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171.04 PERSONS NOT ELIGIBLE FOR DRIVERS’ LICENSES.
Subdivision 1. Persons not eligible. The department shall not issue a driver’s license:
(1) to any person under 18 years unless:
(1) the applicant is 16 or 17 years of age and has a previously issued valid license from 

another state or country or the applicant has, for the 12 consecutive months preceding ap­
plication, held a provisional license and during that time has incurred (A) no conviction for a 
violation of section 169.121,169.1218,169.122, or 169.123, (B) no conviction for a crash- 
related moving violation, and (C) not more than one conviction for a moving violation that is 
not crash related. “Moving violation” means a violation of a traffic regulation but does not 
include a parking violation, vehicle equipment violation, or warning citation;

(ii) the application for a license is approved by (A) either parent when both reside in the 
same household as the minor applicant or, if otherwise, then (B ) the parent or spouse of the 
parent having custody or, in the event there is no court order for custody, then (C) the parent 
or spouse of the parent with whom the minor is living or, if subitems (A) to (C) do not apply, 
then (D) the guardian having custody of the minor or, in the event a person under the age of 18 
has no living father, mother, or guardian, then (E) the minor's employer; provided, that the 
approval required by this item contains a verification of the age of the applicant and the iden­
tity of the parent, guardian, or employer; and

(iii) the applicant presents a certification by the person who approves the application 
under item (ii), stating that the applicant has driven a motor vehicle accompanied by and un­
der supervision of a licensed driver at least 21 years of age for at least ten hours during the 
period of provisional licensure;

(2) to any person who is 18 years of age or younger, unless the person has applied for. 
been issued, and possessed the appropriate instruction permit for a minimum of six months, 
and, with respect to a person under 18 years of age, a provisional license for a minimum of 12 
months;

(3) to any person who is 19 years of age or older, unless that person has applied for, been 
issued, and possessed the appropriate instruction permit for a minimum of three months;

(4) to any person whose license has been suspended during the period of suspension 
except that a suspended license may be reinstated during the period of suspension upon the 
licensee furnishing proof of financial responsibility in the same manner as provided in the 
Minnesota No-Fault Automobile Insurance Act;

(5) to any person whose license has been revoked except upon furnishing proof of finan­
cial responsibility in the same manner as provided in the Minnesota No-Fault Automobile 
Insurance Act and if otherwise qualified;

(6) to any drug-dependent person, as defined in section 254A.02, subdivision 5;
(7) to any person who has been adjudged legally incompetent by reason of mental ill­

ness, mental deficiency, or inebriation, and has not been restored to capacity, unless the de­
partment is satisfied that the person is competent to operate a motor vehicle with safety to 
persons or property;
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37 DRIVERS' LICENSES AND TRAINING SCHOOLS 171.05

(8) to any person who is required by this chapter to take a vision, knowledge, or road 
examination, unless the person has successfully passed the examination. An applicant who 
fails four road tests must complete a minimum of six hours of behind-the-wheel instruction 
with an approved instructor before taking the road test again;

(9) to any person who is required under the Minnesota No-Fault Automobile Insurance 
Act to deposit proof of financial responsibility and who has not deposited the proof;

(10) to any person when the commissioner has good cause to believe that the operation 
of a motor vehicle on the highways by the person would be inimical to public safety or wel­
fare;

(11) to any person when, in the opinion of the commissioner, the person is afflicted with 
or suffering from a physical or mental disability or disease that will affect the person in a 
manner as to prevent the person from exercising reasonable and ordinary control over a mo­
tor vehicle while operating it upon the highways;

(12) to a person who is unable to read and understand official signs regulating, warning, 
and directing traffic;

(13) to a child for whom a court has ordered denial of driving privileges under section 
260C.20.I, subdivision 1, or 260B.235, subdivision 5, until the period of denial is completed; 
or

(14) to any person whose license has been canceled, during the period of cancellation.

I For text o f subd 2, see M.S. 1998]

History: 1999 c 139 art 4 s 2; 1999 c 238 art 2 s 23

171.043 NOTICE OF PERSONS UNDER DRIVER’S LICENSE CANCELLATION.
The commissioner of public safety shall develop a program under which the commis­

sioner provides a monthly notice to local law enforcement agencies of the names and ad­
dresses of persons residing within the local agency’s jurisdiction whose driver’s licenses or 
driving privileges have been canceled under section 171.04, subdivision 1, clause (10). At 
the commissioner’s discretion, the commissioner may adopt necessary procedures so that the 
information is current and accurate. Data in the notice are private data on individuals and are 
available lo law enforcement agencies.

History: 1999 c 238 art 2 s 91

171.05 INSTRUCTION PERMIT.

[For text o f  subd 1, see M.S. 1998J

Subd. I a. Minimum period to possess instruction permit. An applicant who has re­
ceived an instruction permit under subdivision 1 and has not previously been licensed to 
drive in Minnesota or in another jurisdiction must possess the instruction permit for not less 
than six months for an applicant who is 18 years of age, and not less than three months for all 
other applicants, before qualifying for a driver’s license. An applicant with an instruction 
permit from another jurisdiction must be credited with the amount of time that permit has 
been held.

Subd. 2. Person less than 18 years of age. (a) Notwithstanding any provision in subdi­
vision 1 to.the contrary, the department, upon application therefor, may issue an instruction 
permit to an applicant who is 15, 16, or 17 years of age and the applicant:

(1) has completed a course of driver education in another state, has a previously issued 
valid license from another state, or is enrolled in one of the following types of driver educa­
tion programs:

(i) a driver education program offered through the public schools that includes class­
room and behind-the-wheel training and that has been approved by the commissioner of 
children, families, and learning;

(ii) a course offered by a  private, commercial driver education school or institute that 
includes classroom and behind-the-wheel training and that has been approved by the depart­
ment of public safety; or
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171.05 DRIVERS’ LICENSES AND TRAINING SCHOOLS 38

(iii) an approved behind-lhe-wheel driver education program when the student is re­
ceiving full-time instruction in a home school within the meaning of sections ] 20A.22 and 
I20A.24, the student is working toward a home-school diploma, the student’s status as a 
home-school student has been certified by the superintendent of the school district in which 
the student resides, and the student is taking home-classroom driver training with classroom 
materials approved by the commissioner of public safety;

. (2) has completed the classroom phase of instruction in the driver education program;
(3) has passed a test of the applicant’s eyesight;
(4) has passed a test of the applicant's knowledge of traffic laws, which test must be 

administered by the department;
(5) has completed the required application, which must be approved by (i) either parent 

when both reside in the same household as the minor applicant or, if otherwise, then (ii) the 
parent or spouse of the parent having custody or, in the event there is no court order for custo­
dy, then (iii) the parent or spouse of the parent with whom the minor is living or, if items (i) to
(iii) do not apply, then (iv) the guardian having custody of the minor or, in the event a person 
under the age.of ] 8 has no living father, mother, or guardian, then (v) the applicant’s employ­
er; provided, that the approval required by this clause contains a verification of the age of the 
applicant and the identi ty of the parent, guardian, or employer; and

(6) has paid the fee required in section 171.06, subdivision 2.
(b) The instruction permit is valid for one year from the date of application and may be 

renewed upon payment of a fee equal to the fee for issuance of an instruction permit under 
section 171,06, subdivision 2.

[For text o f subds 2a to 3. see M.S. I998J

History: 1999 c.238 art 2 s 24,25

171.061 DRIVER’S LICENSE AGENT.
Subdivision 1. Definitions. For purposes of this section:
(1) “applicant” means an individual applying for a driver's license, provisional license, 

restricted license, duplicate license, instruction permit, Minnesota identification card, or 
motorized bicycle operator’s permit; and

(2) “application” refers to an application for a driver's license, provisional license, re­
stricted license, duplicate license, instruction permit, Minnesota identification card, or mo­
torized bicycle operator’s permit.

[For text o f subds 2 and 3, see M.S.1998]

Subd. 4. Fee; equipment, (a) The agent may charge and retain a filing fee of $3.50 for 
each application. Except as provided in paragraph (b), the fee shall cover all expenses in­
volved in receiving, accepting, or forwarding to the department the applications and fees re­
quired under sections 171.02, subdivision 3; 171.06, subdivisions 2 and 2a; and 171.07, sub­
divisions 3 and 3a.

(b) An agent with photo identification equipment provided by the department before 
January 1,1999, may retain the photo identification equipment until the agent’s appointment 
terminates. The department shall maintain the photo identification equipment for these 
agents. An agent appointed before January 1, 1999, who does not have photo identification 
equipment provided by the department, and any new agent appointed after December 31,
1998, shall procure and maintain photo identification equipment. Upon the retirement, resig­
nation, death, or discontinuance of an existing agent, and if a new agent is appointed in an 
existing office pursuant to Minnesota Rules, chapter 7404, and notwithstanding the above or 
Minnesota Rules, part 7404.0400, the department shall provide and maintain photo identifi­
cation equipment without additional cost to a newly appointed agent in that office if  the of­
fice was provided the equipment by the department before January 1. 1999. All photo identi­
fication equipment must be compatible with standards established by the department.

(c) A filing fee retained by the agent employed by a county board must be paid into the 
county treasury and credited to the general revenue fund of the county. An agent who is not an
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employee of the county shall retain the filing fee in lieu of county employment or salary and 
is considered an independent contractor for.pension purposes, coverage under the Minnesota 
state retirement system, or membership in the public employees retirement association.

(d) Before the end of the first working day following the final day of the reporting period 
established by the department, the agent must forward to the department all applications and 
fees collected during the reporting period except as provided in paragraph (c).

[For text o f subds 5 and 6, see M.S. J 9981

History: 1999 c 86 art 1 s 41; 1999 c 238 art 2 s 26

171.07 INFORMATION ON LICENSE AND IDENTIFICATION CARD.

[For text o f  subds 1 to 2, see M.S.19981

Subd. 3. Identification card; fee. (a) Upon payment of the required fee, the department 
shall issue to every applicant therefor a Minnesota identification card. The department may 
not issue a Minnesota identification card to a person who has a driver’s license, other than an 
instruction permit or a limited license. The card must bear a distinguishing number assigned 
to the applicant, a colored photograph or an electronically produced image, the full name, 
date of birth, residence address, a description of the applicant in the manner as the commis­
sioner deems necessary, and a space upon which the applicant shall write the usual signature 
and the date of birth of the applicant with pen and ink. Each identification card issued to an 
applicant under the age of 21 must be of a distinguishing color and plainly marked “Un- 
der-21

(b) Each Minnesota identification card must be plainly marked “Minnesota identifica­
tion card -  not a driver’s license.”

(c) The fee for a Minnesota identification card is 50 cents when issued to: a person who 
is mentally retarded, as defined in section 252A.02, subdivision 2; a physically disabled per­
son, as defined in section 169.345, subdivision 2; or, a person with mental illness, as de­
scribed in section 245.462, subdivision 20, paragraph (c).

[For text o f subds 3a to 9, see M.S. 1998]

Subd. 10. Agreement with other agency. The commissioner of public safety is autho­
rized to enter into agreements with other agencies to issue cards to clients of those agencies 
for use in tliei r programs. The cards may be issued to persons who do not qualify for a Minne­
sota driver’s license or do not provide evidence of name and identity as required by rule for a 
Minnesota identification card. Persons issued cards under this subdivision will meet the 
identification verification requirements of the contracting agency.

The interagency agreement may include provisions for the payment of the county fee 
provided in section 171.061, subdivision 4, and the actual cost to manufacture the card.

Cards issued under this subdivision are not Minnesota identification cards for the pur­
poses defined in sections 48.512, 201.061, 201.161, 332.50, and 340A.503.

/ For text o f  subd 11, see M.S.1998]

Subd. 12. Snowmobile safety certificate, (a) The department shall maintain in its rec­
ords information transmitted electronically from the commissioner of natural resources 
identifying each person to whom the commissioner has issued a snowmobile safety certifi­
cate. The records transmitted from the department of natural resources must contain the full 
name and date of birth as required for the driver’s license or identification card. Records that 
are not matched to a driver’s license or identification card record may be deleted after seven 
years.

(b) After receiving information under paragraph (a) that a person has received a snow­
mobile safety certificate, the department shall include, on all drivers’ licenses or Minnesota 
identification cards subsequently issued to the person, a graphic or written indication that the 
person has received the certificate.

(c) If a person who has received a snowmobile safety certificate applies for a driver’s 
license or Minnesota identification card before that information has been transmitted to the
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department, the department may accept a copy of the certificate as proof of its issuance and 
shall then follow the procedures in paragraph (b).

Subd. 13. Firearms safety designation, (a) When an applicant has a record transmitted 
to the department as described in paragraph (c) or presents a firearms safety certificate issued 
for successfully completing a firearms safety course administered under section 97B.015, 
and requests a driver’s license or identification card described in paragraph (b), the depart­
ment shall issue, renew, or reissue to the applicant a driver’s license or Minnesota identifica­
tion card described in paragraph (b).

(b) Pursuant to paragraph (a), the department shall issue a driver’s license or Minnesota 
identification card bearing a graphic or written indication that the applicant has successfully 
completed a firearms safety course administered under section 97B.015.

(c) The department shall maintain in its records information transmitted electronically 
from the commissioner of natural resources identifying each person to whom the commis­
sioner has issued a firearms safety certificate. The records transmitted irom the department 
of natural resources must contain the full name and date of birth as required for the driver’s 
license or identification card. Records that are not matched to a driver’s license or identifica­
tion card record may be deleted after seven years..

History: 1999 c 86 art 1 s 42; 1999 c 231 s 167,168; 1999 c 238 art 2 s 27

171.12 DRIVING RECORD; FILING; PRIVATE DATA; SURCHARGE.
Subdivision 1. Licenses filed in alphabetical order. The department shall file every 

application for a driver’s license received by it and shall maintain suitable indices containing, 
in alphabetical order:

(1) all applications denied and the reason for denial;
(2) all applications granted; and
(3) the name of every person whose license has been suspended, revoked, or canceled or 

who has been disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle by the department, 
and after each name the reasons for the action.

Notwithstanding section 260B.171 or 260C. 171, data revealing that the reason for the 
action under clause (3) is an order of the juvenile court are accessible to the public.

[For text o f subds 2 tp 8, see M.S.1998]

History: 1999 c 139 art 4 s 2

171.165 COMMERCIAL DRIVER’S LICENSE, DISQUALIFICATION.
[For text o f subds 1 to 4, see M.S. 1998]

Subd. 4a. Violation of out-of-service order, (a) The commissioner shall disqualify a 
person from operating a commercial motor vehicle for not less than:

(1) 90 days nor more than one year if the operator is convicted of a first violation of an 
out-of-service order;

(2) one year nor more than five years if, during any ten-year period, the operator is con­
victed of two violations of out-of-service orders in separate incidents; and

(3) three years nor more than five years if, during any ten-year period, the operator is 
convicted of three or more violations of out-of-service orders in separate incidents.

(b) The commissioner shall notify the commissioner of transportation of each disquali­
fication under this subdivision.

[For text o f subds 5 to 7, see M.S. 1998]

History: 1999 c 93 s 1
N O TE: Subdivision 4a, as added by Laws 1999. chaptcr 93, section 1. is effective April 1, 2000. Laws 1999, chapter 93. 

section 3.

171.172 REVOCATION; CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE OFFENSE.
The commissioner of public safety shall revoke the license of any person convicted of 

or any juvenile adjudicated for a controlled substance offense if the court has notified the
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commissioner of a determination made under section 152.0271 or 260B. 198, subdivision 1. 
The period of revocation shall be for the applicable time period specified in section 
152.0271. If the person does not have a license or if the person’s license is suspended or re­
voked at the time of the conviction or adjudication, the commissioner shall, upon the per­
son’s application for license issuance or reinstatement, delay the issuance or reinstatement of 
the person’s license for. the applicable time period specified in section 152.0271.

. History: 1999 c 139 art 4 s 2

171.186 SUSPENSION; NONPAYMENT OF SUPPORT.
Subdivision 1. Suspension. The commissioner shall suspend a person’s driver’s license 

or operating privileges without a hearing upon receipt of a court order or notice from a public 
authority responsible for child support enforcement that states that the driver is in arrears in 
court-ordered child support or maintenance payments, or both, in an amount equal to or 
greater than three times the obligor’s total monthly support and maintenance payments, and 
is not in compliance with a written payment agreement regarding both current support and 
arrearages approved by a court, a child support magistrate, or the public authority responsi­
ble for child support enforcement, in accordance with section 518.551, subdivision 13.

[For text o f subd 2, see M. S. 1998J

Subd. 3. Duration. A license or operating privilege must remain suspended and may 
not be reinstated, nor may a license be subsequently issued to the person, until the commis­
sioner receives notice from the court, a child support magistrate, or public authority responsi- 
ble for child support enforcement that the person is in compliance with all current orders of 
support or written payment agreements regarding both current support and arrearages. A fee 
may not be assessed for reinstatement of a license under this section.

History: 1999 c 196 art 2 s 3,4

171.24 VIOLATIONS; DRIVING WITHOUT VALID LICENSE.

[For text ofsubds 1 to 4, see M.S.1998]

Subd. 5. Gross misdemeanor. A person is guilty of a gross misdemeanor if:
(1) the person’s driver’s license or driving privilege has been canceled or denied under 

section 171.04, subdivision 1, clause (10);
(2) the person has been given notice of or reasonably should know of the cancellation or 

denial; and
(3) the person disobeys the order by operating in this state any motor vehicle, the opera­

tion of which requires a driver’s license, while the person’s license or privilege is canceled or 
denied.

[For text ofsubds 6 and 7, see M.S. 1998]

History: 1999 c 238 art 2 s 91

171.29 REVOKED LICENSE; EXAMINATION FOR NEW LICENSE.

[ For text o f subd 1, see M.S. 1998]

Subd. 2. Fees, allocation, (a) A person whose driver’s license has been revoked as pro­
vided in subdivision 1, except under section 169.121 or 169.123, shall pay a $30 fee before 
the driver’s license is reinstated.

(b) A person whose driver’s license has been revoked as provided in subdivision 1 under 
section 169.121 or 169.123 shall pay a S250 fee plus a $40 surcharge before the driver’s li­
cense is reinstated. The S250 fee is to be credited as follows:

(1) Twenty percent shall be credited to the trunk highway fund.
(2) Fifty-five percent shall be credited to the general fund.
(3) Eight percent shall be credited to a separate account to be known as the bureau of 

criminal apprehension account. Money in this account may be appropriated to the commis­
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sioner of public safety and the appropriated amount shall be apportioned 80 percent for labo­
ratory costs and 20 percent for carrying out the provisions of section 299C.065.

(4) Twelve percent shall be credited to a separate account to be known as the alcohol- 
impaired driver education account. Money in the account is appropriated as follows:

(i) The first S200,000 in a fiscal year is to the commissioner of children, families, and 
learning for programs for elementary and secondary school students.

(ii) The remainder credited in a fiscal year is appropriated to the commissioner of trans­
portation to be spent as grants to the Minnesota highway safety center at St. Cloud State Uni­
versity for programs relating to alcohol and highway safety education in elementary and sec­
ondary schools.

(5) Five percent shall be credited to a separate account to be known as the traumatic 
brain injury and spinal cord injury account. The money in the account is annually appro­
priated to the commissioner of health to be used as follows: 35 percent for a contract with a 
qualified community-based organization to provide information, resources, and support to 
assist persons with traumatic brain injury and their families to access services, and 65 percent 
to maintain the traumatic brain injury and spinal cord injury registry created in section 
144.662. For the purposes of this clause, a “qualified community-based organization” is a 
private, not-for-profit organization of consumers of traumatic brain injury services and their 
family members. The organization must be registered with the United States Internal Reve­
nue Service under the provisions of section 501 (c)(3) as a tax-exempt organization and must 
have as its purposes:

(i) the promotion of public, family, survivor, and professional awareness of the inci­
dence and consequences of traumatic brain injury;

(ii) the provision of a network of support for persons with traumatic brain injury, their 
families, and friends;

(iii) the development and support of programs and services to prevent traumatic brain 
injury;

(iv) the establishment of education programs for persons with traumatic brain injury;
and

(v) the empowerment of persons with traumatic brain injury through participation in its 
governance.

No patient’s name, identifying information or identifiable medical data will be dis­
closed to the organization without the informed voluntary written consent of the patient or 
patient’s guardian, or if the patient is a minor, of the parent or guardian of the patient.

(c) The $40 surcharge shall be credited to a separate account to be known as the remote 
electronic alcohol monitoring program account. The commissioner shall transfer the balance 
of this account to the commissioner of finance on a monthly basis for deposit in the general 
fund.

(d ) When these fees are collected by a county-operated office of deputy registrar, a han­
dling charge is imposed in the amount specified under section 168.33, subdivision 7. The 
handling charge must be deposited in the treasury of the place for which the deputy registrar 
was appointed and the reinstatement fees and surcharge must be deposited in an approved 
state depository as directed under section 168.33, subdivision 2.

[For text o f subd 3, see M. S. 1998]

History: 7999 c 205 art 3 s 4

171.30 LIMITED LICENSE.

[For text o f  subds I to 2c, see M.S.1998]

Subd. 3. Conditions on issuance. The commissioner shall issue a limited license re­
stricted to the vehicles whose operation is permitted only under a class A, class B, or class C 
license whenever a class A, class B, or class C license has been suspended under section 
171.18, or revoked under section 171.17, for violation of the Highway Traffic Regulation 
Act committed in a private passenger motor vehicle. This subdivision shall not apply to any
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persons described in section 171.04, subdivision 1, clauses (6), (7), (8), (10), (II) , and (14), 
or any person whose license or privilege has been suspended or revoked for a violation of 
section 169.121 or 169.123, or a statute or ordinance from another state in conformity with 
either of those sections.

[For text o f  subd 4, see M.S.1998j

History: 1999 c 238 art 2 s 91

171.305 IGNITION INTERLOCK DEVICE; PILOT PROGRAM; LICENSE 
CONDITION.

[For text ofsubds 1 to 4, see M.S.1998]

Subd. 5. Issuance of limited license. The commissioner may issue a limited license to a 
person whose driver’s license has been canceled and denied due to an alcohol or controlled 
substance-related incident under section 171.04, subdivision 1, clause (10), under the fol­
lowing conditions:

(1) at least one-half of the person’s required abstinence period has expired;
(2) the person has completed all rehabilitation requirements; and
(3) the person agrees to drive only a motor vehicle equipped with a functioning and cer­

tified ignition interlock device.

[For text ofsubds 6 to 10, see M.S.1998]

History : 1999 c 238 art 2 s 91

171.3215 CANCELING BUS ENDORSEMENT FOR CERTAIN OFFENSES.

[For text o f  subd 1, see M.S. 1998]

Subd. 2. Cancellation for disqualifying and other offenses. Within ten day s of receiv­
ing notice under section 631.40, subdivision 1 a, or otherwise receiving notice for a nonresi­
dent driver, that a school bus driver has been convicted of a disqualifying offense, the com­
missioner shall permanently cancel the school bus driver’s endorsement on the offender’s 
driver’s license and in the case of a nonresident, the driver's privilege to operate a school bus 
in Minnesota. A school bus driver whose endorsement or privilege to operate a school bus in 
Minnesota has been permanently canceled may not apply for reinstatement. Within ten days 
of receiving notice under section 631.40, subdivision 1 a, or otherwise receiving notice for a 
nonresident driver, that a school bus driver has been convicted of a violation of section
169.121,169.129, or a similar statute or ordinance from another state, and within ten days of 
revoking a school bus driver’s license under section 169.123, the commissioner shall cancel 
the school bus driver’s endorsement on the offender’s driver’s license or the nonresident’s 
privilege to operate a school bus in Minnesota for five years. After five years, a school bus 
driver may apply to the commissioner for reinstatement. Even after five years, cancellation 
of a school bus driver’s endorsement or a nonresident’s privilege to operate a school bus in 
Minnesota for a violation under section 169.121, 169.123, 169.129, or a similar statute or 
ordinance from another state, shall remain in effect until the driver provides proof of success­
ful completion of an alcohol or controlled substance treatment program. For a first offense, 
proof of completion is required only i f treatment was ordered as part of a chemical use assess­
ment. Within ten days of receiving notice under section 631.40, subdivision 1 a, or otherwise 
receiving notice for a nonresident driver, that a school bus driver has been convicted of a 
fourth moving violation in the last three years, the commissioner shall cancel the school bus 
driver’s endorsement on the offender's driver’s license or the nonresident’s privilege to oper­
ate a school bus in Minnesota until one year has elapsed since the last conviction. A school 
bus driver who has no new convictions after one year may apply for reinstatement. U pon can­
celing the offender’s school bus driver’s endorsement, the commissioner shall immediately 
notify the licensed offender of the cancellation in writing, by depositing in the United States 
post office a notice addressed to the licensed offender at the licensed offender’s last known 
address, with postage prepaid thereon.
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[For text o f  subds 2a and 3, see M.S.1998]

Subd. 4. Waiver of permanent cancellation, (a) The commissioner of public safety or 
the commissioner’s designee, in consultation with the division of driver and vehicle services, 
may waive the permanent cancellation requirement of this section for a person convicted of a 
misdemeanor, a gross misdemeanor, a nonfelony violation of chapter 152, or a felony that is 
not a violent crime under section 609.1095.

(b) After notice to the requesting school district and contract provider of school bus 
transportation, the commissioner may waive the permanent cancellation requirement after 
ten years have elapsed since the person was convicted of a violation of scction 609.582, sub­
division 2, 3, or 4.

History: 1999 c 241 art 9 s 42,43

171.39 EXEMPTIONS.
The provisions of sections 171.33 to 171.41 shall not apply: to any person giving driver 

training lessons without charge; to employers maintaining driver training schools without 
charge for their employees only; to a home-school within the meaning of sections 120A.22 
and 120A.24; to schools or classes conducted by colleges, universities and high schools as a 
part of the normal program for such institutions; nor to those schools or persons described in 
section 171.05, subdivision 2. Any person who is a certificated driver training instructor in a 
high school driver training program may give driver training instruction to persons over the 
age of 18 without acquiring a driver training school license or instructor’s license, and such 
instructors may make a charge for that instruction, if there is no private commercial driver 
training school licensed under this statute within ten miles of the municipality where such 
instruction is given and there is no adult drivers training program in effect in the schools of 
the school district in which the trainee resides.

History: 1999 c 238 art 2 s 28
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