# MINNESOTA STATUTES 2001 SUPPLEMENT

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES

# CHAPTER 84

# DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES

84.0261	Disposition of reimbursement from natural		84.862	Snowmobile training required.
	disasters.		84.872	Youthful snowmobile operators;
84.0285	Game and fish citation quotas prohibited.		 	prohibitions.
84.0887	Minnesota Conservation Corps programs.		 84.922	Registration.
84.788	Registration.		84.925	Education and training program.
84.792	Repealed.		84.9256	Youthful operators; prohibitions.
84.796	Penalties.			
84.798	Registration.		84.9257	Passengers.
84.801	Repealed	100	84.928	Operation requirements; local regulation
84.82	Snowmobile registration.		84.965	Approval of project by governor.
84.83	Disposition of receipts; dedicated account.		84.98	Minnesota conservation corps.

### 84.0261 DISPOSITION OF REIMBURSEMENT FROM NATURAL DISASTERS.

Notwithstanding any other law to the contrary, money received by the commissioner of natural resources as reimbursement for damages, losses, or service costs incurred because of a natural disaster shall be deposited in the special revenue fund and is appropriated to the commissioner to accomplish the goals of those programs from which funds were diverted in response to the natural disaster.

History: 1Sp2001 c 2 s 72

# 84.0285 GAME AND FISH CITATION QUOTAS PROHIBITED.

The commissioner of natural resources, or the director of the division of enforcement and field service, may not order, mandate, require, or in any manner suggest, directly or indirectly, to a conservation officer that the conservation officer issue a certain number of game and fish law violations on a daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, or yearly quota basis.

History: 2001 c 32 s 1

### 84.0887 MINNESOTA CONSERVATION CORPS PROGRAMS.

Subdivision 1. **Program content.** The commissioner shall operate Minnesota Conservation Corps programs which may include summer youth programs and year-round young adult programs. The commissioner shall insure that youths in all parts of the state have an equal opportunity for employment and that equal numbers of male and female youth are selected for the summer programs. Youth corps members must be 15 to 18 years old and young adult corps members must be 18 to 26 years old. Minnesota Conservation Corps members are not public employees under chapter 43A or 179A. Minnesota Conservation Corps programs may provide services that include but are not limited to the following:

- (1) conservation, rehabilitation, and the improvement of wildlife habitat, prairie, parks, and recreational areas;
- (2) urban and rural revitalization, historical and cultural site preservation, and reforestation of both urban and rural areas;
- (3) fish culture, wildlife habitat maintenance and improvement, and other fishery assistance;
  - (4) road and trail development, maintenance, and improvement;
  - (5) erosion, flood, drought, and storm damage assistance and controls;
  - (6) stream, lake, waterfront harbor, and port improvement;
  - (7) wetlands protection and pollution control;
  - (8) insect, disease, rodent, and fire prevention and control;
  - (9) the improvement of abandoned railroad beds and rights-of-way;

1

- (10) energy conservation projects, renewable resource enhancement, and recovery of biomass;
  - (11) reclamation and improvement of strip-mined land; and
  - (12) forestry, nursery, and cultural operations.
- Subd. 2. **Additional services.** In addition to services under subdivision 1, Minnesota Conservation Corps programs may coordinate with or provide services to:
  - (1) making public facilities accessible to individuals with disabilities;
  - (2) federal, state, local, and regional governmental agencies;
- (3) nursing homes, hospices, senior centers, hospitals, local libraries, parks, recreational facilities, child and adult day care centers, programs servicing individuals with disabilities, and schools;
  - (4) law enforcement agencies, and penal and probation systems;
- (5) private nonprofit organizations that primarily focus on social service such as community action agencies;
- (6) activities that focus on the rehabilitation or improvement of public facilities, neighborhood improvements, literacy training that benefits educationally disadvantaged individuals, weatherization of and basic repairs to low-income housing including housing occupied by older adults, activities that focus on drug and alcohol abuse education, prevention, and treatment; and
- (7) any other nonpartisan civic activities and services that the commissioner determines to be of a substantial social benefit in meeting unmet human, educational, or environmental needs, particularly needs related to poverty, or in the community where volunteer service is to be performed.

### [For text of subd 3, see M.S.2000]

- Subd. 4. **Advisory committee.** The commissioner shall establish a Minnesota Conservation Corps advisory committee with broad state representation including youth. Notwithstanding section 15.059, subdivision 5, or other law to the contrary, the committee expires June 30, 2003.
- Subd. 5. **Older members.** Minnesota Conservation Corps programs may enroll a limited number of special corps members over age 26 so that the corps may draw on their unique knowledge, skills, or abilities to fulfill the purposes of the programs.
- Subd. 6. Expenditures from special funds. An appropriation from a special revenue fund or account to the commissioner for Minnesota Conservation Corps programs must be spent for projects that are consistent with the purposes of the fund or account from which the appropriation was made.

# [For text of subds 7 and 8, see M.S.2000]

Subd. 9. Contracts; grants. The commissioner of natural resources may contract with and make grants to nonprofit agencies to assist in carrying out the purposes, plans, and programs of the Minnesota Conservation Corps.

**History:** 1Sp2001 c 2 s 73-78

#### 84.788 REGISTRATION.

# [For text of subds 1 and 2, see M.S.2000]

- Subd. 3. Application; issuance; reports. (a) Application for registration or continued registration must be made to the commissioner or an authorized deputy registrar of motor vehicles in a form prescribed by the commissioner. The form must state the name and address of every owner of the off-highway motorcycle.
- (b) A person who purchases from a retail dealer an off-highway motorcycle that is intended to be operated on public lands or waters shall make application for registration to the dealer at the point of sale. The dealer shall issue a temporary ten-day registration permit to each purchaser who applies to the dealer for registration. The dealer shall submit the completed registration applications and fees to the deputy

3

registrar at least once each week. No fee may be charged by a dealer to a purchaser for providing the temporary permit.

- (c) Upon receipt of the application and the appropriate fee, the commissioner or deputy registrar shall issue to the applicant, or provide to the dealer, a 60-day temporary receipt and shall assign a registration number that must be affixed to the motorcycle in a manner prescribed by the commissioner. A dealer subject to paragraph (b) shall provide the registration materials and temporary receipt to the purchaser within the ten-day temporary permit period.
- (d) The commissioner shall develop a registration system to register vehicles under this section. A deputy registrar of motor vehicles acting under section 168.33, is also a deputy registrar of off-highway motorcycles. The commissioner of natural resources in agreement with the commissioner of public safety may prescribe the accounting and procedural requirements necessary to ensure efficient handling of registrations and registration fees. Deputy registrars shall strictly comply with the accounting and procedural requirements. A fee of \$2\$ in addition to other fees prescribed by law is charged for each off-highway motorcycle registered by:
- (1) a deputy registrar and must be deposited in the treasury of the jurisdiction where the deputy is appointed, or kept if the deputy is not a public official; or
- (2) the commissioner and must be deposited in the state treasury and credited to the off-highway motorcycle account.
- Subd. 4. Registration card; signature; replacement fee. The commissioner shall provide to the registrant a registration card that includes the registration number, the date of registration, the make and serial number of the off-highway motorcycle, the owner's name and address, and additional information the commissioner may require. The registration is not valid unless signed by at least one owner. Information concerning registrations must be kept by the commissioner. Upon a satisfactory showing that the registration card has been lost or destroyed, the commissioner shall issue a replacement registration card upon payment of a fee of \$4. The fees collected from replacement registration cards must be credited to the off-highway motorcycle account.

[For text of subds 5 to 10, see M.S.2000]

History: 2001 c 185 s 2,3

**84.792** [Repealed, 2001 c 185 s 34]

# 84.796 PENALTIES.

- (a) A person who violates a provision of section 84.788, 84.789, 84.793, or 84.795 is guilty of a misdemeanor.
- (b) A person who violates a provision of a rule adopted under section 84.79 is guilty of a petty misdemeanor.

History: 2001 c 185 s 4

### 84.798 REGISTRATION.

## [For text of subds 1 and 2, see M.S.2000]

Subd. 3. Application; issuance. Application for registration or continued registration must be made to the commissioner, or an authorized deputy registrar of motor vehicles in a form prescribed by the commissioner. The form must state the name and address of every owner of the off-road vehicle. Upon receipt of the application and the appropriate fee, the commissioner shall register the off-road vehicle and assign a registration number that must be affixed to the vehicle in accordance with subdivision 4. A deputy registrar of motor vehicles acting under section 168.33 is also a deputy registrar of off-road vehicles. The commissioner of natural resources in cooperation with the commissioner of public safety may prescribe the accounting and procedural requirements necessary to ensure efficient handling of registrations and registration

# MINNESOTA STATUTES 2001 SUPPLEMENT

84.798 DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES

fees. Deputy registrars shall strictly comply with the accounting and procedural requirements. A fee of S2 in addition to other fees prescribed by law must be charged for each off-road vehicle registered by:

- (1) a deputy registrar and must be deposited in the treasury of the jurisdiction where the deputy is appointed, or retained if the deputy is not a public official; or
- (2) the commissioner and must be deposited in the state treasury and credited to the off-road vehicle account.

[For text of subd 4, see M.S.2000]

Subd. 5. Registration card; signature; replacement fee. The commissioner shall provide to the registrant a registration card that includes the registration number, date of expiration, make and serial number of the off-road vehicle, owner's name and address, and additional information the commissioner may require. The registration is not valid unless signed by at least one owner. Information concerning each registration must be kept by the commissioner. If a registration card is lost or destroyed, the commissioner shall issue a replacement registration card on payment of a fee of S4. The fees collected from replacement registration cards must be credited to the off-road vehicle account in the natural resources fund.

[For text of subds 6 to 9, see M.S.2000]

History: 2001 c 185 s 5,6

**84.801** [Repealed, 2001 c 185 s 34]

#### 84.82 SNOWMOBILE REGISTRATION.

[For text of subd 1a, sec M.S.2000]

- Subd. 2. Application, issuance, reports, additional fee. (a) Application for registration or reregistration shall be made to the commissioner of natural resources, or the commissioner of public safety or an authorized deputy registrar of motor vehicles in such form as the commissioner of public safety shall prescribe, and shall state the legal name and address of every owner of the snowmobile.
- (b) A person who purchases a snowmobile from a retail dealer shall make application for registration to the dealer at the point of sale. The dealer shall issue a temporary registration permit to each purchaser who applies to the dealer for registration. The temporary registration is valid for 60 days from the date of issue. Each retail dealer shall submit completed registration and fees to the deputy registrar at least once a week. Upon receipt of the application and the appropriate fee as hereinafter provided, such snowmobile shall be registered and a registration number assigned which shall be affixed to the snowmobile in a clearly visible and permanent manner for enforcement purposes as the commissioner of natural resources shall prescribe. The registration is not valid unless signed by at least one owner.
- (c) Each deputy registrar of motor vehicles acting pursuant to section 168.33, shall also be a deputy registrar of snowmobiles. The commissioner of natural resources in agreement with the commissioner of public safety may prescribe the accounting and procedural requirements necessary to assure efficient handling of registrations and registration fees. Deputy registrars shall strictly comply with these accounting and procedural requirements.
- (d) A fee of \$2 in addition to that otherwise prescribed by law shall be charged for:
- (1) each snowmobile registered by the registrar or a deputy registrar and the additional fee shall be disposed of in the manner provided in section 168.33, subdivision 2; or
- (2) each snowmobile registered by the commissioner and the additional fee shall be deposited in the state treasury and credited to the snowmobile trails and enforcement account in the natural resources fund.

4

84.862

[For text of subds 3 to 8, see M.S.2000]

Subd. 10. **Proof of sales tax payment.** A person applying for initial registration of a snowmobile must provide a snowmobile purchaser's certificate, showing a complete description of the snowmobile, the seller's name and address, the full purchase price of the snowmobile, and the trade-in allowance, if any. The certificate must include information showing either (1) that the sales and use tax under chapter 297A was paid or (2) the purchase was exempt from tax under chapter 297A. The commissioner of public safety, in consultation with the commissioner and the commissioner of revenue, shall prescribe the form of the certificate.

The certificate is not required if the applicant provides a receipt, invoice, or other document that shows the snowmobile was purchased from a retailer maintaining a place of business in this state as defined in section 297A.66, subdivision 1.

**History:** 2000 c 418 art 1 s 44; 2001 c 185 s 7

### 84.83 DISPOSITION OF RECEIPTS; DEDICATED ACCOUNT.

[For text of subds 1 and 2, see M.S.2000]

- Subd. 3. **Purposes for the account.** The money deposited in the account and interest earned on that money may be expended only as appropriated by law for the following purposes:
- (1) for a grant-in-aid program to counties and municipalities for construction and maintenance of snowmobile trails, including maintenance of trails on lands and waters of Voyageurs National Park;
- (2) for acquisition, development, and maintenance of state recreational snowmobile trails;
  - (3) for snowmobile safety programs; and
- (4) for the administration and enforcement of sections 84.81 to 84.91 and appropriated grants to local law enforcement agencies.

[For text of subd 4, see M.S.2000]

- Subd. 4a. **Trail continuation on lands acquired by the state.** When the commissioner acquires lands with easements or other agreements for snowmobile trails that have received grant-in-aid financing under this section, the commissioner shall:
  - (1) continue the easements or other agreements for the snowmobile trail; or
- (2) develop an alternative route for the trail, including acquiring any necessary easements or other agreements for the trail right-of-way and providing funding for all expenses associated with clearing and marking the snowmobile trail.
- Subd. 5. Fines and forfeited bail. The disposition of fines and forfeited bail collected from prosecutions of violations of sections 84.81 to 84.91 or rules adopted thereunder, and violations of section 169A.20 that involve off-road recreational vehicles, as defined in section 169A.03, subdivision 16, are governed by section 97A.065.

**History:** 2001 c 165 s 1; 2001 c 185 s 8,9; 1Sp2001 c 2 s 79

#### 84.862 SNOWMOBILE TRAINING REQUIRED.

Subdivision 1. Youth and young adult safety training. (a) Effective October 1, 1998, any resident born after December 31, 1979, who operates a snowmobile in Minnesota, must possess:

- (1) a valid snowmobile safety certificate;
- (2) a driver's license that has a valid snowmobile qualification indicator issued under section 171.07, subdivision 12; or
- (3) an identification card that has a valid snowmobile qualification indicator issued under section 171.07, subdivision 12.
- (b) The certificate or qualification indicator may only be issued upon successful completion of a course authorized under section 84.86. Either the youth course under

84.862

this subdivision or the adult course under subdivision 2 may be completed by persons 16 years of age or older.

- Subd. 2. Adult safety training. (a) Effective October 1, 2002, any resident born after December 31, 1976, and before December 31, 1983, who operates a snowmobile in Minnesota, must possess:
  - (1) a valid snowmobile safety certificate;
- (2) a driver's license that has a valid snowmobile qualification indicator issued under section 171.07, subdivision 12; or
- (3) an identification card that has a valid snowmobile qualification indicator issued under section 171.07, subdivision 12.
- (b) The certificate or qualification indicator may only be issued upon successful completion of a safety course designed for adults or persons 16 years of age or older. Whenever possible, the safety course shall include a riding component that stresses stopping distances.

[For text of subd 3, see M.S.2000].

History: 2001 c 185 s 10,11

## 84.872 YOUTHFUL SNOWMOBILE OPERATORS; PROHIBITIONS.

Subdivision 1. **Restrictions on operation.** (a) Notwithstanding anything in section 84.87 to the contrary, no person under 14 years of age shall make a direct crossing of a trunk, county state-aid, or county highway as the operator of a snowmobile, or operate a snowmobile upon a street or highway within a municipality.

A person 14 years of age or older, but less than 18 years of age, may make a direct crossing of a trunk, county state-aid, or county highway only if the person has in immediate possession:

- (1) a valid snowmobile safety certificate issued by the commissioner;
- (2) a driver's license that has a valid snowmobile qualification indicator issued under section 171.07, subdivision 12; or
- (3) an identification card that has a valid snowmobile qualification indicator issued under section 171.07, subdivision 12.
- (b) Notwithstanding section 84.862, no person under the age of 14 years shall operate a snowmobile on any public land, public easements, or water or grant-in-aid trail unless accompanied by one of the following listed persons on the same or an accompanying snowmobile, or on a device towed by the same or an accompanying snowmobile: the person's parent, legal guardian, or other person 18 years of age or older designated by the parent or guardian. However, a person 12 years of age or older but under the age of 14 years may operate a snowmobile on public lands, public easements, and waters or a grant-in-aid trail if the person has in immediate possession a valid snowmobile safety certificate issued by the commissioner or an identification card with a valid snowmobile qualification indicator issued under section 171.07, subdivision 12.

[For text of subds 1a to 3, see M.S.2000]

**History:** 2001 c 185 s 12

## 84.922 REGISTRATION.

[For text of subds 1 and 1a, see M.S.2000]

Subd. 2. **Application, issuance, reports.** (a) Application for registration or continued registration shall be made to the commissioner of natural resources, the commissioner of public safety or an authorized deputy registrar of motor vehicles in a form prescribed by the commissioner. The form must state the name and address of every owner of the vehicle.

- (b) A person who purchases an all-terrain vehicle from a retail dealer shall make application for registration to the dealer at the point of sale. The dealer shall issue a temporary ten-day registration permit to each purchaser who applies to the dealer for registration. The dealer shall submit the completed registration application and fees to the deputy registrar at least once each week. No fee may be charged by a dealer to a purchaser for providing the temporary permit.
- (c) Upon receipt of the application and the appropriate fee, the commissioner or deputy registrar shall issue to the applicant, or provide to the dealer, a 60-day temporary receipt and shall assign a registration number that must be affixed to the vehicle in a manner prescribed by the commissioner. A dealer subject to paragraph (b) shall provide the registration materials and temporary receipt to the purchaser within the ten-day temporary permit period. The commissioner shall use the snowmobile registration system to register vehicles under this section.
- (d) Each deputy registrar of motor vehicles acting under section 168.33, is also a deputy registrar of all-terrain vehicles. The commissioner of natural resources in agreement with the commissioner of public safety may prescribe the accounting and procedural requirements necessary to assure efficient handling of registrations and registration fees. Deputy registrars shall strictly comply with the accounting and procedural requirements.
- (e) A fee of \$2 in addition to other fees prescribed by law shall be charged for each vehicle registered by:
- (1) a deputy registrar and shall be deposited in the treasury of the jurisdiction where the deputy is appointed, or retained if the deputy is not a public official; or
- (2) the commissioner and shall be deposited to the state treasury and credited to the all-terrain vehicle account in the natural resources fund.

## [For text of subd 2a, see M.S.2000]:

Subd. 3. Registration card; signature. The commissioner shall provide to the registrant a registration card that includes the registration number, the date of registration, the make and serial number of the vehicle, the owner's name and address, and additional information the commissioner may require. Information concerning each registration shall be retained by the commissioner. The registration is not valid unless signed by at least one owner. Upon a satisfactory showing that the registration card has been lost or destroyed the commissioner shall issue a replacement registration card upon payment of a fee of S4. The fees collected from replacement registration cards shall be deposited in the all-terrain vehicle account in the natural resources fund.

#### [For text of subds 4 to 10, see M.S.2000]

Subd. 11. **Proof of sales tax payment.** A person applying for initial registration in Minnesota of an all-terrain vehicle shall provide a purchaser's certificate showing a complete description of the all-terrain vehicle, the seller's name and address, the full purchase price of the all-terrain vehicle, and the trade-in allowance, if any. The certificate also must include information showing either that (1) the sales and use tax under chapter 297A was paid, or (2) the purchase was exempt from tax under chapter 297A. The certificate is not required if the applicant provides a receipt, invoice, or other document that shows the all-terrain vehicle was purchased from a retailer maintaining a place of business in this state as defined in section 297A.66, subdivision 1.

**History:** 2001 c 185 s 13,14; 1Sp2001 c 5 art 7 s 2

#### 84.925 EDUCATION AND TRAINING PROGRAM.

Subdivision 1. **Program established.** (a) The commissioner shall establish a comprehensive all-terrain vehicle environmental and safety education and training program, including the preparation and dissemination of vehicle information and safety advice to the public, the training of all-terrain vehicle operators, and the issuance of all-terrain vehicle safety certificates to vehicle operators over the age of 12 years who successfully

# MINNESOTA STATUTES 2001 SUPPLEMENT

complete the all-terrain vehicle environmental and safety education and training course.

- (b) For the purpose of administering the program and to defray a portion of the expenses of training and certifying vehicle operators, the commissioner shall collect a fee of \$15 from each person who receives the training. Fee proceeds shall be deposited in the all-terrain vehicle account in the natural resources fund.
- (c) The commissioner shall cooperate with private organizations and associations, private and public corporations, and local governmental units in furtherance of the program established under this section. School districts may cooperate with the commissioner and volunteer instructors to provide space for the classroom portion of the training. The commissioner shall consult with the commissioner of public safety in regard to training program subject matter and performance testing that leads to the certification of vehicle operators. By June 30, 2003, the commissioner shall incorporate a riding component in the safety education and training program.

History: 1Sp2001 c 2 s 80

## 84.9256 YOUTHFUL OPERATORS; PROHIBITIONS.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES

Subdivision 1. Prohibitions on youthful operators. (a) Except for operation on public road rights-of-way that is permitted under section 84.928, a driver's license issued by the state or another state is required to operate an all-terrain vehicle along or on a public road right-of-way.

- (b) A person under 12 years of age shall not:
- (1) make a direct crossing of a public road right-of-way;
- (2) operate an all-terrain vehicle on a public road right-of-way in the state; or
- (3) operate an all-terrain vehicle on public lands or waters.
- (c) Except for public road rights-of-way of interstate highways, a person 12 years of age but less than 16 years may make a direct crossing of a public road right-of-way of a trunk, county state-aid, or county highway or operate on public lands and waters, only if that person possesses a valid all-terrain vehicle safety certificate issued by the commissioner and is accompanied on another all-terrain vehicle by a person 18 years of age or older who holds a valid driver's license.
- (d) All-terrain vehicle safety certificates issued by the commissioner to persons 12 years old, but less than 16 years old, are not valid for machines in excess of 90cc engine capacity unless:
- (1) the person successfully completed the safety education and training program under section 84.925, subdivision 1, including a riding component;
- (2) the riding component of the training was conducted using an all-terrain vehicle with over 90cc engine capacity; and
- (3) the person is able to properly reach and control the handle bars and reach the foot pegs while sitting upright on the seat of the all-terrain vehicle.

[For text of subds 2 to 4, see M.S.2000]

History: 1Sp2001 c 2 s 81

#### 84.9257 PASSENGERS.

- (a) A parent or guardian may operate an all-terrain vehicle carrying one passenger who is under 16 years of age and who wears a safety helmet approved by the commissioner of public safety.
- (b) For the purpose of this section, "guardian" means a legal guardian of a person under age 16, or a person 18 or older who has been authorized by the parent or legal guardian to supervise the person under age 16.

History: 1Sp2001 c 2 s 82

84.98

## 84.928 OPERATION REQUIREMENTS; LOCAL REGULATION.

[For text of subds 1 and 1a, see M.S.2000]

- Subd. 2. Operation generally. A person may not drive or operate an all-terrain vehicle:
- (1) at a rate of speed greater than reasonable or proper under the surrounding circumstances;
- (2) in a careless, reckless, or negligent manner so as to endanger or to cause injury or damage to the person or property of another:
- (3) without headlight and taillight lighted at all times if the vehicle is equipped with headlight and taillight;
  - (4) without a functioning stoplight if so equipped;
- (5) in a tree nursery or planting in a manner that damages or destroys growing stock:
  - (6) without a brake operational by either hand or foot;
- (7) with more persons on the vehicle than it was designed for, except as allowed under section 84.9257;
- (8) at a speed exceeding ten miles per hour on the frozen surface of public waters within 100 feet of a person not on an all-terrain vehicle or within 100 feet of a fishing shelter; or
  - (9) in a manner that violates operation rules adopted by the commissioner.

[For text of subds 4 to 6, see M.S.2000]

**History:** 1Sp2001 c 2 s 83

#### 84.965 APPROVAL OF PROJECT BY GOVERNOR.

[For text of subd 1, see M.S.2000]

Subd. 2. Corps member status; fees. All camp staff except camp directors in the young adult program are corps members. Corps members are not covered for unemployment benefits if their services are excluded under section 268.035, subdivision 20, and they are not eligible for other benefits except workers' compensation. The corps members are not employees of the state of Minnesota within the meaning of section 43A.02, subdivision 21. The commissioner may charge a fee for any service performed by the corps.

History: 2001 c 7 s 20

#### 84.98 MINNESOTA CONSERVATION CORPS.

[For text of subds 1 to 4, see M.S.2000]

Subd. 5. Corps member status. Minnesota conservation corps members are not covered for unemployment benefits if their services are excluded under section 268.035, subdivision 20, and they are not eligible for other benefits except workers' compensation. The corps members are not employees of the state within the meaning of section 43A.02, subdivision 21.

[For text of subds 6 to 8, see M.S.2000]

History: 2001 c 7 s 21