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290A.04 PROPERTY TAX REFUND ACT

26,000 to 35,999, up to $950;
36,000 and over, up to $750;

provided that maximum refunds for incomes above $20,000 decline according to
the following schedule:

between $20,000 and $26,000 decline 38.33 per $1,000; between $26,000 and
$36,000 decline $20 per $1,000.

In the case of a claimant who was disabled on or before June 1 or who attained
the age of 65 on the date specified in subdivision 1, the refund shall not be less than the
refund which the claimant’s household income as defined in section 290A.03 and prop-
erty tax or rent constituting property tax would have entitled him to receive under Min-
nesota Statutes 1974, Section 290.0618.

Subd. 3. The commissioner of revenue shall construct and make available to tax-
payers a comprehensive table showing the property taxes to be paid and credit allowed
at various levels of income and assessment. The table shall follow the schedule of in-
come percentages, maximums and other provisions specified in subdivisions 2, 2a, and
2b, except that the commissioner may graduate the transition between income brackets.

For homestead property owners who are disabled or are 65 or older, as provided
in subdivision 1, the commissioner shall base his determination of the credit on the gross
qualifying tax reduced by the average statewide effective homestead credit percentage for
taxes payable in 1975 calculated under section 273.13, subdivisions 6 and 7.

[ 1979 ¢ 303 art 2 s 31-34 ]

CHAPTER 291. ESTATE TAX
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291.005 Definitions.

Subdivision 1. Unless the context otherwise clearly requires, the following terms
used in this chapter shall have the following meanings:

(1) “Federal gross estate” means the gross estate of a decedent as determined for
federal estate tax purposes pursuant to the provisions of the Internal Revenue Code.

(2) “Personal representative” means the executor, administrator or other person
appointed by the court to administer and dispose of the property of the decedent. If
there is no executor, administrator or other person appointed, qualified, and acting
within this state, then any person in actual or constructive possession of any property
having a situs in this state which is included in the federal gross estate of the decedent
shall be deemed to be a personal representative to the extent of such property and the
Minnesota estate tax due with respect to such property.

(3) “Resident decedent” means an individual whose residence at the time of his
death was in Minnesota.
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(4) “Nonresident decedent” means an individual who at the time of his death was
not a resident.

(5) “Situs of. property” means, with respect to real property, the state or country in
which it is located; with respect to tangible personal property, the state or country in
which it was normally kept or located at the time of the decedent’s death; and with re-
spect to intangible personal property, the state or country in which the decedent was a
resident at death.

(6) “Commissionér” means the commissioner of revenue or any person to whom
he may have delegated his functions under this chapter.

(7) “Internal Revenue Code” means the United States Internal Revenue Code of
1954 as amended through December 31, 1978.

[For text of subd 2, see M.S.1978)
[ 1979 ¢ 303 art 35 1]

291.01 Tax imposed.

A tax is hereby imposed upon the transfer of the Minnesota taxable estate of ev-
ery decedent as prescribed by this chapter.

[ 1979 ¢ 303 art 352

291.015 Determination of Minnesota taxable estate.

The Minnesota taxable estate of a decedent shall be his federal gross estate as de-
fined in Section 2031 of the Internal Revenue Code less the sum of:

(1) The value of any gifts of real property located outside this state which are oth-
erwise includable in the federal gross estate under Section 2035(a) of the Internal Reve-
nue Code; :

(2) The value of property owned by the decedent at the time of his death which
has its situs outside Minnesota;

(3) The exemptions and deductions allowed pursuant to sections 291.05, 291.051,
291.065, 291.07, and 291.08; and

(4) The sum of $200,000, provided that, in the case of a nonresident decedent, this
amount shall be reduced by that proportion of the value of the decedent’s federal gross
estate which has its situs outside of this state.

[1979 ¢ 303 art 35 3

291.02 [ Repealed, 1979 ¢ 303 art 3 s 41 ]
291.03 Rates.

The tax hereby imposed shall be computed by applying to the Minnesota taxable
estate the following prescribed rates:

7 percent on the first $100,000.

8 percent on the next $100,000 or part thereof.

9 percent on the next $100,000 or part thereof.

10 percent on the next $200,000 or part thereof.
11 percent on the next $500,000 or part thereof.
12 percent on the excess over $1,000,000.

Provided that the amount of tax imposed by this chapter on the transfer of any
estate shall not be less than the maximum tax credit allowable for state death taxes
against the federal estate tax imposed with respect to that part of the decedent’s estate
which has a taxable situs in this state.

[ 1979 c 303 art 35 4]
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291.05 Exemptions.

The following exemptions from the tax are hereby allowed:

(1) Any devise, bequest, gift, or transfer: (a) to or for the use of the United States
of America or any state or any political subdivision thereof for public purposes exclu-
sively; (b) to or for the use of any corporation, fund, foundation, trust, or association
operated within this state for religious, charitable, scientific, literary, education or public
cemetery purposes exclusively, including the encouragement of art and the prevention of
cruelty to children or animals, no part of which devise, bequest, gift, or transfer inures to
the profit of any private stockholder or individual or to a trustee or trustees exclusively
for such purposes; (c) to an employee stock ownership trust as defined in section 290.01,
subdivision 25, provided that, if the beneficiaries of a stock ownership trust include the
transferor, his spouse, children, grandchildren, parents, siblings or their children, the
amount of the exemption shall be reduced by the product of multiplying said amount by
their percentage interest in the trust; (d) to a clergyman, in an amount not exceeding
$1,000, the proceeds of which are to be used for religious purposes or rites designated by
the testator; and (e) to or for the use of any corporation, fund, foundation, trust, or as-
sociation operated for religious, charitable, scientific, literary, education, or public ceme-
tery purposes exclusively, including the encouragement of art, and the prevention of cru-
elty to children or animals, no part of which devise, bequest, gift, or transfer inures to
the profit of any private stockholder or any individual, or to a trustee or trustees exclu-
sively for such purposes, if, at the date of the decedent’s death, the laws of the state
under the laws of which the transferee was organized or existing, either (1) did not im-
pose a death tax of any character, in respect of property transferred to a similar corpora-
tion, fund, foundation, trust, or association, organized or existing under the laws of this
state, or (2) contained a reciprocal provision under which transfers to a similar corpora-
tion, fund, foundation, trust, or association, organized or existing under the laws of an-
other state were exempted from death taxes of every character if such other state allowed
a similar exemption to a similar corporation, fund, foundation, trust, or association, or-
ganized under the laws of such state.

(2) Proceeds of any insurance policy issued by the United States and generally
known as war risk insurance, United States government life insurance or national service
life insurance payable upon the death of any person dying on or after June 24, 1950,
shall be exempt.

Proceeds of life insurance issued pursuant to Public Law 89-214 and generally
known as servicemen’s group life insurance payable upon the death of any person on or
after September 1, 1965, shall be exempt.

Proceeds of payments made by the United States government as compensation for
the decedent’s service as a member of the armed forces of the United States during a pe-
riod while he was classified as missing in action prior to being declared dead, shall be
exempt. The commissioner shall make refunds for inheritance taxes paid which are at-
tributable to payments exempt pursuant to this paragraph upon the filing of a claim by
each beneficiary of the estate for his portion of the inheritance tax paid. Claims for re-
fund must be filed with the commissioner no later than July 1, 1982.

(3) Proceeds of payments from the United States railroad retirement fund; or
from the United States as social security benefit or veterans burial benefit, shall be ex-
empt.

[ 1979 c 303 art 3535 ]

291.051 Marital deduction.

Subdivision 1. For the purpose of section 291.015, clause (3), the value of the
Minnesota taxable estate shall, except as limited by subsection (b) of Section 2056 of the
Internal Revenue Code and by subdivision 2, be determined by deducting from the value
of the federal gross estate an amount equal to the value of any interest in property
which passes or has passed from the decedent to his surviving spouse, but only to the ex-
tent that the interest has a taxable situs in this state and is included in determining the
value of the federal gross estate. An interest in property shall be considered as passing
from the decedent to his surviving spouse if it is considered as passing from the decedent
to the surviving spouse under Section 2056(d) of the Internal Revenue Code.
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Subd. 2. The amount of the deduction allowed under this section for a resident
decedent shall not exceed the greater of:

(a) $250,000, or

(b) 50 percent of the value of the federal adjusted gross estate as defined in Sec-
tion 2056(c)(2)(A) of the Internal Revenue Code,

reduced by an amount equal to the adjustment made, if any, for federal estate tax
purposes with respect to any gift or gifts made by the decedent to his spouse after De-
cember 31, 1976 under Section 2056(c)(1)(B) of the Internal Revenue Code, and further
reduced by the value of any property passing from the decedent to his surviving spouse
which is exempt from estate tax under section 291.065 and is included in determining the
value of the federal gross estate. In the case of a nonresident decedent, the amount of
the deduction allowed under this section shall be determined without reference to sub-
part (a) of this subdivision.

[ 1979 ¢ 303 art 356 ]

291.06 Credit for previously paid taxes.

(a) Where property can be identified as having been transferred to the decedent at
death from a person who died within five years prior to the death of the decedent, or
can be identified as having been acquired in exchange for property so received, a credit
for any transfer taxes paid pursuant to the provisions of Laws 1979, Chapter 303 or any
inheritance tax paid pursuant to the provisions of this chapter in effect prior to the effec-
tive date of Laws 1979, Chapter 303 upon that property during the preceding five years
shall be allowed upon the transfer tax at his death. This credit shall not exceed the allo-
cable portion of the tax due with respect to that property for estate tax purposes.

(b) A credit shall also be allowed in the amount of any gift tax paid pursuant to
chapter 292, if that transfer of property is subject to taxation under this chapter because
it was made within three years of the decedent’s death. The credit shall not exceed the
amount of the tax imposed on the transfer pursuant to this chapter.

[ 1979 ¢ 303 art 357 ]

291.065 Employee retirement plans, exemption.

To the extent included in the federal gross estate, the value of an annuity or other
payment shall be exempt from estate tax if received under (1) any plan, which at the
time of the decedent’s separation from employment, whether by death or otherwise, or at
the time of termination of the plan if earlier, qualified under section 401, 403, 404, 405,
408 or 409 of the Internal Revenue Code; (2) a benefit plan for employees of the United
States, its agencies or instrumentalities, the Federal Reserve Bank, the state of Minnesota
or any of its political or governmental subdivisions or any other state or its political or
governmental subdivisions; or (3) for members of a Minnesota volunteer firefighters’ re-
lief association.

[ 1979 ¢ 303 art 35 8 )

291.07 Deductions.

Subdivision 1. In determining the tax imposed by section 291.01, the following de-
ductions shall be allowed:

(1) funeral expenses;

(2) reasonable legal, accounting, fiduciary and administration expenses and fees
with respect to both probate and nonprobate assets, including but not limited to ex-
penses incurred during administration in converting real and personal property held by
the estate into cash;

(3) expenses of last illness unpaid at death;

(4) valid claims against and debts of the decedent, unpaid at death, which have
been properly paid;

(5) Minnesota and federal income taxes on “income in respect of a decedent,” as
computed under subdivision 3;
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(6) federal estate taxes allocable to the Minnesota taxable estate. The portion of
federal estate taxes allocable to the Minnesota taxable estate shall be equal to the
amount obtained by multiplying the total federal estate tax by a fraction, the numerator
of which is the Minnesota taxable estate plus the amount of the federal estate tax on the
estate of the decedent and the denominator of which is the federal taxable estate for fed-
eral estate tax purposes;

(7) real estate taxes due and payable prior to or in the year of the decedent’s

death with respect to real estate subject to taxation under this chapter and other taxes
which have accrued and are a lien on property in the estate at the time of death;

(8) liens and mortgages on property subject to taxation under this chapter which
are not deductible as claims or debts of the decedent.

Subd. 2. { Repealed, 1979 ¢ 303 art 3 s 41 ]

Subd. 2a. [ Repealed, 1979 ¢ 303 art 3 s 41 ]

[For text of subd 3, see M.S.1978)

[ 1979 ¢ 303 art 359 )

291.075 Alternate valuation of qualified property.

When property subject to the tax imposed by this chapter qualifies for valuation
based on its use pursuant to section 2032A of the Internai Revenue Code, it shall have
the same value for Minnesota estate tax purposes as it has for federal estate tax purpos-
es.

[ 1979 ¢ 303 art 35 10]

291.08 Nonresident estates; allowance of deductions and exemptions.

Where a tax is due on the transfer of any property or interest therein owned by a
nonresident, the following deductions and exemptions shall be allowed:

(1) Funeral expenses to the extent incurred in Minnesota;

(2) Reasonable legal, accounting, fiduciary and administration fees and expenses
allocable to both probate and nonprobate property included in the Minnesota gross es-
tate;

(3) Federal estate taxes as computed in section 291.07;

(4) Real estate taxes on Minnesota property which are due and payable prior to or
in the year of the decedent’s death;

(5) Liens and mortgages on property included in the Minnesota gross estate.
[ 1979 ¢ 303 art 35 11 ) : )

291.09 Determination of tax.

Subdivision 1. [ Repealed, 1979 ¢ 303 art 3 s 41 ]

Subd. la. In all instances in which a resident decedent dies after December 31,
1979 and before January I, 1981 leaving a federal gross estate in excess of $161,000 and
in all instances in which a resident decedent dies after December 31, 1980 leaving a fed-
eral gross estate in excess of $175,000, and the decedent has an interest in property with
a situs in Minnesota, and in all instances in which a nonresident decedent has a liability
under this chapter, the personal representative shall submit to the commissioner, on a
form prescribed by the commissioner, a Minnesota estate tax return. The return shall be
accompanied by a federal estate tax return and shall contain a computation of the Min-
nesota estate tax due. The return shall be signed by the personal representative.

Subd. 2. [ Repealed, 1979 ¢ 303 art 3 s 41 |

Subd. 2a. The commissioner may designate on the return the documents that are
required to be filed together with the return in order to determine the proper valuation
of assets and computation of tax. The commissioner shall not be bound by any item on
the return unless he has received all required documents and unless all items of informa-
tion on the return have been completed.
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Subd. 3. [ Repealed, 1979 ¢ 303 art 3 s 41 ]

Subd. 3a. (a) The commissioner may challenge matters of valuation or taxability
of any assets reported on the return, or any deductions claimed, or the computation of
tax, only if within 90 days of receipt of the return and all documents required to be filed
with the return, the commissioner mails or delivers a written notice to the personal repre-
sentative objecting to the return as filed and specifying the reasons for the objection.

(b) If the personal representative disagrees with the objection or does not wish to
fully comply with the objection, he may request that the commissioner hold a hearing on
the objection. Within 30 days of receipt of a request, the commissioner shall set a time
and place for hearing. Unless otherwise agreed upon, the hearing date shall not be ear-
lier than'30 days nor later than 60 days from the date of the notice setting the hearing,.
The notice of hearing shall set forth the rights available to the personal representative
under chapter 15. Not later than 30 days after the commissioner receives the report and
recommendation of the hearing examiner, or a written waiver of his hearing rights by the
personal representative, the commissioner shall issue an order determining the tax. Any
such determination made by the commissioner may be appealed to the tax court as pro-
vided in section 271.09. ’

(c) At any time together with or after the objection, the commissioner, on his own
initiative, may set a time and place for a hearing in accordance with (b) above!

(d) In his objection, or at any time thereafter, the commissioner may assess any
additional tax as the facts may warrant, subject to the right of the personal representa-
tive to demand a hearing under chapter 15. If the personal representative does not de-
mand a hearing within 90 days of the date of the assessment, the tax so assessed shall be
legally due and the commissioner may proceed to collect any unpaid tax after one year
from the date of death. If the commissioner later finds the tax assessment to be.errone-
ous, he may adjust the assessment prior to collection.

(e) The commissioner shall not be required to object to any subsequent original,
amended or supplemental return in order to preserve his rights. The commissioner shall
not be precluded from objecting to a subsequent original, amended or supplemental re-
turn even though an original return was accepted as filed. If the commissioner had ac-
cepted an original return showing no tax due and a subsequent original, amended or
supplemental return discloses additional assets not disclosed on the original return, the
commissioner may object to any matter of valuation, taxability, deduction or computa-
tion of tax on the original return within 90 days of receipt of the subsequent original,
amended or supplemental return.

(f) Subject to the provisions of section 291.11, the Minnesota estate tax liability
shall be considered as finally determined on the date notification of acceptance is issued
to the personal representative or, if no objection is filed, on the 91st day after the return,
together with all other documents required to be filed with the return, is received.

(g) Subject to the time limits imposed elsewhere in this chapter, the commissioner
may refund an overpayment of tax penalty or interest even though the personal repre-
sentative has not made an application for refund. .

Subd. 4. [ Repealed, 1979 ¢ 303 art 3 5 41 )

Subd. 4a. If any estate tax return required to be filed pursuant to the provisions of
this section has not been filed, the commissioner may make and file a return including a
computation of the tax resulting from the transfers therein reported. At the time of the
filing the commissioner shall mail copies of the return to the personal representative, if
any, and to each person from whom any portion of the tax is due. The return may be
objected to and a hearing held on the objections in the manner provided in subdivision
3a. ‘

Subd. 5. Notwithstanding other provisions of this chapter, when agreed in writing
between the commissioner and the representative, values for purposes of the estate tax
on both probate and non probate assets shall be the same as those finally determined for
purposes of the federal estate tax on a decedent’s estate.
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[For text of subd 6, see M.S.1978)

Subd. 7. The estate tax return, except as otherwise provided in this chapter, shall
be filed with the commissioner within nine months after the decedent’s death.

[ 1979 ¢ 303 art 3 5 12-17 ]

291.10 [ Repealed, 1979 ¢ 303 art 3 s 41 ]
291.11 Time effective.

Subdivision 1. Upon death; time of assessment. (a) All taxes imposed by this
chapter shall take effect at and upon the death of the person whose estate is subject to
taxation and shall be due and payable at the expiration of nine months from such death,
except as otherwise provided in this chapter. Provided, that any taxpayer who owes at
least $5,000 in taxes may choose to pay these taxes in five equal installments over a pe-
riod of time not to exceed five years from the death of the person whose estate is subject
to taxation or five years from the expiration of the extension granted by the commis-
sioner pursuant to section 291.132, whichever is later. When a taxpayer elects to pay the
tax in installments, he shall notify the commissioner in writing no later than nine months
after the death of the person whose estate is subject to taxation. If the taxpayer fails to
pay an installment on time, the election shall be revoked and the entire amount of un-
paid tax shall be due and payable 90 days after the date on which the installment was
payable.

(b) (A) False return - in the case of a false or fraudulent return with the intent to
evade tax, any additional tax resulting therefrom may be assessed at any time.

(B) No return - in the case of failure to file a return, the tax may be assessed at
any time.

(C) Omissions - in the case where there is omitted from the estate items subject to
tax under this chapter the tax on such omitted items may be assessed at any time.

In determining the items omitted, there shall not be taken into account any item
which has been disclosed in the return or in a statement attached to the return in a man-
ner adequate to apprise the commissioner of the nature and amount of such item.

(c) Where, before the expiration of the time prescribed in this chapter for the de-
termination or adjustment of the tax, the commissioner and the taxpayer shall consent in
writing to the extension of time for such determination or adjustment the tax may be de-
termined at any time prior to the expiration agreed upon and in the manner agreed
upon. The period so agreed upon may be extended by subsequent agreements in writing
made before the expiration of the period previously agreed upon.

Subd. 2. [ Repealed, 1979 ¢ 303 art 3 s 41 |

Subd. 3. [ Repealed, 1979 ¢ 303 art 3 5 41 ]

Subd. 4. [ Repealed, 1979 ¢ 303 art 3 s 41 ]

Subd. 5. [ Repealed, 1979 ¢ 303 art 3 s 41 ]

Subd. 6. [ Repealed, 1979 ¢ 303 art 3 s 41 ]

Subd. 7. [ Repealed, 1979 c¢ 303 art 3 s 41 ]

Subd. 8. [ Repealed, 1979 ¢ 303 art 3 s 41 ]

Subd. 9. [ Repealed, 1979 ¢ 303 art 3 s 41 |

[ 1979 ¢ 303 art 35 18]

291.111 Taxation of disclaimed interests.

Subdivision 1. Transfers of any interest in real or personal property and all rights
and powers relating to the same which have been duly disclaimed pursuant to the provi-
sions of sections 501.211 and 525.532, or in any manner provided in subdivision 2 shall
be subject to the estate tax imposed by this chapter, and acts amendatory thereof only if,
and to the same extent and in the same manner as, the same would have been subject to
said tax if said interests, rights or powers had been originally created in favor of and
transferred to the same persons and in the same shares in which they are effectively dis-
tributed or otherwise disposed of, after giving full effect to such disclaimers, pursuant to
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the governing instrument, if any, and sections 501211 and 525.532 and all other
applicable law.

[For text of subd 2, see M.S.1978)

[1979 ¢ 303 art 3519
291.12 Collection of tax.

[For text of subds 1 to 3, see M.S.1978)

Subd. 4. [ Repealed, 1979 ¢ 303 art 3 s 41 ]

291.132 Extension to file or pay.

Subdivision 1. The commissioner may extend the time for filing returns or making
payment of the tax, without penalty, for a period not to exceed six months. In lieu of the
six month extension, the commissioner may extend the time for payment of the tax,
without penalty, for a period not to exceed two years if the payment of the tax would re-
sult in an undue hardship on the estate. The written request for the undue hardship ex-
tension shall be made to the commissioner no later than 12 months after the death of
the person from whom the transfer is made. The taxpayer may elect to pay the taxes in
installments as specified in section 291.11, subdivision 1, provided that the period of time
for the payment of the taxes shall not exceed five years from the expiration of the exten-
sion granted by the commissioner. Where an extension of time has been granted, interest
shall be payable at the rate specified in section 270.75 from the date when such payment
should have been made, if no extension had been granted, until such tax is paid.

Subd. 2. In lieu of an extension provided pursuant to subdivision 1 or payment of
the estate tax in installments pursuant to section 291.11 on the property which qualifies
under this subdivision, the commissioner may extend the time for payment of the tax on
property which qualifies for valuation under section 291.075. The personal representative
of an estate containing such property may elect to pay all or part of the tax imposed by
this chapter in two or more, but not to exceed ten, equal installments, provided that the
maximum amount of tax which may be paid in installments pursuant to this subdivision
shall be an amount which bears the same ratio to the estate’s tax liability under this
chapter as the value of property determined pursuant to section 291.09, subdivision la
bears to the amount of the taxable estate. The first installment shall be paid on or before
the date selected by the personal representative. The date may be no more than five
years after the date prescribed by section 291.11, subdivision 1, for payment of the estate
tax. Each succeeding installment shall be paid on or before that same date each year. An
election under this subdivision shall be made not later than the time prescribed by sec-
tion 291.11 for filing of the estate tax return and shall be made in the manner as the
commissioner shall prescribe by rule.

Subd. 3. If the time for payment of estate tax has been extended under subdivi-
sion 2, interest shall be payable as provided in this subdivision.

(a) Interest payable under section 291.15 on any unpaid portion of the amount at-
tributable to the first five years after the date prescribed by section 291.11 for payment
of the tax shall be paid annually.

(b) Interest payable under section 291.15 on any unpaid portion of the amount at-
tributable to any period after the five year period referred to in clause (a) shall be paid
annually at the same time as, and as part of, each installment payment of the tax.

(c) If the executor has selected a period shorter than five years under subdivision
2 the shorter period shall be substituted for five years in clauses (a) and (b).

[ 1979 ¢ 303 art 35 20 ]

291.14 Personal liability of personal representative and transferee.

The personal representative and person to whom property which is subject to tax-
ation under this chapter is transferred shall be personally liable for such tax, until its
payment, to the extent of the value of the property.

[ 1979 ¢ 303 art 35 21}
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291.19 Personal property of nonresident decedent, transfer.

[For text of subds 1 and 2, see M.S.1978]

Subd. 3. Any personal representative, trustee, heir or legatee of a nonresident de-
cedent desiring to transfer property having its situs in this state may make application to
the commissioner of revenue for the determination of whether there is any tax due to the
state on account of the transfer of the decedent’s property and such applicant shall fur-
nish to the commissioner of revenue therewith an affidavit setting forth a description of
all’property owned by the decedent at the time of his death and having its situs in the
state of Minnesota, the value of such property at the time of said decedent’s death; also
when required by the commissioner of revenue, a description of and statements of the
true value of all the property owned by the decedent at the time of his death and having
its situs outside the state of Minnesota, and also a schedule or statement of the valid
claims against the estate of the decedent, including the expenses of his last sickness and
funeral and the expenses of administering his estate, to the extent that such claims were
incurred within this state. Such personshall also, on request of the commissioner of reve-
nue, furnish to the latter a certified copy of the last will of the decedent in case he died
testate, or an affidavit setting forth the names, ages and residences of the heirs at law of
the decedent in case he died intestate and the proportion of the entire estate of such de-
cedent inherited by each of said persons. Such affidavits shall be subscribed and sworn
to by the personal representative of the decedent or some other person having knowledge
of the facts therein set forth.

[For text of subd 4, see M.S.1978]

Subd. 5. [ Repealed, 1979 ¢ 303 art 3 s 41 |
[ 1979 ¢ 303 art 35 22 ]

291.20 Safety deposit companies not to transfer funds.

Subdivision 1. No person holding securities or assets belonging at the time of
death of a decedent to him or to him and another or others as joint tenants, or having
on deposit funds in excess of $1,000 to the credit of a decedent, or to the decedent and
another or others as joint tenants, or to the credit of the decedent as trustee for another
or others, or renting a safe deposit box or other place of safekeeping to a decedent, indi-
vidually or as joint tenant or tenant in common, shall deliver or transfer the same to any
person, or permit any person to have access thereto, unless notice of the time and place
of such intended transfer or access be served upon the county treasurer, personally or by
representative, in which event the county treasurer, personally or by representative, may
examine said securities, assets, funds or contents of such safe deposit box, at the time of
such delivery, transfer or access. If, upon such examination the county treasurer or his
representative shall for any cause deem it advisable that such securities, assets or funds
should not be immediately delivered or transferred, or access to said safe deposit box or
other place of safekeeping should not immediately be granted, he may forthwith notify
in writing such person to defer delivery or transfer or access, as the case may be, for a
period not to exceed ten days from the date of such notice, and thereupon it shall be the
duty of the person notified to defer such delivery, transfer or access until the time stated
in such notice or until prior revocation thereof. Failure 1o serve the notice first above
mentioned, or to allow such examination, or to defer delivery or transfer of such securi-
ties, assets, or funds, or to refuse access to such safe deposit box or other place of safe-
keeping for the time stated in the second of such notices, shall render such person liable
to the payment of the tax due, not exceeding $1,000, upon the transfer of said securities,
assets, or funds, or upon securities, assets, or moneys in such safe deposit box or other
place of safekeeping, pursuant to the provisions of this act; provided, however, that
nothing herein contained shall subject such person to liability for the payment of any
such tax unless such person had knowledge of the death of the decedent prior to such
delivery or transfer of such securities, assets, or funds, or entry to said safe deposit box
or other place of safekeeping. The word “person™ as used herein shall include individual
persons, safe deposit companies, banks, trust companies, savings and loan associations,
partnerships and all other organizations.
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Any person seeking access to any safe deposit box upon the death of any person
who at the time of his death was a tenant thereof either individually or as joint tenant or
tenant in common, or seeking to withdraw securities, assets or funds belonging to the de-
cedent or which decedent had the right to withdraw, shall notify the person renting such
safe deposit box or holding such securities, assets or funds of the decedent’s death. Any
person who wilfully fails to give the notice of the death of the decedent required by this
paragraph with intent to evade taxes due hereunder shall be guilty of a misdemeanor. It
shall be a complete defense to any prosecution under the provisions of this subdivision
that no estate tax was due from the decedent’s estate.

[For text of subd 2, see M.S.1978]

Subd. 3. [ Repealed, 1979 ¢ 303 art 3 s 41 |

[For text of subd 4, see M.S.1978}

[ 1979 ¢ 303 art 35 23]
291.21 Commissioner of revenue to receive list of property.

[For text of subd 1, see M.S.1978]

Subd. 2. | Repealed, 1979 ¢ 303 art 3 5 41 )

291.215 Valuation of estate; reporting.

Subdivision 1. The valuation of all property includable in the Minnesota taxable
estate of a decedent shall be subject to review and approval of the commissioner of reve-
nue.

Subd. 2. Before the final settlement of an estate the personal representative shall
furnish an amended estate tax return listing all property and taxable transfers or other
events of which he has become aware since the first estate tax return was made which
would result in a change in either the amount of the estate tax initially determined or
the statements made by the affiant therein. He also shall furnish copies of any docu-
ments or records and any other information relating to the estate or its value upon re-
quest of the commissioner of revenue.

Subd. 3. The personal representative shall file an amended estate tax return within
90 days after any amended estate tax return is filed pursuant to the provisions of the
United States Internal Revenue Code. If no amended federal estate tax return is filed
but the federal estate tax return is changed or corrected, the change or correction shall
be reported 1o the commissioner of revenue within 90 days after the final determination
of the change or correction is made. Upon receipt of an amended federal estate tax re-
turn or upon notification of any change or corréction made on’the federal estate tax re-
turn, the commissioner of revenue may reassess the estate tax.

[ 1979 ¢ 303 art 3 5 24}

291.22 [ Repealed, 1979 ¢ 303 art 3 s 41 ]
291.23 [ Repealed, 1979 ¢ 303 art'3 s 41 )
291.24 | Repealed, 1979 ¢ 303 art 3 5 41
291.25 [ Repealed, 1979 ¢ 303 art 3 s 41 ]
291.26 [ Repealed, 1979 ¢ 303 art 3 5 41 ]
291.27 Unpaid tax; omitted property.

Any tax due and unpaid under the provisions of this chapter may be enforced and
collected from any transferee of property included in the Minnesota estate by ‘action in
the court of administration of the estate of the decedent or in a court of general jurisdic-
tion by the personal representative of any estate, the attorney general, or the commis-
sioner in the name of the state.

Any property which for any cause is omitted from the Minnesota estate tax return
so that its value is not taken into consideration in the determination of the estate tax,
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may be subsequently taxed against the persons receiving the same, or any part thereof,
to the same effect as if included in the estate tax return, except that any personal
representative of an estate discharged from his trust in the meantime shall not be liable
for the payment of such tax. When any property has been omitted in the determination
of an estate tax, the tax thereon may be determined and recovered in a civil action
brought by the attorney general or the commissioner, in the name of the state, in any
court of general jurisdiction.

[ 1979 ¢ 303 art 3525 ]

291.29 Records; reports.

Subdivision 1. { Repealed, 1979 ¢ 303 art 3 s 41 ]
Subd. 2. [ Repealed, 1979 ¢ 303 art 3 s 41 ]
Subd. 3. [ Repealed, 1979 ¢ 303 art 3 s 41 ]
Subd. 4. [ Repealed, 1979 ¢ 303 art 3 s 41 |

[For text of subd 5, see M.S.1978)

291.30 [ Repealed, 1979 ¢ 303 art 3 s 41 |
291.33 Payments to counties.

Subdivision 1. On or before the first of November in each year the commissioner
shall determine the net amount of estate tax and interest collected thereon which has
been paid to the commissioner during the fiscal year ending June 30 next preceding from
estates in each of the several counties of this state wherein probate proceedings have
been had or where, if no probate proceedings have been required, wherein are located
the probate courts that would have had venue under the provisions of section 524.3-201,
had there been assets of decedents subject to probate.

For purposes of this subdivision net amount shall be the total amount paid from
each of the several counties under the provisions of this chapter, during the appropriate
fiscal year, reduced by the refunds made by the commissioner applicable to each of the
several counties under the provisions of this chapter, during the same fiscal year.

[For text of subd 2, see M.S.1978]

[ 1979 ¢ 303 art 35 27 )

291.34 [ Repealed, 1979 ¢ 303 art 3 s 41}
291.35 [ Repealed, 1979 ¢ 303 art 3 s 41 ]
291.36 { Repealed, 1979 ¢ 303 art 3 s 41 ]
291.37 [ Repealed, 1979 ¢ 303 art 3 s 41 |
291.38 [ Repealed, 1979 ¢ 303 art 3 5 41 )
291.39 [ Repealed, 1979 ¢ 303 art 3 s 41 |
291.40 [ Repealed, 1979 ¢ 303 art 3 s 41 ]
291.48 Publicity of returns; information.

[t shall be unlawful for the commissioner or any other public official, employee or
former employee to divulge or otherwise make known in any manner any particulars set
forth or disclosed in any report or return required by this chapter or chapter 292 or in-
formation acquired while examining or auditing any taxpayer’s liability for taxes there-
under, except in connection with a proceeding involving taxes due under this chapter or
chapter 292 from the taxpayer making the return. The commissioner may furnish a copy
of any return or report to any official of the United States or any state having duties to
perform in respect to the assessment or collection of any inheritance, estate, or gift tax,
if the taxpayer is required by the laws of the United States or of the other state to make
a return therein. Prior to the release of any information to any official of the United
States or any other state under the provisions of this section, the person to whom the in-
formation is to be released shall sigri an agreement which provides that he will protect
the confidentiality of the returns and information revealed to the extent that it is pro-
tected under the laws of the state of Minnesota. The commissioner and all other public
officials and employees shall keep and maintain the same secrecy with respect to any in-
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formation furnished by any department, commission, or official of the United States or
of any other state. Nothing herein contained shall be construed to prohibit the
commissioner from publishing statistics so classified as not to disclose the identity of
particular property, decedents, heirs, or personal representatives, returns or reports and
the contents thereof. Any person violating the provisions of this section shall be guilty of
a gross misdemeanor.

The return of a decedent or donor shall, upon written request, be open to inspec-
tion by or disclosure to (a) the administrator, executor, or trustee of his estate, and (b)
any heir at law, next of kin, or beneficiary under the will of the decedent, and any other
person whose basis in property is determined in whole or part by values set forth in the
return, or (c) a donee of the property, but only if the commissioner finds that the heir,
next of kin, beneficiary or other person or donee has a material interest Wthh will be af-
fected by information contained therein.

[ 1979 ¢ 303 art 3 5 26}

CHAPTER 292. GIFT TAXES

Sec. Sec.

292.01 Repealed. 292.09 Repealed.
292.02 Repealed. 292.105 Repealed.
292.03 Repealed. 292.111 Repealed.
292.031 Repealed. 292.112 Repealed.
292.04 Repealed. 292.12 Repealed.
292.05 Repealed. 292.125 Repealed.
292.06 Repealed. 292.14 Repealed.
292.07 Repealed. 292.15 Repealed.

292.08 Repealed.

292.01 [ Repealed, 1979 ¢ 303 art 3 s 41 ]
292.02 [ Repealed, 1979 ¢ 303 art 3 5 41 )
292.03 [ Repealed, 1979 ¢ 303 art 3 5 41 )
292.031 [ Repealed, 1979 ¢ 303 art 3 s 41 ]
292.04 [ Repealed, 1979 ¢ 303 art 3 s 41 |

NOTE: This section was also amended by Laws 1979, Chapter 303, Article 10, Section 7 to read as follows:

*292.04 Exemptions. The following transfers by gift shall be exempt from and excluded in computing the
tax imposed by this chapter:

(1) Gifts to or for the use of the United States of America or any state or any political subdivision thereof for
exclusively public purposes;

(2) Gifts to or for the use of any fund, foundation, trust, association, organization or corporation operated
within this state for religious, charitable, scientific, literary, or educational purposes exclusively, including the promo-
tion of the arts, or the conduct of a public cemetery, if no part thereof inures to the profit of any private shareholder
or individual. Gifts to or for the use of any corporation, fund, foundation, trust, or association operated for religious,
charitable, scientific, literary, or educational purposes, including the promotion of the arts, or the conduct of a public
cemetery, no part of which inures to the profit of any private shareholders or individual, shall be exempt, if at the date
of the gift, the laws of the state under the laws of which the donee is organized or existing either (1) do not impose a
gift tax in respect of property transferred to a similar corporation, fund, foundation, trust, or association, organized or
existing under the laws of this state, or {2) contain a reciprocal provision under which gifts to a similar corporation,
fund, foundation, trust, or association organized or existing under the laws of another state are exempt from gift laxes
if such other state allows a similar exemption to a similar corporation, fund, foundation, trust, or association, orga-
nized or existing under the laws of such state;

(3) Gifts to a fraternal society, order, or association operating under the lodge system, but only if such gifts
are to be used exclusively for the purposes designated in clause (2);

(4) Gifts to or for the use of posts or organizations of war veterans, or auxiliary units or societies of any such
posts or organizations, if such posts, organizations, units or societies are organized within the state of Minnesota and if
such gifts are to be used exclusively for the purposes designated in clause (2);

{5) All property transferred, money, service, or other thing of value, paid, furnished, or delivered by any per-
son, corporation, organization, or association to his or its employees, or to any organization of his or its employees, di-
rectly or indirectly, or to any person, firm, or corporation for them or it, including payments to cover insurance, sick-
ness, and death benefits, pensions, relief activi(ies, or to any other employees benefit fund of any kind, and medical
service to such employees and their families;

(6) The first $3,000 in value of gifts (other than of future interests in property) made to any person by the do-
nor during any calendar year. No part of a gift to a minor donee shall be considered a gift of future interest in prop-
erty for purposes of this clause if it complies with the provisions of the Minnesota uniform gifts to minors act, chapter
527, or if it is a transfer for the benefit of a minor, and if the property and income therefrom:

{a) May be expended by or for the benefit of the donee before his attaining the age of 2} years; and
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