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354.091 SERVICE CREDIT.

(a) In computing service credit, no teacher may receive credit for more than one year of
teaching service for any fiscal year. Additionally, in crediting allowable service:

(1) if a teacher teaches less than five hours in a day, service credit must be given for the
fractional part of the day as the term of service performed bears to five hours;

(2) if a teacher teaches five or more hours in a day, service credit must be given for only
one day;

(3) if a teacher teaches at least 170 full days in any fiscal year, service credit must be given
for a full year of teaching service; and

(4) if a teacher teaches for only a fractional part of the year, service credit must be given
for such fractional part of the year in the same relationship as the period of service performed
bears to 170 days.

(b) A teacher must receive a full year of service credit based on the number of days in the
employer's full school year if that school year is less than 170 days. Teaching service performed
before July 1, 1961, must be computed under the law in effect at the time it was performed.

(c) A teacher must not lose or gain retirement service credit as a result of the employer
converting to a flexible or alternate work schedule. If the employer converts to a flexible
or alternate work schedule, the forms for reporting teaching service and the procedures for
determining service credit must be determined by the executive director with the approval of
the board of trustees.

(d) For all services rendered on or after July 1, 2003, service credit for all members employed
by the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system must be determined:

(1) for full-time employees, by the definition of full-time employment contained in the
collective bargaining agreement for those units listed in section 179A.10, subdivision 2, or
contained in the applicable personnel or salary plan for those positions designated in section
179A.10, subdivision 1;

(2) for part-time employees, by the appropriate proration of full-time equivalency based on
the provisions contained in the collective bargaining agreement for those units listed in section
179A.10, subdivision 2, or contained in the applicable personnel or salary plan for those positions
designated in section 179A.10, subdivision 1, and the applicable procedures of the Minnesota
State Colleges and Universities system; and

(3) in no case may a member receive more than one year of service credit for any fiscal year.
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History: 1974 c 289 s 13; 1981 c 160 s 3; 1982 c 578 art 1 s 6; 1989 c 319 art 2 s 8; 1994 c
528 art 3 s 11; 2000 c 461 art 3 s 29; 2004 c 267 art 3 s 4; 1Sp2005 c 8 art 10 s 52

Copyright © 2008 by the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.


