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223.15 CITATION.
Sections 223.15 to 223.19 may be cited as the Grain Buyers Act.
History: 1982 ¢ 635 s 2; 1983 ¢ 3745 20

223.16 DEFINITIONS.

Subdivision 1. Applicability. For the purpose of sections 223.15 to 223.22, the
terms defined in this section have the meanings given them.

Subd. 2. Bond. “Bond” means an obligation acceptable to and running to the state,
as obligee, for the purpose of indemnifying producers of grain against the breach of a
contract by a grain buyer.

Subd. 2a. Cash sale. “Cash sale” means:

(a) a sale for which payment is tendered to the seller not later than the close of
business on the next business day after the sale, either in cash or by check, or by
mailing or wiring funds to the seller’s account in the amount of at least 80 percent of
the value of the grain at delivery; or

(b) a sale of a shipment of grain which is part of a multiple shipment sale, for
which a scale ticket clearly marked “CASH” has been received by the seller before
completion of the entire sale, and for which payment is tendered in cash or by check
not later than ten days after the sale of that shipment, except that when the entire sale
is completed, payment is tendered in cash or by check not later than the close of
business on the next business day, or within 48 hours, whichever is later.

Copyright © 2000 Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



MINNESOTA STATUTES 2000

129 GRAIN BUYERS  223.16

Subd. 3. Commissioner. “Commissioner” means the commissioner of agriculture or
the commissioner’s designee.

Subd. 4. Grain. “Grain” means any cereal grain, coarse grain, or oilseed in
unprocessed form for which a standard has been established by the United States
Secretary of Agriculture or the Minnesota board of grain standards, dry edible beans,
or other agricultural crops designated by the commissioner by rule. .

Subd. 5. Grain buyer. “Grain buyer” means a person who purchases grain for the
purpose of reselling the grain with the exception of a person who purchases seed grain
for crop production or who purchases grain as feed for the person’s own livestock.

Subd. 6. Grain warehouse. “Grain warehouse” means an elevator, flour, cereal or
feed mill, malthouse or warehouse in which grain belonging to a person other than the
warehouse operator is received for purchase or storage.

Subd. 7. Independent grain buyer. “Independent grain buyer” means a person
without a private.or public grain warehouse license who is licensed to engage in the
business of purchasing grain for resale.

Subd. 8. [Repealed, 1983 ¢ 374 s 22]

Subd. 9. Person. “Person” means a corporation, company, joint stock company or
association, partnership, firm or individual and includes their agents, trustees, assignees
or duly appointed receivers.

Subd. 10. Private grain warehouse operator. “Private grain warehouse operator”
means a person licensed to operate a grain warehouse for the sole purpose of
purchasing, handling, processing and shipping grain or its by-products who is not
licensed by the commissioner to accept grain belonging to others for storage. “Private
grain warehouse operator” includes any person licensed under the United States
Warehouse Act, United States Code, title 7, chapter 10.

Subd. 11. Producer. “Producer” means a person who grows grain on land owned or
leased by the person.

Subd. 12. Public grain warehouse operator. “Public grain warehouse operator”
means a person operating a grain warehouse in which grain belonging to persons other
than the grain warehouse operator is accepted for storage or purchase or who offers
grain storage or warehouse facilities to the public for hire.

Subd. 12a. Scale ticket. “Scale ticket” means a memorandum issued by a grain
elevator or warehouse operator to a depositor at the time grain is delivered, showing
the weight and kind of grain. .

Subd. 13. Semitrailer. “Semitrailer” means a vehicle described in section 168.011,
subdivision 14, used to haul grain.

Subd. 14. Trailer. “Trailer” means a vehicle described in section 168.011, subdivi-
sion 13, used to haul grain.

Subd. 15. Truck. “Truck” means a single unit vehicle described in section 168.011,
subdivision 10, used to haul grain.

Subd. 16. Voluntary extension of credit contract. “Voluntary extension of credit
contract” means a contract for the purchase of a specific amount of grain from a
producer in which the title to the grain passes to the grain buyer upon delivery, but the
price is to be determined or payment for the grain is to be made at a date later than
the date of delivery of the grain to the grain buyer. Voluntary extension of credit
contracts include deferred or delayed payment contracts, unpriced sales, no price
established contracts, average pricing contracts, and all other contractual arrangements
with the exception of cash sales and grain storage agreements evidenced by a grain
warehouse receipt.

History: 1982 ¢ 635 s 3; 1983 ¢ 374 s 1-7,20; 1986 c 444; 1988 ¢ 688 art 14 s 1; 2000
c 477 s 60
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223.17 LICENSES; BONDING; CLAIMS; DISBURSEMENTS.

Subdivision 1. Licenses. An application for a grain buyer’s license must be filed
with the commissioner and the license issued before any grain may be purchased. The
commissioner must provide application forms and licenses that state the restrictions
and authority to purchase and store grain under the license bemg applied for and
issued. The categories of grain buyers’ licenses are:

(a) private grain warehouse operator’s license;
(b) public grain warehouse operator’s license; and
(c) independent grain buyer’s license.

The, applicant for a grain buyer’s license shall identify all grain buying locations
owned or controlled by the grain buyer and all vehicles owned or controlled by the
grain buyer used to transport purchased grain. Every applicant for a grain buyer’s
license shall have a permanent established place of business at each licensed location.
An “established place of business” means a permanent enclosed building, including a
house or a farm, either owned by the applicant or leased by the applicant for a period
of at least one year, and where the books, records, and files necessary to conduct the
business are kept and maintained. The commissioner may maintain information on
grain buyers by categories including, but not limited to, the: Categories provided in
clauses (a) to (c) and grain buyers that are licensed to purchase grain usmg trucks but
that do not have a public or private warehouse license.

Subd. la. [Repealed, 1986 c 322 s 4]

Subd. 2. License renewal. A license must be renewed annually. Beginning July 1,
1984, the commissioner may stagger the renewal dates of licenses issued under this
chapter, subject to the policy expressed in section 116J.69, subdivision 2, paragraph (d).
If a person receives more than one license from the commissioner, the licenses shall be
issued at the same time, but only after all conditions for each license are met. Multiple
licenses should be combined into one license if possible.

Subd. 3. Grain buyers and storage account; fees. The commissioner shall set the
fees for inspections under sections 223.15 to 223.22 at levels necessary to pay the
expenses of administering and enforcing sections 223.15 to 223.22.

The fee for any license issued or renewed after June 30, 1997, shall be set
according to the following schedule:

(a) .$100 plus $50 for each additional location for gram buyers whose gross annual
purchases are less than $100,000;

(b) $200 plus $50 for each additional location for grain buyers whose gross annual
purchases are at least $100,000, but not more than $750,000;

(c) $300 plus $100 for each additional location for grain buyers whose gross annual
purchases are more than $750,000 but not more than $1,500,000;

(d) $400 plus $100 for each additional location for grain buyers whose gross annual
purchases are more than $1,500,000 but not more than $3,000,000; and

(e) $500 plus $100 for each additional location for grain buyers whose gross annual
purchases are more than $3,000,000.

There is created the grain buyers and storage account in the agrlcultural fund.
Money collected pursuant to sections 223.15 to 223.19 shall be paid into the state
treasury and credited to the grain buyers and storage account and is appropriated to
the commissioner. for the administration and enforcement of sections 223.15 to 223.22.

Subd. 4. Bond. Before a grain buyer’s license is issued, the applicant for the license
must file with the commissioner a bond in a penal sum prescribed by the commissioner
but not less than the following amounts:

(a) $10,000 for grain buyers whose gross annual purchases are $100,000 or less;

(b) $20,000 for grain buyers whose gross annual purchases are more than $100,000
but not more than $750,000;
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(c) $30,000 for-grain buyers whose gross annual purchases are more than $750,000
but not more than $1,500,000; .

(d) $40,000 for grain buyers whose gross annual purchases are more than
$1,500,000 but not more than $3,000,000; and '

(e) $50,000 for grain buyers whose gross annual purchases exceed $3,000,000. A
grain buyer who has filed a bond with the commissioner prior to July 1, 1983 is not
required to increase the amount of the bond to comply with this section until July 1,
1984. The commissioner may postpone an increase in the amount of the bond until July
1, 1985, if a licensee demonstrates that the increase will impose undue financial
hardship on the licensee, and that producers will -not be harmed as a result of the
postponement. The commissioner may impose other restrictions on a licensee whose
bond increase has been postponed. The amount of the bond shall be based on the most
recent financial statement of the grain buyer filed under subdivision 6.

A first-time applicant for a grain buyer’s license after July 1, 1983 shall file a
$20,000 bond with the commissioner. This bond shall remain in effect for the first year
of the license. Thereafter, the licensee shall comply with the applicable bonding
requirements contained in clauses (a) to.(e).

In lieu of the bond required by this subdivision the applicant may deposit with the
state treasurer cash, a certified check, a cashier’s check, a postal, bank, or express
money order, assignable bonds or notes of the United States, or an assignment of a
bank savings account or investment certificate or an irrevocable bank letter of credit as
defined in section 336.5-102, in the same amount as would be required for a bond.

Subd. 5. Cash sales; manner of payment. For a cash sale of a shipment of grain
which is part of a multiple shipment sale, the grain buyer shall tender payment to the
seller in cash or by check not later than ten days after the sale of that shipment, except
that when the entire sale is completed, payment shall be tendered not later than the
close of business on the next day, or within 48 hours, whichever is later. For other cash
sales the grain buyer, before the close of business on the next business day after the
sale, shall tender payment to the seller in cash or by check, or shall wire or mail funds
to the seller’s account in the amount of at least 80 percent of the value of the grain at
the time of delivery. The grain buyer shall complete fmal settlement as rapidly as
possible through ordinary diligence.

Subd. 5a. Grain purchases from unlicensed producers. No grain buyer may refuse
to purchase grain from a producer solely because the producer is not bonded or is not
licensed by the commissioner; provided, that any producer who buys grain from other
producers shall be licensed and bonded as required by this chapter.

Subd. 6. Financial statements. For the purpose of fixing or changing the amount
of a required bond or for any other proper reason, the commissioner shall require an
annual financial statement from a licensee which has been prepared in accordance with
generally accepted accounting principles and which meets the following requirements:

(a) The financial statement shall include, but not be limited to the following: (1) a
balance sheet; (2) a statement of income (profit and loss); (3) a statement of retained
earnings; (4) a statement of changes in financial position; and (5) a statement of the
dollar amount of grain purchased in the previous fiscal year of the grain buyer.

(b) The financial statement shall be accompanied by a compilation report of the
financial statement which is prepared by a grain commission firm or a management
firm approved .by the commissioner. or by an independent public accountant, in
accordance with standards established by the American Institute of Certified Public
Accountants.

(c) The financial statement shall be accompanied by a certification by the chief
executive officer or the chief executive officer’s designee of the licensee, under penalty
of perjury, that the financial statement .accurately reflects the financial condition of the
licensee for the period specified in the statement. A ,
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Only one financial statement must be filed for a chain of warehouses owned or
operated as a single business entity, unless otherwise required by the commissioner.
Any grain buyer having a net worth in excess of $500,000,000 need not file the financial
statement required by this subdivision but must provide the commissioner with a
certified net worth statement. All financial statements filed with the commissioner are
private or nonpublic data as provided in section 13.02.

Subd. 6a. Suspension, revocation, or refusal to issue llcense (a) If a license
applicant or a licensee fails to furnish financial statements the commissioner may refuse
to issue or renew the license or may suspend the license.

(b) The commissioner may refuse to issue or renew a license or may suspend a
license upon determining, based upon the financial statement filed undet this section or
other financial information obtained by the commissioner, that the applicant or licensee
is not financially able to properly perform the services and operate the business for
which the license is issued.

(c) When a license is suspended the licensee shall surrender the license to the
commissioner. An applicant or licensee may request an administrative hearing subject
to chapter 14 within 15 days after the commissioner suspends a license or refuses to
issue or renew a license under clause (b) to determine whether the license should be
issued, renewed, or revoked. If no request is made within 15 days after suspensmn the
commissioner shall revoke the license.

Subd. 7. Producer bond and contract claims. A producer claiming to be damaged
by a breach.of a contract for the purchase, of grain by. a licensed grain buyer may file-a
written claim with the commissioner. The claim must state the facts constituting the
claim. The claim must be filed with the commissioner within 180 days of the breach of
the contract. If a claim is valid, the commissioner may immediately suspend the license,
in which case the licensee shall surrender the license to the commissioner. Within 15
days the licensee may request an admunistrative hearing subject to chapter 14 to
determine whether the license should be revoked. If ; o request is made within 15 days,
the commissioner shall revoke the license.

Subd. 8. Bond disbursement. (a) The bond required under subdivision 4 shall
provide for payment of loss caused by the grain buyer’s failure to pay, upon the owner’s
demand, the purchase price of grain sold to the grain buyer in the manner provided by
subdivision 5, including loss caused by failure to pay within the time required. The
bond shall be conditioned upon the grain buyer beéing duly licensed as provided herein.

(b) The commissioner shall promptly determine the validity of all claims filed and
notify the claimants of the determination. An aggrieved. party may appeal the commis-
sioner’s determination by requesting, within 15 days, that the commissioner initiate a
contested case proceeding. In the absence of such a request, or following the issuance
of a final order in a contested case, the surety company shall issue payment promptly to
those claimants entitled to payment. The commissioner may apply to the district court
for an order appointing a trustee or receiver to manage and supervise the operations of
the grain buyer in default. The commissioner may participate in any resulting court
proceeding as an interested party..

(c) If a grain buyer has become liable to more than one producer by reason - of
breaches’ of 'the conditions of the bond and the amount of the bond is insufficient to
pay the entire liability to all producers entitled tothe. protection of the bond, the
proceeds of the bond shall be apportioned among the bona fide claimants.

(d) The bond shall not be ‘cumulative from one licensing -period-to the next. The
maximum liability of the bond shall be its face value for the licensing period.

Subd. 9. Defaults; violations. If the commissioner finds, after an investigation is
conducted, that a complaint is valid or that a licensee is in violation of the provisions of
this chapter, the commissioner may immediately suspend the license, in which case the
licensee shall surrender the license to the commissioner. Within 15 days, the licensee
may request an administrative hearing subject to chapter 14 to determine whether the
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license should be revoked. If no request is made within' L5 days, the commissioner shall
revoke the license. :
History: 1982 ¢ 424 s 130; 1982 ¢ 635 s 4; 1983 ¢ 374 s 8,20; ]985 23355 1986 ¢
444; 1987 ¢ 396 art 11 s 15; 1996 ¢ 305 art 3 s 28; 1997 ¢ 11 art 2 5 9; 1997 ¢ 216 s 126;
1999 ¢ 231 s 169; 1999 ¢ 250 art 3 s 24; 2000 ¢ 477 s 61

NOTE: The amendment to subdwvision 3 by Laws 1999, chapter 250, article 3, section 24, is effective July 1, 2001. Laws
1999, chapter 250, article 3, section 29.

NOTE: Laws 1999, chapter 750 article 3 does not repeal rules or. fees in effect on June 30 2001 Laws 2000, chapter
488, article 12, section 23.

223.175 WRITTEN VOLUNTARY EXTENSION OF, CREDIT CONTRACTS; FORM.

- A written confirmation required under section 223.177, subdivision 2, and a written
voluntary extension. of credit contract must include those items prescribed- by the
commissioner by rule. A contract shall include a statement of the legal and financial
responsibilities of grain buyers and sellers established in this chapter. A contract shall
also include the following statement in not less than ten point, all capital type, framed
in a box with space provided for the seller’s signature: “THIS CONTRACT CONSTI-
TUTES A VOLUNTARY EXTENSION OF CREDIT. THIS CONTRACT IS NOT
COVERED BY ANY GRAIN BUYER’S BOND.” If a written contract is provided at
the time the grain is delivered to the grain buyer, the seller shall sign the contract in
the space provided beneath the statement. A transaction that does not meet the
provisions of a voluntary extension of credit, including the issuance and signing of a
voluntary extension of credit contract, is a cash sale.

. History: 1983 ¢ 374 s 9; 2000 ¢ 477 s 62..

223.177 PURCHASE BY VOLUNTARY EXTENSION OF CREDIT CONTRACTS.

Subdivision 1. Indication of intention. Every graln buyer who intends to purchase
grain by voluntary extension of credit contracts shall indicate the intention to do so
annually to the commissioner on a form provided by the commissioner. :

Subd. 2. Oral contracts. Any grain buyer entering into a voluntary extension of
credit contract orally or by phone shall give or mail to the seller a written confirmation
conforming to the requirements of section 223.175 before the close of the next business
day. . S . : _
Subd. 3. Contracts reduced to writing. A voluntary extension of credit contract
must be reduced to writing by the grain buyer and mailed or given to the seller before
the close of the next business day after the contract is entered into or, in the case of an
oral or phone contract, after the written -confirmation is received by the seller.
Provided, however, that if a scale ticket has been received by the seller prior to the
completion of the grain shipment,.the contract must be reduced to writing within ten
days after the sale, but not later than the close of the next business day after the
completion of the entire sale. The form of the contract shall comply with the
requirements of section 223.175. :

Subd. 4. Grain, rights, or proceeds held. A hcensed grain buyer purchasmg grain
by voluntary extension of credit contracts shall at all times maintain grain, rights in
grain, or proceeds from the sale of grain totaling 90 percent of the grain buyer’s
obligation for grain purchased by voluntary extension of credit contracts. That amount
must be evidenced or represented by one or more of the following: - :

(a) grain owned.and actually held by the grain buyer in a grain warehouse owned
or controlled by the grain buyer;

(b) rights in grain evidenced or represented by warehouse recelpts issued by a state
or federally licensed grain warehouse;

(c) cash on hand or cash held on account in federally or ‘state hcensed institutions;

(d) short-term investments held in time accounts with federally or state licensed
institutions; .

" (e) balances on grain -margin accounts

(f) voluntary extension of credit contracts for grain shipped to a processor or
terminal as purchaser, less any payment or advance that has been received;
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(g) an irrevocable letter of credit, as defined in section 336.5-102; or

(h) other evidence of proceeds from the sale of grain acceptable to the commis-
sioner. .

Subd. 5. Value of grain. For the purpose of computing the dollar value of
inventories of voluntary extension of credit obligations, the value¢ of grain must be
figured at the current market price on the day of delivery.

Subd. 6. Transfer of title. The title to grain delivered on a voluntary extension of
credit contract transfers to the grain buyer upon delivery.

Subd. 7. Storage charges prohibited. No storage charges may be charged with
respect to grain purchased on voluntary extension of credit contracts.

Subd. 8. Records. A grain buyer shall keep sufficiently detailed books and records
of voluntary extension of credit contracts and evidences of grain, rights in grain, and
the proceeds from the sale of grain so as to clearly show compliance with this section.
The commissioner or the commissioner’s authorized agent may inspect these books and
records to determine whether grain buyers are complying with the provistons of this
chapter, and for this purpose the commissioner may enter upon any public or private
premises during regular business hours.

History: 1983 ¢ 374 s 10; 1986 ¢ 444; 1997 c 11 art 25 9

223.18 PENALTY.

A person buying grain without first obtaining a grain buyer’s license is guilty of a
misdemeanor. Each day of operation without a grain buyer’s license constitutes a
separate offense. In case of license revocation, no new license shall be granted to the
person whose license was revoked nor to.anyone either directly or indirectly engaged
with the person in the licensed business for two years. A grain dealer who withholds
records from the commissioner, keeps or files records knowing them to be false, alters
records fraudulently, or presents records to the commissioner knowing them to be false,
is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.

History: 1982 ¢ 635 s 5; 1983 ¢ 374 s 11,20; 1986 ¢ 444
223.19 RULES. .

The commissioner may make rules pursuant to chapter 14 to carry out the
provisions of sections 223.15 to 223.22.

History: 1982 ¢ 635 s 6; 1983 ¢ 374 s 12,20; 1984 ¢ 640 s 32; 1997 c 7 art 55 19

223.20 REGULATION OF GRAIN BUYERS AND GRAIN STORAGE.

The commissioner may create a separate division within the department of
agriculture for the purpose of administering this chapter and chapter 232.

History: 1983 ¢ 374 s 13

223.21 ATTORNEY GENERAL; ENFORCEMENT.

The attorney general, upon request of the commissioner, shall assist the commis-
sioner in enforcing this chapter. '

History: 1983 ¢ 374 s 14

223.22 INVESTIGATION; EDUCATION.

Subdivision 1. Legislative investigation. The legislature recommends that the
standing committees of the house and senate with jurisdiction over agriculture investi-
gate methods of protecting producers when marketing grain using voluntary extension
of credit contracts, including establishment of a state administered trust fund, private
insurance, or reinsurance, and methods which grain buyers can use to protect them-
selves and grain producers from grain price fluctuations.

Subd. 2. Education. The commissioner shall make every effort to inform grain
producers and grain buyers of the protections and exposures which result from
application of this chapter.

History: 1983 ¢ 374 s 15
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