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102.01 NETS. MAY BE USED ONLY WHEN PERMITTED. Seines, gill nets, 
fykes, pounds, traps, set lines and other nets and devices may be set and used only 
as herein specially provided. The size limits fixed by chapters 97 to 102 for the 
taking of fish by angling shall apply to the taking of fish by means of nets and 
set lines in commercial fishing, the length of fish to be determined by measurement 
from the tip of the nose to the fork of the tail. Fish taken in licensed commercial 
fishing, as provided for in sections 102.01, 102.02, 102.05, and.102.07, may be shipped 
and sold either within or without the state. 

11919 c. 400 s. 97] (5593) 

102.02 NETTING IN CERTAIN INTERSTATE WATERS. Subdivision 1. 
Manner of taking. Fish, other than trout, pike, bass, pickerel, sunfish, yellow 
perch, crappies, sturgeon, and catfish under 15 inches in length,. bullheads under 
seven inches in length, may be taken in Lake St. Croix, and in the flowing waters 
of the Mississippi river beyond the mouth of the St. Croix river, including Lake 
Pepin, where these waters form a common boundary between this state and other 
states, between June fifteenth and April fifteenth following, by means of seines, 
fykes or hoop nets, gill nets, bait nets, set lines and turtle nets, provided a license 
to do so shall be first obtained from the director. No fishing for commercial pur­
poses under license shall be done in any of the waters described in this section 
except under the personal supervision of a duly commissioned game warden, one-
half of the salary and expense of the supervising warden to be paid by the licensee, 
and the total amount for salary and expense for the supervising warden to be 
paid by the licensee shall not exceed the sum of $2.00 per day, the supervising 
warden to be paid only for such time as he is actually employed, and more than one 
licensee may be supervised by the supervising warden during the same day, and 
the licensee so joining may join in the payment for these services. The provisions 
herein contained requiring supervision of commercial fishing by game wardens 
shall not apply to fishing with licensed set lines and shall not take effect and be 
in force as to the boundary waters between the state of Minnesota and the state 
of Wisconsin until the state of Wisconsin shall have enacted a similar law. The 
restrictions of this section as to open seasons for fishing and size of mesh nets shall 
not apply to lakes or streams on interstate boundaries, where the laws of the 
adjoining state are more favorable or less restrictive in these respects than are 
the laws of this state, but on such interstate waters the open season for fishing and 
the size of mesh of nets shall be the same as provided by the laws of the adjoining 
state where such laws are more favorable or less restrictive than the laws of this 
state. 

Subdivision 2. License, how procured; fees. Such license shall be procured 
from the director. The applicant shall make a verified application, in writing, to 
the director stating (1) his name and residence, (2) the kind, size, and number of 
seines or nets he proposes to use in such waters, and shall pay the following license 
fees: For each 100 feet of seine, not exceeding 500 feet in length, the sum of $1.00; 
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for each 100 feet of seine in excess of 500 feet, and not over 1,000 feet, the sum of . 
$2.00; for each 100 feet in excess of 1,000 feet, and not over 1,500 feet, the sum of 
$3.00; for each 100 feet of seine in excess of 1,500 feet, and not over 2,000 feet, the 
sum of $4.00; for each 100 feet of seine in excess of 2,000 feet, and not over 2,500 
feet, the sum of $5.00; for each 100 feet of seine in excess of 2,500 feet, and not over 
4,000 feet, the sum of $6.00; for each gill net not exceeding 500 feet in length, the 
sum of $2.50; for each gill net exceeding 500 feet in length, and not over 1,000 feet, 
the sum of $5.00; for each fyke or hoop net, the sum of $5.00; for-each bait or turtle 
net, the sum of $1.00; for each set line, the sum of $1.00; and for each metal tag 
furnished by the director, the sum of 25 cents. 

Subdivision 3. Size of mesh. No seine shall be over 4,000 feet long, and no gill 
net shall be over 1,000 feet long, and no two seines or gill nets shall be joined 
together in the water. The size of the mesh of nets, stretched measure, shall be 
as follows: 

Seines—Not less than five inches mesh on wings and not less than four inches 
mesh in the center of the pot, such pot not to exceed 150 feet in length; 

Hoop nets—Not less than six inehes mesh for the leaders and not less than 
five inches net for the hearts and not less than three inches mesh in the hoops oi 
pounds; 

Bait nets—Not less than three inches mesh; such nets shall be used without 
leads and shall have not more than a four-foot front; 

Gill nets—Not less than seven inches mesh. 
The use of floating or drift nets is hereby forbidden. 
Subdivision 4. Set lines; number of hooks. No person shall use or set more 

than one set line. No set line shall have more than 300 hooks. Frogs, live minnows, 
or other live bait shall not be used on the same, but dead minnows or other dead 
bait, except frogs, may be used. 

Subdivision 5. License, restrictions on issuance. No license shall be issued to 
any person who has been convicted of a violation of the laws of this state relating 
to wild animals within five years of his application,.nor to any person not a resident 
of this state. No such license shall be transferable. Before any such license is 
issued for any calendar year, the applicant shall furnish a bond to the state, approved 
by the director, in the sum of $200.00, with two sureties, conditioned upon compliance 
with all the provisions of chapters 97 to 102. Applicants for Minnesota set line 

• licenses need not furnish such bond until the state of Wisconsin shall require, by 
law or regulation, the furnishing of bonds by Wisconsin set line fishermen. Any 
license for a net of any kind hereunder shall become void unless the licensee 
devotes his personal attention to fishing thereunder. Personal attention to fishing is 
hereby defined to mean that the licensee shall, in person, attend to the drawing, 
setting, and lifting of each such net, sorting, caring for, and packing of fish caught 
therein at the station to which such fish are first brought, and to the marketing 
thereof. 

Subdivision 6. Metal tags attached. Metal tags shall be furnished by the direc­
tor to each person to whom a license is issued. One such tag shall be attached 
by the licensee to each set line, one to each 500 feet or fraction of gill net, one to 
each' 500 feet or fraction of seine, one to each fyke, hoop, bait, or turtle net so 
licensed, and shall be kept thereon during all the time the same are in use or in 
storage. 

11919 c. 400 s. 99; 1921 c. 71 s. 2; 1931 c. Silt s. 2; 1931 c. 399 ss. 12, IS, U, 
15, 16; 1939 C. 1581 (5595) PMl/$>"'^ 5,4 *>•<& 

102.03 BULLHEADS MAY BE TAKEN IN ITASCA COUNTY. Bulkheads may ' * 
be taken in Itasca county under the following restrictions: 

(1) Licenses to takexsuch bullheads by the use of fyke or hoop nets with hoops 
not to exceed four feet shalKbe issued for a fee of $5.00, provided each net shall be 
marked with a metal tag furnished by theyzfirector, and not more than four tags 
may be issued to any one licensees 

(2) No fishing under such licenses sjlall be permitted from the fifteenth day of 
June to the fifteenth day of August oJKjiny year; 

(3) The director shall by ordejj/decftire a group of not less than four lakes or 
more than six and such rivers or,portions thereof as may be deemed advisable in the 
territory open to the fishing ^herein providedhfor, which waters shall remain open 
for such fishing until closed'bV a further order of,the director; upon the closing of 
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any group, as above provided for, the director may open another group for such 
fishing; 

(4) No licenses shall beVranted to any non-resident of the state of Minnesota, 
nor to any person except thatne be able to satisfy tife director that he has sufficient 
knowledge of the lakes proposeaNto be fished to enable him to operate in those lakes 
without causing harm to game fish 

(5) Nets tagged pursuant to tfiis sectiop/shall not be set or raised hereunder 
except after sunrise and before sunset^qf ea<fti day; 

(6) The director shall establish a checking and weighing station where required 
and where all bullheads taken unde^thisNsection shall be brought and weighed; 
one cent per pound dressed weigh^on all buiUieads taken hereunder shall be paid 
to the director, to be by him paidinto the state^treasury, to be credited in turn to 
the fish lakes improvement revolving fund; 

(7) The director is hereby authorized to promulgate such rules and regulations 
as may be necessary or desirable in carrying out the purposes of sections 101.14 and 
102.03, and is authorized to impose such further restrictions and regulations as may 
be necessary to prevent the undue depletion of the species hereby affected. 

11939 c. 380 s. 2] (5574-5) 
102.04 MUSSELS; OPEN SEASON; SIZE; SALE. Subdivision 1. Time of tak­

ing. Mussels, not less than one and three-quarters inches in greatest dimensions, 
including the pearly fresh water mussel or clam, or Naiad and the shells thereof, 
may be taken and possessed in any quantity at any time, except between March first 
and May fifteenth, subject to such other provisions of laws or rules, regulations 
or orders provided thereby, relating to the taking thereof, in the manner hereafter 
described, in any of the waters of this state except those duly closed by the director, 
provided a license so to do shall first be obtained from the director. Such mussels 
may be bought, sold, or transported at any time. 

Subdivision 2. Areas closed to mussel taking. The director may, when in his 
judgment the conservation of the mussel resources of the state require it, prescribe 
areas from which mussels may not be taken for a specified period or not to exceed 
five years, such closed areas not to exceed over one-half the mussel-producing 
waters of the state at the same time. All orders of the director prescribing such 
closed areas shall be published once in a newspaper qualified to publish legal notices 
within each county having waters within its boundaries affected by the order, and 
shall take effect at the time fixed therein, but not earlier than 30 days after publi­
cation. The director may, when in his judgment conditions warrant it, vacate, 
modify, or extend any such order. No mussels shall be taken from waters included 
in any area so closed by him. 

Subdivision 3. Mussel licenses; how procured; form; fees. Such license shall 
be procured from the director and may be issued to a resident or non-resident. It 
shall be in such form as he may determine, but shall state what waters have been 
closed by his action to the taking of mussels, and whether the licensee is a resident 
of this state, and whether he has been licensed to use a dredge. The applicant shall 
pay to the director as a license fee, if a resident, the sum of $5.00, and if not a 
resident, the sum of $50.00; and, in addition thereto, the sum of $25.00 for permis­
sion to use a dredge. All licenses shall expire on the thirty-first day of December 
following. Licensees, when taking mussels, shall exhibit their licenses to any game 
warden, upon his request. 

Subdivision 4. Mussels; manner of taking. Not more than one boat or rig 
may be used for taking mussels. An additional boat for towing may be used when 
no mussel-taking apparatus is attached thereto. Not more than four crow-foot bars, 
or bars having hooks attached thereto adapted for the taking of mussels, shall be 
had in possession by a licensee while taking mussels at any one time, and not more 
than two of such crow-foot bars shall be placed in the water by a licensee while 
taking mussels, at any one time. No crow-foot bar of more than 20 feet in length 
shall be used. Not more than one dredging apparatus shall be used, and no dredge, 
the openings of which are more than three feet in length, or the prongs or forks of 
which are more than four inches, shall be used. No dredge shall be used unless a 
license for that purpose has been obtained from the director. Pitchforks may be 
used in gathering clam-shells. Undersized mussels, except pig-toes, shall be returned 
to the water without injury. 
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Subdivision 5. Reports to director. Written reports shall be made to the direc­
tor, on blanks prepared by him, on or before December thirty-first, by each person 
to whom a license to take mussels has been issued, stating the total weight of 
mussels taken under authority of such license, the names and locations of the 
waters from which such mussels were taken, and the total amount received for 
the mussels sold. 

Subdivision 6. Wisconsin licenses; reciprocity. Persons duly authorized by the 
state of Wisconsin to take mussels from waters forming a common boundary 
between Minnesota and Wisconsin may take mussels from that portion of those 
waters within the jurisdiction of Minnesota and not closed by action of the director, 
without having first procured a license therefor from the State of Minnesota, pro­
vided that the laws of Wisconsin extend a similar privilege to persons licensed by 
Minnesota to take mussels. 

11919 c. IfOO s. 100; 1937 c. 373 s. 1; 1939 c. 941 (5596) £~«-/j'/ $ ') 7S- / 
102.05 NETTING IN MISSISSIPPI RIVER; LICENSE. Subdivision 1. Size i),y*t 

of nets. Pound nets with leaders not exceeding 75 feet in length, seines not exceed- f /, , / 
ing 300 feet in length, dip nets and set lines having not more than 300 hooks, may '' , f ' ' V. 
be used in the flowing waters of the Mississippi river, from the Falls of St. Anthony.12^''"1 ' '•*"' 
to a point 1,000 feet below the St. Croix river, and in the flowing waters of the 
Minnesota river from its mouth to Mankato, to take sheepshead, redhorse, dogfish, 
buffaloflsh, catfish, carp, and suckers, except from April fifteenth to June fifteenth, 
provided a license shall be first procured for that purpose from the director. Seines 
so used shall have meshes of not less than two and one-half inches on the bar and 
not less than five inches when extended and shall not be used within 500 feet of the 
mouth of any stream. The applicant shall make a written application to the director 
stating (1) his name and residence, and (2) the place where it is proposed to use nets 
or seines, and shall pay a license fee of $5.00 for each pound or dip net licensed to 
be used, the sum of $10.00 for each seine net licensed to be used, and the sum of 
$1.00 for each set line so licensed. The licensee shall not change the location of his 
net or seine from the place specified in his application without notifying the director 
to that effect. No person shall use more than one set line. 

Subdivision'^. Revocation of license. No such license shall be issued to any 
person who has been convicted of a violation of the laws of this state relating to 
wild animals within one year preceding his application, nor to any person not a 
resident of this state. No such license shall be transferable. 

Subdivision 4}. Bond required before license issued. Before any such license 
is issued, the applicant shall furnish a bond to the state, approved by the director, 
in the sum of $200.00, with two sureties, conditioned upon compliance with all the 
provisions of this-chapter. 

Subdivision^- Nets, raising of. Nets shall not be raised or laid out or landed 
between one hour after sunset and sunrise the following morning. Every pound net 
must be raised at least once in seven days. Temporary fish ponds may be erected 
to keep fish lawfully caught under such license until the same be marketed. Fish 
so taken may be shipped to points within or without this state at any time and in 
any quantity. , 

Subdivision i i Seines not. to be joined. No two seines shall be joined together 
in the water. Every seine when placed in the water shall be hauled to a landing 
immediately. The placing of any seine so as to obstruct the passage of fish either 
up or down any stream is hereby prohibited. 

[1919 c. 1,00 s. 101; 1921 c. 71 s. 1; 1931 c. 399 s. 171 (5597) 
102.06 OPEN SEASON FOR FISHING. Subdivision 1. What kinds of fish 

may be netted. Any variety of fish, except black bass, rockbass, muskellunge, 
crappies, sturgeon, and sunfish may be taken by residents of Minnesota who are 
citizens of the United States, by means of pound nets, gill nets and fyke nets, except 
during the months of January to May, in Lake of the Woods and during the months 
of November, April, and the first 15 days in May in Rainy Lake and Namekan 
Lake, provided a license to do so shall first be obtained from the director. If the 
season for the commercial taking of any such fish shall be open in the Canadian 
portion of Rainy Lake and Namekan Lake during any time when the season is 
closed in the Minnesota portion thereof, as herein provided, the director may, in 
his discretion, open the season in the Minnesota portion of these waters during all 
or any part of such Canadian open season. The director may, by order, prohibit 
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the taking of tullibees during the months of November and December from Lake 
of the Woods whenever the numbers of these fish are reduced to a point where, 
in his judgment, the additional protection so extended is necessary to protect that 
species, against undue depletion. 

Subdivision 2. Licenses; fees." Such license shall be procured from the director. 
The applicant shall make a written application to the director, stating the location 
in which he desires to fish, and size, and kind of each net he proposes to use, and 
shall pay the following license fees: 

(1) For each pound net, the sum of $35.00; 
(2) For fyke nets with four-foot hoop or less, the sum of $5.00, over four to six-

foot hoop the sum of $10.00, over six to eight-foot hoop, the sum of $15.00; 
(3) In Lake of the Woods the fees for fyke nets shall be as follows, according 

to the height of the wings and lead, based on whichever thereof is the highest, four 
feet or less $5.00, and an additional $5.00 for each additional two feet or fraction 
thereof, but not exceeding $25.00 for any one net; 

(4) For each 100 feet of gill net, the sum of $1.50; 
(5) In addition to the foregoing fees, each licensed fisherman on the Lake of 

the Woods shall pay the sum of $20.00 each year, which sum shall be so earmarked 
when remitted to and deposited in the state treasury and credited to the proper 
fund as to be available only for the maintenance and operation of the state-owned 
fish hatchery located at Baudette, Minnesota, in Lake of the Woods county, and the 
sum so earmarked may be used only for the operation and maintenance of this 
hatchery. 

If a license is revoked or canceled, it shall not be issued to any other applicant 
during the year for which it was originally issued. No license herein provided for 
shall be granted an applicant until the director is satisfied that the applicant has 
equipped himself in accordance with the requirements of this section as hereinafter 
provided. 

Subdivision 3. Size of nets and mesh. The size of the nets and the size of 
mesh of nets shall be as follows: Pound nets, not less than one and one-half inches 
bar measure or three inches stretched measure in the pound. Pound nets may be 
set in strings in Lake of the Woods, but there shall not be more than two nets to 
each such string. The shore lead shall not exceed 60 rods and the leads between 
the pots shall not exceed 50 rods. A licensee shall not set single pound nets or a 
string of two pound nets, less than 2,500 feet from another single pound net or 
string of pound nets, either of his own or from the nets of some pound net licensee. 
Only one pound net licensee shall fish his pound nets in the same section of water, 
nor shall more than one such licensee operate from, sort his fish in, or in any other 
way pertaining to his fishing enterprise, use the same pound net station. In lakes 
other than Lake of the Woods, not more than one license shall be issued for any 
one section. A pound net licensee shall remove from the water all his pound net 
stakes, to which his nets have been attached, before December 30th in the year of 
his license. If a pound net licensee intends to operate his pound nets during the 
winter season he may have such stakes as he intends to use, in the water, provided 
he has first secured in writing the permission of the director so to do. 

Gill nets: Not less than four inches stretched measure for taking pickerel, wall­
eyed pike, saugers or sand pike, and perch, and not less than five inches for taking 
whitefish. There shall be no limitation on the length of any gill net excepting the 
limit provided in the license of the user, but no gill net used shall have a greater 
depth than 50 meshes. No gill net shall be set within 2,500 feet of a duly licensed 
pound net provided the pound net is in its rightful location under license, and is in 
operation. No person who is not himself -the holder of a gill net license under this 
chapter, except he be the holder of a "helper's license," as hereinafter provided, 
shall in any manner assist any holder of such license in setting, lifting, or otherwise 
operating any gill net for taking fish under this section. In the event of the holder 
of a gill net license becoming incapacitated, the local game warden may authorize 
some person to lift any net that may have been set by the holder of such license. 

Fyke nets: Not less than two inches extension measure. The hoop of such nets 
shall not be more than eight feet in height. The wings leading from the hoop shall 
not be more than 100 feet in length and these wings shall not be any higher than 
the hoop. It shall be optional with the user of fyke nets to use either wings or one 
lead, or both, but the lead shall not be more than 300 feet in length and no higher 
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than the hoop; provided, that in waters of Lake of the Woods there shall be no 
restrictions as to height of leads or wings on fyke nets, and leads may be not more 
than 400 feet in length. 

Subdivision 4. Limitation on use of nets. Licenses for more than six pound 
nets, or for more than 4,000 feet of gill nets or for more than ten fyke nets shall 
not be issued to any one applicant, provided that license for only 1,000 feet of gill 
net shall be issued to anyone having a license for 10 fyke nets; provided, that a 
license for only six fyke nets shall be issued to anyone having a license for more 
than 1,000 feet of gill nets. No licensee shall operate more than one pound net 
station, nor shall such licensee be interested, directly or indirectly, either by contract, 
lease, or otherwise, in the ownership, control, or operation of any other station than 
his own. A pound net station is the buildings, where and in which a pound net 
licensee keeps his fishing equipment, nets, and boats and sorts or preserves his fish. 
No pound net license shall be granted until the applicant shall have satisfied the 
director that he has equipped himself with a pound net station. An applicant may 
lease a station and equipment from anyone who is not a pound net licensee. No 
pound net licensee shall use, or permit to be used, his fishing equipment, nets, or 
boats at any such station other than his own, or the one he operates under a lease, 
except in cases of emergency. Each licensee shall designate in his application the 
approximate location at which he intends to set gill, pound or fyke nets and he 
shall not set the same elsewhere, except with the consent of the director. Licenses 
shall not be issued in excess of the following for each body of water named: 

Lake of the Woods: 60 pound nets, 90,000 feet of gill nets, 100 fyke nets; 
Rainy Lake: 20 pound nets, 20,000 feet of gill nets; 
Namekan Lake: 5 pound nets, 12,000 feet of gill nets. 
Subdivision 5. Limitation on granting of licenses. No person shall be granted 

licenses to fish both pound and gill nets, or pound and fyke nets, but holders of gill 
net licenses may be licensed to fish fyke nets. All licenses for pound, gill, or fyke 
nets shall become void and nets used under such license shall be subject to seizure 
and confiscation, and license revert to the state, except as hereinafter specified, 
unless the licensee devotes his personal attention to fishing under such licenses. 
Unless a licensee begins fishing his nets within 30 days after the opening of the 
season, his license shall be canceled by the director. Personal attention to fishing is 
hereby defined to mean that the licensee shall, in person, attend to the sorting, 
caring for, and packing of fish caught in his nets in the station to which the fish are 
first brought, and to the marketing thereof, with such assistance as he may need 
to carry on his fishing enterprise. The provisions of this paragraph relating to the 
holding of both pound, gill and fyke nets by the same licensee, shall not apply to 
Rainy Lake and tributary waters thereof. 

Subdivision 6. Licenses not transferable. No license issued hereunder shall 
be transferable and an assignment or attempted transfer of any rights under such 
license shall subject it to cancelation. No licensee shall assign, transfer, or attempt 
so to do, any license or any rights therein issued to him. A commercial fisherman 
holding a license to fish shall not sell in his own name any fish caught by another 
such licensee, or caught by anyone not holding such a license. Every person assist­
ing the holder of a commercial fishing license, except another licensed commercial 
fisherman, in going to and from the fishing locations or who assists in setting and 
lifting of nets or removal of fish from nets shall have a license so to do, which 
license shall be designated as a "helper's license" which shall be procured by the 
holder of a commercial fishing license and for which there shall be paid the sum of 
$1.00. These licenses may be transferred upon application made by the holder of 
the commercial fishing license without any additional charge. Application for the 
helper's license shall be made to the director and shall give the name and residence 
of the applicant, name of the person holding the commercial fishing license employ­
ing him, if a resident of Minnesota and a citizen of the United States. No such 
license shall be issued for any non-resident or for any alien who has not duly 
declared his intention of becoming a citizen of the United States or who has failed 
to qualify as a citizen within the length of time in which he may legally do so. 

Subdivision 7. Metal tags on nets. Numbered metal tags shall be furnished 
by the director to each person to whom a license is issued. One such tag shall be 
attached by the licensee to each pound and fyke net and two tags to each gang of 
gill net, and shall be kept thereon during all the time the same are in use. The year 
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for which the licenses are issued shall be stamped on each metal tag. Any pound, 
fyke, or gill nets fished without tags shall be contraband and subject to confiscation. 

All gill net licenses may have double the amount of gill nets authorized for the 
taking of pike and for the taking of white fish in running feet in his possession 
that his license calls for, but no more; but he shall at no time fish any more nets than 
the amount stated in his license. The director shall issue two metal tags, numbered 
and stamped "A" for each 1,000 feet of gill net granted an applicant, and two tags, 
numbered and stamped "B" for an additional 1,000 feet of gill net the owner of a 
license is allowed to have in his possession. If a licensee desires to fish strings of 
gill nets shorter than 1,000 feet he may make application in writing to the director 
for "A" and "B" tags for such length of net that he wished to operate, and the 
director may issue such additional tags. These tags shall be fastened to a buoy 
attached to each end of each 1,000 feet of net, said buoy to extend at least two feet 
above water when the net is in use, with a white flag not less than 12 by 12 inches 
at the top end of each buoy. These tags, "A" and "B," as the case may be, shall 
be on the buoys of the nets that are in the water fishing and on the nets that are on 
the shore drying, and the tags on the gangs of nets shall be so attached as to. be 
visible when the nets are in boxes or on the net reel. Any nets not tagged in the 
possession of a licensee, in his boat or building, or on his premises, shall be contra­
band, and the same may be confiscated. 

Subdivision 8. Where nets may not be set. No net shall be used or set within 
500 feet of the mouth of any stream, nor any net within two miles of the mouth 
of the Warroad River in Lake of the Woods. The mouth of the Warroad River in 
Lake of the Woods is hereby designated and fixed at the outside end of the break­
water therein. No nets shall be used within two miles of the mouth of Rainy River. 
The mouth of the Rainy River is hereby designated and fixed at a point in the 
international boundary line east of the eastern extremity of Oak Point. This limit 
shall not apply to Four Mile Bay. No nets shall be used within 80 rods of Morris' 
Gap in Lake of the Woods. Morris' Gap is hereby designated as the span of water 
between the easterly tip of Morris' Point and the westerly tip of Pine Island. No 
nets shall be used elsewhere than as stated in the license, except the written consent 
of the director be first obtained. Fish houses may be erected and used in such fish­
ing, subject to the laws relating to fish houses in other waters. 

Subdivision 9. When fish may be sold. Fish so taken may be had in possession, 
transported, bought, and sold during such fishing season, and may be transported, 
possessed, bought, and sold, but not taken, for a period of seven days after the 
close of the fishing season. Such fish may be frozen or cured during the open 
season and the frozen or cured fish may be transported, bought, and sold at any 
time. 

Subdivision 10. Who may remove nets. No person other than the licensee or 
his agent, shall take or remove any fish nets duly licensed hereunder by the director, 
nor remove any fish from such nets, nor shall any person knowingly injure, obstruct, 
disturb, or interfere with such nets. A licensee shall not, knowingly, set his fyke 
nets, or his gang of gill nets within 500 feet from another licensee's fyke or gill 
nets, provided such fyke or gill nets are in their rightful place in the water and 
fishing. 

Subdivision 11. Reports made to director. Written reports, on or before 15 
days after the close of each season herein named, shall be made to the director on 
blanks prepared by him, at the end of each season, stating in detail the total amount 
and kinds of fish caught, the amount for which such fish were sold, and the total 
value of each kind. A licensee who wilfully fails or neglects to make these reports 
shall not be granted a license, as. provided for in this section, for one year thereafter. 

Subdivision 12. Licensees to take fish eggs for propagation. All persons 
licensed to take fish for commercial purposes in international waters shall, as a 
condition of such licenses, when requested of them by the director, and when it can 
be done in connection with licensed commercial fishing, take eggs of fish for propa­
gation purposes under such rules and regulations as the director may prescribe. 

Subdivision 13. Licenses required for domestic use of nets. The director shall 
grant all applications for license to fish not to exceed 100 feet of gill net or one 
fyke net in Lake of the Woods, and Rainy Lake, for domestic use of the applicant 
and his family, irrespective of the provisions of the section covering the amount 
of gill and fyke nets to be used in commercial fishing, if the applicant is otherwise 
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entitled to a license, but no such licenses shall be granted to any commercial 
fisherman. 

Subdivision 14. Sturgeon season may be closed by director. The director is 
hereby authorized to close the season when sturgeon may be taken to conform with 
the laws or rules of the department of game and. fish of the province of Ontario, 
Canada. 

Subdivision 15. International waters ; licenses; fees. No person, company, or 
corporation shall engage in the business of buying fish direct from the licensed 
fisherman operating under commercial fishing licenses in international waters for 
the purpose of shipping and reselling such fish, and no fish peddler shall engage in 
the business of peddling such fish until he, or they, as the case may be, shall have 
procured a license to do so from the director. 

Fees payable to the director for such license shall be as follows: For a wholesale 
fish buyer's license who buys his fish direct from licensed fishermen, $25.00; for 
a resident fish buyer's license who ships such fish from one place to another on 
international waters only $10.00; for a fish peddler's license who peddles such fish 
with the use of a motor vehicle, $5.00. Such fish buyers' licenses shall be issued 
for the commercial fishing period in international waters, but no such license shall 
be required.by a commercial fisherman who sells or peddles his own fish. All fish 
buyers shall furnish to the director such reports as he may require for statistical 
purposes, on blanks furnished them for that purpose. 

Subdivision 16. Licensee to keep records. Any person, company, or corpora­
tion granted a license to buy fish shall keep books and records which shall correctly 
set forth the names of those persons from whom fish are bought, the amount and 
kind of fish bought, with the amount paid for each kind of fish. 

Subdivision 17. Inspection of premises. A fish buyer's licensee shall, at all 
reasonable hours, allow the director, or any authorized employee of the division of 
game and fish, to enter and inspect the premises and buildings where fish buying 
is being carried oh under this section and to inspect the books and records of such 
licensee relating thereto. 

Subdivision 18. Limitation on size of fish taken. No fish shall be taken in inter­
national waters, killed, possessed, bought, or sold, of less size than hereinafter 
provided. All such undersized fish shall be returned unharmed to the water imme­
diately upon being taken from the net. Whitefish, not less than 16 inches in length; 
wall-eyed pike, not less than 15 inches in length; and pickerel, not less than 18 inches 
in length; and sand pike or sauger, not less than 12 inches in length; perch, not less 
than eight inches in length; bullheads not less than ten inches in length, measure­
ments to be made from tip of the nose to fork of tail. In Lake of the Woods no 
wall-eyed pike longer than 27 inches may be possessed, bought, or sold. 

Subdivision 19. Dead fish or offal, leaving of forbidden. No one shall throw 
overboard, carry, leave, or deposit, or cause to be thrown overboard, carried, left, 
or deposited, in international waters, upon the shore, beach, or bank or upon any 
island of these waters, dead fish, remains or offal of fish, or leave decayed or decay­
ing fish in any net; provided, that such dead fish, remains, or offal thereof, may 
be buried ashore, or may be disposed of in such manner as the director may 
prescribe. 

Subdivision 20. Violations; penalties. A person who buys, offers to buy, sells, 
offers for sale, takes, possesses, or transports any fish in violation of this section, 
or who violates any provision of, or fails to perform any duty imposed by, this sec­
tion, or any person who attempts to do so, is guilty of a misdemeanor; and, upon 
conviction thereof, shall be punished by a fine of not less than $50.00 or imprison­
ment in the county jail for not less than 60 days. Upon conviction of any person for 
any violation under any license issued to such person under this section such person 
shall pay a fine of not less than $50.00 or imprisonment in the county jail for not 
less than 60 days; and, upon conviction, any license issued to any person under this 
section shall become null and void and no such license shall be issued to any such 
person for a period of one year from such conviction, unless the director shall find 
that the re-issuance or reinstatement of any such license shall not conflict with the 
public interest. 

Subdivision 21. Nuisance; seizure and confiscation of property. Possession of 
any net or equipment declared illegal under the provisions of this section by any 
person at any place within ten roiles of any portion of the Lake of the Woods, Rainy 
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Lake, or Namekan Lake shall be unlawful and subject to seizure when found. All 
equipment, including boats, motors, and motor-boats, used and possessed in viola­
tion of the provisions of this section are hereby declared to be a public nuisance and 
subject to seizure and confiscation in accordance with law and the provisions of this 
section. All motors and motor-boats declared to be a public nuisance under the pro­
visions of this section, shall be seized and held subject to the order of the district 
court of the county in which the offense was committed and may be confiscated 
after conviction, if the court shall so direct; provided, that the director, his deputy 
or game wardens or agents, prior to any order directing confiscation, shall have 
made and filed with the court a separate complaint against the property, describing 
the same and charging the use thereof in violation of the provisions of this section, 
specifying substantially the time and place of the unlawful use. A copy of the 
complaint shall be served upon the defendant or person in charge of the property 
at the time of seizure, if any. If the person so arrested shall be acquitted, the court 
shall dismiss the complaint against the property and order the same returned to 
the persons legally entitled thereto. Upon conviction of any person so arrested, the 
court shall issue an order directed to any person known or believed to have any 
right or title or interest in or lien upon any such property and to persons unknown 
claiming any such right, title, interest or lien, describing the property and stating 
that the same was seized and that a complaint against the same charging violation 
of the provisions of this section has been filed with the court and requiring such 
persons to file with the clerk of the court their answer to the complaint, setting 
forth any claim they may have to any right or title to or interest in or lien upon 
any such property within ten days after the service of the order, as herein provided, 
and notifying them in substance that, if they fail to so file their answer within that 
time, the property will be ordered sold by the director, or his agents, and the pro­
ceeds of the sale paid in to the state treasury and credited to the game and fish fund. 
The court shall cause this order to be served upon any such person known or believed 
to have any such right, title, interest or lien as in the case of a summons in a civil 
action and upon unknown persons by publication as provided for service of sum­
mons in a civil action. If no answer is filed as within the time prescribed, the court 
shall, upon affidavit by the clerk of the court being filed in his office setting forth 
that fact, order the property sold by the director, or his agents, and the proceeds 
of the sale, after deducting the expense of keeping the property and fees and costs 
of sale, paid in to the state treasury and credited to the game and fish fund. If 
answer is filed as and within the time herein provided, -the court shall fix a time for 
hearing, which shall be not less than ten, nor more than 30, days after the time for 
filing answer expires. At the time so fixed for hearing, unless continued for cause, 
the matter shall be heard and determined by the court without a jury as other civil 
actions. If the court shall find that the property, or any part thereof, was used in 
violation of the provisions of this section, he shall order the property so unlawfully 
used sold as herein provided unless the owner shall show to the satisfaction of the 
court that he had no notice or knowledge or reason to believe that the property 
was used, or intended to be used, in violation of this section. The officer making 
any such sale, after deducting the expense of keeping the property, the fee for 
seizure and the costs of the sale, shall pay all liens according to their priority which 
are established at the hearing as being bona fide and as existing without the lienor 
having any notice or knowledge that any such property was being used, or was to 
be used, for or in connection with any violation of this section and shall pay the 
balance of the proceeds in to the state treasury, there to be credited to the game 
and fish fund. Any sale under the provisions of this section shall operate to free 
the property sold from any and all liens thereon. An appeal from such order of 
the district court will lie to the supreme court as in other civil actions. 

Subdivision 22. Shipments plainly marked. No person shall ship, by common 
carrier within or without the state, any fish of any variety in any package, sack, 
box, crate, trunk, or other receptacle or covering unless there shall be plainly 
marked on the same the name and address of the consignor and consignee with the 
number of pounds of each kind of fish contained therein. 

[1919 c. 400 s. 102; 1923 c. 3^9 s. 1; 1925 c. 195; 1929 c. 123 ss. 1, 2; 1931 c. 380 
ss. 1, 2, 3; mi c. 303] (5598) 

102.07 LAKE SUPERIOR FISHING; HERRING AND TROUT; OPEN SEA­
SON. Subdivision 1. Licenses; fees. Herring, except as hereinafter provided. 
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lake trout, ciscoes, and whitefish may be taken by residents of Minnesota, who have 
been residents for at least one year and who are citizens of the United States, and 
who have resided at least 90 days in the county in which they desire to fish, prior 
to the date of making application for license, by means of gill nets of the size herein 
specified and by the aid of skiffs and power boats at any time, as hereinafter pro­
vided, in that part of Lake Superior under the jurisdiction of Minnesota; provided 
a license to do so shall be first obtained from the director. Residents of the states 
of Wisconsin and Michigan, who are citizens of the United States, may procure a 
commercial fishing license to take such fish as are herein enumerated, according 
to law, in waters of Lake Superior lying within the jurisdiction of Minnesota, upon 
payment of a fee equal to the fee charged residents of Minnesota for similar 
privileges in waters within the jurisdiction of Wisconsin and Michigan. Herring, 
except as herein provided, may not be taken hereunder between November 16 and 
November 30, provided this restriction as to the taking of herring shall not apply 
until the state of Wisconsin shall by law provide for a similar restriction. Ciscoes 
may not be taken hereunder during the month of November. Lake trout may not 
be taken hereunder between October 1 and November 10 following. Lake trout 
may also be taken by set lines. Herring, lake trout, or ciscoes, pickerel, and white-
fish so taken may be had in possession, bought, sold, and transported within or 
without the state during the open season and for a period of one week thereafter. 
This restriction shall not apply to fish in frozen, salted, or smoked condition caught 
during the open season, or fish legally caught in waters outside the jurisdiction of 
the state of Minnesota. No skiff or power boat exceeding 35 feet in length, measured 
from tip of stem to tip of stern, shall be used in taking any fish authorized by the 
provisions of this chapter. 

The season provided in this subdivision for the taking of herring, lake trout, 
ciscoes, pickerel, or whitefish may be modified or changed from time to time by 
order of the commissioner upon recommendation of the director, so as to correspond 
with the season for taking such fish, or any species thereof, provided by Wisconsin 
law. 

Residents of the states of Wisconsin and Michigan who are citizens of the 
United States may procure a commercial fishing license to take such fish as are 
enumerated in this subdivision according to law, in waters of Lake Superior lying 
within the jurisdiction of Minnesota, upon payment of a fee equal to the fee charged 
residents of Minnesota for similar privileges in waters within the jurisdiction of 
Wisconsin and Michigan. 

Subdivision 2. Size of mesh. The size of mesh of nets shall be fixed as follows: 
(1) Gill nets for taking herring of not less than 2%-inch mesh, extension 

measure, when in possession and measured from center of knot to center of knot, 
on and after July 1, 1935, but of not less than 2%-inch mesh, flexible rule measure, 
on and after July 1, 1943. Flexible rule measure shall mean distance between the 
extreme angles of any single mesh and such measurement shall be taken between 
and inside the knots with a flexible steel gauge constructed and used as prescribed 
by the National Bureau of Standards as hereinafter defined. All measurements of 
the mesh of gill nets or gill netting shall be made by inserting in the mesh parallel 
with the selvage, a gauge made of spring steel, free from rust, of a length equal 
to the number of inches prescribed in this order for the mesh measured. The ends 
of the gauge shall be free of sharp edges or burrs. The gauge shall be straight and 
shall not be graduated, and any necessary markings shall be placed near the ends 
of the gauge. The length of the straight gauge, measured parallel with the long 
edge, shall not at any point exceed or be less than the prescribed length by more 
than one-thousandth (.001) of an inch. Its width at any point shall not exceed nine-
sixteenths of an inch or be less than seven-sixteenths of an inch. I ts thickness shall 
be such that when it is set vertically on a solid anvil with its upper end loaded with 
a dead weight between seven and one-half and eight and one-half ounces, the gauge 
shall deflect at its middle one-tenth of its length. The gauges to be used for measur­
ing the mesh of gill nets or gill netting as provided by this order shall be certified and 
approved by the National Bureau of Standards and shall be approved also by the 
commissioner; • 

In gauging a mesh, the flexible gauge shall be held only by the ends and bent 
between thumb and forefinger, the bent rule shall be then inserted in the mesh 
parallel with the selvage and with the collapsed mesh, and finger pressure shall be 
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released immediately, not gradually. If the gauge does not straighten out com­
pletely under its own tension within two seconds after it is released in the mesh, 
without slipping a knot or breaking the twine, the mesh shall be considered unlawful, 
and if the majority of ten or more meshes selected at random by the enforcement 
officer from any part of the gill net or from the entire gill net or from any gill 
netting being gauged are found to be unlawful, the gill net or gill netting shall be 
seized and confiscated. The meshes to be gauged shall be at least three meshes 
removed from the selvage or side lines, shall not be stretched or manipulated in any 
way prior to or after the insertion of the gauge, and the same mesh shall not be 
gauged more than once; 

(2) Gill nets for taking lake trout, pickerel and whitefish, not less than 4% 
inches mesh, extension measure, when in possession, and measured from center of 
knot to center of knot, but of not less than 4% -inch mesh, flexible rule measure on 
and after July 1,1943; 

(3) Gill nets for taking ciscoes, not less than 2% inches mesh, flexible rule 
measure, when in possession and measured from center of knot to center of knot. 
When nets set for the purpose of taking ciscoes shall catch more than ten per cent 
of lake trout less than 17 inches in length, or whitefish less than 16 inches in 
length, such nets shall be deemed illegally set and shall be moved from the waters 
in which they were set, upon notice from the director, or his representative. Nets 
for taking ciscoes shall be set in water not less than 40 fathoms in depth; 

(4) Bait nets for taking chubs and live bait, not less than 1% nor more than 
1%-inch mesh, flexible rule measure, such nets to be set in not less than 40 fathoms, 
to be set only on the bottom, and to be used only between March 15-and August 1, 
following, of each year. When nets set for the purpose of taking bait shall catch 
any lake trout, their location shall be moved until waters unfrequented by trout 
have been reached or located; 

(5) All nets permitted to be used under the provisions of this chapter shall, when 
set for fishing purposes, be properly marked at the ends of such nets with proper 
buoys, and the licensee's number shall be plainly marked on any buoy indicating 
the location of any net set for taking of fish.' All nets set in Lake Superior waters 
under the jurisdiction of this state having a mesh less than permitted by this 
chapter and all nets having a mesh less than permitted by this chapter found on 
or within premises commonly used for the receiving and marketing of fish from 
Lake Superior waters, and including fish receiving stations, sheds, warehouses and 
docks, are-hereby declared illegal and subject to confiscation by the director, or his 
representative, and may summarily be destroyed. 

* , ^ / Subdivision 3. Application for license. Such license shall be procured from 
•* .,/% • j / ^ the director. The applicant shall make a verified written application to the director 
'i i on a form prepared by him, stating: (1) his name and residence; v2) the period 

of time the applicant has resided in the county in which he desires to fish, and 
whether a citizen of the United States. This license shall be designated as a "master's 
license" and for which he shall pay the sum of $2.50. Every person assisting the 
holder of a master's license in going to and from the fishing locations or who 
assists in the setting and lifting of nets or in the removal of fish from such nets, 
unless he shall be the holder of a master's license, shall have a license so to do 
which license shall be designated as a "helper's license," which shall be procured 
by the holder of a master's license and for which there shall be paid the sum of 
$2.50; such licenses may be transferable; and shall be transferred upon application 
made by the holder of a master's license without any additional charge. Application 
for helper's license shall be made to the director and shall give: (1) the name and 
residence of the applicant; (2) name of person holding master's license employing 
him; (3) whether a resident of Minnesota and (4) whether a citizen of the United 
States. Master's licenses shall not be transferable and shall be issued for one fishing 
season only. Aliens who have duly declared their intention of becoming citizens of 
the United States and who have not failed to qualify as citizens within the length of 
time in which they may legally do so, shall be entitled to helper's licenses. No person 
shall be entitled to receive a master's license unless such person has been a bona 
fide resident of the state for at least one year and a resident of the county where 
he desires to fish for at least 90 days. The holder of a master's license shall be 
entitled to fish in any waters under the jurisdiction of the state of Minnesota. 
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Subdivision 4. Packages of fish to have licensee's name and number thereon. 
The name and license number of the person licensed to take fish under this section 
shall be legibly marked, by stencil or otherwise, on each package of fresh or salted 
fish caught by such licensee. It shall be unlawful to ship, sell, or offer for sale any 
spoiled or unwholesome fish. Any package containing spoiled or unwholesome fish 
shall be contraband and the same may be confiscated; provided that all frozen 
herring shall be packed and shipped in boxes only and all herring sold for any 
purpose other than human consumption shall be cut or broken into approximately 
equal parts. 

Subdivision 5. Where nets are not to be placed. No net shall be set within one-
fourth mile of the mouth of any stream flowing into Lake Superior. 

Subdivision 6. Who may remove fish. No person, other than the licensee or 
his agent shall take or remove any fish from nets set by persons licensed under 
this chapter, nor shall any person knowingly injure, disturb, or interfere with such 
nets. 

Subdivision 7. Reports. Written reports shall be made to the director on forms 
prepared by him for that purpose by each licensee at the close of the season stating 
in detail the amount and kind of fish caught, the amount for which the same were 
sold, and the total value of each kind. Failure to make such a report within three 
months after the close of the fishing season shall forfeit the right of the licensee 
to receive another fishing license for a period of one year. 

Subdivision 8. Deposit of dead fish forbidden. No person shall deposit or allow 
to run into Lake Superior or any of the waters tributary thereto any fish gurry or 
fish offal or other deleterious substance. 

Subdivision 9. Re-sale of fish, license required. No person, company, or cor­
poration shall engage in the business of buying fish taken under commercial fishing 
licenses in Lake Superior waters under the jurisdiction of this state for the purpose 
of re-sale until he, or it, as the case may be, shall have procured a license to do so 
from the director. Fees payable to. the director shall be $25.00 and the licensee 
shall, upon demand by the director or any of his representatives produce evidence 
of the legality of the fish purchased for re-sale by him, such evidence to include 
invoices or memoranda showing pounds and kinds of fish purchased for re-sale 
and from whom purchased. These invoices or memoranda shall be signed by the 
selling licensee; provided that no license nor the payment of any license fee shall 
be required by persons buying or selling fish at roadside fish-stands. 

Subdivision 10. Violations; penalties. Any person violating any of the provi­
sions of this chapter relating to the taking of fish or the transportation thereof 
shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and punished by a fine of not less than $25.00, 
nor more than $50.00, or by imprisonment in the county jail for not less than 30, 
nor more than 60, days. 

11919 c. lfiO s. 103; 1929 c. 404; 1933 C. 263; 1935 c. 291 ss. 1, 2, 3, 4, 5; 1941 
C. 379 ss. 1, 2, 3, 43 (5599) 

102.08 COMMERCIAL FISHING EST BOUNDARY WATERS; NEGOTIATIONS. 
The director is hereby authorized to enter into negotiations with the proper authori­
ties of the state of South Dakota or the state of Iowa relative to commercial fishing 
in boundary waters between the state of Minnesota and the state of South Dakota 
or the state of Iowa, and adopt such rules or make such contracts as may be found 
necessary governing the letting of contracts for commercial fishing and providing 

'for the inspection and division of proceeds and for regulating all necessary matters 
relating to such commercial fishing in such boundary waters. 

[1925 C. 118 S. 1; 19^1 C. 316 S. 11 (5599-1) 

102.09 CONTRACTS BY DD3ECTOR. In the event that no agreement can be 
made or rules adopted between the director and the proper authorities of South 
Dakota or Iowa relative to commercial fishing in boundary waters then and in that 
event the director may make contracts for commercial fishing on a percentage basis 
in such boundary waters and provide for the supervision, inspection, and regulation 
thereof and, in such contract or regulation, conform so far as may be deemed 
necessary with the contracts or regulations observed in the state of South Dakota 
or the state of Iowa relating to such boundary waters. 

[1925 c. 118 S. 2; 1941 c. 316 s. 2] (5599-2) 
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102.10 SECTION 102.02 NOT TO APPLY TO LAKE TRAVERSE. Section 102.02 
shall not apply to or govern commercial fishing in Lake Traverse. 

11925 C. 118 s. 31 (5599-S) 
102.11 OBSTRUCTIONS TO COMMERCIAL FISHING FORBIDDEN; RE­

MOVAL. No person shall knowingly place or maintain any obstruction which will 
hinder, prevent, or interfere with licensed commercial fishing, except lawfully con­
structed docks or boat landings, licensed fishing apparatus, or boats or buoys prop­
erly anchored, in any of the waters of this state including those over which Minnesota 
has concurrent jurisdiction with other states. Every such obstruction is hereby 
declared to be a public nuisance and may be summarily abated by any person. 
Licensed fishing nets, when necessary, may be removed by a licensee operating 
seines; provided that no injury shall be done to the nets; and provided the same 
be immediately reset as soon as the seines have been drawn. 

11919 C. 400 s. 1051 (5601) 
102.12 OBSTRUCTING NAVIGATION. No person shall wilfully set or use any 

nets in any established route or channel of navigation so as to interfere with navi­
gation in any of the waters of this state. 

[1919 c. 400 s. 1061 (5602) 
102.13 CERTAIN WATERS IN HOUSTON COUNTY CLOSED TO COMMER­

CIAL FISHING. All that part of the waters known as Raft Channel, which lies in 
Houston county, is hereby closed to commercial fishing and commercial fishing shall 
not be permitted or carried on therein or thereon. 

11923 c. 186 s. 11 (5603) 
njj> 102.14 ROUGH FISH AND TURTLES REMOVED FROM PUBLIC WATERS. 

/ ^ ^ ' When, after an investigation, by the director, he finds that any of the following 
•r conditions exist: 

(1) That carp, buffalofish, perch, suckers,, sheepshead, dogfish, eelpout, garfish, 
tullibees, and turtles inhabit any of the public waters of this state in such numbers 
as to interfere with or prevent the natural propagation of game fish therein, or that 
such fish inhabit any of the public waters of this state in such numbers as to destroy 
or substantially injure wild celery, wild rice, or other aquatic plant life growing 
therein; or \ 

(2) That the removal of the\fish above designated and turtles will result in an 
improvement in the quality of sWh fish remaining therein and will increase the 
quantity thereof, or will prevent the destruction of wild celery, wild rice, and other 
aquatic plant life in such waters; \ / 

Then, and in such case, he may provide by contract, or by day labor, under his 
supervision, or both, for the taking and removal of the fish designated and turtles 
by means of seines, nets, or by any other devices^at any time. 

In all counties of this state lying southerly of the St. Croix river and tributary 
to the Mississippi river and having a populatioi/of 28,000, or over, according to the 
last federal census, respective boards of cWrity commissioners shall have power 
to prohibit seining or fishing in any of the waters lying within the boundaries of 
their respective counties by a resolution adopted at their July meeting, and not 
otherwise. Waters so closed shall not be opened at any subsequent meeting of the 
board during the ensuing year. No county board shall enter into any contract for 
such fishing, or seining, nor shall the/board, oX any member thereof, solicit, or 
receive, any commission or payment of money forVhat purpose. The director shall 
not conduct any operations in any body of water lying wholly within the corporate 
limits of any city of the fourth class^unless with theVonsent of the council thereof. 

Contracts for the taking and removal of the designated fish and turtles shall be' 
awarded to residents of the state/by the director, and each resident applicant shall, 
when submitting his applicationyto the director for the taking of the designated fish 
and turtles, file a sworn statement with the director giving\his name and legal voting 
address, occupation, list of fishing equipment actually owned by him, value of such 
equipment, and the nature and years of his experience in \he taking and removal 
of the designated fish and iurtles, and what particular knowledge he possesses of 
the body of water he desir/s to fish; and the director may award contracts for each 
body of water on the ba£is of the experience, qualifications, and equipment of the 
several applicants. Each application shall be separately madevfor each body of 
water to be fished. No/contract shall be entered into with any person who has been 
convicted of violating the laws of this state relating to wild animals within a period 
of one year, nor to any person who is not fully equipped and experienced to under-
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take successfully the taking and removal of the designated fish and turtles. No 
contract shall be transferable nor shall any transfer or assignment thereof be valid. 
Based upon the size, quantity, and quality of the designated fish and turtles to be 
taken and removed, size of lake or stream to be fished, depth of water therein, 
topography of bed, and kinds and sizes of nets which may be successfully used 
therein, the director may award fishing contracts on a percentage basis, based on 
the gross proceeds received from the sale of the designated fish and turtles. No 
more than 85 per cent of the gross proceeds from the sale of such fish shall be paid 
to any contractor covering any body of water. 

. 11925 C. 408 s. 1; 1927 c. 437 s. 1; 1939 c. 3231 (5609-1) P jj /J•$-Z.'X.fS 
102.15 DISPOSAL OF FISH AND TURTLES REMOVED. Th6 director or his 

duly authorized agent is hereby authorized to sell such fish and turtles taken under 
the provisions of sections 97.24, 98.40, and 102.14 to 102.18, at the highest price 
obtainable, all bids on such fish\ to be submitted to the director or his agent in 
writing and in triplicate, one copy; to be filed with the director, one copy with the 
contractor, and one copy with the\supervising warden, and he may, if necessary 
and advisable in order to secure such highest price obtainable, employ agents to 
represent him in other states and er^ter into contracts fpr the sale of the entire 
season's production of either live or dead fish taken an/I removed from any body 
of water after receiving sealed bids thereon. No fish taken and removed from any 
body of water may be sold to any wholesale or retai/fish dealer or traveling fish 
buyer within or without the state unless such dealep or buyer shall have complied 
with the provisions of the laws of this state relating to the licensing of wholesale 
dealers in food products. Such fish and turtles ax are not of commercial value for 
food purposes may be sold, or otherwise dispensed of, as fertilizer, poultry or hog 
feed, or destroyed; and in no case shall any o£ the fish or turtles taken under the 
provisions of sections 97.24, 98.40, and 102J4 t \ 102.18 be returned unconfined to 
the waters from which they are taken. Iiy&se of^fishing operations by the director 
under such sections by contract or day'labor, if The public interest will best be 
served thereby, he may authorize the/contractor to\or he may, establish pounds 
in a portion of such waters in which/these fish are taken, or adjacent thereto and 
connected therewith, or in artificial^pounds, and may impound these fish therein by 
securely fencing these pounds, or by otherwise making\uch fish secure therein, 
and such fish may be kept in such pounds, artificial pounds, or in a natural inland 
body of water not exceeding^lOO acres in area which, in the discretion and upon 
the order of the director, may be safely used in the public interest for storage 
without endangering other public waters, by the contractor or the director for a 
period of time only until January 31, during the year following that in which these 
fish are taken and must be removed therefrom on or before' January 31 of the year 
following that in which they were taken. 

11925 c. 408 s. 2; 1927 c. 437 s. 21 (5609-2) . /?/ f */ '"$"~ ^-'^/ 'fi 
102.16 CONTRACTS FQR REMOVAL, OF ROUGH FISH AND TURTLES; 

LIMITATION ON AWARDING. The director shall not award contracts under 
sections 97.24, 98.40, and 102.14 t<j lOjpgior bodies of water aggregating over 2,500 
acres to any one individual, associ^tfon, or society; provided, if any contractor shall 
have completed his contract to the satisfaction 0f the director, then and in that case, 
such individual, association, .or societjNmay be awarded additional contracts not to 
include at any one time more than 2,500Nacres of water. 

[1925 C. 408 s. 4; 1927 C. 437 S. 4] (5609^4) <Dj qJ-% „ ^ ^ ' ^ 
102.17 MONEYS RECEIVED, DISPOSAL OF; COMPENSATION TO CON­

TRACTORS. All moneys received from the sale of fish or turtles under the provi­
sions of sections 97.24, 98.40, and M234 to 102.18 shall be deposited immediately by 
the contractor with the directorXand. by him disposed of in accordance with the 
provisions of section 98.40, and the contractor shall receive for his services such 
compensation as may be mutually agreed-upon by the director and the contractor. 

11925 C. 408 a. 5; 1927 c. 437 s. 51 (5609-5) yP/^Y3 ~2-^ f-C? 
102.18 CANCELATION OF CONTRACTS. Any contractor whd Violates any of 2> 

the provisions of sections 9^24, 98.40, and 102.14 to 102.18, or the regulations of the 
director pertaining to the taking\of fish under those sections, and any contractor 
who through negligence causa=/£he destruction of any game fish while conducting 
fishing operations under a conwact awarded to him, and any contractor who shall 
dispose of any fish taken under^any contract, either by sale or otherwise, without 
first notifying the supervising warden, shall have such contract canceled and forfeit 
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his r ight to secure another contract under the provisions of such sections for a 
period of two years. , / 
A 11925 c. 408 s. 6; 1927 c. 437 s. 6] (5609-6) 

fiJi 102.19 ROUGH FISH REMOVED UNDER CERTAIN CONDITIONS. When, 
*"• Jj*ffl after an investigation, the director finds that any of/the following conditions exist: 

(1) That rough orNion-game fish inhabit any of the public waters of this s tate 
in such numbers as to interfere with or prevent/ the natural propagation of game 
fish therein; 

(2) That the taking and^'semoval of a portion of such rough or non-game fish 
will result in an improvement of the qual i ty of the fish remaining in such waters; 

(3) That such removal is nec^essaryyand desirable to properly cultivate and 
preserve any species of fish therei: 

(4) That such removal will beyfn accordance with the generally accepted 
principles of scientific fish culture; 

(5) That such removal may bel indertaken and accomplished without the undue 
depletion of any species of fish.therein; and 

(6) That such waters are not suitable fbr taking fish by angling; 
Then and in such case he may provide by^contract or by day labor under his 

supervision, or both, for the taking and removal of a portion of any fish therein by 
means of nets, or by any other devices not deemedsby him to be inconsistent with 
Hsh propagation. The director shall not conduct these^pera t ions in any waters of 
tnis state where commercial fishing is being carried onsby persons duly licensed 
Dy him. No fish, except carp, buffalofish, sheepshead, tullibees, bullheads, dogfish, 
burbot, suckers, and goldeyes, shall be taken under the provisions of this section 
i rom any lake of less area than 200 square miles. 

tf 11919 C. 341 S. 2; 1921 C. 109 S. i ] (5605). 
v 4 102.20 SALE OF ROUGH FISH; PROCEEDS OF SALE PLACED IN STATE 

, ,-r S\> FISH REVOLVING FUND. Fish scKaJjen and removed shall be sold by the director 
i/'/y at not more than the prevailing markexprice, and the proceeds of such sales shall 

be paid by the director into the state treasury and by the t reasurer credited to the 
state fish revolving fund created by section 98.39. 

flU919 c. 341 s. 3; 1921 c. 109 s. 2; 1927 c. 1751 (5606) 
y 4] % 102.21 RULES AND REGULATIONS F O R TAKING OF ROUGH FISH BY 

s~. J/, ^ CONTRACTOR; BOND OF CONTRACTOR^/The director is hereby granted author-
\ )'l I ' i t y t 0 P r e s c r i b e reasonable rules and regulations for the taking of such fish by a 
) / / ' contractor, and may also require a^bdndpf^the contractor, conditioned upon his 

faithful observance of the terms,and conditionSsof his contract and the rules and 
regulations of the director with such sureties ancNn such amount as the director 
may deem proper. • N-

11919 c. 341 s. 41 (5607) 
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