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CHAPTER 248

BLIND; EDUCATION, REHABILITATION
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248.07 Commissioner o f economic security, duties. 24S.11 Recoupm ent of services and equipment

248.01 [Repealed, 1976 c 271 s 98 subd 2]

248.011 REPORTING OF NEWLY BLINDED INDIVIDUAL.

Subdivision 1. Duty to report. Whenever an ophthalmologist or optometrist makes 
an initial diagnosis of legal blindness as defined in section 256D.35, subdivision 4a, the 
ophthalmologist or optometrist shall advise the client that services are available 
through Minnesota state services for the blind. After obtaining client consent, the 
ophthalmologist or optometrist shall report the name of the legally blind client to 
M innesota state services for the blind. The report must be filed with Minnesota state 
services for the blind within 30 days following a diagnosis of legal blindness after 
obtaining client consent.

Subd. 2. Duties of Minnesota state services for the blind. Upon receipt of the 
name of a legally blind individual, Minnesota state services for the blind shall contact 
the newly blind individual within 30 days and provide a complete summary of available 
services to the blind individual, in media accessible to the individual.

History: 1992 c 470 s 1; 1995 c 82 s 1

248.02 [Repealed, 1976 c 271 s 98 subd 2]

248.03 FREE TUITION AT STATE UNIVERSITY.

Any resident of the state graduated from the Minnesota state academy for the 
blind, upon compliance with all other requirements, shall be entitled to pursue any 
course of study in the state university without expense for tuition; and the board of 
regents shall receive the resident into any departm ent thereof.

History: (4612) R L  s 1935; 1941 c 332; 1986 c 444; 1987 c 384 art 1 s 55

248.04 BLIND STUDENT TO RECEIVE EXPENSES WHILE AT CERTAIN 
SCHOOLS.

Any blind person who is, and for five years immediately preceding the making of 
an application for aid under this chapter has been, a resident of this state, who is a 
regularly enrolled student pursuing any course of study, profession, art, or science in 
any university, college, or conservatory of music approved by the board of directors of 
the Minnesota state academy for the blind, in the discretion and under direction of the 
board, may receive a sum or sums of money, not exceeding $300 in any one year, for 
the purpose of defraying necessary expenses, including those of a reader, while in 
attendance upon such university, college, or conservatory, such expenditures to be 
made from the appropriations for the current expenses of the Minnesota state academy 
for the blind. Not more than ten such blind persons shall receive such aid in any one 
year.

History: (4613) 1915 c 307 s 1; 1929 c 367 s 1; 1941 c 332; 1986 c 444; 1987 c 384 
art 1 s 55

248.05 [Repealed, 1976 c 271 s 98 subd 2]

248.06 [Repealed, 1976 c 271 s 98 subd 2]

                           
MINNESOTA STATUTES 2000

Copyright © 2000 Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.
                                                                



248.07 BLIND; EDUCATION, REHABILITATION 638

248.07 COMMISSIONER OF ECONOMIC SECURITY, DUTIES.
Subdivision 1. Cooperation. It shall be the duty of the commissioner of economic 

security, referred to in this section and sections 248.10 and.248.11 as the commissioner, 
to develop and administer programs serving the needs of blind and visually disabled 
persons and to cooperate with state and local boards and agencies both public and 
private. The commissioner shall create a division that is a distinct organizational unit to 
be known as state services for the blind, separate from the vocational rehabilitation unit 
and with its own activity budget, within the departm ent of economic security to provide 
and coordinate services to the blind.

Subd. 2. Statistics. The commissioner shall collect statistics concerning blind 
persons including medical ophthalmological data, causes of blindness, opportunities for 
education, rehabilitation, training for employment, and any other information necessary 
to carry out the commissioner’s duties and responsibilities with respect to blind and 
visually disabled persons.

Subd. 3. Special attention. The commissioner shall give special attention to the 
cases of disabled youth who are eligible to attend the M innesota state academy for the 
blind, the Minnesota state academy for the deaf, or the public school classes for 
disabled children, but are not in attendance there, or are not receiving adequate 
instruction elsewhere. The commissioner shall report all such cases to the school 
district of the individual’s residence and to the commissioner of children, families, and 
learning.

Subd. 4. Vocational training. The commissioner shall either provide or assist blind 
and visually disabled persons in obtaining vocational training and employment and shall 
aid such persons in obtaining services and benefits to which they may be entitled from 
public and private agencies. Any person who shall be entitled to training under this 
subdivision shall have the right to choose from available programs such training as in 
the opinion of the person would be suitable and practical in accordance with rules 
adopted by the commissioner under subdivision 14a.

Subd. 5. Aids. The commissioner shall further be empowered to aid persons who 
are blind or visually disabled: (1) by home instruction and training; (2) by assisting 
them in securing tools, appliances, and supplies; (3) by any other practicable means of 
improving their social, economic, or educational condition; (4) by providing to eligible 
persons, or purchasing for sale at cost plus handling charges, special materials and 
supplies needed by blind or visually disabled persons that are difficult to obtain 
elsewhere; and (5) by promoting literacy and access to print materials through 
production for blind or visually disabled persons or others of alternative reading 
formats such as Braille, audio tapes, radio signals, newspaper reading services, and 
other services originating from the division’s communication center. Equipm ent may be 
leased or sold under written rehabilitation plans at cost plus handling charges to 
persons who wish to lease or purchase them. Receipts under this subdivision, as well as 
gifts to aid the blind, are subject to section 268.0121, subdivision 5.

Subd. 6. [Repealed, 1949 c 22 s 1]
Subd. 7. Blind, vending stands and machines on governmental property. Notwith­

standing any other law, for the rehabilitation of blind persons the commissioner shall 
have exclusive authority to establish and to operate vending stands and vending 
machines in all buildings and properties owned or rented exclusively by the Minnesota 
state colleges and universities at a state university, a community college, a consolidated 
community technical college, or a technical college served by the commissioner before 
January 1, 1996, or by any department or agency of the state of Minnesota except the 
department of natural resources properties operated directly by the division of state 
parks and not subject to private leasing. The merchandise to be dispensed by such 
vending stands and machines may include nonalcoholic beverages, food, candies, 
tobacco, souvenirs, notions and related items. Such vending stands and vending 
machines herein authorized shall be operated on the same basis as other vending 
stands for the blind established and supervised by the commissioner under federal law. 
The commissioner shall waive this authority to displace any present private individual
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concessionaire in any state-owned or rented building or property who is operating 
under a contract with a specific renewal or termination date, until the renewal or 
termination date. With the consent of the governing body of a governmental subdivi­
sion of the state, the commissioner may establish and supervise vending stands and 
vending machines for the blind in any building or property exclusively owned or rented 
by the governmental subdivision.

Subd. 8. Use of revolving fund, licenses for operation of vending machines. The 
revolving fund created by Laws 1947, chapter 535, section 5, is continued as provided in 
this subdivision and shall be known as the revolving fund for vocational rehabilitation 
of the blind. It shall be used for the purchase of equipment and supplies for 
establishing and operating of vending stands by blind persons. All income, receipts, 
earnings, and federal grants due to the operation thereof shall also be paid into the 
fund. All interest earned on money accrued in the fund must be credited to the fund by 
the state treasurer. All equipment, supplies, and expenses for setting up these stands 
shall be paid for from the fund. Authority is hereby given to the commissioner to use 
the money available in the revolving fund that originated as operational charges to 
individuals licensed under this subdivision for the establishment, operation, and 
supervision of vending stands by blind persons for the following purposes: (1) purchase, 
upkeep and replacement of equipment; (2) expenses incidental to the setting up of new 
stands and improvement of old stands; (3) reimbursement under section 15.059 to 
individual blind vending operators for reasonable expenses incurred in attending 
supervisory meetings as called by the commissioner and other expenditures for 
management services consistent with federal law; and (4) purchase of fringe benefits 
for blind vending operators and their employees such as group health insurance, 
retirem ent program, vacation or sick leave assistance provided that the purchase of any 
fringe benefit is approved by a majority vote of blind vending operators licensed 
pursuant to this subdivision after the commissioner provides to each blind vending 
operator information on all matters relevant to the fringe benefits. Fringe benefits shall 
be paid only from assessments of operators for specific benefits, gifts to the fund for 
fringe benefit purposes, and vending income which is not assignable to an individual 
stand.

Money originally deposited as merchandise and supplies repayments by individuals 
licensed under this subdivision may be expended for initial and replacement stocks of 
supplies and merchandise. Money originally deposited from vending income on federal 
property must be spent consistent with federal law.

All other deposits may be used for the purchase of general liability insurance or 
any other expense related to the operation and supervision of vending stands.

The commissioner shall issue each license for the operation of a vending stand or 
vending machine for an indefinite period but may terminate any license in the manner 
provided. In granting licenses for new or vacated stands preference on the basis of 
seniority of experience in operating stands under the control of the commissioner shall 
be given to capable operators who are deemed competent to handle the enterprise 
under consideration. Application of this preference shall not prohibit the commissioner 
from selecting an operator from the community in which the stand is located.

Subd. 9. Training of selected applicants. Each applicant selected by the commis­
sioner for a license to operate a vending stand or vending machine shall be given 
training in the operation and conduct of such vending stand or vending machine.

Subd. 10. Revocation of licenses; hearing. The commissioner shall not revoke any 
license except for good cause shown. An opportunity for a fair hearing shall be 
afforded any operator within 30 days after revocation of license.

Subd. 11. Policy changes; notice and hearing. Any major changes in policies made 
by the commissioner in the conduct of this program will be preceded by a public 
hearing. Each operator shall be given 30 days’ notice of such hearing.

Subd. 12. Reimbursement out of state distribution of Braille and special materi­
als. The commissioner shall obtain reimbursement from other states for the estimated 
cost of providing radio signals, programming, and radio receivers for the blind and for 
production and handling of Braille books, audio tapes, and related services for the
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blind distributed by the department of economic security to users in such other states 
and may contract with th e . appropriate authorities of such states to effect such 
reimbursement. All money received hereunder shall be paid to the state treasurer and 
placed in the special revenue fund and is appropriated to the commissioner of 
economic security for the purposes of this subdivision.

Subd. 13. Community rehabilitation programs. From the funds appropriated for 
vocational rehabilitation of the blind and matching federal funds available for the 
purpose, the commissioner may make grants, upon such terms as the commissioner 
may determine, to public or nonprofit organizations for the establishment, maintenance 
or improvement of community rehabilitation programs.

Subd. 14. Training of workers for rehabilitation of blind. From funds provided by 
the state or the United States for the rehabilitation of blind persons, the commissioner 
may make provision for:

(1) specialized supplementary training of professional workers employed by ser­
vices for the blind, which shall consist of selected courses of study designed to improve 
worker techniques in providing assistance with adjustment to blindness, guidance, 
training and vocational placement services to blind children and adults;

(2) the employment of student trainees enrolled in school programs. Such trainees 
to be employed on a part-time basis during the regular school term and on a full-time 
basis during the extra school term. Student trainees shall not be counted against the 
regular staff complement.

Subd. 14a. Rules. The commissioner shall adopt rules to set standards for the 
provision of rehabilitative services to blind and visually disabled persons. The rules 
shall, at a minimum, contain program definitions and set standards for basic eligibility, 
including financial need eligibility and definitions of legal blindness.

The rules shall provide for the development of formal rehabilitation plans for 
eligible clients and shall govern the provision of direct rehabilitative services to clients, 
including placement in training programs, and providing tools and equipment.' In 
addition, the rules shall set standards for appeals filed under subdivision 15 and include 
specific requirements for timely responses by the agency.

Subd. 15. Appeals from agency action. An applicant for or recipient of rehabilita­
tion service who is dissatisfied with an agency’s action with regard to the furnishing or 
denial of services may file a request for administrative review and fair hearing in 
accordance with rules adopted under subdivision 14a.

Subd. 16. Adjustment-to-blindness training, (a) The commissioner of economic 
security shall enter into contracts or agreements to provide comprehensive adjustment- 
to-blindness training services to blind and visually disabled persons. Services available 
must include, but not be limited to, instruction in Braille reading and writing, the use of 
the long white cane for independent travel, home management and self management, 
typing and computer technology, career exploration, and seminars on positive adjust­
ment to blindness. In entering into contracts or agreements to provide adjustment-to- 
blindness services, the commissioner shall, when in the best interests of the client, 
utilize services available from qualified nonprofit agencies or organizations who:

(1) are administered by a governing board composed of a majority of individuals 
who are blind;

(2) substantially involve individuals who are blind in policy direction and manage­
ment; and

(3) employ individuals who are blind at all levels of operation.
(b) This subdivision does not limit the commissioner’s authority to enter into 

contracts or agreements for any service with other qualified agencies or organizations.
History: (4616) 1913 c 488 s 1,2; 1917 c 346 s 3,4; 1923 c 336 s 1; 1941 c 332 s 1; 

1955 c 303 s 1-6; 1957 c 693 s 1,2; 1961 c 67 s 1; 1965 c 321 s 1; 1965 c 692 s 1; 1969 c 
399 s 1; 1969 c 903 s 1; 1969 c 1022 s 1; 1969 c 1129 art 3 s 1; 1976 c 54 s 1; 1976 c 163 s 
51; 1976 c 239 s 78; 1976 c 271 s 77; 1982 c 395 s 1; 1984 c 516 s 1; 1984 c 654 art 5 s 
58; lSpl985 c 14 art 9 s 12; 1986 c 337 s 3-12; 1986 c 444; lSpl986 c 3 art 1 s 27; 1987 c 
365 s 20; 1987 c 384 art 2 s 1; 1988 c 703 art 1 s 19-21; 1991 c 328 s 1; 1992 c 470 s 2,3; 
1994 c 483 s 1; 1995 c 82 s 2-9; 1996 c 398 s 58; 1998 c 265 s 1; 1998 c 398 art 5 s 55
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641 BLIND; EDUCATION, REHABILITATION 248.11

248.075 BLIND-MADE GOODS AND SERVICES, USE BY GOVERNMENTAL 
AGENCIES.

Any board, commission, officer, or employee of the state or a state agency, or of 
any county, city, town, school district, or other political subdivision or taxing district of 
the state, who purchases materials, supplies, goods, wares, merchandise, or produce, or 
procures services in behalf of the state or such state agency, political subdivision, or 
taxing district, shall purchase blind-made articles and products and procure blind labor, 
as each term is defined in section 325F.47, whenever they are available on terms at 
least as advantageous to the purchaser as are articles, products, and services available 
from other sources.

History: 1967 c 414 s 1; 1973 c 123 art 5 s 7

248.08 [Repealed, 1986 c 337 s 14]

248.09 [Repealed, 1976 c 271 s 98 subd 2]

248.10 REHABILITATION ADVISORY COUNCIL FOR THE BLIND.
The commissioner shall establish a rehabilitation advisory council for the blind 

consistent with the federal Rehabilitation Act of 1973, Public Law Number 93-112, as 
amended. Advisory council members shall be compensated as provided in section 
15.059, subdivision 3. Members of the council for the blind appointed before July 1, 
1993, shall serve on the advisory council until the end of their appointed terms. The 
advisory council shall advise the commissioner about programs of the division of state 
services for the blind and visually disabled. The advisory council is limited to 15 
members, a majority of whom must be blind or visually disabled.

History: lSpl985 c 14 art 9 s 14; 1988 c 629 s 48; 1989 c 106 s 2; 1992 c 470 s 4; 
1993 c 97 s 1; 1995 c 82 s 10,16

NOTE: The rehabilitation advtsoi^ council for the blind expires on June 30. 2001 Section 15.059, subdivision 5a.

248.11 RECOUPMENT OF SERVICES AND EQUIPMENT.
Subdivision 1. Erroneous payments. If a recipient receives monetary assistance as a 

rehabilitation service from services for the blind in excess of that to which the recipient 
is entitled by law, state seivices for the blind shall, as soon as it discovers the amount of 
the erroneous payment, notify the recipient to return the same in accordance with rules 
adopted by the commissioner. Unless the recipient files an appeal under section 248.07, 
subdivision 15, within 15 days after the notice to return is personally delivered to the 
recipient or mailed to the recipient’s last known address, the determination of 
overpayment shall be considered final. If the recipient files a timely appeal, the 
determination shall not be considered final until the recipient’s administrative appeal 
remedies are exhausted. State services for the blind may recoup overpayments consid­
ered final under this subdivision by deducting the amount or a part of the overpayment 
from future monetary assistance payments to the recipient or by civil action in the 
name of the commissioner. Overpayments made more than three years prior to 
discovery of the error are not recoverable under this subdivision.

Subd. 2. Recovery of equipment If a recipient retains equipment to which state 
services for the blind has title after the recipient’s right to possess the equipment has 
expired, state services for the blind shall notify the recipient to return the same or 
execute a new lease to the equipment if the equipment is still necessary to the 
recipient’s rehabilitation. Unless the recipient returns the equipment, executes and 
complies with a new lease to the equipment or appeals under section 248.07, subdivi­
sion 15, within 15 days after the notice to return is personally delivered to the recipient 
or mailed to the recipient’s last known address, state services for the blind may institute 
a civil action to recover the equipment or the reasonable value of the equipment.

History: 1986 c 337 s 13; 1995 c 82 s 11
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