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326B.438 MEDICAL GAS SYSTEMS.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the terms defined in this
subdivision have the meanings given them.

(b) "Medical gas" means medical gas as defined under the National Fire Protection
Association NFPA 99C Standard on Gas and Vacuum Systems.

(c) "Medical gas system" means a level 1, 2, or 3 piped medical gas and vacuum system as
defined under the National Fire Protection Association NFPA 99C Standard on Gas and Vacuum
Systems.

Subd. 2. License and certification required. A person shall not engage in the installation,
maintenance, or repair of a medical gas system unless the person possesses a current Minnesota
master or journeyman plumber's license and is certified by the commissioner under rules adopted
by the Minnesota Plumbing Board. The certification must be renewed annually for as long as the
certificate holder engages in the installation, maintenance, or repair of medical gas and vacuum
systems. If a medical gas and vacuum system certificate is not renewed within 12 months after its
expiration the medical gas and vacuum certificate is permanently forfeited.

Subd. 3. Exemptions. (a) A person who on August 1, 2010, holds a valid certificate
authorized by the American Society of Sanitary Engineering (ASSE) in accordance with standards
recommended by the National Fire Protection Association under NFPA 99C is exempt from
the requirements of subdivision 2. This exemption applies only if the person maintains a valid
certification authorized by the ASSE.

(b) A person who on August 1, 2010, possesses a current Minnesota master or journeyman
plumber's license and a valid certificate authorized by the ASSE in accordance with standards
recommended by the National Fire Protection Association under NFPA 99C is exempt from the
requirements of subdivision 2 and may install, maintain, and repair a medical gas system. This
exemption applies only if a person maintains a valid Minnesota master or journeyman plumber's
license and valid certification authorized by the ASSE.

Subd. 4. Fees. The fee for a medical gas certificate issued by the commissioner according to
subdivision 2 is $30 per year.

History: 2010 c 183 s 8; 2010 c 280 s 39

NOTE: This section is effective August 1, 2010, except that the requirement under
subdivision 2 that a master or journeyman plumber must be certified by the Minnesota Plumbing
Board and the fee in subdivision 4 are not effective until 180 days after the board adopts rules.
Laws 2010, chapter 183, section 8, the effective date, as amended by Laws 2010, chapter 280,
section 39.
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