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60A.084 NOTIFICATION ON GROUP POLICIES. 
An employer providing life or health benefits may not change benefits, limit 

coverage, or otherwise restrict participation until the certificate holder or enrollee has 
been notified of any changes, limitations, or restrictions. Notice in a format which 
meets the requirements of the Employee Retirement Income Security Act, United 
States Code Annotated, title 29, sections 1001 to 1461, is satisfactory for compliance 
with this section. 

History: 1987 c 337 s 3 

60A.101 SELF-INSURERS; DEPOSIT OF SECURITIES. 
Subdivision 1. Requirement. A workers' compensation self-insurer, except the 

state and its political subdivisions, as well as political subdivision self-insurance pools 
exempted by sections 471.98 to 471.982 must deposit securities or surety bonds 
acceptable to the commissioner of commerce of a value at least equal to: 

(1) 110 percent of its total outstanding workers' compensation liability provided 
that the deposit shall be no less than the retention level selected with the workers' 
compensation reinsurance association, for an employer who has been self-insured for 
at least two years. The total outstanding workers' compensation liability incurred must 
be certified by an actuary who is a member of the casualty actuarial society one year 
after the date of authority to self-insure and every fourth year thereafter unless requested 
more frequently by the commissioner of commerce. Self-insurers authorized to self-
insure on July 1, 1987, must provide this actuarial certification of outstanding liabilities 
by July 1, 1988, or upon the anniversary of their authority to self-insure, whichever 
comes first; or 

(2) the greater of the retention level selected with the workers' compensation 
reinsurance association, or 70 percent of the employer's estimated current modified 
premium as developed using the rates currently utilized by the Minnesota workers' 
compensation assigned risk plan for an employer who has been self-insured less than 
two years. 

Subd. 2. Surety bond form. The bond shall be in the form as follows: 
"KNOW ALL PERSONS BY THESE PRESENTS: That we, (entity to be bonded), 

of (location), (hereinafter called the "principal(s)"), as principal(s), and (bonding com­
pany name), a (name of state) corporation, of (location) (hereinafter called the "surety"), 
as surety, are held and firmly bound unto the commissioner of commerce of the STATE 
OF MINNESOTA for the use and benefit of the employees of the principal(s) and to 
pay workers' compensation obligations of the principal(s) in the sum of (amount in 
writing), for the payment of which well and truly to be made, the principal(s) bind 
themselves, their successors and assigns, and the surety binds itself and its successors 
and assigns, jointly and severally, firmly by these presents^ 
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3 DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE; INSURANCE 60A.101 

WHEREAS, in accordance with the provisions of Minnesota Statutes, section 
176.181, the principal(s) has by written order of the commissioner of commerce of the 
state of Minnesota been exempted from insuring their liability for compensation 
according to the Minnesota workers' compensation act and have been permitted by 
order to self-insure all liability hereafter arising under the workers' compensation act. 

NOW, THEREFORE, the condition of this obligation is such that if the princi­
pal^) shall, according to the terms, provisions, and limitations of the Minnesota 
workers' compensation act, pay all of the principal's liabilities and obligations under 
the act, including all benefits as provided by the act, then this obligation shall be null 
and void, otherwise to remain in full force and effect subject, however, to the following 
terms and conditions. 

(a) The liability of the surety is limited to the payment of all legal liabilities and 
obligations, including payment of compensation and medical benefits, provided by the 
workers' compensation act of Minnesota which are payable by the principals for or on 
account of personal injuries or occupational diseases sustained during or attributable 
to the entire period that the bond is in effect, subject to cancellation, as provided in 
paragraphs (b) and (e). In no event shall the total liability of the surety exceed the penal 
amount of the bond. 

(b) In the event of a default, whenever occurring, on the part of the principal(s) 
to abide by any award, order, or decision directing and awarding payment of such legal 
liabilities, obligations, or benefits to or on behalf of any employee or the dependents 
of any deceased employee, which occurred during the period this bond remains in force 
regardless of whether this bond has been canceled prior to the making of the claim or 
the award, order, or decision, the commissioner of commerce may, upon 20-days notice 
to the surety and opportunity to be heard, require the surety to pay the amount of the 
award, order, or decision to be enforced in the same manner as an award may be 
enforced against said principal(s). 

(c) Service on the surety shall be deemed to be service on the principals. 
(d) This bond shall continue in force from year to year unless canceled as herein 

provided. However, the penal amount of the bond must be revised each year to comply 
with all statutory requirements and rules. Regardless of the number of years this bond 
remains in force or the number of annual premiums paid or payable, the total liability 
of the surety hereunder may not exceed the penal amount of the bond. 

(e) This bond may be canceled at any time by the surety by giving 60-days notice 
in writing to the commissioner of commerce of the state of Minnesota at its offices in 
the city of St. Paul, Minnesota, and upon expiration of said 60 days, the liability of the 
surety hereunder shall cease, except as to liability incurred hereunder prior to the 
expiration of said 60 days, as set out in paragraph (a). 

(f) This bond shall become effective at (time of day, month, day, year). 
IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, said principal(s) and said surety have caused this 

instrument to be signed by their respective duly-authorized officers and their corporate 
seals to be hereunto affixed this (day, month, year). 
Signed, sealed, and delivered in 
the presence of: Corporation Name 

By: 
Bonding Company Name 
By: :... 

Subd. 3. Definitions. For the purposes of this section, the terms defined in this 
subdivision have the meanings given them. 

"Control" means, with respect to a company or organization authorized to self-
insure under section 176.181, and Minnesota Rules, parts 2780.0100 to 2780.9920: 

(1) the ownership of, directly or indirectly, or acting through one or more other 
persons, control of or the power to vote, 25 percent of more of any class of voting 
securities; and 

(2) control in any manner over the election of a majority of the directors. 

History: 1987 c 332 s 2 
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60A.11 DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE; INSURANCE 4 

60A.11 INVESTMENTS FOR DOMESTIC COMPANIES. 

[For text ofsubds 1 to 9, see M.S.I986] 

Subd. 10. Definitions. The following terms have the meaning assigned in this 
subdivision for purposes of this section and section 60A. I l l : 

(a) "Admitted assets," for purposes of computing percentage limitations on partic­
ular types of investments, means the assets as shown by the company's annual state­
ment, required by section 60A. 13, as of the December 31 immediately preceding the 
date the company acquires the investment; 

(b) "Clearing corporation" means The Depository Trust Company or any other 
clearing agency registered with the federal securities and exchange commission pursu­
ant to the Federal Securities Exchange Act of 1934, section 17A, Euro-clear Clearance 
System Limited and CEDEL S.A., and, with the approval of the commissioner, any 
other clearing corporation as defined in section 336.8-102; 

(c) "Control" has the meaning assigned to that term in, and must be determined 
in accordance with, section 60D.01, subdivision 4; 

(d) "Custodian bank" means a bank or trust company or a branch of a bank or 
trust company that is acting as custodian and is supervised and examined by state or 
federal authority having supervision over the bank or trust company or with respect 
to a company's foreign investments only by the regulatory authority having supervision 
over banks or trust companies in the jurisdiction in which the bank, trust company, or 
branch is located, and specifically includes Euro-clear Clearance System Limited and 
CEDEL S.A., acting as custodians; 

(e) "Issuer" means the corporation, business trust, governmental unit, partner­
ship, association, individual, or other entity which issues or on behalf of which is issued 
any form of obligation; 

(f) "Member bank" means a national bank, state bank or trust company which is 
a member of the Federal Reserve System; 

(g) "National securities exchange" means an exchange registered under section 6 
of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 or an exchange regulated under the laws of the 
Dominion of Canada; 

(h) "Obligations" include bonds, notes, debentures, transportation equipment 
certificates, repurchase agreements, bank certificates of deposit, time deposits, bankers' 
acceptances, and other obligations for the payment of money not in default as to 
payments of principal and interest on the date of investment, whether constituting 
general obligations of the issuer or payable only out of certain revenues or certain funds 
pledged or otherwise dedicated for payment. Leases are considered obligations if the 
lease is assigned for the benefit of the company and is nonterminable by the lessee or 
lessees thereunder upon foreclosure of any lien upon the leased property, and rental 
payments are sufficient to amortize the investment over the primary lease term; 

(i) "Qualified assets" means the sum of (1) all investments qualified in accordance 
with this section other than investments in affiliates and subsidiaries, (2) investments 
in obligations of affiliates as defined in section 60D.01, subdivision 2 secured by real 
or personal property sufficient to qualify the investment under subdivision 19 or 23, 
(3) qualified investments in subsidiaries, as defined in section 60D.01, subdivision 9, 
on a consolidated basis with the insurance company without allowance for goodwill or 
other intangible value, and (4) cash on hand and on deposit, agent's balances or 
uncollected premiums not due more than 90 days, assets held pursuant to section 
60A. 12, subdivision 2, investment income due and accrued, funds due or on deposit 
or recoverable on loss payments under contracts of reinsurance entered into pursuant 
to section 60A.09, premium bills and notes receivable, federal income taxes recover­
able, and equities and deposits in pools and associations; 

(j) "Qualified net earnings" means that the net earnings of the issuer after elimina­
tion of extraordinary nonrecurring items of income and expense and before income 
taxes and fixed charges over the five immediately preceding completed fiscal years^ or 
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5 DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE; INSURANCE 60A.14 

its period of existence if less than five years, has averaged not less than 1-1/4 times its 
average annual fixed charges applicable to the period; 

(k) "Required liabilities" means the sum of (1) total liabilities as required to be 
reported in the company's most recent annual report to the commissioner of commerce 
of this state, (2) for companies operating under the stock plan, the minimum paid-up 
capital and surplus required to be maintained pursuant to section 60A.07, subdivision 
5a, (3) for companies operating under the mutual or reciprocal plan, the minimum 
amount of surplus required to be maintained pursuant to section 60A.07, subdivision 
5b, and (4) the amount, if any, by which the company's loss and loss adjustment 
expense reserves exceed 350 percent of its surplus as it pertains to policyholders as of 
the same date. The commissioner may waive the requirement in clause (4) unless the 
company's written premiums exceed 300 percent of its surplus as it pertains to policy­
holders as of the same date. In addition to the required amounts pursuant to clauses 
(1) to (4), the commissioner may require that the amount of any apparent reserve 
deficiency that may be revealed by one to five year loss and loss adjustment expense 
development analysis for the five years reported in the company's most recent annual 
statement to the commissioner be added to required liabilities; and 

(1) "Unrestricted surplus" means the amount by which qualified assets exceed 110 
percent of required liabilities. 

[For text ofsubds 11 to 25, see M.S. 1986] 

Subd. 26. Rules, (a) The commissioner may adopt appropriate rules to carry out 
the purpose and provisions of this section. 

(b) A company may make qualified investments in any additional securities or 
property of any kind with the written order of the commissioner. This approval is at 
the discretion of the commissioner. 

(c) Nothing authorized in this subdivision negates or reduces the investment 
authority granted in subdivisions 1 to 25. 

History: 1987 c 189 s 1,2 

60A.14 FEES. 
Subdivision 1. Fees other than examination fees. In addition to the fees and 

charges provided for examinations, the following fees must be paid to the commission­
er for deposit in the general fund: 

(a) by township mutual fire insurance companies: 
(1) for filing certificate of incorporation $25 and amendments thereto, $10; 
(2) for filing annual statements, $ 15; 
(3) for each annual certificate of authority, $15; 
(4) for filing bylaws $25 and amendments thereto, $10. 
(b) by other domestic and foreign companies including fraternals and reciprocal 

exchanges: 
(1) for filing certified copy of certificate of articles of incorporation, $100; 
(2) for filing annual statement, $225; 
(3) for filing certified copy of amendment to certificate or articles of incorporation, 

$100; 
(4) for filing bylaws, $75 or amendments thereto, $75; 
(5) for each company's certificate of authority, $575, annually. 
(c) the following general fees apply: 
(1) for each certificate, including certified copy of certificate of authority, renewal, 

valuation of life policies, corporate condition or qualification, $15; 
(2) for each copy of paper on file in the commissioner's office 50 cents per page, 

and $2.50 for certifying the same; 
(3) for license to procure insurance in unadmitted foreign companies, $575; 
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60A.14 DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE; INSURANCE 6 

(4) for receiving and forwarding each notice, proof of loss, summons, complaint 
or other process served upon the commissioner of commerce, as attorney for service 
of process upon any nonresident agent or insurance company, including reciprocal 
exchanges, $ 15 plus the cost of effectuating service by certified mail, which amount 
must be paid by the party serving the notice and may be taxed as other costs in the 
action; 

(5) for valuing the policies of life insurance companies, one cent per $1,000 of 
insurance so valued. The commissioner may, in lieu of a valuation of the policies of 
any foreign life insurance company admitted, or applying for admission, to do business 
in this state, accept a certificate of valuation from the company's own actuary or from 
the commissioner of insurance of the state or territory in which the company is 
domiciled; 

(6) for receiving and filing certificates of policies by the company's actuary, or by 
the commissioner of insurance of any other state or territory, $50; 

(7) for issuing an initial license to an individual agent, $20 per license, for issuing 
an initial agent's license to a partnership or corporation, $50, and for issuing an 
amendment (variable annuity) to a license, $20, and for renewal of amendment, $20; 

(8) for each appointment of an agent filed with the commissioner, a domestic 
insurer shall remit $5 and all other insurers shall remit $3; 

(9) for renewing an individual agent's license, $20 per year per license, and for 
renewing a license issued to a corporation or partnership, $50 per year; 

(10) for issuing and renewing a surplus lines agent's license, $150; 
(11) for issuing duplicate licenses, $5; 
(12) for issuing licensing histories, $ 10; 
(13) for filing forms and rates, $50 per filing; 
(14) for annual renewal of surplus lines insurer license, $300. 
The commissioner shall adopt rules to define filings that are subject to a fee. 

[For text ofsubd 2, see M.S. 1986] 

History: 1987 c 358 s 94 

60A.15 TAXATION OF INSURANCE COMPANIES. 
Subdivision 1. Domestic and foreign companies. On or before April 15, June 15, 

and December 15 of each year, every domestic and foreign company, including town 
and farmers' mutual insurance companies and domestic mutual insurance companies, 
shall pay to the commissioner of revenue installments equal to one-third of the insurer's 
total estimated tax for the current year based on a sum equal to two percent of the gross 
premiums less return premiums on all direct business received by it in this state, or by 
its agents for it, in cash or otherwise, during such year, excepting premiums written for 
marine insurance as specified in subdivision 6. Failure of a company to make payments 
of at least one-third of either (a) the total tax paid during the previous calendar year 
or (b) 80 percent of the actual tax for the current calendar year shall subject the 
-company to the penalty and interest provided in this section. 

[For text ofsubds la to le, see M.S. 1986] 

Subd. 2. [Repealed, 1987 c 268 art 2 s 38] 

[For text ofsubds 2a to 13, see M.S. 1986] 

History: 1987 c 268 art 2 s 1 

60A.17 AGENTS; SOLICITORS. 

[For text ofsubd 1, see M.S. 1986] 

Subd. la. License application, (a) Procedure. An application for a license to act 

MINNESOTA STATUTES 1987 SUPPLEMENT

Copyright © 1987 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.
                                                                                



7 DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE; INSURANCE 60A.17 

as an insurance agent shall be made to the commissioner by the person who seeks to 
be licensed. The application for license shall be accompanied by a written appointment 
from an admitted insurer authorizing the applicant to act as its agent under one or both 
classes of license. The insurer must also submit its check payable to the state treasurer 
for the amount of the appointment fee prescribed by section 60A. 14, subdivision 1, 
paragraph (c), clause (9) at the time the agent becomes licensed. The application and 
appointment shall be on forms prescribed by the commissioner. 

If the applicant is a natural person, no license shall be issued until that natural 
person has become qualified. 

If the applicant is a partnership or corporation, no license shall be issued until at 
least one natural person who is a partner, director, officer, stockholder, or employee 
shall be licensed as an insurance agent. 

(b) Resident agent. The commissioner shall issue a resident insurance agent's 
license to a qualified resident of this state as follows: 

(1) a person may qualify as a resident of this state if that person resides in this state 
or the principal place of business of that person is maintained in this state. Application 
for a license claiming residency in this state for licensing purposes, shall constitute an 
election of residency in this state. Any license issued upon an application claiming 
residency in this state shall be void if the licensee, while holding a resident license in 
this state, also holds, or makes application for, a resident license in, or thereafter claims 
to be a resident of, any other state or jurisdiction or if the licensee ceases to be a resident 
of this state; provided, however, if the applicant is a resident of a community or trade 
area, the border of which is contiguous with the state line of this state, the applicant 
may qualify for a resident license in this state and at the same time hold a resident 
license from the contiguous state; 

(2) the commissioner shall subject each applicant who is a natural person to a 
written examination as to the applicant's competence to act as an insurance agent. The 
examination shall be held at a reasonable time and place designated by the commission­
er; 

(3) the examination shall be approved for use by the commissioner and shall test 
the applicant's knowledge of the lines of insurance, policies, and transactions to be 
handled under the class of license applied for, of the duties and responsibilities of the 
licensee, and pertinent insurance laws of this state; 

(4) the examination shall be given only after the applicant has completed a 
program of classroom studies in a school, which shall not include a school sponsored 
by, offered by, or affiliated with an insurance company or its agents; except that this 
limitation does not preclude a bona fide professional association of agents, not acting 
on behalf of an insurer, from offering courses. The course of study shall consist of 30 
hours of classroom study devoted to the basic fundamentals of insurance for those 
seeking a Minnesota license for the first time, 15 hours devoted to specific life and 
health topics for those seeking a life and health license, and 15 hours devoted to specific 
property and casualty topics for those seeking a property and casualty license. The 
program of studies or study course shall have been approved by the commissioner in 
order to qualify under this clause. If the applicant has been previously licensed for the 
particular line of insurance in the state of Minnesota, the requirement of a program of 
studies or a study course shall be waived. A certification of compliance by the 
organization offering the course shall accompany the applicant's license application. 
This program of studies in a school or a study course shall not apply to farm property 
perils and farm liability applicants, or to agents writing such other lines of insurance 
as the commissioner may exempt from examination by order; 

(5) the applicant must pass the examination with a grade determined by the 
commissioner to indicate satisfactory knowledge and understanding of the class or 
classes of insurance for which the applicant seeks qualification. The commissioner shall 
inform the applicant as to whether or not the applicant has passed; 

(6) an applicant who has failed to pass an examination may take subsequent 
examinations. Examination fees for subsequent examinations shall not be waived; and 
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60A.17 DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE; INSURANCE 8 

(7) any applicant for a license covering the same class or classes of insurance for 
which the applicant was licensed under a similar license in this state, other than a 
temporary license, within the three years preceding the date of the application shall be 
exempt from the requirement of a written examination, unless the previous license was 
revoked or suspended by the commissioner. An applicant whose license is not renewed 
under subdivision 20 is exempt from the requirement of a written examination. 

(c) Nonresident agent. The commissioner shall issue a nonresident insurance 
agent's license to a qualified person who is a resident of another state or country as 
follows: 

(1) A person may qualify for a license under this section as a nonresident only if 
that person holds a license in another state, province of Canada, or other foreign 
country which, in the opinion of the commissioner, qualifies that person for the same 
activity as that for which a license is sought; 

(2) The commissioner shall not issue a license to any nonresident applicant until 
that person files with the commissioner a designation of the commissioner and the 
commissioner's successors in office as the applicant's true and lawful attorney upon 
whom may be served all lawful process in any action, suit, or proceeding instituted by 
or on behalf of any interested person arising out of the applicant's insurance business 
in this state. This designation shall constitute an agreement that this service of process 
is of the same legal force and validity as personal service of process in this state upon 
that applicant. 

Service of process upon any licensee in any action or proceeding commenced in 
any court of competent jurisdiction of this state may be made by serving the commis­
sioner with appropriate copies of the process along with payment of the fee pursuant 
to section 60A. 14, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), clause (4). The commissioner shall 
forward a copy of the process by registered or certified mail to the licensee at the last 
known address of record or principal place of business of the licensee; and 

(3) A nonresident license shall terminate automatically when the resident license 
for that class of license in the state, province, or foreign country in which the licensee 
is a resident is terminated for any reason. 

(d) Denial. (1) If the commissioner finds that an applicant for a resident or 
nonresident license has not fully met the requirements for licensing, the commissioner 
shall refuse to issue the license and shall promptly give written notice to both the 
applicant and the appointing insurer of the denial, stating the grounds for the denial. 
All fees which accompanied the application and appointment shall be deemed earned 
and shall not be refundable. 

(2) The commissioner may also deny issuance of a license for any cause that would 
subject the license of a licensee to suspension or revocation. If a license is denied 
pursuant to this clause, the provisions of subdivision 6c, paragraph (c), apply. 

(3) The applicant may make a written demand upon the commissioner for a 
hearing within 30 days of the denial of a license to determine whether the reasons stated 
for the denial were lawful. The hearing shall be held pursuant to chapter 14. 

(e) Term. All licenses issued pursuant to this section shall remain in force until 
voluntarily terminated by the licensee, not renewed as prescribed in subdivision Id, or 
until suspended or revoked by the commissioner. A voluntary termination shall occur 
when the license is surrendered to the commissioner with the request that it be 
terminated or when the licensee dies, or when the licensee is dissolved or its existence 
is terminated. In the case of a nonresident license, a voluntary termination shall also 
occur upon the happening of the event described in paragraph (c), clause (3). 

Every licensed agent shall notify the commissioner within 30 days of any change 
of name, address, or information contained in the application. 

(f) Subsequent appointments. A person who holds a valid agent's license from this 
state may solicit applications for insurance on behalf of an admitted insurer with which 
the licensee does not have a valid appointment on file with the commissioner; provided, 
that the licensee has permission from the insurer to solicit insurance on its behalf and, 
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9 DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE; INSURANCE 60A.17 

provided further, that the insurer upon receipt of the application for insurance submits 
a written notice of appointment to the commissioner accompanied by its check payable 
to the state treasurer in the amount of the appointment fee prescribed by section 
60A.14, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), clause (9). The notice of appointment shall be 
on a form prescribed by the commissioner. 

(g) Amendment of license. An application to the commissioner to amend a license 
to reflect a change of name, or to include an additional class of license, or for any other 
reason, shall be on forms provided by the commissioner and shall be accompanied by 
the applicant's surrendered license and a check payable to the state treasurer for the 
amount of fee specified in section 60A. 14, subdivision 1, paragraph (c). 

An applicant who surrenders an insurance license pursuant to this clause retains 
licensed status until an amended license is received. 

(h) Exceptions. The following are exempt from the general licensing requirements 
prescribed by this section: 

(1) agents of township mutuals who are exempted pursuant to subdivision lb; 
(2) fraternal beneficiary association representatives exempted pursuant to subdi­

vision lc; 
(3) any regular salaried officer or employee of a licensed insurer, without license 

or other qualification, may act on behalf of that licensed insurer in the negotiation of 
insurance for that insurer; provided that a licensed agent must participate in the sale 
of any such insurance; 

(4) employers and their officers or employees, and the trustees or employees of any 
trust plan, to the extent that the employers, officers, employees, or trustees are engaged 
in the administration or operation of any program of employee benefits for the employ­
ees of the employers or employees of their subsidiaries or affiliates involving the use 
of insurance issued by a licensed insurance company; provided, that the activities of 
the officers, employees and trustees are incidental to clerical or administrative duties 
and their compensation does not vary with the volume of insurance or applications 
therefor; 

(5) employees of a creditor who enroll debtors for life or accident and health 
insurance; provided the employees receive no commission or fee therefor; 

(6) clerical or administrative employees of an insurance agent who take insurance 
applications or receive premiums in the office of their employer, if the activities are 
incidental to clerical or administrative duties and the employee's compensation does 
not vary with the volume of the applications or premiums; and 

(7) rental vehicle companies and their employees in connection with the offer of 
rental vehicle personal accident insurance under section 72A. 125. 

[For text ofsubds lb to Id, see M.S. 1986] 

Subd. 2c. Temporary licenses. The commissioner may grant a temporary insur­
ance agent's license to a person who has successfully completed the examination, if any, 
required by the commissioner. The temporary license may be granted as of the date 
upon which the applicant receives written notice from the commissioner that the 
person has passed any required examination. A temporary license will permit the 
applicant to act as an insurance agent for the original appointing insurer for the class 
of business specified therein until the earlier of (a) receipt by the applicant of the 
resident license, or (b) the expiration of 90 days from the date on which the temporary 
license was granted. 

[For text ofsubds 2d to 6b, see M.S. 1986] 

Subd. 6c. Revocation or suspension of license, (a) The commissioner may by order 
suspend or revoke an insurance agent's or agency's license issued to a natural person 
or impose a civil penalty appropriate to the offense, not to exceed $5,000 upon that 
licensee, or both, if, after notice and hearing, the commissioner finds as to that licensee 
any one or more of the following conditions: 
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60A.17 DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE; INSURANCE 10 

(1) any materially untrue statement in the license application; 
(2) any cause for which issuance of the license could have been refused had it then 

existed and been known to the commissioner at the time of issuance; 
(3) violation of, or noncompliance with, any insurance law or violation of any rule 

or order of the commissioner or of a commissioner of insurance of another state or 
jurisdiction; 

(4) obtaining or attempting to obtain any license through misrepresentation or 
fraud; 

(5) improperly withholding, misappropriating, or converting to the licensee's own 
use any money belonging to a policyholder, insurer, beneficiary, or other person, 
received by the licensee in the course of the licensee's insurance business; 

(6) misrepresentation of the terms of any actual or proposed insurance contract; 
(7) conviction of a felony or of a gross misdemeanor or misdemeanor involving 

moral turpitude; 
(8) that the licensee has been found guilty of any unfair trade practice, as defined 

in chapters 60A to 72A, or of fraud; 
(9) that in the conduct of the agent's affairs under the license, the licensee has used 

fraudulent, coercive, or dishonest practices, or the licensee has been shown to be 
incompetent, untrustworthy, or financially irresponsible; 

(10) that the agent's license has been suspended or revoked in any other state, 
province, district, territory, or foreign country; 

(11) that the licensee has forged another's name to an application for insurance; 
or 

(12) that the licensee has violated subdivision 6b. 
(b) The commissioner may by order suspend or revoke an insurance agent's or 

insurance agency's license issued to a partnership or corporation or impose a civil 
penalty not to exceed $5,000 upon that licensee, or both, if, after notice and hearing, 
the commissioner finds as to that licensee, or as to any partner, director, shareholder, 
officer, or employee of that licensee, any one or more of the conditions set forth in 
paragraph (a). 

(c) A revocation of a license shall prohibit the licensee from making a new 
application for a license for at least one year. Further, the commissioner may, as a 
condition of relicensure, require the applicant to file a reasonable bond for the protec­
tion of the citizens of this state, which bond shall be maintained by the licensee in full 
force for a period of five years immediately following issuance of the license, unless the 
commissioner at the commissioner's discretion shall after two years permit the licensee 
to sooner terminate the maintenance filing of the bond. 

(d) The commissioner may, in the manner prescribed by chapter 14, impose a civil 
penalty not to exceed $5,000 upon a person whose license has lapsed, or been sus­
pended, revoked, or otherwise terminated, for engaging in conduct prohibited by 
paragraph (a) before, during, or after the period of licensure. 

[For text ofsubds 6d to 10, see M.S. 1986] 

Subd. 11. Insurer's agent. Any person who solicits insurance is the agent of the 
insurer and not the agent of the insured. 

Subd. 12. Liability for placing insurance in unauthorized company. Any person, 
regardless of whether that person is required to be licensed as an insurance agent, who 
participates in any manner in the sale of any insurance policy or certificate, or any other 
contract providing benefits, for or on behalf of any company which is required to be, 
but which is not authorized to engage in the business of insurance in this state, other 
than pursuant to sections 60A. 195 to 60A.209, shall be personally liable for all premi­
ums, whether earned or unearned, paid by the insured, and the premiums may be 
recovered by the insured. In addition, that person shall be personally liable for any loss 
the insured has sustained or may sustain if the loss is one resulting from a risk or hazard 
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11 DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE; INSURANCE 60A.1701 

covered in the issued policy, certificate, or contract or which would have been covered 
if the policy, certificate, or contract had been issued to the purchaser of the insurance. 

Subd. 13. Agents; variable contracts, (a) License required. No person shall sell or 
offer for sale a contract on a variable basis unless prior to making any solicitation or 
sale the person has obtained from the commissioner a license therefor. The license shall 
only be granted, upon the written requisition of an insurer, to a qualified person who 
holds a current license authorizing the person to solicit and sell life insurance and 
annuity contracts in this state. To become qualified, a person shall complete a written 
application on a form prescribed by the commissioner and shall take and pass an 
examination prescribed by the commissioner. 

(b) Exceptions. (1) Any regularly salaried officer or employee of a licensed insurer 
may, without license or other qualification, act on behalf of that licensed insurer in the 
negotiation of a contract on a variable basis, provided that a licensed agent must 
participate in the sale of any contract. 

(2) Any person who, on July 1, 1969, holds a valid license authorizing the person 
to solicit and sell life insurance and annuity contracts and who also holds a valid license 
issued by the department of commerce authorizing the person to sell or offer for sale 
contracts on a variable basis shall be issued a license by the commissioner of commerce 
upon application therefor and payment of a $2 fee, which license shall expire on May 
31, 1970, unless renewed by an insurer as provided in paragraph (a). 

(3) Any person who holds a valid license to solicit and sell life insurance and 
annuity contracts may solicit and sell contracts on a variable basis without acquiring 
a license under this subdivision if the contract is based on an account which is excluded 
from the definition of investment company under the Investment Company Act of 
1940, United States Code, title 15, section 80a-3(l 1). 

(c) Rules. The commissioner may by rules waive or modify any of the foregoing 
requirements or prescribe additional requirements deemed necessary for the proper 
sale and solicitation of contracts on a variable basis. 

[For text ofsubds 14 to 20, see M.S.1986] 

History: 7957 c 336 s 7; 1987 c 337 s 4-7; 1987 c 384 art 2 s 14 

60A.1701 CONTINUING INSURANCE EDUCATION. 

[For text ofsubds 1 to 4, see M.S.1986] 

Subd. 5. Powers of the advisory task force, (a) Applications for approval of 
individuals responsible for monitoring course offerings must be submitted to the 
commissioner on forms prescribed by the commissioner and must be accompanied by 
a fee of not more than $50 payable to the state of Minnesota for deposit in the general 
fund. A fee of $5 for each hour or fraction of one hour of course approval sought must 
be forwarded with the application for course approval. If the advisory task force is 
created, it shall make recommendations to the commissioner regarding the accredita­
tion of courses sponsored by institutions, both public and private, which satisfy the 
criteria established by this section, the number of credit hours to be assigned to the 
courses, and rules which may be promulgated by the commissioner. The advisory task 
force shall seek out and encourage the presentation of courses. 

(b) If the advisory task force is created, it shall make recommendations and 
provide subsequent evaluations to the commissioner regarding procedures for report­
ing compliance with the minimum education requirement. 

[For text of subd 6, see M.S.1986] 

Subd. 7. Criteria for course accreditation, (a) The commissioner may accredit a 
course only to the extent it is designed to impart substantive and procedural knowledge 
of the insurance field. The burden of demonstrating that the course satisfies this 
requirement is on the individual or organization seeking accreditation. The commis-
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sioner shall approve any educational program approved by Minnesota Continuing 
Legal Education relating to the insurance field. 

(b) The commissioner may not accredit a course: 
(1) that is designed to prepare students for a license examination; 
(2) in mechanical office or business skills, including typing, speedreading, use of 

calculators, or other machines or equipment; 
(3) in sales promotion, including meetings held in conjunction with the general 

business of the licensed agent; 
(4) in motivation, the art of selling, psychology, or time management; 
(5) unless the student attends classroom instruction conducted by an instructor 

approved by the department of commerce; or 
(6) which can be completed by the student at home or outside the classroom 

without the supervision of an instructor approved by the department of commerce. 
Subd. 8. Minimum education requirement. Each person subject to this section shall 

complete annually a minimum of 20 credit hours of courses accredited by the commis­
sioner. Any person teaching or lecturing at an accredited course qualifies for 1-1/2 
times the number of credit hours that would be granted to a person completing the 
accredited course. No more than ten credit hours per year may be credited to a person 
for courses sponsored by, offered by, or affiliated with an insurance company or its 
agents. Courses sponsored by, offered by, or affiliated with an insurance company or 
agent may restrict its students to agents of the company or agency. 

[For text ofsubds 9 to 11, see M.S. 1986] 

History: 1987 c 337 s 8-10 

60A.171 REHABILITATION AND CANCELLATION OF AGENCY CON­
TRACTS BY FIRE AND CASUALTY LOSS INSURANCE COMPANIES. 

Subdivision 1. After an agency contractual relationship has been in effect for a 
period of three years, an insurance company writing fire or casualty loss insurance in 
this state may not terminate the agency contractual relationship with any appointed 
agent unless the company has attempted to rehabilitate the agent as provided in 
subdivision 3a and gives the agent notice in writing of the termination at least three 
months in advance. 

[For text of subd 2, see M.S.1986J 

Subd. 3. No new business shall be written by the agent for the company after the 
effective date of the termination without the written approval of the company, or a 
limited contract. The agent may increase liability on renewal or in force business for 
not more than one year for the insured after the effective date of the termination if the 
increased liability meets the current underwriting standards of the company. 

Subd. 3a. (a) Following proper notice as required under subdivision 1, and prior 
to the effective date of termination of the agency contract, in an effort to avoid 
termination, the company shall negotiate in good faith in an effort to reach mutual 
agreement with the agent on a written plan for rehabilitation. 

(b) The rehabilitation plan must be in writing and must contain the following 
elements: 

(1) identification by the company of the problem areas which need rehabilitation; 
(2) what the agent must do to avoid termination; 
(3) how the company intends to assist the agent to avoid termination; 
(4) the mutually agreed upon corrective action to be undertaken by the agent and 

the specific target dates for accomplishment; 
(5) periodic meeting dates at which the status of rehabilitation will be reviewed; 

and 
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(6) the term of the written plan which must extend for at least one year after the 
notice of termination. 

(c) All agency contracts in existence on May 13, 1987, are subject to the rehabilita­
tion requirement under subdivision 1. The rehabilitation plan need not be incorporated 
into the agency contract. 

[For text ofsubds 4 to 8, see M.S. 1986] 

History: 1987 c 92 s 1-3 

60A.172 INSURANCE AGENCY CONTRACTS; CANCELLATION. 
(a) An insurer may not cancel a written agreement with an agent or, without the 

agent's written approval at the time of a reduction or restriction, reduce or restrict an 
agent's underwriting authority with respect to property or casualty insurance, based 
solely on the loss ratio experience on that agent's book of business, if: the insurer 
required the agent to submit the application for underwriting approval, all material 
information on the application was fully completed, and the agent has not omitted or 
altered any information provided by the applicant. 

(b) For purposes of this section, "loss ratio experience" means the ratio of premi­
ums paid divided by the claims paid during the previous two-year period. 

(c) This section applies only to agents who write insurance business exclusively for 
one company and are not in the direct employ of the company. 

History: 7957 c 288 s 1 

60A.173 EFFECTIVE DATE. 
Section 60A.172 is effective January 1, 1987, and applies to cancellations begun 

as of that date. As a condition of doing business in the state of Minnesota, an insurer 
shall promptly reinstate any agreements canceled under section 60A.172 and shall 
restore any authority reduced or restricted under section 60A.172 from January 1, 
1987, until the day following final enactment of this act. 

History: 1987 c 288 s 2 

60A.174 SEVERABILITY. 
If section 60A. 173 is determined by a final, nonappealable order of any Minnesota 

or federal court of competent jurisdiction to be invalid or unconstitutional, section 
60A. 172 is effective the day following final enactment. 

History: 1987 c 288 s 3 

60A.196 DEFINITIONS. 
Unless the context otherwise requires, the following terms have the meanings given 

them for the purposes of sections 60A.195 to 60A.209: 
(a) "Surplus lines insurance" means insurance placed with an insurer permitted 

to transact the business of insurance in this state only pursuant to sections 60A.195 to 
60A.209. 

(b) "Eligible surplus lines insurer" means an insurer recognized as eligible to write 
insurance business under sections 60A.195 to 60A.209 but not licensed by any other 
Minnesota law to transact the business of insurance. 

(c) "Ineligible surplus lines insurer" means an insurer not recognized as an eligible 
surplus lines insurer pursuant to sections 60A.195 to 60A.209 and not licensed by any 
other Minnesota law to transact the business of insurance. "Ineligible surplus lines 
insurer" includes a risk retention group as defined under the Liability Risk Retention 
Act, Public Law Number 99-563. 

(d) "Surplus lines licensee" or "licensee" means a person licensed under sections 
60A.195 to 60A.209 to place insurance with an eligible or ineligible surplus lines 
insurer. 
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(e) "Association" means an association registered under section 60A.208. 
(f) "Alien insurer" means any insurer which is incorporated or otherwise orga­

nized outside of the United States. 
(g) "Insurance laws" means chapters 60 to 79 inclusive. 

History: 1987 c 337 s 11 

60A.198 TRANSACTION OF SURPLUS LINES INSURANCE. 

I For text ofsubds 1 and 2, see M.S. 1986] 

Subd. 3. Procedure for obtaining license. A person licensed as an agent in this state 
pursuant to other law may obtain a surplus lines license by doing the following: 

(a) filing an application in the form and with the information the commissioner 
may reasonably require to determine the ability of the applicant to act in accordance 
with sections 60A.195 to 60A.209; 

(b) maintaining an agent's license in this state; 
(c) delivering to the commissioner a financial guarantee bond from a surety 

acceptable to the commissioner for the greater of the following: 
(1) $5,000; or 
(2) the largest semiannual surplus lines premium tax liability incurred by the 

applicant in the immediately preceding five years; and 
(d) agreeing to file with the commissioner of revenue no later than February 15 

and August 15 annually, a sworn statement of the charges for insurance procured or 
placed and the amounts returned on the insurance canceled under the license for the 
preceding six-month period ending December 31 and June 30 respectively, and at the 
time of the filing of this statement, paying the commissioner a tax on premiums equal 
to three percent of the total written premiums less cancellations; and 

(e) annually paying a fee as prescribed by section 60A. 14, subdivision 1, paragraph 
(c), clause (11). 

[For text ofsubds 4 and 5, see M.S.1986] 

History: 1987 c 337 s 12 

60A.199 EXAMINATIONS. 
Subdivision 1. Examination of books and records. If the commissioner considers 

it necessary, the commissioner may examine the books and records of a surplus lines 
licensee to determine whether the licensee is conducting business in accordance with 
sections 60A.195 to 60A.209. For the purposes of facilitating examinations, the 
licensee shall allow the commissioner free access at reasonable times to all of the 
licensee's books and records relating to the transactions to which sections 60A. 195 to 
60A.209 apply. If an examination is conducted, the cost of the examination shall be 
paid by the surplus line agent or agency. 

Subd. 2. Examination of returns; assessment; refunds. The commissioner of reve­
nue shall, as soon as practicable after a return required by section 60A. 198 is filed, 
examine it and make any investigation or examination of the licensee's records and 
accounts that the commissioner deems necessary for determining the correctness of the 
return. The tax computed by the commissioner on the basis of the examination and 
investigation is the tax to be paid by the licensee. If the tax found due is greater than 
the amount reported due on the licensee's return, the commissioner shall assess a tax 
in the amount of the excess and the whole amount of the excess shall be paid to the 
commissioner within 60 days after notice of the amount and demand for its payment 
is mailed to the licensee by the commissioner. If the amount of the tax found due by 
the commissioner is less than that reported due on the licensee's return, the excess shall 
be refunded to the licensee in the manner provided by this section. No refund shall 
be made except as provided in this section after the expiration of 3-1/2 years after the 
filing of the return. 
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15 DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE; INSURANCE 60A.199 

If the commissioner examines returns of a licensee for more than one year, the 
commissioner may issue one order covering the several years under consideration 
reflecting the aggregate refund or additional tax due. 

The notices and demands provided for by this section shall be in the form the 
commissioner determines, including a statement, and shall contain a brief explanation 
of the computation of the tax and shall be sent by mail to the licensee at the address 
given on the return. If the address is not given, then they will be sent to the last known 
address. 

At the request of the commissioner of revenue, the commissioner of commerce 
may examine and investigate the returns under section 60A. 198 that the commissioner 
of revenue designates. The commissioner of commerce shall report to the commission­
er of revenue the results of the examination in the manner required by the commission­
er of revenue. 

Subd. 3. Failure to file; false or fraudulent return. If any licensee required by 
section 60A. 198 to file any return fails to do so within the time prescribed or makes, 
willfully or otherwise, an incorrect, false, or fraudulent return, the licensee must, on the 
written demand of the commissioner of revenue, file the return, or corrected return, 
within 60 days after the mailing of the written demand and at the same time pay the 
whole tax, or additional tax, due on the basis thereof. If the licensee fails within that 
time to file the return, or corrected return, the commissioner shall make a return, or 
corrected return, from personal knowledge and from the information obtainable through 
testimony, or otherwise, and assess a tax on the basis thereof. The tax assessed, less 
any payments theretofore made on account of the tax for the taxable year covered by 
the return, must be paid within 60 days after the commissioner has mailed to the 
licensee a written notice of the amount thereof and demand for payment. Any return 
or assessment made by the commissioner on account of the failure of the licensee to 
make a return, or a corrected return, is prima facie correct and valid, and the licensee 
has the burden of establishing its incorrectness or invalidity in any action or proceeding 
in respect thereto. 

[For text of subd 4, see M.S. 1986] 

Subd. 5. Intent to evade tax; penalty. If any licensee with intent to evade the tax 
imposed by this chapter, fails to file any return required by this chapter or with such 
intent files a false or fraudulent return there shall also be imposed on it a penalty as 
provided in section 290.53, subdivision 3. 

[For text of subd 6, see M.S.1986] 

Subd. 7. Collection of tax. The tax required to be paid by section 60A. 198 may 
be collected in any ordinary action at law by the commissioner of revenue against the 
licensee. In any action commenced pursuant to this section, upon the filing of an 
affidavit of default, the court administrator of the district court wherein the action was 
commenced shall enter judgment for the state for the amount demanded in the 
complaint together with costs and disbursements. 

Subd. 8. Refund procedure; time limit; appropriation. A licensee which has paid, 
voluntarily or otherwise, or from which there was collected an amount of tax for any 
year in excess of the amount legally due for that year, may file with the commissioner 
of revenue a claim for a refund of the excess. Except as provided in subdivision 3, no 
claim or refund shall be allowed or made after 3-1/2 years from the date prescribed for 
filing the return (plus any extension of time granted for filing the return but only if filed 
within the extended time) or after two years from the date of overpayment, whichever 
period is longer, unless before the expiration of the period a claim is filed by the 
licensee. For this purpose, a return or amended return claiming an overpayment 
constitutes a claim for refund. 

Upon the filing of a claim the commissioner shall examine it, shall make written 
findings thereon denying or allowing the claim in whole or in part, and shall mail a 
notice thereof to the licensee at the address stated upon the return. If the claim is 
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allowed in whole or in part, the commissioner shall issue a certificate for a refund of 
the excess paid by the licensee, with interest at the rate specified in section 270.76 
computed from the date of the payment of the tax until the date the refund is paid or 
credit is made to the licensee. The commissioner of finance shall cause the refund to 
be paid as other state moneys are expended. So much of the proceeds of the taxes as 
is necessary are appropriated for that purpose. 

Subd. 9. Denial of claim; court proceedings. If the claim is denied in whole or in 
part, the commissioner shall mail an order of denial to the licensee in the manner 
prescribed in this section. An appeal from this order may be taken to the Minnesota 
tax court in the manner prescribed in section 271.06, or the licensee may commence 
an action against the commissioner to recover the denied overpayment. The action 
may be brought in the district court of the district in which lies the county of its 
principal place of business, or in the district court for Ramsey county. The action in 
the district court shall be commenced within 18 months following the mailing of the 
order of denial to the licensee. If a claim for refund is filed by a licensee and no order 
of denial is issued within six months of the filing, the licensee may commence an action 
in the district court as in the case of a denial, but the action must be commenced within 
two years of the date that the claim for refund was filed. 

Subd. 10. Consent to extend time. If the commissioner and the licensee have, 
within the periods prescribed by this section, consented in writing to any extension of 
time for the assessment of the tax, the period within which a claim for refund may be 
filed, or a refund may be made or allowed, if no claim is filed, is the period within which 
the commissioner and the licensee have consented to an extension for the assessment 
of the tax and six months thereafter, the period within which a claim for refund may 
be filed shall not expire prior to two years after the tax was paid. 

Subd. 11. Overpayment; refunds. If the amount determined to be an overpayment 
exceeds the taxes imposed by section 60A. 198, the amount of excess shall be considered 
an overpayment. An amount paid as tax shall constitute an overpayment even if in fact 
there was no tax liability with respect to which the amount was paid. 

Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary, in the case of any 
overpayment the commissioner, within the applicable period of limitations, shall 
refund any balance of more than $10 if the licensee so requests. 

History: 7957 c 268 art 2 s 2-10 

60A.206 QUALIFICATION AS ELIGIBLE SURPLUS LINES INSURER. 

[For text of subd 1, see M.S. 1986] 

Subd. 2. Application for recognition. An insurer not otherwise licensed to engage 
in the business of insurance in Minnesota may apply for recognition as an eligible 
surplus lines insurer by filing an application in the form and with the information as 
reasonably required by the commissioner regarding the insurer's financial stability, 
reputation, integrity and operating plans, accompanied by a license fee of $500. The 
commissioner may delegate to an association the power to process and make recom­
mendations on applications for recognition as an eligible surplus lines insurer. Not­
withstanding delegation by the commissioner, an applicant may file an application 
directly with the commissioner. 

[For text ofsubds 3 to 7, see M.S. 1986] 

History: 1987 c 358 s 95 

60A.209 INSURANCE PROCURED FROM INELIGIBLE INSURERS. 
Subdivision 1. Authorization; regulation. A resident of this state may obtain 

insurance from an ineligible surplus lines insurer in this state through a surplus lines 
licensee. The licensee shall first attempt to place the insurance with a licensed insurer, 
or if that is not possible, with an eligible surplus lines insurer. If coverage is not 
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obtainable from a licensed insurer or an eligible surplus lines insurer, the licensee shall 
certify to the commissioner, on a form prescribed by the commissioner, that these 
attempts were made. Upon obtaining coverage from an ineligible surplus lines insurer, 
the licensee shall: 

(a) Have printed, typed, or stamped in red ink upon the face of the policy in not 
less than 10-point type the following notice: "THIS INSURANCE IS ISSUED PUR­
SUANT TO THE MINNESOTA SURPLUS LINES INSURANCE ACT. THIS INSUR­
ANCE IS PLACED WITH AN INSURER THAT IS NOT LICENSED BY THE 
STATE NOR RECOGNIZED BY THE COMMISSIONER OF COMMERCE AS AN 
ELIGIBLE SURPLUS LINES INSURER. IN CASE OF ANY DISPUTE RELATIVE 
TO THE TERMS OR CONDITIONS OF THE POLICY OR THE PRACTICES OF 
THE INSURER, THE COMMISSIONER OF COMMERCE WILL NOT BE ABLE 
TO ASSIST IN THE DISPUTE. IN CASE OF INSOLVENCY, PAYMENT OF 
CLAIMS IS NOT GUARANTEED." The notice may not be covered or concealed in 
any manner; and 

(b) Collect from the insured appropriate premium taxes and report the transaction 
to the commissioner of revenue on a form prescribed by the commissioner. If the 
insured fails to pay the taxes when due, the insured shall be subject to a civil fine of 
not more than $3,000, plus accrued interest from the inception of the insurance. 

[For text ofsubd 2, see M.S. 1986] 

Subd. 3. Duty to report. Each insured in this state who procures, causes to be 
procured, or continues or renews insurance with an ineligible surplus lines insurer or 
any self-insurer in this state who procures or continues excess of loss, catastrophe, or 
other insurance upon a subject of insurance resident, located, or to be performed within 
this state, other than insurance procured pursuant to section 60A.201 or subdivision 
1 shall file a written report regarding the insurance with the commissioner of revenue 
on forms prescribed by the commissioner of revenue and furnished to the insured upon 
request. The report shall be filed within 30 days after the date the insurance was 
procured, continued, or renewed and shall be accompanied by the tax on the premiums 
of two percent. The report shall show all of the following: 

(a) The name and address of the insured; 
(b) The name and address of the insurer; 
(c) The subject of the insurance; 
(d) A general description of the coverage; 
(e) The amount of premium currently charged for the insurance; and 
(f) Any additional pertinent information reasonably requested by the commission­

er of revenue. 

[For text ofsubds 4 to 6, see M.S. 1986] 

History: 7957 c 268 art 2 s 11,12 

60A.2095 CONSTRUCTION. 
Nothing in sections 60A.195 to 60A.209 shall be construed to permit the state to 

impose requirements beyond those granted by the Liability Risk Retention Act, Public 
Law Number 99-563. 

History: 1987 c 337 s 13 

60A.23 MISCELLANEOUS. 

[For text ofsubds 1 to 6, see M.S. 1986] 

Subd. 7. Licenses required for employers making deductions from wages for certain 
purposes. (1) Requirements. No employer shall make deductions from the wages of 
employees for the purpose of furnishing them with life insurance, funeral benefits, 
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medical or hospital care, accident, sickness or old age insurance or benefits, unless the 
employer first receives from the commissioner of commerce a license for the benefit 
plan the employer operates or proposes to operate. The license shall be granted only 
when the commissioner is satisfied that the benefits given are commensurate with the 
charges made and that the charges will keep the fund solvent. All licenses shall be for 
the period of one year. The commissioner may require a statement of the operation 
of the fund, on a form to be prescribed by the commissioner, before granting a renewal. 
The fee for a license is $250 and for filing the annual statement $40. Any fees received 
by the commissioner pursuant to this subdivision shall be paid into the general fund. 
Before granting a license the commissioner of commerce shall submit the proposed plan 
to the chair of the workers' compensation court of appeals in order that the chair may 
determine whether the benefits are in conjunction with the benefits under the workers' 
compensation act. 

(2) Exceptions. The requirements of clause (1) shall not apply to deductions made 
from the employees' wages for group insurance issued by insurers authorized to 
transact business in this state nor to railroad companies engaged in interstate com­
merce. 

(3) Penalty. Any person, firm, corporation, or association that makes deductions 
from the wages of an employee in violation of clause (1) shall be guilty of a misdemean­
or. 

Subd. 8. Self-insurance or insurance plan administrators who are vendors of risk 
management services. (1) Scope. This subdivision applies to any vendor of risk manage­
ment services and to any entity which administers, for compensation, a self-insurance 
or insurance plan. This subdivision does not apply (a) to an insurance company 
authorized to transact insurance in this state, as denned by section 60A.06, subdivision 
1, clauses (4) and (5); (b) to a service plan corporation, as defined by section 62C.02, 
subdivision 6; (c) to a health maintenance organization, as defined by section 62D.02, 
subdivision 4; (d) to an employer directly operating a self-insurance plan for its 
employees' benefits; or (e) to an entity which administers a program of health benefits 
established pursuant to a collective bargaining agreement between an employer, or 
group or association of employers, and a union or unions. 

(2) Definitions. For purposes of this subdivision the following terms have the 
meanings given them. 

(a) "Administering a self-insurance or insurance plan" means (i) processing, review­
ing or paying claims, (ii) establishing or operating funds and accounts, or (iii) otherwise 
providing necessary administrative services in connection with the operation of a 
self-insurance or insurance plan. 

(b) "Employer" means an employer, as defined by section 62E.02, subdivision 2. 
(c) "Entity" means any association, corporation, partnership, sole proprietorship, 

trust, or other business entity engaged in or transacting business in this state. 
(d) "Self-insurance or insurance plan" means a plan providing life, medical or 

hospital care, accident, sickness or disability insurance, as an employee fringe benefit, 
or a plan providing liability coverage for any other risk or hazard, which is or is not 
directly insured or provided by a licensed insurer, service plan corporation, or health 
maintenance organization. 

(e) "Vendor of risk management services" means an entity providing for compen­
sation actuarial, financial management, accounting, legal or other services for the 
purpose of designing and establishing a self-insurance or insurance plan for an employ­
er. 

(3) License. No vendor of risk management services or entity administering a 
self-insurance or insurance plan may transact this business in this state unless it is 
licensed to do so by the commissioner. An applicant for a license shall state in writing 
the type of activities it seeks authorization to engage in and the type of services it seeks 
authorization to provide. The license may be granted only when the commissioner is 
satisfied that the entity possesses the necessary organization, background, expertise, 
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and financial integrity to supply the services sought to be offered. The commissioner 
may issue a license subject to restrictions or limitations upon the authorization, 
including the type of services which may be supplied or the activities which may be 
engaged in. The license fee is $100. All licenses are for a period of two years. 

(4) Regulatory restrictions; powers of the commissioner. To assure that self-insur­
ance or insurance plans are financially solvent, are administered in a fair and equitable 
fashion, and are processing claims and paying benefits in a prompt, fair, and honest 
manner, vendors of risk management services and entities administering insurance or 
self-insurance plans are subject to the supervision and examination by the commission­
er. Vendors of risk management services, entities administering insurance or self-
insurance plans, and insurance or self-insurance plans established or operated by them 
are subject to the trade practice requirements of sections 72A.19 to 72A.30. 

(5) Rulemaking authority. To carry out the purposes of this subdivision, the 
commissioner may adopt rules, including emergency rules, pursuant to sections 14.01 
to 14.69. These rules may: 

(a) establish reporting requirements for administrators of insurance or self-insur­
ance plans; 

(b) establish standards and guidelines to assure the adequacy of financing, reinsur­
ing, and administration of insurance or self-insurance plans; 

(c) establish bonding requirements or other provisions assuring the financial integrity 
of entities administering insurance or self-insurance plans; or 

(d) establish other reasonable requirements to further the purposes of this subdivi­
sion. 

History: 7957 c 337 s 14; 1987 c 358 s 96 

60A.29 NONPROFIT RISK INDEMNIFICATION TRUST ACT. 

[For text ofsubd 1, see M.S. 1986] 

Subd. 2. Purpose. The purpose of this section is to authorize the establishment 
of trust funds for the purpose of indemnifying nonprofit beneficiary organizations and 
their officers, directors, and agents for financial loss due to the imposition of legal 
liability or for damage or destruction of property, and to regulate the operation of trust 
funds established under this section. 

[For text ofsubds 3 and 4, see M.S.1986J 

Subd. S. Ineligible risks. No trust fund established under this section shall 
indemnify any beneficiary for liabilities incurred under the workers' compensation act, 
or for benefits provided to employees pursuant to any medical, dental, life, or disability 
income protection plan. 

[For text ofsubds 6 to 15, see M.S. 1986] 

Subd. 16. Reinsurance. Authorized trust funds may insure or reinsure their 
obligations and liabilities with: 

(1) insurance companies authorized to do business in Minnesota, pursuant to 
section 60A.06; 

(2) insurance companies similarly authorized in any other state of the United 
States; 

(3) insurance companies not authorized in Minnesota or any other state if the 
unauthorized insurance company establishes reinsurance security in favor of the ceding 
trust fund conforming to the general ru|es for allowance of reinsurance credits stated 
in the Financial Condition Examiners Handbook adopted by the National Association 
of Insurance Commissioners; or 

(4) other trust funds organized under this section or under similar laws of any 
other state if the reinsuring trust fund establishes reinsurance security as specified in 
clause (3) in favor of the ceding trust fund. 
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[For text ofsubds 17 to 21, see M.S. 1986] 

Subd. 22. Foreign trust funds. A trust fund organized and existing under the laws 
of another state for the sole purpose of indemnifying nonprofit beneficiary organiza­
tions and their officers, directors, and agents for financial loss due to the imposition of 
legal liability or for damage or destruction of property, as provided in subdivisions 2 

< and 4, may apply to the commissioner for authority to operate within this state, 
provided that: 

(1) the trust fund has been continuously in operation for a period of not less than 
five years prior to the date it applies for authorization under this subdivision, during 
which period it must have issued only nonassessable indemnification agreements to its 
beneficiaries, and during each of those years the trust fund received not less than 
$ 1,000,000 in contributions from beneficiaries for protections afforded by the trust 
fund; 

(2) the trust fund has been authorized by and is subject to regulation and examina­
tion by the department of insurance of its domiciliary state; 

(3) the trust fund must file with the commissioner its trust agreement, bylaws or 
plan of operation, schedule of benefits, forms of indemnification agreements, and 
contribution schedules applicable to beneficiaries in this state; 

(4) the trust fund must be governed by a board of not fewer than five trustees, all 
of whom must be elected by the beneficiaries of the trust fund, and none of whom may 
receive compensation for service as a trustee; 

(5) the trust fund has, as of the last day of the calendar year immediately prior to 
its application for authority, a net fund balance surplus of not less than $ 1,000,000, as 
evidenced by its financial statements certified by an independent certified public 
accountant in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles consistently 
applied; and 

(6) the trust fund must, upon and at all times after authorization by the commis­
sioner, maintain a registered office within this state. 

Subd. 23. Standards for authorization. Within 60 days after receipt of the docu­
ments specified under subdivision 22 and supporting evidence which establishes compliance 
with the standards set forth under that subdivision, the commissioner shall grant to the 
trust fund a certificate of authority to conduct operations in this state. The operations 
in this state are subject to the limitations and standards set forth in subdivisions 4 to 
22. In the event an authorized foreign trust fund violates one of those subdivisions or 
the rules of the commissioner applicable to foreign trust funds, the commissioner may 
suspend or revoke the certificate of authority. 

Subd. 24. Rules. The commissioner may adopt rules to enforce and administer 
requirements of subdivisions 22 and 23. 

History: 1987 c 337 s 15-20 

60A.30 RENEWAL OF INSURANCE POLICY WITH ALTERED RATES. 
If an insurance company licensed to do business in this state offers or purports to 

offer to renew any commercial liability and/or property insurance policy at less favor­
able terms as to the dollar amount of coverage or deductibles, higher rates, and/or 
higher rating plan, the new terms, the new rates and/or rating plan may take effect on 
the renewal date of the policy if the insurer has sent to the policyholder notice of the 
new terms, new rates and/or rating plan at least 60 days prior to the expiration date. 
If the insurer has not so notified the policyholder, the policyholder may elect to cancel 
the renewal policy within the 60-day period after receipt of the notice. Earned premium 
for the period of coverage, if any, shall be calculated pro rata upon the prior rate. This 
subdivision does not apply to ocean marine insurance, accident and health insurance, 
and reinsurance. 

This section does not apply if the change relates to guide "a" rates or excess rates 
also known as "consent to rates." 

History: 1987 c 337 s 21 
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60A.31 WORKER'S COMPENSATION INSURANCE. 
In addition to the requirements of Minnesota Statutes 1984, section 176.185, 

subdivision 1, a policy of insurance issued to cover the liability to pay compensation 
under Minnesota Statutes 1984, chapter 176, shall comply with sections 60A.30 and 
60A.35 to 60A.38. 

History: 1987 c 337 s 22 

CANCELLATION AND RENEWAL 

60A.35 SCOPE. 
Except as specifically limited in section 60A.30, sections 60A.35 to 60A.38 apply 

to all commercial liability and/or property insurance policies issued by companies 
licensed to do business in this state except ocean marine insurance, accident and health 
insurance, excess insurance, surplus lines insurance, and reinsurance. 

History: 1987 c 337 s 23 

60A.36 MIDTERM CANCELLATION. 
Subdivision 1. Reason for cancellation. No insurer may cancel a policy of commer­

cial liability and/or property insurance during the term of the policy, except for one or 
more of the following reasons: 

(1) nonpayment of premium; 
(2) misrepresentation or fraud made by or with the knowledge of the insured in 

obtaining the policy or in pursuing a claim under the policy; 
(3) actions by the insured that have substantially increased or substantially changed 

the risk insured; 
(4) refusal of the insured to eliminate known conditions that increase the potential 

for loss after notification by the insurer that the condition must be removed; 
(5) substantial change in the risk assumed, except to the extent that the insurer 

should reasonably have foreseen the change or contemplated the risk in writing the 
contract; 

(6) loss of reinsurance by the insurer which provided coverage to the insurer for 
a significant amount of the underlying risk insured. A notice of cancellation under this 
clause shall advise the policyholder that the policyholder has ten days from the date of 
receipt of the notice to appeal the cancellation to the commissioner of commerce and 
that the commissioner will render a decision as to whether the cancellation is justified 
because of the loss of reinsurance within five business days after receipt of the appeal; 

(7) a determination by the commissioner that the continuation of the policy could 
place the insurer in violation of the insurance laws of this state; or 

(8) nonpayment of dues to an association or organization, other than an insurance 
association or organization, where payment of dues is a prerequisite to obtaining or 
continuing the insurance. This provision for cancellation for failure to pay dues does 
not apply to persons who are retired at 62 years of age or older or who are disabled 
according to social security standards. 

Subd. 2. Notice. Cancellation under subdivision 1, clauses (2) to (8), shall not be 
effective before 60 days after notice to the policyholder. The notice of cancellation shall 
contain a specific reason for cancellation as provided in subdivision 1. 

A policy shall not be canceled for nonpayment of premium pursuant to subdivision 
1, clause (1), unless the insurer, at least ten days before the effective cancellation date, 
has given notice to the policyholder of the amount of premium due and the due date. 
The notice shall state the effect of nonpayment by the due date. No cancellation for 
nonpayment of premium shall be effective if payment of the amount due is made before 
the effective date in the notice. 

Subd. 3. New policies. Subdivisions 1 and 2 do not apply to any insurance policy 
that has not been previously renewed if the policy has been in effect less than 90 days 
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at the time the notice of cancellation is mailed or delivered. No cancellation under this 
subdivision is effective until at least ten days after the written notice to the policyhold­
er. 

Subd. 4. Longer term policies. A policy may be issued for a term longer than one 
year or for an indefinite term with a clause providing for cancellation by the insurer 
for the reasons stated in subdivision 1 by giving notice as required by subdivision 2 at 
least 60 days before any anniversary date. 

History: 1987 c 337 s 24 

60A.37 NONRENEWAL. 
Subdivision 1. Notice required. At least 60 days before the date of expiration 

provided in the policy, a notice of intention not to renew the policy beyond the agreed 
expiration date must be made to the policyholder by the insurer. If the notice is not 
given at least 60 days before the date of expiration provided in the policy, the policy 
shall continue in force until 60 days after a notice of intent not to renew is received by 
the policyholder. 

Subd. 2. Exceptions. This section does not apply if the policyholder has insured 
elsewhere, has accepted replacement coverage, or has requested or agreed to nonren­
ewal. 

History: 1987 c 337 s 25 

60A.38 INTERPRETATION AND PENALTIES. 
Subdivision 1. Sections not exclusive. Sections 60A.35 to 60A.38 are not exclusive, 

and the commissioner may also consider other provisions of Minnesota law to be 
applicable to the circumstances or situations addressed by sections 60A.35 to 60A.38. 
The rights provided by sections 60A.35 to 60A.38 are in addition to and do not 
prejudice any other rights the policyholder may have at common law, under statute, 
or rules. 

Subd. 2. Penalties. A violation of any provisions of sections 60A.35 to 60A.38 
shall be deemed to be an unfair trade practice in the business of insurance and shall 
subject the violator to the penalties provided by sections 72A. 17 to 72A.32 in addition 
to any other penalty provided by law. 

Subd. 3. Notices required. All notices required by sections 60A.35 to 60A.38 shall 
only be made by first class mail addressed to the policyholder's last known address or 
by delivery to the policyholder's last known address. Notice by first class mail is 
effective upon deposit in the United States mail. In addition to giving notice to the 
policyholder, the insurer must also give notice to the agent of record, if any, in the 
manner specified for the policyholder. 

History: 1987 c 337 s 26 
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