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FAIR LABOR STANDARDS ACT

177.21 CITATION; FAIR LABOR STANDARDS ACT.

Sections 177.21 to 177.35 may be cited as the “Minnesota Fair Labor Standards
Act.”

Hlstory: 1973 ¢ 721 s 1; 1984 c 628 art 4 5 1

177.22 STATEMENT OF PURPOSE.

The purpose of the Minnesota Fair Labor Standards Act is: (1) to establ1sh
minimum wage and overtime compensation standards that maintain workers’ health,
efficiency, and general well-being; (2) to safeguard existing minimum wage and
overtime compensation standards that maintain workers’ health, efficiency, and general
well-being against the unfair competition of wage and hour standards that do not; and
(3) to sustain purchasing power and increase employment opportumtles

History: 1973 ¢ 721 5 2; 1984 ¢c 628 art 4 s 1

177.23 DEFINITIONS.

Subdivision 1. Scope. Unless the language or context clearly indicates that a
different meaning is intended, the followmg terms, for the purposes of sections 177.21
to 177.35, have the meanings given to them in this section.

Subd. 2. Department. “Department” means the Department of Labor and Indus-
try. '

“Subd. 3. Commissioner. “Commissioner” means thc commissioner of labor and
industry or authorized designee or representative.

Subd. 4. Wage. “Wage” means compensation due to an employee by reason of
employment, payable in legal tender of the United States, check on -banks convertible
into cash on demand at full face value or, except for instances of written objection to
the employer by the employce, direct deposit to the employée’s choice of demand
deposit account, subject to allowances permitted by rules of the department under
section 177.28.

Subd. 5. Employ. “Employ” means to permit to work.

Subd. 6. Employer. “Employer” means any individual, partnership, association,
corporation, business trust, or any person or group of persons acting directly or
indirectly in the interest of an employer in relation to an employee.

Subd. 7. Employee. “Employce” means any individual employed by an employer
but does not include:

(1) two or fewer specified mdmduals employed at any given time in agriculture on
a farming unit or operation who are paid a salary;

(2) any individual employed in agriculture on a farming unit or operation who is
paid a salary greater than the individual would be paid if the individual worked 48
hours at the state minimum wage plus 17 hours at 1-1/2 times the state minimum wage
per week;

(3) an .individual under 18 who is employed in agriculture on a farm to perform
scrvices other than corn detasscling or hand field work when one or both of that minor
hand field worker’s parents or physical custodians are also hand field -workers;

(4) for purposes of section 177 24, an individual under 18 who is employed as a
corn detasseler;
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(5) any staff member employed on a seasonal basis by an organization for work in
an organized resident or day camp operatmg, under a permit “issucd under section
144.72;

(6) any individual employcd in a bona fide executive, administrative, or profession-
al capacity, or a salesperson who conducts no more than 20 percent of sales on the
premises of the employer;

(7) any individual who renders service gratuitously for a nonprofit organization;

(8) any individual who serves as an clected official for a political subdivision or
who serves on any governmental board, commission, committee or other similar body,
or who renders scrvice gratuitously for a political subdivision;

(9) any individual employed by a political subdivision to provide police or fire
protection services or employed by an entity whose principal purpose is to provide
police or fire protection services to a political subdivision;

(10) any individual employed by a political subdivision who is ineligible for
membership in the Public Employees Retirement Association under section 353.01,
subdivision 2b, clause (1), (2), (4), or (9);

(11) any driver employed by an employer enoaged in the business of operating
taxicabs; :

(12) any individual engaged in babysitting as a sole practitioner;

(13) for the purpose of scction 177.25, any individual employed on a seasonal basis
in a carnival, circus, fair, or ski facility;

(14) any individual under 18 working less than 20 hours per workweek for a
municipality as part of a recreational program;

(15) any individual employed by the state as a natural resource manager 1 2,0r3
(conservation officer);

(16) any individual in a posmon for which the United States Department of
Transportation has power to. establish qualifications and maximum hours of scrvice
under United States Code, title 49, section 304;

(17) any individual employed as a seafarer. The term “seafarer” means a master of
a vessel or any pcrson subject to the authority, direction, and control of the master who
is exempt from fedcral overtime standards under United States Code, title 29, section
213(b)(6), including but not limited to pilots, sailors, engineers, radio operators,
firefighters, security gudrds pursers, surgeons, cooks, and stewards;

~ (18) any individual employed by a county in a_single-family residcnce owned by a
county home school as authorized under section 260B.060 if the residence is an
extension facility of that county home school, and if the individual as part of the
employment duties resides at the residence for the purpose of supervising children as
defined by section 260C.007, subdivision 4; or

(19) nuns, monks, priests, lay brothers, lay sisters, ministers, deacons, and other
members of religious orders who serve pursuant to their religious obligations in
schools, hospltals and other nonprofit institutions operated by the church or religious
order.

Subd. 8. Occupation. “Occupation” means any occupation, scrvice, trade, business,
industry, or branch or group of industries or employment or class of employment in
which employces are gainfully employed.

Subd. 9. Gratuities. “Gratuitics” means monetary contributions received directly or
indirectly by an employee from a guest, patron, or customer for services rendered and
includes an obligatory charge asscssed to customers, guesis or patrons which might
reasonably be construed by the guest, customer, or patron as being a payment for
personal services rendered by an employec and for which no clear and conspicuous
notice is given by the employer to the customer, guest, or patron that the charge is not
the property of the employee.

Subd: 10. On-site employee; hours worked. With respect to any caretaker, manag-
er, or other on-site employec of a residential building or buildings whose principal
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place of residence is in the residential building, including a carctaker, manager, or
other on-site employee who receives a principal place of residence as full or partial
compensation for duties performed for an employer, the term “hours worked” includes
time when the caretaker, manager, or other on-site cmployee is performing any duties
of employment but does not mean time when the caretaker, manager, or other on-site
employee is on the premises and available to pcrform duties of cmployment and is not
performing dutics of employment.

Subd. 11. Companionship services; hours. Wllll respect to an individual who is: (1)
employed to provide companionship services to individuals who,. because of age or
infirmity, are unable to care for their own needs; (2) employed to stay overnight in the
home of such an aged or infirm individual; and (3) paid the minimum wage or more for
at least four hours associated with the overnight stay, the term “hours” for the purposes
of requiring the payment of minimum wages and overtime premiums under sections
177.24 and 177.25, shall not include nighttime. hours, from 10:00 p.m. to 9:00 a.m., up
to a total of eight hours per night, dunng which the employec is available to perform
dutics for the aged or infirm. 1nd1v1dual but is not in fact performmg such duties and is
free to slcep and otherwisc engage in normal private pursuits in the aged or infirm
individual’s home. For the purposes of this subdivision, the term “companionship
services” is defined in Code of Federal Reguldtlons t1tle ”9 scctlons 552 6 and 552.106
as of March 1, 1984.

History: 1973 ¢ 721 s 3; 1974 ¢ 406 s 88; 1975 ¢ 399's 11977 ¢ 369 s 1; 1978 ¢ 586 s
1; 1978 ¢ 731 s 1; 1979 ¢ 281 s 1; 1980 ¢ 415 s I; 1982 ¢ 424 5 46-48; 1982 ¢ 675 s 14;
1983 ¢60s1;1983¢12251; 1984 c 6145 1; 1984 ¢ 628 art 45 1; 1Sp1985¢ 135~
274,275, 1986 ¢ 390 2, 1986 ¢ 44—! 1990 c 418 sl ]997 c 464 art’ls 74 ]999 c 139 an‘
4s 2 2()()1 cl78ant 1s44-

177. 24 PAYMENT OF MINIMUM WAGES

* Subdivision 1. Amount. (a) For purposes of this subd1v1s1on the terms d(,fmcd in
this paragraph have the meanings given them. e

(1) “Large employcr ‘means an enterprise whose 'mnual gross volume of: sdles
made or busincss done is not less than $500,000 (cxclusive of excise. taxes at the retail
level that are scparately stated) and covered by the anesol'x Fair Labor Standards
Acl sections 177.21 to 177.35. . :

2) ¢ ‘Small employer mcans ah enterprisc whose annual gross volume of sales
made or business donc is less than $500,000 (exclusive of excise taxes at the retail level
that are scparatély stated) and Lovored by the Minncsota Fair Labor Slandar ds Act,
sections 177.21 to 177.35.

(b) Except as othcrwise prov1ded in scctions 177. 21 to 177. 35, every large employcr
musl pay each. employee wages at a rate of at least $5.15 an hour beginning September

1997, Every small employer must pay each employee at a rate of at lcast $4.90 an
hour begmnmg January 1, 1998.

-, (c) Notwithstanding. paragraph (b) durmg the t1rst 90 consecutwe days of employ-
ment an employer-may pay an cmployee under the age of 20 years a wage of $4.25 an
hour. No employer may take any action to displace any, employec, including a partial
displacement through a reduction in hours, wages, or employmcnt benefits, in order to
hire an employee at the wage authorized in this paragraph.

Subd. la . [Expired]

Subd. 2. Gratuities not applied. No employer may d1rectly or indirectly credit,
apply, or Lll.lllZc gratuitics towards payment of the minimum wage set by this section or
federal law.

Subd. 3. Sharing of gratuities. For purposes of- thls chapte1 any gratulty recelved
by an employee or dcposited in or about a place of business.for-personal services
rendered by an cmployee is the solc property of the employee. No employcr may
require an employee to contribute or share a gratuity received by the employee with
the employer or other employees or to contribute any or all of the gratuity to a fund or
pool operated for the benefit of the employer or employees. This section-docs not

Copyright © 2004 Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



MINNESOTA STATUTES 2004

177.24 LABOR STANDARDS AND WAGES ] 758

prevent an employec from voluntarily and individually sharing gratuities with other
employees. The agreement to share gratuities must be made by the employees frce of
any employer participation. The commissioner may requirc the. employer to pay
restitution in the amount of the gratuities diverted. If the records maintained by the
employer do not provide sufficient information to determine the exact amount of
gratuities diverted, the commissioner may make a determination of gratuities diverted
bascd on available evidence and mediate a settlement with the employer.

Subd. 4. Unreimbursed expenses deducted. Deductions, direct or indirect, from
wages or gratuitics not authorized by this subdivision may only be taken as authorized
by sections 177.28, subdivision 3, 181.06, and 181.79. Deductions, dircct or indirect, for
up to the full cost of the uniform or equipment as listed below, may not excced $50. No
deductions, direct or indirect, may be made for the items listed below which when
subtracted from wages would reduce the wages below the minimum wage:

(a) purchased or rented uniforms or specially designed clothing required by the
employer, by the nature of the employment, or by statute as a condition of employ-
ment,; which is not gerierally appropriate for use except in that employment;

(b) purchased or rented equipment uscd in employment, except tools of a trade, a
motor vehicle, or any other equipment which may be used outside the employment;

(c) consumable supplies required in the course of that employment;

(d) trave] expenses in the course of employment except those incurred in trdvehng
to and from the employee’s residence and place of employment.

Subd. 5. Expense reimbursement. An employer, at the termination -of an employ-
ee’s employment, must reimburse the full amount deducted, directly or indirectly, for
any of the items listed in subdivision 4. When reimbursement is made, the employer.
may require the employee to surrender any existing items for which the employer
provided reimbursement.

History: 1973 ¢ 721 s 4, 1976 ¢ 165 s 1; 1977 ¢ 183 s1; 1977 ¢ 369 5 2; 1979 ¢ 281 s
2; 1981 ¢ 875 1,2; 1984 ¢ 628 art 4 s 1; 1Spl1985 ¢ 13 s 276-278; 1986 ¢ 444; 1987 ¢ 324 s
1; 1987 ¢ 384 art 2 s 45; 1990 ¢ 418 s 2-4; 1996 ¢ 305 z_m: 15 49,50; 2Sp1997 ¢ 1 s 1

177.25 OVERTIME.

Subdivision 1. Compensatlon required. No employer may employ an employee for
a workweek Jonger than 48 hours, unless the employce receives compensation for
cmployment in cxcess of 48 hours in a workweek at a rate of at least 1-1/2 times the
regular rate at which the cmployee is employed. The state of Minnesota or a political
subdivision may grant time off at the rate of 1-1/2 hours for each hour worked in cxcess
of 48 hours in a week in licu of monetary compensation. An employer does not violate
the overtime pay provisions of this section by employing any employees for a workweek
in excess of 48 hours without paying the compensation for overtime employment
prescribed (1) if the employee is employed under an agreement meeting the require-
ment of section 7(b)(2) of the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, as amended, or (2) if
the employec is employed as a sugar beet hand laborer on a piece rate basis, provided
that the rcgular rate of pay received per hour of work exceeds the applicable wage
provided in scction 177.24, subdivision 1 by at least 40 cents.

Subd. 2. Health care exception. An employér who operates a health care facility
does not violate subdivision 1 if the employer and employee agree before performance
of the work to accept a work period of 14 consecutive days in lieu of the workweek of
seven consecutive days for the purpose of overtime compensation and if for the
employment in excess of eight hours in any work day-and in excess of 80 hours in the
14-day period the employee reccives compensation at a ratc not less than 1- 1/2 times
the regular rate at which the cmployee is employed.

Subd. 3. Motor vehicle salespeople; mechanics. Subdivision 1 does not apply to any
salesperson, parts person, or mechanic primarily engaged in selling or servicing
automobiles, trailers, trucks, or farm implecments and paid on a commission or
incentive basis, if employed by a nonmanufacturing establishment primarily engaged in
selling the vehicles to ultimate purchasers.
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Subd. 4. Constructors of on-tarm silos. Subdivision 1 does not apply-if the
cmployee is employed in the .construction of on-farm silos or the installation of
appurtenant equipment on a unit or piece rate basis, if the regular rate of pay received
per hour of work exceeds the applicable wage provided in scction 177.24, subdivision 1.

History: 1973 ¢ 721 s 5; 1981 ¢ 289's'1,3; lSpZ98] cdart4s 30 1983 ¢ 60 s 2,3;
1983 ¢ 955 1; 1984 ¢ 628 art 4 s 1; 1986 ¢ 444

177.251 RIDESHARING NOT OVERTIME.

The provisions of this chapter relating to compensation for overtime and payment
of a minimum wage do not apply to employees’ time spent in rrdesharlng arrangements
as defined in section 169.01, subdivision 63.

History: 1983 ¢ 3115 10; 1984 c 628 art 45 1

177.253 MANDATORY WORK BREAKS.

Subdivision 1. Rest breaks. An employer must allow each employee adequate time
from work within each four consecutive hours of work to utilize the nearest convenient
restroom.

Subd. 2. Collective bargaining agreement. Nothing in this section prOhibits em-
ployers and employees from establishing rest breaks different from those provided in
this section pursuant to a colleclive bargaining agrecment.

History: 1988 ¢ 559 s 1

177.254 MANDATORY MEAL BREAK.

Subdivision 1. Meal break. An cmployer must permit each employee who is
working for eight or more consecutive hours sufficicnt time to eat a meal.

Subd. 2. Payment not required. Nothing in this section requires the employer to
pay the employec during the meal break.

Subd. 3. Collective bargaining agreement. Nothing in this section prohlblts em-
ployers and employecs from cstablishing meal periods different from those provided in
this section pursuant to a collective bargaining agreement.

History: 7989 ¢ 16751

177.26 DIVISION OF LABOR STANDARDS.

Subdivision 1. Creation. The Division of Labor Standards and Apprenticeship in
the Department of Labor and Industry is supervised and controlled by the commission-
cr of Iabor and industry.

 Subd. 2. Powers and duties. The Division of Labor Standards and ‘Apprenticeship
shall administer this chapter and chapters 178, 181, lSlA, and 184,

Subd. 3. Employees, transfer from Division of Women and Children. All persons
employed by the department in the Division of Women and Children are transferred to
the Division of Labor Standards. A transferred person doces not lose rrghts acquired by
reason of employment at the time of transfer.

History: 1973 ¢ 721 5 6; 1984 ¢ 628 art 4 s 1; 1986 c 444; 1992 ¢ 438 s 1; 2003 ¢ 128
art 11523 .

177.27 POWERS AND DUTIES OF THE COMMI_SSIONER.

Subdivision 1. Examination of records. The commissioner may enter during
reasonable office hours or upon request and inspect the place of business or employ-
ment of any employer of employecs working in the state, to examine and inspect books,
registers, payrolls, and other records of any employer that in any way relate to wages,
hours, and other conditions of employment of any cmployees. The commissioner may
transcribe any or all of the.books, registers, payrolls, and other records as the
commissioner decms necessary or appropriate and may question the employees to
ascertain compliance with sections 177.21 to 177.35. The commissioner may.investigate
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wage claims or complaints by an employee against an employer if the failure to pay a
wage may violate Minnesota law or an order or rule of the department.

Subd. 2. Submission of records; penalty. The commissioncr may requirc the
employer of employees working in the state to submit to the commissioner photocop-
ies, certified copies, or, if necessary, the originals of employment records which the
commissioner deems necessary or appropriate. The records which may be required
include full and correct statements in writing, including sworn statements by the
employer, containing information relating to wages, hours, names, addresses, and any
other information pertaining to the employer’s employees and the conditions of their
employment as the commissioner deems nccessary or appropriate.

The commissioner may require the records to be submitted by certified mail
delivery or, if necessary, by personal delivery by the employer or a representative of the
employer, as authorized by the employer in writing.

The commissioner may fine the employer up to $1,000 for each failure to submit
or deliver records as required by this section. This penalty is in addition to any
penalties provided under section 177.32, subdivision 1. In determining the amount of a
civil penalty under this subdivision, the appropriateness of such penalty to the size of
the employer’s business and the gravity of the violation shall be considered.

Subd. 3. Adequacy of records. If the records maintained by the employer do not
provide sufficient information to determine the exact amount of back wages due an
employee, the commissioner may make a determination of wages due based on
available evidence and mediate a settlement with the employer.

Subd. 4. Compliance orders. The commissioner may issue an order requiring an
employer to comply with sections 177.21 to 177.35, 181.02, 181.03, 181.031, 181.032,
181.101, 181.11, 181.12, 181.13, 181.14, 181.145, 181. 15, and 181.79, or with any rule
promulgated under section 177.28. The department shall serve the order upon the
employer or the employer’s authorized representative in person or by certified mail at
the employer’s place of business. An cmployer who wishes to contest the ordcr must
file written notice of objection to the order with the commissioner within 15 calendar
days after being served with the order. A contested case proceeding must then be held
in accordance with sections 14.57 to 14.69. If, within 15 calendar days after being
served with the order, the employer fails to file a written notice of objection with the
commissioner, the order becomes a final order of the commissioner.

Subd. 5. Civil actions. The commissioner may bring an action in the district court
where an employer resides or where the commissioner maintains an office to enforce or
require compliance with orders issued under subdivision 4.

Subd. 6. [Repealed, 1996 ¢ 386 s 13]

Subd. 7. Employer liability. If an employer is found by the commissioner to-have
violated a section identified in subdivision 4, or any rule adopted under section 177.28,
and the commissioner issues an order to comply, the commissioner shall order the
employer to cease and desist from engaging in the violative practice and to take such
affirmative steps that in the judgment of the commissioner will effectuate the purposes
of the section or rule violated. The commissioner shall order the employer to pay to the
aggrieved parties back pay, gratuities, and compensatory damages, less any amount
actually paid to the employee by the employer, and for an additional equal amount as
liquidated damages. Any employer who is found by the commissioner to have repeated-
ly or willfully violated a section or sections identified in subdivision 4 shall be subject to
a civil penalty of up to $1,000 for each violation for each employee. In determining the
amount of a civil penalty under this subdivision, the appropriateness of such penality to
the size of the employer’s business and the gravity of the violation shall be considered.
In addition, the commissioner may order the employer-to reimburse the department
and the attorney general for all appropriate litigation and hearing costs expended in
preparation for and in conducting the contested case procecding, unless payment of
costs would impose :extreme financial hardship on the employer. If the employer is able
to establish extreme financial hardship, then the commissioner may order the employer
to pay a percentage of the total costs that will not cause extreme financial hardship.
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Costs include but are not limited to the costs of services rendered by the. attorney
gencral, private attorneys if engaged by the department, administrative law judges,
court reporters; and expert witnesses as well as the cost of transcripts. Interest:shall
accruc on, and be added to, the unpaid balance of a commissioner’s order from the
date the order is signed by the commissioner until it is paid at an annual ratc provided
in section 549.09, subdivision 1, paragraph (c). The commissioner may establish escrow
accounts for purposcs of dlstrlbutlng damages:

Subd. 8. Court actions; suits brought by private partles An employee may bring a
civil action seeking redress for a violation or violations of sections 177.21 to 177.35
directly to district court. An employer who pays an employee less than the wages and
overtime compcnsation to which the employee is entitled under secuons 177.21 to
177.35 is liable to the employee for the full amount of the wages, gratuities, and
overtime compensation, less any amount the employer is able to establish was actually-
paid to the employee and for an additional equal amount as liquidated damages. In
addition, in an action under this subdivision the employee may seek damages and other
appropriate relief provided by subdivision .7 and otherwise provided by law. An
agreement between the employee and the employer to work for less than the applicable
wage is not a defense to the action.

Subd. 9. District court jurisdiction. Any action brought under subdrvrsron 8 may be
filed in the district court of the county wherein a violation or violations of sections
177.21 to 177.35 are alleged to have been committed, where the respondent resides or
has a principal place of business, or any other court of competent ]urlsdrctron The
action may be brought by one or more employees. : oo

.Subd. 10. Attorney’s fees and costs. In any action brought pursuant to subdivision
8, the court shall order an employer who is fourid to have committed a violation or
violations of scctions 177.21 to 177.35 to pay to the employee or employees reasonable
costs, disbursements, witness fees, and attorney fees.

History: 1973 ¢ 721 s 7; 1982 ¢ 424 5 49,130; 1983 ¢ 209 s 1; 1984 ¢ 628 art 4 s I;
ISp1985 ¢ 13 5 279; 1986 ¢ 444; 1987 ¢ 329 5 21; 1987 ¢ 384 art 2 s 1; 1996 ¢ 386 s 1-6

177.28 POWER TO MAKE RULES.

Subdivision 1. General -authority. The commissioner may adopt rules, including
definitions of terms, to carry out the purposcs of sections 177.21 to 177.35, to prevent
the circumvention or evasion of thosc sections, and to safeguard the minimum wage
and overtime rates established by sections 177.24 and 177.25.

Subd. 2. [Repealed, 1988 c 629 s 64]

Subd. 3, Rules required. The commissioncr shall adopt rules under sectlons 177 21
to 177.35 defining and governing:

(1) salespeople who conduct no more. thdn 20. percent of their sales on the
premises of the. employcr .

(2) allowances as part of the wage rates for board lodging, and other fdcﬂltres or
services furnished by the employer and used by the employees;

(3) bonuscs;
. (4) part-time rates;
(5) special pay for special or. extra work
(6) procedures in contested cases; :
(7) other facilitics or scrvices furnished by employers and used by employees; and
(8) other special items usual in a particular employer-employee relationship.
Subd. 4. [Repealed, 1996 ¢ 305 art 1 s 52] ' '

Subd. 5. Rules regarding handicapped. In order to prevent curtailment of opportu-
nities for ‘employment, avoid undue hardship, and safeguard the minimum wage rates
under sections 177.24 and 177.25, the department shall also issue rules providing for
the employment of handicapped workers at wages lower than the wage rates applicable
under sections 177.24 and 177.25, under permits and for periods of time as specificd
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therein. The rules must provide. for the employment of learners and apprentices at
wages lower than the wage rates applicable under sections 177.24 and 177.25, under
permits and subject to limitations on number, proportion, length of learning period,
occupations, and other conditions as the department may prescribe. The rules must
provide that where a handicapped person is performing or is being considered for
employment where work- must be performed which is equal to work performed by a
nonhandicapped person, the handicapped person must be paid the same wage as a
nonhandicapped person with similar experience and skill.

Subd. 6. Administrative Procedure Act to apply. The rules are subject to the
provisions of chapter 14.

~ History: 1973 ¢ 721 s 8; 1976 ¢ 165 s 2; 1977 ¢ 369 s 3, 1982 ¢ 424 s 50; 1984 ¢ 628
art 45 1; 1984 ¢ 636 s 1; 1Sp1985 ¢ 13 s 280; 1986 ¢ 444

177.29 JUDICIAL REVIEW. _
Subdivision 1. Appeal. A person aggrleved by an administrative rule issued under
section 177.28 may appeal in accordance with chapter 14.
Subd. 2. [Repealed, 1983 c 247 s 219]
‘Subd. 3. [Repealed, 1983 ¢ 247 s 219]
History: 1973 ¢ 7215 9; 1982 ¢ 424 5 51; 1983 ¢ 247 5 75; 1984 ¢ 628 art 4 s 1

177.295 [Repealed, 1985 c 248 s 35]

177.30 KEEPING RECORDS; PENALTY.

Every employer subject to sections 177.21 to 177.35 must make and keep a record
of:

(1) the name, address, and occupation of cach employee;

(2) the rate of pay, and the amount paid each pay period to each employee;

(3) the hours worked each day and each workweek by the employee; and

(4) other information the commissioner finds necessary and appropriate to enforce
sections 177.21 to 177.35. The records must be kept for three years in or near the
premises where an employee works.

The commissioner may fine an employer up to $1,000 for each failure to maintain
records as required by this section. This penalty is in addition to any penalties provided
undcr section 177.32, subdivision 1. In determining the amount of a civil penalty under
this subdivision, the appropriateness of such penalty to the size of the employer’s
business and the gravity of the violation shall be considered.

History: 1973 ¢ 721 s 10; 1982 ¢ 424 5 52; 1983 ¢ 209 5 2; 1984 ¢ 628 art 4 s 1; 1987
¢ 3295 21; 1996 ¢ 3865 7

177.31 POSTING OF LAW AND RULES; PENALTY.

Every employer subject to sections 177.21 to 177.35 must obtain and keep a
summary of those sections, approved by the department, and copies of any applicable
rules adopted under those sections, or a summary of the rules. The employer must post
the summaries in a conspicuous and accessible place in or about the premises in which
any person covered by scctions 177.21 to 177.35 is employed. The department shall
furnish copies of the summaries and rules to employers without charge. '

The commissioner may fine an employer up to $200 for each failure to comply
with this section. This penalty is in addition to any penalties provided by section 177.32,
subdivision 1.

History: 1973 ¢ 721 s 11; 1982 ¢ 424 5 53; 1983 ¢ 209 s 3; 1984 ¢ 628 art 4 5 1; 1987
c 329521
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177.32 PENALTIES.
Subdivision 1. Mrsdemeanors An cmployer who does any of the following is guilty
of a misdemcanor:

(1) hinders or delays the commissioner in the performance of duties requlred
undér sections 177.21 to 177.35;

(2) retuses to admit the commissioner to the place of business or cmployment ‘of
the cmployer, as required by scction 177. 27, subdivision 1;

(3) repeatedly fails to. make, keep, and preserve records as required by section
177 30;

(4) falsifies any record

(5) refuses to make any record available, or to furnish a sworn statement 0’[ the
r(,cord or'any other information as required by section 177.27;

(6) repeatedly fails to post a summary of sections 177. 21 to 17735 or a eopy or
summary of the applicable rules as required by section 177.31;

(7) pays or agrecs to pay wages at a rate less than the. rate required under sections
177.21 to 177.35; :

(8) refuscs to allow adcquate tlme from work as required by scction 177.253; or

(9) otherwisc violates any provision of scctions 177.21 to 177.35.

Subd. 2. Fine. An emplo’yer'shall be fined not less than $700 nor more than $3,000
if convicted of discharging or othcrwise discriminating against any employee because:

(1) the employee has complained to the employer or to the department that wages
have not been paid-in accordance with sections 177.21 to 177.35;

(2) the employee has instituted or will mstrtute a proccedmg under or related to
sections 177.21 to 177.35; or

(3) the employee has testrfled or will testify in any proceedlng

History: 1973 ¢ 721 s 12; 1982 ¢ 424 s 54; 1983 ¢ 209 5 4: 1984 ¢ 628 art 3 s 11; art 4
s1; 1Spl1985¢c 13 s 28] 1986 ¢ 444; 1988 ¢ 559 5 2

177.33 [Repealed, 1996 ¢-386 s 13] -
177.34 [Repealed, 1996 ¢ 310 s 1] .
177.35 RIGHT OF COLLECTIVE BARGAINING.

" Nothing in scetions 177.21 to 177.35 limits the nght of cmployces to baruain
collectively “with their employers through represcntatives of their own choosm" to
cstablish wages or other conditions of work more favorable to the employces than
those requrred by sections 177.21 to 177.35.

" History: 1973 ¢ 721 5 15; ]982 ¢ 424 s 57; 1984 c.62.8. art4s1

PREVAILING WAGES

177.41 STATE PROJECTS AND STATE HIGHWAY CONSTRUCI‘ION PUBLIC
POLICY '

"1t is in the public interest that publlc bu11chng§ and other public works be
constructed and maintained by the best means and highest quality of labor rcasonably
available and that pcrsons working on pubhc works be compensated according to the
real value of the services they perform It is thercfore the policy of this state that wages
of laborers, workers, and mechanics on projects financed in whole or part by state
funds should be - compar'lble to wages paid for similar work in the community as a
whole.

History: 1973 ¢ 7245 1; 1975 ¢ 191's 1; 1984 ¢ 628 art 4 s 1
177.42 DEFINITIONS.

' Subdivision 1. Scope. As used in scctions 177. 41 to 177.44 the terms defined in this
section have the meanings given - them-except where the context indicates otherwise.
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Subd. 2. Project. “Project” means erection, construction, remodeling, or repairing
of a public building or other public work financed in whole or part by state funds.

Subd. 3. Area. “Area” means the county or other locality from which labor for any
project is normally secured.

Subd. 4. Prevailing hours of labor. “Prevailing hours of labor” means the hours of
labor per day and per week worked within the area by a larger number of workers of
the same class than are employed within the area for any other number of hours per
day and per week. The prevailing hours of labor may not be more than eight hours per
day or more than 40 hours per week.

Subd. 5. Hourly basic rate. “Hourly basic rate” means the hourly wage paid to any
employee. _

Subd. 6. Prevailing wage rate. “Prevailing wage rate” means the hourly basic rate
of pay plus the contribution for health and welfare benefits, vacation benefits, pension
benefits, and any other economic benefit paid to the largest number of workers
engaged in the same class of labor within the arca and includes, for the purposes of
section 177.44, rental rates for truck hire paid to those who own and operate the truck.
The prevailing wage rate may not be less than a reasonable and living wage.

History: 1973 ¢ 724 5 2; 1975 ¢ 191 5 2; 1984 ¢ 628 art 4 5 1

177.43 CONTRACTS FOR STATE PROJECTS; PENALTY.

Subdivision 1. Hours of labor. Any contract which provides for a pI'O]eCt must state
that:

(1) no laborer or mechanic employed directly on the -prOJect work site by the
contractor or any subcontractor, agent, or other person doing or contracting to do all
or a part of the work of the project, is permitted or required to work more hours than
the prevailing hours of labor unless paid for all hours in excess of the prevailing hours
at a rate of at least 1-1/2 times the hourly basic rate of pay; and

(2) a laborer or mechanic may not be paid a lesser rate of wages than the
prevailing wage rate in the same or most similar trade or occupation in the area.

Subd. 2. Exceptions. This section does not apply to wage rates and hours of
cmployment of laborers or mechanics who process or manufacturc materials or
products or to the delivery of materials or products by or for commercial establish-
ments which have a fixed place of business from which they regularly supply processed
or manufactured materials or products. This section applies to laborers or mechanics
who deliver mineral aggregate such as sand, gravel, or stone which is incorporated into
the work under the contract by depositing the material substantially in place, directly or
through spreaders, from the transporting vehicle.

Subd. 3. Contract requirements. The contract must specifically state the prevallmg
wage rates, prevailing hours of labor, and hourly basic rates of pay.

Subd. 4. Determination by commissioner. The prevailing wage rates, prevailing
hours of labor, and hourly basic rates of pay for all trades and occupations required in
any project must be ascertained before the state asks for bids. The commissioner of
labor and industry shall investigate as necessary to ascertain the information. The
commissioner shall keep the information posted on the project in at least one
conspicuous place for the information of the employees working on the project. A
person aggrieved by a final determination of the commissioner may petition the
commissioner for reconsideration of findings. A person aggrieved by a decision of the
commissioner after reconsideration may, within 20 days after the decision, petition the
commissioner for a publlc hearing in the manner of a contcsted case under sections
14.57 to 14.61.

Subd. 5. Penalty. It is a misdemeanor for an officer or employee of the state to
execute a contract for a project without complying with this section, or for a contractor,
subcontractor, or agent to pay any laborer, worker, or mechanic employed dircctly on
the project site a lesser wage for work done under the contract than the prevailing
wage rate as stated in the contract. This misdemeanor is punishable by a fine .of not
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more than $700, or imprisonment for not morc than 90 days, or both. Each agent or
subcontractor shall furnish to the contractor evidence of compliance with thls scction.
Each day a violation of this section continues.is a scparate otfense.

Subd. 6. Examination- of records. The Department of LLabor and lnduslry shall
enforce this section. The depattment rncly demand, and the contractor and subcontrac-
tor shall furnish to the departmient, copies of any or allpayrolls. The department may
examine all records rclating to wages paid labours or mechanics on work to whlch
sections 177.41 to-177.44 apply.

Subd. 7. Applicability. This section does not apply to a contract, or work under a
contract, under which:

(1) the estimated total cost of completing the project is less than $ ,500 and only
onc trade or occupation is required to complete it, or

(2) the estimated total cost of completing the project is less than $75 000 and more
than one trade or occupation is required to complete it.- :

History: 1973 ¢ 724 s 3; 1975 c 191 s 3,4; 1976 ¢ 331 s 37; 1982 ¢ -1745 130; ])84(’
(28a)t3s11 art4s 1

]77.435 FACILITY CONSTRUCTION; PREVAILING WAGE.

Construction of value-added agricultural product processing facility financed in
whole or in part’with a loan or grant provided under section 41A.035, 41B.044, or
41B.046 is a “projcct” as that term is defined in section 177.42, subdivision 2. Contracts
for the construction or expansion of a valué-added agrlcultuml product processing
facility that is a project under this section must comply with section 177.43 if the loan
or grant agreement was entered into on'or after December 31, 1995.

Hlstory 1995 ¢ 2205 113
177.44 HIGHWAY CONTRACTS; HOURS OF LABOR; WAGE RATES; PENALTY.

Subdivision 1. Hours, wages permltted A laborer or mechanic employed by a
contractor, subcontractor, agent, or other person doing or contracting to do all or part
of the work undcr a contract based on bids as provided in Minnesota Statutes 1971,
section 161.32, to which the state is a party, for the construction or maintenance of a-
highway, may not be permitted or requ1red to work longer than the prevallmg hours of
labor unless the laborer or mechanic is paid for all hours in excess of the prevailing
hours at a rate of at least 1-1/2 times thc hourly basic rate of pay of the laborer or
mechanic. The laborer or mechanic must be paid at least the prevailing wage rate in
the same or most similar trade or occupation in the arca.

Subd. 2. Applicability. This section does not apply to wage rates and hours of
employment of laborers or ‘mechanics engaged in_ the processing or manufacturc of
materials or products, or to the delivery of materials or products by or for commercial
establishments which have a fixed place,of business from which they regularly supply
the processed or manufacturcd materials or products. This section applies to laborers
or mechanics who deliver mincral aggregate such as sand, gravel, or stone which is
incorporated into the work under the contract by depositing the material substantially
in place, directly or through spreadcrs, from the transporting vehicle.

Subd. 3. Investigations by Department of Labor and Industry. The Department of
Labor and Industry shall conduct investigations and hold public hearings necessary to
define classes of laborers and mechanics and to determinc the hours of labor and wage
rates prevailing in all areas of the state for all classes of labor and mechanics commonly
employed in highway construction work, so as to detcrminc prevailing hours of labor,
prevailing wage rates, and hourly basic rates of pay.

The department shall determine the nature of the cquipment furnished by truck
drivers who own and operate trucks on contract work to determine minimum rates for
the equipment, and shall cstablish by rule minimum rates to be computed into the
prevailing wage rate.
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Subd. 4. Certification of hours and rate. The commissioner of labor and industry
shall at least once a year certify the prevailing hours of labor, the prevailing wage rate,
and the hourly basic rate of pay for all classes of laborers and mcchanics referred to in
subdivision 3 in each area. The certification must also include future hours and rates
when they can be determined for classes of laborers and mechanics in an area. The
certification must specifically state the effective dates of future hours and rates when
they are certified. If a construction project cxtends into more than one area there shall
be only one standard of hours of labor and wage rates for the entire project. A person
aggrieved by a final determination of the commissioner may petition the commissioner
for reconsideration of findings. A person aggrieved by a decision of the commissioner
after reconsideration may within 20 days after the decision petition the commissioner
for a public hearing as in a contested case under scctions 14.57 to 14.61. If the
commissioner finds that a change in the certified prevailing hours of labor, prevailing
wage ratc, and the hourly basic ratc of pay for a class of laborers or mechanics in any
area is required, the commissioner may at any time certify that change.

Subd. 5. Hours and rates to be posted. The prevailing hours of labor the
prevailing wage rates, the hourly basic rates of pay, and classifications for all labor as
certified by the commissioner must be specifically stated in the proposals and contracts
for each highway construction contract to which the state is a party. These hours, rates,
and classifications, together with the provisions of subdivision 6, must be kept posted
on the project by the employer in at least one conspicuous place for the information of
employees working on the project.

Subd. 6. Penalties. A contractor, subcontractor, or agent who violates this section
is guilty of a misdemeanor and may be fined not more than $300 or imprisoned not
more than 90 days or both. Each day that the violation continues is a separate offense.

Whoever induces a job applicant or employee on any project subject to this section
to give up or forego any part of the wages to which entitled under the contract
governing the project by threat not to employ, by threat of dismissal from employment,
or by any other means may be fined not exceeding $1 000 or 1mpr1soned not more than
one year or both.

Any employee under this section who knowingly' permits the contractor or
subcontractor to pay less than the prevailing wage rate set forth in the contract, or who
gives up any part of the compensation to which entitled under the contract, may be
fined not exceeding $40 or imprisoned not more than 30 days or both. Each day any
violation of this paragraph continues is a separate offense.

Subd. 7. Department of Transportation to enforce. The Department of Transporta-
tion shall require adherence to this section. The commissioner of transportation may
demand and every contractor and subcontractor shall furnish copies of payrolls. The
commissioner of transportation may examine all records relating to hours of work and
the wages paid laborers and mechanics on work to which this section applies. Upon
request of the Department of Transportation or upon complaint of alleged violation,
the county attorney of the county in which the work is located shall investigate and
prosecute violations in a court of competent jurisdiction.

History: 1973 ¢ 724 s 4; 1975 ¢ 191 s 5,6, 1976 ¢ 166 s 7;: 1976 ¢ 331 s 38; 1982 ¢
4245 130; 1984 ¢ 628 art 4 s 1; 1986 ¢ 444
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