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359.01 COMMISSION. 
Subdivision 1. Resident notaries. The governor may appoint and commission as nota­

ries public, by and with the advice and consent of the senate, as many citizens of this state or 
resident aliens, over the age of 18 years, as the governor considers necessary. The commis­
sioner of commerce shall perform all duties necessary to appoint and commission notaries 
public under this section on the governor's behalf. 

Subd. 2. Nonresident notaries. The governor or the commissioner of commerce, act­
ing on the governor's behalf, by and with the advice and consent of the senate, may appoint as 
notary public a person who is not a resident of this state if: 

(1) the person is a resident of Wisconsin, Iowa, North Dakota, or South Dakota, and of a 
county that shares a boundary with this state; 

(2) the person designates the commissioner as agent for the service of process for all 
purposes relating to notarial acts and for receipt of all correspondence relating to notarial 
acts. 

Subd. 3. Fees, (a) When making application for a commission the applicant must sub­
mit, along with the information required by the commissioner, a nonrefundable fee of $40. 

(b) All fees shall be retained by the commissioner and are nonreturnable, except that an 
overpayment of a fee is the subject of a refund upon proper application. 

History: (6937) RL s 2656; 1955 c 820 s 44; 1969 c 1148 s 59; 1973 c 725 s 67; 
1984 c 504 s 1; 1984 c 609 s 23; 1984 c 654 art 2 s 129; lSpl986 c 3 art Is 82; 1992 c 
513 art 3 s 72; 1993 c 354 s 2; 1993 c 369 s 127; 1996 c 439 art 1 s 22,23 

359.02 TERM. 
A notary commissioned under section 359.01 holds office for five years, unless sooner 

removed by the governor or the district court, or by action of the commissioner. Within 30 
days before the expiration of the commission a notary may be reappointed for a new term to 
commence and to be designated in the new commission as beginning upon the day immedi­
ately following the date of the expiration. The reappointment takes effect and is valid al­
though the appointing governor may not be in the office of governor on the effective day. 

(a) All notary commissions issued before January 31, 1995, will expire on January 31, 
1995. 

(b) All notary commissions issued after January 31,1995, will expire at the end of the 
licensing period, which will end every fifth year following January 31, 1995. 

(c) All notary commissions issued during a licensing period expire at the end of that 
period as set forth in this section. 

History: (6938) RLs2657; 1953 c63s 1; 1984c 504s 2; 1986c 444; 1989c6s 
1; 1989 c 189 s 1; 1993 c 354 s 3; 1993 c 369 s 128; 1994 c 465 art 3 s 72; 1996 c 439 
art Is 24 

359.03 SEAL; REGISTER. 
Subdivision 1. Every notary shall get an official seal, with which to authenticate official 

acts, and upon which shall be engraved the arms of this state, the words "notarial seal." The 
seal, with the notary's official register, is exempt from execution, and, on death or removal 
from office, the register must be deposited with the court administrator of the district court of 
the notary's county. 
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Subd. 2. All instruments heretofore duly made and executed which have been acknowl­
edged before a notary public as provided by law, but the seal used thereon has engraved on it 
"notary public," are hereby validated and legalized, and in case such instruments are re­
corded, the recording is hereby validated and legalized, and all such instruments are vali­
dated to the same extent as though properly sealed at the time of their acknowledgment. This 
subdivision shall not affect any action now pending in any of the courts of this state. 

Subd. 3. The seal of every notary public may be affixed by a stamp that will print a seal 
which legibly reproduces under photographic methods the seal of the state of Minnesota, the 
name of the notary, the words "Notary Public," and the words "My commission expires 

" with the expiration date shown thereon. The seal shall be a rectangular form of 
not more than three—fourths of an inch vertically by 2—1/2 inches horizontally, with a serrated 
or milled edge border, and shall contain the'information required by this subdivision. 

History: (6939) RL s 2658; 1947 c 42 s 1; 1947 c 372 s 1; 197V c 251 s 1; 1986 c 
444; !Spl986 c 3 art Is 82; 1993 c 354 s 4,5 

359.04 POWERS. 
' Every notary public so appointed, commissioned, and qualified shall have power 

throughout this state to administer all oaths required or authorized to be administered in this 
state; to take and certify all depositions to be used in any of the courts of this state; to take and 
certify all acknowledgments of deeds, mortgages, liens, powers of attorney, and other instru­
ments in writing; and to receive, make out, and record notarial protests. 

History: (6940) RL s 2659; 1947 c 372 s 2; 1993 c 354 s 6 

359.05 DATE OF EXPIRATION OF COMMISSION AND NAME TO BE EN­
DORSED. 

Every notary public, except in cases provided in section 359.03, subdivision 3, taking 
an acknowledgment of an instrument, taking a deposition, administering an oath, or making 
a notarial protest, shall, immediately following the notary's signature to the jurat or certifi­
cate of acknowledgment, endorse the date of the expiration of the commission; such endorse­
ment may be legibly written, stamped, or printed upon the instrument, but must be discon­
nected from the seal, and shall be substantially in the following form: "My commission ex­
pires 19 " Except in cases provided in section 359.03, subdivision 3, every notary 
public, in addition to signing the jurat or certificate of acknowledgment, shall, immediately 
following the signature and immediately preceding the official description, endorse thereon 
the notary's name with a typewriter or print the same legibly with a stamp or with pen and ink; 
provided that the failure so to endorse or print the name shall not invalidate any jurat or certif­
icate of acknowledgment. 

History: (6941) GS1866 c26s 4; GS1894 s 2271; 1905 c48s 1; 1921 c 430 s 1; 
1947 c 372 s 3; 1971 c 251 s 2; 1986 c 444; 1993 c 354 s 7 

359.06 [Repealed, 1976 c 2 s 128] . ' 

359.061 RECORD OF COMMISSION; CERTIFICATE. 
The commission of every notary shall be recorded in the office of the court administra­

tor of the district court of the notary's county of residence, in a record kept for that purpose. 
The court administrator, when requested, shall certify to official acts in the manner and for 
the fees prescribed by statute or court rule. 

History: 1976 c 239 s 109; 1983 c 359 s 46; 1986 c 444; 1SP1986 c 3 art Is 82; 
1996 c 439 art Is 25 

359.062 NOTICE; LANGUAGES OTHER THAN ENGLISH. 
(a) A notary public who is not an attorney who advertises the services of a notary public 

in a language other than English, whether by radio, television, signs, pamphlets, newspapers, 
or other written communication, with the exception of a single desk plaque, shall post or 
otherwise include with the advertisement a notice in English and the language in which the 
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advertisement appears. This notice must be of a conspicuous size, if in writing, and must 
state: "I AM NOT AN ATTORNEY LICENSED TO PRACTICE LAW IN MINNESOTA 
AND MAY NOT GIVE LEGAL ADVICE OR ACCEPT FEES FOR LEGAL ADVICE." If 
the advertisement is by radio or television, the statement may be modified but must include 
substantially the same message. 

(b) A notary public who violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor. 
History: 1996 c 401s 2 

359.07 NOTARY IN DETACHED COUNTY. 
Subdivision 1. Powers. In any county which has heretofore been detached from another 

county of this state, and which has been newly created and organized, any notary public re­
siding in such newly created and organized county, who was a resident of the county from 
which the new county was detached and created, shall have the same powers during the unex­
pired term of appointment as such notary public was authorized by law to exercise under the 
commission issued to the notary as a resident of the county from which the new county was 
detached and created and within which the original appointment as notary public was made; 
and all acts heretofore done by any such notary public, while residing in the newly created 
and organized county, otherwise in conformity of law, are hereby declared to be legal and 
valid and to the same effect as if the notary public had been originally commissioned as a 
resident of the newly created and organized county. 

Subd. 2. Record of commission. Such notary public so residing in the newly created 
and organized county shall have the commission as such notary public recorded by the court 
administrator of the district court of the newly created and organized county of residence, or 
of the county to which the newly created county is attached for judicial purposes, as provided 
in section 359.061, and when so recorded shall be entitled to the same certificate of and from 
the court administrator of the district court as provided in section 359.061. 

Subd. 3. Seal. Such notary shall, immediately upon the adoption of this section, get an 
official seal, as provided in and in conformity with section 359.03. 

History: (6943, 6944, 6945) 1907 c 323 s 1-3; 1980 c 509 s 142; 1986 c 444; 
lSpl986 c 3 art 1 s 82 

359.071 CHANGE OF ADDRESS. 
A notary shall notify the commissioner of any address change within 30 days of the 

change. 
History: 1984 c 504 s 3; 1986 c 444; 1989 c 189 s 2; 1993 c 354 s 8 

359.08 MISCONDUCT. 
Any notary who shall exercise the duties of office after the expiration of a term, or when 

otherwise disqualified, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor. 
History: (6946) RL s 2661; 1963 c 753 art 2 s 5; 1986 c 444 

359.09 [Repealed, 1965 c 811 art 10 s 336.10-102] 

359.10 [Repealed, 1965 c 811 art 10 s 336.10-102] 

359.11 TAKING DEPOSITIONS. 
In taking depositions, the notary shall have the power to compel the attendance of and to 

punish witnesses for refusing to testify as provided by statute or court rule. All sheriffs and 
constables shall serve and return all process issued by any notary in taking depositions. 

History: (6949) RL s 2664; 1983 c 359 s 47 

359.12 ADMINISTRATIVE ACTIONS AND PENALTBES. 
Every notary who shall charge or receive a fee or reward for any act or service done or 

rendered as a notary greater than the amount allowed by law, or who dishonestly or unfaith­
fully discharges duties as notary, or who has pleaded guilty, with or without explicitly admit-
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ting guilt, plead nolo contendere, or been convicted of a felony, gross misdemeanor, or mis­
demeanor involving moral turpitude, is subject to the penalties imposed pursuant to section 
45.027, except that a notary may be removed from office only by the governor or the district 
court. The commissioner has all the powers provided by section 45.027 and shall proceed in 
the manner provided by that section in actions against notaries. 

History: (6950) RL s 2665; 1986 c 444; lSp!986 c 3 art Is 82; 1993 c 354 s 9 
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