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JOINT SELF-INSURANCE

62H.01 AUTHORITY TO JOINTLY SELF-INSURE.

Any two or more employers, excluding the state and its political subdivisions as
described in section 471.617, subdivision 1, who are authorized to transact business in
Minnesota may jointly self-insure employee health, dental, short-term disability bene-
fits, or other benefits permitted under the Employee Retirement Income Security Act
of 1974, United States Code, title 29, sections 1001 et seq. If an-employer chooses to
jointly self-insure in accordance with this chapter, the employer must participate in the
joint plan for at least three consecutive years. If an employer terminates participation
in the joint plan before the conclusion of this three-year period, a financial penalty may
be assessed under the joint plan, not to exceed the amount contributed by the employer
to the plan’s reserves as- determined under Minnesota Rules, part 2765.1200. Joint
plans must have a minimum of 1,000 covered enrollees and meet all conditions and
terms of sections 62H.01 to 62H.08. Joint plans covering employers not resident in
Minnesota must meet the requirements of sections 62H.01 to 62H.08 as if the portion
of the plan covering Minnesota resident employees was treated as a separate plan.

A multiple employer welfare arrangement as defined in United States Code, title
29, section 1002(40)(a), is subject to this chapter to the extent authorized by the
Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974, United States Code, title 29,
sections 1001 et seq. The commissioner of commerce may, on behalf of the state, enter
into an agreement with the United States Secretary of Labor for delegation to the state
of some or all of the secretary’s enforcement authority with respect to multiple
employer welfare arrangements, as described in United States Code, title 29, section
1136(c). ' '

History: 1983 ¢ 241 s 1; 1987 ¢ 337 s 74; 1992 ¢ 549 art 3 5 18; 1992 ¢ 564 art 1 5 43;
1994 "¢ 485 5 36; 1997 ¢ 175 art 4 s 1; 2002 ¢ 330 s 17; 2004 ¢ 288 art 6 s 4

62H.02 REQUIRED PROVISIONS.

A joint self-insurance plan must include aggregate excess stop-loss coverage and
individual excess stop-loss coverage provided by an insurance company licensed by the
state of Minnesota. Aggregate excess stop-loss coverage must include provisions to
cover incurred, unpaid claim liability in the event of plan termination. In addition, the
plan of self-insurance must have participating employers fund an amount at least equal
to the point at which the excess or stop-loss insurer has contracted to assume 100
percent of additional liability. A joint self-insurance plan must submit its proposed
excess or stop-loss insurance contract to the commissioner of commerce at least 30 days
prior to the proposed plan’s effective date and at least 30 days subsequent to any
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renewal date. The commissioner shall review the contract to determine if they meet the
standards established by sections 62H.01 to 62H.08 and respond within a 30-day period.
Any excess or stop-loss insurance plan must contain a provision that the excess or stop-
loss insurer will give the plan.and the’ commissioner of‘commeice a minimum of 180
days’ notice of termination or- nonrenewal. If the.-plan fails to secure replacement
coverage within 60 days after receipt of the notice of ‘cancellation or nonrenewal, the
commissioner shall issue an order providing for the orderly termination of the plan.
The commissioner may waivé the requirements of this section and of any rule relating
to the requirements of this section, if the commissioner determines that a joint self-
insurance plan ‘has éstablished alternative arrangements that fully fund the plans
liability or incurred but unpa1d claims. The commissioner may not'waive the require-
ment that a joint self-insurance plan have excess stop-loss coverage.

History: 1983 ¢ 241 s 2; 1983 ¢ 289 s 114 subd 1; 1984 ¢ 655 art 15 92; 1987 ¢ 337 s
75, 2004 ¢ 288 art6s5

62H.03 MARKETING, RISK MANAGEMENT, OR ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES.

No joint self-insurance plan may offer marketing, risk management, or administra-
tive services unless these services are provided by vendors duly licensed by the
commissioner to provide these services. No vendor of these services may be a trustee of
any joint self-insurance plan for Wthh they provide marl\etmg, r1sl( management, Or
administrative services. : .

History: 1983 ¢ 241 s 3

62H 04 COMPLIANCE WITH OTHER LAWS

.- (a) A joint self-insurance plan is subject to the requ1rements of chapters 62A, 62E
62L,.and 62Q, and sections 72A:17 to 72A.32 unless otherwise specifically exempt. A
joint self-insurance plan must pay assessments made by the Minnesota Comprehensive
Health Association, as-required-under section 62E.11.

“(b) A joint self-insurance plan is exempt from providing the- mandated health
benefits described in chapters 62A; 62E, 62L, and.- 62Q if it otherwise provides the
benefits required under the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974, United
States Code, title 29, sections 1001, et seq., for all employers and not just for the
employers with 50-or more employees who are covered by that federal law. -

() A joint 'self-insurance plan is’ exempt from séctioh 621..03, subdivision 1, if the
plan offers an"annual open enrollment period of no less than 15 days during which all
employers that qualify for membership may enter the ‘plan without preexisting condi-
tion lirhitations or exclusions except those permitted under chapter 62L.

(d) A joint self-insurance plan is exempt from sections 62A.146, 62A.16, 62A.17,
62A.20, 62A.21, 62A.65, subdivision 5, paragraph (b), and 62E.16 if the joint self-
insurance plan complies with the continuation requirements under the Employee
Retlrement Income Seécurity Act of 1974, United States Code, title 29, sections 1001, et
seq., for all employers and not just for the employers with 20 or more employees who
are covered by that federal law.

(e) A joint self-insurance plan must provide to all employers the maternity
coverage required by federal law for employers with 15 or more employees.

History: 1983 ¢ 241 s 4; 1987 ¢ 337 s 76 1995 ¢ 234 art 7 s 10; 2002 ¢ 330 s 18; 2004
c288art6s6

62H 05 MANAGEMENT OF FUNDS

Funds collected from the participating employers under joint self—msurance plans
must be held in trust subject to the following requirements:-

(a) A board of trustees elected by participating employers shall serve as fund
managers on behalf of participants. Trustees must be plan participants. No participat-
ing employer may-be represented by more'than one trustee. A minimum of three and a
maximum of seven trustees may be elected. Trustees shall receive no remuneration, but

i
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they may be reimbursed for actual and reasonable expenses incurred in connection with
duties as trustees.

(b) Trustees shall be bonded in an amount not less than $100,000 or no more than
$500,000 from a licensed bonding company. o

(c) Investment of plan funds is subject to the same restrrcuons as are applicable to
political subdivisions pursuant to section 118A.04. All investments must be managed: by
a bank or other investment organization licensed to operate in Minnesota.

(d) Trustees, on behalf of the fund, shall file annual reports with'the commissioner
of commerce within 30 days immediately following the end of each calendar year. The
reports must summarize the financial condition of the fund, itemize collection from
participating employers, and detail all fund expenditures. .

History: 1983 ¢ 241 5 5; 1983 ¢ 289 s 114 subd 1; 1984 ¢ 655 art 1 s 92: 1996 ¢ 399
art 25 12

62H.06 REGULATION OF PLANS BY COMMISSIONER._

The commissioner of commerce shall promulgate rules to insure the solvency and
operation of all self-insured plans subject to this chapter. The commissioner may
examine the joint self-insurance plans pursuant to sections.60A.03 and 60A.031.

History: 1983 ¢ 241 s 6; 1983 ¢ 289 s 114 subd 1; 1984 ¢ 640 s 32; 1984 c 655 art 1 s
92; 1985 ¢ 248 5 26; 1995 ¢ 233 art 2 5 56

62H.07 [Repealed, 2004 ¢ 288 art 6 s 31]

62H.08 EXEMPTION.

A homogenous joint employer plan prov1d1ng group health benefits, whrch was in
existence prior to March 1, 1983, and which is associated with, or organized or
- sponsored by, an association exempt from taxation under United States Code, title 26,
section 501(c)(6), and controlled by a board of trustees a majority of whom are
members of the association, is exempt from the requirements of sections 62H.01 to
62H.08 and 471.617, subdivisions 1 to 3, and the insurance laws of this state, except that
the association must comply with the provisions of chapter 62L with respect to any
members that are small employers.

History: 1983 ¢ 241 5 8; 1995 ¢ 234 ant 7 11

MULTIPLE EMPLOYER WELFARE
ARRANGEMENTS (MEWAs)

62H.10 DEFINITIONS.

Subdivision 1. Scope. For purposes of sections 62H.10 to 62H.17, the terms in this
section have the meanings given them. ‘

Subd. 2. Agent. “Agent” means an agent as defined under section 60A.02,
subdrvrslon 7. )

Subd. 3. Arrangement “Arrangement” means a fund, trust, plan, program, or
other mechanism by which a person provides, or attempts to provide, health care
benefits to individuals.

Subd. 4. Broker. “Broker” means an agent engaged in brokerage business pursuant
to section 60K.49.

Subd. 5. Collectively bargained arrangement. “Collectively bargained arrange-
ment” means an arrangement which provides or represents that it is providing health
care benefits or coverage under or pursuant to one or more collective bargaining
agreements. .

Subd. 6. Commissioner, “Commissioner” means the commissioner of commerce.

Subd. 7. Employee leasing arrangement. “Employee leasing arrangement” means a
labor leasing, staff leasing, employee ‘leasing, contract labor, extended employee
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staffing. or supply, or othér arrangement, under contract or otherwise, whereby one
busmess or entity leases or obtains all or a s1gn1flcant number of its workers from
another. business or entity. :

Subd. 8. Employee welfare benefit plan. “Employee welfare beneflt plan” means a
plan, fund, or program established or maintained.-by an employer or by an employee
organization, or by both, to the extent that the plan, fund, or program was established
or is maintained for the purpose of providing for its participants or their beneficiaries,
through the purchase of insurance or otherwise, medical, surgical, or hospital care or
beneflts or benefits in the event of sickness, accident, disability, death, or unemploy-
ment. :
Subd. 9. Fully msured by a licensed insurer. “Fully insured by a licensed insurer”
means that, for all of the health care benefits or coverage provided or offered by or
through an arrangement:

(1) a licensed insurer is directly obllgated by contract to provide all of the coverage
to or under the arrangement;

(2) the licensed insurer assumes all of the. risk for payment of all covered services
or benefits; and : :

(3) the liability of the licensed ‘insurer for payment of the covered services or
benefits is drrectly to the . individual- employee member or dependent. recervrng the
health care services.

Subd. 10. Licensed insurer. “Licensed insurer” means an insurer hav1ng a certifi-
cate of authority to transact insurance in this state.

Subd. 11. Reportable MEWA. “Reportable MEWA” means a person that provides
health care benefits or coverage to the employees of two or more employers.
Reportable MEWA does not include:-

(1) a licensed insurer;
(2) an arrangement which is fully 1nsured by a llcensed insurer;
(3) a collectively bargained arrangement;

(4) an employee welfare benefit plan estabhshed or ma1nta1ned by a rural electric
cooperative or a rural telephone cooperative;

(5) an employee leasing arrangement; or

(6) a joint self-insurance employee health plan, which includes but is not limited to
multiple employee welfare arrangements and multiple employer welfare arrangements
(MEWA), having a certlflcate of authorrty to transact insurance in this state pursuant
to chapter 62H.

Subd. 12. Rural electric cooperative. “Rural electric cooperative” means:

(1) an organization that is exempt from tax under United States Code, title 26,
section 501(a), and which is engaged primarily in providing electric service on a mutual
or cooperative basis; or

(2) an organization described in United Statées Code, title 26, section 501(c),
paragraph (4) or (6), which is exempt from tax under United States Code, title 26,
section 501(a), and at least 80 percent of the members of which are organizations
described in clause (1). ‘

Subd. 13. Rural telephone cooperative. “Rural telephone cooperative” means an
organization described in United States Code, title 26, section 501(c), paragraph (4) or
(6), which is exempt from tax under United States Code, title 26, section 501(a), and at
least 80. percent of the members of which are organizations engaged primarily in
providing telephone service to.rural areas of the Umted States on a mutual coopera-
tive, or other basis.

Subd. 14. Third party administrator. “Thlrd party admlnrstrator means a vendor
of risk management services or an entity administering' a self-insurance or insurance
plan under section 60A.23.,

- History: 1994c485s37 2000c483s 15; 700] cl17.art 2510
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62H.11 AGENTS AND BROKERS PROHIBITED FROM ASSISTING REPORTABLE
MEWAS PRIOR TO FILING.

(a) No agent or broker may solicit, advertise, or market in this state health benefits
or coverage from, or accept an application for, or place coverage for a person who
resides in this state with, a reportable MEWA unless the agent or broker first files with
the commissioner the information required under section 62H.16. -

(b) No agent or broker may solicit another agent or broker to enter into an
arrangement to solicit, advertise, or market services, health benefits, or coverage of a
reportable MEWA unless the agent or broker first files with the commissioner the
information required under section 62H.16.

History: 1994 c 4855 38

62H.12 AGENTS AND BROKERS PROHIBITED FROM ASSISTING EMPLOYEE
LEASING ARRANGEMENTS PRIOR TO FILING.

(a) No agent or broker may solicit, advertise, or market in this state the services,
health benefits, or coverage of an employee leasing arrangement or a person or
arrangement which represents itself as an employee leasing arrangement unless the
agent or broker first files with the commissioner the information required under section
62H.16. :

(b) No agent or broker may solicit another ‘agent or broker to enter into an
arrangement to-solicit, advertise, or market the services, health benefits, or coverage of
an employee leasing arrangement unless the agent or broker first files w1th the
commissioner the information required under section 62H.16.

History: 1994 ¢ 485 s 39

62H.13 AGENTS AND BROKERS PROHIBITED FROM ASSISTING COLLECTIVE-
LY BARGAINED ARRANGEMENTS PRIOR TO FILING.

(a) No agent or broker may solicit, advertise, or market in this state health benefits
or coverage from, or accept an application for, or place coverage for a person who
resides in this state with, a collectively bargained arrangement or an arrangement that
represents itself as a collectively bargained arrangement unless the agent or broker first
files with the commissioner the information required under section 62H.16.

(b) No agent or broker may solicit another agent or broker to enter into an
arrangement to- solicit, advertise, or market the health benefits or coverage of a
collectively bargained arrangement unless the agent or broker first files with the
commissioner the information required under section 62H.16.

History: 1994 ¢ 485 s 40

62H.14 THIRD PARTY ADMINISTRATORS AND LICENSED INSURERS PROHIB-
ITED FROM ASSISTING REPORTABLE MEWAS PRIOR TO FILING.

(a) No third party administrator may solicit or effect coverage of, underwrite for,
collect charges or premium for, or adjust or settle claims of a resident of this state for,
or enter into any agreement to perform any of those functions for, a reportable MEWA
that provides coverage to residents of this state unless the third party administrator first
files with the commissioner the information required under section 62H.16.

(b) No licensed insurer may solicit or effect coverage of, underwrite for, collect
charges or premiums for, adjust or settle claims of a resident of this state for, or enter
into any agreement to perform any of those functions for a reportable MEWA that
provides coverage to residents of this state unless the insurer first files with the
commissioner the information required under section 62H.16.

(c) A licensed insurer that issues or has issued any insurance coverage to a
reportable MEWA that covers residents of this state, including, but not limited to,
specific or aggregate stop-loss coverage, shall file with the commissioner the informa-
tion required under section 62H.16 within 30 days after the coverage is issued or within
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30 days aftér the date the reportable MEWA first provides coverage to a resident of
this state, whichever is later.

History: 1994 ¢ 485 s 41

62H.15 LACK OF KNOWLEDGE NOT A DEFENSE.

(a) Lack of knowledge or intent to deceive with respect to the organization or
status of insurance coverage of a reportable MEWA, employee leasing firm, or
collectively bargained arrangement is not a defense to a violation of sections 62H.10 to
62H.17.

(b) A filing under sections 62H.10 to 62H.17 is solely for the purpose of providing
information to the commissioner. Sections 62H.10 to 62H.17 and a filing under those
sections do not authorize or license a reportable MEWA, employee leasing firm,
collectively bargained arrangement, or any other arrangement to engage in business in
this state if otherwise prohibited by law.

History: 1994 ¢ 485 s 42

62H.16 INFORMATION REQUIRED TO BE FILED AND KEPT CURRENT.

.. (a) An agent, broker, third party administrator, or insurer required to file under
sections 62H.10 to 62H.17 shall file with the commissioner all of the following
information on a form prescribed by the commissioner:

(1) a copy of the, organizational documents of the reportable MEWA, employee
leasing firm, or collectively bargained arrangement, including the articles of incorpo—
ration and bylaws, partnership agreement, or trust instrument;

(2) a copy of each insurance or reinsurance contract that purports to insure or
guarantee all or any portion of benefits or coverage offered by the reportable MEWA,
employee leasing firm, or collectlvely bargained arrangement to a person who resides in
this state;

(3) copies of the benefit plan description and other materials intended to be
distributed to potential purchasers; and

(4) the names and addresses of all persons performing or expected to perform the
functions of a third party administrator for the reportable MEWA, employee [easing
firm, or collectively bargained arrangement. .

(b) A filing under sections 62H.10 to 62H.17 is ineffective and is not in compllance
with those sections if it is incomplete or inaccurate in a material respect. .

(c) A person who has made a filing under sections 62H.10 to 62H.17 shall amend
the filing within 30 days of the date the person becomes aware, or exercising due
diligence should have become aware, of any material change to the information
requrred to be filed. The amended filing must accurately reflect the material change to
the information originally filed. :

History: 1994 ¢ 4855 43 "

62H.17 LIABILITY FOR VIOLATION.

If an arrangement that is an unauthorized insurer fails to pay a claim or loss in this
state within the provisions of its contract, a person who violates sections 62H.10 to
62H.17 with respect to the arrangement is liable to the insured for the full amount of
the claim or loss in the manner provided by the provisions of the insurance contract.

- History: 1994 ¢ 485 s 44
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