NURSING HOMES AND HOME CARE 144A.071

CHAPTER 144A

NURSING HOMES AND HOME CARE

144A.071	Moratorium on certification of nursing	144A.135	Transfer and discharge appeals.
	home beds.	144A.46	Licensure.
144A.073	Review of proposals requiring exceptions	144A.751	Hospice bill of rights.
	to the moratorium.	144A.755	 Information and referral services.

144A.071 MORATORIUM ON CERTIFICATION OF NURSING HOME BEDS.

[For text of subd 1, see M.S.2004]

Subd. 1a. **Definitions.** For purposes of sections 144A.071 to 144A.073, the following terms have the meanings given them:

(a) "Attached fixtures" has the meaning given in Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0020, subpart 6.

(b) "Buildings" has the meaning given in Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0020, subpart 7.

(c) "Capital assets" has the meaning given in section 256B.421, subdivision 16.

(d) "Commenced construction" means that all of the following conditions were met: the final working drawings and specifications were approved by the commissioner of health; the construction contracts were let; a timely construction schedule was developed, stipulating dates for beginning, achieving various stages, and completing construction; and all zoning and building permits were applied for.

(e) "Completion date" means the date on which a certificate of occupancy is issued for a construction project, or if a certificate of occupancy is not required, the date on which the construction project is available for facility use.

(f) "Construction" means any erection, building, alteration, reconstruction, modernization, or improvement necessary to comply with the nursing home licensure rules.

(g) "Construction project" means:

(1) a capital asset addition to, or replacement of a nursing home or certified boarding care home that results in new space or the remodeling of or renovations to existing facility space; and

(2) the remodeling or renovation of existing facility space the use of which is modified as a result of the project described in clause (1). This existing space and the project described in clause (1) must be used for the functions as designated on the construction plans on completion of the project described in clause (1) for a period of not less than 24 months.

(h) "Depreciation guidelines" means the most recent publication of "The Estimated Useful Lives of Depreciable Hospital Assets," issued by the American Hospital Association, 840 North Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, Illinois, 60611.

(i) "New licensed" or "new certified beds" means:

(1) newly constructed beds in a facility or the construction of a new facility that would increase the total number of licensed nursing home beds or certified boarding care or nursing home beds in the state; or

(2) newly licensed nursing home beds or newly certified boarding care or nursing home beds that result from remodeling of the facility that involves relocation of beds but does not result in an increase in the total number of beds, except when the project involves the upgrade of boarding care beds to nursing home beds, as defined in section 144A.073, subdivision 1. "Remodeling" includes any of the type of conversion, renovation, replacement, or upgrading projects as defined in section 144A.073, subdivision 1.

(i) "Project construction costs" means the cost of the following items that have a completion date within 12 months before or after the completion date of the project described in item (g), clause (1):

Copyright © 2005 Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.

144A.071 NURSING HOMES AND HOME CARE

(2) replacements;

(3) renovations;

(4) remodeling projects;

(5) construction site preparation costs;

(6) related soft costs; and

(7) the cost of new technology implemented as part of the construction project and depreciable equipment directly identified to the project, if the construction costs for clauses (1) to (6) exceed the threshold for additions and replacements stated in section 256B.431, subdivision 16. Technology and depreciable equipment shall be included in the project construction costs unless a written election is made by the facility, to not include it in the facility's appraised value for purposes of Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0020, subpart 5. Debt incurred for purchase of technology and depreciable equipment shall be included as allowable debt for purposes of Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060, subpart 5, items A and C, unless the written election is to not include it. Any new technology and depreciable equipment included in the project construction costs that the facility clects not to include in its appraised value and allowable debt shall be treated as provided in section 256B.431, subdivision 17, paragraph (b). Written election under this paragraph must be included in the facility's request for the rate change related to the project, and this election may not be changed.

(k) "Technology" means information systems or devices that make documentation, charting, and staff time more efficient or encourage and allow for care through alternative settings including, but not limited to, touch screens, monitors, hand-helds, swipe cards, motion detectors, pagers, telemedicine, medication dispensers, and equipment to monitor vital signs and self-injections, and to observe skin and other conditions.

[For text of subds 2 to 8, see M.S.2004]

History: 2005 c 68 art 1 s 1

144A.073 REVIEW OF PROPOSALS REQUIRING EXCEPTIONS TO THE MORA-TORIUM.

[For text of subds 1 to 3c, see M.S.2004]

Subd. 3d. Project amendment authorized. Notwithstanding the provisions of subdivision 3b:

(1) the commissioner may approve a request by a nursing facility located in the city of Duluth with 48 licensed beds as of January 1, 2005, that received approval under this section in 2002 for a moratorium exception project for amendment of the project design that:

(i) reduces the total amount of common space devoted to resident and family uses by more than five percent if the total amount of common space in the facility, including that added by the project, is at least 175 percent of the state requirement for common space; and

(ii) reduces the space for no more than two residents' living areas by increasing the size of a majority of the single-bed rooms from the size in the project design as originally approved and converting two single-bed rooms in the project design as originally approved to one semi-private room; and

(2) the commissioner may approve a request by a nursing facility located in the city of Duluth with 129 licensed beds as of January 1, 2005, that received approval under this section in 2002 for a moratorium exception project for amendment of the project design that:

(i) reduces the total amount of common space devoted to resident and family uses by more than five percent if the total amount of common space in the facility, including

NURSING HOMES AND HOME CARE 144A.135

that added by the project, is at least 175 percent of the state requirement for common space; and

(ii) reduces the space for no more than four residents' living areas by increasing the size of a majority of the single-bed rooms from the size in the project design as originally approved and converting four single-bed rooms in the project design as originally approved to two semi-private rooms; and

(3) the amended project designs in clauses (1) and (2) must provide solutions to all of the problems addressed by the original application that are at least as effective as the original solutions.

[For text of subds 4 to 9, see M.S.2004]

Subd. 10. Extension of approval of moratorium exception. Notwithstanding subdivision 3, the commissioner of health shall extend project approval for an additional 36 months for any proposed exception to the nursing home licensure and certification moratorium if the proposal was approved under this section between July 1, 2001, and June 30, 2003.

[For text of subd 11, see M.S.2004]

History: 1Sp2005 c 4 art 7 s 1,2

144A.135 TRANSFER AND DISCHARGE APPEALS.

(a) The commissioner shall establish a mechanism for hearing appeals on transfers and discharges of residents by nursing homes or boarding care homes licensed by the commissioner. The commissioner may adopt permanent rules to implement this section.

(b) Until federal regulations are adopted under sections 1819(f)(3) and 1919(f)(3) of the Social Security Act that govern appeals of the discharges or transfers of residents from nursing homes and boarding care homes certified for participation in Medicare or medical assistance, the commissioner shall provide hearings under sections 14.57 to 14.62 and the rules adopted by the Office of Administrative Hearings governing contested cases. To appeal the discharge or transfer, or notification of an intended discharge or transfer, a resident or the resident's representative must request a hearing in writing no later than 30 days after receiving written notice, which conforms to state and federal law, of the intended discharge or transfer.

(c) Hearings under this section shall be held no later than 14 days after receipt of the request for hearing, unless impractical to do so or unless the parties agree otherwise. Hearings shall be held in the facility in which the resident resides, unless impractical to do so or unless the parties agree otherwise.

(d) A resident who timely appeals a notice of discharge or transfer, and who resides in a certified nursing home or boarding care home, may not be discharged or transferred by the nursing home or boarding care home until resolution of the appeal. The commissioner can order the facility to readmit the resident if the discharge or transfer was in violation of state or federal law. If the resident is required to be hospitalized for medical necessity before resolution of the appeal, the facility shall readmit the resident unless the resident's attending physician documents, in writing, why the resident's specific health care needs cannot be met in the facility.

(e) The commissioner and Office of Administrative Hearings shall conduct the hearings in compliance with the federal regulations described in paragraph (b), when adopted.

(f) Nothing in this section limits the right of a resident or the resident's representative to request or receive assistance from the Office of Ombudsman for Older Minnesotans or the Office of Health Facility Complaints with respect to an intended discharge or transfer.

(g) A person required to inform a health care facility of the person's status as a registered predatory offender under section 243.166, subdivision 4b, who knowingly fails to do so shall be deemed to have endangered the safety of individuals in the

144A.135 NURSING HOMES AND HOME CARE

facility under Code of Federal Regulations, chapter 42, section 483.12. Notwithstanding paragraph (d), any appeal of the notice and discharge shall not constitute a stay of the discharge.

History: 2005 c 136 art 3 s 2

144A.46 LICENSURE.

[For text of subd 1, see M.S.2004]

Subd. 2. Exemptions. The following individuals or organizations are exempt from the requirement to obtain a home care provider license:

(1) a person who is licensed as a registered nurse under sections 148.171 to 148.285 and who independently provides nursing services in the home without any contractual or employment relationship to a home care provider or other organization;

(2) a personal care assistant who provides services to only one individual under the medical assistance program as authorized under sections 256B.0625, subdivision 19a, and 256B.04, subdivision 16;

(3) a person or organization that exclusively offers, provides, or arranges for personal care assistant services to only one individual under the medical assistance program as authorized under sections 256B.0625, subdivision 19a, and 256B.04, subdivision 16;

(4) a person who is licensed under sections 148.65 to 148.78 and who independently provides physical therapy services in the home without any contractual or employment relationship to a home care provider or other organization;

(5) a provider that is licensed by the commissioner of human services to provide semi-independent living services under Minnesota Rules, parts 9525.0500 to 9525.0660 when providing home care services to a person with a developmental disability;

(6) a provider that is licensed by the commissioner of human services to provide home and community-based services under Minnesota Rules, parts 9525.2000 to 9525.2140 when providing home care services to a person with a developmental disability;

(7) a person or organization that provides only home management services, if the person or organization is registered under section 144A.461; or

(8) a person who is licensed as a social worker under chapter 148D and who provides social work services in the home independently and not through any contractual or employment relationship with a home care provider or other organization.

An exemption under this subdivision does not excuse the individual from complying with applicable provisions of the home care bill of rights.

[For text of subds 3 to 5, see M.S.2004]

History: 2005 c 147 art 1 s 4

144A.751 HOSPICE BILL OF RIGHTS.

Subdivision 1. Statement of rights. An individual who receives hospice care has the right to:

(1) receive written information about rights in advance of receiving hospice care or during the initial evaluation visit before the initiation of hospice care, including what to do if rights are violated;

(2) receive care and services according to a suitable hospice plan of care and subject to accepted hospice care standards and to take an active part in creating and changing the plan and evaluating care and services;

(3) be told in advance of receiving care about the services that will be provided, the disciplines that will furnish care, the frequency of visits proposed to be furnished, other choices that are available, and the consequence of these choices, including the consequences of refusing these services;

Copyright © 2005 Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.

NURSING HOMES AND HOME CARE 144A.751

(4) be told in advance, whenever possible, of any change in the hospice plan of care and to take an active part in any change;

(5) refuse services or treatment;

(6) know, in advance, any limits to the services available from a provider, and the provider's grounds for a termination of services;

(7) know in advance of receiving care whether the hospice services may be covered by health insurance, medical assistance, Medicare, or other health programs in which the individual is enrolled;

(8) receive, upon request, a good faith estimate of the reimbursement the provider expects to receive from the health plan company in which the individual is enrolled. A good faith estimate must also be made available at the request of an individual who is not enrolled in a health plan company. This payment information does not constitute a legally binding estimate of the cost of services;

(9) know that there may be other services available in the community, including other end of life services and other hospice providers, and know where to go for information about these services;

(10) choose freely among available providers and change providers after services have begun, within the limits of health insurance, medical assistance, Medicare, or other health programs;

(11) have personal, financial, and medical information kept private and be advised of the provider's policies and procedures regarding disclosure of such information;

(12) be allowed access to records and written information from records according to section 144.335;

(13) be served by people who are properly trained and competent to perform their duties;

(14) be treated with courtesy and respect and to have the patient's property treated with respect;

(15) voice grievances regarding treatment or care that is, or fails to be, furnished or regarding the lack of courtesy or respect to the patient or the patient's property;

(16) be free from physical and verbal abuse;

(17) reasonable, advance notice of changes in services or charges, including at least ten days' advance notice of the termination of a service by a provider, except in cases where:

(i) the recipient of services engages in conduct that alters the conditions of employment between the hospice provider and the individual providing hospice services, or creates an abusive or unsafe work environment for the individual providing hospice services;

(ii) an emergency for the informal caregiver or a significant change in the recipient's condition has resulted in service needs that exceed the current service provider agreement and that cannot be safely met by the hospice provider; or

(iii) the recipient is no longer certified as terminally ill;

(18) a coordinated transfer when there will be a change in the provider of services;

(19) know how to contact an individual associated with the provider who is responsible for handling problems and to have the provider investigate and attempt to resolve the grievance or complaint;

(20) know the name and address of the state or county agency to contact for additional information or assistance;

(21) assert these rights personally, or have them asserted by the hospice patient's family when the patient has been judged incompetent, without retaliation; and

(22) have pain and symptoms managed to the patient's desired level of comfort.

161

144A.751 NURSING HOMES AND HOME CARE

[For text of subd 2, see M.S.2004]

Subd. 3. Disclosure. A copy of these rights must be provided to an individual at the time hospice care is initiated. The copy shall contain the address and telephone number of the Office of Health Facility Complaints and the Office of the Ombudsman for Older Minnesotans and a brief statement describing how to file a complaint with these offices. Information about how to contact the Office of the Ombudsman for Older Minnesotans shall be included in notices of change in provider fees and in notices where hospice providers initiate transfer or discontinuation of services.

History: 2005 c 122 s 1,2

144A.755 INFORMATION AND REFERRAL SERVICES.

The commissioner shall ensure that information and referral services relating to hospice care are available in all regions of the state. The commissioner shall collect and make available information about available hospice care, sources of payment, providers, and the rights of patients. The commissioner shall, as a condition of licensure, require a hospice provider to complete the sections entitled Identification and Contact Information, Program Demographics, Patient Volume, Patient Demographics, and Inpatient and Residential Facilities in the National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization National Data Set Survey and to submit the survey to the National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization once in the 12 calendar months before the hospice provider's license renewal date. If the Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services requires hospice providers to complete a different data set as a condition of certification, the commissioner shall accept the completion and submittal of such data set as compliance with this requirement. The commissioner shall not use any data or information about any hospice provider submitted to the National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization in connection with this data set in any regulatory function with respect to the hospice provider. The commissioner may publish and make available:

(1) general information describing hospice care in the state;

(2) limitations on hours, availability of services, and eligibility for third-party payments, applicable to individual providers; and

(3) other information the commissioner determines to be appropriate.

History: 2005 c 122 s 3

NOTE: The amendment to this section by Laws 2005, chapter 122, section 3, is effective August 1, 2005, and applies to licenses renewed beginning January 1, 2006, for hospices serving more than 400 patients a year; licenses renewed beginning January 1, 2007, for hospices serving at least 300 patients a year; and licenses renewed beginning January 1, 2008, for hospices serving fewer than 300 patients a year. Laws 2005, chapter 122, section 5.

162