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CHAPTER 514
LIENS; LABOR, MATERIAL

514.011 Notice. 514.18 Retaining.

514.011 NOTICE.

Subdivision 1. Contractors. Every person who enters into a contract with the
owner for the improvement of real property and who has contracted or will contract
with any subcontractors or material suppliers to provide labor, skill or materials for the
improvement shall include in any written contract with the owner the notice required
in this subdivision and shall provide the owner with a copy of the written contract.
If no written contract for the improvement is entered into, the notice must be prepared
separately and delivered personally or by certified mail to the owner or the owner’s
authorized agent within ten days after the work of improvement is agreed upon. The
notice, whether included in a written contract or separately given, must be in at least
10-point bold type, if printed, or in capital letters, if typewritten and must state as
follows:

“(a) Any person or company supplying labor or materials for this improvement to
your property may file a lien against your property if that person or company is not paid
for the contributions.

(b) Under Minnesota law, you have the right to pay persons who supplied labor
or materials for this improvement directly and deduct this amount from our contract
price, or withhold the amounts due them from us until 120 days after completion of
the improvement unless we give you a lien waiver signed by persons who supplied any
labor or material for the improvement and who gave you timely notice.”

A person who fails to provide the notice shall not have the lien and remedy
provided by this chapter.

The notice required by this subdivision is not required of any person who is an
owner of the improved real estate, to any corporate contractor of which the owner of
the improved real estate is an officer or controlling shareholder, to any contractor who
is an officer or controlling shareholder of a corporation which is the owner of the
improved real estate, or to any corporate contractor managed or controlled by substan-
tially the same persons who manage or control a corporation which is the owner of the
improved real estate.

Subd. 2. Subcontractor to give notice. (a) Every person who contributes to the
improvement of real property so as to be entitled to a lien pursuant to section 514.01,
except a party under direct contract with the owner must, as a necessary prerequisite
to the validity of any claim or lien, cause to be given to the owner or the owner’s
authorized agent, either by personal delivery or by certified mail, not later than 45 days
after the lien claimant has first furnished labor, skill or materials for the improvement,
a written notice in at least 10-point bold type, if printed, or in capital letters, if
typewritten, which shall state:

“This notice is to advise you of your rights under Minnesota law in connection with
the improvement to your property.

Any person or company supplying labor or materials for this improvement may
file a lien against your property if that person or company is not paid for the contribu-
tions.

WE ittt s e ree e neee
(name and address of subcontractor)
have been hired by your contractor ......................
(name of your contractor)
to provide .....ccoceeveecennnnn (] S for
(type of service) (material)
this improvement.
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To the best of our knowledge, we estimate our charges
WIlL DE ..ovverrrvrieciectre e svesr s e ne e .
(value of service or material)

If we are not paid by your contractor, we can file a claim against your property for
the price of our services.

You have the right to pay us directly and deduct this amount from the contract
price, or withhold the amount due us from your contractor until 120 days after
completion of the improvement unless your contractor gives you a lien waiver signed
by me (us).

We may not file a lien if you paid your contractor in full before receiving this
notice.”

(b) A person entitled to a lien does not lose the right to the lien for failure to strictly
comply with this subdivision if a good faith effort is made to comply, unless the owner
or another lien claimant proves damage as a direct result of the failure to comply.

[For text of subds 3 to 5, see M.S.1988]
Subd. 6. Use of former notice permitted. Until August 1, 1990, a notice given in
conformity with subdivisions 1 and 2 of Minnesota Statutes 1988 is valid.
History: 1989 ¢ 160 s 1-3

NOTE: Subdivision 6, as amended by Laws 1989, chapter 160, section 3, is repealed effective August 1, 1990. Sce
Laws 1989, chapter 160, section 4.

514.18 RETAINING.

[For text of subd 1, see M.S.1988]
Subd. 1a. Towed motor vehicles. A person who tows and stores a motor vehicle
at the request of a law enforcement officer shall have a lien on the motor vehicle for
the value of the storage and towing and the right to retain possession of the motor

vehicle until the lien is lawfully discharged. This section does not apply to tows
authorized in section 169.041, subdivision 4, clause (1).

[For text of subds 2 to 4, see M.S.1988]
History: 1989 ¢ 256 s 2
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