1940 Supplement

To Mason's Minnesota Statutes

(1927 to 1940) (Superseding Mason's 1931, 1934, 1936 and 1938 Supplements)

Containing the text of the acts of the 1929, 1931, 1933, 1935, 1937 and 1939 General Sessions, and the 1933-34, 1935-36, 1936 and 1937 Special Sessions of the Legislature, both new and amendatory, and notes showing repeals, together with annotations from the various courts, state and federal, and the opinions of the Attorney

General, construing the constitution, statutes, charters and court rules of Minnesota together with digest of all common law decisions.



Edited by

William H. Mason

Assisted by
The Publisher's Editorial Staff

MASON PUBLISHING CO. SAINT PAUL, MINNESOTA
1940

7239. Application of act.

Negotiable Instrument Act did not repeal \$7247 relating to obtaining signature by deceit, trick or artifice. Wismo Co. v. M., 186M593, 244NW76.

If facts making a defense under \$7247 are established a purchaser of note in due course is not protected. M & M Securities Co. v. D., 190M57, 250NW801. See Dun. Dig.

MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS

7242. Contracts due on holidays, etc.

Public business transacted on a legal holiday is legal in case of necessity, existence of which will be presumed in absence of a showing to contrary. Ingelson v. O., 199 M422, 272NW270. See Dun. Dig. 3433, 3436, 9064.

7243. Following day deemed holiday, when.
Where memorial day falls on Sunday, custom of observing following day as memorial day does not warrant treasurer in accepting payment of first half of taxes without penalty on June 1st. Op. Atty. Gen (276f), May 26, 1927

7247. Instrument obtained by fraud.

Evidence sustained verdict against maker and guarantor as against claim of fraud. 171M216, 213NW902. "Trick or artifice" must deceive, and defense was without merit where there was affirmance by signer after knowledge of the precise character of the instrument. 172M126, 214NW924.

Evidence held to show that misrepresentations were made by payee in note. 174M115, 218NW464. Finding that there was no fraud or misrepresentation by cashier of bank in transaction in which note was given held sustained by evidence. 174M261, 219NW93. Evidence held sufficient to establish defense under this section, which creates a new defense that is not lost by the mere fact that the payee or holder of the note

becomes insolvent and goes into the hands of a receiver after its execution. Simerman v. H., 178M31, 225 NW913.

This section was not repealed by Negotiable Instrument Act. Wismo Co. v. M., 186M593, 244NW76. See Dun Dig 1019

ment Act. Wi Dun. Dig. 1019. Evidence hel

This section was not repealed by Negotiable Instrument Act. Wismo Co. v. M., 186M593, 244NW76. See Dun. Dig. 1019.

Evidence held to sustain finding that signature to note was obtained by deceit and artifice without negligence on part of maker. Wismo Co. v. M., 186M593, 244 NW76. See Dun. Dig. 1019.

In action on notes, fraud held for jury. Wiebke v. E., 189M102, 248NW702. See Dun. Dig. 1019.

Burden is upon maker of showing that his signature was obtained by fraud as to nature and terms of contract; that he did not believe instrument to be a promissory note; and that he was not negligent in signing without knowledge. M. & M. Securities Co. v. D., 190M57, 250NW801. See Dun. Dig. 1019.

If facts making a defense under \$7247 are established, a purchaser of note in due course is not protected. Id. Prejudicial error was not committed in permitting defendant to introduce testimony of fraud sufficient as a defense at common law without first producing affirmative proof that plaintiff was not a holder in due course and so making an issue for jury upon evidence tendered by plaintiff. Id. See Dun. Dig. 424.

Where defense to note is based on actual or commonlaw fraud merely consisting of misrepresentations as to merchandles sold, proof of absence of negligence is not essential as in case of note obtained by fraudulent trick or artifice. Id. See Dun. Dig. 1018.

Note given for corporate stock, held not obtained by fraud or misrepresentation. Edson v. O., 190M444, '252 NW217. See Dun. Dig. 2041b.

Evidence sustains finding that there was no fraud in obtaining signature of defendant to vote. Erickson v. H., 191M177, 253NW361. See Dun. Dig. 1019.

A synthesis of the law of misrepresentation. 22Minn LawRev939.

CHAPTER 52

Partition Fences

7248. Fence viewers.

Establishment of center of section of land. 172M388,

Establishment of center of section of land. 172M388, 215NW426. County board may compel construction of party line fences in territory where townships have been dissolved. Op. Atty. Gen. (434a-4), Sept. 24, 1936.

Provisions relating to partition fences do not apply to land forfeited to state for taxes. Op. Atty. Gen. (631h), May 23, 1938.

7249. One barbed wire permitted with woven wire as a legal fence.

Where owner of land fences parts of three sides, ad-joining owner on fourth side is required to erect and maintain a similar fence of like character and quality for distance of one-half of fourth side. Op. Atty. Gen. (631f), June 27, 1938.

7250. Occupants to maintain.

Land in part woodland, meadow and slough, adjoining other lands not under plow, held not "improved" so

as to impose obligation to build joint line fence. Op. Atty. Gen., Apr. 28, 1932.

A village must maintain its share of partition fence as to land outside village limits used in connection with water system of village operating in both a proprietary capacity and governmental capacity. Op. Atty. Gen., Mar. 24, 1934.

There can be no partition fence between land separated by a cartway established either under the statute or by dedication as a public road, but if third person using the way has merely a license, there may be a partition fence. Op. Atty. Gen. (377b-10(e)) (631h), July 5, 1934.

Right to fence on a section line depends upon whether or not a roadway legally exists. Op. Atty. Gen. (631h), July 18, 1939.

7266. Viewers in counties not divided.

County board may compel construction of party line fences in territory where townships have been dissolved.

Op. Atty. Gen. (434a-4), Sept. 24, 1936.

CHAPTER 53

Estrays and Beasts Doing Damage

BEASTS DOING DAMAGE

7274. Who may distrain.

Where federal government purchased and branded distressed cattle in drouth areas and turned them over to state emergency relief administration for grazing and they were contracted out to individuals under an agreement that they be grazed and cared for, owner of property damaged by such animals may not hold them in attempt to force collection of damages; such cattle belonging to the state. Op. Atty. Gen. (400a), Sept. 28, 1934

7275. Notice to owner.

Notice is not waived by a general statement of the owner of the animals to one taking them up, "to have the damages appraised and he would pay for them." Pruka v. M., 182M421, 234NW641. See Dun. Dig. 277, 10134.

The notice required in proceedings to distrain animals doing damage is a written notice and is jurisdictional. Pruka v. M., 182M421, 234NW641. See Dun. Dig. 277.

MISCHIEVOUS DOGS

7284. Owners or keepers of dogs liable for damage done.

Liability of owners or keepers of animals. 22MinnLaw Rev1042.

7285. Keeping after notice.

Owner of dog becomes liable on receiving notice by seeing the forbidden act or by information from any other person, oral or written. Op. Atty. Gen., Oct. 30,

Section is a criminal statute and may be enforced in justice court. Op, Atty. Gen. (146f), Dec. 9, 1936.

7286. Dogs worrying livestock or poultry.

Dogs may be killed under statutory authority when they are nuisances, G. S. 1923, §7287, or when they menace live stock or poultry, G. S. 1923, §7286, as amended. 175M368, 221NW430.

Common-law rule is not abrogated by this section. 175M368, 221NW430.

7287. Nuisance, when-Procedure.

174M457, 219NW770.

Dogs may be killed under statutory authority when they are nuisances, G. S. 1923, §7287, or when they menace live stock or poultry, G. S. 1923, §7286, as amended. 175M368, 221NW430.

Common-law rule is not abrogated by this section. 175M368, 221NW430.

RUNNING AT LARGE OF CERTAIN ANIMALS

7295. Permitting to run at large unlawful.

Where plaintiff was injured at night by driving his automobile against carcass of a horse which had just been killed in a collision with a truck, jury might find that negligent permitting of horse at large was a proximate cause of injury to plaintiff. Wedel v. J., 196M170, 264NW689. See Dun. Dig. 277.

In action for injuries received by automobile driver colliding with carcass of horse in the nighttime, truck driver who ran into and killed horse and left it on the highway held confronted with an emergency and was not negligent as a matter of law in attempting to swerve around horse instead of applying his brakes, and he was not negligent in failing to arrange for removal of the horse or placing a warning of its presence where he was very badly injured and required prompt medical attention to save his life. Id.

Whether horses running at large on highway at night, and not blinding lights of other cars, caused accident, held for jury. Serr v. B., 202M165, 278NW355. See Dun. Dig. 276.

Court's instructions, relative to defendant's liability

Dig. 276.
Court's instructions, relative to defendant's liability for failure to keep a borrowed horse off a much-used highway at night held proper. Id.

7297-1 to 7297-37. [Repealed Apr. 22, 1939, c. 410, §15, post §7297-55.]

Act of Apr. 21, 1931, c. 295; Ex. Sess., Jan. 24, 1936, c. 69.

ANNOTATIONS UNDER REPEALED SECTIONS

7297-1. County board to license dogs.

Claim for damages may not be allowed after abandonment of licensing system. Op. Atty. Gen. (146d-2), Aug. 12, 1938.

7207-22. Auditor to include license fee in tax. Eight per cent penalty to be charged on dog license tax and penalty not paid prior to March 1 following the date when tax becomes due. Op. Atty. Gen. (146d-2), May 22, 1936.

County auditor may keep separate books for dog license tax, and tax may be certified separately to county treasurer, and collection of such taxes should begin on first Monday in January after such certification. Op. Atty. Gen. (146d-2), Sept. 29, 1937.

7297-29. Owner to be liable.

Board cannot make statute retroactive so as to authorize payment for damage or injury to livestock occurring prior to adoption of appropriate resolution. Op. Atty. Gen., May 15, 1931.

7297-30. Claims for damages may be filed.
Where county board adopted act on November 13, 1934, claims arising between January 1, 1935, and July 15, 1935, were eligible to participate in indemnity funds, though owners of dogs did not have to procure licenses until July 15, 1935. Op. Atty. Gen. (146d-2), July 24, 1992.

Claim for damages may not be allowed after abandonment of licensing system. Op. Atty. Gen. (146d-2), Aug. 12, 1938.

7297-32. Claims to be presented to county board. Claims may not be accepted and paid out of fund after board has abandoned provisions of act. Op. Atty. Gen., Mar. 15, 1933.

7297-35. County board to transfer excess to revenue

Upon abandonment of act by board fund may be transferred to general revenue fund. Op. Atty. Gen., Mar. 15, 1933.

7297-38. County board authorized to pay claims for death or injury to live stock in certain cases.-The Board of County Commissioners of any county in this state, where said county adopted Laws 1931, Chapter 295, licensing dogs, and later discontinued the same and transferred the money in the livestock indemnity fund provided for in said chapter to the general revenue fund of such county, shall have the authority to pay any claims arising by reason of the death or injury of livestock during the time that such law was in force in said county, or thereafter, from the general revenue fund in the proportion authorized by Laws of 1931, Chapter 295, Section 32 [7297-32], provided that such claims are presented to said board by January 1, 1934. (Act Apr. 15, 1933, c. 265.)

7297-39. Claims for death or injury to livestock. -The county board of county commissioners of any county in this state, where said county adopted Laws of 1931, Chapter 295 [§§7297-1 to 7297-38], licensing dogs, and later discontinued the same, and transferred the money from the livestock indemnity fund. provided for that purpose, to the general revenue fund of such county, shall have authority to pay any claims arising by reason of the death or injury of livestock during the time that such law was in force in said county, or thereafter, from the general revenue fund, in the proportion authorized by the Laws of 1931, Chapter 295, Section 32 [§7297-32], provided that such claims are presented to said board prior to January 1st, 1936. (Act Apr. 24, 1935, c. 243, §1.)

7297-40. Limitation in amount of payments.-No claims shall be paid by said county board pursuant to this act which will exceed the total sum transferred from the livestock indemnity fund to the general revenue fund after deducting therefrom the amount of claims theretofore paid by such county under the provisions of this act or any heretofore existing law. (Act Apr. 24, 1935, c. 243, §2.)

7297-41. County Board to license dogs.—The board of county commissioners of any county is hereby authorized to establish a system of licensing and regulating the running at large of dogs, except in cities of the first class, and create a live stock indemnity fund to be handled and disbursed as hereinafter provided.

Before regulating and licensing, there must be filed with the county auditor a petition signed by at least 25 per cent of the persons actually engaged in raising live stock, including poultry, in the county as shown by the assessors' records, requesting the board to establish such system. When such petition has been filed, the board of county commissioners shall establish such system; or, the board of county commissioners may by a majority vote on their own motion and without petition, establish such system. The board of county commissioners shall exclude from the operation of this act burroughs, second, third and fourth class cities if such city has in operation a satisfactory law regulating dogs running at large. (Act Apr. 22, 1939, c. 410, §1.)

Apr. 22, 1939, c. 410, §1., §1.

81.

County board may not provide for licensing of dogs without establishing indemnity fund. Op. Atty. Gen. (146d-2), June 12, 1939.

Act provides two ways in which a system of licensing dogs may be established, by petition of 25 per cent of livestock and poultry raisers, in which action by board is mandatory, and on its own motion, in which case action is discretionary. Id.

7297-42. Dogs must have licenses.—(1) In every county in which this Act shall become operative every dog more than six months of age must have a license. The owner of any dog (the word "owner" when used in this act in relation to property in, or possession of, dogs shall include every person who owns, harbors or keeps a dog) shall, on or before February 1st in each year, obtain a license for his dog, and shall pay for such license the fee prescribed by the county commissioners which shall not be less than one dollar nor more than three dollars; such payments to be made to the town, village or city clerk or deputy. The application for such license shall be in such written form as prescribed by the county auditor, and shall state the name, sex, breed, age, color and marking of the dog for which the license is sought.

(2) The license year shall correspond to the calendar year. The current license year shall expire December 31, 1939. The sale or transfer of any licensed dog shall carry with it and transfer the license. (Act Apr. 22, 1939, c. 410, §2.)

7297-43. Assessor to list dogs-Kennelsof license.—(1) Every assessor shall annually ascertain by diligent inquiry the dogs owned, harbored or kept within his assessment district. Every person shall answer frankly and fully all questions which

shall be put to him by such assessor relative to the ownership or keeping of dogs within the assessor's The assessor shall prepare and file with the town or village clerk a list containing the names and addresses of all owners of dogs in his district, and the number and sex of dogs owned, harbored or kept. He shall make a list of the names of persons owning and operating kennels and the number of dogs kept in each. The term "kennel" shall mean any establishment where dogs are kept for the purpose of breeding, sale or sporting purposes. Any person who keeps or operates a kennel may in lieu of the license for each dog required by this act apply to the town, city or village treasurer for a kennel license for the keeping or operating of such kennel. For such a kennel license he shall pay a fee of ten dollars for the license year. With such kennel license the clerk shall issue a number of metal tags equal to the number of dogs kept in the kennel. Such tags shall be made in a form so that they may be readily distinguishable from the individual license tags for the same year. The licensee of a kennel shall at all times keep one of such tags attached to the collar of each dog over six months old kept by him under a kennel license. Such tags may be transferred from one dog to another within the kennel wherever any dog is removed from the kennel. Such list shall be filed with the town, village or city clerk at the time the assessor delivers to such clerk his assessment roll. The clerk may appoint a deputy or deputies to issue such licenses. The clerk shall receive ten cents for each license issued, to be paid by the town out of the revenue fund.

(2) A license shall be issued by said clerk or his deputy upon application being made therefor and upon payments made as herein provided. Such license shall be in the form prescribed by the county auditor and shall be executed by the proper town, village or city clerk or his deputy. The license shall state the year for which it was issued, shall bear a serial number, the owner's name and address, and the name, sex, breed and color of the dog licensed. Whenever information is furnished that any dog on the assessor's list is dead the clerk shall so indicate on such list. (Act Apr. 22, 1939, c. 410, §3.)

7297-44. Clerk to issue metal tags—Distribution—Issuance—Duplicate—Accounting.—(1) The clerk or his deputy issuing a license shall at the same time deliver to the licensee a metal tag which shall bear the same serial number as the license. Said tag shall also bear the name of the county in which issued and the license year. The county auditor shall contract for and have prepared and furnished annually a sufficient number of such metal tags, and a sufficient supply of suitable blank licenses to be bound in books of proper size and perforated so that a duplicate of each license may be kept upon the stub thereof. The cost of making, printing, and furnishing said tags and blank license receipts shall be paid out of the dog license fund.

(2) The several county auditors shall distribute said tags and license blanks to the several town, village and city treasurers in proper amounts together with blank license receipts. The licensee shall securely attach the tag to a collar and this collar with the tag attached shall at all times be kept on the dog for which the license is issued. A new tag with a new number shall be furnished to the licensee by the town, village or city clerk or his deputy in place of the original tag upon presentation of the license and proof of the loss of the original tag. The town clerk or his deputy shall then indorse the new tag number on such license and shall enter it upon the register. The clerk shall receive for his services in issuing such new tag the sum of ten cents to be paid by the person obtaining the new tag.

(3) Every town, village or city clerk or his deputy shall at the time of issuing a license and before delivering the same make a complete duplicate thereof upon the stub portion of the license blank. Said

clerk shall annually during the month of January return to his county auditor all unused tags of the preceding year, together with license books therefor and all duplicate licenses of the preceding year and the said county auditor shall carefully check said returned tags, duplicate licenses, and license blanks to ascertain whether all tags and license blanks which were furnished by the county auditor have been accounted for, and to enable the county auditor to do that, he shall charge each town, village, or city clerk with all tags and blank licenses furnished or delivered to him and credit him with those returned. In case of discrepancy, the county auditor shall notify the county attorney who shall investigate and take steps to enforce the law. (Act Apr. 22, 1939, c. 410, §4.)

7297-45. To pay fees to County Treasurer—Report.

Every town, village or city clerk or his deputy shall at the end of each month pay all license fees received by him and his deputy and not before paid, to the county treasurer and shall at the same time report in writing to the county auditor the licenses issued during the month and for which the license fees so deposited with the county treasurer were paid. Such report shall be in the form prescribed and furnished by the several county auditors. (Act Apr. 22, 1939, c. 410, §5.)

7297-46. To be kept in dog license fund—Offenses.
—(1) The license fees so paid to the county treasurer shall be kept in a separate account and shall be known as the "dog license fund" and shall be appropriated and disbursed for the purposes and in the manner herein set forth.

(2) Expenses necessarily incurred by the county in purchasing and providing books, forms and other supplies required in the administering of the dog license law shall be paid out of said dog license fund. The amount remaining thereafter in said fund shall be available for and may be used as necessary for paying claims allowed by the county to the owners of domestic animals on account of damages done by dogs during the license year for which the fees were paid. Any surplus in excess of \$1,000 which may remain from the license fees of any license year shall on March first of the succeeding year belong and be credited to and paid by the county treasurer to the towns, villages and cities of his county for their use in the proportion in which said towns, villages and cities shall have contributed and paid to the fund out of which said surplus arises. It shall be used as the governing body of the town, village or city shall determine. Whenever any county operating under the provisions of this Act shall discontinue their dog licenses and livestock indemnity fund, any money remaining shall be distributed among the various townships in proportion to license money paid in. (Act Apr. 22, 1939, c. 410, §6.)

g6.
If system is discontinued after it has been established action must be by the same power which established it, by petition if established under petition, and by board if established by it on its own motion. Op. Atty. Gen., (146d-2), June 16, 1939.

7297-47. May seize dogs running at large.—(1) Any person may seize, impound or restrain any unlicensed dog which he may find running at large. The fact that a dog is without a license attached to a collar shall be presumptive evidence that the dog is unlicensed. The sheriff and his deputies, any marshal or constable or other police officer shall seize, impound or restrain any dog for which no license has been issued and for which one is required. Any officer who shall seize, restrain, impound or kill any dog found in any place without a license as required under sections two to 12, inclusive, upon delivery of such dog or carcass and the proper disposal of the carcass and after making a report to the village, town or city treasurer of the village, town or city in which the dog was seized or killed, showing that the dog did not have a license, shall receive therefor a payment of two dollars, the same to be made from any funds in

the village, town or city treasury not otherwise appropriated.

- (2) It shall be unlawful for any person to harbor or permit to remain about his premises any dog for which no license exists and for which one is required. Any person who shall have seized or impounded a dog with or without license under section 7 shall deliver such dog to the humane officer of the village, town or city, if such officer exists; or if there be no such officer to the constable, village marshal, or the town, village or city police officer. The officer to whom the dog is delivered shall without delay notify the owner personally or through the United States mail if such owner be known to the officer or can be ascertained with reasonable effort, but if such owner be unknown or cannot be ascertained, then the officer shall post written notice in three public places in his town, giving a description of the dog, stating where it is impounded and the conditions for its release. If after five days the owner does not claim such dog such officer shall dispose of the dog in a proper and humane manner.
- (3) Any person who shall violate any of the provisions of this act shall be liable to a penalty of not less than five dollars nor more than \$50.00 for such violation. (Act Apr. 22, 1939, c. 410, §7.)
- 7297-48. Owners of domestic animals may file claim for damages.—(1) The owner of any domestic animals (including poultry, and game birds) attacked, chased, worried, injured or killed by a dog or dogs may within ten days after the owner shall have knowledge or notice thereof, file a written claim for damages with the clerk of the town, village or city in which the damage occurred. The form of such claim may be prescribed by the county auditors. Upon presentation of such claim the supervisors of the town. the board of trustees of the village, or the common council of the city, or a committee appointed for that purpose by the supervisors, the board of trustees or the common council shall promptly investigate said claim and may subpoena witnesses, administer oaths and take testimony relative thereto and shall within 30 days after the filing of said claim make, certify and return to the county auditor said claim, a report of the investigation, the testimony taken and the amount of damages, if any, suffered by the owner of said
- (2) The form of the report and certification shall be prescribed by the county auditor and shall be subscribed by the supervisors, board or committee making the same. The county auditor shall lav before the county board at its first meeting, following the receipt of any such claim, all claims so filed and reported and the same shall be acted upon and determined by the county board as other claims are determined and acted upon, and the county board shall equalize the values and claims between and within the various towns of the county. The amount of damages filed and reported to the county auditor shall be prima facie proof of the actual damages sustained, but evidence may be taken before the county board relative to the claims as in other cases and appeals from the action of the county board shall lie as in other cases. On appeal from the action of the county board, said trial shall be by the court without a jury.
- (3) Such claims shall be solely against the dog license fund and shall create no other liability on the part of the county.
- (4) The amount allowed by the county board upon any such claim shall in no case exceed \$100.00 for each horse, mule, or bovine; \$15.00 for each sheep or goat; \$30.00 for each swine; or three dollars for each fowl. Whenever the claimant shall furnish conclusive evidence as to the ownership of the dog or c. 410, §16.)

- dogs doing the damage the claimant shall be paid the full amount of the claim submitted.
- (5) Distribution of dog license fund among claimants for loss of animals by dogs within license year shall be made at the close of license year. (Act Apr. 22, 1939, c. 410, §8.)
- 7297-49. May kill dogs in certain cases.—Any person may kill any dog, that he knows is affected with the disease known as hydrophobia, or that may suddenly attack him while he is peacefully walking or riding and while being out of the inclosure of its owner or keeper, and may kill any dog found killing, wounding or worrying any horses, cattle, sheep; lambs, or other domestic animals. (Act Apr. 22, 1939, c. 410, §9.)
- 7297-50. Allowance of claims.—No claim shall be allowed by the county board at less than the amount so certified and reported, unless the claimant shall first be notified that such action is contemplated and shall have been given a reasonable opportunity to be heard and to offer further evidence in support of his claim. (Act Apr. 22, 1939, c. 410, §10.)
- 7297-51. Removing of licenses.—No person except the owner or his authorized agent shall remove any license tag from a dog collar or remove any collar with a license attached thereto from any dog. No person shall keep or harbor a dog wearing a fictitious, altered or invalid license tag, or a license tag not issued in connection with the licensing or keeping of the dog wearing the same. No license or license tag issued for one dog shall be transferable to another dog. Every town, village or city clerk shall notify the county attorney of his county of every refusal or failure of an owner to obtain a license for keeping his dog and it shall be the duty of the county attorney to institute proceedings against such owner and against every owner within his county who has violated any of the provisions of this act. (Act Apr. 22, 1939, c. 410, §11.)
- 7297-52. Exemptions.—Dogs brought into this state temporarily for a period not to exceed 30 days shall be exempt from the provisions of this act. (Act Apr. 22, 1939, c. 410, §12.)
- 7297-53. Provisions severable.—The provisions of this act relating to the licensing of dogs and the provisions for the payment of claims out of the dog license fund for damages done by dogs are severable and the provisions relating to such payment of claims are not an inducement to the enactment of any other provisions of said act. (Act Apr. 22, 1939, c. 410, \$13.)
- 7297-54. Same.—In the event that any section, provision or part of this act shall be declared unconstitutional it shall not in any way affect any other section, provision or part thereof. (Act Apr. 22, 1939, c. 410, §14.)
- 7297-55. Repeal.—The 1938 Supplement to Mason's Minnesota Statutes of 1927, Sections 7297-1 to 7297-37 are hereby repealed. (Act Apr. 22, 1939, c. 410, §15.)
- 7297-56. Construction of act.—This act is supplemental to all other laws relating to dogs not expressly referred to herein, and to all laws relating to taxation of dogs as personal property, and shall not be construed as to modify, repeal or in any wise affect any part of [sic] provision of any such laws not expressly repealed herein or to prevent municipalities from prohibiting licensing or regulating the running at large of dogs within their respective limits by law or ordinance now or hereafter provided. (Act Apr. 22, 1939, c. 410, \$16.)