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CHAPTER 181A
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181A.06 Age certificates. : 181A.12 Penaltjes.

181A.01 CITATION,
Sections 181A.01 to 181A.12 may be cited as the “Child Labor Standards Act.”
History: 1974 c 432 s 1 :

181A.02 PURPOSE.

The purpose of sections 181A.01 to 181A.12 is to aid in the economic, social and
educational development of young people throigh employment: Work is an integral
factor in providing a sense of purpose, direction, and self-esteem necessary to the
overall physical and mental health of an individual. Young people, especially those who
have completed high school or occupational training, should not be denied employment
opportunities. Work, however, must be coordinated with schooling and safety consider-
ations in order to serve the best interest of the young.

History: 1974 ¢ 432 s 2

181A.03 DEFINITIONS.
_Subdivision 1. As used in sections 181A.01 to 181A.12, the terms defmed in th1s
section shall have the following meanings.
Subd. 2. “Department” means the Minnesota department of labor and industry.
Subd. 3. “Division” means the division of labor standards within the department.
Subd. 4. “Commissioner” means the commissioner of the department or designees.

Subd. 5. “Employment” means.any occupation engaged. in for compensation in
money or other valuable consideration, whether paid to the minor or to some other
person, including, but not limited to, occupation as a servant, agent or. mdependent
contractor.

Subd. 6. “School days” means any day when normal classes are in session durmg
the regular school year in the school district. : : :

Subd. 7. “School hours” means that perlod durmg whlch the student is requlred to
be in school in the school district. :

History: 1974 ¢ 432 s 3; 1986 ¢ 444

181A.04 MINIMUM AGE AND MAXIMUM HOURS.

Subdivision 1. No minors under the age of 14 shall be permitted. employrnent in
this state except as authorized by section 181A.07.

Subd. 2. On school days, during school hours no minor under the age of 16 years
shall be penmtted employment except as provided in section 181A. 05.

Subd. 3. No minor under the age of 16 shall be permitted to work any day before
7:00 a.m. or after 9:00 p.m..

Subd. 4. No employer shall be perrmtted to work a minor under the age of 16
more than 40 hours a week or more than eight hours in any.24-hour period.

Subd. 5. No minor under the age of 18 shall be permitted to work in any
occupation which the commissioner shall find. to be particularly hazardous for the
employment of children under 18 years of age or detrimental to their well-being: A list

Copyright © 2002 Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



MINNESOTA STATUTES 2002

181A.04 CHILD LABOR 858

of such occupations shall be established and promulgated by rule pursuant to section
181A.09.

Subd. 6. A high school student under the age of 18 must not be permitted to work
after 11:00 p.m. on an evening before a school day ‘or before 5:00 a.m. on a school day,
except as permitted by section 181A.07, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, and 4. If a high school
student under the age of 18 has supplied the employer with a note signed by the parent
or guardian of the student, the student may be permitted to work until 11:30 p.m. on
the evening before a school day and beginning at 4:30 a.m. on a school day.

For the purpose of this subdivision, a high school student does not include a
student enrolled in an alternative education program approved by the commissioner of
children, families, and learning or an area learning center, including area learning
centers under sections 123A.05 to 123A.08 or according to section 122A.163.

History: 1974 ¢ 432 s 4; 1985 ¢ 248 s 70; 1Sp1985 ¢ 13 5 294; 1993 ¢ 261 s 1; 1994 ¢
465 art 2 s 1; 1998 ¢ 397 art 11 s 3; 1998 ¢ 398 art 5 s 55; 2000 ¢ 489 art 10 s 18

181A.05 EMPLOYMENT CERTIFICATES.

Subdivision 1. Any minor 14 or 15 years of age who wishes to work on school days
during school hours shall first secure an employment certificate. The certificate shall be
issued only by the school district superintendent, the superintendent’s agent, or some
other person designated by the board of education. The employment certificate shall be
issued only for a specific position with a designated employer and shall be issued only
in the following circumstances:

(1) If a minor is to be employed in an occupatlon not prohibited by rules
promulgated under section 181A.09 and as evidence thereof presents a signed state-
ment from the prospective employer; and

(2) If the parent or guardian of the minor consents to the employment; and

(3) If the issuing officer believes the minor is physically capable of handling the job
in question and further believes the best interests of the minor will be served by
permitting the minor to work.

Subd. 2. The employment certificate shall show the name, address, date of birth
and description of the minor, the name and address of the employer, the kind of work
to be performed, the hours of exemption, and shall also require the signature of the
parent or guardian and the minor in the presence of the issuing officer.

Subd.-3. If the issuing officer is in doubt about whether the proposed employment
is in accordance with these provisions, the officer shall consult with the division before
issuing the certificate.

Subd. 4. Upon termination for any reason of the employment authorized, the
employer shall return the employment certificate directly to the issuing officer with a
notation showing the date of termination.

Subd. 5. The issuing officer is authorized to cancel an employment certificate, if
the issuing officer determines that such action-would be in the best interest of the
minor.

History: 1974 ¢ 432 s 5; 1985 ¢ 248 s 70; 1986 ¢ 444

181A.06 AGE CERTIFICATES.

Subdivision 1. Every employer shall require proof of the age of any minor
employee or prospective employee by requiring the minor to submit an age certificate,
a copy of the minor’s birth record, a copy of the minor’s driver’s license, or a United
States Department of Justice Immigration and Naturalization Service Employment
Eligibility Verification Form I-9. Upon the request of a minor, an age certificate shall
be issued by or under the authority of the school superintendent of the district in which
the applicant resides. Superintendents, principals, or headmasters of independent or
parochial schools shall issue age certificates to minors who attend such schools.

Subd. 2.. The age certificate shall show the age of the minor, the date of birth, the
date of issuance of the certificate, the name and position of the issuing officer, the
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name, address, and description of the minor, and what evidence was accepted as proof
of age. The age certificate shall also show the name of the employer, the proposed
occupation, and shall state that.a separate employment certificate is required for
minors under 16 to work on regular school days during school hours. It shall be signed
by the issuing officer and by the minor in the officer’s presence.

Subd. 3. An age certificate shall not be issued unless the minor’s birth record: or
photocopy or. extract thereof is .exhibited to the issuing officer, or unless such evidence
was previously examined by the school authorities and the information is shown on the
school records. If a birth record is.not available, other documentary evidence shall be
accepted only as provided by the rules or orders of the department.

Subd. 4. The employer shall keep an age certificate for the duration of the minor’s
employment and shall keep on file all age certificates, .copies of birth records or copies
of drivers’ licenses presented to the employer pursuant to subdivision 1, where they
may be readily examined.by an agent of the division of labor standards.

~ History: 1974 ¢ 432 5.6, 1985 ¢ 248 s 70 1986 ¢ 444; 2001 ¢ 82 5 1; 1Sp200] c9art
15532

181A.07 EXEMPTIONS.

Subdivision 1. Minors employed in corn detasselmg operations and other agrlcul-
tural operatlons with the permission of their parents or guardlan, shall be exempt from
the provisions of section 181A.04, subdivision 4. Such minors 12 years of age or older
are exempt from the age provision of section 181A.04, subdivijsion 1.

Subd. 2. Any minor. employed as an, actor, model, or performer shall be exempt
f1om the minimum age provisions of section 181A.04, subd1v151on 1.

Subd. 3. Newspaper carriers shall-be exempt from the minimum age provision of
section 181A.04, subdivisions 1 and 3. Such carriers shall be at least 11 years of age.

Subd. 4. Any minor employed to do home chores, to babysit or employed by a
parent shall be exempt from all provisions of sections 181A.01 to 181A.12.

Subd. 5. The commissioner may grant exemptions from any provisions of sections
181A.01 .to 181A.12 for an individual minor if the commissioner finds that such an
exemption would be in the-best interest of the minor involved. Such exemptions shall
be granted only in accordance with the-established rules of the department.

- Subd. 6. Any minor’s parent or:guardian, school official, or youth employment
specialist may request an exemption as provided in subdivision 5. :

’ History: 1974 ¢ 432 s 71975 ¢ 204578 1976 ¢ 25 72 ]985 c248s 70; 1986°c 444

181A.08 POWERS AND DUTIES OF THE DEPARTMENT. -

Subdivision 1. The ‘commissioner, an authorized representative, or any truant
officer may enter and inspect the place of business or employment and may interview
any employees, of any employer of employees in any occupation in the state, all for the
purpose of ascertaining whether any minors are employed contrary to the provisions of
sections 181A.01 to 181A.12. Such authorized persons may require that employment
certificates, age certificates, and lists of minors employed shall be produced for their
inspection.

Subd. 2. The commissioner or an authorized representative may issue an order
requiring an employer to comply with the provisions of sections 181A:01 to 181A.12 or
with any rules promulgated under the provisions of section 181A.09. Any such order
shall be served by the department upon the employer or an authorized representative
in person or by certified mail at the employers place of business. If an employer wishes
to contest the order for any reason, the employer shall file written notice of objection
with the commissioner within ten days after service of said order upon said employer.
Thereafter, a public hearing shall be held in accordance with the provisions of sections
14.57 to 14.69, and such rules consistent therewith as the commissioner shall make.

Subd. 3. The commissioner or an authorized representative may apply to any court
of competent jurisdiction for an order restraining the violation of an order issued by
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the commissioner pursuant to subdivision 2, or for an order enjoining ‘and restrammg
violations of this chapter or rules adopted pursuant to section 181A.09.

History: 1974 ¢ 432 5 & 1979 ¢ 202 s 1; 1982 ¢ 424 5 130; ]985 c 2483 70; 1986 ¢
444, 1987 c 384 art 25 1 .

181A.09 POWER TO MAKE RULES.

Subdivision 1. The commissioner shall make, revise and promulgate such rules,
including definitions of terms, as the commissioner shall deem appropriate to carry out
the purposes of sections 181A.01 to 181A.12 and to prevent the circumvention or
evasion thereof.

Subd. 2. The commissioner shall, by rule, establish a list of those occupations
which the commissioner finds to be particularly hazardous for the employment of
children, or detrimental to their health or well-being.

Subd. 3. Rules shall be adopted by the department only after a public hearing held
upon due publication of notice, at which any interested person may be heard and of
which a record shall be made. Rules shall be published by the department and shall
take effect upon publication and filing with the secretary of state.and the department of
administration. Such rules shall have the force and effect of law upon filing as provided
herein.

History: 1974 ¢ 4325 9; 1985 ¢ 248 5 70; 1 986 ¢ 444

181A.10 JUDICIAL REVIEW.

Subdivision 1. Petition. Any person who may be aggrieved by any administrative
rule issued pursuant to section 181A.09 may obtain a review thereof in the district
court for Ramsey county, by filing in such court a written petition for declaratory
judgment praying that the rule be modified or set aside. A copy of such petition shall
be served upon the department. The department’s findings of fact, if any, shall be
conclusive upon the court if supported by substantial evidence. The court shall
determine whether the rule is in accordance with law.

If the court determines that such rule is not in accordance with law, it shall
remand the case to the department with directions to modify or revoke such rule. If
application is made to the court by any aggrieved party for leave to adduce additional
evidence, such party shall show to the satisfaction of the court that such additional
evidence is material and that there were reasonable grounds for the failure to adduce
such evidence before the department. If the court finds that such evidence is material
and that reasonable grounds exist for the failure to the aggrieved party to adduce such
evidence in prior proceedings, the court may remand the case to the department with
directions that such additional evidence be taken by the department. The department
may modify its findings and conclusions, in whole or in part, by reason of such
additional evidence.

Subd. 2. Hearings; review. Hearings in the district court on all appeals taken under
subdivision 1 shall be privileged and take precedence over all matters, except matters of
the same character. The jurisdiction of the court shall be exclusive and its judgment
and decree shall be final except that the same shall be subject to review on appeal as in
other civil cases.

Subd. 3. Effect. The commencement of proceedings under subdivision 1 shall not,
unless specifically ordered by the court, operate as a stay of an administrative rule
issued pursuant to section 181A.09.

History: 1974 ¢ 432 5 10; 1983 ¢ 247 s 79; 1985 ¢ 248 s 70

181A.11 AGRICULTURAL EMPLOYMENT.

Nothing in sections 181A.01 to 181A.12 shall prohibit a person from employing a
child in any agricultural pursuit permitted under the United States Code, title 29,
section 213(c)(2).

History: 1974 ¢ 4325 11
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181A.12 PENALTIES.

Subdivision 1. Fines; penalty. Any employer who hmders or delays the department
or its authorized representative in the performance of its duties under sections 181A.01
to 181A.12 or refuses to admit the commissioner or an*authorized representative to any
place of employment or refuses to make certificates or lists available as required by
sections 181A.01 to 181A.12, or otherwise violates any provisions of sections 181A.01 to
181A.12 or any rules issued pursuant thereto shall be assessed a fine to be paid to the
commissioner for deposit in the general fund. The fine may be recovered in a civil
action in the name of the department brought in the district court of the county where
the violation is alleged to have occurred or the district court where the commlssmner
has an office. Fines are in the amounts as follows:

(a) employment of minors under the age of 14 C
(each employee) .- $ 500

(b) employment of minors under the age of 16 '
during school hours while school is in session . -

(each employee) 500
(c) employment of minors under the age of 16 e

before 7:00 a.m. (each employee) _ 500
(d) employment of minors under the age of 16 R

after 9:00 p.m. (each employee) N 500

(e) employment of a high school student under -~
the age of 18 in violation of section 181A.04,

subdivision 6 (each employee) 1,000
(f) employment of minors under the age of 16 . :

over eight hours a day (each employee) 500
(g) employment of minors under the age of 16 - -

over 40 hours a week (each employee) ) 500

(h) employment of minors under the age of 18

in occupations hazardous or

detrimental to their well-being as defined

by rule (each employee) oo - 1,000
(i) employment of minors under the age of 16

in occupations hazardous or

detrimental to their well-being as defined

by rule (each employee) ' 1,000
(j) minors under the age of 18 injured in

hazardous employment (each employee) 5,000
(k) minors employed without proof of age

(each employee) 250

An employer who refuses to make certificates or lists available as required by
sections 181A.01 to 181A.12 shall be assessed a $500 fine.

Subd. 2. Misdemeanor. An employer or other person violating any provision of
sections 181A.01 to 181A.12 excluding section 181A.04, subdivision 6, or any rules
issued pursuant thereto or assisting another in such violation is guilty of a misdemean-
or. :

Subd. 3. Gross misdemeanor. An employer who engages in repeated violations of
sections 181A.01 to 181A.12 excluding section 181A.04, subdivision 6, is also guilty of a
gross misdemeanor. An employer who engages in a single violation of sections 181A.01
to 181A.12 excluding section 181A.04, subdivision 6, is guilty of a gross misdemeanor if
the violation results in the death of the minor or substantial bodily harm to the minor.
For purposes of this subdivision, “substantial bodily harm” has the meaning given in
section 609.02, subdivision 7a.

History: 1974 ¢ 432 5 12; 1983 ¢ 301 s 154; 1984 ¢ 608 5 2; 1985 ¢ 248 s 70; 1Sp1985
c 135 295; 1986 ¢ 444; 1993 ¢ 261 s 2; 2000 c 488 art 2 s 10
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