138.13 HISTORICAL SOCIETIES; SITES; ARCHIVES

ARCHIVES

138.13 MINNESOTA STATE ARCHIVES COMMISSION

The Minnesota state archives commission is authorized to employ personnel to carry out the powers of the act with funds appropriated therefor. The records clerk and the clerk-stenographer of the commission are in the classified service under state civil service. OAG Feb. 14, 1950 (644-B).

138.17 POWERS AND DUTIES OF THE COMMISSION

A records clerk and a clerk-stenographer of the Minnesota archives commission may be classified in the classified service of the state civil service. OAG Feb. 14, 1950 (644-B).

If the state archives commission should order any state records disposed of by committing the same to the custody of the state historical society, the said society in its disposition of such records would be bound by the six-year provision found in Laws 1947, Chapter 365. But there is nothing in the law which prevents the archives commission to exercise the powers conferred upon it in ordering the destruction, or other disposition as it sees fit, of state records less than six years old. OAG Aug. 27, 1947 (851-F).

It is not advisable to issue a blank order directing sale for salvage of all warrants over six years of age. It is a question of fact whether any reason exists for the preservation of old warrants and if any reasonable reason exists for keeping the warrants they should be kept and preserved. OAG Aug. 29, 1949 (851-F).

The state archives commission may order the destruction of all original bids, together with all documents pertaining to the award of a contract when such documents and papers are no longer of any value and for the preservation of which no reason exists. OAG July 17, 1952 (851-F).

· 138.24 Unnecessary.

CHAPTER 140

LAW LIBRARIES

140.03-140.18 Local, Hennepin county.

140.19-140.25 Local, Ramsey county.

140.30 FINANCING

A fee is collectible for an appearance by a petitioner in actions originating in Minnesota and for such appearance in actions initiated by another state and filed in the county. OAG March 4, 1952 (144-B-7).

140.34 ESTABLISHMENT OF COUNTY LAW LIBRARY

HISTORY. 1949 c 184 s 1.

140.35 WHO MAY USE

HISTORY. 1949 c 184 s 2.

140.36 MANAGEMENT

HISTORY. 1949 c 184 s 3.

364

365

LAW LIBRARIES 140.46

140.37 BOARD OF TRUSTEES, MEETING

HISTORY. 1949 c 184 s 4.

140.38 BYLAWS AND REGULATIONS

HISTORY. 1949 c 184 s 5.

140.39 REPORT TO COUNTY AUDITOR

HISTORY. 1949 c 184 s 6.

140.40 QUARTERS

HISTORY. 1949 c 184 s 7.

140.41 CONTRIBUTION FROM DISTRICT COURT CASES

HISTORY. 1949 c 184 s 8.

140.42 FEES, MUNICIPAL COURT CASES

HISTORY. 1949 c 184 s 9; 1953 c 523 s 1.

Where a judgment in the conciliation court is docketed in the municipal court by order of the conciliation judge, neither the clerk's fee nor the law library fee is collectible. OAG Aug. 1, 1952 (285-B).

A defendant in a civil action or proceeding does not institute that action or proceeding even though he may be the first to file a paper in the case. Allegation of a counterclaim does not institute an action or proceeding. The library fee of \$1 should be paid by the plaintiff when he files his first paper in the cause. OAG June 3, 1949 (306-B-4).

140.43 FEES, PROBATE COURT CASES

HISTORY. 1949 c 184 s 10; 1953 c 523 s 2.

The probate judge should collect for the county library fund \$1 for every proceeding for the determination of the descent of property, except in summary proceedings as provided in section 525.51. OAG June 30, 1951 (285-B).

140.435 JUDGE'S ORDER AS TO COLLECTION OF FEES

HISTORY. 1953 c 523 s 3.

140.44 DEPOSITS WITH COUNTY TREASURER

HISTORY. 1949 c 184 s 11.

140.45 EXISTING LIBRARIES; JOINT LAW LIBRARIES

HISTORY. 1949 c 184 s 12.

140.46 ANNUAL APPROPRIATION BY COUNTY BOARD

HISTORY. 1949 c 184 s 13.