MINNESOTA STATUTES 1941

147:01 PHYSICIANS AND SURGEONS

CHAPTER 147

PHYSICIANS AND SURGEONS

Sec.		
147.01	Board of medical examiners	
147 00	The second second the second s	

- Examination and license; revocation Licensing of physicians licensed by boards of 147.03 other states or national board of medical examiners
- Retaliatory provisions 147.04

1

- 147.05
- 147.06 board

Sec.	
147.07	Offenses
147.08	Record of licenses; report to secretary
147.09	Exemptions
147 10	Practicing without license: penalty

- 147 Practicing without license; penalty Physicians and surgeons prohibited from split-
- 147.11
- ting fees 147.12 Punishment for violation
- 147.13 Revocation of license
- Duty of secretary; moneys, how paid; com-pensation, expenses Licensing of itinerant physicians by state

147.01 BOARD OF MEDICAL EXAMINERS. There shall be created a state board of medical examiners, which shall consist of seven qualified resident physicians appointed by the governor in the manner hereinafter prescribed. The term of office of each member shall be seven years and until his successor shall qualify. One member shall continue in office until May 1, 1941; one member, until May 1, 1942; one member, until May 1, 1943; one member, until May 1, 1944; one member, until May 1, 1945; one member, until May 1, 1946; and one member, until May 1, 1947. Upon the expiration of the term of any member, the governor shall appoint a successor to the member whose term expires, for a term of seven years and until his successor shall qualify. Each year the council of the Minnesota state medical association, at least 30 days prior to May first, shall recommend to the governor three physicians qualified to serve on the state board of medical examiners, and from the list so recommended the governor may appoint one member to the board for the above prescribed term of seven years. Within 60 days after the occurrence of any vacancy in the board, the council of the Minnesota state medical association shall recommend to the governor three physicians qualified to serve on the board. From the list of persons so recommended the governor, within 30 days after receiving such recommendation, may appoint one member to the board for the unexpired term occasioned by such vacancy and any appointment thereto to fill a vacancy shall be made within 90 days after the occurrence of such vacancy for the balance of the unexpired term. The board shall elect from among its number a president, a vice-president, and a secretary-treasurer, who shall each serve for one year, or until his successor is elected and qualifies. The board shall have authority to prescribe such rules and regulations relative to the examination of applicants for license to practice medicine, surgery, and obstetrics as may be found necessary. The members of the board shall have authority to administer oaths and the board, in session, to take testimony as to matters pertaining to the duties of the board. Five members of the board shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business. The board shall have a common seal, which shall be kept by the secretary, whose duty it shall be to keep a record of all proceedings of the board, including a register of all applicants for license under this chapter, giving their names, addresses, ages, educational qualifications, and the result of their examination. These books and registers shall be prima facie evidence of all the matters therein recorded. The board shall hold examinations at the seat of government on the third Tuesday in January, April, June, and October each year and at such other times and places as it shall deem necessary.

[R. L. s. 2295; 1921 c. 68 s. 1; 1927 c. 188 s. 1] (5706)

147.02 EXAMINATION AND LICENSE; REVOCATION. A person not already authorized to practice medicine in the state and desiring so to do shall apply to the secretary of the state board of medical examiners for examination and pay a fee of \$20.00 for the use of the board, which in no case shall be refunded. At a time appointed, or at the next regular examination, he shall prove that he is of good moral character, that he has completed four entire sessions of not less than 36 weeks each at a medical school recognized by the board, and received the degree of M.D. or M.B. He shall be examined in surgery, medicine, obstetrics, eye, ear, nose, and throat, and such other branches as the board shall deem advisable. After

PHYSICIANS AND SURGEONS 147.05

such examination, the board, if five members thereof consent, shall grant him a license to practice medicine. The examination shall be both scientific and practical and thoroughly test the fitness of the candidate. The board may refuse to grant a license to, or may suspend or revoke the license of, any person guilty of immoral, dishonorable, or unprofessional conduct, but subject to the right of the applicant or licentiate to appeal to the district court in the proper county on the questions of law and fact.

The words "immoral, dishonorable, or unprofessional conduct," as used in this section, shall mean: (1) procuring, aiding, or abetting a criminal abortion; (2) advertising in any manner, either in his own name or under the name of another person or concern, actual or pretended, in any newspaper, pamphlet, circular, or other written or printed paper or document, professional superiority to or greater skill than that possessed by fellow physicians and surgeons. or the positive cure of any disease, or the curing of venereal diseases, the restoration of "lost manhood," the treatment of private disease, peculiar to men or women, or advertising or holding himself out to the public in any manner as a specialist in diseases of the sexual organs, or diseases caused by sexual weakness, self-abuse, or excessive indulgences, or the advertising of any medicine or any means whereby the monthly periods of women can be regulated or the menses reestablished, or being employed by or in the service of any person, concern, actual or pretended, so advertising, or in any manner creating a fear of private diseases: (3) the obtaining of any fee, or offering to accept a fee, on the assurance or promise that a manifestly incurable disease can be or will be cured; (4) wilfully betraying a professional secret; (5) habitual indulgence in the use of drugs; (6) conviction for wilfully violating any narcotic law; (7) conviction of an offense involving moral turpitude; (8) conviction of a felony: (9) conduct unbecoming a person licensed to practice medicine or detrimental to the best interests of the public.

[R. L. s. 2296; 1909 c. 474 s. 1; 1927 c. 188 s. 2; 1937 c. 203 s. 1] (5707)

147.03 LICENSING OF PHYSICIANS LICENSED BY BOARDS OF OTHER STATES OR NATIONAL BOARD OF MEDICAL EXAMINERS. The state board of medical examiners, either with or without examination, may grant a license to any physician licensed to practice by a similar board of another state or the national board of medical examiners who holds a certificate of registration showing that an examination has been made by the proper board, in which an average grade of not less than 75 per cent was awarded to the holder thereof, the applicant and holder of such certificate having been at the time of the examination the legal possessor of a diploma from a medical college in good standing in this state, which diploma may be accepted in lieu of an examination as evidence of qualification. In case the scope of the examination was less than that prescribed by this state, the applicant may be required to submit to an examination in such subjects as have not been covered. The fee for such examination shall be \$75.00.

A certificate of registration or license issued by the proper board of any state may be accepted as evidence of qualification for registration in this state; provided, the holder thereof was, at the time of such registration, the legal possessor of a diploma issued by a medical college in good standing in this state and that the date thereof was prior to the legal requirements of the examination test in this state. [1905 c. 236; 1913 c. 139 s. 1; 1919 c. 251 s. 1; 1927 c. 188 s. 3] (5709)

147.04 **RETALIATORY PROVISIONS.** If by the laws of any state or the rulings or decisions of the appropriate officers or boards thereof, any burden, obligation, requirement, disqualification, or disability is put upon physicians registered in this state or holding diplomas from medical colleges in this state which are in good standing therein, affecting the right of these physicians to be registered or admitted to practice in that state, then the same or like burdens, obligations, requirements, disqualification, or disability shall be put upon the registration in this state of physicians registered in that state or holding diplomas from medical colleges situated therein.

[1905 c. 236; 1913 c. 139 s. 2] (5710)

147.05 DUTY OF SECRETARY; MONEYS, HOW PAID; COMPENSATION, EXPENSES. The secretary of the state board of medical examiners shall provide blanks, books, certificates, and such stationery as is necessary for the transaction of the business pertaining to the duties of such board and all money received by the secretary shall be paid into the state treasury quarterly. The secretary of the

147.06 PHYSICIANS AND SURGEONS

board shall give a bond in the sum of \$10,000 to the State of Minnesota for the faithful performance of his duties. Each member of the board shall receive as compensation for his services the sum of \$10.00 per day, to be fixed by the board for each day he is in actual attendance at regular and special meetings of the board, and the secretary and other members of the board shall receive all expenses actually and necessarily incurred by them in attending such meetings. The secretary shall receive a salary of \$1,800 per annum, and the stenographer to the secretary a salary of \$900.00 per annum, payable monthly; and the sum of \$800.00 per annum shall be allowed the secretary for blanks, stationery, printing, and the maintenance of the office. The salary and expenses of the members of the board shall be paid quarterly, and the compensation and expenses of the secretary semiannually, by the state treasurer on warrants signed by the president and secretary, drawn by the state auditor on the state treasurer.

[1905 c. 236; 1913 c. 139 s. 4; 1921 c. 68 s. 2] (5712)

147.06 LICENSING OF ITINERANT PHYSICIANS BY STATE BOARD. Any physician practicing medicine, surgery, or obstetrics, or professing or attempting to treat, cure, or heal diseases, ailments, or injuries by any medicine, appliance, or method, who, by himself, agent or employee, goes from place to place, or from house to house, or, by circular letters or advertisement, solicits persons to meet him for professional treatment at places other than his regular office or residence, shall be considered an itinerant physician. Any such itinerant physician shall, in addition to his regular license to practice medicine in this state, procure from the state board of medical examiners a license as an itinerant physician. Any physician licensed to practice in this state desiring to secure a license as an itinerant physician shall make an application therefor to the state board of medical examiners setting forth in detail such information as the board may require. The board shall examine into the application, the qualifications, character, and reputation of the applicant, and the question as to whether the public interest will be subserved by the granting of such itinerant license; and, if it shall determine that such license should be granted, it shall pass a resolution to that effect, to be spread upon its minutes; and, upon the payment of \$300.00 to the secretary of the board, an itinerant physician's license shall be issued to the applicant for a period of one year from the date thereof; the secretary shall forthwith pay the license fee into the state treasury for the use of the board.

The board may cancel any itinerant physician's license so issued by it upon satisfactory evidence of the incompetency or gross immorality of the licensee.

[1911 c. 260 s. 1; 1917 c. 362 s. 1] (5713)

147.07 OFFENSES. Any person practicing medicine as an itinerant physician, as defined in section 147.06, without first having procured such license therefor, shall be guilty of a gross misdemeanor. Nothing in section 147.06 shall be considered to prevent any physician, otherwise legally qualified, from attending patients in any part of the state to whom he shall be called in the regular course of business, or in consultation with other physicians. Nothing in section 147.06 shall preclude licensed dentists or optometrists from the practice of their profession.

[1917 c. 362 s. 1] (5714)

147.08 **RECORD OF LICENSES; REPORT TO SECRETARY.** Before engaging in practice, the holder of a license shall file the same for record with the clerk of the district court in the county where he resides. Upon removal to another county, he shall there file his license in like manner before engaging in practice therein. Such clerk shall keep, in the record book of such licenses, an index thereof, showing the date and page of record, and in January each year furnish to the secretary of the board a list of licenses so filed. Upon notice to the clerk of the death or removal of a licensee, or of the revocation of a license, he shall note the same upon the record of such license.

[R. L. s. 2298] (5715)

147.09 EXEMPTIONS. This chapter shall not apply to commissioned surgeons of the United States army or navy, to physicians from other states in actual consultation here, or to students practicing under the direct supervision of a preceptor while they are enrolled in and regularly attending a recognized medical school.

[R. L. s. 2299] (5716)

147.10 PRACTICING WITHOUT LICENSE; PENALTY. Every person not heretofore authorized by law so to do who shall practice medicine in the state with-

out having obtained the license herein provided for, and every person who shall so practice contrary to any provision of this chapter, shall be guilty of a gross misdemeanor. Any person shall be regarded as practicing within the meaning of this chapter who shall append the letters M.D. or M.B. to his name, or for a fee prescribe, direct, or recommend for the use of any person, any drug, or medicine or other agency for the treatment of relief of any wound, fracture, or bodily injury, infirmity, or disease; provided, this section shall not apply to persons legally authorized to practice healing or excepted from the practice of healing in this state so long as they confine their activities within the scope of their respective licenses, nor to persons who endeavor to prevent or cure disease or suffering exclusively by mental or spiritual means or by prayer.

[R. L. s. 2300; 1927 c. 188 s. 4] (5717) 147.11 PHYSICIANS AND SURGEONS PROHIBITED FROM SPLITTING FEES. It shall be unlawful for any physician or surgeon to divide fees with, or to promise to pay a part of his fee to, or pay a commission to, any other physician or surgeon or person who calls him in consultation or sends patients to him for treatment or operation.

[1917 c. 365 s. 1] (5718)

147.12 PUNISHMENT FOR VIOLATION. Any physician or surgeon who pays or receives any money prohibited by section 147.11 shall be punished by a fine of not to exceed \$100.00, or by imprisonment in the county jail for not to exceed 90 davs.

[1917 c. 365 s. 2] (5719)

147.13 **REVOCATION OF LICENSE.** In case a physician or surgeon shall be convicted of violating any of the provisions of section 147.11, the state board of medical examiners, upon a first conviction, may, and, upon a subsequent conviction, shall, revoke the license of the person so convicted, but such revocation shall be subject to the right of the person whose license has been so revoked to appeal to the district court of the proper county on questions of law and fact.

[1917 c. 365 s. 3] (5720)