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280.001 PUBLIC SALES, AUDITOR'S CERTIFICATES ABOLISHED. 
Effective the second Monday in May 1974, and each year thereafter, no parcel of 

land against which judgment has been entered and remains unsatisfied for the taxes of 
the preceding year or years may be sold at public vendue as provided in sections 280.01 
and 280.02 by the county auditor but shall be treated in the same manner and regarded 
in all respects as land bid in for the state by the auditor in the manner provided in sec­
tion 280.02. No notice of sale required by section 280.01 shall be published or posted 
in 1974 and in years thereafter, and no auditor's certificate authorized by section 
280.03 shall be issued on the second Monday in May 1974, or thereafter. 

History: 1973 c 341 s 1 

280.01 STATE BID IN AT SALE. 
On the second Monday in May, in each year, the county auditor shall sell all parcels 

of land against which judgment has been entered and remains unsatisfied for the taxes 
of the preceding year or years. The auditor shall bid in for the state for all such parcels 
of land the amount of all delinquent taxes, penalties, costs, and interest to date. No 
notice of sale shall be required to be published, posted, or served prior to sale. 

History: (2127) RL s 927; 1983 c 342 art 15 s 13 

280.02 PUBLIC VENDUE. 
The county auditor shall sell, at public vendue, each parcel of land separately in 

the order described in the judgment and by the description therein; but, if the sum bid 
for any parcel shall not be paid on the day of the sale thereof, the county auditor shall 
again offer the same for sale. In offering the lands for sale, the auditor shall state the 
amount for which each parcel is to be sold, and shall then sell the same to the person 
who shall offer to pay the amount for which the same is to be sold, at the lowest annual 
rate of interest on such amount. No bid shall be accepted when the proposed rate of 
interest exceeds 12 percent per annum. All bids for any fractional part of one percent 
shall be a decimal part thereof, and not less than one-tenth of one percent. If no bidder 
shall bid an amount equal to that for which the parcel is to be sold, at a rate of interest 
not exceeding 12 percent per annum, then the auditor shall bid in the same for the state 
at such amount. The county treasurer shall attend the sale and receive all moneys paid 
thereon. 

History: (2128) RL s 928; 1986 c 444 
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273 REAL ESTATE TAX JUDGMENT SALES 280.04 

280.03 CERTIFICATE OF SALE. 
The county auditor shall execute to the purchaser of each parcel a certificate which 

may be substantially in the following form: 
"I, , auditor of the county of , state of Minnesota, do hereby certify 

that at the sale of lands pursuant to the real estate tax judgment entered in the district 
court in the county of , on the day of , 19 in proceedings to 
enforce the payment of taxes delinquent on real estate for the years , for the 
county of , which sale was held at in said county of , on the 
day of , 19...., the following described parcel of land, situate in said county of 

, state of Minnesota: (insert description), was offered for sale to the bidder who 
should offer to pay the amount for which the same was to be sold, at the lowest annual 
rate of interest on such amount; and at said sale I did sell the said parcel of land to 

for the sum of dollars, with interest at percent per annum on such 
amount, that being the sum for which the same was to be sold, and such rate of interest 
being the lowest rate percent per annum bid on such sum; and, the sum having been 
paid, I do therefore, in consideration thereof, and pursuant to the statute in such case 
made and provided, convey the said parcel of land, in fee simple, subject to easements 
and restrictions of record at the date of the tax judgment sale, including, but without 
limitation, permits for telephone, telegraph and electric power lines either by under­
ground cable or conduit or otherwise, sewer and water lines, highways, railroads, and 
pipe lines for gas, liquids, or solids in suspension, to said , and the heirs and 
assigns of , forever, subject to redemption as provided by law. 

Witness my hand and official seal this day of , 19 

County Auditor." 
If the land shall not be redeemed as provided in chapter 281, such certificate shall 

pass to the purchaser an estate therein, in fee simple, without any other act or deed 
whatever subject to easements and restrictions of record at the date of the tax judgment 
sale, including, but without limitation, permits for telephone, telegraph, and electric 
power lines either by underground cable or conduit or otherwise, sewer and water lines, 
highways, railroads, and pipe lines for gas, liquids, or solids in suspension. Such certifi­
cate may be recorded, after the time for redemption shall have expired, as other deeds 
of real estate, and with like effect. If any purchaser at such sale shall purchase more than 
one parcel, the auditor shall issue to the purchaser a certificate for each parcel so pur­
chased. 

History: (2129) RL s 929; 1953 c 493 s 2; 1986 c 444 

280.04 WHO MAY PURCHASE. 
All persons, except as provided in section 280.05, may become purchasers at such 

sale. If the owner purchase, the sale shall have the effect to pass to the owner, subject 
to redemption as provided in chapter 281, every right, title, and interest of any and 
every person, company, or corporation, free from any claim, lien, or encumbrance, 
except such right, title, interest, lien, or encumbrance as such owner may be legally or 
equitably bound to protect against such sale, or the taxes for which such sale was made. 

History: (2130) RL s 930; 1986 c 444 

280.05 PROHIBITED PURCHASERS. 
A county auditor, county treasurer, court administrator of the district court, or 

county assessor, or deputy or clerk or employee of such officer, and a commissioner for 
tax forfeited lands or assistant to such commissioner, may not purchase at such sale, 
or procure an assignment of the right acquired by the state in lands bid in for it at such 
sale, as in this chapter provided in sections 280.06 to 280.12, either personally, or as 
agent or attorney for any other person, except that such officer, deputy, court adminis­
trator, employee or commissioner for tax forfeited lands or assistant to such commis­
sioner, if an owner or lienholder of the lands, may purchase the lands, or procure such 
assignment of the state's right in such lands. 

History: (2131) RL s 931; 1959 c 281 s 1; 1969 c9s 72; 1986 c 444; !Spl986 c 3 
art 1 s82 
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280.06 REAL ESTATE TAX JUDGMENT SALES 274 

280.06 WRONG NAME OF OWNER. 
No such sale shall be affected or deemed invalid on account of the use of another 

name than that of the true owner in describing the ownership of the parcel of land sold 
in any tax proceeding. 

History: (2132) RL s 932 

280.07 ENTRIES IN JUDGMENT BOOKS AFTER SALE. 
Immediately after such sale the county auditor shall set out in the copy judgment 

book that all parcels were bid in for the state. The county auditor shall thereupon 
deliver such book to the court administrator, who shall forthwith enter on the right-
hand page of the real estate tax judgment book, opposite the description of each parcel 
sold, the words "bid in for the state," and thereupon redeliver the copy judgment book 
to the auditor. Upon redemption the auditor shall make a note thereon in the copy judg­
ment book, opposite the parcel redeemed. 

History: (2133) RL s 933; 1983 c 342 art 15 s 14; 1986 c 444; lSpl986 c 3 art 1 s 
82 

280.08 RECORD OF ASSIGNMENT. 
The assignee or transferee of a certificate or deed issued upon the sale of land for 

general taxes or for special assessments for local improvements shall present the instru­
ment of transfer and a copy thereof to the official custodian of the record of such sale. 
Such officer shall thereupon certify such copy to be correct and shall file the same and 
note such transfer upon the record. The record as herein provided of any such instru­
ment shall be taken and deemed notice to parties. The recording in the office of the 
county recorder of any such assignment or any quitclaim deed transferring any interest 
in such land shall have the same force and effect as the record above provided. 

History: (2134) 1909 c 340 s 1; 1976 c 181 s 2; 1986 c 444 

280.09 FAILURE TO RECORD. 
Every such assignment or transfer not so recorded shall be void as against any sub­

sequent purchaser, for a valuable consideration, who has caused a record of that trans­
fer to be made in the manner above provided, before the recording of the prior transfer, 
and as against any party claiming under a judgment or decree of a court of competent 
jurisdiction heretofore entered or hereafter to be entered in an action in which the party 
appearing to be the owner or holder of such certificate or deed, as shown by the record 
in the office of such official custodian, was made a party and was bound by the judgment 
or decree. 

History: (2135) 1909 c 340 s 2; 1986 c 444 

280.10 PAYMENT OF SUBSEQUENT TAXES. 
The taxes for subsequent years shall be levied on property so bid in for the state 

in the same manner as if the sale had not been made. 
History: (2136) RL s 934; 1925 c 63; 1931 c 412; 1983 c 342 art 15 s 15 

280.11 LANDS BID IN FOR STATE. 
At any time after any parcel of land has been bid in for the state, the same not hav­

ing been redeemed, the county auditor shall assign and convey the same, and all the 
right of the state therein acquired at such sale, to any person who shall pay the amount 
for which the same was bid in, with interest at the rate of 12 percent per annum, and 
the amount of all subsequent delinquent taxes, penalties, costs, and interest at such rate 
upon the same from the time when such taxes became delinquent. The county auditor 
shall execute to such person a certificate for such parcel, which may be substantially in 
the following form: 

"I, , auditor of the county of , state of Minnesota, do hereby certify 
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275 REAL ESTATE TAX JUDGMENT SALES 280.13 

that at the sale of lands pursuant to the real estate tax judgment entered in the district 
court in the county of , on the day of 19 , in proceedings to 
enforce the payment of taxes delinquent upon real estate for the years for the 
county of... , which sale was held at in said county of , on the 
day of , 19 , the following described parcel of land, situate in said county of 

, state of Minnesota: (insert description), was duly offered for sale; and, no one 
bidding upon such offer an amount equal to that for which the parcel was subject to 
be sold, the same was then bid in for the state at such amount, being the sum of 
dollars; and the same still remaining unredeemed, and on this day having paid 
into the treasury of the county the amount for which the same was so bid in, and all 
subsequent delinquent taxes, penalties, costs, and interest, amounting in all to 
dollars, therefore, in consideration thereof, and pursuant to the statute in such case 
made and provided, I do hereby assign and convey this parcel of land, in fee simple, 
subject to easements and restrictions of record at the date of the tax judgment sale, 
including but without limitation, permits for telephone, telegraph, and electric power 
lines either by underground cable or conduit or otherwise, sewer and water lines, high­
ways, railroads, and pipe lines for gas, liquids, or solids in suspension, with all the right, 
title and interest of the state acquired therein at such sale to and the heirs and 
assigns of , forever, subject to redemption as provided by law. 

Witness my hand and official seal this day of 19.... 

County Auditor." 
If the land shall not be redeemed, as provided in chapter 281, such certificate shall 

pass to the purchaser or assignee an estate therein, in fee simple, without any other act 
or deed whatever subject to easements and restrictions of record at the date of the tax 
judgment sale, including, but without limitation, permits for telephone, telegraph and 
electric power lines either by underground cable or conduit or otherwise, sewer and 
water lines, highways, railroads, and pipe lines for gas, liquids, or solids in suspension. 
Such certificate or conveyance may be recorded, after the time for redemption shall 
have expired, as other deeds of real estate, and with like effect. No assignment of the 
right of the state shall be given pursuant to this section after January 1, 1972. 

History: (2137) RL s 935; 1953 c 493 s 3; 1971 c 658 s 1; 1986 c 444 

280.12 UNREDEEMED LANDS. 
All parcels of land bid in for the state, and not assigned to purchasers or redeemed 

within three years from the date of the tax sale at which they are offered, shall be dis­
posed of as provided in this section and in section 280.13. Such sale shall commence 
at the county seat on the second Monday of August, of each year, and shall continue 
from day to day until and including the 30th day of June, 1936, when it shall be com­
pleted, and the county auditor shall publish a notice once each week for three successive 
weeks in such county of the time and place when such sale will commence. 

History: (2138) RL s 936; 1907 c 430; 1913 c74s 1; 1927 c 363; 1929 c 415 s 1; 1931 
c 129 s 3; 1935 c 387 s 1 

280.13 UNREDEEMED LANDS. 
Subdivision 1. Conduct of sale. Any sale authorized by section 280.12 shall be con­

ducted by the county auditor. Each parcel shall be sold to the highest cash bidder there­
for, but not for a less sum than the aggregate taxes, penalties, interest, and costs charged 
against it, unless the cash value thereof fairly determined by the county board shall be 
less than such aggregate, in which case the value so fixed and approved shall be the 
minimum price for which such property may be sold. The rights of the purchaser at 
such sale shall be subject to the rights of any purchaser and of the state or its assignee 
by virtue of any delinquent tax for any subsequent year, and of any subsequent delin­
quent taxes attaching thereto or required to be paid in case of redemption therefrom. 

Subd. 2. Cash bids. At such sale, if there be no bidders for the same for the 
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amounts as hereinbefore authorized, any such parcels coming within the following clas­
sifications may be disposed of for cash only, for not less than the following amounts: 
(1) all parcels bid in for the state for taxes for the year 1922, or prior years, for one-fifth 
of the total taxes remaining unpaid for 1925 and prior years, as originally assessed; (2) 
all parcels, not in such first class, but bid in for the state for taxes for the year 1924, 
or prior years, for one-third of the total taxes remaining unpaid for 1925 and prior 
years, as originally assessed; and (3) all parcels, not in such first or second class, but bid 
in for the state for taxes for the year 1925, or prior years, for one-half of the total taxes 
remaining unpaid for 1925 and prior years, as originally assessed. 

In the event that the taxes upon any parcel for 1930, or any part thereof, have been 
bid in for and are held by the state, the auditor of each county is hereby authorized and 
directed to dispose of the same, together with all the interest of the state in such parcel 
and all taxes, assessments, interest, and penalties attached thereto or thereon, except 
taxes not yet attached to a judgment by an assignment thereof for an amount not less 
than one-half of the total taxes and assessments against it, as originally assessed and 
taxed. 

In the event that the taxes for 1926 and all prior years against any parcel of land 
have been paid or sold or assigned to a purchaser other than the state, but the taxes for 
1927 or 1928, or any part thereof, have been bid in for and are held by the state, the 
county auditor is authorized and directed to dispose of the same, together with all the 
interest of the state in such parcel and all taxes, assessments, interest, and penalties 
attached thereto or thereon, except taxes not yet attached to a judgment by an assign­
ment thereof, for an amount not less than three-fifths of the total taxes and assessments 
against it, as originally assessed and taxed. In the event that the taxes for 1928 and all 
prior years against any parcel of land have been paid, or sold or assigned to a purchaser 
other than the state, but the taxes for 1929 or 1930, or any part thereof, have been bid 
in for and held by the state, the county auditor is authorized and directed to dispose 
of the same, together with all the interest of the state in such parcel and all taxes, assess­
ments, interest, and penalties attached thereto or thereon, except taxes not yet attached 
to a judgment by an assignment thereof, for an amount not less than four-fifths of such 
taxes and assessments, as originally assessed. 

Subd. 3. When tax contains ditch liens or special assessments. Where any parcel, 
subject to sale under the provisions of this section and sections 280.12 and 280.25, con­
tains as a part of the tax the full amount or a portion of the lien for the construction 
of any county or judicial ditch, or the full amount or a portion of any special assessment 
for local improvements levied under municipal authority, the county board, in case of 
such ditch lien, or the governing body of the municipality, in case of such special assess­
ment, may by ordinance or resolution determine and fix the minimum amount of such 
ditch lien or assessment to be included in addition to the amounts hereinbefore pro­
vided as the minimum for which any such parcel may be sold; provided that the resolu­
tion of the county board shall be adopted or a copy of such resolution or ordinance of 
the municipality describing each tract and fixing each such minimum amount shall be 
served upon the county auditor at least 30 days before the date of sale; provided, that 
if such resolution of the county board be not adopted or if such governing body of any 
such municipality fails to cause to be certified to the county auditor at least 30 days 
before the date of sale the minimum amount of such assessment to be included with 
the other taxes on any parcel, the county auditor shall include such ditch lien or special 
assessment with the other taxes on such parcel, to be sold on the same basis as the other 
taxes thereon. The minimum amounts of ditch liens or assessments to be so included 
in the sale of lands within the Red Lake game preserve shall be the full amounts of such 
ditch liens and assessments. 

Subd. 4. Payment; certificate. The purchaser shall forthwith pay the amount of the 
bid to the county treasurer and the officer conducting the sale shall give the purchaser 
a certificate in a form prescribed by the attorney general, in which shall be set forth the 
name of the purchaser, a description of the land sold, the price paid, and the date and 
place of sale. The auditor and treasurer of the county shall attend such sale, the former 
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to make a record of all sales thereat and the latter to receive all moneys paid on account 
thereof. The proceeds of the sale of any parcel of land at any such sale, for whatever 
amount sold, shall be distributed among the taxing districts interested in the taxes and 
assessments on the parcel at the date of such sale in the proportions of their respective 
interests; provided that the provisions of this section as to the amount of any ditch lien 
or special assessment which shall be included in the minimum cash amount for which 
any parcel may be sold shall fix the amount applicable to such ditch lien or special 
assessment in the distribution of the proceeds of such sale. 

History: (2139) RL s 937; 1907 c 430 s 2; 1911c 30; 1913 c 333 s 1; 1917c 303; 1919 
c 337; 1921 c 386 s 1; 1925 c 208 s 1; 1927 c 119 s 1; 1929 c 415 s 2; 1931 c 129 s 1; 1933 
c 414 s 1; 1935 c 387 s 2; 1986 c 444 

280.14 
280.15 
280.16 
280.17 
280.19 
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280.21 
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280.23 
280.24 

[Expired] 
[Expired] 
[Expired] 
[Expired] 
[Expired] 
[Expired] 
[Expired] 
[Expired] 
[Expired] 
[Expired] 

280.25 PURCHASER TO RECEIVE DEED. 
Any person, or the heirs or assigns of the person, receiving the certificate described 

in section 280.13 shall be entitled to a deed from the state 60 days after the service of 
a notice of expiration of time from redemption and filing proof of such service, which 
notice shall be substantially as provided in section 281.13 and until the expiration of 
such time for redemption the land described in such certificate shall be subject to 
redemption in the manner provided in section 281.02 and upon the expiration of such 
redemption period, upon presentation of such certificate to the commissioner of reve­
nue, the commissioner shall be authorized to execute a deed in the name of the state 
to the person entitled thereto, conveying the lands therein described; and every such 
deed shall vest the grantee with complete title to such lands, subject to the defenses that 
the tract or parcel was exempt from taxation or that the taxes for which such tract or 
parcel was sold at that tax sale had been paid. Such deed may be recorded as other deeds 
of real estate and the record thereof shall have the same force and effect in all respects 
as the record of such deeds and shall be evidence in like manner. 

History: (2140, 2142) RL s 938; 1915 c 332 s 1; 1973 c 582 s 3; 1986 c 444 

280.26 HOW AND WHEN PURCHASER TO GET DEED. 
Any person, or the heirs or assigns of the person, receiving the certificate described 

in section 280.13 shall be entitled to a deed from the state and, upon presentation of 
such certificate to the commissioner of revenue, the commissioner shall be authorized 
to execute a deed in the name of the state to the person entitled thereto, conveying the 
lands therein described, and every such deed shall vest the grantee with complete title 
to such lands, subject to the defenses that the tract or parcel was exempt from taxation 
or that the taxes had been paid for which such tract or parcel was sold at the said tax 
sale. Such deed may be recorded as other deeds of real estate and the record thereof 
shall have the same force and effect in all respects as the record of such other deeds and 
shall be evidence in like manner. Any one having any interest in any such tract or parcel 
of land shall have the right to redeem the land, as provided in chapter 281, and no such 
tax deed shall be issued, nor shall the full period of redemption expire until 60 days 
shall have elapsed after the filing of proof of service of notice; made in the same manner 
as provided in Laws 1902, chapter 2, sections 47 and 48. 

History: (2141) 1902 c 2 s 55; 1905 c211s 1; 1973 c 582 s 3; 1986 c 444 
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280.27 APPLICATIONS FOR STATE TAX DEEDS. 
All applications for tax deeds under this chapter shall be made to the commissioner 

of revenue and the applicant shall present to such official the original tax certificate and 
certified copy of the notice of expiration of redemption, with proof of service thereof 
and of the filing of such proof in the office of the county auditor, and certificate of such 
auditor that the time of redemption has expired and that no redemption has been made, 
and such other proof as the commissioner of revenue may require. All of these papers 
shall be filed in the office of the commissioner of revenue, and shall remain therein as 
permanent records. If the original tax certificate, or any assignment thereof, has been 
lost or destroyed, the county auditor shall issue a duplicate thereof, upon proof of such 
loss or destruction, by the filing in the auditor's office of an affidavit by such owner or 
some other person having knowledge of the facts. Any such duplicate certificate or 
assignment shall be of the same force and effect as if it were an original. 

History: (2143) 1915 c 332 s 2; 1927 c 399; 1973 c 582 s 3; 1986 c 444; 1991 c 326 
s 12 

280.28 FEES. 
Subdivision 1. The county auditor shall be entitled to collect a fee of 50 cents from 

such applicant for each certified copy of a notice of expiration of redemption and the 
preparation of the other necessary papers and information in connection therewith, 
which fee shall be retained by such auditor in addition to the salary provided by law. 

Subd. 2. There shall be paid at the time of delivery by the person to whom deliv­
ered for each certificate issued to an actual purchaser under sections 280.03 and 280.13 
a fee of $1 and for each notice of expiration of redemption prepared by the auditor for 
the holder of a certificate a fee of $2. These fees shall be paid to the county treasurer 
upon the auditor's statement of the amount due. The amount of such fees shall be added 
to the amount payable under section 281.02 upon redemption. 

History: (2144) 1915 c 332 s 3; 1961 c 524 s 1; 1986 c 444 

280.29 PROCEEDS OF SALE, HOW DISTRIBUTED. 
The proceeds of any parcel of land so sold, to the amount of taxes, penalties, inter­

est, and costs charged thereon, shall be distributed as provided by law for the distribu­
tion of the like sums upon sales for delinquent taxes. The portion thereof due to the 
state shall be paid to the state treasurer upon the draft of the commissioner of finance, 
and the excess, if any, above the taxes, penalties, interest, and costs charged upon the 
land, shall be included in such draft and be paid in like manner for the benefit of the 
state. If any parcel be sold for less than the amount charged thereon, the state taxes shall 
first be paid and the remainder, if any, distributed pro rata to the several funds for 
which the taxes were levied. 

History: (2145) RL s 939; 1973 c 492 s 14 

280.33 CERTIFICATES AND DEEDS AS EVIDENCE; GROUNDS FOR SET­
TING ASIDE. 

The certificates and deeds issued pursuant to sections 280.03, 280.11, 280.13, and 
280.25, or the record thereof, shall be prima facie evidence that the parcel described 
therein was subject to taxation for the year or years therein stated; that such parcel was 
listed and assessed at the time and in the manner required by law; that the taxes were 
levied according to law; that the judgment pursuant to which the sale was made was 
duly entered, and that the court had jurisdiction to enter the same; that all requirements 
of law with respect to the sale had been complied with; that such parcel had not been 
redeemed from the sale; and of title in the grantee therein after the time for redemption 
has expired; provided, that when any such certificate or deed embraces university, 
school, or other state lands, the title whereof is in the state, no other or greater interest 
shall be held to be thereby conveyed than that acquired under the certificate of the com­
missioner of finance. No sale shall be set aside or held invalid by reason of any misreci-
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tals in such certificate or deed; nor unless the party objecting to the same prove either 
that the taxes were paid before the judgment was rendered, or that such parcel was 
exempt from taxation, or that the court rendering the judgment pursuant to which the 
sale was made had not jurisdiction to render the same, or that after the judgment and 
before the sale such judgment had been satisfied, or that notice of sale as required by 
this chapter was not given, or that such parcel was not offered at such sale to the bidder 
who would pay the amount for which the parcel was to be sold at the lowest rate of inter­
est, as provided in this chapter; provided, that every judgment rendered against any 
parcel for a tax which was paid before the entry thereof, or when the land was exempt 
from taxation, shall be void, and all sales made under any such judgment or under a 
judgment which has been paid shall be void, and no title or interest in any parcel sold 
under such judgment shall pass or be conveyed to any purchaser at such sale. In any 
action brought to set aside or to cancel such sale, or in which the validity of such sale 
may arise, the tax receipt, or the treasurer's duplicate thereof, or other record of the 
payment of such tax in the office of the county auditor or the county treasurer, shall 
be prima facie evidence of such payment; but such payment shall not be established 
by parol testimony only. In such action, the county in which the land is situated, or the 
state, if either claim any interest in the land sold under such judgment, may be made 
a party defendant, in which case the county attorney shall appear in behalf of such 
county or state, or both. 

History: (2146) RL s 940; 1911 c 245 s 1; 1973 c 492 s 14 

280.34 [Repealed, 1977 c 265 s 3] 

280.35 INVALID CERTIFICATE. 
If any certificate issued pursuant to sections 280.03, 280.11, and 280.13 to an 

actual purchaser prove to be invalid for any other cause than that the land described 
therein was not subject to taxation, or that the taxes had been paid prior to the sale, 
or that the assessment or levy was void, the lien of the state on the parcel of land sold, 
as provided in section 272.31 shall be transferred, without any act whatever, to, and 
vested in, the holder of such certificate, or the holder's personal representatives, heirs, 
or assigns. Such holder, or the personal representatives, heirs, or assigns of the holder, 
may collect out of the property covered by such lien, by sale thereof by foreclosure, or 
other proper action or proceeding, the amount of taxes, penalties, and interest due 
thereon at the time of such sale, with interest thereon at the rate of 12 percent per 
annum, together with the amount of all subsequent taxes paid, with interest thereon 
at said rate, and the costs and expenses of such action. 

History: (2148) RL s 942; 1986 c 444 

280.36 REIMBURSEMENT TO TAX SALE PURCHASER WHERE NOTICE OF 
SALE INVALID; LIMITATION; REASSESSMENT. 

When any sale of land held pursuant to section 280.01 shall have been conducted 
by the county auditor, without two weeks' published notice of such sale having been 
first given as required therein, the purchaser of any parcel of land at such sale or the 
purchaser or holder, or the assigns or representatives of such purchaser or holder, of 
a state assignment certificate of such sale to such parcel acquired pursuant to section 
280.11, shall be entitled to refundment of the amount paid for such parcel, without 
interest, upon production and surrender to the auditor of the county in which such par­
cel of land is situated, of the certificate of sale, and evidence of the assignment thereof, 
if any, by issuance and payment of the warrant of the county auditor or the county trea­
surer therefor; provided that the right to refundment shall be exercised within six years 
from the date of such tax sale, and the amounts paid shall be charged to the proper 
funds, and extended against the respective parcels of land with the current taxes, and 
collected therewith. 

History: (2148-1) Exl937 c 61 
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280.37 ENDORSEMENT BEFORE RECORD. 
Before any certificate of sale or of assignment provided for in this chapter shall be 

recorded, the holder thereof shall present the same to the county auditor, who shall 
endorse thereon a certificate that the property therein described remains unredeemed, 
and that the period of redemption has expired; and no such certificate shall be recorded 
unless such endorsement is made. 

History: (2149) RL s 943; 1986 c 444 

280.38 LANDS BID IN FOR THE STATE; ATTACHMENTS. 
When any parcel of land is bid in for the state, until the land be redeemed, the sale 

shall not operate as a payment of the amount for which the same is sold, but at any time 
after such sale the county auditor may make and file with the court administrator where 
the judgment is entered an affidavit stating the date of the sale, the amount for which 
such parcel was bid in for the state, and the amount of all subsequent delinquent taxes, 
that there has been no redemption, and that the land is rented, in whole or in part, and 
produces rent, and giving the names of the persons paying rent. Upon presentation of 
such affidavit, the judge or court commissioner for the county shall endorse thereon an 
order directing an attachment to issue to attach the rents of such lands. The court 
administrator shall thereupon issue a writ directing the sheriff to attach the rents accru­
ing for such land from any person, and to collect therefrom the amount for which the 
same was bid in for the state, and the amount of all subsequent delinquent taxes, stating 
such amount and the date of sale, with penalties and interest accruing thereon, and the 
sheriffs fees, and $ 1 for the costs of the affidavit and attachment. The sheriff shall serve 
such writ by serving a copy thereof on each tenant or person in possession of such land 
paying rent therefor, or for any part thereof, and such service shall operate as an attach­
ment of all rents accruing from the person served. The sheriff shall receive such rents 
as they become due, and may bring suit in the sheriffs own name to collect the same, 
and shall pay into the county treasury the amount collected. No payment of rents by 
any person so served after such service, or prior thereto for the purpose of defeating 
such attachment, shall be valid against such attachment. The court administrator shall 
be allowed for issuing the writ, including the filing of the affidavit, order of allowance, 
writ, and return, 50 cents, to be paid to the administrator by the county in which the 
taxes are levied; provided, that in counties whose population exceeds 150,000 such fees 
shall be paid into the county treasury to the use of the county. The sheriff shall be 
allowed for serving the writ and collecting the money the same fees as are allowed by 
law upon an execution in a civil action; and, if the sheriff brings suit, such additional 
compensation as the court may allow, not exceeding one-half of the fees allowed by law 
for like services in ordinary cases. 

If, at any time while the sheriff is collecting such rent, the lease upon such property 
shall expire, or, if the sheriff has once commenced to collect such rent and the property 
becomes vacant, the county auditor may lease the property upon five days' notice to 
the owner, subject to the approval of the district court. 

At any time while the sheriff is collecting the rent under any lease, no modification 
of the lease between the owner and the tenant shall be valid unless approved by the dis­
trict court upon five days notice to the county auditor. 

The collection of such rent under this statute shall not be a bar to the county audi­
tor selling the land at a forfeited tax sale under the present laws or any laws hereafter 
enacted. 

In case any unplatted land is bid in for the state and is cropped upon a share agree­
ment with the owner, or by a trespasser, the owner's share of such crop; or, in case of 
a trespasser, all or any part of such crops, may be attached and collected in the same 
manner as rents and applied upon delinquent taxes. The term "crops" shall include hay 
and grass. In case there is no agreement for rent, or in case of an occupant or trespasser 
on the unplatted land without any agreement for rent, then the attachment shall attach 
to and bind all of the grass, hay, and crops produced on such lands; provided, that the 
district court may, upon application by such occupant, upon ten days notice to the 
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owner and the county auditor, and a showing by the occupant to the satisfaction of the 
court that the occupancy was not a willful trespass, release to such occupant the excess 
of such crops over and above the owner's or landlord's share of the grass, hay, and crops 
of such premises as determined by the court. Such application must be made not later 
than 60 days after the date of the service of the writ of attachment upon such occupant, 
and if not made within such time it shall be considered that such occupant has waived 
all right and claim to such crops. The county auditor may give to the owner or person 
entitled to the possession of such unplatted land during the crop season at least ten days 
notice, in writing, by mail or otherwise, specifying the time and place at which applica­
tion will be made to the district court for an order permitting the leasing of such land, 
and the district court may, if it deems it to be for the best interest of such person and 
of the public, make an order fixing the terms upon which such lease may be made by 
the county auditor, in the name of the county. The county auditor may then execute, 
in the name of the county, such lease in writing as the court shall order. No such lease 
shall be for a longer term than the current crop season. If the name or address of such 
person is unknown to the county auditor, such notice may be given by one publication 
in a legal newspaper in the county. If the owner or person entitled to such possession 
shall show to the court an intent to lease such unplatted land or make a contract for 
cropping the same upon shares, the court may make such order as it deems best to pro­
vide for an attachment of all or a part of the rents or crop share of such person and for 
applying the same upon the delinquent taxes. In any proceeding for the collection of 
rents on unplatted land on which the taxes have been bid in by the state, the court may, 
upon motion, order that payment, when made as to any part or the whole, be paid to 
the county treasurer to apply upon taxes. The owner of such unplatted properties may 
make application to the district court for release from applying all or a portion of such 
rents upon such taxes upon showing, by reason of the condition, cost of upkeep of the 
property, or other cause, undue hardship upon such owner or detriment to such prop­
erty. The provisions affecting unplatted lands shall not apply to lands or real estate actu­
ally used or occupied by the owner thereof. 

The county board may allow additional clerk hire to the county auditor for work 
in making such leases, which leases shall be made in the name of the county, and the 
county shall have the right to bring suit for unpaid rents under such leases and to bring 
the necessary actions to secure evictions of tenants to whom it has leased. 

Attachments, leases, and proceedings issued and made pursuant to this section 
shall not be deemed unfinished business that may be retained by the sheriff at expira­
tion of the sheriffs term, as provided by section 387.10. 

The right of the county auditor to sell the land at the forfeited tax sale, shall con­
tinue until all delinquent taxes described in the writ of attachment are paid. 

History: (2150) RL s 944; 1929 c 266 s 1; 1935 c 246 s 1; 1983 c 342 art 15 s 16; 1986 
c 444; lSpl986 c 3 art 1 s 82 

280.385 ACQUISITION OF TAX DELINQUENT LAND BEFORE FORFEITURE. 
Subdivision 1. Conveyance accepted. Whenever any lands have been bid in for the 

state for delinquent taxes at any tax judgment sale, the county board of the county in 
which such lands are situated may, in its discretion, with the consent first obtained of 
the governing body of the city or town in which such lands are situated, accept a convey­
ance from the owner thereof to the state; provided that the county attorney finds that 
such owner has good title to such lands and that they are free and clear of all encum­
brances except taxes. 

Subd. 2. To have same status as tax forfeited lands. Upon conveyance of title to 
the state, such lands shall have the status of lands absolutely forfeited to the state for 
taxes, and shall be subject to all applicable provisions of law as if they had become so 
forfeited at the date of acceptance of the conveyance by the county board. 

Subd. 3. Procedure if title fails. If the title of the state under such conveyance 
should for any reason be finally adjudged void or subject to any encumbrance, the 
county auditor, upon the filing in the auditor's office of a certified copy of such judg-
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ment, shall reinstate all taxes, penalties, and interest which were a lien upon said lands 
at the time such conveyance was made, and shall assess as omitted the taxes for the 
years subsequent thereto. Such lands shall thereupon be subject to forfeiture or other 
proceedings upon such taxes as provided by law as if no conveyance to the state had 
been made. 

History: 1943 c 327; 1973 c 123 art 5 s 7; 1983 c 342 art 15 s 17; 1986 c 444 

280.39 DELINQUENT TAXES MAY BE PAID IN INVERSE ORDER. 
In any case where taxes for two or more years are delinquent against a parcel of 

land, such taxes for one or more entire years, if held by the state, may be paid in the 
inverse order to that in which the taxes were levied, with accrued penalties, interest, 
and costs upon the taxes so paid, without payment of the taxes for the first of such years; 
provided, that such payment shall not affect the lien of any unpaid taxes or tax judg­
ment. 

History: 1941 c 97 s 1 

280.40 TAXES COLLECTED BY SHERIFF APPLIED IN INVERSE ORDER. 
When the sheriff shall pay into the county treasury rents collected, as provided in 

section 280.38, the same shall be applied in the inverse order to that in which such taxes 
were levied, crediting the same as follows: (1) against penalties, interest, and costs upon 
the last delinquent taxes, (2) against such taxes as levied; and the same procedure shall 
be followed for each year's delinquent taxes until such payments have been exhausted. 
When, under section 280.38, a year's taxes are partially paid, interest shall be charged 
thereafter only upon the unpaid balance. In case of part payment of the taxes for any 
year, the land affected shall remain, as to the unpaid balance, subject to sale, redemp­
tion, forfeiture, and all other proceedings respecting delinquent taxes in like manner 
as for a full year's taxes. 

History: 1941 c 97 s 2 

280.41 OWNERSHIP BY STATE. 
Title to all parcels of land bid in for the state shall vest in the state subject only 

to the rights of redemption set forth in chapter 281. 

History: 1983 c 342 art 15 s 18 

280.43 SALE DEFINED. 
No actual public "sale" shall take place under chapter 280. A "sale" shall be conclu­

sively deemed to have been made and transfer made to the state of Minnesota hereun­
der. 

History: 1983 c 342 art 15 s 19 
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