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299F.01 FIRE MARSHAL. Subdivision 1. All the powers and duties now vested
in or imposed upon the commissioner of insurance as ex officio state fire marshal as
prescribed in Minnesota Statutes, Chapters 73, 74, 75, 76, and any other law, are
hereby transferred to, vested in, and imposed upon the commissioner of public safety.
The duties and responsibilities of the commissioner of insurance as ex officio state fire
marshal as heretofore constituted are abolished.

Subd. 2. A division in the department of public safety to be known as the divi-
sion of fire marshal is hereby created, under the supervision and control of the state
fire marshal, who shall be appointed by the commissioner and serve at his pleasure in
the unclassified service of the state civil service, to whom shall be assigned the duties
and responsibilities described in this section.

Subd. 3. Upon the effective date of this act, the individual occupying the position
of assistant commissioner, fire marshal division, shall retain such position for a period
of at least 12 months, or until removed for cause.

[ 1969c 1129 art 1 52 ]

299F.011 UNIFORM FIRE CODE; ADOPTION. Subdivision 1. The commis-
sioner of public safety through the division of fire marshal may promulgate a uniform
fire code and make amendments thereto in accordance with the administrative proce-
dure act, chapter 15.

Subd. 2. (a) Unless otherwise specifically listed, wherever in the text of the uni-
form code reference is made to a national fire protection association pamphlet, the
date of issue of that pamphlet shall be the one listed in the 1973 edition of the na-
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tional fire codes, as promulgated by the national fire protection association.

(b) Wherever in the text of the uniform fire code reference is made to the electri-
cal code, it shall be the national electrical code, 1971 edition.

Subd. 3. The commissioner shall adopt rules and regulations, in accordance with
chapter 15, as may be necessary to administer and enforce the code, specifically in-
cluding but not limited to rules and regulations for inspection of buildings and other
structures covered by the code and conforming the code to the governmental orga-
nization of Minnesota state agencies, political subdivisions and local governments.

[ 1974 ¢ 5505 1]

299F.02 [ Repealed, 1971 ¢ 25 5 60 ]

299F.03 SPECIAL ATTORNEY. The attorney general may appoint a special at-
torney for the division, whose work shall be under the supervision of the attorney
general, who shall fix the compensation, such compensation to be paid out of the fund
created under this chapter.

[ 1913 c 5645 4; 1969 c 1129 art 10 s 2] (5953)

299F.04 ORIGIN OF FIRES INVESTIGATED. Subdivision 1. The chief of the
fire department of each city in which a fire department is established, and the mayor
of each city in which no fire department exists, and the president of the statutory city
board of each statutory city in which no fire department exists, and the town clerk of
each town without the limits of any city or statutory city, shall investigate, or cause
to be investigated, the cause, origin, and circumstances of each fire occurring in the
city, statutory city or town by which property has been destroyed or damaged when
the damage exceeds $100, except that all fires of unknown origin shall be reported,
and shall especially make investigation as to whether the fire was the result of care-
lessness, accident, or design.

Subd. 2. The investigation shall be begun within two days of the occurrence of
the fire and the state fire marshal shall have the right to supervise and direct the in-
vestigation when he deems it expedient or necessary.

Subd. 3. The officer making investigation of fires occurring in cities, statutory
cities and towns shall forthwith notify the state fire marshal and shall, within one
week of the occurrence of the fire, furnish to the state fire marshal a written state-
ment of all the facts relating to the cause and origin of the fire and such further infor-
mation as may be called for by the blanks furnished by the state fire marshal. The
state fire marshal shall keep in his office a record of all fires occurring in the state, to-
gether with all facts, statistics, and circumstances, including the origin of the fires,
which may be determined by the investigation provided by this chapter. These statis-
tics shall be at all times open to public inspection.

[ 1913 c 564 s 6; 1967 c 543 s 1; 1973 ¢ 123 art 55 7] (5955)

299F.05 EVIDENCE, TAKING OF. The state fire marshal shall, when in his
opinion further investigation is necessary, take or cause to be taken the testimony on
oath of all persons supposed to be cognizant of any facts or to have any means of
knowledge in relation to the matter as to which an examination is herein required to
be made and shall cause the same to be reduced to writing; and, if he shall be of the
opinion that there is evidence sufficient to charge any person with the crime of arson,
he shall cause such person to be arrested and charged with the offense and furnish to
the proper prosecuting attorney all this evidence, together with the copy of all names
of witnesses and all the information obtained by him, including a copy of all pertinent
and material testimony taken in the case; and keep a record of the proceedings and
progress made in all these prosecutions for arson and the result of all cases finally
disposed of.

[ 1913 c 564 5 7 ] (5956)

299F.06 TESTIMONIAL POWERS. Subdivision 1. Attendance of witnesses.
The state fire marshal, chief assistant fire marshal, and deputy state fire marshals,
shall each have the power in any county of the state to summon and compel the at-
tendance of witnesses before them, or either of them, to testify in relation to any mat-
ter which is by the provisions of this chapter a subject of inquiry and investigation
and may require the production of any book, paper, or document deemed pertinent
thereto by them, or either of them. The summons shall be served in the same manner
and have the same effect as subpoenas from district courts. All witnesses shall receive
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the same compensation as is paid to witnesses in district courts, which shall be paid
out of the fire marshal fund upon vouchers signed by the state fire marshal, chief as-
sistant fire marshal, or deputy fire marshal before whom any witnesses shall have at-
tended and this officer shall, at the close of the investigation wherein the witness was
subpoenaed, certify to the attendance and mileage of the witness, which certificate
shall be filed in the office of the state fire marshal. All investigations held by or under
the direction of the state fire marshal, or any subordinate, may in his discretion be
private and persons other than those required to be present by the provisions of this
chapter may be excluded from the place where the investigation is held, and witnesses
may be kept separate and apart from each other and not allowed to communicate
with each other until they have been examined.

Subd. 2. Oaths administered. The state fire marshal, chief assistant state fire
marshal, and deputy state fire marshals are each hereby authorized and empowered to
administer oaths and affirmations to any persons appearing as witnesses before them;
and false swearing in any matter or proceeding aforesaid shall be deemed perjury and
punished as such.

Subd. 3. Refusal to testify. Any witness who refuses to be sworn, or who re-
fuses to testify, or who disobeys any lawful order of the state fire marshal, chief assis-
tant fire marshal, or deputy state fire marshal in relation to the investigation, or who
fails or refuses to produce any paper, book, or document touching any matter under
examination, or who is guilty of any contemptuous conduct, after being summoned to
appear before them to give testimony in relation to any matter or subject under exam-
ination or investigation may be summarily punished by the state fire marshal, chief
assistant state fire marshal, or deputy state fire marshals as for contempt by a fine in
a sum not exceeding $100 or be committed to the county jail until such time as such
person may be willing to comply with any reasonable order made by the state fire
marshal, chief assistant state fire marshal, or deputy state fire marshals, as provided
in this chapter, and subject to the provisions of section 588.01.

{ 1913 c 564 s 8] (5957)

299F.07 DISOBEDIENCE, HOW PUNISHED. Disobedience of any subpoena in
such proceedings, or contumacy of a witness, may, upon application of the state fire
marshal, be punished by any district court in the same manner as if the proceedings
were pending in that court.

[ 1913 c 564 5 9] (5958)

299F.08 PREMISES, WHEN ENTERED. In the performance of the duties im-
posed by the provisions of this chapter, the state fire marshal, and any of his subordi-
nates, at all times of day or night may enter upon and examine any building or prem-
ises where a fire has occurred and other buildings and premises adjoining or near
thereto.

[ 1913 c 564 s 10] (5959)

299F.09 BUILDINGS, ENTERED WITHIN REASONABLE HOURS. The state
fire marshal, his chief assistant, deputies, and subordinates, the chief of the fire de-
partment of each city where a fire department is established, the mayor of a city
where no fire department exists, or the clerk of a town in territory without the limits
of a city, at all reasonable hours may enter into all buildings and upon all premises
within their jurisdiction for the purpose of examination.

[ 1913 c 564 s 11; 1973 ¢ 123 art 55 7] (5960)

299F.10 BUILDINGS REPAIRED OR TORN DOWN, ENTRANCE TO. The state
fire marshal may condemn, and by order direct the destruction, repair, or alteration
of, any building or structure which, by reason of age, dilapidated condition, defective
chimneys, defective electric wiring, gas connections, heating apparatus, or other de-
fect is especially liable to fire and which building or structure in the judgment of the
state fire marshal, is so situated as to endanger life or limb or other buildings or prop-
erty in the vicinity. In case the order requires the repair of a building, the owner, les-
see, or other person upon whom rests the duty to keep the structure in repair and
upon whom the order is served shall make such repairs as thereby directed and the
order may direct that the structure be closed and not further used or occupied until
the repairs are made. Any person who shall wilfully disobey the order directing the
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closing of the building pending the making of these repairs shall be guilty of a misde-
meanor.

[ 1913 ¢ 564 s 12; 1917 c 469 s 1 ] (5961)

299F.11 STRUCTURES REPAIRED OR DEMOLISHED. Subdivision 1. The
state fire marshal is hereby authorized to petition the district court of any county for
an order of condemnation directing the destruction, repair, or alteration of any build-
ing or structure located on land owned by, or on land held in trust by, the state which
is especially liable to fire and dangerous to life and limb within the purview of the
provisions of section 299F.10. In case the petition is for an order requiring repairs, the
person authorized by law to make the repairs and upon whom the order is served,
shall make these repairs as thereby directed and the order may direct that the build-
ing or structure be closed and not further used or occupied until the repairs are made.
Upon the filing of the petition with the district court wherein any such building or
structure is located, the court shall make a temporary order directing the state fire
marshal to serve a copy of the petition and a copy of the temporary order upon the
commissioner of revenue and the county board of the county wherein the lands are
situated; and, if the lands are situated in a city of the first class, then upon the asses-
sor of this city of the first class, within such time as may be fixed by the court in its
order. If, within 20 days, no objections are filed to the petition by the parties so
served, the court may require the state fire marshal to present sufficient proof to sus-
tain the allegations set forth in his petition, and thereupon the court may or may not,
as the case may require, make an order of condemnation and direct the state fire mar-
shal to proceed with the destruction of the building or structure; but if objections are
filed and a copy of the objections have been duly served upon the state fire marshal
within 20 days of the service of the copy of the temporary order and copy of the peti-
tion hereinbefore referred to, the court upon application by the state fire marshal shall
make its order fixing the time and place for hearing of the matter, which place may be
at any convenient point, at any general or special term, or out of the term, or in
chambers, within the judicial district where the lands are situated, and which time
shall be within ten days from the date of the filing of the objections or as soon there-
after as may be. If upon the hearing the petition shall be sustained, the court shall is-
sue an order of condemnation and fix the time within which the building or structure
shall be destroyed, repaired, or altered in compliance with the order and that upon
failure of the proper person or persons to comply with the order the state fire marshal
shall proceed with the destruction thereof. If upon the hearing the petition of the state
fire marshal is not sustained, the court shall deny the petition.

Subd. 2. In all cases where the order of the court has not been complied with
and the state fire marshal is authorized to proceed with the demolition of any building
or structure, the state fire marshal shall sell and dispose of the salvage materials
therefrom at public auction upon three days posted notice and all expenses incurred
by the state fire marshal shall be paid out of the moneys received from the auction of
salvage material, and any deficit remaining unpaid thereafter may be paid out of the
funds created by and provided for in section 299F.21. Should any surplus remain of
the amount received for salvage material, after deducting the expenses incurred by the
state fire marshal, this surplus shall be paid to the treasurer of the county where the
property was situated to be distributed by him as provided by law.

[ 1939 c 200; 1941 ¢ 123; 1973 ¢ 582 s 3 ] (5961-1)

299F.12 EXITS OPENED, ORDER. When the state fire marshal upon inspec-
tion shall find a building of such construction and use that the exits and means of
egress already provided do not afford reasonably safe escape in case of fire for the
number of people customarily within he may order such exits to be opened and such
means of escape to be provided as in his judgment are reasonably necessary to elimi-
nate the danger arising therefrom.

[ 1813 ¢ 564 s 12; 1917 c 469 s 1] (5962)

299F.13 ORDER TO BE IN WRITING. The order shall be in writing, recite the
grounds therefor, and be filed in the office of the clerk of the district court of the
county in which the building or structure so ordered to be altered, repaired, or demol-
ished is situated and thereupon all further proceedings for the enforcement thereof
shall be had in that court.

[ 1913 ¢ 564 s 13; 1917 ¢ 469 s 1] (5963)
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299F.14 NOTICE, SERVICE. A copy of the order filed in accordance with sec-
tion 299F.13, together with a written notice that the same has been so filed and will
be put in force unless the owner or occupying tenant shall file with the clerk of the
court his objections and answer thereto within the time specified in section 299F.15,
shall be served upon the owner of the building or structure so directed to be altered,
repaired, or demolished; and, if there be a tenant occupying the building, then also
upon this occupant. Service shall be made upon the owner and occupying tenant, if
there be one, personally, either within or without the state. It shall be deemed a per-
sonal service of the order and notice if the copy thereof be left at the house of the
usual abode of the person to be served, with some person of suitable age and discre-
tion then residing therein. If the whereabouts of the owner is unknown and the same
cannot be ascertained by the state fire marshal in the exercise of reasonable diligence,
then, upon his filing in the office of the clerk of the district court his affidavit to this
effect, service of the notice upon the owner may be made by publishing the same once
in each week for three successive weeks in a newspaper printed and published in the
county in which the building or structure is located and by posting a copy thereof in a
conspicuous place upon the building or structure, and the service so made shall be
deemed to be complete upon the expiration of the publication period. Proof of service
of the notice shall be filed in the office of the clerk of the district court not less than
five days before the filing of a motion for an order affirming the state fire marshal’s
order of condemnation in case of default as provided for by section 299F.15, or in case
written objections are filed and served, not less than five days before the time fixed
for the hearing provided for by section 299F.16.

[ 1913 c 564 5 14; 1917 c 469 s 1; 1947 c 417 s 1] (5964)

299F.15 WRITTEN OBJECTIONS FILED BY OWNER. The owner of any build-
ing or structure so condemned, or any occupying tenant upon whom the notice and
order are served, within 20 days from the date of the service, as herein provided, may
file with the clerk of the district court and serve upon the state fire marshal, either
personally or by registered mail, written objections to the order in the form of an an-
swer denying the existence of any of the facts therein recited which he desires to con-
trovert. If no answer is so filed and served, the owner and all other persons in interest
shall be deemed to be in default and thereupon the court shall affirm the order of con-
demnation and direct the state fire marshal to proceed with the enforcement thereof;
but, if an answer be filed and served, as herein provided, the court shall hear and de-
termine the issues so raised and make its order as provided for by section 299F.16.

[ 1913 ¢ 564 5 15; 1917 ¢ 469 s 1; 1947 c 417 5 2] (5965)

299F.16 HEARING. The court upon motion of the state fire marshal shall make
its order fixing a time and place for the hearing, which place may be at any conve-
nient point within the judicial district, and which time shall be within ten days from
the date of the filing of the answer, or as soon thereafter as may be. Upon the trial
the order of the state fire marshal shall be prima facie evidence of the existence of the
facts therein recited. If upon the trial the order of the state fire marshal shall be sus-
tained, the court shall make its order accordingly and shall fix a time within which the
building or structure shall be altered, repaired, or demolished, as the case may be, in
compliance with the order of the state fire marshal, but otherwise the court may an-
nul and set aside such order of the state fire marshal, or modify it if the facts so war-
rant.

[ 1913 ¢ 564 s 16; 1917 c 469 s 1; 1947 ¢ 417 s 3 ] (5966)

299F.17 FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH ORDER. Subdivision 1. Sale or de-
struction of building. If the owner or other party in interest shall fail to comply with
the order of the state fire marshal within the time fixed thereby, or with such order as
affirmed or modified by the court, within the time fixed by court, in case a trial is had
as provided for in section 299F.16, the state fire marshal may proceed to cause the
building or structure to be altered, repaired, or demolished in accordance with the di-
rections contained in the order. Where a building or structure is demolished in accor-
dance with the order the state fire marshal may sell and dispose of the salvage materi-
als therefrom at public auction upon three days’ posted notice. In lieu of demolishing
the building or structure the state fire marshal may sell it at a public auction, upon
the same notice, provided the purchaser signs a written agreement to demolish the
building and remove the salvage within such time from the date of sale as the state
fire marshal shall announce before the sale. In case any such purchaser shall fail to so
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demolish the building or structure and remove the salvage within the specified time,
the sale to him shall be void, and the purchase price paid by him shall be retained by
the state fire marshal as liquidated damages for breach of the agreement. Any amount
collected for the sale of salvage, or the building or structure, or as liquidated damages
for breach of the agreement shall be deposited with the state treasurer and credited to
the fund of the state fire marshal.

Subd. 2. Statement of moneys received and expenses incurred; surplus to owner,
The state fire marshal shall keep an accurate account of the expenses incurred in car-
rying out the order and all other expenses theretofore incurred in connection with its
enforcement, including specifically, but not exclusively, initial inspection fees incurred
before the filing of the order of condemnation, including costs of photographs of build-
ing, filing fees, service fees, publication fees, appraisers’ fees, witness fees, including
expert witness fees, and traveling expenses incurred by the state fire marshal and his
deputies from the time the order was originally made, and shall credit thereon the
amount, if any, received from the sale of the salvage, or building or structure, or as
liquidated damages for breach of the agreement, and shall report his action under the
order, with a statement of moneys received and expenses incurred to the court for ap-
proval and allowance. Thereupon the court shall examine, correct, if necessary, and
allow the expense account and, if the amount received from the sale of the salvage, or
of the building or structure, or for liquidated damages for breach of the agreement
does not equal or exceed the amount of expenses as allowed, the court shall by its or-
der certify the deficiency in the amount so allowed to the county auditor for collec-
tion. The owner or other party in interest shall pay the same within 30 days there-
after, with 25 percent penalty added thereon, and in default of payment the auditor
shall enter this expense on the tax lists of the county as a special charge against the
real estate on which the building is or was situated and the same shall be collected in
the same manner as other taxes and the amount so collected, including the penalty
thereon, shall be paid into the state treasury and credited to the fund of the state fire
marshal. When any real estate on which the building or structure is or was situated
forfeits to the state for taxes, this expense shall be apportioned by the county auditor
from the net proceeds of the sale or rental of such forfeited land to the state treasury
to be credited to the fund of the state fire marshal in the same manner as any other
special assessment is apportioned as provided in section 282.08, clause (2). If the
amount received for the sale of the salvage, or of the building or structure, or for lig-
uidated damages for breach of the agreement to remove the building or structure ex-
ceeds the expense incurred by the state fire marshal, as allowed by the court, and if
there are no delinquent taxes, the court shall direct the payment of the surplus to the
owner or the payment of the same into court for his use and benefit. If there are de-
linquent taxes against the property, the court shall direct the payment of the surplus
to the county treasurer to be applied on such taxes.

There is hereby appropriated to the persons entitled to such surplus, from the
fund in the state treasury to which the money was credited, an amount sufficient to
make the payment.

[ 1913 c 564 s 17; 1917 ¢ 469 s 1; 1947 c 417 5 4; 1959 ¢ 157 s 5; 1963 ¢ 638 s 1 ]
(5967)

299F.18 COMBUSTIBLE MATERIAL REMOVED. The state fire marshal, the
chief assistant fire marshal, or any deputy fire marshal, who finds in any building or
upon any premises any combustible or explosive material, rubbish, rags, waste, or in-
flammable matter of any kind, except liquids covered by section 299F.19, endangering
the safety of the building or property or the occupants thereof or the occupants of ad-
joining buildings shall order these materials removed or the dangerous condition cor-
rected forthwith. This order shall be in writing and directed generally to the owner,
lessee, agent, or occupant of the building or premises and any owner, lessee, agent, or
occupant upon whom such notice shall be served who fails to comply therewith
within 24 hours thereafter, unless the order prescribes a longer period within which it
may be complied with, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, and the material may be re-
moved or dangerous condition corrected at the expense of the owner of the building
and premises or the person upon whom the service is so made, or both, and the state
fire marshal may maintain all necessary actions for the recovery thereof.

[ 1913 ¢c 5645 18; 1917 c 469 s 1; 1949 c 292 s 1] (5968)
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299F.19 REGULATIONS ON FLAMMABLE LIQUIDS AND EXPLOSIVES. Sub-
division 1. The state fire marshal shall make, promulgate, and enforce reasonable
rules and regulations for the safekeeping, storage, handling, use, transportation, or
other disposition of flammable liquids, flammable gases, blasting agents, and explo-
sives except transportation by petroleum carriers as covered in chapter 221; but loads
carried in or on vehicles transporting such products upon public highways within this
state shall be governed by the uniform vehicle size and weights provisions in sections
169.80 to 169.88. The rules and regulations for flammable liquids and flammable gases
shall be distinguished from each other and from the rules and regulations covering
other materials subject to regulation under this subdivision.

Subd. 2. For the purposes of this settion, and the rules and regulations adopted
pursuant thereto, the term flammable liquids shall mean any liquid having a flash
point below 200 degrees Fahrenheit and having a vapor pressure not exceeding 40
pounds per square inch, absolute, at 100 degrees Fahrenheit. The term flammable
gases includes flammable materials which do not exist as a liquid or solid at a temper-
ature of 60 degrees Fahrenheit and a pressure of 14.7 pounds per square inch abso-
lute.

For the purposes of this section, and the rules and regulations adopted pursuant
thereto, the term blasting agent shall mean any material or mixture, consisting of a
fuel and oxidizer, intended for blasting, not otherwise classified as an explosive and in
which none of the ingredients is classified as an explosive, providing that the finished
product, as mixed and packaged for use or shipment, cannot be detonated by means
of a Number 8 test blasting cap when unconfined. The term blasting agent does not
include flammable liquids or flammable gases.

For the purposes of this section, and the rules and regulations adopted pursuant
thereto, explosives shall be divided into three classes and are defined as follows:

Class A explosives. Possessing detonating or otherwise maximum hazard, such
as dynamite, nitroglycerin, picric acid, lead azide, fulminate of mercury, black powder,
blasting caps, and detonating primers.

Class B explosives. Possessing flammable hazard, such as propellant explosives
(including some smokeless powders), photographic flash powders, and some special
fireworks.

Class C explosives. Includes certain types of manufactured articles which con-
tain Class A, or Class B explosives, or both, as components but in restricted quanti-
ties.

The term explosive or explosives shall mean any chemical compound, mixture or
device, the primary or common purpose of which is to function by explosion; that is,
with substantially instantaneous release of gas and heat, unless such compound, mix-
ture, or device is otherwise specifically classified by the interstate commerce commis-
sion. The term explosives shall include all material which is classified as Class A,
Class B, and Class C explosives by the interstate commerce commission, and includes,
but is not limited to dynamite, black powder, pellet powder, initiating explosives,
blasting caps, electric blasting caps, safety fuse, fuse lighters, fuse igniters, squips,
cordeau detonate fuse, instantaneous fuse, igniter cord, igniters, and some special fire-
works. Commercial explosives are those explosives which are intended to be used in
commercial or industrial operation. The term explosives does not include flammable
liquids or flammable gases.

Subd. 3. No local government shall enact any regulation or ordinance which is
inconsistent with the rules and regulations adopted by the state fire marshal pursuant
to this section. Nothing in this section shall be construed to affect the power of any
local government, when so authorized by law, to regulate the use of land by zoning.
Any city in which there is no comprehensive zoning ordinance in effect may prohibit
the installation or erection of flammable liquid bulk plants within areas which are pre-
dominantly residential or in areas used predominantly for retail mercantile purposes.
Any city may prescribe routes for the transportation of flammable liquids through
such city by motor vehicle transport.

Subd. 4. The fire marshal of each city of the first class, the chief of the fire de-
partment of each other city in which a fire department is established, the mayor of
each city in which no fire department exists, the president of the statutory city board
of each statutory city in which no fire department exists, and the town clerk of each
town without the limits of any city shall, upon direction of the state fire marshal, or
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assistant state fire marshal, enforce within their respective jurisdictions all rules and
regulations adopted pursuant to this section and shall render such other assistance as
may be requested.

Subd. 5. Any violation of a rule or regulation shall constitute a misdemeanor.

Subd. 6. The code and all amendments thereto shall be filed with the secretary of
state and published in accordance with sections 15.046 to 15.049.

[ 1949 ¢ 292 5 2; 1957 ¢ 424 s 1-3; 1963 ¢ 437 5 1-4; 1973 c 123 art 55 7 )

299F.20 FAILURE TO COMPLY, PUNISHMENT. Any officer referred to in sec-
tion 299F.04 who neglects to comply with any of the requirements of this chapter
shall, upon conviction, be punished by a fine of not less than $25 nor more than $100
for each neglect or violation.

[ 1913 ¢ 564 5 20 ) (5970)

299F.21 FIRE INSURANCE COMPANIES TO PAY COST OF MAINTENANCE.
For the purpose of maintaining the office of the state fire marshal and paying all the
expenses incident thereto, every insurance company, including reciprocals, interinsu-
rance exchanges or Lloyds, doing business in the state, excepting farmers’ mutual fire
insurance companies and township mutual fire insurance companies, shall hereafter
pay to the state treasurer on or before March 1 annually, a tax upon its fire premiums
or assessments or both, as follows:

A sum equal to one-half of one percent of the gross premiums and assessments,
less return premiums, on all direct business received by it in this state, or by its
agents for it, in cash or otherwise, during the preceding calendar year, including pre-
miums on policies covering fire risks only on automobiles, whether written under floa-
ter form or otherwise. In the case of a mutual company or reciprocal exchange the
dividends or savings paid or credited to members in this state shall be construed to be
return premiums. The money so received into the state treasury shall be set aside as a
special fund and it is hereby appropriated for the maintenance of the office of the
state fire marshal and the expenses incident thereto. The state shall not be liable in
any manner for the salary of the state fire marshal, his chief assistant, deputies,
clerks, and other employees, or for the maintenance of the office of fire marshal or
any expenses incident thereto, and the same shall be payable only from the special
fund provided for in this section.

If the tax prescribed by this section is not paid by March 1, annually, a penalty
of ten percent shall accrue on such tax, and thereafter such tax and penalty shall
draw interest at the rate of one percent per month until paid. .

[ 1913 ¢ 564 5 23; 1915¢ 341 s 1, 1937 ¢ 77 s 1; 1949 ¢ 315 s 1; 1963 ¢ 88 5 6 ]
(5973)

299F.22 EXAMINATION OF RETURNS; ASSESSMENT; RETURNS. The com-
missioner of public safety shall, as soon as practicable after a return required by sec-
tion 299F .21, is filed, examine the same and make any investigation or examination of
the company’s records and accounts that he may deem necessary for determining the
correctness of the return. The tax computed by him on the basis of such examination
and investigation shall be the tax to be paid by such company. If the tax found due
shall be greater than the amount reported as due on the company’s return, the com-
missioner shall assess a tax in the amount of such excess and the whole amount of
such excess shall be paid to the state treasurer within 30 days after notice of the
amount and demand for its payment shall have been mailed to the company by the
commissioner. If the understatement of the tax on the return was false and fraudulent
with intent to evade the tax, the installments of the tax shown by the company on its
return which have not been paid shall be paid to the state treasurer within 30 days af-
ter notice of the amount thereof and demand for payment shall have been mailed to
the company by the commissioner. If the amount of the tax found due the commis-
sioner shall be less than that reported as due on the company’s return, the excess
shall be refunded to the company in the manner provided by section 299F.26, except
that no demand therefor shall be necessary, if they have already paid the whole of
such tax, or credited against any unpaid installment thereof; provided, that no refund-
ment shall be made except as provided in section 299F.26, after the expiration of three
and one-half years after the filing of the return.
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If the commissioner examines returns of a company for more than one year, he
may issue one order covering the several vears under consideration reflecting the
aggregate refund or additional tax due.

The notices and demands provided for by sections 299F.22 to 299F.24 shall be in
such form as the commissioner may determine, including a statement, and shall con-
tain a brief explanation of the computation of the tax and shall be sent by mail to the
company at the address given in its return, if any, and if no such address is given,
then to the last known address.

[ 1965 c499s 1; 1969 c 1129 art 105 2 ]

299F.23 ASSESSMENT, FAILURE TO FILE RETURN; FALSE OR FRAUDU-
LENT RETURN FILED. If any company required by section 299F .21, to file any return
shall fail to do so within the time prescribed or shall make, wilfully or otherwise, an
incorrect, false, or fraudulent return, it shall, on the written demand of the commis-
sioner of public safety, file such return, or corrected return, within 30 days after the
mailing of such written demand and at the same time pay the whole tax, or additional
tax, due on the basis thereof. If such company shall fail within that time to file such
return, or corrected return, the commissioner shall make for it a return or corrected
return, from his own knowledge and from such information as he can obtain through
testimony, or otherwise, and assess a tax on the basis thereof, which tax, less any
payments theretofore made on account of the tax for the taxable year covered by such
return, shall be paid within ten days after the commissioner has mailed to such com-
pany a written notice of the amount thereof and demand for its payment. Any such
return or assessment made by the commissioner on account of the failure of the com-
pany to make a return, or a corrected return, shall be prima facie correct and valid,
and the company shall have the burden of establishing its incorrectness or invalidity
in any action or proceeding in respect thereto.

[ 1965 c 499 s 2; 1969 ¢ 1129 art 10s 2 ]

299F.24 COLLECTION OF TAX. The tax required to be paid by section
299F.21, may be collected in any ordinary action at law by the commissioner of public
safety against the company. In any action commenced pursuant to this section, upon
the filing of an affidavit of default, the clerk of the district court wherein the action
was commenced shall enter judgment for the state for the amount demanded in the
complaint together with costs and disbursements.

[ 1965 c 4995 3; 1969 c 1129 art 105 2 ]

299F.25 APPEALS. Either party to an action or a judgment for the recovery of
any taxes, interest, or penalties under section 299F.24 may remove the action or judg-
ment to the supreme court by appeal, as provided for appeals in civil cases.

[ 1965 c 499 s 4} :

299F.26 OVERPAYMENTS, CLAIMS FOR REFUND. Subdivision 1. Procedure,
time limit, appropriation. A company who has paid, voluntarily or otherwise, or from
whom there has been collected an amount of tax for any year in excess of the amount
legally due for that year, may file with the commissioner of public safety a claim for a
refund of such excess. Except as provided in subdivision 4, no such claim shall be en-
tertained unless filed within two years after such tax was paid or collected, or within
three and one-half years from the filing of the return, whichever period is the longer.

Upon the filing of a claim the commissioner shall examine the same and shall
make and file written findings thereon denying or allowing the claim in whole or in
part and shall mail a notice thereof to the company at the address stated upon the re-
turn. If such claim is allowed in whole or in part, the commissioner shall issue his cer-
tificate for the refundment of the excess paid by the company, with interest at the
rate of two percent per annum computed from the date of the payment or collection
of the tax until the date the refund is paid to the company, and the commissioner of
finance shall cause such refund to be paid out of the proceeds of the taxes imposed by
section 299F .21, as other state moneys are expended. So much of the proceeds of such
taxes as may be necessary are hereby appropriated for that purpose.

Subd. 2. Denial of claim, court proceedings. If the claim is denied in whole or in
part, the company may commence an action against the commissioner to recover any
overpayments of taxes claimed to be refundable but for which the commissioner has
issued no certificate of refundment. Such action may be brought in the district court
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of the district in which lies the county of its principal place of business, or in the dis-
trict court for Ramsey County. Such action may be commenced after the expiration of
six months after the claim is filed if the commissioner has not then taken final action
thereon, and shall be commenced within 18 months after the notice of the order deny-
ing the claim.

Subd. 3. Denial of claim, appeal. Either party to said action may appeal to the
supreme court as in other cases.

Subd. 4. Consent to extend time. If the commissioner and the company have
within the periods prescribed in subdivision 1, consented in writing to any extension
of time for the assessment of the tax, the period within a claim for refund may be
filed, or a refund may be made or allowed, if no claim is filed, shall be the period
within which the commissioner and the company have consented to an extension for
the assessment of the tax and six months thereafter, provided, however, that the pe-
riod within which a claim for refund may be filed shall not expire prior to two years
after the tax was paid.

Subd. 5. Overpayment; refunds. If the amount determined to be an overpay-
ment exceeds the taxes imposed by section 299F.21, the amount of such excess shall
be considered an overpayment. An amount paid as tax shall constitute an overpay-
ment even if in fact there was no tax liability with respect to which such amount was
paid.

Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary, in the case of any
overpayment the commissioner, within the applicable period of limitations, shall re-
fund any balance of more than one dollar to such company if the company shall so re-
quest.

[ 1965 c 499 s 5; 1969 ¢ 1129 art 10s 2; 1973 ¢ 492 s 14 )

299F.27 ITEMIZED STATEMENT KEPT. The state fire marshal shall keep on
file in his office an itemized statement of all expenses incurred by his office and ap-
prove all vouchers issued therefor before the same are submitted to the commissioner
of finance for payment, which vouchers shall be allowed and paid in the same manner
as other claims against the state.

[ 1913 ¢ 564 s 24; 1973 ¢ 492 s 14 ] (5974)

299F.28 RECORDS TO BE PUBLIC, EXCEPT IN CERTAIN CASES. All records
on file in the state fire marshal’s office shall be public, except any testimony, corre-
spondence, or other matter taken in an investigation under the provisions of this
chapter, which the state fire marshal, in his discretion, may withhold from the public.
[ 1913 c 564 5 26 ] (5976)

299F.29 COUNTY ATTORNEYS TO ASSIST. The county attorney of any
county, upon request of the state fire marshal, his deputies or assistants, shall assist
such officers upon an investigation of any fire, which in their opinion is of suspicious
origin.

[ 1913 ¢ 564 s 27 ] (5977)

299F.30 FIRE DRILLS REQUIRED IN SCHOOLS; DOORS AND EXITS TO BE
KEPT OPEN. Subdivision 1. It shall be the duty of the state fire marshal, his deputies
and assistants, to require public and private schools and educational institutions to
have at least nine fire drills each school year and to keep all doors and exits unlocked
from the inside of the building during school hours.

Subd. 2. Each superintendent, principal or other person in charge of a public or
private school, educational institution, children’s home or orphanage housing 20 or
more students or other persons, shall instruct and train such students or other per-
sons to quickly and expeditiously quit the premises in case of fire or other emergency
by means of drills or rapid dismissals at least once each month while such school, in-
stitution, home or orphanage is in operation. Records of such drills shall be posted so
that such records are available for review by the state fire marshal at all times and
shall include the drill date and the time required to evacuate the building.

Subd. 3. Each superintendent, principal or other person in charge of a public or
private school, educational institution, children’s home or orphanage shall keep all
doors and exits of such school, institution, home or orphanage unlocked so that per-
sons can leave by such doors or exits at any time during the hours of normal opera-
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tion.
[ 1913 ¢ 564528, 1971 ¢ 516 s 1; 1973 c 11 s 1] (5978)

299F.31 PENALTIES PAID INTO STATE TREASURY. All penalties, fees, or
forfeitures collected under the provisions of this chapter shall be paid into the state
treasury for the benefit of the state fire marshal fund.

[ 1913 ¢ 564 s 29 ] (5979)

299F.32 DECLARATION FOR PUBLIC SAFETY. It is hereby declared that this
chapter is necessary for the public safety, health, peace, and welfare, is remedial in_
nature, and shall be construed liberally and this chapter shall not be declared uncon-
stitutional and void for the reason that any section or provision thereof may be in
contravention of the constitution.

[ 1913 ¢ 564 s 30 ] (5980)

299F.33 ANNUAL REPORT. The state fire marshal shall submit annually as
early as consistent with full and accurate preparation and not later than the fifteenth
day of February a detailed report of his official actions to the governor.

[ 1913 ¢ 564 s 31 ) (5981)

299F.34 COMPENSATION FOR FIRES REPORTED. There shall be paid to the
chiefs of fire departments, and mayors of cities, who do not receive to exceed $50 an-
nually as compensation for their services as such chiefs and mayors, and to presidents
of the statutory city boards, and to the town clerks of towns, who are by this chapter
required to report fires to the state fire marshal, the sum of $1 for each fire reported
to the satisfaction of the state fire marshal; and in addition thereto mileage at the rate
of ten cents per mile for each mile traveled to and from the place of fire. These allow-
ances shall be paid by the state fire marshal at the close of each fiscal year out of any
funds appropriated for the use of the office of the state fire marshal.

All chiefs of departments who receive a stated salary and devote their entire
time to the duties of chiefs of the department and those mayors of cities who receive
a stated salary exceeding $50 as such officer shall be precluded from receiving any ex-
tra allowance from the report herein mentioned.

[ 1913 ¢ 564 s 32; 1973 ¢ 123 art 55 7 ] (5982)

299F.35 STATEMENT NOT USED IN CIVIL ACTION, WHEN. No statement or
admission of assured in any fire insurance policy given to the fire marshal’s office in
any investigation or proceeding had by that office shall be used in any civil action
based upon such policy of insurance.

[ 1913 ¢ 564 s 33 ] (5983)

299F.36 FIRE EXTINGUISHERS. Subdivision 1. MS 1953 [ Repealed, 1955 ¢
791 s 3 ]

Subdivision 1. No person, firm or corporation shall sell, expose for sale, buy, ex-
change, give, receive or, after the period allowed by the order provided for in subdivi-
sion 3 have in possession any fire extinguisher containing any of the following materi-
als: carbon tetrachlioride, CCl4; chlorobromomethane, Ch2BrCl;
dibromodifluoromethane, CBr2F2; 1, 2 dibromo-2-chlor-1, 1-2-trifluorcethane,
CBrF2CBrCIF; 1, 2 dibromo-2, 2-difluoroethane, CH2BrCBrF2; ethylene dibromide,
CH2BrCH2Br; hydrogen bromide, HBr; methylene bromide, CH2Br2; bromodifluoro-
methane, CHBrF2; methyl bromide, CH3Br.

Subd. 2. It shall be unlawful for any person, firm or corporation directly or
through an agent, to sell or offer for sale or, after the period allowed by the order pro-
vided for in subdivision 3 have in possession any make, type or model of extinguisher,
either new or used, for use as a fire extinguisher, unless such make, type or model of
extinguisher has first been tested and is approved and labeled by the Factory Mutual
Laboratories, Underwriters’ Laboratories, Inc., or other testing laboratory approved by
the state fire marshal, as providing adequate and reliable tests and examinations; and
it shall be unlawful for any person to deliver or make available for use in the state of
Minnesota any make, type or model of extinguisher which is not tested or serviced as
required in the standards of the National Fire Protection Association entitled ‘‘Stan-
dards for the Installation, Maintenance and Use of Portable Fire E\ctmgtushers
(NFPA No. 10) dated June 1959.
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Subd. 3. The state fire marshal, his chief assistant, deputies, and subordinates,
the chief of the fire department of each city or other subdivision of government where
a fire department is established, who finds in any building or upon any premises any
fire extinguisher containing any of the materials listed in subdivision 1, or in danger-
ous or not in efficient operating order, or does not conform to the standards described
in subdivision 2, shall order the extinguisher removed or repaired. This order shall be
in writing and directed generally to the owner, lessee, agent or occupant of the build-
ing or premises and shall allow a period of 15 days in which to make required repairs
or to remove the extinguisher, and any owner, lessee, agent, or occupant who fails to
comply therewith shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, and the party issuing the order
may remove the fire extinguisher.

Subd. 4. It shall be the duty of the sheriff and his deputies in areas not served by
a fire department to report the existence of any extinguisher containing any of the
materials listed in subdivision 1, or any extinguisher not in an efficient operating or-
der, to the fire marshal, his chief deputy assistants, or subordinates when such extin-
guishers are found.

Subd. 5. Any person, firm or corporation who shall violate any of the provisions
of this section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor.

[ 1953 ¢ 430 s 1-3; 1955 ¢ 791 s 1,2; 1965 c 3855 1; 1971 ¢ 78 s 1; 1973 ¢ 123 art
5s7]

299F.361 INSTALLATION OF FIRE EXTINGUISHERS IN MULTIPLE UNIT
RESIDENTIAL BUILDINGS. Subdivision 1. There shall be provided and installed in
each apartment of a multiple unit residence building containing four or more apart-
ments, at least one fire extinguisher complying with the standards prescribed by sec-
tion 299F.36 and with a rating of not less than 1A-10BC, as defined by the National
Fire Protection Pamphlet No. 10, or there shall be provided and installed within 50
feet of each apartment entrance at least one fire extinguisher complying with the stan-
dards prescribed by section 299F.36 and with a rating of not less than 2A-10BC as de-
fined by the National Fire Protection Pamphlet No. 10.

Subd. 2. Owners of multiple unit residence buildings heretofore constructed shall
have 180 days to comply with the provisions of subdivision 1, except that those multi-
ple unit residence buildings providing 2A type fire extinguishers and meeting the stan-
dards prescribed by the National Fire Protection Pamphlet No. 10 shall have three
years to comply with the provisions of subdivision 1.

Subd. 3. Nothing in this section shall prohibit a local unit of government from
adopting standards more stringent than those provided in subdivision 1.

[ 1974 ¢ 635 1-3 ]

299F.37 FIRE HOSE THREADS AND FITTINGS TO BE UNIFORM. All fire
hose fittings, apparatus fittings, 1 1/2 and 2 1/2 inches in diameter, purchased or pro-
cured after January 1, 1970, by fire departments operating in Minnesota, shall be of
the national standard hose thread as adopted by the national fire protection associa-
tion. Any person selling non-standard hose couplings, fittings, or apparatus fittings, 1
1/2 and 2 1/2 inches in diameter, for fire department use in Minnesota, after January
1, 1970, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor.

[ 1969 ¢ 286 s 1]

299F.38 NO SMOKING SIGNS; POSTING. The state fire marshal, his deputies,
or assistants may prominently post ‘“‘no smoking” signs wherever they deem public
safety requires. It shall be unlawful to violate the prohibition of such a sign. Smoking
shall include carrying a lighted cigar, cigarette, pipe, or any other lighted smoking
equipment.

[ 1965¢c 50s 1]

299F.39 FIRE SAFETY CODE. Subdivision 1. Establishment. The state fire
marshal after holding a public hearing in accordance with law, shall establish a fire
safety code. The regulations in the code shall provide for reasonable safety from fire,
smoke, and panic therefrom, in all hospitals, as defined in section 144.50; nursing
homes, as defined in section 144A.01; schools; and hotels, as defined in section
299F .46, subdivision 2.
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Subd. 2. MS 1969 [ Repealed, Ex197]1 ¢ 3 s 78 subd 2 ]

Subd. 2. Requirements of code. The code shall specify reasonable minimum re-
quirements for fire safety in new and existing buildings and facilities. Regulations may
be in accordance with the size, type of construction and nature of use or occupancy of
such buildings or facilities. No regulation made in accordance with subdivisions 1, 2,
and 3, shall be inconsistent with the provisions of the statutes nor impair the rights of
municipalities to enact ordinances and make orders with respect to buildings as pro-
vided by law, so far as such ordinances or orders specify requirements equal to, addi-
tional to or more stringent than the regulations issued under authority of subdivisions
1, 2, and 3. Upon application, the state fire marshal may, in his discretion, grant vari-
ances from the minimum requirements specified in the code if (a) there is substantial
compliance with the provisions of the code and (b) the safety of the public and occu-
pants of such building will not be jeopardized, and (c) substantial damage will result
to the applicant unless such variance is granted.

Subd. 3. Filing of code and amendments. The code and all amendments thereto
shall be filed with the secretary of state and published in accordance with sections
15.046 to 15.049, and in addition thereto a copy shall be provided each local fire mar-
shal, fire chief, building inspector, or other governmental official who request a copy
of the code.

Subd. 4. Violations. Any person who violates any provision of the fire safety
code shall be fined not more than $200 or imprisoned not more than three months or
both. No person shall be convicted of violating the fire safety code unless he shall
have been given notice of the violation in writing and reasonable time to comply.

[ 1957 ¢ 723 s 1-4; 1961 ¢ 560 s 8; Ex1971 ¢ 3s 78 subd 1; 1976 ¢ 173 s 59 ]

299F.40 LIQUEFIED PETROLEUM GAS CONTAINERS. Subdivision 1. Public
policy. It is the intent of the Minnesota legislature to protect the public welfare and
promote safety in the filling and use of pressure vessels containing liquefied petroleum
gases through implementing both the interstate commerce commission regulations,
within the state of Minnesota, the rules and regulations of the Minnesota state fire
marshal, and the national standards of safety on the filling of these containers. It is
deemed necessary to insure that containers properly constructed and tested be used
and that a liquefied petroleum gas of suitable and safe vapor pressure be placed in
these containers. To attain this end the filling or refilling of liquefied petroleum gas
containers by other than the owner or authorized person must be controlled and spe-
cific authority to prevent violation and encourage enforcement be established.

Subd. 2. Definitions. The term ‘‘person” shall mean and include any person,
persons, firm, firms, corporation or corporations.

The term “owner” shall mean and include (a) any person who holds a written
bill of sale or other instrument under which title to the container was transferred to
such person, (b) any person who holids a paid or receipted invoice showing purchase
and payment of such container, (c) any person whose name, initials, mark, or other
identifying device has been plainly and legibly stamped or otherwise shown upon the
surface of such container for a period of not less than one year prior to the final en-
actment and approval of this section, or (d) any manufacturer of a container who has
not sold or transferred ownership thereof by written bill of sale or otherwise;

The term “liquefied petroleum gas” as used in this section shall mean and in-
clude any material which is composed predominantly of any of the following hydro-
carbons or mixtures of the same: propane, propylene, butanes (normal butane and iso-
butane), and butylenes.

Subd. 3. Containers, identifying devices; unlawful acts. If a liquefied petroleum
gas container shall bear upon the surface thereof in plainly legible characters the
name, mark, initials or other identifying device of the owner thereof, it shall be unlaw-
ful for any person except such owner or a person authorized in writing by him: (a) To
fill or refill such container with liquefied petroleum gas or any other gas or com-
pound;

(b) To buy, sell, offer for sale, give, take, loan, deliver or permit to be delivered,
or otherwise use, dispose of, or traffic in any such container; or

(¢) To deface, erase, obliterate, cover up or otherwise remove or conceal or
change any such name, mark, initials or othér identifying device of the owner or to
place the name, mark, initials or other identifying device of any person other than the
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owner on such container.

Subd. 4. Presumptive evidence of unlawful use of containers. The use of a lique-
fied petroleum gas container or containers by any person other than the person whose
name, mark, initial or device shall be or shall have been upon such liquefied petro-
leum gas container or containers, without written consent or purchase of such marked
and distinguished liquefied petroleum gas container, for the sale of liquefied petroleum
gas or filling or refilling with liquefied petroleum gas, or the possession of such lique-
fied petroleum gas containers by any person other than the person having his name,
mark, initial or other device thereon, without the written consent of such owner, shall
and is hereby declared to be presumptive evidence of the unlawful use, filling or refill-
ing, transition of, or trafficking in such liquefied petroleum gas containers.

Subd. 5. Violations, search warrants. Whenever any person, or the president,
secretary, treasurer, or other officer of any corporation mentioned in this section, or
his duly authorized agent who has personal knowledge of the facts, shall make oath in
writing before any justice of the peace or police judge, or other magistrate, that the
party so making such affidavit has reason to believe and does believe that any of his,
her, its or their liquefied petroleum gas containers marked with the name, initials,
mark or other device of said owner, are in the possession of or being used by or being
filled or refilled or transferred by any person whose name, initials, mark or other de-
vice does not appear on said containers, and who is in the possession of, filling or re-
filling, or using any such containers without the written consent of the owner of such
name, initials or trade mark, the said magistrate may, when satisfied that there is rea-
sonable cause, issue a search warrant and cause the premises designated to be
searched for the purpose of discovering and obtaining the same, and may also cause
to be brought before him the person in whose possession such containers may be
found, and shall then inquire into the circumstances of such possession; and if such
magistrate finds that such person has been guilty of a violation of this section, he
shall impose the punishment herein prescribed, and he shall also award the possession
of property taken upon such search warrant to the owner thereof.

Subd. 6. Misdemeanor. Any person who shall fail to comply with any of the
foregoing provisions of this section shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor for each
separate offense.

[ 1957 c 768 5 1-6 ]

299F.41 PUBLIC BUILDINGS, USE BY HANDICAPPED; DEFINITIONS. Subdi-
vision 1. When used in sections 299F.41 to 299F .45, the following words and phrases
have the meanings ascribed to them in this section.

Subd. 2. “Public building” means any building and the grounds appurtenant
thereto, the cost of which is paid for by the state of Minnesota or any governmental
subdivision thereof, or any agency of the state or of any governmental subdivision, or
school district.

Subd. 3. “Physically handicapped” means sight disabilities, hearing disabilities,
disabilities of incoordination, disabilities of aging, and any other disability that signifi-
cantly reduces mobility, flexibility, coordination, or perceptiveness.

Subd. 4. “Fire marshal” means the fire marshal of the state of Minnesota.

Subd. 5. “Remodeling” means deliberate reconstruction of an existing building in
whole or in part in order to bring it up to date in conformity with present uses of the
structure and to which other rules and regulations on the upgrading of health and
safety provisions are applicable.

[ 1963 ¢ 8135 1; 1965 c 243 s 1,2 ]

299F.42 ADMINISTRATION. The duty and the power to administer and en-
force sections 299F.41 to 299F .45 is conferred upon and vested in the fire marshal.
[ 1963 c 81352 )

299F.43 SPECIFICATIONS AND STANDARDS. Subdivision 1. The fire marshal
shall promulgate in the manner otherwise provided by law, reasonable rules and regu-
lations necessary for or incident to the administration of sections 299F .41 to 299F .45,
which among other matters shall prescribe specifications making public buildings con-
structed or remodeled after final enactment of sections 299F .41 to 299F 45 accessible
to and usable by physically handicapped persons.
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Subd. 2. Nothing in sections 299F .41 to 299F .45 shall be construed to require the
remodeling of public buildings solely to provide accessibility and usability to the phys-
ically handicapped when remodeling would not otherwise be undertaken.

[ 1963 ¢ 813 s 3; 1965 c243‘s 3, 1969 ¢ 340s 1)

299F.44 APPROVAL AND REVIEW OF PLANS AND SPECIFICATIONS. Con-
struction or remodeling shall not be hereafter commenced of any public building
owned by the state of Minnesota until the plans and specifications of the public build-
ing have been approved by the fire marshal. In the case of any other public building
defined in section 299F.41 but not owned by the state of Minnesota to be constructed
or remodeled the plans and specifications thereof shall be submitted to the fire mar-
shal for review and within 30 days after his receipt thereof he shall notify the submit-
ting authority of his recommendations if any. The provisions of this section are inap-
plicable to contracts awarded prior to April 23, 1965.

[ 1963 ¢ 8135 4; 1965 c 243 s 4}

299F.45 EFFECTIVE DATE. Subdivision 1. Except as hereinafter provided
sections 299F .41 to 299F.45 are effective on the first day of July next following its fi-
nal enactment.

Subd. 2. The fire marshal may promulgate the rules and regulations provided for
in section 299F.43 at any time after the final enactment of sections 299F.41 to
299F .45. .

[ 1963 ¢ 81355 ]

299F.451 FIRE ALARM SYSTEMS; DEFINITIONS. Subdivision 1. Except
where the context requires otherwise, the terms defined in subdivisions 2 to 5 have
the meanings given them.

Subd. 2. “Educational facility’’ means a building used for the gathering of groups
of six or more persons for purposes of instruction, including schools, day care facili-
ties, kindergartens, academies, colleges, and universities.

Subd. 3. “Malicious false fire alarm” means an intentional activation of a fire
alarm system for mischievous purposes with the foreknowledge that no fire, hazard,
or other appropriate threat exists.

[ 1976 c 15s 1]

299F.452 REPORTING OF MALICIOUS FALSE FIRE ALARMS. The principal,
headmaster, administrator, or supervisor of an educational facility shall report all ma-
licious false fire alarms and the circumstances surrounding the incident to the local
fire service.

[ 1876 c 1552 ]

299F.453 DEACTIVATION OF FIRE ALARM SYSTEMS. No one shall discon-
nect or cause to be disconnected all or part of a fire alarm system without the prior
knowledge and approval of the local fire marshal or fire chief and the state fire mar-
shal.

[ 1976 c 155 3]

299F.454 REQUESTS FOR DEACTIVATION OF FIRE ALARM SYSTEMS. Sub-
division 1. The principal, headmaster, administrator, or supervisor of an educational
facility experiencing repeated malicious false alarms may request approval for the
deactivation of the fire alarm system only after he has exhausted all other means of
stopping the malicious false alarms with the guidance of the local fire service person-
nel. Requests for approval to disconnect a fire alarm system shall be made in writing
to the local fire chief or to the state fire marshal if not in a city of the first class. The
request shall include the times, dates, and exact locations of the facilities where the
malicious false alarms were initiated as well as all pertinent details regarding these in-
cidents and the effect they have on the educational process of the facility.

Subd. 2. The local fire chief or state fire inspector shall investigate the justifica-
tion for the requested disconnection of the fire alarm system. This investigation shall
be completed and its results transmitted to the state fire marshal within ten working
days of receipt of the request for deactivation of fire alarm.
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Subd. 3. The state fire marshal shall review each request for deactivation of fire
alarms together with the investigation report and shall either approve the request and
issue a permit stating the conditions and limitations under which it is approved, or
disapprove the request stating the reasons why it has been disapproved and what ad-
ditional action may be taken by the principal, headmaster, administrator, or supervi-
sor of the facility to eliminate or reduce malicious false alarms in the facility.

Subd. 4. The state fire marshal shall act on each request for disconnection of a
fire alarm system within 30 days. An interim permit with specific temporary measures
supervised by the local fire chief, fire marshal, or state fire inspector may be issued by
the state fire marshal to prevent malicious false alarms while the matter is being re-
viewed.

Subd. 5. Additional times beyond the limits set in subdivisions 2, 3, and 4 shall
be allowed officials acting on requests for disconnections of fire alarm systems wheri
it is reasonably necessary.

Subd. 6. Approval of deactivation of a fire alarm system shall be valid for a pe-
riod of three years or less. Conditions under which the request was approved shall be
observed by the facility.

[ 1976 c 155 4]

299F.46 ENFORCEMENT. Subdivision 1. It shall be the duty of the commis-
sioner of public safety to enforce all laws of the state, thereof, as follows:

(1) The prevention of fires;
(2) The storage, sale, and use of combustibles and explosives;

(3) The means and adequacy of exits, in case of fire, from churches, schools,
halls, theatres, amphitheatres, and all other places in which numbers of persons con-
gregate, from time to time, for any purpose; and

(4) The suppression of arson and investigation of the cause, origin, and circum-
stances of fire.

Subd. 2. (1) It shall be the duty of the commissioner to inspect, or cause to be in-
spected, at least once annually, every hotel in this state; and, for that purpose, he, or
any of his deputies, or designated subordinates, shall have the right to enter or have
access thereto at any reasonable hour; and, when, upon such inspection, it shall be
found that the hotel so inspected does not conform to or is not being operated in ac-
cordance with the provisions of Minnesota Statutes 1945, Sections 157.01 to 157.14, as
amended, in so far as the same relate to fire prevention or fire protection of hotels, or
the rules and regulations promulgated thereunder, or is being conducted in such man-
ner as to violate any other law of this state relating to fire prevention and fire protec-
tion of hotels, the commissioner and his deputies or designated alternates shall pro-
ceed as provided for in sections 157.01 to 157.14, or otherwise by statute.

(2) The word “‘hotel,” as used in this subdivision, means any building or other
structure, or any part thereof, kept, used, or maintained as, advertised as, or held out
to the public to be an inn, an hotel, or other place where sleeping accommodations are
furnished persons for hire, whether with or without meals, or a multiple dwelling
housing five or more families.

(3) All powers and duties in sections 157.01 to 157.14, which relate to fire pre-
vention and fire protection of hotels and which are by sections 157.01 to 157.14, now
conferred upon the hotel inspector, are hereby transferred to and vested in the com-
missioner.

[ 1911 ¢ 386 s 2; 1913 ¢c 564 5 2; 1949 c 469 s 1; 1969 ¢ 1129 art 10s 2 | (3288,
5950) '

299F.55 [ Repealed, 1976 ¢ 331 s 44 ]
NATURAL GAS PIPELINE SAFETY

299F.56 DEFINITIONS; NATURAL GAS PIPELINE SAFETY. Subdivision 1. As
used in sections 299F.56 to 299F .64 the terms defined in this section shall have the
meanings given them.

Subd. 2. “The Natural Gas Pipeline- Safety Act of 1968 of the United States”

shall mean Public Law 90-481, 82 Stat. 720, 90th Congress, S. 1166, approved August
12, 1968.
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Subd. 3. “Person” means any individual, firm, joint venture, partnership, corpo-
ration, association, municipality, cooperative association or joint stock association,
and includes any trustee, receiver, assignee, or personal representative thereof.

Subd. 4. “Gas” means natural gas, flammable gas or gas which is toxic or corro-
sive, except that “‘gas” shall not include liquefied petroleum gas.

Subd. 5. “Transportation of gas” means the gathering, transmission, or distribu-
tion of gas by pipeline or its storage; except that it shall not include any such trans-
portation of gas which is subject to the jurisdiction of the Federal Power Commission
under the Natural Gas Act of the United States, or the gathering of gas in those rural
locations which lie outside the limits of any incorporated or unincorporated city, town,
or any other designated residential or commercial area such as a subdivision, a busi-
ness or shopping center, a community development or any similar populated area
which the state fire marshal may define as a nonrural area.

Subd. 6. “Pipeline facilities”” includes, without limitation, new and existing pipe
rights of way and any equipment facility or building used in the transportation of gas
or the treatment of gas during the course of transportation, but “rights of way” as
used in sections 299F.56 to 299F.64 does not authorize the state fire marshal to pre-
scribe the location or routing of any pipeline facility. “Pipeline facilities’” shall not in-
clude any facilities subject to the jurisdiction of the Federal Power Commission under
the Natural Gas Act of the United States.

[ 1969 ¢c 988 s 1; 1973 c 123 art 55 7; 1975¢c 31 s 1]

299F.57 MINIMUM SAFETY STANDARDS. Subdivision 1. The state fire mar-
shal shall, by order, establish minimum safety standards for the transportation of gas
and pipeline facilities. Such standards may apply to the design, installation, inspec-
tion, testing, construction, extension, operation, replacement and maintenance of pipe-
line facilities. Standards affecting the design, installation, construction, initial inspec-
tion and initial testing shall not be applicable to pipeline facilities in existence on the
date such standards are adopted. Such safety standards shall be practicable and de-
signed to meet the need for pipeline safety. In prescribing such standards, the state
fire marshal shall consider:

(a) relevant available pipeline safety data;

(b) whether such standards are appropriate for the particular type of pipeline
transportation;

(¢) the reasonableness of any proposed standards;
(d) the extent to which any such standards will contribute to public safety; and

(e) the existing standards established by the Secretary of Transportation of the
United States pursuant to the Natural Gas Pipeline Safety Act of 1968 of the United
States.

Provided, however, that the state fire marshal shall not be empowered to adopt
any such standards as to the transportation of gas or to pipeline facilities which are
subject to the jurisdiction of the Federal Power Commission under the Natural Gas
Act of the United States.

Subd. 2. Any standards prescribed under this section, and amendments thereto,
shall become effective 30 days after the date of issuance of such standards unless the
state fire marshal, for good cause recited, determines an earlier or later effective date
is required as the result of the period reasonably necessary for compliance.

Subd. 3. The rulemaking, contested case and judicial review provisions of chap-
ter 15, shall apply to all orders establishing, amending, revoking, or waiving compli-
ance with, any standard established under sections 299F.56 to 299F.64 or any penalty
imposed under sections 299F.56 to 299F.64. The state fire marshal shall afford inter-
ested persons an opportunity to participate fully in the establishment of such safety
standards through submission of written data, views or arguments, with opportunity
to present oral testimony and argument.

Subd. 4. Whenever the state fire marshal shall find a particular facility to be haz-
ardous to life or property, he shall be empowered to require the person operating such
facility to take such steps necessary to remove such hazards.

Subd. 5. Upon application by any person engaged in the transportation of gas or
the operation of pipeline facilities, the state fire marshal may, after notice and oppor-
tunity for hearing and under such terms and conditions and to such extent as he
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deems appropriate, waive in whole or in part compliance with any standards estab-
lished under sections 299F.56 to 299F.64, if he determines that a waiver of compliance
with such standard is not inconsistent with gas pipeline safety. The state fire marshal
shall state his reasons for any such waiver.

[ 1969 ¢ 988 s 2; 1971 ¢ 24 5 32 )

299F.58 CERTIFICATIONS AND REPORTS. The state fire marshal is autho-
rized to make such certifications and reports to the United States Secretary of Trans-
portation as may be required from time to time under the Natural Gas Pipeline Safety
Act of 1968 of the United States.

[ 1969 ¢ 988 5 3 |

299F.59 COMPLIANCE WITH STANDARDS. Subdivision 1. Each person who
engages in the transportation of gas or who owns or operates pipeline facilities shall:

(a) at all times after the date any applicable safety standard established under
sections 299F.536 to 299F.64 takes effect comply with the requirements of such stan-
dard;

(b) file and comply with a plan of inspection and maintenance required by sec-
tions 299F .56 to 299F.64; and

(c) permit access to or copying of records, and make reports or provide informa-
tion, and permit entry or inspection, as required by sections 299F.56 to 299F.64.

Subd. 2. Nothing in sections 299F.56 to 299F.64 shall affect the common law or
statutory tort liability .of any person.

[ 1969 c 988 5 4]

299F.60 CIVIL PENALTIES. Subdivision 1. Any person who violates any provi-
sion of sections 299F.56 to 299F .64, or any regulation issued thereunder, shall be sub-
ject to a civil penalty to be imposed by the state fire marshal not to exceed $1,000 for
each such violation for each day that such violation persists, except that the maxi-
mum civil penalty shall not exceed $200,000 for any related series of violations.

Subd. 2. The state fire marshal may negotiate a compromise settlement of a civil
penalty. In determining the amount of such penalty, or the amount of the compromise
settlement, the state fire marshal shall consider the appropriateness of such penalty to
the size of the business of the person charged, the gravity of the violation, and the
good faith of the person charged in attempting to achieve compliance, after notifica-
tion of a violation. The contested case and judicial review provisions of chapter 15
shall apply to all orders of the state fire marshal imposing any penalty under sections
299F.56 to 299F.64 or under any regulation promulgated thereunder. The amount of
such penalty, when finally determined, may be deducted from any sums owing by the
state of Minnesota to the person charged.

Subd. 3. No person shall be subjected to civil penalties under both sections
299F .56 to 299F.64 and under Public Law 90-481, 82 Stat. 720, 90th Congress, S. 1166,
approved August 12, 1968, for conduct which may give rise to a violation of both acts.

Subd. 4. All penalties collected under sections 299F.56 to 299F.64 shall be paid
over to the state treasurer for deposit in the state treasury to the credit of the general
fund.

[ 1969 ¢ 399 s 1; 1969 ¢ 988 s 5; 1975 ¢c 31 5 2,3 ]

299F.61 INJUNCTIVE RELIEF. Subdivision 1. The district courts of the state
of Minnesota shall have jurisdiction, subject to the provisions of the statutes and the
rules of practice and procedure of the state of Minnesota relative to civil actions in
the district courts, to restrain violations of sections 299F.56 to 299F.64, including the
restraint of transportation of gas or the operation of a pipeline facility, or to enforce
standards established hereunder upon petition by the attorney general on behalf of the
state of Minnesota. Whénever practicable, the state fire marshal shall give notice to
any person against whom an action for injunctive relief is contemplated and afford
him an opportunity to present his views, and, except in the case of a knowing and
willful violation, shall afford him reasonable opportunity to achieve compliance. How-
ever, the failure to give such notice and afford such opportunity shall not preclude the
granting of appropriate relief.
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Subd. 2. Actions under sections 299F.56 to 299F.64 shall be brought in the dis-
trict in the state of Minnesota wherein the defendant's principal place of business is
located, and process in such cases may be served in any other district in the state of
Minnesota where the defendant may be found or of which the defendant is an inhabi-
tant or transacts business.

[ 1969 ¢ 988 s 6 ]

299F.62 PLAN FOR INSPECTION AND MAINTENANCE. Each person who en-
gages in the transportation of gas or who owns or operates pipeline facilities subject
to sections 299F.56 to 299F.64 shall file with the state fire marshal a plan for inspec-
tion and maintenance of each such pipeline facility owned or operated by such person,
and any changes in such plan, in accordance with the regulations prescribed by the
state fire marshal. If the state fire marshal finds that such plan is inadequate to
achieve safe operation, he shall, after notice and opportunity for a hearing, require
such plan to be revised. The plan required by the state fire marshal shall be practica-
ble and designed to meet the need for pipeline safety. In determining the adequacy of
any such plan, the state fire marshal shall consider the following: :

(a) relevant available pipeline safety data;

(b) whether the plan is appropriate for the particular type of pipeline transporta-
tion; ’ )

(c) the reasonableness of the plan; and

(d) the extent to which such plan will contribute to public safety.
[ 1969 c 988 s 7 ]

299F.63 RECORDS AND REPORTS; INSPECTIONS; TRADE SECRETS. Subdi-
vision 1. Kach person who engages in the transportation of gas or who owns or oper-
ates pipeline facilities shall establish and maintain such records, make such reports,
and provide such information as the state fire marshal may reasonably require to en-
able him to determine whether such person has acted or is acting in compliance with
sections 299F.56 to 299F.64 and the standards established under sections 299F.56 to
299F.64. Each such person shall, upon request of an officer, employee, or agent autho-
rized by the state fire marshal, permit such officer, employee, or agent to inspect
books, papers, records and documents relevant to determining whether such person
has acted or is acting in compliance with sections 299F.56 to 299F.64 and the stan-
dards established pursuant to sections 299F.56 to 299F.64. For purposes of enforce-
ment of sections 299F.56 to 299F.64, officers, employees, or agents authorized by the
state fire marshal, upon presenting appropriate credentials to the individual in charge,
are authorized to enter upon, at reasonable times, pipeline facilities, and to inspect, at
reasonable times and within reasonable limits and in a reasonable manner, such facili-
ties. Each such inspection shall be commenced and completed with reasonable
promptness.

Subd. 2. In the course of the exercise of his duties and responsibilities under sec-
tions 299F.56 to 299F.64, the state fire marshal shall wherever practicable employ a
practice of spot checking and issuance of certificates of compliance, with respect to
persons subject to sections 299F.56 to 299F.64, to limit costs of enforcement of the
safety standards established pursuant to sections 299F.56 to 299F.64.

Subd. 3. All information reported to or otherwise obtained by the state fire mar-
shal or his representative, which contains or relates to a trade secret, as referred to in
section 1905 of title 18 of the United States Code, or otherwise constitutes a trade se-
cret under law, shall be considered confidential for the purpose of such laws, except
that such information may be disclosed to’other officers or employees concerned with
carrying out sections 299F.56 to 299F.64 or when relevant in any proceeding under
sections 299F .56 to 299F.64.

[ 1969 ¢ 988 s 8 ]

299F.64 FEDERAL MONEYS. The state fire marshal may accept any and all
moneys provided ‘for or made available to this staté by the United States of America
or any department or agency thereof with respect to prescribing, setting, and enforc-
ing rules, regulations, and safety standards for the transportation of natural and other
gas by pipelines in accordance with the provisions of federal law and any rules or reg-
ulations promulgated thereunder and the state fire marshal is further authorized to do
any and all things, not contrary to the laws of this state, required of this state by such
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federal law and the rules and regulations promulgated thereunder in order to obtain
such federal moneys.
[ 1969 c 988 s 9]

CONTROLS OF EXPLOSIVES

299F.71 POLICY. The beneficial use of explosives has resulted in great savings
of time, labor, and money in the development of the state. However, existing laws and
regulations have not restricted explosives to those who would use or contribute to
their use for beneficial purposes. The inattentive care, indiscriminate and unrecorded
transfer and perverse use of explosives has resulted in death, grave personal injury,
and substantial property damage in this state; in addition, the resulting bombings and
bombing threats have terrorized and inconvenienced the public.

It is the policy of this state to require such controls of explosives and their com-
ponent parts from the time prior to manufacture through ultimate use as are neces-
sary to protect the safety and welfare of the public, without unduly restricting the le-
gitimate manufacture, sale, transport, and use of explosives.

[ 1971 c 8455 1}

299F.72 DEFINITIONS. Subdivision 1. For the purposes of Laws 1971, Chapter
845 the terms defined in this section have the meanings given them.

Subd. 2. “Explosive” means any compound or mixture, the primary or common
purpose of which is to function by explosion; that is, with substantially instantaneous
release of gas and heat; but shall not mean or include the components for handloading
rifle, pistol, and shotgun ammunition, and/or rifle, pistol and shotgun ammunition,
black powder, primers and fuses when used for ammunition and components for an-
tique or replica muzzleloading rifles, pistols, muskets, shotguns and cannons, or fire-
works as defined in section 624.20, nor shall it include any fertilizer product pos-
sessed, used or sold solely for a legitimate agricultural, forestry, conservation, or
horticultural purpose.

Subd. 3. “Explosive device” means any device so articulated that an ignition by
fire, by friction, by concussion, or by detonation of any part thereof may cause such
sudden generation of highly heated gases that the resultant gaseous pressures are ca-
pable of producing destructive effects, but shall not mean or include the components
- for handloading rifle, pistol and shotgun ammunition and/or rifle, pistol and shotgun
ammunition, black powder, primers and fuses when used for ammunition and compo-
nents for antique or replica muzzleloading rifles, pistols, muskets, shotguns and can-
nons, or fireworks as defined in section 624.20, nor shall it include any fertilizer prod-
uct possessed, used or sold solely for legitimate agricultural, forestry, conservation, or
horticultural purpose.

Subd. 4. “Incendiary device” means any device so articulated that ignition by
fire, friction, concussion, detonation, or other method may produce destructive effects
primarily through combustion rather than explosion, but shall not mean or include a
manufactured device or article in common use by the general public which is designed
to produce combustion for a lawful purpose, including but not limited to matches,
lighters, flares, and petroleum derivatives, nor shall it include any fertilizer product
possessed, used or sold solely for legitimate agricultural, forestry, conservation, or
horticultural purpose.

[ 1971 ¢ 8455 2 ]

299F,73 LICENSE REQUIRED. Subdivision 1. No person shall manufacture, as-
semble, warehouse or store explosives for purposes of wholesale or retail sale, or for
any other purpose other than for ultimate consumption without being licensed to do
so by the commissioner of public safety.

Subd. 2. In order to obtain the license herein required such person shall make
application to the commissioner of public safety. The application shall be on forms
provided by the commissioner of public safety and shall require such information as
he deems necessary including but not limited to the name, address, age, experience
and knowledge of the applicant in the use, handling, and storage of explosives and ex-
plosive devices, and whether the applicant is a person to whom no such license may
be issued pursuant to section 299F.77. The commissioner of public safety may refuse
to issue a license to any person who does not have sufficient knowledge of the use,
handling, or storage of explosives to protect the public safety. Any person aggrieved
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by the denial of a license may request a hearing before the commissioner of public
safety. The provisions of sections 15.0418 to 15.0426 shall apply to such hearing and
subsequent proceedings, if any.

[ 1971 ¢ 84553, 1975¢ 775 1]

299F.74 PERMIT REQUIRED. No person shall have in his possession explo-
sives, unless said person shall have obtained a valid license as provided in section
299F.73, or unless said person shall have obtained a valid permit for the use of explo-
sives as hereinafter provided. The transportation of an explosive by a common carrier
for hire shall not be deemed to be possession of an explosive for purposes of this sec-
tion. .

[ 1971 ¢ 8455 4 ]

299F.75 PERMIT APPLICATION. Subdivision 1. Any person desiring to pos-
sess explosives, other than a person licensed as provided in section 299F.73, shall
make application for a permit for the use of explosives to the appropriate local sheriff
or chief of police of a city of the first, second or third class, or such other person as is
designated by the commissioner of public safety, on a standardized form provided by
the commissioner of public safety.

Subd. 2. The application shall require the applicant’s name, address, purpose for
acquiring explosives, place of intended acquisition, quantity required, place and time
of intended use, place and means of storage until such use and whether the applicant
is a person to whom no such permit may be issued pursuant to section 299F.77. Any
person aggrieved by the denial of a permit may request a hearing before the commis-
sioner of public safety. The provisions of sections 15.0418 to 15.0426 shall apply to
such hearings and subsequent proceedings, if any.

Subd. 3. Prior to the storage of explosives, the applicant shall notify the appro-
priate local fire official.

[ 1971 c 8455 5; 1973¢c 1695 1; 1975¢c 775 2 )

299F.76 AFFIRMATION. Subdivision 1. A license or an explosives use permit
shall have printed thereon a statement underlined that the applicant affirms under
penalty of perjury that the information provided thereon is true to the best of his
knowledge and belief. No license or permit shall be issued unless the applicant signs
the application.

Subd. 2. Each license or permit issued pursuant to Laws 1971, Chapter 845 shall
be designated by number and shall otherwise be sufficient to identify a licensee or
permittee. A duplicate of the license or permit shall be retained by the issuing author-
ity. A license or permit shall not be issued for a period of time greater than one year,
but may be issued for shorter periods.

[ 1971 ¢ 8455 6]

299F.77 ISSUANCE OF A LICENSE OR PERMIT TO CERTAIN PERSONS
PROHIBITED. The following persons shall not be entitled to receive an explosives li-
cense or permit:

(a) Any person who within the past five years has been convicted of a felony or
gross misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, is on parole or probation therefor, or is
currently under indictment for any such crime;

(b) Any mentally ill person or any mentally deficient person as defined in section
253A.02 who has been confined or committed in Minnesota or elsewhere for a mental
disorder or defect to any hospital, mental institution or sanitarium, or who has been
certified by a medical doctor as being mentally ill or mentally deficient, unless he pos-
sesses a certificate of a medical doctor or psychiatrist licensed -to practice in this
state, or other satisfactory proof, that he is no longer suffering from this disability;

(¢) Any person who is or has been hospitalized or committed for treatment for
the habitual use of a narcotic drug, as defined in section 152.01, subdivision 10 or a
controlled substance, as defined in section 152.01, subdivision 4, or who has been cer-
tified by a medical doctor as being addicted to narcotic drugs or depressant or stimu-
lant drugs, unless he possesses a certificate of a medical doctor or psychiatrist li-
censed to practice in this state, or other satisfactory proof, that he is no longer
suffering from this disability;
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(d) Any person who by reason of the habitual and excessive use of intoxicating
liquors is incapable of managing himself or his affairs and who has been confined or
committed to any hospital, mental institution or sanitarium in this state or elsewhere
as an “inebriate person’ as defined in section 253A.02, or who has been certified by a
medical doctor as being addicted to alcohol, unless he possesses a certificate of a
medical doctor or psychiatrist licensed to practice in this state, or other satisfactory
proof, that he is no longer suffering from this disability;

(e) Any person under the age of 18 years.
[ 1971 ¢ 84555 7; 1973 ¢ 725 s 55; 1976 ¢ 2 s 120 ]

299F.78 TRANSFER. Subdivision 1. No person shall transfer explosives to an-
other unless the transferee shall display to the transferror a copy of a valid license or
use permit and proper identification, and unless said transferee shall present to the
transferror a signed standardized form provided by the commissioner of public safety,
acknowledging receipt of the quantity of explosives transferred, the identifying num-
bers of the same explosives, or if none, the identifying numbers of the primary con-
tainer from which the same explosives were distributed, and the serial number of the
use permit displayed, which receipt shall be kept among the transferror’s records until
authorized to dispose of it by the state fire marshal.

Subd. 2. No person shall purchase more than five pounds of black powder with-
out providing suitable identification and such other information as the commissioner
may require. The records shall be submitted to the local fire marshal designated in
section 299F.19, subdivision 4 at such times as the commissioner may by rule pre-
scribe and such records shall be open to the inspection of any peace officer acting in
the normal course of his duties as such.

[ 1971 c 8455 8 ]

299F.79 POSSESSION WITH INTENT. Whoever has in his possession one or
more of the components necessary to manufacture or assemble explosives, with the
intent to manufacture or assemble explosives, unless said person shall have a valid li-
cense or permit as provided by sections 299F.73 and 299F.75 may be sentenced to im-
prisonment for not more than five years.

[ 1971 ¢ 8455 9]

299F.80 POSSESSION WITHOUT A PERMIT. Subdivision 1. Except as pro-
vided in subdivision 2, whoever has in his possession explosives without a valid
license or permit may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than three years.

Subd. 2. Whoever has in his possession, dynamite or other explosives commonly
used for agricultural, forestry, conservation, industry or mining purposes, without a
valid license or permit, with intent to use the same for legitimate agricultural, fores-
try, conservation, industry or mining purposes, and in only such quantities as are rea-
sonably necessary for such intended use, may be sentenced to imprisonment for not
more than 90 days or to a payment of a fine of not more than $300 or both.

[ 1971 ¢ 8455 10] )

299F.81 [ Repealed, 1976 ¢ 124 s 10 |

299F.811 POSSESSION OF EXPLOSIVES OR INCENDIARY DEVICES. Who-
ever possesses, manufactures, or transports any explosive compound, timing or deto-
nating device for use with any explosive compound or incendiary device and either in-
tends to use the explosive or device to commit a crime or knows that another intends
to use the explosive or device to commit a crime, may be sentenced to imprisonment
for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than $5,000 or both.

[ 1976 c 1245 1)

299F.815 POSSESSION OF A CHEMICAL IGNITING DEVICE OR MOLOTOV
COCKTAIL. Subdivision 1. Whoever shall possess, manufacture, transport, or store a
chemical self-igniting device or a molotov cocktail with intent to use the same for any
unlawful purpose may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or
to payment of a fine of not more than $5,000 or both.

Subd. 2. For purposes of this section, “molotov cocktail” means any crude hand
grenade made of a bottle or container filled with a flammable liquid and fitted with an
ignition device. ‘

[ 1976 c 124 s 2]
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299F.82 ILLEGAL TRANSFER. Subdivision 1. Except as provided in subdivi-
sion 2, whoever illegally transfers an explosive to another may be sentenced to impris-
onment for not more than five years.

Subd. 2. Whoever illegally transfers dynamite or other explosives commonly
used for agricultural, forestry, conservation, industry or mining purposes to another,
personally known to the transferror, in the belief that the same shall be used for legiti-
mate agricultural, forestry, conservation, industry or mining purposes, and in only
such quantities as are reasonably necessary for such believed use, may be sentenced
to imprisonment for not more than 90 days or to payment of a fine of not more than
$300 or both.

[ 1971 c 845s 12]

299F.83 NEGLIGENT DISCHARGE. Whoever, acting with gross disregard for
human life or property, negligently causes an explosive, explosive device, or incendi-
ary device, to be discharged may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than ten
years. :

[ 1971 ¢ 8455 13}



