# GENERAL STATUTES

33

OF THE

## STATE OF MINNESOTA,

IN FORCE JANUARY, 1891.

### VOL. 1.

CONTAINING ALL THE LAW OF A GENERAL NATURE NOT REMEDIAL, THE LATTER BEING IN VOL. 2.

COMPILED AND ANNOTATED

BY

JNO. F. KELLY,

OF THE ST. PAUL BAR.

SECOND EDITION.

ST. PAUL: PUBLISHED BY THE AUTHOR. 1891.

### CHAPTER 2.

#### CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS.

Two members of congress were allowed by act admitting state into the Union. Acts 1872, ch. 21, created three districts. Acts 1881, Ex. S. ch. 70, creates five districts.

Sections.

205. Number of districts.

206. First district.

207. Second district.

Sections.

208. Third district.

209. Fourth district.

210. Fifth district.

Sec. 205. Number of districts.—The State of Minnesota is hereby divided into five congressional districts, each of which is entitled to elect one representative to the congress of the United States.

1881, Ex. S. ch. 70, §1: "An act to divide the state of Minnesota into five congressional districts." Approved November 18, 1881.

SEC. 206. First district.— The counties of Houston, Fillmore, Mower, Freeborn, Steele, Dodge, Olmsted, Winona and Wabasha shall constitute the First congressional district.

1881, Ex. S. ch. 70, § 2.

SEC. 207. Second district.— The counties of Faribault, Blue Earth, Waseca, Watonwan, Martin, Cottonwood, Jackson, Murray, Nobles, Rock, Pipestone, Lincoln, Lyon, Redwood, Brown, Nicollet, Yellow Medicine, Lac-Qui-Parle, Sibley and Le Sueur shall constitute the Second congressional district. Id. § 3.

Sec. 208. **Third district.**— The counties of Goodhue, Rice, Dakota, Scott, Carver, McLeod, Meeker, Kandiyohi, Renville, Swift and Chippewa shall constitute the Third congressional district.

Id. § 4.

Sec. 209. Fourth district.— The counties of Washington, Ramsey, Hennepin, Wright, Pine, Kanabec, Anoka, Chisago, Isanti and Sherburne shall constitute the Fourth congressional district.

Id. § 5.

Sec. 210. Fifth district.—The counties of Mille Lacs, Benton, Morrison, Stearns, Pope, Douglas, Stevens, Big Stone, Traverse, Grant, Todd, Crow Wing, Aitkin, Carlton, Wadena, Otter Tail, Wilkin, Cass, Becker, Clay, Polk, Beltrami, Marshall, Kittson, Itasca, St. Louis, Lake and Cook shall constitute the Fifth congressional district.

Id. § 6.