MINNESOTA STATUTES 1983 SUPPLEMENT

ENVIRONMENTAL EDUCATION BOARD 116E.02

CHAPTER 116E

ENVIRONMENTAL EDUCATION BOARD

116E.02 Establishment.

116E.02 ESTABLISHMENT.

Subdivision 1. Membership; terms. A state environmental education board, designated as the environmental education board, is hereby created. Regional environmental education councils, subordinate to the environmental education board and designated as regional environmental education councils are hereby created to represent the regions of the state designated by the governor pursuant to Minnesota Statutes 1971, section 462.385. The state board shall consist of six members to be appointed by the governor, and one member from each of the regional councils. Each regional council shall elect one member to serve on the state board. Regional councils shall consist of 12 members, appointed by the chairman of the state board with approval of the state board, with at least one person representing each of the following groups: (a) public school systems having grade levels kindergarten through 12, inclusive; (b) post-secondary educational institutions; (c) regional economic development commissions, where established; (d) voluntary organizations; (e) business, industry and agriculture; (f) labor organizations; and (g) elected local government officers. The term of a member of a regional council shall begin on July 1 and shall extend for a four year term and until his successor is duly appointed and qualifies. A vacancy in the office of a member of any regional council shall be filled by the appointing authority, for the unexpired term.

The regional environmental education council corresponding to the metropolitan area regional development commission as designated by the governor pursuant to section 462.385 shall consist of one member from each of the five task forces hereafter created and seven public members. One task force consisting of seven members shall be appointed by the chairman of the state board with the approval of the board to represent each of the following five geographic areas: the city of Minneapolis; the remainder of Hennepin county; Carver, Scott and Dakota counties; Ramsey county; and Anoka and Washington counties. Each task force shall select one of its members to serve on the metropolitan regional environmental education council. Members of the task forces shall be compensated and shall have terms similar to those of the regional environmental education councils. The foregoing task forces shall commence their functions on July 1, 1977; however, they may not select members for the state boards until July 1, 1978.

[For text of subds 2 to 4, see M.S.1982]

History: 1983 c 305 s 16

75