62F.02 JOINT UNDERWRITING ASSOCIATION.

Subdivision 1. **Creation.** There is created a Joint Underwriting Association to provide medical malpractice insurance coverage to any licensed health care provider unable to obtain this insurance through ordinary methods, who practices or provides professional services within the state of Minnesota and obtains at least 60 percent of gross revenues from patients who are residents of the state of Minnesota. Every insurer authorized to write and writing personal injury liability insurance in this state shall be a member of the association as a condition to obtaining and retaining a license to write insurance in this state.

Subd. 2. **Directors.** The association shall have a board of directors composed of 11 persons chosen for a term of four years as follows: five persons elected by members of the association at a meeting called by the commissioner; three members who are health care providers appointed by the commissioner prior to the election by the association; and three public members, as defined in section 214.02, appointed by the governor prior to the election by the association. If the commissioner determines that it is no longer cost-effective or efficient to operate a separate board of directors to administer the Medical Malpractice Joint Underwriting Association, the commissioner shall deactivate the board and assign all of the board's authority and responsibilities under this chapter to the Minnesota Joint Underwriting Association Board of Directors established under section 621.02.

Subd. 3. Merger. Effective January 1, 2008, the association is merged into the joint underwriting association under chapter 62I.

History: 1976 c 242 s 3; 1986 c 455 s 16; 1994 c 425 s 13; 1995 c 258 s 42; 1996 c 446 art 1 s 42; 2008 c 344 s 14