# Nineteen Hundred Thirty-One Supplement

to

# Mason's Minnesota Statutes

(1927 thru 1931)

Containing the text of the acts of the 1929 and 1931 Sessions of the Legislature, both new and amendatory, and notes showing repeals, together with annotations from the various courts, state and federal, construing the constitution, statutes, charters and court rules of Minnesota



Edited by WILLIAM H. MASON, Editor-in-Chief W. H. MASON, JR., Assistant Editor

CITER-DIGEST CO. ST. PAUL, MINNESOTA 1931

such city, village, town, or county. The expenses of such construction, improvement, equipment, maintenance, and operation shall be a city, village, town, or county charge as the case may be. The governing body of any city, village, town, or county may adopt regulations and establish fees or charges for the use of such airport or landing field, or may authorize any officer, board or body of such village, city, town, or county having jurisdiction to adopt such regulations and establish such fees or charges, subject, however, to the approval of such governing body before they shall take effect. (Act Apr. 17, 1929, c. 217, §5.)

§5494-42. Annual appropriation. — The governing body of any city, village, town, or county to which this act is applicable having power to appropriate money therein may annually appropriate and cause to be raised by taxation in such city, village, town, or county a sum sufficient to carry out the provisions of this act, not exceeding, however, the taxing limits now provided by law. (Act Apr. 17, 1929, c. 217, §6.)

\$5494-43. Application.—The provisions of this act shall apply to all cities of the state, excepting all cities of the first class, including every city now or hereafter having and operating under a home rule charter adopted under, and pursuant to Section 36, of Article 4, of the State Constitution; provided, however, that this act shall not apply to any privately owned or controlled airport and aviation field. (Act Apr. 17, 1929, c. 217, §7.)

\$5494-44. Bonds may be issued.—Any such city, village, town, or county is hereby authorized and empowered to issue its negotiable general obligation bonds for the purpose of acquiring, establishing, constructing, enlarging or improving such airport or landing field and a site therefor in the manner and within the limits prescribed by Chapter 10, General Statutes, Minnesota 1923, and Chapter 131, Laws of 1927 [§§1938-3 to 1938-13] for the issuance of bonds for the acquisition of other revenue producing public conveniences. Such bonds shall be sold in the manner prescribed by Section 1943, General Statutes 1923, as amended. The amount

of any such bonds at any time outstanding shall be included in computing the net debt of the city, village, town, or county issuing the same for the purpose of computing any limitation of its indebtedness prescribed by law or by its charter. (Act Apr. 17, 1929, c. 217, §8.)

§5494-45. Acts legalized.—The acquisition of property within or without the limits of any such city, village, or town for airports or landing fields, by purchase or gift, heretofore made by any such municipality, together with the conveyance and acceptance thereof, is hereby legalized and made valid and effective. (Act Apr. 17, 1929, c. 217, §9.)

§5494-46. May acquire air rights.—Where necessary in order to provide unobstructed air space for the landing and taking off of aircraft utilizing airports and landing fields acquired or maintained under the provisions of this Act, the legislative bodies of counties, municipalities, and other political subdivisions of this State are hereby granted authority to acquire such air rights over private property as are necessary to insure safe approaches to the landing areas of said airports and landing fields. Such air rights may be acquired by grant, purchase, lease, or condemnation in the same manner as is provided by law for the acquisition of the airport or landing field itself or the expansion thereof. (Act Apr. 20, 1931, c. 214, §1.)

§5494-47. May acquire for any term.legislative bodies of counties, municipalities, and other political subdivisions of this State are hereby authorized to acquire the right or easement for a term of years or perpetually to place and maintain suitable marks for the daytime, and to place, operate, and maintain suitable lights for the nighttime marking of buildings, or other structures or obstructions interfering with the safe operation of aircraft utilizing airports and landing fields acquired or maintained under the provisions of this Act. Such rights or easements may be acquired by grant, purchase, lease, or condemnation in the same manner as is provided by law for the acquisition of the airport or landing field itself or the expansion thereof. (Act Apr. 20, 1931, c. 214, §2.)

#### CHAPTER 32

## Preservation of Game and Fish

Laws 1931, c. 186, ante, §§53-23a to 53-23l, creates a new department of conservation, to which is transferred the powers of the commissioner of game and fish.

PART I.—TITLE TO WILD ANIMALS:
TAKING: TRANSPORTATION

#### §5495. Title to wild animals—Taking.

The provisions of the game law are to be construed according to the fair import of their terms, viewed in the light of the purpose of the law. 177M483, 225NW430.

#### §5496. Ownership in state.

172M469, 215NW837; note under §5547.

§5497. Taking of wild animals restricted.

The game law does not permit the taking of waterfowl from an artificial blind constructed in public waters of a lake upon an artificial embankment. 177M483, 225NW430.

§5498. Manner of taking game.—Birds and quadrupeds protected by law shall be taken only in the daytime with a gun not larger in bore than a ten gauge fired from the shoulder, or with a bow and arrow, except that upland game birds and quadrupeds may be taken with a rifle or pistol. It shall be unlawful to use any kind or type of silencer on any firearm, or to own or possess any kind or

type of silencer for a firearm, or to own or possess any firearm equipped or designed to have a silencer attached thereto. No person while in a motor vehicle shall take game, nor discharge any firearm therefrom at any wild animal, nor carry a gun or other firearm. except a pistol or revolver, in a motor vehicle unless the same be unloaded in both barrels and magazine and taken apart or contained in a case. Traps for the purpose of taking fur bearing animals protected by law may be used as herein provided but traps shall not be staked or set in any manner during the closed season for the same. A person may take game birds during the open season with the aid of a dog, unless specifically prohibited herein. (As amended by Laws 1929, c. 170, which is amended Apr. 25, 1931, c. 399, §1.)

It is illegal to set traps in the evening before the day on which season opens. Op. Atty. Gen., Feb. 14, 1929.

\$5499. Manner of taking fish.—Fish, unless otherwise specifically permitted by law, shall be taken only by angling. It shall be unlawful to take fish of any kind in any manner by the use or with the aid of artificial lights of any kind. (As amended Apr. 27, 1929, c. 417, §1.)

It is legal for a person to use a floating fish house in spearing fish. Op. Atty. Gen., April 16, 1931.

This section is subject to the proviso of Laws 1931, c. 323 [\$5574, herein], permitting the use of lights in spearing rough fish under a permit from the commissioner of game and fish. Op. Atty. Gen., May 1, 1931.

§5500. Limits of game and fish—Wanton waste-No person shall wantonly waste or destroy wild animals except as otherwise expressly permitted by law. The catching, taking or killing of more than fifteen game birds by any one person in any one day, or the catching, taking or killing of more than twenty-five fish by any one person in any one day, except fish lawfully caught, taken or killed with licensed nets, as by this chapter permitted, shall be deemed a wanton waste. No person shall, after taking or killing any protected wild animal, abandon or permit the edible part of the carcass thereof to waste or decay, provided this shall not prevent the manufacture of fish meal or other animal food out of lawyer burbot or eelpout or carp lawfully taken, or the sale or transportation of such fish meal or food. (As amended Apr. 27, 1929, c. 417, §2.)

§5503. Possession of imported game during closed season.—Except as expressly permitted by law, no person shall have in possession in this state any wild animal or part thereof which has been caught, taken or killed outside of this state at a time when it is unlawful to have such wild animals in possession if caught, taken or killed in this state or which has been unlawfully caught, taken or killed outside of this state, or unlawfully shipped therefrom into this state. (As amended Apr. 27, 1929, c. 417, §3.)

A fisherman with licenses from both Minnesota and Wisconsin violated no law in catching seven bass on the Wisconsin side of the Mississippi River, and three more on the Minnesota side. Op. Atty. Gen., Aug. 18, 1930.

\$5504. Transportation of unlawfully killed game.—No person shall transport, ship or convey, or attempt so to do, any wild animal or any part thereof, taken, caught, killed or possessed in violation of law, and no common carrier or employee of such carrier shall, while engaged in such business, knowingly ship, or receive for shipment, or aid or abet in the shipment of any wild animals, or any part thereof, caught, taken, killed or possessed in violation of law. (As amended Apr. 27. 1929. c. 417. §4.)

§5505. Transportation and exportation of saleable fish and game.—Any person may transport within this state or from a point within to a point without during the open season any wild animals or parts thereof, which may be lawfully sold, except as specifically prohibited by this chapter.

Any person, except agents or employees of a common carrier while engaged in the performance of their duties, may transport in a vehicle, boat, or other means of transportation otherwise than by common carrier, or may carry with him as baggage on a common carrier any wild animals, including fish, which may be legally in his possession, and common carriers are hereby permitted to carry such wild animals as baggage. If any such wild animal is carried as baggage and is contained in any package, sack, crate or other container there shall be attached to the outside thereof a tag signed by the licensee, written or printed, showing the name and address and license number of such licensee and the number and kind of wild animals or parts thereof contained in the same.

Any resident of this state may ship or transport by common carrier to any point in the county in which he resides, consigned to himself only, during any one open season not more than 45 game birds, of which not more than 36 may be water fowl, rails, or shore birds, and not more than 9 may be upland game birds; provided, that not more than 3 shipments may be made in any one season and no shipment shall contain more than 12 waterfowl, rails, or shore birds of all kinds in the aggregate, nor more than 3 upland game birds of all kinds in the aggregate; and any such resident may so ship or transport during any one open season one deer lawfully taken and lawfully in his possession, and may so ship or transport the head or hide of any deer lawfully taken and lawfully in his possession for mounting or tanning purposes to a point within or without this state; all subject to the provisions of General Statutes 1923, Section 5506, as amended.

A non-resident may ship or transport by common carrier to a point within or without this state, consigned to himself only, during any one open season 25 game birds and one deer lawfully taken or killed and possessed by him in this state, in the manner provided by Section 5506 of this chapter.

Except as otherwise expressly provided by law, no person shall ship or transport any fish outside of this state except those which may lawfully be sold within the state.

Any variety of fish lawfully taken in commercial fishing operations in interstate or international waters may be shipped outside of this state.

A non-resident duly licensed to fish in this state, may, however, ship or transport by common carrier, or carry with him, to a point outside this state not to exceed 24 pounds of fish of any variety or one fish lawfully caught by him in this state on the following conditions:

- (a) Each non-resident angling license shall have attached thereto a shipping or transportation coupon for which no charge shall be made and such coupon shall be divided into three equal parts, each part of which shall state the license number and shall contain blank spaces for the name and address of the licensee, the point of origin, the point of destination of shipment, the number of pounds and the variety being shipped, and shall be executed in ink by the licensee and affixed by the licensee to the receptacle containing the fish. Each non-resident licensee holding such transportation coupon may ship or transport to a point outside the state not to exceed 8 pounds of undressed fish on each of the three coupons.
  - (b) Only undressed fish may be shipped.
- (c) Such shipment shall be made by the licensee to himself only.

A resident may ship fish lawfully taken and possessed by him from one point in the state to another provided such shipment must be made to the person taking such fish.

No person shall at any time ship or transport a greater number of any kind of wild animals than he is permitted by law to have in possession at such time. All wild animals under the control of any person, whether actually in his personal custody or in transit or at their destination after shipment, or otherwise, shall be deemed to be in the possession of such person for the purposes of this section and of any other law relating to wild animals. (As amended Apr. 27, 1929, c. 417, §5.)

§5510. Penalties for violation.—(1) Unless a different penalty or punishment is specifically prescribed, a person who buys, offers to buy, sells, offers for sale, takes, possesses, or transports any wild animal or part there-of in violation of this chapter or of any of the laws of this state relating to wild animals, or to the preservation, protection, or propagation thereof, or who violates any of the provisions of, or who fails to perform any duty imposed by this chapter, or who violates any duly adopted regulation of the commissioner, or any person who attempts to do so, is guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction therefor, shall be punished by a fine of not less than \$10.00 nor more than \$100.00 for the first offense nor less than \$25.00 nor more than \$100.00 for subsequent offenses or by imprisonment in the county jail for not less than 30 days nor more than three months, and each wild animal bought, sold, offered for sale, taken, possessed or transported in violation of law shall constitute a separate offense.

(2) The minimum punishment for violating any of the provisions of Part VI hereof, relating to commercial fishing, shall be a fine

of \$50.00 or imprisonment in the county jail for 60 days.

- (3) A person who buys, offers to buy, sells, offers for sale, takes possesses or transports any deer, moose, elk or caribou, or any part thereof, or any person who buys, offers to buy, sells, or offers for sale any game bird or any part thereof, in violation of this chapter, or who violates any provisions of this chapter prohibiting the placing of a set gun, or the use of an artificial light in hunting, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by a fine of not less than \$75.00 nor more than \$100.00 or by imprisonment in the county jail for not less than 30 days nor more than 90 days.
- Every person who shall falsely impersonate a game warden or game refuge patrolman or other officer acting by or under the authority of the laws relating to wild animals, or a private individual having special authority under said laws to perform any act affecting the rights or interests of another, or who, without authority, shall assume any uniform or badge by which such an officer or person is lawfully distinguished and in such assumed character shall do an act purporting to be official, whereby another is injured or defrauded, shall be guilty of a gross misdemeanor, and punished by a fine of not less than \$100.00 nor more than \$1000.00 or by imprisonment in the county jail for not less than 30 days nor more than one year, or by both such fine and imprisonment.

(As amended Apr. 27, 1929, c. 417, §6, and Apr. 25, 1931, c. 399, §2.)

#### §5512. Presumptive evidence.

177M398, 225NW435.

172M469, 215NW837; note under §5547.

Whether or not origin of raw beaver skins was legal held for jury. Hudson-Duluth Furriers, Inc., v. M., 235NW537. See Dun. Dig. 3940.

\$5513. Witnesses.—The testimony of a person given in behalf of the state in a prosecution for the violation of this chapter shall not be received as evidence in a prosecution for the same offense against the person so testifying. (As amended Apr. 27, 1929, c. 417, §7.)

#### PART II-LICENSES

\$5514. Hunting—Licenses.—Any person who is a resident of this state, and any member of such person's immediate family, may during the open season, hunt, pursue or kill in any manner permitted by law any wild bird or quadruped, except deer, moose, elk or caribou, which may legally be taken and may trap such fur bearing animals, as may legally be taken, on land owned or leased and occupied as a permanent abode by such person, without procuring a license so to do.

This shall not permit hunting without a license on land not occupied by a person as a permanent abode, or on land so occupied by a person who is not a bona fide owner or lessee thereof, or the taking of any wild animal for which a special permit is required, nor shall it relieve any person from complying with any provision of the laws relating to wild animals except as to obtaining a license. A license to trap beaver may be obtained in

the manner prescribed by Section 5543 of this chapter. (As amended Apr. 12, 1929, c. 170, §2, and Apr. 27, 1929, c. 417, §8.)

One whose license has been revoked on conviction for violating the game laws is in no different position under this section than one who had never obtained a license. Op. Atty. Gen., Oct. 28, 1929.

§5536-1. License to hunt and fish.—No person shall kill, take or attempt to take in any manner any protected wild animal, or engage in hunting, pursuing, or trapping for the purpose of taking any protected wild quadruped or bird, or engage in fishing for the purpose of taking any game fish, without first obtaining a license from the commissioner of game and fish so to do, as provided by this act unless otherwise specifically permitted by law. Residents of the state shall be required to procure a hunting license at the age of 18 years for the purpose of hunting protected wild animals or game birds and a resident of the state shall be required to procure a fishing license at the age of 18 years for the purpose of fishing. Non-residents of the state under 16 years of age may take fish without procuring a license, but may not transport or ship any fish out of the state without procuring a license, and provided further that no non-resident under 16 years of age may fish without a non-resident fishing license unless his or her parent or guardian shall have obtained and have in his or her possession such non-resident fishing li-No trapping license shall be issued to any non-resident of the state. All licenses shall be issued for the calendar year, and no reduction in fees shall be made for fractions of a year. Only one license of each kind shall be issued to any one person in any calendar year. No license shall be transferable. (As amended Apr. 24, 1929, c. 332, §1.)

47F(2d)1073..

- §5536-2. Fees for licenses.—(A) The kinds of licenses, the fees to be paid therefor, and the kinds of animals which may be taken thereunder, respectively, subject to all other provisions of law relating to the taking of wild animals, shall be as follows:
- (1) Resident small game hunting license, \$1.00, to take all small game;
- (2) Non-resident small game hunting license, \$25.00, to take all small game;
- (3) Resident big game hunting license, \$2.00 to take all big game;
- (4) Non-resident big game hunting license, \$50.00, to take all big game;
- (5) Resident trapping license, \$1.00, to trap all fur bearing animals;
- (6) Resident fishing license, \$.50 to take fish, provided that a resident fishing license shall be issued to the head of the family or household authorizing all members thereof to use the same by paying a fee of \$1.00, and it shall be the duty of the commissioner of game and fish to issue an identification card without payment of any fee for each member of a family or household of the age of 18 years or over, of which family or household the head thereof has applied for and received such resident fishing license.

- (7) Non-resident fishing license, \$3.00, to take fish:
- (B) The term "big game" as used herein shall include deer, moose, elk, caribou and bear, and the term "small game" as used herein shall include all other protected wild quadrupeds and wild birds.
- (C) Every license shall have printed thereon the kind thereof and the name of all wild animals which may lawfully be taken thereunder, and shall entitle the person to whom issued to take the wild animals therein specified in such manner and at such times and places as may be permitted by law. Protected wild animals may be taken under a hunting license only by hunting with a firearm or other lawful weapon. Protected furbearing animals may be taken under a trapping license only with lawful traps. Fish may be trapped under fishing license only by angling or spearing. (As amended Apr. 24, 1929, c. 332, §2.)

§5536-3. Issuance of licenses.—(A) Licenses shall be issued as follows:

- (1) Hunting or trapping licenses for residents of the state, by the county auditor of the county in which the applicant resides, or by any agent of such auditor.
- (2) Hunting licenses for non-residents of the state, by the commissioner or any agent of the commissioner outside of the state, or by any county auditor in the state, or his agent.
- (3) Fishing licenses for residents of the state, by the county auditor of the county in which the applicant resides, or by any agent of such auditor.
- (4) Fishing licenses for non-residents of the state, by the commissioner or any agent of the commissioner outside the state, or by any county auditor of the state, or his agent.
- The commissioner mav agents to issue non-resident licenses of any kind outside the state. Such appointments shall be in writing and a record thereof shall be kept by the commissioner. The commissioner may revoke any such appointment at any time. The commissioner may require any agent appointed by him to furnish a bond to the state, to be approved by the commissioner and filed in his office, in such sum as the commissioner may prescribe, at least equal to the total estimated amount of license fees and unsold licenses which will be in the hands of such agent at any one time, conditioned to secure the accounting by such agent for all license blanks furnished to and licenses issued by him and the payment by him according to law of all moneys received by him as fees for such licenses and the compliance by him with all the provisions of law relating to the issuance of such licenses. The commissioner may require a like bond of any county auditor, if, in the opinion of the commissioner, his official bond is not sufficient for the purposes hereinbefore specified.
- (C) Every county auditor shall appoint agents to issue within his county such licenses as such agents are authorized to issue. He shall appoint at least one such agent in every city and village of his county outside of the county seat and at any other place in

commissioner and may appoint such other agents anywhere in the county as he deems necessary for the convenience of the public in obtaining licenses. Such appointments shall be in writing and a record thereof shall be kept by the auditor. Upon making any such appointment the auditor shall forthwith notify the commissioner of the name and ad-The auditor may dress of the appointee. revoke any such appointment at any time, and shall revoke any such appointment upon his own motion or when demanded by the game and fish commissioner whenever such agent shall violate any provision of the laws relating to the issuance of such licenses, or shall fail to give proper attention to the issuance thereof, or shall fail to account promptly for unsold licenses or license fees. The county auditor shall be responsible for all license blanks issued to and license fees received by his agents, and such agents shall be responsible to the auditor therefor. The auditor may require any such agent to furnish a bond to the auditor, in such sum as the auditor may prescribe, to be approved by the auditor and filed in his office, conditioned in like manner as the bonds to be furnished by agents of the commissioner as hereinbefore pro-All license fees received by such agents shall be deemed public moneys of the state, and such agents shall be amenable to all the penalties provided by law relating to such moneys or to the issuance of such licenses. (As amended Apr. 24; 1929, c. 332, §3.)

the county which may be designated by the

Auditor cannot pay clerk hire or other expenses out of license money, except commissions to agents. Op. Atty. Gen., May 21, 1929.

§5536-7. Same—Duties of county auditors Agents—Duties—Fees—Disposition of fees, etc.

'License fees go to general county fund and cannot be segregated. No clerk hire or expenses other than commissions to agents may be paid out of license moneys. Op. Atty. Gen., May 21, 1929.

§5536-8. Penalties.—Upon conviction of any person for any violation of any provision of law relating to any license issued to such person or relating to the wild animals covered by such license, such license shall immediately become null and void and no license of the same kind shall be issued to such person for a period of one year after the date of commission of the offense. Upon conviction of any person for hunting, fishing, or trapping without a license or doing without a license or any other act for which a license is required as hereinbefore provided, no license of the kind required for the doing of such act shall be issued to such person for one year after the date of commission of the offense. Provided, that this section shall not apply to resident fishing licenses or to the taking of fish by residents by angling or spearing without licenses. (As amended Apr. 24, 1929, c. 332, §4.)

Where appeal is taken from conviction in justice court, revocation of license does not become effective until conviction in the appellate court. Op. Atty. Gen., Dec. 19, 1929.

In computing the time within which a license may be issued to one who has been convicted

for violation of the game laws the date of conviction is immaterial under this section as amended by Laws 1929, c. 332, §4. Op. Atty. Gen., June 7, 1930.

§5536-12. Reports to Game and Fish Commissioner. (A) For the purpose of enabling the commissioner to prepare statistics relating to the number of wild animals in the state, every person who has taken any protected wild quadruped or game bird, whether with or without a license, shall, on or before the last day of January in each year, mail or deliver to the commissioner a written report on a form prepared by the commissioner and furnished on application made to the commissioner or to any game warden, county auditor, or agent of the commissioner authorized to issue licenses, stating the number of each kind of protected quadrupeds and game birds taken by such person during the preceding calendar year.

- (B) No person who is required to make such a report shall be entitled to hunt, trap, or take any protected wild quadruped or game bird until such report has been made. No person to whom a hunting or trapping license has been issued who wilfully fails or neglects to make such a report shall be granted a license of the same kind for the year succeeding the year for which his license was issued, and if a new license of the same kind has been issued to such person it shall be null and void and shall be surrendered upon demand to the commissioner or to any game warden.
- (C) As soon as practicable in each year the commissioner shall furnish to each county auditor, game warden, and agent authorized to issue licenses a list of the names of all persons to whom licenses were issued by or within the county or territory of such auditor, game warden or agent during the preceding year and who have failed to make the report hereby required. No such county auditor, game warden, or agent shall issue a license of the same kind for the current year to any person whose name appears upon such list as delinquent in this regard. (As amended Apr. 24, 1929, c. 332, §5.)

§5536-13. Fees set aside for use of Game and Fish Commissioner.—Appropriations.-All moneys received from fees for licenses of any kind issued by the commissioner of game and fish shall be credited by the state treasurer to a special fund known as the game and fish fund, and all of said moneys are hereby appropriated for the maintenance and conduct of the activities of the office of commissioner of game and fish as provided by law, and for the payment of the cost of acquiring any property or right which the commissioner is authorized by law to acquire, and for the payment of the cost of any construction, improvement, or other project which the commissioner is authorized by law to undertake; provided, that this shall not apply to any such moneys otherwise expressly appropriated by law for a specific purpose under the direction or authority of the commissioner; provided, that the following sums from the game and fish fund are hereby appropriated for the activities and purposes enumerated as follows:

a.	St. Paul Hatchery: Maintenance and improve-	
	ments\$ for each of the two fiscal	14,150.00
	years 1930 and 1931.	
b.	Maintenance and Improve-	
	ments for each of the two fiscal	10,000.00
	years 1930 and 1931.	
Ç.	Detroit Hatchery:	
	Maintenance and Improve-	
	ments	8,000.00
	for each of the two fiscal years 1930 and 1931.	
d.	French River Hatchery:	
	Maintenance and Improve-	
	ments	10,150.00
	for each of the two fiscal	
	years 1930 and 1931.	
e.	Southern Minnesota Hatcher	у:
	Maintenance and Improve-	
	ments	8,000.00
	for each of the two fiscal	
_	years 1930 and 1931.	
f.		
	Maintenance and Improve-	10,000.00
	ments for each of the two fiscal	10,000.00
	years 1930 and 1931.	
g.		
٥,	Maintenance	3,000.00
	for each of the two fiscal	, , , , , , , , ,
	years 1930 and 1931.	
h.	Ranier Field Station:	
		. 2,000.00
	for each of the two fiscal	
	years 1930 and 1931.	•
i.	Bemidji Field Station:	3,000.00
	Maintenance for each of the two fiscal	3,000.00
	years 1930 and 1931.	
j.		
3.	Maintenance	3,000.00
	for each of the two fiscal	
	years 1930 and 1931.	
k.		
	Maintenance	3,000.00
	for each of the two fiscal years 1930 and 1931.	
1.	Game Farm:	
1.	Maintenance and Improve-	
	ments	12,000.00
	for each of the two fiscal	•
	years 1930 and 1931.	
m.		ι:
	Maintenance and Improve-	0.500.00
	ments	2,500.00
	for each of the fiscal years 1930 and 1931.	
nd :	provided, that a sum equival	ent to the
mount of money in said fund on December		

and provided, that a sum equivalent to the amount of money in said fund on December 31, 1928, and not necessary for the maintenance and conduct of the department and not set apart for any other specific purpose, and not less than one-half of all fees thereafter and hereafter received from the sale of hunting licenses, are hereby appropriated and shall be used for the acquisition and maintenance of public hunting grounds, game farms and game refuges by the commissioner as provided by General Statutes 1923, Section

5630, and acts amendatory thereof and supplementary thereto. (Act Apr. 24, 1929, c. 332, §6.)

§5536-14. Game and Fish Commissioner to use unexpended balances.—If any of the sums of money appropriated under Section 6 are not sufficient to properly maintain and improve said hatcheries and game farm, the game and fish commissioner is authorized to use such further funds from said game and fish fund as may be necessary, and any unexpended balance in each fiscal year may be transferred and used by the game and fish commissioner in such manner and for such purposes of the department as the commissioner shall determine. (Act Apr. 24, 1929, c. 332, §7.)

\$5536-15. Fees reappropriated.—Any and all other moneys paid into the state treasury through the game and fish department, including the income from the sale of confiscated game and parts thereof and all other articles, are hereby appropriated for the maintenance and conduct of the activities of the office of the commissioner of game and fish, as authorized by law, except such moneys as are otherwise expressly appropriated by law for a specific purpose. All expenditures of the department of game and fish are subject to the provisions of Chapter 426, General Laws 1925 [§§53-1 to 53-52] and subject to audit by the state auditor. (Act Apr. 24, 1929, c. 332, §8.)

#### PART III.—QUADRUPEDS

§5537. Open season for big game.—Deer may be taken from November 15 to November 25, both inclusive, in even numbered years only, but nothing in this chapter shall be construed to permit the taking or killing of moose, elk or caribou at any time. (As amended Apr. 27, 1929, c. 418, §1.)

§5539. Manner of taking.—(1) No artificial light, including automobile and motorcycle headlights and spot lights, snare, trap, set gun, swivel gun or other device to entrap or entice deer shall be used, made or set, nor shall any deer be taken by aid or use thereof. No snare for wolves or other wild quadrupeds shall be set in any runway used by deer. No such snare shall be set with a loop of greater maximum diameter than 12 inches, nor with the top of the loop higher than 24 inches above the ground. No spring pole shall be set or used with any such snare. Deer shall not be shot from any artificial scaffold, platform, or other construction higher than 6 feet above the ground. Deer shall not be hunted or pursued or killed with dogs. Violation of any provision of this sub-division relating to artificial lights, set guns or swivel guns shall be a gross misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of not less than \$100 nor more than \$1000 or by imprisonment in the county jail for not less than 30 days nor more than one year, or by both such fine and imprisonment. Violation of any other provision of this sub-division shall be a misdemeanor, and shall be punishable by a fine of not less than \$50 nor more than \$100, or by imprisonment in the county jail for not less than 60 days nor more than 90 days.

- The licensee shall, after killing a (2) deer, immediately affix to the carcass thereof, coupon tag "B" of his license. Immediately after a deer has been killed there shall be affixed to each carcass of deer before the same is transported or offered for transportation, a metal locking seal bearing the license number of the owner thereof and the year issued in figures, said seal to be furnished by the commissioner through the county auditors when licenses are sold and for which a fee of 25 cents shall be paid. (As amended Apr. 27, 1929, c. 418, §2.)
- §5541. Open season for certain animals.-(1)Gray and fox squirrels may be taken and possessed between October 15 and January 1 following, both inclusive. No person shall hunt, molest or take any gray, black, red, fox, flying or other squirrel at any time within the corporate limits of any city or village or within one-quarter of a mile thereof. A person may take, during the open season, not to exceed 7 gray or fox squirrels in the aggregate of all kinds in any one day and may have not to exceed 14 gray or fox squirrels in the aggregate in possession at any time. Black squirrels may not be taken or possessed at any time.
- (2) Bear may be taken during any open season for taking deer, and between April 15 and May 15, both inclusive, next following any such open season for deer. Steel traps may be used for the purpose of taking or catching bear only upon permission of the game and fish commissioner to do so. Rules and regulations for the safe use thereof shall be prescribed by the commissioner and any one setting them so as to become a danger to persons walking in the woods shall be guilty of gross misdemeanor.
- (3)Raccoon may be taken between November 1 and December 1, following, both inclusive. Raccoon may be taken at any time of day or night. Dogs may be used in taking raccoon, except in territory inhabited or frequented by deer. No person shall molest or take any raccoon in any manner in a den or hollow tree or cut down any tree inhabited or occupied by a raccoon. No trap for raccoon shall be set in or under water or in any muskrat runway.
- Any person desiring to retain in possession during the closed season the skins of protected fur bearing animals shall apply to the commissioner with five days after the close of the season for a permit so to do, and the commissioner or a game warden shall issue to the licensee a distinctive tag for each pelt to be retained in possession; and upon receipt thereof, the licensee shall affix one such tag to each pelt retained in possession. Such pelts lawfully tagged may be bought and sold at any time. This shall also apply to furs taken from animals trapped or killed on land owned or occupied by the trapper. (As amended Apr. 27, 1929, c. 418, §3, and Apr. 24, 1931, c. 311.)

Sections 5541, 5547, 5631, 5633, should be read together. 177M398, 225NW435.

§5542. Open season for fur bearing animals. -(1) Mink may be taken, bought, sold and possessed in any manner at any time; pro-

- vided no traps for mink shall be set in any muskrat house or runway.
- Muskrats may be taken only by trap-(2) ping in such counties of the state and in such numbers and during such times in the several counties, not exceeding 30 days between March 1 and April 30, both inclusive, in any year in any county, and subject to such other provisions not inconsistent with law, as the commissioner may by regulation from time to time prescribe according to conditions existing in the respective counties. No person shall set or use more than 50 traps for muskrats at any one time. No person shall set, visit, or remove any trap for muskrats between the hours of 8 P. M. and 6 A. M.
- Skunk may be taken in any manner between October 20 and May 1 following, both inclusive.
- (4) Such animals, legally taken, may be possessed, bought and sold at any time upon compliance with all applicable provisions of law relating thereto. (As amended Apr. 27, 1929, c. 418, §4, and Apr. 25, 1931, c. 379.)

Act Apr. 27, 1929, c. 418, §8, repeals Laws 1925, c. 129.
Chippewa Indian held not subject to prosecution under state law for taking muskrat on Chippewa Indian Reservation. 179M180, 228NW

- §5543. Beaver and Otter.—(1) No person shall take or possess otter or beaver at any time, or molest or disturb any otter or beaver, except as hereinafter provided.
- In the event that beaver shall at any time, in any locality, become so numerous that in the judgment of the commissioner, a limited number thereof may be taken without unduly depleting the species, or when they cause substantial damage to a railroad rightof-way, public highway or private property such as to seriously prejudice property rights therein, then and in such case the commissioner, upon receipt of a license fee of \$1.00, and upon the execution and delivery to the commissioner of a bond in the sum of \$500.00, with sureties to be approved by him, conditioned, upon the faithful observance of the laws of this state relating to wild animals and the regulations of the commissioner, may issue to any person as hereinafter provided, a license to take beaver, specifying therein the number of beaver, the time when and the the place where the same may be taken.
- The licensee shall report, within fifteen days after the taking of any beaver, the number of beaver so taken by him, to the commissioner, or to a game warden designated by the commissioner, and shall submit the skins of all such beaver to the inspection of the commissioner or warden, whereupon the commissioner or warden shall issue and affix to each skin a distinctive tag, stamp or seal. The licensee shall pay the commissioner a fee of \$2.50 for each tag, stamp or seal, so issued. Beaver skins so taken and tagged, stamped or sealed may be bought, sold and transported at any time upon compliance with all applicable provisions of law The commissioner shall relating thereto. keep a record of each such tag, stamp, or seal, the number sold, to whom sold and the date of sale.
  - (4) Beaver may be trapped in a game

refuge only by the Game and Fish Department by persons employed so to do by the Game and Fish Commissioner under the same conditions hereinbefore specified.

(5) Whenever, for the reasons existing as provided in Section 5543, the commissioner deems it essential to take beaver as provided herein, he shall give to the occupant of any land upon which such beaver taking is contemplated, providing the same is occupied, a written notice of such intention and the approximate number of beaver proposed to be taken, such notice to be sent by registered mail to the actual postoffice address of each such occupant if any there be. The said occupant of any such lands so proposed to be affected shall thereupon have first right and privilege, if exercised within fourteen days after the receipt of such notice from the commissioner, to make personal application to trap, to himself take and trap such beaver, in the manner herein provided. Failure of such occupant within such fourteen-day period to avail himself of such right shall entitle the commissioner to proceed as in the case of unoccupied lands to grant such license to any other person applying therefor as provided by this act. The word "occupant" as herein used shall not apply to those who are trespassers, campers, or squatters upon lands and who hold without color of title, lease, or actual consent of the true owner thereof. The area of land embraced within such occupancy shall be the entire acreage, and the private waters thereon, which are actually under the control and supervision of the occupant and immediately contiguous to his place of abode thereon. Any person who shall unlawfully take, possess, transport, sell, or otherwise dispose of any beaver or any part there of shall be guilty of a gross misde-meanor and shall, upon conviction be punished by a fine of not less than \$50 nor more than \$500, or by imprisonment in the county jail for not more than 6 months, or by both such fine and imprisonment. (As amended Apr. 27, 1929, c. 418, §5.)

Trapping on land occupied as a permanent abode, see §5514.

172M469, 215NW837; note under §5547.

§5545. Hares, etc.—Hares, rabbits, weasels, wild cat, lynx, wolves, foxes, gophers, porcupines and all other quadrupeds for which a closed season is not provided by law, may be taken either in the day time or at night and in any manner, except that poison may be used to aid in the taking thereof only by permission of the game and fish commissioner and in a manner prescribed by him. No person shall place any poison in any place inhabited or frequented by wild animals otherwise than as so permitted. (As amended Apr. 27, 1929, c. 418, §6.)

§5546. Snow shoe rabbits and mink. Varying hare or snow shoe rabbit and mink may be taken either in the day time or at night and in any manner except that poison may not be used and as provided in sub-division 1 of Section 4 of this act [§5542 herein]. (Act Apr. 27, 1929, c. 418, §7.)

Sec. 8 of Laws 1929, c. 418, repeals Laws 1925, c. 129. See §5542 and note thereunder.

§5547. Traffic in furs—Licenses—Fees-Reports and bonds.

The burden of proof of lawful possession is placed upon the party in possession and claiming it to be lawful. 172M469, 215NW837.

This section does not violate constitution, art. 4, \$27; art. 1, \$\$6, 7; nor impose a burden on interstate commerce, in view of Mason's U. S. Code, title 18, \$395. 177M398, 225NW435.

Sections 5541, 5547, 5631, 5633, should be read together.

together. 177M398, 225NW435.

Whether or not origin of raw beaver skins was legal, held for jury. Hudson-Duluth Furrier, Inc., v. M., 235NW537. See Dun. Dig. 3933 (98).

A delay of three years in producing the required proof is, as a matter of law, such an unreasonable delay as to be fatal to plaintiff's right of recovery. Hudson-Duluth Furrier, Inc., v. M., 235NW537. See Dun. Dig. 3940.

Requires the possessor in the absence of official retaining tags, to have the proof of the lawful origin of such skins accompany the skins or at hand and available as soon as the owner learns of the seizure of the skins, he being allowed time to get the required proof from his office or other place where he reasonably has it available. Hudson-Duluth Furrier, Inc., v. M., 235NW537. See Dun. Dig. 3940.

§5547-1. Pet raccoons may be kept.—It shall be lawful for any person, with the written permission of the Commissioner of Game and Fish, to keep and have in possession a raccoon and to use the same for the purpose of training dogs for the hunting of raccoons. (Act Apr. 25, 1931, c. 378.)

#### PART IV.—BIRDS°

§5548. Open season for game birds.— Mourning dove, prairie chicken (also called pinnated grouse), white-breasted (also called sharptailed) grouse and upland plover may be taken or possessed between September 16th and October 1st following, both inclusive, and woodcock may be taken or possessed between October 1st and November 30th, both inclusive; provided, that said kinds of birds may be taken only in odd-numbered years. (As amended Apr. 25, 1931, c. 399, § 3.)

§5551. Open season for certain game birds. Quail may be taken and possessed between October 15th and November 20th following, both inclusive, but nothing in this chapter shall be construed to permit the taking or killing of Canada spruce grouse, or of wild turkeys or Hungarian Gray partridges. Partridge or ruffed grouse and Chinese ringneck or English pheasants may be taken and possessed only in such counties of the State and during such times in the several counties, not exceeding any 21 days, between October 15th and December 1st following, both days inclusive, in any year in any county, and subject to such other provisions not inconsistent with law, as the commissioner may by regulation from time to time prescribe so as properly to protect such partridges or ruffed grouse and pheasants and prevent the undue depletion thereof, according to the conditions in the respective counties; provided, that no new regulation or amendment of any existing regulation shall become effective in any season unless promulgated and published according to law on or before the first day of October next preceding such season. No game birds made be taken at any time or in any manner within the limits of any public highway, except migratory game birds. (As amended Mar. 18, 1931, c. 69, §1.)

Laws 1931, c. 399, in its title, purports to amend this section, but there is no amendment of the section in the body of the act.

§5552. Limit on number of birds which may be taken.-A person may take during the open season not to exceed 10 quail, and not to exceed 5 partridge or ruffed grouse, and not to exceed 3 Chinese ringneck or English pheasants in the aggregate of both kinds, only one of which may be a female, in one day. No person shall have more than 15 quail or 15 partridge or ruffed grouse, or more than 12 Chinese ringneck or English pheasants in the aggregate, of both kinds, in possession at any one time. Not more than 18 Chinese ringneck or English pheasants in the aggregate of both kinds and not more than 30 in the aggregate of all kinds of game birds enumerated in this section may be taken in any one open season. (As amended Mar. 18, 1931, c. 69, §2.)

§5553. Open season for water fowl.—(a) Wild ducks, wild geese, coots, and Wilson or jack snipe, may be taken and possessed between October 1st and December 31st following, both inclusive.

- (b) Rails and gallinules, except coot, may be taken and possessed between September 16th and November 30th following both inclusive.
- (c) Greater and lesser yellowlegs may be taken and possessed between September 16th and December 31st following, both inclusive.
- (d) Notwithstanding the foregoing provisions of this section, any of the aforesaid kinds of birds may be taken and possessed at any time between September 16th and December 31st following, both inclusive, whenever and so long as the taking thereof is not prohibited by federal laws or regulations; provided, that it shall be unlawful to take any of the aforesaid kinds of birds or other migratory game birds at any time in violation of any federal law or regulation. (As amended Apr. 25, 1931, c. 399, §4.)

§5554. Hours for taking migratory game birds.—Migratory game birds may be taken each day only from one-half hour before sunrise until sunset during the open season therefor; provided, that no such birds shall be taken before twelve o'clock noon on the first day of the open season therefor. (As amended Apr. 25, 1931, c. 399, §5.)

\$5555. Limit on number of water fowls.—A person may take in one day during the open season not to exceed 12 of any one of the following kinds of birds: wild ducks, rails (including coots, gallinules, and other rails), jack snipe (also called Wilson snipe), and yellow-legs (including greater and lesser), and not to exceed 4 wild geese; provided, that no person shall take more than 15 such birds of all kinds in the aggregate in one day. No person shall have in possession at any one more than 30 in the aggregate of all the aforesaid kinds, of which not more than 5 shall be wild geese. Not more than 120 ducks may be taken during any one open sea-

son. (As amended Apr. 25, 1931, c. 399, §6.)

- §5556. Manner of taking water fowl.-Water fowl and rails may be taken (a) during the open season from any place on land from a stationary or permanent artificial blind used to conceal the hunter, when located on land, but not from a permanent artificial blind placed anywhere in public waters and may also be taken from a temporary but stationary blind or from a boat or canoe propelled by paddle, oar or pole (other than a sail or power boat), when the same is within a natural growth of weeds, rushes, flags or other vegetation, sufficient to partially conceal the hunter, but may not be taken from power or sail boats or upon the open water, or from aeroplanes, or from sink boxes built in public waters.
- (b) Rifles may not be used in taking waterfowl, or rails. Artificial decoys or live decoys may be used.
- (c) The pursuing or shooting of wounded birds in the open water in a boat or canoe propelled by oar, paddle or pole is permitted.
- (d) Entering open water in a boat or canoe for the purpose and with the intention of causing a flight of birds resting thereon is forbidden.
- (e) Not more than six live decoys may be used to any one blind. The placing of decoys, or the erection of temporary blinds in public waters during the closed season for waterfoul is forbidden. (As amended Apr. 25, 1931, c. 399, §7.)

The game low does not permit the taking of waterfowl from an artificial blind constructed in public waters of a lake upon an artificial embankment. 225NW430.

Going from place to place along the shore of a lake in a motorboat is an offense under this section though the motor is stopped during the act of shooting. Op. Atty. Gen., Jan 3, 1930.

§5556-1. Wild rice not to be harvested with machinery.—It shall be unlawful to use in harvesting wild rice in any public waters of this state any water craft other than a skiff or canoe propelled by hand, or any machine or mechanical device for gathering or threshing out the grain other than a stick, paddle, or other implement held in the hand. (Act Apr. 25, 1931, c. 373, §1.)

See §§6131-1 to 6131-3.

§5556-2. Wanton destruction unlawful.—It shall be unlawful wantonly or unnecessarily to break down or otherwise injure or destroy any wild rice plants in any public waters of this state; provided, that such unavoidable breakage or injury as may occur when wild rice is harvested with reasonable care in a lawful manner shall not be deemed a violation of this section. (Act Apr. 25, 1931, c. 373, §2.)

§5556-8. Violation a misdemeanor.—Any violation of this act shall be a misdemeanor, and any person violating or threatening to violate any provision of this act may be restrained by injunction proceedings brought in the name of the state by the attorney general or by any county attorney. (Act Apr. 25, 1931, c. 373, §3.)

§5556-4. Act supplemental.—The provisions of this act shall not be deemed to supersede or exclude the operation of any other existing laws which may be applicable, but shall be supplementary to such laws. (Act Apr. 25, 1931, c. 373, §4.)

# PART V.—FISH

§5563. Bait.—Minnows for bait may be taken at any time with a net, trap or seine; provided, that immature game fish and carp shall be carefully sorted out at the time of taking and the game fish at once returned to the water and the said carp at once destroyed; provided further, that no net or seine used for the taking or minnows shall be more than 25 feet in length or more than 3 feet in depth. Minnows as defined in Paragraph 12, Section 5649, may be bought and sold. Provided, however, no minows shall be taken with a net, trap or seine in waters inhabited by trout. The use of game fish except yellow perch for bait is prohibited. The sale, or transportation of live or preserved minnows imported from other states is prohibited for any purpose. (As amended Apr. 25, 1931, c. 399, §8.)

The public has no right to use an artificial channel constructed from a public lake to a private lake over land of the owner of the private lake, nor to fish in the private lake simply because fish go there through the channel or otherwise. Op. Atty. Gen., Sept. 26, 1929.

§5564. Open season for bass.—Black bass and striped, silver grey, or yellow bass may be taken by angling, and thereafter pos-sessed between May 29th and December 1st following, both inclusive, in that section of the state to be known as the southern zone lying south of the north line of township one hundred twenty-four (124) in the territory west of the fifth (5th) principal meridian, and south of the north line of township thirty-five (35) in the territory west of the fourth (4th) principal meridian, and between June 21st and December 1st following, both inclusive, in that section of the state to be known as the northern zone lying north of the above described township lines. A person may take not to exceed 6 such bass in one day and may have not to exceed 12 such bass in his possession at one time. All such fish taken, regardless of size, may be retained in possession and counted. The use of three artificial flies in fishing is permitted. Such bass may not be bought or sold at any time. (As amended Apr. 24, 1929, c. 323, §1.)

Under this section as amended by Laws 1929, c. 323, §1, a fisherman with licenses from both Minnesota and Wisconsin violated no law in catching seven bass on the Wisconsin side of the Mississippi River and three more on the Minnesota side. Op. Atty. Gen., Aug. 18, 1930.

\$5565. Open season for trout.—Trout (except lake trout) may be taken by angling and thereafter possessed between May 1st, and September 1st following, both days inclusive, except in Lake county and St. Louis, Itasca, Carlton, Cook and Koochiching counties wherein such trout may be so taken and possessed between May 15th and September 1st following both days inclusive. All trout caught by angling regardless of size shall be retained in possession. A person may not take to exceed 15 such trout in one day, nor have in possession more than 25 such trout

or 20 pounds thereof at any one time. The use of three artificial flies in trout fishing is permitted. Such trout may not be bought or sold at any time. No such trout may be taken by the use or with the aid of artificial light of any kind, including bonfires, automobile headlights and spot lights. No such trout may be taken between the hours of 9 P. M. and one hour before sunrise. (As amended by Laws 1929, c. 17, which is amended Apr. 25, 1931, c. 409, §1.)

Sec. 2 of Act Apr. 25, 1931, c. 409, provides that the act shall take effect May 15, 1931.

Act prohibiting or restricting taking of brook trout in forest areas during forest fire hazards. Laws 1931, c. 372, set forth ante as §§4031-35½1, d31-35½1, k.

\$5567. Open season for lake trout and salmon.—Lake trout and salmon may be taken by angling and thereafter possessed between November 15th and September 15th following, both inclusive. A person may take not to exceed 5 such lake trout or salmon in one day, nor have in possession more than 10 such trout or salmon at any one time. All such fish taken, regardless of size, may be retained in possession and counted. Such lake trout or salmon may not be bought or sold at any time. (As amended by Laws 1929, c. 323, §2, which is amended Apr. 25, 1931, c. 371.)

§5568. Pike and pickerel-open season.-Wall-eyed pike (except sand pike), Great Northern pike or pickerel, and yellow perch may be taken by angling and thereafter possessed between May 15th and February 1st following, both inclusive. A person may take not to exceed eight such pike or ten such Great Northern Pike or pickerel in a day, and may have not to exceed 16 such pike or 20 Great Northern pike or pickerel in his possession at one time. Yellow perch may be taken and possessed without limit as to number; provided, that the commissioner may, whenever he deems it necessary to prevent the undue depletion of perch in any waters, fix by regulation a limit of 25 perch per day therein. All such fish taken, regardless of size, may be retained in possession and counted. Wall-eyed pike, Great Northern pike or pickerel, and perch, except those taken from waters which may be open for the sale thereof by the commissioner, may not be bought or sold at any time. Great Northern pike or pickerel may be taken by spearing through the ice between December 1st and February 1st following, both inclusive, and such fish so speared may be possessed during said time. (As amended by Laws 1929, c. 323, §3, which is amended Apr. 24, 1931, c. 323, §1.)

See §§5572-1, 5572-2.

It is legal for a person to use a floating fish house in spearing fish. Op. Atty. Gen., April 16, 1931.

In view of §5499, artificial lights cannot be used in the taking of fish except as herein provided. Op. Atty. Gen., May 1, 1931.

\$5569. Closed season for certain fish.—Rock sturgeon or lake sturgeon and shovel-nose sturgeon or hackleback and spoonbill or paddlefish may not be taken or possessed at any time, provided, that hackleback or sand sturgeon may be taken by angling or by

licensed set lines in any waters forming a common boundary between this state and the state of Wisconsin, subject to compliance with all applicable provisions of law. (As amended Apr. 25, 1931, c. 374, §1.)

§5570. Open season for crappies.—Crappies may be taken by angling and thereafter possessed between May 29th and February 1st following, both inclusive in the southern zone described in General Statutes 1923, Section 5564, as amended, and between June 31st and February 1st following, both inclusive, in the northern zone described in said section. A person may take not to exceed 15 crappies in one day, and not more than 25 crappies may be had in possession at any one time. All such fish taken, regardless of size, may be retained in possession and counted. Such crappies may not be bought or sold at any time. (As amended Apr. 24, 1929, c. 323, §4.)

See §§5572-1, 5572-2.

§5571. Open season for sand pike.—Sand pike or saugers may be taken by angling and thereafter possessed between May 15th and February 1st following, both inclusive. A person may take not to exceed 8 such sand pike or saugers in any one day, and not more than 16 sand pike or saugers may be had in possession at any one time. All such fish taken, regardless of size, may be retained in possession and counted. Such sand pike or saugers may not be bought or sold at any time. (As amended Apr. 24, 1929, c. 323, §5.)

See §§5572-1, 5572-2.

\$5572. Open season for muskellunge.—Muskellunge may be taken by angling and thereafter possessed between May 15th and February 1st following, both inclusive. A person may take not to exceed two such muskellunge in one day. All such muskellunge taken, regardless of size, may be retained in possession and counted. Such muskellunge may not be bought or sold at any time. (As amended Apr. 24, 1929, c. 323, §6.)

See §§5572-1, 5572-2.

§5572-1. Fishing in boundary waters.—In all cases where it is now provided by Mason's Minnesota Statutes of 1927, Sections 5568, 5570, 5571, and 5572 and acts amendatory thereof, that certain kinds of fish therein enumerated may be taken during open seasons now extending from a time prior to the 15th day of January to a time after said date, the open seasons for the taking of such fish in all waters forming a common boundary between this state and the state of South Dakota shall hereafter close at the end of the 15th day of January, after which date no such fish may be taken in said waters until the beginning of the next open season as provided by the statutes aforesaid, except as may be permitted under the provisions of Mason's Minnesota Statutes of 1927, Section 5648, and acts amendatory thereof. (Act Apr. 25, 1931, c. 393, §1.)

§5572-2. Inconsistent acts modified.—All acts and parts of acts inconsistent herewith are hereby superseded, modified, and amend-

ed so far as may be necessary to give full force and effect to the provisions of this act. No act hereafter enacted which might be applicable to the taking of such fish in said waters shall be construed to be inconsistent herewith unless it shall be expressly provided therein that this act shall be superseded, modified, amended, or repealed, in whole or in part, or unless such future act shall specifically relate to the taking of such fish in said waters or some part thereof. (Act Apr. 25, 1931, c. 393, §2.)

§5573. Open season for sun-fish.—Sunfish and rock bass and all other varieties of fish for which a different season is not provided by this chapter may be taken by angling and thereafter possessed between May 29th and December 1st following, both inclusive, in the southern zone described in General Statutes 1923, Section 5564, as amended, and between June 21st and December 1st following, both inclusive, in the northern zone described in said section. A person may take not to exceed 15 such sunfish or rock bass or such other fish in the aggregate of all kinds in one day not more than 30 in the aggregate of all kinds may be had in possession at any time. All such fish taken, regardless of size may be retained in possession and Such sunfish and rock bass may counted. not be bought or sold at any time. amended Apr. 24, 1929, c. 323, §7.)

See §§5573-1, 5573-2.

§5573-1. Open season for sunfish in Goodhue county.—The open season for the taking of sunfish in Goodhue County is hereby extended from the closing date of said season as now provided by Mason's Minnesota Statutes of 1927, Section 5573, as amended, to and including February 1 following. (Act Apr. 24, 1931, c. 334, §1.)

§5573-2. Law modified.—Mason's Minnesota Statutes of 1927, Section 5573, as amended, is hereby superseded, modified, and amended so far as may be necessary to give full force and effect to the provisions of this act. (Act Apr. 24, 1931, c. 334, §2.)

§5574. Carp and suckers—open season.—Carp, dogfish, redhorse, sheepshead, catfish, suckers, eelpout, garfish, bullheads of any size, whitefish not less than 16 inches in length, and buffalofish of not less than 15 inches in length may be taken by angling, except during March and April, or by spearing through the ice between December 1st and February 1st following, both inclusive, and possessed, without limit, unless otherwise specially provided. Such fish may be bought or sold in any quantity at any time. Provided however that the Commissioner of Game and Fish may allow the use of artificial lights in spearing rough fish in such areas as he may deem proper. (As amended Apr. 24, 1931, c. 323, §2.)

It is legal for a person to use a floating fish house in spearing fish. Op. Atty. Gen., April 16, 1931.

In view of §5499, artificial lights cannot be used in the taking fish except as herein provided. Op. Atty. Gen., May 1, 1931.

§5579. Limit of catch.—Except as otherwise expressly permitted by law, no person

shall take more than 15 fish of protected varieties in the aggregate of all kinds in any one day, or have in possession more than 20 such fish at any time, but this shall not extend any limit otherwise expressly fixed by law. (As amended Apr. 24, 1929, c. 323, §8.)

§5581. Use of explosives prohibited.—Fish shall not be taken by means of explosives, drugs, poisons, lime, medicated bait, fish berries, or other deleterious substances, or by nets, traps, tipups, trot lines, wire strings, ropes or cables, except where otherwise expressly provided by this chapter. Possession of any of such substances or contrivances by any person on the waters, shores. or islands of this state, shall be presumptive evidence that the same are possessed for use in violation of this section. It shall be unlawful to have in possession fish nets, except minnow nets, landing nets and dip nets and all nets held in stock for sale by dealers, unless tagged and licensed by the game and fish commissioner. Such tags and licenses shall be for the current year. Provided that nets in the possession of licensed commercial fishermen shall not be subject to this regulation. Whoever violates the provisions of this act shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor, and upon conviction shall be punished by a fine of not less than fifty (\$50.00) dollars nor more than one hundred (\$100.00) dollars or by imprisonment in the county jail for not less than thirty (30) days. amended Apr. 24, 1929, c. 331, §1.) (As

§5584. [Repealed].

Repealed Apr. 25, 1931, c. 399, §9.

§5585. Fish houses or shelters—Use of—Licenses.

It is legal for a person to use a floating fish house in spearing fish. Op. Atty. Gen., April 16, 1931

§5587. Frogs-manner of taking.-Frogs, not to exceed six inches in length, measuring from tip of nose to tip of hind toes, legs fully extended, may be taken and possessed, bought, sold, and transported for angling purposes only in any manner and at any time, except during the months of April and the first 15 days in May, and may be taken for scientific purposes at any time under written permit from the commissioner. Provided, that neither live nor dressed frogs shall be transported outside the state of Minnesota for commercial or any other purposes and provided further, that it shall be unlawful to use cloth screens or other similar contrivances and pitfalls in the catching of frogs. Bull frogs or parts thereof lawfully taken outside of the state may be imported into this state for food purposes and may be possessed, sold, and transported for such purposes at any time. 1931, c. 399, §10.) (As amended Apr. 25,

§5588. Turtles.—Turtles and tortoises may be taken, possessed, bought, sold and transported in any manner at any time, provided, that every net, trap, or other device used in the taking of turtles or tortoises in any of the public waters of this state shall be so constructed as freely to permit the escape of

fishes through openings having a least diameter of not less than three and one-half inches, or, in case of a net, having a mesh of not less than three and one-half inches bar measure, or seven inches extension measure; provided further, that any fish which may be caught in any such net, trap, or other device shall be promptly released and returned to the water unharmed. (As amended Apr. 25, 1931, c. 399, §11.)

§5588-1. Game and fish commissioner to control level of lakes.—That upon petition of 25% of the owners of property abutting on any public lake in this state, describing the nature of such lake and its location, setting forth the reasons why the water level therein should be established and controlled, the State Game and Fish Commissioner, if he deems it to be beneficial to and in the public interest that the water level in such lake be controlled, may establish the ordinary high water mark of such lake and cause to be erected and maintained all necessary dikes, dams, sluiceways and such other structures and devices deemed necessary and essential to establish and maintain the water level at such height of water as may be fixed, not, however, exceeding the ordinary high water mark. Provided that for lakes more than ten miles in length, in lieu of the petition of 25% of the abutting property owners, the petition to the commissioner may be signed by thirty-five per cent of the bona fide residents living along the shores of said lakes.

Before any such mark is established at which the water level in such lake is to be maintained as aforesaid, he shall cause a careful survey of such lake to be made by a competent civil engineer, showing if possible the government meander line thereof and the levels of the adjacent lands together with the ordinary high water mark.

Where it appears advisable to the Commissioner to establish a screen in connection with such other construction, in order to keep the game fish in such lake from leaving the same and carp from entering the same, he shall establish the same and provide for means of keeping the same clean so that the water above the level established may flow from such lake. (Act Apr. 25, 1931, c. 338, §1.)

\$5588-2. Cost to be paid by game and fish commission.—The cost of all proceedings in connection with such survey and construction shall be paid out of state funds available to the State Game and Fish Commission for any purpose whatsoever except from funds provided for public hunting grounds and game refuges. Nothing in this act shall be construed to affect any lake lying wholly within any one county. (Act Apr. 25, 1931, c. 338, §2.)

\$5592-1. Fish may be taken and sold from certain lakes.—Whenever the commissioner of game and fish shall find after investigation that any kind or kinds of fish may be taken from Upper Red Lake in Beltrami county or from Lower Red Lake in Beltrami and Clearwater counties, or from any part of said lakes, without unduly depleting such fish therein, he may, so long as such condition shall continue,

permit such fish to be taken in said lakes or in such part thereof as he may designate, in such manner as he may deem proper, and may permit such fish to be possessed, transported, sold, or otherwise disposed of; such taking, possession, transportation, sale, or other disposition to be under the supervision of the commissioner and subject to such regulations as he may prescribe, and subject to suspension or termination at any time as to any kind of fish whenever the commissioner shall find that such fish cannot be taken without unduly depleting the same. (Act Mar. 22, 1929, c. 84, §1.)

§5592-2. Commissioner to make regulations.—The Commissioner is hereby empowered to make all needful and proper regulations for the purposes of this act, and to require persons taking, possessing, transporting, selling, or otherwise disposing of such fish to obtain licenses and to pay such license fees or other charges as he deems proper to defray the cost of administration and enforcement of this act and to contribute toward the expense of conservation and propagation of fish in said lakes. (Act Mar. 22, 1929, c. 84, §2.)

§5592-3. Violation a misdemeanor.—Violation of any regulation prescribed by the commissioner under this act shall be deemed a violation of this act, and shall be a misdemeanor. (Act Mar. 22, 1929, c. 84, §3.)

\$5592-4. Restriction.—No fish shall be taken from the portions of said lakes within the Red Lake Indian reservation in violation of any law or regulation relating thereto prescribed by or under the authority of the United States, and all regulations made by the commissioner of game and fish under this act relating to the taking of fish from said Indian reservation waters shall be made subject to compliance with such federal laws and regulations. (Act Mar. 22, 1929, c. 84, §4.)

§5592-5. Commissioner may lease plant and equipment.—The commissioner of game and fish is hereby authorized to lease the state fisheries plant and equipment at Redby to the United States or to any proper authorized agency thereof for such term or terms from time to time and upon such conditions as to rental and otherwise as he shall deem reasonable, subject to termination by direction of the legislature at any time, provided, that such plant and equipment shall be used only for the benefit of the Indians and other persons taking fish from said lake in accordance with the provisions of this act. The commissioner is also authorized to lease the state fish hatchery and equipment at Redby to the United States or to any proper authorized agency thereof upon like terms and conditions and subject to termination in like manner provided that said hatchery shall be operated only for the propagation of fish in said lakes or such other waters of the state of Minnesota as the commissioner may designate; or the commissioner may, in his discretion, continue to operate said hatchery. (Act Mar. 22, 1929, c. 84, §5.)

§5592-6. Disposition of fees.—All fees and rentals under this act shall be paid to the

commissioner of game and fish and shall be by him transmitted to the state treasurer, who shall credit the same to the state fish revolving fund constituted under the provisions of General Statutes 1923, Section 5604, and acts amendatory thereof and supplementary thereto. In addition to the purposes prescribed by said section 5604, all moneys in said funds shall hereafter be available to pay the cost of administration and enforcement of this act and the cost of propagation and conservation of fish in said lakes, and said moneys are hereby appropriated therefor so-far as may be necessary. Said section 5604 is hereby modified and amended, so far as inconsistent herewith, so as to conform herewith. (Act Mar. 22, 1929, c. 84, §6.)

§5592-7. Acts subject to penalty and forfeitures of other acts.—This act shall be part of the laws relating to wild animals, and violations thereof shall be subject to the same penalties and forfeitures as prescribed for violations of such laws. (Act Mar. 22, 1929, c. 84, §7.)

§5592-8. Acts supplementary.—This act shall be supplementary to all other laws applicable to the taking or disposition of fish from said lakes, and shall not be deemed to repeal or supersede any such other law except so far as directly inconsistent herewith. (Act Mar. 22, 1929, c. 84, §8.)

§5592-9. Disposition of dead fish.—Whenever fish which have died from any cause accumulate in any public waters which are accessible to the public or upon the shores of such waters so as to constitute a public nuisance or so as to be detrimental to game fish in such waters, it shall be the duty of the commission of game and fish, upon discovering the same or being informed thereof, to cause such fish to be removed and buried or otherwise disposed of. (Act Apr. 17, 1929, c. 213, §1.)

§5592-10. Appropriation.—As much as may be necessary of any moneys in the Fish Lakes Improvement Revolving Fund created by Laws 1925, Chapter 408, as amended by Laws 1927, Chapter 437 [§§5609-1 to 5609-7] and acts amendatory thereof or supplementary thereto, not required for any other purpose for which the moneys of said fund are appropriated by said laws governing the same, is hereby appropriated for the purposes of this act in addition to the purposes for which said moneys are already appropriated as aforesaid, and said laws are hereby modified and amended so far as may be necessary to conform herewith. (Act Apr. 17, 1929, c. 213, §2.)

#### PART VI.--COMMERCIAL FISHING

\$5594-1. Open season for bullheads.—Bullheads may be taken in the manner hereinafter described in any of the waters hereinafter enumerated by any resident of the county in which such waters are situated, respectively, to-wit:

Mud Lake in Townships 143 and 144, Range 26, Cass County;

That portion of Bowstring River beginning

at the east line of the NE¼ of the SW¼ of Section 23 and the SE¼ of the NW¼ of Section 28, Township 147, Range 26, in Itasca County and running northwesterly to the north line of said township;

Rice Lake and Big and Little Dora Lakes in Township 149, Range 27, Itasca County;

That portion of Big Cut Foot Sioux Lake and Little Cut Foot Sioux Lake lying east of the east boundary line of Sections 22, 27 and 34, Township 147, Range 27, Itasca County;

Such bullheads may be taken without limit by hook and line at any time, and by spearing or with forks scoops and dip nets at any time during the months of March, April and May, of each year; and by hoop or fyke nets at any time except from April 15th to May 15th both inclusive of each year. (As amended Apr. 24, 1929, c. 315:)

§5595. Netting in certain interstate waters. -Fish, other than trout, pike, bass, pickerel, sunfish, yellow perch, crappies, sturgeon and catfish under 15 inches in length, bullheads under seven inches in length, may be taken in Lake St. Croix, and in the flowing waters of the Mississippi River beyond the mouth of the St. Croix River, including Lake Pepin, where said waters form a common boundary between this and other states, between June 15th and April 15th following, both inclusive, by means of seines, fyke or hoop nets, gill nets, bait nets, set lines and turtle nets, provided a license to do so shall be first obtained from the commissioner. Provided. that no fishing for commercial purposes under license shall be done in any of the waters described in this section except under the personal supervision of a duly commissioned game warden, one-half of the salary and expense of said supervising warden to be paid by licensee, and, provided that the total amount for salary and expense for said supervising warden to be paid by the licensee shall not exceed the sum of two dollars (\$2.00) per day, such supervising warden to be paid only for such time as he is actually employed, and more than one licensee may be supervised by the said supervising warden during the same day, and the said licensee, so joining, may join in the payment for such services. The provisions herein contained requiring supervision of commercial fishing by game wardens shall not apply to fishing with licensed set lines and shall not take effect and be in force as to the boundary waters between the State of Minnesota and the State of Wisconsin until the State of Wisconsin shall have enacted a similar law. Provided, further, that restrictions of this section as to open seasons for fishing and size of mesh nets. shall not apply to lakes or streams on interstate boundaries, where the laws of the adjoining state are more favorable or less restrictive in these respects than are the laws of this state, but on such interstate waters the open season for fishing and the size ofmesh of nets shall be the same as provided by the laws of the adjoining state where such laws are more favorable or less restrictive (As amended than the laws of this state. Apr. 25, 1931, c. 399, §12.)

Subdivision 1. Such license shall be procured from the commissioner. The applicant

shall make a verified application in writing to the commissioner stating (a) his name and residence, (b) the kind, size and number of seines or nets he proposes to use in such waters, and shall pay the following license For each 100 feet of seine not exceeding 500 feet in length, the sum of \$1.00; for each 100 feet of seine in excess of 500 feet and not over 1.000 feet, the sum of \$2.00: for each 100 feet in excess of 1,000 feet and not over 1,500 feet, the sum of \$3.00; for each 100 feet of seine in excess of 1,500 feet and not over 2,000 feet, the sum of \$4,00; for each 100 feet of seine in excess of 2,000 feet and not over 2,500 feet, the sum of \$5.00; for each 100 feet of seine in excess of 2,500 feet and not over 4,000 feet, the sum of \$6.00; for each gill net not exceeding 500 feet in length the sum of \$2.50; for each gill net exceeding 500 feet in length and not over 1,000 feet, the sum of \$5.00; for each fyke or hoop net the sum of \$5.00; for each bait or turtle net, the sum of \$1.00; for each set line, the sum of \$1.00; and for each metal tag furnished by the commissioner, the sum of 25 cents. (As amended Apr. 25, 1931, c. 399. §13.)

Subdivision 2. No seine shall be over 4,-000 feet long and no gill net shall be over 1,000 feet long and no two seines or gill nets shall be joined together in the water. The size of the mesh of nets, stretched measure, shall be as follows:

Seines—Not less than 5 inches mesh on wings and not less than 4 inches mesh in the center of the pot, such pot not to exceed 150 feet in length.

Hoop nets—Not less than 6 inches mesh for the leaders and not less than 5 inches net for the hearts and not less than 3 inches mesh in the hoops or pounds.

Bait nets—Not less than 3 inches mesh. Such nets shall be used without leads and shall have not more than a 4-foot front.

Gill nets-Not less than 7 inches mesh.

The use of floating or drift nets is hereby forbidden. (As amended Apr. 25, 1931, c. 399, §14.)

Subdivision 3. No person shall use or set more than one set line. No set line shall have more than 300 hooks. Frogs, live minnows or other live bait shall not be used on the same, but dead minnows or other dead bait, except frogs, may be used. (As amended Apr. 25, 1931, c. 374, §2.)

Subdivision 4. No such license shall be issued to any person who has been convicted of a violation of the laws of this state relating to wild animals within five years of his application nor to any person not a resident of this state. No such license shall be transferable. Before any such license is issued for the calendar year of 1932, or for any subsequent year, the applicant shall furnish a bond to the state, approved by the commissioner, in the sum of two hundred dollars, with two sureties, conditioned upon compliance with all the provisions of this chapter. Any license for a net of any kind hereunder shall become void unless the licensee devotes his personal attention to fishing thereunder. Personal attention to fishing is hereby defined to mean that the licensee shall, in person, attend to the drawing, setting, and lifting of each such net, sorting, caring for, and packing of fish caught therein at the station to which such fish are first brought, and to the marketing thereof. (As amended Apr. 25, 1931, c. 399, §15.)

Subdivision 5. Metal tags shall be furnished by the commissioner to each person to whom a license is issued. One such tag shall be attached by the licensee to each set line, one to each 500 feet or fraction of gill net, one to each 500 feet or fraction of seine, one to each fyke, hoop, bait or turtle net so licensed, and shall be kept thereon during all the time the same are in use or in storage. (As amended Apr. 25, 1931, c. 399, §16.)

§5597. Netting in Mississippi river—license. —Subdivision 1. Pound nets with leaders not exceeding 75 feet in length; seines not exceeding 300 feet in length, dip nets and set lines having not more than 300 hooks, may be used in the flowing waters of the Mississippi River, from the Falls of St. Anthony to a point 1,000 feet below the St. Croix River, and in the flowing waters of the Minnesota River from its mouth to Mankato, to take sheepshead, redhorse, dogfish, buffalofish, catfish, carp and suckers, except from April 15th to June 16th, both dates inclusive, provided a license shall be first procured for that purpose from the commissioner. Seines so used shall have meshes of not less than 2 1/2 inches on the bar and not less than 5 inches when extended, and shall not be used within 500 feet of the mouth of any stream. applicant shall make a written application to the commissioner stating (a) his name and residence and (b) the place where it is proposed to use nets or seines and shall pay a license fee of five dollars for each pound or dip net licensed to be used, the sum of ten dollars for each seine net licensed to be used. and the sum of one dollar for each set line so licensed. The licensee shall not change the location of his net or seine from the place specified in his application without notifying the commissioner to that effect. No person shall use more than one set line.

Subdivision 2. No such license shall be issued to any person who has been convicted of a violation of the laws of this state relating to wild animals within one year preceding his application nor to any person not a resident of this state. No such license shall be transferable.

Subdivision 3. Before any such license is issued, the applicant shall furnish a bond to the state, approved by the commissioner, in the sum of two hundred dollars, with two sureties, conditioned upon compliance with all the provisions of this chapter.

Subdivision 4. Nets shall not be raised or laid out or landed between one hour after sunset and sunrise the following morning. Every pound net must be raised at least once in seven days. Temporary fish ponds may be erected to keep fish lawfully caught under such license until the same be marketed. Fish so taken may be shipped to points within or without this state at any time and in any quantity.

Subdivision 5. No two seines shall be joined together in the water. Every seine when placed in the water shall be hauled to a landing immediately. The placing of any seine so as to obstruct the passage of fish either up or down any stream is hereby prohibited. (As amended Apr. 25, 1931, c. 399, §17.)

§5598. Open season for fishing.—Any variety of fish, except black bass, rockbass, muskellunge, and sunfish, may be taken by residents of Minnesota who are citizens of the United States, by means of pound nets, gill nets and fyke nets, except during the months of April, May and November, in Lake of the Woods, and during the month of November, April and the first 15 days in May in Rainy Lake and Namekan Lake, provided a license to do so shall first be obtained from the commissioner; provided that if the season for the commercial taking of any such fish shall be open in the Canadian portion of any of said waters during any time when the season is closed in the Minnesota portion thereof, as herein provided, the commissioner may, in his discretion, open the season in the Minnesota portion of said waters during all or any part of such Canadian open season. (As amended Apr. 1, 1929, c. 123, §1.)

Subdivision 1. Such license shall be procured from the commissioner. The applicant shall make a written application to the commissioner, stating the location in which he desires to fish, size, and kind of each net he proposes to use, and shall pay the following license fees:

- (a) For each pound net, the sum of \$35.00;
- (b) For fyke nets with four foot hoop or less, the sum of \$5.00, over four to six foot hoop the sum of \$10.00, over six to eight foot hoop, the sum of \$15.00;
- (c) Provided, that in Lake of the Woods the fees for fyke nets shall be as follows, according to the height of the wings and lead, based on whichever thereof is the highest; four feet or less \$5.00, and an additional \$5.00 for each additional two feet or fraction thereof, but not exceeding \$25.00 for any one net.
- (d) For each 100 feet of gill net, the sum of \$1.50

If a license is revoked or cancelled, it shall not be issued to any other applicant during the year for which it was originally issued. No license herein provided for shall be granted an applicant until the commissioner is satisfied that such applicant has equipped himself in accordance with the requirements of this section as hereinafter provided. (As amended Apr. 16, 1931, c. 180, §1.)

Subdivision 2. The size of \* \* \*

Gill Nets: Not less than four inches stretched measure for taking pickerel and pike-perch, not less than five inches for taking whitefish. There shall be no limitation on the length of any gill net excepting the limit provided in the license of the user. No gill net shall be set within 2,500 feet of a duly licensed pound net provided the pound net is in its rightful location under license, and is in operation. No person who is not

himself the holder of a gill net license under this act shall in any manner assist any holder of such license in setting, lifting, or otherwise operating any gill net for taking fish under this act, provided, however, that in the event of the holder of a gill net license becoming incapacitated the local game warden may authorize some person to lift any net that may have been set by the holder of such license. (As amended Apr. 1, 1929, c. 123, §2.)

FYKE NETS: Not less than two inches extension measure. The hoop of such nets shall not be more than eight feet in height. The wings leading from the hoop shall not be more than 100 feet in length and said wings shall not be any higher than the hoop. It shall be optional with the user of fyke nets to use either wings or one lead, or both, but said lead shall not be more than 300 feet in length and no higher than the hoop, provided, that in waters of Lake of the Woods there shall be no restrictions as to height of leads or wings on fyke nets, and leads may be not more than 400 feet in length. (As amended Apr. 16, 1931, c. 180, §2.)

Subdivision 3. Licenses for more than six pound nets, or for more than 4,000 feet of gill nets or for more than ten fyke nets shall not be issued to any one applicant, provided that license for only 1,000 feet of gill net shall be issued to anyone having a license for 10 fyke nets; provided, however, that a license for only six fyke nets shall be issued to anyone having a license for more than 1,000 feet of gill nets. No licensee shall operate more than one pound net station, nor shall such licensee be interested directly or indirectly, either by contract, lease or otherwise, in the ownership, control or operation of any other station than his own. A pound net station is the buildings, where and in which a pound net licensee keeps his fishing equipment, nets and boats, and sorts or preserves his fish. No pound net license shall be granted until the applicant shall have satisfied the commissioner that he has equipped himself with a pound net station. An applicant may lease a station and equipment from anyone who is not a pound net licensee. No pound net licensee shall use or permit to be used his fishing equipment, nets or boats at any such station other than his own or the one he operates under a lease, except in cases of emergency. Each licensee shall designate in his application the approximate location at which he intends to set gill, pound or fyke nets and he shall not set the same elsewhere, except with the consent of the commissioner. Licenses shall not be issued in excess of the following for each body of water named:

LAKE OF THE WOODS: 60 pound nets, 90,000 feet of gill nets, 100 fyke nets.

RAINY LAKE: 20 pound nets, 20,000 feet of gill nets.

KABETOGAMA LAKE: 10 pound nets, 10,000 feet of gill nets.

NAMEKAN LAKE: 5 pound nets, 12,000 feet of gill nets.

No person shall be granted licenses to fish both pound and gill nets, or pound and fyke nets, but holders of gill net licenses may be licensed to fish fyke nets. All licenses for

pound, gill, or fyke nets shall become void and nets used under such license shall be subject to seizure and confiscation, and license revert to the state, except as hereinafter specified unless the licensee devotes his personal attention to fishing under such li-Unless a licensee begins fishing his censes nets within 30 days after the opening of the season, his license shall be cancelled by the commissioner. Personal attention to fishing is hereby defined to mean that the licensee shall, in person, attend to the sorting, caring for, and packing of fish caught in his nets in the station to which said fish are first brought, and to the marketing thereof, with such assistance as he may need to carry on his fishing enterprise. The provisions of this paragraph relating to the holding of both pound, gill and fyke nets by the same licensee, shall not apply to Rainy Lake, and tributary waters thereof.

No license issued hereunder shall be transferable, and an assignment or attempted transfer of any rights under such license shall subject it to cancellation. No licensee shall assign, transfer, or attempt so to do, any license or any rights therein issued to him. A commercial fisherman holding a license to fish shall not sell in his own name any fish caught by another such licensee, or caught by anyone not holding such a license. (As amended Apr. 16, 1931, c. 180, §3.)

Treaty of July 1, 1908, between United States and Great Britain did not supersede state fish laws prior to promulgation of regulations by the International Fisheries Commission. 49F (2d)816. See, also, State v. Dove, 236NW322.

§5599. Commercial fishing in certain waters.—Herring, Lake trout and cisoes may be taken by residents of Minnesota who are citizens of the United States, by means of gill nets of the sizes herein specified and by the aid of skiffs and power boats, at any time as hereinafter provided in that part of Lake Superior under the jurisdiction of Minnesota, provided a license to do so shall be first obtained from the commissioner. Residents of the State of Wisconsin may procure a commercial fishing license, upon payment of a fee of \$50.00, to take such fish as herein enumerated, according to law, in waters of Lake Superior lying within the jurisdiction Herring may not be taken of Minnesota. hereunder between Novmber 16 and November 30, both inclusive. Ciscoes may not be taken hereunder during the month of November. Lake trout may not be taken hereunder between October 1 and November 10 following, both inclusive. Lake trout-may also be taken by set lines. Herring, lake trout or ciscoes so taken may be had in possession, bought, sold and transported within or without the state during open season and for a period of one week thereafter. (As amended Apr. 26, 1929, c. 404.)

Subdivision 1. Size of mesh.--The \* \* \*

Laws 1929, c. 404, amends the unnumbered paragraph preceding subdivision 1.

§5604. Revolving fund for conducting state fishing operations.

See §5592-6.

The moneys appropriated to the state fish revolving fund are public funds. 173M559, 218N W123.

# §5605. Game and fish commissioner authorized to remove fish.

Commissioner was not acting as agent of commission of Public Safety, and abolishing that commission did not terminate his authority to conduct operations under this section. 173M559, 218NW123.

Laws 1919, Chap. 341, as amended by Laws 1921, Chap. 109, does not contravene the constitutional provision forbidding the state to engage in works of internal improvement. 173M 559, 218NW123.

# $\S 5606$ . Surplus sold—Proceeds to revolving fund.

The commissioner is not authorized to buy fish for the purpose of reselling them. 173M 559, 218NW123.

#### PART VII.—GAME REFUGES AND FARMS, AND STATE PARKS

#### §5615. State Parks—Game.

There was no authority and no public necessity for the condemnation of an easement for an electric power line through Jay Cooke State Park. 177M343, 225NW164.

§5620-1. Red Lake Game Preserve created. For the purpose of vesting and revesting the State with title to lands in the area hereinafter described which are suitable primarily for State use and development for the purpose of preserving, protecting, propagating and breeding wild life of all suitable kinds, including all species of game and fish and fur bearing animals and birds of rare and useful species, and for the development of forests and prevention of forest fires, and the preservation and development of rare and distinctive species of flora native in such area, there is hereby located, established and created a state wild life preserve and hunting ground comprising all lands and waters in Lake of the Woods county lying south of Rainy River, and south of Lake of the Woods and all full and fractional townships in Beltrami county lying north of the north line of Township 151, excluding, however, all of the lands and waters lying within Red Lake Indian Reservation, and including also all that part of Koochiching county lying west and northwesterly of the following described line, viz.:

Beginning at a point where the range line between Ranges twenty-six (26) and twentyseven (27) west of the fifth principal meridian intersects the southerly bank of Rainy River; thence south on said range line to the point formed by the intersection of said range line with the easterly boundary line of the original Red Lake Indian Reservation; thence southwesterly along said easterly boundary line of the original Red Lake Indian Reservation to a point formed by the intersection of such boundary line with range line between Ranges twenty-nine (29) and thirty (30) west of the fifth principal meridian; to be known as the "Red Lake Game Preserve," hereinafter sometimes called "Preserve and Hunting Ground." (Act Apr. 19, 1929, c. 258, §1.)

This act does not contravene constitution, art. 9. §§1, 5, 6 or 10. 178M244, 226NW633.

§5620-2. Preserve to be under management of Department of Conservation.—Said Red

Lake Game Preserve shall be under the management and control of the Department of Conservation, which shall have, and is hereby given full power and authority to make, establish, promulgate and enforce all necessary rules and regulations not inconsistent with the laws of the state for the care, preservation, protection, breeding, propagation and disposition of any and all species of wild life therein and the regulation, issuance, sale and revocation of special licenses or special permits for hunting, fishing, camping and other uses of said area not inconsistent with the terms of this act, or other laws of the state now or hereafter applicable thereto. Such department shall have power and authority by means of rules and regulations to declare the terms and conditions of such licenses and permits and the charges to be made therefor. Such regulations may specify and control the terms under and by which wild life may be taken, captured, or killed therein, and under and by which fur-bearing animals, or animals and fish otherwise having commercial value, may be taken, captured, trapped, killed, sold and removed therefrom. Such rules and regulations may also provide for the afforestation and reforestation of lands now or hereafter owned by the state in said Game Preserve and Hunting Grounds, and for the sale of merchantable timber from such lands when and where, in the opinion of such department, the same can be sold and removed without damage or injury to the further use and development of said land for a habitat of wild life and game in said Game Preserve and Hunting Grounds and for the purposes for which said preserve and hunting ground is established by this act. The department may provide for the policing of said preserve and hunting ground in such manner as may be needful for the proper development and use of said preserve and hunting ground for the purposes herein specified, and all supervisors, guards, custodians and caretakers assigned to duty in said preserve and hunting ground shall have and possess the authority and powers of peace officers while in their employment. The department shall also make and enforce such rules and regulations not inconsistent with the laws of the state concerning the burning of grass, timber slashings and other inflammable matter, and the clearing, development and use of lands in said preserve and hunting ground as may be necessary and advisable to prevent destructive forest fires and grass fires which would injure the use and development of said area for the preservation and propagation of wild life therein and for the proper protection of the forest and wooded areas thereof. All lands within the boundaries of said preserve and hunting ground, shall be subject to such rules and regulations, whether owned by the state or privately, consistent with the rights of such private owners and with the laws of this state now or hereafter applicable thereto. By such rules and regulations there may be established areas and zones within such preserve and hunting ground where hunting, fishing, trapping or camping may be prohibited or specially regulated, for the purpose of protection and propagation of particular wild life therein.

All the rules and regulations adopted and promulgated under the provisions of this act shall be published in the manner now required by law under the provisions of Section 5643, General Statutes of 1923, and shall be, in addition thereto, posted on the boundaries of said preserve and hunting grounds. (Act Apr. 19, 1929, c. 258, §2.)

§5620-3. Red Lake Game Preserve fund created .- The proceeds of all certificates of indebtedness issued under the provisions hereof, all moneys received from redemption as hereinafter provided, all moneys received as gifts to the state for the purpose of care, preservation, improvement and maintenance of said preserve and hunting ground and all income which may be received from the operation, development management and use of said preserve and hunting ground, including such fees as may be received for such licenses and permits, all income which may be received from the sale of birds, animals, fish and flora therefrom, and from the sale of lands and timber thereon owned by the state within such area other than university, school and swamp lands, state forest lands set apart pursuant to Section 7 of Article 8 of the Constitution and state lands acquired under the system of rural credits, and all moneys of the state which may hereafter be transferred thereto under any law of the state shall be paid into the state treasury and credited to the Red Lake Game Preserve Fund, which is hereby created and same are hereby annually appropriated for the purpose of this act. (Act Apr. 19, 1929, c. 258, §3.)

\$5620-4. County auditor to prepare list of lands.—As soon as practicable after the passage of this act and not later than September 1, 1929, the county auditor of each county in which a portion of said preserve and hunting ground is situated shall certify to the state auditor a list of all the lands within the boundaries of said preserve and hunting grounds, except lands lying within the boundaries of any incorporated city or village, which have been bid in for the state at the delinquent tax sale held in the year of 1928 for the nonpayment of taxes or special drainage assessments and not redeemed or assigned to an actual purchaser, which certificate shall contain the following information:

- a. The legal description of each parcel of such lands.
- b. The amount of principal and interest of delinquent drainage assessments, if any, or installments thereof, for all years prior to the date of such report, against each such parcel of land.
- c. The amount of drainage assessments thereof assessed against each such parcel of land which have been or are to be extended upon the tax rolls of such county for collection with the taxes for the year of 1927 and subsequent years.

On or before June 15th of each year thereafter such county auditor shall certify to the state auditor a supplemental report giving the information contained in said original report covering such lands within said preserve and hunting ground bid in for the

state at the annual tax sale of that year and not included in the previous reports.

When redemption is made of any parcel of such land within the preserve and hunting ground which has been bid in for the state at any tax sale for taxes heretofore levied or when the tax liens on such land are assigned to an actual purchaser, the county auditor shall report the same forthwith to the state auditor, and the county treasurer shall transmit forthwith the proceeds of such redemption to the state treasurer.

Forthwith upon the passage and approval of this act, and thereafter, after each distribution has been made of the tax collections on the June and November tax settlements such county auditor shall certify to the state auditor the following information relating to bonds issued to finance or refinance public drainage ditches lying wholly or partly within said preserve and hunting ground and the collection of assessments levied on account of such ditches:

- a. The amount of principal and interest to become due on such bonds prior to the next ensuing tax settlement and distribution.
- b. The amount of moneys collected from such drainage assessments and credited to the funds of said ditches.
- c. The amount of the deficit in the ditch fund of said county chargeable to such ditches.

Upon the approval of said certificate by the state auditor he shall draw a warrant or warrants on the state treasurer payable out of said Red Lake Game Preserve Fund for the amount of said deficit in favor of such county.

As to all public drainage ditches which lie wholly within said preserve and hunting ground the maximum amount of money which shall be paid to or for the benefit of such county in the manner above provided shall never exceed the principal and interest of the bonds issued to finance and refinance such ditches outstanding at the time of the passage and approval of this act, less moneys on hand in the county ditch fund to the credit of such ditches, and such liability shall be reduced from time to time by the amount of any and all payments of assessments hereafter extended, made by the owners of lands heretofor assessed for benefits on account of such ditches. As to all public drainage ditches which lie partly within and partly without the boundaries of said preserve and hunting ground the maximum amount which shall be paid to or for the benefit of such county shall never exceed the percentage of bonds issued to finance and refinance such ditches so outstanding, less moneys on hand in the county ditch fund to the credit of such ditches at the time of the passage and approval of this act, which bears the same proportion to the whole amount of such bonds as the original benefits assessed against lands within the game preserve bear to the original total benefits assessed to the entire system of such ditches, and such liability shall be reduced from time to time by the payments of all assessments hereafter extended, made by the owners of lands in said preserve and hunting ground, of assessments for benefits heretofore assessed on account of any such ditch. The State auditor shall have authority to provide and prescribe the forms for any reports required by this act to be made to him and to require any further and additional information from any officials of said counties which he deems necessary for the proper administration of this act. (Act Apr. 19, 1929, c. 258, §4.)

The county auditor must report and the county treasurer transmit the redemption and assignment moneys from all taxes levied prior to the passage of this act up to and including the 1928 taxes, whether the sale takes place before or after the passage of the act. Op. Atty. Gen., Nov. 26, 1929.

§5620-5. State to issue certificates of indebtedness.—For the purpose of anticipating the annual revenues of said Red Lake Game Preserve Fund, the State Auditor is hereby authorized and directed to issue and sell certificates of indebtedness in an aggregate sum not to exceed Two Million Five Hundred Thousand Dollars (\$2,500,000.00) payable from said fund, such certificates to be numbered serially and to be of such denominations and to bear such dates of issue and of maturity and bear interest at such rate, not exceeding 5% per annum, as the State Auditor shall determine; provided that none of such certificates of indebtedness shall run beyond the tax settlement dates for the next annual tax levy thereafter to be made by such Auditor, as hereinafter required, in anticipation of the collection of which such certificates of indebtedness are issued. Such certificates shall be so issued from time to time as the proceeds thereof are needed for the demands upon said fund. The interest on such certificates of indebtedness shall be payable with the principal thereof. Said certificates shall be in such form and upon such terms and conditions, not inconsistent with the terms of this act, as the State Auditor shall determine, shall be signed by the Governor and attested by the State Auditor and shall be sold for not less than par. certificate may be purchased by the State Board of Investment for the Permanent School Fund, Swamp Land Fund, Internal Improvement Land Fund, or any other trust fund of the State of Minnesota, and shall be deemed "Authorized securities" within the provisions of Section 7714 General Statutes, 1923, and laws amendatory thereof and supplemental thereto. (Act Apr. 19, 1929, c. 258, §5.)

§5620-6. Tax Levy.—Whenever the state auditor shall approve a deficiency certificate of county auditor as specified in Section 4 hereof he shall compute the portion thereof which will exceed cash on hand in said Red Lake Game Preserve Fund available for its payment, and shall make an entry in his records that such excess, plus the amount required to pay interest on certificates of indebtedness to be issued to provide money for the payment thereof, is to be extended upon the tax rolls for the next succeeding tax levy, and there is hereby levied for the year 1929 the aggregate of the sums so entered for collection up to the time of the certification of state taxes for the year 1929, and for each year thereafter, until the maximum state liability prescribed by Section 4 hereof has been

exhausted, the aggregate of such entries made since the last preceding certification of state taxes, which taxes shall be extended and collected in the same manner as other state taxes, and the proceeds of such levies are hereby appropriated and pledged to the payment of the principal and interest of the certificates of indebtedness issued pursuant to this act. (Act Apr. 19, 1929, c. 258, §6.)

§5620-7. Title of land to be in state.—The title of all parcels of land lying within said preserve and hunting ground, except lands lying within the boundaries of any incorporated city or village, which shall be acquired by the state under the provisions of Chapter 119 Laws 1927 [§§2139 to 2139-5], or any amendments thereof, shall be held by the state, free from the trust in favor of the taxing districts specified in said Chapter, and shall be held and used, or disposed of, in accordance with the provisions hereof. (Act Apr. 19, 1929, c. 258, §7.)

§5620-8. Department of Conservation to classify lands.—Upon receipt by the state auditor of the reports of county auditor specified in Section 4 [§5620-4] hereof, he shall certify a copy thereof to the department of conservation, which shall classify all such lands as to their suitability for agriculture or for afforestation or reforestation or for ownership and use by the state for preserving, propagating, breeding and hunting of wild life of the kinds specified in Section 1 hereof, and after the title to any such lands has been acquired by the state in the manner herein provided such lands may be reclassified from time to time. All such lands which shall become the absolute property of the state under the provisions of this act, which have been classified as suitable for agriculture and timber, from any lands so acquired shall be subject to sale by the state as provided by law. (Act Apr. 19, 1929, c. 258, §8.)

\$5620-9. Department may receive gifts.—The department of conservation is hereby authorized and empowered to receive for and in behalf of the state, and to make suitable acknowledgments of, any gifts, bequests, devises or grants of land or interests in lands in said preserve and hunting ground, or of money or personal property of any kind, which it may deem suitable for use in connection with the operation, control, development or use of said preserve and hunting ground. (Act Apr. 19, 1929, c. 258, §9.)

\$5620-10. May acquire property by right of eminent domain.—The department of conservation is hereby authorized and empowered to acquire, by exercise of the right of eminent domain, which right is hereby given it, to be exercised in the manner provided in Chapter 41, General Statutes 1923, as amended, or by purchase, any lands or interests in lands in said preserve and hunting ground which such department shall deem necessary for state ownership, use or development for the purposes of this act, provided however; that no moneys shall be used for the purposes specified in this section until and unless such department shall have determined that such moneys will not be required to meet the requisitions of the coun-

ties authorized under Section 4 [§5620-4] of this act or for payment of certificates of indebtedness and interest thereon herein provided for. (Act Apr. 19, 1929, c. 258, §10.)

§5620-11. Counties may pay part of bonds in certain cases.—Any county wherein a portion of said preserve and hunting ground is located may voluntarily assume, in the manner hereinafter specified, the obligation to pay that portion of the principal and interest of the bonds, heretofore issued and which may remain unpaid at maturity, of any school district or township situated in said county and wholly or partly lying within said pre-serve and hunting ground which portion bears the same proportion to the whole of such unpaid principal and interest as the 1928 assessed valuation of lands then acquired by the state pursuant to this act in such school district or township bears to the total 1928 assessed valuation of such school district or township. Such assumption shall be evidenced by a resolution of the county board of such county, a copy of which shall be certified to the state auditor within one year after the passage of this act and thereafter if any of such bonds shall remain unpaid at maturity the county board shall, upon demand of the governing body of such school district or township or of the holder of any such bonds, provide for the payment of the portion thereof so assumed and such county board shall levy general taxes on all the tax-able property of the county therefor, or shall issue its bonds to raise such sum as may be needed conforming to the provisions of law respecting the issuance of county refunding bonds. The proceeds of such taxes or bonds shall be paid over by the county treasurer to the treasurers of the respective school district or townships.

In the event that any such county shall fail or neglect so to adopt and certify such resolution the state auditor shall withhold from the payments to be made to such county under the provisions of Section 4 of this act a sum equal to that portion of the principal and interest of such outstanding bonds which bear the same proportion to the whole thereof as the 1928 assessed valuation of lands acquired by the state within the preserve and hunting ground bears to the total 1928 assessed valuation of such school district or township. Moneys so withheld from the county shall be set aside in the state treasury and shall not be paid to the county until the full principal and interest of such school district and township bonds shall have been paid.

In the event that any such bonds remain unpaid at maturity upon the demand of the governing body of such school district or township or the holder of any such bonds the state auditor shall issue to the treasurer of such school district or township a warrant on the state treasurer for that portion of such past due principal and interest computed as in the case of the county liability hereinbefore authorized to be voluntarily assumed. All moneys received by any school district or township pursuant to this section shall be applied to the payment of such past due bonds and interest. (Act Apr. 19, 1929, c. 258, §11.)

§5620-12. Violation of rules to be a misdemeanor.—Any person, who, within the limits of said preserve and hunting ground, shall willfully violate or fail to comply with any rule or regulation of the department of conservation adopted and promulgated in accordance with the provision of this act shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor. (Act Apr. 19, 1929, c. 258, §12.)

§5620-13. Provisions severable.—This act shall be held unconstitutional only in the event that some major provisions of the act are found unconstitutional and invalid that would make the act unworkable. If any minor provision of this act be held unconstitutional it shall in no way affect or invalidate any other provision or part hereof. (Act Apr. 19, 1929, c. 258, §13.)

§5620-14. Exchange of certain lands authorized.—For the purpose of consolidating the holdings of state lands within the limits of the Red Lake Game Preserve, or for the purpose of decreasing the expenses of local governmental units by consolidating private holdings within said preserve and decreasing the number of scattered private holdings therein, the Executive Council, upon the recommendation of the state auditor, may authorize the exchange of lands to which the state shall have acquired absolute title under the delinquent tax laws within the limits of the Red Lake Game Preserve for privately owned lands within such preserve, such transfers to be made in the manner hereinafter provided. (Act Feb. 26, 1931, c. 32, §1.)

§5620-15. Owner to file request.—Any owner desiring to effect an exchange of lands hereunder shall file a request with the state auditor on forms furnished by him, giving the legal descriptions of his land and the description of the state land for which he desires to exchange the same. With such request he shall present an abstract of title to his land and an affidavit by him that there are no liens or incumbrances of any kind affecting the title thereto except such as appear upon such abstract, and that there is no person in possession of any part of said land claiming any interest therein who has not joined in such request, and that no improvements have been made thereon for which any person has the right to assert any lien. 1931, c. 32, §2.) (Act Feb. 26,

\$5620-16. Auditor to record certificate.—The auditor shall thereupon record with the register of deeds of the county in which such owner's lands are situated certificate setting forth that an application for the exchange of such lands (describing them) has been made hereunder and in the event such exchange shall be consummated hereunder the title of the state shall be superior to any lien or incumbrance, except tax or local assessment liens, attaching—subsequent to the recording of such certificate. (Act Feb. 26, 1931, c. 32, §3.)

§5620-17. Examination of title.—The auditor shall forward such abstract of title to the county attorney of the county in which such lands are located, who shall examine such

abstract and the records of the county relative to said land and give his opinion as to the title thereto, for which opinion he shall be entitled to receive a fee of \$5.00 to be paid as hereinafter provided. No lands shall be traded hereunder unless the county attorney shall have given his opinion in writing that the person offering to trade such land has good and marketable title to the land which he agrees to trade, free and clear of any incumbrance or lien disclosed by such abstract or the records of the county or known to such county attorney. (Act Feb. 26, 1931, c. 32, §4.)

§5620-18. State auditor to exchange lands. The State auditor shall thereupon have the lands offered to be traded for state lands and the lands of the state for which the same are proposed to be traded appraised in the manner provided for the appraisal of state school lands. He shall thereupon submit such request with the opinion of the county attorney and the report of the appraisers, and with his recommendation thereon to the executive council who may approve or reject such proposition to trade, or authorize the making of a counter proposal to trade other lands of the state within such preserve, or to make such trade upon any conditions as to payment of further compensation to the state which it may deem proper, and if payment of further compensation is required such payment may be made in such manner and upon such terms as the executive council shall determine. (Act Feb. 26, 1931, c. 32,

§5620-19. No money to be paid for lands.—No lands of the state shall be traded hereunder unless the appraised price of the lands offered therefor, plus any additional compensation required to be paid as herein provided, shall at least equal the appraised price of the state lands, and no money shall be paid out by the state to such private owners to secure such trade. (Act Feb. 26, 1931, c. 32, §6.)

\$5620-20. Execution and delivery of deeds.—Upon the conclusion of an agreement satisfactory to the state as herein provided the auditor shall take from the private owner a warranty deed to such property, free and clear of all incumbrances, and the governor and state auditor shall execute and deliver to such private owner the deed of the state to the lands agreed to be traded therefor, which deed shall convey all the interest of the state therein, free and clear of any tax or assessment liens in favor of the state or any local governmental subdivision thereof. (Act Feb. 26, 1931, c. 32, §7.)

\$5620-21. Proceeds to go into Red Lake game preserve fund.—All moneys paid by such private owner to the state to secure such transfer shall be paid into the Red Lake Game Preserve Fund, and all expenses of the state in connection with such transfer, including the appraiser's fee and the county attorney's fee for examining such abstract, shall be paid from such fund. (Act Feb. 26, 1931, c. 32, §8.)

# PART VIII.—BREEDING WILD ANIMALS AND FISH

§5625-1. Permits to engage in raising wild animals.—The owner or lessee of any lands or private waters within the State of Minnesota, suitable for breeding and propagating fur bearing animals and game birds shall have the right to establish, operate, and maintain thereon a farm or ranch for the purpose of breeding, propagating, and dealing in such animals or game birds and their pelts or products, upon enclosing said lands or private waters or portions thereof as hereinafter provided and upon complying with the provisions of this act and obtaining a license therefor as hereinafter provided: provided that the breeding or propagating of or dealing in deer or Hungarian partridge shall not be permitted under this act. The term "private waters" as used herein shall mean all bodies of water or streams, whether meandered or not, of a normally shallow, swampy, marshy or boggy character, not navigable in fact and no longer of any substantial beneficial use to the general public, and where all of the land immediately abutting upon, surrounding or bordering on said waters, together with all riparian rights incident thereto, are owned or held under written lease from the owner by the person, firm or corporation making application hereunder. Lands or private waters to be used as a farm or ranch for raising fur bearing animals or game birds shall have suitable enclosures approved by the commissioner for confining the respective kinds of fur bearing animals or birds to be raised thereon. (As amended Apr. 24, 1929, c. 366, §1.)

§5625-2. Application must be made to Commissioner of Game and Fish.—(1) A verified application for such license in triplicate shall be filed by such owner or lessee with the commissioner of game and fish, describing the lands or private waters which the applicant desires to use for the purposes specified, setting forth the title or leasehold of the applicant and the number of acres enclosed, stating the approximate acreage of land and water separately, and with a suitable map or diagram of the same, showing conditions therein, specifying the kinds of fur bearing animals and game birds which the applicant desires to keep and raise, and stating the number and kind thereof already in his possession, if any, and that he obtained the same in lawful manner.

- (2) If the applicant is a corporation, the application shall be made in the name of the corporation by the president or authorized managing officer thereof, and shall set forth the names and addresses of all the officers, directors, and stockholders of the corporation, stating the number and par value of the shares of stock, owned by each. If the applicant is a partnership or unincorporated association, the application shall be made by an authorized partner, member, or managing officer, and shall set forth the names and addresses of the members of the partnership or association and their respective financial interests and other rights of ownership and control therein.
  - (3) Upon the filing of such application

the Commissioner shall forthwith investigate the same, and may require the applicant to produce satisfactory evidence of the facts therein stated and of compliance by the applicant with the provisions of this act. If upon examination it shall appear that the applicant is the owner or lessee of such lands and of such waters and the riparian rights therein, as the case may be, and intends in good faith to establish, operate, and maintain a farm or ranch for the raising of such fur bearing animals and game birds in accordance with this act, and has complied with all the provisions of this act, the commissioner shall issue a license to the applicant, describing the lands and waters and certifying that the licensee'is lawfully entitled to use the same for breeding, propagating, trapping, and dealing in the kind or kinds of fur bearing animals and game birds therein specified.

- (4) When such license has been granted the licensee shall become the owner of all protected fur bearing animals of the kind or kinds specified in the license lawfully held in captivity on such lands or waters as provided by this act and of all their offspring remaining thereon; provided that as to muskrats and/or beaver, the provisions of Section 3 [§5625-3] of this act shall be complied with: provided further, that the licensee shall not become the owner of any wild game birds found upon his premises, and no such game birds shall be confined or taken thereon except as otherwise expressly permitted by this act or other provisions of law.
- Such license or any interest therein shall be transferable with the title or leasehold of the lands for which the same was granted, or a corresponding interest therein, upon the conditions hereinafter prescribed. No such transfer shall be valid unless and until a verified written report thereof is made in triplicate to the commissioner by the licensee making the transfer, accompanied by a copy of any deed, assignment, lease, or other instrument transferring the corresponding title or leasehold in the premises. transfer of any interest in any license less than the whole thereof shall be valid except to a bona fide partner or associate in the ownership and operation of the farm or ranch for which the license was issued, and unless such transfer is accompanied by a deed, assignment, lease, or other proper instrument conveying to the transferee a corresponding undivided or joint interest in the title or leasehold of the entire farm or ranch.
- (6) No grantee or lessee of any portion of the area of any such farm or ranch less than the whole thereof, or of any interest in such portion, shall acquire therewith any right or interest in any such license on such farm or ranch; provided, that in case of the transfer of the title or leasehold of a portion of such farm or ranch which complies with the original requirements for obtaining such license, the entire license may be transferred therewith. In case of any sale, lease, or other transfer of any portion of such farm or ranch where the entire license is not transferred therewith, the licensee shall immediately make a verified written report thereof in triplicate to the commissioner, accompanied by a copy of the deed, lease, or other instru-

ment evidencing the transaction. After any such sale, lease, or transfer, the license for such farm or ranch shall be valid upon the remaining portion thereof only in so far as such remaining portion complies with the original requirements for obtaining such license, as herein provided, and in so far as such remaining portion fails to comply with such requirements, such license shall be void.

- (7) One copy of every application for license and of every report of transfer filed with the commissioner of game and fish, as hereinbefore provided, shall be by him transmitted to the commissioner of securities.
- (8) All licenses heretofore issued by the commissioner of game and fish under Chapter 423, General Laws 1927 [§§5625-1 to 5625-14], under which the licensees have fenced and enclosed lands and waters in accordance with such licenses, are hereby validated and they shall remain and be in full force and effect, provided the present holder of any such license and his successors and assigns shall comply with the provisions of this act and all amendments thereof. (As amended Apr. 24, 1929, c. 366, §2.)

§5625-3. License to purchase animals on land .- Upon the filing with the commissioner of an application for a license for a muskrat and/or beaver farm or ranch, the commissioner shall appoint a qualified game warden, the applicant shall appoint one person, and these two shall select a third person to act as a board to go upon the lands or waters embraced within the license and determine as nearly as possible the number of muskrats and/or beaver thereon.at the time of the granting of the license. The necessary expenses of all members of such board shall be paid by the licensee. Within ten days after the date of such determination, the licensee shall pay to the commissioner of game and fish 50 cents for each muskrat, and \$10.00 for each beaver so found on said lands or waters. When such payment has been made. the licensee shall become the owner of all the muskrats and/or beaver on said lands or waters and all of their offspring. (As amended Apr. 24, 1929, c. 366, §3.)

This section as amended provides the only fees that may be charged for taking wild animals alive for breeding purposes. Op. Atty. Gen., June 25, 1929.

§5625-4. Licensee must manage and control land.—(1) The holder of any license issued pursuant to this act shall have the right to manage and control the lands or waters described therein and all fur bearing animals or game birds of the kind or kinds specified in the license, lawfully enclosed or held in captivity thereon as provided by this act, and to take and trap the same at any time or in any manner which he sees fit and deems to the best advantage of his business, and 'to sell and transport the same or the pelts or products therefrom at any time. Such license shall be prima facie evidence in all courts and proceedings of the lawful right of the licensee therein named or his or its successors or assigns, for the term of the license, to establish and operate a farm or ranch for the raising of the kind or kinds of fur bearing animals or game birds specified in the license upon the premises described therein, and shall entitle the licensee therein named or his or its successors or assigns to the exclusive right for and during said term to breed, propagate, trap and deal in such fur bearing animals or game birds, their pelts and products and to the exclusive and sole ownership of any property and of such fur bearing animals or game birds caught or taken thereupon, all subject to the provisions hereof. (As amended Apr. -24, 1929, c. 366, §4.)

- (2) No foxes or mink shall be sold in this state by licensed breeders for breeding or propagating purposes that have not been penbred for two successive generations, according to law. (As amended Apr. 24, 1929, c. 366, §4(2), and Apr. 25, 1931, c. 389, §1.)
- No sale or contract for the sale of any such live fur bearing animals or birds by any such licensee shall be valid unless and. until the particular animals or birds affected by such sale or contract are actually delivered to the purchaser, or, if not delivered, unless and until such animals or birds are segregated, identified, and kept separately, subject to the rights of the purchaser under the sale or contract, which sale or contract shall be in writing and one copy thereof shall be mailed to the commissioner of Game and Fish within 30 days thereafter. After such fur bearing animals shall have been segregated, and identified, they and their off-springs shall become domesticated animals and shall be assessed as personal property of the purchaser, and shall be kept under any contract or arrangement for ranching that the purchaser may deem to his best interest, and subject to the rights of the owner at all times under this act. Rancher must notify owner within fifteen days of the death of animal, and notify owner of number in increase before June 20th, each year. No animal being ranched in Minnesota can be removed to another State without permission from the owner. Officials must have the right to count and inspect at all times, except during the mating and breeding seasons. (As amended Apr. 24, 1929, c. 366, §4(3), and Apr. 25, 1931, c. 389, §2.)
- No live beaver shall be transported (4)for any purpose unless the person transporting the same shall first obtain a special permit therefor from the commissioner. Anv person desiring such permit shall make a verified written application therefor to the commissioner, setting forth the number of such beaver, the place where the same are kept, how, where, and from whom and under what authority the same were obtained, the date and place from which it is proposed to transport the same, the method and route of transportation, the place of destination, the name and address of the consignee, the purpose for which the beaver are intended, and the authority of the consignee to receive, keep, and dispose of the beaver for such purpose. If all provisions of law relating to such beaver and to the proposed transportation and disposition thereof have been and will be complied with, the commissioner shall grant such special permit, and shall issue therewith suitable tags which shall be affixed to the cages or other containers in which such beaver are

transported. (As amended Apr. 24, 1929, c. 366, §4.)

(5)No licensee under this act shall keep alive any beaver which has been permanently injured by trapping or otherwise, but all such beaver shall be promptly killed as soon as such injury is discovered, and disposed of according to the provisions of this act; provided, that this shall not apply to any injured beaver lawfully in possession of any such licensee at the time of the passage of this act, upon condition that such licensee shall within sixty days after the passage of this act report to the commissioner of game and fish the number and description of such injured beaver in his possession. (As amended Apr. 24, 1929, c. 366, §4.)

\$5625-6. License fee.—(1) The holder of any such license shall pay an annual license fee of three dollars for any such farm or ranch of ten acres or under, and an additional fee of fifteen cents per acre for any additional land or waters actually devoted to the raising of fur bearing animals or game birds of any kind or kinds specified in the license. Such licenses shall expire on the thirty-first day of December of each year, but shall be renewed from year to year upon payment by the licensee of the annual license fee, subject to the provisions of this act. (As amended Apr. 24, 1929, c. 366, §5.)

§5625-7. Licensee to mark boundary of farm.-Within thirty days after the date of the issuance of any such license the licensee shall erect posts or stakes at intervals of not more than twenty rods within the boundary of the lands or waters embraced in said li-cense, whenever the same are not already enclosed, and shall post and maintain upon said posts, stakes or other enclosures at intervals of not more than twenty rods, notices furnished by the commissioner of game and fish proclaiming the establishment of a farm or ranch of the kind specified in the license. For such notices the licensee shall pay to the commissioner of game and fish the sum of 25 cents each. (As amended Apr. 24, 1929, c. 366, §6.)

\$5625-8. Trespassers.—(1) Any person other than the licensee or his agents who shall hunt, trap, take or attempt to take fur bearing animals of any kind or kinds specified in the license upon any lands or waters described in any such license shall be liable to the licensee in the sum of twenty-five dollars (\$25.00) in addition to all damages which he may do to said farm or ranch or to such fur bearing animals or game birds and property thereon, to be recovered by such licensee in a civil action.

(2) All lands and water heretofore or hereafter enclosed and fenced under the provisions of this act shall become and be permanent waterfowl refuges on which hunting and shooting of waterfowl is prohibited. Any person or persons violating any of the provisions of this section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor. (As amended Apr. 24, 1929, c. 366, §7.)

§5625-9. Licensee to report annually.—(1) On or before the first day of March of each

year such licensee shall make a report verified by affidavit to the commissioner of game and fish, covering the period from the first day of January to the thirty-first day of December of the previous year, upon blanks furnished by the commissioner, stating the number of the license and the total number of fur bearing animals or game birds of each kind specified in his license killed, transported or sold from the farm or ranch operated under such license.

The commissioner and any game warden expressly authorized by the commissioner, or any other officer so authorized, shall have authority at all reasonable times, with or without a warrant, to enter, inspect and search the premises of any licensee under this act, including the premises described in the license and all other premises used by the licensee in any manner for taking, keeping. storing, buying, selling, transporting, shipping, or otherwise disposing of such wild animals or birds or their skins or other parts or products; provided, that such inspection or search shall not be made at such time or in such manner as to interfere with or disturb the breeding of any animals or birds kept or raised under such license on such premises. (As amended Apr. 24, 1929, c. 366, §8.)

§5625-11. Additional license.—(1) person desiring to obtain a license for raising fur bearing animals or game birds of a kind specified in this act upon the same premises already licensed for raising such fur bearing animals or game birds of another kind specified in this act and for which a license fee has already been paid, shall be entitled to obtain a license for the raising of such additional kind or kinds of fur bearing animals or game birds upon such premises upon making application therefor and complying with the provisions of this act as hereinbefore provided, but no additional license fee shall be charged therefor, and the raising of different kinds of fur bearing animals or game birds on the same premises shall be permitted upon the payment of one license fee for said premises. (As amended Apr. 24, 1929, c. 366, §9.)

85625-12. Violations - Penalties. - Any holder of a license issued pursuant to this act who shall, during the term of such license, violate any of the provisions of this act, or who shall, during the term of such license, unlawfully take, buy, sell, transport, ship, or have in his possession any fur bearing animal or game bird of any kind of the kinds specified in his license, or any part thereof, and any person who shall sell, transport, or ship any such fur bearing animal or game bird or any part thereof, falsely pretending or representing the same to have been raised by any licensee under any such license, or who shall unlawfully use any tag issued by the commissioner of game and fish pursuant to this act upon or for any fur bearing animal or game bird or part thereof, or who shall unlawfully buy, sell, transport, ship or have in his possession upon the premises of any such licensee any such fur bearing animal or game bird, or who shall violate any provision of this act for which no penalty is expressly prescribed, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor,

and shall be punished upon conviction by a fine of not less than fifty dollars (\$50.00) nor more than one hundred dollars (\$100.00) or by imprisonment in the county jail, not exceeding ninety days. (As amended Apr. 24, 1929, c. 366, \$10.)

\$5625-13. Permit to capture wild animals. -(1)Protected wild fur bearing animals may be taken alive only by licensed trappers during the open season therefor, or under special permit in the case of beaver or other animals for which such permit may be required by law. Any person so taking such animals alive may keep the same for breeding purposes only in case he is the holder of a license therefor as provided by this act, or may keep such live animals for sale, subject to compliance with all the provisions of law relating to the possession, sale, or other disposition of such protected wild animals: provided, that in so far as it is impracticable to apply to such live wild animals any requirements of law for tagging, stamping, or sealing wild animals or parts thereof, the commissioner may permit such requirements to be dispensed with upon compliance with such provisions for reporting, identifying and marking such live wild animals as he may by regulation prescribe. Subject to compliance with such laws, such live animals may be sold and transported, or otherwise disposed of, within or without the state; provided that within the state the same may only be sold to and purchased or possessed by the holders of licenses under this act covering such animals or to persons otherwise authorized to possess such animals alive according to law.

- (2) Protected wild animals of any kind may be taken for scientific, educational, or exhibition purposes, or for use as pets, and may be possessed, transported, or otherwise disposed of for or in connection with such purposes only under special permits issued therefor by the commissioner and subject to such regulations and the payment of such fees as the commissioner may prescribe.
- (3) No person shall take, possess, transport, buy, sell, or otherwise dispose of any protected wild animal alive except as permitted by this act or as otherwise expressly permitted by law. (As amended Apr. 24, 1929, c. 366, §11.)

The only fees that may be charged for taking wild animals alive for breeding purposes are those prescribed by §5625-3, or §5543. Op. Atty. Gen., June 25, 1929.

§5630. Commissioner—General powers and duties—Statistics—Bulletins.

(3) To take fish or fish eggs, or to authorize such taking from any of the public waters of this state in any manner during the open or close season for the purpose of stocking other waters herein, and may sell such fish as are necessarily killed in taking fish eggs and may sell suckers, redhorse, or mullets, taken in connection with such spawning, the proceeds of the sale of such fish to be paid into the state treasury as required of other receipts of the department, provided, however, that no fish or fish eggs shall be placed in any waters unless such waters are accessible to the public for fishing

purposes. (As amended Apr. 25, 1931, c. 376, §1.)

- (6) To set aside and reserve any of the waters of this state for the purpose of fish propagation, to open the season for taking any kind of fish specified by him in any lake lying within thirteen miles north of the zone line fixed by Section 5564 at the same time fixed by law for taking such fish in the southern zone, and by order designate certain streams as trout streams. The taking of fish from any of the waters so reserved and set aside, except as may be permitted by the commissioner, is prohibited. (As amended Apr. 25, 1931, c. 391.)
- (8) A. To select, set aside, and reserve from lands owned by the state, and to acquire by condemnation, gift, lease or purchase, lands, or easements, riparian rights, or other interests therein or thereon, suitable for the purposes of establishing and reforesting large and small game public hunting grounds and game refuges, subject to the approval of the executive council, and shall establish thereon public hunting grounds, and shall set aside a portion of each of said public hunting grounds, not exceeding one-third (1/3) thereof, as a state game refuge, said portion so set aside to be surrounded on all sides by the remainder thereof, and shall pay the compensation for property acquired or damaged for such public hunting grounds and game refuges and the cost of improving and maintaining the same out of any funds, available for the purpose of this act, and shall make such rules and regulations as he shall deem necessary governing the conduct of persons on said public hunting grounds and game refuges.
- B. And for the purposes of this act, the game and fish commissioner may acquire lands in any drainage district in this state or in any portion thereof, and may alter the flow of water in said drainage district by dykes, dams, or otherwise as may be deemed by him to be expedient or necessary, subject to the provisions of this act.
- Title to any lands or interests acquired for the purposes of this act shall be taken in the name of the state, and condemnation proceedings for the acquisition thereof shall be governed by the laws relating to the condemnation of property for the state, subject to the provisions of this act. In such condemnation proceedings, in addition to service of the notice of the objects and contents of the petition and of the time and place of presenting the same as otherwise required by law, three weeks published notice thereof shall be given within the time prescribed by law for service of such notice, in a qualified legal newspaper published at the county seat of each county in which any lands affected by the proceedings are situated. Any person owning lands or interests affected by any such proceeding and not made a party thereto may intervene therein at any time up to the time of presentation of the petition.
- D. In case it is necessary to acquire by condemnation for any project under this act any public or private property situated in

- more than one county, the following provisions shall apply: Proceedings for the condemnation of all such property may be had in the district court of the county in which the larger portion of the lands affected by such proceedings lie, and such court shall complete jurisdiction thereof. court shall appoint the same number of commissioners as otherwise prescribed by law for such proceedings, but shall appoint at least one resident of the county in which the proceedings are commenced and at least one resident of each other county affected, as far as possible. A certified copy of every attorney's certificate, decree of the court, or other instrument provided by law for finally establishing or evidencing the rights of the petitioner in the lands affected shall be filed for record with the register of deeds of each county in which any lands affected by such certificate, decree, or other instrument are situated but describing only so much of the lands affected as are situated in the county in which it is so filled.
- E. The commissioner of game and fish may at any time after the filing of the petition for the condemnation of any lands or interests in lands for the purposes of this act take possession thereof, except as hereinafter provided, and he may at any time enter upon any lands and make surveys and examinations thereof for the purpose of determining whether the same are suitable or necessary for the purposes of this act.
- F. No public highway or public drainage ditch or system shall be obstructed or damaged so as materially to impair or interfere with the maintenance or use thereof by any project under this act, and no other public property shall be taken or damaged by any such project, and no waters in any ditch, stream, lake, or other body of water or water course shall be interferred with or affected in any manner so as to take or damage any public or private property by flowage, seepage drainage, or otherwise, unless the necessity therefor shall first be determined by the court in condemnation proceedings as herein provided, to which proceedings each county, city, town, village and private property owner affected shall be made a party. In case the project involves or necessitates the changing of any water level so as to take or damage any public or private property by flowage, seepage, drainage, or otherwise, the proposed new level and the extent to which and the manner in which any lands will be affected thereby shall be specified and shown in the petition and by plans filed therewith in the condemnation proceedings. In case the project involves or necessitates any material extension, alteration, or relocation of a public drainage ditch or system or of a public highway, the proposed extension, alteration, or relocation shall be described in a supplemental petition filed by the commissioner of game and fish in the condemnation proceedings in like form as provided by law for a petition for such extension, alteration, or relocation of a judicial ditch or highway, as the case may be, but without bond, and thereupon the court in which such condemnation proceedings are pending, whether the ditch or drainage system or highway, as the case may be,

was originally established by such court or not, shall have complete jurisdiction in the premises as if such drainage ditch or system or such highway were a judicial ditch or highway, as the case may be, established by such court, and such petition shall have the same effect as a petition for the alteration, extension, or relocation of such judicial ditch or highway, as the case may be, filed according to the laws applicable thereto, respectively. Thereupon the court shall cause notice to be given and proceedings to be had upon such petition to effect the proposed alteration, extension, or relocation as part of and supplemental to the condemnation proceedings in like manner and with like effect as provided by law for the alteration, extension, or relocation of a judicial ditch or highway, as the case may be; provided, that the commissioners appointed by the court in the condemnation proceedings shall act as viewers or commissioners, as the case may be, in such supplemental alteration, extension, or relocation proceedings. The court shall make its final order in such supplemental proceedings determining and specifying the nature and extent of the alteration, extension, or relocation to be made, and also determining and specifying to what extent the original drainage ditch or system or highway, as the case may be, shall be vacated and abandoned, and upon the completion of the project in accordance with such order the original drainage ditch or system or highway shall be deemed to be vacated and abandoned to the extent specified in such order.

A certified copy of such order shall be filed with the court or with the proper officer of the body by which the drainage ditch or system or highway was originally established, and shall be binding upon all parties thereto as if made therein according to the laws relating thereto. All compensation awarded in such supplemental proceedings for property taken or damaged shall be paid out of the moneys appropriated for the purposes of this act.

Whenever any lands or interests acquired or damaged under this act are subject to any unpaid taxes or assessments, such taxes or assessments shall be paid by the commissioner of game and fish out of and shall be deducted from the compensation payable for such lands or interests or for damages thereto, as the case may be, as far as such compensation is sufficient therefor, and thereupon such lands or interests shall be discharged from the lien of such taxes or assessments, whether the full amount thereof has been paid or not; provided, that in any case where such compensation is paid otherwise than as determined in judicial proceedings as herein provided, such lands or interests shall be discharged from such lien only to the extent of the amount actually paid thereon; and provided, further, that such discharge shall not affect the lien of any unpaid taxes or assessments, or portion thereof, on any undivided or remainder or other interests not taken under this act.

No public drainage ditch or system hereafter established shall be constructed or maintained so as to affect in any manner public hunting grounds or game refuge established under this act or any waters thereon. nor shall any public highway be constructed over or across any such public hunting grounds or game refuge, unless the commissioner of game and fish shall, after having determined that the maintenance and use of such public hunting grounds or game refuge will not thereby be injuriously affected, consent thereto.

The commissioner of game and fish shall maintain all public hunting grounds and game refuges established under this act in such manner as he shall deem best for the benefit of the public and for the protection and propagation of wild game therein, and may erect such structures and make such other improvements thereon as he deems necessary or proper for the maintenance thereof. (As amended Apr. 24, 1929, c. 319.)

Act authorizing conveyance to city of Granite Falls of state fish hatchery property there situated. Laws 1931, c. 236.

(6).

This subdivision is valid. 172M179, 215NW

Commissioner held not to have acted arbitrarily in setting aside certain waters for fish propagation. 172M179, 215NW215.

#### §5631. Police powers of commissioner, etc.

Sections 5541, 5547, 5633, should be read together. 177M398, 225NW435.

Where game warden seized rifle of one shooting deer out of season, and he was convicted by a municipal court and conviction was set aside as void, the warden could nevertheless keep possession of the rifle. Op. Atty. Gen., Feb. 20, 1931.

#### §5633. Commingled shipment.

177M398, 225NW435.

In a replevin case, the evidence of the legal taking in Wisconsin of muskrat skins seized by the Minnesota game and fish department is not sufficient to go to the jury. 181M585, 233N W585. See Dun. Dig. 3940(10).

§5636. Disposition of fines.—All fines collected for violation of any law relating to wild animals, game birds and fish shall be paid to the county treasurer of the county where the conviction was had and one-half of said fines shall be by that officer transmitted to the commissioner, who shall pay the same into the state treasury. The remaining half of said fines shall be credited to the general revenue fund of the county. (As amended Feb. 8, 1929, c. 11.)

Amendment by Laws 1929, c. 11, applied to all fines collected on or after Feb. 9, 1929, even though imposed before that date. Op. Atty. Gen., Apr. 9, 1929.

# PART X .-- CONCURRENT JURISDICTION

§5645. Common boundary waters.—The taking of wild animals of any kind, including game birds, quadrupeds, and in any manner in or upon any of the waters which form a common boundary between Minnesota and any other state of the United States, contrary to the laws of such state, is hereby prohibited, provided, the commission may license or otherwise provide for the taking or removal of rough or non-game fish in said waters as

otherwise authorized by law. (As amended Apr. 21, 1931, c. 298, §1.)

The taking of muskrats in the waters of a lake forming the boundary between Minnesota and South Dakota within the closed season established by the laws of Minnesota is an offense against the laws of Minnesota irrespective of the location of the boundary line. Op. Atty. Gen., Jan. 6, 1930.

#### §5646. Reciprocal jurisdiction—Courts and wardens.

The taking of muskrats in the waters of a lake forming the boundary between Minnesota and South Dakota within the closed season established by the laws of Minnesota is an offense against the laws of Minnesota, irrespective of the location of the boundary line. Op. Atty. Gen., Jan. 6, 1930.

§5647. Reciprocity in licenses.—Whenever, so long as, and in so far as the state of South Dakota, confers upon the licensees of this state reciprocal rights, privileges, and immunities, any license to take water fowl, any license to take fish by angling or spearing, and any commercial fishing or clamming license issued by such state shall entitle the licensee to all the rights, privileges, and immunities in and upon the waters of Big Stone Lake and this state, enjoyed by the holders of equivalent licenses issued by this state; subject, however, to the duties, responsibilities, and liabilities imposed on its own licensees by the laws of this state. amended Apr. 21, 1931, c. 298, §2.)

# CHAPTER 33

# Public Libraries

#### PUBLIC LIBRARIES AND READING ROOMS

### §5661. Establishment and maintenance.

Where library board has the funds for a building, the village council may set aside village land for the building without submission of matter to electors. Op. Atty. Gen., July 23, 1929.

## §5665. Organization of board—Rules, etc.

Op. Atty. Gen., July 23, 1929; note under §5661. No part of library fund may be used in remodeling village hall so as to correspond with library building to be attached to it. Op. Atty. Gen., May 7, 1929.

The Home Rule Charter of St. Cloud would indicate that the library board could not extend money in excess of actual cash received. Op. Atty. Gen., Jan. 5, 1931.

§5670. Law libraries.—In counties having a population of two hundred thousand or more, the district court may authorize and require the county board, or other body in charge of the courthouse, to provide rooms therein for the uses of a law library, whenever the owner of any such library shall offer to furnish and maintain the same for a term of at least ten years, and to give the free use thereof, under proper regulations, to all the judges of the district, municipal, and probate courts of the county, and to all city and county officials having offices at the county seat. Upon petition therefor being filed with the clerk, setting forth a proposal and plan for the furnishing of such library, and the reasons for accepting the same, the court shall fix a time for hearing thereon, and direct that a copy of its order, and of said petition, be served upon the county attorney, and upon the attorney of the city constituting

the county seat, at least eight days before the date so fixed. Such attorneys shall appear and oppose such petition, if they or either of them believe that the public interests would not be subserved by granting the same. The court shall hear all parties appearing, and inquire as to the character of the library offered, and as to the ability of its owner to carry out the terms of the offer made and to meet the conditions proper to be imposed. If satisfied that such library should be installed, the court shall make an order therefor, prescribing the duties of the owner in respect thereto, directing that suitable rooms be provided in the courthouse for its accommodation with necessary light, heat, and janitor service, and requiring the county board and city council to appropriate annually, until the further order of the court, not less than twelve hundred dollars nor more than seventeen hundred fifty dollar's for the salary of a librarian and other necessary expense of caring for such library; which sum shall be apportioned, by the order, between such city and county. The owner shall retain the title and management of the library, appoint the librarian thereof, and make rules and regulations for its use; but no such rules shall restrict the access of public officials thereto, unless the same are approved by a judge of the district court. The library shall be maintained by the owner in reasonable repair and efficiency, and upon his failure so to do the court may cancel any or all orders made hereunder, and require the library to be removed. The several officials of the city and county shall take all necessary steps for carrying out the provision of this section, and all orders of the court made thereunder. (As amended Apr. 24, 1931, c. 327.)

### CHAPTER 33A

# Historical Societies

§5670-11. County Board or City Councils may furnish room for Historical Societies.-That the county board of any county or the

or public library in the State of Minnesota, are hereby authorized and empowered to furnish a room, or rooms, in the court house of governing body of any municipal corporation, the county, or in the municipal building, or