## 21.1196 RESTRICTED SEED POTATO GROWING AREA.

Subdivision 1. **Definition.** (a) "Restricted seed potato growing area" means Clearwater, Kittson, Koochiching, and Roseau Counties; the portions of Marshall and Pennington Counties that lie east of United States Highway No. 59; the portion of Red Lake County that lies east of United States Highway No. 59 and north of Minnesota Highway No. 92; the portion of Polk County that lies north of Minnesota Highway No. 92; and the portion of Beltrami County that lies north of Beltrami County Highway No. 32 and west of Minnesota Highway No. 72.

- (b) "Historic certified seed potato area" means the portion of Marshall County included in the towns of Augsburg and Nelson Park that are north of Marshall County Highway No. 5.
- Subd. 2. **Restriction.** (a) The seed potato certification requirements under sections 21.111 to 21.122 apply to potatoes grown in plots of ten acres or more in the restricted seed potato growing area. Qualifying potatoes grown in the restricted seed potato growing area must be certified as seed potatoes.
- (b) The commissioner may enter and inspect plots subject to paragraph (a) during the growing season.
- Subd. 3. **Penalty.** A potato grower who violates subdivision 2, paragraph (a), is subject to a penalty of \$100 per acre of potatoes grown and not certified.

**History:** 1990 c 479 s 1; 1992 c 397 s 1; 1994 c 422 s 1