MINNESOTA STATUTES 2005 SUPPLEMENT

TERRITORIAL DIVISIONS 2.722

CHAPTER 2

TERRITORIAL DIVISIONS

2.722 Judicial districts.

2.722 JUDICIAL DISTRICTS.

Subdivision 1. Description. Effective July 1, 1959, the state is divided into ten judicial districts composed of the following named counties, respectively, in each of which districts judges shall be chosen as hereinafter specified:

1. Goodhue, Dakota, Carver, Le Sueur, McLeod, Scott, and Sibley; 33 judges; and four permanent chambers shall be maintained in Red Wing, Hastings, Shakopee, and Glencoe and one other shall be maintained at the place designated by the chief judge of the district;

2. Ramsey; 26 judges;

3. Wabasha, Winona, Houston, Rice, Olmsted, Dodge, Steele, Waseca, Freeborn, Mower, and Fillmore; 23 judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Faribault, Albert Lea, Austin, Rochester, and Winona;

4. Hennepin; 60 judges;

5. Blue Earth, Watonwan, Lyon, Redwood, Brown, Nicollet, Lincoln, Cottonwood, Murray, Nobles, Pipestone, Rock, Faribault, Martin, and Jackson; 16 judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Marshall, Windom, Fairmont, New Ulm, and Mankato;

6. Carlton, St. Louis, Lake, and Cook; 15 judges;

7. Benton, Douglas, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Otter Tail, Stearns, Todd, Clay, Becker, and Wadena; 27 judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Moorhead, Fergus Falls, Little Falls, and St. Cloud;

8. Chippewa, Kandiyohi, Lac qui Parle, Meeker, Renville, Swift, Yellow Medicine, Big Stone, Grant, Pope, Stevens, Traverse, and Wilkin; 11 judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Morris, Montevideo, and Willmar;

9. Norman, Polk, Marshall, Kittson, Red Lake, Roseau, Mahnomen, Pennington, Aitkin, Itasca, Crow Wing, Hubbard, Beltrami, Lake of the Woods, Clearwater, Cass and Koochiching; 22 judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Crookston, Thief River Falls, Bemidji, Brainerd, Grand Rapids, and International Falls; and

10. Anoka, Isanti, Wright, Sherburne, Kanabec, Pine, Chisago, and Washington; 43 judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Anoka, Stillwater, and other places designated by the chief judge of the district.

[For text of subds 2 to 5, see M.S.2004]

History: 2005 c 136 art 14 s 1