# MINNESOTA STATUTES 1981 SUPPLEMENT

1567 MARRIAGE 517.08

# **CHAPTER 517**

### MARRIAGE

517.02 Persons capable of contracting. 517.04 Solemnization. 517.08 517.21 Application for license. American family day.

#### 517.02 PERSONS CAPABLE OF CONTRACTING.

Every person who has attained the full age of 18 years is capable in law of contracting marriage, if otherwise competent. A person of the full age of 16 years may, with the consent of the person's parents, guardian, or the court, as provided in section 517.08, receive a license to marry, when, after a careful inquiry into the facts and the surrounding circumstances, the person's application for a license is approved by the judge of the juvenile court of the county in which the person resides. If the judge of juvenile court of the county in which the person resides is absent from the county and has not by order assigned another probate judge or a retired probate judge to act in the judge's stead, then the court commissioner or any judge of district court of the county may approve the application for a license.

History: 1981 c 58 s 1

#### 517.04 SOLEMNIZATION.

Marriages may be solemnized throughout the state by a judge of a court of record, a clerk of court, a former court commissioner so long as he continues to be employed by the court system, the residential school administrators of the Minnesota school for the deaf and the Minnesota braille and sight-saving school, a licensed or ordained minister of any religious denomination, or by any mode recognized in section 517.18.

History: 1981 c 101 s 1

### 517.08 APPLICATION FOR LICENSE.

[For text of subd 1a, see M.S.1980]

Subd. 1b. The clerk shall examine upon oath the party applying for a license relative to the legality of the contemplated marriage. If at the expiration of a five-day period, he is satisfied that there is no legal impediment to it, he shall issue the license, containing the full names of the parties before and after marriage, and county and state of residence, with the district court seal attached, and make a record of the date of issuance. The license shall be valid for a period of six months. In case of emergency or extraordinary circumstances, a judge of the county court or a judge of the district court of the county in which the application is made, may authorize the license to be issued at any time before the expiration of the five days. The clerk shall collect from the applicant a fee of \$30 for administering the oath, issuing, recording, and filing all papers required, and preparing and transmitting to the state registrar of vital statistics the reports of marriage required by this section. If the license should not be used within the period of six months due to illness or other extenuating circumstances, it may be surrendered to the clerk for cancellation, and in that case a new license shall issue upon request of the parties of the original license without fee. A clerk who knowingly issues or signs a marriage license in any manner other than as provided in this section shall pay to the parties aggrieved an amount not to exceed \$1,000.

# MINNESOTA STATUTES 1981 SUPPLEMENT

517.08 MARRIAGE 1568

Subd. 1c. Disposition of license fee. Of the marriage license fee collected pursuant to subdivision 1b, the clerk shall pay \$15 to the state treasurer to be deposited in the general fund for the purposes of funding grant programs for emergency shelter services and support services to battered women under sections 241.61 to 241.66 and for administering displaced homemaker programs established under section 4.40. The state treasurer shall identify and report to the commissioner of finance all amounts deposited in the general fund under this section.

History: 1981 c 360 art 2 s 43,44

# 517.21 AMERICAN FAMILY DAY.

The first Sunday in August is designated American family day.

History: 1981 c 111 s 1