# MINNESOTA STATUTES 1987 SUPPLEMENT

297D.01 SUBSTANCE TAXATION

# **CHAPTER 297D**

# MARIJUANA AND CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE TAXATION

297D.01 Definitions.
297D.02 Administration.
297D.07 Measurement.
297D.09 Penalties; criminal provisions.

297D.10 Stamp price.
297D.12 All assessments are jeopardy.
297D.13 Confidential nature of information.

#### 297D.01 DEFINITIONS.

[For text of subds 1 and 2, see M.S.1986]

Subd. 3. "Dealer" means a person who in violation of Minnesota law manufactures, produces, ships, transports, or imports into Minnesota or in any manner acquires or possesses more than 42-1/2 grams of marijuana, or seven or more grams of any controlled substance, or ten or more dosage units of any controlled substance which is not sold by weight. A quantity of marijuana or other controlled substance is measured by the weight of the substance whether pure or impure or dilute, or by dosage units when the substance is not sold by weight, in the dealer's possession. A quantity of a controlled substance is dilute if it consists of a detectable quantity of pure controlled substance and any excipients or fillers.

[For text of subd 4, see M.S. 1986]

History: 1987 c 330 s 2

### 297D.02 ADMINISTRATION.

The commissioner of revenue shall administer this chapter. Payments required by this chapter must be made to the commissioner on the form provided by the commissioner. Dealers are not required to give their name, address, social security number, or other identifying information on the form. The commissioner shall collect all taxes under this chapter.

History: 1987 c 268 art 17 s 35

### 297D.07 MEASUREMENT.

For the purpose of calculating the tax under section 297D.08, a quantity of marijuana or other controlled substance is measured by the weight of the substance whether pure or impure or dilute, or by dosage units when the substance is not sold by weight, in the dealer's possession. A quantity of a controlled substance is dilute if it consists of a detectable quantity of pure controlled substance and any excipients or fillers.

History: 1987 c 268 art 17 s 36; 1987 c 330 s 3; 1987 c 384 art 3 s 48

#### 297D.09 PENALTIES; CRIMINAL PROVISIONS.

Subdivision 1. Penalties. Any dealer violating this chapter is subject to a penalty of 100 percent of the tax in addition to the tax imposed by section 297D.08. The penalty will be collected as part of the tax.

Subd. 1a. Criminal penalty; sale without affixed stamps. In addition to the tax penalty imposed, a dealer distributing or possessing marijuana or controlled substances without affixing the appropriate stamps, labels, or other indicia is guilty of a crime and, upon conviction, may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$10,000, or both.

Subd. 2. Statute of limitations. Notwithstanding section 628.26, or any other provision of the criminal laws of this state, an indictment may be found and filed, or

# MINNESOTA STATUTES 1987 SUPPLEMENT

453

#### SUBSTANCE TAXATION 297D.13

a complaint filed, upon any criminal offense specified in this section, in the proper court within six years after the commission of this offense.

History: 1987 c 268 art 17 s 37

## 297D.10 STAMP PRICE.

Official stamps, labels, or other indicia to be affixed to all marijuana or controlled substances shall be purchased from the commissioner. The purchaser shall pay 100 percent of face value for each stamp, label, or other indicia at the time of the purchase.

History: 1987 c 268 art 17 s 38

### 297D.12 ALL ASSESSMENTS ARE JEOPARDY.

Subdivision 1. Assessment procedure. An assessment for a dealer not possessing valid stamps or other official indicia showing that the tax has been paid shall be considered a jeopardy assessment or collection, as provided in section 270.70. The commissioner shall assess a tax and applicable penalties based on personal knowledge or information available to the commissioner; mail the taxpayer at the taxpayer's last known address or serve in person, a written notice of the amount of tax and penalty; demand its immediate payment; and, if payment is not immediately made, collect the tax and penalty by any method prescribed in chapter 270, except that the commissioner need not await the expiration of the times specified in chapter 270.

[For text of subds 2 and 3, see M.S. 1986]

History: 1987 c 268 art 17 s 39

### 297D.13 CONFIDENTIAL NATURE OF INFORMATION.

Subdivision 1. Disclosure prohibited. Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, neither the commissioner nor a public employee may reveal facts contained in a report or return required by this chapter or any information obtained from a dealer; nor can any information contained in such a report or return or obtained from a dealer be used against the dealer in any criminal proceeding, unless independently obtained, except in connection with a proceeding involving taxes due under this chapter from the dealer making the return.

Subd. 2. Penalty for disclosure. Any person violating this section is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.

Subd. 3. Statistics. This section does not prohibit the commissioner from publishing statistics that do not disclose the identity of dealers or the contents of particular returns or reports.

History: 1987 c 268 art 17 s 40