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280.001 PUBLIC SALES, AUDITOR'S CERTIFICATES ABOLISHED.
Effective the second Monday in May 1974, and each year thereafter, no parcel of land

against which judgment has been entered and remains unsatisfied for the taxes of the preceding
year or years may be sold at public vendue as provided in sections 280.01 and 280.02 by the county
auditor but shall be treated in the same manner and regarded in all respects as land bid in for the
state by the auditor in the manner provided in section 280.02. No notice of sale required by section
280.01 shall be published or posted in 1974 and in years thereafter, and no auditor's certificate
authorized by section 280.03 shall be issued on the second Monday in May 1974, or thereafter.

History: 1973 c 341 s 1

280.01 STATE BID IN AT SALE.
On the second Monday in May, in each year, the county auditor shall sell all parcels of land

against which judgment has been entered and remains unsatisfied for the taxes of the preceding
year or years. The auditor shall bid in for the state for all such parcels of land the amount of all
delinquent taxes, penalties, costs, and interest to date. No notice of sale shall be required to
be published, posted, or served prior to sale.

History: (2127) RL s 927; 1983 c 342 art 15 s 13
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280.02 PUBLIC VENDUE.

The county auditor shall sell, at public vendue, each parcel of land separately in the order
described in the judgment and by the description therein; but, if the sum bid for any parcel shall
not be paid on the day of the sale thereof, the county auditor shall again offer the same for sale.
In offering the lands for sale, the auditor shall state the amount for which each parcel is to be
sold, and shall then sell the same to the person who shall offer to pay the amount for which the
same is to be sold, at the lowest annual rate of interest on such amount. No bid shall be accepted
when the proposed rate of interest exceeds 12 percent per annum. All bids for any fractional part
of one percent shall be a decimal part thereof, and not less than one-tenth of one percent. If no
bidder shall bid an amount equal to that for which the parcel is to be sold, at a rate of interest
not exceeding 12 percent per annum, then the auditor shall bid in the same for the state at such
amount. The county treasurer shall attend the sale and receive all moneys paid thereon.

History: (2128) RL s 928; 1986 c 444

280.03 CERTIFICATE OF SALE.

The county auditor shall execute to the purchaser of each parcel a certificate which may be
substantially in the following form:

"I, .........., auditor of the county of .........., state of Minnesota, do hereby certify that at the
sale of lands pursuant to the real estate tax judgment entered in the district court in the county
of .........., on the .......... day of .........., ......., in proceedings to enforce the payment of taxes
delinquent on real estate for the years .........., for the county of .........., which sale was held at
..............., in said county of ........, on the ........ day of ........, ......., the following described parcel
of land, situate in said county of .........., state of Minnesota: (insert description), was offered for
sale to the bidder who should offer to pay the amount for which the same was to be sold, at
the lowest annual rate of interest on such amount; and at said sale I did sell the said parcel of
land to .......... for the sum of .......... dollars, with interest at .......... percent per annum on such
amount, that being the sum for which the same was to be sold, and such rate of interest being the
lowest rate percent per annum bid on such sum; and, the sum having been paid, I do therefore, in
consideration thereof, and pursuant to the statute in such case made and provided, convey the said
parcel of land, in fee simple, subject to easements and restrictions of record at the date of the tax
judgment sale, including, but without limitation, permits for telephone, telegraph and electric
power lines either by underground cable or conduit or otherwise, sewer and water lines, highways,
railroads, and pipe lines for gas, liquids, or solids in suspension, to said .........., and the heirs and
assigns of ......., forever, subject to redemption as provided by law.

Witness my hand and official seal this ........ day of ........, ....... .

......................................................................
County Auditor."

If the land shall not be redeemed as provided in chapter 281, such certificate shall pass to
the purchaser an estate therein, in fee simple, without any other act or deed whatever subject to
easements and restrictions of record at the date of the tax judgment sale, including, but without
limitation, permits for telephone, telegraph, and electric power lines either by underground cable
or conduit or otherwise, sewer and water lines, highways, railroads, and pipe lines for gas, liquids,
or solids in suspension. Such certificate may be recorded, after the time for redemption shall
have expired, as other deeds of real estate, and with like effect. If any purchaser at such sale
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shall purchase more than one parcel, the auditor shall issue to the purchaser a certificate for
each parcel so purchased.

History: (2129) RL s 929; 1953 c 493 s 2; 1986 c 444; 1998 c 254 art 1 s 107

280.04 WHO MAY PURCHASE.
All persons, except as provided in section 280.05, may become purchasers at such sale.

If the owner purchase, the sale shall have the effect to pass to the owner, subject to redemption
as provided in chapter 281, every right, title, and interest of any and every person, company, or
corporation, free from any claim, lien, or encumbrance, except such right, title, interest, lien, or
encumbrance as such owner may be legally or equitably bound to protect against such sale,
or the taxes for which such sale was made.

History: (2130) RL s 930; 1986 c 444

280.05 PROHIBITED PURCHASERS.
A county auditor, county treasurer, court administrator of the district court, or county

assessor, or deputy or clerk or employee of such officer, and a commissioner for tax-forfeited
lands or assistant to such commissioner, may not purchase at such sale, or procure an assignment
of the right acquired by the state in lands bid in for it at such sale, as in this chapter provided in
sections 280.06 to 280.11, either personally, or as agent or attorney for any other person, except
that such officer, deputy, court administrator, employee or commissioner for tax-forfeited lands or
assistant to such commissioner, if an owner or lienholder of the lands, may purchase the lands,
or procure such assignment of the state's right in such lands.

History: (2131) RL s 931; 1959 c 281 s 1; 1969 c 9 s 72; 1986 c 444; 1Sp1986 c 3 art 1
s 82; 1997 c 7 art 1 s 112

280.06 WRONG NAME OF OWNER.
No such sale shall be affected or deemed invalid on account of the use of another name than

that of the true owner in describing the ownership of the parcel of land sold in any tax proceeding.
History: (2132) RL s 932

280.07 ENTRIES IN JUDGMENT BOOKS AFTER SALE.
Immediately after such sale the county auditor shall set out in the copy judgment book that

all parcels were bid in for the state. The county auditor shall thereupon deliver such book to
the court administrator, who shall forthwith enter on the right-hand page of the real estate tax
judgment book, opposite the description of each parcel sold, the words "bid in for the state," and
thereupon redeliver the copy judgment book to the auditor. Upon redemption the auditor shall
make a note thereon in the copy judgment book, opposite the parcel redeemed.

History: (2133) RL s 933; 1983 c 342 art 15 s 14; 1986 c 444; 1Sp1986 c 3 art 1 s 82

280.08 RECORD OF ASSIGNMENT.
The assignee or transferee of a certificate or deed issued upon the sale of land for general

taxes or for special assessments for local improvements shall present the instrument of transfer
and a copy thereof to the official custodian of the record of such sale. Such officer shall thereupon
certify such copy to be correct and shall file the same and note such transfer upon the record. The
record as herein provided of any such instrument shall be taken and deemed notice to parties.
The recording in the office of the county recorder of any such assignment or any quitclaim deed
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transferring any interest in such land shall have the same force and effect as the record above
provided.

History: (2134) 1909 c 340 s 1; 1976 c 181 s 2; 1986 c 444

280.09 FAILURE TO RECORD.
Every such assignment or transfer not so recorded shall be void as against any subsequent

purchaser, for a valuable consideration, who has caused a record of that transfer to be made in
the manner above provided, before the recording of the prior transfer, and as against any party
claiming under a judgment or decree of a court of competent jurisdiction heretofore entered or
hereafter to be entered in an action in which the party appearing to be the owner or holder of such
certificate or deed, as shown by the record in the office of such official custodian, was made a
party and was bound by the judgment or decree.

History: (2135) 1909 c 340 s 2; 1986 c 444

280.10 PAYMENT OF SUBSEQUENT TAXES.
The taxes for subsequent years shall be levied on property so bid in for the state in the

same manner as if the sale had not been made.
History: (2136) RL s 934; 1925 c 63; 1931 c 412; 1983 c 342 art 15 s 15

280.11 LANDS BID IN FOR STATE.
At any time after any parcel of land has been bid in for the state, the same not having

been redeemed, the county auditor shall assign and convey the same, and all the right of the
state therein acquired at such sale, to any person who shall pay the amount for which the same
was bid in, with interest at the rate of 12 percent per annum, and the amount of all subsequent
delinquent taxes, penalties, costs, and interest at such rate upon the same from the time when
such taxes became delinquent. The county auditor shall execute to such person a certificate for
such parcel, which may be substantially in the following form:

"I, .........., auditor of the county of .........., state of Minnesota, do hereby certify that at the
sale of lands pursuant to the real estate tax judgment entered in the district court in the county
of .........., on the .......... day of .........., ......., in proceedings to enforce the payment of taxes
delinquent upon real estate for the years .......... for the county of .........., which sale was held at
.........., in said county of .........., on the .......... day of .........., ......., the following described parcel
of land, situate in said county of .........., state of Minnesota: (insert description), was duly offered
for sale; and, no one bidding upon such offer an amount equal to that for which the parcel was
subject to be sold, the same was then bid in for the state at such amount, being the sum of ..........
dollars; and the same still remaining unredeemed, and on this day .......... having paid into the
treasury of the county the amount for which the same was so bid in, and all subsequent delinquent
taxes, penalties, costs, and interest, amounting in all to .......... dollars, therefore, in consideration
thereof, and pursuant to the statute in such case made and provided, I do hereby assign and
convey this parcel of land, in fee simple, subject to easements and restrictions of record at the date
of the tax judgment sale, including but without limitation, permits for telephone, telegraph, and
electric power lines either by underground cable or conduit or otherwise, sewer and water lines,
highways, railroads, and pipe lines for gas, liquids, or solids in suspension, with all the right, title
and interest of the state acquired therein at such sale to .........., and the heirs and assigns of ........,
forever, subject to redemption as provided by law.

Witness my hand and official seal this .......... day of .........., .......
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......................................................................
County Auditor."

If the land shall not be redeemed, as provided in chapter 281, such certificate shall pass to
the purchaser or assignee an estate therein, in fee simple, without any other act or deed whatever
subject to easements and restrictions of record at the date of the tax judgment sale, including, but
without limitation, permits for telephone, telegraph and electric power lines either by underground
cable or conduit or otherwise, sewer and water lines, highways, railroads, and pipe lines for gas,
liquids, or solids in suspension. Such certificate or conveyance may be recorded, after the time for
redemption shall have expired, as other deeds of real estate, and with like effect. No assignment
of the right of the state shall be given pursuant to this section after January 1, 1972.

History: (2137) RL s 935; 1953 c 493 s 3; 1971 c 658 s 1; 1986 c 444; 1998 c 254 art 1
s 107

280.12 [Repealed, 1996 c 310 s 1]

280.13 [Repealed, 1996 c 310 s 1]

280.14 [Expired]

280.15 [Expired]

280.16 [Expired]

280.17 [Expired]

280.19 [Expired]

280.20 [Expired]

280.21 [Expired]

280.22 [Expired]

280.23 [Expired]

280.24 [Expired]

280.25 [Repealed, 1996 c 310 s 1]

280.26 [Repealed, 1996 c 310 s 1]

280.27 [Repealed, 1999 c 243 art 13 s 21]

280.28 FEES.

Subdivision 1. Certified copy. The county auditor shall be entitled to collect a fee of 50
cents from such applicant for each certified copy of a notice of expiration of redemption and the
preparation of the other necessary papers and information in connection therewith, which fee shall
be retained by such auditor in addition to the salary provided by law.

Subd. 2. Certificate. There shall be paid at the time of delivery by the person to whom
delivered for each certificate issued to an actual purchaser under section 280.03 a fee of $1 and
for each notice of expiration of redemption prepared by the auditor for the holder of a certificate
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a fee of $2. These fees shall be paid to the county treasurer upon the auditor's statement of
the amount due. The amount of such fees shall be added to the amount payable under section
281.02 upon redemption.

History: (2144) 1915 c 332 s 3; 1961 c 524 s 1; 1986 c 444; 1997 c 7 art 1 s 113

280.29 PROCEEDS OF SALE, HOW DISTRIBUTED.

The proceeds of any parcel of land so sold, to the amount of taxes, penalties, interest,
and costs charged thereon, shall be distributed as provided by law for the distribution of the
like sums upon sales for delinquent taxes. The portion thereof due to the state shall be paid to
the commissioner of management and budget, and the excess, if any, above the taxes, penalties,
interest, and costs charged upon the land, shall be included in such draft and be paid in like
manner for the benefit of the state. If any parcel be sold for less than the amount charged thereon,
the state taxes shall first be paid and the remainder, if any, distributed pro rata to the several
funds for which the taxes were levied.

History: (2145) RL s 939; 1973 c 492 s 14; 2003 c 112 art 2 s 36; 2009 c 101 art 2 s 109

280.33 CERTIFICATES AND DEEDS AS EVIDENCE; GROUNDS FOR SETTING
ASIDE.

The certificates and deeds issued pursuant to sections 280.03 and 280.11, or the record
thereof, shall be prima facie evidence that the parcel described therein was subject to taxation for
the year or years therein stated; that such parcel was listed and assessed at the time and in the
manner required by law; that the taxes were levied according to law; that the judgment pursuant
to which the sale was made was duly entered, and that the court had jurisdiction to enter the same;
that all requirements of law with respect to the sale had been complied with; that such parcel had
not been redeemed from the sale; and of title in the grantee therein after the time for redemption
has expired; provided, that when any such certificate or deed embraces university, school, or
other state lands, the title whereof is in the state, no other or greater interest shall be held to be
thereby conveyed than that acquired under the certificate of the commissioner of management and
budget. No sale shall be set aside or held invalid by reason of any misrecitals in such certificate or
deed; nor unless the party objecting to the same prove either that the taxes were paid before the
judgment was rendered, or that such parcel was exempt from taxation, or that the court rendering
the judgment pursuant to which the sale was made had not jurisdiction to render the same, or
that after the judgment and before the sale such judgment had been satisfied, or that notice of
sale as required by this chapter was not given, or that such parcel was not offered at such sale to
the bidder who would pay the amount for which the parcel was to be sold at the lowest rate of
interest, as provided in this chapter; provided, that every judgment rendered against any parcel
for a tax which was paid before the entry thereof, or when the land was exempt from taxation,
shall be void, and all sales made under any such judgment or under a judgment which has been
paid shall be void, and no title or interest in any parcel sold under such judgment shall pass or be
conveyed to any purchaser at such sale. In any action brought to set aside or to cancel such sale, or
in which the validity of such sale may arise, the tax receipt, or the treasurer's duplicate thereof, or
other record of the payment of such tax in the office of the county auditor or the county treasurer,
shall be prima facie evidence of such payment; but such payment shall not be established by parol
testimony only. In such action, the county in which the land is situated, or the state, if either claim
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any interest in the land sold under such judgment, may be made a party defendant, in which case
the county attorney shall appear in behalf of such county or state, or both.

History: (2146) RL s 940; 1911 c 245 s 1; 1973 c 492 s 14; 1997 c 7 art 1 s 114; 2009 c
101 art 2 s 109

280.34 [Repealed, 1977 c 265 s 3]

280.35 INVALID CERTIFICATE.
If any certificate issued pursuant to sections 280.03 and 280.11 to an actual purchaser prove

to be invalid for any other cause than that the land described therein was not subject to taxation, or
that the taxes had been paid prior to the sale, or that the assessment or levy was void, the lien of the
state on the parcel of land sold, as provided in section 272.31 shall be transferred, without any act
whatever, to, and vested in, the holder of such certificate, or the holder's personal representatives,
heirs, or assigns. Such holder, or the personal representatives, heirs, or assigns of the holder, may
collect out of the property covered by such lien, by sale thereof by foreclosure, or other proper
action or proceeding, the amount of taxes, penalties, and interest due thereon at the time of such
sale, with interest thereon at the rate of 12 percent per annum, together with the amount of all
subsequent taxes paid, with interest thereon at said rate, and the costs and expenses of such action.

History: (2148) RL s 942; 1986 c 444; 1997 c 7 art 1 s 115

280.36 REIMBURSEMENT TO TAX SALE PURCHASER WHERE NOTICE OF SALE
INVALID; LIMITATION; REASSESSMENT.

When any sale of land held pursuant to section 280.01 shall have been conducted by the
county auditor, without two weeks' published notice of such sale having been first given as
required therein, the purchaser of any parcel of land at such sale or the purchaser or holder, or the
assigns or representatives of such purchaser or holder, of a state assignment certificate of such
sale to such parcel acquired pursuant to section 280.11, shall be entitled to refundment of the
amount paid for such parcel, without interest, upon production and surrender to the auditor of
the county in which such parcel of land is situated, of the certificate of sale, and evidence of the
assignment thereof, if any, by issuance and payment of the warrant of the county auditor or the
county treasurer therefor; provided that the right to refundment shall be exercised within six years
from the date of such tax sale, and the amounts paid shall be charged to the proper funds, and
extended against the respective parcels of land with the current taxes, and collected therewith.

History: (2148-1) Ex1937 c 61

280.37 ENDORSEMENT BEFORE RECORD.
Before any certificate of sale or of assignment provided for in this chapter shall be

recorded, the holder thereof shall present the same to the county auditor, who shall endorse
thereon a certificate that the property therein described remains unredeemed, and that the period
of redemption has expired; and no such certificate shall be recorded unless such endorsement is
made.

History: (2149) RL s 943; 1986 c 444

280.38 LANDS BID IN FOR THE STATE; ATTACHMENTS.
When any parcel of land is bid in for the state, until the land be redeemed, the sale shall not

operate as a payment of the amount for which the same is sold, but at any time after such sale the
county auditor may make and file with the court administrator where the judgment is entered an
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affidavit stating the date of the sale, the amount for which such parcel was bid in for the state, and
the amount of all subsequent delinquent taxes, that there has been no redemption, and that the
land is rented, in whole or in part, and produces rent, and giving the names of the persons paying
rent. Upon presentation of such affidavit, the judge or court commissioner for the county shall
endorse thereon an order directing an attachment to issue to attach the rents of such lands. The
court administrator shall thereupon issue a writ directing the sheriff to attach the rents accruing
for such land from any person, and to collect therefrom the amount for which the same was bid
in for the state, and the amount of all subsequent delinquent taxes, stating such amount and the
date of sale, with penalties and interest accruing thereon, and the sheriff's fees, and $1 for the
costs of the affidavit and attachment. The sheriff shall serve such writ by serving a copy thereof
on each tenant or person in possession of such land paying rent therefor, or for any part thereof,
and such service shall operate as an attachment of all rents accruing from the person served. The
sheriff shall receive such rents as they become due, and may bring suit in the sheriff's own name
to collect the same, and shall pay into the county treasury the amount collected. No payment of
rents by any person so served after such service, or prior thereto for the purpose of defeating such
attachment, shall be valid against such attachment. The court administrator shall be allowed for
issuing the writ, including the filing of the affidavit, order of allowance, writ, and return, 50 cents,
to be paid to the administrator by the county in which the taxes are levied; provided, that in
counties whose population exceeds 150,000 such fees shall be paid into the county treasury to
the use of the county. The sheriff shall be allowed for serving the writ and collecting the money
the same fees as are allowed by law upon an execution in a civil action; and, if the sheriff brings
suit, such additional compensation as the court may allow, not exceeding one-half of the fees
allowed by law for like services in ordinary cases.

If, at any time while the sheriff is collecting such rent, the lease upon such property shall
expire, or, if the sheriff has once commenced to collect such rent and the property becomes
vacant, the county auditor may lease the property upon five days' notice to the owner, subject
to the approval of the district court.

At any time while the sheriff is collecting the rent under any lease, no modification of
the lease between the owner and the tenant shall be valid unless approved by the district court
upon five days' notice to the county auditor.

The collection of such rent under this statute shall not be a bar to the county auditor selling
the land at a forfeited tax sale under the present laws or any laws hereafter enacted.

In case any unplatted land is bid in for the state and is cropped upon a share agreement
with the owner, or by a trespasser, the owner's share of such crop; or, in case of a trespasser, all or
any part of such crops, may be attached and collected in the same manner as rents and applied
upon delinquent taxes. The term "crops" shall include hay and grass. In case there is no agreement
for rent, or in case of an occupant or trespasser on the unplatted land without any agreement for
rent, then the attachment shall attach to and bind all of the grass, hay, and crops produced on such
lands; provided, that the district court may, upon application by such occupant, upon ten days'
notice to the owner and the county auditor, and a showing by the occupant to the satisfaction of
the court that the occupancy was not a willful trespass, release to such occupant the excess of such
crops over and above the owner's or landlord's share of the grass, hay, and crops of such premises
as determined by the court. Such application must be made not later than 60 days after the date of
the service of the writ of attachment upon such occupant, and if not made within such time it
shall be considered that such occupant has waived all right and claim to such crops. The county
auditor may give to the owner or person entitled to the possession of such unplatted land during

Copyright © 2010 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



9 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2010 280.385

the crop season at least ten days' notice, in writing, by mail or otherwise, specifying the time and
place at which application will be made to the district court for an order permitting the leasing of
such land, and the district court may, if it deems it to be for the best interest of such person and of
the public, make an order fixing the terms upon which such lease may be made by the county
auditor, in the name of the county. The county auditor may then execute, in the name of the
county, such lease in writing as the court shall order. No such lease shall be for a longer term than
the current crop season. If the name or address of such person is unknown to the county auditor,
such notice may be given by one publication in a legal newspaper in the county. If the owner or
person entitled to such possession shall show to the court an intent to lease such unplatted land or
make a contract for cropping the same upon shares, the court may make such order as it deems
best to provide for an attachment of all or a part of the rents or crop share of such person and
for applying the same upon the delinquent taxes. In any proceeding for the collection of rents on
unplatted land on which the taxes have been bid in by the state, the court may, upon motion, order
that payment, when made as to any part or the whole, be paid to the county treasurer to apply
upon taxes. The owner of such unplatted properties may make application to the district court for
release from applying all or a portion of such rents upon such taxes upon showing, by reason of
the condition, cost of upkeep of the property, or other cause, undue hardship upon such owner
or detriment to such property. The provisions affecting unplatted lands shall not apply to lands
or real estate actually used or occupied by the owner thereof.

The county board may allow additional clerk hire to the county auditor for work in making
such leases, which leases shall be made in the name of the county, and the county shall have the
right to bring suit for unpaid rents under such leases and to bring the necessary actions to secure
evictions of tenants to whom it has leased.

Attachments, leases, and proceedings issued and made pursuant to this section shall not
be deemed unfinished business that may be retained by the sheriff at expiration of the sheriff's
term, as provided by section 387.10.

The right of the county auditor to sell the land at the forfeited tax sale, shall continue until
all delinquent taxes described in the writ of attachment are paid.

History: (2150) RL s 944; 1929 c 266 s 1; 1935 c 246 s 1; 1983 c 342 art 15 s 16; 1986 c
444; 1Sp1986 c 3 art 1 s 82

280.385 ACQUISITION OF TAX-DELINQUENT LAND BEFORE FORFEITURE.

Subdivision 1. Conveyance accepted.Whenever any lands have been bid in for the state
for delinquent taxes at any tax judgment sale, the county board of the county in which such lands
are situated may, in its discretion, with the consent first obtained of the governing body of the
city or town in which such lands are situated, accept a conveyance from the owner thereof to the
state; provided that the county attorney finds that such owner has good title to such lands and
that they are free and clear of all encumbrances except taxes.

Subd. 2. To have same status as tax-forfeited lands. Upon conveyance of title to the state,
such lands shall have the status of lands absolutely forfeited to the state for taxes, and shall
be subject to all applicable provisions of law as if they had become so forfeited at the date of
acceptance of the conveyance by the county board.

Subd. 3. Procedure if title fails. If the title of the state under such conveyance should for
any reason be finally adjudged void or subject to any encumbrance, the county auditor, upon the
filing in the auditor's office of a certified copy of such judgment, shall reinstate all taxes, penalties,
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and interest which were a lien upon said lands at the time such conveyance was made, and shall
assess as omitted the taxes for the years subsequent thereto. Such lands shall thereupon be subject
to forfeiture or other proceedings upon such taxes as provided by law as if no conveyance to the
state had been made.

History: 1943 c 327; 1973 c 123 art 5 s 7; 1983 c 342 art 15 s 17; 1986 c 444

280.39 DELINQUENT TAXES MAY BE PAID IN INVERSE ORDER.

In any case where taxes for two or more years are delinquent against a parcel of land, the
taxes, or a portion of them, if held by the state, may be paid in the inverse order to that in which
the taxes were levied, with accrued penalties, interest, and costs upon the taxes so paid, without
payment of the taxes for the first of such years; provided, that such payment shall not affect
the lien of any unpaid taxes or tax judgment.

History: 1941 c 97 s 1; 2008 c 154 art 2 s 22

280.40 TAXES COLLECTED BY SHERIFF APPLIED IN INVERSE ORDER.

When the sheriff shall pay into the county treasury rents collected, as provided in section
280.38, the same shall be applied in the inverse order to that in which such taxes were levied,
crediting the same as follows: (1) against penalties, interest, and costs upon the last delinquent
taxes, (2) against such taxes as levied; and the same procedure shall be followed for each year's
delinquent taxes until such payments have been exhausted. When, under section 280.38, a year's
taxes are partially paid, interest shall be charged thereafter only upon the unpaid balance. In
case of part payment of the taxes for any year, the land affected shall remain, as to the unpaid
balance, subject to sale, redemption, forfeiture, and all other proceedings respecting delinquent
taxes in like manner as for a full year's taxes.

History: 1941 c 97 s 2

280.41 OWNERSHIP BY STATE.

Title to all parcels of land bid in for the state shall vest in the state subject only to the
rights of redemption set forth in chapter 281.

History: 1983 c 342 art 15 s 18

280.43 SALE DEFINED.

No actual public "sale" shall take place under chapter 280. A "sale" shall be conclusively
deemed to have been made and transfer made to the state of Minnesota hereunder.

History: 1983 c 342 art 15 s 19
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