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' 2561..03 COVERED HEALTH SERVICES.
[For text of subds 1to 4, see M.S.1998]

Subd. 5. Copayments and coinsurance. (a) The MinnesotaCare benefit plan shall in-
clude the following copayments and coinsurance requirements for all enrollees except par-
ents and relative carctakers of children under the age of 21 in households with income at or
below 175 percent of the federal poverty guidelines and pregnant women and children under
the age of 21: :

(1) ten percent of the paid charges for inpatient hospital services for adult enrollees, sub-
ject to an annual inpatient out—of—pocket maximum of $1,000 per individual and $3,000 per
family;

(2) $3 per prescription for adult enrollees;

(3) $25 for eyeglasses for adult enrollees; and

(4) effective July 1, 1998, 50 percent of the fee—for—service rate for adult dental care
services other than preventive care services for persons eligible under section 256L.04, sub-
divisions I to 7, with income equal to or less than 175 percent of the federal poverty guide-
lines. :

The exceptions described in this paragraph shall only be implemented if required to ob-
tain federal Medicaid funding for these individuals and shall expire July 1, 2000.

(b) Effective July 1, 1997, adult enrollees with family gross income that exceeds 175
percent of the federal poverty guidelines and who are not pregnant shall be financially re-
sponsible for the coinsurance amount and amounts which exceed the $10,000 inpatient hos-
pital benefit limit. ' ' _

(c) When a MinnesotaCare enrollee becomes a member of a prepaid health plan, or
changes from one prepaid health plan to another during a calendar year, any charges sub-
mitted towards the $10,000 annual inpatient benefit limit, and any out—of—pocket expenses
incurred by the enrollee for inpatient services, that were submitted or incurred prior to enroll-
ment, or prior to the change in health plans, shall be disregarded.

Subd. 6. Lien. When the state agency provides, pays for, or becomes liable for covered
health services, the agency shall have a lien for the cost of the covered health services upon
any and all causes of action accruing to'the enrollee, or to the enrollee’s legal representatives,
as aresult of the occurrence that necessitated the payment for the covered health services. All
liens under this section shall be subject to the provisions of section 256.015. For purposes of
this subdivision, “state agency” includes prepaid health plans'under contract with the com-
missioner according to sections 256B.69, 256D.03, subdivision 4, paragraph (d), and
256L.12; and county-based purchasing entities under section 256B.692.

History: 7999 ¢ 245 art 4 5 89,90

256L.04 ELIGIBLE PERSONS. : .
[For text of subd 1, see M.S.1998]

Subd. 2. Cooperation in establishing third—party liability, paternity, and other
medical support. (a) To be eligible for MinnesotaCare, individuals and families must coop-
erate with the state agency to identify potentially liable third—party payers and assist the state
in obtaining third—party payments. “Cooperation” includes, but is not limited to, identifying
any third party who may be liable for care and services provided under MinnesotaCare to the

Copyright © 1999 Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota: All Rights Reserved.



MINNESOTA STATUTES 1999 SUPPLEMENT

256L.04 MINNESOTACARE 280

enrollee, providing relevant information to assist the state in pursuing a potentially liable
third party, and completing forms necessary to recover third—party paymeauts.

(b) A parent, guardian, relative caretaker, or child enrolled in the MinnesotaCare pro-
gram must cooperate with the department of human services and the local agency in estab-
lishing the paternity of an enrolled child and in obtaining medical care support and payments
for the child and any other person for whom the person can legally assign rights, in accord-
ance with applicable laws and rules governing the medical assistance program. A child shall
not be ineligible for or disenrolled from the MinnesotaCare program solely because the
child’s parent, relative caretaker, or guardian fails to cooperate in establishing patermty or
obtaining medical support.

[For text of subds 7 and 7a, see M.S.1998]

Subd. 8. Applicants potentially eligible for medical assistance. (a) Individuals who
receive supplemental security income or retirement, survivors, or disability benefits due to a
disability; or other disability—based pension, who qualify under subdivision 7, but who are
potentially eligible for medical assistance without a spenddown shall be allowed to enroll in
MinnesotaCare for a period of 60 days, so long as the applicant meets all other conditions of
eligibility. The commissioner shall identify and refer the applications of such individuals to
their county social service agency. The county and the commissioner shall cooperate to en-
sure that the individuals obtain medical assistance coverage for dny months for which they
are eligible. ;

(b) The enrollee must cooperate with the county social service agency in determining
medical assistance eligibility within the 60-day enrollment period. Enrollees who do not
cooperate with medical assistance within the 60—day enrollment period shall be disenrolled
from the plan within one calendar month. Persons disenrolied for nonapplication for medical
assistance may not reenroll until they have obtained a medical assistance eligibility deter-
minatjon. Persons disenrolled for noncooperation with medical assistance may not reenroll
until they have cooperated with the county agency and have obtamed a medical assistance
eligibility determination.

~ (c) Beginning January 1, 2000, counties that choose to become MinnesotaCare enroll-
ment sites shall consider MinnesotaCare applications to also be applications for medical as-
sistance. Applicants who are potentially eligible for medical assistance, except for those de-
scribed in paragraph (a), may choose to enroll in either MinnesotaCare or medical assistance.

(d) The commissioner shall redetermine provider payments made under Minnesota-
Care to the appropriate medical assistance payments for those enrollees who subsequently
‘become eligible for medical dsslstance

[ For text of subds 9 and 10, see M S. 1998]

Subd. !1. MinnesotaCare outreach. (a) The commissioner shall award grants to pub-
lic or private organizations to provide information on the importance of maintaining insur-
ance coverage and on how to obtain coverage through the MinnesotaCare program in areas
of the state w1th high uninsured populations.

(b) In awarding the-grants, the commissioner shall consider the following: :
(1) geographic areas-and populations with high uninsured rates;

(2) the ability to raise matching funds; and

(3) the ability to contact or serve eligible populations.

The commissioner shall monitor the grants and may terminate a grant if the outreach
effort does not increase enrollment in medical assistance, general assistance medical care, or
the MinnesotaCare program.

[For text ofsubd ] see M S 1998]

Subd. 13. Families with relatlve caretakers, foster parents, or legal guardlans Be-
ginning January 1, 1999, in families that include arelative caretaker as defined in the medical
assistance pro@ram‘,‘ foster parent; or legal guardian, the relative caretaker, foster parent, or
legal guardian may apply as a family or may apply separately for the children. If the caretaker
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applies separately for the children, only the children’s income is counted and the provisions
of subdivision 1, paragraph (b), do not apply. If the relative caretaker, foster parent, or legal
guardian applies with the children, their income is included in the gross family income for
determining eligibility and premium amount.

History: /999 ¢ 245 art 4 s 91-94

256L..05 APPLICATION PROCEDURES.
[For text ofsubds I to +:3b, see M.S. ]998/

Subd. 3c. Retroactlve coverage. Notwrthstandm&T subdivision 3, the effective date of
coverage shall be the first day of the month following termination from medical assistance or
general assistance medical care for families and individuals who are eligible for Minnesota-
Care and who submitted a written request for retroactive MinnesotaCare coverage with a
completed application within 30 days of the mailing of notification of termination from med-
ical assistance or general assistance medical care. The applicant must provide all required
verifications within 30 days of the written request for verification. For retroactive coverage,
premijums must be paid in full for any retroactive month, current month, and next month
within 30 days of the premium billing.

Subd. 4. Application processing. The commissioner of human services shall deter-
mine an applicant’s eligibility for MinnesotaCare no more than 30 days from the date that the
application is received by the department of human services. Beginning January 1, 2000, this
requirement also applies to local county human services agencies that determine eligibility
for MinnesotaCare. Once annually at application or reenrollment, to prevent processing de-
lays; applicants.or enrollees who, from the information.provided on the apphcanon appear
to meet eligibility requirements shall be enrolled upon timely payment of premiums. The en-
rollee must provide all required verifications within 30 days of notification of the eligibility
determination or coverage from the program shall be terminated. Enrollees who.are deter-
mmed tobe lnehgxble when verifications are provrded shall be disenrolled from the program.

/Fo; text ()fsubd 5 see M.S. I998j
Hlstory 1999 ¢ 245 art4 s 95 96

256L.06 PREMIUM FEES AND PAYMENTS.

‘Subd. 3. Administration and commissioner’s duties. (a) Premiums are dedrcaled to
the commissioner for MinnesotaCare.

(b) The commissioner shall develop and 1mplement procedures to: (1) 1equ1re enrollees
to report changes in income; (2) adjust sliding scale premium payments, based upon changes
in enrollee, income and (3) disenroll enrollees from MinnesotaCare for failure to pay re-
quired premiums. Failure to pay includes payment wi ith a dishonored check, a returned auto-
matic bank withdrawal, or a refused credit card or debit card payment. The commissioner
may démand a guaranteed form of payment, including a cashier’s check or amoney order, as
the only rnean's to replace a dishonored, returned, or 1 refused payment.

(o) Premiums are calculated on a calendar month basis and may be paid on a monthly,
quarter]y, or annual basis, with the first payment due upon notice from the commissioner of
the premium amount required. The commissioner shall inform applicants and enrollees of
these premium payment optlons Premium payment is required before enrollment is com-
plete and to maintain eligibility in MinnesotaCare.

(d). Nonpayment of the premium will result in drsenrollment from the p]an within one
calendar month after the due date. Persons disenrolled for nonpayment or who voluntarily
terminate coverage from the program may not reenroll until four calendar months have
elapsed. Persons drsenrolled for nonpayment who pay all past due premiums as well as cur-
rent premiums due, including premiums due for the period of disenrollment, within 20 days
of disenrollment, shall be reenrolled retroactively to the first day of disenrollment. Persons
disenrolled for nonpayment or who voluntarily terminate coverage from the program may
not reenroll for four calendar months unless the person demonstrates good cause for nonpay-
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ment. Good cause does not exist if a person chooses to pay other family expenses instead of
the premium. The commissioner shall define good cause in rule.

History: 1999 c 245 art 4 5 97

NOTE: The amendment to subdivision 3 by Laws 1999, chaptcr 245, article 4, section 97, is effective July 1, 2000. Laws
1999, chapter 245, article 4, section 121.

256L.07 ELIGIBILITY FOR MINNESOTACARE.

Subdivision 1. General requirements. (a) Children enrolled in the original children’s
health plan as of September 30, 1992, children who enrolled in the MinnesotaCare program
after September 30, 1992, pursuant to Laws 1992, chapter 549, article 4, section 17, and chil-
dren who have family gross incomes that are equil to or less than 150 pércent of the federal
poverty guidelines are eligible without meeting the requirements of subdivision 2, as long as
they maintain continuous coverage in the MinnesotaCare program or medical assistance.
Children who apply for MinnesotaCare on or after the implementation date of the employer—
subsidized health coverage program as described in Laws 1998, chapter 407, article 5, sec-
tion 45, who have family gross incomes that are equal to or less than 150 percent of the feder-
al poverty guidelines, must meet the requirements of subdivision 2 to be eligible for Minne-
sotaCare. : .

(b) Families enrolled in MinnesotaCare under section 256L.04, subdivision 1, whose
income increases above 275 percent of the federal poverty guidelines, are no Jonger eligible
for the program and shall be disenrclled by the commissioner. Individuals enrolled in Minne-
sotaCare under section 256L.04, subdivision 7, whose income increases above 175 percent
of the federal poverty guidelines are no longer eligible for the program and shall be disen-
rolled by the commissioner. For persons disenrolled under this subdivision, MinnesotaCare
coverage terminates the last day of the calendar month following the month in which the
commissioner determines that the income of a family or individual exceeds program income
limits. ' ' : '

(c) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), individuals and families may remain enrolled in
MinnesotaCare if ten percent of their annual income is less than the annual premium for a
policy with a $500 deductible available through the Minnesota comprehensive health
association. Individuals and families who are no longer eligible for MinnesotaCare under
this subdivision shall be given an 18—month notice period from the date that ineligibility is
determined before disenrollment.

Subd. 2. Must not have access to employer-subsidized coverage. (a) To be eligible, a
family or individual mustnot have access to subsidized health coverage through an employer
and must not have had access to employer—subsidized coverage through a current employer
for 18 months prior to application or reapplication. A family or individual whose employer—
subsidized coverage is lost due to an employer terminating health care coverage as an em-
ployee benefit during the previous 18 months is not eligible.

(b) For purposes of this requirement, subsidized health coverage means health coverage
for which the employer pays at least 50 percent of the cost of coverage for the employee or
dependent, or a higher percentage as specified by the commissioner. Children are eligible for
employer—subsidized coverage through either parent, including the noncustodial parent. The
commissioner must treat employer contributions to. Internal Revenue Code Section 125
plans and any other employer benefits intended to pay health care costs as qualified employer
subsidies toward the cost of health coverage for employees for purposes of this subdivision.

Subd. 3. Other health coverage. (a) Families and individuals enrolled in the Minneso-
taCare program must have no health coverage while enrolled or for at least four months prior
to application and renewal. Children enrolled in the original children’s health plan and chil-
dren in families with income equal t6 or less than 150 percent of the federal poverty guide-
lines, who have other health insurance, are eligible if the coverage:

(1) lacks two or more of the following:

(i) basic hospital insurance; '

_(ii) medical-surgical insurance;

(iii) prescription drug coverage;

(iv) dental coverage; or
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(v) vision coverage;
- (2) requires a’deductible of $100 or more per person per year; or
(3) lacks coverage because the child has exceeded the maximum coverage for a pdrtlcu—
lar diagnosis or the polmy excludes a particular diagnosis.
The commissioner may change this eligibility criterion for sliding scale premiums in
order to remain within the limits of available appropriations. The requirement of no hedlth
coverage does not apply to newborns.

(b) Medical assistance, general assistance medical care, and civilian health and medlcal
program of the uniformed service, CHAMPUS, are not considered insurance or health cov-
erage for purposes of the four-month requirement described in this subdivision.

(c) For purposes of this subdivision, Medicare Part A or B coverage under title X VIII of
the Social Security Act, United States Code, title 42, sections 1395¢ to 1395w—4, is consid-
ered health coverage. An applicant or enrollee may not refuse Medicare coverage to establish
eligibility for anesotaCare :

(d) Applicants who were recipients of medical assistance or general assistance medical
care within one month of application must meet the provmons of thls subdivision and subdi-
vision 2.

Subd. 4. Families with children in need of chemical dependency treatment. Pre-
miums for families with children when a parent has been determined to be in need of chemi-
cal dependency treatment pursuant to an assessment conducted by the county under section
626.556, subdivision 10, or a case plan under section 260C.201, subdivision 6, or260C.212,
who are eligible for MinnesotaCare under section 256L.04, subdivision 1, may be paid by the
county of residence of the person in need of treatment for one year from the date the family is
determined to be eligible or if the family is currently enrolled in MinnesotaCare from the date
the person is determined to be in need of chemical dependency treatment. Upon renewal, the
family is responsible for any premiums owed under section 256L.15. If the family is not cur-
rently enrolled in MinnesotaCare, the local county human services agency shall determine
whether the family appears to meet the eligibility requirements and shall assist the family in
applying for the MinnesotaCare program.

History: 7999 ¢ 139 art 4 s 2; 1999 ¢ 245 art4 s 98

2561..11 PROVIDER PAYMENT.
[For text of subds 1to 3, see M.S.1998]

Subd. 4. Definition of medical assistance rate for inpatient hospital services. The
“medical assistance rate,” as used in this section to apply to rates for providing inpatient hos-
pital services, means the rates established under sections 256.9685 10 256.9695 for providing
inpatient hospital services to medical assistance recipients who receive Minnesota family in-
vestment program assistance.

[For text of subds 5 and 6, see M.S.1998]
History: 7999 ¢ 159 5 106

256L.15 PREMIUMS.

Subdivision 1. Premium determination. Families with children and individuals shall
pay a premium determined according to a sliding fee based on a percentage of the family’s
gross family income. Pregnant women and children under age two are exempt from the pro-
visions of section 256L.06, subdivision 3, paragraph (b), clause (3), requiring disenrollment
for failure to pay premiums. For pregnant women, this exemption continues until the firstday
of the month following the 60th day postpartum. Women who remain enrolled during preg-
nancy or the postpartuin period, despite nonpayment of premiums, shall be disenrolled on the
first of the month following the 60th day postpartum for the penalty period that otherwise
applies under section 256L.06, unless they begin paying premiums.

[F ér' text of subd 1a, see M.S.1998]
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Subd. 1b. Payments nonrefundable. Only MinnesotaCare premiums paid for future
months of coverage for which a health plan capitation fee has not been paid may be refunded.

Subd. 2. Slldmg fee scale to determine percentage of gross individual or family in-
come. (a) The commissioner shall establish a sliding fee scale to determine the percentage of
gross individual or family income that households at different income levels must pay to ob-
tain coverage through the MinnesotaCare program. The sliding fee scale must be based on
the enrollee’s gross individual or family income. The sliding fee scale must contain separate
tables based on enrollment of one, two, or three or more persons. The sliding fee scale begins
with a premlum of 1.5 percent of gross individual or family income for individuals or fami-
lies with incomes below the hmrts for the medical assistance program for families and chil-
dren in effect on January [, 1999, and proceeds through the following evenly spaced steps:
1.8,2.3,3.1,3.8,4.8, 5.9, 7.4, and 8.8 percent. These percentages are matched to evenly
spaced income steps ranging from the medical assistance income limit for families and chil-
dren in effect on January I, 1999, to 275 percent of the federal poverty guidelines for the ap-
plicable family size, up to a family size of five. The sliding fee scale for a family of five must
be used for families of more than five. The sliding fee scale and percentages are not subject to
the proviqions of chapter 14. If a family or individual reports increased income after enroll-
ment, premiums shall not be adjusted until eligibility renewal.

(b) Enrolled individuals and families whose gross annual income increases above 275
percent of the federal poverty guideline shall pay the maximum premium. The maximum
premium is defined as a base charge for one, two, or three or more enrollees so that if all Min-
nesotaCare cases paid the maximum premium, the total revenue would equal the total cost of
MinnesotaCare medical coverage and administration. In this calculation, administrative
costs shall be. assumed to equal ten percent of the total. The costs of medical.coverage for
pregnant women and children under age two-and the enrollees in these groups shall-be ex-
cluded from the total. The maximum premium for two enrollees shall be twice the maximum
premlum for one, and the maximum premium for three or more enrollees shall be three times
the maximum premium for one. :

[For text of subd 3, Seé M.S.1 _998]
History: /1999 ¢ 245 art 4 s 99-101
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