205.175 VOTING HOURS.

Subdivision 1. **Minimum voting hours.** In all municipal elections, the polling places will remain open for voting from 5:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.

Subd. 2. **Metropolitan area municipalities.** The governing body of a municipality which is located within a metropolitan county included in the definition of metropolitan area in section 200.02, subdivision 24, may designate the time during which the polling places will remain open for voting at the next succeeding and all subsequent municipal elections, provided that the polling places shall open no later than 10:00 a.m. and shall close no earlier than 8:00 p.m. The resolution shall remain in force until it is revoked by the municipal governing body.

Subd. 3. **Other municipalities.** The governing body of a municipality other than a municipality described in subdivision 2, may by resolution adopted prior to giving notice of the election, designate the time, in addition to the minimum voting hours provided in subdivision 1, during which the polling places will remain open for voting at the next succeeding and all subsequent municipal elections. The resolution shall remain in force until it is revoked by the municipal governing body or changed because of request by voters as provided in this subdivision. If a petition requesting longer voting hours, signed by a number of voters equal to 20 percent of the votes cast at the last municipal election, is presented to the municipal clerk no later than 30 days prior to the municipal election, then the polling places for that election shall open at 10:00 a.m. and close at 8:00 p.m. The municipal clerk shall give ten days' notice of the changed voting hours and notify the county auditor of the change. Municipalities covered by this subdivision shall certify their election hours to the county auditor in January of each year.

History: 1983 c 62 s 8; 1984 c 396 s 1,2; 1984 c 560 s 22,23; 1994 c 646 s 15; 2005 c 156 art 6 s 54