
other federal and state requirements of this service. An elderly case management provider is an
enrolled medical assistance provider who is determined by the commissioner to have all of the
following characteristics:

(1) the demonstrated capacity and experience to provide the components of case
management to coordinate and link community resources needed by the eligible population;

(2) administrative capacity and experience in serving the target population for whom it will
provide services and in ensuring quality of services under state and federal requirements;

(3) a financial management system that provides accurate documentation of services and
costs under state and federal requirements;

(4) the capacity to document and maintain individual case records under state and federal
requirements; and

(5) the lead agency may allow a case manager employed by the lead agency to delegate
certain aspects of the case management activity to another individual employed by the lead
agency provided there is oversight of the individual by the case manager. The case manager
may not delegate those aspects which require professional judgment including assessments,
reassessments, and care plan development. Lead agencies include counties, health plans, and
federally recognized tribes who authorize services under this section.

Subd. 1c. [Repealed by amendment, 2007 c 147 art 7 s 15]

Subd. 1d. Posteligibility treatment of income and resources for elderly waiver.
Notwithstanding the provisions of section 256B.056, the commissioner shall make the following
amendment to the medical assistance elderly waiver program effective July 1, 1999, or upon
federal approval, whichever is later.

A recipient's maintenance needs will be an amount equal to the Minnesota supplemental aid
equivalent rate as defined in section 256I.03, subdivision 5, plus the medical assistance personal
needs allowance as defined in section 256B.35, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), when applying
posteligibility treatment of income rules to the gross income of elderly waiver recipients, except
for individuals whose income is in excess of the special income standard according to Code of
Federal Regulations, title 42, section 435.236. Recipient maintenance needs shall be adjusted
under this provision each July 1.

Subd. 2. Spousal impoverishment policies. The commissioner shall apply the spousal
impoverishment criteria as authorized under United States Code, title 42, section 1396r-5, and
as implemented in sections 256B.0575, 256B.058, and 256B.059, except that individuals with
income at or below the special income standard according to Code of Federal Regulations, title
42, section 435.236, receive the maintenance needs amount in subdivision 1d.
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Subd. 3. Limits of cases. The number of medical assistance waiver recipients that a lead
agency may serve must be allocated according to the number of medical assistance waiver cases
open on July 1 of each fiscal year. Additional recipients may be served with the approval of the
commissioner.

Subd. 3a. [Repealed, 1Sp2001 c 9 art 3 s 76; art 4 s 34]

Subd. 3a. Elderly waiver cost limits. (a) The monthly limit for the cost of waivered
services to an individual elderly waiver client except for individuals described in paragraph (b)
shall be the weighted average monthly nursing facility rate of the case mix resident class to
which the elderly waiver client would be assigned under Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0050 to
9549.0059, less the recipient's maintenance needs allowance as described in subdivision 1d,
paragraph (a), until the first day of the state fiscal year in which the resident assessment system as
described in section 256B.438 for nursing home rate determination is implemented. Effective
on the first day of the state fiscal year in which the resident assessment system as described in
section 256B.438 for nursing home rate determination is implemented and the first day of each
subsequent state fiscal year, the monthly limit for the cost of waivered services to an individual
elderly waiver client shall be the rate of the case mix resident class to which the waiver client
would be assigned under Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0050 to 9549.0059, in effect on the last day
of the previous state fiscal year, adjusted by any legislatively adopted home and community-based
services percentage rate adjustment.

(b) The monthly limit for the cost of waivered services to an individual elderly waiver client
assigned to a case mix classification A under paragraph (a) with:

(1) no dependencies in activities of daily living; or
(2) up to two dependencies in bathing, dressing, grooming, walking, and eating when the

dependency score in eating is three or greater as determined by an assessment performed under
section 256B.0911
shall be $1,750 per month effective on July 1, 2011, for all new participants enrolled in the
program on or after July 1, 2011. This monthly limit shall be applied to all other participants who
meet this criteria at reassessment. This monthly limit shall be increased annually as described in
paragraph (a).

(c) If extended medical supplies and equipment or environmental modifications are or will
be purchased for an elderly waiver client, the costs may be prorated for up to 12 consecutive
months beginning with the month of purchase. If the monthly cost of a recipient's waivered
services exceeds the monthly limit established in paragraph (a) or (b), the annual cost of all
waivered services shall be determined. In this event, the annual cost of all waivered services shall
not exceed 12 times the monthly limit of waivered services as described in paragraph (a) or (b).

Subd. 3b. [Repealed, 1Sp2001 c 9 art 3 s 76; art 4 s 34]

Subd. 3b. Cost limits for elderly waiver applicants who reside in a nursing facility.
(a) For a person who is a nursing facility resident at the time of requesting a determination of
eligibility for elderly waivered services, a monthly conversion budget limit for the cost of elderly
waivered services may be requested. The monthly conversion budget limit for the cost of elderly
waiver services shall be the resident class assigned under Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0050 to
9549.0059, for that resident in the nursing facility where the resident currently resides until July 1
of the state fiscal year in which the resident assessment system as described in section 256B.438
for nursing home rate determination is implemented. Effective on July 1 of the state fiscal year

Copyright © 2011 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



218 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2011 256B.0915

in which the resident assessment system as described in section 256B.438 for nursing home
rate determination is implemented, the monthly conversion budget limit for the cost of elderly
waiver services shall be based on the per diem nursing facility rate as determined by the resident
assessment system as described in section 256B.438 for residents in the nursing facility where
the elderly waiver applicant currently resides. The monthly conversion budget limit shall be
calculated by multiplying the per diem by 365, divided by 12, and reduced by the recipient's
maintenance needs allowance as described in subdivision 1d. The initially approved monthly
conversion budget limit shall be adjusted annually as described in subdivision 3a, paragraph (a).
The limit under this subdivision only applies to persons discharged from a nursing facility after
a minimum 30-day stay and found eligible for waivered services on or after July 1, 1997. For
conversions from the nursing home to the elderly waiver with consumer directed community
support services, the nursing facility per diem used to calculate the monthly conversion budget
limit must be reduced by a percentage equal to the percentage difference between the consumer
directed services budget limit that would be assigned according to the federally approved waiver
plan and the corresponding community case mix cap, but not to exceed 50 percent.

(b) The following costs must be included in determining the total monthly costs for the
waiver client:

(1) cost of all waivered services, including specialized supplies and equipment and
environmental accessibility adaptations; and

(2) cost of skilled nursing, home health aide, and personal care services reimbursable
by medical assistance.

Subd. 3c. [Repealed, 1Sp2001 c 9 art 3 s 76; art 4 s 34]

Subd. 3c. Service approval and contracting provisions. (a) Medical assistance funding
for skilled nursing services, private duty nursing, home health aide, and personal care services for
waiver recipients must be approved by the case manager and included in the individual care plan.

(b) A lead agency is not required to contract with a provider of supplies and equipment if
the monthly cost of the supplies and equipment is less than $250.

Subd. 3d. Adult foster care rate. The adult foster care rate shall be considered a difficulty
of care payment and shall not include room and board. The adult foster care service rate shall
be negotiated between the lead agency and the foster care provider. The elderly waiver payment
for the foster care service in combination with the payment for all other elderly waiver services,
including case management, must not exceed the limit specified in subdivision 3a, paragraph (a).

Subd. 3e. Customized living service rate. (a) Payment for customized living services
shall be a monthly rate authorized by the lead agency within the parameters established by the
commissioner. The payment agreement must delineate the amount of each component service
included in the recipient's customized living service plan. The lead agency shall ensure that there
is a documented need within the parameters established by the commissioner for all component
customized living services authorized.

(b) The payment rate must be based on the amount of component services to be provided
utilizing component rates established by the commissioner. Counties and tribes shall use tools
issued by the commissioner to develop and document customized living service plans and rates.
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(c) Component service rates must not exceed payment rates for comparable elderly waiver
or medical assistance services and must reflect economies of scale. Customized living services
must not include rent or raw food costs.

(d) With the exception of individuals described in subdivision 3a, paragraph (b), the
individualized monthly authorized payment for the customized living service plan shall not
exceed 50 percent of the greater of either the statewide or any of the geographic groups' weighted
average monthly nursing facility rate of the case mix resident class to which the elderly waiver
eligible client would be assigned under Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0050 to 9549.0059, less the
maintenance needs allowance as described in subdivision 1d, paragraph (a), until the July 1 of the
state fiscal year in which the resident assessment system as described in section 256B.438 for
nursing home rate determination is implemented. Effective on July 1 of the state fiscal year in
which the resident assessment system as described in section 256B.438 for nursing home rate
determination is implemented and July 1 of each subsequent state fiscal year, the individualized
monthly authorized payment for the services described in this clause shall not exceed the limit
which was in effect on June 30 of the previous state fiscal year updated annually based on
legislatively adopted changes to all service rate maximums for home and community-based
service providers.

(e) Effective July 1, 2011, the individualized monthly payment for the customized living
service plan for individuals described in subdivision 3a, paragraph (b), must be the monthly
authorized payment limit for customized living for individuals classified as case mix A, reduced
by 25 percent. This rate limit must be applied to all new participants enrolled in the program on
or after July 1, 2011, who meet the criteria described in subdivision 3a, paragraph (b). This
monthly limit also applies to all other participants who meet the criteria described in subdivision
3a, paragraph (b), at reassessment.

(f) Customized living services are delivered by a provider licensed by the Department of
Health as a class A or class F home care provider and provided in a building that is registered as
a housing with services establishment under chapter 144D. Licensed home care providers are
subject to section 256B.0651, subdivision 14.

(g) A provider may not bill or otherwise charge an elderly waiver participant or their family
for additional units of any allowable component service beyond those available under the service
rate limits described in paragraph (d), nor for additional units of any allowable component service
beyond those approved in the service plan by the lead agency.

Subd. 3f. Individual service rates; expenditure forecasts. (a) The lead agency shall
negotiate individual service rates with vendors and may authorize payment for actual costs up
to the lead agency's current approved rate. Persons or agencies must be employed by or under a
contract with the lead agency or the public health nursing agency of the local board of health in
order to receive funding under the elderly waiver program, except as a provider of supplies and
equipment when the monthly cost of the supplies and equipment is less than $250.

(b) Reimbursement for the medical assistance recipients under the approved waiver shall
be made from the medical assistance account through the invoice processing procedures of the
department's Medicaid Management Information System (MMIS), only with the approval of
the client's case manager. The budget for the state share of the Medicaid expenditures shall be
forecasted with the medical assistance budget, and shall be consistent with the approved waiver.

Subd. 3g. Service rate limits; state assumption of costs. (a) To improve access to
community services and eliminate payment disparities between the alternative care program and
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the elderly waiver, the commissioner shall establish statewide maximum service rate limits and
eliminate lead agency-specific service rate limits.

(b) Effective July 1, 2001, for service rate limits, except those described or defined in
subdivisions 3d and 3e, the rate limit for each service shall be the greater of the alternative care
statewide maximum rate or the elderly waiver statewide maximum rate.

(c) Lead agencies may negotiate individual service rates with vendors for actual costs up
to the statewide maximum service rate limit.

Subd. 3h. Service rate limits; 24-hour customized living services. (a) The payment rate
for 24-hour customized living services is a monthly rate authorized by the lead agency within the
parameters established by the commissioner of human services. The payment agreement must
delineate the amount of each component service included in each recipient's customized living
service plan. The lead agency shall ensure that there is a documented need within the parameters
established by the commissioner for all component customized living services authorized. The
lead agency shall not authorize 24-hour customized living services unless there is a documented
need for 24-hour supervision.

(b) For purposes of this section, "24-hour supervision" means that the recipient requires
assistance due to needs related to one or more of the following:

(1) intermittent assistance with toileting, positioning, or transferring;
(2) cognitive or behavioral issues;
(3) a medical condition that requires clinical monitoring; or
(4) for all new participants enrolled in the program on or after July 1, 2011, and all other

participants at their first reassessment after July 1, 2011, dependency in at least three of the
following activities of daily living as determined by assessment under section 256B.0911:
bathing; dressing; grooming; walking; or eating when the dependency score in eating is three
or greater; and needs medication management and at least 50 hours of service per month. The
lead agency shall ensure that the frequency and mode of supervision of the recipient and the
qualifications of staff providing supervision are described and meet the needs of the recipient.

(c) The payment rate for 24-hour customized living services must be based on the amount
of component services to be provided utilizing component rates established by the commissioner.
Counties and tribes will use tools issued by the commissioner to develop and document
customized living plans and authorize rates.

(d) Component service rates must not exceed payment rates for comparable elderly waiver
or medical assistance services and must reflect economies of scale.

(e) The individually authorized 24-hour customized living payments, in combination with
the payment for other elderly waiver services, including case management, must not exceed the
recipient's community budget cap specified in subdivision 3a. Customized living services must
not include rent or raw food costs.

(f) The individually authorized 24-hour customized living payment rates shall not exceed
the 95 percentile of statewide monthly authorizations for 24-hour customized living services in
effect and in the Medicaid management information systems on March 31, 2009, for each case
mix resident class under Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0050 to 9549.0059, to which elderly waiver
service clients are assigned. When there are fewer than 50 authorizations in effect in the case mix
resident class, the commissioner shall multiply the calculated service payment rate maximum for
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the A classification by the standard weight for that classification under Minnesota Rules, parts
9549.0050 to 9549.0059, to determine the applicable payment rate maximum. Service payment
rate maximums shall be updated annually based on legislatively adopted changes to all service
rates for home and community-based service providers.

(g) Notwithstanding the requirements of paragraphs (d) and (f), the commissioner may
establish alternative payment rate systems for 24-hour customized living services in housing with
services establishments which are freestanding buildings with a capacity of 16 or fewer, by
applying a single hourly rate for covered component services provided in either:

(1) licensed corporate adult foster homes; or
(2) specialized dementia care units which meet the requirements of section 144D.065 and

in which:
(i) each resident is offered the option of having their own apartment; or
(ii) the units are licensed as board and lodge establishments with maximum capacity of

eight residents, and which meet the requirements of Minnesota Rules, part 9555.6205, subparts 1,
2, 3, and 4, item A.

(h) A provider may not bill or otherwise charge an elderly waiver participant or their family
for additional units of any allowable component service beyond those available under the service
rate limits described in paragraph (e), nor for additional units of any allowable component service
beyond those approved in the service plan by the lead agency.

Subd. 3i. Rate reduction for customized living and 24-hour customized living services.
(a) Effective July 1, 2010, the commissioner shall reduce service component rates and service
rate limits for customized living services and 24-hour customized living services, from the rates
in effect on June 30, 2010, by five percent.

(b) To implement the rate reductions in this subdivision, capitation rates paid by the
commissioner to managed care organizations under section 256B.69 shall reflect a ten percent
reduction for the specified services for the period January 1, 2011, to June 30, 2011, and a five
percent reduction for those services on and after July 1, 2011.

Subd. 4. Termination notice. The case manager must give the individual a ten-day written
notice of any denial, reduction, or termination of waivered services.

Subd. 5. Assessments and reassessments for waiver clients. (a) Each client shall receive
an initial assessment of strengths, informal supports, and need for services in accordance with
section 256B.0911, subdivisions 3, 3a, and 3b. A reassessment of a client served under the elderly
waiver must be conducted at least every 12 months and at other times when the case manager
determines that there has been significant change in the client's functioning. This may include
instances where the client is discharged from the hospital. There must be a determination that
the client requires nursing facility level of care as defined in section 256B.0911, subdivision 4a,
paragraph (d), at initial and subsequent assessments to initiate and maintain participation in
the waiver program.

(b) Regardless of other assessments identified in section 144.0724, subdivision 4, as
appropriate to determine nursing facility level of care for purposes of medical assistance payment
for nursing facility services, only face-to-face assessments conducted according to section
256B.0911, subdivisions 3a and 3b, that result in a nursing facility level of care determination will
be accepted for purposes of initial and ongoing access to waiver service payment.
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Subd. 6. Implementation of care plan. Each elderly waiver client shall be provided a copy
of a written care plan that meets the requirements outlined in section 256B.0913, subdivision 8.
The care plan must be implemented by the county of service when it is different than the county
of financial responsibility. The county of service administering waivered services must notify the
county of financial responsibility of the approved care plan.

Subd. 7. Prepaid elderly waiver services. An individual for whom a prepaid health plan
is liable for nursing home services or elderly waiver services according to section 256B.69,
subdivision 6a, is not eligible to also receive county-administered elderly waiver services.

Subd. 8. Services and supports. (a) Services and supports shall meet the requirements set
out in United States Code, title 42, section 1396n.

(b) Services and supports shall promote consumer choice and be arranged and provided
consistent with individualized, written care plans.

(c) The state of Minnesota, county, managed care organization, or tribal government under
contract to administer the elderly waiver shall not be liable for damages, injuries, or liabilities
sustained through the purchase of direct supports or goods by the person, the person's family, or
the authorized representatives with funds received through consumer-directed community support
services under the federally approved waiver plan. Liabilities include, but are not limited to,
workers' compensation liability, the Federal Insurance Contributions Act (FICA), or the Federal
Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA).

Subd. 9. Tribal management of elderly waiver. Notwithstanding contrary provisions of
this section, or those in other state laws or rules, the commissioner may develop a model for tribal
management of the elderly waiver program and implement this model through a contract between
the state and any of the state's federally recognized tribal governments. The model shall include
the provision of tribal waiver case management, assessment for personal care assistance, and
administrative requirements otherwise carried out by lead agencies but shall not include tribal
financial eligibility determination for medical assistance.

Subd. 10.Waiver payment rates; managed care organizations. The commissioner
shall adjust the elderly waiver capitation payment rates for managed care organizations paid
under section 256B.69, subdivisions 6a and 23, to reflect the maximum service rate limits for
customized living services and 24-hour customized living services under subdivisions 3e and 3h.
Medical assistance rates paid to customized living providers by managed care organizations under
this section shall not exceed the maximum service rate limits and component rates as determined
by the commissioner under subdivisions 3e and 3h.

History: 1991 c 292 art 7 s 16; 1992 c 513 art 7 s 62-64; 1Sp1993 c 1 art 5 s 68-72;
1Sp1993 c 6 s 13; 1995 c 207 art 6 s 70-74; 1995 c 263 s 9; 1996 c 451 art 2 s 26-28; art 5 s 23,24;
1997 c 113 s 18; 1997 c 203 art 4 s 40-43; 1998 c 407 art 4 s 37,38; 1Sp2001 c 9 art 4 s 28-30;
2002 c 277 s 16,17; 2002 c 375 art 2 s 26-30; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 2 s 26; art
3 s 30; 2004 c 288 art 5 s 5,6; 2005 c 68 art 2 s 2-4; 2007 c 147 art 7 s 15; 2008 c 277 art 1 s
36,37; 2009 c 79 art 8 s 45-49; 2009 c 159 s 95; 1Sp2010 c 1 art 17 s 11; 1Sp2011 c 9 art 7 s 17-22

256B.0916 EXPANSION OF HOME AND COMMUNITY-BASED SERVICES.

Subdivision 1. [Repealed, 2002 c 220 art 14 s 20]

Subd. 2. Distribution of funds; partnerships. (a) Beginning with fiscal year 2000, the
commissioner shall distribute all funding available for home and community-based waiver
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services for persons with developmental disabilities to individual counties or to groups of counties
that form partnerships to jointly plan, administer, and authorize funding for eligible individuals.
The commissioner shall encourage counties to form partnerships that have a sufficient number of
recipients and funding to adequately manage the risk and maximize use of available resources.

(b) Counties must submit a request for funds and a plan for administering the program as
required by the commissioner. The plan must identify the number of clients to be served, their
ages, and their priority listing based on:

(1) requirements in Minnesota Rules, part 9525.1880; and

(2) statewide priorities identified in section 256B.092, subdivision 12.

The plan must also identify changes made to improve services to eligible persons and to improve
program management.

(c) In allocating resources to counties, priority must be given to groups of counties that
form partnerships to jointly plan, administer, and authorize funding for eligible individuals and
to counties determined by the commissioner to have sufficient waiver capacity to maximize
resource use.

(d) Within 30 days after receiving the county request for funds and plans, the commissioner
shall provide a written response to the plan that includes the level of resources available to serve
additional persons.

(e) Counties are eligible to receive medical assistance administrative reimbursement for
administrative costs under criteria established by the commissioner.

Subd. 3. Failure to develop partnerships or submit a plan. (a) By October 1 of each year
the commissioner shall notify the county board if any county determined by the commissioner to
have insufficient capacity to maximize use of available resources fails to develop a partnership
with other counties or fails to submit a plan as required in subdivision 2. The commissioner
shall provide needed technical assistance to a county or group of counties that fails to form a
partnership or submit a plan. If a county has not joined a county partnership or submitted a plan
within 30 days following the notice by the commissioner of its failure, the commissioner shall
require and assist that county to develop a plan or contract with another county or group of
counties to plan and administer the waiver services program in that county.

(b) Counties may request technical assistance, management information, and administrative
support from the commissioner at any time. The commissioner shall respond to county requests
within 30 days. Priority shall be given to activities that support the administrative needs of newly
formed county partnerships.

Subd. 4. Allowed reserve. Counties or groups of counties participating in partnerships that
have submitted a plan under this section may develop an allowed reserve amount to meet crises
and other unmet needs of current home and community-based waiver recipients. The amount of
the allowed reserve shall be a county specific amount based upon documented past experience and
projected need for the coming year described in an allowed reserve plan submitted for approval to
the commissioner with the allocation request for the fiscal year.

Subd. 5. Allocation of new diversions and priorities for reassignment of resources for
developmental disabilities. (a) The commissioner shall monitor county utilization of allocated
resources and, as appropriate, reassign resources not utilized.
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(b) Effective July 1, 2002, the commissioner shall authorize the spending of new diversion
resources beginning January 1 of each year.

(c) Effective July 1, 2002, the commissioner shall manage the reassignment of waiver
resources that occur from persons who have left the waiver in a manner that results in the cost
reduction equivalent to delaying the reuse of those waiver resources by 180 days.

(d) Priority consideration for reassignment of resources shall be given to counties that
form partnerships. In addition to the priorities listed in Minnesota Rules, part 9525.1880, the
commissioner shall also give priority consideration to persons whose living situations are unstable
due to the age or incapacity of the primary caregiver and to children to avoid out-of-home
placement.

Subd. 6.Waiver request. (a) The commissioner shall submit to the federal Health Care
Financing Administration by September 1, 1999, a request for a waiver to include an option that
would allow waiver service recipients to directly receive 95 percent of the funds that would
be allocated to individuals based on written county criteria and procedures approved by the
commissioner for the purchase of services to meet their long-term care needs. The waiver
request must include a provision requiring recipients who receive funds directly to provide to the
commissioner annually, a description of the type of services used, the amount paid for the services
purchased, and the amount of unspent funds.

(b) The commissioner, in cooperation with county representatives, waiver service providers,
recipients, recipients' families, legal guardians, and advocacy groups, shall develop criteria for:

(1) eligibility to receive funding directly;
(2) determination of the amount of funds made available to each eligible person based on

need; and
(3) the accountability required of persons directly receiving funds.
(c) If this waiver is approved and implemented, any unspent money from the waiver

services allocation, including the five percent not directly allocated to recipients and any unspent
portion of the money that is directly allocated, shall be used to meet the needs of other eligible
persons waiting for services funded through the waiver.

(d) The commissioner, in consultation with county social services agencies, waiver services
providers, recipients, recipients' families, legal guardians, and advocacy groups shall evaluate the
effectiveness of this option within two years of its implementation.

Subd. 6a. Statewide availability of consumer-directed community support services. (a)
The commissioner shall submit to the federal Health Care Financing Administration by August 1,
2001, an amendment to the home and community-based waiver for persons with developmental
disabilities to make consumer-directed community support services available in every county of
the state by January 1, 2002.

(b) If a county declines to meet the requirements for provision of consumer-directed
community supports, the commissioner shall contract with another county, a group of counties, or
a private agency to plan for and administer consumer-directed community supports in that county.

(c) The state of Minnesota, county agencies, tribal governments, or administrative
entities under contract to participate in the implementation and administration of the home and
community-based waiver for persons with developmental disabilities, shall not be liable for
damages, injuries, or liabilities sustained through the purchase of support by the individual, the
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individual's family, legal representative, or the authorized representative with funds received
through the consumer-directed community support service under this section. Liabilities include
but are not limited to: workers' compensation liability, the Federal Insurance Contributions Act
(FICA), or the Federal Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA).

Subd. 7. Annual report by commissioner. Beginning November 1, 2001, and each
November 1 thereafter, the commissioner shall issue an annual report on county and state use of
available resources for the home and community-based waiver for persons with developmental
disabilities. For each county or county partnership, the report shall include:

(1) the amount of funds allocated but not used;
(2) the county specific allowed reserve amount approved and used;
(3) the number, ages, and living situations of individuals screened and waiting for services;
(4) the urgency of need for services to begin within one, two, or more than two years

for each individual;
(5) the services needed;
(6) the number of additional persons served by approval of increased capacity within

existing allocations;
(7) results of action by the commissioner to streamline administrative requirements and

improve county resource management; and
(8) additional action that would decrease the number of those eligible and waiting for

waivered services.
The commissioner shall specify intended outcomes for the program and the degree to which
these specified outcomes are attained.

Subd. 8. Financial information by county. The commissioner shall make available to
interested parties, upon request, financial information by county including the amount of resources
allocated for the home and community-based waiver for persons with developmental disabilities,
the resources committed, the number of persons screened and waiting for services, the type of
services requested by those waiting, and the amount of allocated resources not committed.

Subd. 9. Legal representative participation exception. The commissioner, in cooperation
with representatives of counties, service providers, service recipients, family members, legal
representatives and advocates, shall develop criteria to allow legal representatives to be
reimbursed for providing specific support services to meet the person's needs when a plan which
assures health and safety has been agreed upon and carried out by the legal representative,
the person, and the county. Legal representatives providing support under the home and
community-based waiver for persons with developmental disabilities or the consumer support
grant program pursuant to section 256.476, shall not be considered to have a direct or indirect
service provider interest under section 256B.092, subdivision 7, if a health and safety plan which
meets the criteria established has been agreed upon and implemented. By August 1, 2001, the
commissioner shall submit, for federal approval, amendments to allow legal representatives to
provide support and receive reimbursement under the home and community-based waiver plan.

Subd. 10. Transitional supports allowance. A transitional supports allowance shall be
available to all persons under a home and community-based waiver who are moving from a
licensed setting to a community setting. "Transitional supports allowance" means a onetime
payment of up to $3,000, to cover the costs, not covered by other sources, associated with moving
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from a licensed setting to a community setting. Covered costs include:

(1) lease or rent deposits;

(2) security deposits;

(3) utilities setup costs, including telephone;

(4) essential furnishings and supplies; and

(5) personal supports and transports needed to locate and transition to community settings.

History: 1Sp1993 c 1 art 4 s 8; 1998 c 407 art 4 s 39; 1999 c 245 art 4 s 61; 2000 c 488 art
11 s 7; 1Sp2001 c 9 art 3 s 43-45; 2002 c 220 art 14 s 6; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 2004 c 288 art 3
s 24; 2005 c 56 s 1; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 8 s 46; 2009 c 79 art 8 s 50

256B.0917 SENIORS' AGENDA FOR INDEPENDENT LIVING (SAIL) PROJECTS.

Subdivision 1. Purpose, mission, goals, and objectives. (a) The purpose of implementing
seniors' agenda for independent living (SAIL) projects under this section is to demonstrate a new
cooperative strategy for the long-term care system in the state of Minnesota.

The projects are part of the initial plan for a 20-year strategy. The mission of the 20-year
strategy is to create a new community-based care paradigm for long-term care in Minnesota in
order to maximize independence of the older adult population, and to ensure cost-effective use of
financial and human resources. The goals for the 20-year strategy are to:

(1) achieve a broad awareness and use of low-cost home care and other residential
alternatives to nursing homes;

(2) develop a statewide system of information and assistance to enable easy access to
long-term care services;

(3) develop sufficient alternatives to nursing homes to serve the increased number of people
needing long-term care;

(4) maintain the moratorium on new construction of nursing home beds and to lower the
percentage of elderly persons served in institutional settings; and

(5) build a community-based approach and community commitment to delivering long-term
care services for elderly persons in their homes.

(b) The objective for the fiscal years 1994 and 1995 biennial plan is to continue at least
four but not more than six projects in anticipation of a statewide program. These projects will
continue the process of implementing:

(1) a coordinated planning and administrative process;

(2) a refocused function of the preadmission screening program;

(3) the development of additional home, community, and residential alternatives to nursing
homes;

(4) a program to support the informal caregivers for elderly persons;

(5) programs to strengthen the use of volunteers; and

(6) programs to support the building of community commitment to provide long-term care
for elderly persons.
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The services offered through these projects are available to those who have their own funds
to pay for services, as well as to persons who are eligible for medical assistance and to persons
who are 180-day eligible clients to the extent authorized in this section.

Subd. 2. Design of SAIL projects; local long-term care coordinating team. (a) The
commissioner of human services shall contract with SAIL projects in four to six counties or
groups of counties to demonstrate the feasibility and cost-effectiveness of a local long-term care
strategy that is consistent with the state's long-term care goals identified in subdivision 1. The
commissioner shall publish a notice in the State Register announcing the availability of project
funding and giving instructions for making an application. The instructions for the application
shall identify the amount of funding available for project components.

(b) To be selected for the project, a county board or boards must establish a long-term care
coordinating team consisting of county social service agencies, public health nursing service
agencies, local boards of health, a representative of local nursing home providers, a representative
of local home care providers, and the area agencies on aging in a geographic area which is
responsible for:

(1) developing a local long-term care strategy consistent with state goals and objectives;
(2) submitting an application to be selected as a project;
(3) coordinating planning for funds to provide services to elderly persons, including funds

received under Title III of the Older Americans Act, Title XX of the Social Security Act and the
Local Public Health Act; and

(4) ensuring efficient services provision and nonduplication of funding.
(c) The board or boards shall designate a public agency to serve as the lead agency. The

lead agency receives and manages the project funds from the state and is responsible for the
implementation of the local strategy. If selected as a project, the local long-term care coordinating
team must semiannually evaluate the progress of the local long-term care strategy in meeting state
measures of performance and results as established in the contract.

(d) Each member of the local coordinating team must indicate its endorsement of the local
strategy. The local long-term care coordinating team may include in its membership other units of
government which provide funding for services to the frail elderly. The team must cooperate with
consumers and other public and private agencies, including nursing homes, in the geographic area
in order to develop and offer a variety of cost-effective services to the elderly and their caregivers.

(e) The board or boards shall apply to be selected as a project. If the project is selected,
the commissioner of human services shall contract with the lead agency for the project and shall
provide additional administrative funds for implementing the provisions of the contract, within
the appropriation available for this purpose.

(f) Projects shall be selected according to the following conditions.
No project may be selected unless it demonstrates that:
(i) the objectives of the local project will help to achieve the state's long-term care goals

as defined in subdivision 1;
(ii) in the case of a project submitted jointly by several counties, all of the participating

counties are contiguous;
(iii) there is a designated local lead agency that is empowered to make contracts with the

state and local vendors on behalf of all participants;
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(iv) the project proposal demonstrates that the local cooperating agencies have the ability
to perform the project as described and that the implementation of the project has a reasonable
chance of achieving its objectives;

(v) the project will serve an area that covers at least four counties or contains at least 2,500
persons who are 85 years of age or older, according to the projections of the state demographer
or the census if the data is more recent; and

(vi) the local coordinating team documents efforts of cooperation with consumers and other
agencies and organizations, both public and private, in planning for service delivery.

Subd. 3. Local long-term care strategy. The local long-term care strategy must list
performance outcomes and indicators which meet the state's objectives. The local strategy must
provide for:

(1) accessible information, assessment, and preadmission screening activities as described
in subdivision 4;

(2) an increase in numbers of alternative care clients served under section 256B.0913,
including those who are relocated from nursing homes, which results in a reduction of the medical
assistance nursing home caseload; and

(3) the development of additional services such as adult family foster care homes; family
adult day care; assisted living projects and congregate housing service projects in apartment
buildings; expanded home care services for evenings and weekends; expanded volunteer services;
and caregiver support and respite care projects.

The county or groups of counties selected for the projects shall be required to comply
with federal regulations, alternative care funding policies in section 256B.0913, and the federal
waiver programs' policies in section 256B.0915. The requirements for preadmission screening are
defined in section 256B.0911, subdivisions 1 to 6. Requirements for an access, screening, and
assessment function are defined in subdivision 4. Requirements for the service development and
service provision are defined in subdivision 5.

Subd. 4. Information, screening, and assessment function. (a) The projects selected by
and under contract with the commissioner shall establish an accessible information, screening,
and assessment function for persons who need assistance and information regarding long-term
care. This accessible information, screening, and assessment activity shall include information
and referral, early intervention, follow-up contacts, telephone screening, home visits, assessments,
preadmission screening, and relocation case management for the frail elderly and their caregivers
in the area served by the county or counties. The purpose is to ensure that information and help
is provided to elderly persons and their families in a timely fashion, when they are making
decisions about long-term care. These functions may be split among various agencies, but must
be coordinated by the local long-term care coordinating team.

(b) Accessible information, screening, and assessment functions shall be reimbursed as
follows:

(1) The screenings of all persons entering nursing homes shall be reimbursed as defined in
section 256B.0911, subdivision 6; and

(2) Additional state administrative funds shall be available for the access, screening, and
assessment activities that are not reimbursed under clause (1). This amount shall not exceed the
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amount authorized in the guidelines and in instructions for the application and must be within the
amount appropriated for this activity.

(c) Any information and referral functions funded by other sources, such as Title III of the
Older Americans Act and Title XX of the Social Security Act, shall be considered by the local
long-term care coordinating team in establishing this function to avoid duplication and to ensure
access to information for persons needing help and information regarding long-term care.

(d) The lead agency or the agencies under contract with the lead agency which are
responsible for the accessible information, screening, and assessment function must complete the
forms and reports required by the commissioner as specified in the contract.

Subd. 5. Service development and delivery. (a) In addition to the access, screening, and
assessment activity, each local strategy may include provisions for the following:

(1) the addition of a full-time staff person who is responsible to develop the following
services and recruit providers as established in the contract:

(i) additional adult family foster care homes;
(ii) family adult day care providers as defined in section 256B.0919, subdivision 2;
(iii) an assisted living program in an apartment;
(iv) a congregate housing service project in a subsidized housing project; and
(v) the expansion of evening and weekend coverage of home care services as deemed

necessary by the local strategic plan;
(2) small incentive grants to new adult family care providers for renovations needed to

meet licensure requirements;
(3) a plan to divert new applicants to nursing homes and to relocate a targeted population

from nursing homes, using the individual's own resources or the funding available for services;
(4) one or more caregiver support and respite care projects, as described in subdivision

6; and
(5) one or more living-at-home/block nurse projects, as described in subdivisions 7 to 10.
(b) The expansion of alternative care clients under paragraph (a) shall be accomplished

with the funds provided under section 256B.0913, and includes the allocation of targeted funds.
The funding for all participating counties must be coordinated by the local long-term care
coordinating team and must be part of the local long-term care strategy. Alternative care funds
may be transferred from one SAIL county to another within a designated SAIL project area
during a fiscal year as authorized by the local long-term care coordinating team and approved by
the commissioner. The base allocation used for a future year shall reflect the final transfer. Each
county retains responsibility for reimbursement as defined in section 256B.0913, subdivision
12. All other requirements for the alternative care program must be met unless an exception is
provided in this section. The commissioner may establish by contract a reimbursement mechanism
for alternative care that does not require invoice processing through the Medical Assistance
Management Information System (MMIS). The commissioner and local agencies must assure that
the same client and reimbursement data is obtained as is available under MMIS.

(c) The administration of these components is the responsibility of the agencies selected
by the local coordinating team and under contract with the local lead agency. However,
administrative funds for paragraph (a), clauses (2) to (4), and grant funds for paragraph (a), clause
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(5), shall be granted to the local lead agency. The funding available for each component is based
on the plan submitted and the amount negotiated in the contract.

Subd. 6. Caregiver support and respite care projects. (a) The commissioner shall
establish up to 36 projects to expand the respite care network in the state and to support caregivers
in their responsibilities for care. The purpose of each project shall be to:

(1) establish a local coordinated network of volunteer and paid respite workers;
(2) coordinate assignment of respite workers to clients and care receivers and assure the

health and safety of the client; and
(3) provide training for caregivers and ensure that support groups are available in the

community.
(b) The caregiver support and respite care funds shall be available to the four to six local

long-term care strategy projects designated in subdivisions 1 to 5.
(c) The commissioner shall publish a notice in the State Register to solicit proposals from

public or private nonprofit agencies for the projects not included in the four to six local long-term
care strategy projects defined in subdivision 2. A county agency may, alone or in combination
with other county agencies, apply for caregiver support and respite care project funds. A public or
nonprofit agency within a designated SAIL project area may apply for project funds if the agency
has a letter of agreement with the county or counties in which services will be developed, stating
the intention of the county or counties to coordinate their activities with the agency requesting a
grant.

(d) The commissioner shall select grantees based on the following criteria:
(1) the ability of the proposal to demonstrate need in the area served, as evidenced by a

community needs assessment or other demographic data;
(2) the ability of the proposal to clearly describe how the project will achieve the purpose

defined in paragraph (b);
(3) the ability of the proposal to reach underserved populations;
(4) the ability of the proposal to demonstrate community commitment to the project, as

evidenced by letters of support and cooperation as well as formation of a community task force;
(5) the ability of the proposal to clearly describe the process for recruiting, training, and

retraining volunteers; and
(6) the inclusion in the proposal of the plan to promote the project in the community,

including outreach to persons needing the services.
(e) Funds for all projects under this subdivision may be used to:
(1) hire a coordinator to develop a coordinated network of volunteer and paid respite

care services and assign workers to clients;
(2) recruit and train volunteer providers;
(3) train caregivers;
(4) ensure the development of support groups for caregivers;
(5) advertise the availability of the caregiver support and respite care project; and
(6) purchase equipment to maintain a system of assigning workers to clients.
(f) Project funds may not be used to supplant existing funding sources.

Copyright © 2011 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



231 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2011 256B.0917

Subd. 7. Contract. (a) The commissioner of human services shall execute a contract with
Living at Home/Block Nurse Program, Inc. (LAH/BN, Inc.). The contract shall require LAH/BN,
Inc. to:

(1) develop criteria for and award grants to establish community-based organizations that
will implement living-at-home/block nurse programs throughout the state;

(2) award grants to enable living-at-home/block nurse programs to continue to implement
the combined living-at-home/block nurse program model;

(3) serve as a state technical assistance center to assist and coordinate the
living-at-home/block nurse programs established; and

(4) manage contracts with individual living-at-home/block nurse programs.
(b) The contract shall be effective July 1, 1997, and section 16B.17 shall not apply.

Subd. 8. Living-at-home/block nurse program grant. (a) The organization awarded
the contract under subdivision 7, shall develop and administer a grant program to establish or
expand up to 33 community-based organizations that will implement living-at-home/block nurse
programs that are designed to enable senior citizens to live as independently as possible in their
homes and in their communities. At least one-half of the programs must be in counties outside
the seven-county metropolitan area. Nonprofit organizations and units of local government
are eligible to apply for grants to establish the community organizations that will implement
living-at-home/block nurse programs. In awarding grants, the organization awarded the contract
under subdivision 7 shall give preference to nonprofit organizations and units of local government
from communities that:

(1) have high nursing home occupancy rates;
(2) have a shortage of health care professionals;
(3) are located in counties adjacent to, or are located in, counties with existing

living-at-home/block nurse programs; and
(4) meet other criteria established by LAH/BN, Inc., in consultation with the commissioner.
(b) Grant applicants must also meet the following criteria:
(1) the local community demonstrates a readiness to establish a community model of care,

including the formation of a board of directors, advisory committee, or similar group, of which
at least two-thirds is comprised of community citizens interested in community-based care for
older persons;

(2) the program has sponsorship by a credible, representative organization within the
community;

(3) the program has defined specific geographic boundaries and defined its organization,
staffing and coordination/delivery of services;

(4) the program demonstrates a team approach to coordination and care, ensuring that the
older adult participants, their families, the formal and informal providers are all part of the effort
to plan and provide services; and

(5) the program provides assurances that all community resources and funding will be
coordinated and that other funding sources will be maximized, including a person's own resources.

(c) Grant applicants must provide a minimum of five percent of total estimated development
costs from local community funding. Grants shall be awarded for four-year periods, and the base
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amount shall not exceed $80,000 per applicant for the grant period. The organization under
contract may increase the grant amount for applicants from communities that have socioeconomic
characteristics that indicate a higher level of need for assistance. Subject to the availability of
funding, grants and grant renewals awarded or entered into on or after July 1, 1997, shall be
renewed by LAH/BN, Inc. every four years, unless LAH/BN, Inc. determines that the grant
recipient has not satisfactorily operated the living-at-home/block nurse program in compliance
with the requirements of paragraphs (b) and (d). Grants provided to living-at-home/block nurse
programs under this paragraph may be used for both program development and the delivery
of services.

(d) Each living-at-home/block nurse program shall be designed by representatives of
the communities being served to ensure that the program addresses the specific needs of the
community residents. The programs must be designed to:

(1) incorporate the basic community, organizational, and service delivery principles of the
living-at-home/block nurse program model;

(2) provide senior citizens with registered nurse directed assessment, provision and
coordination of health and personal care services on a sliding fee basis as an alternative to
expensive nursing home care;

(3) provide information, support services, homemaking services, counseling, and training
for the client and family caregivers;

(4) encourage the development and use of respite care, caregiver support, and in-home
support programs, such as adult foster care and in-home adult day care;

(5) encourage neighborhood residents and local organizations to collaborate in meeting the
needs of senior citizens in their communities;

(6) recruit, train, and direct the use of volunteers to provide informal services and other
appropriate support to senior citizens and their caregivers; and

(7) provide coordination and management of formal and informal services to senior citizens
and their families using less expensive alternatives.

Subd. 9. State technical assistance center. The organization under contract shall be the
state technical assistance center to provide orientation and technical assistance, and to coordinate
the living-at-home/block nurse programs established. The state resource center shall:

(1) provide communities with criteria in planning and designing their living-at-home/block
nurse programs;

(2) provide general orientation and technical assistance to communities who desire to
establish living-at-home/block nurse programs;

(3) provide ongoing analysis and data collection of existing and newly established
living-at-home/block nurse programs and provide data to the organization performing the
independent assessment; and

(4) serve as the living-at-home/block nurse programs' liaison to the legislature and other
state agencies.

Subd. 10. Implementation plan. The organization under contract shall develop a plan
that specifies a strategy for implementing living-at-home/block nurse programs statewide. The
plan must also analyze the data collected by the state technical assistance center and describe
the effectiveness of services provided by living-at-home/block nurse programs, including the
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program's impact on acute care costs. The organization shall report to the commissioner of human
services and to the legislature by January 1, 1993.

Subd. 11. SAIL evaluation and expansion. The commissioner shall evaluate the success of
the SAIL projects against the objective stated in subdivision 1, paragraph (b), and recommend to
the legislature the continuation or expansion of the long-term care strategy by February 15, 1995.

Subd. 12. Public awareness campaign. The commissioner, with assistance from the
commissioner of health and with the advice of the long-term care planning committee, shall
contract for a public awareness campaign to educate the general public, seniors, consumers,
caregivers, and professionals about the aging process, the long-term care system, and alternatives
available including alternative care and residential alternatives. Particular emphasis will be given
to informing consumers on how to access the alternatives and obtain information on the long-term
care system. The commissioner shall pursue the development of new names for preadmission
screening, alternative care, foster care, and other services as deemed necessary for the public
awareness campaign.

Subd. 13. Community service grants. The commissioner shall award contracts for grants
to public and private nonprofit agencies to establish services that strengthen a community's
ability to provide a system of home and community-based services for elderly persons. The
commissioner shall use a request for proposal process. The commissioner shall give preference
when awarding grants under this section to areas where nursing facility closures have occurred
or are occurring. The commissioner shall consider grants for:

(1) caregiver support and respite care projects under subdivision 6;
(2) the living-at-home/block nurse grant under subdivisions 7 to 10; and
(3) services identified as needed for community transition.

Subd. 14. Essential community supports grants. (a) The purpose of the essential
community supports grant program is to provide targeted services to persons 65 years and older
who need essential community support, but whose needs do not meet the level of care required for
nursing facility placement under section 144.0724, subdivision 11.

(b) Within the limits of the appropriation and not to exceed $400 per person per month,
funding must be available to a person who:

(1) is age 65 or older;
(2) is not eligible for medical assistance;
(3) would otherwise be financially eligible for the alternative care program under section

256B.0913, subdivision 4;
(4) has received a community assessment under section 256B.0911, subdivision 3a or 3b,

and does not require the level of care provided in a nursing facility;
(5) has a community support plan; and
(6) has been determined by a community assessment under section 256B.0911, subdivision

3a or 3b, to be a person who would require provision of at least one of the following services, as
defined in the approved elderly waiver plan, in order to maintain their community residence:

(i) caregiver support;
(ii) homemaker;
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(iii) chore; or
(iv) a personal emergency response device or system.
(c) The person receiving any of the essential community supports in this subdivision must

also receive service coordination as part of their community support plan.
(d) A person who has been determined to be eligible for an essential community support

grant must be reassessed at least annually and continue to meet the criteria in paragraph (b) to
remain eligible for an essential community support grant.

(e) The commissioner shall allocate grants to counties and tribes under contract with the
department based upon the historic use of the medical assistance elderly waiver and alternative
care grant programs and other criteria as determined by the commissioner.

[See Note.]
History: 1991 c 292 art 7 s 17; 1992 c 513 art 7 s 65-72; 1Sp1993 c 1 art 5 s 73-79; 1994 c

625 art 8 s 63; 1997 c 203 art 4 s 44,45; 1999 c 245 art 4 s 62; 2000 c 488 art 9 s 36; 2001 c 161 s
46,47; 1Sp2001 c 9 art 4 s 31,32; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 2005 c 10 art 1 s 51,52; 2005 c 98 art 3
s 24; 2006 c 212 art 3 s 19; 2009 c 79 art 8 s 51; 1Sp2010 c 1 art 17 s 14; 1Sp2011 c 9 art 7 s 48

NOTE: Subdivision 14, as added by Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 8, section 51, is
effective July 1, 2012, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. Laws 2009, chapter 79, article
8, section 51, the effective date, as amended by Laws 2010, First Special Session chapter 1, article
17, section 14; and Laws 2011, First Special Session chapter 9, article 7, section 48.

256B.0918 EMPLOYEE SCHOLARSHIP COSTS.

Subdivision 1. Program criteria. Beginning on or after October 1, 2005, within the limits
of appropriations specifically available for this purpose, the commissioner shall provide funding
to qualified provider applicants for employee scholarships for education in nursing and other
health care fields. Employee scholarships must be for a course of study that is expected to lead
to career advancement with the provider or in the field of long-term care, including home care
or care of persons with disabilities, or nursing. Providers that secure this funding must use it to
award scholarships to employees who work an average of at least 20 hours per week for the
provider. Executive management staff without direct care duties, registered nurses, and therapists
are not eligible to receive scholarships under this section.

Subd. 2. Participating providers. The commissioner shall publish a request for proposals
in the State Register by August 15, 2005, specifying provider eligibility requirements, provider
selection criteria, program specifics, funding mechanism, and methods of evaluation. The
commissioner may publish additional requests for proposals in subsequent years. Providers
who provide services funded through the following programs are eligible to apply to participate
in the scholarship program: home and community-based waivered services for persons with
developmental disabilities under section 256B.501; home and community-based waivered
services for the elderly under section 256B.0915; waivered services under community alternatives
for disabled individuals under section 256B.49; community alternative care waivered services
under section 256B.49; traumatic brain injury waivered services under section 256B.49; nursing
services and home health services under section 256B.0625, subdivision 6a; personal care services
and nursing supervision of personal care services under section 256B.0625, subdivision 19a;
private duty nursing services under section 256B.0625, subdivision 7; day training and habilitation
services for adults with developmental disabilities under sections 252.40 to 252.46; and
intermediate care facilities for persons with developmental disabilities under section 256B.5012.
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Subd. 3. Provider selection criteria. To be considered for scholarship funding, the provider
shall submit a completed application within the time frame specified by the commissioner. In
awarding funding, the commissioner shall consider the following:

(1) the size of the provider as measured in annual billing to the medical assistance program.
To be eligible, a provider must receive at least $300,000 annually in medical assistance payments;

(2) the percentage of employees meeting the scholarship program recipient requirements;
(3) staff retention rates for paraprofessionals; and
(4) other criteria determined by the commissioner.

Subd. 4. Funding specifics.Within the limits of appropriations specifically available for
this purpose, for the rate period beginning on or after October 1, 2005, to September 30, 2007, the
commissioner shall provide to each provider listed in subdivision 2 and awarded funds under
subdivision 3 a medical assistance rate increase to fund scholarships up to three-tenths percent of
the medical assistance reimbursement rate. The commissioner shall require providers to repay any
portion of funds awarded under subdivision 3 that is not used to fund scholarships. If applications
exceed available funding, funding shall be targeted to providers that employ a higher percentage
of paraprofessional staff or have lower rates of turnover of paraprofessional staff. During the
subsequent years of the program, the rate adjustment may be recalculated, at the discretion of the
commissioner. In making a recalculation the commissioner may consider the provider's success at
granting scholarships based on the amount spent during the previous year and the availability of
appropriations to continue the program.

Subd. 5. Reporting requirements. Participating providers shall report to the commissioner
on a schedule determined by the commissioner and on a form supplied by the commissioner for a
scholarship rate for rate periods beginning October 1, 2007. The report shall include the amount
spent during the reporting period on eligible scholarships, and, for each scholarship recipient,
the name of the recipient, the amount awarded, the educational institution attended, the nature of
the educational program, the expected or actual program completion date, and a determination
of the amount spent as a percentage of the provider's reimbursement. The commissioner shall
require providers to repay all of the funds awarded under subdivision 3 if the report required in
this subdivision is not filled according to the schedule determined by the commissioner.

Subd. 6. Evaluation. The commissioner shall report to the legislature annually, beginning
March 15, 2007, on the use of these funds.

History: 2005 c 56 s 1; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 8 s 47; 2006 c 282 art 20 s 17-19

256B.0919 ADULT FOSTER CARE AND FAMILY ADULT DAY CARE.

Subdivision 1. Adult foster care licensure capacity. Notwithstanding contrary provisions
of the Human Services Licensing Act and rules adopted under it, an adult foster care license
holder may care for five adults age 60 years or older who do not have serious and persistent
mental illness or a developmental disability.

Subd. 2. Adult foster care; family adult day care. An adult foster care license holder who
is not providing care to persons with serious and persistent mental illness or developmental
disabilities may also provide family adult day care for adults age 60 years or older who do not
have serious and persistent mental illness or a developmental disability. The maximum combined
license capacity for adult foster care and family adult day care is five adults. A separate license is
not required to provide family adult day care under this subdivision. Foster care homes providing
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services to five adults shall not be subject to licensure by the commissioner of health under
the provisions of chapter 144, 144A, 157, or any other law requiring facility licensure by the
commissioner of health.

Subd. 3. County certification of persons providing adult foster care to related persons.
A person exempt from licensure under section 245A.03, subdivision 2, who provides adult foster
care to a related individual age 65 and older, and who meets the requirements in Minnesota
Rules, parts 9555.5105 to 9555.6265, may be certified by the county to provide adult foster care.
A person certified by the county to provide adult foster care may be reimbursed for services
provided and eligible for funding under section 256B.0915, if the relative would suffer a financial
hardship as a result of providing care. For purposes of this subdivision, financial hardship refers to
a situation in which a relative incurs a substantial reduction in income as a result of resigning from
a full-time job or taking a leave of absence without pay from a full-time job to care for the client.

Subd. 4. [Repealed, 2010 c 329 art 1 s 24; 2010 c 352 art 2 s 16]

History: 1986 c 444; 1991 c 292 art 7 s 18; 1992 c 513 art 7 s 73; 2007 c 112 s 49;
2007 c 147 art 6 s 39

256B.092 SERVICES FOR PERSONS WITH DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITIES.

Subdivision 1. County of financial responsibility; duties. Before any services shall
be rendered to persons with developmental disabilities who are in need of social service and
medical assistance, the county of financial responsibility shall conduct or arrange for a diagnostic
evaluation in order to determine whether the person has or may have a developmental disability
or has or may have a related condition. If the county of financial responsibility determines
that the person has a developmental disability, the county shall inform the person of case
management services available under this section. Except as provided in subdivision 1g or 4b, if a
person is diagnosed as having a developmental disability, the county of financial responsibility
shall conduct or arrange for a needs assessment, develop or arrange for an individual service
plan, provide or arrange for ongoing case management services at the level identified in the
individual service plan, provide or arrange for case management administration, and authorize
services identified in the person's individual service plan developed according to subdivision 1b.
Diagnostic information, obtained by other providers or agencies, may be used by the county
agency in determining eligibility for case management. Nothing in this section shall be construed
as requiring: (1) assessment in areas agreed to as unnecessary by the case manager and the
person, or the person's legal guardian or conservator, or the parent if the person is a minor, or
(2) assessments in areas where there has been a functional assessment completed in the previous
12 months for which the case manager and the person or person's guardian or conservator, or
the parent if the person is a minor, agree that further assessment is not necessary. For persons
under state guardianship, the case manager shall seek authorization from the public guardianship
office for waiving any assessment requirements. Assessments related to health, safety, and
protection of the person for the purpose of identifying service type, amount, and frequency or
assessments required to authorize services may not be waived. To the extent possible, for wards
of the commissioner the county shall consider the opinions of the parent of the person with a
developmental disability when developing the person's individual service plan.

Subd. 1a. Case management administration and services. (a) The administrative
functions of case management provided to or arranged for a person include:

(1) review of eligibility for services;
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(2) screening;
(3) intake;
(4) diagnosis;
(5) the review and authorization of services based upon an individualized service plan; and
(6) responding to requests for conciliation conferences and appeals according to section

256.045 made by the person, the person's legal guardian or conservator, or the parent if the
person is a minor.

(b) Case management service activities provided to or arranged for a person include:
(1) development of the individual service plan;
(2) informing the individual or the individual's legal guardian or conservator, or parent

if the person is a minor, of service options;
(3) consulting with relevant medical experts or service providers;
(4) assisting the person in the identification of potential providers;
(5) assisting the person to access services;
(6) coordination of services, if coordination is not provided by another service provider;
(7) evaluation and monitoring of the services identified in the plan; and
(8) annual reviews of service plans and services provided.
(c) Case management administration and service activities that are provided to the person

with a developmental disability shall be provided directly by county agencies or under contract.
(d) Case managers are responsible for the administrative duties and service provisions

listed in paragraphs (a) and (b). Case managers shall collaborate with consumers, families, legal
representatives, and relevant medical experts and service providers in the development and annual
review of the individualized service and habilitation plans.

(e) The Department of Human Services shall offer ongoing education in case management
to case managers. Case managers shall receive no less than ten hours of case management
education and disability-related training each year.

Subd. 1b. Individual service plan. The individual service plan must:
(1) include the results of the assessment information on the person's need for service,

including identification of service needs that will be or that are met by the person's relatives,
friends, and others, as well as community services used by the general public;

(2) identify the person's preferences for services as stated by the person, the person's legal
guardian or conservator, or the parent if the person is a minor;

(3) identify long- and short-range goals for the person;
(4) identify specific services and the amount and frequency of the services to be provided to

the person based on assessed needs, preferences, and available resources. The individual service
plan shall also specify other services the person needs that are not available;

(5) identify the need for an individual program plan to be developed by the provider
according to the respective state and federal licensing and certification standards, and additional
assessments to be completed or arranged by the provider after service initiation;
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(6) identify provider responsibilities to implement and make recommendations for
modification to the individual service plan;

(7) include notice of the right to request a conciliation conference or a hearing under
section 256.045;

(8) be agreed upon and signed by the person, the person's legal guardian or conservator, or
the parent if the person is a minor, and the authorized county representative; and

(9) be reviewed by a health professional if the person has overriding medical needs that
impact the delivery of services.

Service planning formats developed for interagency planning such as transition, vocational,
and individual family service plans may be substituted for service planning formats developed
by county agencies.

Subd. 1c. [Repealed, 1991 c 94 s 25; c 292 art 6 s 47]

Subd. 1d. [Repealed, 1991 c 94 s 25; c 292 art 6 s 47]

Subd. 1e. [Renumbered subd 1f]

Subd. 1e. Coordination, evaluation, and monitoring of services. (a) If the individual
service plan identifies the need for individual program plans for authorized services, the case
manager shall assure that individual program plans are developed by the providers according to
clauses (2) to (5). The providers shall assure that the individual program plans:

(1) are developed according to the respective state and federal licensing and certification
requirements;

(2) are designed to achieve the goals of the individual service plan;
(3) are consistent with other aspects of the individual service plan;
(4) assure the health and safety of the person; and
(5) are developed with consistent and coordinated approaches to services among the

various service providers.
(b) The case manager shall monitor the provision of services:
(1) to assure that the individual service plan is being followed according to paragraph (a);
(2) to identify any changes or modifications that might be needed in the individual service

plan, including changes resulting from recommendations of current service providers;
(3) to determine if the person's legal rights are protected, and if not, notify the person's legal

guardian or conservator, or the parent if the person is a minor, protection services, or licensing
agencies as appropriate; and

(4) to determine if the person, the person's legal guardian or conservator, or the parent if
the person is a minor, is satisfied with the services provided.

(c) If the provider fails to develop or carry out the individual program plan according to
paragraph (a), the case manager shall notify the person's legal guardian or conservator, or the
parent if the person is a minor, the provider, the respective licensing and certification agencies,
and the county board where the services are being provided. In addition, the case manager shall
identify other steps needed to assure the person receives the services identified in the individual
service plan.

Copyright © 2011 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



239 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2011 256B.092

Subd. 1f. County waiting list. The county agency shall maintain a waiting list of persons
with developmental disabilities specifying the services needed but not provided. This waiting list
shall be used by county agencies to assist them in developing needed services or amending their
children and community service agreements.

Subd. 1g. Conditions not requiring development of individual service plan. Unless
otherwise required by federal law, the county agency is not required to complete an individual
service plan as defined in subdivision 1b for:

(1) persons whose families are requesting respite care for their family member who resides
with them, or whose families are requesting a family support grant and are not requesting purchase
or arrangement of habilitative services; and

(2) persons with developmental disabilities, living independently without authorized
services or receiving funding for services at a rehabilitation facility as defined in section 268A.01,
subdivision 6, and not in need of or requesting additional services.

Subd. 2.Medical assistance. To assure quality case management to those persons who are
eligible for medical assistance, the commissioner shall, upon request:

(1) provide consultation on the case management process;
(2) assist county agencies in the screening and annual reviews of clients review process to

assure that appropriate levels of service are provided to persons;
(3) provide consultation on service planning and development of services with appropriate

options;
(4) provide training and technical assistance to county case managers; and
(5) authorize payment for medical assistance services according to this chapter and rules

implementing it.

Subd. 2a.Medical assistance for case management activities under the state plan
Medicaid option. Upon receipt of federal approval, the commissioner shall make payments to
approved vendors of case management services participating in the medical assistance program to
reimburse costs for providing case management service activities to medical assistance eligible
persons with developmental disabilities, in accordance with the state Medicaid plan and federal
requirements and limitations.

Subd. 3. Authorization and termination of services. County agency case managers,
under rules of the commissioner, shall authorize and terminate services of community and
regional treatment center providers according to individual service plans. Services provided to
persons with developmental disabilities may only be authorized and terminated by case managers
according to (1) rules of the commissioner and (2) the individual service plan as defined in
subdivision 1b. Medical assistance services not needed shall not be authorized by county agencies
or funded by the commissioner. When purchasing or arranging for unlicensed respite care services
for persons with overriding health needs, the county agency shall seek the advice of a health care
professional in assessing provider staff training needs and skills necessary to meet the medical
needs of the person.

Subd. 4. Home and community-based services for developmental disabilities. (a)
The commissioner shall make payments to approved vendors participating in the medical
assistance program to pay costs of providing home and community-based services, including case
management service activities provided as an approved home and community-based service, to
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medical assistance eligible persons with developmental disabilities who have been screened under
subdivision 7 and according to federal requirements. Federal requirements include those services
and limitations included in the federally approved application for home and community-based
services for persons with developmental disabilities and subsequent amendments.

(b) Effective July 1, 1995, contingent upon federal approval and state appropriations made
available for this purpose, and in conjunction with Laws 1995, chapter 207, article 8, section 40,
the commissioner of human services shall allocate resources to county agencies for home and
community-based waivered services for persons with developmental disabilities authorized but
not receiving those services as of June 30, 1995, based upon the average resource need of persons
with similar functional characteristics. To ensure service continuity for service recipients receiving
home and community-based waivered services for persons with developmental disabilities prior to
July 1, 1995, the commissioner shall make available to the county of financial responsibility home
and community-based waivered services resources based upon fiscal year 1995 authorized levels.

(c) Home and community-based resources for all recipients shall be managed by the county
of financial responsibility within an allowable reimbursement average established for each county.
Payments for home and community-based services provided to individual recipients shall not
exceed amounts authorized by the county of financial responsibility. For specifically identified
former residents of nursing facilities, the commissioner shall be responsible for authorizing
payments and payment limits under the appropriate home and community-based service program.
Payment is available under this subdivision only for persons who, if not provided these services,
would require the level of care provided in an intermediate care facility for persons with
developmental disabilities.

Subd. 4a. Demonstration projects. The commissioner may waive state rules governing
home and community-based services in order to demonstrate other methods of administering
these services and to improve efficiency and responsiveness to individual needs of persons with
developmental disabilities, notwithstanding section 14.05, subdivision 4. All demonstration
projects approved by the commissioner must comply with state laws and federal regulations,
must remain within the fiscal limitations of the home and community-based services program
for persons with developmental disabilities, and must assure the health and safety of the persons
receiving services.

Subd. 4b. Case management for persons receiving home and community-based
services. Persons authorized for and receiving home and community-based services may select
from vendors of case management which have provider agreements with the state to provide home
and community-based case management service activities. This subdivision becomes effective
July 1, 1992, only if the state agency is unable to secure federal approval for limiting choice of
case management vendors to the county of financial responsibility.

Subd. 4c. Living arrangements based on a 24-hour plan of care. (a) Notwithstanding the
requirements for licensure under Minnesota Rules, part 9525.1860, subpart 6, item D, and upon
federal approval of an amendment to the home and community-based services waiver for persons
with developmental disabilities, a person receiving home and community-based services may
choose to live in their own home without requiring that the living arrangement be licensed under
Minnesota Rules, parts 9555.5050 to 9555.6265, provided the following conditions are met:

(1) the person receiving home and community-based services has chosen to live in their
own home;
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(2) home and community-based services are provided by a qualified vendor who meets the
provider standards as approved in the Minnesota home and community-based services waiver
plan for persons with developmental disabilities;

(3) the person, or their legal representative, individually or with others has purchased or
rents the home and the person's service provider has no financial interest in the home; and

(4) the service planning team, as defined in Minnesota Rules, part 9525.0004, subpart 24,
has determined that the planned services, the 24-hour plan of care, and the housing arrangement
are appropriate to address the health, safety, and welfare of the person.

(b) The county agency may require safety inspections of the selected housing as part of
their determination of the adequacy of the living arrangement.

Subd. 4d.Medicaid reimbursement; licensed provider; related individuals.Medicaid
reimbursement for the provision of supported living services to a related individual is allowed
when the conditions specified in section 245A.03, subdivision 9, are met.

Subd. 5. Federal waivers. (a) The commissioner shall apply for any federal waivers
necessary to secure, to the extent allowed by law, federal financial participation under United
States Code, title 42, sections 1396 et seq., as amended, for the provision of services to persons
who, in the absence of the services, would need the level of care provided in a regional treatment
center or a community intermediate care facility for persons with developmental disabilities. The
commissioner may seek amendments to the waivers or apply for additional waivers under United
States Code, title 42, sections 1396 et seq., as amended, to contain costs. The commissioner shall
ensure that payment for the cost of providing home and community-based alternative services
under the federal waiver plan shall not exceed the cost of intermediate care services including day
training and habilitation services that would have been provided without the waivered services.

The commissioner shall seek an amendment to the 1915c home and community-based
waiver to allow properly licensed adult foster care homes to provide residential services to up
to five individuals with developmental disabilities. If the amendment to the waiver is approved,
adult foster care providers that can accommodate five individuals shall increase their capacity to
five beds, provided the providers continue to meet all applicable licensing requirements.

(b) The commissioner, in administering home and community-based waivers for persons
with developmental disabilities, shall ensure that day services for eligible persons are not provided
by the person's residential service provider, unless the person or the person's legal representative is
offered a choice of providers and agrees in writing to provision of day services by the residential
service provider. The individual service plan for individuals who choose to have their residential
service provider provide their day services must describe how health, safety, protection, and
habilitation needs will be met, including how frequent and regular contact with persons other
than the residential service provider will occur. The individualized service plan must address the
provision of services during the day outside the residence on weekdays.

(c) When a county is evaluating denials, reductions, or terminations of home and
community-based services under section 256B.0916 for an individual, the case manager shall
offer to meet with the individual or the individual's guardian in order to discuss the prioritization
of service needs within the individualized service plan. The reduction in the authorized services
for an individual due to changes in funding for waivered services may not exceed the amount
needed to ensure medically necessary services to meet the individual's health, safety, and welfare.

Subd. 5a. [Repealed, 2009 c 79 art 1 s 21]
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Subd. 5b. Revised per diem based on legislated rate reduction. Notwithstanding section
252.28, subdivision 3, paragraph (d), if the 2009 legislature adopts a rate reduction that impacts
payment to providers of adult foster care services, the commissioner may issue adult foster care
licenses that permit a capacity of five adults. The application for a five-bed license must meet
the requirements of section 245A.11, subdivision 2a. Prior to admission of the fifth recipient of
adult foster care services, the county must negotiate a revised per diem rate for room and board
and waiver services that reflects the legislated rate reduction and results in an overall average per
diem reduction for all foster care recipients in that home. The revised per diem must allow the
provider to maintain, as much as possible, the level of services or enhanced services provided in
the residence, while mitigating the losses of the legislated rate reduction.

Subd. 6. Rules. The commissioner shall adopt rules to establish required controls,
documentation, and reporting of services provided in order to assure proper administration of the
approved waiver plan, and to establish policy and procedures to reduce duplicative efforts and
unnecessary paperwork on the part of case managers.

Subd. 7. Screening teams. For persons with developmental disabilities, screening
teams shall be established which shall evaluate the need for the level of care provided by
residential-based habilitation services, residential services, training and habilitation services, and
nursing facility services. The evaluation shall address whether home and community-based
services are appropriate for persons who are at risk of placement in an intermediate care facility
for persons with developmental disabilities, or for whom there is reasonable indication that they
might require this level of care. The screening team shall make an evaluation of need within 60
working days of a request for service by a person with a developmental disability, and within
five working days of an emergency admission of a person to an intermediate care facility for
persons with developmental disabilities. The screening team shall consist of the case manager for
persons with developmental disabilities, the person, the person's legal guardian or conservator,
or the parent if the person is a minor, and a qualified developmental disability professional, as
defined in the Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 483.430, as amended through June 3,
1988. The case manager may also act as the qualified developmental disability professional if the
case manager meets the federal definition. County social service agencies may contract with a
public or private agency or individual who is not a service provider for the person for the public
guardianship representation required by the screening or individual service planning process. The
contract shall be limited to public guardianship representation for the screening and individual
service planning activities. The contract shall require compliance with the commissioner's
instructions and may be for paid or voluntary services. For persons determined to have overriding
health care needs and are seeking admission to a nursing facility or an ICF/MR, or seeking
access to home and community-based waivered services, a registered nurse must be designated
as either the case manager or the qualified developmental disability professional. For persons
under the jurisdiction of a correctional agency, the case manager must consult with the corrections
administrator regarding additional health, safety, and supervision needs. The case manager,
with the concurrence of the person, the person's legal guardian or conservator, or the parent if
the person is a minor, may invite other individuals to attend meetings of the screening team. No
member of the screening team shall have any direct or indirect service provider interest in the
case. Nothing in this section shall be construed as requiring the screening team meeting to be
separate from the service planning meeting.

Subd. 8. Screening team duties. The screening team shall:
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(1) review diagnostic data;

(2) review health, social, and developmental assessment data using a uniform screening
tool specified by the commissioner;

(3) identify the level of services appropriate to maintain the person in the most normal and
least restrictive setting that is consistent with the person's treatment needs;

(4) identify other noninstitutional public assistance or social service that may prevent or
delay long-term residential placement;

(5) assess whether a person is in need of long-term residential care;

(6) make recommendations regarding placement and payment for: (i) social service or
public assistance support, or both, to maintain a person in the person's own home or other place of
residence; (ii) training and habilitation service, vocational rehabilitation, and employment training
activities; (iii) community residential placement; (iv) regional treatment center placement; or (v) a
home and community-based service alternative to community residential placement or regional
treatment center placement;

(7) evaluate the availability, location, and quality of the services listed in clause (6),
including the impact of placement alternatives on the person's ability to maintain or improve
existing patterns of contact and involvement with parents and other family members;

(8) identify the cost implications of recommendations in clause (6);

(9) make recommendations to a court as may be needed to assist the court in making
decisions regarding commitment of persons with developmental disabilities; and

(10) inform the person and the person's legal guardian or conservator, or the parent if the
person is a minor, that appeal may be made to the commissioner pursuant to section 256.045.

Subd. 8a. County concurrence. (a) If the county of financial responsibility wishes to
place a person in another county for services, the county of financial responsibility shall seek
concurrence from the proposed county of service and the placement shall be made cooperatively
between the two counties. Arrangements shall be made between the two counties for ongoing
social service, including annual reviews of the person's individual service plan. The county where
services are provided may not make changes in the person's service plan without approval by the
county of financial responsibility.

(b) When a person has been screened and authorized for services in an intermediate care
facility for persons with developmental disabilities or for home and community-based services for
persons with developmental disabilities, the case manager shall assist that person in identifying a
service provider who is able to meet the needs of the person according to the person's individual
service plan. If the identified service is to be provided in a county other than the county of
financial responsibility, the county of financial responsibility shall request concurrence of the
county where the person is requesting to receive the identified services. The county of service
may refuse to concur if:

(1) it can demonstrate that the provider is unable to provide the services identified in the
person's individual service plan as services that are needed and are to be provided; or

(2) in the case of an intermediate care facility for persons with developmental disabilities,
there has been no authorization for admission by the admission review team as required in
section 256B.0926.

Copyright © 2011 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



244 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2011 256B.092

(c) The county of service shall notify the county of financial responsibility of concurrence
or refusal to concur no later than 20 working days following receipt of the written request. Unless
other mutually acceptable arrangements are made by the involved county agencies, the county of
financial responsibility is responsible for costs of social services and the costs associated with
the development and maintenance of the placement. The county of service may request that the
county of financial responsibility purchase case management services from the county of service
or from a contracted provider of case management when the county of financial responsibility is
not providing case management as defined in this section and rules adopted under this section,
unless other mutually acceptable arrangements are made by the involved county agencies.
Standards for payment limits under this section may be established by the commissioner. Financial
disputes between counties shall be resolved as provided in section 256G.09.

Subd. 9. Reimbursement. Payment for services shall not be provided to a service provider
for any person placed in an intermediate care facility for persons with developmental disabilities
prior to the person being screened by the screening team. The commissioner shall not deny
reimbursement for: (1) a person admitted to an intermediate care facility for persons with
developmental disabilities who is assessed to need long-term supportive services, if long-term
supportive services other than intermediate care are not available in that community; (2) any
person admitted to an intermediate care facility for persons with developmental disabilities under
emergency circumstances; (3) any eligible person placed in the intermediate care facility for
persons with developmental disabilities pending an appeal of the screening team's decision; or
(4) any medical assistance recipient when, after full discussion of all appropriate alternatives
including those that are expected to be less costly than intermediate care for persons with
developmental disabilities, the person or the person's legal guardian or conservator, or the parent
if the person is a minor, insists on intermediate care placement. The screening team shall provide
documentation that the most cost-effective alternatives available were offered to this individual or
the individual's legal guardian or conservator.

Subd. 10. Admission of persons to and discharge of persons from regional treatment
centers. (a) Prior to the admission of a person to a regional treatment center program for persons
with developmental disabilities, the case manager shall make efforts to secure community-based
alternatives. If these alternatives are rejected by the person, the person's legal guardian or
conservator, or the county agency in favor of a regional treatment center placement, the case
manager shall document the reasons why the alternatives were rejected.

(b) When discharge of a person from a regional treatment center to a community-based
service is proposed, the case manager shall convene the screening team and in addition to
members of the team identified in subdivision 7, the case manager shall invite to the meeting the
person's parents and near relatives, and the ombudsman established under section 245.92 if the
person is under public guardianship. The meeting shall be convened at a time and place that
allows for participation of all team members and invited individuals who choose to attend. The
notice of the meeting shall inform the person's parents and near relatives about the screening team
process, and their right to request a review if they object to the discharge, and shall provide the
names and functions of advocacy organizations, and information relating to assistance available
to individuals interested in establishing private guardianships under the provisions of section
252A.03. The screening team meeting shall be conducted according to subdivisions 7 and 8.
Discharge of the person shall not go forward without consensus of the screening team.
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(c) The results of the screening team meeting and individual service plan developed
according to subdivision 1b shall be used by the interdisciplinary team assembled in accordance
with Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 483.440, to evaluate and make recommended
modifications to the individual service plan as proposed. The individual service plan shall
specify postplacement monitoring to be done by the case manager according to section 253B.15,
subdivision 1a.

(d) Notice of the meeting of the interdisciplinary team assembled in accordance with Code
of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 483.440, shall be sent to all team members 15 days prior
to the meeting, along with a copy of the proposed individual service plan. The case manager shall
request that proposed providers visit the person and observe the person's program at the regional
treatment center prior to the discharge. Whenever possible, preplacement visits by the person
to proposed service sites should also be scheduled in advance of the meeting. Members of the
interdisciplinary team assembled for the purpose of discharge planning shall include but not be
limited to the case manager, the person, the person's legal guardian or conservator, parents and
near relatives, the person's advocate, representatives of proposed community service providers,
representatives of the regional treatment center residential and training and habilitation services, a
registered nurse if the person has overriding medical needs that impact the delivery of services,
and a qualified developmental disability professional specializing in behavior management if the
person to be discharged has behaviors that may result in injury to self or others. The case manager
may also invite other service providers who have expertise in an area related to specific service
needs of the person to be discharged.

(e) The interdisciplinary team shall review the proposed plan to assure that it identifies
service needs, availability of services, including support services, and the proposed providers'
abilities to meet the service needs identified in the person's individual service plan. The
interdisciplinary team shall review the most recent licensing reports of the proposed providers and
corrective action taken by the proposed provider, if required. The interdisciplinary team shall
review the current individual program plans for the person and agree to an interim individual
program plan to be followed for the first 30 days in the person's new living arrangement. The
interdisciplinary team may suggest revisions to the service plan, and all team suggestions shall
be documented. If the person is to be discharged to a community intermediate care facility for
persons with developmental disabilities, the team shall give preference to facilities with a licensed
capacity of 15 or fewer beds. Thirty days prior to the date of discharge, the case manager shall
send a final copy of the service plan to all invited members of the team, the ombudsman, if the
person is under public guardianship, and the advocacy system established under United States
Code, title 42, section 6042.

(f) No discharge shall take place until disputes are resolved under section 256.045,
subdivision 4a, or until a review by the commissioner is completed upon request of the chief
executive officer or program director of the regional treatment center, or the county agency. For
persons under public guardianship, the ombudsman may request a review or hearing under section
256.045. Notification schedules required under this subdivision may be waived by members of
the team when judged urgent and with agreement of the parents or near relatives participating as
members of the interdisciplinary team.

Subd. 11. Residential support services. (a) Upon federal approval, there is established
a new service called residential support that is available on the community alternative care,
community alternatives for disabled individuals, developmental disabilities, and traumatic brain
injury waivers. Existing waiver service descriptions must be modified to the extent necessary
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to ensure there is no duplication between other services. Residential support services must be
provided by vendors licensed as a community residential setting as defined in section 245A.11,
subdivision 8.

(b) Residential support services must meet the following criteria:
(1) providers of residential support services must own or control the residential site;
(2) the residential site must not be the primary residence of the license holder;
(3) the residential site must have a designated program supervisor responsible for program

oversight, development, and implementation of policies and procedures;
(4) the provider of residential support services must provide supervision, training, and

assistance as described in the person's community support plan; and
(5) the provider of residential support services must meet the requirements of licensure and

additional requirements of the person's community support plan.
(c) Providers of residential support services that meet the definition in paragraph (a) must

be registered using a process determined by the commissioner beginning July 1, 2009.

Subd. 12.Waivered services statewide priorities. (a) The commissioner shall establish
statewide priorities for individuals on the waiting list for developmental disabilities (DD) waiver
services, as of January 1, 2010. The statewide priorities must include, but are not limited to,
individuals who continue to have a need for waiver services after they have maximized the use
of state plan services and other funding resources, including natural supports, prior to accessing
waiver services, and who meet at least one of the following criteria:

(1) have unstable living situations due to the age, incapacity, or sudden loss of the primary
caregivers;

(2) are moving from an institution due to bed closures;
(3) experience a sudden closure of their current living arrangement;
(4) require protection from confirmed abuse, neglect, or exploitation;
(5) experience a sudden change in need that can no longer be met through state plan

services or other funding resources alone; or
(6) meet other priorities established by the department.
(b) When allocating resources to lead agencies, the commissioner must take into

consideration the number of individuals waiting who meet statewide priorities and the lead
agencies' current use of waiver funds and existing service options.

(c) The commissioner shall evaluate the impact of the use of statewide priorities and
provide recommendations to the legislature on whether to continue the use of statewide priorities
in the November 1, 2011, annual report required by the commissioner in sections 256B.0916,
subdivision 7, and 256B.49, subdivision 21.

History: 1983 c 312 art 9 s 5; 1984 c 640 s 32; 1985 c 21 s 55; 1Sp1985 c 9 art 2 s 40-45;
1987 c 305 s 2; 1988 c 689 art 2 s 148,149; 1989 c 282 art 3 s 61; art 6 s 29,30; 1990 c 568 art 3
s 57-61; 1990 c 599 s 1; 1991 c 292 art 6 s 47; 1992 c 513 art 7 s 74; art 9 s 26,27; 1993 c 339 s
15-19; 1995 c 207 art 3 s 19; art 8 s 34; 1997 c 7 art 5 s 30; 1Sp2001 c 9 art 3 s 46; 2002 c 379
art 1 s 113; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 3 s 31,32; art 6 s 50,51; art 11 s 11; 2005 c 56 s 1; 2005 c 98 art 2 s
7; 2007 c 112 s 50; 2009 c 79 art 1 s 18; art 8 s 52-54; 2010 c 329 art 1 s 18; 2010 c 352 art 2 s 15
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256B.0924 TARGETED CASE MANAGEMENT SERVICES.

Subdivision 1. Purpose. The state recognizes that targeted case management services
can decrease the need for more costly services such as multiple emergency room visits
or hospitalizations by linking eligible individuals with less costly services available in the
community.

Subd. 2. Definitions. For purposes of this section, the following terms have the meanings
given:

(a) "Targeted case management" means services which will assist medical assistance
eligible persons to gain access to needed medical, social, educational, and other services. Targeted
case management does not include therapy, treatment, legal, or outreach services.

(b) "Targeted case management for adults" means activities that coordinate and link social
and other services designed to help eligible persons gain access to needed protective services,
social, health care, mental health, habilitative, educational, vocational, recreational, advocacy,
legal, chemical, health, and other related services.

Subd. 3. Eligibility. Persons are eligible to receive targeted case management services
under this section if the requirements in paragraphs (a) and (b) are met.

(a) The person must be assessed and determined by the local county agency to:

(1) be age 18 or older;

(2) be receiving medical assistance;

(3) have significant functional limitations; and

(4) be in need of service coordination to attain or maintain living in an integrated
community setting.

(b) The person must be a vulnerable adult in need of adult protection as defined in
section 626.5572, or is an adult with a developmental disability as defined in section 252A.02,
subdivision 2, or a related condition as defined in section 252.27, subdivision 1a, and is not
receiving home and community-based waiver services, or is an adult who lacks a permanent
residence and who has been without a permanent residence for at least one year or on at least
four occasions in the last three years.

Subd. 4. Targeted case management service activities. (a) For persons with developmental
disabilities, targeted case management services must meet the provisions of section 256B.092.

(b) For persons not eligible as a person with a developmental disability, targeted case
management service activities include:

(1) an assessment of the person's need for targeted case management services;

(2) the development of a written personal service plan;

(3) a regular review and revision of the written personal service plan with the recipient and
the recipient's legal representative, and others as identified by the recipient, to ensure access to
necessary services and supports identified in the plan;

(4) effective communication with the recipient and the recipient's legal representative and
others identified by the recipient;

(5) coordination of referrals for needed services with qualified providers;
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(6) coordination and monitoring of the overall service delivery to ensure the quality and
effectiveness of services;

(7) assistance to the recipient and the recipient's legal representative to help make an
informed choice of services;

(8) advocating on behalf of the recipient when service barriers are encountered or referring
the recipient and the recipient's legal representative to an independent advocate;

(9) monitoring and evaluating services identified in the personal service plan to ensure
personal outcomes are met and to ensure satisfaction with services and service delivery;

(10) conducting face-to-face monitoring with the recipient at least twice a year;
(11) completing and maintaining necessary documentation that supports and verifies the

activities in this section;
(12) coordinating with the medical assistance facility discharge planner prior to the

recipient's discharge into the community; and
(13) a personal service plan developed and reviewed at least annually with the recipient

and the recipient's legal representative. The personal service plan must be revised when there is a
change in the recipient's status. The personal service plan must identify:

(i) the desired personal short and long-term outcomes;
(ii) the recipient's preferences for services and supports, including development of a

person-centered plan if requested; and
(iii) formal and informal services and supports based on areas of assessment, such as:

social, health, mental health, residence, family, educational and vocational, safety, legal,
self-determination, financial, and chemical health as determined by the recipient and the
recipient's legal representative and the recipient's support network.

Subd. 5. Provider standards. County boards or providers who contract with the county are
eligible to receive medical assistance reimbursement for adult targeted case management services.
To qualify as a provider of targeted case management services the vendor must:

(1) have demonstrated the capacity and experience to provide the activities of case
management services defined in subdivision 4;

(2) be able to coordinate and link community resources needed by the recipient;
(3) have the administrative capacity and experience to serve the eligible population in

providing services and to ensure quality of services under state and federal requirements;
(4) have a financial management system that provides accurate documentation of services

and costs under state and federal requirements;
(5) have the capacity to document and maintain individual case records complying with

state and federal requirements;
(6) coordinate with county social service agencies responsible for planning for community

social services under chapters 256E and 256F; conducting adult protective investigations under
section 626.557, and conducting prepetition screenings for commitments under section 253B.07;

(7) coordinate with health care providers to ensure access to necessary health care services;
(8) have a procedure in place that notifies the recipient and the recipient's legal

representative of any conflict of interest if the contracted targeted case management service

Copyright © 2011 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



249 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2011 256B.0924

provider also provides the recipient's services and supports and provides information on all
potential conflicts of interest and obtains the recipient's informed consent and provides the
recipient with alternatives; and

(9) have demonstrated the capacity to achieve the following performance outcomes: access,
quality, and consumer satisfaction.

Subd. 6. Payment for targeted case management. (a) Medical assistance and
MinnesotaCare payment for targeted case management shall be made on a monthly basis. In order
to receive payment for an eligible adult, the provider must document at least one contact per
month and not more than two consecutive months without a face-to-face contact with the adult or
the adult's legal representative, family, primary caregiver, or other relevant persons identified as
necessary to the development or implementation of the goals of the personal service plan.

(b) Payment for targeted case management provided by county staff under this subdivision
shall be based on the monthly rate methodology under section 256B.094, subdivision 6, paragraph
(b), calculated as one combined average rate together with adult mental health case management
under section 256B.0625, subdivision 20, except for calendar year 2002. In calendar year 2002,
the rate for case management under this section shall be the same as the rate for adult mental
health case management in effect as of December 31, 2001. Billing and payment must identify the
recipient's primary population group to allow tracking of revenues.

(c) Payment for targeted case management provided by county-contracted vendors shall
be based on a monthly rate negotiated by the host county. The negotiated rate must not exceed
the rate charged by the vendor for the same service to other payers. If the service is provided
by a team of contracted vendors, the county may negotiate a team rate with a vendor who is a
member of the team. The team shall determine how to distribute the rate among its members.
No reimbursement received by contracted vendors shall be returned to the county, except to
reimburse the county for advance funding provided by the county to the vendor.

(d) If the service is provided by a team that includes contracted vendors and county staff, the
costs for county staff participation on the team shall be included in the rate for county-provided
services. In this case, the contracted vendor and the county may each receive separate payment for
services provided by each entity in the same month. In order to prevent duplication of services,
the county must document, in the recipient's file, the need for team targeted case management
and a description of the different roles of the team members.

(e) Notwithstanding section 256B.19, subdivision 1, the nonfederal share of costs for
targeted case management shall be provided by the recipient's county of responsibility, as defined
in sections 256G.01 to 256G.12, from sources other than federal funds or funds used to match
other federal funds.

(f) The commissioner may suspend, reduce, or terminate reimbursement to a provider that
does not meet the reporting or other requirements of this section. The county of responsibility, as
defined in sections 256G.01 to 256G.12, is responsible for any federal disallowances. The county
may share this responsibility with its contracted vendors.

(g) The commissioner shall set aside five percent of the federal funds received under this
section for use in reimbursing the state for costs of developing and implementing this section.

(h) Payments to counties for targeted case management expenditures under this section
shall only be made from federal earnings from services provided under this section. Payments to
contracted vendors shall include both the federal earnings and the county share.
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(i) Notwithstanding section 256B.041, county payments for the cost of case management
services provided by county staff shall not be made to the commissioner of management and
budget. For the purposes of targeted case management services provided by county staff under this
section, the centralized disbursement of payments to counties under section 256B.041 consists
only of federal earnings from services provided under this section.

(j) If the recipient is a resident of a nursing facility, intermediate care facility, or hospital,
and the recipient's institutional care is paid by medical assistance, payment for targeted case
management services under this subdivision is limited to the lesser of:

(1) the last 180 days of the recipient's residency in that facility; or
(2) the limits and conditions which apply to federal Medicaid funding for this service.
(k) Payment for targeted case management services under this subdivision shall not

duplicate payments made under other program authorities for the same purpose.
(l) Any growth in targeted case management services and cost increases under this section

shall be the responsibility of the counties.

Subd. 7. Implementation and evaluation. The commissioner of human services in
consultation with county boards shall establish a program to accomplish the provisions of
subdivisions 1 to 6. The commissioner in consultation with county boards shall establish
performance measures to evaluate the effectiveness of the targeted case management services.
If a county fails to meet agreed-upon performance measures, the commissioner may authorize
contracted providers other than the county. Providers contracted by the commissioner shall also
be subject to the standards in subdivision 6.

History: 1Sp2001 c 9 art 2 s 44; 2002 c 277 s 18; 2002 c 375 art 2 s 31; 2002 c 379 art
1 s 113; 2003 c 112 art 2 s 50; 2005 c 56 s 1; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 3 s 9; 2008 c 363 art 15 s 6,7;
2009 c 101 art 2 s 109

256B.0925 [Repealed, 1995 c 186 s 51]

256B.0926 ADMISSION REVIEW TEAM; INTERMEDIATE CARE FACILITIES.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have
the meanings given them in this subdivision.

(b) "Provider" means a provider of community-based intermediate care facility services
for persons with developmental disabilities.

(c) "Facility" means a community-based intermediate care facility for persons with
developmental disabilities.

(d) "Person" means a person with a developmental disability who is applying for admission
to an intermediate care facility for persons with developmental disabilities.

Subd. 2. Admission review team; responsibilities; composition. (a) Before a person is
admitted to a facility, an admission review team must assure that the provider can meet the needs
of the person as identified in the person's individual service plan required under section 256B.092,
subdivision 1, unless authorized by the commissioner for admittance to a state-operated services
facility.

(b) The admission review team must be assembled pursuant to Code of Federal Regulations,
title 42, section 483.440(b)(2). The composition of the admission review team must meet the
definition of an interdisciplinary team in Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 483.440.
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In addition, the admission review team must meet any conditions agreed to by the provider and
the county where services are to be provided.

(c) The county in which the facility is located may establish an admission review team
which includes at least the following:

(1) a qualified developmental disability professional, as defined in Code of Federal
Regulations, title 42, section 483.440;

(2) a representative of the county in which the provider is located;
(3) at least one professional representing one of the following professions: nursing,

psychology, physical therapy, or occupational therapy; and
(4) a representative of the provider.
If the county in which the facility is located does not establish an admission review team,

the provider shall establish a team whose composition meets the definition of an interdisciplinary
team in Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 483.440. The provider shall invite a
representative of the county agency where the facility is located to be a member of the admission
review team.

Subd. 3. Factors to be considered for admission. (a) The determination of the team to
admit a person to the facility must include, but is not limited to, consideration of the following:

(1) the preferences of the person and the person's guardian or family for services of an
intermediate care facility for persons with developmental disabilities;

(2) the ability of the provider to meet the needs of the person according to the person's
individual service plan and the admission criteria established by the provider;

(3) the availability of a bed in the facility and of nonresidential services required by the
person as specified in the person's individual service plan; and

(4) the need of the person for the services in the facility to prevent placement of the person
in a more restrictive setting.

(b) When there is more than one qualified person applying for admission to the facility, the
admission review team shall determine which applicant shall be offered services first, using the
criteria established in this subdivision. The admission review team shall document the factors
that resulted in the decision to offer services to one qualified person over another. In cases
of emergency, a review of the admission by the admission review team must occur within the
first 14 days of placement.

Subd. 4. Information from provider. The provider must establish admission criteria based
on the level of service that can be provided to persons seeking admission to that facility and must
provide the admission review team with the following information:

(1) a copy of the admission and level of care criteria adopted by the provider; and
(2) a written description of the services that are available to the person seeking admission,

including day services, professional support services, emergency services, available direct
care staffing, supervisory and administrative supports, quality assurance systems, and criteria
established by the provider for discharging persons from the facility.

Subd. 5. Establishment of admission review team; notice to provider.When a county
agency decides to establish admission review teams for the intermediate care facilities for persons
with developmental disabilities located in the county, the county agency shall notify the providers
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of the county agency's intent at least 60 days prior to establishing the teams.
History: 1991 c 292 art 6 s 48; 2005 c 56 s 1; 2011 c 86 s 19

256B.0928 STATEWIDE CAREGIVER SUPPORT AND RESPITE CARE PROJECT.
The commissioner shall establish and maintain a statewide caregiver support and respite

care project. The project shall:
(1) provide information, technical assistance, and training statewide to county agencies and

organizations on direct service models of caregiver support and respite care services;
(2) identify and address issues, concerns, and gaps in the statewide network for caregiver

support and respite care;
(3) maintain a statewide caregiver support and respite care resource center;
(4) educate caregivers on the availability and use of caregiver and respite care services;
(5) promote and expand caregiver training and support groups using existing networks

when possible; and
(6) apply for and manage grants related to caregiver support and respite care.
History: 1992 c 513 art 7 s 75; 1999 c 86 art 2 s 5

256B.093 SERVICES FOR PERSONS WITH TRAUMATIC BRAIN INJURIES.

Subdivision 1. State traumatic brain injury program. The commissioner of human
services shall:

(1) maintain a statewide traumatic brain injury program;
(2) supervise and coordinate services and policies for persons with traumatic brain injuries;
(3) contract with qualified agencies or employ staff to provide statewide administrative

case management and consultation;
(4) maintain an advisory committee to provide recommendations in reports to the

commissioner regarding program and service needs of persons with traumatic brain injuries;
(5) investigate the need for the development of rules or statutes for the traumatic brain

injury home and community-based services waiver;
(6) investigate present and potential models of service coordination which can be delivered

at the local level; and
(7) the advisory committee required by clause (4) must consist of no fewer than ten

members and no more than 30 members. The commissioner shall appoint all advisory committee
members to one- or two-year terms and appoint one member as chair. Notwithstanding section
15.059, subdivision 5, the advisory committee does not terminate until June 30, 2012.

Subd. 2. Eligibility. Persons eligible for traumatic brain injury administrative case
management and consultation must be eligible medical assistance recipients who have traumatic
or certain acquired brain injury and are at risk of institutionalization.

Subd. 3. Traumatic brain injury program duties. The department shall fund
administrative case management under this subdivision using medical assistance administrative
funds. The traumatic brain injury program duties include:

(1) recommending to the commissioner in consultation with the medical review agent
according to Minnesota Rules, parts 9505.0500 to 9505.0540, the approval or denial of medical
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assistance funds to pay for out-of-state placements for traumatic brain injury services and in-state
traumatic brain injury services provided by designated Medicare long-term care hospitals;

(2) coordinating the traumatic brain injury home and community-based waiver;

(3) providing ongoing technical assistance and consultation to county and facility case
managers to facilitate care plan development for appropriate, accessible, and cost-effective
medical assistance services;

(4) providing technical assistance to promote statewide development of appropriate,
accessible, and cost-effective medical assistance services and related policy;

(5) providing training and outreach to facilitate access to appropriate home and
community-based services to prevent institutionalization;

(6) facilitating appropriate admissions, continued stay review, discharges, and utilization
review for neurobehavioral hospitals and other specialized institutions;

(7) providing technical assistance on the use of prior authorization of home care services
and coordination of these services with other medical assistance services;

(8) developing a system for identification of nursing facility and hospital residents with
traumatic brain injury to assist in long-term planning for medical assistance services. Factors will
include, but are not limited to, number of individuals served, length of stay, services received, and
barriers to community placement; and

(9) providing information, referral, and case consultation to access medical assistance
services for recipients without a county or facility case manager. Direct access to this assistance
may be limited due to the structure of the program.

Subd. 3a. Traumatic brain injury case management services. The annual appropriation
established under section 171.29, subdivision 2, paragraph (c), shall be used for traumatic brain
injury program services that include, but are not limited to:

(1) collaborating with counties, providers, and other public and private organizations to
expand and strengthen local capacity for delivering needed services and supports, including
efforts to increase access to supportive residential housing options;

(2) participating in planning and accessing services not otherwise covered in subdivision 3
to allow individuals to attain and maintain community-based services;

(3) providing information, referral, and case consultation to access health and human
services for persons with traumatic brain injury not eligible for medical assistance, though direct
access to this assistance may be limited due to the structure of the program; and

(4) collaborating on injury prevention efforts.

Subd. 4. Definitions. For purposes of this section, the following definitions apply:

(a) "Traumatic brain injury" means a sudden insult or damage to the brain or its coverings,
not of a degenerative or congenital nature. The insult or damage may produce an altered state
of consciousness and may result in a decrease in cognitive, behavioral, emotional, or physical
functioning resulting in partial or total disability.

Copyright © 2011 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



254 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2011 256B.094

(b) "Home care services" means medical assistance home care services defined under
section 256B.0625, subdivisions 6a, 7, and 19a.

History: 1989 c 282 art 3 s 62; 1991 c 292 art 7 s 19; 1992 c 513 art 7 s 76-78; 1Sp1993 c
1 art 5 s 80,81; 1995 c 207 art 6 s 75-78; 1996 c 451 art 5 s 25; 2001 c 161 s 48; 1Sp2001 c 9 art
3 s 47; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 3 s 10; 2006 c 212 art 3 s 20; 2008 c 286 art 1 s 8

256B.094 CHILD WELFARE TARGETED CASE MANAGEMENT SERVICES.

Subdivision 1. Definition. "Child welfare targeted case management services" means
activities that coordinate social and other services designed to help the child under age 21 and the
child's family gain access to needed social services, mental health services, habilitative services,
educational services, health services, vocational services, recreational services, and related
services including, but not limited to, the areas of volunteer services, advocacy, transportation,
and legal services. Case management services include developing an individual service plan
and assisting the child and the child's family in obtaining needed services through coordination
with other agencies and assuring continuity of care. Case managers must assess the delivery,
appropriateness, and effectiveness of services on a regular basis.

Subd. 2. Eligible services. Services eligible for medical assistance reimbursement include:
(1) assessment of the recipient's need for case management services to gain access to

medical, social, educational, and other related services;
(2) development, completion, and regular review of a written individual service plan based

on the assessment of need for case management services to ensure access to medical, social,
educational, and other related services;

(3) routine contact or other communication with the client, the client's family, primary
caregiver, legal representative, substitute care provider, service providers, or other relevant
persons identified as necessary to the development or implementation of the goals of the
individual service plan, regarding the status of the client, the individual service plan, or the goals
for the client, exclusive of transportation of the child;

(4) coordinating referrals for, and the provision of, case management services for the client
with appropriate service providers, consistent with section 1902(a)(23) of the Social Security Act;

(5) coordinating and monitoring the overall service delivery to ensure quality of services;
(6) monitoring and evaluating services on a regular basis to ensure appropriateness and

continued need;
(7) completing and maintaining necessary documentation that supports and verifies the

activities in this subdivision;
(8) traveling to conduct a visit with the client or other relevant person necessary to the

development or implementation of the goals of the individual service plan; and
(9) coordinating with the medical assistance facility discharge planner in the 30-day period

before the client's discharge into the community. This case management service provided to
patients or residents in a medical assistance facility is limited to a maximum of two 30-day
periods per calendar year.

Subd. 3. Coordination and provision of services. (a) In a county or reservation where
a prepaid medical assistance provider has contracted under section 256B.69 to provide mental
health services, the case management provider shall coordinate with the prepaid provider to
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ensure that all necessary mental health services required under the contract are provided to
recipients of case management services.

(b) When the case management provider determines that a prepaid provider is not providing
mental health services as required under the contract, the case management provider shall assist
the recipient to appeal the prepaid provider's denial pursuant to section 256.045, and may make
other arrangements for provision of the covered services.

(c) The case management provider may bill the provider of prepaid health care services for
any mental health services provided to a recipient of case management services which the county
or tribal social services arranges for or provides and which are included in the prepaid provider's
contract, and which were determined to be medically necessary as a result of an appeal pursuant to
section 256.045. The prepaid provider must reimburse the mental health provider, at the prepaid
provider's standard rate for that service, for any services delivered under this subdivision.

(d) If the county or tribal social services has not obtained prior authorization for this service,
or an appeal results in a determination that the services were not medically necessary, the county
or tribal social services may not seek reimbursement from the prepaid provider.

Subd. 4. Case management provider. To be eligible to receive medical assistance
reimbursement, the case management provider must meet all provider qualification and
certification standards under section 256F.10.

Subd. 5. Case manager. To provide case management services, a case manager must be
employed or contracted by and authorized by the case management provider to provide case
management services and meet all requirements under section 256F.10.

Subd. 6.Medical assistance reimbursement of case management services. (a) Medical
assistance reimbursement for services under this section shall be made on a monthly basis.
Payment is based on face-to-face or telephone contacts between the case manager and the
client, client's family, primary caregiver, legal representative, or other relevant person identified
as necessary to the development or implementation of the goals of the individual service plan
regarding the status of the client, the individual service plan, or the goals for the client. These
contacts must meet the minimum standards in clauses (1) and (2):

(1) there must be a face-to-face contact at least once a month except as provided in clause
(2); and

(2) for a client placed outside of the county of financial responsibility, or a client served by
tribal social services placed outside the reservation, in an excluded time facility under section
256G.02, subdivision 6, or through the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children, section
260.851, and the placement in either case is more than 60 miles beyond the county or reservation
boundaries, there must be at least one contact per month and not more than two consecutive
months without a face-to-face contact.

(b) Except as provided under paragraph (c), the payment rate is established using time
study data on activities of provider service staff and reports required under sections 245.482 and
256.01, subdivision 2, paragraph (17).

(c) Payments for tribes may be made according to section 256B.0625 or other relevant
federally approved rate setting methodology for child welfare targeted case management provided
by Indian health services and facilities operated by a tribe or tribal organization.
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(d) Payment for case management provided by county or tribal social services contracted
vendors shall be based on a monthly rate negotiated by the host county or tribal social services.
The negotiated rate must not exceed the rate charged by the vendor for the same service to
other payers. If the service is provided by a team of contracted vendors, the county or tribal
social services may negotiate a team rate with a vendor who is a member of the team. The team
shall determine how to distribute the rate among its members. No reimbursement received by
contracted vendors shall be returned to the county or tribal social services, except to reimburse
the county or tribal social services for advance funding provided by the county or tribal social
services to the vendor.

(e) If the service is provided by a team that includes contracted vendors and county or tribal
social services staff, the costs for county or tribal social services staff participation in the team
shall be included in the rate for county or tribal social services provided services. In this case, the
contracted vendor and the county or tribal social services may each receive separate payment
for services provided by each entity in the same month. To prevent duplication of services, each
entity must document, in the recipient's file, the need for team case management and a description
of the roles and services of the team members.

Separate payment rates may be established for different groups of providers to maximize
reimbursement as determined by the commissioner. The payment rate will be reviewed annually
and revised periodically to be consistent with the most recent time study and other data.
Payment for services will be made upon submission of a valid claim and verification of proper
documentation described in subdivision 7. Federal administrative revenue earned through the
time study, or under paragraph (c), shall be distributed according to earnings, to counties,
reservations, or groups of counties or reservations which have the same payment rate under this
subdivision, and to the group of counties or reservations which are not certified providers under
section 256F.10. The commissioner shall modify the requirements set out in Minnesota Rules,
parts 9550.0300 to 9550.0370, as necessary to accomplish this.

Subd. 7. Documentation for case record and claim. (a) The assessment, case finding,
and individual service plan shall be maintained in the individual case record under the Data
Practices Act, chapter 13. The individual service plan must be reviewed at least annually and
updated as necessary. Each individual case record must maintain documentation of routine,
ongoing, contacts and services. Each claim must be supported by written documentation in the
individual case record.

(b) Each claim must include:
(1) the name of the recipient;
(2) the date of the service;
(3) the name of the provider agency and the person providing service;
(4) the nature and extent of services; and
(5) the place of the services.

Subd. 8. Payment limitation. Services that are not eligible for payment as a child welfare
targeted case management service include, but are not limited to:

(1) assessments prior to opening a case;
(2) therapy and treatment services;
(3) legal services, including legal advocacy, for the client;
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(4) information and referral services that are not provided to an eligible recipient;
(5) outreach services including outreach services provided through the community support

services program;
(6) services that are not documented as required under subdivision 7 and Minnesota Rules,

parts 9505.2165 and 9505.2175;
(7) services that are otherwise eligible for payment on a separate schedule under rules of

the Department of Human Services;
(8) services to a client that duplicate the same case management service from another

case manager;
(9) case management services provided to patients or residents in a medical assistance

facility except as described under subdivision 2, clause (9); and
(10) for children in foster care, group homes, or residential care, payment for case

management services is limited to case management services that focus on permanency planning
or return to the family home and that do not duplicate the facility's discharge planning services.

History: 1Sp1993 c 1 art 3 s 24; 1999 c 139 art 4 s 2; 1999 c 245 art 8 s 6-8; 2000 c 488
art 9 s 17; 2001 c 203 s 11,12; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 11 s 11; 2005 c 98 art 2 s 8; 2009 c 173 art 3 s 11

NOTE: The reference to section 260.851 shall be changed to section 260.93 upon legislative
enactment of the interstate compact in Laws 2008, chapter 361, article 6, section 23 (section
260.93), as amended by Laws 2009, chapter 163, article 1, section 8, by no fewer than 35 states.

256B.0943 CHILDREN'S THERAPEUTIC SERVICES AND SUPPORTS.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. For purposes of this section, the following terms have the
meanings given them.

(a) "Children's therapeutic services and supports" means the flexible package of mental
health services for children who require varying therapeutic and rehabilitative levels of
intervention. The services are time-limited interventions that are delivered using various treatment
modalities and combinations of services designed to reach treatment outcomes identified in the
individual treatment plan.

(b) "Clinical supervision" means the overall responsibility of the mental health professional
for the control and direction of individualized treatment planning, service delivery, and treatment
review for each client. A mental health professional who is an enrolled Minnesota health care
program provider accepts full professional responsibility for a supervisee's actions and decisions,
instructs the supervisee in the supervisee's work, and oversees or directs the supervisee's work.

(c) "County board" means the county board of commissioners or board established under
sections 402.01 to 402.10 or 471.59.

(d) "Crisis assistance" has the meaning given in section 245.4871, subdivision 9a.
(e) "Culturally competent provider" means a provider who understands and can utilize to a

client's benefit the client's culture when providing services to the client. A provider may be
culturally competent because the provider is of the same cultural or ethnic group as the client or
the provider has developed the knowledge and skills through training and experience to provide
services to culturally diverse clients.

(f) "Day treatment program" for children means a site-based structured program consisting
of group psychotherapy for more than three individuals and other intensive therapeutic
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services provided by a multidisciplinary team, under the clinical supervision of a mental health
professional.

(g) "Diagnostic assessment" has the meaning given in section 245.4871, subdivision 11.

(h) "Direct service time" means the time that a mental health professional, mental health
practitioner, or mental health behavioral aide spends face-to-face with a client and the client's
family. Direct service time includes time in which the provider obtains a client's history or
provides service components of children's therapeutic services and supports. Direct service time
does not include time doing work before and after providing direct services, including scheduling,
maintaining clinical records, consulting with others about the client's mental health status,
preparing reports, receiving clinical supervision, and revising the client's individual treatment plan.

(i) "Direction of mental health behavioral aide" means the activities of a mental health
professional or mental health practitioner in guiding the mental health behavioral aide in
providing services to a client. The direction of a mental health behavioral aide must be based on
the client's individualized treatment plan and meet the requirements in subdivision 6, paragraph
(b), clause (5).

(j) "Emotional disturbance" has the meaning given in section 245.4871, subdivision 15.
For persons at least age 18 but under age 21, mental illness has the meaning given in section
245.462, subdivision 20, paragraph (a).

(k) "Individual behavioral plan" means a plan of intervention, treatment, and services for
a child written by a mental health professional or mental health practitioner, under the clinical
supervision of a mental health professional, to guide the work of the mental health behavioral aide.

(l) "Individual treatment plan" has the meaning given in section 245.4871, subdivision 21.

(m) "Mental health behavioral aide services" means medically necessary one-on-one
activities performed by a trained paraprofessional to assist a child retain or generalize psychosocial
skills as taught by a mental health professional or mental health practitioner and as described in
the child's individual treatment plan and individual behavior plan. Activities involve working
directly with the child or child's family as provided in subdivision 9, paragraph (b), clause (4).

(n) "Mental health professional" means an individual as defined in section 245.4871,
subdivision 27, clauses (1) to (6), or tribal vendor as defined in section 256B.02, subdivision 7,
paragraph (b).

(o) "Preschool program" means a day program licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts
9503.0005 to 9503.0175, and enrolled as a children's therapeutic services and supports provider
to provide a structured treatment program to a child who is at least 33 months old but who has
not yet attended the first day of kindergarten.

(p) "Skills training" means individual, family, or group training, delivered by or under the
direction of a mental health professional, designed to facilitate the acquisition of psychosocial
skills that are medically necessary to rehabilitate the child to an age-appropriate developmental
trajectory heretofore disrupted by a psychiatric illness or to self-monitor, compensate for, cope
with, counteract, or replace skills deficits or maladaptive skills acquired over the course of a
psychiatric illness. Skills training is subject to the following requirements:

(1) a mental health professional or a mental health practitioner must provide skills training;
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(2) the child must always be present during skills training; however, a brief absence of the
child for no more than ten percent of the session unit may be allowed to redirect or instruct
family members;

(3) skills training delivered to children or their families must be targeted to the specific
deficits or maladaptations of the child's mental health disorder and must be prescribed in the
child's individual treatment plan;

(4) skills training delivered to the child's family must teach skills needed by parents to
enhance the child's skill development and to help the child use in daily life the skills previously
taught by a mental health professional or mental health practitioner and to develop or maintain a
home environment that supports the child's progressive use skills;

(5) group skills training may be provided to multiple recipients who, because of the nature
of their emotional, behavioral, or social dysfunction, can derive mutual benefit from interaction in
a group setting, which must be staffed as follows:

(i) one mental health professional or one mental health practitioner under supervision of a
licensed mental health professional must work with a group of four to eight clients; or

(ii) two mental health professionals or two mental health practitioners under supervision
of a licensed mental health professional, or one professional plus one practitioner must work
with a group of nine to 12 clients.

Subd. 2. Covered service components of children's therapeutic services and supports.
(a) Subject to federal approval, medical assistance covers medically necessary children's
therapeutic services and supports as defined in this section that an eligible provider entity certified
under subdivision 4 provides to a client eligible under subdivision 3.

(b) The service components of children's therapeutic services and supports are:
(1) individual, family, and group psychotherapy;
(2) individual, family, or group skills training provided by a mental health professional or

mental health practitioner;
(3) crisis assistance;
(4) mental health behavioral aide services; and
(5) direction of a mental health behavioral aide.
(c) Service components in paragraph (b) may be combined to constitute therapeutic

programs, including day treatment programs and therapeutic preschool programs.

Subd. 3. Determination of client eligibility. A client's eligibility to receive children's
therapeutic services and supports under this section shall be determined based on a diagnostic
assessment by a mental health professional that is performed within 180 days of the initial start
of service. The diagnostic assessment must:

(1) include current diagnoses on all five axes of the client's current mental health status;
(2) determine whether a child under age 18 has a diagnosis of emotional disturbance or, if

the person is between the ages of 18 and 21, whether the person has a mental illness;
(3) document children's therapeutic services and supports as medically necessary to address

an identified disability, functional impairment, and the individual client's needs and goals;
(4) be used in the development of the individualized treatment plan; and
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(5) be completed annually until age 18. A client with autism spectrum disorder or pervasive
developmental disorder may receive a diagnostic assessment once every three years, at the request
of the parent or guardian, if a mental health professional agrees there has been little change in
the condition and that an annual assessment is not needed. For individuals between age 18 and
21, unless a client's mental health condition has changed markedly since the client's most recent
diagnostic assessment, annual updating is necessary. For the purpose of this section, "updating"
means a written summary, including current diagnoses on all five axes, by a mental health
professional of the client's current mental health status and service needs.

Subd. 4. Provider entity certification. (a) Effective July 1, 2003, the commissioner shall
establish an initial provider entity application and certification process and recertification process
to determine whether a provider entity has an administrative and clinical infrastructure that meets
the requirements in subdivisions 5 and 6. The commissioner shall recertify a provider entity
at least every three years. The commissioner shall establish a process for decertification of a
provider entity that no longer meets the requirements in this section.

(b) For purposes of this section, a provider entity must be:
(1) an Indian health services facility or a facility owned and operated by a tribe or tribal

organization operating as a 638 facility under Public Law 93-638 certified by the state;
(2) a county-operated entity certified by the state; or
(3) a noncounty entity certified by the state.

Subd. 5. Provider entity administrative infrastructure requirements. (a) To be
an eligible provider entity under this section, a provider entity must have an administrative
infrastructure that establishes authority and accountability for decision making and oversight of
functions, including finance, personnel, system management, clinical practice, and performance
measurement. The provider must have written policies and procedures that it reviews and updates
every three years and distributes to staff initially and upon each subsequent update.

(b) The administrative infrastructure written policies and procedures must include:
(1) personnel procedures, including a process for: (i) recruiting, hiring, training, and

retention of culturally and linguistically competent providers; (ii) conducting a criminal
background check on all direct service providers and volunteers; (iii) investigating, reporting,
and acting on violations of ethical conduct standards; (iv) investigating, reporting, and acting on
violations of data privacy policies that are compliant with federal and state laws; (v) utilizing
volunteers, including screening applicants, training and supervising volunteers, and providing
liability coverage for volunteers; and (vi) documenting that each mental health professional,
mental health practitioner, or mental health behavioral aide meets the applicable provider
qualification criteria, training criteria under subdivision 8, and clinical supervision or direction of
a mental health behavioral aide requirements under subdivision 6;

(2) fiscal procedures, including internal fiscal control practices and a process for collecting
revenue that is compliant with federal and state laws;

(3) a performance measurement system, including monitoring to determine cultural
appropriateness of services identified in the individual treatment plan, as determined by the
client's culture, beliefs, values, and language, and family-driven services; and

(4) a process to establish and maintain individual client records. The client's records must
include:
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(i) the client's personal information;
(ii) forms applicable to data privacy;
(iii) the client's diagnostic assessment, updates, results of tests, individual treatment plan,

and individual behavior plan, if necessary;
(iv) documentation of service delivery as specified under subdivision 6;
(v) telephone contacts;
(vi) discharge plan; and
(vii) if applicable, insurance information.
(c) A provider entity that uses a restrictive procedure with a client must meet the

requirements of section 245.8261.

Subd. 5a. Background studies. The requirements for background studies under this
section may be met by a children's therapeutic services and supports services agency through
the commissioner's NETStudy system as provided under sections 245C.03, subdivision 7, and
245C.10, subdivision 8.

Subd. 6. Provider entity clinical infrastructure requirements. (a) To be an eligible
provider entity under this section, a provider entity must have a clinical infrastructure that utilizes
diagnostic assessment, individualized treatment plans, service delivery, and individual treatment
plan review that are culturally competent, child-centered, and family-driven to achieve maximum
benefit for the client. The provider entity must review, and update as necessary, the clinical
policies and procedures every three years and must distribute the policies and procedures to
staff initially and upon each subsequent update.

(b) The clinical infrastructure written policies and procedures must include policies and
procedures for:

(1) providing or obtaining a client's diagnostic assessment that identifies acute and chronic
clinical disorders, co-occurring medical conditions, sources of psychological and environmental
problems, including a functional assessment. The functional assessment component must clearly
summarize the client's individual strengths and needs;

(2) developing an individual treatment plan that:
(i) is based on the information in the client's diagnostic assessment;
(ii) identified goals and objectives of treatment, treatment strategy, schedule for

accomplishing treatment goals and objectives, and the individuals responsible for providing
treatment services and supports;

(iii) is developed after completion of the client's diagnostic assessment by a mental health
professional and before the provision of children's therapeutic services and supports;

(iv) is developed through a child-centered, family-driven, culturally appropriate planning
process;

(v) is reviewed at least once every 90 days and revised, if necessary; and
(vi) is signed by the clinical supervisor and by the client or by the client's parent or other

person authorized by statute to consent to mental health services for the client;
(3) developing an individual behavior plan that documents treatment strategies to be

provided by the mental health behavioral aide. The individual behavior plan must include:
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(i) detailed instructions on the treatment strategies to be provided;
(ii) time allocated to each treatment strategy;
(iii) methods of documenting the child's behavior;
(iv) methods of monitoring the child's progress in reaching objectives; and
(v) goals to increase or decrease targeted behavior as identified in the individual treatment

plan;
(4) providing clinical supervision of the mental health practitioner and mental health

behavioral aide. A mental health professional must document the clinical supervision the
professional provides by cosigning individual treatment plans and making entries in the client's
record on supervisory activities. Clinical supervision does not include the authority to make or
terminate court-ordered placements of the child. A clinical supervisor must be available for urgent
consultation as required by the individual client's needs or the situation. Clinical supervision may
occur individually or in a small group to discuss treatment and review progress toward goals. The
focus of clinical supervision must be the client's treatment needs and progress and the mental
health practitioner's or behavioral aide's ability to provide services;

(4a) meeting day treatment and therapeutic preschool programs conditions in items (i)
to (iii):

(i) the supervisor must be present and available on the premises more than 50 percent of
the time in a five-working-day period during which the supervisee is providing a mental health
service;

(ii) the diagnosis and the client's individual treatment plan or a change in the diagnosis or
individual treatment plan must be made by or reviewed, approved, and signed by the supervisor;
and

(iii) every 30 days, the supervisor must review and sign the record indicating the supervisor
has reviewed the client's care for all activities in the preceding 30-day period;

(4b) meeting the clinical supervision standards in items (i) to (iii) for all other services
provided under CTSS:

(i) medical assistance shall reimburse for services provided by a mental health practitioner
who maintains a consulting relationship with a mental health professional who accepts full
professional responsibility;

(ii) medical assistance shall reimburse for services provided by a mental health behavioral
aide who maintains a consulting relationship with a mental health professional who accepts full
professional responsibility and has an approved plan for clinical supervision of the behavioral
aide. Plans will be approved in accordance with supervision standards promulgated by the
commissioner of human services;

(iii) the mental health professional is required to be present on site for observation as
clinically appropriate when the mental health practitioner or mental health behavioral aide is
providing CTSS services; and

(iv) when conducted, the on-site presence of the mental health professional must be
documented in the child's record and signed by the mental health professional who accepts full
professional responsibility;

(5) providing direction to a mental health behavioral aide. For entities that employ mental
health behavioral aides, the clinical supervisor must be employed by the provider entity or
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other certified children's therapeutic supports and services provider entity to ensure necessary
and appropriate oversight for the client's treatment and continuity of care. The mental health
professional or mental health practitioner giving direction must begin with the goals on the
individualized treatment plan, and instruct the mental health behavioral aide on how to construct
therapeutic activities and interventions that will lead to goal attainment. The professional or
practitioner giving direction must also instruct the mental health behavioral aide about the client's
diagnosis, functional status, and other characteristics that are likely to affect service delivery.
Direction must also include determining that the mental health behavioral aide has the skills to
interact with the client and the client's family in ways that convey personal and cultural respect
and that the aide actively solicits information relevant to treatment from the family. The aide
must be able to clearly explain the activities the aide is doing with the client and the activities'
relationship to treatment goals. Direction is more didactic than is supervision and requires the
professional or practitioner providing it to continuously evaluate the mental health behavioral
aide's ability to carry out the activities of the individualized treatment plan and the individualized
behavior plan. When providing direction, the professional or practitioner must:

(i) review progress notes prepared by the mental health behavioral aide for accuracy and
consistency with diagnostic assessment, treatment plan, and behavior goals and the professional
or practitioner must approve and sign the progress notes;

(ii) identify changes in treatment strategies, revise the individual behavior plan, and
communicate treatment instructions and methodologies as appropriate to ensure that treatment
is implemented correctly;

(iii) demonstrate family-friendly behaviors that support healthy collaboration among the
child, the child's family, and providers as treatment is planned and implemented;

(iv) ensure that the mental health behavioral aide is able to effectively communicate with
the child, the child's family, and the provider; and

(v) record the results of any evaluation and corrective actions taken to modify the work of
the mental health behavioral aide;

(6) providing service delivery that implements the individual treatment plan and meets the
requirements under subdivision 9; and

(7) individual treatment plan review. The review must determine the extent to which the
services have met the goals and objectives in the previous treatment plan. The review must
assess the client's progress and ensure that services and treatment goals continue to be necessary
and appropriate to the client and the client's family or foster family. Revision of the individual
treatment plan does not require a new diagnostic assessment unless the client's mental health
status has changed markedly. The updated treatment plan must be signed by the clinical supervisor
and by the client, if appropriate, and by the client's parent or other person authorized by statute to
give consent to the mental health services for the child.

Subd. 7. Qualifications of individual and team providers. (a) An individual or team
provider working within the scope of the provider's practice or qualifications may provide service
components of children's therapeutic services and supports that are identified as medically
necessary in a client's individual treatment plan.

(b) An individual provider must be qualified as:

(1) a mental health professional as defined in subdivision 1, paragraph (n); or
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(2) a mental health practitioner as defined in section 245.4871, subdivision 26. The mental
health practitioner must work under the clinical supervision of a mental health professional; or

(3) a mental health behavioral aide working under the clinical supervision of a mental
health professional to implement the rehabilitative mental health services identified in the client's
individual treatment plan and individual behavior plan.

(A) A level I mental health behavioral aide must:
(i) be at least 18 years old;
(ii) have a high school diploma or general equivalency diploma (GED) or two years

of experience as a primary caregiver to a child with severe emotional disturbance within the
previous ten years; and

(iii) meet preservice and continuing education requirements under subdivision 8.
(B) A level II mental health behavioral aide must:
(i) be at least 18 years old;
(ii) have an associate or bachelor's degree or 4,000 hours of experience in delivering clinical

services in the treatment of mental illness concerning children or adolescents; and
(iii) meet preservice and continuing education requirements in subdivision 8.
(c) A preschool program multidisciplinary team must include at least one mental health

professional and one or more of the following individuals under the clinical supervision of a
mental health professional:

(i) a mental health practitioner; or
(ii) a program person, including a teacher, assistant teacher, or aide, who meets the

qualifications and training standards of a level I mental health behavioral aide.
(d) A day treatment multidisciplinary team must include at least one mental health

professional and one mental health practitioner.

Subd. 8. Required preservice and continuing education. (a) A provider entity shall
establish a plan to provide preservice and continuing education for staff. The plan must clearly
describe the type of training necessary to maintain current skills and obtain new skills and that
relates to the provider entity's goals and objectives for services offered.

(b) A provider that employs a mental health behavioral aide under this section must require
the mental health behavioral aide to complete 30 hours of preservice training. The preservice
training must include topics specified in Minnesota Rules, part 9535.4068, subparts 1 and 2, and
parent team training. The preservice training must include 15 hours of in-person training of a
mental health behavioral aide in mental health services delivery and eight hours of parent team
training. Curricula for parent team training must be approved in advance by the commissioner.
Components of parent team training include:

(1) partnering with parents;
(2) fundamentals of family support;
(3) fundamentals of policy and decision making;
(4) defining equal partnership;
(5) complexities of the parent and service provider partnership in multiple service delivery

systems due to system strengths and weaknesses;
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(6) sibling impacts;

(7) support networks; and

(8) community resources.

(c) A provider entity that employs a mental health practitioner and a mental health
behavioral aide to provide children's therapeutic services and supports under this section must
require the mental health practitioner and mental health behavioral aide to complete 20 hours
of continuing education every two calendar years. The continuing education must be related to
serving the needs of a child with emotional disturbance in the child's home environment and the
child's family. The topics covered in orientation and training must conform to Minnesota Rules,
part 9535.4068.

(d) The provider entity must document the mental health practitioner's or mental health
behavioral aide's annual completion of the required continuing education. The documentation
must include the date, subject, and number of hours of the continuing education, and attendance
records, as verified by the staff member's signature, job title, and the instructor's name. The
provider entity must keep documentation for each employee, including records of attendance at
professional workshops and conferences, at a central location and in the employee's personnel file.

Subd. 9. Service delivery criteria. (a) In delivering services under this section, a certified
provider entity must ensure that:

(1) each individual provider's caseload size permits the provider to deliver services to both
clients with severe, complex needs and clients with less intensive needs. The provider's caseload
size should reasonably enable the provider to play an active role in service planning, monitoring,
and delivering services to meet the client's and client's family's needs, as specified in each client's
individual treatment plan;

(2) site-based programs, including day treatment and preschool programs, provide staffing
and facilities to ensure the client's health, safety, and protection of rights, and that the programs
are able to implement each client's individual treatment plan;

(3) a day treatment program is provided to a group of clients by a multidisciplinary team
under the clinical supervision of a mental health professional. The day treatment program must be
provided in and by: (i) an outpatient hospital accredited by the Joint Commission on Accreditation
of Health Organizations and licensed under sections 144.50 to 144.55; (ii) a community mental
health center under section 245.62; or (iii) an entity that is under contract with the county board to
operate a program that meets the requirements of section 245.4712, subdivision 2, or 245.4884,
subdivision 2, and Minnesota Rules, parts 9505.0170 to 9505.0475. The day treatment program
must stabilize the client's mental health status while developing and improving the client's
independent living and socialization skills. The goal of the day treatment program must be to
reduce or relieve the effects of mental illness and provide training to enable the client to live in
the community. The program must be available at least one day a week for a two-hour time block.
The two-hour time block must include at least one hour of individual or group psychotherapy. The
remainder of the structured treatment program may include individual or group psychotherapy,
and individual or group skills training, if included in the client's individual treatment plan. Day
treatment programs are not part of inpatient or residential treatment services. A day treatment
program may provide fewer than the minimally required hours for a particular child during a
billing period in which the child is transitioning into, or out of, the program; and
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(4) a therapeutic preschool program is a structured treatment program offered to a child
who is at least 33 months old, but who has not yet reached the first day of kindergarten, by
a preschool multidisciplinary team in a day program licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts
9503.0005 to 9503.0175. The program must be available two hours per day, five days per week,
and 12 months of each calendar year. The structured treatment program may include individual or
group psychotherapy and individual or group skills training, if included in the client's individual
treatment plan. A therapeutic preschool program may provide fewer than the minimally required
hours for a particular child during a billing period in which the child is transitioning into, or
out of, the program.

(b) A provider entity must deliver the service components of children's therapeutic services
and supports in compliance with the following requirements:

(1) individual, family, and group psychotherapy must be delivered as specified in Minnesota
Rules, part 9505.0323;

(2) individual, family, or group skills training must be provided by a mental health
professional or a mental health practitioner who has a consulting relationship with a mental health
professional who accepts full professional responsibility for the training;

(3) crisis assistance must be time-limited and designed to resolve or stabilize crisis through
arrangements for direct intervention and support services to the child and the child's family.
Crisis assistance must utilize resources designed to address abrupt or substantial changes in the
functioning of the child or the child's family as evidenced by a sudden change in behavior with
negative consequences for well being, a loss of usual coping mechanisms, or the presentation
of danger to self or others;

(4) mental health behavioral aide services must be medically necessary treatment services,
identified in the child's individual treatment plan and individual behavior plan, which are
performed minimally by a paraprofessional qualified according to subdivision 7, paragraph (b),
clause (3), and which are designed to improve the functioning of the child in the progressive use
of developmentally appropriate psychosocial skills. Activities involve working directly with
the child, child-peer groupings, or child-family groupings to practice, repeat, reintroduce, and
master the skills defined in subdivision 1, paragraph (p), as previously taught by a mental health
professional or mental health practitioner including:

(i) providing cues or prompts in skill-building peer-to-peer or parent-child interactions so
that the child progressively recognizes and responds to the cues independently;

(ii) performing as a practice partner or role-play partner;

(iii) reinforcing the child's accomplishments;

(iv) generalizing skill-building activities in the child's multiple natural settings;

(v) assigning further practice activities; and

(vi) intervening as necessary to redirect the child's target behavior and to de-escalate
behavior that puts the child or other person at risk of injury.

A mental health behavioral aide must document the delivery of services in written progress notes.
The mental health behavioral aide must implement treatment strategies in the individual treatment
plan and the individual behavior plan. The mental health behavioral aide must document the
delivery of services in written progress notes. Progress notes must reflect implementation of the
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treatment strategies, as performed by the mental health behavioral aide and the child's responses
to the treatment strategies; and

(5) direction of a mental health behavioral aide must include the following:

(i) a clinical supervision plan approved by the responsible mental health professional;

(ii) ongoing on-site observation by a mental health professional or mental health practitioner
for at least a total of one hour during every 40 hours of service provided to a child; and

(iii) immediate accessibility of the mental health professional or mental health practitioner
to the mental health behavioral aide during service provision.

Subd. 10. Service authorization. The commissioner shall publish in the State Register a
list of health services that require prior authorization, as well as the criteria and standards used to
select health services on the list. The list and the criteria and standards used to formulate the list
are not subject to the requirements of sections 14.001 to 14.69. The commissioner's decision on
whether prior authorization is required for a health service is not subject to administrative appeal.

Subd. 11. Documentation and billing. (a) A provider entity must document the services
it provides under this section. The provider entity must ensure that the entity's documentation
standards meet the requirements of federal and state laws. Services billed under this section that
are not documented according to this subdivision shall be subject to monetary recovery by the
commissioner. The provider entity may not bill for anything other than direct service time.

(b) An individual mental health provider must promptly document the following in a
client's record after providing services to the client:

(1) each occurrence of the client's mental health service, including the date, type, length,
and scope of the service;

(2) the name of the person who gave the service;

(3) contact made with other persons interested in the client, including representatives of
the courts, corrections systems, or schools. The provider must document the name and date
of each contact;

(4) any contact made with the client's other mental health providers, case manager, family
members, primary caregiver, legal representative, or the reason the provider did not contact the
client's family members, primary caregiver, or legal representative, if applicable; and

(5) required clinical supervision, as appropriate.

Subd. 12. Excluded services. The following services are not eligible for medical assistance
payment as children's therapeutic services and supports:

(1) service components of children's therapeutic services and supports simultaneously
provided by more than one provider entity unless prior authorization is obtained;

(2) treatment by multiple providers within the same agency at the same clock time;

(3) children's therapeutic services and supports provided in violation of medical assistance
policy in Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0220;

(4) mental health behavioral aide services provided by a personal care assistant who is not
qualified as a mental health behavioral aide and employed by a certified children's therapeutic
services and supports provider entity;
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(5) service components of CTSS that are the responsibility of a residential or program
license holder, including foster care providers under the terms of a service agreement or
administrative rules governing licensure;

(6) adjunctive activities that may be offered by a provider entity but are not otherwise
covered by medical assistance, including:

(i) a service that is primarily recreation oriented or that is provided in a setting that is not
medically supervised. This includes sports activities, exercise groups, activities such as craft
hours, leisure time, social hours, meal or snack time, trips to community activities, and tours;

(ii) a social or educational service that does not have or cannot reasonably be expected to
have a therapeutic outcome related to the client's emotional disturbance;

(iii) consultation with other providers or service agency staff about the care or progress
of a client;

(iv) prevention or education programs provided to the community; and
(v) treatment for clients with primary diagnoses of alcohol or other drug abuse; and
(7) activities that are not direct service time.

Subd. 13. Exception to excluded services. Notwithstanding subdivision 12, up to 15 hours
of children's therapeutic services and supports provided within a six-month period to a child with
severe emotional disturbance who is residing in a hospital; a group home as defined in Minnesota
Rules, parts 2960.0130 to 2960.0220; a residential treatment facility licensed under Minnesota
Rules, parts 2960.0580 to 2960.0690; a regional treatment center; or other institutional group
setting or who is participating in a program of partial hospitalization are eligible for medical
assistance payment if part of the discharge plan.

History: 1Sp2003 c 14 art 4 s 8; 2004 c 228 art 1 s 38-42; 2005 c 98 art 2 s 9-11; 1Sp2005
c 4 art 2 s 11; 2007 c 147 art 8 s 22; art 11 s 18-21; 2008 c 234 s 4; 2009 c 79 art 7 s 19,21; 2009
c 142 art 2 s 38-40; 2009 c 167 s 14-20; 2010 c 303 s 5; 1Sp2011 c 9 art 3 s 4

256B.0944 CHILDREN'S MENTAL HEALTH CRISIS RESPONSE SERVICES.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. For purposes of this section, the following terms have the
meanings given them.

(a) "Mental health crisis" means a child's behavioral, emotional, or psychiatric situation
that, but for the provision of crisis response services to the child, would likely result in
significantly reduced levels of functioning in primary activities of daily living, an emergency
situation, or the child's placement in a more restrictive setting, including, but not limited to,
inpatient hospitalization.

(b) "Mental health emergency" means a child's behavioral, emotional, or psychiatric
situation that causes an immediate need for mental health services and is consistent with section
62Q.55. A physician, mental health professional, or crisis mental health practitioner determines a
mental health crisis or emergency for medical assistance reimbursement with input from the client
and the client's family, if possible.

(c) "Mental health crisis assessment" means an immediate face-to-face assessment by a
physician, mental health professional, or mental health practitioner under the clinical supervision
of a mental health professional, following a screening that suggests the child may be experiencing
a mental health crisis or mental health emergency situation.
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(d) "Mental health mobile crisis intervention services" means face-to-face, short-term
intensive mental health services initiated during a mental health crisis or mental health emergency.
Mental health mobile crisis services must help the recipient cope with immediate stressors,
identify and utilize available resources and strengths, and begin to return to the recipient's baseline
level of functioning. Mental health mobile services must be provided on site by a mobile crisis
intervention team outside of an emergency room, urgent care, or an inpatient hospital setting.

(e) "Mental health crisis stabilization services" means individualized mental health services
provided to a recipient following crisis intervention services that are designed to restore the
recipient to the recipient's prior functional level. The individual treatment plan recommending
mental health crisis stabilization must be completed by the intervention team or by staff after
an inpatient or urgent care visit. Mental health crisis stabilization services may be provided in
the recipient's home, the home of a family member or friend of the recipient, schools, another
community setting, or a short-term supervised, licensed residential program if the service is
not included in the facility's cost pool or per diem. Mental health crisis stabilization is not
reimbursable when provided as part of a partial hospitalization or day treatment program.

Subd. 2.Medical assistance coverage. Medical assistance covers medically necessary
children's mental health crisis response services, subject to federal approval, if provided to an
eligible recipient under subdivision 3, by a qualified provider entity under subdivision 4 or a
qualified individual provider working within the provider's scope of practice, and identified in the
recipient's individual crisis treatment plan under subdivision 8.

Subd. 3. Eligibility. An eligible recipient is an individual who:
(1) is eligible for medical assistance;
(2) is under age 18 or between the ages of 18 and 21;
(3) is screened as possibly experiencing a mental health crisis or mental health emergency

where a mental health crisis assessment is needed;
(4) is assessed as experiencing a mental health crisis or mental health emergency, and

mental health mobile crisis intervention or mental health crisis stabilization services are
determined to be medically necessary; and

(5) meets the criteria for emotional disturbance or mental illness.

Subd. 4. Provider entity standards. (a) A crisis intervention and crisis stabilization
provider entity must meet the administrative and clinical standards specified in section 256B.0943,
subdivisions 5 and 6, meet the standards listed in paragraph (b), and be:

(1) an Indian health service facility or facility owned and operated by a tribe or a tribal
organization operating under Public Law 93-638 as a 638 facility;

(2) a county board-operated entity; or
(3) a provider entity that is under contract with the county board in the county where

the potential crisis or emergency is occurring.
(b) The children's mental health crisis response services provider entity must:
(1) ensure that mental health crisis assessment and mobile crisis intervention services are

available 24 hours a day, seven days a week;
(2) directly provide the services or, if services are subcontracted, the provider entity must

maintain clinical responsibility for services and billing;

Copyright © 2011 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



270 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2011 256B.0944

(3) ensure that crisis intervention services are provided in a manner consistent with sections
245.487 to 245.4889; and

(4) develop and maintain written policies and procedures regarding service provision that
include safety of staff and recipients in high-risk situations.

Subd. 4a. Alternative provider standards. If a provider entity demonstrates that, due
to geographic or other barriers, it is not feasible to provide mobile crisis intervention services
24 hours a day, seven days a week, according to the standards in subdivision 4, paragraph (b),
clause (1), the commissioner may approve a crisis response provider based on an alternative plan
proposed by a provider entity. The alternative plan must:

(1) result in increased access and a reduction in disparities in the availability of crisis
services; and

(2) provide mobile services outside of the usual nine-to-five office hours and on weekends
and holidays.

Subd. 5.Mobile crisis intervention staff qualifications. (a) To provide children's mental
health mobile crisis intervention services, a mobile crisis intervention team must include:

(1) at least two mental health professionals as defined in section 256B.0943, subdivision
1, paragraph (n); or

(2) a combination of at least one mental health professional and one mental health
practitioner as defined in section 245.4871, subdivision 26, with the required mental health crisis
training and under the clinical supervision of a mental health professional on the team.

(b) The team must have at least two people with at least one member providing on-site
crisis intervention services when needed. Team members must be experienced in mental health
assessment, crisis intervention techniques, and clinical decision making under emergency
conditions and have knowledge of local services and resources. The team must recommend
and coordinate the team's services with appropriate local resources, including the county social
services agency, mental health service providers, and local law enforcement, if necessary.

Subd. 6. Initial screening and crisis assessment planning. (a) Before initiating mobile
crisis intervention services, a screening of the potential crisis situation must be conducted.
The screening may use the resources of crisis assistance and emergency services as defined in
sections 245.4871, subdivision 14, and 245.4879, subdivisions 1 and 2. The screening must
gather information, determine whether a crisis situation exists, identify the parties involved, and
determine an appropriate response.

(b) If a crisis exists, a crisis assessment must be completed. A crisis assessment must
evaluate any immediate needs for which emergency services are needed and, as time permits,
the recipient's current life situation, sources of stress, mental health problems and symptoms,
strengths, cultural considerations, support network, vulnerabilities, and current functioning.

(c) If the crisis assessment determines mobile crisis intervention services are needed, the
intervention services must be provided promptly. As the opportunity presents itself during the
intervention, at least two members of the mobile crisis intervention team must confer directly or
by telephone about the assessment, treatment plan, and actions taken and needed. At least one
of the team members must be on site providing crisis intervention services. If providing on-site
crisis intervention services, a mental health practitioner must seek clinical supervision as required
under subdivision 9.
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(d) The mobile crisis intervention team must develop an initial, brief crisis treatment plan
as soon as appropriate but no later than 24 hours after the initial face-to-face intervention. The
plan must address the needs and problems noted in the crisis assessment and include measurable
short-term goals, cultural considerations, and frequency and type of services to be provided to
achieve the goals and reduce or eliminate the crisis. The crisis treatment plan must be updated
as needed to reflect current goals and services. The team must involve the client and the client's
family in developing and implementing the plan.

(e) The team must document in progress notes which short-term goals have been met and
when no further crisis intervention services are required.

(f) If the client's crisis is stabilized, but the client needs a referral for mental health crisis
stabilization services or to other services, the team must provide a referral to these services. If
the recipient has a case manager, planning for other services must be coordinated with the case
manager.

Subd. 7. Crisis stabilization services. (a) Crisis stabilization services must be provided
by a mental health professional or a mental health practitioner who works under the clinical
supervision of a mental health professional and for a crisis stabilization services provider entity
and must meet the following standards:

(1) a crisis stabilization treatment plan must be developed which meets the criteria in
subdivision 8;

(2) services must be delivered according to the treatment plan and include face-to-face
contact with the recipient by qualified staff for further assessment, help with referrals, updating
the crisis stabilization treatment plan, supportive counseling, skills training, and collaboration
with other service providers in the community; and

(3) mental health practitioners must have completed at least 30 hours of training in crisis
intervention and stabilization during the past two years.

Subd. 8. Treatment plan. (a) The individual crisis stabilization treatment plan must
include, at a minimum:

(1) a list of problems identified in the assessment;
(2) a list of the recipient's strengths and resources;
(3) concrete, measurable short-term goals and tasks to be achieved, including time frames

for achievement of the goals;
(4) specific objectives directed toward the achievement of each goal;
(5) documentation of the participants involved in the service planning;
(6) planned frequency and type of services initiated;
(7) a crisis response action plan if a crisis should occur; and
(8) clear progress notes on the outcome of goals.
(b) The client, if clinically appropriate, must be a participant in the development of the

crisis stabilization treatment plan. The client or the client's legal guardian must sign the service
plan or documentation must be provided why this was not possible. A copy of the plan must be
given to the client and the client's legal guardian. The plan should include services arranged,
including specific providers where applicable.
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(c) A treatment plan must be developed by a mental health professional or mental health
practitioner under the clinical supervision of a mental health professional. A written plan must be
completed within 24 hours of beginning services with the client.

Subd. 9. Supervision. (a) A mental health practitioner may provide crisis assessment and
mobile crisis intervention services if the following clinical supervision requirements are met:

(1) the mental health provider entity must accept full responsibility for the services
provided;

(2) the mental health professional of the provider entity, who is an employee or under
contract with the provider entity, must be immediately available by telephone or in person for
clinical supervision;

(3) the mental health professional is consulted, in person or by telephone, during the first
three hours when a mental health practitioner provides on-site service; and

(4) the mental health professional must review and approve the tentative crisis assessment
and crisis treatment plan, document the consultation, and sign the crisis assessment and treatment
plan within the next business day.

(b) If the mobile crisis intervention services continue into a second calendar day, a mental
health professional must contact the client face-to-face on the second day to provide services and
update the crisis treatment plan. The on-site observation must be documented in the client's record
and signed by the mental health professional.

Subd. 10. Client record. The provider must maintain a file for each client that complies
with the requirements under section 256B.0943, subdivision 11, and contains the following
information:

(1) individual crisis treatment plans signed by the recipient, mental health professional, and
mental health practitioner who developed the crisis treatment plan, or if the recipient refused to
sign the plan, the date and reason stated by the recipient for not signing the plan;

(2) signed release of information forms;
(3) recipient health information and current medications;
(4) emergency contacts for the recipient;
(5) case records that document the date of service, place of service delivery, signature of

the person providing the service, and the nature, extent, and units of service. Direct or telephone
contact with the recipient's family or others should be documented;

(6) required clinical supervision by mental health professionals;
(7) summary of the recipient's case reviews by staff; and
(8) any written information by the recipient that the recipient wants in the file.

Subd. 11. Excluded services. The following services are excluded from reimbursement
under this section:

(1) room and board services;
(2) services delivered to a recipient while admitted to an inpatient hospital;
(3) transportation services under children's mental health crisis response service;
(4) services provided and billed by a provider who is not enrolled under medical assistance

to provide children's mental health crisis response services;

Copyright © 2011 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



273 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2011 256B.0945

(5) crisis response services provided by a residential treatment center to clients in their
facility;

(6) services performed by volunteers;
(7) direct billing of time spent "on call" when not delivering services to a recipient;
(8) provider service time included in case management reimbursement;
(9) outreach services to potential recipients; and
(10) a mental health service that is not medically necessary.
History: 1Sp2003 c 14 art 4 s 9; art 11 s 11; 2007 c 147 art 8 s 38; 2009 c 79 art 7 s

22; 2009 c 167 s 21

256B.0945 SERVICES FOR CHILDRENWITH SEVERE EMOTIONAL DISTURBANCE.

Subdivision 1. Residential services; provider qualifications. Counties must arrange to
provide residential services for children with severe emotional disturbance according to sections
245.4882, 245.4885, and this section. Services must be provided by a facility that is licensed
according to section 245.4882 and administrative rules promulgated thereunder, and under
contract with the county. Eligible service costs may be claimed for a facility that is located in a
state that borders Minnesota if:

(1) the facility is the closest facility to the child's home, providing the appropriate level of
care; and

(2) the commissioner of human services has completed an inspection of the out-of-state
program according to the interagency agreement with the commissioner of corrections under
section 260B.198, subdivision 11, paragraph (b), and the program has been certified by
the commissioner of corrections under section 260B.198, subdivision 11, paragraph (a), to
substantially meet the standards applicable to children's residential mental health treatment
programs under Minnesota Rules, chapter 2960. Nothing in this section requires the commissioner
of human services to enforce the background study requirements under chapter 245C or the
requirements related to prevention and investigation of alleged maltreatment under section
626.556 or 626.557. Complaints received by the commissioner of human services must be
referred to the out-of-state licensing authority for possible follow-up.

Subd. 2. Covered services. All services must be included in a child's individualized
treatment or multiagency plan of care as defined in chapter 245.

For facilities that are not institutions for mental diseases according to federal statute and
regulation, medical assistance covers mental health-related services that are required to be
provided by a residential facility under section 245.4882 and administrative rules promulgated
thereunder, except for room and board.

Subd. 3. Centralized disbursement of medical assistance payments. Notwithstanding
section 256B.041, county payments for the cost of residential services provided under this section
shall not be made to the commissioner of management and budget.

Subd. 4. Payment rates. (a) Notwithstanding sections 256B.19 and 256B.041, payments to
counties for residential services provided by a residential facility shall only be made of federal
earnings for services provided under this section, and the nonfederal share of costs for services
provided under this section shall be paid by the county from sources other than federal funds or
funds used to match other federal funds. Payment to counties for services provided according
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to this section shall be a proportion of the per day contract rate that relates to rehabilitative
mental health services and shall not include payment for costs or services that are billed to the
IV-E program as room and board.

(b) Per diem rates paid to providers under this section by prepaid plans shall be the
proportion of the per-day contract rate that relates to rehabilitative mental health services and
shall not include payment for group foster care costs or services that are billed to the county of
financial responsibility. Services provided in facilities located in bordering states are eligible for
reimbursement on a fee-for-service basis only as described in paragraph (a) and are not covered
under prepaid health plans.

(c) Payment for mental health rehabilitative services provided under this section by or under
contract with an American Indian tribe or tribal organization or by agencies operated by or under
contract with an American Indian tribe or tribal organization must be made according to section
256B.0625, subdivision 34, or other relevant federally approved rate-setting methodology.

(d) The commissioner shall set aside a portion not to exceed five percent of the federal
funds earned for county expenditures under this section to cover the state costs of administering
this section. Any unexpended funds from the set-aside shall be distributed to the counties in
proportion to their earnings under this section.

Subd. 5. [Repealed, 2006 c 282 art 16 s 17]

Subd. 6. [Repealed, 2006 c 282 art 16 s 17]

Subd. 7. [Repealed, 2006 c 282 art 16 s 17]

Subd. 8. [Repealed, 2006 c 282 art 16 s 17]

Subd. 9. [Repealed, 2006 c 282 art 16 s 17]

Subd. 10. [Repealed, 1Sp2003 c 14 art 4 s 24]
History: 1999 c 245 art 8 s 9; 2000 c 340 s 4-11; 2002 c 277 s 19; 2003 c 112 art 2 s 50;

1Sp2003 c 14 art 4 s 10,11; art 11 s 11; 2006 c 282 art 16 s 7; 2007 c 147 art 8 s 23; 2009 c 101
art 2 s 109; 2009 c 174 art 1 s 5,6; 1Sp2011 c 9 art 8 s 7

256B.0946 TREATMENT FOSTER CARE.

Subdivision 1. Covered service. (a) Effective July 1, 2006, and subject to federal approval,
medical assistance covers medically necessary services described under paragraph (b) that are
provided by a provider entity eligible under subdivision 3 to a client eligible under subdivision 2
who is placed in a treatment foster home licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts 2960.3000 to
2960.3340.

(b) Services to children with severe emotional disturbance residing in treatment foster care
settings must meet the relevant standards for mental health services under sections 245.487 to
245.4889. In addition, specific service components reimbursed by medical assistance must meet
the following standards:

(1) case management service component must meet the standards in Minnesota Rules, parts
9520.0900 to 9520.0926 and 9505.0322, excluding subparts 6 and 10;

(2) psychotherapy, crisis assistance, and skills training components must meet the standards
for children's therapeutic services and supports in section 256B.0943; and

(3) family psychoeducation services under supervision of a mental health professional.
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Subd. 2. Determination of client eligibility. A client's eligibility to receive treatment foster
care under this section shall be determined by a diagnostic assessment, an evaluation of level of
care needed, and development of an individual treatment plan, as defined in paragraphs (a) to (c).

(a) The diagnostic assessment must:
(1) be conducted by a psychiatrist, licensed psychologist, or licensed independent clinical

social worker that is performed within 180 days prior to the start of service;
(2) include current diagnoses on all five axes of the client's current mental health status;
(3) determine whether or not a child meets the criteria for severe emotional disturbance in

section 245.4871, subdivision 6, or for serious and persistent mental illness in section 245.462,
subdivision 20; and

(4) be completed annually until age 18. For individuals between age 18 and 21, unless a
client's mental health condition has changed markedly since the client's most recent diagnostic
assessment, annual updating is necessary. For the purpose of this section, "updating" means a
written summary, including current diagnoses on all five axes, by a mental health professional of
the client's current mental status and service needs.

(b) The evaluation of level of care must be conducted by the placing county with an
instrument approved by the commissioner of human services. The commissioner shall update the
list of approved level of care instruments annually.

(c) The individual treatment plan must be:
(1) based on the information in the client's diagnostic assessment;
(2) developed through a child-centered, family driven planning process that identifies

service needs and individualized, planned, and culturally appropriate interventions that contain
specific measurable treatment goals and objectives for the client and treatment strategies for
the client's family and foster family;

(3) reviewed at least once every 90 days and revised; and
(4) signed by the client or, if appropriate, by the client's parent or other person authorized

by statute to consent to mental health services for the client.

Subd. 3. Eligible providers. For purposes of this section, a provider agency must have an
individual placement agreement for each recipient and must be a licensed child placing agency,
under Minnesota Rules, parts 9543.0010 to 9543.0150, and either:

(1) a county;
(2) an Indian Health Services facility operated by a tribe or tribal organization under

funding authorized by United States Code, title 25, sections 450f to 450n, or title 3 of the Indian
Self-Determination Act, Public Law 93-638, section 638 (facilities or providers); or

(3) a noncounty entity under contract with a county board.

Subd. 4. Eligible provider responsibilities. (a) To be an eligible provider under this
section, a provider must develop written policies and procedures for treatment foster care services
consistent with subdivision 1, paragraph (b), clauses (1), (2), and (3).

(b) In delivering services under this section, a treatment foster care provider must ensure
that staff caseload size reasonably enables the provider to play an active role in service planning,
monitoring, delivering, and reviewing for discharge planning to meet the needs of the client, the
client's foster family, and the birth family, as specified in each client's individual treatment plan.
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Subd. 5. Service authorization. The commissioner will administer authorizations for
services under this section in compliance with section 256B.0625, subdivision 25.

Subd. 6. Excluded services. (a) Services in clauses (1) to (4) are not eligible as components
of treatment foster care services:

(1) treatment foster care services provided in violation of medical assistance policy in
Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0220;

(2) service components of children's therapeutic services and supports simultaneously
provided by more than one treatment foster care provider;

(3) home and community-based waiver services; and

(4) treatment foster care services provided to a child without a level of care determination
according to section 245.4885, subdivision 1.

(b) Children receiving treatment foster care services are not eligible for medical assistance
reimbursement for the following services while receiving treatment foster care:

(1) mental health case management services under section 256B.0625, subdivision 20; and

(2) psychotherapy and skill training components of children's therapeutic services and
supports under section 256B.0625, subdivision 35b.

History: 1Sp2005 c 4 art 2 s 12; 2006 c 282 art 16 s 8; 2007 c 147 art 8 s 38

256B.0947 INTENSIVE REHABILITATIVE MENTAL HEALTH SERVICES.

Subdivision 1. Scope. Effective November 1, 2011, and subject to federal approval, medical
assistance covers medically necessary, intensive nonresidential rehabilitative mental health
services as defined in subdivision 2, for recipients as defined in subdivision 3, when the services
are provided by an entity meeting the standards in this section.

Subd. 2. Definitions. For purposes of this section, the following terms have the meanings
given them.

(a) "Intensive nonresidential rehabilitative mental health services" means child
rehabilitative mental health services as defined in section 256B.0943, except that these services
are provided by a multidisciplinary staff using a total team approach consistent with assertive
community treatment, as adapted for youth, and are directed to recipients ages 16 to 21 with a
serious mental illness or co-occurring mental illness and substance abuse addiction who require
intensive services to prevent admission to an inpatient psychiatric hospital or placement in a
residential treatment facility or who require intensive services to step down from inpatient or
residential care to community-based care.

(b) "Co-occurring mental illness and substance abuse addiction" means a dual diagnosis of
at least one form of mental illness and at least one substance use disorder. Substance use disorders
include alcohol or drug abuse or dependence, excluding nicotine use.

(c) "Diagnostic assessment" has the meaning given to it in Minnesota Rules, part
9505.0370, subpart 11. A diagnostic assessment must be provided according to Minnesota Rules,
part 9505.0372, subpart 1, and for this section must incorporate a determination of the youth's
necessary level of care using a standardized functional assessment instrument approved and
periodically updated by the commissioner.

Copyright © 2011 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



277 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2011 256B.0947

(d) "Education specialist" means an individual with knowledge and experience working
with youth regarding special education requirements and goals, special education plans, and
coordination of educational activities with health care activities.

(e) "Housing access support" means an ancillary activity to help an individual find, obtain,
retain, and move to safe and adequate housing. Housing access support does not provide monetary
assistance for rent, damage deposits, or application fees.

(f) "Integrated dual disorders treatment" means the integrated treatment of co-occurring
mental illness and substance use disorders by a team of cross-trained clinicians within the
same program, and is characterized by assertive outreach, stage-wise comprehensive treatment,
treatment goal setting, and flexibility to work within each stage of treatment.

(g) "Medication education services" means services provided individually or in groups,
which focus on:

(1) educating the client and client's family or significant nonfamilial supporters about
mental illness and symptoms;

(2) the role and effects of medications in treating symptoms of mental illness; and
(3) the side effects of medications.

Medication education is coordinated with medication management services and does not duplicate
it. Medication education services are provided by physicians, pharmacists, or registered nurses
with certification in psychiatric and mental health care.

(h) "Peer specialist" means an employed team member who is a certified peer specialist and
also a former children's mental health consumer who:

(1) provides direct services to clients including social, emotional, and instrumental support
and outreach;

(2) assists younger peers to identify and achieve specific life goals;
(3) works directly with clients to promote the client's self-determination, personal

responsibility, and empowerment;
(4) assists youth with mental illness to regain control over their lives and their

developmental process in order to move effectively into adulthood;
(5) provides training and education to other team members, consumer advocacy

organizations, and clients on resiliency and peer support; and
(6) meets the following criteria:
(i) is at least 22 years of age;
(ii) has had a diagnosis of mental illness, as defined in Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0370,

subpart 20, or co-occurring mental illness and substance abuse addiction;
(iii) is a former consumer of child and adolescent mental health services, or a former or

current consumer of adult mental health services for a period of at least two years;
(iv) has at least a high school diploma or equivalent;
(v) has successfully completed training requirements determined and periodically updated

by the commissioner;
(vi) is willing to disclose the individual's own mental health history to team members

and clients; and
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(vii) must be free of substance use problems for at least one year.
(i) "Provider agency" means a for-profit or nonprofit organization established to administer

an assertive community treatment for youth team.
(j) "Substance use disorders" means one or more of the disorders defined in the diagnostic

and statistical manual of mental disorders, current edition.
(k) "Transition services" means:
(1) activities, materials, consultation, and coordination that ensures continuity of the client's

care in advance of and in preparation for the client's move from one stage of care or life to another
by maintaining contact with the client and assisting the client to establish provider relationships;

(2) providing the client with knowledge and skills needed posttransition;
(3) establishing communication between sending and receiving entities;
(4) supporting a client's request for service authorization and enrollment; and
(5) establishing and enforcing procedures and schedules.
A youth's transition from the children's mental health system and services to the adult

mental health system and services and return to the client's home and entry or re-entry into
community-based mental health services following discharge from an out-of-home placement
or inpatient hospital stay.

(l) "Treatment team" means all staff who provide services to recipients under this section.

Subd. 3. Client eligibility. An eligible recipient is an individual who:
(1) is age 16, 17, 18, 19, or 20; and
(2) is diagnosed with a serious mental illness or co-occurring mental illness and substance

abuse addiction, for which intensive nonresidential rehabilitative mental health services are
needed;

(3) has received a level-of-care determination, using an instrument approved by the
commissioner, that indicates a need for intensive integrated intervention without 24-hour medical
monitoring and a need for extensive collaboration among multiple providers;

(4) has a functional impairment and a history of difficulty in functioning safely and
successfully in the community, school, home, or job; or who is likely to need services from the
adult mental health system within the next two years; and

(5) has had a recent diagnostic assessment, as provided in Minnesota Rules, part
9505.0372, subpart 1, by a mental health professional who is qualified under Minnesota Rules,
part 9505.0371, subpart 5, item A, that documents that intensive nonresidential rehabilitative
mental health services are medically necessary to ameliorate identified symptoms and functional
impairments and to achieve individual transition goals.

Subd. 3a.Required service components. (a) Subject to federal approval, medical assistance
covers all medically necessary intensive nonresidential rehabilitative mental health services and
supports, as defined in this section, under a single daily rate per client. Services and supports must
be delivered by an eligible provider under subdivision 5 to an eligible client under subdivision 3.

(b) Intensive nonresidential rehabilitative mental health services, supports, and ancillary
activities covered by the single daily rate per client must include the following, as needed by
the individual client:
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(1) individual, family, and group psychotherapy;
(2) individual, family, and group skills training, as defined in section 256B.0943,

subdivision 1, paragraph (p);
(3) crisis assistance as defined in section 245.4871, subdivision 9a, which includes

recognition of factors precipitating a mental health crisis, identification of behaviors related to
the crisis, and the development of a plan to address prevention, intervention, and follow-up
strategies to be used in the lead-up to or onset of, and conclusion of, a mental health crisis; crisis
assistance does not mean crisis response services or crisis intervention services provided in
section 256B.0944;

(4) medication management provided by a physician or an advanced practice registered
nurse with certification in psychiatric and mental health care;

(5) mental health case management as provided in section 256B.0625, subdivision 20;
(6) medication education services as defined in this section;
(7) care coordination by a client-specific lead worker assigned by and responsible to the

treatment team;
(8) psychoeducation of and consultation and coordination with the client's biological,

adoptive, or foster family and, in the case of a youth living independently, the client's immediate
nonfamilial support network;

(9) clinical consultation to a client's employer or school or to other service agencies or to
the courts to assist in managing the mental illness or co-occurring disorder and to develop client
support systems;

(10) coordination with, or performance of, crisis intervention and stabilization services as
defined in section 256B.0944;

(11) assessment of a client's treatment progress and effectiveness of services using
standardized outcome measures published by the commissioner;

(12) transition services as defined in this section;
(13) integrated dual disorders treatment as defined in this section; and
(14) housing access support.
(c) The provider shall ensure and document the following by means of performing the

required function or by contracting with a qualified person or entity:
(1) client access to crisis intervention services, as defined in section 256B.0944, and

available 24 hours per day and seven days per week;
(2) completion of an extended diagnostic assessment, as defined in Minnesota Rules, part

9505.0372, subpart 1, item C; and
(3) determination of the client's needed level of care using an instrument approved and

periodically updated by the commissioner.

Subd. 4. Provider contract requirements. (a) The intensive nonresidential rehabilitative
mental health services provider agency shall have a contract with the commissioner to provide
intensive transition youth rehabilitative mental health services.

(b) The commissioner shall develop administrative and clinical contract standards and
performance evaluation criteria for providers, including county providers, and may require
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applicants to submit documentation as needed to allow the commissioner to determine whether
the standards are met.

Subd. 5. Standards for intensive nonresidential rehabilitative providers. (a) Services
must be provided by a provider entity as provided in subdivision 4.

(b) The treatment team for intensive nonresidential rehabilitative mental health services
comprises both permanently employed core team members and client-specific team members
as follows:

(1) The core treatment team is an entity that operates under the direction of an independently
licensed mental health professional, who is qualified under Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0371,
subpart 5, item A, and that assumes comprehensive clinical responsibility for clients. Based on
professional qualifications and client needs, clinically qualified core team members are assigned
on a rotating basis as the client's lead worker to coordinate a client's care. The core team must
comprise at least four full-time equivalent direct care staff and must include, but is not limited to:

(i) an independently licensed mental health professional, qualified under Minnesota Rules,
part 9505.0371, subpart 5, item A, who serves as team leader to provide administrative direction
and clinical supervision to the team;

(ii) an advanced-practice registered nurse with certification in psychiatric or mental health
care or a board-certified child and adolescent psychiatrist, either of which must be credentialed
to prescribe medications;

(iii) a licensed alcohol and drug counselor who is also trained in mental health interventions;
and

(iv) a peer specialist as defined in subdivision 2, paragraph (h).
(2) The core team may also include any of the following:
(i) additional mental health professionals;
(ii) a vocational specialist;
(iii) an educational specialist;
(iv) a child and adolescent psychiatrist who may be retained on a consultant basis;
(v) a mental health practitioner, as defined in section 245.4871, subdivision 26;
(vi) a mental health manager, as defined in section 245.4871, subdivision 4; and
(vii) a housing access specialist.
(3) A treatment team may include, in addition to those in clause (1) or (2), ad hoc members

not employed by the team who consult on a specific client and who must accept overall clinical
direction from the treatment team for the duration of the client's placement with the treatment
team and must be paid by the provider agency at the rate for a typical session by that provider
with that client or at a rate negotiated with the client-specific member. Client-specific treatment
team members may include:

(i) the mental health professional treating the client prior to placement with the treatment
team;

(ii) the client's current substance abuse counselor, if applicable;
(iii) a lead member of the client's individualized education program team or school-based

mental health provider, if applicable;
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(iv) a representative from the client's health care home or primary care clinic, as needed to
ensure integration of medical and behavioral health care;

(v) the client's probation officer or other juvenile justice representative, if applicable; and

(vi) the client's current vocational or employment counselor, if applicable.

(c) The clinical supervisor shall be an active member of the treatment team and shall
function as a practicing clinician at least on a part-time basis. The treatment team shall meet with
the clinical supervisor at least weekly to discuss recipients' progress and make rapid adjustments
to meet recipients' needs. The team meeting must include client-specific case reviews and general
treatment discussions among team members. Client-specific case reviews and planning must be
documented in the individual client's treatment record.

(d) The staffing ratio must not exceed ten clients to one full-time equivalent treatment
team position.

(e) The treatment team shall serve no more than 80 clients at any one time. Should local
demand exceed the team's capacity, an additional team must be established rather than exceed
this limit.

(f) Nonclinical staff shall have prompt access in person or by telephone to a mental health
practitioner or mental health professional. The provider shall have the capacity to promptly and
appropriately respond to emergent needs and make any necessary staffing adjustments to assure
the health and safety of clients.

(g) The intensive nonresidential rehabilitative mental health services provider shall
participate in evaluation of the assertive community treatment for youth (Youth ACT) model as
conducted by the commissioner, including the collection and reporting of data and the reporting
of performance measures as specified by contract with the commissioner.

(h) A regional treatment team may serve multiple counties.

Subd. 6. Service standards. The standards in this subdivision apply to intensive
nonresidential rehabilitative mental health services.

(a) The treatment team shall use team treatment, not an individual treatment model.

(b) Services must be available at times that meet client needs.

(c) The initial functional assessment must be completed within ten days of intake and
updated at least every three months or prior to discharge from the service, whichever comes first.

(d) An individual treatment plan must be completed for each client, according to criteria
specified in section 256B.0943, subdivision 6, paragraph (b), clause (2), and, additionally, must:

(1) be completed in consultation with the client's current therapist and key providers and
provide for ongoing consultation with the client's current therapist to ensure therapeutic continuity
and to facilitate the client's return to the community;

(2) if a need for substance use disorder treatment is indicated by validated assessment:

(i) identify goals, objectives, and strategies of substance use disorder treatment; develop
a schedule for accomplishing treatment goals and objectives; and identify the individuals
responsible for providing treatment services and supports;

(ii) be reviewed at least once every 90 days and revised, if necessary;
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(3) be signed by the clinical supervisor and by the client and, if the client is a minor, by the
client's parent or other person authorized by statute to consent to mental health treatment and
substance use disorder treatment for the client; and

(4) provide for the client's transition out of intensive nonresidential rehabilitative mental
health services by defining the team's actions to assist the client and subsequent providers in the
transition to less intensive or "stepped down" services.

(e) The treatment team shall actively and assertively engage the client's family members
and significant others by establishing communication and collaboration with the family and
significant others and educating the family and significant others about the client's mental illness,
symptom management, and the family's role in treatment, unless the team knows or has reason to
suspect that the client has suffered or faces a threat of suffering any physical or mental injury,
abuse, or neglect from a family member or significant other.

(f) For a client age 18 or older, the treatment team may disclose to a family member,
other relative, or a close personal friend of the client, or other person identified by the client, the
protected health information directly relevant to such person's involvement with the client's care,
as provided in Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, part 164.502(b). If the client is present, the
treatment team shall obtain the client's agreement, provide the client with an opportunity to object,
or reasonably infer from the circumstances, based on the exercise of professional judgment, that
the client does not object. If the client is not present or is unable, by incapacity or emergency
circumstances, to agree or object, the treatment teammay, in the exercise of professional judgment,
determine whether the disclosure is in the best interests of the client and, if so, disclose only the
protected health information that is directly relevant to the family member's, relative's, friend's, or
client-identified person's involvement with the client's health care. The client may orally agree or
object to the disclosure and may prohibit or restrict disclosure to specific individuals.

(g) The treatment team shall provide interventions to promote positive interpersonal
relationships.

Subd. 7.Medical assistance payment and rate setting. (a) Payment for services in this
section must be based on one daily encounter rate per provider inclusive of the following services
received by an eligible client in a given calendar day: all rehabilitative services, supports, and
ancillary activities under this section, staff travel time to provide rehabilitative services under this
section, and crisis response services under section 256B.0944.

(b) Payment must not be made to more than one entity for each client for services provided
under this section on a given day. If services under this section are provided by a team that
includes staff from more than one entity, the team shall determine how to distribute the payment
among the members.

(c) The commissioner shall establish regional cost-based rates for entities that will bill
medical assistance for nonresidential intensive rehabilitative mental health services. In developing
these rates, the commissioner shall consider:

(1) the cost for similar services in the health care trade area;
(2) actual costs incurred by entities providing the services;
(3) the intensity and frequency of services to be provided to each client;
(4) the degree to which clients will receive services other than services under this section;

and
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(5) the costs of other services that will be separately reimbursed.
(d) The rate for a provider must not exceed the rate charged by that provider for the same

service to other payers.

Subd. 7a. Noncovered services. (a) The rate for intensive rehabilitative mental health
services must exclude medical assistance payment for services not covered under this section.
Services not covered under this section may be billed separately.

(b) The following services are not covered under this section and are not eligible for
medical assistance payment under the per-client, per-day payment:

(1) inpatient psychiatric hospital treatment;
(2) mental health residential treatment;
(3) partial hospitalization;
(4) physician services outside of care provided by a psychiatrist serving as a member of

the treatment team;
(5) room and board costs, as defined in section 256I.03, subdivision 6;
(6) children's mental health day treatment services; and
(7) mental health behavioral aide services, as defined in section 256B.0943, subdivision 1,

paragraph (m).

Subd. 8. Provider enrollment. The commissioner shall establish and administer treatment
teams with consideration given to regional distribution. Providers shall apply directly to the
commissioner for enrollment and must be reimbursed at rates established by contract. The
commissioner shall perform the program review.

Subd. 9. Service authorization. The commissioner shall publish prior authorization criteria
and standards to be used for intensive nonresidential rehabilitative mental health services, as
provided in section 256B.0625, subdivision 25.

History: 1Sp2005 c 4 art 2 s 13; 2009 c 79 art 7 s 23; 2010 c 200 art 1 s 7; 2011 c 86 s
20; 1Sp2011 c 11 art 3 s 12

256B.0948 FOSTER CARE RATE LIMITS.
The commissioner shall decrease by five percent rates for adult foster care and supportive

living services that are reimbursed under section 256B.092 or 256B.49, and are above the 95th
percentile of the statewide rates for the service. The reduction in rates shall take into account the
acuity of individuals served based on the methodology used to allocate dollars to local lead
agency budgets, and assure that affected service rates are not reduced below the rate level
represented by the above percentile due to this rate change. Lead agency contracts for services
specified in this section shall be amended to implement these rate changes for services rendered
on or after July 1, 2009. The commissioner shall make corresponding reductions to waiver
allocations and capitated rates.

History: 2009 c 79 art 8 s 55

256B.095 QUALITY ASSURANCE SYSTEM ESTABLISHED.
(a) Effective July 1, 1998, a quality assurance system for persons with developmental

disabilities, which includes an alternative quality assurance licensing system for programs, is
established in Dodge, Fillmore, Freeborn, Goodhue, Houston, Mower, Olmsted, Rice, Steele,
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Wabasha, and Winona Counties for the purpose of improving the quality of services provided to
persons with developmental disabilities. A county, at its option, may choose to have all programs
for persons with developmental disabilities located within the county licensed under chapter
245A using standards determined under the alternative quality assurance licensing system or may
continue regulation of these programs under the licensing system operated by the commissioner.
The project expires on June 30, 2014.

(b) Effective July 1, 2003, a county not listed in paragraph (a) may apply to participate in
the quality assurance system established under paragraph (a). The commission established under
section 256B.0951 may, at its option, allow additional counties to participate in the system.

(c) Effective July 1, 2003, any county or group of counties not listed in paragraph (a) may
establish a quality assurance system under this section. A new system established under this
section shall have the same rights and duties as the system established under paragraph (a). A new
system shall be governed by a commission under section 256B.0951. The commissioner shall
appoint the initial commission members based on recommendations from advocates, families,
service providers, and counties in the geographic area included in the new system. Counties that
choose to participate in a new system shall have the duties assigned under section 256B.0952.
The new system shall establish a quality assurance process under section 256B.0953. The
provisions of section 256B.0954 shall apply to a new system established under this paragraph.
The commissioner shall delegate authority to a new system established under this paragraph
according to section 256B.0955.

(d) Effective July 1, 2007, the quality assurance system may be expanded to include
programs for persons with disabilities and older adults.

History: 1997 c 203 art 7 s 18; 1Sp2001 c 9 art 3 s 48; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 1Sp2003 c
14 art 3 s 33; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 7 s 24; 2007 c 147 art 7 s 16

256B.0951 QUALITY ASSURANCE COMMISSION.

Subdivision 1.Membership. The Quality Assurance Commission is established. The
commission consists of at least 14 but not more than 21 members as follows: at least three but not
more than five members representing advocacy organizations; at least three but not more than
five members representing consumers, families, and their legal representatives; at least three but
not more than five members representing service providers; at least three but not more than five
members representing counties; and the commissioner of human services or the commissioner's
designee. The first commission shall establish membership guidelines for the transition and
recruitment of membership for the commission's ongoing existence. Members of the commission
who do not receive a salary or wages from an employer for time spent on commission duties may
receive a per diem payment when performing commission duties and functions. All members may
be reimbursed for expenses related to commission activities. Notwithstanding the provisions of
section 15.059, subdivision 5, the commission expires on June 30, 2014.

Subd. 2. Authority to hire staff; charge fees; provide technical assistance. (a) The
commission may hire staff to perform the duties assigned in this section.

(b) The commission may charge fees for its services.

(c) The commission may provide technical assistance to other counties, families, providers,
and advocates interested in participating in a quality assurance system under section 256B.095,
paragraph (b) or (c).
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Subd. 3. Commission duties. (a) By October 1, 1997, the commission, in cooperation
with the commissioners of human services and health, shall do the following: (1) approve an
alternative quality assurance licensing system based on the evaluation of outcomes; (2) approve
measurable outcomes in the areas of health and safety, consumer evaluation, education and
training, providers, and systems that shall be evaluated during the alternative licensing process;
and (3) establish variable licensure periods not to exceed three years based on outcomes achieved.
For purposes of this subdivision, "outcome" means the behavior, action, or status of a person that
can be observed or measured and can be reliably and validly determined.

(b) By January 15, 1998, the commission shall approve, in cooperation with the
commissioner of human services, a training program for members of the quality assurance teams
established under section 256B.0952, subdivision 4.

(c) The commission and the commissioner shall establish an ongoing review process
for the alternative quality assurance licensing system. The review shall take into account the
comprehensive nature of the alternative system, which is designed to evaluate the broad spectrum
of licensed and unlicensed entities that provide services to clients.

(d) The commission, in consultation with the commissioner, shall work cooperatively with
other populations to expand the system to those populations and identify barriers to expansion. The
commissioner shall report findings and recommendations to the legislature by December 15, 2004.

Subd. 4. Commission's authority to recommend variances of licensing standards. The
commission may recommend to the commissioners of human services and health variances
from the standards governing licensure of programs for persons with developmental disabilities
in order to improve the quality of services by implementing an alternative developmental
disabilities licensing system if the commission determines that the alternative licensing system
does not adversely affect the health or safety of persons being served by the licensed program
nor compromise the qualifications of staff to provide services.

Subd. 5. Variance of certain standards prohibited. The safety standards, rights, or
procedural protections under chapter 245C and sections 245.825; 245.91 to 245.97; 245A.09,
subdivision 2, paragraph (c), clauses (2) and (5); 245A.12; 245A.13; 252.41, subdivision
9; 256B.092, subdivisions 1b, clause (7), and 10; 626.556; 626.557, and procedures for the
monitoring of psychotropic medications shall not be varied under the alternative quality assurance
licensing system. The commission may make recommendations to the commissioners of human
services and health or to the legislature regarding alternatives to or modifications of the rules
and procedures referenced in this subdivision.

Subd. 6. [Repealed, 1Sp2001 c 9 art 3 s 76]

Subd. 7. Waiver of rules. If a federal waiver is approved under subdivision 8, the
commissioner of health may exempt residents of intermediate care facilities for persons with
developmental disabilities (ICF's/MR) who participate in the alternative quality assurance system
established in section 256B.095 from the requirements of Minnesota Rules, chapter 4665.

Subd. 8. Federal waiver. The commissioner of human services shall seek a federal waiver
to allow intermediate care facilities for persons with developmental disabilities (ICF's/MR)
in region 10 of Minnesota to participate in the alternative licensing system. If it is necessary
for purposes of participation in this alternative licensing system for a facility to be decertified
as an ICF/MR facility according to the terms of the federal waiver, when the facility seeks
recertification under the provisions of ICF/MR regulations at the end of the demonstration
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project, it will not be considered a new ICF/MR as defined under section 252.291 provided the
licensed capacity of the facility did not increase during its participation in the alternative licensing
system. The provisions of sections 252.28, 252.292, and 256B.5011 to 256B.5015 will remain
applicable for counties in region 10 of Minnesota and the ICF's/MR located within those counties
notwithstanding a county's participation in the alternative licensing system.

Subd. 9. Evaluation. The commission, in consultation with the commissioner of human
services, shall conduct an evaluation of the quality assurance system, and present a report to
the commissioner by June 30, 2004.

History: 1997 c 203 art 7 s 19; 1998 c 407 art 4 s 40; 1999 c 245 art 4 s 63,64; 1Sp2001 c
9 art 3 s 49-55; 2002 c 375 art 2 s 32,33; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 2003 c 15 art 1 s 33; 1Sp2003 c
14 art 3 s 34-39; 2005 c 10 art 1 s 53; 2005 c 56 s 1; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 7 s 25; 2007 c 147 art 7 s 17

256B.0952 COUNTY DUTIES; QUALITY ASSURANCE TEAMS.

Subdivision 1. Notification. Counties shall give notice to the commission and
commissioners of human services and health of intent to join the alternative quality assurance
licensing system. A county choosing to participate in the alternative quality assurance licensing
system commits to participate for three years.

Subd. 2. Appointment of review council; duties of council. A county or group of counties
that chooses to participate in the alternative licensing system shall appoint a quality assurance
review council comprised of advocates; consumers, families, and their legal representatives;
providers; and county staff. The council shall:

(1) review summary reports from quality assurance team reviews and make
recommendations to counties regarding program licensure;

(2) make recommendations to the commission regarding the alternative licensing system
and quality assurance process; and

(3) resolve complaints between the quality assurance teams, counties, providers, and
consumers, families, and their legal representatives.

Subd. 3. Notice to commissioners. The county, based on reports from quality assurance
managers and recommendations from the quality assurance review council regarding the findings
of quality assurance teams, shall notify the commissioners of human services and health regarding
whether facilities, programs, or services have met the outcome standards for licensure and are
eligible for payment.

Subd. 4. Appointment of quality assurance manager. (a) A county or group of counties
that chooses to participate in the alternative licensing system shall designate a quality assurance
manager and shall establish quality assurance teams in accordance with subdivision 5. The
manager shall recruit, train, and assign duties to the quality assurance team members. In assigning
team members to conduct the quality assurance process at a facility, program, or service, the
manager shall take into account the size of the service provider, the number of services to be
reviewed, the skills necessary for team members to complete the process, and other relevant
factors. The manager shall ensure that no team member has a financial, personal, or family
relationship with the facility, program, or service being reviewed or with any clients of the
facility, program, or service.

(b) Quality assurance teams shall report the findings of their quality assurance reviews to
the quality assurance manager. The quality assurance manager shall provide the report from the
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quality assurance team to the county and, upon request, to the commissioners of human services
and health, and shall provide a summary of the report to the Quality Assurance Review Council.

Subd. 5. Quality assurance teams. Quality assurance teams shall be comprised of
county staff; providers; consumers, families, and their legal representatives; members of
advocacy organizations; and other involved community members. Team members must
satisfactorily complete the training program approved by the commission and must demonstrate
performance-based competency. Team members are not considered to be county employees for
purposes of workers' compensation, unemployment insurance, or state retirement laws solely on
the basis of participation on a quality assurance team. The county may pay a per diem to team
members for time spent on alternative quality assurance process matters. All team members may
be reimbursed for expenses related to their participation in the alternative process.

Subd. 6. Licensing functions. Participating counties shall perform licensing functions
and activities as delegated by the commissioner of human services in accordance with section
245A.16.

History: 1997 c 203 art 7 s 20; 1Sp2001 c 9 art 3 s 56,57; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 1Sp2003
c 14 art 3 s 40; 2004 c 206 s 52; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 7 s 26

256B.0953 QUALITY ASSURANCE PROCESS.

Subdivision 1. Process components. (a) The quality assurance licensing process consists
of an evaluation by a quality assurance team of the facility, program, or service according to
outcome-based measurements. The process must include an evaluation of a random sample of
program consumers. The sample must be representative of each service provided. The sample size
must be at least five percent of consumers but not less than two consumers.

(b) All consumers must be given the opportunity to be included in the quality assurance
process in addition to those chosen for the random sample.

Subd. 2. Licensure periods. (a) In order to be licensed under the alternative quality
assurance licensing system, a facility, program, or service must satisfy the health and safety
outcomes approved for the alternative quality assurance licensing system.

(b) Licensure shall be approved for periods of one to three years for a facility, program, or
service that satisfies the requirements of paragraph (a) and achieves the outcome measurements in
the categories of consumer evaluation, education and training, providers, and systems.

Subd. 3. Appeals process. A facility, program, or service may contest a licensing decision
of the quality assurance team as permitted under chapter 245A.

History: 1997 c 203 art 7 s 21; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 3 s 41; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 7 s 27

256B.0954 CERTAIN PERSONS DEFINED AS MANDATED REPORTERS.

Members of the Quality Assurance Commission established under section 256B.0951,
members of quality assurance review councils established under section 256B.0952, quality
assurance managers appointed under section 256B.0952, and members of quality assurance teams
established under section 256B.0952 are mandated reporters as that term is defined in sections
626.556, subdivision 3, and 626.5572, subdivision 16.

History: 1997 c 203 art 7 s 22
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256B.0955 DUTIES OF THE COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN SERVICES.
(a) Effective July 1, 1998, the commissioner of human services shall delegate authority

to perform licensing functions and activities, in accordance with section 245A.16, to counties
participating in the alternative quality assurance licensing system. The commissioner shall not
license or reimburse a facility, program, or service for persons with developmental disabilities in a
county that participates in the alternative quality assurance licensing system if the commissioner
has received from the appropriate county notification that the facility, program, or service has
been reviewed by a quality assurance team and has failed to qualify for licensure.

(b) The commissioner may conduct random licensing inspections based on outcomes
adopted under section 256B.0951 at facilities, programs, and services governed by the alternative
quality assurance licensing system. The role of such random inspections shall be to verify that the
alternative quality assurance licensing system protects the safety and well-being of consumers
and maintains the availability of high-quality services for persons with developmental disabilities.

History: 1997 c 203 art 7 s 23; 1999 c 245 art 4 s 65; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 3 s 42

256B.096 QUALITY MANAGEMENT, ASSURANCE, AND IMPROVEMENT SYSTEM
FOR MINNESOTANS RECEIVING DISABILITY SERVICES.

Subdivision 1. Scope. In order to improve the quality of services provided to
Minnesotans with disabilities and to meet the requirements of the federally approved home
and community-based waivers under section 1915c of the Social Security Act, a statewide
quality assurance and improvement system for Minnesotans receiving disability services shall be
developed. The disability services included are the home and community-based services waiver
programs for persons with developmental disabilities under section 256B.092, subdivision 4, and
for persons with disabilities under section 256B.49.

Subd. 2. Stakeholder advisory group. The commissioner shall consult with a stakeholder
advisory group on the development and implementation of the state quality management,
assurance, and improvement system, including representatives of disability service recipients,
disability service providers, disability advocacy groups, county human service agencies, and state
agency staff from the Departments of Human Services and Health, and the ombudsman for
mental health and developmental disabilities on the development of a statewide quality assurance
and improvement system.

Subd. 3. Annual survey of service recipients. The commissioner, in consultation with the
stakeholder advisory group, shall develop an annual independent random statewide survey of
between five and ten percent of service recipients to determine the effectiveness and quality of
disability services. The survey shall be consistent with the system performance expectations of the
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services quality management requirements and framework.
The survey shall analyze whether desired outcomes have been achieved for persons with different
demographic, diagnostic, health, and functional needs receiving different types of services, in
different settings, with different costs. The survey shall be field tested during 2008. The biennial
report established in subdivision 5 shall include recommendations on statewide and regional
reports of the survey results that, if published, would be useful to regions, counties, and providers
to plan and measure the impact of quality improvement activities.

Subd. 4. Improvements for incident reporting, investigation, analysis, and follow-up. In
consultation with the stakeholder advisory group, the commissioner shall identify the information,
data sources, and technology needed to improve the system of incident reporting, including:
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(1) reports made under the Maltreatment of Minors and Vulnerable Adults Acts; and
(2) investigation, analysis, and follow-up for disability services.

The commissioner must ensure that the federal home and community-based waiver requirements
are met and that incidents that may have jeopardized safety and health or violated service-related
assurances, civil and human rights, and other protections designed to prevent abuse, neglect, and
exploitation, are reviewed, investigated, and acted upon in a timely manner.

Subd. 5. Biennial report. The commissioner shall provide a biennial report to the chairs of
the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human services policy and funding
beginning January 15, 2009, on the development and activities of the quality management,
assurance, and improvement system designed to meet the federal requirements under the home
and community-based services waiver programs for persons with disabilities. By January 15,
2008, the commissioner shall provide a preliminary report on priorities for meeting the federal
requirements, progress on development and field testing of the annual survey, appropriations
necessary to implement an annual survey of service recipients once field testing is completed,
recommendations for improvements in the incident reporting system, and a plan for incorporating
quality assurance efforts under section 256B.095 and other regional efforts into the statewide
system.

History: 2007 c 147 art 7 s 18

256B.097 STATE QUALITY ASSURANCE, QUALITY IMPROVEMENT, AND
LICENSING SYSTEM.

Subdivision 1. Scope. (a) In order to improve the quality of services provided to
Minnesotans with disabilities and to meet the requirements of the federally approved home
and community-based waivers under section 1915c of the Social Security Act, a State Quality
Assurance, Quality Improvement, and Licensing System for Minnesotans receiving disability
services is enacted. This system is a partnership between the Department of Human Services and
the State Quality Council established under subdivision 3.

(b) This system is a result of the recommendations from the Department of Human Services'
licensing and alternative quality assurance study mandated under Laws 2005, First Special
Session chapter 4, article 7, section 57, and presented to the legislature in February 2007.

(c) The disability services eligible under this section include:
(1) the home and community-based services waiver programs for persons with

developmental disabilities under section 256B.092, subdivision 4, or section 256B.49, including
traumatic brain injuries and services for those who qualify for nursing facility level of care or
hospital facility level of care;

(2) home care services under section 256B.0651;
(3) family support grants under section 252.32;
(4) consumer support grants under section 256.476;
(5) semi-independent living services under section 252.275; and
(6) services provided through an intermediate care facility for the developmentally disabled.
(d) For purposes of this section, the following definitions apply:
(1) "commissioner" means the commissioner of human services;
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(2) "council" means the State Quality Council under subdivision 3;

(3) "Quality Assurance Commission" means the commission under section 256B.0951; and

(4) "system" means the State Quality Assurance, Quality Improvement and Licensing
System under this section.

Subd. 2. Duties of commissioner of human services. (a) The commissioner of human
services shall establish the State Quality Council under subdivision 3.

(b) The commissioner shall initially delegate authority to perform licensing functions and
activities according to section 245A.16 to a host county in Region 10. The commissioner must
not license or reimburse a participating facility, program, or service located in Region 10 if the
commissioner has received notification from the host county that the facility, program, or service
has failed to qualify for licensure.

(c) The commissioner may conduct random licensing inspections based on outcomes
adopted under section 256B.0951, subdivision 3, at facilities or programs, and of services eligible
under this section. The role of the random inspections is to verify that the system protects the
safety and well-being of persons served and maintains the availability of high-quality services
for persons with disabilities.

(d) The commissioner shall ensure that the federal home and community-based waiver
requirements are met and that incidents that may have jeopardized safety and health or violated
services-related assurances, civil and human rights, and other protections designed to prevent
abuse, neglect, and exploitation, are reviewed, investigated, and acted upon in a timely manner.

(e) The commissioner shall seek a federal waiver by July 1, 2012, to allow intermediate
care facilities for persons with developmental disabilities to participate in this system.

Subd. 3. State Quality Council. (a) There is hereby created a State Quality Council which
must define regional quality councils, and carry out a community-based, person-directed quality
review component, and a comprehensive system for effective incident reporting, investigation,
analysis, and follow-up.

(b) By August 1, 2011, the commissioner of human services shall appoint the members of
the initial State Quality Council. Members shall include representatives from the following groups:

(1) disability service recipients and their family members;

(2) during the first two years of the State Quality Council, there must be at least three
members from the Region 10 stakeholders. As regional quality councils are formed under
subdivision 4, each regional quality council shall appoint one member;

(3) disability service providers;

(4) disability advocacy groups; and

(5) county human services agencies and staff from the Department of Human Services and
Ombudsman for Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities.

(c) Members of the council who do not receive a salary or wages from an employer for
time spent on council duties may receive a per diem payment when performing council duties
and functions.

(d) The State Quality Council shall:
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(1) assist the Department of Human Services in fulfilling federally mandated obligations
by monitoring disability service quality and quality assurance and improvement practices in
Minnesota; and

(2) establish state quality improvement priorities with methods for achieving results and
provide an annual report to the legislative committees with jurisdiction over policy and funding
of disability services on the outcomes, improvement priorities, and activities undertaken by the
commission during the previous state fiscal year.

(e) The State Quality Council, in partnership with the commissioner, shall:
(1) approve and direct implementation of the community-based, person-directed system

established in this section;
(2) recommend an appropriate method of funding this system, and determine the feasibility

of the use of Medicaid, licensing fees, as well as other possible funding options;
(3) approve measurable outcomes in the areas of health and safety, consumer evaluation,

education and training, providers, and systems;
(4) establish variable licensure periods not to exceed three years based on outcomes

achieved; and
(5) in cooperation with the Quality Assurance Commission, design a transition plan for

licensed providers from Region 10 into the alternative licensing system by July 1, 2013.
(f) The State Quality Council shall notify the commissioner of human services that

a facility, program, or service has been reviewed by quality assurance team members under
subdivision 4, paragraph (b), clause (13), and qualifies for a license.

(g) The State Quality Council, in partnership with the commissioner, shall establish an
ongoing review process for the system. The review shall take into account the comprehensive
nature of the system which is designed to evaluate the broad spectrum of licensed and unlicensed
entities that provide services to persons with disabilities. The review shall address efficiencies and
effectiveness of the system.

(h) The State Quality Council may recommend to the commissioner certain variances from
the standards governing licensure of programs for persons with disabilities in order to improve the
quality of services so long as the recommended variances do not adversely affect the health or
safety of persons being served or compromise the qualifications of staff to provide services.

(i) The safety standards, rights, or procedural protections referenced under subdivision
2, paragraph (c), shall not be varied. The State Quality Council may make recommendations
to the commissioner or to the legislature in the report required under paragraph (c) regarding
alternatives or modifications to the safety standards, rights, or procedural protections referenced
under subdivision 2, paragraph (c).

(j) The State Quality Council may hire staff to perform the duties assigned in this
subdivision.

Subd. 4. Regional quality councils. (a) The commissioner shall establish, as selected
by the State Quality Council, regional quality councils of key stakeholders, including regional
representatives of:

(1) disability service recipients and their family members;
(2) disability service providers;
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(3) disability advocacy groups; and

(4) county human services agencies and staff from the Department of Human Services and
Ombudsman for Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities.

(b) Each regional quality council shall:

(1) direct and monitor the community-based, person-directed quality assurance system
in this section;

(2) approve a training program for quality assurance team members under clause (13);

(3) review summary reports from quality assurance team reviews and make
recommendations to the State Quality Council regarding program licensure;

(4) make recommendations to the State Quality Council regarding the system;

(5) resolve complaints between the quality assurance teams, counties, providers, persons
receiving services, their families, and legal representatives;

(6) analyze and review quality outcomes and critical incident data reporting incidents of life
safety concerns immediately to the Department of Human Services licensing division;

(7) provide information and training programs for persons with disabilities and their
families and legal representatives on service options and quality expectations;

(8) disseminate information and resources developed to other regional quality councils;

(9) respond to state-level priorities;

(10) establish regional priorities for quality improvement;

(11) submit an annual report to the State Quality Council on the status, outcomes,
improvement priorities, and activities in the region;

(12) choose a representative to participate on the State Quality Council and assume other
responsibilities consistent with the priorities of the State Quality Council; and

(13) recruit, train, and assign duties to members of quality assurance teams, taking into
account the size of the service provider, the number of services to be reviewed, the skills necessary
for the team members to complete the process, and ensure that no team member has a financial,
personal, or family relationship with the facility, program, or service being reviewed or with
anyone served at the facility, program, or service. Quality assurance teams must be comprised of
county staff, persons receiving services or the person's families, legal representatives, members of
advocacy organizations, providers, and other involved community members. Team members must
complete the training program approved by the regional quality council and must demonstrate
performance-based competency. Team members may be paid a per diem and reimbursed for
expenses related to their participation in the quality assurance process.

(c) The commissioner shall monitor the safety standards, rights, and procedural protections
for the monitoring of psychotropic medications and those identified under sections 245.825;
245.91 to 245.97; 245A.09, subdivision 2, paragraph (c), clauses (2) and (5); 245A.12; 245A.13;
252.41, subdivision 9; 256B.092, subdivision 1b, clause (7); 626.556; and 626.557.

(d) The regional quality councils may hire staff to perform the duties assigned in this
subdivision.

(e) The regional quality councils may charge fees for their services.
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(f) The quality assurance process undertaken by a regional quality council consists of an
evaluation by a quality assurance team of the facility, program, or service. The process must
include an evaluation of a random sample of persons served. The sample must be representative of
each service provided. The sample size must be at least five percent but not less than two persons
served. All persons must be given the opportunity to be included in the quality assurance process
in addition to those chosen for the random sample.

(g) A facility, program, or service may contest a licensing decision of the regional quality
council as permitted under chapter 245A.

Subd. 5. Annual survey of service recipients. The commissioner, in consultation with the
State Quality Council, shall conduct an annual independent statewide survey of service recipients,
randomly selected, to determine the effectiveness and quality of disability services. The survey
must be consistent with the system performance expectations of the Centers for Medicare and
Medicaid Services (CMS) Quality Framework. The survey must analyze whether desired
outcomes for persons with different demographic, diagnostic, health, and functional needs, who
are receiving different types of services in different settings and with different costs, have been
achieved. Annual statewide and regional reports of the results must be published and used to assist
regions, counties, and providers to plan and measure the impact of quality improvement activities.

Subd. 6.Mandated reporters.Members of the State Quality Council under subdivision 3,
the regional quality councils under subdivision 4, and quality assurance team members under
subdivision 4, paragraph (b), clause (13), are mandated reporters as defined in sections 626.556,
subdivision 3, and 626.5572, subdivision 16.

History: 1Sp2011 c 9 art 7 s 23

256B.10 [Repealed, 1976 c 131 s 2]

256B.11 [Repealed, 1976 c 131 s 2]

256B.12 LEGAL REPRESENTATION.

The attorney general or the appropriate county attorney appearing at the direction of
the attorney general shall be the attorney for the state agency, and the county attorney of the
appropriate county shall be the attorney for the local agency in all matters pertaining hereto. To
prosecute under this chapter or sections 609.466 and 609.52, subdivision 2, or to recover payments
wrongfully made under this chapter, the attorney general or the appropriate county attorney, acting
independently or at the direction of the attorney general may institute a criminal or civil action.

History: Ex1967 c 16 s 12; 1975 c 437 art 2 s 6; 1976 c 188 s 2

256B.121 TREBLE DAMAGES.

Any vendor of medical care who willfully submits a cost report, rate application or claim
for reimbursement for medical care which the vendor knows is a false representation and which
results in the payment of public funds for which the vendor is ineligible shall, in addition to
other provisions of Minnesota law, be subject to an action by the state of Minnesota or any of
its subdivisions or agencies for civil damages. The damages awarded shall include three times
the payments which result from the false representation, together with costs and disbursements,
including reasonable attorneys' fees or their equivalent.

History: 1976 c 188 s 4
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256B.13 SUBPOENAS.
Each county agency and the state agency shall have the power to issue subpoenas for

witnesses and compel their attendance and the production of papers and writing; and officers
and employees designated by any county agency or the state agency may administer oaths and
examine witnesses under oath in connection with any application or proceedings hereunder.

History: Ex1967 c 16 s 13

256B.14 RELATIVE'S RESPONSIBILITY.

Subdivision 1. In general. Subject to the provisions of sections 256B.055, 256B.056, and
256B.06, responsible relative means the parent of a minor recipient of medical assistance or
the spouse of a medical assistance recipient.

Subd. 2. Actions to obtain payment. The state agency shall promulgate rules to determine
the ability of responsible relatives to contribute partial or complete payment or repayment of
medical assistance furnished to recipients for whom they are responsible. All medical assistance
exclusions shall be allowed, and a resource limit of $10,000 for nonexcluded resources shall
be implemented. Above these limits, a contribution of one-third of the excess resources shall
be required. These rules shall not require payment or repayment when payment would cause
undue hardship to the responsible relative or that relative's immediate family. These rules shall
be consistent with the requirements of section 252.27 for parents of children whose eligibility
for medical assistance was determined without deeming of the parents' resources and income.
The county agency shall give the responsible relative notice of the amount of the payment or
repayment. If the state agency or county agency finds that notice of the payment obligation was
given to the responsible relative, but that the relative failed or refused to pay, a cause of action
exists against the responsible relative for that portion of medical assistance granted after notice
was given to the responsible relative, which the relative was determined to be able to pay.

The action may be brought by the state agency or the county agency in the county where
assistance was granted, for the assistance, together with the costs of disbursements incurred
due to the action.

In addition to granting the county or state agency a money judgment, the court may, upon a
motion or order to show cause, order continuing contributions by a responsible relative found able
to repay the county or state agency. The order shall be effective only for the period of time during
which the recipient receives medical assistance from the county or state agency.

Subd. 3. Community spouse contribution. The community spouse of an institutionalized
person who receives medical assistance under section 256B.059, subdivision 5, paragraph (b), has
an obligation to pay for the cost of care equal to the dollar value of assets considered available
under section 256B.059, subdivision 5.

Subd. 3a. Spousal contribution. (a) For purposes of this subdivision, the following terms
have the meanings given:

(1) "commissioner" means the commissioner of human services;
(2) "community spouse" means the spouse, who lives in the community, of an individual

receiving long-term care services in a long-term care facility or home care services pursuant
to the Medicaid waiver for elderly services under section 256B.0915 or the alternative care
program under section 256B.0913. A community spouse does not include a spouse living in the
community who receives a monthly income allowance under section 256B.058, subdivision 2,
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or who receives home and community-based services under section 256B.0915, 256B.092, or
256B.49, or the alternative care program under section 256B.0913;

(3) "cost of care" means the actual fee-for-service costs or capitated payments for the
long-term care spouse;

(4) "department" means the Department of Human Services;
(5) "disabled child" means a blind or permanently and totally disabled son or daughter of

any age based on the Social Security Administration disability standards;
(6) "income" means earned and unearned income, attributable to the community spouse,

used to calculate the adjusted gross income on the prior year's income tax return. Evidence of
income includes, but is not limited to, W-2 and 1099 forms; and

(7) "long-term care spouse" means the spouse who is receiving long-term care services
in a long-term care facility or home and community based services pursuant to the Medicaid
waiver for elderly services under section 256B.0915 or the alternative care program under
section 256B.0913.

(b) The community spouse of a long-term care spouse who receives medical assistance
or alternative care services has an obligation to contribute to the cost of care. The community
spouse must pay a monthly fee on a sliding fee scale based on the community spouse's income.
If a minor or disabled child resides with and receives care from the community spouse, then no
fee shall be assessed.

(c) For a community spouse with an income equal to or greater than 250 percent of the
federal poverty guidelines for a family of two and less than 545 percent of the federal poverty
guidelines for a family of two, the spousal contribution shall be determined using a sliding fee
scale established by the commissioner that begins at 7.5 percent of the community spouse's
income and increases to 15 percent for those with an income of up to 545 percent of the federal
poverty guidelines for a family of two.

(d) For a community spouse with an income equal to or greater than 545 percent of the
federal poverty guidelines for a family of two and less than 750 percent of the federal poverty
guidelines for a family of two, the spousal contribution shall be determined using a sliding fee
scale established by the commissioner that begins at 15 percent of the community spouse's
income and increases to 25 percent for those with an income of up to 750 percent of the federal
poverty guidelines for a family of two.

(e) For a community spouse with an income equal to or greater than 750 percent of the
federal poverty guidelines for a family of two and less than 975 percent of the federal poverty
guidelines for a family of two, the spousal contribution shall be determined using a sliding fee
scale established by the commissioner that begins at 25 percent of the community spouse's
income and increases to 33 percent for those with an income of up to 975 percent of the federal
poverty guidelines for a family of two.

(f) For a community spouse with an income equal to or greater than 975 percent of the
federal poverty guidelines for a family of two, the spousal contribution shall be 33 percent of the
community spouse's income.

(g) The spousal contribution shall be explained in writing at the time eligibility for medical
assistance or alternative care is being determined. In addition to explaining the formula used to
determine the fee, the county or tribal agency shall provide written information describing how to
request a variance for undue hardship, how a contribution may be reviewed or redetermined, the
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right to appeal a contribution determination, and that the consequences for not complying with
a request to provide information shall be an assessment against the community spouse for the
full cost of care for the long-term care spouse.

(h) The contribution shall be assessed for each month the long-term care spouse has a
community spouse and is eligible for medical assistance payment of long-term care services or
alternative care.

(i) The spousal contribution shall be reviewed at least once every 12 months and when
there is a loss or gain in income in excess of ten percent. Thirty days prior to a review or
redetermination, written notice must be provided to the community spouse and must contain the
amount the spouse is required to contribute, notice of the right to redetermination and appeal,
and the telephone number of the division at the agency that is responsible for redetermination
and review. If, after review, the contribution amount is to be adjusted, the county or tribal agency
shall mail a written notice to the community spouse 30 days in advance of the effective date of
the change in the amount of the contribution.

(1) The spouse shall notify the county or tribal agency within 30 days of a gain or loss in
income in excess of ten percent and provide the agency supporting documentation to verify the
need for redetermination of the fee.

(2) When a spouse requests a review or redetermination of the contribution amount, a
request for information shall be sent to the spouse within ten calendar days after the county or
tribal agency receives the request for review.

(3) No action shall be taken on a review or redetermination until the required information is
received by the county or tribal agency.

(4) The review of the spousal contribution shall be completed within ten days after the
county or tribal agency receives completed information that verifies a loss or gain in income in
excess of ten percent.

(5) An increase in the contribution amount is effective in the month in which the increase in
income occurs.

(6) A decrease in the contribution amount is effective in the month the spouse verifies the
reduction in income, retroactive to no longer than six months.

(j) In no case shall the spousal contribution exceed the amount of medical assistance
expended or the cost of alternative care services for the care of the long-term care spouse.
Annually, upon redetermination, or at termination of eligibility, the total amount of medical
assistance paid or costs of alternative care for the care of the long-term care spouse and the
total amount of the spousal contribution shall be compared. If the total amount of the spousal
contribution exceeds the total amount of medical assistance expended or cost of alternative care,
then the agency shall reimburse the community spouse the excess amount if the long-term care
spouse is no longer receiving services, or apply the excess amount to the spousal contribution due
until the excess amount is exhausted.

(k) A community spouse may request a variance by submitting a written request and
supporting documentation that payment of the calculated contribution would cause an undue
hardship. An undue hardship is defined as the inability to pay the calculated contribution due to
medical expenses incurred by the community spouse. Documentation must include proof of
medical expenses incurred by the community spouse since the last annual redetermination of the
contribution amount that are not reimbursable by any public or private source, and are a type,

Copyright © 2011 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



297 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2011 256B.14

regardless of amount, that would be allowable as a federal tax deduction under the Internal
Revenue Code.

(1) A spouse who requests a variance from a notice of an increase in the amount of spousal
contribution shall continue to make monthly payments at the lower amount pending determination
of the variance request. A spouse who requests a variance from the initial determination shall
not be required to make a payment pending determination of the variance request. Payments
made pending outcome of the variance request that result in overpayment must be returned to
the spouse, if the long-term care spouse is no longer receiving services, or applied to the spousal
contribution in the current year. If the variance is denied, the spouse shall pay the additional
amount due from the effective date of the increase or the total amount due from the effective date
of the original notice of determination of the spousal contribution.

(2) A spouse who is granted a variance shall sign a written agreement in which the spouse
agrees to report to the county or tribal agency any changes in circumstances that gave rise to the
undue hardship variance.

(3) When the county or tribal agency receives a request for a variance, written notice of a
grant or denial of the variance shall be mailed to the spouse within 30 calendar days after the
county or tribal agency receives the financial information required in this clause. The granting of
a variance will necessitate a written agreement between the spouse and the county or tribal agency
with regard to the specific terms of the variance. The variance will not become effective until
the written agreement is signed by the spouse. If the county or tribal agency denies in whole or
in part the request for a variance, the denial notice shall set forth in writing the reasons for the
denial that address the specific hardship and right to appeal.

(4) If a variance is granted, the term of the variance shall not exceed 12 months unless
otherwise determined by the county or tribal agency.

(5) Undue hardship does not include action taken by a spouse which divested or diverted
income in order to avoid being assessed a spousal contribution.

(l) A spouse aggrieved by an action under this subdivision has the right to appeal under
subdivision 4. If the spouse appeals on or before the effective date of an increase in the spousal
fee, the spouse shall continue to make payments to the county or tribal agency in the lower amount
while the appeal is pending. A spouse appealing an initial determination of a spousal contribution
shall not be required to make monthly payments pending an appeal decision. Payments made
that result in an overpayment shall be reimbursed to the spouse if the long-term care spouse is no
longer receiving services, or applied to the spousal contribution remaining in the current year. If
the county or tribal agency's determination is affirmed, the community spouse shall pay within 90
calendar days of the order the total amount due from the effective date of the original notice of
determination of the spousal contribution. The commissioner's order is binding on the spouse and
the agency and shall be implemented subject to section 256.045, subdivision 7. No additional
notice is required to enforce the commissioner's order.

(m) If the county or tribal agency finds that notice of the payment obligation was given
to the community spouse and the spouse was determined to be able to pay, but that the spouse
failed or refused to pay, a cause of action exists against the community spouse for that portion
of medical assistance payment of long-term care services or alternative care services granted
after notice was given to the community spouse. The action may be brought by the county or
tribal agency in the county where assistance was granted for the assistance together with the
costs of disbursements incurred due to the action. In addition to granting the county or tribal
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agency a money judgment, the court may, upon a motion or order to show cause, order continuing
contributions by a community spouse found able to repay the county or tribal agency. The order
shall be effective only for the period of time during which a contribution shall be assessed.

(n) Counties and tribes are entitled to one-half of the nonfederal share of contributions made
under this section for long-term care spouses on medical assistance that are directly attributed
to county or tribal efforts. Counties and tribes are entitled to 25 percent of the contributions
made under this section for long-term care spouses on alternative care directly attributed to
county or tribal efforts.

[See Note.]

Subd. 4. Appeals. A responsible relative may appeal the determination of an obligation to
make a contribution under this section according to section 256.045.

History: Ex1967 c 16 s 14; 1973 c 725 s 46; 1977 c 448 s 7; 1982 c 640 s 6; 1983 c 312 art
5 s 19; 1984 c 530 s 4; 1986 c 444; 1988 c 689 art 2 s 150,268,270; 1989 c 282 art 3 s 63; 1990 c
568 art 3 s 62; 1992 c 513 art 7 s 79; 1Sp2011 c 9 art 3 s 5

NOTE: Subdivision 3a, as added by Laws 2011, First Special Session chapter 9, article
3, section 5, is effective July 1, 2012. Laws 2011, First Special Session chapter 9, article 3,
section 5, the effective date.

256B.15 CLAIMS AGAINST ESTATES.

Subdivision 1. Policy and applicability. (a) It is the policy of this state that individuals or
couples, either or both of whom participate in the medical assistance program, use their own assets
to pay their share of the total cost of their care during or after their enrollment in the program
according to applicable federal law and the laws of this state. The following provisions apply:

(1) subdivisions 1c to 1k shall not apply to claims arising under this section which are
presented under section 525.313;

(2) the provisions of subdivisions 1c to 1k expanding the interests included in an estate for
purposes of recovery under this section give effect to the provisions of United States Code, title
42, section 1396p, governing recoveries, but do not give rise to any express or implied liens in
favor of any other parties not named in these provisions;

(3) the continuation of a recipient's life estate or joint tenancy interest in real property after
the recipient's death for the purpose of recovering medical assistance under this section modifies
common law principles holding that these interests terminate on the death of the holder;

(4) all laws, rules, and regulations governing or involved with a recovery of medical
assistance shall be liberally construed to accomplish their intended purposes;

(5) a deceased recipient's life estate and joint tenancy interests continued under this section
shall be owned by the remainderpersons or surviving joint tenants as their interests may appear
on the date of the recipient's death. They shall not be merged into the remainder interest or the
interests of the surviving joint tenants by reason of ownership. They shall be subject to the
provisions of this section. Any conveyance, transfer, sale, assignment, or encumbrance by a
remainderperson, a surviving joint tenant, or their heirs, successors, and assigns shall be deemed
to include all of their interest in the deceased recipient's life estate or joint tenancy interest
continued under this section; and

(6) the provisions of subdivisions 1c to 1k continuing a recipient's joint tenancy interests
in real property after the recipient's death do not apply to a homestead owned of record, on the
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date the recipient dies, by the recipient and the recipient's spouse as joint tenants with a right of
survivorship. Homestead means the real property occupied by the surviving joint tenant spouse as
their sole residence on the date the recipient dies and classified and taxed to the recipient and
surviving joint tenant spouse as homestead property for property tax purposes in the calendar
year in which the recipient dies. For purposes of this exemption, real property the recipient and
their surviving joint tenant spouse purchase solely with the proceeds from the sale of their prior
homestead, own of record as joint tenants, and qualify as homestead property under section
273.124 in the calendar year in which the recipient dies and prior to the recipient's death shall be
deemed to be real property classified and taxed to the recipient and their surviving joint tenant
spouse as homestead property in the calendar year in which the recipient dies. The surviving
spouse, or any person with personal knowledge of the facts, may provide an affidavit describing
the homestead property affected by this clause and stating facts showing compliance with this
clause. The affidavit shall be prima facie evidence of the facts it states.

(b) For purposes of this section, "medical assistance" includes the medical assistance
program under this chapter and the general assistance medical care program under chapter 256D
and alternative care for nonmedical assistance recipients under section 256B.0913.

(c) For purposes of this section, beginning January 1, 2010, "medical assistance" does not
include Medicare cost-sharing benefits in accordance with United States Code, title 42, section
1396p.

(d) All provisions in this subdivision, and subdivisions 1d, 1f, 1g, 1h, 1i, and 1j, related
to the continuation of a recipient's life estate or joint tenancy interests in real property after the
recipient's death for the purpose of recovering medical assistance, are effective only for life
estates and joint tenancy interests established on or after August 1, 2003. For purposes of this
paragraph, medical assistance does not include alternative care.

Subd. 1a. Estates subject to claims. (a) If a person receives any medical assistance
hereunder, on the person's death, if single, or on the death of the survivor of a married couple,
either or both of whom received medical assistance, or as otherwise provided for in this section,
the total amount paid for medical assistance rendered for the person and spouse shall be filed as a
claim against the estate of the person or the estate of the surviving spouse in the court having
jurisdiction to probate the estate or to issue a decree of descent according to sections 525.31
to 525.313.

(b) For the purposes of this section, the person's estate must consist of:
(1) the person's probate estate;
(2) all of the person's interests or proceeds of those interests in real property the person

owned as a life tenant or as a joint tenant with a right of survivorship at the time of the person's
death;

(3) all of the person's interests or proceeds of those interests in securities the person owned
in beneficiary form as provided under sections 524.6-301 to 524.6-311 at the time of the person's
death, to the extent the interests or proceeds of those interests become part of the probate estate
under section 524.6-307;

(4) all of the person's interests in joint accounts, multiple-party accounts, and pay-on-death
accounts, brokerage accounts, investment accounts, or the proceeds of those accounts, as provided
under sections 524.6-201 to 524.6-214 at the time of the person's death to the extent the interests
become part of the probate estate under section 524.6-207; and
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(5) assets conveyed to a survivor, heir, or assign of the person through survivorship, living
trust, or other arrangements.

(c) For the purpose of this section and recovery in a surviving spouse's estate for medical
assistance paid for a predeceased spouse, the estate must consist of all of the legal title and
interests the deceased individual's predeceased spouse had in jointly owned or marital property at
the time of the spouse's death, as defined in subdivision 2b, and the proceeds of those interests,
that passed to the deceased individual or another individual, a survivor, an heir, or an assign of the
predeceased spouse through a joint tenancy, tenancy in common, survivorship, life estate, living
trust, or other arrangement. A deceased recipient who, at death, owned the property jointly with
the surviving spouse shall have an interest in the entire property.

(d) For the purpose of recovery in a single person's estate or the estate of a survivor of
a married couple, "other arrangement" includes any other means by which title to all or any
part of the jointly owned or marital property or interest passed from the predeceased spouse to
another including, but not limited to, transfers between spouses which are permitted, prohibited,
or penalized for purposes of medical assistance.

(e) A claim shall be filed if medical assistance was rendered for either or both persons under
one of the following circumstances:

(1) the person was over 55 years of age, and received services under this chapter;
(2) the person resided in a medical institution for six months or longer, received services

under this chapter, and, at the time of institutionalization or application for medical assistance,
whichever is later, the person could not have reasonably been expected to be discharged and
returned home, as certified in writing by the person's treating physician. For purposes of this
section only, a "medical institution" means a skilled nursing facility, intermediate care facility,
intermediate care facility for persons with developmental disabilities, nursing facility, or inpatient
hospital; or

(3) the person received general assistance medical care services under chapter 256D.
(f) The claim shall be considered an expense of the last illness of the decedent for the

purpose of section 524.3-805. Notwithstanding any law or rule to the contrary, a state or county
agency with a claim under this section must be a creditor under section 524.6-307. Any statute
of limitations that purports to limit any county agency or the state agency, or both, to recover
for medical assistance granted hereunder shall not apply to any claim made hereunder for
reimbursement for any medical assistance granted hereunder. Notice of the claim shall be given
to all heirs and devisees of the decedent, and to other persons with an ownership interest in the
real property owned by the decedent at the time of the decedent's death, whose identity can be
ascertained with reasonable diligence. The notice must include procedures and instructions for
making an application for a hardship waiver under subdivision 5; time frames for submitting an
application and determination; and information regarding appeal rights and procedures. Counties
are entitled to one-half of the nonfederal share of medical assistance collections from estates that
are directly attributable to county effort. Counties are entitled to ten percent of the collections for
alternative care directly attributable to county effort.

[See Note.]

Subd. 1b. [Repealed, 2001 c 203 s 19]

Subd. 1c. Notice of potential claim. (a) A state agency with a claim or potential claim
under this section may file a notice of potential claim under this subdivision anytime before or
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within one year after a medical assistance recipient dies. The claimant shall be the state agency. A
notice filed prior to the recipient's death shall not take effect and shall not be effective as notice
until the recipient dies. A notice filed after a recipient dies shall be effective from the time of filing.

(b) The notice of claim shall be filed or recorded in the real estate records in the office of
the county recorder or registrar of titles for each county in which any part of the property is
located. The recorder shall accept the notice for recording or filing. The registrar of titles shall
accept the notice for filing if the recipient has a recorded interest in the property. The registrar
of titles shall not carry forward to a new certificate of title any notice filed more than one year
from the date of the recipient's death.

(c) The notice must be dated, state the name of the claimant, the medical assistance
recipient's name and Social Security number if filed before their death and their date of death
if filed after they die, the name and date of death of any predeceased spouse of the medical
assistance recipient for whom a claim may exist, a statement that the claimant may have a claim
arising under this section, generally identify the recipient's interest in the property, contain a legal
description for the property and whether it is abstract or registered property, a statement of when
the notice becomes effective and the effect of the notice, be signed by an authorized representative
of the state agency, and may include such other contents as the state agency may deem appropriate.

Subd. 1d. Effect of notice. From the time it takes effect, the notice shall be notice
to remainderpersons, joint tenants, or to anyone else owning or acquiring an interest in or
encumbrance against the property described in the notice that the medical assistance recipient's
life estate, joint tenancy, or other interests in the real estate described in the notice:

(1) shall, in the case of life estate and joint tenancy interests, continue to exist for purposes
of this section, and be subject to liens and claims as provided in this section;

(2) shall be subject to a lien in favor of the claimant effective upon the death of the recipient
and dealt with as provided in this section;

(3) may be included in the recipient's estate, as defined in this section; and
(4) may be subject to administration and all other provisions of chapter 524 and may

be sold, assigned, transferred, or encumbered free and clear of their interest or encumbrance
to satisfy claims under this section.

Subd. 1e. Full or partial release of notice. (a) The claimant may fully or partially release
the notice and the lien arising out of the notice of record in the real estate records where the notice
is filed or recorded at any time. The claimant may give a full or partial release to extinguish any
life estates or joint tenancy interests which are or may be continued under this section or whose
existence or nonexistence may create a cloud on the title to real property at any time whether or
not a notice has been filed. The recorder or registrar of titles shall accept the release for recording
or filing. If the release is a partial release, it must include a legal description of the property
being released.

(b) At any time, the claimant may, at the claimant's discretion, wholly or partially release,
subordinate, modify, or amend the recorded notice and the lien arising out of the notice.

Subd. 1f. Agency lien. (a) The notice shall constitute a lien in favor of the Department
of Human Services against the recipient's interests in the real estate it describes for a period
of 20 years from the date of filing or the date of the recipient's death, whichever is later.
Notwithstanding any law or rule to the contrary, a recipient's life estate and joint tenancy interests
shall not end upon the recipient's death but shall continue according to subdivisions 1h, 1i, and 1j.
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The amount of the lien shall be equal to the total amount of the claims that could be presented in
the recipient's estate under this section.

(b) If no estate has been opened for the deceased recipient, any holder of an interest in the
property may apply to the lienholder for a statement of the amount of the lien or for a full or partial
release of the lien. The application shall include the applicant's name, current mailing address,
current home and work telephone numbers, and a description of their interest in the property, a
legal description of the recipient's interest in the property, and the deceased recipient's name,
date of birth, and Social Security number. The lienholder shall send the applicant by certified
mail, return receipt requested, a written statement showing the amount of the lien, whether the
lienholder is willing to release the lien and under what conditions, and inform them of the right
to a hearing under section 256.045. The lienholder shall have the discretion to compromise and
settle the lien upon any terms and conditions the lienholder deems appropriate.

(c) Any holder of an interest in property subject to the lien has a right to request a hearing
under section 256.045 to determine the validity, extent, or amount of the lien. The request must
be in writing, and must include the names, current addresses, and home and business telephone
numbers for all other parties holding an interest in the property. A request for a hearing by any
holder of an interest in the property shall be deemed to be a request for a hearing by all parties
owning interests in the property. Notice of the hearing shall be given to the lienholder, the party
filing the appeal, and all of the other holders of interests in the property at the addresses listed
in the appeal by certified mail, return receipt requested, or by ordinary mail. Any owner of an
interest in the property to whom notice of the hearing is mailed shall be deemed to have waived
any and all claims or defenses in respect to the lien unless they appear and assert any claims
or defenses at the hearing.

(d) If the claim the lien secures could be filed under subdivision 1h, the lienholder may
collect, compromise, settle, or release the lien upon any terms and conditions it deems appropriate.
If the claim the lien secures could be filed under subdivision 1i or 1j, the lien may be adjusted
or enforced to the same extent had it been filed under subdivisions 1i and 1j, and the provisions
of subdivisions 1i, clause (f), and 1j, clause (d), shall apply to voluntary payment, settlement,
or satisfaction of the lien.

(e) If no probate proceedings have been commenced for the recipient as of the date the lien
holder executes a release of the lien on a recipient's life estate or joint tenancy interest, created for
purposes of this section, the release shall terminate the life estate or joint tenancy interest created
under this section as of the date it is recorded or filed to the extent of the release. If the claimant
executes a release for purposes of extinguishing a life estate or a joint tenancy interest created
under this section to remove a cloud on title to real property, the release shall have the effect of
extinguishing any life estate or joint tenancy interests in the property it describes which may have
been continued by reason of this section retroactive to the date of death of the deceased life tenant
or joint tenant except as provided for in section 514.981, subdivision 6.

(f) If the deceased recipient's estate is probated, a claim shall be filed under this section. The
amount of the lien shall be limited to the amount of the claim as finally allowed. If the claim the
lien secures is filed under subdivision 1h, the lien may be released in full after any allowance of
the claim becomes final or according to any agreement to settle and satisfy the claim. The release
shall release the lien but shall not extinguish or terminate the interest being released. If the claim
the lien secures is filed under subdivision 1i or 1j, the lien shall be released after the lien under
subdivision 1i or 1j is filed or recorded, or settled according to any agreement to settle and satisfy
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the claim. The release shall not extinguish or terminate the interest being released. If the claim is
finally disallowed in full, the claimant shall release the claimant's lien at the claimant's expense.

Subd. 1g. Estate property. Notwithstanding any law or rule to the contrary, if a claim is
presented under this section, interests or the proceeds of interests in real property a decedent
owned as a life tenant or a joint tenant with a right of survivorship shall be part of the decedent's
estate, subject to administration, and shall be dealt with as provided in this section.

Subd. 1h. Estates of specific persons receiving medical assistance. (a) For purposes of
this section, paragraphs (b) to (j) apply if a person received medical assistance for which a claim
may be filed under this section and died single, or the surviving spouse of the couple and was not
survived by any of the persons described in subdivisions 3 and 4.

(b) Notwithstanding any law or rule to the contrary, the person's life estate or joint tenancy
interest in real property not subject to a medical assistance lien under sections 514.980 to 514.985
on the date of the person's death shall not end upon the person's death and shall continue as
provided in this subdivision. The life estate in the person's estate shall be that portion of the
interest in the real property subject to the life estate that is equal to the life estate percentage factor
for the life estate as listed in the Life Estate Mortality Table of the health care program's manual
for a person who was the age of the medical assistance recipient on the date of the person's death.
The joint tenancy interest in real property in the estate shall be equal to the fractional interest
the person would have owned in the jointly held interest in the property had they and the other
owners held title to the property as tenants in common on the date the person died.

(c) The court upon its own motion, or upon motion by the personal representative or any
interested party, may enter an order directing the remainderpersons or surviving joint tenants and
their spouses, if any, to sign all documents, take all actions, and otherwise fully cooperate with
the personal representative and the court to liquidate the decedent's life estate or joint tenancy
interests in the estate and deliver the cash or the proceeds of those interests to the personal
representative and provide for any legal and equitable sanctions as the court deems appropriate to
enforce and carry out the order, including an award of reasonable attorney fees.

(d) The personal representative may make, execute, and deliver any conveyances or other
documents necessary to convey the decedent's life estate or joint tenancy interest in the estate that
are necessary to liquidate and reduce to cash the decedent's interest or for any other purposes.

(e) Subject to administration, all costs, including reasonable attorney fees, directly and
immediately related to liquidating the decedent's life estate or joint tenancy interest in the
decedent's estate, shall be paid from the gross proceeds of the liquidation allocable to the
decedent's interest and the net proceeds shall be turned over to the personal representative and
applied to payment of the claim presented under this section.

(f) The personal representative shall bring a motion in the district court in which the estate
is being probated to compel the remainderpersons or surviving joint tenants to account for and
deliver to the personal representative all or any part of the proceeds of any sale, mortgage,
transfer, conveyance, or any disposition of real property allocable to the decedent's life estate
or joint tenancy interest in the decedent's estate, and do everything necessary to liquidate and
reduce to cash the decedent's interest and turn the proceeds of the sale or other disposition over
to the personal representative. The court may grant any legal or equitable relief including, but
not limited to, ordering a partition of real estate under chapter 558 necessary to make the value
of the decedent's life estate or joint tenancy interest available to the estate for payment of a
claim under this section.
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(g) Subject to administration, the personal representative shall use all of the cash or
proceeds of interests to pay an allowable claim under this section. The remainderpersons or
surviving joint tenants and their spouses, if any, may enter into a written agreement with the
personal representative or the claimant to settle and satisfy obligations imposed at any time
before or after a claim is filed.

(h) The personal representative may, at their discretion, provide any or all of the other
owners, remainderpersons, or surviving joint tenants with an affidavit terminating the decedent's
estate's interest in real property the decedent owned as a life tenant or as a joint tenant with others,
if the personal representative determines in good faith that neither the decedent nor any of the
decedent's predeceased spouses received any medical assistance for which a claim could be filed
under this section, or if the personal representative has filed an affidavit with the court that the
estate has other assets sufficient to pay a claim, as presented, or if there is a written agreement
under paragraph (g), or if the claim, as allowed, has been paid in full or to the full extent of the
assets the estate has available to pay it. The affidavit may be recorded in the office of the county
recorder or filed in the Office of the Registrar of Titles for the county in which the real property is
located. Except as provided in section 514.981, subdivision 6, when recorded or filed, the affidavit
shall terminate the decedent's interest in real estate the decedent owned as a life tenant or a
joint tenant with others. The affidavit shall:

(1) be signed by the personal representative;

(2) identify the decedent and the interest being terminated;

(3) give recording information sufficient to identify the instrument that created the interest
in real property being terminated;

(4) legally describe the affected real property;

(5) state that the personal representative has determined that neither the decedent nor any
of the decedent's predeceased spouses received any medical assistance for which a claim could
be filed under this section;

(6) state that the decedent's estate has other assets sufficient to pay the claim, as presented,
or that there is a written agreement between the personal representative and the claimant and
the other owners or remainderpersons or other joint tenants to satisfy the obligations imposed
under this subdivision; and

(7) state that the affidavit is being given to terminate the estate's interest under this
subdivision, and any other contents as may be appropriate.

The recorder or registrar of titles shall accept the affidavit for recording or filing. The affidavit
shall be effective as provided in this section and shall constitute notice even if it does not include
recording information sufficient to identify the instrument creating the interest it terminates. The
affidavit shall be conclusive evidence of the stated facts.

(i) The holder of a lien arising under subdivision 1c shall release the lien at the holder's
expense against an interest terminated under paragraph (g) to the extent of the termination.

(j) If a lien arising under subdivision 1c is not released under paragraph (i), prior to
closing the estate, the personal representative shall deed the interest subject to the lien to the
remainderpersons or surviving joint tenants as their interests may appear. Upon recording or
filing, the deed shall work a merger of the recipient's life estate or joint tenancy interest, subject to
the lien, into the remainder interest or interest the decedent and others owned jointly. The lien
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shall attach to and run with the property to the extent of the decedent's interest at the time of
the decedent's death.

Subd. 1i. Estates of persons receiving medical assistance and survived by others. (a)
For purposes of this subdivision, the person's estate consists of the person's probate estate and all
of the person's interests in real property the person owned as a life tenant or a joint tenant at the
time of the person's death and the person's legal title or interest at the time of the person's death in
real property transferred to a beneficiary under a transfer on death deed under section 507.071, or
in the proceeds from the subsequent sale of the person's interest in the transferred real property.

(b) Notwithstanding any law or rule to the contrary, this subdivision applies if a person
received medical assistance for which a claim could be filed under this section but for the fact
the person was survived by a spouse or by a person listed in subdivision 3, or if subdivision 4
applies to a claim arising under this section.

(c) The person's life estate or joint tenancy interests in real property not subject to a medical
assistance lien under sections 514.980 to 514.985 on the date of the person's death shall not
end upon death and shall continue as provided in this subdivision. The life estate in the estate
shall be the portion of the interest in the property subject to the life estate that is equal to the
life estate percentage factor for the life estate as listed in the Life Estate Mortality Table of the
health care program's manual for a person who was the age of the medical assistance recipient
on the date of the person's death. The joint tenancy interest in the estate shall be equal to the
fractional interest the medical assistance recipient would have owned in the jointly held interest in
the property had they and the other owners held title to the property as tenants in common on
the date the medical assistance recipient died.

(d) The county agency shall file a claim in the estate under this section on behalf of the
claimant who shall be the commissioner of human services, notwithstanding that the decedent is
survived by a spouse or a person listed in subdivision 3. The claim, as allowed, shall not be paid
by the estate and shall be disposed of as provided in this paragraph. The personal representative
or the court shall make, execute, and deliver a lien in favor of the claimant on the decedent's
interest in real property in the estate in the amount of the allowed claim on forms provided by
the commissioner to the county agency filing the lien. The lien shall bear interest as provided
under section 524.3-806, shall attach to the property it describes upon filing or recording, and
shall remain a lien on the real property it describes for a period of 20 years from the date it is filed
or recorded. The lien shall be a disposition of the claim sufficient to permit the estate to close.

(e) The state or county agency shall file or record the lien in the office of the county
recorder or registrar of titles for each county in which any of the real property is located. The
recorder or registrar of titles shall accept the lien for filing or recording. All recording or filing
fees shall be paid by the Department of Human Services. The recorder or registrar of titles shall
mail the recorded lien to the Department of Human Services. The lien need not be attested,
certified, or acknowledged as a condition of recording or filing. Upon recording or filing of a lien
against a life estate or a joint tenancy interest, the interest subject to the lien shall merge into the
remainder interest or the interest the recipient and others owned jointly. The lien shall attach to
and run with the property to the extent of the decedent's interest in the property at the time of the
decedent's death as determined under this section.

(f) The department shall make no adjustment or recovery under the lien until after the
decedent's spouse, if any, has died, and only at a time when the decedent has no surviving child
described in subdivision 3. The estate, any owner of an interest in the property which is or may
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be subject to the lien, or any other interested party, may voluntarily pay off, settle, or otherwise
satisfy the claim secured or to be secured by the lien at any time before or after the lien is filed or
recorded. Such payoffs, settlements, and satisfactions shall be deemed to be voluntary repayments
of past medical assistance payments for the benefit of the deceased recipient, and neither the
process of settling the claim, the payment of the claim, or the acceptance of a payment shall
constitute an adjustment or recovery that is prohibited under this subdivision.

(g) The lien under this subdivision may be enforced or foreclosed in the manner provided
by law for the enforcement of judgment liens against real estate or by a foreclosure by action
under chapter 581. When the lien is paid, satisfied, or otherwise discharged, the state or county
agency shall prepare and file a release of lien at its own expense. No action to foreclose the lien
shall be commenced unless the lienholder has first given 30 days' prior written notice to pay the
lien to the owners and parties in possession of the property subject to the lien. The notice shall:

(1) include the name, address, and telephone number of the lienholder;

(2) describe the lien;

(3) give the amount of the lien;

(4) inform the owner or party in possession that payment of the lien in full must be made to
the lienholder within 30 days after service of the notice or the lienholder may begin proceedings
to foreclose the lien; and

(5) be served by personal service, certified mail, return receipt requested, ordinary first class
mail, or by publishing it once in a newspaper of general circulation in the county in which any
part of the property is located. Service of the notice shall be complete upon mailing or publication.

Subd. 1j. Claims in estates of decedents survived by other survivors. For purposes of
this subdivision, the provisions in subdivision 1i, paragraphs (a) to (c) apply.

(a) If payment of a claim filed under this section is limited as provided in subdivision
4, and if the estate does not have other assets sufficient to pay the claim in full, as allowed,
the personal representative or the court shall make, execute, and deliver a lien on the property
in the estate that is exempt from the claim under subdivision 4 in favor of the commissioner of
human services on forms provided by the commissioner to the county agency filing the claim.
If the estate pays a claim filed under this section in full from other assets of the estate, no lien
shall be filed against the property described in subdivision 4.

(b) The lien shall be in an amount equal to the unpaid balance of the allowed claim under
this section remaining after the estate has applied all other available assets of the estate to pay
the claim. The property exempt under subdivision 4 shall not be sold, assigned, transferred,
conveyed, encumbered, or distributed until after the personal representative has determined the
estate has other assets sufficient to pay the allowed claim in full, or until after the lien has been
filed or recorded. The lien shall bear interest as provided under section 524.3-806, shall attach
to the property it describes upon filing or recording, and shall remain a lien on the real property
it describes for a period of 20 years from the date it is filed or recorded. The lien shall be a
disposition of the claim sufficient to permit the estate to close.

(c) The state or county agency shall file or record the lien in the office of the county recorder
or registrar of titles in each county in which any of the real property is located. The department
shall pay the filing fees. The lien need not be attested, certified, or acknowledged as a condition of
recording or filing. The recorder or registrar of titles shall accept the lien for filing or recording.
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(d) The commissioner shall make no adjustment or recovery under the lien until none of
the persons listed in subdivision 4 are residing on the property or until the property is sold or
transferred. The estate or any owner of an interest in the property that is or may be subject to the
lien, or any other interested party, may voluntarily pay off, settle, or otherwise satisfy the claim
secured or to be secured by the lien at any time before or after the lien is filed or recorded. The
payoffs, settlements, and satisfactions shall be deemed to be voluntary repayments of past medical
assistance payments for the benefit of the deceased recipient and neither the process of settling the
claim, the payment of the claim, or acceptance of a payment shall constitute an adjustment or
recovery that is prohibited under this subdivision.

(e) A lien under this subdivision may be enforced or foreclosed in the manner provided for
by law for the enforcement of judgment liens against real estate or by a foreclosure by action
under chapter 581. When the lien has been paid, satisfied, or otherwise discharged, the claimant
shall prepare and file a release of lien at the claimant's expense. No action to foreclose the lien
shall be commenced unless the lienholder has first given 30 days prior written notice to pay the
lien to the record owners of the property and the parties in possession of the property subject to
the lien. The notice shall:

(1) include the name, address, and telephone number of the lienholder;
(2) describe the lien;
(3) give the amount of the lien;
(4) inform the owner or party in possession that payment of the lien in full must be made to

the lienholder within 30 days after service of the notice or the lienholder may begin proceedings
to foreclose the lien; and

(5) be served by personal service, certified mail, return receipt requested, ordinary first class
mail, or by publishing it once in a newspaper of general circulation in the county in which any
part of the property is located. Service shall be complete upon mailing or publication.

(f) Upon filing or recording of a lien against a life estate or joint tenancy interest under this
subdivision, the interest subject to the lien shall merge into the remainder interest or the interest
the decedent and others owned jointly, effective on the date of recording and filing. The lien shall
attach to and run with the property to the extent of the decedent's interest in the property at the
time of the decedent's death as determined under this section.

(g)(1) An affidavit may be provided by a personal representative, at their discretion, stating
the personal representative has determined in good faith that a decedent survived by a spouse
or a person listed in subdivision 3, or by a person listed in subdivision 4, or the decedent's
predeceased spouse did not receive any medical assistance giving rise to a claim under this
section, or that the real property described in subdivision 4 is not needed to pay in full a claim
arising under this section.

(2) The affidavit shall:
(i) describe the property and the interest being extinguished;
(ii) name the decedent and give the date of death;
(iii) state the facts listed in clause (1);
(iv) state that the affidavit is being filed to terminate the life estate or joint tenancy interest

created under this subdivision;
(v) be signed by the personal representative; and
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(vi) contain any other information that the affiant deems appropriate.

(3) Except as provided in section 514.981, subdivision 6, when the affidavit is filed or
recorded, the life estate or joint tenancy interest in real property that the affidavit describes shall
be terminated effective as of the date of filing or recording. The termination shall be final and
may not be set aside for any reason.

Subd. 1k. Filing. Any notice, lien, release, or other document filed under subdivisions 1c to
1l, and any lien, release of lien, or other documents relating to a lien filed under subdivisions 1h,
1i, and 1j must be filed or recorded in the office of the county recorder or registrar of titles, as
appropriate, in the county where the affected real property is located. Notwithstanding section
386.77, the state or county agency shall pay any applicable filing fee. An attestation, certification,
or acknowledgment is not required as a condition of filing. If the property described in the filing is
registered property, the registrar of titles shall record the filing on the certificate of title for each
parcel of property described in the filing. If the property described in the filing is abstract property,
the recorder shall file and index the property in the county's grantor-grantee indexes and any tract
indexes the county maintains for each parcel of property described in the filing. The recorder or
registrar of titles shall return the filed document to the party filing it at no cost. If the party making
the filing provides a duplicate copy of the filing, the recorder or registrar of titles shall show the
recording or filing data on the copy and return it to the party at no extra cost.

Subd. 2. Limitations on claims. The claim shall include only the total amount of medical
assistance rendered after age 55 or during a period of institutionalization described in subdivision
1a, paragraph (e), and the total amount of general assistance medical care rendered, and shall
not include interest. Claims that have been allowed but not paid shall bear interest according to
section 524.3-806, paragraph (d). A claim against the estate of a surviving spouse who did not
receive medical assistance, for medical assistance rendered for the predeceased spouse, shall be
payable from the full value of all of the predeceased spouse's assets and interests which are part
of the surviving spouse's estate under subdivisions 1a and 2b. Recovery of medical assistance
expenses in the nonrecipient surviving spouse's estate is limited to the value of the assets of the
estate that were marital property or jointly owned property at any time during the marriage. The
claim is not payable from the value of assets or proceeds of assets in the estate attributable to
a predeceased spouse whom the individual married after the death of the predeceased recipient
spouse for whom the claim is filed or from assets and the proceeds of assets in the estate which
the nonrecipient decedent spouse acquired with assets which were not marital property or jointly
owned property after the death of the predeceased recipient spouse. Claims for alternative care
shall be net of all premiums paid under section 256B.0913, subdivision 12, on or after July 1,
2003, and shall be limited to services provided on or after July 1, 2003. Claims against marital
property shall be limited to claims against recipients who died on or after July 1, 2009.

[See Note.]

Subd. 2a. [Repealed, 2001 c 203 s 19]

Subd. 2b. Controlling provisions. (a) For purposes of this subdivision and subdivisions 1a
and 2, paragraphs (b) to (d) apply.

(b) At the time of death of a recipient spouse and solely for purpose of recovery of medical
assistance benefits received, a predeceased recipient spouse shall have a legal title or interest in
the undivided whole of all of the property which the recipient and the recipient's surviving spouse
owned jointly or which was marital property at any time during their marriage regardless of
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the form of ownership and regardless of whether it was owned or titled in the names of one or
both the recipient and the recipient's spouse. Title and interest in the property of a predeceased
recipient spouse shall not end or extinguish upon the person's death and shall continue for the
purpose of allowing recovery of medical assistance in the estate of the surviving spouse. Upon the
death of the predeceased recipient spouse, title and interest in the predeceased spouse's property
shall vest in the surviving spouse by operation of law and without the necessity for any probate or
decree of descent proceedings and shall continue to exist after the death of the predeceased spouse
and the surviving spouse to permit recovery of medical assistance. The recipient spouse and the
surviving spouse of a deceased recipient spouse shall not encumber, disclaim, transfer, alienate,
hypothecate, or otherwise divest themselves of these interests before or upon death.

(c) For purposes of this section, "marital property" includes any and all real or personal
property of any kind or interests in such property the predeceased recipient spouse and their
spouse, or either of them, owned at the time of their marriage to each other or acquired during
their marriage regardless of whether it was owned or titled in the names of one or both of them.
If either or both spouses of a married couple received medical assistance, all property owned
during the marriage or which either or both spouses acquired during their marriage shall be
presumed to be marital property for purposes of recovering medical assistance unless there is
clear and convincing evidence to the contrary.

(d) The agency responsible for the claim for medical assistance for a recipient spouse may,
at its discretion, release specific real and personal property from the provisions of this section.
The release shall extinguish the interest created under paragraph (b) in the land it describes upon
filing or recording. The release need not be attested, certified, or acknowledged as a condition of
filing or recording and shall be filed or recorded in the office of the county recorder or registrar
of titles, as appropriate, in the county where the real property is located. The party to whom the
release is given shall be responsible for paying all fees and costs necessary to record and file the
release. If the property described in the release is registered property, the registrar of titles shall
accept it for recording and shall record it on the certificate of title for each parcel of property
described in the release. If the property described in the release is abstract property, the recorder
shall accept it for filing and file it in the county's grantor-grantee indexes and any tract index the
county maintains for each parcel of property described in the release.

Subd. 3. Surviving spouse, minor, blind, or disabled children. If a decedent is survived
by a spouse, or was single or the surviving spouse of a married couple and is survived by a child
who is under age 21 or blind or permanently and totally disabled according to the supplemental
security income program criteria, a claim shall be filed against the estate according to this section.

Subd. 4. Other survivors. (a) If the decedent who was single or the surviving spouse of
a married couple is survived by one of the following persons, a claim exists against the estate
payable first from the value of the nonhomestead property included in the estate and the personal
representative shall make, execute, and deliver to the county agency a lien against the homestead
property in the estate for any unpaid balance of the claim to the claimant as provided under
this section:

(1) a sibling who resided in the decedent medical assistance recipient's home at
least one year before the decedent's institutionalization and continuously since the date of
institutionalization; or

(2) a son or daughter or a grandchild who resided in the decedent medical assistance
recipient's home for at least two years immediately before the parent's or grandparent's
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institutionalization and continuously since the date of institutionalization, and who establishes by
a preponderance of the evidence having provided care to the parent or grandparent who received
medical assistance, that the care was provided before institutionalization, and that the care
permitted the parent or grandparent to reside at home rather than in an institution.

(b) For purposes of this subdivision, "institutionalization" means receiving care:
(1) in a nursing facility or swing bed, or intermediate care facility for persons with

developmental disabilities; or
(2) through home and community-based services under section 256B.0915, 256B.092, or

256B.49.

Subd. 5. Undue hardship. (a) Any person entitled to notice in subdivision 1a has a right
to apply for waiver of the claim based upon undue hardship. Any claim pursuant to this section
may be fully or partially waived because of undue hardship. Undue hardship does not include
action taken by the decedent which divested or diverted assets in order to avoid estate recovery.
Any waiver of a claim must benefit the person claiming undue hardship. The commissioner shall
have authority to hear claimant appeals, pursuant to section 256.045, when an application for a
hardship waiver is denied in whole or part.

(b) Upon approval of a hardship waiver, this paragraph applies to a claim against the
decedent's real property if an individual other than the recipient's spouse had an ownership interest
in the property at the time of the decedent's death and actually and continuously occupied the real
property as the individual's residence for at least 180 days before the date the decedent died. If
the real property is classified as the individual's homestead property for property tax purposes
under section 273.124, no adjustment or recovery may be made until the individual no longer
resides in the property or until the property is sold or transferred.

Subd. 6. Life estate or joint tenancy interest. For purposes of subdivision 1 and section
514.981, subdivision 6, a life estate or joint tenancy interest is established upon the earlier of:

(1) the date the instrument creating the interest is recorded or filed in the office of the
county recorder or registrar of titles where the real estate interest it describes is located;

(2) the date of delivery by the grantor to the grantee of the signed instrument as stated in an
affidavit made by a person with knowledge of the facts;

(3) the date on which the judicial order creating the interest was issued by the court; or
(4) the date upon which the interest devolves under section 524.3-101.

Subd. 7. Lien notices.Medical assistance liens and liens under notices of potential claims
that are of record against life estate or joint tenancy interests established prior to August 1, 2003,
shall end, become unenforceable, and cease to be liens on those interests upon the death of the
person named in the lien or notice of potential claim, shall be disregarded by examiners of title
after the death of the life tenant or joint tenant, and shall not be carried forward to a subsequent
certificate of title. This subdivision shall not apply to life estates that continue to exist after the
death of the person named in the lien or notice of potential claim under the terms of the instrument
creating or reserving the life estate until the life estate ends as provided for in the instrument.

Subd. 8. Immunity. The commissioner of human services, county agencies, and elected
officials and their employees are immune from all liability for any action taken implementing
Laws 2003, First Special Session chapter 14, article 12, sections 40 to 52 and 90, as those laws
existed at the time the action was taken, and section 514.981, subdivision 6.
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Subd. 9. Commissioner's intervention. The commissioner shall be permitted to intervene
as a party in any proceeding involving recovery of medical assistance upon filing a notice of
intervention and serving such notice on the other parties.

History: Ex1967 c 16 s 15; 1981 c 360 art 1 s 22; 1Sp1981 c 4 art 1 s 126; 1986 c 444; 1987
c 403 art 2 s 82; 1988 c 719 art 8 s 15; 1990 c 568 art 3 s 63; 1992 c 513 art 7 s 80,81; 1Sp1993 c
1 art 5 s 82,83; 1995 c 207 art 6 s 79-81; 1996 c 451 art 2 s 29,30,61,62; art 5 s 26; 2000 c 400 s
2,3; 2001 c 203 s 17; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 2 s 27-29; art 12 s 40-52; 2005 c 56 s 1; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 7
s 28-32; 2008 c 326 art 1 s 34; 2008 c 341 art 2 s 1,2; 2009 c 79 art 5 s 38-43; 2009 c 160 s 1,2

NOTE: The amendments to subdivisions 1a and 2 by Laws 1995, chapter 207, article 6,
sections 79 and 80, relating only to the age of a medical assistance recipient for purposes of
estate claims, are effective for persons who are between the ages of 55 and 64 on or after July 1,
1995, for the total amount of assistance on or after July 1, 1995. See Laws 1995, chapter 207,
article 6, section 125, subdivision 1.

NOTE: Subdivision 2 (Minnesota Statutes 2008) was held preempted by federal law to
the extent it allows recovery against the estate of a surviving spouse of a Medicaid recipient
from assets in which the deceased Medicaid recipient did not have a legal interest at the time of
death. In re Estate of Barg, 752 N.W.2d 52 (Minn. 2008), cert. denied Vos v. Barg, 129 S.Ct.
2859 (2009). See Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, sections 38 to 43. Centers for Medicare and
Medicaid Services approved state plan amendment effective July 1, 2009.

256B.16 [Repealed, 1971 c 550 s 2]

256B.17 TRANSFERS OF PROPERTY.

Subdivision 1. [Repealed, 1997 c 107 s 19]

Subd. 2. [Repealed, 1997 c 107 s 19]

Subd. 3. [Repealed, 1997 c 107 s 19]

Subd. 4. [Repealed, 1997 c 107 s 19]

Subd. 5. [Repealed, 1997 c 107 s 19]

Subd. 6. [Repealed, 1997 c 107 s 19]

Subd. 7. Exception for asset transfers. An institutionalized spouse, institutionalized
before October 1, 1989, for a continuous period, who applies for medical assistance on or after
July 1, 1983, may transfer liquid assets to a noninstitutionalized spouse if all of the following
conditions apply:

(a) The noninstitutionalized spouse is not applying for or receiving assistance;

(b) Either (1) the noninstitutionalized spouse has less than $10,000 in liquid assets,
including assets singly owned and 50 percent of assets owned jointly with the institutionalized
spouse; or (2) the noninstitutionalized spouse has less than 50 percent of the total value of
nonexempt assets owned by both parties, jointly or individually;

(c) The amount transferred, together with the noninstitutionalized spouse's own assets,
totals no more than one-half of the total value of the liquid assets of the parties or $10,000 in
liquid assets, whichever is greater; and
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(d) The transfer may be effected only once, at the time of initial medical assistance
application.

Subd. 8. [Repealed, 1997 c 107 s 19]

History: Ex1967 c 16 s 17; 1981 c 360 art 2 s 30; 1983 c 312 art 5 s 20-24; 1984 c 534 s
23; 1985 c 252 s 23; 1986 c 444; 1987 c 403 art 2 s 83,84; 1988 c 689 art 2 s 151,268; 1989 c
282 art 3 s 98; 1990 c 568 art 3 s 95,96; 1997 c 107 s 7

256B.18 METHODS OF ADMINISTRATION.

The state agency shall prescribe such methods of administration as are necessary for
compliance with requirements of the Social Security Act, as amended, and for the proper and
efficient operation of the program of assistance hereunder. The state agency shall establish and
maintain a system of personnel standards on a merit basis for all such employees of the county
agencies and the examination thereof, and the administration thereof shall be directed and
controlled exclusively by the state agency except in those counties in which such employees
are covered by a merit system that meets the requirements of the state agency and the Social
Security Act, as amended.

History: Ex1967 c 16 s 18

256B.19 DIVISION OF COST.

Subdivision 1. Division of cost. The state and county share of medical assistance costs
not paid by federal funds shall be as follows:

(1) beginning January 1, 1992, 50 percent state funds and 50 percent county funds for the
cost of placement of severely emotionally disturbed children in regional treatment centers;

(2) beginning January 1, 2003, 80 percent state funds and 20 percent county funds for the
costs of nursing facility placements of persons with disabilities under the age of 65 that have
exceeded 90 days. This clause shall be subject to chapter 256G and shall not apply to placements
in facilities not certified to participate in medical assistance;

(3) beginning July 1, 2004, 90 percent state funds and ten percent county funds for the
costs of placements that have exceeded 90 days in intermediate care facilities for persons with
developmental disabilities that have seven or more beds. This provision includes pass-through
payments made under section 256B.5015; and

(4) beginning July 1, 2004, when state funds are used to pay for a nursing facility placement
due to the facility's status as an institution for mental diseases (IMD), the county shall pay 20
percent of the nonfederal share of costs that have exceeded 90 days. This clause is subject to
chapter 256G.

For counties that participate in a Medicaid demonstration project under sections 256B.69
and 256B.71, the division of the nonfederal share of medical assistance expenses for payments
made to prepaid health plans or for payments made to health maintenance organizations in the
form of prepaid capitation payments, this division of medical assistance expenses shall be 95
percent by the state and five percent by the county of financial responsibility.

In counties where prepaid health plans are under contract to the commissioner to provide
services to medical assistance recipients, the cost of court ordered treatment ordered without
consulting the prepaid health plan that does not include diagnostic evaluation, recommendation,
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and referral for treatment by the prepaid health plan is the responsibility of the county of financial
responsibility.

Subd. 1a. [Repealed, 2002 c 277 s 34]

Subd. 1b. [Repealed, 1Sp2001 c 9 art 2 s 76]

Subd. 1c. Additional portion of nonfederal share. (a) Hennepin County shall be
responsible for a monthly transfer payment of $1,500,000, due before noon on the 15th of each
month and the University of Minnesota shall be responsible for a monthly transfer payment of
$500,000 due before noon on the 15th of each month, beginning July 15, 1995. These sums
shall be part of the designated governmental unit's portion of the nonfederal share of medical
assistance costs.

(b) Beginning July 1, 2001, Hennepin County's payment under paragraph (a) shall be
$2,066,000 each month.

(c) Beginning July 1, 2001, the commissioner shall increase annual capitation payments to
the metropolitan health plan under section 256B.69 for the prepaid medical assistance program by
approximately $6,800,000 to recognize higher than average medical education costs.

(d) Effective August 1, 2005, Hennepin County's payment under paragraphs (a) and (b)
shall be reduced to $566,000, and the University of Minnesota's payment under paragraph (a)
shall be reduced to zero. Effective October 1, 2008, to December 31, 2010, Hennepin County's
payment under paragraphs (a) and (b) shall be $434,688. Effective January 1, 2011, Hennepin
County's payment under paragraphs (a) and (b) shall be $566,000.

(e) Notwithstanding paragraph (d), upon federal enactment of an extension to June 30,
2011, of the enhanced federal medical assistance percentage (FMAP) originally provided under
Public Law 111-5, for the six-month period from January 1, 2011, to June 30, 2011, Hennepin
County's payment under paragraphs (a) and (b) shall be $434,688.

Subd. 1d. [Repealed, 2009 c 79 art 8 s 86]

Subd. 1e. Additional local share of certain nursing facility costs. Beginning October
1, 2011, participating local governmental entities that own the physical plant or are the license
holders of nursing facilities receiving rate adjustments under section 256B.441, subdivision
55a, shall be responsible for paying the portion of nonfederal costs calculated under section
256B.441, subdivision 55a, paragraph (e). Payments of the nonfederal share shall be submitted to
the commissioner by the 15th day of the month prior to payment to the nursing facility for that
month's services. If any participating governmental entity obligated to pay an amount under
this subdivision does not make timely payment of the monthly installment, the commissioner
shall revoke participation under this subdivision and end payments determined under section
256B.441, subdivision 55a, to the participating nursing facility effective on the first day of the
month for which timely payment was not received. In the event of revocation, the nursing facility
may not bill, collect, or retain the amount allowed in section 256B.441, subdivision 55a, from
private-pay residents for days of service on or after the first day of the month following the month
in which the revocation occurred.

[See Note.]

Subd. 2. Distribution of federal funds. Federal funds available for administrative purposes
shall be distributed between the state and the county in the same proportion that expenditures
were made, except as provided for in section 256.017.
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Subd. 2a. Division of costs. The county shall ensure that only the least costly, most
appropriate transportation and travel expenses are used. The state may enter into volume purchase
contracts, or use a competitive bidding process, whenever feasible, to minimize the costs of
transportation services. If the state has entered into a volume purchase contract or used the
competitive bidding procedures of chapter 16C to arrange for transportation services, the county
may be required to use such arrangements.

Subd. 2b. Pilot project reimbursement. In counties where a pilot or demonstration
project is operated under the medical assistance program, the state may pay 100 percent of the
administrative costs for the pilot or demonstration project after June 30, 1990.

Subd. 2c. Obligation of local agency to investigate eligibility for medical assistance.
(a) When the commissioner receives information that indicates that a general assistance medical
care recipient or MinnesotaCare program enrollee may be eligible for medical assistance,
the commissioner may notify the appropriate local agency of that fact. The local agency
must investigate eligibility for medical assistance and take appropriate action and notify the
commissioner of that action within 90 days from the date notice is issued. If the person is eligible
for medical assistance, the local agency must find eligibility retroactively to the date on which the
person met all eligibility requirements.

(b) When a prepaid health plan under a contract with the state to provide medical assistance
services notifies the commissioner that an infant has been or will be born to an enrollee under
the contract, the commissioner may notify the appropriate local agency of that fact. The local
agency must investigate eligibility for medical assistance for the infant, take appropriate action,
and notify the commissioner of that action within 90 days from the date notice is issued. If the
infant would have been eligible on the date of birth, the local agency must establish eligibility
retroactively to that month.

(c) For general assistance medical care recipients and MinnesotaCare program enrollees, if
the local agency fails to comply with paragraph (a), the local agency is responsible for the entire
cost of general assistance medical care or MinnesotaCare program services provided from the
date the commissioner issues the notice until the date the local agency takes appropriate action
on the case and notifies the commissioner of the action. For infants, if the local agency fails to
comply with paragraph (b), the commissioner may determine eligibility for medical assistance for
the infant for a period of two months, and the local agency shall be responsible for the entire cost
of medical assistance services provided for that infant, in addition to a fee of $100 for processing
the case. The commissioner shall deduct any obligation incurred under this paragraph from the
amount due to the local agency under subdivision 1.

Subd. 3. Study of medical assistance financial participation. The commissioner shall
study the feasibility and outcomes of implementing a variable medical assistance county
financial participation rate for long-term care services to developmentally disabled persons in
order to encourage the utilization of alternative services to long-term intermediate care for the
developmentally disabled. The commissioner shall submit findings and recommendations to
the legislature by January 20, 1984.

History: Ex1967 c 16 s 19; 1971 c 547 s 1; 1975 c 437 art 2 s 7; 1982 c 640 s 7; 1983 c
312 art 9 s 6; 1984 c 534 s 24; 1Sp1985 c 9 art 2 s 46; 1986 c 444; 1987 c 403 art 2 s 85; 1988 c
719 art 8 s 16,17; 1Sp1989 c 1 art 16 s 8,9; 1990 c 568 art 3 s 64; 1991 c 292 art 4 s 51-53; 1992
c 513 art 7 s 82; 1993 c 13 art 1 s 32; 1Sp1993 c 1 art 5 s 84-86; 1995 c 207 art 6 s 82-84; 1995 c
234 art 8 s 56; 1997 c 203 art 11 s 7; 1998 c 386 art 2 s 80; 1Sp2001 c 9 art 2 s 45; 2002 c 220
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art 14 s 7,8; 2002 c 277 s 20-23; 2002 c 375 art 2 s 34; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 2003 c 9 s 1;
1Sp2003 c 14 art 3 s 43; 2005 c 56 s 1; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 2 s 14; art 8 s 48; 2008 c 363 art 15 s 8;
2010 c 396 s 4; 1Sp2010 c 1 art 24 s 6; 1Sp2011 c 9 art 7 s 24

NOTE: Subdivision 1e, as added by Laws 2010, chapter 396, section 4, shall be
implemented only upon federal approval. The commissioner of human services shall delay the
effective date of subdivision 1e if necessary in order to avoid loss of enhanced federal Medicaid
matching funds as authorized by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 and
extended by any subsequent law. Laws 2010, chapter 396, section 9.

256B.194 FEDERAL PAYMENTS.

The commissioner may require medical assistance and MinnesotaCare providers to provide
any information necessary to determine Medicaid-related costs, and require the cooperation of
providers in any audit or review necessary to ensure payments are limited to cost. This section
does not apply to providers who are exempt from the provisions of the CMS final rule, published
May 29, 2007, at Federal Register, Vol. 72, No. 100, governing payments to providers that are
units of government. This section becomes effective when the CMS final rule goes into effect at
the end of the moratorium imposed by Congress.

History: 2008 c 363 art 17 s 12

256B.195 [Repealed, 2010 c 200 art 1 s 21]

256B.196 INTERGOVERNMENTAL TRANSFERS; HOSPITAL PAYMENTS.

Subdivision 1. Federal approval required. This section is contingent on federal approval
of the intergovernmental transfers and payments authorized under this section. This section is
also contingent on current payment by the government entities of the intergovernmental transfers
under this section.

Subd. 2. Commissioner's duties. (a) For the purposes of this subdivision and subdivision 3,
the commissioner shall determine the fee-for-service outpatient hospital services upper payment
limit for nonstate government hospitals. The commissioner shall then determine the amount of a
supplemental payment to Hennepin County Medical Center and Regions Hospital for these
services that would increase medical assistance spending in this category to the aggregate upper
payment limit for all nonstate government hospitals in Minnesota. In making this determination,
the commissioner shall allot the available increases between Hennepin County Medical Center
and Regions Hospital based on the ratio of medical assistance fee-for-service outpatient hospital
payments to the two facilities. The commissioner shall adjust this allotment as necessary based on
federal approvals, the amount of intergovernmental transfers received from Hennepin and Ramsey
Counties, and other factors, in order to maximize the additional total payments. The commissioner
shall inform Hennepin County and Ramsey County of the periodic intergovernmental transfers
necessary to match federal Medicaid payments available under this subdivision in order to make
supplementary medical assistance payments to Hennepin County Medical Center and Regions
Hospital equal to an amount that when combined with existing medical assistance payments to
nonstate governmental hospitals would increase total payments to hospitals in this category for
outpatient services to the aggregate upper payment limit for all hospitals in this category in
Minnesota. Upon receipt of these periodic transfers, the commissioner shall make supplementary
payments to Hennepin County Medical Center and Regions Hospital.
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(b) For the purposes of this subdivision and subdivision 3, the commissioner shall
determine an upper payment limit for physicians and other billing professionals affiliated with
Hennepin County Medical Center and with Regions Hospital. The upper payment limit shall be
based on the average commercial rate or be determined using another method acceptable to the
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. The commissioner shall inform Hennepin County
and Ramsey County of the periodic intergovernmental transfers necessary to match the federal
Medicaid payments available under this subdivision in order to make supplementary payments to
physicians and other billing professionals affiliated with Hennepin County Medical Center and
to make supplementary payments to physicians and other billing professionals affiliated with
Regions Hospital through HealthPartners Medical Group equal to the difference between the
established medical assistance payment for physician and other billing professional services and
the upper payment limit. Upon receipt of these periodic transfers, the commissioner shall make
supplementary payments to physicians and other billing professionals affiliated with Hennepin
County Medical Center and shall make supplementary payments to physicians and other billing
professionals affiliated with Regions Hospital through HealthPartners Medical Group.

(c) Beginning January 1, 2010, Hennepin County and Ramsey County may make
monthly voluntary intergovernmental transfers to the commissioner in amounts not to exceed
$12,000,000 per year from Hennepin County and $6,000,000 per year from Ramsey County.
The commissioner shall increase the medical assistance capitation payments to any licensed
health plan under contract with the medical assistance program that agrees to make enhanced
payments to Hennepin County Medical Center or Regions Hospital. The increase shall be in an
amount equal to the annual value of the monthly transfers plus federal financial participation,
with each health plan receiving its pro rata share of the increase based on the pro rata share of
medical assistance admissions to Hennepin County Medical Center and Regions Hospital by
those plans. Upon the request of the commissioner, health plans shall submit individual-level
cost data for verification purposes. The commissioner may ratably reduce these payments on a
pro rata basis in order to satisfy federal requirements for actuarial soundness. If payments are
reduced, transfers shall be reduced accordingly. Any licensed health plan that receives increased
medical assistance capitation payments under the intergovernmental transfer described in this
paragraph shall increase its medical assistance payments to Hennepin County Medical Center
and Regions Hospital by the same amount as the increased payments received in the capitation
payment described in this paragraph.

(d) The commissioner shall inform the transferring governmental entities on an ongoing
basis of the need for any changes needed in the intergovernmental transfers in order to continue
the payments under paragraphs (a) to (c), at their maximum level, including increases in upper
payment limits, changes in the federal Medicaid match, and other factors.

(e) The payments in paragraphs (a) to (c) shall be implemented independently of each other,
subject to federal approval and to the receipt of transfers under subdivision 3.

[See Note.]

Subd. 3. Intergovernmental transfers. Based on the determination by the commissioner
under subdivision 2, Hennepin County and Ramsey County shall make periodic intergovernmental
transfers to the commissioner for the purposes of subdivision 2, paragraphs (a) and (b). All of the
intergovernmental transfers made by Hennepin County shall be used to match federal payments
to Hennepin County Medical Center under subdivision 2, paragraph (a), and to physicians and
other billing professionals affiliated with Hennepin County Medical Center under subdivision 2,
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paragraph (b). All of the intergovernmental transfers made by Ramsey County shall be used to
match federal payments to Regions Hospital under subdivision 2, paragraph (a), and to physicians
and other billing professionals affiliated with Regions Hospital through HealthPartners Medical
Group under subdivision 2, paragraph (b).

Subd. 4. Adjustments permitted. (a) The commissioner may adjust the intergovernmental
transfers under subdivision 3 and the payments under subdivision 2, based on the commissioner's
determination of Medicare upper payment limits, hospital-specific charge limits, hospital-specific
limitations on disproportionate share payments, medical inflation, actuarial certification,
and cost-effectiveness for purposes of federal waivers. Any adjustments must be made on a
proportional basis. The commissioner may make adjustments under this subdivision only after
consultation with the affected counties and hospitals. All payments under subdivision 2 and all
intergovernmental transfers under subdivision 3 are limited to amounts available after all other
base rates, adjustments, and supplemental payments in chapter 256B are calculated.

(b) The ratio of medical assistance payments specified in subdivision 2 to the voluntary
intergovernmental transfers specified in subdivision 3 shall not be reduced except as provided
under paragraph (a).

Subd. 5. Recession period. Each type of intergovernmental transfer in subdivision 2,
paragraphs (a) to (d), for payment periods from October 1, 2008, through June 30, 2013, is
voluntary on the part of Hennepin and Ramsey Counties, meaning that the transfer must be agreed
to, in writing, by the counties prior to any payments being issued. One agreement on each type of
transfer shall cover the entire recession period.

History: 2009 c 79 art 5 s 44; 2010 c 200 art 1 s 8; 1Sp2011 c 9 art 6 s 56-58
NOTE: The amendment to subdivision 2 by Laws 2010, chapter 200, article 1, section

8, is effective 60 days after federal approval. Laws 2010, chapter 200, article 1, section 8, the
effective date.

256B.197 INTERGOVERNMENTAL TRANSFERS; INPATIENT HOSPITAL
PAYMENTS.

Subdivision 1. Federal approval required. This section is effective for federal fiscal year
2010 and future years contingent on federal approval of the voluntary intergovernmental transfers
and payments authorized under this section and contingent on payment of the intergovernmental
transfers under this section.

Subd. 2. Eligible nonstate government hospitals. (a) Hennepin County Medical Center
and Regions Hospital are eligible nonstate government hospitals.

(b) If the commissioner obtains federal approval to include other hospitals, including
University of Minnesota Medical Center, Fairview, and SMDC Medical Center, the commissioner
may expand the definition of eligible nonstate government hospitals to include other hospitals.

Subd. 3. Commissioner's duties. (a) For the purposes of this subdivision, the commissioner
shall determine the fee-for-service inpatient hospital services upper payment limit for nonstate
government hospitals. The commissioner shall determine, for each eligible nonstate government
hospital, the amount of a supplemental payment for inpatient hospital services that would increase
medical assistance spending for each eligible nonstate government hospital up to the amount that
Medicare would pay for the Medicaid fee-for-service inpatient hospital services provided by that
hospital. If the combined amount of such supplemental payment amounts and existing medical
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assistance payments for inpatient hospital services to all nonstate government hospitals is less
than the upper payment limit, the commissioner shall increase the supplemental payment amount
for each eligible nonstate government hospital in proportion to the initial supplemental payments
in order to maximize the additional total payments.

(b) The commissioner shall inform each eligible nonstate government hospital and
associated governmental entities of voluntary intergovernmental transfers necessary to provide
the nonfederal share for the supplemental payment amount attributable to each eligible nonstate
government hospital, as calculated under paragraph (a).

(c) Upon receipt of a voluntary intergovernmental transfer from a governmental entity
associated with an eligible nonstate government hospital or from the eligible nonstate government
hospital, the commissioner shall make a supplemental payment, using the amounts calculated
under paragraph (a), to the associated eligible nonstate government hospital.

(d) The commissioner may implement the payments in this section through use of periodic
payments and voluntary intergovernmental transfers.

(e) The commissioner shall inform eligible nonstate government hospitals and associated
governmental entities on an ongoing basis of the need for any changes needed in the payment
amounts or voluntary intergovernmental transfers in order to continue the payments under
paragraph (c) at their maximum level, including increases in upper payment limits, changes in
the federal Medicaid match, and other factors.

History: 2010 c 200 art 1 s 9

256B.198 PAYMENTS FOR NON-HOSPITAL-BASED GOVERNMENTAL HEALTH
CENTERS.

(a) The commissioner may make payments to non-hospital-based health centers operated
by a governmental entity for the difference between the expenditures incurred by the health center
for patients eligible for medical assistance, and the payments to the health center for medical
assistance permitted elsewhere under this chapter.

(b) The nonfederal share of payments authorized under paragraph (a) shall be provided
through certified public expenditures authorized under section 256B.199, paragraph (b).

(c) Effective July 1, 2013, or no earlier than 12 months after implementation of a total
cost of care demonstration project, Hennepin County may receive federal matching funds for
certified public expenditures under paragraph (a), if the county participates in a total cost of care
demonstration project under sections 256B.0755 and 256B.0756, or another total cost of care
demonstration project approved by the commissioner, and the county exceeds the minimum
performance threshold established by the commissioner for the demonstration project. The value
of the federal matching funds for the certified public expenditures allocated to Hennepin County
shall be equal to the value of savings achieved above the minimum performance threshold.
The same proportion of federal matching funds for certified public expenditure allocated to
Hennepin County based on savings achieved under the demonstration project shall continue after
the demonstration project and must continue to be paid to Hennepin County each year thereafter.

(d) Beginning July 1, 2014, or no earlier than 12 months after the initial allocation under
paragraph (c) if a portion of the federal matching funds for certified public expenditure remains
with the state, the commissioner shall annually determine if the savings from county's total cost
of care demonstration project exceeded the savings from the previous year and allocate federal
matching funds for certified public expenditures to Hennepin County equal to the amount of
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savings achieved above the amount achieved in the previous year. The proportion of federal
matching funds for certified public expenditure allocated to Hennepin County shall be paid
to Hennepin County each year thereafter, until no federal matching funds for certified public
expenditures under paragraph (a) remain with the state.

(e) Nothing under this section precludes Hennepin County from receiving an additional
gain-sharing payment or relieves the county from paying a downside risk-sharing payment to the
state under the demonstration project under section 256B.0755.

History: 1Sp2011 c 9 art 6 s 59

256B.199 PAYMENTS REPORTED BY GOVERNMENTAL ENTITIES.
(a) Effective July 1, 2007, the commissioner shall apply for federal matching funds for the

expenditures in paragraphs (b) and (c). Effective September 1, 2011, the commissioner shall apply
for matching funds for expenditures in paragraph (e).

(b) The commissioner shall apply for federal matching funds for certified public
expenditures as follows:

(1) Hennepin County, Hennepin County Medical Center, Ramsey County, Regions
Hospital, the University of Minnesota, and Fairview-University Medical Center shall report
quarterly to the commissioner beginning June 1, 2007, payments made during the second previous
quarter that may qualify for reimbursement under federal law;

(2) based on these reports, the commissioner shall apply for federal matching funds. These
funds are appropriated to the commissioner for the payments under section 256.969, subdivision
27; and

(3) by May 1 of each year, beginning May 1, 2007, the commissioner shall inform the
nonstate entities listed in paragraph (a) of the amount of federal disproportionate share hospital
payment money expected to be available in the current federal fiscal year.

(c) The commissioner shall apply for federal matching funds for general assistance medical
care expenditures as follows:

(1) for hospital services occurring on or after July 1, 2007, general assistance medical
care expenditures for fee-for-service inpatient and outpatient hospital payments made by the
department shall be used to apply for federal matching funds, except as limited below:

(i) only those general assistance medical care expenditures made to an individual hospital
that would not cause the hospital to exceed its individual hospital limits under section 1923 of the
Social Security Act may be considered; and

(ii) general assistance medical care expenditures may be considered only to the extent of
Minnesota's aggregate allotment under section 1923 of the Social Security Act; and

(2) all hospitals must provide any necessary expenditure, cost, and revenue information
required by the commissioner as necessary for purposes of obtaining federal Medicaid matching
funds for general assistance medical care expenditures.

(d) For the period from April 1, 2009, to September 30, 2010, the commissioner shall apply
for additional federal matching funds available as disproportionate share hospital payments under
the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009. These funds shall be made available as
the state share of payments under section 256.969, subdivision 28. The entities required to report
certified public expenditures under paragraph (b), clause (1), shall report additional certified
public expenditures as necessary under this paragraph.
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(e) For services provided on or after September 1, 2011, the commissioner shall apply for
additional federal matching funds available as disproportionate share hospital payments under
the MinnesotaCare program according to the requirements and conditions of paragraph (c). A
hospital may elect on an annual basis to not be a disproportionate share hospital for purposes of
this paragraph, if the hospital does not qualify for a payment under section 256.969, subdivision
9, paragraph (b).

History: 1Sp2005 c 4 art 8 s 50; 2007 c 147 art 5 s 13; 2009 c 79 art 5 s 45; 1Sp2011 c 9
art 6 s 60

256B.20 COUNTY APPROPRIATIONS.

The providing of funds necessary to carry out the provisions hereof on the part of the
counties and the manner of administering the funds of the counties and the state shall be as follows:

(1) The board of county commissioners of each county shall annually set up in its budget
an item designated as the county medical assistance fund and levy taxes and fix a rate therefor
sufficient to produce the full amount of such item, in addition to all other tax levies and tax
rate, however fixed or determined, sufficient to carry out the provisions hereof and sufficient to
pay in full the county share of assistance and administrative expense for the ensuing year; and
annually on or before October 10 shall certify the same to the county auditor to be entered by the
auditor on the tax rolls. Such tax levy and tax rate shall make proper allowance and provision for
shortage in tax collections.

(2) Any county may transfer surplus funds from any county fund, except the sinking or
ditch fund, to the general fund or to the county medical assistance fund in order to provide money
necessary to pay medical assistance awarded hereunder. The money so transferred shall be
used for no other purpose, but any portion thereof no longer needed for such purpose shall be
transferred back to the fund from which taken.

(3) Upon the order of the county agency the county auditor shall draw a warrant on the
proper fund in accordance with the order, and the county treasurer shall pay out the amounts
ordered to be paid out as medical assistance hereunder. When necessary by reason of failure to
levy sufficient taxes for the payment of the medical assistance in the county, the county auditor
shall carry any such payments as an overdraft on the medical assistance funds of the county
until sufficient tax funds shall be provided for such assistance payments. The board of county
commissioners shall include in the tax levy and tax rate in the year following the year in which
such overdraft occurred, an amount sufficient to liquidate such overdraft in full.

(4) Claims for reimbursement and reports shall be presented to the state agency by the
respective counties as required under section 256.01, subdivision 2, paragraph (17). The state
agency shall audit such claims and certify to the commissioner of management and budget the
amounts due the respective counties without delay. The amounts so certified shall be paid within
ten days after such certification, from the state treasury upon warrant of the commissioner of
management and budget from any money available therefor. The money available to the state
agency to carry out the provisions hereof, including all federal funds available to the state, shall
be kept and deposited by the commissioner of management and budget in the revenue fund and
disbursed upon warrants in the same manner as other state funds.

History: Ex1967 c 16 s 20; 1973 c 492 s 14; 1986 c 444; 1989 c 89 s 11; 2003 c 112
art 2 s 50; 2009 c 101 art 2 s 109
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256B.21 CHANGE OF RESIDENCE.
On changing residence, a recipient shall notify the county agency through which the

recipient's medical assistance hereunder is paid. On removing to another county, the recipient
shall declare whether such absence is temporary or for the purpose of residing therein.

History: Ex1967 c 16 s 21; 1986 c 444

256B.22 COMPLIANCE WITH SOCIAL SECURITY ACT.
The various terms and provisions hereof, including the amount of medical assistance paid

hereunder, are intended to comply with and give effect to the program set out in Title XIX of
the federal Social Security Act. During any period when federal funds shall not be available or
shall be inadequate to pay in full the federal share of medical assistance as defined in Title XIX
of the federal Social Security Act, as amended by Public Law 92-603, the state may reduce
by an amount equal to such deficiency the payments it would otherwise be obligated to make
pursuant to section 256B.041.

History: Ex1967 c 16 s 22; 1973 c 717 s 20

256B.23 USE OF FEDERAL FUNDS.
All federal funds made available for the purposes hereof are hereby appropriated to the

state agency to be disbursed and paid out in accordance with the provisions hereof.
History: Ex1967 c 16 s 23

256B.24 PROHIBITIONS.
No enrollment fee, premium, or similar charge shall be required as a condition of eligibility

for medical assistance hereunder.
History: Ex1967 c 16 s 24

256B.25 PAYMENTS TO CERTIFIED FACILITIES.

Subdivision 1. Licensing required. Payments may not be made hereunder for care in
any private or public institution, including but not limited to hospitals and nursing homes,
unless licensed by an appropriate licensing authority of this state, any other state, or a Canadian
province and if applicable, certified by an appropriate authority under United States Code, title
42, sections 1396-1396p.

Subd. 2. Payment distribution. The payment of state or county funds to nursing homes,
boarding care homes, and supervised living facilities, except payments to state operated
institutions, for the care of persons who are eligible for medical assistance, shall be made only
through the medical assistance program, except as provided in subdivision 3.

Subd. 3. Payment exceptions. The limitation in subdivision 2 shall not apply to:
(a) payment of Minnesota supplemental assistance funds to recipients who reside in

facilities which are involved in litigation contesting their designation as an institution for
treatment of mental disease;

(b) payment or grants to a boarding care home or supervised living facility licensed
by the Department of Human Services under Minnesota Rules, parts 9520.0500 to 9520.0690,
9530.2500 to 9530.4000, 9545.0900 to 9545.1090, or 9545.1400 to 9545.1500, or payment to
recipients who reside in these facilities;
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(c) payments or grants to a boarding care home or supervised living facility which are
ineligible for certification under United States Code, title 42, sections 1396-1396p;

(d) payments or grants otherwise specifically authorized by statute or rule.

Subd. 4. Payment during suspended admissions. A nursing home or boarding care home
that has received a notice to suspend admissions under section 144A.10, subdivision 4a, shall
be ineligible to receive payment for admissions that occur during the effective dates of the
suspension. Upon termination of the suspension by the commissioner of health, payments may be
made for eligible persons, beginning with the day after the suspension ends.

History: Ex1967 c 16 s 25; 1969 c 395 s 2; 1984 c 641 s 13; 1984 c 654 art 5 s 58; 1985
c 248 s 69; 1989 c 282 art 3 s 64

256B.26 AGREEMENTS WITH OTHER STATE DEPARTMENTS.

The commissioner of the Department of Human Services is authorized to enter into
cooperative agreements with other state departments or divisions of this state or of other states
responsible for administering or supervising the administration of health services and vocational
rehabilitation services in the state for maximum utilization of such service in the provision of
medical assistance under sections 256B.01 to 256B.26.

History: Ex1967 c 16 s 26; 1984 c 654 art 5 s 58

256B.27 MEDICAL ASSISTANCE; COST REPORTS.

Subdivision 1. Reports and audits. In the interests of efficient administration of the
medical assistance to the needy program and incident to the approval of rates and charges therefor,
the commissioner of human services may require any reports, information, and audits of medical
vendors which the commissioner deems necessary.

Subd. 2. Verification of report. All reports as to the costs of operations or of medical care
provided which are submitted by vendors of medical care for use in determining their rates or
reimbursement shall be submitted under oath as to the truthfulness of their contents by the vendor
or an officer or authorized representative of the vendor.

Subd. 2a. Cost and statistical data audits. The commissioner shall provide for an audit of
the cost and statistical data of nursing facilities participating as vendors of medical assistance.
The commissioner shall select for audit at least 15 percent of the nursing facilities' data reported
at random or using factors including, but not limited to: data reported to the public as criteria for
rating nursing facilities; data used to set limits for other medical assistance programs or vendors
of services to nursing facilities; change in ownership; frequent changes in administration in excess
of normal turnover rates; complaints to the commissioner of health about care, safety, or rights;
where previous inspections or reinspections under section 144A.10 have resulted in correction
orders related to care, safety, or rights; or where persons involved in ownership or administration
of the facility have been indicted for alleged criminal activity.

The commissioner shall meet the 15 percent requirement by either conducting an audit
focused on an individual nursing facility, a group of facilities, or targeting specific data categories
in multiple nursing facilities. These audits may be conducted on site at the nursing facility,
at office space used by a nursing facility or a nursing facility's parent organization, or at the
commissioner's office. Data being audited may be collected electronically, in person, or by any
other means the commissioner finds acceptable.
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Subd. 3. Access to medical records. The commissioner of human services, with the written
consent of the recipient, on file with the local welfare agency, shall be allowed access to all
personal medical records of medical assistance recipients solely for the purposes of investigating
whether or not: (a) a vendor of medical care has submitted a claim for reimbursement, a cost report
or a rate application which is duplicative, erroneous, or false in whole or in part, or which results
in the vendor obtaining greater compensation than the vendor is legally entitled to; or (b) the
medical care was medically necessary. The vendor of medical care shall receive notification from
the commissioner at least 24 hours before the commissioner gains access to such records. The
determination of provision of services not medically necessary shall be made by the commissioner.
The commissioner may consult with an advisory task force of vendors the commissioner may
appoint, on the recommendation of appropriate professional organizations. The task force expires
as provided in section 15.059, subdivision 6. Notwithstanding any other law to the contrary, a
vendor of medical care shall not be subject to any civil or criminal liability for providing access to
medical records to the commissioner of human services pursuant to this section.

Subd. 4. Authorization of commissioner to examine records. A person determined to be
eligible for medical assistance shall be deemed to have authorized the commissioner of human
services in writing to examine, for the investigative purposes identified in subdivision 3, all
personal medical records developed while receiving medical assistance.

Subd. 5. Private data.Medical records obtained by the commissioner of human services
pursuant to this section are private data, as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 12.

History: 1971 c 961 s 24; 1976 c 188 s 3; 1977 c 326 s 11; 1980 c 349 s 7,8; 1981 c 311 s
39; 1982 c 476 s 1; 1982 c 545 s 24; 1982 c 640 s 8; 1983 c 312 art 5 s 25,26; 1984 c 654 art
5 s 58; 1986 c 444; 1987 c 370 art 1 s 5,6; 1988 c 629 s 53; 1995 c 207 art 11 s 6; 2007 c
147 art 6 s 40

256B.30 HEALTH CARE FACILITY REPORT.
Every facility required to be licensed under the provisions of sections 144.50 to 144.58, or

144A.02, shall provide annually to the commissioner of human services the reports as may be
required under law and under rules adopted by the commissioner of human services under the
Administrative Procedure Act. The rules shall provide for the submission of a full and complete
financial report of a facility's operations including:

(1) An annual statement of income and expenditures;
(2) A complete statement of fees and charges;
(3) The names of all persons other than mortgage companies owning any interest in the

facility including stockholders with an ownership interest of ten percent or more of the facility.
The financial reports and supporting data of the facility shall be available for inspection and

audit by the commissioner of human services.
History: 1973 c 688 s 8; 1976 c 173 c 57; 1984 c 654 art 5 s 58

256B.31 CONTINUED HOSPITAL CARE FOR LONG-TERM POLIO PATIENT.
A medical assistance recipient who has been a polio patient in an acute care hospital for a

period of not less than 25 consecutive years is eligible to continue receiving hospital care, whether
or not the care is medically necessary for purposes of federal reimbursement. The cost of continued
hospital care not reimbursable by the federal government must be paid with state money allocated
for the medical assistance program. The rate paid to the hospital is the rate per day established
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using Medicare principles for the hospital's fiscal year ending December 31, 1981, adjusted each
year by the annual hospital cost index established under section 256.969, subdivision 1, or by
other limits in effect at the time of the adjustment. This section does not prohibit a voluntary move
to another living arrangement by a recipient whose care is reimbursed under this section.

History: 1988 c 689 art 2 s 152

256B.32 FACILITY FEE PAYMENT.

Subdivision 1. Facility fee for hospital emergency room and clinic visit. (a) The
commissioner shall establish a facility fee payment mechanism that will pay a facility fee to
all enrolled outpatient hospitals for each emergency room or outpatient clinic visit provided
on or after July 1, 1989. This payment mechanism may not result in an overall increase in
outpatient payment rates. This section does not apply to federally mandated maximum payment
limits, department-approved program packages, or services billed using a nonoutpatient hospital
provider number.

(b) For fee-for-service services provided on or after July 1, 2002, the total payment, before
third-party liability and spenddown, made to hospitals for outpatient hospital facility services is
reduced by .5 percent from the current statutory rates.

(c) In addition to the reduction in paragraph (b), the total payment for fee-for-service
services provided on or after July 1, 2003, made to hospitals for outpatient hospital facility services
before third-party liability and spenddown, is reduced five percent from the current statutory rates.
Facilities defined under section 256.969, subdivision 16, are excluded from this paragraph.

(d) In addition to the reductions in paragraphs (b) and (c), the total payment for
fee-for-service services provided on or after July 1, 2008, made to hospitals for outpatient
hospital facility services before third-party liability and spenddown, is reduced three percent from
the current statutory rates. Mental health services and facilities defined under section 256.969,
subdivision 16, are excluded from this paragraph.

Subd. 2. Prospective payment system. Effective for services provided on or after July 1,
2003, rates that are based on the Medicare outpatient prospective payment system shall be replaced
by a budget-neutral prospective payment system that is derived using medical assistance data.

History: 1989 c 285 s 4; 2002 c 220 art 15 s 14; 2002 c 275 s 4; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 12 s
55; 2008 c 363 art 17 s 13

256B.35 PERSONAL NEEDS ALLOWANCE; PERSONS IN CERTAIN FACILITIES.

Subdivision 1. Personal needs allowance. (a) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary,
welfare allowances for clothing and personal needs for individuals receiving medical assistance
while residing in any skilled nursing home, intermediate care facility, or medical institution
including recipients of Supplemental Security Income, in this state shall not be less than $45 per
month from all sources. When benefit amounts for Social Security or Supplemental Security
Income recipients are increased pursuant to United States Code, title 42, sections 415(i) and
1382f, the commissioner shall, effective in the month in which the increase takes effect, increase
by the same percentage to the nearest whole dollar the clothing and personal needs allowance
for individuals receiving medical assistance while residing in any skilled nursing home, medical
institution, or intermediate care facility. The commissioner shall provide timely notice to local
agencies, providers, and recipients of increases under this provision.
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(b) The personal needs allowance may be paid as part of the Minnesota supplemental aid
program, and payments to recipients of Minnesota supplemental aid may be made once each three
months covering liabilities that accrued during the preceding three months.

(c) The personal needs allowance shall be increased to include income garnished for child
support under a court order, up to a maximum of $250 per month but only to the extent that the
amount garnished is not deducted as a monthly allowance for children under section 256B.0575,
paragraph (a), clause (5).

Subd. 2. Purpose for allowance. Neither the skilled nursing home, the intermediate care
facility, the medical institution, nor the Department of Human Services shall withhold or deduct
any amount of this allowance for any purpose contrary to this section.

Subd. 3. Prohibition on commingling of funds. The nursing home may not commingle the
patient's funds with nursing home funds or in any way use the funds for nursing home purposes.

Subd. 4. Field audits required. The commissioner of human services shall conduct field
audits at the same time as cost report audits required under section 256B.27, subdivision 2a, and
at any other time but at least once every four years, without notice, to determine whether this
section was complied with and that the funds provided residents for their personal needs were
actually expended for that purpose.

Subd. 5. Designation on use of funds. The nursing home may transfer the personal
allowance to someone other than the recipient only when the recipient or the recipient's guardian
or conservator designates that person in writing to receive or expend funds on behalf of the
recipient and that person certifies in writing that the allowance is spent for the well-being of the
recipient. Persons, other than the recipient, in possession of the personal allowance, may use the
allowance only for the well-being of the recipient. Any person, other than the recipient, who, with
intent to defraud, uses the personal needs allowance for purposes other than the well-being of the
recipient shall be guilty of theft and shall be sentenced pursuant to section 609.52, subdivision 3,
clauses (2), (3)(a) and (c), (4), and (5). To prosecute under this subdivision, the attorney general
or the appropriate county attorney, acting independently or at the direction of the attorney general,
may institute a criminal action. A nursing home that transfers personal needs allowance funds to
a person other than the recipient in good faith and in compliance with this section shall not be
held liable under this subdivision.

Subd. 6. Civil action to recover damages. In addition to the remedies otherwise provided
by law, any person injured by a violation of any of the provisions of this section, may bring a
civil action and recover damages, together with costs and disbursements, including costs of
investigation and reasonable attorney's fees, and receive other equitable relief as determined by
the court.

History: 1974 c 575 s 15; 1977 c 271 s 1,2; 1980 c 563 s 1; 1982 c 476 s 2; 1984 c 534 s
25; 1984 c 654 art 5 s 58; 1986 c 444; 1987 c 254 s 7; 1987 c 403 art 2 s 86,87; 1988 c 689 art 2
s 153; 1990 c 566 s 7; 1996 c 451 art 2 s 31; 2008 c 277 art 1 s 38

256B.36 SPECIAL PERSONAL ALLOWANCE FOR CERTAIN INDIVIDUALS.

In addition to the personal allowance established in section 256B.35, any disabled recipient
of medical assistance who is a resident of a nursing facility or intermediate care facility for the
developmentally disabled, shall also be permitted a special personal allowance drawn solely
from earnings from any employment under an individual plan of rehabilitation. This special
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personal allowance shall consist of the sum of the following amounts, deducted from earnings in
the following order:

(1) $80 for the costs of meals and miscellaneous work expenses;
(2) Federal Insurance Contributions Act payments withheld from the person's earned

income;
(3) actual employment related transportation expenses;
(4) other actual employment related expenses; and
(5) state and federal income taxes withheld from the person's earned income, if the person

cannot be claimed as exempt from federal income tax withholding.
The maximum special personal allowance from earnings is the sum of clauses (1) to (5).
History: 1974 c 575 s 16; 1985 c 21 s 56; 1986 c 444; 1992 c 513 art 7 s 83; 2005 c 56 s 1

256B.37 PRIVATE INSURANCE POLICIES, CAUSES OF ACTION.

Subdivision 1. Subrogation. Upon furnishing medical assistance or alternative care
services under section 256B.0913 to any person who has private accident or health care coverage,
or receives or has a right to receive health or medical care from any type of organization or
entity, or has a cause of action arising out of an occurrence that necessitated the payment of
medical assistance, the state agency or the state agency's agent shall be subrogated, to the extent
of the cost of medical care furnished, to any rights the person may have under the terms of the
coverage, or against the organization or entity providing or liable to provide health or medical
care, or under the cause of action.

The right of subrogation created in this section includes all portions of the cause of action,
notwithstanding any settlement allocation or apportionment that purports to dispose of portions of
the cause of action not subject to subrogation.

[See Note.]

Subd. 2. Civil action for recovery. To recover under this section, the attorney general may
institute or join a civil action to enforce the subrogation rights of the commissioner established
under this section.

Any prepaid health plan providing services under sections 256B.69, 256D.03, subdivision
4, paragraph (c), and 256L.12; children's mental health collaboratives under section 245.493;
demonstration projects for persons with disabilities under section 256B.77; nursing homes under
the alternative payment demonstration project under section 256B.434; or the county-based
purchasing entity providing services under section 256B.692 may retain legal representation to
enforce the subrogation rights created under this section or, if no action has been brought, may
initiate and prosecute an independent action on their behalf against a person, firm, or corporation
that may be liable to the person to whom the care or payment was furnished.

Subd. 3. Notice. The state agency must be given notice of monetary claims against a
person, firm, or corporation that may be liable in damages, or otherwise obligated to pay part or
all of the cost of medical care when the state agency has paid or become liable for the cost of
care. Notice must be given as follows:

(a) Applicants for medical assistance shall notify the state or local agency of any possible
claims when they submit the application. Recipients of medical assistance shall notify the state or
local agency of any possible claims when those claims arise.
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(b) A person providing medical care services to a recipient of medical assistance shall
notify the state agency when the person has reason to believe that a third party may be liable for
payment of the cost of medical care.

(c) A person who is party to a claim upon which the state agency may be entitled to
subrogation under this section shall notify the state agency of its potential subrogation claim
before filing a claim, commencing an action, or negotiating a settlement. A person who is a party
to a claim includes the plaintiff, the defendants, and any other party to the cause of action.

Notice given to the local agency is not sufficient to meet the requirements of paragraphs
(b) and (c).

Subd. 4. Recovery. Upon any judgment, award, or settlement of a cause of action, or
any part of it, upon which the state agency has a subrogation right, including compensation for
liquidated, unliquidated, or other damages, reasonable costs of collection, including attorney fees,
must be deducted first. The full amount of medical assistance paid to or on behalf of the person as
a result of the injury must be deducted next and paid to the state agency. The rest must be paid to
the medical assistance recipient or other plaintiff. The plaintiff, however, must receive at least
one-third of the net recovery after attorney fees and collection costs.

Subd. 5. Private benefits to be used first. Private accident and health care coverage
including Medicare for medical services is primary coverage and must be exhausted before
medical assistance or alternative care services are paid for medical services including home health
care, personal care assistance services, hospice, supplies and equipment, or services covered
under a Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services waiver. When a person who is otherwise
eligible for medical assistance has private accident or health care coverage, including Medicare
or a prepaid health plan, the private health care benefits available to the person must be used
first and to the fullest extent.

Subd. 5a. Supplemental payment by medical assistance.Medical assistance payment will
not be made when either covered charges are paid in full by a third party or the provider has an
agreement to accept payment for less than charges as payment in full. Payment for patients that
are simultaneously covered by medical assistance and a liable third party other than Medicare will
be determined as the lesser of clauses (1) to (3):

(1) the patient liability according to the provider/insurer agreement;

(2) covered charges minus the third-party payment amount; or

(3) the medical assistance rate minus the third-party payment amount.

A negative difference will not be implemented.

All providers must reduce their submitted charge to medical assistance programs to reflect
all discount amounts applied to the charge by any provider/insurer agreement or contract. The net
submitted charge may not be greater than the patient liability for the service.

Subd. 6. Parent's or obligee's health plan.When a parent or a person with an obligation
of support has enrolled in a prepaid health care plan under section 518A.41, subdivision 1, the
commissioner of human services shall limit the recipient of medical assistance to the benefits
payable under that prepaid health care plan to the extent that services available under medical
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assistance are also available under the prepaid health care plan.
History: 1975 c 247 s 7; 1987 c 370 art 2 s 9-14; 1987 c 403 art 3 s 26; 1Sp1993 c 1 art 5 s

87-89; 1996 c 451 art 2 s 32; 1997 c 217 art 2 s 8; 1999 c 245 art 4 s 66,68; 2002 c 277 s 24,32;
2004 c 228 art 1 s 75; 2005 c 164 s 29; 1Sp2005 c 7 s 28; 2006 c 280 s 46; 2009 c 79 art 8 s 56,57

NOTE: Subdivision 1 was preempted by federal law to the extent that it allows the state to
assert a subrogation right against causes of action or settlements for other than medical expenses.
Martin ex rel. Hoff v. City of Rochester, 642 N.W.2d 1 (Minn. 2002).

256B.39 AVOIDANCE OF DUPLICATE PAYMENTS.
Billing statements forwarded to recipients of medical assistance by vendors seeking

payment for medical care rendered shall clearly state that reimbursement from the state agency is
contemplated.

History: 1975 c 247 s 8

256B.40 SUBSIDY FOR ABORTIONS PROHIBITED.
No medical assistance funds of this state or any agency, county, municipality or any other

subdivision thereof and no federal funds passing through the state treasury or the state agency
shall be authorized or paid pursuant to this chapter to any person or entity for or in connection
with any abortion that is not eligible for funding pursuant to sections 256B.02, subdivision 8,
and 256B.0625.

History: 1978 c 508 s 3; 1988 c 689 art 2 s 268
NOTE: This section was found unconstitutional with regard to public funding for medical

services related to therapeutic abortions. Women of State of Minn. by Doe v. Gomez, 542
N.W.2d 17 (Minn. 1995).

256B.41 INTENT.

Subdivision 1. Authority. The commissioner shall establish, by rule, procedures for
determining rates for care of residents of nursing facilities which qualify as vendors of medical
assistance, and for implementing the provisions of this section and sections 256B.421, 256B.431,
256B.432, 256B.433, 256B.47, 256B.48, 256B.50, and 256B.502. The procedures shall specify
the costs that are allowable for establishing payment rates through medical assistance.

Subd. 2. Federal requirements. If any provision of this section and sections 256B.421,
256B.431, 256B.432, 256B.433, 256B.47, 256B.48, 256B.50, and 256B.502, is determined
by the United States government to be in conflict with existing or future requirements of the
United States government with respect to federal participation in medical assistance, the federal
requirements shall prevail.

Subd. 3. Payment rates. Payment rates paid to any nursing facility receiving medical
assistance payments must be those rates established pursuant to this chapter and rules adopted
under it.

History: 1976 c 282 s 1; 1983 c 199 s 10; 1Sp1985 c 9 art 2 s 47; 1992 c 513 art 7
s 84,85,136; 1998 c 407 art 4 s 41

256B.411 COMPLIANCE WITH STATE STATUTES.

Subdivision 1. Funding. Subject to exceptions in section 256B.25, subdivision 3, no
nursing facility may receive any state or local payment for providing care to a person eligible for
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medical assistance, except under the medical assistance program.

Subd. 2. Requirements. No medical assistance payments shall be made to any nursing
facility unless the nursing facility is certified to participate in the medical assistance program
under title XIX of the federal Social Security Act and has in effect a provider agreement with
the commissioner meeting the requirements of state and federal statutes and rules. No medical
assistance payments shall be made to any nursing facility unless the nursing facility complies
with all requirements of Minnesota Statutes including, but not limited to, this chapter and rules
adopted under it that govern participation in the program. This section applies whether the
nursing facility participates fully in the medical assistance program or is withdrawing from the
medical assistance program. No future payments may be made to any nursing facility which has
withdrawn or is withdrawing from the medical assistance program except as provided in section
256B.48, subdivision 1a, or federal law. Payments may also be made under a court order entered
on or before June 7, 1985, unless the court order is reversed on appeal.

History: 1Sp1985 c 9 art 2 s 48; 1992 c 513 art 7 s 136; 2000 c 449 s 2

256B.42 [Repealed, 1983 c 199 s 19]

256B.421 DEFINITIONS.

Subdivision 1. Scope. For the purposes of this section and sections 256B.41, 256B.411,
256B.431, 256B.432, 256B.433, 256B.434, 256B.47, 256B.48, 256B.50, and 256B.502, the
following terms and phrases shall have the meaning given to them.

Subd. 2. Actual allowable historical operating cost per diem. "Actual allowable historical
operating cost per diem" means the per diem operating costs allowed by the commissioner for the
most recent reporting year.

Subd. 3. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of human services.

Subd. 4. Final rate. "Final rate" means the rate established after any adjustment by the
commissioner, including but not limited to adjustments resulting from cost report reviews and
field audits.

Subd. 5. General and administrative costs. "General and administrative costs" means
all allowable costs for administering the facility, including but not limited to: salaries of
administrators, assistant administrators, accounting personnel, data processing personnel, and
all clerical personnel; board of directors fees; business office functions and supplies; travel,
except as necessary for training programs for nursing personnel and dietitians required to
maintain licensure, certification, or professional standards requirements; telephone and telegraph;
advertising; membership dues and subscriptions; postage; insurance, except as included as a
fringe benefit under subdivision 14; professional services such as legal, accounting and data
processing services; central or home office costs; management fees; management consultants;
employee training, for any top management personnel and for other than direct resident care
related personnel; and business meetings and seminars.

Subd. 6. Historical operating costs. "Historical operating costs" means the allowable
operating costs incurred by the facility during the reporting year immediately preceding the rate
year for which the payment rate becomes effective, after the commissioner has reviewed those
costs and determined them to be allowable costs under the medical assistance program, and after
the commissioner has applied appropriate limitations such as the limit on administrative costs.
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Subd. 7. Nursing facility. "Nursing facility" means a facility licensed under chapter 144A
or a boarding care facility licensed under sections 144.50 to 144.56.

Subd. 8. Operating costs. "Operating costs" means the day-to-day costs of operating
the facility in compliance with licensure and certification standards. Operating cost categories
are: nursing, including nurses and nursing assistants training; dietary; laundry and linen;
housekeeping; plant operation and maintenance; other care-related services; medical directors;
licenses, other than license fees required by the Minnesota Department of Health; permits; general
and administration; payroll taxes; real estate taxes, license fees required by the Minnesota
Department of Health, and actual special assessments paid; and fringe benefits, including clerical
training; and travel necessary for training programs for nursing personnel and dietitians required
to maintain licensure, certification, or professional standards requirements.

Subd. 9. Payment rate. "Payment rate" means the rate determined under section 256B.431.

Subd. 10. Private paying resident. "Private paying resident" means a nursing facility
resident who is not a medical assistance recipient and whose payment rate is not established by
another third party, including the Veterans Administration or Medicare.

Subd. 11. Rate year. "Rate year" means the fiscal year for which a payment rate determined
under section 256B.431 is effective, from July 1 to the next June 30.

Subd. 12. Reporting year. "Reporting year" means the period from October 1 to September
30, immediately preceding the rate year, for which the nursing facility submits reports required
under section 256B.48, subdivision 2.

Subd. 13. Actual resident day. "Actual resident day" means a billable, countable day as
defined by the commissioner.

Subd. 14. Fringe benefits. "Fringe benefits" means workers' compensation insurance,
group health or dental insurance, group life insurance, retirement benefits or plans, except for
Public Employee Retirement Act contributions, and uniform allowances.

Subd. 15. Payroll taxes. "Payroll taxes" means the employer's share of FICA taxes,
governmentally required retirement contributions, and state and federal unemployment insurance
taxes.

Subd. 16. Capital assets. "Capital assets," for purposes of section 256B.431, subdivisions
13 to 21, means a nursing facility's buildings, attached fixtures, land improvements, leasehold
improvements, and all additions to or replacements of those assets used directly for resident care.

History: 1983 c 199 s 11; 1984 c 641 s 14-16; 1984 c 654 art 5 s 58; 1985 c 267 s 2;
1Sp1985 c 3 s 26; 1Sp1985 c 9 art 2 s 49; 1987 c 403 art 2 s 88; 1989 c 282 art 3 s 65; 1992 c
513 art 7 s 86,87,136; 1997 c 203 art 3 s 6; 2004 c 206 s 52

256B.43 [Repealed, 1983 c 199 s 19]

256B.431 RATE DETERMINATION.

Subdivision 1. In general. The commissioner shall determine prospective payment rates
for resident care costs. For rates established on or after July 1, 1985, the commissioner shall
develop procedures for determining operating cost payment rates that take into account the mix of
resident needs, geographic location, and other factors as determined by the commissioner. The
commissioner shall consider whether the fact that a facility is attached to a hospital or has an
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average length of stay of 180 days or less should be taken into account in determining rates. The
commissioner shall consider the use of the standard metropolitan statistical areas when developing
groups by geographic location. The commissioner shall provide notice to each nursing facility on
or before August 15 of the rates effective for the following rate year except that if legislation is
pending on August 15 that may affect rates for nursing facilities, the commissioner shall set the
rates after the legislation is enacted and provide notice to each facility as soon as possible.

Compensation for top management personnel shall continue to be categorized as a general
and administrative cost and is subject to any limits imposed on that cost category.

Subd. 2. [Repealed, 2000 c 449 s 15]

Subd. 2a. [Repealed, 2000 c 449 s 15]

Subd. 2b. Operating costs after July 1, 1985. (a) For rate years beginning on or after July
1, 1985, the commissioner shall establish procedures for determining per diem reimbursement
for operating costs.

(b) The commissioner shall contract with an econometric firm with recognized expertise
in and access to national economic change indices that can be applied to the appropriate cost
categories when determining the operating cost payment rate.

(c) The commissioner shall analyze and evaluate each nursing facility's cost report of
allowable operating costs incurred by the nursing facility during the reporting year immediately
preceding the rate year for which the payment rate becomes effective.

(d) The commissioner shall establish limits on actual allowable historical operating cost
per diems based on cost reports of allowable operating costs for the reporting year that begins
October 1, 1983, taking into consideration relevant factors including resident needs, geographic
location, and size of the nursing facility. In developing the geographic groups for purposes of
reimbursement under this section, the commissioner shall ensure that nursing facilities in any
county contiguous to the Minneapolis-St. Paul seven-county metropolitan area are included in
the same geographic group. The limits established by the commissioner shall not be less, in the
aggregate, than the 60th percentile of total actual allowable historical operating cost per diems for
each group of nursing facilities established under subdivision 1 based on cost reports of allowable
operating costs in the previous reporting year. For rate years beginning on or after July 1, 1989,
facilities located in geographic group I as described in Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0052, on
January 1, 1989, may choose to have the commissioner apply either the care related limits or the
other operating cost limits calculated for facilities located in geographic group II, or both, if either
of the limits calculated for the group II facilities is higher. The efficiency incentive for geographic
group I nursing facilities must be calculated based on geographic group I limits. The phase-in
must be established utilizing the chosen limits. For purposes of these exceptions to the geographic
grouping requirements, the definitions in Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0050 to 9549.0059
(Emergency), and 9549.0010 to 9549.0080, apply. The limits established under this paragraph
remain in effect until the commissioner establishes a new base period. Until the new base period
is established, the commissioner shall adjust the limits annually using the appropriate economic
change indices established in paragraph (e). In determining allowable historical operating cost per
diems for purposes of setting limits and nursing facility payment rates, the commissioner shall
divide the allowable historical operating costs by the actual number of resident days, except
that where a nursing facility is occupied at less than 90 percent of licensed capacity days, the
commissioner may establish procedures to adjust the computation of the per diem to an imputed
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occupancy level at or below 90 percent. The commissioner shall establish efficiency incentives as
appropriate. The commissioner may establish efficiency incentives for different operating cost
categories. The commissioner shall consider establishing efficiency incentives in care related cost
categories. The commissioner may combine one or more operating cost categories and may use
different methods for calculating payment rates for each operating cost category or combination
of operating cost categories. For the rate year beginning on July 1, 1985, the commissioner shall:

(1) allow nursing facilities that have an average length of stay of 180 days or less in their
skilled nursing level of care, 125 percent of the care related limit and 105 percent of the other
operating cost limit established by rule; and

(2) exempt nursing facilities licensed on July 1, 1983, by the commissioner to provide
residential services for the physically disabled under Minnesota Rules, parts 9570.2000 to
9570.3600, from the care related limits and allow 105 percent of the other operating cost limit
established by rule.

For the purpose of calculating the other operating cost efficiency incentive for nursing
facilities referred to in clause (1) or (2), the commissioner shall use the other operating cost limit
established by rule before application of the 105 percent.

(e) The commissioner shall establish a composite index or indices by determining the
appropriate economic change indicators to be applied to specific operating cost categories or
combination of operating cost categories.

(f) Each nursing facility shall receive an operating cost payment rate equal to the sum of the
nursing facility's operating cost payment rates for each operating cost category. The operating cost
payment rate for an operating cost category shall be the lesser of the nursing facility's historical
operating cost in the category increased by the appropriate index established in paragraph (e) for
the operating cost category plus an efficiency incentive established pursuant to paragraph (d)
or the limit for the operating cost category increased by the same index. If a nursing facility's
actual historic operating costs are greater than the prospective payment rate for that rate year,
there shall be no retroactive cost settle up. In establishing payment rates for one or more operating
cost categories, the commissioner may establish separate rates for different classes of residents
based on their relative care needs.

(g) The commissioner shall include the reported actual real estate tax liability or payments
in lieu of real estate tax of each nursing facility as an operating cost of that nursing facility.
Allowable costs under this subdivision for payments made by a nonprofit nursing facility that
are in lieu of real estate taxes shall not exceed the amount which the nursing facility would have
paid to a city or township and county for fire, police, sanitation services, and road maintenance
costs had real estate taxes been levied on that property for those purposes. For rate years
beginning on or after July 1, 1987, the reported actual real estate tax liability or payments in lieu
of real estate tax of nursing facilities shall be adjusted to include an amount equal to one-half
of the dollar change in real estate taxes from the prior year. The commissioner shall include a
reported actual special assessment, and reported actual license fees required by the Minnesota
Department of Health, for each nursing facility as an operating cost of that nursing facility. For
rate years beginning on or after July 1, 1989, the commissioner shall include a nursing facility's
reported Public Employee Retirement Act contribution for the reporting year as apportioned to
the care-related operating cost categories and other operating cost categories multiplied by the
appropriate composite index or indices established pursuant to paragraph (e) as costs under this
paragraph. Total adjusted real estate tax liability, payments in lieu of real estate tax, actual special
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assessments paid, the indexed Public Employee Retirement Act contribution, and license fees paid
as required by the Minnesota Department of Health, for each nursing facility (1) shall be divided
by actual resident days in order to compute the operating cost payment rate for this operating cost
category, (2) shall not be used to compute the care-related operating cost limits or other operating
cost limits established by the commissioner, and (3) shall not be increased by the composite index
or indices established pursuant to paragraph (e), unless otherwise indicated in this paragraph.

(h) For rate years beginning on or after July 1, 1987, the commissioner shall adjust the rates
of a nursing facility that meets the criteria for the special dietary needs of its residents and the
requirements in section 31.651. The adjustment for raw food cost shall be the difference between
the nursing facility's allowable historical raw food cost per diem and 115 percent of the median
historical allowable raw food cost per diem of the corresponding geographic group.

The rate adjustment shall be reduced by the applicable phase-in percentage as provided
under subdivision 2h.

Subd. 2c. Operating costs after July 1, 1986. For rate years beginning on or after July 1,
1986, the commissioner may allow a one time adjustment to historical operating costs of a nursing
facility that has been found by the commissioner of health to be significantly below care related
minimum standards appropriate to the mix of resident needs in that nursing facility when it is
determined by the commissioners of health and human services that the nursing facility is unable
to meet minimum standards through reallocation of nursing facility costs and efficiency incentives
or allowances. In developing procedures to allow adjustments, the commissioner shall specify the
terms and conditions governing any additional payments made to a nursing facility as a result of
the adjustment. The commissioner shall establish procedures to recover amounts paid under this
subdivision, in whole or in part, and to adjust current and future rates, for nursing facilities that
fail to use the adjustment to satisfy care related minimum standards.

Subd. 2d. Cost report or audit. If an annual cost report or field audit indicates that
expenditures for direct resident care have been reduced in amounts large enough to indicate a
possible detrimental effect on the quality of care, the commissioner shall notify the commissioner
of health and the interagency long-term care planning committee. If a field audit reveals that
unallowable expenditures have been included in the nursing facility's historical operating costs,
the commissioner shall disallow the expenditures and recover the entire overpayment. The
commissioner shall establish, by rule, procedures for assessing an interest charge at the rate
determined for unpaid taxes or penalties under section 270C.40 on any outstanding balance
resulting from an overpayment or underpayment.

Subd. 2e. Contracts for services for ventilator-dependent persons. (a) The commissioner
may negotiate with a nursing facility eligible to receive medical assistance payments to provide
services to a ventilator-dependent person identified by the commissioner according to criteria
developed by the commissioner, including:

(1) nursing facility care has been recommended for the person by a preadmission screening
team;

(2) the person has been hospitalized and no longer requires inpatient acute care hospital
services; and

(3) the commissioner has determined that necessary services for the person cannot be
provided under existing nursing facility rates.
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The commissioner may negotiate an adjustment to the operating cost payment rate for a
nursing facility with a resident who is ventilator-dependent, for that resident. The negotiated
adjustment must reflect only the actual additional cost of meeting the specialized care needs of a
ventilator-dependent person identified by the commissioner for whom necessary services cannot
be provided under existing nursing facility rates and which are not otherwise covered under
Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0010 to 9549.0080 or 9505.0170 to 9505.0475. For persons who
are initially admitted to a nursing facility before July 1, 2001, and have their payment rate under
this subdivision negotiated after July 1, 2001, the negotiated payment rate must not exceed 200
percent of the highest multiple bedroom payment rate for the facility, as initially established by
the commissioner for the rate year for case mix classification K; or, upon implementation of
the RUG's-based case mix system, 200 percent of the highest RUG's rate. For persons initially
admitted to a nursing facility on or after July 1, 2001, the negotiated payment rate must not exceed
300 percent of the facility's multiple bedroom payment rate for case mix classification K; or, upon
implementation of the RUG's-based case mix system, 300 percent of the highest RUG's rate. The
negotiated adjustment shall not affect the payment rate charged to private paying residents under
the provisions of section 256B.48, subdivision 1.

(b) Effective July 1, 2007, or upon opening a unit of at least ten beds dedicated to care
of ventilator-dependent persons in partnership with Mayo Health Systems, whichever is later,
the operating payment rates for residents determined eligible under paragraph (a) of a nursing
facility in Waseca County that on February 1, 2007, was licensed for 70 beds and reimbursed
under this section, section 256B.434, or section 256B.441, shall be 300 percent of the facility's
highest RUG rate.

Subd. 2f. [Repealed, 2000 c 449 s 15]

Subd. 2g. Required consultants. Costs considered general and administrative costs under
section 256B.421 must be included in general and administrative costs in total, without direct
or indirect allocation to other cost categories. In a nursing facility of 60 or fewer beds, part
of an administrator's salary may be allocated to other cost categories to the extent justified in
records kept by the nursing facility. Central or home office costs representing services of required
consultants in areas including, but not limited to, dietary, pharmacy, social services, or activities
may be allocated to the appropriate department, but only if those costs are directly identified
by the nursing facility. Central, affiliated, or corporate office costs representing services of
consultants not required by law in the areas of nursing, quality assurance, medical records, dietary,
other care related services, and plant operations may be allocated to the appropriate operating cost
category of a nursing facility according to paragraphs (a) to (e).

(a) Only the salaries, fringe benefits, and payroll taxes associated with the individual
performing the service may be allocated. No other costs may be allocated.

(b) The allocation must be based on direct identification and only to the extent justified
in time distribution records that show the actual time spent by the consultant performing the
services in the nursing facility.

(c) The cost in paragraph (a) for each consultant must not be allocated to more than one
operating cost category in the nursing facility. If more than one nursing facility is served by a
consultant, all nursing facilities shall allocate the consultant's cost to the same operating category.

(d) Top management personnel must not be considered consultants.
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(e) The consultant's full-time responsibilities shall be to provide the services identified in
this item.

Subd. 2h. [Repealed, 2000 c 449 s 15]

Subd. 2i. Operating costs after July 1, 1988. (a) Other operating cost limits.For rate
years beginning on or after July 1, 1989, the adjusted other operating cost limits must be indexed
as in Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0056, subparts 3 and 4. For the rate period beginning October 1,
1992, and for rate years beginning after June 30, 1993, the amount of the surcharge under section
256.9657, subdivision 1, shall be included in the plant operations and maintenance operating cost
category. The surcharge shall be an allowable cost for the purpose of establishing the payment rate.

(b) Care-related operating cost limits. For rate years beginning on or after July 1,
1989, the adjusted care-related limits must be indexed as in Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0056,
subparts 1 and 2.

(c) Salary adjustment per diem. Effective July 1, 1998, to June 30, 2000, the
commissioner shall make available the salary adjustment per diem calculated in clause (1) or (2)
to the total operating cost payment rate of each nursing facility reimbursed under this section or
section 256B.434. The salary adjustment per diem for each nursing facility must be determined
as follows:

(1) For each nursing facility that reports salaries for registered nurses, licensed practical
nurses, and aides, orderlies and attendants separately, the commissioner shall determine the
salary adjustment per diem by multiplying the total salaries, payroll taxes, and fringe benefits
allowed in each operating cost category, except management fees and administrator and central
office salaries and the related payroll taxes and fringe benefits, by 3.0 percent and then dividing
the resulting amount by the nursing facility's actual resident days.

(2) For each nursing facility that does not report salaries for registered nurses, licensed
practical nurses, aides, orderlies, and attendants separately, the salary adjustment per diem is the
weighted average salary adjustment per diem increase determined under clause (1).

(3) A nursing facility may apply for the salary adjustment per diem calculated under clauses
(1) and (2). The application must be made to the commissioner and contain a plan by which the
nursing facility will distribute the salary adjustment to employees of the nursing facility. In order
to apply for a salary adjustment, a nursing facility reimbursed under section 256B.434, must
report the information required by clause (1) or (2) in the application, in the manner specified by
the commissioner. For nursing facilities in which the employees are represented by an exclusive
bargaining representative, an agreement negotiated and agreed to by the employer and the
exclusive bargaining representative, after July 1, 1998, may constitute the plan for the salary
distribution. The commissioner shall review the plan to ensure that the salary adjustment per diem
is used solely to increase the compensation of nursing home facility employees. To be eligible, a
facility must submit its plan for the salary distribution by December 31, 1998. If a facility's plan
for salary distribution is effective for its employees after July 1, 1998, the salary adjustment cost
per diem shall be effective the same date as its plan.

(4) Additional costs incurred by nursing facilities as a result of this salary adjustment are
not allowable costs for purposes of the September 30, 1998, cost report.

(d) New base year. The commissioner shall establish a new base year for the reporting
years ending September 30, 1991, and September 30, 1992. In establishing a new base year, the
commissioner must take into account:
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(1) statutory changes made in geographic groups;
(2) redefinitions of cost categories; and
(3) reclassification, pass-through, or exemption of certain costs.

Subd. 2j. Hospital-attached nursing facility status. (a) For the purpose of setting rates
under Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0010 to 9549.0080, for rate years beginning after June 30,
1989, a hospital-attached nursing facility means a nursing facility which meets the requirements
of clauses (1) to (3):

(1) the nursing facility is recognized by the federal Medicare program to be a hospital-based
nursing facility for purposes of being subject to higher cost limits accorded hospital-based
nursing facilities under the Medicare program, or, prior to June 30, 1983, was classified as a
hospital-attached nursing facility under Minnesota Rules, parts 9510.0010 to 9510.0480;

(2) the nursing facility's cost report filed under Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0010 to
9549.0080, shall use the same cost allocation principles and methods used in the reports filed
for the Medicare program except as provided in clause (3); and

(3) direct identification of costs to the nursing facility cost center will be permitted only
when the comparable hospital costs have also been directly identified to a cost center which is
not allocated to the nursing facility.

(b) For rate years beginning after June 30, 1989, a nursing facility and hospital, which have
applied for hospital-based nursing facility status under the federal Medicare program during the
reporting year or the nine-month period following the nursing facility's reporting year, shall
be considered a hospital-attached nursing facility for purposes of setting payment rates under
Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0010 to 9549.0080, for the rate year following the reporting year or
the nine-month period in which the facility made its Medicare application. The nursing facility
must file its cost report or an amended cost report for that reporting year before the following rate
year using Medicare principles and Medicare's recommended cost allocation methods had the
Medicare program's hospital-based nursing facility status been granted to the nursing facility. For
each subsequent rate year, the nursing facility must meet the definition requirements in paragraph
(a). If the nursing facility is denied hospital-based nursing facility status under the Medicare
program, the nursing facility's payment rates for the rate years the nursing facility was considered
to be a hospital-attached nursing facility pursuant to this paragraph shall be recalculated treating
the nursing facility as a non-hospital-attached nursing facility.

(c) For rate years beginning on or after July 1, 1995, a nursing facility shall be considered a
hospital attached nursing facility for purposes of setting payment rates under Minnesota Rules,
parts 9549.0010 to 9549.0080 and this section if it meets the requirements of paragraphs (a)
and (b), and

(1) the hospital and nursing facility are physically attached or connected by a tunnel or
skyway; or

(2) the nursing facility was recognized by the Medicare program as hospital attached as of
January 1, 1995, and this status has been maintained continuously.

Subd. 2k. Operating costs after July 1, 1989. For rate years beginning on or after July 1,
1989, a nursing facility that is exempt under subdivision 2b, paragraph (d), clause (2); whose
total number of licensed beds are licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts 9570.2000 to 9570.3600;
and that maintains an average length of stay of less than 365 days during each reporting year, is
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limited to 140 percent of the other-operating-cost limit for hospital-attached nursing facilities
as established by Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0055, subpart 2, item E, subitem (2), as modified
by subdivision 2i, paragraph (a). For purposes of this subdivision, the nursing facility's average
length of stay must be computed by dividing the nursing facility's actual resident days for the
reporting year by the nursing facility's total discharges for that reporting year.

Subd. 2l. Inflation adjustments after July 1, 1990. (a) For rate years beginning on or after
July 1, 1990, the forecasted composite price index for a nursing facility's allowable operating
cost per diems shall be determined using Data Resources, Inc., forecast for change in the Nursing
Home Market Basket. The commissioner of human services shall use the indices as forecasted by
Data Resources, Inc., in the fourth quarter of the calendar year preceding the rate year.

(b) For rate years beginning on or after July 1, 1992, the commissioner shall index the
prior year's operating cost limits by the percentage change in the Data Resources, Inc., Nursing
Home Market Basket between the midpoint of the current reporting year and the midpoint of the
previous reporting year. The commissioner shall use the indices as forecasted by Data Resources,
Inc., in the fourth quarter of the calendar year preceding the rate year.

(c) For rate years beginning on or after July 1, 1993, the commissioner shall not provide
automatic annual inflation adjustments for nursing facilities. The commissioner of management
and budget shall include annual adjustments in operating costs for nursing facilities as a budget
change request in each biennial detailed expenditure budget submitted to the legislature under
section 16A.11.

Subd. 2m. [Repealed, 2000 c 449 s 15]

Subd. 2n. Efficiency incentive reductions for substandard care. For rate years beginning
on or after July 1, 1991, the efficiency incentive established under subdivision 2b, paragraph (d),
shall be reduced or eliminated for nursing facilities determined by the commissioner of health
under section 144A.10, subdivision 4, to have uncorrected or repeated violations which create a
risk to resident care, safety, or rights, except for uncorrected or repeated violations relating to a
facility's physical plant. Upon being notified by the commissioner of health of uncorrected or
repeated violations, the commissioner of human services shall require the nursing facility to use
efficiency incentive payments to correct the violations. The commissioner of human services shall
require the nursing facility to forfeit efficiency incentive payments for failure to correct the
violations. Any forfeiture shall be limited to the amount necessary to correct the violation.

Subd. 2o. Special payment rates for short-stay nursing facilities. Notwithstanding
contrary provisions of this section and rules adopted by the commissioner, for the rate years
beginning on or after July 1, 1993, a nursing facility whose average length of stay for the
preceding reporting year is (1) less than 180 days; or (2) less than 225 days in a nursing facility
with more than 315 licensed beds must be reimbursed for allowable costs up to 125 percent of
the total care-related limit and 105 percent of the other-operating-cost limit for hospital-attached
nursing facilities. A nursing facility that received the benefit of this limit during the rate year
beginning July 1, 1992, continues to receive this rate during the rate year beginning July 1, 1993,
even if the facility's average length of stay is more than 180 days in the rate years subsequent
to the rate year beginning July 1, 1991. For purposes of this subdivision, a nursing facility shall
compute its average length of stay by dividing the nursing facility's actual resident days for the
reporting year by the nursing facility's total resident discharges for that reporting year.

Subd. 2p. [Repealed, 2000 c 449 s 15]
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Subd. 2q. [Repealed, 2000 c 449 s 15]

Subd. 2r. Payment restrictions on leave days. (a) Effective July 1, 1993, the commissioner
shall limit payment for leave days in a nursing facility to 79 percent of that nursing facility's
total payment rate for the involved resident.

(b) For services rendered on or after July 1, 2003, for facilities reimbursed under this
section or section 256B.434, the commissioner shall limit payment for leave days in a nursing
facility to 60 percent of that nursing facility's total payment rate for the involved resident.

(c) For services rendered on or after July 1, 2011, for facilities reimbursed under this
chapter, the commissioner shall limit payment for leave days in a nursing facility to 30 percent of
that nursing facility's total payment rate for the involved resident, and shall allow this payment
only when the occupancy of the nursing facility, inclusive of bed hold days, is equal to or greater
than 96 percent, notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0415.

Subd. 2s. Nonallowable cost. Costs incurred for any activities which are directed at or are
intended to influence or dissuade employees in the exercise of their legal rights to freely engage in
the process of selecting an exclusive representative for the purpose of collective bargaining with
their employer shall not be allowable for purposes of setting payment rates.

Subd. 2t. Payment limitation. For services rendered on or after July 1, 2003, for facilities
reimbursed under this chapter, the Medicaid program shall only pay a co-payment during a
Medicare-covered skilled nursing facility stay if the Medicare rate less the resident's co-payment
responsibility is less than the Medicaid RUG-III case-mix payment rate, or, beginning January
1, 2012, the Medicaid RUG-IV case-mix payment rate. The amount that shall be paid by the
Medicaid program is equal to the amount by which the Medicaid RUG-III or RUG-IV case-mix
payment rate exceeds the Medicare rate less the co-payment responsibility. Health plans paying
for nursing home services under section 256B.69, subdivision 6a, may limit payments as allowed
under this subdivision.

Subd. 3. [Repealed, 2000 c 449 s 15]

Subd. 3a. Property-related costs after July 1, 1985. (a) For rate years beginning on or
after July 1, 1985, the commissioner, by permanent rule, shall reimburse nursing facility providers
that are vendors in the medical assistance program for the rental use of real estate and depreciable
equipment. "Real estate" means land improvements, buildings, and attached fixtures used directly
for resident care. "Depreciable equipment" means the standard movable resident care equipment
and support service equipment generally used in long-term care facilities.

(b) In developing the method for determining payment rates for the rental use of nursing
facilities, the commissioner shall consider factors designed to:

(1) simplify the administrative procedures for determining payment rates for
property-related costs;

(2) minimize discretionary or appealable decisions;

(3) eliminate any incentives to sell nursing facilities;

(4) recognize legitimate costs of preserving and replacing property;

(5) recognize the existing costs of outstanding indebtedness allowable under the statutes
and rules in effect on May 1, 1983;
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(6) address the current value of, if used directly for patient care, land improvements,
buildings, attached fixtures, and equipment;

(7) establish an investment per bed limitation;
(8) reward efficient management of capital assets;
(9) provide equitable treatment of facilities;
(10) consider a variable rate; and
(11) phase-in implementation of the rental reimbursement method.
(c) For rate years beginning on or after July 1, 1987, a nursing facility which has reduced

licensed bed capacity after January 1, 1986, shall be allowed to:
(1) aggregate the applicable investment per bed limits based on the number of beds licensed

prior to the reduction; and
(2) establish capacity days for each rate year following the licensure reduction based on the

number of beds licensed on the previous April 1 if the commissioner is notified of the change by
April 4. The notification must include a copy of the delicensure request that has been submitted to
the commissioner of health.

(d) For rate years beginning on or after July 1, 1989, the interest expense that results from a
refinancing of a nursing facility's demand call loan, when the loan that must be refinanced was
incurred before May 22, 1983, is an allowable interest expense if:

(1) the demand call loan or any part of it was in the form of a loan that was callable at
the demand of the lender;

(2) the demand call loan or any part of it was called by the lender through no fault of
the nursing facility;

(3) the demand call loan or any part of it was made by a government agency operating
under a statutory or regulatory loan program;

(4) the refinanced debt does not exceed the sum of the allowable remaining balance of the
demand call loan at the time of payment on the demand call loan and refinancing costs;

(5) the term of the refinanced debt does not exceed the remaining term of the demand call
loan, had the debt not been subject to an on-call payment demand; and

(6) the refinanced debt is not a debt between related organizations as defined in Minnesota
Rules, part 9549.0020, subpart 38.

Subd. 3b. [Repealed, 2000 c 449 s 15]

Subd. 3c. Plant and maintenance costs. For the rate years beginning on or after July 1,
1987, the commissioner shall allow as an expense in the reporting year of occurrence the lesser
of the actual allowable plant and maintenance costs for supplies, minor equipment, equipment
repairs, building repairs, purchased services and service contracts, except for arm's-length service
contracts whose primary purpose is supervision, or $325 per licensed bed.

Subd. 3d. [Repealed, 2000 c 449 s 15]

Subd. 3e. Hospital-attached convalescent and nursing care facilities. If a nonprofit
or community-operated hospital and attached convalescent and nursing care facility suspend
operation of the hospital, the surviving nursing care facility must be allowed to continue its status
as a hospital-attached convalescent and nursing care facility for reimbursement purposes in five
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subsequent rate years. In the fourth year the facility shall receive 60 percent of the difference
between the hospital-attached limit and the freestanding nursing facility limit, and in the fifth year
the facility shall receive 30 percent of the difference.

Subd. 3f. Property costs after July 1, 1988. (a) For the rate year beginning July 1,
1988, the replacement-cost-new per bed limit must be $32,571 per licensed bed in multiple
bedrooms and $48,857 per licensed bed in a single bedroom. For the rate year beginning July 1,
1989, the replacement-cost-new per bed limit for a single bedroom must be $49,907 adjusted
according to Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060, subpart 4, item A, subitem (1). Beginning January
1, 1990, the replacement-cost-new per bed limits must be adjusted annually as specified in
Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060, subpart 4, item A, subitem (1). Beginning January 1, 1991, the
replacement-cost-new per bed limits will be adjusted annually as specified in Minnesota Rules,
part 9549.0060, subpart 4, item A, subitem (1), except that the index utilized will be the Bureau of
Economic Analysis: Price Indexes for Private Fixed Investments in Structures; Special Care.

(b) For the rate year beginning July 1, 1988, the commissioner shall increase the rental
factor as established in Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060, subpart 8, item A, by 6.2 percent
rounded to the nearest 100th percent for the purpose of reimbursing nursing facilities for soft
costs and entrepreneurial profits not included in the cost valuation services used by the state's
contracted appraisers. For rate years beginning on or after July 1, 1989, the rental factor is the
amount determined under this paragraph for the rate year beginning July 1, 1988.

(c) For rate years beginning on or after July 1, 1988, in order to determine property-related
payment rates under Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060, for all nursing facilities except those
whose average length of stay in a skilled level of care within a nursing facility is 180 days
or less, the commissioner shall use 95 percent of capacity days. For a nursing facility whose
average length of stay in a skilled level of care within a nursing facility is 180 days or less, the
commissioner shall use the greater of resident days or 80 percent of capacity days but in no event
shall the divisor exceed 95 percent of capacity days.

(d) For rate years beginning on July 1, 1988, and July 1, 1989, the commissioner shall
add ten cents per resident per day to each nursing facility's property-related payment rate. The
ten-cent property-related payment rate increase is not cumulative from rate year to rate year. For
the rate year beginning July 1, 1990, the commissioner shall increase each nursing facility's
equipment allowance as established in Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060, subpart 10, by ten cents
per resident per day. For rate years beginning on or after July 1, 1991, the adjusted equipment
allowance must be adjusted annually for inflation as in Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060, subpart
10, item E. For the rate period beginning October 1, 1992, the equipment allowance for each
nursing facility shall be increased by 28 percent. For rate years beginning after June 30, 1993, the
allowance must be adjusted annually for inflation.

(e) For rate years beginning on or after July 1, 1990, Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060,
subpart 5, item E, shall not apply to outstanding related organization debt incurred prior to May
23, 1983, provided that the debt was an allowable debt under Minnesota Rules, parts 9510.0010 to
9510.0480, the debt is subject to repayment through annual principal payments, and the nursing
facility demonstrates to the commissioner's satisfaction that the interest rate on the debt was less
than market interest rates for similar arm's-length transactions at the time the debt was incurred.
If the debt was incurred due to a sale between family members, the nursing facility must also
demonstrate that the seller no longer participates in the management or operation of the nursing
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facility. Debts meeting the conditions of this paragraph are subject to all other provisions of
Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0010 to 9549.0080.

(f) For rate years beginning on or after July 1, 1990, a nursing facility with operating lease
costs incurred for the nursing facility's buildings shall receive its building capital allowance
computed in accordance with Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060, subpart 8. If an operating
lease provides that the lessee's rent is adjusted to recognize improvements made by the lessor
and related debt, the costs for capital improvements and related debt shall be allowed in the
computation of the lessee's building capital allowance, provided that reimbursement for these
costs under an operating lease shall not exceed the rate otherwise paid.

Subd. 3g. Property costs after July 1, 1990, for certain facilities. (a) For rate years
beginning on or after July 1, 1990, nursing facilities that, on or after January 1, 1976, but prior to
January 1, 1987, were newly licensed after new construction, or increased their licensed beds
by a minimum of 35 percent through new construction, and whose building capital allowance is
less than their allowable annual principal and interest on allowable debt prior to the application
of the replacement-cost-new per bed limit and whose remaining weighted average debt
amortization schedule as of January 1, 1988, exceeded 15 years, must receive a property-related
payment rate equal to the greater of their rental per diem or their annual allowable principal and
allowable interest without application of the replacement-cost-new per bed limit, divided by their
capacity days as determined under Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060, subpart 11, as modified by
subdivision 3f, paragraph (c), for the preceding reporting year, plus their equipment allowance.
A nursing facility that is eligible for a property-related payment rate under this subdivision and
whose property-related payment rate in a subsequent rate year is its rental per diem must continue
to have its property-related payment rates established for all future rate years based on the rental
reimbursement method in Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060.
The commissioner may require the nursing facility to apply for refinancing as a condition of
receiving special rate treatment under this subdivision.

(b) If a nursing facility is eligible for a property-related payment rate under this subdivision,
and the nursing facility's debt is refinanced after October 1, 1988, the provisions in paragraphs
(1) to (7) also apply to the property-related payment rate for rate years beginning on or after
July 1, 1990.

(1) A nursing facility's refinancing must not include debts with balloon payments.
(2) If the issuance costs, including issuance costs on the debt refinanced, are financed as part

of the refinancing, the historical cost of capital assets limit in Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060,
subpart 5, item A, subitem (6), includes issuance costs that do not exceed seven percent of the
debt refinanced, plus the related issuance costs. For purposes of this paragraph, issuance costs
means the fees charged by the underwriter, issuer, attorneys, bond raters, appraisers, and trustees,
and includes the cost of printing, title insurance, registration tax, and a feasibility study for the
refinancing of a nursing facility's debt. Issuance costs do not include bond premiums or discounts
when bonds are sold at other than their par value, points, or a bond reserve fund. To the extent
otherwise allowed under this paragraph, the straight-line amortization of the refinancing issuance
costs is not an allowable cost.

(3) The annual principal and interest expense payments and any required annual municipal
fees on the nursing facility's refinancing replace those of the refinanced debt and, together with
annual principal and interest payments on other allowable debts, are allowable costs subject to the
limitation on historical cost of capital assets plus issuance costs as limited in paragraph (2), if any.

Copyright © 2011 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



342 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2011 256B.431

(4) If the nursing facility's refinancing includes zero coupon bonds, the commissioner
shall establish a monthly debt service payment schedule based on an annuity that will produce
an amount equal to the zero coupon bonds at maturity. The term and interest rate is the term
and interest rate of the zero coupon bonds. Any refinancing to repay the zero coupon bonds is
not an allowable cost.

(5) The annual amount of annuity payments is added to the nursing facility's allowable
annual principal and interest payment computed in paragraph (3).

(6) The property-related payment rate is equal to the amount in paragraph (5), divided
by the nursing facility's capacity days as determined under Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060,
subpart 11, as modified by subdivision 3f, paragraph (c), for the preceding reporting year plus an
equipment allowance.

(7) Except as provided in this subdivision, the provisions of Minnesota Rules, part
9549.0060 apply.

Subd. 3h. [Repealed, 2000 c 449 s 15]

Subd. 3i. Property costs for the rate year beginning July 1, 1990. Notwithstanding
Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060, subpart 13, item H, the commissioner shall determine
property-related payment rates for nursing facilities for the rate year beginning July 1, 1990,
as follows:

(a) The property-related payment rate for a nursing facility that qualifies under subdivision
3g is the greater of the rate determined under that subdivision or the rate determined under
paragraph (c), (d), or (e), whichever is applicable.

(b) Nursing facilities shall be grouped according to the type of property-related payment rate
the commissioner determined for the rate year beginning July 1, 1989. A nursing facility whose
property-related payment rate was determined under Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060, subpart
13, item A (full rental reimbursement), shall be considered group A. A nursing facility whose
property-related payment rate was determined under Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060, subpart 13,
item B (phase-down to full rental reimbursement), shall be considered group B. A nursing facility
whose property-related payment rate was determined under Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060,
subpart 13, item C or D (phase-up to full rental reimbursement), shall be considered group C.

(c) For the rate year beginning July 1, 1990, a group A nursing facility shall receive its
property-related payment rate determined under Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0010 to 9549.0080,
and this section.

(d) For the rate year beginning July 1, 1990, a Group B nursing facility shall receive the
greater of 87 percent of the property-related payment rate in effect on July 1, 1989; or the
rental per diem rate determined under Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0010 to 9549.0080, and this
section in effect on July 1, 1990; or the sum of 100 percent of the nursing facility's allowable
principal and interest expense, plus its equipment allowance multiplied by the resident days for
the reporting year ending September 30, 1989, divided by the nursing facility's capacity days as
determined under Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060, subpart 11, as modified by subdivision 3f,
paragraph (c); except that the nursing facility's property-related payment rate must not exceed its
property-related payment rate in effect on July 1, 1989.

(e) For the rate year beginning July 1, 1990, a group C nursing facility shall receive its
property-related payment rate determined under Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0010 to 9549.0080,
and this section, except the rate must not exceed the lesser of its property-related payment rate
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determined for the rate year beginning July 1, 1989, multiplied by 116 percent or its rental per
diem rate determined effective July 1, 1990.

(f) The property-related payment rate for a nursing facility that qualifies for a rate
adjustment under Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060, subpart 13, item G (special reappraisals),
shall have the property-related payment rate determined in paragraphs (a) to (e) adjusted
according to the provisions in that rule.

(g) Except as provided in subdivision 4, paragraph (f), and subdivision 11, a nursing facility
that has a change in ownership or a reorganization of provider entity is subject to the provisions of
Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060, subpart 13, item F.

Subd. 3j. [Repealed, 2000 c 449 s 15]

Subd. 4. [Repealed, 2000 c 449 s 15]

Subd. 5. [Repealed, 2000 c 449 s 15]

Subd. 6. [Repealed, 1991 c 292 art 7 s 26]

Subd. 7. [Repealed, 2000 c 449 s 15]

Subd. 8. [Repealed, 2000 c 449 s 15]

Subd. 9. [Repealed, 2000 c 449 s 15]

Subd. 9a. [Repealed, 2000 c 449 s 15]

Subd. 10. Property rate adjustments and construction projects. A nursing facility
completing a construction project that is eligible for a rate adjustment under section 256B.434,
subdivision 4f, and that was not approved through the moratorium exception process in section
144A.073 must request from the commissioner a property-related payment rate adjustment. If the
request is made within 60 days after the construction project's completion date, the effective date
of the rate adjustment is the first of the month following the completion date. If the request is
made more than 60 days after the completion date, the rate adjustment is effective on the first
of the month following the request. The commissioner shall provide a rate notice reflecting the
allowable costs within 60 days after receiving all the necessary information to compute the rate
adjustment. No sooner than the effective date of the rate adjustment for the construction project,
a nursing facility may adjust its rates by the amount anticipated to be allowed. Any amounts
collected from private pay residents in excess of the allowable rate must be repaid to private pay
residents with interest at the rate used by the commissioner of revenue for the late payment of
taxes and in effect on the date the rate increase is effective. Construction projects with completion
dates within one year of the completion date associated with the property rate adjustment request
and phased projects with project completion dates within three years of the last phase of the
phased project must be aggregated for purposes of the minimum thresholds in subdivisions 16
and 17, and the maximum threshold in section 144A.071, subdivision 2. "Construction project"
and "project construction costs" have the meanings given them in Minnesota Statutes, section
144A.071, subdivision 1a.

Subd. 11. Special property rate setting procedures for certain nursing facilities. (a)
Notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060, subpart 13, item H, to the contrary, for the
rate year beginning July 1, 1990, a nursing facility leased prior to January 1, 1986, and currently
subject to adverse licensure action under section 144A.04, subdivision 4, paragraph (a), or section
144A.11, subdivision 2, and whose ownership changes prior to July 1, 1990, shall be allowed a
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property-related payment equal to the lesser of its current lease obligation divided by its capacity
days as determined in Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060, subpart 11, as modified by subdivision
3f, paragraph (c), or the frozen property-related payment rate in effect for the rate year beginning
July 1, 1989. For rate years beginning on or after July 1, 1991, the property-related payment rate
shall be its rental rate computed using the previous owner's allowable principal and interest
expense as allowed by the department prior to that prior owner's sale and lease-back transaction
of December 1985.

(b) Notwithstanding other provisions of applicable law, a nursing facility licensed for 122
beds on January 1, 1998, and located in Columbia Heights shall have its property-related payment
rate set under this subdivision. The commissioner shall make a rate adjustment by adding $2.41 to
the facility's July 1, 1997, property-related payment rate. The adjusted property-related payment
rate shall be effective for rate years beginning on or after July 1, 1998. The adjustment in this
paragraph shall remain in effect so long as the facility's rates are set under this section. If the
facility participates in the alternative payment system under section 256B.434, the adjustment
in this paragraph shall be included in the facility's contract payment rate. If historical rates or
property costs recognized under this section become the basis for future medical assistance
payments to the facility under a managed care, capitation, or other alternative payment system,
the adjustment in this paragraph shall be included in the computation of the facility's payments.

Subd. 12. [Repealed, 2000 c 449 s 15]

Subd. 13. Hold-harmless property-related rates. (a) Terms used in subdivisions 13 to 21
shall be as defined in Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0010 to 9549.0080, and this section.

(b) Except as provided in this subdivision, for rate periods beginning on October 1, 1992,
and for rate years beginning after June 30, 1993, the property-related rate for a nursing facility
shall be the greater of $4 or the property-related payment rate in effect on September 30, 1992. In
addition, the incremental increase in the nursing facility's rental rate will be determined under
Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0010 to 9549.0080, and this section.

(c) Notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060, subpart 13, item F, a nursing
facility that has a sale permitted under subdivision 14 after June 30, 1992, shall receive the
property-related payment rate in effect at the time of the sale or reorganization. For rate periods
beginning after October 1, 1992, and for rate years beginning after June 30, 1993, a nursing
facility shall receive, in addition to its property-related payment rate in effect at the time of the
sale, the incremental increase allowed under subdivision 14.

(d) For rate years beginning after June 30, 1993, the property-related rate for a nursing
facility licensed after July 1, 1989, after relocating its beds from a separate nursing home to a
building formerly used as a hospital and sold during the cost reporting year ending September 30,
1991, shall be its property-related rate prior to the sale in addition to the incremental increases
provided under this section effective on October 1, 1992, of 29 cents per day, and any incremental
increases after October 1, 1992, calculated by using its rental rate under Minnesota Rules, parts
9549.0010 to 9549.0080, and this section, recognizing the current appraised value of the facility
at the new location, and including as allowable debt otherwise allowable debt incurred to remodel
the facility in the new location prior to the relocation of beds.

Subd. 14. Limitations on sales of nursing facilities. (a) For rate periods beginning
on October 1, 1992, and for rate years beginning after June 30, 1993, a nursing facility's
property-related payment rate as established under subdivision 13 shall be adjusted by either
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paragraph (b) or (c) for the sale of the nursing facility, including sales occurring after June 30,
1992, as provided in this subdivision.

(b) If the nursing facility's property-related payment rate under subdivision 13 prior to
sale is greater than the nursing facility's rental rate under Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0010 to
9549.0080, and this section prior to sale, the nursing facility's property-related payment rate
after sale shall be the greater of its property-related payment rate under subdivision 13 prior to
sale or its rental rate under Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0010 to 9549.0080, and this section
calculated after sale.

(c) If the nursing facility's property-related payment rate under subdivision 13 prior to sale
is equal to or less than the nursing facility's rental rate under Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0010
to 9549.0080, and this section prior to sale, the nursing facility's property-related payment rate
after sale shall be the nursing facility's property-related payment rate under subdivision 13 plus
the difference between its rental rate calculated under Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0010 to
9549.0080, and this section prior to sale and its rental rate calculated under Minnesota Rules,
parts 9549.0010 to 9549.0080, and this section calculated after sale.

(d) For purposes of this subdivision, "sale" means the purchase of a nursing facility's capital
assets with cash or debt. The term sale does not include a stock purchase of a nursing facility or
any of the following transactions:

(1) a sale and leaseback to the same licensee that does not constitute a change in facility
license;

(2) a transfer of an interest to a trust;
(3) gifts or other transfers for no consideration;
(4) a merger of two or more related organizations;
(5) a change in the legal form of doing business, other than a publicly held organization that

becomes privately held or vice versa;
(6) the addition of a new partner, owner, or shareholder who owns less than 20 percent of

the nursing facility or the issuance of stock; and
(7) a sale, merger, reorganization, or any other transfer of interest between related

organizations other than those permitted in this section.
(e) For purposes of this subdivision, "sale" includes the sale or transfer of a nursing facility

to a close relative as defined in Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0020, subpart 38, item C, upon the
death of an owner, due to serious illness or disability, as defined under the Social Security Act,
under United States Code, title 42, section 423(d)(1)(A), or upon retirement of an owner from the
business of owning or operating a nursing home at 62 years of age or older. For sales to a close
relative allowed under this paragraph, otherwise nonallowable debt resulting from seller financing
of all or a portion of the debt resulting from the sale shall be allowed and shall not be subject
to Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060, subpart 5, item E, provided that in addition to existing
requirements for allowance of debt and interest, the debt is subject to repayment through annual
principal payments and the interest rate on the related organization debt does not exceed three
percentage points above the posted yield for standard conventional fixed rate mortgages of the
Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation for delivery in 60 days in effect on the day of sale.
If at any time, the seller forgives the related organization debt allowed under this paragraph for
other than equal amount of payment on that debt, then the buyer shall pay to the state the total
revenue received by the nursing facility after the sale attributable to the amount of allowable debt
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which has been forgiven. Any assignment, sale, or transfer of the debt instrument entered into
by the close relatives, either directly or indirectly, which grants to the close relative buyer the
right to receive all or a portion of the payments under the debt instrument shall, effective on
the date of the transfer, result in the prospective reduction in the corresponding portion of the
allowable debt and interest expense. Upon the death of the close relative seller, any remaining
balance of the close relative debt must be refinanced and such refinancing shall be subject to the
provisions of Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060, subpart 7, item G. This paragraph shall not apply
to sales occurring on or after June 30, 1997.

(f) For purposes of this subdivision, "effective date of sale" means the later of either the
date on which legal title to the capital assets is transferred or the date on which closing for the sale
occurred.

(g) The effective day for the property-related payment rate determined under this
subdivision shall be the first day of the month following the month in which the effective date of
sale occurs or October 1, 1992, whichever is later, provided that the notice requirements under
section 256B.47, subdivision 2, have been met.

(h) Notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060, subparts 5, item A, subitems (3) and
(4), and 7, items E and F, the commissioner shall limit the total allowable debt and related interest
for sales occurring after June 30, 1992, to the sum of clauses (1) to (3):

(1) the historical cost of capital assets, as of the nursing facility's most recent previous
effective date of sale or, if there has been no previous sale, the nursing facility's initial historical
cost of constructing capital assets;

(2) the average annual capital asset additions after deduction for capital asset deletions, not
including depreciations; and

(3) one-half of the allowed inflation on the nursing facility's capital assets. The
commissioner shall compute the allowed inflation as described in paragraph (i).

(i) For purposes of computing the amount of allowed inflation, the commissioner must
apply the following principles:

(1) the lesser of the Consumer Price Index for all urban consumers or the Dodge
Construction Systems Costs for Nursing Homes for any time periods during which both are
available must be used. If the Dodge Construction Systems Costs for Nursing Homes becomes
unavailable, the commissioner shall substitute the index in subdivision 3f, or such other index as
the secretary of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services may designate;

(2) the amount of allowed inflation to be applied to the capital assets in paragraph (h),
clauses (1) and (2), must be computed separately;

(3) the amount of allowed inflation must be determined on an annual basis, prorated on a
monthly basis for partial years and if the initial month of use is not determinable for a capital
asset, then one-half of that calendar year shall be used for purposes of prorating;

(4) the amount of allowed inflation to be applied to the capital assets in paragraph (h),
clauses (1) and (2), must not exceed 300 percent of the total capital assets in any one of those
clauses; and

(5) the allowed inflation must be computed starting with the month following the nursing
facility's most recent previous effective date of sale or, if there has been no previous sale, the
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month following the date of the nursing facility's initial occupancy, and ending with the month
preceding the effective date of sale.

(j) If the historical cost of a capital asset is not readily available for the date of the nursing
facility's most recent previous sale or if there has been no previous sale for the date of the
nursing facility's initial occupancy, then the commissioner shall limit the total allowable debt and
related interest after sale to the extent recognized by the Medicare intermediary after the sale.
For a nursing facility that has no historical capital asset cost data available and does not have
allowable debt and interest calculated by the Medicare intermediary, the commissioner shall use
the historical cost of capital asset data from the point in time for which capital asset data is
recorded in the nursing facility's audited financial statements.

(k) The limitations in this subdivision apply only to debt resulting from a sale of a nursing
facility occurring after June 30, 1992, including debt assumed by the purchaser of the nursing
facility.

Subd. 15. Capital repair and replacement cost reporting and rate calculation. For rate
years beginning after June 30, 1993, a nursing facility's capital repair and replacement payment
rate shall be established annually as provided in paragraphs (a) to (e).

(a) Notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060, subpart 12, the costs of any of
the following items not included in the equity incentive computations under subdivision 16 or
reported as a capital asset addition under subdivision 18, paragraph (b), including cash payment
for equity investment and principal and interest expense for debt financing, must be reported in
the capital repair and replacement cost category:

(1) wall coverings;
(2) paint;
(3) floor coverings;
(4) window coverings;
(5) roof repair; and
(6) window repair or replacement.
(b) Notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060, subpart 12, the repair or replacement

of a capital asset not included in the equity incentive computations under subdivision 16 or
reported as a capital asset addition under subdivision 18, paragraph (b), must be reported
under this subdivision when the cost of the item exceeds $500, or in the plant operations and
maintenance cost category when the cost of the item is equal to or less than $500.

(c) To compute the capital repair and replacement payment rate, the allowable annual
repair and replacement costs for the reporting year must be divided by actual resident days for
the reporting year. The annual allowable capital repair and replacement costs shall not exceed
$150 per licensed bed. The excess of the allowed capital repair and replacement costs over the
capital repair and replacement limit shall be a cost carryover to succeeding cost reporting periods,
except that sale of a facility, under subdivision 14, shall terminate the carryover of all costs except
those incurred in the most recent cost reporting year. The termination of the carryover shall have
effect on the capital repair and replacement rate on the same date as provided in subdivision 14,
paragraph (f), for the sale. For rate years beginning after June 30, 1994, the capital repair and
replacement limit shall be subject to the index provided in subdivision 3f, paragraph (a). For
purposes of this subdivision, the number of licensed beds shall be the number used to calculate
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the nursing facility's capacity days. The capital repair and replacement rate must be added to the
nursing facility's total payment rate.

(d) Capital repair and replacement costs under this subdivision shall not be counted as
either care-related or other operating costs, nor subject to care-related or other operating limits.

(e) If costs otherwise allowable under this subdivision are incurred as the result of a project
approved under the moratorium exception process in section 144A.073, or in connection with an
addition to or replacement of buildings, attached fixtures, or land improvements for which the
total historical cost of these assets exceeds the lesser of $150,000 or ten percent of the nursing
facility's appraised value, these costs must be claimed under subdivision 16 or 17, as appropriate.

Subd. 16.Major additions and replacements; equity incentive. For rate years beginning
after June 30, 1993, if a nursing facility acquires capital assets in connection with a project
approved under the moratorium exception process in section 144A.073 or in connection with an
addition to or replacement of buildings, attached fixtures, or land improvements for which the
total historical cost of those capital asset additions exceeds the lesser of $150,000 or ten percent
of the most recent appraised value, the nursing facility shall be eligible for an equity incentive
payment rate as in paragraphs (a) to (d). This computation is separate from the determination
of the nursing facility's rental rate. An equity incentive payment rate as computed under this
subdivision is limited to one in a 12-month period.

(a) An eligible nursing facility shall receive an equity incentive payment rate equal to the
allowable historical cost of the capital asset acquired, minus the allowable debt directly identified
to that capital asset, multiplied by the equity incentive factor as described in paragraphs (b) and
(c), and divided by the nursing facility's occupancy factor under subdivision 3f, paragraph (c).
This amount shall be added to the nursing facility's total payment rate and shall be effective the
same day as the incremental increase in paragraph (d) or subdivision 17. The allowable historical
cost of the capital assets and the allowable debt shall be determined as provided in Minnesota
Rules, parts 9549.0010 to 9549.0080, and this section.

(b) The equity incentive factor shall be determined under clauses (1) to (4):
(1) divide the initial allowable debt in paragraph (a) by the initial historical cost of the

capital asset additions referred to in paragraph (a), then cube the quotient,
(2) subtract the amount calculated in clause (1) from the number one,
(3) determine the difference between the rental factor and the lesser of two percentage

points above the posted yield for standard conventional fixed rate mortgages of the Federal Home
Loan Mortgage Corporation as published in the Wall Street Journal and in effect on the first day
of the month the debt or cost is incurred, or 16 percent,

(4) multiply the amount calculated in clause (2) by the amount calculated in clause (3).
(c) The equity incentive payment rate shall be limited to the term of the allowable debt in

paragraph (a), not greater than 20 years nor less than ten years. If no debt is incurred in acquiring
the capital asset, the equity incentive payment rate shall be paid for ten years. The sale of a
nursing facility under subdivision 14 shall terminate application of the equity incentive payment
rate effective on the date provided in subdivision 14, paragraph (f), for the sale.

(d) A nursing facility with an addition to or a renovation of its buildings, attached
fixtures, or land improvements meeting the criteria in this subdivision and not receiving the
property-related payment rate adjustment in subdivision 17, shall receive the incremental increase
in the nursing facility's rental rate as determined under Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0010 to
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9549.0080, and this section. The incremental increase shall be added to the nursing facility's
property-related payment rate. The effective date of this incremental increase shall be the first day
of the month following the month in which the addition or replacement is completed.

Subd. 17. Special provisions for moratorium exceptions. Notwithstanding Minnesota
Rules, part 9549.0060, subpart 3, for rate periods beginning on October 1, 1992, and for rate years
beginning after June 30, 1993, a nursing facility that (1) has completed a construction project
approved under section 144A.071, subdivision 4a, clause (m); (2) has completed a construction
project approved under section 144A.071, subdivision 4a, and effective after June 30, 1995; (3)
has completed a construction project approved under section 144A.071, subdivision 4c; or (4)
has completed a renovation, replacement, or upgrading project approved under the moratorium
exception process in section 144A.073 shall be reimbursed for costs directly identified to that
project as provided in subdivision 16 and subdivisions 17 to 17f.

Subd. 17a. Allowable interest expense. (a) Notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part
9549.0060, subparts 5, item A, subitems (1) and (3), and 7, item D, allowable interest expense
on debt shall include:

(1) interest expense on debt related to the cost of purchasing or replacing depreciable
equipment, excluding vehicles, not to exceed ten percent of the total historical cost of the project;
and

(2) interest expense on debt related to financing or refinancing costs, including costs related
to points, loan origination fees, financing charges, legal fees, and title searches; and issuance costs
including bond discounts, bond counsel, underwriter's counsel, corporate counsel, printing, and
financial forecasts. Allowable debt related to items in this clause shall not exceed seven percent
of the total historical cost of the project. To the extent these costs are financed, the straight-line
amortization of the costs in this clause is not an allowable cost; and

(3) interest on debt incurred for the establishment of a debt reserve fund, net of the interest
earned on the debt reserve fund.

(b) Debt incurred for costs under paragraph (a) is not subject to Minnesota Rules, part
9549.0060, subpart 5, item A, subitem (5) or (6).

Subd. 17b. Property-related payment rate. The incremental increase in a nursing facility's
rental rate, determined under Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0010 to 9549.0080, and this section,
resulting from the acquisition of allowable capital assets, and allowable debt and interest expense
under this subdivision shall be added to its property-related payment rate and shall be effective on
the first day of the month following the month in which the moratorium project was completed.

Subd. 17c. Replacement-costs-new per bed limit. Notwithstanding subdivision 3f,
paragraph (a), for rate periods beginning on October 1, 1992, and for rate years beginning after
June 30, 1993, the replacement-costs-new per bed limit to be used in Minnesota Rules, part
9549.0060, subpart 4, item B, for a nursing facility that has completed a renovation, replacement,
or upgrading project that has been approved under the moratorium exception process in section
144A.073, or that has completed an addition to or replacement of buildings, attached fixtures, or
land improvements for which the total historical cost exceeds the lesser of $150,000 or ten percent
of the most recent appraised value, must be $47,500 per licensed bed in multiple-bed rooms and
$71,250 per licensed bed in a single-bed room. These amounts must be adjusted annually as
specified in subdivision 3f, paragraph (a), beginning January 1, 1993.

Subd. 17d. Determination of rental per diem for total replacement projects. (a) For
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purposes of this subdivision, a total replacement means the complete replacement of the nursing
facility's physical plant through the construction of a new physical plant, the transfer of the
nursing facility's license from one physical plant location to another, or a new building addition to
relocate beds from three- and four-bed wards. For total replacement projects completed on or after
July 1, 1992, the commissioner shall compute the incremental change in the nursing facility's
rental per diem, for rate years beginning on or after July 1, 1995, by replacing its appraised value,
including the historical capital asset costs, and the capital debt and interest costs with the new
nursing facility's allowable capital asset costs and the related allowable capital debt and interest
costs. If the new nursing facility has decreased its licensed capacity, the aggregate investment per
bed limit in subdivision 3a, paragraph (c), shall apply.

(b) If the new nursing facility has retained a portion of the original physical plant for
nursing facility usage, then a portion of the appraised value prior to the replacement must be
retained and included in the calculation of the incremental change in the nursing facility's rental
per diem. For purposes of this subdivision, the original nursing facility means the nursing facility
prior to the total replacement project. The portion of the appraised value to be retained shall
be calculated according to clauses (1) to (3):

(1) The numerator of the allocation ratio shall be the square footage of the area in the
original physical plant which is being retained for nursing facility usage.

(2) The denominator of the allocation ratio shall be the total square footage of the original
nursing facility physical plant.

(3) Each component of the nursing facility's allowable appraised value prior to the total
replacement project shall be multiplied by the allocation ratio developed by dividing clause
(1) by clause (2).

(c) In the case of either type of total replacement as authorized under section 144A.071 or
144A.073, the provisions of subdivisions 17 to 17f shall also apply.

(d) For purposes of the moratorium exception authorized under section 144A.071,
subdivision 4a, paragraph (s), if the total replacement involves the renovation and use of an
existing health care facility physical plant, the new allowable capital asset costs and related
debt and interest costs shall include first the allowable capital asset costs and related debt and
interest costs of the renovation, to which shall be added the allowable capital asset costs of the
existing physical plant prior to the renovation, and if reported by the facility, the related allowable
capital debt and interest costs.

Subd. 17e. Replacement-costs-new per bed limit effective October 1, 2007.
Notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060, subpart 11, item C, subitem (2), for a total
replacement, as defined in subdivision 17d, authorized under section 144A.071 or 144A.073 after
July 1, 1999, any building project that is a relocation, renovation, upgrading, or conversion
completed on or after July 1, 2001, or any building project eligible for reimbursement under
section 256B.434, subdivision 4f, the replacement-costs-new per bed limit shall be $74,280 per
licensed bed in multiple-bed rooms, $92,850 per licensed bed in semiprivate rooms with a fixed
partition separating the resident beds, and $111,420 per licensed bed in single rooms. Minnesota
Rules, part 9549.0060, subpart 11, item C, subitem (2), does not apply. These amounts must be
adjusted annually as specified in subdivision 3f, paragraph (a), beginning January 1, 2000.

Subd. 17f. Provisions for specific facilities. (a) For a total replacement, as defined in
subdivision 17d, authorized under section 144A.073 for a 96-bed nursing home in Carlton County,
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the replacement-costs-new per bed limit shall be $74,280 per licensed bed in multiple-bed rooms,
$92,850 per licensed bed in semiprivate rooms with a fixed partition separating the resident's
beds, and $111,420 per licensed bed in a single room. Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060, subpart
11, item C, subitem (2), does not apply. The resulting maximum allowable replacement-costs-new
multiplied by 1.25 shall constitute the project's dollar threshold for purposes of application of the
limit set forth in section 144A.071, subdivision 2. The commissioner of health may waive the
requirements of section 144A.073, subdivision 3b, paragraph (b), clause (2), on the condition that
the other requirements of that paragraph are met.

(b) For a renovation authorized under section 144A.073 for a 65-bed nursing home in St.
Louis County, the incremental increase in rental rate for purposes of subdivision 17b shall be
$8.16, and the total replacement cost, allowable appraised value, allowable debt, and allowable
interest shall be increased according to the incremental increase.

(c) For a total replacement, as defined in subdivision 17d, authorized under section
144A.073 involving a new building addition that relocates beds from three-bed wards for an
80-bed nursing home in Redwood County, the replacement-costs-new per bed limit shall be
$74,280 per licensed bed for multiple-bed rooms; $92,850 per licensed bed for semiprivate
rooms with a fixed partition separating the beds; and $111,420 per licensed bed for single
rooms. These amounts shall be adjusted annually, beginning January 1, 2001. Minnesota Rules,
part 9549.0060, subpart 11, item C, subitem (2), does not apply. The resulting maximum
allowable replacement-costs-new multiplied by 1.25 shall constitute the project's dollar threshold
for purposes of application of the limit set forth in section 144A.071, subdivision 2. The
commissioner of health may waive the requirements of section 144A.073, subdivision 3b,
paragraph (b), clause (2), on the condition that the other requirements of that paragraph are met.

Subd. 18. Updating appraisals, additions, and replacements. (a) Notwithstanding
Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060, subparts 1 to 3, the appraised value, routine updating of the
appraised value, and special reappraisals are subject to this subdivision.

For all rate years after June 30, 1993, the commissioner shall no longer conduct any
appraisals under Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060, for the purpose of determining property-related
payment rates.

(b) Notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060, subpart 2, for rate years beginning
after June 30, 1993, the commissioner shall routinely update the appraised value of each nursing
facility by adding the cost of capital asset acquisitions to its allowable appraised value.

The commissioner shall also annually index each nursing facility's allowable appraised
value by the inflation index referenced in subdivision 3f, paragraph (a), for the purpose of
computing the nursing facility's annual rental rate. In annually adjusting the nursing facility's
appraised value, the commissioner must not include the historical cost of capital assets acquired
during the reporting year in the nursing facility's appraised value.

In addition, the nursing facility's appraised value must be reduced by the historical cost of
capital asset disposals or applicable credits such as public grants and insurance proceeds. Capital
asset additions and disposals must be reported on the nursing facility's annual cost report in the
reporting year of acquisition or disposal. The incremental increase in the nursing facility's rental
rate resulting from this annual adjustment as determined under Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0010
to 9549.0080, and this section shall be added to the nursing facility's property-related payment
rate for the rate year following the reporting year.
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Subd. 19. Refinancing incentive. (a) A nursing facility that refinances debt after May 30,
1992, in order to save in interest expense payments as determined in clauses (1) to (5) may be
eligible for the refinancing incentive under this subdivision. To be eligible for the refinancing
incentive, a nursing facility must notify the commissioner in writing of such a refinancing within
60 days following the date on which the refinancing occurs. If the nursing facility meets these
conditions, the commissioner shall determine the refinancing incentive as in clauses (1) to (5).

(1) Compute the aggregate amount of interest expense, including amortized issuance and
financing costs, remaining on the debt to be refinanced, and divide this amount by the number
of years remaining for the term of that debt.

(2) Compute the aggregate amount of interest expense, including amortized issuance and
financing costs, for the new debt, and divide this amount by the number of years for the term of
that debt.

(3) Subtract the amount in clause (2) from the amount in clause (1), and multiply the
amount, if positive, by .5.

(4) The amount in clause (3) shall be divided by the nursing facility's occupancy factor
under subdivision 3f, paragraph (c).

(5) The per diem amount in clause (4) shall be deducted from the nursing facility's
property-related payment rate for three full rate years following the rate year in which the
refinancing occurs. For the fourth full rate year following the rate year in which the refinancing
occurs, and each rate year thereafter, the per diem amount in clause (4) shall again be deducted
from the nursing facility's property-related payment rate.

(b) An increase in a nursing facility's debt for costs in subdivision 17, paragraph
(b), clause (2), including the cost of refinancing the issuance or financing costs of the debt
refinanced resulting from refinancing that meets the conditions of this section shall be allowed,
notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060, subpart 5, item A, subitem (6).

(c) The proceeds of refinancing may not be used for the purpose of withdrawing equity
from the nursing facility.

(d) Sale of a nursing facility under subdivision 14 shall terminate the payment of the
incentive payments under this subdivision effective the date provided in subdivision 14,
paragraph (f), for the sale, and the full amount of the refinancing incentive in paragraph (a)
shall be implemented.

(e) If a nursing facility eligible under this subdivision fails to notify the commissioner
as required, the commissioner shall determine the full amount of the refinancing incentive in
paragraph (a), and shall deduct one-half that amount from the nursing facility's property-related
payment rate effective the first day of the month following the month in which the refinancing
is completed. For the next three full rate years, the commissioner shall deduct one-half the
amount in paragraph (a), clause (5). The remaining per diem amount shall be deducted in each
rate year thereafter.

(f) The commissioner shall reestablish the nursing facility's rental rate under Minnesota
Rules, parts 9549.0010 to 9549.0080, and this section following the refinancing using the new debt
and interest expense information for the purpose of measuring future incremental rental increases.

Subd. 20. Special property rate setting. For rate periods beginning on October 1, 1992,
and for rate years beginning after June 30, 1993, the property-related payment rate for a nursing
facility approved for total replacement under the moratorium exception process in section
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144A.073 through an addition to another nursing facility shall have its property-related rate under
subdivision 13 recalculated using the greater of actual resident days or 80 percent of capacity
days. This rate shall apply until the nursing facility is replaced or until the moratorium exception
authority lapses, whichever is sooner.

Subd. 21. Indexing thresholds. Beginning January 1, 1993, and each January 1 thereafter,
the commissioner shall annually update the dollar thresholds in subdivisions 15, paragraph (e),
16, and 17, and in section 144A.071, subdivisions 2 and 4a, clauses (b) and (e), by the inflation
index referenced in subdivision 3f, paragraph (a).

Subd. 22. Changes to nursing facility reimbursement. The nursing facility reimbursement
changes in paragraphs (a) to (d) apply to Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0010 to 9549.0080, and
this section, and are effective for rate years beginning on or after July 1, 1993, unless otherwise
indicated.

(a) In addition to the approved pension or profit-sharing plans allowed by the reimbursement
rule, the commissioner shall allow those plans specified in Internal Revenue Code, sections
403(b) and 408(k).

(b) The commissioner shall allow as workers' compensation insurance costs under section
256B.421, subdivision 14, the costs of workers' compensation coverage obtained under the
following conditions:

(1) a plan approved by the commissioner of commerce as a Minnesota group or individual
self-insurance plan as provided in section 79A.03;

(2) a plan in which:

(i) the nursing facility, directly or indirectly, purchases workers' compensation coverage in
compliance with section 176.181, subdivision 2, from an authorized insurance carrier;

(ii) a related organization to the nursing facility reinsures the workers' compensation
coverage purchased, directly or indirectly, by the nursing facility; and

(iii) all of the conditions in clause (4) are met;

(3) a plan in which:

(i) the nursing facility, directly or indirectly, purchases workers' compensation coverage in
compliance with section 176.181, subdivision 2, from an authorized insurance carrier;

(ii) the insurance premium is calculated retrospectively, including a maximum premium
limit, and paid using the paid loss retro method; and

(iii) all of the conditions in clause (4) are met;

(4) additional conditions are:

(i) the costs of the plan are allowable under the federal Medicare program;

(ii) the reserves for the plan are maintained in an account controlled and administered by a
person which is not a related organization to the nursing facility;

(iii) the reserves for the plan cannot be used, directly or indirectly, as collateral for debts
incurred or other obligations of the nursing facility or related organizations to the nursing facility;

(iv) if the plan provides workers' compensation coverage for non-Minnesota nursing
facilities, the plan's cost methodology must be consistent among all nursing facilities covered by
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the plan, and if reasonable, is allowed notwithstanding any reimbursement laws regarding cost
allocation to the contrary;

(v) central, affiliated, corporate, or nursing facility costs related to their administration of
the plan are costs which must remain in the nursing facility's administrative cost category and
must not be allocated to other cost categories;

(vi) required security deposits, whether in the form of cash, investments, securities, assets,
letters of credit, or in any other form are not allowable costs for purposes of establishing the
facilities payment rate; and

(vii) for the rate year beginning on July 1, 1998, a group of nursing facilities related by
common ownership that self-insures workers' compensation may allocate its directly identified
costs of self-insuring its Minnesota nursing facility workers among those nursing facilities in the
group that are reimbursed under this section or section 256B.434. The method of cost allocation
shall be based on the ratio of each nursing facility's total allowable salaries and wages to that of
the nursing facility group's total allowable salaries and wages, then similarly allocated within
each nursing facility's operating cost categories. The costs associated with the administration of
the group's self-insurance plan must remain classified in the nursing facility's administrative cost
category. A written request of the nursing facility group's election to use this alternate method
of allocation of self-insurance costs must be received by the commissioner no later than May 1,
1998, to take effect July 1, 1998, or such costs shall continue to be allocated under the existing
cost allocation methods. Once a nursing facility group elects this method of cost allocation for its
workers' compensation self-insurance costs, it shall remain in effect until such time as the group
no longer self-insures these costs;

(5) any costs allowed pursuant to clauses (1) to (3) are subject to the following requirements:
(i) if the nursing facility is sold or otherwise ceases operations, the plan's reserves must

be subject to an actuarially based settle up after 36 months from the date of sale or the date on
which operations ceased. The facility's medical assistance portion of the total excess plan reserves
must be paid to the state within 30 days following the date on which excess plan reserves are
determined;

(ii) any distribution of excess plan reserves made to or withdrawals made by the nursing
facility or a related organization are applicable credits and must be used to reduce the nursing
facility's workers' compensation insurance costs in the reporting period in which a distribution
or withdrawal is received;

(iii) if reimbursement for the plan is sought under the federal Medicare program, and is
audited pursuant to the Medicare program, the nursing facility must provide a copy of Medicare's
final audit report, including attachments and exhibits, to the commissioner within 30 days of
receipt by the nursing facility or any related organization. The commissioner shall implement
the audit findings associated with the plan upon receipt of Medicare's final audit report. The
department's authority to implement the audit findings is independent of its authority to conduct a
field audit.

(c) In the determination of incremental increases in the nursing facility's rental rate as
required in subdivisions 14 to 21, except for a refinancing permitted under subdivision 19, the
commissioner must adjust the nursing facility's property-related payment rate for both incremental
increases and decreases in recomputations of its rental rate;

(d) A nursing facility's administrative cost limitation must be modified as follows:
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(1) if the nursing facility's licensed beds exceed 195 licensed beds, the general and
administrative cost category limitation shall be 13 percent;

(2) if the nursing facility's licensed beds are more than 150 licensed beds, but less than 196
licensed beds, the general and administrative cost category limitation shall be 14 percent; or

(3) if the nursing facility's licensed beds is less than 151 licensed beds, the general and
administrative cost category limitation shall remain at 15 percent.

(e) For the rate year beginning on July 1, 1998, a group of nursing facilities related by
common ownership that self-insures group health, dental, or life insurance may allocate its directly
identified costs of self-insuring its Minnesota nursing facility workers among those nursing
facilities in the group that are reimbursed under this section or section 256B.434. The method of
cost allocation shall be based on the ratio of each nursing facility's total allowable salaries and
wages to that of the nursing facility group's total allowable salaries and wages, then similarly
allocated within each nursing facility's operating cost categories. The costs associated with the
administration of the group's self-insurance plan must remain classified in the nursing facility's
administrative cost category. A written request of the nursing facility group's election to use this
alternate method of allocation of self-insurance costs must be received by the commissioner no
later than May 1, 1998, to take effect July 1, 1998, or those self-insurance costs shall continue to
be allocated under the existing cost allocation methods. Once a nursing facility group elects this
method of cost allocation for its group health, dental, or life insurance self-insurance costs, it shall
remain in effect until such time as the group no longer self-insures these costs.

Subd. 23. [Repealed, 2009 c 79 art 8 s 86]

Subd. 24. [Repealed, 2000 c 449 s 15]

Subd. 25. Changes to nursing facility reimbursement beginning July 1, 1995. A nursing
facility licensed for 302 beds on September 30, 1993, that was approved under the moratorium
exception process in section 144A.073 for a partial replacement, and completed the replacement
project in December 1994, is exempt from Minnesota Statutes 1998, section 256B.431,
subdivision 25, paragraphs (b) to (d) for rate years beginning on or after July 1, 1995.

For the rate year beginning July 1, 1997, after computing this nursing facility's payment
rate according to section 256B.434, the commissioner shall make a one-year rate adjustment of
$8.62 to the facility's contract payment rate for the rate effect of operating cost changes associated
with the facility's 1994 downsizing project.

For rate years beginning on or after July 1, 1997, the commissioner shall add 35 cents to the
facility's base property related payment rate for the rate effect of reducing its licensed capacity
to 290 beds from 302 beds and shall add 83 cents to the facility's real estate tax and special
assessment payment rate for payments in lieu of real estate taxes. The adjustments in this clause
shall remain in effect for the duration of the facility's contract under section 256B.434.

Subd. 26. Changes to nursing facility reimbursement beginning July 1, 1997. The
nursing facility reimbursement changes in paragraphs (a) to (e) shall apply in the sequence
specified in Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0010 to 9549.0080, and this section, beginning July 1,
1997.

(a) For rate years beginning on or after July 1, 1997, the commissioner shall limit
a nursing facility's allowable operating per diem for each case mix category for each rate
year. The commissioner shall group nursing facilities into two groups, freestanding and
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nonfreestanding, within each geographic group, using their operating cost per diem for the case
mix A classification. A nonfreestanding nursing facility is a nursing facility whose other operating
cost per diem is subject to the hospital attached, short length of stay, or the rule 80 limits. All
other nursing facilities shall be considered freestanding nursing facilities. The commissioner shall
then array all nursing facilities in each grouping by their allowable case mix A operating cost per
diem. In calculating a nursing facility's operating cost per diem for this purpose, the commissioner
shall exclude the raw food cost per diem related to providing special diets that are based on
religious beliefs, as determined in subdivision 2b, paragraph (h). For those nursing facilities in
each grouping whose case mix A operating cost per diem:

(1) is at or below the median of the array, the commissioner shall limit the nursing facility's
allowable operating cost per diem for each case mix category to the lesser of the prior reporting
year's allowable operating cost per diem as specified in Laws 1996, chapter 451, article 3, section
11, paragraph (h), plus the inflation factor as established in paragraph (d), clause (2), increased
by two percentage points, or the current reporting year's corresponding allowable operating
cost per diem; or

(2) is above the median of the array, the commissioner shall limit the nursing facility's
allowable operating cost per diem for each case mix category to the lesser of the prior reporting
year's allowable operating cost per diem as specified in Laws 1996, chapter 451, article 3, section
11, paragraph (h), plus the inflation factor as established in paragraph (d), clause (2), increased
by one percentage point, or the current reporting year's corresponding allowable operating cost
per diem.

For purposes of paragraph (a), if a nursing facility reports on its cost report a reduction in
cost due to a refund or credit for a rate year beginning on or after July 1, 1998, the commissioner
shall increase that facility's spend-up limit for the rate year following the current rate year by the
amount of the cost reduction divided by its resident days for the reporting year preceding the rate
year in which the adjustment is to be made.

(b) For rate years beginning on or after July 1, 1997, the commissioner shall limit the
allowable operating cost per diem for high cost nursing facilities. After application of the limits in
paragraph (a) to each nursing facility's operating cost per diem, the commissioner shall group
nursing facilities into two groups, freestanding or nonfreestanding, within each geographic
group. A nonfreestanding nursing facility is a nursing facility whose other operating cost per
diem are subject to hospital attached, short length of stay, or rule 80 limits. All other nursing
facilities shall be considered freestanding nursing facilities. The commissioner shall then array all
nursing facilities within each grouping by their allowable case mix A operating cost per diem.
In calculating a nursing facility's operating cost per diem for this purpose, the commissioner
shall exclude the raw food cost per diem related to providing special diets that are based on
religious beliefs, as determined in subdivision 2b, paragraph (h). For those nursing facilities in
each grouping whose case mix A operating cost per diem exceeds 1.0 standard deviation above
the median, the commissioner shall reduce their allowable operating cost per diem by three
percent. For those nursing facilities in each grouping whose case mix A operating cost per diem
exceeds 0.5 standard deviation above the median but is less than or equal to 1.0 standard deviation
above the median, the commissioner shall reduce their allowable operating cost per diem by two
percent. However, in no case shall a nursing facility's operating cost per diem be reduced below
its grouping's limit established at 0.5 standard deviations above the median.
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(c) For rate years beginning on or after July 1, 1997, the commissioner shall determine
a nursing facility's efficiency incentive by first computing the allowable difference, which is
the lesser of $4.50 or the amount by which the facility's other operating cost limit exceeds its
nonadjusted other operating cost per diem for that rate year. The commissioner shall compute
the efficiency incentive by:

(1) subtracting the allowable difference from $4.50 and dividing the result by $4.50;
(2) multiplying 0.20 by the ratio resulting from clause (1), and then;
(3) adding 0.50 to the result from clause (2); and
(4) multiplying the result from clause (3) times the allowable difference.
The nursing facility's efficiency incentive payment shall be the lesser of $2.25 or the

product obtained in clause (4).
(d) For rate years beginning on or after July 1, 1997, the forecasted price index for a nursing

facility's allowable operating cost per diem shall be determined under clauses (1) and (2) using the
change in the Consumer Price Index-All Items (United States city average) (CPI-U) as forecasted
by Data Resources, Inc. The commissioner shall use the indices as forecasted in the fourth quarter
of the calendar year preceding the rate year, subject to subdivision 2l, paragraph (c).

(1) The CPI-U forecasted index for allowable operating cost per diem shall be based on
the 21-month period from the midpoint of the nursing facility's reporting year to the midpoint
of the rate year following the reporting year.

(2) For rate years beginning on or after July 1, 1997, the forecasted index for operating cost
limits referred to in subdivision 21, paragraph (b), shall be based on the CPI-U for the 12-month
period between the midpoints of the two reporting years preceding the rate year.

(e) After applying these provisions for the respective rate years, the commissioner shall
index these allowable operating cost per diem by the inflation factor provided for in paragraph
(d), clause (1), and add the nursing facility's efficiency incentive as computed in paragraph (c).

(f) For the rate years beginning on July 1, 1997, July 1, 1998, and July 1, 1999, a
nursing facility licensed for 40 beds effective May 1, 1992, with a subsequent increase of 20
Medicare/Medicaid certified beds, effective January 26, 1993, in accordance with an increase in
licensure is exempt from paragraphs (a) and (b).

(g) For the rate year beginning July 1, 1997, the commissioner shall compute the payment
rate for a nursing facility licensed for 94 beds on September 30, 1996, that applied in October
1993 for approval of a total replacement under the moratorium exception process in section
144A.073, and completed the approved replacement in June 1995, with other operating cost
spend-up limit under paragraph (a), increased by $3.98, and after computing the facility's payment
rate according to this section, the commissioner shall make a one-year positive rate adjustment of
$3.19 for operating costs related to the newly constructed total replacement, without application
of paragraphs (a) and (b). The facility's per diem, before the $3.19 adjustment, shall be used as
the prior reporting year's allowable operating cost per diem for payment rate calculation for the
rate year beginning July 1, 1998. A facility described in this paragraph is exempt from paragraph
(b) for the rate years beginning July 1, 1997, and July 1, 1998.

(h) For the purpose of applying the limit stated in paragraph (a), a nursing facility in
Kandiyohi County licensed for 86 beds that was granted hospital-attached status on December 1,
1994, shall have the prior year's allowable care-related per diem increased by $3.207 and the prior
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year's other operating cost per diem increased by $4.777 before adding the inflation in paragraph
(d), clause (2), for the rate year beginning on July 1, 1997.

(i) For the purpose of applying the limit stated in paragraph (a), a 117 bed nursing facility
located in Pine County shall have the prior year's allowable other operating cost per diem
increased by $1.50 before adding the inflation in paragraph (d), clause (2), for the rate year
beginning on July 1, 1997.

(j) For the purpose of applying the limit under paragraph (a), a nursing facility in Hibbing
licensed for 192 beds shall have the prior year's allowable other operating cost per diem increased
by $2.67 before adding the inflation in paragraph (d), clause (2), for the rate year beginning
July 1, 1997.

Subd. 27. Changes to nursing facility reimbursement beginning July 1, 1998. (a) For
the purpose of applying the limit stated in subdivision 26, paragraph (a), a nursing facility
in Hennepin County licensed for 181 beds on September 30, 1996, shall have the prior year's
allowable care-related per diem increased by $1.455 and the prior year's other operating cost per
diem increased by $0.439 before adding the inflation in subdivision 26, paragraph (d), clause (2),
for the rate year beginning on July 1, 1998.

(b) For the purpose of applying the limit stated in subdivision 26, paragraph (a), a nursing
facility in Hennepin County licensed for 161 beds on September 30, 1996, shall have the prior
year's allowable care-related per diem increased by $1.154 and the prior year's other operating
cost per diem increased by $0.256 before adding the inflation in subdivision 26, paragraph (d),
clause (2), for the rate year beginning on July 1, 1998.

(c) For the purpose of applying the limit stated in subdivision 26, paragraph (a), a nursing
facility in Ramsey County licensed for 176 beds on September 30, 1996, shall have the prior
year's allowable care-related per diem increased by $0.803 and the prior year's other operating
cost per diem increased by $0.272 before adding the inflation in subdivision 26, paragraph (d),
clause (2), for the rate year beginning on July 1, 1998.

(d) For the purpose of applying the limit stated in subdivision 26, paragraph (a), a nursing
facility in Brown County licensed for 86 beds on September 30, 1996, shall have the prior year's
allowable care-related per diem increased by $0.850 and the prior year's other operating cost per
diem increased by $0.275 before adding the inflation in subdivision 26, paragraph (d), clause (2),
for the rate year beginning on July 1, 1998.

(e) For the rate year beginning July 1, 1998, the commissioner shall compute the payment
rate for a nursing facility, which was licensed for 110 beds on May 1, 1997, was granted approval
in January 1994 for a replacement and remodeling project under the moratorium exception
process in section 144A.073, and completed the approved replacement and remodeling project
on March 14, 1997, by increasing the other operating cost spend-up limit under paragraph (a)
by $1.64. After computing the facility's payment rate for the rate year beginning July 1, 1998,
according to this section, the commissioner shall make a one-year positive rate adjustment of
48 cents for increased real estate taxes resulting from completion of the moratorium exception
project, without application of paragraphs (a) and (b).

(f) For the rate year beginning July 1, 1998, the commissioner shall compute the payment
rate for a nursing facility exempted from care-related limits under subdivision 2b, paragraph (d),
clause (2), with a minimum of three-quarters of its beds licensed to provide residential services
for the physically disabled under Minnesota Rules, parts 9570.2000 to 9570.3400, with the
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care-related spend-up limit under subdivision 26, paragraph (a), increased by $13.21 for the rate
year beginning July 1, 1998, without application of subdivision 26, paragraph (b). For rate years
beginning on or after July 1, 1999, the commissioner shall exclude that amount in calculating the
facility's operating cost per diem for purposes of applying subdivision 26, paragraph (b).

(g) For the rate year beginning July 1, 1998, a nursing facility in Canby, Minnesota,
licensed for 75 beds shall be reimbursed without the limitation imposed under subdivision 26,
paragraph (a), and for rate years beginning on or after July 1, 1999, its base costs shall be
calculated on the basis of its September 30, 1997, cost report.

(h) The nursing facility reimbursement changes in paragraphs (i) and (j) shall apply
in the sequence specified in this section and Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0010 to 9549.0080,
beginning July 1, 1998.

(i) For rate years beginning on or after July 1, 1998, the operating cost limits established in
subdivisions 2, 2b, 2i, 3c, and 22, paragraph (d), and any previously effective corresponding limits
in law or rule shall not apply, except that these cost limits shall still be calculated for purposes of
determining efficiency incentive per diems. For rate years beginning on or after July 1, 1998, the
total operating cost payment rates for a nursing facility shall be the greater of the total operating
cost payment rates determined under this section or the total operating cost payment rates in effect
on June 30, 1998, subject to rate adjustments due to field audit or rate appeal resolution.

(j) For rate years beginning on or after July 1, 1998, the operating cost per diem referred
to in subdivision 26, paragraph (a), clauses (1) and (2), is the sum of the care-related and other
operating per diems for a given case mix class. Any reductions to the combined operating per
diem shall be divided proportionately between the care-related and other operating per diems.

(k) For rate years beginning on or after July 1, 1998, the commissioner shall modify the
determination of the spend-up limits referred to in subdivision 26, paragraph (a), by indexing each
group's previous year's median value by the factor in subdivision 26, paragraph (d), clause (2),
plus one percentage point.

(l) For rate years beginning on or after July 1, 1998, the commissioner shall modify the
determination of the high cost limits referred to in subdivision 26, paragraph (b), by indexing
each group's previous year's high cost per diem limits at .5 and one standard deviations above the
median by the factor in subdivision 26, paragraph (d), clause (2), plus one percentage point.

Subd. 28. Nursing facility rate increases beginning July 1, 1999, and July 1, 2000.
(a) For the rate years beginning July 1, 1999, and July 1, 2000, the commissioner shall make
available to each nursing facility reimbursed under this section or section 256B.434 an adjustment
to the total operating payment rate. For nursing facilities reimbursed under this section or section
256B.434, the July 1, 2000, operating payment rate increases provided in this subdivision shall
be applied to each facility's June 30, 2000, operating payment rate. For each facility, total
operating costs shall be separated into costs that are compensation related and all other costs.
Compensation-related costs include salaries, payroll taxes, and fringe benefits for all employees
except management fees, the administrator, and central office staff.

(b) For the rate year beginning July 1, 1999, the commissioner shall make available a rate
increase for compensation-related costs of 4.843 percent and a rate increase for all other operating
costs of 3.446 percent.

(c) For the rate year beginning July 1, 2000, the commissioner shall make available:
(1) a rate increase for compensation-related costs of 3.632 percent;
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(2) an additional rate increase for each case mix payment rate which must be used to
increase the per-hour pay rate of all employees except management fees, the administrator, and
central office staff by an equal dollar amount and to pay associated costs for FICA, the Medicare
tax, workers' compensation premiums, and federal and state unemployment insurance, to be
calculated according to clauses (i) to (iii):

(i) the commissioner shall calculate the arithmetic mean of the 11 June 30, 2000, operating
rates for each facility;

(ii) the commissioner shall construct an array of nursing facilities from highest to lowest,
according to the arithmetic mean calculated in clause (i). A numerical rank shall be assigned to
each facility in the array. The facility with the highest mean shall be assigned a numerical rank
of one. The facility with the lowest mean shall be assigned a numerical rank equal to the total
number of nursing facilities in the array. All other facilities shall be assigned a numerical rank in
accordance with their position in the array;

(iii) the amount of the additional rate increase shall be $1 plus an amount equal to $3.13
multiplied by the ratio of the facility's numeric rank divided by the number of facilities in the
array; and

(3) a rate increase for all other operating costs of 2.585 percent.
Money received by a facility as a result of the additional rate increase provided under

clause (2) shall be used only for wage increases implemented on or after July 1, 2000, and shall
not be used for wage increases implemented prior to that date.

(d) The payment rate adjustment for each nursing facility must be determined under clause
(1) or (2):

(1) for each nursing facility that reports salaries for registered nurses, licensed practical
nurses, aides, orderlies, and attendants separately, the commissioner shall determine the payment
rate adjustment using the categories specified in paragraph (a) multiplied by the rate increases
specified in paragraph (b) or (c), and then dividing the resulting amount by the nursing facility's
actual resident days. In determining the amount of a payment rate adjustment for a nursing facility
reimbursed under section 256B.434, the commissioner shall determine the proportions of the
facility's rates that are compensation-related costs and all other operating costs based on the
facility's most recent cost report; and

(2) for each nursing facility that does not report salaries for registered nurses, licensed
practical nurses, aides, orderlies, and attendants separately, the payment rate adjustment shall
be computed using the facility's total operating costs, separated into the categories specified in
paragraph (a) in proportion to the weighted average of all facilities determined under clause (1),
multiplied by the rate increases specified in paragraph (b) or (c), and then dividing the resulting
amount by the nursing facility's actual resident days.

(e) A nursing facility may apply for the compensation-related payment rate adjustment
calculated under this subdivision. The application must be made to the commissioner and contain
a plan by which the nursing facility will distribute the compensation-related portion of the
payment rate adjustment to employees of the nursing facility. For nursing facilities in which the
employees are represented by an exclusive bargaining representative, an agreement negotiated and
agreed to by the employer and the exclusive bargaining representative constitutes the plan. For the
second rate year, a negotiated agreement constitutes the plan only if the agreement is finalized
after the date of enactment of all rate increases for the second rate year. The commissioner
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shall review the plan to ensure that the payment rate adjustment per diem is used as provided
in paragraphs (a) to (c). To be eligible, a facility must submit its plan for the compensation
distribution by December 31 each year. A facility may amend its plan for the second rate year by
submitting a revised plan by December 31, 2000. If a facility's plan for compensation distribution
is effective for its employees after July 1 of the year that the funds are available, the payment rate
adjustment per diem shall be effective the same date as its plan.

(f) A copy of the approved distribution plan must be made available to all employees. This
must be done by giving each employee a copy or by posting it in an area of the nursing facility to
which all employees have access. If an employee does not receive the compensation adjustment
described in their facility's approved plan and is unable to resolve the problem with the facility's
management or through the employee's union representative, the employee may contact the
commissioner at an address or phone number provided by the commissioner and included in the
approved plan.

(g) If the reimbursement system under section 256B.435 is not implemented until July 1,
2001, the salary adjustment per diem authorized in subdivision 2i, paragraph (c), shall continue
until June 30, 2001.

(h) For the rate year beginning July 1, 1999, the following nursing facilities shall be allowed
a rate increase equal to 67 percent of the rate increase that would be allowed if subdivision
26, paragraph (a), was not applied:

(1) a nursing facility in Carver County licensed for 33 nursing home beds and four boarding
care beds;

(2) a nursing facility in Faribault County licensed for 159 nursing home beds on September
30, 1998; and

(3) a nursing facility in Houston County licensed for 68 nursing home beds on September
30, 1998.

(i) For the rate year beginning July 1, 1999, the following nursing facilities shall be allowed
a rate increase equal to 67 percent of the rate increase that would be allowed if subdivision
26, paragraphs (a) and (b), were not applied:

(1) a nursing facility in Chisago County licensed for 135 nursing home beds on September
30, 1998; and

(2) a nursing facility in Murray County licensed for 62 nursing home beds on September
30, 1998.

(j) For the rate year beginning July 1, 1999, a nursing facility in Hennepin County licensed
for 134 beds on September 30, 1998, shall:

(1) have the prior year's allowable care-related per diem increased by $3.93 and the prior
year's other operating cost per diem increased by $1.69 before adding the inflation in subdivision
26, paragraph (d), clause (2); and

(2) be allowed a rate increase equal to 67 percent of the rate increase that would be allowed
if subdivision 26, paragraphs (a) and (b), were not applied.

The increases provided in paragraphs (h), (i), and (j) shall be included in the facility's total
payment rates for the purposes of determining future rates under this section or any other section.

(k) For the rate years beginning on or after July 1, 2000, a nursing home facility in Goodhue
County that was licensed for 104 beds on February 1, 2000, shall have its employee pension
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benefit costs reported on its Rule 50 cost report treated as PERA contributions for the purpose of
computing its payment rates.

Subd. 29. Facility rate increases effective July 1, 2000. Following the determination
under subdivision 28 of the payment rate for the rate year beginning July 1, 2000, for a facility
in Roseau County licensed for 49 beds, the facility's operating cost per diem shall be increased
by the following amounts:

(1) case mix class A, $1.97;
(2) case mix class B, $2.11;
(3) case mix class C, $2.26;
(4) case mix class D, $2.39;
(5) case mix class E, $2.54;
(6) case mix class F, $2.55;
(7) case mix class G, $2.66;
(8) case mix class H, $2.90;
(9) case mix class I, $2.97;
(10) case mix class J, $3.10; and
(11) case mix class K, $3.36.

These increases shall be included in the facility's total payment rates for the purpose of
determining future rates under this section or any other section.

Subd. 30. Bed layaway and delicensure. (a) For rate years beginning on or after July
1, 2000, a nursing facility reimbursed under this section which has placed beds on layaway
shall, for purposes of application of the downsizing incentive in subdivision 3a, paragraph (c),
and calculation of the rental per diem, have those beds given the same effect as if the beds had
been delicensed so long as the beds remain on layaway. At the time of a layaway, a facility may
change its single bed election for use in calculating capacity days under Minnesota Rules, part
9549.0060, subpart 11. The property payment rate increase shall be effective the first day of the
month following the month in which the layaway of the beds becomes effective under section
144A.071, subdivision 4b.

(b) For rate years beginning on or after July 1, 2000, notwithstanding any provision to the
contrary under section 256B.434, a nursing facility reimbursed under that section which has
placed beds on layaway shall, for so long as the beds remain on layaway, be allowed to:

(1) aggregate the applicable investment per bed limits based on the number of beds licensed
immediately prior to entering the alternative payment system;

(2) retain or change the facility's single bed election for use in calculating capacity days
under Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060, subpart 11; and

(3) establish capacity days based on the number of beds immediately prior to the layaway
and the number of beds after the layaway.

The commissioner shall increase the facility's property payment rate by the incremental
increase in the rental per diem resulting from the recalculation of the facility's rental per diem
applying only the changes resulting from the layaway of beds and clauses (1), (2), and (3). If a
facility reimbursed under section 256B.434 completes a moratorium exception project after its
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base year, the base year property rate shall be the moratorium project property rate. The base
year rate shall be inflated by the factors in section 256B.434, subdivision 4, paragraph (c). The
property payment rate increase shall be effective the first day of the month following the month in
which the layaway of the beds becomes effective.

(c) If a nursing facility removes a bed from layaway status in accordance with section
144A.071, subdivision 4b, the commissioner shall establish capacity days based on the number of
licensed and certified beds in the facility not on layaway and shall reduce the nursing facility's
property payment rate in accordance with paragraph (b).

(d) For the rate years beginning on or after July 1, 2000, notwithstanding any provision
to the contrary under section 256B.434, a nursing facility reimbursed under that section, which
has delicensed beds after July 1, 2000, by giving notice of the delicensure to the commissioner
of health according to the notice requirements in section 144A.071, subdivision 4b, shall be
allowed to:

(1) aggregate the applicable investment per bed limits based on the number of beds licensed
immediately prior to entering the alternative payment system;

(2) retain or change the facility's single bed election for use in calculating capacity days
under Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060, subpart 11; and

(3) establish capacity days based on the number of beds immediately prior to the delicensure
and the number of beds after the delicensure.

The commissioner shall increase the facility's property payment rate by the incremental
increase in the rental per diem resulting from the recalculation of the facility's rental per diem
applying only the changes resulting from the delicensure of beds and clauses (1), (2), and (3). If
a facility reimbursed under section 256B.434 completes a moratorium exception project after
its base year, the base year property rate shall be the moratorium project property rate. The base
year rate shall be inflated by the factors in section 256B.434, subdivision 4, paragraph (c). The
property payment rate increase shall be effective the first day of the month following the month in
which the delicensure of the beds becomes effective.

(e) For nursing facilities reimbursed under this section or section 256B.434, any beds
placed on layaway shall not be included in calculating facility occupancy as it pertains to leave
days defined in Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0415.

(f) For nursing facilities reimbursed under this section or section 256B.434, the rental rate
calculated after placing beds on layaway may not be less than the rental rate prior to placing
beds on layaway.

(g) A nursing facility receiving a rate adjustment as a result of this section shall comply
with section 256B.47, subdivision 2.

(h) A facility that does not utilize the space made available as a result of bed layaway
or delicensure under this subdivision to reduce the number of beds per room or provide more
common space for nursing facility uses or perform other activities related to the operation of the
nursing facility shall have its property rate increase calculated under this subdivision reduced
by the ratio of the square footage made available that is not used for these purposes to the total
square footage made available as a result of bed layaway or delicensure.

Subd. 31. Nursing facility rate increases beginning July 1, 2001, and July 1, 2002. For
the rate years beginning July 1, 2001, and July 1, 2002, the commissioner shall provide to each
nursing facility reimbursed under this section or section 256B.434 an adjustment equal to 3.0
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percent of the total operating payment rate. The operating payment rates in effect on June 30,
2001, shall include the adjustment in subdivision 2i, paragraph (c).

Subd. 32. Payment during first 30 days. (a) For rate years beginning on or after July 1,
2011, the total payment rate for a facility reimbursed under this section, section 256B.434, or
any other section shall be:

(1) for the first 30 calendar days after admission, the rate shall be 120 percent of the
facility's medical assistance rate for each RUG class;

(2) beginning with the 31st calendar day after admission, the payment rate shall be the rate
otherwise determined under this section, section 256B.434, or any other section; and

(3) payments under this paragraph apply to admissions occurring on or after July 1, 2011.
(b) The enhanced rates under this subdivision shall not be allowed if a resident has resided

during the previous 30 calendar days in:
(1) the same nursing facility;
(2) a nursing facility owned or operated by a related party; or
(3) a nursing facility or part of a facility that closed or was in the process of closing.

Subd. 33. Staged reduction in rate disparities. (a) For the rate years beginning July 1,
2001, and July 1, 2002, the commissioner shall adjust the operating payment rates for low-rate
nursing facilities reimbursed under this section or section 256B.434.

(b) For the rate year beginning July 1, 2001, for each case mix level, if the amount computed
under subdivision 31 is less than the amount in clause (1), the commissioner shall make available
the lesser of the amount in clause (1) or an increase of ten percent over the rate in effect on June
30, 2001, as an adjustment to the operating payment rate. For the rate year beginning July 1, 2002,
for each case mix level, if the amount computed under subdivision 31 is less than the amount in
clause (2), the commissioner shall make available the lesser of the amount in clause (2) or an
increase of ten percent over the rate in effect on June 30, 2002, as an adjustment to the operating
payment rate. For purposes of this subdivision, nursing facilities shall be considered to be metro if
they are located in Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Olmsted, Ramsey, Scott, or Washington
Counties; or in the cities of Moorhead or Breckenridge; or in St. Louis County, north of Toivola
and south of Cook; or in Itasca County, east of a north south line two miles west of Grand Rapids:

(1) Operating Payment Rate Target Level for July 1, 2001:

Case Mix Classification Metro Nonmetro
A $ 76.00 $ 68.13
B $ 83.40 $ 74.46
C $ 91.67 $ 81.63
D $ 99.51 $ 88.04
E $107.46 $ 94.87
F $107.96 $ 95.29
G $114.67 $100.98
H $126.99 $111.31
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I $131.42 $115.06
J $138.34 $120.85
K $152.26 $133.10

(2) Operating Payment Rate Target Level for July 1, 2002:

Case Mix Classification Metro Nonmetro
A $ 78.28 $ 70.51
B $ 85.91 $ 77.16
C $ 94.42 $ 84.62
D $102.50 $ 91.42
E $110.68 $ 98.40
F $111.20 $ 98.84
G $118.11 $104.77
H $130.80 $115.64
I $135.38 $119.50
J $142.49 $125.38
K $156.85 $137.77

Subd. 34. Nursing facility rate increases beginning July 1, 2001, and July 1, 2002. (a)
For the rate years beginning July 1, 2001, and July 1, 2002, two-thirds of the money resulting
from the rate adjustment under subdivision 31 and one-half of the money resulting from the rate
adjustment under subdivisions 32 and 33 must be used to increase the wages and benefits and
pay associated costs of all employees except management fees, the administrator, and central
office staff.

(b) Money received by a facility as a result of the rate adjustments provided in subdivisions
31 to 33, which must be used as provided in paragraph (a), must be used only for wage and benefit
increases implemented on or after July 1, 2001, or July 1, 2002, respectively, and must not be
used for wage increases implemented prior to those dates.

(c) Nursing facilities may apply for the portions of the rate adjustments under subdivisions
31 to 33, which must be used as provided in paragraph (a). The application must be made to the
commissioner and contain a plan by which the nursing facility will distribute to employees of the
nursing facility the funds, which must be used as provided in paragraph (a). For nursing facilities
in which the employees are represented by an exclusive bargaining representative, an agreement
negotiated and agreed to by the employer and the exclusive bargaining representative constitutes
the plan. A negotiated agreement may constitute the plan only if the agreement is finalized after
the date of enactment of all increases for the rate year. The commissioner shall review the plan to
ensure that the rate adjustments are used as provided in paragraph (a). To be eligible, a facility
must submit its plan for the wage and benefit distribution by December 31 each year. If a facility's
plan for wage and benefit distribution is effective for its employees after July 1 of the year that
the funds are available, the portion of the rate adjustments, which must be used as provided in
paragraph (a), are effective the same date as its plan.
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(d) A hospital-attached nursing facility may include costs in their distribution plan for
wages and benefits and associated costs of employees in the organization's shared services
departments, provided that:

(1) the nursing facility and the hospital share common ownership; and
(2) adjustments for hospital services using the diagnostic-related grouping payment rates

per admission under Medicare are less than three percent during the 12 months prior to the
effective date of these rate adjustments.

If a hospital-attached facility meets the qualifications in this paragraph, the difference
between the rate adjustments approved for nursing facility services and the rate increase approved
for hospital services may be permitted as a distribution in the hospital-attached facility's plan
regardless of whether the use of those funds is shown as being attributable to employee hours
worked in the nursing facility or employee hours worked in the hospital.

For the purposes of this paragraph, a hospital-attached nursing facility is one that meets the
definition under subdivision 2j, or, in the case of a facility reimbursed under section 256B.434,
met this definition at the time their last payment rate was established under Minnesota Rules,
parts 9549.0010 to 9549.0080, and this section.

(e) A copy of the approved distribution plan must be made available to all employees
by giving each employee a copy or by posting it in an area of the nursing facility to which all
employees have access. If an employee does not receive the wage and benefit adjustment described
in the facility's approved plan and is unable to resolve the problem with the facility's management
or through the employee's union representative, the employee may contact the commissioner at an
address or telephone number provided by the commissioner and included in the approved plan.

(f) Notwithstanding section 256B.48, subdivision 1, clause (a), upon the request of a
nursing facility, the commissioner may authorize the facility to raise per diem rates for private-pay
residents on July 1 by the amount anticipated to be required upon implementation of the rate
adjustments allowable under subdivisions 31 to 33. The commissioner shall require any amounts
collected under this paragraph, which must be used as provided in paragraph (a), to be placed in
an escrow account established for this purpose with a financial institution that provides deposit
insurance until the medical assistance rate is finalized. The commissioner shall conduct audits
as necessary to ensure that:

(1) the amounts collected are retained in escrow until medical assistance rates are increased
to reflect the wage-related adjustment; and

(2) any amounts collected from private-pay residents in excess of the final medical
assistance rate are repaid to the private-pay residents with interest at the rate used by the
commissioner of revenue for the late payment of taxes and in effect on the date the distribution
plan is approved by the commissioner of human services.

Subd. 35. Exclusion of raw food cost adjustment. For rate years beginning on or after July
1, 2001, in calculating a nursing facility's operating cost per diem for the purposes of comparing
to an array, a median, or other statistical measure of nursing facility payment rates to be used to
determine future rate adjustments under this section, section 256B.434, or any other section, the
commissioner shall exclude adjustments for raw food costs under subdivision 2b, paragraph (h),
that are related to providing special diets based on religious beliefs.

Subd. 36. Employee scholarship costs and training in English as a second language.
(a) For the period between July 1, 2001, and June 30, 2003, the commissioner shall provide to
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each nursing facility reimbursed under this section, section 256B.434, or any other section, a
scholarship per diem of 25 cents to the total operating payment rate to be used:

(1) for employee scholarships that satisfy the following requirements:
(i) scholarships are available to all employees who work an average of at least 20 hours per

week at the facility except the administrator, department supervisors, and registered nurses; and
(ii) the course of study is expected to lead to career advancement with the facility or in

long-term care, including medical care interpreter services and social work; and
(2) to provide job-related training in English as a second language.
(b) A facility receiving a rate adjustment under this subdivision may submit to the

commissioner on a schedule determined by the commissioner and on a form supplied by the
commissioner a calculation of the scholarship per diem, including: the amount received from
this rate adjustment; the amount used for training in English as a second language; the number
of persons receiving the training; the name of the person or entity providing the training; and
for each scholarship recipient, the name of the recipient, the amount awarded, the educational
institution attended, the nature of the educational program, the program completion date, and a
determination of the per diem amount of these costs based on actual resident days.

(c) On July 1, 2003, the commissioner shall remove the 25 cent scholarship per diem from
the total operating payment rate of each facility.

(d) For rate years beginning after June 30, 2003, the commissioner shall provide to each
facility the scholarship per diem determined in paragraph (b). In calculating the per diem under
paragraph (b), the commissioner shall allow only costs related to tuition and direct educational
expenses.

Subd. 37. Nursing home rate increases effective July 1, 2002. For rate years beginning on
or after July 1, 2002, the commissioner shall provide to each nursing home reimbursed under
this section or section 256B.434 an increase in each case mix payment rate equal to the increase
in the per-bed surcharge paid under section 256.9657, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), divided by
365 and further divided by .80. The increase under this subdivision shall be added following
the determination of the payment rate for the home under this chapter. The increase shall not
be subject to any annual percentage increase.

Subd. 38. Nursing home rate increases effective in fiscal year 2003. Effective June 1,
2003, the commissioner shall provide to each nursing home reimbursed under this section or
section 256B.434, an increase in each case mix payment rate equal to the increase in the per-bed
surcharge paid under section 256.9657, subdivision 1, paragraph (d), divided by 365 and further
divided by .90. The increase shall not be subject to any annual percentage increase. The 30-day
advance notice requirement in section 256B.47, subdivision 2, shall not apply to rate increases
resulting from this section. The commissioner shall not adjust the rate increase under this
subdivision unless the adjustment is greater than 1.5 percent of the monthly surcharge payment
amount under section 256.9657, subdivision 4.

Subd. 39. Facility rates beginning on or after July 1, 2003. For rate years beginning on or
after July 1, 2003, nursing facilities reimbursed under this section shall have their July 1 operating
payment rate be equal to their operating payment rate in effect on the prior June 30th.

Subd. 40. Designation of areas to receive metropolitan rates. (a) For rate years beginning
on or after July 1, 2004, and subject to paragraph (b), nursing facilities located in areas designated
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as metropolitan areas by the federal Office of Management and Budget using Census Bureau
data shall be considered metro, in order to:

(1) determine rate increases under this section, section 256B.434, or any other section; and

(2) establish nursing facility reimbursement rates for the new nursing facility reimbursement
system developed under Laws 2001, First Special Session chapter 9, article 5, section 35, as
amended by Laws 2002, chapter 220, article 14, section 19.

(b) Paragraph (a) applies only if designation as a metro facility results in a level of
reimbursement that is higher than the level the facility would have received without application of
that paragraph.

Subd. 41. Rate increases for October 1, 2005, and October 1, 2006. (a) For the rate
period beginning October 1, 2005, the commissioner shall make available to each nursing facility
reimbursed under this section or section 256B.434 an adjustment equal to 2.2553 percent of the
total operating payment rate, and for the rate year beginning October 1, 2006, the commissioner
shall make available to each nursing facility reimbursed under this section or section 256B.434 an
adjustment equal to 1.2553 percent of the total operating payment rate.

(b) 75 percent of the money resulting from the rate adjustment under paragraph (a) must
be used to increase wages and benefits and pay associated costs for all employees, except
management fees, the administrator, and central office staff. Except as provided in paragraph (c),
75 percent of the money received by a facility as a result of the rate adjustment provided in
paragraph (a) must be used only for wage, benefit, and staff increases implemented on or after
the effective date of the rate increase each year, and must not be used for increases implemented
prior to that date.

(c) With respect only to the October 1, 2005, rate increase, a nursing facility that incurred
costs for salary and employee benefit increases first provided after July 1, 2003, may count those
costs towards the amount required to be spent on salaries and benefits under paragraph (b). These
costs must be reported to the commissioner in the form and manner specified by the commissioner.

(d) Nursing facilities may apply for the portion of the rate adjustment under paragraph (a)
for employee wages and benefits and associated costs. The application must be made to the
commissioner and contain a plan by which the nursing facility will distribute the funds according
to paragraph (b). For nursing facilities in which the employees are represented by an exclusive
bargaining representative, an agreement negotiated and agreed to by the employer and the
exclusive bargaining representative constitutes the plan. A negotiated agreement may constitute
the plan only if the agreement is finalized after the date of enactment of all increases for the rate
year and signed by both parties prior to submission to the commissioner. The commissioner shall
review the plan to ensure that the rate adjustments are used as provided in paragraph (b). To be
eligible, a facility must submit its distribution plan by March 31, 2006, and March 31, 2007,
respectively. The commissioner may approve distribution plans on or before June 30, 2006, and
June 30, 2007, respectively. The commissioner may waive the deadlines in this paragraph under
extraordinary circumstances, either retroactively or prospectively, to be determined at the sole
discretion of the commissioner. If a facility's distribution plan is effective after the first day of the
applicable rate period that the funds are available, the rate adjustments are effective the same
date as the facility's plan.

(e) A copy of the approved distribution plan must be made available to all employees by
giving each employee a copy or by posting a copy in an area of the nursing facility to which all
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employees have access. If an employee does not receive the wage and benefit adjustment described
in the facility's approved plan and is unable to resolve the problem with the facility's management
or through the employee's union representative, the employee may contact the commissioner at an
address or telephone number provided by the commissioner and included in the approved plan.

Subd. 42. Incentive to establish single-bed rooms. (a) Beginning July 1, 2005, the
operating payment rate for nursing facilities reimbursed under this section, section 256B.434, or
256B.441 shall be increased by 20 percent multiplied by the ratio of the number of new single-bed
rooms created divided by the number of active beds on July 1, 2005, for each bed closure that
results in the creation of a single-bed room after July 1, 2005. The commissioner may implement
rate adjustments for up to 3,000 new single-bed rooms each year. For eligible bed closures for
which the commissioner receives a notice from a facility during a calendar quarter that a bed has
been delicensed and a new single-bed room has been established, the rate adjustment in this
paragraph shall be effective on the first day of the second month following that calendar quarter.

(b) A nursing facility is prohibited from discharging residents for purposes of establishing
single-bed rooms. A nursing facility must submit documentation to the commissioner in a
form prescribed by the commissioner, certifying the occupancy status of beds closed to create
single-bed rooms. In the event that the commissioner determines that a facility has discharged a
resident for purposes of establishing a single-bed room, the commissioner shall not provide a
rate adjustment under paragraph (a).

(c) If after August 1, 2005, and before December 31, 2007, more than 4,000 nursing
home beds are removed from service, a portion of the appropriation for nursing homes shall be
transferred to the alternative care program. The amount of this transfer shall equal the number
of beds removed from service less 4,000, multiplied by the average monthly per-person cost for
alternative care, multiplied by 12, and further multiplied by 0.3.

Subd. 43. Rate increase for facilities in Stearns, Sherburne, and Benton Counties.
Effective July 1, 2006, operating payment rates of nursing facilities in Stearns, Sherburne, and
Benton Counties that are reimbursed under this section, section 256B.434, or section 256B.441
shall be increased to be equal, for a RUG's rate with a weight of 1.00, to the geographic group III
median rate for the same RUG's weight. The percentage of the operating payment rate for each
facility to be case-mix adjusted shall be equal to the percentage that is case-mix adjusted in that
facility's June 30, 2006, operating payment rate. This subdivision shall apply only if it results in a
rate increase. Increases provided by this subdivision shall be added to the rate determined under
any new reimbursement system established under section 256B.440.

Subd. 44. Property rate increase for a facility in Bloomington effective November 1,
2010. Notwithstanding any other law to the contrary, money available for moratorium projects
under section 144A.073, subdivision 11, shall be used, effective November 1, 2010, to fund an
approved moratorium exception project for a nursing facility in Bloomington licensed for 137
beds as of November 1, 2010, up to a total property rate adjustment of $19.33.

History: 1983 c 199 s 12; 1984 c 640 s 32; 1984 c 641 s 17-20,22; 1984 c 654 art 5 s 58;
1984 c 655 art 1 s 40,41; 1985 c 248 s 40,69; 1985 c 267 s 3; 1Sp1985 c 3 s 25,27-29,31; 1986 c
316 s 2; 1987 c 403 art 2 s 89; art 4 s 6-11; 1988 c 689 art 2 s 154-161; 1988 c 719 art 19 s 9;
1989 c 12 s 1,2; 1989 c 282 art 3 s 66-78; 1990 c 568 art 3 s 65-72; 1991 c 292 art 4 s 54-60; art
6 s 49,50; art 7 s 25; 1992 c 464 art 1 s 29; 1992 c 513 art 7 s 88-103,136; 1992 c 603 s 19; 1993
c 339 s 20; 1Sp1993 c 1 art 5 s 90-99; 1995 c 207 art 6 s 85,86; art 7 s 23-26; 1996 c 305 art 2 s
48; 1996 c 451 art 3 s 3; 1997 c 2 s 10; 1997 c 107 s 8; 1997 c 187 art 3 s 29; 1997 c 203 art 3 s
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7,8; art 4 s 46; 1998 c 407 art 3 s 4-11; art 4 s 42; 1999 c 245 art 3 s 17-20; 2000 c 271 s 1;
2000 c 294 s 2; 2000 c 449 s 3-12; 2000 c 488 art 9 s 18-21; 2000 c 499 s 23; 1Sp2001 c 9 art
5 s 15-21; art 6 s 6; 2002 c 220 art 14 s 9,10; 2002 c 277 s 32; 2002 c 374 art 10 s 5,6; 2002
c 375 art 2 s 35-38; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 2003 c 9 s 2; 2003 c 16 s 2; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 2 s
30-35; 2004 c 194 s 1; 2004 c 288 art 5 s 7,8; 2005 c 10 art 1 s 54; 2005 c 56 s 1; 2005 c 151
art 2 s 17; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 7 s 33,34; 2006 c 282 art 20 s 20; 2007 c 147 art 6 s 41-44; art 7 s
19,20; 2008 c 363 art 15 s 9; 2009 c 101 art 2 s 109; 2009 c 159 s 96; 2010 c 394 s 1; 2011 c 22
art 1 s 6; art 2 s 2; 1Sp2011 c 9 art 7 s 25-27

256B.432 LONG-TERM CARE FACILITIES; OFFICE COSTS.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. For purposes of this section, the following terms have the
meanings given them.

(a) "Management agreement" means an agreement in which one or more of the following
criteria exist:

(1) the central, affiliated, or corporate office has or is authorized to assume day-to-day
operational control of the nursing facility for any six-month period within a 24-month period.
"Day-to-day operational control" means that the central, affiliated, or corporate office has the
authority to require, mandate, direct, or compel the employees of the nursing facility to perform
or refrain from performing certain acts, or to supplant or take the place of the top management of
the nursing facility. "Day-to-day operational control" includes the authority to hire or terminate
employees or to provide an employee of the central, affiliated, or corporate office to serve as
administrator of the nursing facility;

(2) the central, affiliated, or corporate office performs or is authorized to perform two or
more of the following: the execution of contracts; authorization of purchase orders; signature
authority for checks, notes, or other financial instruments; requiring the nursing facility to use
the group or volume purchasing services of the central, affiliated, or corporate office; or the
authority to make annual capital expenditures for the nursing facility exceeding $50,000, or
$500 per licensed bed, whichever is less, without first securing the approval of the nursing
facility board of directors;

(3) the central, affiliated, or corporate office becomes or is required to become the licensee
under applicable state law;

(4) the agreement provides that the compensation for services provided under the agreement
is directly related to any profits made by the nursing facility; or

(5) the nursing facility entering into the agreement is governed by a governing body that
meets fewer than four times a year, that does not publish notice of its meetings, or that does
not keep formal records of its proceedings.

(b) "Consulting agreement" means any agreement the purpose of which is for a central,
affiliated, or corporate office to advise, counsel, recommend, or suggest to the owner or operator
of the nonrelated nursing facility measures and methods for improving the operations of the
nursing facility.

(c) "Nursing facility" means a facility with a medical assistance provider agreement that
is licensed as a nursing home under chapter 144A or as a boarding care home under sections
144.50 to 144.56.

Subd. 2. Effective date. For rate years beginning on or after July 1, 1990, the central,

Copyright © 2011 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



371 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2011 256B.432

affiliated, or corporate office cost allocations in subdivisions 3 to 6 must be used when determining
medical assistance rates under section 256B.431, 256B.434, or 256B.441.

Subd. 3. Allocation; direct identification of costs; management agreement. All costs
that can be directly identified with a specific nursing facility that is a related organization to the
central, affiliated, or corporate office, or that is controlled by the central, affiliated, or corporate
office under a management agreement, must be allocated to that nursing facility.

Subd. 4. Allocation; direct identification of costs to other activities. All costs that can
be directly identified with any other activity or function not described in subdivision 3 must be
allocated to that activity or function.

Subd. 4a. Cost allocation on a functional basis. (a) Costs that have not been directly
identified must be allocated to nursing facilities on a basis designed to equitably allocate the costs
to the nursing facilities or activities receiving the benefits of the costs. This allocation must be
made in a manner reasonably related to the services received by the nursing facilities. Where
practical and the amounts are material, these costs must be allocated on a functional basis. The
functions, or cost centers used to allocate central office costs, and the unit bases used to allocate
the costs, including those central office costs allocated according to subdivision 5, must be used
consistently from one central office accounting period to another.

(b) If the central office wishes to change its allocation bases and believes the change will
result in more appropriate and more accurate allocations, the central office must make a written
request, with its justification, to the commissioner for approval of the change no later than 120
days after the beginning of the central office accounting period to which the change is to apply.
The commissioner's approval of a central office request will be furnished to the central office in
writing. Where the commissioner approves the central office request, the change must be applied
to the accounting period for which the request was made, and to all subsequent central office
accounting periods unless the commissioner approves a subsequent request for change by the
central office. The effective date of the change will be the beginning of the accounting period for
which the request was made.

Subd. 5. Allocation of remaining costs; allocation ratio. (a) After the costs that can be
directly identified according to subdivisions 3 and 4 have been allocated, the remaining central,
affiliated, or corporate office costs must be allocated between the nursing facility operations and
the other activities or facilities unrelated to the nursing facility operations based on the ratio of
total operating costs. However, in the event that these remaining costs are partially attributable to
the start-up of home and community-based services intended to fill a gap identified by the local
agency, the facility may assign these remaining costs to the appropriate cost category of the
facility for a period not to exceed two years.

(b) For purposes of allocating these remaining central, affiliated, or corporate office costs,
the numerator for the allocation ratio shall be determined as follows:

(1) for nursing facilities that are related organizations or are controlled by a central,
affiliated, or corporate office under a management agreement, the numerator of the allocation
ratio shall be equal to the sum of the total operating costs incurred by each related organization or
controlled nursing facility;

(2) for a central, affiliated, or corporate office providing goods or services to related
organizations that are not nursing facilities, the numerator of the allocation ratio shall be equal to
the sum of the total operating costs incurred by the nonnursing facility related organizations;
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(3) for a central, affiliated, or corporate office providing goods or services to unrelated
nursing facilities under a consulting agreement, the numerator of the allocation ratio shall be
equal to the greater of directly identified central, affiliated, or corporate costs or the contracted
amount; or

(4) for business activities that involve the providing of goods or services to unrelated parties
which are not nursing facilities, the numerator of the allocation ratio shall be equal to the greater
of directly identified costs or revenues generated by the activity or function.

(c) The denominator for the allocation ratio is the sum of the numerators in paragraph
(b), clauses (1) to (4).

Subd. 6. Cost allocation between nursing facilities. (a) Those nursing operations that have
nursing facilities both in Minnesota and comparable facilities outside of Minnesota must allocate
the nursing operation's central, affiliated, or corporate office costs identified in subdivision 5 to
Minnesota based on the ratio of total resident days in Minnesota nursing facilities to the total
resident days in all facilities.

(b) The Minnesota nursing operation's central, affiliated, or corporate office costs identified
in paragraph (a) must be allocated to each Minnesota nursing facility on the basis of resident days.

Subd. 6a. Related organization costs. (a) Costs applicable to services, capital assets, and
supplies directly or indirectly furnished to the nursing facility by any related organization are
includable in the allowable cost of the nursing facility at the purchase price paid by the related
organization for capital assets or supplies and at the cost incurred by the related organization for
the provision of services to the nursing facility if these prices or costs do not exceed the price
of comparable services, capital assets, or supplies that could be purchased elsewhere. For this
purpose, the related organization's costs must not include an amount for markup or profit.

(b) If the related organization in the normal course of business sells services, capital assets,
or supplies to nonrelated organizations, the cost to the nursing facility shall be the nonrelated
organization's price provided that sales to nonrelated organizations constitute at least 50 percent
of total annual sales of similar services, capital assets, or supplies.

Subd. 7. Receiverships. This section does not apply to payment rates determined under
sections 245A.12, 245A.13, and 256B.495, except that any additional directly identified costs
associated with the Department of Human Services' or the department of health's managing agent
under a receivership agreement must be allocated to the facility under receivership, and are
nonallowable costs to the managing agent on the facility's cost reports.

Subd. 8. Adequate documentation supporting long-term care facility payrolls.
Beginning July 1, 1998, payroll records supporting compensation costs claimed by long-term
care facilities must be supported by affirmative time and attendance records prepared by each
individual at intervals of not more than one month. The requirements of this subdivision are met
when documentation is provided under either clause (1) or (2) as follows:

(1) the affirmative time and attendance record must identify the individual's name; the
days worked during each pay period; the number of hours worked each day; and the number of
hours taken each day by the individual for vacation, sick, and other leave. The affirmative time
and attendance record must include a signed verification by the individual and the individual's
supervisor, if any, that the entries reported on the record are correct; or
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(2) if the affirmative time and attendance records identifying the individual's name, the days
worked each pay period, the number of hours worked each day, and the number of hours taken
each day by the individual for vacation, sick, and other leave are placed on microfilm, equipment
must be made available for viewing and printing them, or if the records are stored as automated
data, summary data must be available for viewing and printing.

History: 1990 c 568 art 3 s 73; 1992 c 513 art 7 s 104,136; 1Sp1993 c 1 art 5 s 100,101;
1995 c 207 art 7 s 27-31; 1996 c 451 art 5 s 27; 1998 c 274 s 1; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 7 s 35-39

256B.433 ANCILLARY SERVICES.

Subdivision 1. Setting payment; monitoring use of therapy services. The commissioner
shall adopt rules under the Administrative Procedure Act to set the amount and method of
payment for ancillary materials and services provided to recipients residing in nursing facilities.
Payment for materials and services may be made to either the vendor of ancillary services
pursuant to Minnesota Rules, parts 9505.0170 to 9505.0475, or to a nursing facility pursuant to
Minnesota Rules, parts 9505.0170 to 9505.0475. Payment for the same or similar service to a
recipient shall not be made to both the nursing facility and the vendor. The commissioner shall
ensure the avoidance of double payments through audits and adjustments to the nursing facility's
annual cost report as required by section 256B.47, and that charges and arrangements for ancillary
materials and services are cost-effective and as would be incurred by a prudent and cost-conscious
buyer. Therapy services provided to a recipient must be medically necessary and appropriate
to the medical condition of the recipient. If the vendor, nursing facility, or ordering physician
cannot provide adequate medical necessity justification, as determined by the commissioner,
the commissioner may recover or disallow the payment for the services and may require prior
authorization for therapy services as a condition of payment or may impose administrative
sanctions to limit the vendor, nursing facility, or ordering physician's participation in the medical
assistance program. If the provider number of a nursing facility is used to bill services provided
by a vendor of therapy services that is not related to the nursing facility by ownership, control,
affiliation, or employment status, no withholding of payment shall be imposed against the nursing
facility for services not medically necessary except for funds due the unrelated vendor of therapy
services as provided in subdivision 3, paragraph (c). For the purpose of this subdivision, no
monetary recovery may be imposed against the nursing facility for funds paid to the unrelated
vendor of therapy services as provided in subdivision 3, paragraph (c), for services not medically
necessary. For purposes of this section and section 256B.47, therapy includes physical therapy,
occupational therapy, speech therapy, audiology, and mental health services that are covered
services according to Minnesota Rules, parts 9505.0170 to 9505.0475. For purposes of this
subdivision, "ancillary services" includes transportation defined as a covered service in section
256B.0625, subdivision 17.

Subd. 2. Certification that treatment is appropriate. The physical therapist, occupational
therapist, speech therapist, mental health professional, or audiologist who provides or supervises
the provision of therapy services, other than an initial evaluation, to a medical assistance recipient
must certify in writing that the therapy's nature, scope, duration, and intensity are appropriate to
the medical condition of the recipient every 30 days. The therapist's statement of certification must
be maintained in the recipient's medical record together with the specific orders by the physician
and the treatment plan. If the recipient's medical record does not include these documents, the
commissioner may recover or disallow the payment for such services. If the therapist determines
that the therapy's nature, scope, duration, or intensity is not appropriate to the medical condition
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of the recipient, the therapist must provide a statement to that effect in writing to the nursing
facility for inclusion in the recipient's medical record. The commissioner shall utilize a peer
review program that meets the requirements of section 256B.064, subdivision 1a, to make
recommendations regarding the medical necessity of services provided.

Subd. 3. Separate billings for therapy services. Until new procedures are developed under
subdivision 4, payment for therapy services provided to nursing facility residents that are billed
separate from nursing facility's payment rate or according to Minnesota Rules, parts 9505.0170
to 9505.0475, shall be subject to the following requirements:

(a) The practitioner invoice must include, in a format specified by the commissioner, the
provider number of the nursing facility where the medical assistance recipient resides regardless
of the service setting.

(b) Nursing facilities that are related by ownership, control, affiliation, or employment
status to the vendor of therapy services shall report, in a format specified by the commissioner,
the revenues received during the reporting year for therapy services provided to residents of the
nursing facility. For rate years beginning on or after July 1, 1988, the commissioner shall offset
the revenues received during the reporting year for therapy services provided to residents of the
nursing facility to the total payment rate of the nursing facility by dividing the amount of offset by
the nursing facility's actual resident days. Except as specified in paragraphs (d) and (f), the amount
of offset shall be the revenue in excess of 108 percent of the cost removed from the cost report
resulting from the requirement of the commissioner to ensure the avoidance of double payments
as determined by section 256B.47. Therapy revenues that are specific to mental health services
shall be subject to this paragraph for rate years beginning after June 30, 1993. In establishing
a new base period for the purpose of setting operating cost payment rate limits and rates, the
commissioner shall not include the revenues offset in accordance with this section.

(c) For rate years beginning on or after July 1, 1987, nursing facilities shall limit charges
in total to vendors of therapy services for renting space, equipment, or obtaining other services
during the rate year to 108 percent of the annualized cost removed from the reporting year cost
report resulting from the requirement of the commissioner to ensure the avoidance of double
payments as determined by section 256B.47. If the arrangement for therapy services is changed
so that a nursing facility is subject to this paragraph instead of paragraph (b), the cost that is
used to determine rent must be adjusted to exclude the annualized costs for therapy services
that are not provided in the rate year. The maximum charges to the vendors shall be based on
the commissioner's determination of annualized cost and may be subsequently adjusted upon
resolution of appeals. Mental health services shall be subject to this paragraph for rate years
beginning after June 30, 1993.

(d) The commissioner shall require reporting of all revenues relating to the provision of
therapy services and shall establish a therapy cost, as determined by section 256B.47, to revenue
ratio for the reporting year ending in 1986. For subsequent reporting years, the ratio may increase
five percentage points in total until a new base year is established under paragraph (e). Increases
in excess of five percentage points may be allowed if adequate justification is provided to and
accepted by the commissioner. Unless an exception is allowed by the commissioner, the amount
of offset in paragraph (b) is the greater of the amount determined in paragraph (b) or the amount
of offset that is imputed based on one minus the lesser of (1) the actual reporting year ratio or (2)
the base reporting year ratio increased by five percentage points, multiplied by the revenues.
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(e) The commissioner may establish a new reporting year base for determining the cost
to revenue ratio.

(f) If the arrangement for therapy services is changed so that a nursing facility is subject to
the provisions of paragraph (b) instead of paragraph (c), an average cost to revenue ratio based
on the ratios of nursing facilities that are subject to the provisions of paragraph (b) shall be
imputed for paragraph (d).

(g) This section does not allow unrelated nursing facilities to reorganize related organization
therapy services and provide services among themselves to avoid offsetting revenues. Nursing
facilities that are found to be in violation of this provision shall be subject to the penalty
requirements of section 256B.48, subdivision 1, paragraph (f).

Subd. 3a. Exemption from requirement for separate therapy billing. The provisions of
subdivision 3 do not apply to nursing facilities that are reimbursed according to the provisions of
section 256B.431. Nursing facilities that are reimbursed according to the provisions of section
256B.434 and are located in a county participating in the prepaid medical assistance program are
exempt from the maximum therapy rent revenue provisions of subdivision 3, paragraph (c).

Subd. 4. [Repealed, 1993 c 337 s 20]

History: 1983 c 199 s 18; 1985 c 248 s 69; 1987 c 403 art 2 s 90; 1988 c 629 s 54,55; 1988
c 689 art 2 s 162; 1992 c 513 art 7 s 105-107,136; 1993 c 337 s 17; 1997 c 203 art 3 s 9; 1998 c
407 art 3 s 12; 1Sp2001 c 9 art 5 s 22; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 2009 c 159 s 97

256B.434 ALTERNATIVE PAYMENT DEMONSTRATION PROJECT.

Subdivision 1. Alternative payment demonstration project established. The
commissioner of human services shall establish a contractual alternative payment demonstration
project for paying for nursing facility services under the medical assistance program. A nursing
facility may apply to be paid under the contractual alternative payment demonstration project
instead of the cost-based payment system established under section 256B.431. A nursing facility
electing to use the alternative payment demonstration project must enter into a contract with the
commissioner. Payment rates and procedures for facilities electing to use the alternative payment
demonstration project are determined and governed by this section and by the terms of the
contract. The commissioner may negotiate different contract terms for different nursing facilities.

Subd. 2. Requests for proposals. (a) At least twice annually the commissioner shall
publish in the State Register a request for proposals to provide nursing facility services according
to this section. The commissioner must respond to all proposals in a timely manner.

(b) The commissioner may reject any proposal if, in the judgment of the commissioner,
a contract with a particular facility is not in the best interests of the residents of the facility or
the state of Minnesota. The commissioner may accept up to the number of proposals that can
be adequately supported with available state resources, as determined by the commissioner. The
commissioner may accept proposals from a single nursing facility or from a group of facilities
through a managing entity. The commissioner shall seek to ensure that nursing facilities under
contract are located in all geographic areas of the state.

(c) In issuing the request for proposals, the commissioner may develop reasonable
requirements which, in the judgment of the commissioner, are necessary to protect residents or
ensure that the contractual alternative payment demonstration project furthers the interest of
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the state of Minnesota. The request for proposals may include, but need not be limited to, the
following:

(1) a requirement that a nursing facility make reasonable efforts to maximize Medicare
payments on behalf of eligible residents;

(2) requirements designed to prevent inappropriate or illegal discrimination against
residents enrolled in the medical assistance program as compared to private paying residents;

(3) requirements designed to ensure that admissions to a nursing facility are appropriate
and that reasonable efforts are made to place residents in home and community-based settings
when appropriate;

(4) a requirement to agree to participate in a project to develop data collection systems and
outcome-based standards. Among other requirements specified by the commissioner, each facility
entering into a contract may be required to pay an annual fee. Revenue generated from the fees
is appropriated to the commissioner and must be used to contract with a qualified consultant or
contractor to develop data collection systems and outcome-based contracting standards;

(5) a requirement that contractors agree to maintain Medicare cost reports and to submit
them to the commissioner upon request or at times specified by the commissioner;

(6) a requirement for demonstrated willingness and ability to develop and maintain data
collection and retrieval systems to be used in measuring outcomes; and

(7) a requirement to provide all information and assurances required by the terms and
conditions of the federal waiver or federal approval.

(d) In addition to the information and assurances contained in the submitted proposals, the
commissioner may consider the following in determining whether to accept or deny a proposal:

(1) the facility's history of compliance with federal and state laws and rules, except that a
facility deemed to be in substantial compliance with federal and state laws and rules is eligible to
respond to a request for proposal. A facility's compliance history shall not be the sole determining
factor in situations where the facility has been sold and the new owners have submitted a proposal;

(2) whether the facility has a record of excessive licensure fines or sanctions or fraudulent
cost reports;

(3) financial history and solvency; and
(4) other factors identified by the commissioner that the commissioner deems relevant to a

determination that a contract with a particular facility is not in the best interests of the residents of
the facility or the state of Minnesota.

(e) If the commissioner rejects the proposal of a nursing facility, the commissioner shall
provide written notice to the facility of the reason for the rejection, including the factors and
evidence upon which the rejection was based.

Subd. 3. Duration and termination of contracts. (a) Subject to available resources, the
commissioner may begin to execute contracts with nursing facilities November 1, 1995.

(b) All contracts entered into under this section are for a term not to exceed four years.
Either party may terminate a contract at any time without cause by providing 90 calendar days
advance written notice to the other party. The decision to terminate a contract is not appealable.
Notwithstanding section 16C.05, subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause (5), the contract shall be
renegotiated for additional terms of up to four years, unless either party provides written notice of
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termination. The provisions of the contract shall be renegotiated at a minimum of every four years
by the parties prior to the expiration date of the contract. The parties may voluntarily renegotiate
the terms of the contract at any time by mutual agreement.

(c) If a nursing facility fails to comply with the terms of a contract, the commissioner shall
provide reasonable notice regarding the breach of contract and a reasonable opportunity for the
facility to come into compliance. If the facility fails to come into compliance or to remain in
compliance, the commissioner may terminate the contract. If a contract is terminated, the contract
payment remains in effect for the remainder of the rate year in which the contract was terminated,
but in all other respects the provisions of this section do not apply to that facility effective the
date the contract is terminated. The contract shall contain a provision governing the transition
back to the cost-based reimbursement system established under section 256B.431 and Minnesota
Rules, parts 9549.0010 to 9549.0080. A contract entered into under this section may be amended
by mutual agreement of the parties.

Subd. 4. Alternate rates for nursing facilities. (a) For nursing facilities which have their
payment rates determined under this section rather than section 256B.431, the commissioner shall
establish a rate under this subdivision. The nursing facility must enter into a written contract
with the commissioner.

(b) A nursing facility's case mix payment rate for the first rate year of a facility's contract
under this section is the payment rate the facility would have received under section 256B.431.

(c) A nursing facility's case mix payment rates for the second and subsequent years of a
facility's contract under this section are the previous rate year's contract payment rates plus an
inflation adjustment and, for facilities reimbursed under this section or section 256B.431, an
adjustment to include the cost of any increase in Health Department licensing fees for the facility
taking effect on or after July 1, 2001. The index for the inflation adjustment must be based on the
change in the Consumer Price Index-All Items (United States City average) (CPI-U) forecasted
by the commissioner of management and budget's national economic consultant, as forecasted in
the fourth quarter of the calendar year preceding the rate year. The inflation adjustment must be
based on the 12-month period from the midpoint of the previous rate year to the midpoint of the
rate year for which the rate is being determined. For the rate years beginning on July 1, 1999,
July 1, 2000, July 1, 2001, July 1, 2002, July 1, 2003, July 1, 2004, July 1, 2005, July 1, 2006,
July 1, 2007, July 1, 2008, October 1, 2009, and October 1, 2010, this paragraph shall apply
only to the property-related payment rate. For the rate years beginning on October 1, 2011, and
October 1, 2012, the rate adjustment under this paragraph shall be suspended. Beginning in 2005,
adjustment to the property payment rate under this section and section 256B.431 shall be effective
on October 1. In determining the amount of the property-related payment rate adjustment under
this paragraph, the commissioner shall determine the proportion of the facility's rates that are
property-related based on the facility's most recent cost report.

(d) The commissioner shall develop additional incentive-based payments of up to five
percent above a facility's operating payment rate for achieving outcomes specified in a contract.
The commissioner may solicit contract amendments and implement those which, on a competitive
basis, best meet the state's policy objectives. The commissioner shall limit the amount of any
incentive payment and the number of contract amendments under this paragraph to operate
the incentive payments within funds appropriated for this purpose. The contract amendments
may specify various levels of payment for various levels of performance. Incentive payments
to facilities under this paragraph may be in the form of time-limited rate adjustments or
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onetime supplemental payments. In establishing the specified outcomes and related criteria, the
commissioner shall consider the following state policy objectives:

(1) successful diversion or discharge of residents to the residents' prior home or other
community-based alternatives;

(2) adoption of new technology to improve quality or efficiency;
(3) improved quality as measured in the Nursing Home Report Card;
(4) reduced acute care costs; and
(5) any additional outcomes proposed by a nursing facility that the commissioner finds

desirable.
(e) Notwithstanding the threshold in section 256B.431, subdivision 16, facilities that take

action to come into compliance with existing or pending requirements of the life safety code
provisions or federal regulations governing sprinkler systems must receive reimbursement for the
costs associated with compliance if all of the following conditions are met:

(1) the expenses associated with compliance occurred on or after January 1, 2005, and
before December 31, 2008;

(2) the costs were not otherwise reimbursed under subdivision 4f or section 144A.071 or
144A.073; and

(3) the total allowable costs reported under this paragraph are less than the minimum
threshold established under section 256B.431, subdivision 15, paragraph (e), and subdivision 16.
The commissioner shall use money appropriated for this purpose to provide to qualifying nursing
facilities a rate adjustment beginning October 1, 2007, and ending September 30, 2008. Nursing
facilities that have spent money or anticipate the need to spend money to satisfy the most recent
life safety code requirements by (1) installing a sprinkler system or (2) replacing all or portions
of an existing sprinkler system may submit to the commissioner by June 30, 2007, on a form
provided by the commissioner the actual costs of a completed project or the estimated costs, based
on a project bid, of a planned project. The commissioner shall calculate a rate adjustment equal to
the allowable costs of the project divided by the resident days reported for the report year ending
September 30, 2006. If the costs from all projects exceed the appropriation for this purpose, the
commissioner shall allocate the money appropriated on a pro rata basis to the qualifying facilities
by reducing the rate adjustment determined for each facility by an equal percentage. Facilities
that used estimated costs when requesting the rate adjustment shall report to the commissioner
by January 31, 2009, on the use of this money on a form provided by the commissioner. If the
nursing facility fails to provide the report, the commissioner shall recoup the money paid to the
facility for this purpose. If the facility reports expenditures allowable under this subdivision that
are less than the amount received in the facility's annualized rate adjustment, the commissioner
shall recoup the difference.

Subd. 4a. Facility rate increases. For the rate year beginning July 1, 1999, the nursing
facilities described in clauses (1) to (5) shall receive the rate increases indicated. The increases
provided under this subdivision shall be included in the facility's total payment rates for the
purpose of determining future rates under this section or any other section:

(1) a nursing facility in Becker County licensed for 102 nursing home beds on September
30, 1998, shall receive an increase of $1.30 in its case mix class A payment rate; an increase of
$1.33 in its case mix class B payment rate; an increase of $1.36 in its case mix class C payment
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rate; an increase of $1.39 in its case mix class D payment rate; an increase of $1.42 in its case mix
class E payment rate; an increase of $1.42 in its case mix class F payment rate; an increase of
$1.45 in its case mix class G payment rate; an increase of $1.49 in its case mix class H payment
rate; an increase of $1.51 in its case mix class I payment rate; an increase of $1.54 in its case mix
class J payment rate; and an increase of $1.59 in its case mix class K payment rate;

(2) a nursing facility in Chisago County licensed for 101 nursing home beds on September
30, 1998, shall receive an increase of $3.67 in each case mix payment rate;

(3) a nursing facility in Canby, licensed for 75 beds shall have its property-related per diem
rate increased by $1.21. This increase shall be recognized in the facility's contract payment
rate under this section;

(4) a nursing facility in Golden Valley with all its beds licensed to provide residential
rehabilitative services to young adults under Minnesota Rules, parts 9570.2000 to 9570.3400,
shall have the payment rate computed according to this section increased by $14.83; and

(5) a county-owned 130-bed nursing facility in Park Rapids shall have its per diem
contract payment rate increased by $1.02 for costs related to compliance with comparable
worth requirements.

Subd. 4b. Facility rate increases effective July 1, 2000. For the rate year beginning
July 1, 2000, the nursing facilities described in clauses (1) to (6) shall receive the rate increases
indicated. The increases under this subdivision shall be added following the determination under
section 256B.431, subdivision 28, of the payment rate for the rate year beginning July 1, 2000,
and shall be included in the facility's total payment rates for the purposes of determining future
rates under this section or any other section:

(1) a nursing facility in Hennepin County licensed for 290 beds shall receive an operating
cost per diem increase of 5.9 percent, provided that the facility delicenses, decertifies, or places on
layaway status, if that status is otherwise permitted by law, 70 beds;

(2) a nursing facility in Goodhue County licensed for 84 beds shall receive an increase of
$1.54 in each case mix payment rate;

(3) a nursing facility located in Rochester and licensed for 103 beds on January 1, 2000,
shall receive an increase in its case mix resident class A payment of $3.78, and an increase in the
payment rate for all other case mix classes of that amount multiplied by the class weight for that
case mix class established in Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0058, subpart 3;

(4) a nursing facility in Wright County licensed for 154 beds shall receive an increase of
$2.03 in each case mix payment rate to be used for employee wage and benefit enhancements;

(5) a facility in Todd County licensed for 78 beds, shall have its operating cost per diem
increased by the following amounts:

(i) case mix class A, $1.16;
(ii) case mix class B, $1.50;
(iii) case mix class C, $1.89;
(iv) case mix class D, $2.26;
(v) case mix class E, $2.63;
(vi) case mix class F, $2.65;
(vii) case mix class G, $2.96;
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(viii) case mix class H, $3.55;

(ix) case mix class I, $3.76;

(x) case mix class J, $4.08; and

(xi) case mix class K, $4.76; and

(6) a nursing facility in Pine City that decertified 22 beds in calendar year 1999 shall have
its property-related per diem payment rate increased by $1.59.

Subd. 4c. Facility rate increases effective January 1, 2002. For the rate period beginning
January 1, 2002, and for the rate year beginning July 1, 2002, a nursing facility in Morrison
County licensed for 83 beds as of March 1, 2001, shall receive an increase of $2.54 in each case
mix payment rate to offset property tax payments due as a result of the facility's conversion from
nonprofit to for-profit status. The increase under this subdivision shall be added following the
determination under this chapter of the payment rate for the rate year beginning July 1, 2001,
and shall be included in the facility's total payment rates for the purposes of determining future
rates under this section or any other section.

Subd. 4d. Facility rate increases effective July 1, 2001. For the rate year beginning July 1,
2001, a nursing facility in Hennepin County licensed for 302 beds shall receive an increase of 29
cents in each case mix payment rate to correct an error in the cost-reporting system that occurred
prior to the date that the facility entered the alternative payment demonstration project. The
increase under this subdivision shall be added following the determination under this chapter of
the payment rate for the rate year beginning July 1, 2001, and shall be included in the facility's total
payment rates for the purposes of determining future rates under this section or any other section.

Subd. 4e. Rate increase effective July 1, 2001. A nursing facility in Anoka County
licensed for 98 beds as of July 1, 2000, shall receive a total increase of $10 in each case mix rate
for the rate year beginning July 1, 2001, as a result of increases provided under this subdivision
and section 256B.431, subdivision 33. The increases under this subdivision shall be added prior to
the determination under section 256B.431, subdivision 33, of the payment rate for the rate year
beginning July 1, 2001, and shall be included in the facility's total payment rate for purposes of
determining future rates under this section or any other section through June 30, 2004.

Subd. 4f. Construction project rate adjustments effective October 1, 2006. (a) Effective
October 1, 2006, facilities reimbursed under this section may receive a property rate adjustment
for construction projects exceeding the threshold in section 256B.431, subdivision 16, and below
the threshold in section 144A.071, subdivision 2, clause (a). For these projects, capital assets
purchased shall be counted as construction project costs for a rate adjustment request made
by a facility if they are: (1) purchased within 24 months of the completion of the construction
project; (2) purchased after the completion date of any prior construction project; and (3) are
not purchased prior to July 14, 2005. Except as otherwise provided in this subdivision, the
definitions, rate calculation methods, and principles in sections 144A.071 and 256B.431 and
Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0010 to 9549.0080, shall be used to calculate rate adjustments
for allowable construction projects under this subdivision and section 144A.073. Facilities
completing construction projects between October 1, 2005, and October 1, 2006, are eligible to
have a property rate adjustment effective October 1, 2006. Facilities completing projects after
October 1, 2006, are eligible for a property rate adjustment effective on the first day of the month
following the completion date.
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(b) Notwithstanding subdivision 18, as of July 14, 2005, facilities with rates set under
section 256B.431 and Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0010 to 9549.0080, that commenced a
construction project on or after October 1, 2004, and do not have a contract under subdivision 3 by
September 30, 2006, are eligible to request a rate adjustment under section 256B.431, subdivision
10, through September 30, 2006. If the request results in the commissioner determining a rate
adjustment is allowable, the rate adjustment is effective on the first of the month following project
completion. These facilities shall be allowed to accumulate construction project costs for the
period October 1, 2004, to September 30, 2006.

(c) Facilities shall be allowed construction project rate adjustments no sooner than
12 months after completing a previous construction project. Facilities must request the rate
adjustment according to section 256B.431, subdivision 10.

(d) Capacity days shall be computed according to Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060, subpart
11. For rate calculations under this section, the number of licensed beds in the nursing facility
shall be the number existing after the construction project is completed and the number of days in
the nursing facility's reporting period shall be 365.

(e) The value of assets to be recognized for a total replacement project as defined in section
256B.431, subdivision 17d, shall be computed as described in clause (1). The value of assets to be
recognized for all other projects shall be computed as described in clause (2).

(1) Replacement-cost-new limits under section 256B.431, subdivision 17e, and the number
of beds allowed under subdivision 3a, paragraph (c), shall be used to compute the maximum
amount of assets allowable in a facility's property rate calculation. If a facility's current request
for a rate adjustment results from the completion of a construction project that was previously
approved under section 144A.073, the assets to be used in the rate calculation cannot exceed
the lesser of the amount determined under sections 144A.071, subdivision 2, and 144A.073,
subdivision 3b, or the actual allowable costs of the construction project. A current request that
is not the result of a project under section 144A.073 cannot exceed the limit under section
144A.071, subdivision 2, paragraph (a). Applicable credits must be deducted from the cost of the
construction project.

(2)(i) Replacement-cost-new limits under section 256B.431, subdivision 17e, and the
number of beds allowed under section 256B.431, subdivision 3a, paragraph (c), shall be used to
compute the maximum amount of assets allowable in a facility's property rate calculation.

(ii) The value of a facility's assets to be compared to the amount in item (i) begins with
the total appraised value from the last rate notice a facility received when its rates were set
under section 256B.431 and Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0010 to 9549.0080. This value shall
be indexed by the factor in section 256B.431, subdivision 3f, paragraph (a), for each rate year
the facility received an inflation factor on its property-related rate when its rates were set under
this section. The value of assets listed as previous capital additions, capital additions, and special
projects on the facility's base year rate notice and the value of assets related to a construction
project for which the facility received a rate adjustment when its rates were determined under this
section shall be added to the indexed appraised value.

(iii) The maximum amount of assets to be recognized in computing a facility's rate
adjustment after a project is completed is the lesser of the aggregate replacement-cost-new
limit computed in (i) minus the assets recognized in (ii) or the actual allowable costs of the
construction project.
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(iv) If a facility's current request for a rate adjustment results from the completion of
a construction project that was previously approved under section 144A.073, the assets to be
added to the rate calculation cannot exceed the lesser of the amount determined under sections
144A.071, subdivision 2, and 144A.073, subdivision 3b, or the actual allowable costs of the
construction project. A current request that is not the result of a project under section 144A.073
cannot exceed the limit stated in section 144A.071, subdivision 2, paragraph (a). Assets disposed
of as a result of a construction project and applicable credits must be deducted from the cost
of the construction project.

(f) For construction projects approved under section 144A.073, allowable debt may never
exceed the lesser of the cost of the assets purchased, the threshold limit in section 144A.071,
subdivision 2, or the replacement-cost-new limit less previously existing capital debt.

(g) For construction projects that were not approved under section 144A.073, allowable
debt is limited to the lesser of the threshold in section 144A.071, subdivision 2, for such
construction projects or the applicable limit in paragraph (e), clause (1) or (2), less previously
existing capital debt. Amounts of debt taken out that exceed the costs of a construction project
shall not be allowed regardless of the use of the funds.

For all construction projects being recognized, interest expense and average debt shall
be computed based on the first 12 months following project completion. "Previously existing
capital debt" means capital debt recognized on the last rate determined under section 256B.431
and Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0010 to 9549.0080, and the amount of debt recognized for
a construction project for which the facility received a rate adjustment when its rates were
determined under this section.

For a total replacement project as defined in section 256B.431, subdivision 17d, the value
of previously existing capital debt shall be zero.

(h) In addition to the interest expense allowed from the application of paragraph (f), the
amounts allowed under section 256B.431, subdivision 17a, paragraph (a), clauses (2) and (3),
will be added to interest expense.

(i) The equity portion of the construction project shall be computed as the allowable assets
in paragraph (e), less the average debt in paragraph (f). The equity portion must be multiplied by
5.66 percent and the allowable interest expense in paragraph (f) must be added. This sum must be
divided by 95 percent of capacity days to compute the construction project rate adjustment.

(j) For projects that are not a total replacement of a nursing facility, the amount in paragraph
(i) is adjusted for nonreimbursable areas and then added to the current property payment rate
of the facility.

(k) For projects that are a total replacement of a nursing facility, the amount in paragraph
(i) becomes the new property payment rate after being adjusted for nonreimbursable areas. Any
amounts existing in a facility's rate before the effective date of the construction project for equity
incentives under section 256B.431, subdivision 16; capital repairs and replacements under section
256B.431, subdivision 15; or refinancing incentives under section 256B.431, subdivision 19, shall
be removed from the facility's rates.

(l) No additional equipment allowance is allowed under Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060,
subpart 10, as the result of construction projects under this section. Allowable equipment shall
be included in the construction project costs.
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(m) Capital assets purchased after the completion date of a construction project shall be
counted as construction project costs for any future rate adjustment request made by a facility
under section 144A.071, subdivision 2, clause (a), if they are purchased within 24 months of the
completion of the future construction project.

(n) In subsequent rate years, the property payment rate for a facility that results from the
application of this subdivision shall be the amount inflated in subdivision 4.

(o) Construction projects are eligible for an equity incentive under section 256B.431,
subdivision 16. When computing the equity incentive for a construction project under this
subdivision, only the allowable costs and allowable debt related to the construction project shall
be used. The equity incentive shall not be a part of the property payment rate and not inflated
under subdivision 4. Effective October 1, 2006, all equity incentives for nursing facilities
reimbursed under this section shall be allowed for a duration determined under section 256B.431,
subdivision 16, paragraph (c).

Subd. 4g. Facility rate increase effective October 1, 2007; Otter Tail County. For the
rate year beginning October 1, 2007, a nursing facility in Otter Tail County that was licensed for
57 beds as of December 31, 2004, shall receive a rate increase to increase its operating rate to
the 60th percentile of the operating rates of all other Otter Tail County nursing facilities. The
commissioner shall determine the 60th percentile of the case mix portion of the operating rates
with a RUG's weight of 1.0 of all other Otter Tail County nursing facilities and then apply the
case mix weights. The 60th percentile of the other operating per diem for all other Otter Tail
County nursing facilities will be added to the above-determined case mix rates to compute the
operating payment rates. The nonoperating components of the facility's rates will not be adjusted
under this subdivision.

Subd. 4h. Nursing facility rate increase effective October 1, 2007; Martin County. For
the rate year beginning October 1, 2007, the commissioner shall provide to a nursing facility in
Martin County licensed for 93 beds as of January 1, 2006, an increase in the total operating
payment rate of $5 per resident day for all case mix classes.

Subd. 5. [Repealed, 1Sp2001 c 9 art 5 s 41]

Subd. 6. Contract payment rates; appeals. If an appeal is pending concerning the
cost-based payment rates that are the basis for the calculation of the payment rate under the
alternative payment demonstration project, the commissioner and the nursing facility may agree
on an interim contract rate to be used until the appeal is resolved. When the appeal is resolved, the
contract rate must be adjusted retroactively in accordance with the appeal decision.

Subd. 7. Case mix assessments. The commissioner may allow a contract facility to develop
and implement a case mix assessment using the federal minimum data set resident assessment.

Subd. 8. Optional higher payments for first 100 days. The commissioner may include
in the contract with a nursing facility under this section a higher rate for the first 100 days after
admission than for subsequent days. The rate for the subsequent days must be reduced so that
the estimated total cost to the medical assistance program will not exceed the estimated cost
without the differential payment rates.

Subd. 9. Managed care contracts for other services. Beginning July 1, 1995, the
commissioner may contract with nursing facilities that have entered into alternative payment
demonstration project contracts under this section to provide medical assistance services other
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than nursing facility care to residents of the facility under a prepaid, managed care payment
system. Managed care contracts for other services may be entered into at any time during the
duration of a nursing facility's alternative payment demonstration project contract, and the terms
of the managed care contracts need not coincide with the terms of the alternative payment
demonstration project contract.

Subd. 10. Exemptions. (a) To the extent permitted by federal law, (1) a facility that
has entered into a contract under this section is not required to file a cost report, as defined
in Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0020, subpart 13, for any year after the base year that is the
basis for the calculation of the contract payment rate for the first rate year of the alternative
payment demonstration project contract; and (2) a facility under contract is not subject to audits
of historical costs or revenues, or paybacks or retroactive adjustments based on these costs or
revenues, except audits, paybacks, or adjustments relating to the cost report that is the basis for
calculation of the first rate year under the contract.

(b) A facility that is under contract with the commissioner under this section is not subject
to the moratorium on licensure or certification of new nursing home beds in section 144A.071,
unless the project results in a net increase in bed capacity or involves relocation of beds from
one site to another. Contract payment rates must not be adjusted to reflect any additional costs
that a nursing facility incurs as a result of a construction project undertaken under this paragraph.
In addition, as a condition of entering into a contract under this section, a nursing facility
must agree that any future medical assistance payments for nursing facility services will not
reflect any additional costs attributable to the sale of a nursing facility under this section and to
construction undertaken under this paragraph that otherwise would not be authorized under the
moratorium in section 144A.073. Nothing in this section prevents a nursing facility participating
in the alternative payment demonstration project under this section from seeking approval of an
exception to the moratorium through the process established in section 144A.073, and if approved
the facility's rates shall be adjusted to reflect the cost of the project. Nothing in this section
prevents a nursing facility participating in the alternative payment demonstration project from
seeking legislative approval of an exception to the moratorium under section 144A.071, and, if
enacted, the facility's rates shall be adjusted to reflect the cost of the project.

(c) Notwithstanding section 256B.48, subdivision 6, paragraphs (c), (d), and (e), and
pursuant to any terms and conditions contained in the facility's contract, a nursing facility that is
under contract with the commissioner under this section is in compliance with section 256B.48,
subdivision 6, paragraph (b), if the facility is Medicare certified.

(d) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), if by April 1, 1996, the health care financing
administration has not approved a required waiver, or the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid
Services otherwise requires cost reports to be filed prior to the waiver's approval, the commissioner
shall require a cost report for the rate year.

(e) A facility that is under contract with the commissioner under this section shall be
allowed to change therapy arrangements from an unrelated vendor to a related vendor during the
term of the contract. The commissioner may develop reasonable requirements designed to prevent
an increase in therapy utilization for residents enrolled in the medical assistance program.

(f) Nursing facilities participating in the alternative payment system demonstration
project must either participate in the alternative payment system quality improvement program
established by the commissioner or submit information on their own quality improvement process
to the commissioner for approval. Nursing facilities that have had their own quality improvement
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process approved by the commissioner must report results for at least one key area of quality
improvement annually to the commissioner.

Subd. 11. Consumer protection. As a condition of entering into a contract under this
section, a nursing facility must agree to establish resident grievance procedures that are similar to
those required under section 256.045, subdivision 3. The commissioner may also require nursing
facilities to establish expedited grievance procedures to resolve complaints made by short-stay
residents. The facility must notify its resident council of its intent to enter into a contract and must
consult with the council regarding any changes in operation expected as a result of the contract.

Subd. 12. Contracts are voluntary. Participation of nursing facilities in the alternative
payment demonstration project is voluntary. The terms and procedures governing the alternative
payment demonstration project are determined under this section and through negotiations
between the commissioner and nursing facilities that have submitted a letter of intent to participate
in the alternative demonstration project. For purposes of developing requests for proposals and
contract requirements, and negotiating the terms, conditions, and requirements of contracts the
commissioner is exempt from the rulemaking requirements in chapter 14 until December 31, 2000.

Subd. 13. [Repealed, 2001 c 161 s 58]

Subd. 14. Federal requirements. The commissioner shall implement the contractual
alternative payment demonstration project subject to any required federal waivers or approval
and in a manner that is consistent with federal requirements. If a provision of this section is
inconsistent with a federal requirement the federal requirement supersedes the inconsistent
provision. The commissioner shall seek federal approval and request waivers as necessary
to implement this section.

Subd. 15. External review panel. The commissioner may establish an external review
panel consisting of persons appointed by the commissioner for their expertise on issues relating to
nursing facility services, quality, payment systems, and other matters, to advise the commissioner
on the development and implementation of the contractual alternative payment demonstration
project and to assist the commissioner in assessing the quality of care provided and evaluating
a facility's compliance with performance standards specified in a contract. The external review
panel must include, among other members, representatives of nursing facilities.

Subd. 16. Alternative contracts. The commissioner may also contract with nursing
facilities in other ways through requests for proposals, including contracts on a risk or nonrisk
basis, with nursing facilities or consortia of nursing facilities, to provide comprehensive long-term
care coverage on a premium or capitated basis.

Subd. 17. [Repealed, 1999 c 245 art 3 s 51]

Subd. 18. Facilities without APS contracts as of October 1, 2006. Effective October
1, 2006, payment rates for property shall no longer be determined under section 256B.431. A
facility that does not have a contract with the commissioner under this section shall not be
eligible for a rate increase.

Subd. 19. Nursing facility rate increases beginning October 1, 2007. (a) For the rate
year beginning October 1, 2007, the commissioner shall make available to each nursing facility
reimbursed under this section operating payment rate adjustments equal to 1.87 percent of the
operating payment rates in effect on September 30, 2007.
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(b) Seventy-five percent of the money resulting from the rate adjustment under paragraph
(a) must be used for increases in compensation-related costs for employees directly employed by
the nursing facility on or after the effective date of the rate adjustment, except:

(1) the administrator;
(2) persons employed in the central office of a corporation that has an ownership interest in

the nursing facility or exercises control over the nursing facility; and
(3) persons paid by the nursing facility under a management contract.
(c) Two-thirds of the money available under paragraph (b) must be used for wage increases

for all employees directly employed by the nursing facility on or after the effective date of the
rate adjustment, except those listed in paragraph (b), clauses (1) to (3). The wage adjustment that
employees receive under this paragraph must be paid as an equal hourly percentage wage increase
for all eligible employees. All wage increases under this paragraph must be effective on the same
date. Only costs associated with the portion of the equal hourly percentage wage increase that
goes to all employees shall qualify under this paragraph. Costs associated with wage increases in
excess of the amount of the equal hourly percentage wage increase provided to all employees
shall be allowed only for meeting the requirements in paragraph (b). This paragraph shall not
apply to employees covered by a collective bargaining agreement.

(d) The commissioner shall allow as compensation-related costs all costs for:
(1) wages and salaries;
(2) FICA taxes, Medicare taxes, state and federal unemployment taxes, and workers'

compensation;
(3) the employer's share of health and dental insurance, life insurance, disability insurance,

long-term care insurance, uniform allowance, and pensions; and
(4) other benefits provided, subject to the approval of the commissioner.
(e) The portion of the rate adjustment under paragraph (a) that is not subject to the

requirements in paragraphs (b) and (c) shall be provided to nursing facilities effective October 1,
2007.

(f) Nursing facilities may apply for the portion of the rate adjustment under paragraph (a)
that is subject to the requirements in paragraphs (b) and (c). The application must be submitted to
the commissioner within six months of the effective date of the rate adjustment, and the nursing
facility must provide additional information required by the commissioner within nine months
of the effective date of the rate adjustment. The commissioner must respond to all applications
within three weeks of receipt. The commissioner may waive the deadlines in this paragraph under
extraordinary circumstances, to be determined at the sole discretion of the commissioner. The
application must contain:

(1) an estimate of the amounts of money that must be used as specified in paragraphs
(b) and (c);

(2) a detailed distribution plan specifying the allowable compensation-related and wage
increases the nursing facility will implement to use the funds available in clause (1);

(3) a description of how the nursing facility will notify eligible employees of the contents of
the approved application, which must provide for giving each eligible employee a copy of the
approved application, excluding the information required in clause (1), or posting a copy of the
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approved application, excluding the information required in clause (1), for a period of at least six
weeks in an area of the nursing facility to which all eligible employees have access; and

(4) instructions for employees who believe they have not received the compensation-related
or wage increases specified in clause (2), as approved by the commissioner, and which must
include a mailing address, e-mail address, and the telephone number that may be used by the
employee to contact the commissioner or the commissioner's representative.

(g) The commissioner shall ensure that cost increases in distribution plans under paragraph
(f), clause (2), that may be included in approved applications, comply with the following
requirements:

(1) costs to be incurred during the applicable rate year resulting from wage and salary
increases effective after October 1, 2006, and prior to the first day of the nursing facility's payroll
period that includes October 1, 2007, shall be allowed if they were not used in the prior year's
application;

(2) a portion of the costs resulting from tenure-related wage or salary increases may be
considered to be allowable wage increases, according to formulas that the commissioner shall
provide, where employee retention is above the average statewide rate of retention of direct
care employees;

(3) the annualized amount of increases in costs for the employer's share of health and dental
insurance, life insurance, disability insurance, and workers' compensation shall be allowable
compensation-related increases if they are effective on or after April 1, 2007, and prior to April 1,
2008; and

(4) for nursing facilities in which employees are represented by an exclusive bargaining
representative, the commissioner shall approve the application only upon receipt of a letter of
acceptance of the distribution plan, in regard to members of the bargaining unit, signed by the
exclusive bargaining agent and dated after May 25, 2007. Upon receipt of the letter of acceptance,
the commissioner shall deem all requirements of this section as having been met in regard to
the members of the bargaining unit.

(h) The commissioner shall review applications received under paragraph (f) and shall
provide the portion of the rate adjustment under paragraphs (b) and (c) if the requirements of this
subdivision have been met. The rate adjustment shall be effective October 1. Notwithstanding
paragraph (a), if the approved application distributes less money than is available, the amount of
the rate adjustment shall be reduced so that the amount of money made available is equal to the
amount to be distributed.

Subd. 20. Payment of Public Employees Retirement Association costs. Nursing
facilities that participate in the Public Employees Retirement Association (PERA) shall have the
component of their payment rate associated with the costs of PERA determined for each rate
year. Effective for rate years beginning on and after October 1, 2007, the commissioner shall
determine the portion of the payment rate in effect on September 30 each year and shall subtract
that amount from the payment rate to be effective on the following October 1. The portion that
shall be deemed to be included in the September 30, 2007, rate that is associated with PERA costs
shall be the allowed costs in the facility's base for determining rates under this section, divided by
the resident days reported for that year. The commissioner shall add to the payment rate to be
effective on October 1 each year an amount equal to the reported costs associated with PERA, for
the year ending on the most recent September 30 for which data is available, divided by total
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resident days for that year, as reported by the facility and audited under section 256B.441.

Subd. 21. Payment of post-PERA pension benefit costs. Nursing facilities that convert or
converted after September 30, 2006, from public to private ownership shall have a portion of their
post-PERA pension costs treated as a component of the historic operating rate. Effective for the
rate years beginning on or after October 1, 2009, and prior to October 1, 2016, the commissioner
shall determine the pension costs to be included in the facility's base for determining rates
under this section by using the following formula: post-privatization pension benefit costs as a
percentage of salary shall be determined from either the cost report for the first full reporting year
after privatization or the most recent report year available, whichever is later. This percentage
shall be applied to the salary costs of the alternative payment system base rate year to determine
the allowable amount of pension costs. The adjustments provided for in sections 256B.431,
256B.434, and 256B.441, and any other law enacted after the base rate year and prior to the year
for which rates are being determined shall be applied to the allowable amount. The adjusted
allowable amount shall be added to the operating rate effective the first rate year PERA ceases to
remain as a pass-through component of the rate.

History: 1995 c 207 art 7 s 32; 1996 c 451 art 5 s 28; 1997 c 187 art 4 s 8; 1997 c 203 art
3 s 10-12; art 9 s 11,12; 1998 c 407 art 3 s 13; 1999 c 245 art 3 s 21-24; 2000 c 449 s 13,14;
2000 c 488 art 9 s 22; 1Sp2001 c 9 art 5 s 23-26; 2002 c 277 s 32; 2002 c 370 art 1 s 113; 2003 c
55 s 4; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 2 s 36,37,57; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 7 s 40-42; 2006 c 282 art 20 s 21-24; 2007
c 147 art 7 s 21-23; 2009 c 79 art 8 s 58,59; 2009 c 101 art 2 s 109; 1Sp2011 c 9 art 7 s 28

256B.435 JULY 1, 2001, NURSING FACILITY REIMBURSEMENT SYSTEM.

Subdivision 1. In general. Effective July 1, 2001, the commissioner shall implement a
performance-based contracting system to replace the current method of setting operating cost
payment rates under sections 256B.431 and 256B.434 and Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0010
to 9549.0080. Operating cost payment rates for newly established facilities under Minnesota
Rules, part 9549.0057, shall be established using section 256B.431 and Minnesota Rules,
parts 9549.0010 to 9549.0070. A nursing facility in operation on May 1, 1998, with payment
rates not established under section 256B.431 or 256B.434 on that date, is ineligible for this
performance-based contracting system. In determining prospective payment rates of nursing
facility services, the commissioner shall distinguish between operating costs and property-related
costs. The commissioner of management and budget shall include an annual inflationary
adjustment in operating costs for nursing facilities using the inflation factor specified in
subdivision 3 and funding for incentive-based payments as a budget change request in each
biennial detailed expenditure budget submitted to the legislature under section 16A.11. Property
related payment rates, including real estate taxes and special assessments, shall be determined
under section 256B.431 or 256B.434 or under a new property-related reimbursement system, if
one is implemented by the commissioner under subdivision 3. The commissioner shall present
additional recommendations for performance-based contracting for nursing facilities to the
legislature by February 15, 2000, in the following specific areas:

(1) development of an interim default payment mechanism for nursing facilities that do
not respond to the state's request for proposal but wish to continue participation in the medical
assistance program, and nursing facilities the state does not select in the request for proposal
process, and nursing facilities whose contract has been canceled;
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(2) development of criteria for facilities to earn performance-based incentive payments
based on relevant outcomes negotiated by nursing facilities and the commissioner and that
recognize both continuous quality efforts and quality improvement;

(3) development of criteria and a process under which nursing facilities can request rate
adjustments for low base rates, geographic disparities, or other reasons;

(4) development of a dispute resolution mechanism for nursing facilities that are denied a
contract, denied incentive payments, or denied a rate adjustment;

(5) development of a property payment system to address the capital needs of nursing
facilities that will be funded with additional appropriations;

(6) establishment of a transitional plan to move from dual assessment instruments to the
federally mandated resident assessment system, whereby the financial impact for each facility
would be budget neutral;

(7) identification of net cost implications for facilities and to the department of preparing
for and implementing performance-based contracting or any proposed alternative system;

(8) identification of facility financial and statistical reporting requirements; and

(9) identification of exemptions from current regulations and statutes applicable under
performance-based contracting.

Subd. 1a. Requests for proposals. (a) For nursing facilities with rates established under
section 256B.434 on January 1, 2001, the commissioner shall renegotiate contracts without
requiring a response to a request for proposal, notwithstanding the solicitation process described
in chapter 16C.

(b) Prior to July 1, 2001, the commissioner shall publish in the State Register a request for
proposals to provide nursing facility services according to this section. The commissioner will
consider proposals from all nursing facilities that have payment rates established under section
256B.431. The commissioner must respond to all proposals in a timely manner.

(c) In issuing a request for proposals, the commissioner may develop reasonable
requirements which, in the judgment of the commissioner, are necessary to protect residents
or ensure that the performance-based contracting system furthers the interests of the state of
Minnesota. The request for proposals may include, but need not be limited to:

(1) a requirement that a nursing facility make reasonable efforts to maximize Medicare
payments on behalf of eligible residents;

(2) requirements designed to prevent inappropriate or illegal discrimination against
residents enrolled in the medical assistance program as compared to private paying residents;

(3) requirements designed to ensure that admissions to a nursing facility are appropriate
and that reasonable efforts are made to place residents in home and community-based settings
when appropriate;

(4) a requirement to agree to participate in the development of data collection systems
and outcome-based standards. Among other requirements specified by the commissioner, each
facility entering into a contract may be required to pay an annual fee not to exceed $1,000. The
commissioner must use revenue generated from the fees to contract with a qualified consultant or
contractor to develop data collection systems and outcome-based contracting standards;
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(5) a requirement that Medicare-certified contractors agree to maintain Medicare cost
reports and to submit them to the commissioner upon request, or at times specified by the
commissioner; and that contractors that are not Medicare-certified agree to maintain a uniform
cost report in a format established by the commissioner and to submit the report to the
commissioner upon request, or at times specified by the commissioner;

(6) a requirement that demonstrates willingness and ability to develop and maintain data
collection and retrieval systems to measure outcomes; and

(7) a requirement to provide all information and assurances required by the terms and
conditions of the federal waiver or federal approval.

(d) In addition to the information and assurances contained in the submitted proposals, the
commissioner may consider the following criteria in developing the terms of the contract:

(1) the facility's history of compliance with federal and state laws and rules. A facility
deemed to be in substantial compliance with federal and state laws and rules is eligible to respond
to a request for proposals. A facility's compliance history shall not be the sole determining factor
in situations where the facility has been sold and the new owners have submitted a proposal;

(2) whether the facility has a record of excessive licensure fines or sanctions or fraudulent
cost reports;

(3) the facility's financial history and solvency; and
(4) other factors identified by the commissioner deemed relevant to developing the terms of

the contract, including a determination that a contract with a particular facility is not in the best
interests of the residents of the facility or the state of Minnesota.

(e) Notwithstanding the requirements of the solicitation process described in chapter 16C,
the commissioner may contract with nursing facilities established according to section 144A.073
without issuing a request for proposals.

(f) Notwithstanding subdivision 1, after July 1, 2001, the commissioner may contract with
additional nursing facilities, according to requests for proposals.

Subd. 2. Contract provisions. (a) The performance-based contract with each nursing
facility must include provisions that:

(1) apply the resident case mix assessment provisions of Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0051,
9549.0058, and 9549.0059, or another assessment system, with the goal of moving to a single
assessment system;

(2) monitor resident outcomes through various methods, such as quality indicators based on
the minimum data set and other utilization and performance measures;

(3) require the establishment and use of a continuous quality improvement process that
integrates information from quality indicators and regular resident and family satisfaction
interviews;

(4) require annual reporting of facility statistical information, including resident days
by case mix category, productive nursing hours, wages and benefits, and raw food costs for
use by the commissioner in the development of facility profiles that include trends in payment
and service utilization;

(5) require from each nursing facility an annual certified audited financial statement
consisting of a balance sheet, income and expense statements, and an opinion from either a
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licensed or certified public accountant, if a certified audit was prepared, or unaudited financial
statements if no certified audit was prepared;

(6) specify the method for resolving disputes; and
(7) establish additional requirements for nursing facilities not meeting the standards set

forth in the performance-based contract.
(b) The commissioner may develop additional incentive-based payments for achieving

specified outcomes specified in each contract. The specified facility-specific outcomes must be
measurable and approved by the commissioner.

(c) The commissioner may also contract with nursing facilities in other ways through
requests for proposals, including contracts on a risk or nonrisk basis, with nursing facilities or
consortia of nursing facilities, to provide comprehensive long-term care coverage on a premium
or capitated basis.

(d) The commissioner may negotiate different contract terms for different nursing facilities.

Subd. 2a. Duration and termination of contracts. (a) All contracts entered into under this
section are for a term of one year. Either party may terminate this contract at any time without
cause by providing 90 calendar days' advance written notice to the other party. Notwithstanding
section 16C.05, subdivisions 2, paragraph (b), and 5, if neither party provides written notice
of termination, the contract shall be renegotiated for additional one-year terms or the terms
of the existing contract will be extended for one year. The provisions of the contract shall be
renegotiated annually by the parties prior to the expiration date of the contract. The parties may
voluntarily renegotiate the terms of the contract at any time by mutual agreement.

(b) If a nursing facility fails to comply with the terms of a contract, the commissioner shall
provide reasonable notice regarding the breach of contract and a reasonable opportunity for the
facility to come into compliance. If the facility fails to come into compliance or to remain in
compliance, the commissioner may terminate the contract. If a contract is terminated, provisions
of section 256B.48, subdivision 1a, shall apply.

Subd. 3. Payment rate provisions. (a) For rate years beginning on or after July 1, 2001,
within the limits of appropriations specifically for this purpose, the commissioner shall determine
operating cost payment rates for each licensed and certified nursing facility by indexing its
operating cost payment rates in effect on June 30, 2001, for inflation. For rate years beginning on
or after July 1, 2001, the inflation factor must be based on the change in the Employment Cost
Index for Private Industry Workers - Total Compensation as forecasted by the commissioner of
management and budget's national economic consultant, in the fourth quarter preceding the rate
year. The forecasted index for operating cost payment rates shall be based on the 12-month period
from the midpoint of the nursing facility's prior rate year to the midpoint of the rate year for which
the operating payment rate is being determined. The operating cost payment rate to be inflated
shall be the total payment rate in effect on June 30, 2001, minus the portion determined to be the
property-related payment rate, minus the per diem amount of the preadmission screening cost
included in the nursing facility's last payment rate established under section 256B.431.

(b) A per diem amount for preadmission screening will be added onto the contract payment
rates according to the method of distribution of county allocation described in section 256B.0911,
subdivision 6, paragraph (a).

(c) For rate years beginning on or after July 1, 2001, the commissioner may implement a
new method of payment for property-related costs that addresses the capital needs of facilities.
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The new property payment system or systems, if implemented, shall replace the current methods
of setting property payment rates under sections 256B.431 and 256B.434.

Subd. 4. Contract payment rates; appeals. If an appeal is pending concerning the
cost-based payment rates that are the basis for the calculation of the payment rate under this
section, the commissioner and the nursing facility may agree on an interim contract rate to be
used until the appeal is resolved. When the appeal is resolved, the contract rate must be adjusted
retroactively according to the appeal decision.

Subd. 5. Consumer protection. In addition to complying with all applicable laws regarding
consumer protection, as a condition of entering into a contract under this section, a nursing
facility must agree to:

(1) establish resident grievance procedures;
(2) establish expedited grievance procedures to resolve complaints made by short-stay

residents; and
(3) make available to residents and families a copy of the performance-based contract and

outcomes to be achieved.

Subd. 6. Contracts are voluntary. Participation of nursing facilities in the medical
assistance program is voluntary. The terms and procedures governing the performance-based
contract are determined under this section and through negotiations between the commissioner
and nursing facilities.

Subd. 7. Federal requirements. The commissioner shall implement the performance-based
contracting system subject to any required federal waivers or approval and in a manner that is
consistent with federal requirements. If a provision of this section is inconsistent with a federal
requirement, the federal requirement supersedes the inconsistent provision. The commissioner
shall seek federal approval and request waivers as necessary to implement this section.

Subd. 8. Case-mix adjustments based upon the minimum data set. The
performance-based contracting system must include case-mix adjustments that are based upon
the federally mandated minimum data set assessment instrument. These case-mix adjustments
must be incorporated into the performance-based contracting system beginning on or after July
1, 2001, but no later than January 1, 2002, and must have a budget neutral financial impact
on each facility at the time of implementation, relative to case-mix adjustments based upon
the current state case-mix.

History: 1998 c 407 art 3 s 14; 1999 c 245 art 3 s 25; 2000 c 315 s 1; 1Sp2003 c 1 art 2 s
76; 2009 c 101 art 2 s 109

256B.436 VOLUNTARY CLOSURES; PLANNING.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) "Closure" means the voluntary cessation of operations of
a nursing facility and voluntary delicensure and decertification of all nursing facility beds of
the nursing facility.

(b) "Commencement of closure" means the date on which the commissioner of health is
notified of a planned closure in accordance with an approved closure plan.

(c) "Completion of closure" means the date on which the final resident of the nursing
facility or nursing facilities designated for closure in an approved closure plan is discharged
from the facility or facilities.
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(d) "Closure plan" means a plan to close one or more nursing facilities and reallocate the
resulting savings to provide special rate adjustments at other facilities.

(e) "Interim closure payments" means the medical assistance payments that may be made to
a nursing facility designated for closure in an approved plan under this section.

(f) "Phased plan" means a closure plan affecting more than one nursing facility undergoing
closure that is commenced and completed in phases.

(g) "Special rate adjustment" means an increase in a nursing facility's operating rates
under this section.

(h) "Standardized resident days" means the standardized resident days as calculated under
Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0054, subpart 2, based on the resident days in each resident class for
the most recent reporting period required to be reported to the commissioner.

Subd. 2. Proposal for a closure plan. (a) One or more nursing facilities that are owned or
operated by a nonprofit corporation owning or operating more than 22 nursing facilities licensed
in the state of Minnesota may submit to the commissioner a proposal for a closure plan under this
section. Between February 25, 2000, and June 30, 2001, the commissioner may negotiate phased
plans for closure of up to seven nursing facilities.

(b) A facility or facilities reimbursed under section 256B.431 or 256B.434 with a closure
plan approved by the commissioner under subdivision 4 are eligible for the following payments:

(1) facilities designated for closure are eligible for interim closure payments under
subdivision 5; and

(2) facilities that remain open are eligible for a special rate adjustment.

(c) To be considered for approval, a proposal must include the following:

(1) a description of the proposed closure plan, which shall include identification of the
facility or facilities to receive a special rate adjustment, the amount and timing of a special rate
adjustment proposed for each facility for the case mix level "A" operating rate, the standardized
resident days for each facility for which a special rate adjustment is proposed, and the effective
date for each special rate adjustment. The actual special rate adjustment for a facility shall be
allocated proportionately to the various rate per diems included in that facility's operating rate;

(2) an analysis of the projected state medical assistance costs of the closure plan as
proposed, including the estimated costs of the special rate adjustments and estimated resident
relocation costs, including county government costs;

(3) an analysis of the projected state medical assistance savings of the closure plan as
proposed, including any savings projected to result from closure of one or more nursing facilities;

(4) the proposed timetable for any proposed closure, including the proposed dates for
commencement and completion of closure;

(5) the proposed relocation plan for current residents of any facility designated for closure.
The proposed relocation plan must be designed to comply with all applicable state and federal
statutes and regulations, including, but not limited to, Minnesota Rules, parts 4655.6810 to
4655.6830; parts 4658.1600 to 4658.1690; and parts 9546.0010 to 9546.0060; and

(6) documentation, in a format approved by the commissioner, that all the nursing facilities
receiving a special rate adjustment under the plan have accepted joint and several liability for
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recovery of overpayments under section 256B.0641, subdivision 2, for the facilities designated
for closure under the plan.

Subd. 3. Phased closure plans. A proposal for a phased plan may include more than
one closure, each of which must meet the requirements of this section and each of which may
be implemented in phases at different times. As part of a phased plan, a nursing facility may
receive a special rate adjustment under more than one phase of the plan, and the cost savings
from the closure of a nursing facility designated for closure under the plan may be applied as
an offset to the subsequent costs of more than one phase of the plan. If a facility is proposed to
receive a special rate adjustment or provide cost savings under more than one phase of a plan,
the proposal must describe the special rate adjustments or cost savings in each of the affected
phases of the plan. Review and approval of a phased plan under subdivision 4 shall apply to
all phases of the plan as proposed.

Subd. 4. Review and approval of proposals. (a) The commissioner may grant interim
closure payments or special rate adjustments for a nursing facility or facilities according to an
approved plan that satisfies the requirements of this section. The commissioner shall not approve
a proposal unless the commissioner determines that projected state savings of the plan equal or
exceed projected state and county government costs, including facility costs during the closure
period, the estimated costs of special rate adjustments, estimated resident relocation costs, the
cost of services to relocated residents, and state agency administrative costs directly related to
the accomplishment of duties specified in this subdivision relative to that proposal. To achieve
cost neutrality costs may only be offset against savings that occur within the same fiscal year. For
purposes of a phased plan, the requirement that costs must not exceed savings applies to both the
aggregate costs and savings of the plan and to each phase of the plan. A special rate adjustment
under this section shall be effective no earlier than the first day of the month following completion
of closure of all facilities designated for closure under the plan. For purposes of a phased plan, the
special rate adjustment for each phase shall be effective no earlier than the first day of the month
following completion of closure of all facilities designated for closure in that phase of the plan.
No special rate adjustment under this section shall take effect prior to July 1, 2000.

(b) Upon receipt of a proposal for a closure plan, the commissioner shall provide a copy
of the proposal to the commissioner of health. The commissioner of health shall certify to the
commissioner within 30 days whether the proposal, if implemented, will satisfy the requirements
of Minnesota Rules, parts 4655.6810 to 4655.6830, and parts 4658.1600 to 4658.1690. The
commissioner shall not approve a plan under this section unless the commissioner of health has
made the certification required under this paragraph.

(c) The commissioner shall review a proposal for a closure plan to determine whether it
satisfies the requirements of this section. A determination shall be made within 60 days of the date
the proposal is submitted. If the commissioner determines that the proposal does not satisfy the
requirements of this section, or if the commissioner of health does not certify the proposal under
paragraph (b), the applicant shall be provided written notice as soon as practicable specifying the
deficiencies of the proposal. The proposal may be modified and resubmitted for further review
by each commissioner. The commissioner of health shall review a modified proposal within
30 days from the date it is submitted, and the commissioner shall make a final determination
on whether the proposal satisfies the requirements of this section within 60 days of the date
the modified proposal is submitted.
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(d) Approval of a closure plan expires 18 months after approval by the commissioner, unless
commencement of closure has occurred at all facilities designated for closure under the plan.

Subd. 5. Interim closure payments. Instead of payments under section 256B.431 or
256B.434, the commissioner may approve a closure plan under which the commissioner shall:

(1) apply the interim and settle-up rate provisions under Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0057,
to include facilities covered by this section, effective from commencement of closure to
completion of closure;

(2) extend the length of the interim period but not to exceed 12 months;

(3) limit the amount of reimbursable expenses related to the acquisition of new capital
assets;

(4) prohibit the acquisition of additional capital debt or refinancing of existing capital debt
unless prior approval is obtained from the commissioner;

(5) establish as the aggregate administrative operating cost limitation for the interim
period the actual aggregate administrative operating costs for the period immediately prior to
commencement of closure that is of the same duration as the interim period;

(6) require the retention of financial and statistical records until the commissioner has
audited the interim period and the settle-up rate;

(7) make aggregate payments under this subdivision for the interim period up to the level
of the aggregate payments for the period immediately prior to commencement of closure that is
of the same duration as the interim period; or

(8) change any other provision to which all parties to the plan agree.

Subd. 6. Cost savings of closure. For purposes of this section, the calculation of medical
assistance cost savings from the closure of a nursing facility designated for closure under a
closure plan shall be according to the following criteria:

(a) The projected medical assistance savings of the closure of a facility shall be the
aggregate medical assistance payments to the facility for the most recently completed state fiscal
year prior to submission of the proposal, as reflected in the number of resident days of care for
each resident class provided by the facility in that fiscal year, multiplied by the payment rate for
each resident class.

(b) If one or more facilities designated for closure in an approved closure plan are not able
to be closed for any reason, or projection of savings for that closure are otherwise prohibited
under this section, the projected medical assistance savings from that closure may not be offset
against the medical assistance costs of special rate adjustments under the plan. In that event,
the applicant must notify the commissioner in writing and the applicant must either amend its
proposal by reducing the special rate adjustment to reduce the medical assistance cost of the plan
by at least the amount of the medical assistance savings that were projected from the closure of
that facility or withdraw the plan.

(c) No medical assistance savings shall be projected from closure of a nursing facility that
is designated for closure under a closure plan, if the facility is:

(1) subject to adverse licensure action under section 144A.11; or
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(2) located in a county with a ratio of nursing facility beds to county residents age 85 and
over that is in the lowest quartile of all counties in the state, at the time the proposal is submitted
or at the commencement of closure.

(d) Medical assistance savings under paragraph (a) shall be recognized for purposes of this
section beginning the first day of the month following the month of completion of closure for
all facilities designated for closure under the plan, or all facilities designated for closure under
that phase for a phased plan.

Subd. 7. Other rate adjustments. Except as otherwise provided in subdivision 5, facilities
subject to this section remain eligible for any applicable rate adjustments provided under section
256B.431, 256B.434, or any other section.

Subd. 8. County costs. A portion of the savings estimated under subdivision 4, not to
exceed $75,000 per closing facility, may be transferred from the medical assistance account to the
commissioner to be used for relocation costs incurred by counties.

History: 2000 c 364 s 1; 2001 c 36 s 1; 1Sp2001 c 9 art 5 s 40

256B.437 NURSING FACILITY VOLUNTARY CLOSURE; ALTERNATIVES.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) The definitions in this subdivision apply to subdivisions 2
to 8.

(b) "Closure" means the cessation of operations of a nursing facility and delicensure and
decertification of all beds within the facility.

(c) "Closure plan" means a plan to close a nursing facility and reallocate a portion of the
resulting savings to provide planned closure rate adjustments at other facilities.

(d) "Commencement of closure" means the date on which residents and designated
representatives are notified of a planned closure as provided in section 144A.161, subdivision 5a,
as part of an approved closure plan.

(e) "Completion of closure" means the date on which the final resident of the nursing
facility designated for closure in an approved closure plan is discharged from the facility.

(f) "Partial closure" means the delicensure and decertification of a portion of the beds
within the facility.

(g) "Planned closure rate adjustment" means an increase in a nursing facility's operating
rates resulting from a planned closure or a planned partial closure of another facility.

Subd. 2. [Repealed, 1Sp2003 c 14 art 2 s 57]

Subd. 3. Applications for planned closure of nursing facilities. (a) By August 15, 2001,
the commissioner of human services shall implement and announce a program for closure or
partial closure of nursing facilities. Names and identifying information provided in response to
the announcement shall remain private unless approved, according to the timelines established
in the plan. The announcement must specify:

(1) the criteria in subdivision 4 that will be used by the commissioner to approve or reject
applications;

(2) the information that must accompany an application; and
(3) that applications may combine planned closure rate adjustments with moratorium

exception funding, in which case a single application may serve both purposes.
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Between August 1, 2001, and June 30, 2003, the commissioner may approve planned closures of
up to 5,140 nursing facility beds, less the number of beds delicensed in facilities during the same
time period without approved closure plans or that have notified the commissioner of health of
their intent to close without an approved closure plan. Beginning July 1, 2004, the commissioner
may negotiate a planned closure rate adjustment for nursing facilities providing the proposal,
cumulatively, with other proposals that have been approved, has no cost to the state. For planned
closure rate adjustments negotiated after March 1, 2006, the limit of $2,080 in subdivision 6,
paragraph (a), clause (1), shall not apply. The removal of the limit in subdivision 6, paragraph (a),
clause (1), shall not constitute an increase to the amount specified in subdivision 6, paragraph
(a), clause (1), for the purposes of subdivision 6, paragraph (f).

(b) A facility or facilities reimbursed under section 256B.431 or 256B.434 with a closure
plan approved by the commissioner under subdivision 5 may assign a planned closure rate
adjustment to another facility or facilities that are not closing or in the case of a partial closure, to
the facility undertaking the partial closure. A facility may also elect to have a planned closure rate
adjustment shared equally by the five nursing facilities with the lowest total operating payment
rates in the state development region designated under section 462.385, in which the facility that
is closing is located. The planned closure rate adjustment must be calculated under subdivision 6.
Facilities that delicense beds without a closure plan, or whose closure plan is not approved by the
commissioner, are not eligible to assign a planned closure rate adjustment under subdivision 6,
unless they are delicensing five or fewer beds, or less than six percent of their total licensed bed
capacity, whichever is greater, are located in a county in the top three quartiles of beds per 1,000
persons aged 65 or older, and have not delicensed beds in the prior three months. Facilities meeting
these criteria are eligible to assign the amount calculated under subdivision 6 to themselves. If a
facility is delicensing the greater of six or more beds, or six percent or more of its total licensed
bed capacity, and does not have an approved closure plan or is not eligible for the adjustment
under subdivision 6, the commissioner shall calculate the amount the facility would have been
eligible to assign under subdivision 6, and shall use this amount to provide equal rate adjustments
to the five nursing facilities with the lowest total operating payment rates in the state development
region designated under section 462.385, in which the facility that delicensed beds is located.

(c) To be considered for approval, an application must include:
(1) a description of the proposed closure plan, which must include identification of the

facility or facilities to receive a planned closure rate adjustment;
(2) the proposed timetable for any proposed closure, including the proposed dates for

announcement to residents, commencement of closure, and completion of closure;
(3) if available, the proposed relocation plan for current residents of any facility designated

for closure. If a relocation plan is not available, the application must include a statement agreeing
to develop a relocation plan designed to comply with section 144A.161;

(4) a description of the relationship between the nursing facility that is proposed for closure
and the nursing facility or facilities proposed to receive the planned closure rate adjustment. If
these facilities are not under common ownership, copies of any contracts, purchase agreements, or
other documents establishing a relationship or proposed relationship must be provided;

(5) documentation, in a format approved by the commissioner, that all the nursing facilities
receiving a planned closure rate adjustment under the plan have accepted joint and several
liability for recovery of overpayments under section 256B.0641, subdivision 2, for the facilities
designated for closure under the plan; and
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(6) an explanation of how the application coordinates with planning efforts under
subdivision 2. If the planning group does not support a level of nursing facility closures that the
commissioner considers to be reasonable, the commissioner may approve a planned closure
proposal without its support.

(d) The application must address the criteria listed in subdivision 4.

Subd. 4. Criteria for review of application. In reviewing and approving closure proposals,
the commissioner shall consider, but not be limited to, the following criteria:

(1) improved quality of care and quality of life for consumers;

(2) closure of a nursing facility that has a poor physical plant;

(3) the existence of excess nursing facility beds, measured in terms of beds per thousand
persons aged 85 or older. The excess must be measured in reference to:

(i) the county in which the facility is located;

(ii) the county and all contiguous counties;

(iii) the region in which the facility is located; or

(iv) the facility's service area;

the facility shall indicate in its application the service area it believes is appropriate for this
measurement. A facility in a county that is in the lowest quartile of counties with reference to
beds per thousand persons aged 85 or older is not in an area of excess capacity;

(4) low-occupancy rates, provided that the unoccupied beds are not the result of a personnel
shortage. In analyzing occupancy rates, the commissioner shall examine waiting lists in the
applicant facility and at facilities in the surrounding area, as determined under clause (3);

(5) evidence of coordination between the community planning process and the facility
application. If the planning group does not support a level of nursing facility closures that the
commissioner considers to be reasonable, the commissioner may approve a planned closure
proposal without its support;

(6) proposed usage of funds available from a planned closure rate adjustment for
care-related purposes;

(7) innovative use planned for the closed facility's physical plant;

(8) evidence that the proposal serves the interests of the state; and

(9) evidence of other factors that affect the viability of the facility, including excessive
nursing pool costs.

Subd. 5. Review and approval of applications. (a) The commissioner of human services,
in consultation with the commissioner of health, shall approve or disapprove an application within
30 days after receiving it. The commissioner may appoint an advisory review panel composed
of representatives of counties, SAIL projects, consumers, and providers to review proposals
and provide comments and recommendations to the committee. The commissioners of human
services and health shall provide staff and technical assistance to the committee for the review
and analysis of proposals.

(b) Approval of a planned closure expires 18 months after approval by the commissioner of
human services, unless commencement of closure has begun.
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(c) The commissioner of human services may change any provision of the application to
which the applicant, the regional planning group, and the commissioner agree.

Subd. 6. Planned closure rate adjustment. (a) The commissioner of human services
shall calculate the amount of the planned closure rate adjustment available under subdivision 3,
paragraph (b), for up to 5,140 beds according to clauses (1) to (4):

(1) the amount available is the net reduction of nursing facility beds multiplied by $2,080;
(2) the total number of beds in the nursing facility or facilities receiving the planned closure

rate adjustment must be identified;
(3) capacity days are determined by multiplying the number determined under clause

(2) by 365; and
(4) the planned closure rate adjustment is the amount available in clause (1), divided by

capacity days determined under clause (3).
(b) A planned closure rate adjustment under this section is effective on the first day of the

month following completion of closure of the facility designated for closure in the application and
becomes part of the nursing facility's total operating payment rate.

(c) Applicants may use the planned closure rate adjustment to allow for a property payment
for a new nursing facility or an addition to an existing nursing facility or as an operating payment
rate adjustment. Applications approved under this subdivision are exempt from other requirements
for moratorium exceptions under section 144A.073, subdivisions 2 and 3.

(d) Upon the request of a closing facility, the commissioner must allow the facility a closure
rate adjustment as provided under section 144A.161, subdivision 10.

(e) A facility that has received a planned closure rate adjustment may reassign it to another
facility that is under the same ownership at any time within three years of its effective date. The
amount of the adjustment shall be computed according to paragraph (a).

(f) If the per bed dollar amount specified in paragraph (a), clause (1), is increased, the
commissioner shall recalculate planned closure rate adjustments for facilities that delicense beds
under this section on or after July 1, 2001, to reflect the increase in the per bed dollar amount.
The recalculated planned closure rate adjustment shall be effective from the date the per bed
dollar amount is increased.

(g) For planned closures approved after June 30, 2009, the commissioner of human services
shall calculate the amount of the planned closure rate adjustment available under subdivision 3,
paragraph (b), according to paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (4).

(h) Beginning July 16, 2011, the commissioner shall no longer accept applications for
planned closure rate adjustments under subdivision 3.

Subd. 7. Other rate adjustments. Facilities receiving planned closure rate adjustments
remain eligible for any applicable rate adjustments provided under section 256B.431, 256B.434,
or any other section.

Subd. 8. County costs. The commissioner of human services shall allocate funds for
relocation costs incurred by counties for planned closures under this section as provided under
section 144A.161, subdivision 11.

Subd. 9. Transfer of beds. The board of commissioners of St. Louis County may amend
their planned closure rate adjustment application to allow up to 50 beds of a 159-licensed
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bed county-owned nursing facility that is in the process of closing to be transferred to a
hospital-attached nursing facility in Aurora and up to 50 beds to a 235-bed nursing facility in
Duluth, and may also assign all or a portion of the planned closure rate adjustment that would be
received as a result of closure to the Aurora facility or the Duluth facility.

Subd. 10. Big Stone County rate adjustment. Notwithstanding the requirements of this
section, the commissioner shall approve a planned closure rate adjustment in Big Stone County
for an eight-bed facility in Clinton for reassignment to a 50-bed facility in Graceville. The
adjustment shall be calculated according to subdivisions 3 and 6.

History: 1Sp2001 c 9 art 5 s 27; 2002 c 220 art 14 s 11; 2002 c 362 s 5; 2002 c 375 art 2 s
39,40; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 2004 c 194 s 2; 2006 c 282 art 20 s 25; 2007 c 147 art 7 s 24;
2009 c 79 art 8 s 60; 2011 c 22 art 2 s 3; 1Sp2011 c 9 art 7 s 29

256B.438 IMPLEMENTATION OF A CASE MIX SYSTEM.

Subdivision 1. Scope. This section establishes the method and criteria used to determine
resident reimbursement classifications based upon the assessments of residents of nursing
homes and boarding care homes whose payment rates are established under section 256B.431,
256B.434, or 256B.441 or any other section. Resident reimbursement classifications shall be
established according to the 34 group, resource utilization groups, version III or RUG-III model
as described in section 144.0724. Reimbursement classifications established under this section
shall be implemented after June 30, 2002, but no later than January 1, 2003. Reimbursement
classifications established under this section shall be implemented no earlier than six weeks after
the commissioner mails notices of payment rates to the facilities. Effective January 1, 2012,
resident reimbursement classifications shall be established according to the 48 group, resource
utilization groups, RUG-IV model under section 144.0724.

Subd. 2. Definitions. For purposes of this section, the following terms have the meanings
given.

(a) "Assessment reference date" has the meaning given in section 144.0724, subdivision 2,
paragraph (a).

(b) "Case mix index" has the meaning given in section 144.0724, subdivision 2, paragraph
(b).

(c) "Index maximization" has the meaning given in section 144.0724, subdivision 2,
paragraph (c).

(d) "Minimum data set" has the meaning given in section 144.0724, subdivision 2,
paragraph (d).

(e) "Representative" has the meaning given in section 144.0724, subdivision 2, paragraph
(e).

(f) "Resource utilization groups" or "RUG" has the meaning given in section 144.0724,
subdivision 2, paragraph (f).

Subd. 3. Case mix indices. (a) The commissioner of human services shall assign a case
mix index to each resident class based on the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services staff
time measurement study and adjusted for Minnesota-specific wage indices. The case mix indices
assigned to each resident class shall be published in the Minnesota State Register at least 120 days
prior to the implementation of the 34 group, RUG-III resident classification system.
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(b) An index maximization approach shall be used to classify residents.

(c) After implementation of the revised case mix system, the commissioner of human
services may annually rebase case mix indices and base rates using more current data on average
wage rates and staff time measurement studies. This rebasing shall be calculated under subdivision
7, paragraph (b). The commissioner shall publish in the Minnesota State Register adjusted case
mix indices at least 45 days prior to the effective date of the adjusted case mix indices.

(d) Upon implementation of the 48-group RUG-IV resident classification system, the
commissioner of human services shall assign a case mix index to each resident class based on the
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services staff time measurement study. The case mix indices
assigned to each resident class shall be published in the State Register at least 120 days prior to
the implementation of the RUG-IV resident classification system.

Subd. 4. Resident assessment schedule. (a) Nursing facilities shall conduct and submit
case mix assessments according to the schedule established by the commissioner of health under
section 144.0724, subdivisions 4 and 5.

(b) The resident reimbursement classifications established under section 144.0724,
subdivision 3, shall be effective the day of admission for new admission assessments. The
effective date for significant change assessments shall be the assessment reference date. The
effective date for annual and quarterly assessments shall be the first day of the month following
assessment reference date.

(c) Effective October 1, 2006, the commissioner shall rebase payment rates to account for
the change in the resident assessment schedule in section 144.0724, subdivision 4, paragraph (b),
clause (4), in a facility specific budget neutral manner, according to subdivision 7, paragraph (b).

(d) Effective January 1, 2012, the commissioner shall determine payment rates to account
for the transition to RUG-IV, in a facility-specific, revenue-neutral manner, according to
subdivision 8, paragraph (b).

Subd. 5. Notice of resident reimbursement classification. Nursing facilities shall provide
notice to a resident of the resident's case mix classification according to procedures established by
the commissioner of health under section 144.0724, subdivision 7.

Subd. 6. Reconsideration of resident classification. Any request for reconsideration of a
resident classification must be made under section 144.0724, subdivision 8.

Subd. 7. Rate determination upon transition to RUG-III payment rates. (a) The
commissioner of human services shall determine payment rates at the time of transition to the
RUG based payment model in a facility-specific, budget-neutral manner. The case mix indices
as defined in subdivision 3 shall be used to allocate the case mix adjusted component of total
payment across all case mix groups. To transition from the current calculation methodology to
the RUG based methodology, the commissioner of health shall report to the commissioner of
human services the resident days classified according to the categories defined in subdivision
3 for the 12-month reporting period ending September 30, 2001, for each nursing facility. The
commissioner of human services shall use this data to compute the standardized days for the
reporting period under the RUG system.

(b) The commissioner of human services shall determine the case mix adjusted component
of the rate as follows:
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(1) determine the case mix portion of the 11 case mix rates in effect on June 30, 2002, or the
34 case mix rates in effect on or after June 30, 2003;

(2) multiply each amount in clause (1) by the number of resident days assigned to each
group for the reporting period ending September 30, 2001, or the most recent year for which
data is available;

(3) compute the sum of the amounts in clause (2);

(4) determine the total RUG standardized days for the reporting period ending September
30, 2001, or the most recent year for which data is available using the new indices calculated
under subdivision 3, paragraph (c);

(5) divide the amount in clause (3) by the amount in clause (4) which shall be the average
case mix adjusted component of the rate under the RUG method; and

(6) multiply this average rate by the case mix weight in subdivision 3 for each RUG group.

(c) The noncase mix component will be allocated to each RUG group as a constant amount
to determine the transition payment rate. Any other rate adjustments that are effective on or after
July 1, 2002, shall be applied to the transition rates determined under this section.

Subd. 8. Rate determination upon transition to RUG-IV payment rates. (a) The
commissioner of human services shall determine payment rates at the time of transition to the
RUG-IV-based payment model in a facility-specific, revenue-neutral manner. To transition
from the current calculation methodology to the RUG-IV-based methodology, nursing facilities
shall report to the commissioner of human services the private pay and Medicaid resident days
classified according to the categories defined in subdivision 3, paragraphs (a) and (d), for
the six-month reporting period ending June 30, 2011. This report must be submitted to the
commissioner, in a form prescribed by the commissioner, by August 15, 2011. The commissioner
of human services shall use this data to compute the standardized days for the RUG-III and
RUG-IV classification systems.

(b) The commissioner of human services shall determine the case mix adjusted component
for the January 1, 2012, rate as follows:

(1) using the September 30, 2010, cost report, determine the case mix portion of the
operating cost for each facility;

(2) multiply the 36 operating payment rates in effect on December 31, 2011, by the number
of private pay and Medicaid resident days assigned to each group for the reporting period ending
June 30, 2011, and compute the total;

(3) compute the product of the amounts in clauses (1) and (2);

(4) determine the private pay and Medicaid RUG standardized days for the reporting period
ending June 30, 2011, using the new indices calculated under subdivision 3, paragraph (d);

(5) divide the amount determined in clause (3) by the amount in clause (4), which shall be
the default rate (DDF) unadjusted case mix component of the rate under the RUG-IV method; and

(6) determine the case mix adjusted component of each operating rate by multiplying the
default rate (DDF) unadjusted case mix component by the case mix weight in subdivision 3,
paragraph (d), for each RUG-IV group.
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(c) The noncase mix components will be allocated to each RUG group as a constant amount
to determine the operating payment rate.

History: 1Sp2001 c 9 art 5 s 28; 2002 c 277 s 32; 2002 c 375 art 2 s 41; 2002 c 379 art 1 s
113; 2006 c 282 art 20 s 26; 1Sp2011 c 9 art 7 s 30-33

256B.439 LONG-TERM CARE QUALITY PROFILES.

Subdivision 1. Development and implementation of quality profiles. (a) The
commissioner of human services, in cooperation with the commissioner of health, shall develop
and implement a quality profile system for nursing facilities and, beginning not later than July 1,
2004, other providers of long-term care services, except when the quality profile system would
duplicate requirements under section 256B.5011, 256B.5012, or 256B.5013. The system must be
developed and implemented to the extent possible without the collection of significant amounts of
new data. To the extent possible, the system must incorporate or be coordinated with information
on quality maintained by area agencies on aging, long-term care trade associations, and other
entities. The system must be designed to provide information on quality to:

(1) consumers and their families to facilitate informed choices of service providers;

(2) providers to enable them to measure the results of their quality improvement efforts and
compare quality achievements with other service providers; and

(3) public and private purchasers of long-term care services to enable them to purchase
high-quality care.

(b) The system must be developed in consultation with the long-term care task force, area
agencies on aging, and representatives of consumers, providers, and labor unions. Within the limits
of available appropriations, the commissioners may employ consultants to assist with this project.

Subd. 2. Quality measurement tools. The commissioners shall identify and apply existing
quality measurement tools to:

(1) emphasize quality of care and its relationship to quality of life; and

(2) address the needs of various users of long-term care services, including, but not limited
to, short-stay residents, persons with behavioral problems, persons with dementia, and persons
who are members of minority groups.

The tools must be identified and applied, to the extent possible, without requiring providers
to supply information beyond current state and federal requirements.

Subd. 3. Consumer surveys. Following identification of the quality measurement tool,
the commissioners shall conduct surveys of long-term care service consumers to develop quality
profiles of providers. To the extent possible, surveys must be conducted face-to-face by state
employees or contractors. At the discretion of the commissioners, surveys may be conducted by
telephone or by provider staff. Surveys must be conducted periodically to update quality profiles
of individual service providers.

Subd. 4. Dissemination of quality profiles. By July 1, 2003, the commissioners shall
implement a system to disseminate the quality profiles developed from consumer surveys using
the quality measurement tool. Profiles may be disseminated to the Senior LinkAge line and to
consumers, providers, and purchasers of long-term care services through all feasible printed and
electronic outlets. The commissioners may conduct a public awareness campaign to inform
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potential users regarding profile contents and potential uses.

History: 1Sp2001 c 9 art 5 s 29; 2002 c 220 art 14 s 12,13; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113

256B.44 Subdivision 1. [Repealed, 1983 c 199 s 19]

Subd. 2. [Repealed, 1979 c 336 s 18; 1983 c 199 s 19]

Subd. 3. [Repealed, 1983 c 199 s 19]

256B.440 RECOMMENDATION FOR A NEW REIMBURSEMENT SYSTEM.

Subdivision 1. In general. The commissioner shall present to the legislature, by January 15,
2005, a recommendation to establish a new nursing facility reimbursement system that provides
facility-specific, prospective payment rates for nursing facilities participating in the medical
assistance program. The rates shall be determined using a statistical and cost report filed by each
nursing facility. The total payment rate shall be composed of four rate components: direct-care
services, support services, external fixed, and property-related costs. The payment rate shall be
derived from statistical measures of actual costs incurred in the operation of nursing facilities.
From this cost basis, the components of the total payment rate shall be adjusted for quality of
services provided, actual costs of operation of each facility, geographic variation in labor costs,
rental value, and resident acuity.

Subd. 2. Recommendation for establishment beginning October 1, 2006. The
recommendation in subdivision 1 shall provide for the establishment of all or part of a nursing
facility's rates under the new nursing facility reimbursement system beginning on October 1,
2006. Rates shall be rebased annually. Effective January 1, 2005, each cost reporting year shall
begin on January 1 and end on the following December 31. A cost report shall be filed by each
nursing facility by March 31. Notice of rates shall be distributed by August 1 and the rates shall
go into effect on October 1 for one year.

Subd. 3. Reporting of baseline statistical and cost information. (a) Nursing facilities
shall file a baseline statistical and cost report on or before August 31, 2004, for the reporting
period ending either September 30, 2003, or December 31, 2003. After July 1, 2004, the report
required under Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0041, subpart 1, shall no longer be required. For the
period between January 1, 2004, and December 31, 2004, the commissioner may collect statistical
and cost information from facilities in no greater detail than items collected from facilities under
section 256B.431 or 256B.434, whichever is applicable, for the year ending September 30, 2003.

(b) All nursing facilities shall provide information to the commissioner in the form and
manner specified by the commissioner. The commissioner shall consult with stakeholders in
developing the baseline statistical and cost report that will be used to collect all data necessary to
develop and model the new nursing facility reimbursement system.

(c) Nursing facilities shall report as costs of the nursing facility only costs directly related
to the operation of the nursing facility. The facility shall not include costs that are separately
reimbursed by residents, medical assistance, or other payors. The commissioner may grant to
facilities one extension of up to ten days for the filing of this report, if the extension is requested
by August 1. The commissioner may require facilities to submit separately, in the form and
manner specified by the commissioner, documentation of statistical and cost information included
in the report, in order to ensure accuracy in modeling payment rates and to perform audit and

Copyright © 2011 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



405 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2011 256B.441

appeal review functions under this section. Facilities shall retain all records necessary to document
statistical and cost information provided in the report for a period of no less than seven years.

(d) The commissioner may reject a report filed by a nursing facility under this section if the
commissioner determines that the report has been filed in a form that is incomplete or inaccurate
and the information is insufficient to model accurate payment rates. If a report is rejected or is not
submitted in a timely manner, the commissioner shall reduce payments to a nursing facility to 85
percent of amounts due until the information is completely and accurately filed. The reinstatement
of withheld payments shall be retroactive for no more than 90 days. A nursing facility whose
report is rejected shall be given notice of the rejection, the reasons for the rejection, and an
opportunity to correct the report prior to any payment reduction. A nursing facility that does not
submit a report shall be given a prior written notice of the payment reduction.

(e) The commissioner shall use the baseline statistical and cost report data to model and
simulate the new nursing facility reimbursement system. Modeling shall be done using both
budget neutrality and additional funding assumptions.

(f) The data set in which statistical and cost reports are compiled shall, upon request,
be released by the commissioner, once it has been used for statistical analyses for purposes of
modeling rate setting.

(g) The commissioner shall determine, in consultation with stakeholders and experts,
methods that shall be used to integrate quality measures into the new nursing facility
reimbursement system. For the modeling and simulations of the baseline data, the quality
measures shall include, at a minimum:

(1) direct care hours per standardized resident day;
(2) staff turnover;
(3) staff retention;
(4) use of pool staff;
(5) proportion of beds in single-bed rooms;
(6) quality indicators from the minimum data set; and
(7) survey deficiencies.
If data analysis of the modeling and simulations indicates that revisions, deletions, or

additional indicators are needed, those modifications shall be made prior to the initial rate year.
The quality measures used to determine a component of the payment rates shall be established for
a rate year using data submitted in the statistical and cost report from the associated reporting
year, and using data from other sources related to the reporting year.

History: 2004 c 194 s 3

256B.441 VALUE-BASED NURSING FACILITY REIMBURSEMENT SYSTEM.

Subdivision 1. Rebasing of nursing facility operating payment rates. (a) The
commissioner shall rebase nursing facility operating payment rates to align payments to facilities
with the cost of providing care. The rebased operating payment rates shall be calculated using
the statistical and cost report filed by each nursing facility for the report period ending one year
prior to the rate year.

(b) The new operating payment rates based on this section shall take effect beginning with
the rate year beginning October 1, 2008, and shall be phased in over eight rate years through
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October 1, 2015. For each year of the phase-in, the operating payment rates shall be calculated
using the statistical and cost report filed by each nursing facility for the report period ending one
year prior to the rate year.

(c) Operating payment rates shall be rebased on October 1, 2016, and every two years
after that date.

(d) Each cost reporting year shall begin on October 1 and end on the following September
30. Beginning in 2006, a statistical and cost report shall be filed by each nursing facility by
January 15. Notice of rates shall be distributed by August 15 and the rates shall go into effect
on October 1 for one year.

(e) Effective October 1, 2014, property rates shall be rebased in accordance with section
256B.431 and Minnesota Rules, chapter 9549. The commissioner shall determine what the
property payment rate for a nursing facility would be had the facility not had its property rate
determined under section 256B.434. The commissioner shall allow nursing facilities to provide
information affecting this rate determination that would have been filed annually under Minnesota
Rules, chapter 9549, and nursing facilities shall report information necessary to determine
allowable debt. The commissioner shall use this information to determine the property payment
rate.

Subd. 2. Definitions. For purposes of this section, the terms in subdivisions 3 to 42a have
the meanings given unless otherwise provided for in this section.

Subd. 3. Active beds. "Active beds" means licensed beds that are not currently in layaway
status.

Subd. 4. Activities costs. "Activities costs" means the costs for the salaries and wages of
the supervisor and other activities workers, associated fringe benefits and payroll taxes, supplies,
services, and consultants.

Subd. 5. Administrative costs. "Administrative costs" means the direct costs for
administering the overall activities of the nursing home. These costs include salaries and wages
of the administrator, assistant administrator, business office employees, security guards, and
associated fringe benefits and payroll taxes, fees, contracts, or purchases related to business office
functions, licenses, and permits except as provided in the external fixed costs category, employee
recognition, travel including meals and lodging, all training except as specified in subdivision
11, voice and data communication or transmission, office supplies, liability insurance and other
forms of insurance not designated to other areas, personnel recruitment, legal services, accounting
services, management or business consultants, data processing, information technology, Web site,
central or home office costs, business meetings and seminars, postage, fees for professional
organizations, subscriptions, security services, advertising, board of director's fees, working
capital interest expense, and bad debts and bad debt collection fees.

Subd. 6. Allowed costs. "Allowed costs" means the amounts reported by the facility which
are necessary for the operation of the facility and the care of residents and which are reviewed by
the department for accuracy; reasonableness, in accordance with the requirements set forth in Title
XVIII of the federal Social Security Act and the interpretations in the provider reimbursement
manual; and compliance with this section and generally accepted accounting principles. All
references to costs in this section shall be assumed to refer to allowed costs.

Subd. 7. Center for Medicare and Medicaid services. "Center for Medicare and Medicaid
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services" means the federal agency, in the United States Department of Health and Human
Services that administers Medicaid, also referred to as "CMS."

Subd. 8. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of human services
unless specified otherwise.

Subd. 9. Desk audit. "Desk audit" means the establishment of the payment rate based
on the commissioner's review and analysis of required reports, supporting documentation, and
work sheets submitted by the nursing facility.

Subd. 10. Dietary costs. "Dietary costs" means the costs for the salaries and wages of
the dietary supervisor, dietitians, chefs, cooks, dishwashers, and other employees assigned to
the kitchen and dining room, and associated fringe benefits and payroll taxes. Dietary costs
also includes the salaries or fees of dietary consultants, dietary supplies, and food preparation
and serving.

Subd. 11. Direct care costs. "Direct care costs" means costs for the wages of nursing
administration, direct care registered nurses, licensed practical nurses, certified nursing assistants,
trained medication aides, employees conducting training in resident care topics and associated
fringe benefits and payroll taxes; services from a supplemental nursing services agency; supplies
that are stocked at nursing stations or on the floor and distributed or used individually, including,
but not limited to: alcohol, applicators, cotton balls, incontinence pads, disposable ice bags,
dressings, bandages, water pitchers, tongue depressors, disposable gloves, enemas, enema
equipment, soap, medication cups, diapers, plastic waste bags, sanitary products, thermometers,
hypodermic needles and syringes, clinical reagents or similar diagnostic agents, drugs that are
not paid on a separate fee schedule by the medical assistance program or any other payer, and
technology related to the provision of nursing care to residents, such as electronic charting
systems; costs of materials used for resident care training, and training courses outside of the
facility attended by direct care staff on resident care topics.

Subd. 12. [Repealed, 2007 c 147 art 7 s 76]

Subd. 13. External fixed costs. "External fixed costs" means costs related to the nursing
home surcharge under section 256.9657, subdivision 1; licensure fees under section 144.122;
long-term care consultation fees under section 256B.0911, subdivision 6; family advisory council
fee under section 144A.33; scholarships under section 256B.431, subdivision 36; planned closure
rate adjustments under section 256B.436 or 256B.437; or single bed room incentives under
section 256B.431, subdivision 42; property taxes and property insurance; and PERA.

Subd. 14. Facility average case mix index. "Facility average case mix index" or "CMI"
means a numerical value score that describes the relative resource use for all residents within
the groups under the resource utilization group (RUG-III) classification system prescribed by
the commissioner based on an assessment of each resident. The facility average CMI shall be
computed as the standardized days divided by total days for all residents in the facility. The
RUG's weights used in this section shall be as follows for each RUG's class: SE3 1.605; SE2
1.247; SE1 1.081; RAD 1.509; RAC 1.259; RAB 1.109; RAA 0.957; SSC 1.453; SSB 1.224;
SSA 1.047; CC2 1.292; CC1 1.200; CB2 1.086; CB1 1.017; CA2 0.908; CA1 0.834; IB2 0.877;
IB1 0.817; IA2 0.720; IA1 0.676; BB2 0.956; BB1 0.885; BA2 0.716; BA1 0.673; PE2 1.199;
PE1 1.104; PD2 1.023; PD1 0.948; PC2 0.926; PC1 0.860; PB2 0.786; PB1 0.734; PA2 0.691;
PA1 0.651; BC1 0.651; and DDF 1.000.
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Subd. 14a. Facility type groups. Facilities shall be classified into two groups, called
"facility type groups," which shall consist of:

(1) C&NC/R80: facilities that are hospital-attached, or are licensed under Minnesota Rules,
parts 9570.2000 to 9570.3400; and

(2) freestanding: all other facilities.

Subd. 15. Field audit. "Field audit" means the examination, verification, and review of
the financial records, statistical records, and related supporting documentation on the nursing
home and any related organization.

Subd. 16. [Repealed, 2007 c 147 art 7 s 76]

Subd. 17. Fringe benefit costs. "Fringe benefit costs" means the costs for group life, health,
dental, workers' compensation, and other employee insurances and pension, profit sharing, and
retirement plans for which the employer pays all or a portion of the costs.

Subd. 18. Generally accepted accounting principles. "Generally Accepted Accounting
Principles" means the body of pronouncements adopted by the American Institute of Certified
Public Accountants regarding proper accounting procedures, guidelines, and rules.

Subd. 19. Hospital-attached nursing facility status. (a) For the purpose of setting rates
under this section, for rate years beginning after September 30, 2006, "hospital-attached nursing
facility" means a nursing facility which meets the requirements of clauses (1) and (2); or (3); or
(4), or had hospital-attached status prior to January 1, 1995, and has been recognized as having
hospital-attached status by CMS continuously since that date:

(1) the nursing facility is recognized by the federal Medicare program to be a hospital-based
nursing facility;

(2) the hospital and nursing facility are physically attached or connected by a corridor;
(3) a nursing facility and hospital, which have applied for hospital-based nursing facility

status under the federal Medicare program during the reporting year, shall be considered a
hospital-attached nursing facility for purposes of setting payment rates under this section. The
nursing facility must file its cost report for that reporting year using Medicare principles and
Medicare's recommended cost allocation methods had the Medicare program's hospital-based
nursing facility status been granted to the nursing facility. For each subsequent rate year, the
nursing facility must meet the definition requirements in clauses (1) and (2). If the nursing facility
is denied hospital-based nursing facility status under the Medicare program, the nursing facility's
payment rates for the rate years the nursing facility was considered to be a hospital-attached
nursing facility according to this paragraph shall be recalculated treating the nursing facility as a
non-hospital-attached nursing facility;

(4) if a nonprofit or community-operated hospital and attached nursing facility suspend
operation of the hospital, the remaining nursing facility must be allowed to continue its status as
hospital-attached for rate calculations in the three rate years subsequent to the one in which the
hospital ceased operations.

(b) The nursing facility's cost report filed as hospital-attached facility shall use the same
cost allocation principles and methods used in the reports filed for the Medicare program.
Direct identification of costs to the nursing facility cost center will be permitted only when the
comparable hospital costs have also been directly identified to a cost center which is not allocated
to the nursing facility.
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Subd. 20. Housekeeping costs. "Housekeeping costs" means the costs for the salaries
and wages of the housekeeping supervisor, housekeepers, and other cleaning employees and
associated fringe benefits and payroll taxes. It also includes the cost of housekeeping supplies,
including, but not limited to, cleaning and lavatory supplies and contract services.

Subd. 21. [Repealed, 2007 c 147 art 7 s 76]

Subd. 22. Laundry costs. "Laundry costs" means the costs for the salaries and wages of
the laundry supervisor and other laundry employees, associated fringe benefits, and payroll
taxes. It also includes the costs of linen and bedding, the laundering of resident clothing, laundry
supplies, and contract services.

Subd. 23. Licensee. "Licensee" means the individual or organization listed on the form
issued by the Minnesota Department of Health under chapter 144A or sections 144.50 to 144.56.

Subd. 24.Maintenance and plant operations costs. "Maintenance and plant operations
costs" means the costs for the salaries and wages of the maintenance supervisor, engineers,
heating-plant employees, and other maintenance employees and associated fringe benefits and
payroll taxes. It also includes direct costs for maintenance and operation of the building and
grounds, including, but not limited to, fuel, electricity, medical waste and garbage removal, water,
sewer, supplies, tools, and repairs.

Subd. 25. Normalized direct care costs per day. "Normalized direct care costs per day"
means direct care costs divided by standardized days. It is the costs per day for direct care services
associated with a RUG's index of 1.00.

Subd. 26. [Repealed, 2007 c 147 art 7 s 76]

Subd. 27. Nursing facility. "Nursing facility" means a facility with a medical assistance
provider agreement that is licensed as a nursing home under chapter 144A or as a boarding
care home under sections 144.50 to 144.56.

Subd. 28. [Repealed, 2007 c 147 art 7 s 76]

Subd. 28a.Other direct care costs. "Other direct care costs" means the costs for the salaries
and wages and associated fringe benefits and payroll taxes of mental health workers, religious
personnel, and other direct care employees not specified in the definition of direct care costs.

Subd. 29. Payroll taxes. "Payroll taxes" means the costs for the employer's share of the
FICA and Medicare withholding tax, and state and federal unemployment compensation taxes.

Subd. 30. Peer groups. Facilities shall be classified into three groups by county. The
groups shall consist of:

(1) group one: facilities in Anoka, Benton, Carlton, Carver, Chisago, Dakota, Dodge,
Goodhue, Hennepin, Isanti, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Olmsted, Ramsey, Rice, Scott, Sherburne, St.
Louis, Stearns, Steele, Wabasha, Washington, Winona, or Wright County;

(2) group two: facilities in Aitkin, Beltrami, Blue Earth, Brown, Cass, Clay, Cook, Crow
Wing, Faribault, Fillmore, Freeborn, Houston, Hubbard, Itasca, Kanabec, Koochiching, Lake,
Lake of the Woods, Le Sueur, Martin, McLeod, Meeker, Mower, Nicollet, Norman, Pine, Roseau,
Sibley, Todd, Wadena, Waseca, Watonwan, or Wilkin County; and

(3) group three: facilities in all other counties.

Subd. 31. Prior system operating cost payment rate. "Prior system operating cost
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payment rate" means the operating cost payment rate in effect on September 30, 2008, under
Minnesota Rules and Minnesota Statutes, not including planned closure rate adjustments
under section 256B.436 or 256B.437, or single bed room incentives under section 256B.431,
subdivision 42.

Subd. 32. Private paying resident. "Private paying resident" means a nursing facility
resident who is not a medical assistance recipient and whose payment rate is not established by
another third party, including the veterans administration or Medicare.

Subd. 33. Rate year. "Rate year" means the 12-month period beginning on October 1
following the second most recent reporting year.

Subd. 33a. Raw food costs. "Raw food costs" means the cost of food provided to nursing
facility residents. Also included are special dietary supplements used for tube feeding or oral
feeding, such as elemental high nitrogen diet.

Subd. 34. Related organization. "Related organization" means a person that furnishes
goods or services to a nursing facility and that is a close relative of a nursing facility, an affiliate
of a nursing facility, a close relative of an affiliate of a nursing facility, or an affiliate of a close
relative of an affiliate of a nursing facility. As used in this subdivision, paragraphs (a) to (d) apply.

(a) "Affiliate" means a person that directly, or indirectly through one or more intermediaries,
controls or is controlled by, or is under common control with another person.

(b) "Person" means an individual, a corporation, a partnership, an association, a trust, an
unincorporated organization, or a government or political subdivision.

(c) "Close relative of an affiliate of a nursing facility" means an individual whose
relationship by blood, marriage, or adoption to an individual who is an affiliate of a nursing
facility is no more remote than first cousin.

(d) "Control" including the terms "controlling," "controlled by," and "under common
control with" means the possession, direct or indirect, of the power to direct or cause the direction
of the management, operations, or policies of a person, whether through the ownership of voting
securities, by contract, or otherwise.

Subd. 35. Reporting period. "Reporting period" means the one-year period beginning on
October 1 and ending on the following September 30 during which incurred costs are accumulated
and then reported on the statistical and cost report.

Subd. 36. Resident day or actual resident day. "Resident day" or "actual resident day"
means a day for which nursing services are rendered and billable, or a day for which a bed is held
and billed. The day of admission is considered a resident day, regardless of the time of admission.
The day of discharge is not considered a resident day, regardless of the time of discharge.

Subd. 37. Salaries and wages. "Salaries and wages" means amounts earned by and paid to
employees or on behalf of employees to compensate for necessary services provided. Salaries and
wages include accrued vested vacation and accrued vested sick leave pay. Salaries and wages
must be paid within 30 days of the end of the reporting period in order to be allowable costs of
the reporting period.

Subd. 38. Social services costs. "Social services costs" means the costs for the salaries and
wages of the supervisor and other social work employees, associated fringe benefits and payroll
taxes, supplies, services, and consultants. This category includes the cost of those employees who
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manage and process admission to the nursing facility.

Subd. 39. Stakeholders. "Stakeholders" means individuals and representatives of
organizations interested in long-term care, including nursing homes, consumers, and labor unions.

Subd. 40. Standardized days. "Standardized days" means the sum of resident days by case
mix category multiplied by the RUG index for each category.

Subd. 41. Statistical and cost report. "Statistical and cost report" means the forms supplied
by the commissioner for annual reporting of nursing facility expenses and statistics, including
instructions and definitions of items in the report.

Subd. 42. [Repealed, 2007 c 147 art 7 s 76]

Subd. 42a. Therapy costs. "Therapy costs" means any costs related to medical assistance
therapy services provided to residents that are not billed separately from the daily operating rate.

Subd. 43. Reporting of statistical and cost information. (a) Beginning in 2006, all
nursing facilities shall provide information annually to the commissioner on a form and in a
manner determined by the commissioner. The commissioner may also require nursing facilities
to provide statistical and cost information for a subset of the items in the annual report on a
semiannual basis. Nursing facilities shall report only costs directly related to the operation of the
nursing facility. The facility shall not include costs which are separately reimbursed by residents,
medical assistance, or other payors. Allocations of costs from central, affiliated, or corporate
office and related organization transactions shall be reported according to section 256B.432.
The commissioner may grant to facilities one extension of up to 15 days for the filing of this
report if the extension is requested by December 15 and the commissioner determines that the
extension will not prevent the commissioner from establishing rates in a timely manner required
by law. The commissioner may separately require facilities to submit in a manner specified by
the commissioner documentation of statistical and cost information included in the report to
ensure accuracy in establishing payment rates and to perform audit and appeal review functions
under this section. Facilities shall retain all records necessary to document statistical and cost
information on the report for a period of no less than seven years. The commissioner may amend
information in the report according to subdivision 47. The commissioner may reject a report filed
by a nursing facility under this section if the commissioner determines that the report has been
filed in a form that is incomplete or inaccurate and the information is insufficient to establish
accurate payment rates. In the event that a complete report is not submitted in a timely manner,
the commissioner shall reduce the reimbursement payments to a nursing facility to 85 percent of
amounts due until the information is filed. The release of withheld payments shall be retroactive
for no more than 90 days. A nursing facility that does not submit a report or whose report is filed
in a timely manner but determined to be incomplete shall be given written notice that a payment
reduction is to be implemented and allowed ten days to complete the report prior to any payment
reduction. The commissioner may delay the payment withhold under exceptional circumstances
to be determined at the sole discretion of the commissioner.

(b) Nursing facilities may, within 12 months of the due date of a statistical and cost
report, file an amendment when errors or omissions in the annual statistical and cost report are
discovered and an amendment would result in a rate increase of at least 0.15 percent of the
statewide weighted average operating payment rate and shall, at any time, file an amendment
which would result in a rate reduction of at least 0.15 percent of the statewide weighted average
operating payment rate. The commissioner shall make retroactive adjustments to the total
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payment rate of a nursing facility if an amendment is accepted. Where a retroactive adjustment is
to be made as a result of an amended report, audit findings, or other determination of an incorrect
payment rate, the commissioner may settle the payment error through a negotiated agreement
with the facility and a gross adjustment of the payments to the facility. Retroactive adjustments
shall not be applied to private pay residents. An error or omission for purposes of this item does
not include a nursing facility's determination that an election between permissible alternatives
was not advantageous and should be changed.

(c) If the commissioner determines that a nursing facility knowingly supplied inaccurate
or false information or failed to file an amendment to a statistical and cost report that resulted
in or would result in an overpayment, the commissioner shall immediately adjust the nursing
facility's payment rate and recover the entire overpayment. The commissioner may also terminate
the commissioner's agreement with the nursing facility and prosecute under applicable state
or federal law.

Subd. 44. Calculation of a quality score. (a) The commissioner shall determine a quality
score for each nursing facility using quality measures established in section 256B.439, according
to methods determined by the commissioner in consultation with stakeholders and experts. These
methods shall be exempt from the rulemaking requirements under chapter 14.

(b) For each quality measure, a score shall be determined with a maximum number of
points available and number of points assigned as determined by the commissioner using the
methodology established according to this subdivision. The scores determined for all quality
measures shall be totaled. The determination of the quality measures to be used and the methods
of calculating scores may be revised annually by the commissioner.

(c) For the initial rate year under the new payment system, the quality measures shall
include:

(1) staff turnover;
(2) staff retention;
(3) use of pool staff;
(4) quality indicators from the minimum data set; and
(5) survey deficiencies.
(d) For rate years beginning after October 1, 2006, when making revisions to the quality

measures or method for calculating scores, the commissioner shall publish the methodology in
the State Register at least 15 months prior to the start of the rate year for which the revised
methodology is to be used for rate-setting purposes. The quality score used to determine payment
rates shall be established for a rate year using data submitted in the statistical and cost report from
the associated reporting year, and using data from other sources related to a period beginning
no more than six months prior to the associated reporting year.

Subd. 45. [Repealed, 2007 c 147 art 7 s 76]

Subd. 46. Calculation of quality add-on. The payment rate for the quality add-on shall be
a variable amount based on each facility's quality score.

(a) For the rate year beginning October 1, 2006, the maximum quality add-on percent
shall be 2.4 percent and this add-on shall not be subject to a phase-in. The determination of
the quality score to be used in calculating the quality add-on for October 1, 2006, shall be
based on a report which must be filed with the commissioner, according to the requirements in
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subdivision 43, for a six-month period ending January 31, 2006. This report shall be filed with
the commissioner by February 28, 2006. The commissioner shall prorate the six months of data
to a full year. When new quality measures are incorporated into the quality score methodology
and when existing quality measures are updated or improved, the commissioner may increase the
maximum quality add-on percent.

(b) For each facility, determine the operating payment rate.

(c) For each facility determine a ratio of the quality score of the facility determined in
subdivision 44, less 40 and then divided by 60. If this value is less than zero, use the value zero.

(d) For each facility, the quality add-on shall be the value determined in paragraph (b) times
the value determined in paragraph (c) times the maximum quality add-on percent.

Subd. 46a. Calculation of quality add-on for the rate year beginning October 1,
2007. (a) The payment rate for the rate year beginning October 1, 2007, for the quality add-on,
is a variable amount based on each facility's quality score. For the rate year, the maximum
quality add-on is .3 percent of the operating payment rate in effect on September 30, 2007.
The commissioner shall determine the quality add-on for each facility according to paragraphs
(b) to (d).

(b) For each facility, the commissioner shall determine the operating payment rate in
effect on September 30, 2007.

(c) For each facility, the commissioner shall determine a ratio of the quality score of the
facility determined in subdivision 44, subtract 40, and then divide by 60. If this value is less than
zero, the commissioner shall use the value zero.

(d) For each facility, the quality add-on is the value determined in paragraph (b), multiplied
by the value determined in paragraph (c), multiplied by .3 percent.

Subd. 47. Audit authority. (a) The commissioner may subject reports and supporting
documentation to desk and field audits to determine compliance with this section. Retroactive
adjustments shall be made as a result of desk or field audit findings if the cumulative impact of
the finding would result in a rate adjustment of at least 0.15 percent of the statewide weighted
average operating payment rate. If a field audit reveals inadequacies in a nursing facility's record
keeping or accounting practices, the commissioner may require the nursing facility to engage
competent professional assistance to correct those inadequacies within 90 days so that the field
audit may proceed.

(b) Field audits may cover the four most recent annual statistical and cost reports for which
desk audits have been completed and payment rates have been established. The field audit must
be an independent review of the nursing facility's statistical and cost report. All transactions,
invoices, or other documentation that support or relate to the statistics and costs claimed on
the annual statistical and cost reports are subject to review by the field auditor. If the provider
fails to provide the field auditor access to supporting documentation related to the information
reported on the statistical and cost report within the time period specified by the commissioner,
the commissioner shall calculate the total payment rate by disallowing the cost of the items for
which access to the supporting documentation is not provided.

(c) Changes in the total payment rate which result from desk or field audit adjustments to
statistical and cost reports for reporting years earlier than the four most recent annual cost reports
must be made to the four most recent annual statistical and cost reports, the current statistical and
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cost report, and future statistical and cost reports to the extent that those adjustments affect the
total payment rate established by those reporting years.

(d) The commissioner shall extend the period for retention of records under subdivision
43 for purposes of performing field audits as necessary to enforce section 256B.48 with written
notice to the facility postmarked no later than 90 days prior to the expiration of the record
retention requirement.

Subd. 48. Calculation of operating per diems. The direct care per diem for each facility
shall be the facility's direct care costs divided by its standardized days. The other care-related
per diem shall be the sum of the facility's activities costs, other direct care costs, raw food costs,
therapy costs, and social services costs, divided by the facility's resident days. The other operating
per diem shall be the sum of the facility's administrative costs, dietary costs, housekeeping costs,
laundry costs, and maintenance and plant operations costs divided by the facility's resident days.

Subd. 49. Determination of total care-related per diem. The total care-related per diem
for each facility shall be the sum of the direct care per diem and the other care-related per diem.

Subd. 50. Determination of total care-related limit. (a) The limit on the total care-related
per diem shall be determined for each peer group and facility type group combination. A facility's
total care-related per diems shall be limited to 120 percent of the median for the facility's peer
and facility type group. The facility-specific direct care costs used in making this comparison
and in the calculation of the median shall be based on a RUG's weight of 1.00. A facility that
is above that limit shall have its total care-related per diem reduced to the limit. If a reduction
of the total care-related per diem is necessary because of this limit, the reduction shall be made
proportionally to both the direct care per diem and the other care-related per diem.

(b) Beginning with rates determined for October 1, 2016, the total care-related limit shall be
a variable amount based on each facility's quality score, as determined under section 256B.441,
subdivision 44, in accordance with clauses (1) to (4):

(1) for each facility, the commissioner shall determine the quality score, subtract 40, divide
by 40, and convert to a percentage;

(2) if the value determined in clause (1) is less than zero, the total care-related limit shall be
105 percent of the median for the facility's peer and facility type group;

(3) if the value determined in clause (1) is greater than 100 percent, the total care-related
limit shall be 125 percent of the median for the facility's peer and facility type group; and

(4) if the value determined in clause (1) is greater than zero and less than 100 percent, the
total care-related limit shall be 105 percent of the median for the facility's peer and facility type
group plus one-fifth of the percentage determined in clause (1).

Subd. 50a. Determination of proximity adjustments. (a) For a nursing facility located in
close proximity to another nursing facility of the same facility group type but in a different peer
group and that has higher limits for care-related or other operating costs, the commissioner shall
adjust the limits in accordance with clauses (1) to (4):

(1) determine the difference between the limits;
(2) determine the distance between the two facilities, by the shortest driving route. If the

distance exceeds 20 miles, no adjustment shall be made;
(3) subtract the value in clause (2) from 20 miles, divide by 20, and convert to a percentage;

and
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(4) increase the limits for the nursing facility with the lower limits by the value determined
in clause (1) multiplied by the value determined in clause (3).

(b) Effective October 1, 2011, nursing facilities located no more than one-quarter mile from
a peer group with higher limits under either subdivision 50 or 51, may receive an operating rate
adjustment. The operating payment rates of a lower-limit peer group facility must be adjusted to
be equal to those of the nearest facility in a higher-limit peer group if that facility's RUG rate with
a weight of 1.00 is higher than the lower-limit peer group facility. Peer groups are those defined in
subdivision 30. The nearest facility must be determined by the most direct driving route.

Subd. 51. Determination of other operating limit. The limit on the other operating per
diem shall be determined for each peer group. A facility's other operating per diem shall be
limited to 105 percent of the median for its peer group. A facility that is above that limit shall
have its other operating per diem reduced to the limit.

Subd. 51a. Exception allowing contracting for specialized care. (a) For rate years
beginning on or after October 1, 2016, the commissioner may negotiate increases to the
care-related limit for nursing facilities that provide specialized care, at a cost to the general
fund not to exceed $600,000 per year. The commissioner shall publish a request for proposals
annually, and may negotiate increases to the limits that shall apply for either one or two years
before the increase shall be subject to a new proposal and negotiation. The care-related limit may
be increased by up to 50 percent.

(b) In selecting facilities with which to negotiate, the commissioner shall consider:
(1) the diagnoses or other circumstances of residents in the specialized program that require

care that costs substantially more than the RUG's rates associated with those residents;
(2) the nature of the specialized program or programs offered to meet the needs of these

individuals; and
(3) outcomes achieved by the specialized program.

Subd. 52. Determination of efficiency incentive. Each facility shall be eligible for an
efficiency incentive based on its other operating per diem. A facility with an other operating
per diem that exceeds the limit in subdivision 51 shall receive no efficiency incentive. All
other facilities shall receive an incentive calculated as 50 percent times the difference between
the facility's other operating per diem and its other operating per diem limit, up to a maximum
incentive of $3.

Subd. 53. Calculation of payment rate for external fixed costs. The commissioner shall
calculate a payment rate for external fixed costs.

(a) For a facility licensed as a nursing home, the portion related to section 256.9657 shall
be equal to $8.86. For a facility licensed as both a nursing home and a boarding care home, the
portion related to section 256.9657 shall be equal to $8.86 multiplied by the result of its number
of nursing home beds divided by its total number of licensed beds.

(b) The portion related to the licensure fee under section 144.122, paragraph (d), shall be
the amount of the fee divided by actual resident days.

(c) The portion related to scholarships shall be determined under section 256B.431,
subdivision 36.

(d) The portion related to long-term care consultation shall be determined according to
section 256B.0911, subdivision 6.
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(e) The portion related to development and education of resident and family advisory
councils under section 144A.33 shall be $5 divided by 365.

(f) The portion related to planned closure rate adjustments shall be as determined under
sections 256B.436 and 256B.437, subdivision 6. Planned closure rate adjustments that take effect
before October 1, 2014, shall no longer be included in the payment rate for external fixed costs
beginning October 1, 2016. Planned closure rate adjustments that take effect on or after October
1, 2014, shall no longer be included in the payment rate for external fixed costs beginning on
October 1 of the first year not less than two years after their effective date.

(g) The portions related to property insurance, real estate taxes, special assessments, and
payments made in lieu of real estate taxes directly identified or allocated to the nursing facility
shall be the actual amounts divided by actual resident days.

(h) The portion related to the Public Employees Retirement Association shall be actual
costs divided by resident days.

(i) The single bed room incentives shall be as determined under section 256B.431,
subdivision 42. Single bed room incentives that take effect before October 1, 2014, shall no
longer be included in the payment rate for external fixed costs beginning October 1, 2016. Single
bed room incentives that take effect on or after October 1, 2014, shall no longer be included in
the payment rate for external fixed costs beginning on October 1 of the first year not less than
two years after their effective date.

(j) The payment rate for external fixed costs shall be the sum of the amounts in paragraphs
(a) to (i).

Subd. 54. Determination of total payment rates. In rate years when rates are rebased, the
total payment rate for a RUG's weight of 1.00 shall be the sum of the total care-related payment
rate, other operating payment rate, efficiency incentive, external fixed cost rate, and the property
rate determined under section 256B.434. To determine a total payment rate for each RUG's level,
the total care-related payment rate shall be divided into the direct care payment rate and the other
care-related payment rate, and the direct care payment rate multiplied by the RUG's weight for
each RUG's level using the weights in subdivision 14.

Subd. 55. Phase-in of rebased operating payment rates. (a) For the rate years beginning
October 1, 2008, to October 1, 2015, the operating payment rate calculated under this section
shall be phased in by blending the operating rate with the operating payment rate determined
under section 256B.434. For purposes of this subdivision, the rate to be used that is determined
under section 256B.434 shall not include the portion of the operating payment rate related to
performance-based incentive payments under section 256B.434, subdivision 4, paragraph (d).
For the rate year beginning October 1, 2008, the operating payment rate for each facility shall
be 13 percent of the operating payment rate from this section, and 87 percent of the operating
payment rate from section 256B.434. For the rate period from October 1, 2009, to September 30,
2013, no rate adjustments shall be implemented under this section, but shall be determined under
section 256B.434. For the rate year beginning October 1, 2013, the operating payment rate for
each facility shall be 65 percent of the operating payment rate from this section, and 35 percent of
the operating payment rate from section 256B.434. For the rate year beginning October 1, 2014,
the operating payment rate for each facility shall be 82 percent of the operating payment rate from
this section, and 18 percent of the operating payment rate from section 256B.434. For the rate
year beginning October 1, 2015, the operating payment rate for each facility shall be the operating
payment rate determined under this section. The blending of operating payment rates under this
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section shall be performed separately for each RUG's class.
(b) For the rate year beginning October 1, 2008, the commissioner shall apply limits to

the operating payment rate increases under paragraph (a) by creating a minimum percentage
increase and a maximum percentage increase.

(1) Each nursing facility that receives a blended October 1, 2008, operating payment rate
increase under paragraph (a) of less than one percent, when compared to its operating payment
rate on September 30, 2008, computed using rates with RUG's weight of 1.00, shall receive a rate
adjustment of one percent.

(2) The commissioner shall determine a maximum percentage increase that will result in
savings equal to the cost of allowing the minimum increase in clause (1). Nursing facilities with a
blended October 1, 2008, operating payment rate increase under paragraph (a) greater than the
maximum percentage increase determined by the commissioner, when compared to its operating
payment rate on September 30, 2008, computed using rates with a RUG's weight of 1.00, shall
receive the maximum percentage increase.

(3) Nursing facilities with a blended October 1, 2008, operating payment rate increase
under paragraph (a) greater than one percent and less than the maximum percentage increase
determined by the commissioner, when compared to its operating payment rate on September 30,
2008, computed using rates with a RUG's weight of 1.00, shall receive the blended October 1,
2008, operating payment rate increase determined under paragraph (a).

(4) The October 1, 2009, through October 1, 2015, operating payment rate for facilities
receiving the maximum percentage increase determined in clause (2) shall be the amount
determined under paragraph (a) less the difference between the amount determined under
paragraph (a) for October 1, 2008, and the amount allowed under clause (2). This rate restriction
does not apply to rate increases provided in any other section.

(c) A portion of the funds received under this subdivision that are in excess of operating
payment rates that a facility would have received under section 256B.434, as determined in
accordance with clauses (1) to (3), shall be subject to the requirements in section 256B.434,
subdivision 19, paragraphs (b) to (h).

(1) Determine the amount of additional funding available to a facility, which shall be equal
to total medical assistance resident days from the most recent reporting year times the difference
between the blended rate determined in paragraph (a) for the rate year being computed and
the blended rate for the prior year.

(2) Determine the portion of all operating costs, for the most recent reporting year, that are
compensation related. If this value exceeds 75 percent, use 75 percent.

(3) Subtract the amount determined in clause (2) from 75 percent.
(4) The portion of the fund received under this subdivision that shall be subject to the

requirements in section 256B.434, subdivision 19, paragraphs (b) to (h), shall equal the amount
determined in clause (1) times the amount determined in clause (3).

Subd. 55a. Alternative to phase-in for publicly owned nursing facilities. (a) For
operating payment rates implemented between October 1, 2011, and the day before the phase-in
under subdivision 55 is complete, the commissioner shall allow nursing facilities whose physical
plant is owned or whose license is held by a city, county, or hospital district to apply for a higher
payment rate under this section if the local governmental entity agrees to pay a specified portion
of the nonfederal share of medical assistance costs. Nursing facilities that apply shall be eligible
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to select an operating payment rate, with a weight of 1.00, up to the rate calculated in subdivision
54, without application of the phase-in under subdivision 55. The rates for the other RUGs shall
be computed as provided under subdivision 54.

(b) For operating payment rates implemented beginning the day when the phase-in under
subdivision 55 is complete, the commissioner shall allow nursing facilities whose physical plant
is owned or whose license is held by a city, county, or hospital district to apply for a higher
payment rate under this section if the local governmental entity agrees to pay a specified portion
of the nonfederal share of medical assistance costs. Nursing facilities that apply are eligible
to select an operating payment rate with a weight of 1.00, up to an amount determined by the
commissioner to be allowable under the Medicare upper payment limit test. The rates for the
other RUGs shall be computed under subdivision 54. The rate increase allowed in this paragraph
shall take effect only upon federal approval.

(c) Rates determined under this subdivision shall take effect beginning October 1, 2011,
based on cost reports for the reporting year ending September 30, 2010, and in future rate years,
rates determined for nursing facilities participating under this subdivision shall take effect on
October 1 of each year, based on the most recent available cost report.

(d) Eligible nursing facilities that wish to participate under this subdivision shall make an
application to the commissioner by August 31, 2011, or by June 30 of any subsequent year.

(e) For each participating nursing facility, the public entity that owns the physical plant or
is the license holder of the nursing facility shall pay to the state the entire nonfederal share of
medical assistance payments received as a result of the difference between the nursing facility's
payment rate under paragraph (a) or (b), and the rates that the nursing facility would otherwise
be paid without application of this subdivision under subdivision 54 or 55 as determined by the
commissioner.

(f) The commissioner may, at any time, reduce the payments under this subdivision based
on the commissioner's determination that the payments shall cause nursing facility rates to exceed
the state's Medicare upper payment limit or any other federal limitation. If the commissioner
determines a reduction is necessary, the commissioner shall reduce all payment rates for
participating nursing facilities by a percentage applied to the amount of increase they would
otherwise receive under this subdivision and shall notify participating facilities of the reductions.
If payments to a nursing facility are reduced, payments under section 256B.19, subdivision 1e,
shall be reduced accordingly.

[See Note.]

Subd. 56. Hold harmless. For the rate years beginning October 1, 2008, to October 1,
2016, no nursing facility shall receive an operating cost payment rate less than its operating cost
payment rate under section 256B.434. For rate years beginning between October 1, 2009, and
October 1, 2015, no nursing facility shall receive an operating payment rate less than its operating
payment rate in effect on September 30, 2009. The comparison of operating payment rates under
this section shall be made for a RUG's rate with a weight of 1.00.

Subd. 57. Appeals. Nursing facilities may appeal, as described under section 256B.50, the
determination of a payment rate established under this chapter.

Subd. 58. Implementation delay.Within six months prior to the effective date of (1)
rebasing of property payment rates under subdivision 1; (2) quality-based rate limits under
subdivision 50; and (3) the removal of planned closure rate adjustments and single bed room
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incentives from external fixed costs under subdivision 53, the commissioner shall compare the
average operating cost for all facilities combined from the most recent cost reports to the average
medical assistance operating payment rates for all facilities combined from the same time period.
Each provision shall not go into effect until the average medical assistance operating payment
rate is at least 92 percent of the average operating cost. The rebasing of property payment rates
under subdivision 1, and the removal of planned closure rate adjustments and single-bed room
incentives from external fixed costs under subdivision 53 shall not go into effect until 82 percent
of the operating payment rate from this section is phased in as described in subdivision 55.

Subd. 59. Single-bed payments for medical assistance recipients. Effective October 1,
2009, the amount paid for a private room under Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0070, subpart 3, is
reduced from 115 percent to 111.5 percent.

Subd. 60.Method for determining budget-neutral nursing facility rates for relocated
beds. (a) Nursing facility rates for bed relocations must be calculated by comparing the estimated
medical assistance costs prior to and after the proposed bed relocation using the calculations in
this subdivision. All payment rates are based on a 1.0 case mix level, with other case mix rates
determined accordingly. Nursing facility beds on layaway status that are being moved must be
included in the calculation for both the originating and receiving facility and treated as though
they were in active status with the occupancy characteristics of the active beds of the originating
facility.

(b) Medical assistance costs of the beds in the originating nursing facilities must be
calculated as follows:

(1) multiply each originating facility's total payment rate for a RUGS weight of 1.0 by the
facility's percentage of medical assistance days on its most recent available cost report;

(2) take the products in clause (1) and multiply by each facility's average case mix score for
medical assistance residents on its most recent available cost report;

(3) take the products in clause (2) and multiply by the number of beds being relocated,
times 365; and

(4) calculate the sum of the amounts determined in clause (3).

(c) Medical assistance costs in the receiving facility, prior to the bed relocation, must be
calculated as follows:

(1) multiply the facility's total payment rate for a RUGS weight of 1.0 by the medical
assistance days on the most recent cost report; and

(2) multiply the product in clause (1) by the average case mix weight of medical assistance
residents on the most recent cost report.

(d) The commissioner shall determine the medical assistance costs prior to the bed
relocation which must be the sum of the amounts determined in paragraphs (b) and (c).

(e) The commissioner shall estimate the medical assistance costs after the bed relocation
as follows:

(1) estimate the medical assistance days in the receiving facility after the bed relocation.
The commissioner may use the current medical assistance portion, or if data does not exist, may
use the statewide average, or may use the provider's estimate of the medical assistance utilization
of the relocated beds;
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(2) estimate the average case mix weight of medical assistance residents in the receiving
facility after the bed relocation. The commissioner may use current average case mix weight
or, if data does not exist, may use the statewide average, or may use the provider's estimate of
the average case mix weight; and

(3) multiply the amount determined in clause (1) by the amount determined in clause
(2) by the total payment rate for a RUGS weight of 1.0 that is the highest rate of the facilities
from which the relocated beds either originate or to which they are being relocated so long as
that rate is associated with ten percent or more of the total number of beds to be in the receiving
facility after the bed relocation.

(f) If the amount determined in paragraph (e) is less than or equal to the amount determined
in paragraph (d), the commissioner shall allow a total payment rate equal to the amount used in
paragraph (e), clause (3).

(g) If the amount determined in paragraph (e) is greater than the amount determined in
paragraph (d), the commissioner shall allow a rate with a RUGS weight of 1.0 that when used in
paragraph (e), clause (3), results in the amount determined in paragraph (e) being equal to the
amount determined in paragraph (d).

(h) If the commissioner relies upon provider estimates in paragraph (e), clause (1) or
(2), then annually, for three years after the rates determined in this subdivision take effect, the
commissioner shall determine the accuracy of the alternative factors of medical assistance case
load and RUGS weight used in this subdivision and shall reduce the total payment rate for a
RUGS weight of 1.0 if the factors used result in medical assistance costs exceeding the amount
in paragraph (d). If the actual medical assistance costs exceed the estimates by more than five
percent, the commissioner shall also recover the difference between the estimated costs in
paragraph (e) and the actual costs according to section 256B.0641. The commissioner may require
submission of data from the receiving facility needed to implement this paragraph.

(i) When beds approved for relocation are put into active service at the destination facility,
rates determined in this subdivision must be adjusted by any adjustment amounts that were
implemented after the date of the letter of approval.

Subd. 61. Rate increase for low-rate facilities. Effective October 1, 2011, operating
payment rates of all nursing facilities that are reimbursed under this section or section 256B.434
shall be increased for a resource utilization group rate with a weight of 1.00 by up to 2.45 percent,
but not to exceed for the same resource utilization group weight the rate of the facility at the 18th
percentile of all nursing facilities in the state. The percentage of the operating payment rate for
each facility to be case-mix adjusted shall be equal to the percentage that is case-mix adjusted in
that facility's operating payment rate on the preceding September 30.

Subd. 62. Repeal of rebased operating payment rates. Notwithstanding subdivision 54 or
55, no further steps toward phase-in of rebased operating payment rates shall be taken.

History: 1Sp2005 c 4 art 7 s 43; 2006 c 212 art 3 s 21; 2007 c 147 art 7 s 25-57; 2008
c 363 art 15 s 10-12; 2009 c 79 art 8 s 61-63; 2009 c 159 s 98,99; 2009 c 173 art 1 s 29;
2010 c 396 s 5; 1Sp2010 c 1 art 15 s 8; art 17 s 12; 2011 c 22 art 1 s 7; 2011 c 76 art 1 s 80;
1Sp2011 c 9 art 7 s 34-37

NOTE: Subdivision 55a, as added by Laws 2010, chapter 396, section 5, shall be
implemented only upon federal approval. The commissioner of human services shall delay the
effective date of subdivision 55a if necessary in order to avoid loss of enhanced federal Medicaid
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matching funds as authorized by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 and
extended by any subsequent law. Laws 2010, chapter 396, section 9.

256B.45 [Repealed, 1983 c 199 s 19]

256B.46 [Repealed, 1983 c 199 s 19]

256B.47 NONALLOWABLE COSTS; NOTICE OF INCREASES.

Subdivision 1. Nonallowable costs. The following costs shall not be recognized as
allowable: (1) political contributions; (2) salaries or expenses of a lobbyist, as defined in section
10A.01, subdivision 21, for lobbying activities; (3) advertising designed to encourage potential
residents to select a particular nursing facility; (4) assessments levied by the commissioner of
health for uncorrected violations; (5) legal and related expenses for unsuccessful challenges
to decisions by governmental agencies; (6) memberships in sports, health or similar social
clubs or organizations; (7) costs incurred for activities directly related to influencing employees
with respect to unionization; and (8) direct and indirect costs of providing services which are
billed separately from the nursing facility's payment rate or pursuant to Minnesota Rules, parts
9500.0750 to 9500.1080. The commissioner shall by rule exclude the costs of any other items not
directly related to the provision of resident care.

Subd. 2. Notice to residents. (a) No increase in nursing facility rates for private paying
residents shall be effective unless the nursing facility notifies the resident or person responsible
for payment of the increase in writing 30 days before the increase takes effect.

A nursing facility may adjust its rates without giving the notice required by this subdivision
when the purpose of the rate adjustment is to reflect a change in the case-mix classification
of the resident. If the state fails to set rates as required by section 256B.431, subdivision 1,
the time required for giving notice is decreased by the number of days by which the state was
late in setting the rates.

(b) If the state does not set rates by the date required in section 256B.431, subdivision 1,
nursing facilities shall meet the requirement for advance notice by informing the resident or
person responsible for payments, on or before the effective date of the increase, that a rate increase
will be effective on that date. If the exact amount has not yet been determined, the nursing facility
may raise the rates by the amount anticipated to be allowed. Any amounts collected from private
pay residents in excess of the allowable rate must be repaid to private pay residents with interest
at the rate used by the commissioner of revenue for the late payment of taxes and in effect on the
date the rate increase is effective.

Subd. 3. Allocation of costs. To ensure the avoidance of double payments as required by
section 256B.433, the direct and indirect reporting year costs of providing residents of nursing
facilities that are not hospital attached with therapy services that are billed separately from the
nursing facility payment rate or according to Minnesota Rules, parts 9500.0750 to 9500.1080,
must be determined and deducted from the appropriate cost categories of the annual cost report
as follows:

(a) The costs of wages and salaries for employees providing or participating in providing
and consultants providing services shall be allocated to the therapy service based on direct
identification.
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(b) The costs of fringe benefits and payroll taxes relating to the costs in paragraph (a) must
be allocated to the therapy service based on direct identification or the ratio of total costs in
paragraph (a) to the sum of total allowable salaries and the costs in paragraph (a).

(c) The costs of housekeeping, plant operations and maintenance, real estate taxes,
special assessments, and insurance, other than the amounts classified as a fringe benefit, must
be allocated to the therapy service based on the ratio of service area square footage to total
facility square footage.

(d) The costs of bookkeeping and medical records must be allocated to the therapy service
either by the method in paragraph (e) or based on direct identification. Direct identification may
be used if adequate documentation is provided to, and accepted by, the commissioner.

(e) The costs of administrators, bookkeeping, and medical records salaries, except as
provided in paragraph (d), must be allocated to the therapy service based on the ratio of the total
costs in paragraphs (a) to (d) to the sum of total allowable nursing facility costs and the costs in
paragraphs (a) to (d).

(f) The cost of property must be allocated to the therapy service and removed from the
nursing facility's property-related payment rate, based on the ratio of service area square footage
to total facility square footage multiplied by the property-related payment rate.

Subd. 4. Allocation of costs; hospital-attached facilities. To ensure the avoidance of
double payments as required by section 256B.433, the direct and indirect reporting year costs of
providing therapy services to residents of a hospital-attached nursing facility, when the services
are billed separately from the nursing facility's payment rate or according to Minnesota Rules,
parts 9500.0750 to 9500.1080, must be determined and deducted from the appropriate cost
categories of the annual cost report based on the Medicare step-down as prepared in accordance
with instructions provided by the commissioner.

History: 1976 c 282 s 7; 1977 c 305 s 45; 1977 c 326 s 15,16; 1979 c 35 s 1; 1980 c 570 s
2; 1982 c 424 s 130; 1983 c 199 s 13; 1987 c 403 art 2 s 91-93; 1989 c 282 art 3 s 79; 1992 c 513
art 7 s 136; 1Sp1993 c 1 art 5 s 102; 1999 c 220 s 50; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 3 s 44,45

256B.48 CONDITIONS FOR PARTICIPATION.

Subdivision 1. Prohibited practices. A nursing facility is not eligible to receive medical
assistance payments unless it refrains from all of the following:

(a) Charging private paying residents rates for similar services which exceed those
which are approved by the state agency for medical assistance recipients as determined by the
prospective desk audit rate, except under the following circumstances: the nursing facility may (1)
charge private paying residents a higher rate for a private room, and (2) charge for special services
which are not included in the daily rate if medical assistance residents are charged separately at
the same rate for the same services in addition to the daily rate paid by the commissioner. Services
covered by the payment rate must be the same regardless of payment source. Special services, if
offered, must be available to all residents in all areas of the nursing facility and charged separately
at the same rate. Residents are free to select or decline special services. Special services must not
include services which must be provided by the nursing facility in order to comply with licensure
or certification standards and that if not provided would result in a deficiency or violation by the
nursing facility. Services beyond those required to comply with licensure or certification standards
must not be charged separately as a special service if they were included in the payment rate for
the previous reporting year. A nursing facility that charges a private paying resident a rate in
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violation of this clause is subject to an action by the state of Minnesota or any of its subdivisions
or agencies for civil damages. A private paying resident or the resident's legal representative has a
cause of action for civil damages against a nursing facility that charges the resident rates in
violation of this clause. The damages awarded shall include three times the payments that result
from the violation, together with costs and disbursements, including reasonable attorneys' fees
or their equivalent. A private paying resident or the resident's legal representative, the state,
subdivision or agency, or a nursing facility may request a hearing to determine the allowed rate or
rates at issue in the cause of action. Within 15 calendar days after receiving a request for such a
hearing, the commissioner shall request assignment of an administrative law judge under sections
14.48 to 14.56 to conduct the hearing as soon as possible or according to agreement by the
parties. The administrative law judge shall issue a report within 15 calendar days following the
close of the hearing. The prohibition set forth in this clause shall not apply to facilities licensed as
boarding care facilities which are not certified as skilled or intermediate care facilities level I or II
for reimbursement through medical assistance.

(b)(1) Charging, soliciting, accepting, or receiving from an applicant for admission to the
facility, or from anyone acting in behalf of the applicant, as a condition of admission, expediting
the admission, or as a requirement for the individual's continued stay, any fee, deposit, gift,
money, donation, or other consideration not otherwise required as payment under the state plan;

(2) requiring an individual, or anyone acting in behalf of the individual, to loan any money
to the nursing facility;

(3) requiring an individual, or anyone acting in behalf of the individual, to promise to leave
all or part of the individual's estate to the facility; or

(4) requiring a third-party guarantee of payment to the facility as a condition of admission,
expedited admission, or continued stay in the facility.

Nothing in this paragraph would prohibit discharge for nonpayment of services in accordance
with state and federal regulations.

(c) Requiring any resident of the nursing facility to utilize a vendor of health care services
chosen by the nursing facility. A nursing facility may require a resident to use pharmacies that
utilize unit dose packing systems approved by the Minnesota Board of Pharmacy, and may require
a resident to use pharmacies that are able to meet the federal regulations for safe and timely
administration of medications such as systems with specific number of doses, prompt delivery
of medications, or access to medications on a 24-hour basis. Notwithstanding the provisions of
this paragraph, nursing facilities shall not restrict a resident's choice of pharmacy because the
pharmacy utilizes a specific system of unit dose drug packing.

(d) Providing differential treatment on the basis of status with regard to public assistance.

(e) Discriminating in admissions, services offered, or room assignment on the basis of status
with regard to public assistance or refusal to purchase special services. Admissions discrimination
shall include, but is not limited to:

(1) basing admissions decisions upon assurance by the applicant to the nursing facility,
or the applicant's guardian or conservator, that the applicant is neither eligible for nor will seek
public assistance for payment of nursing facility care costs; and

(2) engaging in preferential selection from waiting lists based on an applicant's ability to
pay privately or an applicant's refusal to pay for a special service.
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The collection and use by a nursing facility of financial information of any applicant
pursuant to a preadmission screening program established by law shall not raise an inference that
the nursing facility is utilizing that information for any purpose prohibited by this paragraph.

(f) Requiring any vendor of medical care as defined by section 256B.02, subdivision 7,
who is reimbursed by medical assistance under a separate fee schedule, to pay any amount based
on utilization or service levels or any portion of the vendor's fee to the nursing facility except
as payment for renting or leasing space or equipment or purchasing support services from
the nursing facility as limited by section 256B.433. All agreements must be disclosed to the
commissioner upon request of the commissioner. Nursing facilities and vendors of ancillary
services that are found to be in violation of this provision shall each be subject to an action by the
state of Minnesota or any of its subdivisions or agencies for treble civil damages on the portion
of the fee in excess of that allowed by this provision and section 256B.433. Damages awarded
must include three times the excess payments together with costs and disbursements including
reasonable attorney's fees or their equivalent.

(g) Refusing, for more than 24 hours, to accept a resident returning to the same bed or a bed
certified for the same level of care, in accordance with a physician's order authorizing transfer,
after receiving inpatient hospital services.

For a period not to exceed 180 days, the commissioner may continue to make medical
assistance payments to a nursing facility or boarding care home which is in violation of this
section if extreme hardship to the residents would result. In these cases the commissioner shall
issue an order requiring the nursing facility to correct the violation. The nursing facility shall have
20 days from its receipt of the order to correct the violation. If the violation is not corrected
within the 20-day period the commissioner may reduce the payment rate to the nursing facility by
up to 20 percent. The amount of the payment rate reduction shall be related to the severity of
the violation and shall remain in effect until the violation is corrected. The nursing facility or
boarding care home may appeal the commissioner's action pursuant to the provisions of chapter
14 pertaining to contested cases. An appeal shall be considered timely if written notice of appeal
is received by the commissioner within 20 days of notice of the commissioner's proposed action.

In the event that the commissioner determines that a nursing facility is not eligible for
reimbursement for a resident who is eligible for medical assistance, the commissioner may
authorize the nursing facility to receive reimbursement on a temporary basis until the resident can
be relocated to a participating nursing facility.

Certified beds in facilities which do not allow medical assistance intake on July 1, 1984, or
after shall be deemed to be decertified for purposes of section 144A.071 only.

Subd. 1a. Termination. If a nursing facility terminates its participation in the medical
assistance program, whether voluntarily or involuntarily, the commissioner may authorize the
nursing facility to receive continued medical assistance reimbursement until medical assistance
residents can be relocated to nursing facilities participating in the medical assistance program.

Subd. 1b. Exception. Notwithstanding any agreement between a nursing facility and the
Department of Human Services or the provisions of this section or section 256B.411, other
than subdivision 1a, the commissioner may authorize continued medical assistance payments to
a nursing facility which ceased intake of medical assistance recipients prior to July 1, 1983,
and which charges private paying residents rates that exceed those permitted by subdivision
1, paragraph (a), for (i) residents who resided in the nursing facility before July 1, 1983, or
(ii) residents for whom the commissioner or any predecessors of the commissioner granted a
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permanent individual waiver prior to October 1, 1983. Nursing facilities seeking continued
medical assistance payments under this subdivision shall make the reports required under
subdivision 2, except that on or after December 31, 1985, the financial statements required need
not be audited by or contain the opinion of a certified public accountant or licensed public
accountant, but need only be reviewed by a certified public accountant or licensed public
accountant. In the event that the state is determined by the federal government to be no longer
eligible for the federal share of medical assistance payments made to a nursing facility under this
subdivision, the commissioner may cease medical assistance payments, under this subdivision, to
that nursing facility.

Subd. 1c. Case mix rate for provider with addendum to provider agreement. A
nursing facility with an addendum to its provider agreement effective beginning July 1, 1983,
or September 24, 1985, shall have its payment rates established by the commissioner under this
subdivision. To save medical assistance resources, for rate years beginning after July 1, 1991, the
provider's payment rates shall be the payment rates established by the commissioner July 1, 1990,
multiplied by a 12-month inflation factor based on the forecasted inflation between the midpoints
of rate years using the inflation index applied by the commissioner to other nursing facilities.

The provider and the Department of Health shall complete case mix assessments under
Minnesota Rules, chapter 4656, and parts 9549.0058 and 9549.0059, on only those residents
receiving medical assistance. The commissioner of health may audit and verify the limited
provider assessments at any time.

Subd. 2. Reporting requirements. No later than December 31 of each year, a skilled
nursing facility or intermediate care facility, including boarding care facilities, which receives
medical assistance payments or other reimbursements from the state agency shall:

(1) provide the state agency with a copy of its audited financial statements. The audited
financial statements must include a balance sheet, income statement, statement of the rate or rates
charged to private paying residents, statement of retained earnings, statement of cash flows,
notes to the financial statements, audited applicable supplemental information, and the certified
public accountant's or licensed public accountant's opinion. The examination by the certified
public accountant or licensed public accountant shall be conducted in accordance with generally
accepted auditing standards as promulgated and adopted by the American Institute of Certified
Public Accountants. Beginning with the reporting year which begins October 1, 1992, a nursing
facility is no longer required to have a certified audit of its financial statements. The cost of a
certified audit shall not be an allowable cost in that reporting year, nor in subsequent reporting
years unless the nursing facility submits its certified audited financial statements in the manner
otherwise specified in this subdivision. A nursing facility which does not submit a certified
audit must submit its working trial balance;

(2) provide the state agency with a statement of ownership for the facility;

(3) provide the state agency with separate, audited financial statements as specified in
clause (1) for every other facility owned in whole or part by an individual or entity which has an
ownership interest in the facility;

(4) upon request, provide the state agency with separate, audited financial statements
as specified in clause (1) for every organization with which the facility conducts business and
which is owned in whole or in part by an individual or entity which has an ownership interest
in the facility;
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(5) provide the state agency with copies of leases, purchase agreements, and other
documents related to the lease or purchase of the nursing facility;

(6) upon request, provide the state agency with copies of leases, purchase agreements, and
other documents related to the acquisition of equipment, goods, and services which are claimed as
allowable costs; and

(7) permit access by the state agency to the certified public accountant's and licensed
public accountant's audit work papers which support the audited financial statements required
in clauses (1), (3), and (4).

Documents or information provided to the state agency pursuant to this subdivision shall
be public. If the requirements of clauses (1) to (7) are not met, the reimbursement rate may be
reduced to 80 percent of the rate in effect on the first day of the fourth calendar month after the
close of the reporting year, and the reduction shall continue until the requirements are met.

Both nursing facilities and intermediate care facilities for the developmentally disabled
must maintain statistical and accounting records in sufficient detail to support information
contained in the facility's cost report for at least six years, including the year following the
submission of the cost report. For computerized accounting systems, the records must include
copies of electronically generated media such as magnetic discs and tapes.

Subd. 3. Incomplete or inaccurate reports. The commissioner may reject any annual cost
report filed by a nursing facility pursuant to this chapter if the commissioner determines that the
report or the information required in subdivision 2, clause (1), has been filed in a form that
is incomplete or inaccurate. In the event that a report is rejected pursuant to this subdivision,
the commissioner shall reduce the reimbursement rate to a nursing facility to 80 percent of its
most recently established rate until the information is completely and accurately filed. The
reinstatement of the total reimbursement rate is retroactive.

Subd. 3a. Audit adjustments. If the commissioner requests supporting documentation
during an audit for an item of cost reported by a long-term care facility, and the long-term care
facility's response does not adequately document the item of cost, the commissioner may make
reasoned assumptions considered appropriate in the absence of the requested documentation to
reasonably establish a payment rate rather than disallow the entire item of cost. This provision
shall not diminish the long-term care facility's appeal rights.

Subd. 4. Extensions. The commissioner may grant up to a 15-day extension of the reporting
deadline to a nursing facility for good cause. To receive such an extension, a nursing facility shall
submit a written request by December 1. The commissioner will notify the nursing facility of
the decision by December 15. Between December 1 and December 31, the nursing facility may
request a reporting extension for good cause by telephone and followed by a written request.

Subd. 5. False reports. If a nursing facility knowingly supplies inaccurate or false
information in a required report that results in an overpayment, the commissioner shall:

(1) immediately adjust the nursing facility's payment rate to recover the entire overpayment
within the rate year; or

(2) terminate the commissioner's agreement with the nursing facility; or

(3) prosecute under applicable state or federal law; or

(4) use any combination of the foregoing actions.
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Subd. 6.Medicare certification. (a) For purposes of this subdivision, "nursing facility"
means a nursing facility that is certified as a skilled nursing facility or, after September 30, 1990,
a nursing facility licensed under chapter 144A that is certified as a nursing facility.

(b) All nursing facilities shall participate in Medicare Part A and Part B unless, after
submitting an application, Medicare certification is denied by the federal Centers for Medicare
and Medicaid Services. Medicare review shall be conducted at the time of the annual medical
assistance review. Charges for Medicare-covered services provided to residents who are
simultaneously eligible for medical assistance and Medicare must be billed to Medicare Part A or
Part B before billing medical assistance. Medical assistance may be billed only for charges not
reimbursed by Medicare.

(c) After September 30, 1990, a nursing facility satisfies the requirements of paragraph
(b) if at least 50 percent of the facility's beds certified as nursing facility beds under the medical
assistance program are Medicare certified.

(d) At the request of a facility, the commissioner of human services may reduce the 50
percent Medicare participation requirement in paragraph (c) to no less than 20 percent if the
commissioner of health determines that, due to the facility's physical plant configuration, the
facility cannot satisfy Medicare distinct part requirements at the 50 percent certification level. To
receive a reduction in the participation requirement, a facility must demonstrate that the reduction
will not adversely affect access of Medicare-eligible residents to Medicare-certified beds.

(e) The commissioner may grant exceptions to the requirements of paragraph (b) for nursing
facilities that are designated as institutions for mental disease.

(f) The commissioner shall inform recipients of their rights under this subdivision and
section 144.651, subdivision 29.

Subd. 7. Refund of excess charges. Any nursing facility which has charged a resident a
rate for a case-mix classification upon admission which is in excess of the rate for the case-mix
classification established by the commissioner of health and effective on the date of admission,
must refund the amount of charge in excess of the rate for the case-mix classification established
by the commissioner of health and effective on the date of admission. Refunds must be credited
to the next monthly billing or refunded within 15 days of receipt of the classification notice
from the Department of Health. Failure to refund the excess charge shall be considered to be
a violation of this section.

Subd. 8. Notification to a spouse or health care agent.When a private pay resident who
has not yet been screened by the preadmission screening team is admitted to a nursing facility
or boarding care facility, the nursing facility or boarding care facility must notify the resident
and the resident's spouse or health care agent of the following:

(1) their right to retain certain resources under sections 256B.0575, 256B.058, 256B.059,
256B.0595, and 256B.14, subdivision 2; and

(2) that the federal Medicare hospital insurance benefits program covers posthospital
extended care services in a qualified skilled nursing facility for up to 150 days and that there are
several limitations on this benefit. The resident and the resident's family or health care agent
must be informed about all mechanisms to appeal limitations imposed under this federal benefit
program.

This notice may be included in the nursing facility's or boarding care facility's admission
agreement and must clearly explain what resources the resident and spouse may retain if the

Copyright © 2011 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



428 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2011 256B.49

resident applies for medical assistance. The Department of Human Services must notify nursing
facilities and boarding care facilities of changes in the determination of medical assistance
eligibility that relate to resources retained by a resident and the resident's spouse.

The preadmission screening team has primary responsibility for informing all private pay
applicants to a nursing facility or boarding care facility of the resources the resident and spouse
may retain.

Subd. 9. [Repealed, 2000 c 449 s 15]

History: 1976 c 282 s 8; 1977 c 309 s 1; 1977 c 326 s 17; 1978 c 674 s 28; 1983 c 199 s
14; 1984 c 640 s 32; 1984 c 641 s 23; 1Sp1985 c 3 s 31; 1Sp1985 c 9 art 2 s 50-52; 1986 c 420
s 11,12; 1986 c 444; 1987 c 364 s 1; 1987 c 403 art 2 s 94; 1989 c 282 art 3 s 80-82; 1990 c
568 art 3 s 74,75; 1990 c 599 s 2; 1991 c 199 art 2 s 1; 1991 c 292 art 7 s 6; 1992 c 513 art 7 s
108-113,136; 1993 c 339 s 21; 1Sp1993 c 1 art 5 s 103,104; 1999 c 245 art 3 s 26-29; art 4 s 67;
2002 c 277 s 32; 2005 c 56 s 1; 2009 c 108 s 10

256B.49 HOME AND COMMUNITY-BASED SERVICE WAIVERS FOR DISABLED.

Subdivision 1. [Repealed, 1Sp2001 c 9 art 3 s 76]

Subd. 2. [Repealed, 1Sp2001 c 9 art 3 s 76]

Subd. 3. [Repealed, 1Sp2001 c 9 art 3 s 76]

Subd. 4. [Repealed, 1Sp2001 c 9 art 3 s 76]

Subd. 5. [Repealed, 1Sp2001 c 9 art 3 s 76]

Subd. 6. [Repealed, 1Sp2001 c 9 art 3 s 76]

Subd. 7. [Repealed, 1Sp2001 c 9 art 3 s 76]

Subd. 8. [Repealed, 1Sp2001 c 9 art 3 s 76]

Subd. 9. [Repealed, 1Sp2001 c 9 art 3 s 76]

Subd. 10. [Repealed, 1Sp2001 c 9 art 3 s 76]

Subd. 11. Authority. (a) The commissioner is authorized to apply for home and
community-based service waivers, as authorized under section 1915(c) of the Social Security Act
to serve persons under the age of 65 who are determined to require the level of care provided in a
nursing home and persons who require the level of care provided in a hospital. The commissioner
shall apply for the home and community-based waivers in order to:

(i) promote the support of persons with disabilities in the most integrated settings;

(ii) expand the availability of services for persons who are eligible for medical assistance;

(iii) promote cost-effective options to institutional care; and

(iv) obtain federal financial participation.

(b) The provision of waivered services to medical assistance recipients with disabilities
shall comply with the requirements outlined in the federally approved applications for home and
community-based services and subsequent amendments, including provision of services according
to a service plan designed to meet the needs of the individual. For purposes of this section, the
approved home and community-based application is considered the necessary federal requirement.
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(c) The commissioner shall provide interested persons serving on agency advisory
committees, task forces, the Centers for Independent Living, and others who request to be on a
list to receive, notice of, and an opportunity to comment on, at least 30 days before any effective
dates, (1) any substantive changes to the state's disability services program manual, or (2) changes
or amendments to the federally approved applications for home and community-based waivers,
prior to their submission to the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.

(d) The commissioner shall seek approval, as authorized under section 1915(c) of the Social
Security Act, to allow medical assistance eligibility under this section for children under age 21
without deeming of parental income or assets.

(e) The commissioner shall seek approval, as authorized under section 1915(c) of the
Social Act, to allow medical assistance eligibility under this section for individuals under age 65
without deeming the spouse's income or assets.

Subd. 11a.Waivered services statewide priorities. (a) The commissioner shall establish
statewide priorities for individuals on the waiting list for community alternative care, community
alternatives for disabled individuals, and traumatic brain injury waiver services, as of January 1,
2010. The statewide priorities must include, but are not limited to, individuals who continue to
have a need for waiver services after they have maximized the use of state plan services and other
funding resources, including natural supports, prior to accessing waiver services, and who meet at
least one of the following criteria:

(1) have unstable living situations due to the age, incapacity, or sudden loss of the primary
caregivers;

(2) are moving from an institution due to bed closures;
(3) experience a sudden closure of their current living arrangement;
(4) require protection from confirmed abuse, neglect, or exploitation;
(5) experience a sudden change in need that can no longer be met through state plan

services or other funding resources alone; or
(6) meet other priorities established by the department.
(b) When allocating resources to lead agencies, the commissioner must take into

consideration the number of individuals waiting who meet statewide priorities and the lead
agencies' current use of waiver funds and existing service options.

(c) The commissioner shall evaluate the impact of the use of statewide priorities and
provide recommendations to the legislature on whether to continue the use of statewide priorities
in the November 1, 2011, annual report required by the commissioner in sections 256B.0916,
subdivision 7, and 256B.49, subdivision 21.

Subd. 12. Informed choice. Persons who are determined likely to require the level of
care provided in a nursing facility as determined under section 256B.0911 or a hospital shall be
informed of the home and community-based support alternatives to the provision of inpatient
hospital services or nursing facility services. Each person must be given the choice of either
institutional or home and community-based services using the provisions described in section
256B.77, subdivision 2, paragraph (p).

Subd. 13. Case management. (a) Each recipient of a home and community-based waiver
shall be provided case management services by qualified vendors as described in the federally
approved waiver application. The case management service activities provided will include:
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(1) assessing the needs of the individual within 20 working days of a recipient's request;
(2) developing the written individual service plan within ten working days after the

assessment is completed;
(3) informing the recipient or the recipient's legal guardian or conservator of service options;
(4) assisting the recipient in the identification of potential service providers;
(5) assisting the recipient to access services;
(6) coordinating, evaluating, and monitoring of the services identified in the service plan;
(7) completing the annual reviews of the service plan; and
(8) informing the recipient or legal representative of the right to have assessments completed

and service plans developed within specified time periods, and to appeal county action or inaction
under section 256.045, subdivision 3, including the determination of nursing facility level of care.

(b) The case manager may delegate certain aspects of the case management service
activities to another individual provided there is oversight by the case manager. The case manager
may not delegate those aspects which require professional judgment including assessments,
reassessments, and care plan development.

Subd. 14. Assessment and reassessment. (a) Assessments of each recipient's strengths,
informal support systems, and need for services shall be completed within 20 working days of the
recipient's request as provided in section 256B.0911. Reassessment of each recipient's strengths,
support systems, and need for services shall be conducted at least every 12 months and at other
times when there has been a significant change in the recipient's functioning.

(b) There must be a determination that the client requires a hospital level of care or a
nursing facility level of care as defined in section 256B.0911, subdivision 4a, paragraph (d), at
initial and subsequent assessments to initiate and maintain participation in the waiver program.

(c) Regardless of other assessments identified in section 144.0724, subdivision 4, as
appropriate to determine nursing facility level of care for purposes of medical assistance payment
for nursing facility services, only face-to-face assessments conducted according to section
256B.0911, subdivisions 3a, 3b, and 4d, that result in a hospital level of care determination or a
nursing facility level of care determination must be accepted for purposes of initial and ongoing
access to waiver services payment.

(d) Persons with developmental disabilities who apply for services under the nursing
facility level waiver programs shall be screened for the appropriate level of care according to
section 256B.092.

(e) Recipients who are found eligible for home and community-based services under this
section before their 65th birthday may remain eligible for these services after their 65th birthday
if they continue to meet all other eligibility factors.

(f) The commissioner shall develop criteria to identify recipients whose level of functioning
is reasonably expected to improve and reassess these recipients to establish a baseline assessment.
Recipients who meet these criteria must have a comprehensive transitional service plan developed
under subdivision 15, paragraphs (b) and (c), and be reassessed every six months until there has
been no significant change in the recipient's functioning for at least 12 months. After there has
been no significant change in the recipient's functioning for at least 12 months, reassessments of
the recipient's strengths, informal support systems, and need for services shall be conducted at
least every 12 months and at other times when there has been a significant change in the recipient's
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functioning. Counties, case managers, and service providers are responsible for conducting these
reassessments and shall complete the reassessments out of existing funds.

[See Note.]

Subd. 15. Individualized service plan; comprehensive transitional service plan;
maintenance service plan. (a) Each recipient of home and community-based waivered services
shall be provided a copy of the written service plan which:

(1) is developed and signed by the recipient within ten working days of the completion of
the assessment;

(2) meets the assessed needs of the recipient;

(3) reasonably ensures the health and safety of the recipient;

(4) promotes independence;

(5) allows for services to be provided in the most integrated settings; and

(6) provides for an informed choice, as defined in section 256B.77, subdivision 2, paragraph
(p), of service and support providers.

(b) In developing the comprehensive transitional service plan, the individual receiving
services, the case manager, and the guardian, if applicable, will identify the transitional service
plan fundamental service outcome and anticipated timeline to achieve this outcome. Within the
first 20 days following a recipient's request for an assessment or reassessment, the transitional
service planning team must be identified. A team leader must be identified who will be responsible
for assigning responsibility and communicating with team members to ensure implementation of
the transition plan and ongoing assessment and communication process. The team leader should
be an individual, such as the case manager or guardian, who has the opportunity to follow the
recipient to the next level of service.

Within ten days following an assessment, a comprehensive transitional service plan
must be developed incorporating elements of a comprehensive functional assessment and
including short-term measurable outcomes and timelines for achievement of and reporting on
these outcomes. Functional milestones must also be identified and reported according to the
timelines agreed upon by the transitional service planning team. In addition, the comprehensive
transitional service plan must identify additional supports that may assist in the achievement of
the fundamental service outcome such as the development of greater natural community support,
increased collaboration among agencies, and technological supports.

The timelines for reporting on functional milestones will prompt a reassessment of services
provided, the units of services, rates, and appropriate service providers. It is the responsibility of
the transitional service planning team leader to review functional milestone reporting to determine
if the milestones are consistent with observable skills and that milestone achievement prompts
any needed changes to the comprehensive transitional service plan.

For those whose fundamental transitional service outcome involves the need to procure
housing, a plan for the recipient to seek the resources necessary to secure the least restrictive
housing possible should be incorporated into the plan, including employment and public supports
such as housing access and shelter needy funding.

(c) Counties and other agencies responsible for funding community placement and ongoing
community supportive services are responsible for the implementation of the comprehensive

Copyright © 2011 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



432 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2011 256B.49

transitional service plans. Oversight responsibilities include both ensuring effective transitional
service delivery and efficient utilization of funding resources.

(d) Following one year of transitional services, the transitional services planning team will
make a determination as to whether or not the individual receiving services requires the current
level of continuous and consistent support in order to maintain the recipient's current level of
functioning. Recipients who are determined to have not had a significant change in functioning
for 12 months must move from a transitional to a maintenance service plan. Recipients on a
maintenance service plan must be reassessed to determine if the recipient would benefit from
a transitional service plan at least every 12 months and at other times when there has been a
significant change in the recipient's functioning. This assessment should consider any changes to
technological or natural community supports.

(e) When a county is evaluating denials, reductions, or terminations of home and
community-based services under section 256B.49 for an individual, the case manager shall offer
to meet with the individual or the individual's guardian in order to discuss the prioritization of
service needs within the individualized service plan, comprehensive transitional service plan,
or maintenance service plan. The reduction in the authorized services for an individual due to
changes in funding for waivered services may not exceed the amount needed to ensure medically
necessary services to meet the individual's health, safety, and welfare.

(f) At the time of reassessment, local agency case managers shall assess each recipient of
community alternatives for disabled individuals or traumatic brain injury waivered services
currently residing in a licensed adult foster home that is not the primary residence of the license
holder, or in which the license holder is not the primary caregiver, to determine if that recipient
could appropriately be served in a community-living setting. If appropriate for the recipient, the
case manager shall offer the recipient, through a person-centered planning process, the option to
receive alternative housing and service options. In the event that the recipient chooses to transfer
from the adult foster home, the vacated bed shall not be filled with another recipient of waiver
services and group residential housing, unless provided under section 245A.03, subdivision
7, paragraph (a), clauses (3) and (4), and the licensed capacity shall be reduced accordingly.
If the adult foster home becomes no longer viable due to these transfers, the county agency,
with the assistance of the department, shall facilitate a consolidation of settings or closure. This
reassessment process shall be completed by June 30, 2012.

[See Note.]

Subd. 16. Services and supports. (a) Services and supports included in the home and
community-based waivers for persons with disabilities shall meet the requirements set out
in United States Code, title 42, section 1396n. The services and supports, which are offered
as alternatives to institutional care, shall promote consumer choice, community inclusion,
self-sufficiency, and self-determination.

(b) Beginning January 1, 2003, the commissioner shall simplify and improve access to
home and community-based waivered services, to the extent possible, through the establishment
of a common service menu that is available to eligible recipients regardless of age, disability type,
or waiver program.

(c) Consumer directed community support services shall be offered as an option to all
persons eligible for services under subdivision 11, by January 1, 2002.

(d) Services and supports shall be arranged and provided consistent with individualized
written plans of care for eligible waiver recipients.
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(e) A transitional supports allowance shall be available to all persons under a home and
community-based waiver who are moving from a licensed setting to a community setting.
"Transitional supports allowance" means a onetime payment of up to $3,000, to cover the costs,
not covered by other sources, associated with moving from a licensed setting to a community
setting. Covered costs include:

(1) lease or rent deposits;
(2) security deposits;
(3) utilities setup costs, including telephone;
(4) essential furnishings and supplies; and
(5) personal supports and transports needed to locate and transition to community settings.
(f) The state of Minnesota and county agencies that administer home and community-based

waivered services for persons with disabilities, shall not be liable for damages, injuries,
or liabilities sustained through the purchase of supports by the individual, the individual's
family, legal representative, or the authorized representative with funds received through the
consumer-directed community support service under this section. Liabilities include but are not
limited to: workers' compensation liability, the Federal Insurance Contributions Act (FICA), or
the Federal Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA).

Subd. 16a.Medical assistance reimbursement. (a) The commissioner shall seek federal
approval for medical assistance reimbursement of independent living skills services, foster care
waiver service, supported employment, prevocational service, and structured day service under
the home and community-based waiver for persons with a traumatic brain injury, the community
alternatives for disabled individuals waivers, and the community alternative care waivers.

(b) Medical reimbursement shall be made only when the provider demonstrates evidence of
its capacity to meet basic health, safety, and protection standards through the following methods:

(1) for independent living skills services, supported employment, prevocational service,
and structured day service through one of the methods in paragraphs (c) and (d); and

(2) for foster care waiver services through the method in paragraph (e).
(c) The provider is licensed to provide services under chapter 245B and agrees to apply

these standards to services funded through the traumatic brain injury, community alternatives for
disabled persons, or community alternative care home and community-based waivers.

(d) The commissioner shall certify that the provider has policies and procedures governing
the following:

(1) protection of the consumer's rights and privacy;
(2) risk assessment and planning;
(3) record keeping and reporting of incidents and emergencies with documentation of

corrective action if needed;
(4) service outcomes, regular reviews of progress, and periodic reports;
(5) complaint and grievance procedures;
(6) service termination or suspension;
(7) necessary training and supervision of direct care staff that includes:
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(i) documentation in personnel files of 20 hours of orientation training in providing training
related to service provision;

(ii) training in recognizing the symptoms and effects of certain disabilities, health
conditions, and positive behavioral supports and interventions;

(iii) a minimum of five hours of related training annually; and
(iv) when applicable:
(A) safe medication administration;
(B) proper handling of consumer funds; and
(C) compliance with prohibitions and standards developed by the commissioner to

satisfy federal requirements regarding the use of restraints and restrictive interventions. The
commissioner shall review at least biennially that each service provider's policies and procedures
governing basic health, safety, and protection of rights continue to meet minimum standards.

(e) The commissioner shall seek federal approval for Medicaid reimbursement of foster
care services under the home and community-based waiver for persons with a traumatic brain
injury, the community alternatives for disabled individuals waiver, and community alternative
care waiver when the provider demonstrates evidence of its capacity to meet basic health, safety,
and protection standards. The commissioner shall verify that the adult foster care provider
is licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts 9555.5105 to 9555.6265; that the child foster care
provider is licensed as a family foster care or a foster care residence under Minnesota Rules, parts
2960.3000 to 2960.3340, and certify that the provider has policies and procedures that govern:

(1) compliance with prohibitions and standards developed by the commissioner to meet
federal requirements regarding the use of restraints and restrictive interventions;

(2) documentation of service needs and outcomes, regular reviews of progress, and periodic
reports; and

(3) safe medication management and administration.
The commissioner shall review at least biennially that each service provider's policies and
procedures governing basic health, safety, and protection of rights standards continue to meet
minimum standards.

(f) The commissioner shall seek federal waiver approval for Medicaid reimbursement
of family adult day services under all disability waivers. After the waiver is granted, the
commissioner shall include family adult day services in the common services menu that is
currently under development.

Subd. 17. Cost of services and supports. (a) The commissioner shall ensure that the
average per capita expenditures estimated in any fiscal year for home and community-based
waiver recipients does not exceed the average per capita expenditures that would have been made
to provide institutional services for recipients in the absence of the waiver.

(b) The commissioner shall implement on January 1, 2002, one or more aggregate,
need-based methods for allocating to local agencies the home and community-based waivered
service resources available to support recipients with disabilities in need of the level of care
provided in a nursing facility or a hospital. The commissioner shall allocate resources to single
counties and county partnerships in a manner that reflects consideration of:

(1) an incentive-based payment process for achieving outcomes;
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(2) the need for a state-level risk pool;
(3) the need for retention of management responsibility at the state agency level; and
(4) a phase-in strategy as appropriate.
(c) Until the allocation methods described in paragraph (b) are implemented, the annual

allowable reimbursement level of home and community-based waiver services shall be the
greater of:

(1) the statewide average payment amount which the recipient is assigned under the waiver
reimbursement system in place on June 30, 2001, modified by the percentage of any provider rate
increase appropriated for home and community-based services; or

(2) an amount approved by the commissioner based on the recipient's extraordinary
needs that cannot be met within the current allowable reimbursement level. The increased
reimbursement level must be necessary to allow the recipient to be discharged from an institution
or to prevent imminent placement in an institution. The additional reimbursement may be used to
secure environmental modifications; assistive technology and equipment; and increased costs
for supervision, training, and support services necessary to address the recipient's extraordinary
needs. The commissioner may approve an increased reimbursement level for up to one year of
the recipient's relocation from an institution or up to six months of a determination that a current
waiver recipient is at imminent risk of being placed in an institution.

(d) Beginning July 1, 2001, medically necessary private duty nursing services will be
authorized under this section as complex and regular care according to sections 256B.0651 to
256B.0656 and 256B.0659. The rate established by the commissioner for registered nurse or
licensed practical nurse services under any home and community-based waiver as of January 1,
2001, shall not be reduced.

(e) Notwithstanding section 252.28, subdivision 3, paragraph (d), if the 2009 legislature
adopts a rate reduction that impacts payment to providers of adult foster care services, the
commissioner may issue adult foster care licenses that permit a capacity of five adults. The
application for a five-bed license must meet the requirements of section 245A.11, subdivision 2a.
Prior to admission of the fifth recipient of adult foster care services, the county must negotiate
a revised per diem rate for room and board and waiver services that reflects the legislated rate
reduction and results in an overall average per diem reduction for all foster care recipients in
that home. The revised per diem must allow the provider to maintain, as much as possible, the
level of services or enhanced services provided in the residence, while mitigating the losses of
the legislated rate reduction.

Subd. 18. Payments. The commissioner shall reimburse approved vendors from the
medical assistance account for the costs of providing home and community-based services
to eligible recipients using the invoice processing procedures of the Medicaid management
information system (MMIS). Recipients will be screened and authorized for services according to
the federally approved waiver application and its subsequent amendments.

Subd. 19. Health and welfare. The commissioner of human services shall take the
necessary safeguards to protect the health and welfare of individuals provided services under
the waiver.

Subd. 20. Traumatic brain injury and related conditions. The commissioner shall seek
to amend the traumatic brain injury waiver to include, as eligible persons, individuals with an
acquired or degenerative disease diagnosis where cognitive impairment is present, such as
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multiple sclerosis.

Subd. 21. Report. The commissioner shall expand on the annual report required under
section 256B.0916, subdivision 7, to include information on the county of residence and financial
responsibility, age, and major diagnoses for persons eligible for the home and community-based
waivers authorized under subdivision 11 who are:

(1) receiving those services;

(2) screened and waiting for waiver services; and

(3) residing in nursing facilities and are under age 65.

Subd. 22. Residential support services. For the purposes of this section, the provisions of
section 256B.092, subdivision 11, are controlling.

Subd. 23. Community-living settings. "Community-living settings" means a single-family
home or apartment where the service recipient or their family owns or rents, as demonstrated
by a lease agreement, and maintains control over the individual unit. Community-living settings
are subject to the following:

(1) individuals are not required to receive services;

(2) individuals are not required to have a disability or specific diagnosis to live in the
community-living setting;

(3) individuals may hire service providers of their choice;

(4) individuals may choose whether to share their household and with whom;

(5) the home or apartment must include living, sleeping, bathing, and cooking areas;

(6) individuals must have lockable access and egress;

(7) individuals must be free to receive visitors and leave the settings at times and for
durations of their own choosing;

(8) leases must not reserve the right to assign units or change unit assignments; and

(9) access to the greater community must be easily facilitated based on the individual's
needs and preferences.

History: 1984 c 640 s 32; 1984 c 654 art 5 s 24,58; 1990 c 568 art 3 s 76; 1991 c 292 art
4 s 61; 1992 c 513 art 7 s 114; 1Sp1993 c 1 art 5 s 105; 1995 c 207 art 6 s 87-89; 1996 c 451
art 5 s 29-31; 1997 c 7 art 5 s 31; 1997 c 203 art 4 s 47; art 7 s 24; 1999 c 156 s 1; 1Sp2001 c
9 art 3 s 58-67; 2002 c 277 s 32; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 3 s 46; 2004 c 288
art 3 s 25; 2005 c 56 s 1; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 7 s 44; 2007 c 147 art 6 s 45; art 7 s 58; 2008 c
277 art 1 s 39; 2008 c 317 s 2; 2009 c 79 art 1 s 19; art 6 s 13; art 8 s 64-68; 2009 c 173 art
1 s 30; 1Sp2011 c 9 art 4 s 9; art 7 s 38-41

NOTE: Subdivision 14, paragraph (f), as amended by Laws 2011, First Special Session
chapter 9, article 7, section 39, is effective July 1, 2013. Laws 2011, First Special Session chapter
9, article 7, section 39, the effective date.

NOTE: Subdivision 15, paragraphs (b), (c), and (d), as amended by Laws 2011, First
Special Session chapter 9, article 7, section 40, are effective July 1, 2013. Laws 2011, First
Special Session chapter 9, article 7, section 40, the effective date.
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256B.491 WAIVERED SERVICES.

Subdivision 1. Study. The commissioner of human services shall prepare a study on the
characteristics of providers who have the potential for offering home and community-based
services under federal waivers authorized by United States Code, title 42, sections 1396 to 1396p.
The study shall include, but not be limited to:

(a) An analysis of the characteristics of providers presently involved in offering services
to the elderly, chronically ill children, disabled persons under age 65, and developmentally
disabled persons;

(b) The potential for conversion to waivered services of facilities which currently provide
services to the disability groups enumerated in clause (a);

(c) Proposals for system redesign to include (1) profiles of the types of providers best able,
within reasonable fiscal constraints, to serve the needs of clients and to fulfill public policy goals
in provision of waivered services, (2) methods for limiting concentration of facilities providing
services under waiver, (3) methods for ensuring that services are provided by the widest array
of provider groups.

The commissioner shall present the study to the legislature no later than March 15, 1985.

Subd. 2. Control limited. Until July 1, 1985, no one person shall control the delivery of
waivered services to more than 50 persons receiving waivered services as authorized by section
256B.501. For the purposes of this section the following terms have the meanings given them:

(1) A "person" is an individual, a corporation, a partnership, an association, a trust, an
unincorporated organization, a subsidiary of an organization, and an affiliate. A "person" does not
include any governmental authority, agency or body.

(2) An "affiliate" is a person that directly, or indirectly through one or more intermediaries,
controls, or is controlled by, or is under common control with another person.

(3) "Control" including the terms "controlling," "controlled by," and "under the common
control with" is the possession, direct or indirect, or the power to direct or cause the direction of
the management, operations or policies of a person, whether through the ownership of voting
securities, by contract, through consultation or otherwise.

Subd. 3.Waivered services; salary adjustments. For the fiscal year beginning July 1,
1991, the commissioner of human services shall increase the statewide reimbursement rates for
home and community-based waivered services for persons with developmental disabilities to
reflect a three percent increase in salaries, payroll taxes, and fringe benefits of personnel below
top management employed by agencies under contract with the county board to provide these
services. The specific rate increase made available to county boards shall be calculated based on
the estimated portion of the fiscal year 1991 reimbursement rate that is attributable to these costs.
County boards shall verify in writing to the commissioner that each waivered service provider has
complied with this requirement. If a county board determines that a waivered service provider has
not complied with this requirement for a specific contract period, the county board shall reduce
the provider's payment rates for the next contract period to reflect the amount of money not spent
appropriately. The commissioner shall modify reporting requirements for vendors and counties as
necessary to monitor compliance with this provision.

History: 1984 c 641 s 24; 1984 c 654 art 5 s 58; 1991 c 292 art 4 s 62; 2005 c 56 s 1
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256B.4912 HOME AND COMMUNITY-BASED WAIVERS; PROVIDERS AND
PAYMENT.

Subdivision 1. Provider qualifications. For the home and community-based waivers
providing services to seniors and individuals with disabilities, the commissioner shall establish:

(1) agreements with enrolled waiver service providers to ensure providers meet
qualifications defined in the waiver plans;

(2) regular reviews of provider qualifications; and

(3) processes to gather the necessary information to determine provider qualifications.

By July 2010, staff that provide direct contact, as defined in section 245C.02, subdivision
11, that are employees of waiver service providers must meet the requirements of chapter 245C
prior to providing waiver services and as part of ongoing enrollment. Upon federal approval, this
requirement must also apply to consumer-directed community supports.

Subd. 2. Rate-setting methodologies. The commissioner shall establish statewide
rate-setting methodologies that meet federal waiver requirements for home and community-based
waiver services for individuals with disabilities. The rate-setting methodologies must abide by the
principles of transparency and equitability across the state. The methodologies must involve a
uniform process of structuring rates for each service and must promote quality and participant
choice.

History: 2009 c 79 art 8 s 69

256B.495 NURSING FACILITY RECEIVERSHIP FEES.

Subdivision 1. Payment of receivership fees. The commissioner in consultation with
the commissioner of health may establish a receivership fee that exceeds a nursing facility
payment rate when the commissioner of health determines a nursing facility is subject to the
receivership provisions under section 144A.14 or 144A.15. In establishing the receivership fee,
the commissioner must reduce the receiver's requested receivership fee by amounts that the
commissioner determines are included in the nursing facility's payment rate and that can be used
to cover part or all of the receivership fee. Amounts that can be used to reduce the receivership
fee shall be determined by reallocating facility staff or costs that were formerly paid by the
nursing facility before the receivership and are no longer required to be paid. The amounts may
include any efficiency incentive, allowance, and other amounts not specifically required to be
paid for expenditures of the nursing facility.

If the receivership fee cannot be covered by amounts in the nursing facility's payment
rate, a receivership fee shall be set according to paragraphs (a) and (b) and payment shall be
according to paragraphs (c) to (e).

(a) The receivership fee per diem shall be determined by dividing the annual receivership
fee by the nursing facility's resident days from the most recent cost report for which the
commissioner has established a payment rate or the estimated resident days in the projected
receivership fee period.

(b) The receivership fee per diem shall be added to the nursing facility's payment rate.

(c) Notification of the payment rate increase must meet the requirements of section
256B.47, subdivision 2.
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(d) The payment rate in paragraph (b) for a nursing facility shall be effective the first day of
the month following the receiver's compliance with the notice conditions in paragraph (c).

(e) The commissioner may elect to make a lump-sum payment of a portion of the
receivership fee to the receiver or managing agent. In this case, the commissioner and the receiver
or managing agent shall agree to a repayment plan. Regardless of whether the commissioner
makes a lump-sum payment under this paragraph, the provisions of paragraphs (a) to (d) and
subdivision 2 also apply.

Subd. 1a. Receivership payment rate adjustment. Upon receiving a recommendation
from the commissioner of health for a review of rates under section 144A.154, the commissioner
may grant an adjustment to the nursing home's payment rate. The commissioner shall review the
recommendation of the commissioner of health, together with the nursing home's cost report to
determine whether or not the deficiency or need can be corrected or met by reallocating nursing
home staff, costs, revenues, or other resources including any investments, efficiency incentives, or
allowances. If the commissioner determines that the deficiency cannot be corrected or the need
cannot be met, the commissioner shall determine the payment rate adjustment by dividing the
additional annual costs established during the commissioner's review by the nursing home's actual
resident days from the most recent desk-audited cost report.

Subd. 2. Deduction of additional receivership payments. If the commissioner has
established a receivership fee per diem for a nursing facility in receivership under subdivision 1 or
a payment rate adjustment under subdivision 1a, the commissioner must deduct these receivership
payments according to paragraphs (a) to (c).

(a) The total receivership fee payments shall be the receivership per diem plus the payment
rate adjustment multiplied by the number of resident days for the period of the receivership. If
actual resident days for the receivership period are not made available within two weeks of the
commissioner's written request, the commissioner shall compute the resident days by prorating
the facility's resident days based on the number of calendar days from each portion of the nursing
facility's reporting years covered by the receivership period.

(b) The amount determined in paragraph (a) must be divided by the nursing facility's
resident days for the reporting year in which the receivership period ends.

(c) The per diem amount in paragraph (b) shall be subtracted from the nursing facility's
operating cost payment rate for the rate year following the reporting year in which the receivership
period ends. This provision applies whether or not there is a sale or transfer of the nursing facility,
unless the provisions of subdivision 5 apply.

Subd. 3. [Repealed, 1992 c 513 art 8 s 59]

Subd. 4. Downsizing and closing nursing facilities. (a) If the nursing facility is subject to a
downsizing to closure process during the period of receivership, the commissioner may reestablish
the nursing facility's payment rate. The payment rate shall be established based on the nursing
facility's budgeted operating costs, the receivership property related costs, and the management
fee costs for the receivership period divided by the facility's estimated resident days for the same
period. The commissioner of health and the commissioner shall make every effort to first facilitate
the transfer of private paying residents to alternate service sites prior to the effective date of the
payment rate. The cost limits and the case mix provisions in the rate setting system shall not apply
during the portion of the receivership period over which the nursing facility downsizes to closure.
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(b) Any payment rate adjustment under this subdivision must meet the conditions in section
256B.47, subdivision 2, and shall remain in effect until the receivership ends, or until another
date the commissioner sets.

Subd. 5. Sale or transfer of a nursing facility in receivership after closure. (a) Upon the
subsequent sale or transfer of a nursing facility in receivership, the commissioner must recover
any amounts paid through payment rate adjustments under subdivision 4 which exceed the normal
cost of operating the nursing facility. Examples of costs in excess of the normal cost of operating
the nursing facility include the managing agent's fee, directly identifiable costs of the managing
agent, bonuses paid to employees for their continued employment during the downsizing to
closure of the nursing facility, prereceivership expenditures paid by the receiver, additional
professional services such as accountants, psychologists, and dietitians, and other similar costs
incurred by the receiver to complete receivership. The buyer or transferee shall repay this amount
to the commissioner within 60 days after the commissioner notifies the buyer or transferee of the
obligation to repay. The buyer or transferee must also repay the private-pay resident the amount
the private-pay resident paid through payment rate adjustment.

(b) If a nursing facility with payment rates subject to subdivision 4, paragraph (a), is
later sold while the nursing facility is in receivership, the payment rates in effect prior to the
receivership shall be the new owner's payment rates. Those payment rates shall continue to be
in effect until the rate year following the reporting period ending on September 30 for the new
owner. The reporting period shall, whenever possible, be at least five consecutive months. If the
reporting period is less than five months but more than three months, the nursing facility's resident
days for the last two months of the reporting period must be annualized over the reporting period
for the purpose of computing the payment rate for the rate year following the reporting period.

History: 1989 c 282 art 3 s 83; 1990 c 568 art 3 s 77; 1992 c 513 art 7 s 115-119,136

256B.50 APPEALS.

Subdivision 1. Scope. A provider may appeal from a determination of a payment rate
established pursuant to this chapter and reimbursement rules of the commissioner if the appeal,
if successful, would result in a change to the provider's payment rate or to the calculation of
maximum charges to therapy vendors as provided by section 256B.433, subdivision 3. Appeals
must be filed in accordance with procedures in this section. This section does not apply to a
request from a resident or long-term care facility for reconsideration of the classification of
a resident under section 144.0722.

Subd. 1a. Definitions. For the purposes of this section, the following terms have the
meanings given.

(a) "Determination of a payment rate" means the process by which the commissioner
establishes the payment rate paid to a provider pursuant to this chapter, including determinations
made in desk audit, field audit, or pursuant to an amendment filed by the provider.

(b) "Provider" means a nursing facility as defined in section 256B.421, subdivision 7, or a
facility as defined in section 256B.501, subdivision 1.

(c) "Reimbursement rules" means Minnesota Rules, parts 9510.0010 to 9510.0480,
9510.0500 to 9510.0890, and rules adopted by the commissioner pursuant to sections 256B.41
and 256B.501, subdivision 3.

Subd. 1b. Filing an appeal. To appeal, the provider shall file with the commissioner a
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written notice of appeal; the appeal must be postmarked or received by the commissioner within
60 days of the date the determination of the payment rate was mailed or personally received by a
provider, whichever is earlier. The notice of appeal must specify each disputed item; the reason
for the dispute; the total dollar amount in dispute for each separate disallowance, allocation, or
adjustment of each cost item or part of a cost item; the computation that the provider believes is
correct; the authority in statute or rule upon which the provider relies for each disputed item; the
name and address of the person or firm with whom contacts may be made regarding the appeal;
and other information required by the commissioner.

Subd. 1c. Contested case procedures appeals review process. (a) Effective for desk audit
appeals for rate years beginning on or after July 1, 1997, and for field audit appeals filed on or
after that date, the commissioner shall review appeals and issue a written appeal determination on
each appealed item within one year of the due date of the appeal. Upon mutual agreement, the
commissioner and the provider may extend the time for issuing a determination for a specified
period. The commissioner shall notify the provider by first class mail of the appeal determination.
The appeal determination takes effect 30 days following the date of issuance specified in the
determination.

(b) In reviewing the appeal, the commissioner may request additional written or oral
information from the provider. The provider has the right to present information by telephone,
in writing, or in person concerning the appeal to the commissioner prior to the issuance of the
appeal determination within six months of the date the appeal was received by the commissioner.
Written requests for conferences must be submitted separately from the appeal letter. Statements
made during the review process are not admissible in a contested case hearing absent an express
stipulation by the parties to the contested case.

(c) For an appeal item on which the provider disagrees with the appeal determination,
the provider may file with the commissioner a written demand for a contested case hearing to
determine the proper resolution of specified appeal items. The demand must be postmarked or
received by the commissioner within 30 days of the date of issuance specified in the determination.
A contested case demand for an appeal item nullifies the written appeal determination issued by
the commissioner for that appeal item. The commissioner shall refer any contested case demand
to the Office of the Attorney General.

(d) A contested case hearing must be heard by an administrative law judge according to
sections 14.48 to 14.56. In any proceeding under this section, the appealing party must demonstrate
by a preponderance of the evidence that the determination of a payment rate is incorrect.

(e) Regardless of any rate appeal, the rate established must be the rate paid and must remain
in effect until final resolution of the appeal or subsequent desk or field audit adjustment.

(f) To challenge the validity of rules established by the commissioner pursuant to this
section and sections 256B.41, 256B.421, 256B.431, 256B.47, 256B.48, 256B.501, and 256B.502,
a provider shall comply with section 14.44.

(g) The commissioner has discretion to issue to the provider a proposed resolution for
specified appeal items upon a request from the provider filed separately from the notice of appeal.
The proposed resolution is final upon written acceptance by the provider within 30 days of the date
the proposed resolution was mailed to or personally received by the provider, whichever is earlier.

(h) The commissioner may use the procedures described in this subdivision to resolve
appeals filed prior to July 1, 1997.
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Subd. 1d. [Repealed, 1997 c 107 s 19]

Subd. 1e. Attorney's fees and costs. (a) Notwithstanding section 15.472, paragraph (a),
for an issue appealed under subdivision 1, the prevailing party in a contested case proceeding
or, if appealed, in subsequent judicial review, must be awarded reasonable attorney's fees and
costs incurred in litigating the appeal, if the prevailing party shows that the position of the
opposing party was not substantially justified. The procedures for awarding fees and costs set
forth in section 15.474 must be followed in determining the prevailing party's fees and costs
except as otherwise provided in this subdivision. For purposes of this subdivision, "costs"
means subpoena fees and mileage, transcript costs, court reporter fees, witness fees, postage and
delivery costs, photocopying and printing costs, amounts charged the commissioner by the office
of administrative hearings, and direct administrative costs of the department; and "substantially
justified" means that a position had a reasonable basis in law and fact, based on the totality of the
circumstances prior to and during the contested case proceeding and subsequent review.

(b) When an award is made to the department under this subdivision, attorney fees must
be calculated at the cost to the department. When an award is made to a provider under this
subdivision, attorney fees must be calculated at the rate charged to the provider except that
attorney fees awarded must be the lesser of the attorney's normal hourly fee or $100 per hour.

(c) In contested case proceedings involving more than one issue, the administrative law
judge shall determine what portion of each party's attorney fees and costs is related to the
issue or issues on which it prevailed and for which it is entitled to an award. In making that
determination, the administrative law judge shall consider the amount of time spent on each
issue, the precedential value of the issue, the complexity of the issue, and other factors deemed
appropriate by the administrative law judge.

(d) When the department prevails on an issue involving more than one provider, the
administrative law judge shall allocate the total amount of any award for attorney fees and costs
among the providers. In determining the allocation, the administrative law judge shall consider
each provider's monetary interest in the issue and other factors deemed appropriate by the
administrative law judge.

(e) Attorney fees and costs awarded to the department for proceedings under this
subdivision must not be reported or treated as allowable costs on the provider's cost report.

(f) Fees and costs awarded to a provider for proceedings under this subdivision must be
reimbursed to them within 120 days of the final decision on the award of attorney fees and costs.

(g) If the provider fails to pay the awarded attorney fees and costs within 120 days of the
final decision on the award of attorney fees and costs, the department may collect the amount
due through any method available to it for the collection of medical assistance overpayments to
providers. Interest charges must be assessed on balances outstanding after 120 days of the final
decision on the award of attorney fees and costs. The annual interest rate charged must be the rate
charged by the commissioner of revenue for late payment of taxes that is in effect on the 121st
day after the final decision on the award of attorney fees and costs.

(h) Amounts collected by the commissioner pursuant to this subdivision must be deemed to
be recoveries pursuant to section 256.01, subdivision 2, clause (15).

(i) This subdivision applies to all contested case proceedings set on for hearing by the
commissioner on or after April 29, 1988, regardless of the date the appeal was filed.

Subd. 1f. Legal and related expenses. Legal and related expenses for unresolved
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challenges to decisions by governmental agencies shall be separately identified and explained on
the provider's cost report for each year in which the expenses are incurred. When the challenge is
resolved in favor of the governmental agency, the provider shall notify the department of the extent
to which its challenge was unsuccessful or the cost report filed for the reporting year in which the
challenge was resolved. In addition, the provider shall inform the department of the years in which
it claimed legal and related expenses and the amount of the expenses claimed in each year relating
to the unsuccessful challenge. The department shall reduce the provider's medical assistance rate
in the subsequent rate year by the total amount claimed by the provider for legal and related
expenses incurred in an unsuccessful challenge to a decision by a governmental agency.

Subd. 1g. [Repealed, 1997 c 107 s 19]

Subd. 1h. [Repealed, 1997 c 107 s 19]

Subd. 2. [Repealed, 1997 c 107 s 19]

Subd. 3. [Repealed, 2000 c 449 s 15]

History: 1983 c 199 s 15; 1984 c 640 s 32; 1984 c 641 s 21; 1985 c 248 s 69; 1Sp1985 c 3
s 32; 1987 c 403 art 4 s 12; 1988 c 689 art 2 s 163-168; 1990 c 568 art 3 s 78,79; 1991 c 292 art
4 s 63; 1992 c 426 s 1; 1992 c 513 art 7 s 120,121,136; 1Sp1993 c 1 art 5 s 106-108; 1997 c 107 s
9-12; 1999 c 245 art 3 s 30; 2001 c 7 s 51

256B.501 RATES FOR COMMUNITY-BASED SERVICES FOR DISABLED.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. For the purposes of this section, the following terms have the
meaning given them.

(a) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of human services.

(b) "Facility" means a facility licensed as a developmental disability residential facility
under section 252.28, licensed as a supervised living facility under chapter 144, and certified as
an intermediate care facility for persons with developmental disabilities. The term does not
include a state regional treatment center.

(c) "Habilitation services" means health and social services directed toward increasing
and maintaining the physical, intellectual, emotional, and social functioning of persons with
developmental disabilities. Habilitation services include therapeutic activities, assistance,
training, supervision, and monitoring in the areas of self-care, sensory and motor development,
interpersonal skills, communication, socialization, reduction or elimination of maladaptive
behavior, community living and mobility, health care, leisure and recreation, money management,
and household chores.

(d) "Services during the day" means services or supports provided to a person that enables
the person to be fully integrated into the community. Services during the day must include
habilitation services, and may include a variety of supports to enable the person to exercise
choices for community integration and inclusion activities. Services during the day may include,
but are not limited to: supported work, support during community activities, community volunteer
opportunities, adult day care, recreational activities, and other individualized integrated supports.

(e) "Waivered service" means home or community-based service authorized under United
States Code, title 42, section 1396n(c), as amended through December 31, 1987, and defined in
the Minnesota state plan for the provision of medical assistance services. Waivered services
include, at a minimum, case management, family training and support, developmental training
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homes, supervised living arrangements, semi-independent living services, respite care, and
training and habilitation services.

Subd. 2. Authority. The commissioner shall establish procedures and rules for determining
rates for care of residents of intermediate care facilities for persons with developmental disabilities
which qualify as providers of medical assistance and waivered services. The procedures shall
specify the costs that are allowable for payment through medical assistance. The commissioner
may use experts from outside the department in the establishment of the procedures.

Subd. 3. Rates for intermediate care facilities. The commissioner shall establish, by rule,
procedures for determining rates for care of residents of intermediate care facilities for persons
with developmental disabilities. In developing the procedures, the commissioner shall include:

(1) cost containment measures that assure efficient and prudent management of capital assets
and operating cost increases which do not exceed increases in other sections of the economy;

(2) limits on the amounts of reimbursement for property and new facilities;
(3) requirements to ensure that the accounting practices of the facilities conform to

generally accepted accounting principles;
(4) incentives to reward accumulation of equity;
(5) rule revisions which:
(i) combine the program, maintenance, and administrative operating cost categories, and

professional liability and real estate insurance expenses into one general operating cost category;
(ii) eliminate the maintenance and administrative operating cost category limits and account

for disallowances under the rule existing on July 1, 1995, in the revised rule. If this provision is
later invalidated, the total administrative cost disallowance shall be deducted from economical
facility payments in item (iii);

(iii) establish an economical facility incentive that rewards facilities that provide all
appropriate services in a cost-effective manner and penalizes reductions of either direct service
wages or standardized hours of care per resident;

(iv) establish a best practices award system that is based on outcome measures and that
rewards quality, innovation, cost-effectiveness, and staff retention;

(v) establish compensation limits for employees on the basis of full-time employment and
the developmentally disabled client base of a provider group or facility. The commissioner may
consider the inclusion of hold harmless provisions;

(vi) establish overall limits on a high cost facility's general operating costs. The
commissioner shall consider groupings of facilities that account for a significant variation in
cost. The commissioner may differentiate in the application of these limits between high and
very high cost facilities. The limits, once established, shall be indexed for inflation and may be
rebased by the commissioner;

(vii) utilize the client assessment information obtained from the application of the
provisions in subdivision 3g for the revisions in items (iii), (iv), and (vi); and

(viii) develop cost allocation principles which are based on facility expenses; and
(6) appeals procedures that satisfy the requirements of section 256B.50.

Subd. 3a. Interim rates. For rate years beginning October 1, 1988, and October 1, 1989,
the commissioner shall establish an interim program operating cost payment rate for care of
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residents in intermediate care facilities for persons with developmental disabilities.
(a) For the rate year beginning October 1, 1988, the interim program operating cost

payment rate is the greater of the facility's 1987 reporting year allowable program operating costs
per resident day increased by the composite forecasted index in subdivision 3c, or the facility's
January 1, 1988, program operating cost payment rate increased by the composite forecasted index
in subdivision 3c, except that the composite forecasted index is established based on the midpoint
of the period January 1, 1988, to September 30, 1988, to the midpoint of the following rate year.

(b) For the rate year beginning October 1, 1989, the interim program operating cost
payment rate is the greater of the facility's 1988 reporting year allowable program operating costs
per resident day increased by the composite forecasted index in subdivision 3c, or the facility's
October 1, 1988, program operating cost payment rate increased by the composite forecasted
index in subdivision 3c, except that the composite forecasted index is established based on the
midpoint of the rate year beginning October 1, 1988, to the midpoint of the following rate year.

Subd. 3b. Settle up of costs. The facility's program operating costs are subject to a
retroactive settle up for the 1988 and 1989 reporting years, determined by the following method:

(a) If a facility's program operating costs, including onetime adjustment program operating
costs for the facility's 1988 or 1989 reporting year, are less than 98 percent of the facility's total
program operating cost payments for facilities with 20 or fewer licensed beds, or less than 99
percent of the facility's total program operating cost payments for facilities with more than 20
licensed beds, then the facility must repay the difference to the state according to the desk audit
adjustment procedures in Minnesota Rules, part 9553.0041, subpart 13, items B to E. For the
purpose of determining the retroactive settle-up amounts, the facility's total program operating
cost payments must be computed by multiplying the facility's program operating cost payment
rates, including onetime program operating cost adjustment rates for those reporting years, by
the prorated resident days that correspond to those program operating cost payment rates paid
during those reporting years.

(b) If a facility's program operating costs, including onetime adjustment program operating
costs for the facility's 1989 reporting year are between 102 and 105 percent of the amount
computed by multiplying the facility's program operating cost payment rates, including onetime
program operating cost adjustment rates for those reporting years, by the prorated resident days
that correspond to those program operating cost payment rates paid during that reporting year, the
state must repay the difference to the facility according to the desk audit adjustment procedures
in Minnesota Rules, part 9553.0041, subpart 13, items B to E.

A facility's retroactive settle up must be calculated by October 1, 1990.

Subd. 3c. Forecasted index. For rate years beginning on or after October 1, 1990, the
commissioner shall index a facility's allowable operating costs in the program, maintenance, and
administrative operating cost categories by using Data Resources, Inc., forecast for change in
the Consumer Price Index-All Items (U.S. city average) (CPI-U). The commissioner shall use
the indices as forecasted by Data Resources, Inc., in the first quarter of the calendar year in
which the rate year begins. For fiscal years beginning after June 30, 1993, the commissioner
shall not provide automatic inflation adjustments for intermediate care facilities for persons
with developmental disabilities. The commissioner of management and budget shall include
annual inflation adjustments in operating costs for intermediate care facilities for persons with
developmental disabilities as a budget change request in each biennial detailed expenditure budget
submitted to the legislature under section 16A.11. The commissioner shall use the Consumer
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Price Index-All Items (United States city average) (CPI-U) as forecasted by Data Resources, Inc.,
to take into account economic trends and conditions for changes in facility allowable historical
general operating costs and limits. The forecasted index shall be established for allowable
historical general operating costs as follows:

(1) the CPI-U forecasted index for allowable historical general operating costs shall be
determined in the first quarter of the calendar year in which the rate year begins and shall be based
on the 21-month period from the midpoint of the facility's reporting year to the midpoint of
the rate year following the reporting year; and

(2) for rate years beginning on or after October 1, 1995, the CPI-U forecasted index for the
overall operating cost limits and for the individual compensation limit shall be determined in the
first quarter of the calendar year in which the rate year begins and shall be based on the 12-month
period between the midpoints of the two reporting years preceding the rate year.

Subd. 3d. [Repealed, 1995 c 207 art 7 s 43]

Subd. 3e. [Repealed, 1995 c 207 art 7 s 43]

Subd. 3f. [Repealed, 1995 c 207 art 7 s 43]

Subd. 3g. [Repealed, 1999 c 245 art 3 s 51]

Subd. 3h.Waiving interest charges. The commissioner may waive interest charges on
overpayments incurred by intermediate care facilities for persons with developmental disabilities
for the period October 1, 1987, to February 29, 1988, if the overpayments resulted from the
continuation of the desk audit rate in effect on September 30, 1987, through the period.

Subd. 3i. Scope. Subdivisions 3a to 3e and 3h do not apply to facilities whose payment
rates are governed by Minnesota Rules, part 9553.0075.

Subd. 3j. Rules. The commissioner shall adopt rules to implement this section. The
commissioner shall consult with provider groups, advocates, and legislators to develop these rules.

Subd. 3k. Experimental project. The commissioner of human services may conduct and
administer experimental projects to determine the effects of competency-based wage adjustments
for direct-care staff on the quality of care and active treatment for persons with developmental
disabilities. The commissioner shall authorize one project under the following conditions:

(a) One service provider will participate in the project.

(b) The vendor must have an existing competency-based training curriculum and a proposed
salary schedule that is coordinated with the training package.

(c) The University of Minnesota affiliated programs must approve the content of the
training package and assist the vendor in studying the impact on service delivery and outcomes
for residents under a competency-based salary structure. The study and its conclusions must be
presented to the commissioner at the conclusion of the project.

(d) The project will last no more than 21 months from its inception.

(e) The project will be funded by Title XIX, medical assistance and the costs incurred
shall be allowable program operating costs for future rate years under Minnesota Rules,
parts 9553.0010 to 9553.0080. The project's total annual cost must not exceed $49,500. The
commissioner shall establish an adjustment to the selected facility's per diem by dividing the
$49,500 by the facility's actual resident days for the reporting year ending December 31, 1988.
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The facility's experimental training project per diem shall be effective on October 1, 1989, and
shall remain in effect for the 21-month period ending June 30, 1991.

(f) Only service vendors who have submitted a determination of need pursuant to Minnesota
Rules, parts 9525.0015 to 9525.0165, and Minnesota Statutes, section 252.28, requesting
the competency-based training program cost increase are eligible. Furthermore, they are only
eligible if their determination of need was approved prior to January 1, 1989, and funds were
not available to implement the plan.

Subd. 3l. Temporary payment rate provisions. If an intermediate care facility for persons
with developmental disabilities located in Kandiyohi County:

(1) was sold during 1994;
(2) is unable to obtain records necessary to complete the cost report from the former

operator at no cost; and
(3) delicensed two beds during that year, then the commissioner shall determine the payment

rate for the period May 1, 1995, through September 30, 1996, as provided in paragraphs (a) to (c).
(a) A temporary payment rate shall be paid which is equal to the rate in effect as of April

30, 1995.
(b) The payment rate in paragraph (a) shall be subject to a retroactive downward adjustment

based on the provisions in paragraph (c).
(c) The temporary payment rate shall be limited to the lesser of the payment in paragraph

(a) or the payment rate calculated based on the facility's cost report for the reporting year January
1, 1995, through December 31, 1995, and the provisions of this section and the reimbursement
rules in effect on June 30, 1995, except that the provisions referred to in clauses (1) to (3) shall
not apply:

(1) the inflation factor in subdivision 3c;
(2) Minnesota Rules, part 9553.0050, subpart 2, items A to E; and
(3) Minnesota Rules, part 9553.0041, subpart 16.

Subd. 3m. Services during the day.When establishing a rate for services during the day,
the commissioner shall ensure that these services comply with active treatment requirements for
persons residing in an ICF/MR as defined under federal regulations and shall ensure that services
during the day for eligible persons are not provided by the person's residential service provider,
unless the person or the person's legal representative is offered a choice of providers and agrees in
writing to provision of services during the day by the residential service provider, consistent with
the individual service plan. The individual service plan for individuals who choose to have their
residential service provider provide their services during the day must describe how health, safety,
protection, and habilitation needs will be met, including how frequent and regular contact with
persons other than the residential service provider will occur. The individualized service plan
must address the provision of services during the day outside the residence.

Subd. 4.Waivered services. In establishing rates for waivered services the commissioner
shall consider the need for flexibility in the provision of those services to meet individual needs
identified by the screening team.

Subd. 4a. Inclusion of home care costs in waiver rates. The commissioner shall adjust the
limits of the established average daily reimbursement rates for waivered services to include the
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cost of home care services that may be provided to waivered services recipients. This adjustment
must be used to maintain or increase services and shall not be used by county agencies for inflation
increases for waivered services vendors. Home care services referenced in this section are those
listed in section 256B.0651, subdivision 2. The average daily reimbursement rates established
in accordance with the provisions of this subdivision apply only to the combined average, daily
costs of waivered and home care services and do not change home care limitations under sections
256B.0651 to 256B.0656 and 256B.0659. Waivered services recipients receiving home care as of
June 30, 1992, shall not have the amount of their services reduced as a result of this section.

Subd. 4b. Waiver rates and group residential housing rates. The average daily
reimbursement rates established by the commissioner for waivered services shall be adjusted to
include the additional costs of services eligible for waiver funding under title XIX of the Social
Security Act and for which there is no group residential housing payment available as a result
of the payment limitations set forth in section 256I.05, subdivision 10. The adjustment to the
waiver rates shall be based on county reports of service costs that are no longer eligible for group
residential housing payments. No adjustment shall be made for any amount of reported payments
that prior to July 1, 1992, exceeded the group residential housing rate limits established in section
256I.05 and were reimbursed through county funds.

Subd. 4c. Access to respite care. Upon the request of a recipient receiving services under
the community-based waiver for persons with developmental disabilities, or the recipient's legal
representative, a county agency shall screen the recipient for appropriate and necessary services
and shall place the recipient on and off the waiver as needed in order to allow the recipient access
to short-term care as available in an intermediate care facility for persons with developmental
disabilities.

Subd. 5. [Repealed, 1987 c 403 art 5 s 22]

Subd. 5a. Changes to ICF/MR reimbursement. The reimbursement rule changes in
paragraphs (a) to (e) apply to Minnesota Rules, parts 9553.0010 to 9553.0080, and this section,
and are effective for rate years beginning on or after October 1, 1993, unless otherwise specified.

(a) The maximum efficiency incentive shall be $1.50 per resident per day.

(b) If a facility's capital debt reduction allowance is greater than 50 cents per resident per
day, that facility's capital debt reduction allowance in excess of 50 cents per resident day shall
be reduced by 25 percent.

(c) Beginning with the biennial reporting year which begins January 1, 1993, a facility is no
longer required to have a certified audit of its financial statements. The cost of a certified audit
shall not be an allowable cost in that reporting year, nor in subsequent reporting years unless
the facility submits its certified audited financial statements in the manner otherwise specified
in this subdivision. A nursing facility which does not submit a certified audit must submit its
working trial balance.

(d) In addition to the approved pension or profit-sharing plans allowed by the reimbursement
rule, the commissioner shall allow those plans specified in Internal Revenue Code, sections
403(b) and 408(k).

(e) The commissioner shall allow as workers' compensation insurance costs under this
section, the costs of workers' compensation coverage obtained under the following conditions:
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(1) a plan approved by the commissioner of commerce as a Minnesota group or individual
self-insurance plan as provided in sections 79A.03;

(2) a plan in which:
(i) the facility, directly or indirectly, purchases workers' compensation coverage in

compliance with section 176.181, subdivision 2, from an authorized insurance carrier;
(ii) a related organization to the facility reinsures the workers' compensation coverage

purchased, directly or indirectly, by the facility; and
(iii) all of the conditions in clause (4) are met;
(3) a plan in which:
(i) the facility, directly or indirectly, purchases workers' compensation coverage in

compliance with section 176.181, subdivision 2, from an authorized insurance carrier;
(ii) the insurance premium is calculated retrospectively, including a maximum premium

limit, and paid using the paid loss retro method; and
(iii) all of the conditions in clause (4) are met;
(4) additional conditions are:
(i) the reserves for the plan are maintained in an account controlled and administered by a

person which is not a related organization to the facility;
(ii) the reserves for the plan cannot be used, directly or indirectly, as collateral for debts

incurred or other obligations of the facility or related organizations to the facility;
(iii) if the plan provides workers' compensation coverage for non-Minnesota facilities,

the plan's cost methodology must be consistent among all facilities covered by the plan, and if
reasonable, is allowed notwithstanding any reimbursement laws regarding cost allocation to the
contrary;

(iv) central, affiliated, corporate, or nursing facility costs related to their administration of
the plan are costs which must remain in the nursing facility's administrative cost category, and
must not be allocated to other cost categories; and

(v) required security deposits, whether in the form of cash, investments, securities, assets,
letters of credit, or in any other form are not allowable costs for purposes of establishing the
facilities payment rate; and

(5) any costs allowed pursuant to clauses (1) to (3) are subject to the following requirements:
(i) if the facility is sold or otherwise ceases operations, the plan's reserves must be subject to

an actuarially based settle up after 36 months from the date of sale or the date on which operations
ceased. The facility's medical assistance portion of the total excess plan reserves must be paid to
the state within 30 days following the date on which excess plan reserves are determined;

(ii) any distribution of excess plan reserves made to or withdrawals made by the facility or
a related organization are applicable credits and must be used to reduce the facility's workers'
compensation insurance costs in the reporting period in which a distribution or withdrawal
is received; and

(iii) if the plan is audited pursuant to the Medicare program, the facility must provide a
copy of Medicare's final audit report, including attachments and exhibits, to the commissioner
within 30 days of receipt by the facility or any related organization. The commissioner shall
implement the audit findings associated with the plan upon receipt of Medicare's final audit
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report. The department's authority to implement the audit findings is independent of its authority
to conduct a field audit.

Subd. 5b. ICF/MR operating cost limitation after September 30, 1995. (a) For the rate
year beginning on October 1, 1995, and for rate years beginning on or after October 1, 1997,
the commissioner shall limit the allowable operating cost per diems, as determined under this
subdivision and the reimbursement rules, for high cost ICF's/MR. Prior to indexing each facility's
operating cost per diems for inflation, the commissioner shall group the facilities into eight
groups. The commissioner shall then array all facilities within each grouping by their general
operating cost per service unit per diems.

(b) The commissioner shall annually review and adjust the general operating costs incurred
by the facility during the reporting year preceding the rate year to determine the facility's
allowable historical general operating costs. For this purpose, the term general operating costs
means the facility's allowable operating costs included in the program, maintenance, and
administrative operating costs categories, as well as the facility's related payroll taxes and fringe
benefits, real estate insurance, and professional liability insurance. A facility's total operating cost
payment rate shall be limited according to paragraphs (c) and (d) as follows:

(c) A facility's total operating cost payment rate shall be equal to its allowable historical
operating cost per diems for program, maintenance, and administrative cost categories multiplied
by the forecasted inflation index in subdivision 3c, clause (1), subject to the limitations in
paragraph (d).

(d) For the rate years beginning on or after October 1, 1995, the commissioner shall
establish maximum overall general operating cost per service unit limits for facilities according to
clauses (1) to (8). Each facility's allowable historical general operating costs and client assessment
information obtained from client assessments completed under subdivision 3g for the reporting
year ending December 31, 1994 (the base year), shall be used for establishing the overall limits. If
a facility's proportion of temporary care resident days to total resident days exceeds 80 percent,
the commissioner must exempt that facility from the overall general operating cost per service
unit limits in clauses (1) to (8). For this purpose, "temporary care" means care provided by a
facility to a client for less than 30 consecutive resident days.

(1) The commissioner shall determine each facility's weighted service units for the
reporting year by multiplying its resident days in each client classification level as established
in subdivision 3g, paragraph (d), by the corresponding weights for that classification level, as
established in subdivision 3g, paragraph (i), and summing the results. For the reporting year
ending December 31, 1994, the commissioner shall use the service unit score computed from
the client classifications determined by the Minnesota Department of Health's annual review,
including those of clients admitted during that year.

(2) The facility's service unit score is equal to its weighted service units as computed in
clause (1), divided by the facility's total resident days excluding temporary care resident days,
for the reporting year.

(3) For each facility, the commissioner shall determine the facility's cost per service unit by
dividing its allowable historical general operating costs for the reporting year by the facility's
service unit score in clause (2) multiplied by its total resident days, or 85 percent of the facility's
capacity days times its service unit score in clause (2), if the facility's occupancy is less than 85
percent of licensed capacity. If a facility reports temporary care resident days, the temporary
care resident days shall be multiplied by the service unit score in clause (2), and the resulting
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weighted resident days shall be added to the facility's weighted service units in clause (1) prior to
computing the facility's cost per service unit under this clause.

(4) The commissioner shall group facilities based on class A or class B licensure
designation, number of licensed beds, and geographic location. For purposes of this grouping,
facilities with six beds or less shall be designated as small facilities and facilities with more
than six beds shall be designated as large facilities. If a facility has both class A and class B
licensed beds, the facility shall be considered a class A facility for this purpose if the number
of class A beds is more than half its total number of ICF/MR beds; otherwise the facility shall
be considered a class B facility. The metropolitan geographic designation shall include Anoka,
Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, and Washington Counties. All other Minnesota
counties shall be designated as the nonmetropolitan geographic group. These characteristics
result in the following eight groupings:

(i) small class A metropolitan;
(ii) large class A metropolitan;
(iii) small class B metropolitan;
(iv) large class B metropolitan;
(v) small class A nonmetropolitan;
(vi) large class A nonmetropolitan;
(vii) small class B nonmetropolitan; and
(viii) large class B nonmetropolitan.
(5) The commissioner shall array facilities within each grouping in clause (4) by each

facility's cost per service unit as determined in clause (3).
(6) In each array established under clause (5), facilities with a cost per service unit at or

above the median shall be limited to the lesser of: (i) the current reporting year's cost per service
unit; or (ii) the prior reporting year's allowable historical general operating cost per service unit
plus the inflation factor as established in subdivision 3c, clause (2), increased by three percentage
points.

(7) The overall operating cost per service unit limit for each group shall be established
as follows:

(i) each array established under clause (5) shall be arrayed again after the application of
clause (6);

(ii) in each array established in clause (5), two general operating cost limits shall be
determined. The first cost per service unit limit shall be established at 0.5 and less than or equal to
1.0 standard deviation above the median of that array. The second cost per service unit limit shall
be established at 1.0 standard deviation above the median of the array; and

(iii) the overall operating cost per service unit limits shall be indexed for inflation annually
beginning with the reporting year ending December 31, 1995, using the forecasted inflation
index in subdivision 3c, clause (2).

(8) Annually, facilities shall be arrayed using the method described in clauses (5) and (7).
Each facility with a cost per service unit at or above its group's first cost per service unit limit,
but less than the second cost per service unit limit for that group, shall be limited to 98 percent
of its total operating cost per diems then add the forecasted inflation index in subdivision 3c,
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clause (1). Each facility with a cost per service unit at or above the second cost per service unit
limit will be limited to 97 percent of its total operating cost per diems, then add the forecasted
inflation index in subdivision 3c, clause (1). Facilities that have undergone a class A to class B
conversion since January 1, 1990, are exempt from the limitations in this clause for six years
after the completion of the conversion process.

(9) The commissioner may rebase these overall limits, using the method described in this
subdivision but no more frequently than once every three years.

(e) For rate years beginning on or after October 1, 1995, the facility's efficiency incentive
shall be determined as provided in the reimbursement rule.

(f) The total operating cost payment rate shall be the sum of paragraphs (c) and (e).

(g) For the rate year beginning on October 1, 1996, the commissioner shall exempt a facility
from the reductions in this subdivision if the facility is involved in a bed relocation project where
more than 25 percent of the facility's beds are transferred to another facility, the relocated beds are
six or fewer, there is no change in the total number of ICF/MR beds for the parent organization of
the facility, and the relocation is not part of an interim or settle-up rate.

Subd. 5c. [Repealed, 1997 c 203 art 7 s 29]

Subd. 5d. Adjustment for outreach crisis services. An ICF/MR with crisis services
developed under the authority of Laws 1992, chapter 513, article 9, section 40, shall have its
operating cost per diem calculated according to paragraphs (a) and (b).

(a) Effective for services rendered from April 1, 1996, to September 30, 1996, and for rate
years beginning on or after October 1, 1996, the maintenance limitation in Minnesota Rules, part
9553.0050, subpart 1, item A, subitem (2), shall be calculated to reflect capacity as of October 1,
1992. The maintenance limit shall be the per diem limitation otherwise in effect adjusted by the
ratio of licensed capacity days as of October 1, 1992, divided by resident days in the reporting
year ending December 31, 1993.

(b) Effective for rate years beginning on or after October 1, 1996, the operating cost per
service unit, for purposes of the cost per service unit limit in subdivision 5b, paragraph (d),
clauses (7) and (8), shall be calculated after excluding the costs directly identified to the provision
of outreach crisis services and a four-bed crisis unit.

(c) The efficiency incentive paid to an ICF/MR shall not be increased as a result of this
subdivision.

Subd. 5e. Rate adjustment for care provided to a medically fragile individual.
Beginning July 1, 1996, the commissioner shall increase reimbursement rates for a facility
located in Chisholm and licensed as an intermediate care facility for persons with developmental
disabilities since 1972, to cover the cost to the facility for providing 24-hour licensed practical
nurse care to a medically fragile individual admitted on March 8, 1996. The commissioner shall
include in this higher rate a temporary adjustment to reimburse the facility for costs incurred
between March 8, 1996, and June 30, 1996. Once this resident is discharged, the commissioner
shall reduce the facility's payment rate by the amount of the cost of the 24-hour licensed practical
nurse care.

Subd. 6. [Repealed, 1987 c 403 art 5 s 22]

Subd. 7. [Repealed, 1987 c 403 art 5 s 22]
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Subd. 8. Payment for persons with special needs. The commissioner shall establish by
December 31, 1983, procedures to be followed by the counties to seek authorization from the
commissioner for medical assistance reimbursement for very dependent persons with special
needs in an amount in excess of the rates allowed pursuant to subdivision 2, including rates
established under section 252.46 when they apply to services provided to residents of intermediate
care facilities for persons with developmental disabilities, and procedures to be followed for rate
limitation exemptions for intermediate care facilities for persons with developmental disabilities.
Rate payments under subdivision 8a are eligible for a rate exception under this subdivision. No
excess payment approved by the commissioner after June 30, 1991, shall be authorized unless:

(1) the need for specific level of service is documented in the individual service plan of the
person to be served;

(2) the level of service needed can be provided within the rates established under section
252.46 and Minnesota Rules, parts 9553.0010 to 9553.0080, without a rate exception within
12 months;

(3) staff hours beyond those available under the rates established under section 252.46 and
Minnesota Rules, parts 9553.0010 to 9553.0080, necessary to deliver services do not exceed
1,440 hours within 12 months;

(4) there is a basis for the estimated cost of services;
(5) the provider requesting the exception documents that current per diem rates are

insufficient to support needed services;
(6) estimated costs, when added to the costs of current medical assistance-funded residential

and day training and habilitation services and calculated as a per diem, do not exceed the per diem
established for the regional treatment centers for persons with developmental disabilities on July
1, 1990, indexed annually by the urban Consumer Price Index, All Items, as forecasted by Data
Resources Inc., for the next fiscal year over the current fiscal year;

(7) any contingencies for an approval as outlined in writing by the commissioner are met;
and

(8) any commissioner orders for use of preferred providers are met.
The commissioner shall evaluate the services provided pursuant to this subdivision through

program and fiscal audits.
The commissioner may terminate the rate exception at any time under any of the conditions

outlined in Minnesota Rules, part 9510.1120, subpart 3, for county termination, or by reason of
information obtained through program and fiscal audits which indicate the criteria outlined in this
subdivision have not been, or are no longer being, met.

The commissioner may approve no more than one rate exception, up to 12 months duration,
for an eligible client.

Subd. 8a. Payment for persons with special needs for crisis intervention services.
Community-based crisis services authorized by the commissioner or the commissioner's designee
for a resident of an intermediate care facility for persons with developmental disabilities
(ICF/MR) reimbursed under this section shall be paid by medical assistance in accordance with
paragraphs (a) to (g).

(a) "Crisis services" means the specialized services listed in clauses (1) to (3) provided to
prevent the recipient from requiring placement in a more restrictive institutional setting such as
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an inpatient hospital or regional treatment center and to maintain the recipient in the present
community setting.

(1) The crisis services provider shall assess the recipient's behavior and environment to
identify factors contributing to the crisis.

(2) The crisis services provider shall develop a recipient-specific intervention plan in
coordination with the service planning team and provide recommendations for revisions to
the individual service plan if necessary to prevent or minimize the likelihood of future crisis
situations. The intervention plan shall include a transition plan to aid the recipient in returning to
the community-based ICF/MR if the recipient is receiving residential crisis services.

(3) The crisis services provider shall consult with and provide training and ongoing
technical assistance to the recipient's service providers to aid in the implementation of the
intervention plan and revisions to the individual service plan.

(b) "Residential crisis services" means crisis services that are provided to a recipient
admitted to an alternative, state-licensed site approved by the commissioner, because the ICF/MR
receiving reimbursement under this section is not able, as determined by the commissioner, to
provide the intervention and protection of the recipient and others living with the recipient that
is necessary to prevent the recipient from requiring placement in a more restrictive institutional
setting.

(c) Residential crisis services providers must maintain a license from the commissioner
for the residence when providing crisis services for short-term crisis intervention, and must
not be located in a private residence.

(d) Payment rates shall be established consistent with county negotiated crisis intervention
services.

(e) Payment for residential crisis services is limited to 21 days, unless an additional period
is authorized by the commissioner or part of an approved regional plan.

(f) Payment for crisis services shall be made only for services provided while the ICF/MR
receiving reimbursement under this section has executed a cooperative agreement with the crisis
services provider to implement the intervention plan and revisions to the individual service
plan as necessary to prevent or minimize the likelihood of future crisis situations, to maintain
the recipient in the present community setting, and to prevent the recipient from requiring a
more restrictive institutional setting.

(g) Payment to the ICF/MR receiving reimbursement under this section shall be made for
up to 18 therapeutic leave days during which the recipient is receiving residential crisis services, if
the ICF/MR is otherwise eligible to receive payment for a therapeutic leave day under Minnesota
Rules, part 9505.0415. Payment under this paragraph shall be terminated if the commissioner
determines that the ICF/MR is not meeting the terms of the cooperative service agreement under
paragraph (f) or that the recipient will not return to the ICF/MR.

Subd. 9. [Repealed, 1987 c 403 art 5 s 22]

Subd. 10. Rules. To implement this section, the commissioner shall promulgate rules in
accordance with chapter 14.

Subd. 11. Investment per bed limits; interest expense limitations; leases. (a) The
provisions of Minnesota Rules, part 9553.0075, except as modified under this subdivision, shall
apply to newly constructed or established facilities that are certified for medical assistance on
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or after May 1, 1990.

(b) For purposes of establishing payment rates under this subdivision and Minnesota Rules,
parts 9553.0010 to 9553.0080, the term "newly constructed or newly established" means a facility
(1) for which a need determination has been approved by the commissioner under sections 252.28
and 252.291; (2) whose program is newly licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts 9525.0215 to
9525.0355, and certified under Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 442.400, et seq.;
and (3) that is part of a proposal that meets the requirements of section 252.291, subdivision 2,
paragraph (a), clause (2). The term does not include a facility for which a need determination
was granted solely for other reasons such as the relocation of a facility; a change in the facility's
name, program, number of beds, type of beds, or ownership; or the sale of a facility, unless the
relocation of a facility to one or more service sites is the result of a closure of a facility under
section 252.292, in which case clause (3) shall not apply. The term does include a facility that
converts more than 50 percent of its licensed beds from class A to class B residential or class B
institutional to serve persons discharged from state regional treatment centers on or after May 1,
1990, in which case clause (3) does not apply.

(c) Newly constructed or newly established facilities that are certified for medical assistance
on or after May 1, 1990, shall be allowed the capital asset investment per bed limits as provided
in clauses (1) to (4).

(1) The 1990 calendar year investment per bed limit for a facility's land must not exceed
$5,700 per bed for newly constructed or newly established facilities in Hennepin, Ramsey, Anoka,
Washington, Dakota, Scott, Carver, Chisago, Isanti, Wright, Benton, Sherburne, Stearns, St.
Louis, Clay, and Olmsted Counties, and must not exceed $3,000 per bed for newly constructed or
newly established facilities in other counties.

(2) The 1990 calendar year investment per bed limit for a facility's depreciable capital assets
must not exceed $44,800 for class B residential beds, and $45,200 for class B institutional beds.

(3) The investment per bed limit in clause (2) must not be used in determining the three-year
average percentage increase adjustment in Minnesota Rules, part 9553.0060, subpart 1, item C,
subitem (4), for facilities that were newly constructed or newly established before May 1, 1990.

(4) The investment per bed limits in clause (2) and Minnesota Rules, part 9553.0060,
subpart 1, item C, subitem (2) shall be adjusted annually beginning January 1, 1991, and each
January 1 following, as provided in Minnesota Rules, part 9553.0060, subpart 1, item C, subitem
(2), except that the index utilized will be the Bureau of the Census: Composite Fixed-Weighted
Price Index as published in the Survey of Current Business.

(d) A newly constructed or newly established facility's interest expense limitation as
provided for in Minnesota Rules, part 9553.0060, subpart 3, item F, on capital debt for capital
assets acquired during the interim or settle-up period, shall be increased by 2.5 percentage
points for each full .25 percentage points that the facility's interest rate on its mortgage is below
the maximum interest rate as established in Minnesota Rules, part 9553.0060, subpart 2, item
A, subitem (2). For all following rate periods, the interest expense limitation on capital debt in
Minnesota Rules, part 9553.0060, subpart 3, item F, shall apply to the facility's capital assets
acquired, leased, or constructed after the interim or settle-up period. If a newly constructed or
newly established facility is acquired by the state, the limitations of this paragraph and Minnesota
Rules, part 9553.0060, subpart 3, item F, shall not apply.
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(e) If a newly constructed or newly established facility is leased with an arm's-length lease
as provided for in Minnesota Rules, part 9553.0060, subpart 7, the lease agreement shall be
subject to the following conditions:

(1) the term of the lease, including option periods, must not be less than 20 years;
(2) the maximum interest rate used in determining the present value of the lease must not

exceed the lesser of the interest rate limitation in Minnesota Rules, part 9553.0060, subpart 2,
item A, subitem (2), or 16 percent; and

(3) the residual value used in determining the net present value of the lease must be
established using the provisions of Minnesota Rules, part 9553.0060.

(f) All leases of the physical plant of an intermediate care facility for the developmentally
disabled shall contain a clause that requires the owner to give the commissioner notice of any
requests or orders to vacate the premises 90 days before such vacation of the premises is to take
place. In the case of eviction actions, the owner shall notify the commissioner within three days
of notice of an eviction action being served upon the tenant. The only exception to this notice
requirement is in the case of emergencies where immediate vacation of the premises is necessary
to assure the safety and welfare of the residents. In such an emergency situation, the owner shall
give the commissioner notice of the request to vacate at the time the owner of the property is
aware that the vacating of the premises is necessary. This section applies to all leases entered into
after May 1, 1990. Rentals set in leases entered into after that date that do not contain this clause
are not allowable costs for purposes of medical assistance reimbursement.

(g) A newly constructed or newly established facility's preopening costs are subject to the
provisions of Minnesota Rules, part 9553.0035, subpart 12, and must be limited to only those
costs incurred during one of the following periods, whichever is shorter:

(1) between the date the commissioner approves the facility's need determination and 30
days before the date the facility is certified for medical assistance; or

(2) the 12-month period immediately preceding the 30 days before the date the facility
is certified for medical assistance.

(h) The development of any newly constructed or newly established facility as defined
in this subdivision and projected to be operational after July 1, 1991, by the commissioner of
human services shall be delayed until July 1, 1993, except for those facilities authorized by the
commissioner as a result of a closure of a facility according to section 252.292 prior to January 1,
1991, or those facilities developed as a result of a receivership of a facility according to section
245A.12. This paragraph does not apply to state-operated community facilities authorized in
section 252.50.

Subd. 12. ICF/MR salary adjustments. Effective July 1, 1998, to September 30, 2000, the
commissioner shall make available the appropriate salary adjustment cost per diem calculated
in paragraphs (a) to (e) to the total operating cost payment rate of each facility subject to
reimbursement under this section and Laws 1993, First Special Session chapter 1, article 4,
section 11. The salary adjustment cost per diem must be determined as follows:

(a) A state-operated community service, and any facility whose payment rates are governed
by closure agreements, receivership agreements, or Minnesota Rules, part 9553.0075, are not
eligible for a salary adjustment otherwise granted under this subdivision. For purposes of the
salary adjustment per diem computation and reviews in this subdivision, the term "salary
adjustment cost" means the facility's allowable program operating cost category employee training
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expenses, and the facility's allowable salaries, payroll taxes, and fringe benefits. The term does
not include these same salary-related costs for both administrative or central office employees.

For the purpose of determining the amount of salary adjustment to be granted under this
subdivision, the commissioner must use the reporting year ending December 31, 1996, as the base
year for the salary adjustment per diem computation.

(b) For the rate period beginning July 1, 1998, each facility shall receive a salary adjustment
cost per diem equal to its salary adjustment costs multiplied by 3.0 percent, and then divided by
the facility's resident days.

(c) A facility may apply for the salary adjustment per diem calculated under this
subdivision. The application must be made to the commissioner and contain a plan by which the
facility will distribute the salary adjustment to employees of the facility. For facilities in which the
employees are represented by an exclusive bargaining representative, an agreement negotiated
and agreed to by the employer and the exclusive bargaining representative, after July 1, 1998,
may constitute the plan for the salary distribution. The commissioner shall review the plan to
ensure that the salary adjustment per diem is used solely to increase the compensation of facility
employees. To be eligible, a facility must submit its plan for the salary distribution by December
31, 1998. If a facility's plan for salary distribution is effective for its employees after July 1, 1998,
the salary adjustment cost per diem shall be effective the same date as its plan.

(d) Additional costs incurred by facilities as a result of this salary adjustment are not
allowable costs for purposes of the December 31, 1998, cost report.

(e) In order to apply for a salary adjustment, a facility reimbursed under Laws 1993,
First Special Session chapter 1, article 4, section 11, must report the information referred to in
paragraph (a) in the application, in the manner specified by the commissioner.

Subd. 13. ICF/MR rate increases beginning October 1, 1999, and October 1, 2000. (a)
For the rate years beginning October 1, 1999, and October 1, 2000, the commissioner shall make
available to each facility reimbursed under this section, section 256B.5011, and Laws 1993, First
Special Session chapter 1, article 4, section 11, an adjustment to the total operating payment
rate. For each facility, total operating costs shall be separated into costs that are compensation
related and all other costs. "Compensation-related costs" means the facility's allowable program
operating cost category employee training expenses and the facility's allowable salaries, payroll
taxes, and fringe benefits. The term does not include these same salary-related costs for both
administrative or central office employees.

For the purpose of determining the adjustment to be granted under this subdivision, the
commissioner must use the most recent cost report that has been subject to desk audit.

(b) For the rate year beginning October 1, 1999, the commissioner shall make available
a rate increase for compensation-related costs of 4.6 percent and a rate increase for all other
operating costs of 3.2 percent.

(c) For the rate year beginning October 1, 2000, the commissioner shall make available:

(1) a rate increase for compensation-related costs of 6.6 percent, 45 percent of which shall
be used to increase the per-hour pay rate of all employees except administrative and central
office employees by an equal dollar amount and to pay associated costs for FICA, the Medicare
tax, workers' compensation premiums, and federal and state unemployment insurance provided
that this portion of the compensation-related increase shall be used only for wage increases
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implemented on or after October 1, 2000, and shall not be used for wage increases implemented
prior to that date; and

(2) a rate increase for all other operating costs of two percent.
(d) For each facility, the commissioner shall determine the payment rate adjustment using

the categories specified in paragraph (a) multiplied by the rate increases specified in paragraph (b)
or (c), and then dividing the resulting amount by the facility's actual resident days.

(e) Any facility whose payment rates are governed by closure agreements, receivership
agreements, or Minnesota Rules, part 9553.0075, are not eligible for an adjustment otherwise
granted under this subdivision.

(f) A facility may apply for the compensation-related payment rate adjustment calculated
under this subdivision. The application must be made to the commissioner and contain a plan by
which the facility will distribute the compensation-related portion of the payment rate adjustment
to employees of the facility. For facilities in which the employees are represented by an exclusive
bargaining representative, an agreement negotiated and agreed to by the employer and the
exclusive bargaining representative constitutes the plan. For the second rate year, a negotiated
agreement may constitute the plan only if the agreement is finalized after the date of enactment
of all rate increases for the second rate year. The commissioner shall review the plan to ensure
that the payment rate adjustment per diem is used as provided in this subdivision. To be eligible,
a facility must submit its plan for the compensation distribution by December 31 each year. A
facility may amend its plan for the second rate year by submitting a revised plan by December
31, 2000. If a facility's plan for compensation distribution is effective for its employees after
October 1 of the year that the funds are available, the payment rate adjustment per diem shall be
effective the same date as its plan.

(g) A copy of the approved distribution plan must be made available to all employees. This
must be done by giving each employee a copy or by posting it in an area of the facility to which all
employees have access. If an employee does not receive the compensation adjustment described in
their facility's approved plan and is unable to resolve the problem with the facility's management
or through the employee's union representative, the employee may contact the commissioner at an
address or telephone number provided by the commissioner and included in the approved plan.

History: 1983 c 312 art 9 s 7; 1984 c 640 s 32; 1984 c 654 art 5 s 25,58; 1985 c 21 s 57;
1986 c 420 s 13; 1987 c 403 art 5 s 17-19; 1988 c 689 art 2 s 169-180; 1989 c 282 art 3 s 84-86;
1990 c 568 art 3 s 80-82; 1991 c 292 art 4 s 64-66; 1992 c 513 art 7 s 122; art 9 s 28,29; 1993 c
339 s 22; 1Sp1993 c 1 art 5 s 109-112; 1995 c 114 s 1; 1995 c 207 art 7 s 33-40; 1996 c 305
art 2 s 49,50; 1996 c 451 art 3 s 4-7; 1997 c 187 art 5 s 28; 1998 c 407 art 3 s 15; art 4 s 43;
1999 c 245 art 4 s 69; 2000 c 464 art 2 s 2; 2000 c 474 s 12; 2000 c 488 art 9 s 23,37; 2000
c 499 s 24,26; 2001 c 35 s 1; 2003 c 2 art 2 s 2; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 3 s 47,48; 2005 c 56 s 1;
2009 c 79 art 6 s 14; 2009 c 101 art 2 s 109

256B.5011 ICF/MR REIMBURSEMENT SYSTEM EFFECTIVE OCTOBER 1, 2000.

Subdivision 1. In general. Effective October 1, 2000, the commissioner shall implement a
contracting system to replace the current method of setting total cost payment rates under section
256B.501 and Minnesota Rules, parts 9553.0010 to 9553.0080. In determining prospective
payment rates of intermediate care facilities for persons with developmental disabilities, the
commissioner shall index each facility's operating payment rate by an inflation factor as described
in section 256B.5012. The commissioner of management and budget shall include annual inflation
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adjustments in operating costs for intermediate care facilities for persons with developmental
disabilities as a budget change request in each biennial detailed expenditure budget submitted to
the legislature under section 16A.11.

Subd. 2. Contract provisions. (a) The service contract with each intermediate care facility
must include provisions for:

(1) modifying payments when significant changes occur in the needs of the consumers;
(2) appropriate and necessary statistical information required by the commissioner;
(3) annual aggregate facility financial information; and
(4) additional requirements for intermediate care facilities not meeting the standards set

forth in the service contract.
(b) The commissioner of human services and the commissioner of health, in consultation

with representatives from counties, advocacy organizations, and the provider community, shall
review the consolidated standards under chapter 245B and the supervised living facility rule under
Minnesota Rules, chapter 4665, to determine what provisions in Minnesota Rules, chapter 4665,
may be waived by the commissioner of health for intermediate care facilities in order to enable
facilities to implement the performance measures in their contract and provide quality services to
residents without a duplication of or increase in regulatory requirements.

Subd. 3. [Repealed, 1999 c 245 art 3 s 51]
History: 1998 c 407 art 3 s 16; 1999 c 245 art 3 s 31,32; 2000 c 474 s 13; 2005 c 56 s 1;

2009 c 79 art 8 s 70; 2009 c 101 art 2 s 109; 2009 c 159 s 100

256B.5012 ICF/MR PAYMENT SYSTEM IMPLEMENTATION.

Subdivision 1. Total payment rate. The total payment rate effective October 1, 2000, for
existing ICF/MR facilities is the total of the operating payment rate and the property payment
rate plus inflation factors as defined in this section. The initial rate year shall run from October
1, 2000, through December 31, 2001. Subsequent rate years shall run from January 1 through
December 31 beginning in the year 2002.

Subd. 2. Operating payment rate. (a) The operating payment rate equals the facility's total
payment rate in effect on September 30, 2000, minus the property rate. The operating payment
rate includes the special operating rate and the efficiency incentive in effect as of September 30,
2000. Within the limits of appropriations specifically for this purpose, the operating payment shall
be increased for each rate year by the annual percentage change in the Employment Cost Index for
Private Industry Workers - Total Compensation, as forecasted by the commissioner of management
and budget's economic consultant, in the second quarter of the calendar year preceding the start
of each rate year. In the case of the initial rate year beginning October 1, 2000, and continuing
through December 31, 2001, the percentage change shall be based on the percentage change in the
Employment Cost Index for Private Industry Workers - Total Compensation for the 15-month
period beginning October 1, 2000, as forecast by Data Resources, Inc., in the first quarter of 2000.

(b) Effective October 1, 2000, the operating payment rate shall be adjusted to reflect an
occupancy rate equal to 100 percent of the facility's capacity days as of September 30, 2000.

(c) Effective July 1, 2001, the operating payment rate shall be adjusted for the increases in
the Department of Health licensing fees that were authorized in section 144.122.

Subd. 3. Property payment rate. (a) The property payment rate effective October 1, 2000,
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is based on the facility's modified property payment rate in effect on September 30, 2000. The
modified property payment rate is the actual property payment rate exclusive of the effect of gains
or losses on disposal of capital assets or adjustments for excess depreciation claims. Effective
October 1, 2000, a facility minimum property rate of $8.13 shall be applied to all existing ICF/MR
facilities. Facilities with a modified property payment rate effective September 30, 2000, which is
below the minimum property rate shall receive an increase effective October 1, 2000, equal to the
difference between the minimum property payment rate and the modified property payment rate
in effect as of September 30, 2000. Facilities with a modified property payment rate at or above
the minimum property payment rate effective September 30, 2000, shall receive the modified
property payment rate effective October 1, 2000.

(b) Within the limits of appropriations specifically for this purpose, facility property
payment rates shall be increased annually for inflation, effective January 1, 2002. The increase
shall be based on each facility's property payment rate in effect on September 30, 2000. Modified
property payment rates effective September 30, 2000, shall be arrayed from highest to lowest
before applying the minimum property payment rate in paragraph (a). For modified property
payment rates at the 90th percentile or above, the annual inflation increase shall be zero. For
modified property payment rates below the 90th percentile but equal to or above the 75th
percentile, the annual inflation increase shall be one percent. For modified property payment rates
below the 75th percentile, the annual inflation increase shall be two percent.

Subd. 4. ICF/MR rate increases beginning July 1, 2001, and July 1, 2002. (a) For the
rate years beginning July 1, 2001, and July 1, 2002, the commissioner shall make available to
each facility reimbursed under this section an adjustment to the total operating payment rate of
3.5 percent. Of this adjustment, two-thirds must be used as provided under paragraph (b) and
one-third must be used for operating costs.

(b) The adjustment under this paragraph must be used to increase the wages and benefits
and pay associated costs of all employees except administrative and central office employees,
provided that this increase must be used only for wage and benefit increases implemented on or
after the first day of the rate year and must not be used for increases implemented prior to that date.

(c) For each facility, the commissioner shall make available an adjustment using the
percentage specified in paragraph (a) multiplied by the total payment rate, excluding the
property-related payment rate, in effect on the preceding June 30. The total payment rate shall
include the adjustment provided in section 256B.501, subdivision 12.

(d) A facility whose payment rates are governed by closure agreements, receivership
agreements, or Minnesota Rules, part 9553.0075, is not eligible for an adjustment otherwise
granted under this subdivision.

(e) A facility may apply for the payment rate adjustment provided under paragraph (b).
The application must be made to the commissioner and contain a plan by which the facility will
distribute the adjustment in paragraph (b) to employees of the facility. For facilities in which the
employees are represented by an exclusive bargaining representative, an agreement negotiated
and agreed to by the employer and the exclusive bargaining representative constitutes the plan. A
negotiated agreement may constitute the plan only if the agreement is finalized after the date of
enactment of all rate increases for the rate year. The commissioner shall review the plan to ensure
that the payment rate adjustment per diem is used as provided in this subdivision. To be eligible, a
facility must submit its plan by March 31, 2002, and March 31, 2003, respectively. If a facility's
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plan is effective for its employees after the first day of the applicable rate year that the funds are
available, the payment rate adjustment per diem is effective the same date as its plan.

(f) A copy of the approved distribution plan must be made available to all employees by
giving each employee a copy or by posting it in an area of the facility to which all employees have
access. If an employee does not receive the wage and benefit adjustment described in the facility's
approved plan and is unable to resolve the problem with the facility's management or through the
employee's union representative, the employee may contact the commissioner at an address or
telephone number provided by the commissioner and included in the approved plan.

Subd. 5. Rate increase effective June 1, 2003. For rate periods beginning on or after
June 1, 2003, the commissioner shall increase the total operating payment rate for each facility
reimbursed under this section by $3 per day. The increase shall not be subject to any annual
percentage increase.

Subd. 6. ICF/MR rate increases October 1, 2005, and October 1, 2006. (a) For the rate
periods beginning October 1, 2005, and October 1, 2006, the commissioner shall make available
to each facility reimbursed under this section an adjustment to the total operating payment rate of
2.2553 percent.

(b) 75 percent of the money resulting from the rate adjustment under paragraph (a) must
be used to increase wages and benefits and pay associated costs for employees, except for
administrative and central office employees. 75 percent of the money received by a facility as a
result of the rate adjustment provided in paragraph (a) must be used only for wage, benefit, and
staff increases implemented on or after the effective date of the rate increase each year, and must
not be used for increases implemented prior to that date. The wage adjustment eligible employees
may receive may vary based on merit, seniority, or other factors determined by the provider.

(c) For each facility, the commissioner shall make available an adjustment, based on
occupied beds, using the percentage specified in paragraph (a) multiplied by the total payment
rate, including variable rate but excluding the property-related payment rate, in effect on the
preceding day. The total payment rate shall include the adjustment provided in section 256B.501,
subdivision 12.

(d) A facility whose payment rates are governed by closure agreements or receivership
agreements is not eligible for an adjustment otherwise granted under this subdivision.

(e) A facility may apply for the portion of the payment rate adjustment provided under
paragraph (a) for employee wages and benefits and associated costs. The application must be
made to the commissioner and contain a plan by which the facility will distribute the funds
according to paragraph (b). For facilities in which the employees are represented by an exclusive
bargaining representative, an agreement negotiated and agreed to by the employer and the
exclusive bargaining representative constitutes the plan. A negotiated agreement may constitute
the plan only if the agreement is finalized after the date of enactment of all rate increases for the
rate year. The commissioner shall review the plan to ensure that the payment rate adjustment
per diem is used as provided in this subdivision. To be eligible, a facility must submit its plan
by March 31, 2006, and December 31, 2006, respectively. If a facility's plan is effective for its
employees after the first day of the applicable rate period that the funds are available, the payment
rate adjustment per diem is effective the same date as its plan.

(f) A copy of the approved distribution plan must be made available to all employees by
giving each employee a copy or by posting it in an area of the facility to which all employees have
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access. If an employee does not receive the wage and benefit adjustment described in the facility's
approved plan and is unable to resolve the problem with the facility's management or through the
employee's union representative, the employee may contact the commissioner at an address or
telephone number provided by the commissioner and included in the approved plan.

Subd. 7. ICF/MR rate increases effective October 1, 2007, and October 1, 2008. (a) For
the rate year beginning October 1, 2007, the commissioner shall make available to each facility
reimbursed under this section operating payment rate adjustments equal to 2.0 percent of the
operating payment rates in effect on September 30, 2007. For the rate year beginning October
1, 2008, the commissioner shall make available to each facility reimbursed under this section
operating payment rate adjustments equal to 2.0 percent of the operating payment rates in effect
on September 30, 2008. For each facility, the commissioner shall make available an adjustment,
based on occupied beds, using the percentage specified in this paragraph multiplied by the total
payment rate, including the variable rate but excluding the property-related payment rate, in effect
on the preceding day. The total payment rate shall include the adjustment provided in section
256B.501, subdivision 12. A facility whose payment rates are governed by closure agreements or
receivership agreements is not eligible for an adjustment otherwise granted under this subdivision.

(b) Seventy-five percent of the money resulting from the rate adjustments under paragraph
(a) must be used for increases in compensation-related costs for employees directly employed by
the facility on or after the effective date of the rate adjustments, except:

(1) the administrator;
(2) persons employed in the central office of a corporation that has an ownership interest in

the facility or exercises control over the facility; and
(3) persons paid by the facility under a management contract.
(c) Two-thirds of the money available under paragraph (b) must be used for wage increases

for all employees directly employed by the facility on or after the effective date of the rate
adjustments, except those listed in paragraph (b), clauses (1) to (3). The wage adjustment that
employees receive under this paragraph must be paid as an equal hourly percentage wage increase
for all eligible employees. All wage increases under this paragraph must be effective on the same
date. Only costs associated with the portion of the equal hourly percentage wage increase that
goes to all employees shall qualify under this paragraph. Costs associated with wage increases in
excess of the amount of the equal hourly percentage wage increase provided to all employees
shall be allowed only for meeting the requirements in paragraph (b). This paragraph shall not
apply to employees covered by a collective bargaining agreement.

(d) The commissioner shall allow as compensation-related costs all costs for:
(1) wages and salaries;
(2) FICA taxes, Medicare taxes, state and federal unemployment taxes, and workers'

compensation;
(3) the employer's share of health and dental insurance, life insurance, disability insurance,

long-term care insurance, uniform allowance, and pensions; and
(4) other benefits provided, subject to the approval of the commissioner.
(e) The portion of the rate adjustments under paragraph (a) that is not subject to the

requirements in paragraphs (b) and (c) shall be provided to facilities effective October 1 of each
year.
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(f) Facilities may apply for the portion of the rate adjustments under paragraph (a) that is
subject to the requirements in paragraphs (b) and (c). The application must be submitted to the
commissioner within six months of the effective date of the rate adjustments, and the facility
must provide additional information required by the commissioner within nine months of the
effective date of the rate adjustments. The commissioner must respond to all applications within
three weeks of receipt. The commissioner may waive the deadlines in this paragraph under
extraordinary circumstances, to be determined at the sole discretion of the commissioner. The
application must contain:

(1) an estimate of the amounts of money that must be used as specified in paragraphs
(b) and (c);

(2) a detailed distribution plan specifying the allowable compensation-related and wage
increases the facility will implement to use the funds available in clause (1);

(3) a description of how the facility will notify eligible employees of the contents of the
approved application, which must provide for giving each eligible employee a copy of the
approved application, excluding the information required in clause (1), or posting a copy of the
approved application, excluding the information required in clause (1), for a period of at least six
weeks in an area of the facility to which all eligible employees have access; and

(4) instructions for employees who believe they have not received the compensation-related
or wage increases specified in clause (2), as approved by the commissioner, and which must
include a mailing address, e-mail address, and the telephone number that may be used by the
employee to contact the commissioner or the commissioner's representative.

(g) The commissioner shall ensure that cost increases in distribution plans under paragraph
(f), clause (2), that may be included in approved applications, comply with requirements in
clauses (1) to (4):

(1) costs to be incurred during the applicable rate year resulting from wage and salary
increases effective after October 1, 2006, and prior to the first day of the facility's payroll period
that includes October 1 of each year shall be allowed if they were not used in the prior year's
application and they meet the requirements of paragraphs (b) and (c);

(2) a portion of the costs resulting from tenure-related wage or salary increases may be
considered to be allowable wage increases, according to formulas that the commissioner shall
provide, where employee retention is above the average statewide rate of retention of direct
care employees;

(3) the annualized amount of increases in costs for the employer's share of health and dental
insurance, life insurance, disability insurance, and workers' compensation shall be allowable
compensation-related increases if they are effective on or after April 1 of the year in which the
rate adjustments are effective and prior to April 1 of the following year; and

(4) for facilities in which employees are represented by an exclusive bargaining
representative, the commissioner shall approve the application only upon receipt of a letter of
acceptance of the distribution plan, as regards members of the bargaining unit, signed by the
exclusive bargaining agent and dated after May 25, 2007. Upon receipt of the letter of acceptance,
the commissioner shall deem all requirements of this section as having been met in regard to
the members of the bargaining unit.

(h) The commissioner shall review applications received under paragraph (f) and shall
provide the portion of the rate adjustments under paragraphs (b) and (c) if the requirements
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of this subdivision have been met. The rate adjustments shall be effective October 1 of each
year. Notwithstanding paragraph (a), if the approved application distributes less money than is
available, the amount of the rate adjustment shall be reduced so that the amount of money made
available is equal to the amount to be distributed.

Subd. 8. ICF/MR rate decreases effective July 1, 2009. Effective July 1, 2009, the
commissioner shall decrease each facility reimbursed under this section operating payment
adjustments equal to 2.58 percent of the operating payment rates in effect on June 30, 2009. For
each facility, the commissioner shall implement the rate reduction, based on occupied beds, using
the percentage specified in this subdivision multiplied by the total payment rate, including the
variable rate but excluding the property-related payment rate, in effect on the preceding date. The
total rate reduction shall include the adjustment provided in subdivision 7.

Subd. 9. ICF/DD rate increase effective July 1, 2011; Clearwater County. Effective
July 1, 2011, the commissioner shall increase the daily rate to $138.23 at an intermediate care
facility for the developmentally disabled located in Clearwater County and classified as a class A
facility with 15 beds.

Subd. 10. ICF/DD rate decrease effective July 1, 2011; exception for Clearwater
County. For each facility reimbursed under this section, except for a facility located in Clearwater
County and classified as a class A facility with 15 beds, the commissioner shall decrease operating
payment rates equal to 0.095 percent of the operating payment rates in effect on June 30, 2011.
For each facility, the commissioner shall apply the rate reduction, based on occupied beds, using
the percentage specified in this subdivision multiplied by the total payment rate, including the
variable rate but excluding the property-related payment rate, in effect on the preceding date. The
total rate reduction shall include the adjustment provided in section 256B.501, subdivision 12.

Subd. 11. ICF/DD rate decrease effective July 1, 2011. For each facility reimbursed under
this section, the commissioner shall decrease operating payments equal to 1.5 percent of the
operating payment rates in effect on June 30, 2011. For each facility, the commissioner shall apply
the rate reduction, based on occupied beds, using the percentage specified in this subdivision
multiplied by the total payment rate, including the variable rate but excluding the property-related
payment rate, in effect on the preceding date. The total rate reduction shall include the adjustment
provided in section 256B.501, subdivision 12.

Subd. 12. ICF/DD rate increase effective July 1, 2013. For each facility reimbursed under
this section, the commissioner shall increase operating payments equal to one-half percent of the
operating payment rates in effect on June 30, 2013. For each facility, the commissioner shall
apply the rate increase, based on occupied beds, using the percentage specified in this subdivision
multiplied by the total payment rate, including the variable rate but excluding the property-related
payment rate, in effect on the preceding date. The total rate increase shall include the adjustment
provided in section 256B.501, subdivision 12.

Subd. 13. ICF/DD rate decrease effective July 1, 2012. Notwithstanding subdivision
12, for each facility reimbursed under this section, the commissioner shall decrease operating
payments equal to 1.67 percent of the operating payment rates in effect on June 30, 2012. For
each facility, the commissioner shall apply the rate reduction based on occupied beds, using
the percentage specified in this subdivision multiplied by the total payment rate, including the
variable rate but excluding the property-related payment rate, in effect on the preceding date. The
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total rate reduction shall include the adjustment provided in section 256B.501, subdivision 12.
[See Note.]
History: 1999 c 245 art 3 s 33; 1Sp2001 c 9 art 5 s 30; 2002 c 375 art 2 s 42; 2002 c 379

art 1 s 113; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 2 s 38; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 7 s 45; 2006 c 282 art 20 s 27; 2007 c 147
art 7 s 59; 2008 c 363 art 15 s 13; 2009 c 79 art 8 s 71; 2009 c 101 art 2 s 109; 2009 c 159 s
101,102; 2010 c 382 s 50; 1Sp2011 c 9 art 7 s 42-46

NOTE: Subdivision 13, as added by Laws 2011, First Special Session chapter 9, article
7, section 46, is effective July 1, 2012, if the federal approval required under Laws 2011, First
Special Session chapter 9, article 7, section 52, has not been obtained by June 30, 2012. Laws
2011, First Special Session chapter 9, article 7, section 46, the effective date.

256B.5013 PAYMENT RATE ADJUSTMENTS.

Subdivision 1. Variable rate adjustments. (a) For rate years beginning on or after October
1, 2000, when there is a documented increase in the needs of a current ICF/MR recipient, the
county of financial responsibility may recommend a variable rate to enable the facility to meet
the individual's increased needs. Variable rate adjustments made under this subdivision replace
payments for persons with special needs under section 256B.501, subdivision 8, and payments for
persons with special needs for crisis intervention services under section 256B.501, subdivision
8a. Effective July 1, 2003, facilities with a base rate above the 50th percentile of the statewide
average reimbursement rate for a Class A facility or Class B facility, whichever matches the
facility licensure, are not eligible for a variable rate adjustment. Variable rate adjustments may
not exceed a 12-month period, except when approved for purposes established in paragraph (b),
clause (1). Variable rate adjustments approved solely on the basis of changes on a developmental
disabilities screening document will end June 30, 2002.

(b) A variable rate may be recommended by the county of financial responsibility for
increased needs in the following situations:

(1) a need for resources due to an individual's full or partial retirement from participation in
a day training and habilitation service when the individual: (i) has reached the age of 65 or has
a change in health condition that makes it difficult for the person to participate in day training
and habilitation services over an extended period of time because it is medically contraindicated;
and (ii) has expressed a desire for change through the developmental disability screening process
under section 256B.092;

(2) a need for additional resources for intensive short-term programming which is necessary
prior to an individual's discharge to a less restrictive, more integrated setting;

(3) a demonstrated medical need that significantly impacts the type or amount of services
needed by the individual; or

(4) a demonstrated behavioral need that significantly impacts the type or amount of services
needed by the individual.

(c) The county of financial responsibility must justify the purpose, the projected length of
time, and the additional funding needed for the facility to meet the needs of the individual.

(d) The facility shall provide an annual report to the county case manager on the use of the
variable rate funds and the status of the individual on whose behalf the funds were approved. The
county case manager will forward the facility's report with a recommendation to the commissioner
to approve or disapprove a continuation of the variable rate.
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(e) Funds made available through the variable rate process that are not used by the facility
to meet the needs of the individual for whom they were approved shall be returned to the state.

Subd. 2. [Repealed, 2009 c 159 s 112]

Subd. 3. [Repealed, 2009 c 159 s 112]

Subd. 4. [Repealed, 1Sp2003 c 14 art 3 s 60]

Subd. 5. [Repealed, 2009 c 159 s 112]

Subd. 6. Commissioner's responsibilities. The commissioner shall:

(1) make a determination to approve, deny, or modify a request for a variable rate
adjustment within 30 days of the receipt of the completed application;

(2) notify the ICF/MR facility and county case manager of the duration and conditions of
variable rate adjustment approvals; and

(3) modify MMIS II service agreements to reimburse ICF/MR facilities for approved
variable rates.

Subd. 7. Rate adjustments; short-term admissions; crisis or specialized medical
care. Beginning July 1, 2003, the commissioner may designate up to 25 beds in ICF/MR
facilities statewide for short-term admissions due to crisis care needs or care for medically fragile
individuals. The commissioner shall adjust the monthly facility rate to provide payment for
vacancies in designated short-term beds by an amount equal to the rate for each recipient residing
in a designated bed for up to 15 days per bed per month. The commissioner may designate
short-term beds in ICF/MR facilities based on the short-term care needs of a region or county as
provided in section 252.28. Nothing in this section shall be construed as limiting payments for
short-term admissions of eligible recipients to an ICF/MR that is not designated for short-term
admissions for crisis or specialized medical care under this subdivision and does not receive a
temporary rate adjustment.

History: 1999 c 245 art 3 s 34; 2000 c 474 s 14-16; 2001 c 203 s 13; 2002 c 220 art 14 s
14-18; 2002 c 374 art 10 s 7; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 3 s 49; 2005 c 56 s 1; 2009 c 159 s 103,104

256B.5014 FINANCIAL REPORTING.

All facilities shall maintain financial records and shall provide annual income and expense
reports to the commissioner of human services on a form prescribed by the commissioner no later
than April 30 of each year in order to receive medical assistance payments. The reports for the
reporting year ending December 31 must include:

(1) salaries and related expenses, including program salaries, administrative salaries, other
salaries, payroll taxes, and fringe benefits;

(2) general operating expenses, including supplies, training, repairs, purchased services
and consultants, utilities, food, licenses and fees, real estate taxes, insurance, and working
capital interest;

(3) property related costs, including depreciation, capital debt interest, rent, and leases; and

(4) total annual resident days.

History: 1999 c 245 art 3 s 35
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256B.5015 PASS-THROUGH OF OTHER SERVICES COSTS.

Subdivision 1. Day training and habilitation services. Day training and habilitation
services costs shall be paid as a pass-through payment at the lowest rate paid for the comparable
services at that site under sections 252.40 to 252.46. The pass-through payments for training and
habilitation services shall be paid separately by the commissioner and shall not be included in the
computation of the ICF/MR facility total payment rate.

Subd. 2. Services during the day. Services during the day, as defined in section 256B.501,
but excluding day training and habilitation services, shall be paid as a pass-through payment no
later than January 1, 2004. The commissioner shall establish rates for these services, other than
day training and habilitation services, at levels that do not exceed 75 percent of a recipient's day
training and habilitation service costs prior to the service change.

When establishing a rate for these services, the commissioner shall also consider an
individual recipient's needs as identified in the individualized service plan and the person's need
for active treatment as defined under federal regulations. The pass-through payments for services
during the day shall be paid separately by the commissioner and shall not be included in the
computation of the ICF/MR facility total payment rate.

History: 1999 c 245 art 3 s 36; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 3 s 50

256B.5016 ICF/MR MANAGED CARE OPTION.

Subdivision 1.Managed care pilot. The commissioner may initiate a capitated risk-based
managed care option for services in an intermediate care facility for persons with developmental
disabilities according to the terms and conditions of the federal agreement governing the managed
care pilot. The commissioner may grant a variance to any of the provisions in sections 256B.501
to 256B.5015 and Minnesota Rules, parts 9525.1200 to 9525.1330 and 9525.1580.

Subd. 2. Report. The commissioner shall report to the legislature financial and program
results along with a recommendation as to whether the pilot should be expanded.

History: 2003 c 47 s 2; 2005 c 56 s 1

256B.502 RULES.

The commissioners of health and human services shall promulgate rules necessary to
implement Laws 1983, chapter 199.

History: 1983 c 199 s 16; 1984 c 640 s 32; 1984 c 654 art 5 s 58; 1996 c 305 art 2 s
51; 1997 c 187 art 5 s 29

256B.503 RULES.

To implement Laws 1983, chapter 312, article 9, sections 1 to 7, the commissioner shall
promulgate rules. Rules adopted to implement Laws 1983, chapter 312, article 9, section 5,
must (1) set standards for case management which include, encourage, and enable flexible
administration, (2) require the county boards to develop individualized procedures governing case
management activities, (3) consider criteria promulgated under section 256B.092, subdivision
3, and the federal waiver plan, (4) identify cost implications to the state and to county boards,
and (5) require the screening teams to make recommendations to the county case manager for
development of the individual service plan.
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The commissioner shall adopt rules to implement this section by July 1, 1986.
History: 1983 c 312 art 9 s 8; 1984 c 640 s 32; 1Sp1985 c 9 art 2 s 53; 1996 c 305 art 2 s

52; 1997 c 187 art 5 s 30; 2005 c 98 art 2 s 12

256B.504 [Repealed, 1995 c 248 art 2 s 8]

256B.51 NURSING HOMES; COST OF HOME CARE.

Subdivision 1. In-home care for elderly; experimental program. To determine the
effectiveness of home care in providing or arranging for the care and services which would
normally be provided in a nursing home, the commissioner of human services may establish an
experimental program to subsidize a limited number of eligible agencies or households which
agree to carry out a planned program of in-home care for an elderly or physically disabled
person. The household or agency to provide the services shall be selected by the person who will
receive the services.

This program shall be limited to agencies or households caring for persons who are
physically disabled or 60 years of age or older, and who otherwise would require and be eligible
for placement in a nursing home.

Subd. 2. Grants. Grants to eligible agencies or households shall be determined by the
commissioner of human services. In determining the grants, the commissioner shall consider the
cost of diagnostic assessments, homemaker services, specialized equipment, visiting nurses' or
other pertinent therapists' costs, social services, day program costs, and related transportation
expenses, not to exceed 50 percent of the average medical assistance reimbursement rate for
nursing homes in the region of the person's residence.

Subd. 3. Care plan required. An individual care plan for the person shall be established
and agreed upon by the person or agency providing the care, the person or agency receiving the
subsidy, the person receiving the care, and the appropriate local welfare agency. The plan shall
be periodically evaluated to determine the person's progress.

History: 1976 c 312 s 2; 1984 c 654 art 5 s 58

256B.53 DENTAL ACCESS GRANTS.
(a) The commissioner shall award grants to community clinics or other nonprofit

community organizations, political subdivisions, professional associations, or other organizations
that demonstrate the ability to provide dental services effectively to public program recipients.
Grants may be used to fund the costs related to coordinating access for recipients, developing and
implementing patient care criteria, upgrading or establishing new facilities, acquiring furnishings
or equipment, recruiting new providers, or other development costs that will improve access
to dental care in a region.

(b) In awarding grants, the commissioner shall give priority to applicants that plan to serve
areas of the state in which the number of dental providers is not currently sufficient to meet the
needs of recipients of public programs or uninsured individuals. The commissioner shall consider
the following in awarding the grants:

(1) potential to successfully increase access to an underserved population;
(2) the long-term viability of the project to improve access beyond the period of initial

funding;
(3) the efficiency in the use of the funding; and
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(4) the experience of the applicants in providing services to the target population.
(c) The commissioner shall consider grants for the following:
(1) implementation of new programs or continued expansion of current access programs

that have demonstrated success in providing dental services in underserved areas;
(2) a program for mobile or other types of outreach dental clinics in underserved geographic

areas;
(3) a program for school-based dental clinics in schools with high numbers of children

receiving medical assistance;
(4) a program testing new models of care that are sensitive to the cultural needs of the

recipients;
(5) a program creating new educational campaigns that inform individuals of the importance

of good oral health and the link between dental disease and overall health status;
(6) a program that organizes a network of volunteer dentists to provide dental services to

public program recipients or uninsured individuals; and
(7) a program that tests new delivery models by creating partnerships between local

providers and county public health agencies.
(d) The commissioner shall evaluate the effects of the dental access initiatives funded

through the dental access grants and submit a report to the legislature by January 15, 2003.
History: 1Sp2001 c 9 art 2 s 47; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113

256B.55 MS 2006 [Expired]

256B.56 [Repealed, 1996 c 310 s 1]

256B.57 [Repealed, 1996 c 310 s 1]

256B.58 [Repealed, 1996 c 310 s 1]

256B.59 [Repealed, 1996 c 310 s 1]

256B.60 [Repealed, 1996 c 310 s 1]

256B.61 [Repealed, 1996 c 310 s 1]

256B.62 [Repealed, 1996 c 310 s 1]

256B.63 [Repealed, 1996 c 310 s 1]

256B.64 ATTENDANTS TO VENTILATOR-DEPENDENT RECIPIENTS.
A ventilator-dependent recipient of medical assistance who has been receiving the services

of a private duty nurse or personal care assistant in the recipient's home may continue to have a
private duty nurse or personal care assistant present upon admission to a hospital licensed under
chapter 144. The personal care assistant or private duty nurse shall perform only the services of
communicator or interpreter for the ventilator-dependent patient during a transition period of up
to 120 hours to assure adequate training of the hospital staff to communicate with the patient and
to understand the unique comfort, safety, and personal care needs of the patient. The personal
care assistant or private duty nurse may offer nonbinding advice to the health care professionals
in charge of the ventilator-dependent patient's care and treatment on matters pertaining to the
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comfort and safety of the patient. Within 36 hours of the end of the 120-hour transition period,
an assessment may be made by the ventilator-dependent recipient, the attending physician, and
the hospital staff caring for the recipient. If the persons making the assessment determine that
additional communicator or interpreter services are medically necessary, the hospital must contact
the commissioner 24 hours prior to the end of the 120-hour transition period and submit the
assessment information to the commissioner. The commissioner shall review the request and
determine if it is medically necessary to continue the interpreter services or if the hospital staff
has had sufficient opportunity to adequately determine the needs of the patient. The commissioner
shall determine if continued service is necessary and appropriate and whether or not payments
shall continue. The commissioner may not authorize services beyond the limits of the available
appropriations for this section. The commissioner may adopt rules necessary to implement this
section. Reimbursement under this section must be at the payment rate and in a manner consistent
with the payment rate and manner used in reimbursing these providers for home care services for
the ventilator-dependent recipient under the medical assistance program.

History: 1988 c 689 art 2 s 181; 1991 c 292 art 7 s 20

256B.69 PREPAID HEALTH PLANS.

Subdivision 1. Purpose. The commissioner of human services shall establish a medical
assistance demonstration project to determine whether prepayment combined with better
management of health care services is an effective mechanism to ensure that all eligible individuals
receive necessary health care in a coordinated fashion while containing costs. For the purposes of
this project, waiver of certain statutory provisions is necessary in accordance with this section.

Subd. 2. Definitions. For the purposes of this section, the following terms have the
meanings given.

(a) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of human services. For the remainder of this
section, the commissioner's responsibilities for methods and policies for implementing the project
will be proposed by the project advisory committees and approved by the commissioner.

(b) "Demonstration provider" means a health maintenance organization, community
integrated service network, or accountable provider network authorized and operating under
chapter 62D, 62N, or 62T that participates in the demonstration project according to criteria,
standards, methods, and other requirements established for the project and approved by the
commissioner. For purposes of this section, a county board, or group of county boards operating
under a joint powers agreement, is considered a demonstration provider if the county or group of
county boards meets the requirements of section 256B.692. Notwithstanding the above, Itasca
County may continue to participate as a demonstration provider until July 1, 2004.

(c) "Eligible individuals" means those persons eligible for medical assistance benefits as
defined in sections 256B.055, 256B.056, and 256B.06.

(d) "Limitation of choice" means suspending freedom of choice while allowing eligible
individuals to choose among the demonstration providers.

Subd. 3. Geographic area. The commissioner shall designate the geographic areas in
which eligible individuals may be included in the medical assistance prepayment programs.

Subd. 3a. County authority. (a) The commissioner, when implementing the medical
assistance prepayment program within a county, must include the county board in the process of
development, approval, and issuance of the request for proposals to provide services to eligible
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individuals within the proposed county. County boards must be given reasonable opportunity
to make recommendations regarding the development, issuance, review of responses, and
changes needed in the request for proposals. The commissioner must provide county boards
the opportunity to review each proposal based on the identification of community needs under
chapters 145A and 256E and county advocacy activities. If a county board finds that a proposal
does not address certain community needs, the county board and commissioner shall continue
efforts for improving the proposal and network prior to the approval of the contract. The county
board shall make recommendations regarding the approval of local networks and their operations
to ensure adequate availability and access to covered services. The provider or health plan must
respond directly to county advocates and the state prepaid medical assistance ombudsperson
regarding service delivery and must be accountable to the state regarding contracts with medical
assistance funds. The county board may recommend a maximum number of participating health
plans after considering the size of the enrolling population; ensuring adequate access and
capacity; considering the client and county administrative complexity; and considering the need
to promote the viability of locally developed health plans. The county board or a single entity
representing a group of county boards and the commissioner shall mutually select health plans
for participation at the time of initial implementation of the prepaid medical assistance program
in that county or group of counties and at the time of contract renewal. The commissioner shall
also seek input for contract requirements from the county or single entity representing a group of
county boards at each contract renewal and incorporate those recommendations into the contract
negotiation process.

(b) At the option of the county board, the board may develop contract requirements
related to the achievement of local public health goals to meet the health needs of medical
assistance enrollees. These requirements must be reasonably related to the performance of health
plan functions and within the scope of the medical assistance benefit set. If the county board
and the commissioner mutually agree to such requirements, the department shall include such
requirements in all health plan contracts governing the prepaid medical assistance program in
that county at initial implementation of the program in that county and at the time of contract
renewal. The county board may participate in the enforcement of the contract provisions related
to local public health goals.

(c) For counties in which a prepaid medical assistance program has not been established,
the commissioner shall not implement that program if a county board submits an acceptable and
timely preliminary and final proposal under section 256B.692, until county-based purchasing is
no longer operational in that county. For counties in which a prepaid medical assistance program
is in existence on or after September 1, 1997, the commissioner must terminate contracts with
health plans according to section 256B.692, subdivision 5, if the county board submits and
the commissioner accepts a preliminary and final proposal according to that subdivision. The
commissioner is not required to terminate contracts that begin on or after September 1, 1997,
according to section 256B.692 until two years have elapsed from the date of initial enrollment.

(d) In the event that a county board or a single entity representing a group of county boards
and the commissioner cannot reach agreement regarding: (i) the selection of participating health
plans in that county; (ii) contract requirements; or (iii) implementation and enforcement of county
requirements including provisions regarding local public health goals, the commissioner shall
resolve all disputes after taking into account the recommendations of a three-person mediation
panel. The panel shall be composed of one designee of the president of the association of
Minnesota counties, one designee of the commissioner of human services, and one person
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selected jointly by the designee of the commissioner of human services and the designee of the
Association of Minnesota Counties. Within a reasonable period of time before the hearing, the
panelists must be provided all documents and information relevant to the mediation. The parties
to the mediation must be given 30 days' notice of a hearing before the mediation panel.

(e) If a county which elects to implement county-based purchasing ceases to implement
county-based purchasing, it is prohibited from assuming the responsibility of county-based
purchasing for a period of five years from the date it discontinues purchasing.

(f) The commissioner shall not require that contractual disputes between county-based
purchasing entities and the commissioner be mediated by a panel that includes a representative of
the Minnesota Council of Health Plans.

(g) At the request of a county-purchasing entity, the commissioner shall adopt a contract
reprocurement or renewal schedule under which all counties included in the entity's service area
are reprocured or renewed at the same time.

(h) The commissioner shall provide a written report under section 3.195 to the chairs of the
legislative committees having jurisdiction over human services in the senate and the house of
representatives describing in detail the activities undertaken by the commissioner to ensure full
compliance with this section. The report must also provide an explanation for any decisions of the
commissioner not to accept the recommendations of a county or group of counties required to be
consulted under this section. The report must be provided at least 30 days prior to the effective
date of a new or renewed prepaid or managed care contract in a county.

Subd. 3b. Provision of data to county boards. The commissioner, in consultation with
representatives of county boards of commissioners shall identify program information and
data necessary on an ongoing basis for county boards to: (1) make recommendations to the
commissioner related to state purchasing under the prepaid medical assistance program; and (2)
effectively administer county-based purchasing. This information and data must include, but is
not limited to, county-specific, individual-level fee-for-service and prepaid health plan claims
information.

Subd. 4. Limitation of choice. (a) The commissioner shall develop criteria to determine
when limitation of choice may be implemented in the experimental counties. The criteria shall
ensure that all eligible individuals in the county have continuing access to the full range of
medical assistance services as specified in subdivision 6.

(b) The commissioner shall exempt the following persons from participation in the project,
in addition to those who do not meet the criteria for limitation of choice:

(1) persons eligible for medical assistance according to section 256B.055, subdivision 1;
(2) persons eligible for medical assistance due to blindness or disability as determined by

the Social Security Administration or the state medical review team, unless:
(i) they are 65 years of age or older; or
(ii) they reside in Itasca County or they reside in a county in which the commissioner

conducts a pilot project under a waiver granted pursuant to section 1115 of the Social Security Act;
(3) recipients who currently have private coverage through a health maintenance

organization;
(4) recipients who are eligible for medical assistance by spending down excess income for

medical expenses other than the nursing facility per diem expense;
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(5) recipients who receive benefits under the Refugee Assistance Program, established
under United States Code, title 8, section 1522(e);

(6) children who are both determined to be severely emotionally disturbed and receiving
case management services according to section 256B.0625, subdivision 20, except children who
are eligible for and who decline enrollment in an approved preferred integrated network under
section 245.4682;

(7) adults who are both determined to be seriously and persistently mentally ill and received
case management services according to section 256B.0625, subdivision 20;

(8) persons eligible for medical assistance according to section 256B.057, subdivision
10; and

(9) persons with access to cost-effective employer-sponsored private health insurance
or persons enrolled in a non-Medicare individual health plan determined to be cost-effective
according to section 256B.0625, subdivision 15.
Children under age 21 who are in foster placement may enroll in the project on an elective basis.
Individuals excluded under clauses (1), (6), and (7) may choose to enroll on an elective basis. The
commissioner may enroll recipients in the prepaid medical assistance program for seniors who are
(1) age 65 and over, and (2) eligible for medical assistance by spending down excess income.

(c) The commissioner may allow persons with a one-month spenddown who are otherwise
eligible to enroll to voluntarily enroll or remain enrolled, if they elect to prepay their monthly
spenddown to the state.

(d) The commissioner may require those individuals to enroll in the prepaid medical
assistance program who otherwise would have been excluded under paragraph (b), clauses (1),
(3), and (8), and under Minnesota Rules, part 9500.1452, subpart 2, items H, K, and L.

(e) Before limitation of choice is implemented, eligible individuals shall be notified
and after notification, shall be allowed to choose only among demonstration providers. The
commissioner may assign an individual with private coverage through a health maintenance
organization, to the same health maintenance organization for medical assistance coverage, if
the health maintenance organization is under contract for medical assistance in the individual's
county of residence. After initially choosing a provider, the recipient is allowed to change that
choice only at specified times as allowed by the commissioner. If a demonstration provider ends
participation in the project for any reason, a recipient enrolled with that provider must select a
new provider but may change providers without cause once more within the first 60 days after
enrollment with the second provider.

(f) An infant born to a woman who is eligible for and receiving medical assistance and
who is enrolled in the prepaid medical assistance program shall be retroactively enrolled to
the month of birth in the same managed care plan as the mother once the child is enrolled in
medical assistance unless the child is determined to be excluded from enrollment in a prepaid
plan under this section.

Subd. 4a. [Repealed, 1996 c 451 art 5 s 39]

Subd. 4b. Individualized education program and individualized family service plan
services. The commissioner shall amend the federal waiver allowing the state to separate out
individualized education program and individualized family service plan services for children
enrolled in the prepaid medical assistance program and the MinnesotaCare program. Effective
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July 1, 1999, or upon federal approval, medical assistance coverage of eligible individualized
education program and individualized family service plan services shall not be included in the
capitated services for children enrolled in health plans through the prepaid medical assistance
program and the MinnesotaCare program. Upon federal approval, local school districts shall bill
the commissioner for these services, and claims shall be paid on a fee-for-service basis.

Subd. 5. Prospective per capita payment. The commissioner shall establish the
method and amount of payments for services. The commissioner shall annually contract with
demonstration providers to provide services consistent with these established methods and
amounts for payment.

If allowed by the commissioner, a demonstration provider may contract with an insurer,
health care provider, nonprofit health service plan corporation, or the commissioner, to provide
insurance or similar protection against the cost of care provided by the demonstration provider or
to provide coverage against the risks incurred by demonstration providers under this section. The
recipients enrolled with a demonstration provider are a permissible group under group insurance
laws and chapter 62C, the Nonprofit Health Service Plan Corporations Act. Under this type of
contract, the insurer or corporation may make benefit payments to a demonstration provider for
services rendered or to be rendered to a recipient. Any insurer or nonprofit health service plan
corporation licensed to do business in this state is authorized to provide this insurance or similar
protection.

Payments to providers participating in the project are exempt from the requirements of
sections 256.966 and 256B.03, subdivision 2. The commissioner shall complete development
of capitation rates for payments before delivery of services under this section is begun. For
payments made during calendar year 1990 and later years, the commissioner shall contract with
an independent actuary to establish prepayment rates.

By January 15, 1996, the commissioner shall report to the legislature on the methodology
used to allocate to participating counties available administrative reimbursement for advocacy
and enrollment costs. The report shall reflect the commissioner's judgment as to the adequacy
of the funds made available and of the methodology for equitable distribution of the funds. The
commissioner must involve participating counties in the development of the report.

Beginning July 1, 2004, the commissioner may include payments for elderly waiver
services and 180 days of nursing home care in capitation payments for the prepaid medical
assistance program for recipients age 65 and older. Payments for elderly waiver services shall be
made no earlier than the month following the month in which services were received.

Subd. 5a.Managed care contracts. (a) Managed care contracts under this section and
section 256L.12 shall be entered into or renewed on a calendar year basis beginning January 1,
1996. Managed care contracts which were in effect on June 30, 1995, and set to renew on July
1, 1995, shall be renewed for the period July 1, 1995 through December 31, 1995 at the same
terms that were in effect on June 30, 1995. The commissioner may issue separate contracts with
requirements specific to services to medical assistance recipients age 65 and older.

(b) A prepaid health plan providing covered health services for eligible persons pursuant
to chapters 256B and 256L is responsible for complying with the terms of its contract with the
commissioner. Requirements applicable to managed care programs under chapters 256B and
256L established after the effective date of a contract with the commissioner take effect when the
contract is next issued or renewed.
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(c) Effective for services rendered on or after January 1, 2003, the commissioner shall
withhold five percent of managed care plan payments under this section and county-based
purchasing plan payments under section 256B.692 for the prepaid medical assistance program
pending completion of performance targets. Each performance target must be quantifiable,
objective, measurable, and reasonably attainable, except in the case of a performance target based
on a federal or state law or rule. Criteria for assessment of each performance target must be
outlined in writing prior to the contract effective date. The managed care plan must demonstrate,
to the commissioner's satisfaction, that the data submitted regarding attainment of the performance
target is accurate. The commissioner shall periodically change the administrative measures
used as performance targets in order to improve plan performance across a broader range of
administrative services. The performance targets must include measurement of plan efforts to
contain spending on health care services and administrative activities. The commissioner may
adopt plan-specific performance targets that take into account factors affecting only one plan,
including characteristics of the plan's enrollee population. The withheld funds must be returned
no sooner than July of the following year if performance targets in the contract are achieved. The
commissioner may exclude special demonstration projects under subdivision 23.

(d) Effective for services rendered on or after January 1, 2009, through December 31,
2009, the commissioner shall withhold three percent of managed care plan payments under this
section and county-based purchasing plan payments under section 256B.692 for the prepaid
medical assistance program. The withheld funds must be returned no sooner than July 1 and no
later than July 31 of the following year. The commissioner may exclude special demonstration
projects under subdivision 23.

(e) Effective for services provided on or after January 1, 2010, the commissioner shall
require that managed care plans use the assessment and authorization processes, forms, timelines,
standards, documentation, and data reporting requirements, protocols, billing processes, and
policies consistent with medical assistance fee-for-service or the Department of Human Services
contract requirements consistent with medical assistance fee-for-service or the Department of
Human Services contract requirements for all personal care assistance services under section
256B.0659.

(f) Effective for services rendered on or after January 1, 2010, through December 31,
2010, the commissioner shall withhold 4.5 percent of managed care plan payments under this
section and county-based purchasing plan payments under section 256B.692 for the prepaid
medical assistance program. The withheld funds must be returned no sooner than July 1 and no
later than July 31 of the following year. The commissioner may exclude special demonstration
projects under subdivision 23.

(g) Effective for services rendered on or after January 1, 2011, through December 31,
2011, the commissioner shall include as part of the performance targets described in paragraph
(c) a reduction in the health plan's emergency room utilization rate for state health care program
enrollees by a measurable rate of five percent from the plan's utilization rate for state health care
program enrollees for the previous calendar year. Effective for services rendered on or after
January 1, 2012, the commissioner shall include as part of the performance targets described in
paragraph (c) a reduction in the health plan's emergency department utilization rate for medical
assistance and MinnesotaCare enrollees, as determined by the commissioner. To earn the return of
the withhold each year, the managed care plan or county-based purchasing plan must achieve a
qualifying reduction of no less than ten percent of the plan's emergency department utilization
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rate for medical assistance and MinnesotaCare enrollees, excluding Medicare enrollees, compared
to the previous calendar year until the final performance target is reached.

The withheld funds must be returned no sooner than July 1 and no later than July 31 of the
following calendar year if the managed care plan or county-based purchasing plan demonstrates
to the satisfaction of the commissioner that a reduction in the utilization rate was achieved.

The withhold described in this paragraph shall continue for each consecutive contract
period until the plan's emergency room utilization rate for state health care program enrollees is
reduced by 25 percent of the plan's emergency room utilization rate for medical assistance and
MinnesotaCare enrollees for calendar year 2011. Hospitals shall cooperate with the health plans
in meeting this performance target and shall accept payment withholds that may be returned to the
hospitals if the performance target is achieved.

(h) Effective for services rendered on or after January 1, 2012, the commissioner shall
include as part of the performance targets described in paragraph (c) a reduction in the plan's
hospitalization admission rate for medical assistance and MinnesotaCare enrollees, as determined
by the commissioner. To earn the return of the withhold each year, the managed care plan or
county-based purchasing plan must achieve a qualifying reduction of no less than five percent of
the plan's hospital admission rate for medical assistance and MinnesotaCare enrollees, excluding
Medicare enrollees, compared to the previous calendar year until the final performance target
is reached.

The withheld funds must be returned no sooner than July 1 and no later than July 31 of the
following calendar year if the managed care plan or county-based purchasing plan demonstrates
to the satisfaction of the commissioner that this reduction in the hospitalization rate was achieved.

The withhold described in this paragraph shall continue until there is a 25 percent reduction
in the hospital admission rate compared to the hospital admission rates in calendar year 2011,
as determined by the commissioner. The hospital admissions in this performance target do not
include the admissions applicable to the subsequent hospital admission performance target under
paragraph (i). Hospitals shall cooperate with the plans in meeting this performance target and
shall accept payment withholds that may be returned to the hospitals if the performance target is
achieved.

(i) Effective for services rendered on or after January 1, 2012, the commissioner shall
include as part of the performance targets described in paragraph (c) a reduction in the plan's
hospitalization admission rates for subsequent hospitalizations within 30 days of a previous
hospitalization of a patient regardless of the reason, for medical assistance and MinnesotaCare
enrollees, as determined by the commissioner. To earn the return of the withhold each year, the
managed care plan or county-based purchasing plan must achieve a qualifying reduction of the
subsequent hospitalization rate for medical assistance and MinnesotaCare enrollees, excluding
Medicare enrollees, of no less than five percent compared to the previous calendar year until the
final performance target is reached.

The withheld funds must be returned no sooner than July 1 and no later than July 31 of the
following calendar year if the managed care plan or county-based purchasing plan demonstrates to
the satisfaction of the commissioner that a qualifying reduction in the subsequent hospitalization
rate was achieved.

The withhold described in this paragraph must continue for each consecutive contract
period until the plan's subsequent hospitalization rate for medical assistance and MinnesotaCare
enrollees, excluding Medicare enrollees, is reduced by 25 percent of the plan's subsequent
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hospitalization rate for calendar year 2011. Hospitals shall cooperate with the plans in meeting
this performance target and shall accept payment withholds that must be returned to the hospitals
if the performance target is achieved.

(j) Effective for services rendered on or after January 1, 2011, through December 31,
2011, the commissioner shall withhold 4.5 percent of managed care plan payments under this
section and county-based purchasing plan payments under section 256B.692 for the prepaid
medical assistance program. The withheld funds must be returned no sooner than July 1 and no
later than July 31 of the following year. The commissioner may exclude special demonstration
projects under subdivision 23.

(k) Effective for services rendered on or after January 1, 2012, through December 31,
2012, the commissioner shall withhold 4.5 percent of managed care plan payments under this
section and county-based purchasing plan payments under section 256B.692 for the prepaid
medical assistance program. The withheld funds must be returned no sooner than July 1 and no
later than July 31 of the following year. The commissioner may exclude special demonstration
projects under subdivision 23.

(l) Effective for services rendered on or after January 1, 2013, through December 31,
2013, the commissioner shall withhold 4.5 percent of managed care plan payments under this
section and county-based purchasing plan payments under section 256B.692 for the prepaid
medical assistance program. The withheld funds must be returned no sooner than July 1 and no
later than July 31 of the following year. The commissioner may exclude special demonstration
projects under subdivision 23.

(m) Effective for services rendered on or after January 1, 2014, the commissioner shall
withhold three percent of managed care plan payments under this section and county-based
purchasing plan payments under section 256B.692 for the prepaid medical assistance program.
The withheld funds must be returned no sooner than July 1 and no later than July 31 of the
following year. The commissioner may exclude special demonstration projects under subdivision
23.

(n) A managed care plan or a county-based purchasing plan under section 256B.692 may
include as admitted assets under section 62D.044 any amount withheld under this section that is
reasonably expected to be returned.

(o) Contracts between the commissioner and a prepaid health plan are exempt from the
set-aside and preference provisions of section 16C.16, subdivisions 6, paragraph (a), and 7.

(p) The return of the withhold under paragraphs (d), (f), and (j) to (m) is not subject to
the requirements of paragraph (c).

Subd. 5b. Prospective reimbursement rates. (a) For prepaid medical assistance program
contract rates set by the commissioner under subdivision 5 and effective on or after January 1,
2003, capitation rates for nonmetropolitan counties shall on a weighted average be no less than
87 percent of the capitation rates for metropolitan counties, excluding Hennepin County. The
commissioner shall make a pro rata adjustment in capitation rates paid to counties other than
nonmetropolitan counties in order to make this provision budget neutral. The commissioner, in
consultation with a health care actuary, shall evaluate the regional rate relationships based on
actual health plan costs for Minnesota health care programs. The commissioner may establish,
based on the actuary's recommendation, new rate regions that recognize metropolitan areas
outside of the seven-county metropolitan area.
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(b) This subdivision shall not affect the nongeographically based risk adjusted rates
established under section 62Q.03, subdivision 5a.

Subd. 5c.Medical education and research fund. (a) The commissioner of human services
shall transfer each year to the medical education and research fund established under section
62J.692, an amount specified in this subdivision. The commissioner shall calculate the following:

(1) an amount equal to the reduction in the prepaid medical assistance payments as
specified in this clause. Until January 1, 2002, the county medical assistance capitation base
rate prior to plan specific adjustments and after the regional rate adjustments under subdivision
5b is reduced 6.3 percent for Hennepin County, two percent for the remaining metropolitan
counties, and no reduction for nonmetropolitan Minnesota counties; and after January 1, 2002,
the county medical assistance capitation base rate prior to plan specific adjustments is reduced
6.3 percent for Hennepin County, two percent for the remaining metropolitan counties, and 1.6
percent for nonmetropolitan Minnesota counties. Nursing facility and elderly waiver payments
and demonstration project payments operating under subdivision 23 are excluded from this
reduction. The amount calculated under this clause shall not be adjusted for periods already paid
due to subsequent changes to the capitation payments;

(2) beginning July 1, 2003, $4,314,000 from the capitation rates paid under this section;
(3) beginning July 1, 2002, an additional $12,700,000 from the capitation rates paid under

this section; and
(4) beginning July 1, 2003, an additional $4,700,000 from the capitation rates paid under

this section.
(b) This subdivision shall be effective upon approval of a federal waiver which allows

federal financial participation in the medical education and research fund. The amount specified
under paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (4), shall not exceed the total amount transferred for fiscal
year 2009. Any excess shall first reduce the amounts specified under paragraph (a), clauses (2) to
(4). Any excess following this reduction shall proportionally reduce the amount specified under
paragraph (a), clause (1).

(c) Beginning September 1, 2011, of the amount in paragraph (a), the commissioner shall
transfer $21,714,000 each fiscal year to the medical education and research fund.

(d) Beginning September 1, 2011, of the amount in paragraph (a), following the transfer
under paragraph (c), the commissioner shall transfer to the medical education research fund
$23,936,000 in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 and $36,744,000 in fiscal year 2014 and thereafter.

Subd. 5d.Modification of payment dates effective January 1, 2001. Effective for services
rendered on or after January 1, 2001, capitation payments under this section for services provided
in the month of June shall be made no earlier than the first day after the month of service.

Subd. 5e.Medical education and research payments. For the calendar years 1999, 2000,
and 2001, a hospital that participates in funding the federal share of the medical education and
research trust fund payment under Laws 1998, chapter 407, article 1, section 3, shall not be held
liable for any amounts attributable to this payment above the charge limit of section 256.969,
subdivision 3a. The commissioner of human services shall assume liability for any corresponding
federal share of the payments above the charge limit.

Subd. 5f. Capitation rates. (a) Beginning July 1, 2002, the capitation rates paid under this
section are increased by $12,700,000 per year. Beginning July 1, 2003, the capitation rates paid
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under this section are increased by $4,700,000 per year.

(b) Beginning July 1, 2009, the capitation rates paid under this section are increased each
year by the lesser of $21,714,000 or an amount equal to the difference between the estimated
value of the reductions described in subdivision 5c, paragraph (a), clause (1), and the amount of
the limit described in subdivision 5c, paragraph (b).

Subd. 5g. Payment for covered services. For services rendered on or after January 1,
2003, the total payment made to managed care plans for providing covered services under the
medical assistance program is reduced by .5 percent from their current statutory rates. This
provision excludes payments for nursing home services, home and community-based waivers,
payments to demonstration projects for persons with disabilities, and mental health services added
as covered benefits after December 31, 2007.

Subd. 5h. Payment reduction. In addition to the reduction in subdivision 5g, the total
payment made to managed care plans under the medical assistance program is reduced 1.0
percent for services provided on or after October 1, 2003, and an additional 1.0 percent for
services provided on or after January 1, 2004. This provision excludes payments for nursing home
services, home and community-based waivers, payments to demonstration projects for persons
with disabilities, and mental health services added as covered benefits after December 31, 2007.

Subd. 5i. Administrative expenses. (a) Managed care plan and county-based purchasing
plan administrative costs for a prepaid health plan provided under this section or section 256B.692
must not exceed by more than five percent that prepaid health plan's or county-based purchasing
plan's actual calculated administrative spending for the previous calendar year as a percentage of
total revenue. The penalty for exceeding this limit must be the amount of administrative spending
in excess of 105 percent of the actual calculated amount. The commissioner may waive this
penalty if the excess administrative spending is the result of unexpected shifts in enrollment or
member needs or new program requirements.

(b) Expenses listed under section 62D.12, subdivision 9a, clause (4), are not allowable
administrative expenses for rate-setting purposes under this section, unless approved by the
commissioner.

Subd. 5j. Treatment of investment earnings. Capitation rates shall treat investment
income and interest earnings as income to the same extent that investment-related expenses are
treated as administrative expenditures.

Subd. 5k. Actuarial soundness. (a) Rates paid to managed care plans and county-based
purchasing plans shall satisfy requirements for actuarial soundness. In order to comply with this
subdivision, the rates must:

(1) be neither inadequate nor excessive;

(2) satisfy federal requirements;

(3) in the case of contracts with incentive arrangements, not exceed 105 percent of the
approved capitation payments attributable to the enrollees or services covered by the incentive
arrangement;

(4) be developed in accordance with generally accepted actuarial principles and practices;

(5) be appropriate for the populations to be covered and the services to be furnished under
the contract; and
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(6) be certified as meeting the requirements of federal regulations by actuaries who meet
the qualification standards established by the American Academy of Actuaries and follow the
practice standards established by the Actuarial Standards Board.

(b) Each year within 30 days of the establishment of plan rates the commissioner shall
report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the senate Health and Human Services
Budget Division and the house of representatives Health Care and Human Services Finance
Division to certify how each of these conditions have been met by the new payment rates.

Subd. 6. Service delivery. (a) Each demonstration provider shall be responsible for the
health care coordination for eligible individuals. Demonstration providers:

(1) shall authorize and arrange for the provision of all needed health services including but
not limited to the full range of services listed in sections 256B.02, subdivision 8, and 256B.0625
in order to ensure appropriate health care is delivered to enrollees. Notwithstanding section
256B.0621, demonstration providers that provide nursing home and community-based services
under this section shall provide relocation service coordination to enrolled persons age 65 and
over;

(2) shall accept the prospective, per capita payment from the commissioner in return for
the provision of comprehensive and coordinated health care services for eligible individuals
enrolled in the program;

(3) may contract with other health care and social service practitioners to provide services
to enrollees; and

(4) shall institute recipient grievance procedures according to the method established by
the project, utilizing applicable requirements of chapter 62D. Disputes not resolved through this
process shall be appealable to the commissioner as provided in subdivision 11.

(b) Demonstration providers must comply with the standards for claims settlement under
section 72A.201, subdivisions 4, 5, 7, and 8, when contracting with other health care and social
service practitioners to provide services to enrollees. A demonstration provider must pay a clean
claim, as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 447.45(b), within 30 business
days of the date of acceptance of the claim.

Subd. 6a. Nursing home services. (a) Notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part 9500.1457,
subpart 1, item B, up to 180 days of nursing facility services as defined in section 256B.0625,
subdivision 2, which are provided in a nursing facility certified by the Minnesota Department of
Health for services provided and eligible for payment under Medicaid, shall be covered under the
prepaid medical assistance program for individuals who are not residing in a nursing facility at the
time of enrollment in the prepaid medical assistance program. The commissioner may develop a
schedule to phase in implementation of the 180-day provision.

(b) For individuals enrolled in the Minnesota senior health options project or in other
demonstrations authorized under subdivision 23, nursing facility services shall be covered
according to the terms and conditions of the federal agreement governing that demonstration
project.

(c) For individuals enrolled in demonstrations authorized under subdivision 23, services in
an intermediate care facility for persons with developmental disabilities shall be covered according
to the terms and conditions of the federal agreement governing the demonstration project.

Subd. 6b. Home and community-based waiver services. (a) For individuals enrolled in
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the Minnesota senior health options project authorized under subdivision 23, elderly waiver
services shall be covered according to the terms and conditions of the federal agreement
governing that demonstration project.

(b) For individuals under age 65 enrolled in demonstrations authorized under subdivision
23, home and community-based waiver services shall be covered according to the terms and
conditions of the federal agreement governing that demonstration project.

(c) The commissioner of human services shall issue requests for proposals for collaborative
service models between counties and managed care organizations to integrate the home and
community-based elderly waiver services and additional nursing home services into the prepaid
medical assistance program.

(d) Notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part 9500.1457, subpart 1, item C, elderly waiver
services shall be covered statewide no sooner than July 1, 2006, under the prepaid medical
assistance program for all individuals who are eligible according to section 256B.0915. The
commissioner may develop a schedule to phase in implementation of these waiver services,
including collaborative service models under paragraph (c). The commissioner shall phase in
implementation beginning with those counties participating under section 256B.692, and those
counties where a viable collaborative service model has been developed. In consultation with
counties and all managed care organizations that have expressed an interest in participating in
collaborative service models, the commissioner shall evaluate the models. The commissioner shall
consider the evaluation in selecting the most appropriate models for statewide implementation.

Subd. 6c. Dental services demonstration project. The commissioner shall establish
a dental services demonstration project in Crow Wing, Todd, Morrison, Wadena, and Cass
Counties for provision of dental services to medical assistance and MinnesotaCare recipients.
The commissioner may contract on a prospective per capita payment basis for these dental
services with an organization licensed under chapter 62C, 62D, or 62N in accordance with section
256B.037 or may establish and administer a fee-for-service system for the reimbursement of
dental services.

Subd. 6d. Prescription drugs. Effective January 1, 2004, the commissioner may exclude or
modify coverage for prescription drugs from the prepaid managed care contracts entered into
under this section in order to increase savings to the state by collecting additional prescription drug
rebates. The contracts must maintain incentives for the managed care plan to manage drug costs
and utilization and may require that the managed care plans maintain an open drug formulary. In
order to manage drug costs and utilization, the contracts may authorize the managed care plans to
use preferred drug lists and prior authorization. This subdivision is contingent on federal approval
of the managed care contract changes and the collection of additional prescription drug rebates.

Subd. 7. Enrollee benefits. All eligible individuals enrolled by demonstration providers
shall receive all needed health care services as defined in subdivision 6.

All enrolled individuals have the right to appeal if necessary services are not being
authorized as defined in subdivision 11.

Subd. 8. Preadmission screening waiver. Except as applicable to the project's operation,
the provisions of section 256B.0911 are waived for the purposes of this section for recipients
enrolled with demonstration providers or in the prepaid medical assistance program for seniors.

Subd. 9. Reporting. (a) Each demonstration provider shall submit information as required
by the commissioner, including data required for assessing client satisfaction, quality of care, cost,

Copyright © 2011 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



482 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2011 256B.69

and utilization of services for purposes of project evaluation. The commissioner shall also develop
methods of data reporting and collection in order to provide aggregate enrollee information on
encounters and outcomes to determine access and quality assurance. Required information shall
be specified before the commissioner contracts with a demonstration provider.

(b) Aggregate nonpersonally identifiable health plan encounter data, aggregate spending
data for major categories of service as reported to the commissioners of health and commerce
under section 62D.08, subdivision 3, clause (a), and criteria for service authorization and service
use are public data that the commissioner shall make available and use in public reports. The
commissioner shall require each health plan and county-based purchasing plan to provide:

(1) encounter data for each service provided, using standard codes and unit of service
definitions set by the commissioner, in a form that the commissioner can report by age, eligibility
groups, and health plan; and

(2) criteria, written policies, and procedures required to be disclosed under section 62M.10,
subdivision 7, and Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, part 438.210(b)(1), used for each type of
service for which authorization is required.

Subd. 9a. Administrative expense reporting.Within the limit of available appropriations,
the commissioner shall work with the commissioner of health to identify and collect data on
administrative spending for state health care programs reported to the commissioner of health
by managed care plans under section 62D.08 and county-based purchasing plans under section
256B.692, provided that such data are consistent with guidelines and standards for administrative
spending that are developed by the commissioner of health, and reported to the legislature under
Laws 2008, chapter 364, section 12. Data provided to the commissioner under this subdivision are
nonpublic data as defined under section 13.02.

Subd. 9b. [Repealed, 1Sp2011 c 9 art 6 s 97]

Subd. 9c.Managed care financial reporting. (a) The commissioner shall collect detailed
data regarding financials, provider payments, provider rate methodologies, and other data as
determined by the commissioner and managed care and county-based purchasing plans that
are required to be submitted under this section. The commissioner, in consultation with the
commissioners of health and commerce, and in consultation with managed care plans and
county-based purchasing plans, shall set uniform criteria, definitions, and standards for the data
to be submitted, and shall require managed care and county-based purchasing plans to comply
with these criteria, definitions, and standards when submitting data under this section. In carrying
out the responsibilities of this subdivision, the commissioner shall ensure that the data collection
is implemented in an integrated and coordinated manner that avoids unnecessary duplication of
effort. To the extent possible, the commissioner shall use existing data sources and streamline
data collection in order to reduce public and private sector administrative costs. Nothing in this
subdivision shall allow release of information that is nonpublic data pursuant to section 13.02.

(b) Each managed care and county-based purchasing plan must annually provide to the
commissioner the following information on state public programs, in the form and manner
specified by the commissioner, according to guidelines developed by the commissioner in
consultation with managed care plans and county-based purchasing plans under contract:

(1) administrative expenses by category and subcategory consistent with administrative
expense reporting to other state and federal regulatory agencies, by program;

(2) revenues by program, including investment income;
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(3) nonadministrative service payments, provider payments, and reimbursement rates
by provider type or service category, by program, paid by the managed care plan under this
section or the county-based purchasing plan under section 256B.692 to providers and vendors for
administrative services under contract with the plan, including but not limited to:

(i) individual-level provider payment and reimbursement rate data;
(ii) provider reimbursement rate methodologies by provider type, by program, including a

description of alternative payment arrangements and payments outside the claims process;
(iii) data on implementation of legislatively mandated provider rate changes; and
(iv) individual-level provider payment and reimbursement rate data and plan-specific

provider reimbursement rate methodologies by provider type, by program, including alternative
payment arrangements and payments outside the claims process, provided to the commissioner
under this subdivision are nonpublic data as defined in section 13.02;

(4) data on the amount of reinsurance or transfer of risk by program; and
(5) contribution to reserve, by program.
(c) In the event a report is published or released based on data provided under this

subdivision, the commissioner shall provide the report to managed care plans and county-based
purchasing plans 30 days prior to the publication or release of the report. Managed care plans
and county-based purchasing plans shall have 30 days to review the report and provide comment
to the commissioner.

Subd. 10. Information. Notwithstanding any law or rule to the contrary, the commissioner
may allow disclosure of the recipient's identity solely for the purposes of (a) allowing
demonstration providers to provide the information to the recipient regarding services, access to
services, and other provider characteristics, and (b) facilitating monitoring of recipient satisfaction
and quality of care. The commissioner shall develop and implement measures to protect recipients
from invasions of privacy and from harassment.

Subd. 11. Appeals. A recipient may appeal to the commissioner a demonstration provider's
delay or refusal to provide services, according to section 256.045.

Subd. 12. [Repealed, 1989 c 282 art 3 s 98]

Subd. 13. [Repealed, 1989 c 282 art 3 s 98]

Subd. 14. [Repealed, 1989 c 282 art 3 s 98]

Subd. 15. [Repealed, 1989 c 282 art 3 s 98]

Subd. 16. Project extension.Minnesota Rules, parts 9500.1450; 9500.1451; 9500.1452;
9500.1453; 9500.1454; 9500.1455; 9500.1456; 9500.1457; 9500.1458; 9500.1459; 9500.1460;
9500.1461; 9500.1462; 9500.1463; and 9500.1464 are extended.

Subd. 17. Continuation of prepaid medical assistance. The commissioner may continue
the provisions of this section after June 30, 1990, in any or all of the participating counties if
necessary federal authority is granted. The commissioner may adopt permanent rules to continue
prepaid medical assistance in these areas.

Subd. 18. Services pending appeal. If the recipient appeals in writing to the state agency
on or before the tenth day after the decision of the prepaid health plan to reduce, suspend, or
terminate services which the recipient had been receiving, and the treating physician or another
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plan physician orders the services to be continued at the previous level, the prepaid health plan
must continue to provide services at a level equal to the level ordered by the plan's physician until
the state agency renders its decision.

Subd. 19. Limitation on reimbursement; providers not with prepaid health plan. A
prepaid health plan may limit any reimbursement it may be required to pay to providers not
employed by or under contract with the prepaid health plan to the medical assistance rates for
medical assistance enrollees paid by the commissioner of human services to providers for services
to recipients not enrolled in a prepaid health plan.

Subd. 20. Ombudsperson. (a) The commissioner shall designate an ombudsperson
to advocate for persons required to enroll in prepaid health plans under this section. The
ombudsperson shall advocate for recipients enrolled in prepaid health plans through complaint
and appeal procedures and ensure that necessary medical services are provided either by the
prepaid health plan directly or by referral to appropriate social services. At the time of enrollment
in a prepaid health plan, the local agency shall inform recipients about the ombudsperson program
and their right to a resolution of a complaint by the prepaid health plan if they experience a
problem with the plan or its providers.

(b) The commissioner shall designate an ombudsperson to advocate for persons enrolled in
a care coordination delivery system under section 256D.031. The ombudsperson shall advocate
for recipients enrolled in a care coordination delivery system through the state appeal process
and assist enrollees in accessing necessary medical services through the care coordination
delivery systems directly or by referral to appropriate services. At the time of enrollment in a care
coordination delivery system, the local agency shall inform recipients about the ombudsperson
program.

Subd. 21. Prepayment coordinator. The county board shall designate a prepayment
coordinator to assist the state agency in implementing this section. Assistance must include
educating recipients about available health care options, enrolling recipients under subdivision 5,
providing necessary eligibility and enrollment information to health plans and the state agency,
and coordinating complaints and appeals with the ombudsman established in subdivision 18.

Subd. 22. Impact on public or teaching hospitals and community clinics. (a) Before
implementing prepaid programs in counties with a county operated or affiliated public teaching
hospital or a hospital or clinic operated by the University of Minnesota, the commissioner shall
consider the risks the prepaid program creates for the hospital and allow the county or hospital the
opportunity to participate in the program, provided the terms of participation in the program are
competitive with the terms of other participants.

(b) Prepaid health plans serving counties with a nonprofit community clinic or community
health services agency must contract with the clinic or agency to provide services to clients who
choose to receive services from the clinic or agency, if the clinic or agency agrees to payment rates
that are competitive with rates paid to other health plan providers for the same or similar services.

(c) For purposes of this subdivision, "nonprofit community clinic" includes, but is not
limited to, a community mental health center as defined in sections 245.62 and 256B.0625,
subdivision 5.

Subd. 23. Alternative services; elderly and disabled persons. (a) The commissioner may
implement demonstration projects to create alternative integrated delivery systems for acute and
long-term care services to elderly persons and persons with disabilities as defined in section
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256B.77, subdivision 7a, that provide increased coordination, improve access to quality services,
and mitigate future cost increases. The commissioner may seek federal authority to combine
Medicare and Medicaid capitation payments for the purpose of such demonstrations and may
contract with Medicare-approved special needs plans that are offered by a demonstration provider
or by an entity that is directly or indirectly wholly owned or controlled by a demonstration
provider to provide Medicaid services. Medicare funds and services shall be administered
according to the terms and conditions of the federal contract and demonstration provisions. For
the purpose of administering medical assistance funds, demonstrations under this subdivision are
subject to subdivisions 1 to 22. The provisions of Minnesota Rules, parts 9500.1450 to 9500.1464,
apply to these demonstrations, with the exceptions of parts 9500.1452, subpart 2, item B; and
9500.1457, subpart 1, items B and C, which do not apply to persons enrolling in demonstrations
under this section. All enforcement and rulemaking powers available under chapters 62D, 62M,
and 62Q are hereby granted to the commissioner of health with respect to Medicare-approved
special needs plans with which the commissioner contracts to provide Medicaid services under
this section. An initial open enrollment period may be provided. Persons who disenroll from
demonstrations under this subdivision remain subject to Minnesota Rules, parts 9500.1450 to
9500.1464. When a person is enrolled in a health plan under these demonstrations and the health
plan's participation is subsequently terminated for any reason, the person shall be provided an
opportunity to select a new health plan and shall have the right to change health plans within the
first 60 days of enrollment in the second health plan. Persons required to participate in health
plans under this section who fail to make a choice of health plan shall not be randomly assigned
to health plans under these demonstrations. Notwithstanding section 256L.12, subdivision
5, and Minnesota Rules, part 9505.5220, subpart 1, item A, if adopted, for the purpose of
demonstrations under this subdivision, the commissioner may contract with managed care
organizations, including counties, to serve only elderly persons eligible for medical assistance,
elderly and disabled persons, or disabled persons only. For persons with a primary diagnosis of
developmental disability, serious and persistent mental illness, or serious emotional disturbance,
the commissioner must ensure that the county authority has approved the demonstration and
contracting design. Enrollment in these projects for persons with disabilities shall be voluntary.
The commissioner shall not implement any demonstration project under this subdivision for
persons with a primary diagnosis of developmental disabilities, serious and persistent mental
illness, or serious emotional disturbance, without approval of the county board of the county in
which the demonstration is being implemented.

(b) MS 2009 Supplement [Expired, 2003 c 47 s 4; 2007 c 147 art 7 s 60]
(c) Before implementation of a demonstration project for disabled persons, the

commissioner must provide information to appropriate committees of the house of representatives
and senate and must involve representatives of affected disability groups in the design of the
demonstration projects.

(d) A nursing facility reimbursed under the alternative reimbursement methodology in
section 256B.434 may, in collaboration with a hospital, clinic, or other health care entity provide
services under paragraph (a). The commissioner shall amend the state plan and seek any federal
waivers necessary to implement this paragraph.

(e) The commissioner, in consultation with the commissioners of commerce and health,
may approve and implement programs for all-inclusive care for the elderly (PACE) according
to federal laws and regulations governing that program and state laws or rules applicable to
participating providers. A PACE provider is not required to be licensed or certified as a health
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plan company as defined in section 62Q.01, subdivision 4. Persons age 55 and older who have
been screened by the county and found to be eligible for services under the elderly waiver
or community alternatives for disabled individuals or who are already eligible for Medicaid
but meet level of care criteria for receipt of waiver services may choose to enroll in the PACE
program. Medicare and Medicaid services will be provided according to this subdivision and
federal Medicare and Medicaid requirements governing PACE providers and programs. PACE
enrollees will receive Medicaid home and community-based services through the PACE provider
as an alternative to services for which they would otherwise be eligible through home and
community-based waiver programs and Medicaid State Plan Services. The commissioner shall
establish Medicaid rates for PACE providers that do not exceed costs that would have been
incurred under fee-for-service or other relevant managed care programs operated by the state.

(f) The commissioner shall seek federal approval to expand the Minnesota disability
health options (MnDHO) program established under this subdivision in stages, first to regional
population centers outside the seven-county metro area and then to all areas of the state. Until
July 1, 2009, expansion for MnDHO projects that include home and community-based services is
limited to the two projects and service areas in effect on March 1, 2006. Enrollment in integrated
MnDHO programs that include home and community-based services shall remain voluntary.
Costs for home and community-based services included under MnDHO must not exceed costs
that would have been incurred under the fee-for-service program. Notwithstanding whether
expansion occurs under this paragraph, in determining MnDHO payment rates and risk adjustment
methods, the commissioner must consider the methods used to determine county allocations
for home and community-based program participants. If necessary to reduce MnDHO rates to
comply with the provision regarding MnDHO costs for home and community-based services,
the commissioner shall achieve the reduction by maintaining the base rate for contract year 2010
for services provided under the community alternatives for disabled individuals waiver at the
same level as for contract year 2009. The commissioner may apply other reductions to MnDHO
rates to implement decreases in provider payment rates required by state law. Effective January 1,
2011, enrollment and operation of the MnDHO program in effect during 2010 shall cease. The
commissioner may reopen the program provided all applicable conditions of this section are met.
In developing program specifications for expansion of integrated programs, the commissioner
shall involve and consult the state-level stakeholder group established in subdivision 28,
paragraph (d), including consultation on whether and how to include home and community-based
waiver programs. Plans to reopen MnDHO projects shall be presented to the chairs of the house
of representatives and senate committees with jurisdiction over health and human services policy
and finance prior to implementation.

(g) Notwithstanding section 256B.0261, health plans providing services under this
section are responsible for home care targeted case management and relocation targeted case
management. Services must be provided according to the terms of the waivers and contracts
approved by the federal government.

Subd. 24. [Repealed, 1999 c 245 art 3 s 51]

Subd. 24a. Social service and public health costs. The commissioner shall report on
recommendations to the legislature by January 15, 1997, identifying county social services and
public health administrative costs for each target population that should be excluded from the
overall capitation rate.

Subd. 25. Continuation of payments through discharge. In the event a medical assistance
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recipient or beneficiary enrolled in a health plan under this section is denied nursing facility
services after residing in the facility for more than 180 days, any denial of medical assistance
payment to a provider under this section shall be prospective only and payments to the provider
shall continue until the resident is discharged or 30 days after the effective date of the service
denial, whichever is sooner.

Subd. 26. American Indian recipients. (a) Beginning on or after January 1, 1999, for
American Indian recipients of medical assistance who are required to enroll with a demonstration
provider under subdivision 4 or in a county-based purchasing entity, if applicable, under section
256B.692, medical assistance shall cover health care services provided at Indian health services
facilities and facilities operated by a tribe or tribal organization under funding authorized by
United States Code, title 25, sections 450f to 450n, or title III of the Indian Self-Determination
and Education Assistance Act, Public Law 93-638, if those services would otherwise be covered
under section 256B.0625. Payments for services provided under this subdivision shall be made
on a fee-for-service basis, and may, at the option of the tribe or tribal organization, be made
according to rates authorized under sections 256.969, subdivision 16, and 256B.0625, subdivision
34. Implementation of this purchasing model is contingent on federal approval.

(b) The commissioner of human services, in consultation with the tribal governments,
shall develop a plan for tribes to assist in the enrollment process for American Indian recipients
enrolled in the prepaid medical assistance program under this section. This plan also shall address
how tribes will be included in ensuring the coordination of care for American Indian recipients
between Indian health service or tribal providers and other providers.

(c) For purposes of this subdivision, "American Indian" has the meaning given to persons to
whom services will be provided for in Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 36.12.

Subd. 27. Information for persons with limited English-language proficiency.Managed
care contracts entered into under this section and section 256L.12 must require demonstration
providers to provide language assistance to enrollees that ensures meaningful access to its
programs and services according to Title VI of the Civil Rights Act and federal regulations adopted
under that law or any guidance from the United States Department of Health and Human Services.

Subd. 28.Medicare special needs plans; medical assistance basic health care. (a) The
commissioner may contract with qualified Medicare-approved special needs plans to provide
medical assistance basic health care services to persons with disabilities, including those with
developmental disabilities. Basic health care services include:

(1) those services covered by the medical assistance state plan except for ICF/MR services,
home and community-based waiver services, case management for persons with developmental
disabilities under section 256B.0625, subdivision 20a, and personal care and certain home care
services defined by the commissioner in consultation with the stakeholder group established
under paragraph (d); and

(2) basic health care services may also include risk for up to 100 days of nursing facility
services for persons who reside in a noninstitutional setting and home health services related to
rehabilitation as defined by the commissioner after consultation with the stakeholder group.

The commissioner may exclude other medical assistance services from the basic health care
benefit set. Enrollees in these plans can access any excluded services on the same basis as other
medical assistance recipients who have not enrolled.
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(b) Beginning January 1, 2007, the commissioner may contract with qualified Medicare
special needs plans to provide basic health care services under medical assistance to persons who
are dually eligible for both Medicare and Medicaid and those Social Security beneficiaries eligible
for Medicaid but in the waiting period for Medicare. The commissioner shall consult with the
stakeholder group under paragraph (d) in developing program specifications for these services.
The commissioner shall report to the chairs of the house of representatives and senate committees
with jurisdiction over health and human services policy and finance by February 1, 2007, on
implementation of these programs and the need for increased funding for the ombudsman for
managed care and other consumer assistance and protections needed due to enrollment in managed
care of persons with disabilities. Payment for Medicaid services provided under this subdivision
for the months of May and June will be made no earlier than July 1 of the same calendar year.

(c) Notwithstanding subdivision 4, beginning January 1, 2012, the commissioner shall
enroll persons with disabilities in managed care under this section, unless the individual chooses
to opt out of enrollment. The commissioner shall establish enrollment and opt out procedures
consistent with applicable enrollment procedures under this subdivision.

(d) The commissioner shall establish a state-level stakeholder group to provide advice on
managed care programs for persons with disabilities, including both MnDHO and contracts with
special needs plans that provide basic health care services as described in paragraphs (a) and (b).
The stakeholder group shall provide advice on program expansions under this subdivision and
subdivision 23, including:

(1) implementation efforts;
(2) consumer protections; and
(3) program specifications such as quality assurance measures, data collection and

reporting, and evaluation of costs, quality, and results.
(e) Each plan under contract to provide medical assistance basic health care services shall

establish a local or regional stakeholder group, including representatives of the counties covered
by the plan, members, consumer advocates, and providers, for advice on issues that arise in
the local or regional area.

(f) The commissioner is prohibited from providing the names of potential enrollees to
health plans for marketing purposes. The commissioner shall mail no more than two sets of
marketing materials per contract year to potential enrollees on behalf of health plans, at the health
plan's request. The marketing materials shall be mailed by the commissioner within 30 days of
receipt of these materials from the health plan. The health plans shall cover any costs incurred by
the commissioner for mailing marketing materials.

Subd. 29. Prepaid health plan rates. In negotiating the prepaid health plan contract rates
for services rendered on or after January 1, 2011, the commissioner of human services shall take
into consideration and the rates shall reflect the anticipated savings in the medical assistance
program due to extending medical assistance coverage to services provided in licensed birth
centers, the anticipated use of these services within the medical assistance population, and the
reduced medical assistance costs associated with the use of birth centers for normal, low-risk
deliveries.

Subd. 30. Provision of required materials in alternative formats. (a) For the purposes of
this subdivision, "alternative format" means a medium other than paper and "prepaid health plan"
means managed care plans and county-based purchasing plans.
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(b) A prepaid health plan may provide in an alternative format a provider directory and
certificate of coverage, or materials otherwise required to be available in writing under Code of
Federal Regulations, title 42, section 438.10, or under the commissioner's contract with the
prepaid health plan, if the following conditions are met:

(1) the prepaid health plan, local agency, or commissioner, as applicable, informs the
enrollee that:

(i) an alternative format is available and the enrollee affirmatively requests of the prepaid
health plan that the provider directory, certificate of coverage, or materials otherwise required
under Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 438.10, or under the commissioner's contract
with the prepaid health plan be provided in an alternative format; and

(ii) a record of the enrollee request is retained by the prepaid health plan in the form of
written direction from the enrollee or a documented telephone call followed by a confirmation
letter to the enrollee from the prepaid health plan that explains that the enrollee may change the
request at any time;

(2) the materials are sent to a secure electronic mailbox and are made available at a
password-protected secure electronic Web site or on a data storage device if the materials contain
enrollee data that is individually identifiable;

(3) the enrollee is provided a customer service number on the enrollee's membership card
that may be called to request a paper version of the materials provided in an alternative format; and

(4) the materials provided in an alternative format meets all other requirements of
the commissioner regarding content, size of the typeface, and any required time frames for
distribution. "Required time frames for distribution" must permit sufficient time for prepaid
health plans to distribute materials in alternative formats upon receipt of enrollees' requests
for the materials.

(c) A prepaid health plan may provide in an alternative format its primary care network
list to the commissioner and to local agencies within its service area. The commissioner or local
agency, as applicable, shall inform a potential enrollee of the availability of a prepaid health
plan's primary care network list in an alternative format. If the potential enrollee requests an
alternative format of the prepaid health plan's primary care network list, a record of that request
shall be retained by the commissioner or local agency. The potential enrollee is permitted to
withdraw the request at any time.

The prepaid health plan shall submit sufficient paper versions of the primary care network
list to the commissioner and to local agencies within its service area to accommodate potential
enrollee requests for paper versions of the primary care network list.

(d) A prepaid health plan may provide in an alternative format materials otherwise required
to be available in writing under Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 438.10, or under the
commissioner's contract with the prepaid health plan, if the conditions of paragraphs (b), (c), and
(e), are met for persons who are eligible for enrollment in managed care.

(e) The commissioner shall seek any federal Medicaid waivers within 90 days after the
effective date of this subdivision that are necessary to provide alternative formats of required
material to enrollees of prepaid health plans as authorized under this subdivision.

(f) The commissioner shall consult with managed care plans, county-based purchasing
plans, counties, and other interested parties to determine how materials required to be made
available to enrollees under Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 438.10, or under the
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commissioner's contract with a prepaid health plan may be provided in an alternative format on
the basis that the enrollee has not opted in to receive the alternative format. The commissioner
shall consult with managed care plans, county-based purchasing plans, counties, and other
interested parties to develop recommendations relating to the conditions that must be met for an
opt-out process to be granted.

Subd. 31. Payment reduction. (a) Beginning September 1, 2011, the commissioner shall
reduce payments and limit future rate increases paid to managed care plans and county-based
purchasing plans. The limits in paragraphs (a) to (f) shall be achieved on a statewide aggregate
basis by program. The commissioner may use competitive bidding, payment reductions, or other
reductions to achieve the reductions and limits in this subdivision.

(b) Beginning September 1, 2011, the commissioner shall reduce payments to managed
care plans and county-based purchasing plans as follows:

(1) 2.0 percent for medical assistance elderly basic care. This shall not apply to Medicare
cost-sharing, nursing facility, personal care assistance, and elderly waiver services;

(2) 2.82 percent for medical assistance families and children;
(3) 10.1 percent for medical assistance adults without children; and
(4) 6.0 percent for MinnesotaCare families and children.
(c) Beginning January 1, 2012, the commissioner shall limit rates paid to managed care

plans and county-based purchasing plans for calendar year 2012 to a percentage of the rates in
effect on August 31, 2011, as follows:

(1) 98 percent for medical assistance elderly basic care. This shall not apply to Medicare
cost-sharing, nursing facility, personal care assistance, and elderly waiver services;

(2) 97.18 percent for medical assistance families and children;
(3) 89.9 percent for medical assistance adults without children; and
(4) 94 percent for MinnesotaCare families and children.
(d) Beginning January 1, 2013, to December 31, 2013, the commissioner shall limit the

maximum annual trend increases to rates paid to managed care plans and county-based purchasing
plans as follows:

(1) 7.5 percent for medical assistance elderly basic care. This shall not apply to Medicare
cost-sharing, nursing facility, personal care assistance, and elderly waiver services;

(2) 5.0 percent for medical assistance special needs basic care;
(3) 2.0 percent for medical assistance families and children;
(4) 3.0 percent for medical assistance adults without children;
(5) 3.0 percent for MinnesotaCare families and children; and
(6) 3.0 percent for MinnesotaCare adults without children.
(e) The commissioner may limit trend increases to less than the maximum. Beginning July 1,

2014, the commissioner shall limit the maximum annual trend increases to rates paid to managed
care plans and county-based purchasing plans as follows for calendar years 2014 and 2015:

(1) 7.5 percent for medical assistance elderly basic care. This shall not apply to Medicare
cost-sharing, nursing facility, personal care assistance, and elderly waiver services;

(2) 5.0 percent for medical assistance special needs basic care;
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(3) 2.0 percent for medical assistance families and children;
(4) 3.0 percent for medical assistance adults without children;
(5) 3.0 percent for MinnesotaCare families and children; and
(6) 4.0 percent for MinnesotaCare adults without children.
The commissioner may limit trend increases to less than the maximum.
History: 1983 c 312 art 5 s 27; 1984 c 654 art 5 s 58; 1987 c 403 art 2 s 95-101; 1988 c

689 art 2 s 182,183,268; 1989 c 209 art 1 s 23; 1989 c 282 art 3 s 87-90; 1990 c 426 art 1 s 29;
1990 c 568 art 3 s 83,84; 1991 c 292 art 7 s 25; 1994 c 529 s 11; 1995 c 207 art 6 s 90-102; art 7
s 41; 1995 c 234 art 6 s 40,41; 1996 c 451 art 2 s 33-37; art 5 s 32; 1997 c 203 art 2 s 26; art 4 s
48-55; 1998 c 407 art 3 s 17; art 4 s 44-48; 1999 c 159 s 53; 1999 c 245 art 2 s 38; art 3 s 37,38;
art 4 s 70-75; 2000 c 340 s 12,13; 2000 c 353 s 1; 2000 c 488 art 9 s 24-26; 2001 c 161 s 49;
2001 c 203 s 14; 1Sp2001 c 9 art 2 s 49-52; 2002 c 220 art 15 s 15-19; 2002 c 275 s 5; 2002 c
281 s 1; 2002 c 375 art 2 s 43; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 2003 c 47 s 3-5; 2003 c 101 s 1; 1Sp2003 c
14 art 12 s 56-65; 2004 c 228 art 1 s 75; 2004 c 268 s 14; 2004 c 288 art 3 s 26; art 5 s 9; 2005
c 56 s 1; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 7 s 46; art 8 s 51; 2006 c 282 art 20 s 28-30; 2007 c 147 art 7 s 60;
art 8 s 24-26; 2008 c 326 art 1 s 35-38; 2008 c 363 art 15 s 14; art 17 s 14; 2008 c 364 s 2-6;
2009 c 79 art 5 s 46-49; art 8 s 72; 2009 c 159 s 105; 2009 c 173 art 3 s 15; 2010 c 200 art 1 s
10; 2010 c 310 art 13 s 2; art 15 s 1; 1Sp2010 c 1 art 15 s 9; art 16 s 21-23, 45; art 17 s 13;
1Sp2011 c 9 art 6 s 61-65; art 9 s 2; 1Sp2011 c 11 art 3 s 12

256B.691 RISK-BASED TRANSPORTATION PAYMENTS.
Any contract with a prepaid health plan under the medical assistance, general assistance

medical care, or MinnesotaCare program that requires the health plan to cover transportation
services for obtaining medical care for eligible individuals who are ambulatory must provide
for payment for those services on a risk basis.

History: 1995 c 207 art 6 s 103

256B.692 COUNTY-BASED PURCHASING.

Subdivision 1. In general. County boards or groups of county boards may elect to purchase
or provide health care services on behalf of persons eligible for medical assistance who would
otherwise be required to or may elect to participate in the prepaid medical assistance program
according to section 256B.69. Counties that elect to purchase or provide health care under this
section must provide all services included in prepaid managed care programs according to section
256B.69, subdivisions 1 to 22. County-based purchasing under this section is governed by section
256B.69, unless otherwise provided for under this section.

Subd. 2. Duties of commissioner of health. (a) Notwithstanding chapters 62D and 62N,
a county that elects to purchase medical assistance in return for a fixed sum without regard to
the frequency or extent of services furnished to any particular enrollee is not required to obtain
a certificate of authority under chapter 62D or 62N. The county board of commissioners is the
governing body of a county-based purchasing program. In a multicounty arrangement, the
governing body is a joint powers board established under section 471.59.

(b) A county that elects to purchase medical assistance services under this section must
satisfy the commissioner of health that the requirements for assurance of consumer protection,
provider protection, and, effective January 1, 2010, fiscal solvency of chapter 62D, applicable to
health maintenance organizations will be met according to the following schedule:
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(1) for a county-based purchasing plan approved on or before June 30, 2008, the plan
must have in reserve:

(i) at least 50 percent of the minimum amount required under chapter 62D as of January 1,
2010;

(ii) at least 75 percent of the minimum amount required under chapter 62D as of January 1,
2011;

(iii) at least 87.5 percent of the minimum amount required under chapter 62D as of January
1, 2012; and

(iv) at least 100 percent of the minimum amount required under chapter 62D as of January
1, 2013; and

(2) for a county-based purchasing plan first approved after June 30, 2008, the plan must
have in reserve:

(i) at least 50 percent of the minimum amount required under chapter 62D at the time
the plan begins enrolling enrollees;

(ii) at least 75 percent of the minimum amount required under chapter 62D after the first
full calendar year;

(iii) at least 87.5 percent of the minimum amount required under chapter 62D after the
second full calendar year; and

(iv) at least 100 percent of the minimum amount required under chapter 62D after the
third full calendar year.

(c) Until a plan is required to have reserves equaling at least 100 percent of the minimum
amount required under chapter 62D, the plan may demonstrate its ability to cover any losses by
satisfying the requirements of chapter 62N. A county-based purchasing plan must also assure
the commissioner of health that the requirements of sections 62J.041; 62J.48; 62J.71 to 62J.73;
62M.01 to 62M.16; all applicable provisions of chapter 62Q, including sections 62Q.075;
62Q.1055; 62Q.106; 62Q.12; 62Q.135; 62Q.14; 62Q.145; 62Q.19; 62Q.23, paragraph (c);
62Q.43; 62Q.47; 62Q.50; 62Q.52 to 62Q.56; 62Q.58; 62Q.68 to 62Q.72; and 72A.201 will be met.

(d) All enforcement and rulemaking powers available under chapters 62D, 62J, 62M, 62N,
and 62Q are hereby granted to the commissioner of health with respect to counties that purchase
medical assistance services under this section.

(e) The commissioner, in consultation with county government, shall develop administrative
and financial reporting requirements for county-based purchasing programs relating to sections
62D.041, 62D.042, 62D.045, 62D.08, 62N.28, 62N.29, and 62N.31, and other sections as
necessary, that are specific to county administrative, accounting, and reporting systems and
consistent with other statutory requirements of counties.

(f) The commissioner shall collect from a county-based purchasing plan under this section
the following fees:

(1) fees attributable to the costs of audits and other examinations of plan financial
operations. These fees are subject to the provisions of Minnesota Rules, part 4685.2800, subpart
1, item F;

(2) an annual fee of $21,500, to be paid by June 15 of each calendar year, beginning in
calendar year 2009; and
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(3) for fiscal year 2009 only, a per-enrollee fee of 14.6 cents, based on the number of
enrollees as of December 31, 2008.
All fees collected under this paragraph shall be deposited in the state government special revenue
fund.

Subd. 3. Requirements of the county board. A county board that intends to purchase or
provide health care under this section, which may include purchasing all or part of these services
from health plans or individual providers on a fee-for-service basis, or providing these services
directly, must demonstrate the ability to follow and agree to the following requirements:

(1) purchase all covered services for a fixed payment from the state that does not exceed the
estimated state and federal cost that would have occurred under the prepaid medical assistance
program;

(2) ensure that covered services are accessible to all enrollees and that enrollees have a
reasonable choice of providers, health plans, or networks when possible. If the county is also a
provider of service, the county board shall develop a process to ensure that providers employed
by the county are not the sole referral source and are not the sole provider of health care services
if other providers, which meet the same quality and cost requirements are available;

(3) issue payments to participating vendors or networks in a timely manner;
(4) establish a process to ensure and improve the quality of care provided;
(5) provide appropriate quality and other required data in a format required by the state;
(6) provide a system for advocacy, enrollee protection, and complaints and appeals that is

independent of care providers or other risk bearers and complies with section 256B.69;
(7) ensure that the implementation and operation of the Minnesota senior health options

demonstration project and the Minnesota disability health options demonstration project,
authorized under section 256B.69, subdivision 23, will not be impeded;

(8) ensure that all recipients that are enrolled in the prepaid medical assistance program
will be transferred to county-based purchasing without utilizing the department's fee-for-service
claims payment system;

(9) ensure that all recipients who are required to participate in county-based purchasing are
given sufficient information prior to enrollment in order to make informed decisions; and

(10) ensure that the state and the medical assistance recipients will be held harmless for the
payment of obligations incurred by the county if the county, or a health plan providing services on
behalf of the county, or a provider participating in county-based purchasing becomes insolvent,
and the state has made the payments due to the county under this section.

Subd. 4. Payments to counties. The commissioner shall pay counties that are purchasing or
providing health care under this section a per capita payment for all enrolled recipients. Payments
shall not exceed payments that otherwise would have been paid to health plans under medical
assistance for that county or region. This payment is in addition to any administrative allocation
to counties for education, enrollment, and advocacy. The state of Minnesota and the United States
Department of Health and Human Services are not liable for any costs incurred by a county that
exceed the payments to the county made under this subdivision. A county whose costs exceed
the payments made by the state, or any affected enrollees or creditors of that county, shall have
no rights under chapter 61B or section 62D.181. A county may assign risk for the cost of care
to a third party.

Copyright © 2011 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



494 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2011 256B.692

Subd. 4a. Expenditure of revenues. (a) A county that has elected to participate in a
county-based purchasing plan under this section shall use any excess revenues over expenses
that are received by the county and are not needed (1) for capital reserves under subdivision 2,
(2) to increase payments to providers, or (3) to repay county investments or contributions to the
county-based purchasing plan, for prevention, early intervention, and health care programs,
services, or activities.

(b) A county-based purchasing plan under this section is subject to the unreasonable
expense provisions of section 62D.19.

Subd. 5. County proposals. (a) On or before September 1, 1997, a county board that
wishes to purchase or provide health care under this section must submit a preliminary proposal
that substantially demonstrates the county's ability to meet all the requirements of this section in
response to criteria for proposals issued by the department on or before July 1, 1997. Counties
submitting preliminary proposals must establish a local planning process that involves input
from medical assistance recipients, recipient advocates, providers and representatives of local
school districts, labor, and tribal government to advise on the development of a final proposal and
its implementation.

(b) The county board must submit a final proposal on or before July 1, 1998, that
demonstrates the ability to meet all the requirements of this section, including beginning
enrollment on January 1, 1999, unless a delay has been granted under section 256B.69,
subdivision 3a, paragraph (g).

(c) After January 1, 1999, for a county in which the prepaid medical assistance program is
in existence, the county board must submit a preliminary proposal at least 15 months prior to
termination of health plan contracts in that county and a final proposal six months prior to the
health plan contract termination date in order to begin enrollment after the termination. Nothing
in this section shall impede or delay implementation or continuation of the prepaid medical
assistance program in counties for which the board does not submit a proposal, or submits a
proposal that is not in compliance with this section.

(d) The commissioner is not required to terminate contracts for the prepaid medical
assistance program that begin on or after September 1, 1997, in a county for which a county board
has submitted a proposal under this paragraph, until two years have elapsed from the date of
initial enrollment in the prepaid medical assistance program.

Subd. 6. Commissioner's authority. The commissioner may:
(1) reject any preliminary or final proposal that:
(a) substantially fails to meet the requirements of this section, or
(b) that the commissioner determines would substantially impair the state's ability to

purchase health care services in other areas of the state, or
(c) would substantially impair an enrollee's choice of care systems when reasonable

choice is possible, or
(d) would substantially impair the implementation and operation of the Minnesota senior

health options demonstration project authorized under section 256B.69, subdivision 23; and
(2) assume operation of a county's purchasing of health care for enrollees in medical

assistance in the event that the contract with the county is terminated.

Subd. 7. Dispute resolution. In the event the commissioner rejects a proposal under
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subdivision 6, the county board may request the recommendation of a three-person mediation
panel. The commissioner shall resolve all disputes after taking into account the recommendations
of the mediation panel. The panel shall be composed of one designee of the president of the
Association of Minnesota Counties, one designee of the commissioner of human services, and one
person selected jointly by the designee of the commissioner of human services and the designee of
the Association of Minnesota Counties. Within a reasonable period of time before the hearing, the
panelists must be provided all documents and information relevant to the mediation. The parties
to the mediation must be given 30 days' notice of a hearing before the mediation panel.

Subd. 8. Appeals. A county that conducts county-based purchasing shall be considered to
be a prepaid health plan for purposes of section 256.045.

Subd. 9. Federal approval. The commissioner shall request any federal waivers and
federal approval required to implement this section. County-based purchasing shall not be
implemented without obtaining all federal approval required to maintain federal matching funds
in the medical assistance program.

Subd. 10. Report to the legislature. The commissioner shall submit a report to the
legislature by February 1, 1998, on the preliminary proposals submitted on or before September
1, 1997.

History: 1997 c 203 art 4 s 56; 1998 c 407 art 4 s 49,50; 1999 c 239 s 42; 1999 c 245 art 4
s 76; 2001 c 170 s 8; 2002 c 277 s 25; 2005 c 77 s 6; 2006 c 264 s 12; 2008 c 326 art 1 s 39;
2008 c 364 s 7,8; 2010 c 200 art 1 s 20; 1Sp2010 c 1 art 16 s 24

256B.693 STATE-OPERATED SERVICES; MANAGED CARE.

Subdivision 1. Proposals for managed care; role of state operated services. Any proposal
integrating state-operated services with managed care systems for persons with disabilities shall
identify the specific role to be assumed by state-operated services and the funding arrangement in
which state-operated services shall effectively operate within the managed care initiative. The
commissioner shall not approve or implement the initiative that consolidates funding appropriated
for state-operated services with funding for managed care initiatives for persons with disabilities.

Subd. 2. Study by the commissioner. To help identify appropriate state-operated services
for managed care systems, the commissioner of human services shall study the integration
of state-operated services into public managed care systems and make recommendations to
the legislature. The commissioner's study and recommendations shall include, but shall not be
limited to, the following:

(1) identification of persons with disabilities on waiting lists for services, which could be
provided by state-operated services;

(2) availability of crisis services to persons with disabilities;

(3) unmet service needs, which could be met by state-operated services; and

(4) deficiencies in managed care contracts and services, which hinder the placement and
maintenance of persons with disabilities in community settings.

In conducting this study, the commissioner shall survey counties concerning their interest in
and need for services that could be provided by state-operated services. The commissioner shall
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also consult with the appropriate exclusive bargaining unit representatives. The commissioner
shall report findings to the legislature by February 1, 1998.

History: 1997 c 203 art 9 s 13

256B.694 SOLE-SOURCE OR SINGLE-PLAN MANAGED CARE CONTRACT.
(a) Notwithstanding section 256B.692, subdivision 6, clause (1), paragraph (c), the

commissioner of human services shall approve a county-based purchasing health plan proposal,
submitted on behalf of Cass, Crow Wing, Morrison, Todd, and Wadena Counties, that requires
county-based purchasing on a single-plan basis contract if the implementation of the single-plan
purchasing proposal does not limit an enrollee's provider choice or access to services and all other
requirements applicable to health plan purchasing are satisfied. The commissioner shall continue
to use single-health plan, county-based purchasing arrangements for medical assistance and
general assistance medical care programs and products for the counties that were in single-health
plan, county-based purchasing arrangements on March 1, 2008. This paragraph does not require
the commissioner to terminate an existing contract with a noncounty-based purchasing plan
that had enrollment in a medical assistance program or product in these counties on March 1,
2008. This paragraph expires on December 31, 2010, or the effective date of a new contract for
medical assistance and general assistance medical care managed care programs entered into at the
conclusion of the commissioner's next scheduled reprocurement process for the county-based
purchasing entities covered by this paragraph, whichever is later.

(b) The commissioner shall consider, and may approve, contracting on a single-health plan
basis with other county-based purchasing plans, or with other qualified health plans that have
coordination arrangements with counties, to serve persons with a disability who voluntarily
enroll, in order to promote better coordination or integration of health care services, social
services and other community-based services, provided that all requirements applicable to health
plan purchasing, including those in section 256B.69, subdivision 23, are satisfied. Nothing in this
paragraph supersedes or modifies the requirements in paragraph (a).

History: 1Sp2005 c 4 art 8 s 84; 2006 c 264 s 15; 2008 c 364 s 10

256B.70 DEMONSTRATION PROJECT WAIVER.
Each hospital that participates as a provider in a demonstration project, established by the

commissioner of human services to deliver medical assistance, or chemical dependency services
on a prepaid, capitation basis, is exempt from the prospective payment system for inpatient
hospital service during the period of its participation in that project.

History: 1983 c 312 art 5 s 28; 1984 c 654 art 5 s 58; 1986 c 394 s 18

256B.71 SOCIAL HEALTH MAINTENANCE ORGANIZATION DEMONSTRATION.

Subdivision 1. Purpose. The commissioner of human services may participate in social
health maintenance organization demonstration projects to determine if prepayment combined
with the delivery of alternative services is an effective method of delivering services while
containing costs.

Subd. 2. Case management. Each participating provider approved by the commissioner
shall serve as case manager for recipients enrolled in its plan. The participating provider shall
authorize and arrange for the provision of all needed health services including but not limited
to the full range of services listed in sections 256B.02, subdivision 8, and 256B.0625 in order
to ensure that appropriate health care is delivered to enrollees.
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Subd. 3. Enrollment of medical assistance recipients.Medical assistance recipients may
voluntarily enroll in the social health maintenance organization projects. However, once enrolled
in a project, the recipient must remain enrolled for a period of six months.

Subd. 4. Payment for services. Notwithstanding section 256.966 and this chapter, the
method of payment utilized for the social health maintenance organization projects shall be the
method developed by the commissioner of human services in consultation with local project staff
and the federal Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid
Services, Office of Demonstrations. This subdivision applies only to the payment method for the
social health maintenance organization projects.

Subd. 5. [Repealed, 1991 c 292 art 7 s 26]
History: 1983 c 295 s 1; 1984 c 654 art 5 s 58; 1986 c 444; 1988 c 689 art 2 s 268;

2002 c 277 s 32

256B.72 RIGHT OF APPEAL.
The commissioner shall not recover overpayments from medical assistance vendors if an

administrative appeal or judicial action challenging the proposed recovery is pending.
History: 1Sp1985 c 9 art 2 s 54

256B.73 DEMONSTRATION PROJECT FOR UNINSURED LOW-INCOME PERSONS.

Subdivision 1. Purpose. The purpose of the demonstration project is to determine the need
for and the feasibility of establishing a statewide program of medical insurance for uninsured
low-income persons.

Subd. 2. Establishment; geographic area. The commissioner of human services shall
cooperate with a local coalition to establish a demonstration project to provide low cost medical
insurance to uninsured low-income persons in Cook, Crow Wing, Lake, St. Louis, Carlton,
Aitkin, Pine, Itasca, and Koochiching Counties except an individual county may be excluded
as determined by the county board of commissioners. The coalition shall work with the
commissioners of human services, commerce, and health and potential demonstration providers
as well as other public and private organizations to determine program design, including enrollee
eligibility requirements, benefits, and participation.

Subd. 3. Definitions. For the purposes of this section, the following terms have the
meanings given:

(1) "coalition" means an organization comprised of members representative of small
business, health care providers, county social service departments, health consumer groups, and
the health industry, established to serve the purposes of this demonstration;

(2) "demonstration provider" means a corporation regulated under chapter 62A, 62C, or
62D;

(3) "individual provider" means a medical provider under contract to the demonstration
provider to provide medical care to enrollees; and

(4) "enrollee" means a person eligible to receive coverage according to subdivision 4.

Subd. 4. Enrollee eligibility requirements. To be eligible for participation in the
demonstration project, an enrollee must:

(1) not be eligible for Medicare, medical assistance, or general assistance medical care; and
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(2) have no medical insurance or health benefits plan available through employment or
other means that would provide coverage for the same medical services as provided by this
demonstration.

Subd. 5. Enrollee benefits. (a) Eligible persons enrolled by a demonstration provider shall
receive a health services benefit package that includes health services which the enrollees might
reasonably require to be maintained in good health, including emergency care, inpatient hospital
and physician care, outpatient health services, and preventive health services.

(b) Services related to chemical dependency, mental illness, vision care, dental care, and
other benefits may be excluded or limited upon approval by the commissioners. The coalition
may petition the commissioner of commerce or health, whichever is appropriate, for waivers that
allow these benefits to be excluded or limited.

(c) The commissioners, the coalition, and demonstration providers shall work together to
design a package of benefits or packages of benefits that can be provided to enrollees for an
affordable monthly premium.

Subd. 6. Enrollee participation. The demonstration provider may terminate the coverage
for an enrollee who has not made payment within the first ten calendar days of the month for
which coverage is being purchased. The termination for nonpayment shall be retroactive to
the first day of the month for which no payment has been made by the enrollee. The coalition
will assure that participants receive adequate information about the demonstration nature of the
project. The coalition will assist enrollees with finding alternative coverage at the conclusion of
the demonstration project.

Subd. 7. Contract with coalition. The commissioner of human services shall contract
with the coalition to administer and direct the demonstration project and to select and retain the
demonstration provider for the duration of the project. This contract shall be for 24 months with
an option to renew for no more than 12 months. This contract may be canceled without cause by
the commissioner upon 90 days' written notice to the coalition or by the coalition with 90 days'
written notice to the commissioner. The commissioner shall assure the cooperation of the county
human services or social services staff in all counties participating in the project.

Subd. 8.Medical assistance and general assistance medical care coordination. To
assure enrollees of uninterrupted delivery of health care services, the commissioner may pay the
premium to the demonstration provider for persons who become eligible for medical assistance
or general assistance medical care. To determine eligibility for medical assistance, any medical
expenses for eligible services incurred by the demonstration provider shall be considered as
evidence of satisfying the medical expense requirements of section 256B.056, subdivisions 4 and
5. To determine eligibility for general assistance medical care, any medical expenses for eligible
services incurred by the demonstration provider shall be considered as evidence of satisfying the
medical expense requirements of section 256D.03, subdivision 3.

Subd. 9.Waiver required. No part of the demonstration project shall become operational
until any required waivers of appropriate federal regulations are obtained from the Centers for
Medicare and Medicaid Services.

Subd. 10. [Repealed, 1988 c 689 art 2 s 269]

History: 1987 c 337 s 123; 1988 c 689 art 2 s 184,268; 1990 c 454 s 1; 1990 c 568 art 3 s
85; 2002 c 277 s 32
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256B.74 SPECIAL PAYMENTS.

Subdivision 1. Hospital reimbursement. Effective for services rendered on or after July 1,
1991, the commissioner shall reimburse outpatient hospital facility fees at 80 percent of calendar
year 1990 submitted charges, not to exceed the Medicare upper payment limit. Services excepted
from this payment methodology are emergency room facility fees, clinic facility fees, and those
services for which there is a federal maximum allowable payment.

Subd. 2. [Repealed, 1999 c 245 art 4 s 120]

Subd. 3. [Repealed, 2000 c 449 s 15]

Subd. 4. Personal needs allowance. The commissioner shall provide cost of living
increases in the personal needs allowance under section 256B.35, subdivision 1.

Subd. 5. [Repealed, 1999 c 245 art 4 s 120]

Subd. 6. Health plans. Effective for services rendered after July 1, 1991, the commissioner
shall adjust the monthly medical assistance capitation rate cell established in contract by the
amount necessary to accommodate the equivalent value of the reimbursement increase established
under subdivisions 1, 2, and 5.

Subd. 7. Administrative cost. The commissioner may expend up to $1,700,000 for the
administrative costs associated with sections 256.9657 and 256B.74.

Subd. 8. [Repealed, 1992 c 513 art 7 s 135]

Subd. 9. [Repealed, 1992 c 513 art 7 s 135]

Subd. 10. Implementation; rulemaking. The commissioner shall implement sections
256.9657 and 256B.74 on July 1, 1991, without complying with the rulemaking requirements of
the Administrative Procedure Act. The commissioner may adopt rules to implement Laws 1991,
chapter 292, article 4. Rules adopted to implement Laws 1991, chapter 292, article 4, supersede
any provisions adopted under the exemption from rulemaking requirements in this section.

History: 1991 c 292 art 4 s 67; 1992 c 464 art 1 s 30; 1992 c 513 art 7 s 123,124; 1996 c
305 art 2 s 53

256B.75 HOSPITAL OUTPATIENT REIMBURSEMENT.

(a) For outpatient hospital facility fee payments for services rendered on or after October 1,
1992, the commissioner of human services shall pay the lower of (1) submitted charge, or (2) 32
percent above the rate in effect on June 30, 1992, except for those services for which there is a
federal maximum allowable payment. Effective for services rendered on or after January 1, 2000,
payment rates for nonsurgical outpatient hospital facility fees and emergency room facility fees
shall be increased by eight percent over the rates in effect on December 31, 1999, except for those
services for which there is a federal maximum allowable payment. Services for which there is a
federal maximum allowable payment shall be paid at the lower of (1) submitted charge, or (2) the
federal maximum allowable payment. Total aggregate payment for outpatient hospital facility
fee services shall not exceed the Medicare upper limit. If it is determined that a provision of this
section conflicts with existing or future requirements of the United States government with respect
to federal financial participation in medical assistance, the federal requirements prevail. The
commissioner may, in the aggregate, prospectively reduce payment rates to avoid reduced federal
financial participation resulting from rates that are in excess of the Medicare upper limitations.
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(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), payment for outpatient, emergency, and ambulatory
surgery hospital facility fee services for critical access hospitals designated under section
144.1483, clause (10), shall be paid on a cost-based payment system that is based on the
cost-finding methods and allowable costs of the Medicare program.

(c) Effective for services provided on or after July 1, 2003, rates that are based on the
Medicare outpatient prospective payment system shall be replaced by a budget neutral prospective
payment system that is derived using medical assistance data. The commissioner shall provide a
proposal to the 2003 legislature to define and implement this provision.

(d) For fee-for-service services provided on or after July 1, 2002, the total payment, before
third-party liability and spenddown, made to hospitals for outpatient hospital facility services is
reduced by .5 percent from the current statutory rate.

(e) In addition to the reduction in paragraph (d), the total payment for fee-for-service
services provided on or after July 1, 2003, made to hospitals for outpatient hospital facility services
before third-party liability and spenddown, is reduced five percent from the current statutory rates.
Facilities defined under section 256.969, subdivision 16, are excluded from this paragraph.

(f) In addition to the reductions in paragraphs (d) and (e), the total payment for
fee-for-service services provided on or after July 1, 2008, made to hospitals for outpatient
hospital facility services before third-party liability and spenddown, is reduced three percent from
the current statutory rates. Mental health services and facilities defined under section 256.969,
subdivision 16, are excluded from this paragraph.

History: 1992 c 513 art 7 s 130; 1999 c 245 art 4 s 77; 1Sp2001 c 9 art 2 s 53; 2002 c
220 art 15 s 20; 2002 c 275 s 6; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 12 s 66; 2005 c 98
art 2 s 13; 2008 c 363 art 17 s 15

256B.756 REIMBURSEMENT RATES FOR BIRTHS.

Subdivision 1. Provider rate. (a) Notwithstanding section 256B.76, effective for services
provided on or after October 1, 2009, the payment rate for professional services related to labor,
delivery, and antepartum and postpartum care when provided for any of the diagnostic categories
identified in paragraph (b) shall be calculated using the methodology specified in paragraph (b).

(b) The commissioner shall calculate a single rate for the following diagnosis-related
groups, as they fall within the diagnostic categories: (1) 371 cesarean sections without
complicating diagnosis; (2) 372 vaginal delivery with complicating diagnosis; and (3) 373 vaginal
delivery without complicating diagnosis. The rate shall be consistent with an increase in the
proportion of births by vaginal delivery and a reduction in the percentage of births by cesarean
section. The calculated single rate must not reflect a shift of greater than five percent in the current
proportion of all births delivered vaginally and by cesarean section.

(c) The rates described in this subdivision do not include newborn care.

Subd. 2. [Repealed by amendment, 2009 c 173 art 1 s 31]

Subd. 3. Health plans. Payments to managed care and county-based purchasing plans
under sections 256B.69, 256B.692, or 256L.12 shall be reduced for services provided on or after
October 1, 2009, to reflect the adjustments in subdivision 1.

Subd. 4. Prior authorization. Prior authorization shall not be required before
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reimbursement is paid for a cesarean section delivery.
History: 2009 c 79 art 5 s 50; 2009 c 173 art 1 s 31

256B.76 PHYSICIAN AND DENTAL REIMBURSEMENT.

Subdivision 1. Physician reimbursement. (a) Effective for services rendered on or after
October 1, 1992, the commissioner shall make payments for physician services as follows:

(1) payment for level one Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services' common procedural
coding system codes titled "office and other outpatient services," "preventive medicine new
and established patient," "delivery, antepartum, and postpartum care," "critical care," cesarean
delivery and pharmacologic management provided to psychiatric patients, and level three codes
for enhanced services for prenatal high risk, shall be paid at the lower of (i) submitted charges, or
(ii) 25 percent above the rate in effect on June 30, 1992. If the rate on any procedure code within
these categories is different than the rate that would have been paid under the methodology in
section 256B.74, subdivision 2, then the larger rate shall be paid;

(2) payments for all other services shall be paid at the lower of (i) submitted charges, or
(ii) 15.4 percent above the rate in effect on June 30, 1992; and

(3) all physician rates shall be converted from the 50th percentile of 1982 to the 50th
percentile of 1989, less the percent in aggregate necessary to equal the above increases except that
payment rates for home health agency services shall be the rates in effect on September 30, 1992.

(b) Effective for services rendered on or after January 1, 2000, payment rates for physician
and professional services shall be increased by three percent over the rates in effect on December
31, 1999, except for home health agency and family planning agency services. The increases in
this paragraph shall be implemented January 1, 2000, for managed care.

(c) Effective for services rendered on or after July 1, 2009, payment rates for physician and
professional services shall be reduced by five percent, except that for the period July 1, 2009,
through June 30, 2010, payment rates shall be reduced by 6.5 percent for the medical assistance
and general assistance medical care programs, over the rates in effect on June 30, 2009. This
reduction and the reductions in paragraph (d) do not apply to office or other outpatient visits,
preventive medicine visits and family planning visits billed by physicians, advanced practice
nurses, or physician assistants in a family planning agency or in one of the following primary care
practices: general practice, general internal medicine, general pediatrics, general geriatrics, and
family medicine. This reduction and the reductions in paragraph (d) do not apply to federally
qualified health centers, rural health centers, and Indian health services. Effective October 1,
2009, payments made to managed care plans and county-based purchasing plans under sections
256B.69, 256B.692, and 256L.12 shall reflect the payment reduction described in this paragraph.

(d) Effective for services rendered on or after July 1, 2010, payment rates for physician and
professional services shall be reduced an additional seven percent over the five percent reduction
in rates described in paragraph (c). This additional reduction does not apply to physical therapy
services, occupational therapy services, and speech pathology and related services provided on
or after July 1, 2010. This additional reduction does not apply to physician services billed by a
psychiatrist or an advanced practice nurse with a specialty in mental health. Effective October 1,
2010, payments made to managed care plans and county-based purchasing plans under sections
256B.69, 256B.692, and 256L.12 shall reflect the payment reduction described in this paragraph.

(e) Effective for services rendered on or after September 1, 2011, through June 30, 2013,
payment rates for physician and professional services shall be reduced three percent from the
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rates in effect on August 31, 2011. This reduction does not apply to physical therapy services,
occupational therapy services, and speech pathology and related services.

Subd. 2. Dental reimbursement. (a) Effective for services rendered on or after October 1,
1992, the commissioner shall make payments for dental services as follows:

(1) dental services shall be paid at the lower of (i) submitted charges, or (ii) 25 percent
above the rate in effect on June 30, 1992; and

(2) dental rates shall be converted from the 50th percentile of 1982 to the 50th percentile of
1989, less the percent in aggregate necessary to equal the above increases.

(b) Beginning October 1, 1999, the payment for tooth sealants and fluoride treatments shall
be the lower of (1) submitted charge, or (2) 80 percent of median 1997 charges.

(c) Effective for services rendered on or after January 1, 2000, payment rates for dental
services shall be increased by three percent over the rates in effect on December 31, 1999.

(d) Effective for services provided on or after January 1, 2002, payment for diagnostic
examinations and dental x-rays provided to children under age 21 shall be the lower of (1) the
submitted charge, or (2) 85 percent of median 1999 charges.

(e) The increases listed in paragraphs (b) and (c) shall be implemented January 1, 2000, for
managed care.

(f) Effective for dental services rendered on or after October 1, 2010, by a state-operated
dental clinic, payment shall be paid on a reasonable cost basis that is based on the Medicare
principles of reimbursement. This payment shall be effective for services rendered on or after
January 1, 2011, to recipients enrolled in managed care plans or county-based purchasing plans.

(g) Beginning in fiscal year 2011, if the payments to state-operated dental clinics in
paragraph (f), including state and federal shares, are less than $1,850,000 per fiscal year, a
supplemental state payment equal to the difference between the total payments in paragraph (f)
and $1,850,000 shall be paid from the general fund to state-operated services for the operation
of the dental clinics.

(h) If the cost-based payment system for state-operated dental clinics described in paragraph
(f) does not receive federal approval, then state-operated dental clinics shall be designated as
critical access dental providers under subdivision 4, paragraph (b), and shall receive the critical
access dental reimbursement rate as described under subdivision 4, paragraph (a).

(i) Effective for services rendered on or after September 1, 2011, through June 30, 2013,
payment rates for dental services shall be reduced by three percent. This reduction does not apply
to state-operated dental clinics in paragraph (f).

Subd. 3. Dental services grants. (a) The commissioner shall award grants to community
clinics or other nonprofit community organizations, political subdivisions, professional
associations, or other organizations that demonstrate the ability to provide dental services
effectively to public program recipients. Grants may be used to fund the costs related to
coordinating access for recipients, developing and implementing patient care criteria, upgrading
or establishing new facilities, acquiring furnishings or equipment, recruiting new providers, or
other development costs that will improve access to dental care in a region. In awarding grants,
the commissioner shall give priority to applicants that plan to serve areas of the state in which the
number of dental providers is not currently sufficient to meet the needs of recipients of public
programs or uninsured individuals. The commissioner shall consider the following in awarding
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the grants:
(1) potential to successfully increase access to an underserved population;
(2) the ability to raise matching funds;
(3) the long-term viability of the project to improve access beyond the period of initial

funding;
(4) the efficiency in the use of the funding; and
(5) the experience of the proposers in providing services to the target population.
(b) The commissioner shall monitor the grants and may terminate a grant if the grantee

does not increase dental access for public program recipients. The commissioner shall consider
grants for the following:

(1) implementation of new programs or continued expansion of current access programs
that have demonstrated success in providing dental services in underserved areas;

(2) a pilot program for utilizing hygienists outside of a traditional dental office to provide
dental hygiene services; and

(3) a program that organizes a network of volunteer dentists, establishes a system to refer
eligible individuals to volunteer dentists, and through that network provides donated dental care
services to public program recipients or uninsured individuals.

Subd. 4. Critical access dental providers. (a) Effective for dental services rendered on
or after January 1, 2002, the commissioner shall increase reimbursements to dentists and dental
clinics deemed by the commissioner to be critical access dental providers. For dental services
rendered on or after July 1, 2007, the commissioner shall increase reimbursement by 30 percent
above the reimbursement rate that would otherwise be paid to the critical access dental provider.
The commissioner shall pay the managed care plans and county-based purchasing plans in
amounts sufficient to reflect increased reimbursements to critical access dental providers as
approved by the commissioner.

(b) The commissioner shall designate the following dentists and dental clinics as critical
access dental providers:

(1) nonprofit community clinics that:
(i) have nonprofit status in accordance with chapter 317A;
(ii) have tax exempt status in accordance with the Internal Revenue Code, section 501(c)(3);
(iii) are established to provide oral health services to patients who are low income,

uninsured, have special needs, and are underserved;
(iv) have professional staff familiar with the cultural background of the clinic's patients;
(v) charge for services on a sliding fee scale designed to provide assistance to low-income

patients based on current poverty income guidelines and family size;
(vi) do not restrict access or services because of a patient's financial limitations or public

assistance status; and
(vii) have free care available as needed;
(2) federally qualified health centers, rural health clinics, and public health clinics;
(3) county owned and operated hospital-based dental clinics;

Copyright © 2011 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



504 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2011 256B.761

(4) a dental clinic or dental group owned and operated by a nonprofit corporation in
accordance with chapter 317A with more than 10,000 patient encounters per year with patients
who are uninsured or covered by medical assistance, general assistance medical care, or
MinnesotaCare; and

(5) a dental clinic owned and operated by the University of Minnesota or the Minnesota
State Colleges and Universities system.

(c) The commissioner may designate a dentist or dental clinic as a critical access dental
provider if the dentist or dental clinic is willing to provide care to patients covered by medical
assistance, general assistance medical care, or MinnesotaCare at a level which significantly
increases access to dental care in the service area.

(d) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), critical access payments must not be made for dental
services provided from April 1, 2010, through June 30, 2010.

Subd. 5. Outpatient rehabilitation facility. An entity that operates both a Medicare
certified comprehensive outpatient rehabilitation facility and a facility which was certified prior
to January 1, 1993, that is licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts 9570.2000 to 9570.3600, and
for whom at least 33 percent of the clients receiving rehabilitation services in the most recent
calendar year are medical assistance recipients, shall be reimbursed by the commissioner for
rehabilitation services at rates that are 38 percent greater than the maximum reimbursement rate
allowed under subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (2), when those services are (1) provided
within the comprehensive outpatient rehabilitation facility and (2) provided to residents of
nursing facilities owned by the entity.

Subd. 6.Medicare relative value units. Effective for services rendered on or after January
1, 2007, the commissioner shall make payments for physician and professional services based on
the Medicare relative value units (RVU's). This change shall be budget neutral and the cost of
implementing RVU's will be incorporated in the established conversion factor.

History: 1992 c 513 art 7 s 131; 1Sp1993 c 1 art 5 s 123; 1999 c 245 art 4 s 78; 1Sp2001 c
9 art 2 s 54; 2002 c 277 s 32; 2002 c 375 art 2 s 44; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 2 s
39; art 12 s 67; 2006 c 282 art 16 s 9; 2007 c 147 art 5 s 14; 2009 c 79 art 5 s 51; 2009 c 173 art
1 s 32; 1Sp2010 c 1 art 15 s 10,11; art 16 s 25-27; 1Sp2011 c 9 art 6 s 66-68

256B.761 REIMBURSEMENT FOR MENTAL HEALTH SERVICES.

(a) Effective for services rendered on or after July 1, 2001, payment for medication
management provided to psychiatric patients, outpatient mental health services, day treatment
services, home-based mental health services, and family community support services shall be paid
at the lower of (1) submitted charges, or (2) 75.6 percent of the 50th percentile of 1999 charges.

(b) Effective July 1, 2001, the medical assistance rates for outpatient mental health
services provided by an entity that operates: (1) a Medicare-certified comprehensive outpatient
rehabilitation facility; and (2) a facility that was certified prior to January 1, 1993, with at least 33
percent of the clients receiving rehabilitation services in the most recent calendar year who are
medical assistance recipients, will be increased by 38 percent, when those services are provided
within the comprehensive outpatient rehabilitation facility and provided to residents of nursing
facilities owned by the entity.

(c) The commissioner shall establish three levels of payment for mental health diagnostic
assessment, based on three levels of complexity. The aggregate payment under the tiered rates
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must not exceed the projected aggregate payments for mental health diagnostic assessment under
the previous single rate. The new rate structure is effective January 1, 2011, or upon federal
approval, whichever is later.

History: 1Sp2001 c 9 art 9 s 43; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 2 s 40; 2010
c 303 s 6

256B.762 REIMBURSEMENT FOR HEALTH CARE SERVICES.
Effective for services provided on or after October 1, 2005, payment rates for the following

services shall be increased by five percent over the rates in effect on September 30, 2005, when
these services are provided as home health services under section 256B.0625, subdivision 6a:

(1) skilled nursing visit;
(2) physical therapy visit;
(3) occupational therapy visit;
(4) speech therapy visit; and
(5) home health aide visit.
History: 1Sp2005 c 4 art 7 s 47

256B.763 CRITICAL ACCESS MENTAL HEALTH RATE INCREASE.
(a) For services defined in paragraph (b) and rendered on or after July 1, 2007, payment

rates shall be increased by 23.7 percent over the rates in effect on January 1, 2006, for:
(1) psychiatrists and advanced practice registered nurses with a psychiatric specialty;
(2) community mental health centers under section 256B.0625, subdivision 5; and
(3) mental health clinics and centers certified under Minnesota Rules, parts 9520.0750

to 9520.0870, or hospital outpatient psychiatric departments that are designated as essential
community providers under section 62Q.19.

(b) This increase applies to group skills training when provided as a component of
children's therapeutic services and support, psychotherapy, medication management, evaluation
and management, diagnostic assessment, explanation of findings, psychological testing,
neuropsychological services, direction of behavioral aides, and inpatient consultation.

(c) This increase does not apply to rates that are governed by section 256B.0625,
subdivision 30, or 256B.761, paragraph (b), other cost-based rates, rates that are negotiated with
the county, rates that are established by the federal government, or rates that increased between
January 1, 2004, and January 1, 2005.

(d) The commissioner shall adjust rates paid to prepaid health plans under contract with the
commissioner to reflect the rate increases provided in paragraphs (a), (e), and (f). The prepaid
health plan must pass this rate increase to the providers identified in paragraphs (a), (e), (f), and (g).

(e) Payment rates shall be increased by 23.7 percent over the rates in effect on December
31, 2007, for:

(1) medication education services provided on or after January 1, 2008, by adult
rehabilitative mental health services providers certified under section 256B.0623; and

(2) mental health behavioral aide services provided on or after January 1, 2008, by
children's therapeutic services and support providers certified under section 256B.0943.
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(f) For services defined in paragraph (b) and rendered on or after January 1, 2008, by
children's therapeutic services and support providers certified under section 256B.0943 and not
already included in paragraph (a), payment rates shall be increased by 23.7 percent over the
rates in effect on December 31, 2007.

(g) Payment rates shall be increased by 2.3 percent over the rates in effect on December 31,
2007, for individual and family skills training provided on or after January 1, 2008, by children's
therapeutic services and support providers certified under section 256B.0943.

History: 2006 c 282 art 16 s 10; 2007 c 147 art 8 s 27

256B.764 REIMBURSEMENT FOR FAMILY PLANNING SERVICES.

Effective for services rendered on or after July 1, 2007, payment rates for family planning
services shall be increased by 25 percent over the rates in effect June 30, 2007, when these
services are provided by a community clinic as defined in section 145.9268, subdivision 1.

History: 2007 c 147 art 5 s 15

256B.765 PROVIDER RATE INCREASES.

(a) Effective July 1, 2001, within the limits of appropriations specifically for this purpose,
the commissioner shall provide an annual inflation adjustment for the providers listed in paragraph
(c). The index for the inflation adjustment must be based on the change in the Employment Cost
Index for Private Industry Workers - Total Compensation forecasted by Data Resources, Inc., as
forecasted in the fourth quarter of the calendar year preceding the fiscal year. The commissioner
shall increase reimbursement or allocation rates by the percentage of this adjustment, and county
boards shall adjust provider contracts as needed.

(b) The commissioner of management and budget shall include an annual inflationary
adjustment in reimbursement rates for the providers listed in paragraph (c) using the inflation
factor specified in paragraph (a) as a budget change request in each biennial detailed expenditure
budget submitted to the legislature under section 16A.11.

(c) The annual adjustment under paragraph (a) shall be provided for home and
community-based waiver services for persons with developmental disabilities under section
256B.501; home and community-based waiver services for the elderly under section 256B.0915;
waivered services under community alternatives for disabled individuals under section 256B.49;
community alternative care waivered services under section 256B.49; traumatic brain injury
waivered services under section 256B.49; nursing services and home health services under section
256B.0625, subdivision 6a; personal care services and nursing supervision of personal care
services under section 256B.0625, subdivision 19a; private duty nursing services under section
256B.0625, subdivision 7; day training and habilitation services for adults with developmental
disabilities under sections 252.40 to 252.46; physical therapy services under sections 256B.0625,
subdivision 8, and 256D.03, subdivision 4; occupational therapy services under sections
256B.0625, subdivision 8a, and 256D.03, subdivision 4; speech-language therapy services under
section 256D.03, subdivision 4, and Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0390; respiratory therapy
services under section 256D.03, subdivision 4, and Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0295; alternative
care services under section 256B.0913; adult residential program grants under Minnesota Rules,
parts 9535.2000 to 9535.3000; adult and family community support grants under Minnesota
Rules, parts 9535.1700 to 9535.1760; semi-independent living services under section 252.275
including SILS funding under county social services grants formerly funded under chapter 256I;
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and community support services for deaf and hard-of-hearing adults with mental illness who use
or wish to use sign language as their primary means of communication.

History: 1999 c 245 art 4 s 79; 2005 c 56 s 1; 2009 c 101 art 2 s 109

256B.766 REIMBURSEMENT FOR BASIC CARE SERVICES.
(a) Effective for services provided on or after July 1, 2009, total payments for basic care

services, shall be reduced by three percent, except that for the period July 1, 2009, through
June 30, 2011, total payments shall be reduced by 4.5 percent for the medical assistance and
general assistance medical care programs, prior to third-party liability and spenddown calculation.
Effective July 1, 2010, the commissioner shall classify physical therapy services, occupational
therapy services, and speech-language pathology and related services as basic care services. The
reduction in this paragraph shall apply to physical therapy services, occupational therapy services,
and speech-language pathology and related services provided on or after July 1, 2010.

(b) Payments made to managed care plans and county-based purchasing plans shall be
reduced for services provided on or after October 1, 2009, to reflect the reduction effective July
1, 2009, and payments made to the plans shall be reduced effective October 1, 2010, to reflect
the reduction effective July 1, 2010.

(c) Effective for services provided on or after September 1, 2011, through June 30, 2013,
total payments for outpatient hospital facility fees shall be reduced by five percent from the
rates in effect on August 31, 2011.

(d) Effective for services provided on or after September 1, 2011, through June 30, 2013,
total payments for ambulatory surgery centers facility fees, medical supplies and durable
medical equipment not subject to a volume purchase contract, prosthetics and orthotics, renal
dialysis services, laboratory services, public health nursing services, physical therapy services,
occupational therapy services, speech therapy services, eyeglasses not subject to a volume
purchase contract, hearing aids not subject to a volume purchase contract, anesthesia services, and
hospice services shall be reduced by three percent from the rates in effect on August 31, 2011.

(e) This section does not apply to physician and professional services, inpatient hospital
services, family planning services, mental health services, dental services, prescription drugs,
medical transportation, federally qualified health centers, rural health centers, Indian health
services, and Medicare cost-sharing.

History: 2009 c 79 art 5 s 52; 2009 c 173 art 1 s 42; 1Sp2010 c 1 art 15 s 12; art 16 s
28; 1Sp2011 c 9 art 6 s 69

256B.767 MEDICARE PAYMENT LIMIT.
(a) Effective for services rendered on or after July 1, 2010, fee-for-service payment rates for

physician and professional services under section 256B.76, subdivision 1, and basic care services
subject to the rate reduction specified in section 256B.766, shall not exceed the Medicare payment
rate for the applicable service, as adjusted for any changes in Medicare payment rates after July
1, 2010. The commissioner shall implement this section after any other rate adjustment that is
effective July 1, 2010, and shall reduce rates under this section by first reducing or eliminating
provider rate add-ons.

(b) This section does not apply to services provided by advanced practice certified nurse
midwives licensed under chapter 148 or traditional midwives licensed under chapter 147D.
Notwithstanding this exemption, medical assistance fee-for-service payment rates for advanced
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practice certified nurse midwives and licensed traditional midwives shall equal and shall not
exceed the medical assistance payment rate to physicians for the applicable service.

(c) This section does not apply to mental health services or physician services billed by a
psychiatrist or an advanced practice registered nurse with a specialty in mental health.

History: 1Sp2010 c 1 art 16 s 29

256B.77 COORDINATED SERVICE DELIVERY SYSTEM FOR DISABLED.

Subdivision 1. Demonstration project for people with disabilities. (a) The commissioner
of human services, in cooperation with county authorities, shall develop and implement a
demonstration project to create a coordinated service delivery system in which the full medical
assistance benefit set for disabled persons eligible for medical assistance is provided and funded
on a capitated basis. The demonstration period shall be a minimum of three years.

(b) Each demonstration site shall, under county authority, establish a local group to
assist the commissioner in planning, designing, implementing, and evaluating the coordinated
service delivery system in their area. This local group shall include county agencies, providers,
consumers, family members, advocates, tribal governments, a local representative of labor, and
advocacy organizations, and may include health plan companies. Consumers, families, and
consumer representatives must be involved in the planning, implementation, and evaluation
processes for the demonstration project.

Subd. 2. Definitions. For the purposes of this section, the following terms have the
meanings given:

(a) "Acute care" means hospital, physician, and other health and dental services covered
in the medical assistance benefit set that are not specified in the intergovernmental contract or
service delivery contract as continuing care services.

(b) "Additional services" means services developed and provided through the county
administrative entity or service delivery organization, which are in addition to the medical
assistance benefit set.

(c) "Advocate" means an individual who:

(1) has been authorized by the enrollee or the enrollee's legal representative to help the
enrollee understand information presented and to speak on the enrollee's behalf, based on
directions and decisions by the enrollee or the enrollee's legal representative; and

(2) represents only the enrollee and the enrollee's legal representative.

(d) "Advocacy organization" means an organization whose primary purpose is to advocate
for the needs of persons with disabilities.

(e) "Alternative services" means services developed and provided through the county
administrative entity or service delivery organization that are not part of the medical assistance
benefit set.

(f) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of human services.

(g) "Continuing care" means any services, including long-term support services, covered
in the medical assistance benefit set that are not specified in the intergovernmental contract or
service delivery contract as acute care.
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(h) "County administrative entity" means the county administrative structure defined and
designated by the county authority to implement the demonstration project under the direction of
the county authority.

(i) "County authority" means the board of county commissioners or a single entity
representing multiple boards of county commissioners.

(j) "Demonstration period" means the period of time during which county administrative
entities or service delivery organizations will provide services to enrollees.

(k) "Demonstration site" means the geographic area in which eligible individuals may be
included in the demonstration project.

(l) "Department" means the Department of Human Services.
(m) "Emergency" means a condition that if not immediately treated could cause a person

serious physical or mental disability, continuation of severe pain, or death. Labor and delivery is
an emergency if it meets this definition.

(n) "Enrollee" means an eligible individual who is enrolled in the demonstration project.
(o) "Informed choice" means a voluntary decision made by the enrollee or the enrollee's

legal representative, after becoming familiar with the alternatives, and having been provided
sufficient relevant written and oral information at an appropriate comprehension level and in a
manner consistent with the enrollee's or the enrollee's legal representative's primary mode of
communication.

(p) "Informed consent" means the written agreement, or an agreement as documented in the
record, by a competent enrollee, or an enrollee's legal representative, who:

(1) has the capacity to make reasoned decisions based on relevant information;
(2) is making decisions voluntarily and without coercion; and
(3) has knowledge to make informed choice.
(q) "Intergovernmental contract" means the agreement between the commissioner and

the county authority.
(r) "Legal representative" means an individual who is legally authorized to provide

informed consent or make informed choices on a person's behalf. A legal representative may
be one of the following individuals:

(1) the parent of a minor who has not been emancipated;
(2) a court-appointed guardian or conservator of a person who is 18 years of age or older, in

areas where legally authorized to make decisions;
(3) a guardian ad litem or special guardian or conservator, in areas where legally authorized

to make decisions;
(4) legal counsel if so specified by the person; or
(5) any other legally authorized individual.

The county administrative entity is prohibited from acting as legal representative for any enrollee,
as long as the provisions of subdivision 15 are funded.

(s) "Life domain areas" include, but are not limited to: home, family, education,
employment, social environment, psychological and emotional health, self-care, independence,
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physical health, need for legal representation and legal needs, financial needs, safety, and cultural
identification and spiritual needs.

(t) "Medical assistance benefit set" means the services covered under this chapter and
accompanying rules which are provided according to the definition of medical necessity in
Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0175, subpart 25.

(u) "Outcome" means the targeted behavior, action, or status of the enrollee that can be
observed and or measured.

(v) "Personal support plan" means a document agreed to and signed by the enrollee and the
enrollee's legal representative, if any, which describes:

(1) the assessed needs and strengths of the enrollee;
(2) the outcomes chosen by the enrollee or their legal representative;
(3) the amount, type, setting, start date, duration, and frequency of services and supports

authorized by the county administrative entity or service delivery organization to achieve the
chosen outcomes;

(4) a description of needed services and supports that are not the responsibility of the
county administrative entity or service delivery organization and plans for addressing those needs;

(5) plans for referring to and coordinating between all agencies or individuals providing
needed services and supports;

(6) the use of regulated treatment; and
(7) the transition of a child to the adult service system.
(w) "Regulated treatment" means any behaviorally altering medication of any classification

or any aversive or deprivation procedure as defined in rules or statutes applicable to eligible
individuals.

(x) "Service delivery contract" means the agreement between the commissioner or the
county authority and the service delivery organization in those areas in which the county authority
has provided written approval.

(y) "Service delivery organization" means an entity that is licensed as a health maintenance
organization under chapter 62D or a community integrated service network under chapter 62N and
is under contract with the commissioner or a county authority to participate in the demonstration
project. If authorized in contract by the commissioner or the county authority, a service delivery
organization participating in the demonstration project shall have the duties, responsibilities, and
obligations defined under subdivisions 8, 9, 18, and 19.

(z) "Urgent situation" means circumstances in which care is needed as soon as possible,
usually with 24 hours, to protect the health of an enrollee.

Subd. 3. Assurances to commissioner of health. A county authority that elects to
participate in a demonstration project for people with disabilities under this section is not required
to obtain a certificate of authority under chapter 62D or 62N. A county authority that elects to
participate in a demonstration project for people with disabilities under this section must assure
the commissioner of health that the requirements of chapters 62D and 62N, and section 256B.692,
subdivision 2, are met. All enforcement and rulemaking powers available under chapters 62D,
62J, 62M, 62N, and 62Q are granted to the commissioner of health with respect to the county
authorities that contract with the commissioner to purchase services in a demonstration project
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for people with disabilities under this section.

Subd. 4. Federal waivers. The commissioner, in consultation with county authorities, shall
request any authority from the United States Department of Health and Human Services that is
necessary to implement the demonstration project under the medical assistance program; and
authority to combine Medicaid and Medicare funding for service delivery to eligible individuals
who are also eligible for Medicare, only if this authority does not preclude county authority
participation under the waiver. Implementation of these programs may begin without authority
to include Medicare funding. The commissioner may authorize county authorities to begin
enrollment of eligible individuals upon federal approval but no earlier than July 1, 1998.

Subd. 5. Demonstration sites. The commissioner shall designate up to two demonstration
sites with the approval of the county authority. Demonstration sites may include one county or a
multicounty group. At least one of the sites shall implement a model specifically addressing the
needs of eligible individuals with physical disabilities. By February 1, 1998, the commissioner
and the county authorities shall submit to the chairs of the senate Committee on Health and
Family Security and the house of representatives Committee on Health and Human Services a
phased enrollment plan to ensure an orderly transition which protects the health and safety of
enrollees and ensures continuity of services.

Subd. 6. Responsibilities of county authority. (a) The commissioner may execute an
intergovernmental contract with any county authority that demonstrates the ability to arrange
for and coordinate services for enrollees covered under this section according to the terms and
conditions specified by the commissioner. With the written consent of the county authority, the
commissioner may issue a request for proposals for service delivery organizations to provide
portions of the medical assistance benefit set not contracted for by the county authority. County
authorities that do not contract for the full medical assistance benefit set must ensure coordination
with the entities responsible for the remainder of the covered services.

(b) No less than 90 days before the intergovernmental contract is executed, the county
authority shall submit to the commissioner an initial proposal on how it will address the areas
listed in this subdivision and subdivisions 1, 7, 8, 9, 12, 18, and 19. The county authority shall
submit to the commissioner annual reports describing its progress in addressing these areas.

(c) Each county authority shall develop policies to address conflicts of interest, including
public guardianship and representative payee issues.

(d) Each county authority shall annually evaluate the effectiveness of the service
coordination provided according to subdivision 12 and shall take remedial or corrective action if
the service coordination does not fulfill the requirements of that subdivision.

Subd. 7. Eligibility and enrollment. The commissioner, in consultation with the county
authority, shall develop a process for enrolling eligible individuals in the demonstration project.
A county or counties may limit enrollment in the demonstration project to one or more of
the disability populations described in subdivision 7a, paragraph (b). Enrollment into county
administrative entities and service delivery organizations shall be conducted according to the
terms of the federal waiver. Enrollment of eligible individuals under the demonstration project
may be phased in with approval of the commissioner. The commissioner shall ensure that
eligibility for medical assistance and enrollment for the person are determined by individuals
outside of the county administrative entity.

Subd. 7a. Eligible individuals. (a) Persons are eligible for the demonstration project as
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provided in this subdivision.

(b) "Eligible individuals" means those persons living in the demonstration site who are
eligible for medical assistance and are disabled based on a disability determination under section
256B.055, subdivisions 7 and 12, or who are eligible for medical assistance and have been
diagnosed as having:

(1) serious and persistent mental illness as defined in section 245.462, subdivision 20;

(2) severe emotional disturbance as defined in section 245.4871, subdivision 6; or

(3) developmental disability, or being a developmentally disabled person as defined in
section 252A.02, or a related condition as defined in section 252.27, subdivision 1a.

Other individuals may be included at the option of the county authority based on agreement
with the commissioner.

(c) Eligible individuals include individuals in excluded time status, as defined in chapter
256G. Enrollees in excluded time at the time of enrollment shall remain in excluded time status as
long as they live in the demonstration site and shall be eligible for 90 days after placement outside
the demonstration site if they move to excluded time status in a county within Minnesota other
than their county of financial responsibility.

(d) A person who is a sexual psychopathic personality as defined in section 253B.02,
subdivision 18a, or a sexually dangerous person as defined in section 253B.02, subdivision 18b, is
excluded from enrollment in the demonstration project.

Subd. 7b. American Indian recipients. (a) Beginning on or after July 1, 1999, for
American Indian recipients of medical assistance who are required to enroll with a county
administrative entity or service delivery organization under subdivision 7, medical assistance shall
cover health care services provided at American Indian health services facilities and facilities
operated by a tribe or tribal organization under funding authorized by United States Code, title
25, sections 450f to 450n, or title III of the Indian Self-Determination and Education Assistance
Act, Public Law 93-638, if those services would otherwise be covered under section 256B.0625.
Payments for services provided under this subdivision shall be made on a fee-for-service basis,
and may, at the option of the tribe or tribal organization, be made according to rates authorized
under sections 256.969, subdivision 16, and 256B.0625, subdivision 34. Implementation of this
purchasing model is contingent on federal approval.

(b) The commissioner of human services, in consultation with tribal governments, shall
develop a plan for tribes to assist in the enrollment process for American Indian recipients
enrolled in the demonstration project for people with disabilities under this section. This plan also
shall address how tribes will be included in ensuring the coordination of care for American Indian
recipients between Indian health service or tribal providers and other providers.

(c) For purposes of this subdivision, "American Indian" has the meaning given to persons to
whom services will be provided for in Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 36.12.

Subd. 8. Responsibilities of the county administrative entity. (a) The county
administrative entity shall meet the requirements of this subdivision, unless the county authority
or the commissioner, with written approval of the county authority, enters into a service delivery
contract with a service delivery organization for any or all of the requirements contained in
this subdivision.
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(b) The county administrative entity shall enroll eligible individuals regardless of health or
disability status.

(c) The county administrative entity shall provide all enrollees timely access to the medical
assistance benefit set. Alternative services and additional services are available to enrollees at
the option of the county administrative entity and may be provided if specified in the personal
support plan. County authorities are not required to seek prior authorization from the department
as required by the laws and rules governing medical assistance.

(d) The county administrative entity shall cover necessary services as a result of an
emergency without prior authorization, even if the services were rendered outside of the provider
network.

(e) The county administrative entity shall authorize necessary and appropriate services
when needed and requested by the enrollee or the enrollee's legal representative in response to
an urgent situation. Enrollees shall have 24-hour access to urgent care services coordinated by
experienced disability providers who have information about enrollees' needs and conditions.

(f) The county administrative entity shall accept the capitation payment from the
commissioner in return for the provision of services for enrollees.

(g) The county administrative entity shall maintain internal grievance and complaint
procedures, including an expedited informal complaint process in which the county administrative
entity must respond to verbal complaints within ten calendar days, and a formal grievance
process, in which the county administrative entity must respond to written complaints within 30
calendar days.

(h) The county administrative entity shall provide a certificate of coverage, upon enrollment,
to each enrollee and the enrollee's legal representative, if any, which describes the benefits
covered by the county administrative entity, any limitations on those benefits, and information
about providers and the service delivery network. This information must also be made available
to prospective enrollees. This certificate must be approved by the commissioner.

(i) The county administrative entity shall present evidence of an expedited process to
approve exceptions to benefits, provider network restrictions, and other plan limitations under
appropriate circumstances.

(j) The county administrative entity shall provide enrollees or their legal representatives
with written notice of their appeal rights under subdivision 16, and of ombudsman and advocacy
programs under subdivisions 13 and 14, at the following times: upon enrollment, upon submission
of a written complaint, when a service is reduced, denied, or terminated, or when renewal of
authorization for ongoing service is refused.

(k) The county administrative entity shall determine immediate needs, including services,
support, and assessments, within 30 calendar days after enrollment, or within a shorter time frame
if specified in the intergovernmental contract.

(l) The county administrative entity shall assess the need for services of new enrollees
within 60 calendar days after enrollment, or within a shorter time frame if specified in the
intergovernmental contract, and periodically reassess the need for services for all enrollees.

(m) The county administrative entity shall ensure the development of a personal support
plan for each person within 60 calendar days of enrollment, or within a shorter time frame if
specified in the intergovernmental contract, unless otherwise agreed to by the enrollee and the
enrollee's legal representative, if any. Until a personal support plan is developed and agreed to by
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the enrollee, enrollees must have access to the same amount, type, setting, duration, and frequency
of covered services that they had at the time of enrollment unless other covered services are
needed. For an enrollee who is not receiving covered services at the time of enrollment and for
enrollees whose personal support plan is being revised, access to the medical assistance benefit
set must be assured until a personal support plan is developed or revised. If an enrollee chooses
not to develop a personal support plan, the enrollee will be subject to the network and prior
authorization requirements of the county administrative entity or service delivery organization
60 days after enrollment. An enrollee can choose to have a personal support plan developed at
any time. The personal support plan must be based on choices, preferences, and assessed needs
and strengths of the enrollee. The service coordinator shall develop the personal support plan, in
consultation with the enrollee or the enrollee's legal representative and other individuals requested
by the enrollee. The personal support plan must be updated as needed or as requested by the
enrollee. Enrollees may choose not to have a personal support plan.

(n) The county administrative entity shall ensure timely authorization, arrangement, and
continuity of needed and covered supports and services.

(o) The county administrative entity shall offer service coordination that fulfills the
responsibilities under subdivision 12 and is appropriate to the enrollee's needs, choices, and
preferences, including a choice of service coordinator.

(p) The county administrative entity shall contract with schools and other agencies as
appropriate to provide otherwise covered medically necessary medical assistance services as
described in an enrollee's individual family support plan, as described in sections 125A.26 to
125A.48, or individualized education program, as described in chapter 125A.

(q) The county administrative entity shall develop and implement strategies, based on
consultation with affected groups, to respect diversity and ensure culturally competent service
delivery in a manner that promotes the physical, social, psychological, and spiritual well-being of
enrollees and preserves the dignity of individuals, families, and their communities.

(r) When an enrollee changes county authorities, county administrative entities shall
ensure coordination with the entity that is assuming responsibility for administering the medical
assistance benefit set to ensure continuity of supports and services for the enrollee.

(s) The county administrative entity shall comply with additional requirements as specified
in the intergovernmental contract.

(t) To the extent that alternatives are approved under subdivision 17, county administrative
entities must provide for the health and safety of enrollees and protect the rights to privacy
and to provide informed consent.

(u) Prepaid health plans serving counties with a nonprofit community clinic or community
health services agency must contract with the clinic or agency to provide services to clients who
choose to receive services from the clinic or agency, if the clinic or agency agrees to payment rates
that are competitive with rates paid to other health plan providers for the same or similar services.

For purposes of this paragraph, "nonprofit community clinic" includes, but is not limited to,
a community mental health center as defined in sections 245.62 and 256B.0625, subdivision 5.

Subd. 9. Consumer choice and safeguards. (a) The commissioner may require all eligible
individuals to obtain services covered under this chapter through county authorities. Enrollees
shall be given choices among a range of available providers with expertise in serving persons of
their age and with their category of disability. If the county authority is also a provider of services
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covered under the demonstration project, other than service coordination, the enrollee shall be
given the choice of at least one other provider of that service. The commissioner shall ensure that
all enrollees have continued access to medically necessary covered services.

(b) The commissioner must ensure that a set of enrollee safeguards in the categories of
access, choice, comprehensive benefits, access to specialist care, disclosure of financial incentives
to providers, prohibition of exclusive provider contracting and gag clauses, legal representation,
guardianship, representative payee, quality, rights and appeals, privacy, data collection, and
confidentiality are in place prior to enrollment of eligible individuals.

(c) If multiple service delivery organizations are offered for acute or continuing care within
a demonstration site, enrollees shall be given a choice of these organizations. A choice is required
if the county authority operates its own health maintenance organization, community integrated
service network, or similar plan. Enrollees shall be given opportunities to change enrollment in
these organizations within 12 months following initial enrollment into the demonstration project
and shall also be offered an annual open enrollment period, during which they are permitted
to change their service delivery organization.

(d) Enrollees shall have the option to change their primary care provider once per month.
(e) The commissioner may waive the choice of provider requirements in paragraph (a) or

the choice of service delivery organization requirements in paragraph (c) if the county authority
can demonstrate that, despite reasonable efforts, no other provider of the service or service
delivery organization can be made available within the cost and quality requirements of the
demonstration project.

Subd. 10. Capitation payment. (a) The commissioner shall pay a capitation payment to the
county authority and, when applicable under subdivision 6, paragraph (a), to the service delivery
organization for each medical assistance eligible enrollee. The commissioner shall develop
capitation payment rates for the initial contract period for each demonstration site in consultation
with an independent actuary, to ensure that the cost of services under the demonstration project
does not exceed the estimated cost for medical assistance services for the covered population
under the fee-for-service system for the demonstration period. For each year of the demonstration
project, the capitation payment rate shall be based on 96 percent of the projected per person costs
that would otherwise have been paid under medical assistance fee-for-service during each of those
years. Rates shall be adjusted within the limits of the available risk adjustment technology, as
mandated by section 62Q.03. In addition, the commissioner shall implement appropriate risk
and savings sharing provisions with county administrative entities and, when applicable under
subdivision 6, paragraph (a), service delivery organizations within the projected budget limits.
Capitation rates shall be adjusted, at least annually, to include any rate increases and payments
for expanded or newly covered services for eligible individuals. The initial demonstration
project rate shall include an amount in addition to the fee-for-service payments to adjust for
underutilization of dental services. Any savings beyond those allowed for the county authority,
county administrative entity, or service delivery organization shall be first used to meet the unmet
needs of eligible individuals. Payments to providers participating in the project are exempt from
the requirements of sections 256.966 and 256B.03, subdivision 2.

(b) The commissioner shall monitor and evaluate annually the effect of the discount on
consumers, the county authority, and providers of disability services. Findings shall be reported
and recommendations made, as appropriate, to ensure that the discount effect does not adversely
affect the ability of the county administrative entity or providers of services to provide appropriate
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services to eligible individuals, and does not result in cost shifting of eligible individuals to
the county authority.

(c) For risk-sharing to occur under this subdivision, the aggregate fee-for-service cost of
covered services provided by the county administrative entity under this section must exceed the
aggregate sum of capitation payments made to the county administrative entity under this section.
The county authority is required to maintain its current level of nonmedical assistance spending
on enrollees. If the county authority spends less in nonmedical assistance dollars on enrollees than
it spent the year prior to the contract year, the amount of underspending shall be deducted from
the aggregate fee-for-service cost of covered services. The commissioner shall then compare the
fee-for-service costs and capitation payments related to the services provided for the term of this
contract. The commissioner shall base its calculation of the fee-for-service costs on application of
the medical assistance fee schedule to services identified on the county administrative entity's
encounter claims submitted to the commissioner. The aggregate fee-for-service cost shall not
include any third-party recoveries or cost-avoided amounts.

If the commissioner finds that the aggregate fee-for-service cost is greater than the sum of
the capitation payments, the commissioner shall settle according to the following schedule:

(1) For the first contract year for each project, the commissioner shall pay the county
administrative entity 50 percent of the difference between the sum of the capitation payments
and 100 percent of projected fee-for-service costs. For aggregate fee-for-service costs in excess
of 100 percent of projected fee-for-service costs, the commissioner shall pay 25 percent of the
difference between the aggregate fee-for-service costs and the projected fee-for-service costs, up
to 104 percent of the projected fee-for-service costs. The county administrative entity shall be
responsible for all costs in excess of 104 percent of projected fee-for-service costs.

(2) For the second contract year for each project, the commissioner shall pay the county
administrative entity 37.5 percent of the difference between the sum of the capitation payments
and 100 percent of projected fee-for-service costs. The county administrative entity shall be
responsible for all costs in excess of 100 percent of projected fee-for-service costs.

(3) For the third contract year for each project, the commissioner shall pay the county
administrative entity 25 percent of the difference between the sum of the capitation payments
and 100 percent of projected fee-for-service costs. The county administrative entity shall be
responsible for all costs in excess of 100 percent of projected fee-for-service costs.

(4) For the fourth and subsequent contract years for each project, the county administrative
entity shall be responsible for all costs in excess of the capitation payments.

(d) In addition to other payments under this subdivision, the commissioner may increase
payments by up to 0.25 percent of the projected per person costs that would otherwise have
been paid under medical assistance fee-for-service. The commissioner may make the increased
payments to:

(1) offset rate increases for regional treatment services under subdivision 22 which are
higher than was expected by the commissioner when the capitation was set at 96 percent; and

(2) implement incentives to encourage appropriate, high quality, efficient services.

Subd. 11. Integration of funding sources. The county authority may integrate other
local, state, and federal funding sources with medical assistance funding. The commissioner's
approval is required for integration of state and federal funds but not for local funds. During the
demonstration project period, county authorities must maintain the level of local funds expended
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during the previous calendar year for populations covered in the demonstration project. Excluding
the state share of Medicaid payments, state appropriations for state-operated services shall not
be integrated unless specifically approved by the legislature. The commissioner may approve
integration of other state and federal funding if the intergovernmental contract includes assurances
that the people who would have been served by these funds will receive comparable or better
services. The commissioner may withdraw approval for integration of state and federal funds
if the county authority does not comply with these assurances. If the county authority chooses
to integrate funding, it must comply with the reporting requirements of the commissioner, as
specified in the intergovernmental contract, to account for federal and state Medicaid expenditures
and expenditures of local funds. The commissioner, upon the request and concurrence of a county
authority, may transfer state grant funds that would otherwise be made available to the county
authority to provide continuing care for enrollees to the medical assistance account and, within
the limits of federal authority and available federal funding, the commissioner shall adjust the
capitation based on the amount of this transfer.

Subd. 12. Service coordination. (a) For purposes of this section, "service coordinator"
means an individual selected by the enrollee or the enrollee's legal representative and authorized
by the county administrative entity or service delivery organization to work in partnership with the
enrollee to develop, coordinate, and in some instances, provide supports and services identified in
the personal support plan. Service coordinators may only provide services and supports if the
enrollee is informed of potential conflicts of interest, is given alternatives, and gives informed
consent. Eligible service coordinators are individuals age 18 or older who meet the qualifications
as described in paragraph (b). Enrollees, their legal representatives, or their advocates are eligible
to be service coordinators if they have the capabilities to perform the activities and functions
outlined in paragraph (b). Providers licensed under chapter 245A to provide residential services,
or providers who are providing residential services covered under the group residential housing
program may not act as service coordinator for enrollees for whom they provide residential
services. This does not apply to providers of short-term detoxification services. Each county
administrative entity or service delivery organization may develop further criteria for eligible
vendors of service coordination during the demonstration period and shall determine whom it
contracts with or employs to provide service coordination. County administrative entities and
service delivery organizations may pay enrollees or their advocates or legal representatives
for service coordination activities.

(b) The service coordinator shall act as a facilitator, working in partnership with the enrollee
to ensure that their needs are identified and addressed. The level of involvement of the service
coordinator shall depend on the needs and desires of the enrollee. The service coordinator shall
have the knowledge, skills, and abilities to, and is responsible for:

(1) arranging for an initial assessment, and periodic reassessment as necessary, of supports
and services based on the enrollee's strengths, needs, choices, and preferences in life domain areas;

(2) developing and updating the personal support plan based on relevant ongoing
assessment;

(3) arranging for and coordinating the provisions of supports and services, including
knowledgeable and skilled specialty services and prevention and early intervention services,
within the limitations negotiated with the county administrative entity or service delivery
organization;
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(4) assisting the enrollee and the enrollee's legal representative, if any, to maximize
informed choice of and control over services and supports and to exercise the enrollee's rights and
advocate on behalf of the enrollee;

(5) monitoring the progress toward achieving the enrollee's outcomes in order to evaluate
and adjust the timeliness and adequacy of the implementation of the personal support plan;

(6) facilitating meetings and effectively collaborating with a variety of agencies and
persons, including attending individual family service plan and individualized education program
meetings when requested by the enrollee or the enrollee's legal representative;

(7) soliciting and analyzing relevant information;
(8) communicating effectively with the enrollee and with other individuals participating

in the enrollee's plan;
(9) educating and communicating effectively with the enrollee about good health care

practices and risk to the enrollee's health with certain behaviors;
(10) having knowledge of basic enrollee protection requirements, including data privacy;
(11) informing, educating, and assisting the enrollee in identifying available service

providers and accessing needed resources and services beyond the limitations of the medical
assistance benefit set covered services; and

(12) providing other services as identified in the personal support plan.
(c) For the demonstration project, the qualifications and standards for service coordination

in this section shall replace comparable existing provisions of existing statutes and rules
governing case management for eligible individuals.

(d) The provisions of this subdivision apply only to the demonstration sites designated by
the commissioner under subdivision 5. All other demonstration sites must comply with laws and
rules governing case management services for eligible individuals in effect when the site begins
the demonstration project.

Subd. 13. Ombudsman. Enrollees shall have access to ombudsman services established in
section 256B.69, subdivision 20, and advocacy services provided by the ombudsman for mental
health and developmental disabilities established in sections 245.91 to 245.97. The managed
care ombudsman and the ombudsman for mental health and developmental disabilities shall
coordinate services provided to avoid duplication of services. For purposes of the demonstration
project, the powers and responsibilities of the Office of Ombudsman for Mental Health and
Developmental Disabilities, as provided in sections 245.91 to 245.97 are expanded to include
all eligible individuals, health plan companies, agencies, and providers participating in the
demonstration project.

Subd. 14. External advocacy. In addition to ombudsman services, enrollees shall have
access to advocacy services on a local or regional basis. The purpose of external advocacy
includes providing individual advocacy services for enrollees who have complaints or grievances
with the county administrative entity, service delivery organization, or a service provider;
assisting enrollees to understand the service delivery system and select providers and, if
applicable, a service delivery organization; and understand and exercise their rights as an
enrollee. External advocacy contractors must demonstrate that they have the expertise to advocate
on behalf of eligible individuals and are independent of the commissioner, county authority,
county administrative entity, service delivery organization, or any service provider within the
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demonstration project.
These advocacy services shall be provided through the ombudsman for mental health and

developmental disabilities directly, or under contract with private, nonprofit organizations, with
funding provided through the demonstration project. The funding shall be provided annually to
the ombudsman's office. Funding for external advocacy shall be provided through general fund
appropriations. This funding is in addition to the capitation payment available under subdivision
10.

Subd. 15. Public guardianship alternatives. Each county authority with enrollees under
public guardianship shall develop a plan to discharge all those public guardianships and establish
appropriate private alternatives during the demonstration period.

The commissioner shall provide county authorities with funding for public guardianship
alternatives during the first year of the demonstration project based on a proposal to establish
private alternatives for a specific number of enrollees under public guardianship. Funding in
subsequent years shall be based on the county authority's performance in achieving discharges of
public guardianship and establishing appropriate alternatives. The commissioner may establish
fiscal incentives to encourage county activity in this area. For each year of the demonstration
period, an appropriation is available to the commissioner based on 0.2 percent of the projected per
person costs that would otherwise have been paid under medical assistance fee-for-service for that
year. This funding is in addition to the capitation payment available under subdivision 10.

Subd. 16. Appeals. Enrollees have the appeal rights specified in section 256.045. Enrollees
may request the conciliation process as outlined under section 256.045, subdivision 4a. If
an enrollee appeals in writing to the state agency on or before the latter of the effective day
of the proposed action or the tenth day after they have received the decision of the county
administrative entity or service delivery organization to reduce, suspend, terminate, or deny
continued authorization for ongoing services which the enrollee had been receiving, the county
administrative entity or service delivery organization must continue to authorize services at a level
equal to the level it previously authorized until the state agency renders its decision.

Subd. 17. Approval of alternatives. The commissioner may approve alternatives to
administrative rules if the commissioner determines that appropriate alternative measures are
in place to protect the health, safety, and rights of enrollees and to assure that services are
of sufficient quality to produce the outcomes described in the personal support plans. Prior
approved waivers, if needed by the demonstration project, shall be extended. The commissioner
shall not waive the rights or procedural protections under sections 245.825; 245.91 to 245.97;
252.41, subdivision 9; 256B.092, subdivision 10; 626.556; and 626.557; or procedures for the
monitoring of psychotropic medications. Prohibited practices as defined in statutes and rules
governing service delivery to eligible individuals are applicable to services delivered under
this demonstration project.

Subd. 18. Reporting. Each county authority and service delivery organization, and
their contracted providers, shall submit information as required by the commissioner in the
intergovernmental contract or service delivery contract, including information about complaints,
appeals, outcomes, costs, including spending on services, service utilization, identified unmet
needs, services provided, rates of out-of-home placement of children, institutionalization,
commitments, number of public guardianships discharged and alternatives to public guardianship
established, the use of emergency services, and enrollee satisfaction. This information must
be made available to enrollees and the public. A county authority under an intergovernmental
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contract and a service delivery organization under a service delivery contract to provide services
must provide the most current listing of the providers who are participating in the plan. This listing
must be provided to enrollees and be made available to the public. The commissioner, county
authorities, and service delivery organizations shall also made all contracts and subcontracts
related to the demonstration project available to the public.

Subd. 19. Quality management and evaluation. County authorities and service delivery
organizations participating in this demonstration project shall provide information to the
department as specified in the intergovernmental contract or service delivery contract for
the purpose of project evaluation. This information may include both process and outcome
evaluation measures across areas that shall include enrollee satisfaction, service delivery, service
coordination, individual outcomes, and costs. An independent evaluation of each demonstration
site shall be conducted prior to expansion of the demonstration project to other sites.

Subd. 20. Limitation on reimbursement. The county administrative entity or service
delivery organization may limit any reimbursement to providers not employed by or under
contract with the county administrative entity or service delivery organization to the medical
assistance rates paid by the commissioner of human services to providers for services to recipients
not participating in the demonstration project.

Subd. 21. County social services obligations. For services that are outside of the medical
assistance benefit set for enrollees in excluded time status, the county of financial responsibility
must negotiate the provisions and payment of services with the county of service prior to the
provision of services.

Subd. 22.Minnesota Commitment Act services. The county administrative entity or
service delivery organization is financially responsible for all services for enrollees covered by
the medical assistance benefit set and ordered by the court under the Minnesota Commitment
Act, chapter 253B. The county authority shall seek input from the county administrative entity or
service delivery organization in giving the court information about services the enrollee needs and
least restrictive alternatives. The court order for services is deemed to comply with the definition
of medical necessity in Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0175. The financial responsibility of the
county administrative entity or service delivery organization for regional treatment center services
to an enrollee while committed to the regional treatment center is limited to 45 days following
commitment. Voluntary hospitalization for enrollees at regional treatment centers must be
covered by the county administrative entity or service delivery organization if deemed medically
necessary by the county administrative entity or service delivery organization. The regional
treatment center shall not accept a voluntary admission of an enrollee without the authorization
of the county administrative entity or service delivery organization. An enrollee will maintain
enrollee status while receiving treatment under the Minnesota Commitment Act or voluntary
services in a regional treatment center. For enrollees committed to the regional treatment center
longer than 45 days, the commissioner may adjust the aggregate capitation payments, as specified
in the intergovernmental contract or service delivery contract.

Subd. 23. [Repealed, 2007 c 133 art 2 s 13]

Subd. 24. [Repealed, 2002 c 277 s 34]

Subd. 25. Severability. If any subdivision of this section is not approved by the United
States Department of Health and Human Services, the commissioner, with the approval of the
county authority, retains the authority to implement the remaining subdivisions.
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Subd. 26. Southern Minnesota health initiative pilot project.When the commissioner
contracts under subdivisions 1 and 6, paragraph (a), with the joint powers board for the southern
Minnesota health initiative (SMHI) to participate in the demonstration project for persons with
disabilities under subdivision 5, the commissioner shall also require health plans serving counties
participating in the southern Minnesota health initiative under this section to contract with the
southern Minnesota Health Initiative Joint Powers Board to provide covered mental health and
chemical dependency services for the nonelderly/nondisabled persons who reside in one of the
counties and who are required or elect to participate in the prepaid medical assistance and general
assistance medical care programs. Enrollees may obtain covered mental health and chemical
dependency services through the SMHI or through other health plan contractors. Participation
of the nonelderly/nondisabled with the SMHI is voluntary. The commissioner shall identify a
monthly per capita payment amount that health plans are required to pay to the SMHI for all
nonelderly/nondisabled recipients who choose the SMHI for their mental health and chemical
dependency services.

Subd. 27. Service coordination transition. Demonstration sites designated under
subdivision 5, with the permission of an eligible individual, may implement the provisions
of subdivision 12 beginning 60 calendar days prior to an individual's enrollment. This
implementation may occur prior to the enrollment of eligible individuals, but is restricted to
eligible individuals.

History: 1997 c 203 art 8 s 1; 1998 c 397 art 11 s 3; 1998 c 407 art 4 s 51-54; 1999 c
245 art 4 s 80-85; 2000 c 464 art 2 s 3; 2000 c 474 s 17; 2005 c 56 s 1; 2009 c 173 art 3 s
16; 1Sp2011 c 11 art 3 s 12

256B.771 COMPLEMENTARY AND ALTERNATIVE MEDICINE DEMONSTRATION
PROJECT.

Subdivision 1. Establishment and implementation. The commissioner of human
services shall contract with a Minnesota-based academic or clinical research institution or
institutions specializing in providing complementary and alternative medicine education and
clinical services to establish and implement a five-year demonstration project in conjunction with
federally qualified health centers or federally qualified health center "look-alikes" as defined in
section 145.9269, to improve the quality and cost-effectiveness of care provided under medical
assistance to enrollees with neck and back problems. The demonstration project must maximize
the use of complementary and alternative medicine-oriented primary care providers, including
but not limited to physicians and chiropractors. The demonstration project must be designed to
significantly improve physical and mental health for enrollees who present with neck and back
problems while decreasing medical treatment costs. The commissioner, in consultation with
the commissioner of health, shall deliver services through the demonstration project beginning
January 1, 2012, or upon federal approval, whichever is later.

Subd. 2. RFP and project criteria. The commissioner shall develop and issue a request
for proposal (RFP) for the demonstration project. The RFP must require the academic or clinical
research institution or institutions selected to demonstrate a proven track record over at least five
years of conducting high-quality, federally funded clinical research. The RFP shall specify the
state costs directly related to the requirements of this section and shall require that the selected
institution pay those costs to the state. The institution and the federally qualified health centers
and federally qualified health center "look-alikes" shall also:
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(1) provide patient education, provider education, and enrollment training components on
health and lifestyle issues in order to promote enrollee responsibility for health care decisions,
enhance productivity, prepare enrollees to reenter the workforce, and reduce future health care
expenditures;

(2) use high-quality and cost-effective integrated disease management that includes the best
practices of traditional and complementary and alternative medicine;

(3) incorporate holistic medical care, appropriate nutrition, exercise, medications, and
conflict resolution techniques;

(4) include a provider education component that makes use of professional organizations
representing chiropractors, nurses, and other primary care providers and provides appropriate
educational materials and activities in order to improve the integration of traditional medical
care with licensed chiropractic services and other alternative health care services and achieve
program enrollment objectives; and

(5) provide to the commissioner the information and data necessary for the commissioner to
prepare the annual reports required under subdivision 6.

Subd. 3. Enrollment. Enrollees from the program shall be selected by the commissioner
from current enrollees in the prepaid medical assistance program who have, or are determined to
be at significant risk of developing, neck and back problems. Participation in the demonstration
project shall be voluntary. The commissioner shall seek to enroll, over the term of the
demonstration project, ten percent of current and future medical assistance enrollees who have, or
are determined to be at significant risk of developing, neck and back problems.

Subd. 4. Federal approval. The commissioner shall seek any federal waivers and approvals
necessary to implement the demonstration project.

Subd. 5. Project costs. The commissioner shall require the academic or clinical research
institution or institutions selected, federally qualified health centers, and federally qualified health
center "look-alikes" to fund all costs of the demonstration project. Amounts received under
subdivision 2 are appropriated to the commissioner for the purposes of this section.

Subd. 6. Annual reports. The commissioner, beginning December 15, 2012, and each
December 15 thereafter through December 15, 2015, shall report annually to the legislature on
the functional and mental improvements of the populations served by the demonstration project,
patient satisfaction, and the cost-effectiveness of the program. The reports must also include data
on hospital admissions, days in hospital, rates of outpatient surgery and other services, and drug
utilization. The report, due December 15, 2015, must include recommendations on whether the
demonstration project should be continued and expanded.

History: 1Sp2011 c 9 art 6 s 70

256B.78 DEMONSTRATION PROJECT FOR FAMILY PLANNING SERVICES.

(a) The commissioner of human services shall establish a medical assistance demonstration
project to determine whether improved access to coverage of prepregnancy family planning
services reduces medical assistance and MFIP costs.

(b) This section is effective upon federal approval of the demonstration project.

History: 1Sp2001 c 9 art 2 s 55; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113
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256B.81 MENTAL HEALTH PROVIDER APPEAL PROCESS.

If a county contract or certification is required to enroll as an authorized provider of mental
health services under medical assistance, and if a county refuses to grant the necessary contract or
certification, the provider may appeal the county decision to the commissioner. A recipient may
initiate an appeal on behalf of a provider who has been denied certification. The commissioner
shall determine whether the provider meets applicable standards under state laws and rules based
on an independent review of the facts, including comments from the county review. If the
commissioner finds that the provider meets the applicable standards, the commissioner shall
enroll the provider as an authorized provider. The commissioner shall develop procedures for
providers and recipients to appeal a county decision to refuse to enroll a provider. After the
commissioner makes a decision regarding an appeal, the county, provider, or recipient may
request that the commissioner reconsider the commissioner's initial decision. The commissioner's
reconsideration decision is final and not subject to further appeal.

History: 1Sp2001 c 9 art 9 s 44; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113

256B.82 PREPAID PLANS AND MENTAL HEALTH REHABILITATIVE SERVICES.

Medical assistance and MinnesotaCare prepaid health plans may include coverage for
adult mental health rehabilitative services under section 256B.0623, intensive rehabilitative
services under section 256B.0622, and adult mental health crisis response services under section
256B.0624, beginning January 1, 2005.

By January 15, 2004, the commissioner shall report to the legislature how these services
should be included in prepaid plans. The commissioner shall consult with mental health
advocates, health plans, and counties in developing this report. The report recommendations
must include a plan to ensure coordination of these services between health plans and counties,
assure recipient access to essential community providers, and monitor the health plans' delivery
of services through utilization review and quality standards.

History: 1Sp2001 c 9 art 9 s 45; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 3 s 51

256B.83 [Repealed, 2006 c 282 art 16 s 17]

256B.84 AMERICAN INDIAN CONTRACTING PROVISIONS.

Notwithstanding other state laws or rules, Indian health services and agencies operated
by Indian tribes are not required to have a county contract or county certification to enroll as
providers of adult rehabilitative mental health services under section 256B.0623; and adult mental
health crisis response services under section 256B.0624. In order to enroll as providers of these
services, Indian health services and agencies operated by Indian tribes must meet the vendor of
medical care requirements in section 256B.02, subdivision 7.

History: 2002 c 275 s 7; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 4 s 23
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